View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24
31-01-2024, 08:17 AM
The problem for Hearts is that they've been shouting to all and sundry that he's worth 5 million minimum. So they sit down with Shankland's agent and he's going to ask for wages for a player in that bracket. It's an issue for every club with a wantaway player who's value is on a high but that they want to sign a new deal. Bit like trying to square a circle.
I would have thought they'd go to maybe about 12k a week for him, signing on bonus, maybe other bits and bobs too if required. The unfortunate thing about Shankland is that he has very little pace, so his goals return probably won't decline that much as he gets older as he'll just loiter around the box and bang them in. I just hope it's elsewhere. And it's worth bearing in mind that absolutely no one has put a bid in for him, nobody.
This is it for me. I just can't see where he will go and who will pay the money. The uglies pressing teams which need fit, athletic, high-energy forwards. Could he do that? I don't think so. The Championship in England requires their strikers to have even more mobility, physicality and fitness so I just can't see him there are all.
The only way I can see him getting taken is by a club from the likes of Holland/Belgium or maybe the Middle East.
31-01-2024, 08:27 AM
Maybe this was the deal we nearly had over the line? Makes sense as he was with Monty at CCM.
https://x.com/grahamfalk/status/1752623427775848715?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ
31-01-2024, 08:28 AM
I assumed Bevan would be in the door by now, can’t imagine it would be a particularly difficult deal to sort out given where he’s signing from.
I’ve got the feeling we’re just leaving him until tomorrow so we have our ‘deadline day signing’
31-01-2024, 08:30 AM
I’ve got the feeling we’re just leaving him until tomorrow so we have our ‘deadline day signing’
And delay him joining up with the squad and preparing for the weekend?
31-01-2024, 08:30 AM
appreciate that a midfielder isnt not a priority but if celtic are willing to let Turnbull go, then we should be all over this
Cardiff City interested in Celtic midfielder David Turnbull - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/articles/cx7l895ey38o)
There’s no way we could afford him or he’d be interested
31-01-2024, 08:39 AM
Good chance he's already here and training.
Maybe this was the deal we nearly had over the line? Makes sense as he was with Monty at CCM.
https://x.com/grahamfalk/status/1752623427775848715?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ
Yes and may still happen. I don't think Bevan is ready to come and play right away.
Depends on the player. He may have a few things to tie up personally before he moves North, so could possibly be agreed but he can't be here until tomorrow anyway.
Probably unlikely but certainly not impossible.
gorgie greens
31-01-2024, 09:03 AM
We could have Neymar and Messi up front but until we sort out the defence we will never improve.
Need a minimum of 2 defenders in
K-Zazu
31-01-2024, 09:05 AM
With so much chat about Hertz, I thought I was on Kickback?
With one day to go, what's the latest with the Hibees? Do we think it will be a busy day for the Hibees?
Yeah me too
31-01-2024, 09:12 AM
We could have Neymar and Messi up front but until we sort out the defence we will never improve.
Think we might improve a wee bit with them in to be fair.
31-01-2024, 09:14 AM
31-01-2024, 09:26 AM
yeh - just a wee bit. :greengrin
ElginHibbie
31-01-2024, 09:27 AM
If they got back and helped the defence more than the current lot would make a big difference!
31-01-2024, 09:29 AM
Personal view but I think our defence struggles because the midfield (and tactics) offer no protection.
Change the tactics, improve the defence.
With Levitt in the midfield 2, it leaves Newell as the only midfielder (vs 3 midfield opponents) who has any presence, when we are out of possession.
Jair offers little-to-no protection to left back
Youan offers little-to-no protection to the right back (see Rangers opening goal the other night)
Levitt doesn't help to shut the door through the centre.
The opposition has a free run, to create overloads, going left right or centre against our 442
It's no wonder our defence looks stretched.
We have a 352 squad, not a 442 squad
And if we absolutely must play 1980s football, 442, then literally the ONLY way to pull the opposition out of position is to switch it up occasionally, to drop a third CM in there (either a forward dropping back or a defender stepping up) and the flanks absolutely HAVE to offer more.
Even Forfar showed how comfortable it is to play against 442 - only a rash goalkeeping error saw us win 1-0, and they had the better chances (great saves from Marsh and a goal line clearance or two from us were required).
So, I think our defence would improve with a change of shape - and you could sign peak Baresi and Cannavaro, they would struggle with Jair, Youan and Levitt as the midfield in front of them
31-01-2024, 09:43 AM
I hope Someone puts a low ball offer in for Shankland and hearts turn it down. Shankland heads turned and wants to go but doesn’t then rest of the season does nowt for them.
This will then cause the money asked for him to plummet.
NC1875
31-01-2024, 09:45 AM
Aye we’d draw 5-5 instead of 2-2 most weeks
Donegal Hibby
31-01-2024, 10:25 AM
I agree the defence could be improved though still think the main problem was the midfield which was neither creative nor able to dominate games . Hopefully we have that sorted now . Looking forward to seeing Moriah Welsh after what's been said about him .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/new-midfielder-will-energise-engine-room-hibs-exclusive-4498848
Saint Hibee
31-01-2024, 10:38 AM
So can somebody clarify whether or not we've actually signed Neymar and Messi yet, or are we still agreeing personal terms?
Heedersnvolleys
31-01-2024, 10:39 AM
Personal view but I think our defence struggles because the midfield (and tactics) offer no protection.
With Levitt in the midfield 2, it leaves Newell as the only midfielder (vs 3 midfield opponents) who has any presence, when we are out of possession.
Youan offers little-to-no protection to the right back (see Rangers opening goal the other night)
The opposition has a free run, to create overloads, going left right or centre against our 442
And if we absolutely must play 1980s football, 442, then literally the ONLY way to pull the opposition out of position is to switch it up occasionally, to drop a third CM in there (either a forward dropping back or a defender stepping up) and the flanks absolutely HAVE to offer more.
Even Forfar showed how comfortable it is to play against 442 - only a rash goalkeeping error saw us win 1-0, and they had the better chances (great saves from Marsh and a goal line clearance or two from us were required).
So, I think our defence would improve with a change of shape - and you could sign peak Baresi and Cannavaro, they would struggle with Jair, Youan and Levitt as the midfield in front of them
Baresi and Cannavaro would not allow Jair and Youan to defend how they do. They would demand more from them. A lot to be said about a defender with a leadership qualities and the right character, that applies to all positions but something you want more of in a defender
delbert
31-01-2024, 10:47 AM
My personal view is our defence struggles because the players in the centre of our defence aren’t good enough !
31-01-2024, 10:56 AM
Sweet...
VoltaireHibs
31-01-2024, 10:56 AM
I agree to a point but if the midfield is functioning and retaining possession then defence becomes less strained and we don't keep getting counterattacks. The players we're bringing in look to be a level above our previous signings so hopefully that's what will unfold.
31-01-2024, 11:01 AM
Wonder if any deals Aberdeen had lined up will fall through with Robson gone?
31-01-2024, 11:10 AM
Wonder if any deals Aberdeen had lined up will fall through with Robson gone?
Maybe sell Miovski to finance Robson's pay off and new managerial team?
VoltaireHibs
31-01-2024, 11:12 AM
Maybe sell Miovski to finance Robson's pay off and new managerial team?
Think Duk would be first out the door.
31-01-2024, 11:12 AM
Place would go ****ing radge for 8 pages about Messi’s age.
31-01-2024, 11:17 AM
Jason Kerr
Tom McIntyre
Both would be super
Edinburgh Green
31-01-2024, 11:20 AM
Jason Kerr
Tom McIntyre
Both would be super
McIntyre signed for Portsmouth
31-01-2024, 11:23 AM
I hope Someone puts a low ball offer in for Shankland and hearts turn it down. Shankland heads turned and wants to go but doesn’t then rest of the season does nowt for them.
This will then cause the money asked for him to plummet.
He still has Scotland caps to play for.
31-01-2024, 11:41 AM
McIntyre signed for Portsmouth
Missed a trick there
EGL2000
31-01-2024, 11:43 AM
Missed a trick there
Paid next to nothing as well, looks like a great signing. I'd be looking at the reading team and chucking in a low ball offer for anyone we think could improve our starting 11. Seem to be accepting any offers at this point.
My personal view is our defence struggles because the players in the centre of our defence aren’t good enough !
Yup, it's the obvious place to upgrade.
At best, we've got 3 just about acceptable 2nd defenders/squad players. We need that first pick solid defender, preferably experienced but if they are young they need to be a bit of a mentality monster.
This is the right thread.
You feeling alright this morning J-C? 😂
Was expecting transfer news 😁
31-01-2024, 12:09 PM
Another 20 year old CB?
Hmmmmm...
31-01-2024, 01:18 PM
He still has Scotland caps to play for.
some size of cap needed for his ironing board spam as well
31-01-2024, 02:30 PM
some size of cap needed for his ironing board spam as well
😁
gorgie greens
31-01-2024, 02:30 PM
Think Duk would be first out the door.
Spanish second tier team have tabled a bid for him ,can't remember which team as I am not familiar with them
AL-Qaholik
31-01-2024, 02:36 PM
Can’t begin to fathom how we’re potentially scrabbling around on deadline to day to fix the defence.
It’s been a major issue for far too long.
Entirely possible we might not sign a single defender or goalkeeper.
NGoloGrantie
31-01-2024, 02:36 PM
Can’t begin to fathom how we’re potentially scrabbling around on deadline to day to fix the defence.
Deadline day is tomorrow
GreenPJ
31-01-2024, 02:44 PM
We don't need a goalkeeper
31-01-2024, 02:56 PM
We don't need a goalkeeper
Correct :agree:
31-01-2024, 03:21 PM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/owen-bevan-closes-hibs-loan-28546228
Bevan expected but nothing else planned outwith him signing
31-01-2024, 03:26 PM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/owen-bevan-closes-hibs-loan-28546228
That would be extremely whelming which I can accept at this stage.
31-01-2024, 03:40 PM
That would be extremely whelming which I can accept at this stage.
I'm really happy with the players brought in as options in attack and defence but one 20 year old CB with minimal experience in League 2 down south isn't quite what I hoped.
Bevan may be brilliant so don't want to knock the guy but that was a key area of the pitch to strengthen imo and I really wanted us to bring in experience.
badabing67
31-01-2024, 03:41 PM
So does that men no one is leaving
31-01-2024, 03:46 PM
To be fair to the idea of signing Bevan, Mattie Pollock had similar experience (maybe a few extra games) and transformed Aberdeens defence into a team getting pumped off us and Darvel into a side that secured third.
You have to sometimes look beyond age and experience level on their wikipedia.
badabing67
31-01-2024, 03:46 PM
If Dessers goes will it mean Shankland is on his way.
Shock Rangers exit link
Rangers striker Cyriel Dessers has emerged as a shock target for clubs in Italy. According to Sky Sports journalist Gianluca Di Marzio, the £4.3m summer signing from Cremonese is attracting late January interest from Serie A duo Hellas Verona and Torino. Dessers, who has been a regular starter under Philippe Clement recently, has notched 12 goals and seven assists in 32 appearances for the Ibrox side this season. A surprise exit for the Nigerian international would appear unlikely, however, as Rangers are light in attack due to injuries to Kemar Roofe, Danilo and Abdallah Sima, with Clement keen to strengthen his options rather than weaken ahead of Thursday's 11.30pm transfer deadline. Lens winger Oscar Cortes has reportedly arrived in Glasgow for a medical ahead of completing a loan move from the Ligue 1 club. Rangers are also hoping to land Brazilian left-back Jefte from Fluminese but that deal is expected to go to the wire.
K-Zazu
31-01-2024, 03:48 PM
Why don’t rangers just low ball hearts with a 1/1.5 million offer ruffle a few feathers 😂? Didn’t they do that with Scott Allan
31-01-2024, 03:53 PM
To be fair to the idea of signing Bevan, Mattie Pollock had similar experience (maybe a few extra games) and transformed Aberdeens defence into a team getting pumped off us and Darvel into a side that secured third.
You have to sometimes look beyond age and experience level on their wikipedia.
Also turned them into 3rd placed side
31-01-2024, 04:04 PM
Also turned them into 3rd placed side
Absolutely. They were a mile away from being that before he arrived. Obviously the sacking and Robson bounce is a factor but he was a standout player for them the second half of the season when he joined.
I remember Hearts also having a lad from Burnley called Jimmy Dunne who only really played for Accrington in League 2 for half a season and he was outstanding at Hearts until Sunderland managed to steal him on loan instead midway into the season.
Not saying Bevan will be Dunne/Pollock levels of impact but it is possible he can come in and be the rock at the back we need to improve us for now.
31-01-2024, 04:05 PM
Why don’t rangers just low ball hearts with a 1/1.5 million offer ruffle a few feathers 😂? Didn’t they do that with Scott Allan
They likely don't have that much money to spend on a fee, hence getting shot of Dessers to free up some cash. Who is likely to get the most goals for them is the question and it's probably Shankland.
31-01-2024, 04:24 PM
Just can’t see that being our only incoming on deadline day. Hope it’s wrong and we get at least two in.
31-01-2024, 04:27 PM
Why don’t we? That would ruffle more than feathers.
They likely don't have that much money to spend on a fee, hence getting shot of Dessers to free up some cash. Who is likely to get the most goals for them is the question and it's probably Shankland.
Could well be. If his heart is set on Rangers then he should push to go now (which he is maybe doing) as there's no guarantee they'll come in for him in the summer.
31-01-2024, 04:43 PM
Danny Wilson could be heading to Queens Park
ToffeeCabbage
31-01-2024, 04:45 PM
If all we get in tomorrow is Bevan, I'm okay with that. If we had more of a shot at 3rd I'd be more concerned.
Would Kerr or McIntyre have been preferred by most, probably. I'd have liked Kerr myself. But come the summer I imagine we'll be targeting higher and signing either of them would've been short term fixes that don't fit the model I think Hibs are moving towards.
If we are to replace/upgrade on Bushiri or Hanlon, we'll do so in summer when we can organise moves out for them, rather than having them, plus Kerr/McIntyre on the books for the next 6 months.
Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
31-01-2024, 05:06 PM
Tricky with players leaving given how thin our squad is/was and then how long it will take those returning from injury to get fit.
Still wouldn’t be surprised to see Doidge go and McKirdy on loan.
31-01-2024, 05:08 PM
Doidge heading for League 2 in England...
Do we need another striker if ALF is on the way back?
31-01-2024, 05:11 PM
Doidge heading for League 2 in England...
Do we need another striker if ALF is on the way back?
I certainly think we need one with his physicality and aerial ability.
When it’s late in the game we need someone capabale of scoring a header from a cross or ruffling up the opposition defence, don’t think we have that.
31-01-2024, 05:11 PM
Got to love Derek Adams
‘Dhanda going nowhere as Hearts have no money’ :greengrin
https://x.com/plzsoccer/status/1752458043357266004?s=61
You sign Dhanda we sign……
31-01-2024, 05:16 PM
Got to love Derek Adams
Looking at it subjectively they probably don't need him now so no point paying a fee when they can get him for nothing in 5 months. I suspect if the race for 3rd was closer they define the money needed.
Hibs4185
31-01-2024, 05:16 PM
Doidge or McKirdy would be my bet to leave.
Of the two, I think I’d rather keep Doidge but I can understand any of the two leaving
31-01-2024, 05:21 PM
Our thieving neighbours just signed Scott Fraser on loan from Charlton til end of the season
tonyrougier123
31-01-2024, 05:25 PM
These loan deals shouldn’t be costing us anything? So where’s the defenders the team needs? We’ve needed CBs signed for years and
And signing harbottle loaning him, potentially bringing in bevan just isn’t an attempt to fix the issues at the back for me.
We are so bad at defending with no leadership from the back line,I just cannot fathom why we haven’t focused on that area yet again to upgrade,despite the loans covering another poor window from us.
Really is shocking!
31-01-2024, 05:25 PM
Got to love Derek Adams
That'll get their Dhanda up.....
31-01-2024, 05:26 PM
These loan deals shouldn’t be costing us anything? So where’s the defenders the team needs? We’ve needed CBs signed for years and
And signing harbottle loaning him, potentially bringing in bevan just isn’t an attempt to fix the issues at the back for me.
We are so bad at defending with no leadership from the back line,I just cannot fathom why we haven’t focused on that area yet again to upgrade,despite the loans covering another poor window from us.
Really is shocking!
#comesrunningintotheroomscreaminghysterically.....
tonyrougier123
31-01-2024, 05:37 PM
#comesrunningintotheroomscreaminghysterically.....
Pure snide. That all you got?
31-01-2024, 05:39 PM
Pure snide. That all you got?
Well no but it's all I needed.
Potty78
31-01-2024, 05:42 PM
Maybe Mckirdy out on loan? Do we think anyone else will leave🤷*♂️
31-01-2024, 05:44 PM
Maybe Mckirdy out on loan? Do we think anyone else will leave🤷*♂️
McKirdy going out on loan would be sensible. I know he’s just back from a serious issue but I really don’t see him making any impact on the team.
31-01-2024, 05:45 PM
Looking at it subjectively they probably don't need him now so no point paying a fee when they can get him for nothing in 5 months. I suspect if the race for 3rd was closer they define the money needed.Why would you want to look at it subjectively when you can view it through the prism of being a Hibs fan?
tonyrougier123
31-01-2024, 05:46 PM
Well no but it's all I needed.
Is it?😂makes you look like an idiot Harry.
Think the points I made are valid. Your post was immature at best. Absolutely nothing to add to the transfer talk just an attempt to belittle fellow posters.
As I-say behaviour that can only be described as idiotic. Baffles me 🤷*♂️
31-01-2024, 05:46 PM
McKirdy going out on loan would be sensible. I know he’s just back from a serious issue but I really don’t see him making any impact on the team.
Agreed. I really wanted it to work for him but I think it’s probably better we cut our losses.
31-01-2024, 05:50 PM
Really is shocking!
We’ll have definitely spent money on wages at least this window (albeit not picking up the full amount the players are on.) Like you I’d be disappointed if we don’t sign an experienced centre back especially when Monty doesn’t appear to rate the only experienced one we have in our squad.
Silky
31-01-2024, 05:50 PM
I'm really happy with the players brought in as options in attack and defence but one 20 year old CB with minimal experience in League 2 down south isn't quite what I hoped.
Bevan may be brilliant so don't want to knock the guy but that was a key area of the pitch to strengthen imo and I really wanted us to bring in experience.
Does experience necessarily equate to being good, though? We've signed plenty "experienced" players in the past who have been poor. Young guys wanting to make it in the game, hungry and wanting to progress are probably better than older, journeymen just wanting a wage.
31-01-2024, 05:55 PM
We’ll have definitely spent money on wages at least this window (albeit not picking up the full amount the players are on.) Like you I’d be disappointed if we don’t sign an experienced centre back especially when Monty doesn’t appear to rate the only experienced one we have in our squad.
I don’t think we’re going to and I really can’t work out why.
I think we’re a bit snobby about players. We want them to be able to do this and that and forget that we just need someone who can organise things a bit and header the ball away when you’re getting it launched at you from all directions, given we’re playing in Scotland.
31-01-2024, 06:00 PM
I don’t think we’re going to and I really can’t work out why.
I think we’re a bit snobby about players. We want them to be able to do this and that and forget that we just need someone who can organise things a bit and header the ball away when you’re getting it launched at you from all directions, given we’re playing in Scotland.
I don’t get it if I’m honest. I know there are different viewpoints regarding where we needed strengthening but an experienced centre back had to have been up there in terms of priorities. I still think as a team we are crying out for a leader. I’ve no doubts Paul Hanlon and Joe Newell are great professionals but we’ve not had a real leader since SDG retired.
31-01-2024, 06:01 PM
Doidge away to FGR on a perm
MKHIBEE
Doidge away to FGR
Doidge gone, official
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Doidge away to FGR confirmed.
31-01-2024, 06:03 PM
Genuinely gutted at this; I loved the guy. Wish him all the best.
Best wishes to Doidge. Always gave his best
All the best, Doidgey. One of the good guys.
Hopefully leaves by scoring the winner to kickstart a successful cup run.
Exuberance1875
31-01-2024, 06:04 PM
Doidge was an honest a player as they come, deserves good game time and hope he does well for them
The Tubs
31-01-2024, 06:05 PM
All the best, Doidgey. One of the good guys.
Hopefully leaves by scoring the winner to kickstart a successful cup run.
Just like Malonga.
sorryfolks
31-01-2024, 06:05 PM
I certainly think we need one with his physicality and aerial ability.
When it’s late in the game we need someone capabale of scoring a header from a cross or ruffling up the opposition defence, don’t think we have that.
I I know he’s not a fancy option but I’d take Simon Murray back on a short term deal if it was a possibility. Pacy, can cause issues for any defence in the league, and has a knack for a goal. Having a decent season up at Ross County.
Up-the-slope
31-01-2024, 06:08 PM
Wonder if CD going is to reduce squad or free up space for another Forward...:greengrin
Wish Doidge all the best - had a lots of great games for us - some poor ones but never hid or lacked workrate.
31-01-2024, 06:11 PM
Loved Doidge to bits. He was still playing a part on the pitch the last few games. We can't be signing another forward surely? Or is this just because ALF is closer to being match fit and McKirdy is getting fitter every week.
31-01-2024, 06:14 PM
Loved Doidge to bits. He was still playing a part on the pitch the last few games. We can't be signing another forward surely? Or is this just because ALF is closer to being match fit and McKirdy is getting fitter every week.
You'd have to think the latter, surely?
31-01-2024, 06:15 PM
All the best Doidge, really good player for us over the years!
The Tubs
31-01-2024, 06:17 PM
Myziane might get played through the middle instead of Vente. Kevin Harper made a good point on Saturday about Vente not suiting Monty's system as he can't win loose balls and get the wingers involved. We saw from his goal at the weekend that he's got more presence about him than Vente.
31-01-2024, 06:19 PM
So as things stand the squad (currently injured/away*) is:
GK: Marshall, Wollacott*, Johnson
RB: Miller*, Cadden*, Megwa, Whittaker
CB: Fish, Bushiri*, Hanlon, Blaney
LB: Obita, Stevenson
CM: Newell, Levitt, Amos, Doyle-Hayes*
AM: Marcondes, Campbell*, Moriah-Welsh, Molotnikov
W: Boyle*, Youan, Tavares
ST: Vente, Maolida, Le Fondre*, McKirdy, Landers
31-01-2024, 06:24 PM
With Doidge now away wonder if a big Target Man capable of scoring may be on the cards
007 Mickey Weir
31-01-2024, 06:25 PM
I would maybe look at getting Whittaker away on loan in Feb once Miller/Casden back.
Also try and send out Landers and McKirdy on loan.
31-01-2024, 06:26 PM
I know a lot will just think ability with a lot of players, but in Doidge and Jeggo we’re losing two really good guys who gave their all for the club.
Hope those coming do likewise.
31-01-2024, 06:32 PM
Turnbull looks like he's going to Cardiff for £2m
31-01-2024, 06:37 PM
Rumours of Van Veen coming back to Scotland…..Doidge replacement?
31-01-2024, 06:42 PM
When did he last play? Hasn't it been a while?
31-01-2024, 06:44 PM
With Doidge now away wonder if a big Target Man capable of scoring may be on the cards
We already have a great striker in Vente, just needs the support. I think he will be the main man now.
31-01-2024, 06:49 PM
If we're going with 2 up top and one is Marcondes (who's not always up top), surely we don't need yet another striker to replace Doidge.
Priority must be a left-sided centre-half and maybe a right-back who is better than our collection.
Mcbizz1998
31-01-2024, 07:14 PM
We already have a great striker in Vente, just needs the support. I think he will be the main man now.
He has been all season. He doesn’t score goals.
31-01-2024, 07:18 PM
Hearts as shanklands replacement 😉
31-01-2024, 07:19 PM
I know a lot will just think ability with a lot of players, but in Doidge and Jeggo we’re losing two really good guys who gave their all for the club.
Hope those coming do likewise.
Yeah both guys were cut from the same good cloth. Wish them both well.
jakedance
31-01-2024, 07:25 PM
Tomorrow will be really interesting. A quality centre half and centre midfielder would transform this team. These positions have been a massive problem for a few years now so if the club could improve at least one of them I’d be feeling much more positive about the season (Scottish Cup still up for grabs). I’d love to see better left and right backs but don’t see it in this window.
31-01-2024, 07:28 PM
Who is it does the deadline day thread again? I'm thinking it was Pretty Boy but not sure. Anyway, work day will be shot to hell tomorrow.....
31-01-2024, 07:28 PM
Tomorrow will be really interesting. A quality centre half and centre midfielder would transform this team. These positions have been a massive problem for a few years now so if the club could improve at least one of them I’d be feeling much more positive about the season (Scottish Cup still up for grabs). I’d love to see better left and right backs but don’t see it in this window.
We certainly won’t be signing a midfielder tomorrow having already signed two this window.
31-01-2024, 07:30 PM
Who is it does the deadline day thread again? I'm thinking it was Pretty Boy but not sure. Anyway, work day will be shot to hell tomorrow.....
Is that the snacks thread?
31-01-2024, 07:32 PM
Is that the snacks thread?
Yes sorry, I wasn't clear, the snacks thread yes..
31-01-2024, 07:36 PM
We certainly won’t be signing a midfielder tomorrow having already signed two this window.
Three if you count Marcondes on loan.
31-01-2024, 07:39 PM
Used to be Pedantic Hibs
Trinity Hibee
31-01-2024, 07:45 PM
Turnbull looks like he's going to Cardiff for £2m
Hopefully we pick him up in a year or so for much less. Feel he could do better than Cardiff
delbert
31-01-2024, 07:57 PM
Would take Van Veen in a minute, same work rate and work ethic as Doidge, but much more of a goal threat
1875Sean
31-01-2024, 08:02 PM
So as things stand the squad (currently injured/away*) is:
GK: Marshall, Wollacott*, Johnson
RB: Miller*, Cadden*, Megwa, Whittaker
CB: Fish, Bushiri*, Hanlon, Blaney
LB: Obita, Stevenson
CM: Newell, Levitt, Amos, Doyle-Hayes*
AM: Marcondes, Campbell*, Moriah-Welsh, Molotnikov
W: Boyle*, Youan, Tavares
ST: Vente, Maolida, Le Fondre*, McKirdy, Landers
If we bring in another defender I’d let Blaney, Rudi and Whittaker out on loan.
If we could get McKirdy off the wage bill too I’d let him go
Keepthefaith
31-01-2024, 08:06 PM
I would maybe look at getting Whittaker away on loan in Feb once Miller/Casden back.
Also try and send out Landers and McKirdy on loan.
can see landers being given opportunity from the bench. agree Rory will benefit from a loan away - main barrier for him IMO is a potential lack of pace - I remember the forfar lad outpacing him.
due to mckirdys illness I can't see anything happening there but he'll move on in the summer as we can get better in. also think we'll see Cadden move on too.
main remaining business is CB. would also like to see another LB as back up for Obita as sadly it's time for Lewy to retire
31-01-2024, 08:12 PM
Hearing Hibs and the jambo's are both after Penrice
He's here!
31-01-2024, 08:12 PM
Doidge away to FGR on a perm
Bottom of League 2 at present. You'd imagine he could have got a move to a club higher up the leagues, but he's clearly got strong connections to the club.
What's quite remarkable is that these days a club at that level can (it appears) pay well enough to bring in a player from a mid-table top flight Scottish team.
Anyway, best of luck to Doidge. Gave it his all at Hibs and scored over 40 goals for us.
Nevi_SOL
31-01-2024, 08:15 PM
Hearing Hibs and the jambo's are both after Penrice
Pre contract or this window?
Hibs4185
31-01-2024, 08:17 PM
Pre contract or this window?
Jambos are skint this window so could be an opportunity for us to sneak in early as they’ll want a pre-contract no doubt whilst they wait for the annual JA donation
ShadesLongThrow
31-01-2024, 08:35 PM
Interesting on Penrice. Maybe the thought is Obita moving permanently to CB after doing well there at the weekend and Penrice slotting into left back.
jakedance
31-01-2024, 08:36 PM
I was thinking a defensive midfielder but had forgotten about the boy Amos. Ta.
Trinity Hibee
31-01-2024, 08:37 PM
Interesting on Penrice. Maybe the thought is Obita moving permanently to CB after doing well there at the weekend and Penrice slotting into left back.
If he’s a Hibs fan surely there’s only one team he’s joining
31-01-2024, 08:38 PM
Supposedly Hearts signing Dan Phillips on a pre contract too.
Good player.
So the talk on Twitter is one out on loan tomorrow, no idea who? And one in definitely ,perhaps 2. Not sure if this is guesswork or folk hoping this is what may happen
Trinity Hibee
So the talk on Twitter is one out on loan tomorrow, no idea who? And one in definitely ,perhaps 2. Not sure if this is guesswork or folk hoping this is what may happen
Whittaker away on loan, Bevan and Penrice in?
31-01-2024, 08:51 PM
They get their info from here.
31-01-2024, 08:55 PM
Whittaker away on loan, Bevan and Penrice in?
Be surprised if Whittaker went out on loan. If anyone was to go I'd think it would be McKirdy just to get his match fitness back to where it should be.
31-01-2024, 08:56 PM
They get their info from here.
Aye copied and pasted.
King Cosell
31-01-2024, 08:57 PM
Egan-Riley not in the Burnley squad tonight. Surely he'll be going somewhere?
31-01-2024, 08:58 PM
Would be the perfect signing for our midfield.
31-01-2024, 09:05 PM
Dundee must be a shout?
31-01-2024, 09:11 PM
Would be the perfect signing for our midfield.
The longer he’s been away the better he seems to have become. He was decent but I think we’ve got midfield covered now (or at least I hope we have.)
31-01-2024, 09:15 PM
From my count, Burnley already have 7 players aged over 21 out on loan which is the limit under FIFA’s rules.
King Cosell
31-01-2024, 09:22 PM
From my count, Burnley already have 7 players aged over 21 out on loan which is the limit under FIFA’s rules.
A permanent would be nice.
31-01-2024, 10:38 PM
A permanent would be nice.
Agree … ER in and Miller out would be acceptable
31-01-2024, 10:41 PM
Agree … ER in and Miller out would be acceptable
Lewis Miller? He’s our first choice RB, playing for his country in the AFCONs just now.
Egan-Riley was decent, but no way should Miller be leaving the club. Guy has got a lot of potential and his nailed down his starting spot imo.
VoltaireHibs
31-01-2024, 10:42 PM
Lewis Miller? He’s our first choice RB, playing for his country in the AFCONs just now.
Egan-Riley was decent, but no way should Miller be leaving the club. Guy has got a lot of potential and his nailed down his starting spot imo.
Hm, I think ER has a fair bit more potential. Not convinced Miller is actually a footballer. He has his strengths but they are mainly physique and stamina.
cubehindthegoal
31-01-2024, 10:44 PM
That's Jason Kerr following the sheep on instagram. He's definitely not coming here. I didn't think so, same with Dhanda we don't do obvious signings, Next...
Why mention Dhanda ?
31-01-2024, 10:45 PM
It's the Asia cup rather than the AFCON, but in 4 games he's came on once, in the 89th minute.
VoltaireHibs
31-01-2024, 10:45 PM
Why mention Dhanda ?
Because he likes to have a pop at Hibs.
1875Sean
31-01-2024, 10:46 PM
Not sure he has nailed down his starting spot, guess we will see when cadden comes back but I think we can do better, sure he has only featured off the bench in one game at the Asian cup and has been left out of 2 squads
cubehindthegoal
31-01-2024, 10:47 PM
1 million percent would rather Emi, but he's not our player, be surprised if he stayed here permanent, Dhanda on a free is a steal.
Really? Rather than the next player we get to replace Emi, when the time comes, that could also be 1 million per cent better ..lol
cubehindthegoal
31-01-2024, 10:50 PM
That's a shocker from our end but can't say I'm surprised, we will get the young laddie from Bournemouth and that will be us. Still won't get a left sided one either, not sure how many windows it's going to take till we sort the back line out.
Just catching up this thread, been busy today … it’s quite enlightening when you do though … there is a common thread to some views on the thread .. could you be any more negative about Hibs 🧐 … especially when it is at a time where things are moving forward for us … makes me wonder
cubehindthegoal
31-01-2024, 10:54 PM
We can definitely bring Griffiths home now!!!
Where does he live like ? 😁
31-01-2024, 10:58 PM
Where does he live like ? 😁
He should be residing at East Mains! :greengrin
cubehindthegoal
31-01-2024, 11:02 PM
Not really. I think Montgomery is tactically hopeless and a poor manager. Wouldn't blame him if a player got injured though.
Many in Manchester said similar about Alex Ferguson as a manager in his first season … you’d have said the same back then .. what I wonder though, is what if it does develop upwards … where do you folks go then ? I know if it goes downwards you revel in righteousness … but if you are wrong ? 🤔
cubehindthegoal
31-01-2024, 11:07 PM
He should be residing at East Mains! :greengrin
King Cosell
31-01-2024, 11:13 PM
Many in Manchester said similar about Alex Ferguson as a manager in his first season … you’d have said the same back then .. what I wonder though, is what if it does develop upwards … where do you folks go then ? I know if it goes downwards you revel in righteousness … but if you are wrong ? 🤔
Not just his first season, in his first 5 seasons they finished 11th, 2nd, 11th, 13th & 6th.
cubehindthegoal
31-01-2024, 11:18 PM
Not just his first season, in his first 5 seasons they finished 11th, 2nd, 11th, 13th & 6th.
Should’ve sacked him …
King Cosell
31-01-2024, 11:33 PM
Should’ve sacked him …
He would never have survived a hibs.net inquisition.
King Cosell
31-01-2024, 11:40 PM
Jason Kerr's following Aberdeen FC on Instagram.
31-01-2024, 11:58 PM
As good as done in todays world
Bit of a *****r to miss out on him
delbert
01-02-2024, 12:39 AM
As good as done in todays world
Bit of a *****r to miss out on him
The fact that our management team haven’t addressed the weakest part of our team, the most glaringly obvious problem area, the centre of our soft as Tom Kite defence, is criminal. I know a deal for a centre back fell through a few days ago, but are we seriously meant to believe that our much vaunted recruitment team had only identified one available centre half who is better than what we currently have throughout the whole of January ? Ridiculous !!
01-02-2024, 01:10 AM
The fact that our management team haven’t addressed the weakest part of our team, the most glaringly obvious problem area, the centre of our soft as Tom Kite defence, is criminal. I know a deal for a centre back fell through a few days ago, but are we seriously meant to believe that our much vaunted recruitment team had only identified one available centre half who is better than what we currently have throughout the whole of January ? Ridiculous !!
I’m not sure I’d refer to our recruitment team as “much vaunted” tbh, it’s been poor for a while.
But appears it’s something that will be addressed by Foley
I was hoping for better than a youngster on loan, without writing him off of course
Dr_Regal
01-02-2024, 01:30 AM
Bevan looks a good player, be happy for him on a transfer, and then rebuild that area in the summer.
Would love to see a taller striker brought in tomorrow. A Keifer Moore, Kevin Van Veen type.
Be pretty happy with the window, and looks better when the boys get back from int duty.
01-02-2024, 05:26 AM
I think a more pressing area was midfield and that’s been addressed and then some. There will a CB in today for sure maybe even two. Either way this window has been nothing short of remarkable. Especially for a January one.
jakeshibs
01-02-2024, 05:29 AM
I think a more pressing area was midfield and that’s been addressed and then some. There will a CB in today for sure maybe even two. Either way this window has been nothing short of remarkable. Especially for a January one.
Well said totally agree
Trinity Hibee
01-02-2024, 05:41 AM
https://x.com/frabrizioromani/status/1752767920562721228?s=42&t=Lf2Je9-hRg6uExdvfVlCgA
Shankland away?
01-02-2024, 05:43 AM
https://x.com/frabrizioromani/status/1752767920562721228?s=42&t=Lf2Je9-hRg6uExdvfVlCgA
Shankland away?
That's not Fabrizio btw
Trinity Hibee
01-02-2024, 05:45 AM
That's not Fabrizio btw
Ah sorry. Too early to notice
jakeshibs
01-02-2024, 05:49 AM
Exactly well said, they persevered with their manager and reaped the rewards both domestically and in Europe, and as they say the rest is history
gorgie greens
01-02-2024, 05:54 AM
Well we can't just let this window go without signing a centre back ,can't believe Hibs only had one name on their list at the start of the transfer window .
01-02-2024, 06:11 AM
The longer he’s been away the better he seems to have become. He was decent but I think we’ve got midfield covered now (or at least I hope we have.)
Agree a half decent right back however not athletic enough to play centre mid especially if a 2 imo
01-02-2024, 06:12 AM
Well we can't just let this window go without signing a centre back ,can't believe Hibs only had one name on their list at the start of the transfer window .
They wouldn't have Monty mentioned a deal falling through earlier in the window though sometimes these can rekindle nearer the last day. Hopefully we get a couple in today.
01-02-2024, 06:13 AM
Think that was a couple of days ago.
01-02-2024, 06:18 AM
Has been for at least a week so wouldn't necessarily read too much into it.
McGruber
01-02-2024, 06:36 AM
If we're going with 2 up top and one is Marcondes (who's not always up top), surely we don't need yet another striker to replace Doidge.
Priority must be a left-sided centre-half and maybe a right-back who is better than our collection.
It shouldn't be priority, 2 centre backs required before anything else, but think we do need another striker as needing a target man option which is important in this league - even as an option of the bench to change it up or go direct chasing the game. We have lots of forward options but all of the same type - pacey, wispy, technical, would say we need to add one with physicality to replace what Doidge gave us
01-02-2024, 06:37 AM
Have we actually signed the Bevan laddie?
McGruber
01-02-2024, 06:48 AM
Have we actually signed the Bevan laddie?
We could sign 10 now but if we don't keep one back until 11:29 this place will go nuts - pardon the snack pun
tonyrougier123
01-02-2024, 07:33 AM
Hopefully hibs get the juices flowing today, big hard as nails centre back first. Followed by a cultured CM an 8ft striker 🤞🏻
01-02-2024, 07:38 AM
Get my days mixed up sometimes with working nights and thought it was yesterday.... Anyway just had some reheated homemade shepherds pie, not as good as fresh but still tasty.
Hopefully wake up 5pm to something.
Enjoy the snacks everyone.
Broxburn Greens
01-02-2024, 07:38 AM
I agree, the players such as Mercadones and Maolida are well above the level signed in recent times, all the players brought in look like they will improve us.
However, failing to sign at least one CH (pref LHS) would take the gloss off for me, here’s hoping for movement today.
Given the manager has been binned I think it’s fair to say he won’t be going to Aberdeen. Would be a risk to sign a player without new manager backing (but not unknown).
cubehindthegoal
01-02-2024, 08:02 AM
Absolutely. Many will be jealous … including some on this forum Id hazard a guess ..
01-02-2024, 08:08 AM
That was a completely incomparable situation. Times are so different, there is far less scrutiny, people are far less educated and without question, he'd have been booted halfway through his fourth season if not earlier.
If it does start going well we start jiggin. However, he's not got a track record at a decent level to fall back on so he's got to show something to give us encouragement and a reason to believe in him. He's not. We're getting worse and what we're seeing instead is a live demonstration of the definition of insanity.
01-02-2024, 08:09 AM
I don't think we've seen anywhere enough of any of the new signings to really say whether the window is a huge success, abject failure, or somewhere in the middle.
Percy Vere
01-02-2024, 08:22 AM
I don't think we've seen anywhere enough of any of the new signings to really say whether the window is a huge success, abject failure, or somewhere in the middle.
But we're allowed an opinion and to get excited about signings. Otherwise what's the bleeding point of being a fan.
Mcbizz1998
01-02-2024, 08:23 AM
I'm sorry but if Kerr is away to Aberdeen then that is a complete shambles from Hibs. Will be another one we all claim we didn't want/need for a while until we all come to the realisation we missed out. There are some signings that are just obvious, Hibs recruitment team have a habit of managing to miss what most fans can clearly see.
Rumble de Thump
01-02-2024, 08:24 AM
That was a completely incomparable situation. Times are so different, there is far less scrutiny, people are far less educated and without question, he'd have been booted halfway through his fourth season if not earlier.
If it does start going well we start jiggin. However, he's not got a track record at a decent level to fall back on so he's got to show something to give us encouragement and a reason to believe in him. He's not. We're getting worse and what we're seeing instead is a live demonstration of the definition of insanity.
His track record is completely irrelevant to some people. He won the A League with far less resources than his competitors and some people completely disregard that achievement.
01-02-2024, 08:26 AM
I'm sorry but if Kerr is away to Aberdeen then that is a complete shambles from Hibs. Will be another one we all claim we didn't want/need for a while until we all come to the realisation we missed out. There are some signings that are just obvious, Hibs recruitment team have a habit of managing to miss what most fans can clearly see.
Could you give us 5 or 6 examples of all these people we missed out on that turned out to be a massive issue?
Rumble de Thump
01-02-2024, 08:26 AM
When did you last see him play?
badabing67
01-02-2024, 08:30 AM
Could you give us 5 or 6 examples of all these people we missed out on that turned out to be a massive issue?
I wonder what Pat Felon's answer to that question would be.
01-02-2024, 08:32 AM
I wonder what Pat Felon's answer to that question would be.
Our signing record is criminal.
Trinity Hibee
01-02-2024, 08:33 AM
I mean it could be argued Shankland and McGrath were obvious improvements. Findlay at Killie?
01-02-2024, 08:35 AM
If there's a shred of hesitation on Kerrs part now Robson has been sacked then we need to pick up the phone and try and get him in on loan for the rest of the season. At the very least it would be a great opportunity to look at him and be ahead of the race to sign him in the summer when his contract is up.
01-02-2024, 08:35 AM
I mean it could be argued Shankland and McGrath were obvious improvements. Findlay at Killie?Pretty sure the majority of folk on this forum said McGrath was garbage
Stairway 2 7
01-02-2024, 08:36 AM
How can people get angry about speculation. Kerr is a Wigan player so far there is zero story
01-02-2024, 08:37 AM
I mean it could be argued Shankland and McGrath were obvious improvements. Findlay at Killie?
We were never in for Shankland and only missed McGrath through an admin cock up.
01-02-2024, 08:37 AM
How can people get angry about speculation. Kerr is a Wigan player so far there is zero storyEven if hibs dont sign him I do not really see it as one to fume over tbh
01-02-2024, 08:38 AM
Bournemouth have agreed a loan deal with Getafe for striker Enes Unal, subject to a medical.
The deal is an initial loan with an obligation for €16.5 million.
The 26 year old is having his medical today in Madrid.
I'd imagine Kieffer Moore will leave on loan this window, a few championship teams are interested.
Mcbizz1998
01-02-2024, 08:42 AM
We were never in for Shankland and only missed McGrath through an admin cock up.
That's the point, we weren't in for Shankland. If we tried and failed then fair enough but to actually not even bother trying to sign him and then let him go to Hearts, unbelievable. As the poster said above - McGrath should have been signed, if it was a cock up then thats not good enough and we should have got him next window. Findlay would improve us and should have been targeted.
01-02-2024, 08:43 AM
That's the point, we weren't in for Shankland. If we tried and failed then fair enough but to actually not even bother trying to sign him and then let him go to Hearts, unbelievable. As the poster said above - McGrath should have been signed, if it was a cock up then thats not good enough and we should have got him next window. Findlay would improve us and should have been targeted.
I'm not sure we could justify Shankland when we already had Nisbet?
01-02-2024, 08:45 AM
We had Nisbet then. Seems unlikely we would go for Shankland too.
Donegal Hibby
01-02-2024, 08:46 AM
Sky Journalist Di Marzio claiming two Serie A teams want sevco player Dessers before the window shuts . If that happens wonder will they try for Shankland ? .
01-02-2024, 08:48 AM
If there's a shred of hesitation on Kerrs part now Robson has been sacked then we need to pick up the phone and try and get him in on loan for the rest of the season. At the very least it would be a great opportunity to look at him and be ahead of the race to sign him in the summer when his contract is up.
We still have to pay his wages. He's had one game in a year. Someone is going to have to explain to me how he isn't a bigger risk than the 20 year old from Bournemouth (who will be costing us nowt)
Rumble de Thump
01-02-2024, 08:49 AM
How much did Hearts pay for Shankland and what were his wage demands? Were we able to top that? All I've seen was that Hearts paid a six figure sum with add ons, which is a bit vague, and no info on his wages.
Mcbizz1998
01-02-2024, 08:52 AM
How much did Hearts pay for Shankland and what were his wage demands? Were we able to top that? All I've seen was that Hearts paid a six figure sum with add ons, which is a bit vague, and no info on his wages.
I don't know mate. As I say, if we enquired and found Hearts were going to top us then that's acceptable - I don't think we did that though?
01-02-2024, 08:53 AM
Kevin van Veen to Motherwell still a possibility
badabing67
01-02-2024, 08:56 AM
Kevin van Veen to Motherwell still a possibility
I thought they just signed a striker
Edit:
Motherwell sign striker Vale on loan from Blackburn
ElginHibbie
01-02-2024, 08:56 AM
I don't know mate. As I say, if we enquired and found Hearts were going to top us then that's acceptable - I don't think we did that though?
Not to a lot on here it wouldn't be!
We had Nisbet then. Seems unlikely we would go for Shankland too.
He was also coming off a poor spell in Belgium iirc
01-02-2024, 08:59 AM
We sort of were I was told. Or more accurately he was spoken to by someone at the club and he agreed to come to us but the board baulked at paying his wages. Johnson then came in, wanted him, but by that time Hearts were interested and offered more.
Stairway 2 7
01-02-2024, 08:59 AM
Hindsight is a great thing and the .net super scouts can go back to the players that made it and say why didn't we get him. They will ignore the ones that didn't hit it off. If McGeouch had worked out at Aberdeen we'd still be talking about it now.
I'm sure Aberdeen and Hearts fan sites are the same slamming their club for not getting Nisbet, Mcginn, Doig, Boyle when they could have had them for cheap. You win some you lose some though eh
lochhibs
01-02-2024, 09:16 AM
I’m no sure if Kerr would be a good fit for us. He was at his best playing in a back 3 at st Johnstone.
Donegal Hibby
01-02-2024, 09:20 AM
I don't think the club can win sometimes no matter what they do ! . If we don't sign Kerr and he goes to Aberdeen we've missed out , if we were to sign him and he gets injured the club shouldn't have .....
It looks like the Bournemouth CH Bevan might is joining us who's supposedly good on the ball which is probably what Monty wants considering we like to play out from the back .
We have recruited well this window and im sure we will get a decent CH in too . 👍
Few Partick fans thinking McKirdy is going there on loan
USA_Hibee
01-02-2024, 09:26 AM
If that's true then I wonder if we will get a striker in too.
01-02-2024, 09:31 AM
What was the admin cock up?
01-02-2024, 09:32 AM
If that's true then I wonder if we will get a striker in too.
I don’t think we need one tbh, we need a strong experienced centre back. Our attacking options are pretty good just now.
I’ll be gutted to see McKirdy going out on loan but for his recovery it might be a good thing.
01-02-2024, 09:34 AM
If I remember correctly we didn't get the deal through in time.
We should've been in for Shankland when he went to DU. But so should a lot of teams back then. The talent was obvious.
01-02-2024, 09:42 AM
We still have to pay his wages. He's had one game in a year. Someone is going to have to explain to me how he isn't a bigger risk than the 20 year old from Bournemouth (who will be costing us nowt)
I don't think Bevan is a huge risk either tbh, I've been on this thread saying the experience level isn't a huge worry for me if the laddie has quality which I can't say he does or doesn't until I see him play. I imagine the odds in us keeping Bevan may be low at the end of his loan though if he's a stand out performer for us, maybe get another year out of him on loan.
Kerr, if fit and gets back to his best, could be our Hanlon and Rocky replacement where he's able to help the younger guys like Fish and Bevan through games and provides that bit of local Hibs connection plus captain material leadership that a lot of people on this thread have been crying out for.
I think it's a no brainer to at least put some money into funding some of his wages until the summer to figure out where he's at physically and how he fits in the changing room etc.
We should've been in for Shankland when he went to DU. But so should a lot of teams back then. The talent was obvious.
It wasn’t obvious he hadn’t scored an SPL goal it was all at a lower level
01-02-2024, 09:44 AM
If I remember correctly we didn't get the deal through in time.
ISTR that he was going from St Mirren to a team in England (Hull City?) on the last day of the window and was down south getting a medical, the deal fell through at the last minute for some reason and Hibs stepped in but ran out of time to finalise the deal.
badabing67
01-02-2024, 09:54 AM
Late with the paper work
Never seen so many people on here getting angry and their knickers in a twist about not signing players when no one has clue who we'll sign and even if we're interested or not.
McGruber
01-02-2024, 10:00 AM
Never seen so many people on here getting angry and their knickers in a twist about not signing players when no one has clue who we'll sign and even if we're interested or not.
I'll be fine as long as we bring in 1 or 2 more after we land Penrice, Kerr, Bevan and Kieffer Moore
01-02-2024, 10:00 AM
:agree: Perhaps we want better than Kerr?
Crutch
01-02-2024, 10:01 AM
Not convinced Thistle would be a great move for him. Adeloye or Graham are their focal points, he’d likely be an option out wide where he’s proven quite ineffective for us already.
Make or break for him at Hibs. He needs this one to work.
01-02-2024, 10:02 AM
As if such a player exists, behave man.
01-02-2024, 10:04 AM
Or, more importantly, fitter.
https://x.com/mwalker2771/status/1753005558771089460?s=46&t=Q9xj1Of6Boq0Mkc1E67TtQ
NGoloGrantie
01-02-2024, 10:13 AM
https://x.com/mwalker2771/status/1753005558771089460?s=46&t=Q9xj1Of6Boq0Mkc1E67TtQ
Absolutely fantastic signing if true
01-02-2024, 10:14 AM
One that Monty will know well and you’d assume can play the way he wants. Not sure if he played on the left for him at CCM.
01-02-2024, 10:16 AM
Absolutely fantastic signing if true
Haven't seen him play, what would we be getting?
Waiting on our A league specialist 😁
A little footage on YouTube
https://youtu.be/Eb9KLpCh3Ls?si=Gi0TKqimx0_us8yR
01-02-2024, 10:18 AM
I don’t think we need one tbh, we need a strong experienced centre back. Our attacking options are pretty good just now.
I’ll be gutted to see McKirdy going out on loan but for his recovery it might be a good thing.
This might be an unpopular view, and I admire Harry for his recovery (and wish him well) but he'd be better completing his recovery elsewhere
I was pleased to see him come on at Forfar but he seemed to be caught for pace by the Forfar fullback, and lacked a trick to beat his man
Somewhere like Partick would be a good option for him, on that evidence - maybe even lucky to land that high up the pyramid
Wishing him well with the recovery, wherever it may be
01-02-2024, 10:21 AM
Haven't seen him play, what would we be getting?
Waiting on our A league specialist 😁
A little footage on YouTube
https://youtu.be/Eb9KLpCh3Ls?si=Gi0TKqimx0_us8yR
Looks like a pler
badabing67
01-02-2024, 10:21 AM
One that Monty will know well and you’d assume can play the way he wants. Not sure if he played on the left for him at CCM.
Date of birth/Age:May 11, 2003 (20) (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/aktuell/waspassiertheute/aktuell/new/datum/2003-05-11)Height:1,91 mCitizenship:https://tmssl.akamaized.net/images/flagge/tiny/12.png?lm=1520611569 Australia
https://tmssl.akamaized.net/images/flagge/tiny/56.png?lm=1520611569 GreecePosition:Defender - Centre-BackFoot:rightCurrent club:[/URL][URL="https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/afc-sunderland/startseite/verein/289"]Sunderland AFC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/sunderland-afc/startseite/verein/289)Joined:Jul 1, 2023Contract expires:Jun 30, 2027
01-02-2024, 10:22 AM
This might be an unpopular view, and I admire Harry for his recovery (and wish him well) but he'd be better completing his recovery elsewhere
I was pleased to see him come on at Forfar but he seemed to be caught for pace by the Forfar fullback, and lacked a trick to beat his man
Somewhere like Partick would be a good option for him, on that evidence - maybe even lucky to land that high up the pyramid
If you put aside the issue he’s had, which he’s rightly been supported through, there isn’t anything to suggest he’s going to make any impact on the team. Even at the weekend, when he came on at Kilmarnock, he just ran about a bit, gave a stupid free kick away at the edge of our own box, then continued arguing with the ref after the full time whistle about it.
🚨 EXCLUSIVE! 🚨 - Aberdeen, Birmingham, QPR and Rotherham are in a race to sign Luton Town midfielder Allan Campbell before the end of the window.
The former Motherwell man is currently on loan at Millwall. 👀
✍️: @SportsPeteO
#AberdeenFC #BCFC #QRR #RUFC
Wonder if there'll be an option to buy, probably not seeing as he signed a four year deal last year
01-02-2024, 10:24 AM
🚨 EXCLUSIVE! 🚨 - Aberdeen, Birmingham, QPR and Rotherham are in a race to sign Luton Town midfielder Allan Campbell before the end of the window.
No danger he'll be going to Aberdeen then.
01-02-2024, 10:24 AM
The sweet nectar is producing Ryan porteous aromas. Looks a player
Saw the post above, don't care how but if Allan Campbell is available we must try everything we've got to sign him
01-02-2024, 10:25 AM
Can't imagine Aberdeen will win that one.
01-02-2024, 10:28 AM
I actually agree, other than perhaps potentially the issue of cover for the first team, I think it would be for the best for him to go out and be running again at a decent intensity level consistently week on week.
If it clicked for him then it might even get some resemblance of the player we thought we were getting back.
Paulie Walnuts
01-02-2024, 10:29 AM
The fact people still refer back to a situation from nearly 40 years ago rather than a more recent example tells its own story. It’s a massive exception rather than the norm.
I don’t think folk realise that pointing out somebody managed to turn things round nearly 40 years ago isn’t proving the point they think it is.
Edinburgh Green
01-02-2024, 10:30 AM
Saw the post above, don't care how but if Allan Campbell is available we must try everything we've got to sign him
Surely that wont happen with the signings of Amos, Moriah-Welsh and JDH returning
01-02-2024, 10:30 AM
If I renew my season ticket can I claim Nectar points? :greengrin
NGoloGrantie
01-02-2024, 10:32 AM
Doubt we’d be after him. Don’t need another midfielder imo
01-02-2024, 10:32 AM
Surely that wont happen with the signings of Amos, Moriah-Welsh and JDH returning
Ach I know. And he's unlikely to return to Scotland with the clubs mentioned but if he was, he'd be an instant starter for us
badabing67
01-02-2024, 10:36 AM
Can't imagine Aberdeen will win that one.
Especially if you don't know who the manager will be before you sign. What a crazy time to sack the manager right at the end of a window
01-02-2024, 10:38 AM
Especially if you don't know who the manager will be before you sign
We’ve done it before, sure we signed two or three on deadline day just after Lennon got chucked. If Aberdeen are interested and it’s only a loan he might go, guessing he’d have a really strong relationship with their CEO.
CallumHibs07
01-02-2024, 10:41 AM
Another who's barely kicked a ball all season
We're looking for guys that can hit the ground running though ...
01-02-2024, 10:42 AM
Jamie Borthwick reporting it now
Hibs looking to bring in central defender Nectarios Triantis on loan from Sunderland. Aussie U23 international was with Nick Montgomery at Central Coast Mariners. Latest deadline day news in our live blog 👇
01-02-2024, 10:44 AM
Has he not been playing regularly for their B team?
01-02-2024, 10:45 AM
Jamie Borthwick reporting it now
Hibs looking to bring in central defender Nectarios Triantis on loan from Sunderland. Aussie U23 international was with Nick Montgomery at Central Coast Mariners. Latest deadline day news in our live blog 👇
Like the sound of that. Big guy and an athlete
ElginHibbie
01-02-2024, 10:46 AM
Has he not been playing regularly for their B team?
And been on the bench pretty much every game this season, seems to me he'd be pretty much good to go, not like been out injured
Donegal Hibby
01-02-2024, 10:47 AM
Groningen reporter Stefan Bleeker of RTV Noord saying St Mirren, Killie, hertz and Motherwell all in for Van Veen according to the sun .
01-02-2024, 10:47 AM
Think he's played a good number of games this season. Granted it's been in the u21 league. I'd assume he's match fit.