View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24
09-12-2023, 10:48 AM
Boyle and Messi are hardly comparable.
Both equally Australian
Rumble de Thump
09-12-2023, 10:52 AM
When it comes to Boyle, Messi and McGinn are irrelevant. Martin has had a terrible time of it with injury in the not too distant past, and a lot of players retire from international football as they get older in order to prolong their club careers. I wouldn't be surprised if he opts to do that at some point. In any case, he'll be unavailable for Hibs for a while and we will miss him.
09-12-2023, 10:55 AM
Both equally Australian
Didn't realise Messi also had Australian family heritage.
Stairway 2 7
09-12-2023, 11:08 AM
Boyle and Messi are hardly comparable.
Hibs are hardly PSG. Martin is also much younger at 30.
Definitely think Kenneh will be off as well. Similar to Melkersen, don’t think these young players have a great opinion of Hibs due to their time here. Understandable in my opinion.
Now they’re out, playing every week and enjoying football. I’m sure Kenneh will want a move as well.
Kenneh started well with Shrewsbury but had been left out recently until last week's cup game. If we can get another £1m for him then BK is god!
Donegal Hibby
09-12-2023, 11:25 AM
Kenneh started well with Shrewsbury but had been left out recently until last week's cup game. If we can get another £1m for him then BK is god!
Hopefully with a 20% sell on clause too 😂
09-12-2023, 11:29 AM
Perhaps John McGinn should give the Euros a miss next summer so he’s has time off to return fit and refreshed for Aston Villa’s Champions League campaign next season. He’s already played at a European Championship so should be putting Villa first.
Exactly, which makes going to experience a major tournament for someone like Boyle even more special.
If you sign players who play for national teams in certain parts of the world then it comes with an acceptance that they might miss a few games every now and again.
Hibs are hardly PSG. Martin is also much younger at 30.
Yes, and Boyle has just recovered from a serious injury, is hardly setting the heather ablaze at Hibs, relies on pace as his main footballing asset.
Comparison to McGinn or the inane of that's what international players do, they go away etc. :rolleyes:.
I just happen to believe that Boyle's Hibs career would be better served if he concentrated on playing for Hibs, given his recent injury, diminishing effectiveness (that's up for debate), age and reliance on pace etc.
If we can jump past the Janet and John level of debate please:wink: I also understand that Boyle's not really bothered by what I think :not worth:greengrin
09-12-2023, 11:36 AM
That’s not correct, he’s started all but 1 league game this season which he has been available. The 4 league games plus 1 cup game where he was left out the squad are when he has been away on international duty with Liberia.
Stairway 2 7
09-12-2023, 11:36 AM
It's baffling to think he wouldn't go to one of the biggest football tournaments in the world. If you'd say post the tournament there might be a discussion all be it slim
09-12-2023, 11:38 AM
It's baffling to think he wouldn't go to one of the biggest football tournaments in the world. If you'd say post the tournament there might be a discussion all be it slim
It’s also incredibly entitled to think a player should pass up on possibly their last opportunity to play at a major international tournament.
09-12-2023, 11:28 PM
If we have even the slightest chance of getting Fish on a permanent we should be chucking money at it. Don’t think I’ve ever seen a better 20 year old centre half at Hibs.
10-12-2023, 03:29 AM
If we have even the slightest chance of getting Fish on a permanent we should be chucking money at it. Don’t think I’ve ever seen a better 20 year old centre half at Hibs.
Boateng
😀
10-12-2023, 06:10 AM
Agreed. Big future in the game.
10-12-2023, 06:30 AM
Porteous
10-12-2023, 06:40 AM
Porteous
Fish will go on to have a career levels above Porto IMO.
10-12-2023, 07:18 AM
I said yesterday re Fish that he has to be one of the best loan signings to have played for us. Plays well every week, he’s a solid, no nonsense defender who seems to like playing for us and gets us.
I don’t think there is any chance him signing in permanently but to keep him to the end of the season would be brilliant on current form.
10-12-2023, 07:40 AM
Fish is probably ultimately destined for the English Championship as we won't be able to compete with what some of those clubs can pay.
10-12-2023, 07:41 AM
Fish will go on to have a career levels above Porto IMO.
Not sure about that. Porteuos is now a regular starter for the best Scotland team in generations and will be playing at the Euros next summer.
Fish is a good player but I don't see him as being better tha Porteuos at a comparable age. I think Porteuos made his debut at 17 and was a regular at 18.
10-12-2023, 07:48 AM
Not sure about that. Porteuos is now a regular starter for the best Scotland team in generations and will be playing at the Euros next summer.
Fish is a good player but I don't see him as being better tha Porteuos at a comparable age. I think Porteuos made his debut at 17 and was a regular at 18.
You can’t compare international careers between a Scotsman and an Englishman. However, I meant domestically.
My mates a Watford fan and he said he will be surprised if he’s still starting for Watford next season.
10-12-2023, 07:58 AM
You can’t compare international careers between a Scotsman and an Englishman. However, I meant domestically.
That is of course correct but the level of performance Porteuos has shown in those international games does show what he is capable of. Fish has shown he can be a good player at Scottish Premier level, as of yet nothing above that.
Watford are currently 10th but only 2 points off the play off places and Porteuos starts every week. Your mate my have that opinion but fans opinions are very often incorrect, we had some fans wanting Montgomery gone only a few weeks ago as an example.
I think it's a stretch to make a claim he'll end up "levels above" Porto at this time. That would suggest he'd regularly be starting in the English Premier League. IMO that's a complete unknown as to if he'd ever reach that level.
ChilliEater
10-12-2023, 08:36 AM
Being linked here:
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sunday-life/sport/scottish-titans-hibernian-join-top-irish-league-trio-in-the-hunt-for-cliftonvilles-ben-wilson/a42080559.html
to a 22 year old striker at Cliftonville, although the story on the right of the page about the boy being fined for peeing through someone's letterbox is more entertaining :greengrin
10-12-2023, 08:37 AM
If we can get anything for Kenneh then it would be tremendous business. A really poor player at our level.
10-12-2023, 09:11 AM
Yeah I don’t see enough in Kenneh
Another million for him please BK
Puddocky
10-12-2023, 11:12 AM
Being linked here:
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sunday-life/sport/scottish-titans-hibernian-join-top-irish-league-trio-in-the-hunt-for-cliftonvilles-ben-wilson/a42080559.html
to a 22 year old striker at Cliftonville, although the story on the right of the page about the boy being fined for peeing through someone's letterbox is more entertaining :greengrin
The peeing story isn't showing up anymore when I follow that link, so just to be clear - the letterbox guy and the striker we're linked with are two different guys, yeah?
Like 'Scottish Titans' tag though :thumbsup:
ChilliEater
10-12-2023, 11:29 AM
The peeing story isn't showing up anymore when I follow that link, so just to be clear - the letterbox guy and the striker we're linked with are two different guys, yeah?
There we go: https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sunday-life/news/i-dont-remember-a-thing-ballycastle-man-fined-500-for-drunkenly-urinating-through-letterbox/a890035035.html
I don't think they're the same guy, but you never know.....
and "Titans" that's got to be bigger than "Big team", hasn't it? :take that:hilarious
badabing67
10-12-2023, 12:31 PM
If we can get anything for Kenneh then it would be tremendous business. A really poor player at our level.
Bet you were saying exactly the same thing about Jair, give the guy a chance and see what he can do at our level.
10-12-2023, 01:25 PM
Bet you were saying exactly the same thing about Jair, give the guy a chance and see what he can do at our level.
I think the difference is we saw a decent amount of Kenneh and he had a more than decent run of games
I just don’t think he’ll ever be comfortable enough on the ball to play centrally for us. Very good at winning it back though
10-12-2023, 01:49 PM
He's had a chance though no?
Why not just sell him and get someone better instead of waiting to see if he'll turn good?
10-12-2023, 02:39 PM
Pretty sure he’s only been dropped post international games. But we dont play a DM any more so I agree it’s likely he will move on.
cameronw-hfc
10-12-2023, 02:53 PM
That is of course correct but the level of performance Porteuos has shown in those international games does show what he is capable of. Fish has shown he can be a good player at Scottish Premier level, as of yet nothing above that.
Watford are currently 10th but only 2 points off the play off places and Porteuos starts every week. Your mate my have that opinion but fans opinions are very often incorrect, we had some fans wanting Montgomery gone only a few weeks ago as an example.
I think it's a stretch to make a claim he'll end up "levels above" Porto at this time. That would suggest he'd regularly be starting in the English Premier League. IMO that's a complete unknown as to if he'd ever reach that level.
I use to work with a watford fan and kept in touch when Porto went down.
His exact words when I asked him how he's doing copy and pasted-
He's OK, plenty passion and a good character but brain farts and poor decisions let him down almost weekly
Great for Scotland, but everyone is in that team. Doesn't sound like he's doing it at club level currently and seems to be making the same errors he has at hibs
10-12-2023, 03:12 PM
My mates a Watford fan and he said he will be surprised if he’s still starting for Watford next season.
I don’t think Fish will end up being better than Porteous at all, never mind levels above. Difficult to say with any certainty though.
Fish wouldn’t get near our national side (aside from not being Scottish). Porto is an important part of it. Appreciate there’s almost 4 years between them..
Porto was regarded as our best player when playing with largely the same squad as fish is now. Fish has potential and has been good for us no doubt, but he still has it to prove where Porto already has, in my opinion.
I also know a Watford fan. He was a big fan of Porteous and thought he’d been brilliant… this was in February though and I think both Watford and RP have probably went off the boil since then!
10-12-2023, 04:55 PM
Being linked here:
Scottish Titans 😃
10-12-2023, 05:09 PM
I use to work with a watford fan and kept in touch when Porto went down.
His exact words when I asked him how he's doing copy and pasted-
He's OK, plenty passion and a good character but brain farts and poor decisions let him down almost weekly
Great for Scotland, but everyone is in that team. Doesn't sound like he's doing it at club level currently and seems to be making the same errors he has at hibs
Is that Watford fan a football genius or a fud? 😉
10-12-2023, 05:11 PM
I think Fish is already better than Porto. At the defending side of the game anyway. Porto definitely uses the ball better.
10-12-2023, 05:18 PM
Armstrong from Killie would be a great signing imo.
10-12-2023, 05:22 PM
I think Fish is already better than Porto. At the defending side of the game anyway. Porto definitely uses the ball better.
Porto much better for me, but his nonsense lets him down.
GreenPJ
10-12-2023, 05:25 PM
👍
cameronw-hfc
10-12-2023, 05:29 PM
Is that Watford fan a football genius or a fud? 😉
😂, he seems to genuinely like him, just does his head in with his rash moments, which he was prone to here as well.
10-12-2023, 05:40 PM
18 months left on his contract, would take a fair amount of money I'd guess. Think he'd suit Hibs, fair amount of pace , creates chances and isn't the worst defensively.
Donegal Hibby
10-12-2023, 05:43 PM
Porto would be better driving forward with the ball and passer though Fish imo is a more solid defender with a better attitude . I'd have Fish over Porto every day of the week.
10-12-2023, 05:46 PM
Porto would be better driving forward with the ball and passer though Fish imo is a more solid defender with a better attitude . I'd have Fish over Porto every day of the week.
Porto's attitude is absolutely top drawer.
Not saying Fish doesn't have that, but if there was one thing about Porteuos you could say was he never in awe or overawed at anything. Laddie was absolutely fearless.
Donegal Hibby
10-12-2023, 06:03 PM
Porto's attitude is absolutely top drawer.
Not saying Fish doesn't have that, but if there was one thing about Porteuos you could say was he never in awe or overawed at anything. Laddie was absolutely fearless.
Agree about him being fearless though still think the shouting at his own teammates , throwing himself about looking for freekicks his attitude wasn't right especially last 3 or 4 months he was here .
In saying that if he ever became available I take him back alright though I don't think we have missed him since we got Fish . Both are good though I think Fish is a more solid defender .
10-12-2023, 06:10 PM
18 months left on his contract, would take a fair amount of money I'd guess. Think he'd suit Hibs, fair amount of pace , creates chances and isn't the worst defensively.
Maybe we could offer them another of our perma injured midfielders in JDH as part of the deal 😀
11-12-2023, 09:07 PM
😂, he seems to genuinely like him, just does his head in with his rash moments, which he was prone to here as well.
That’s what I was like with him tbh. Loved so much about him and felt that with a wee screw of the nut he had (still very much has) the potential to be a genuinely top class player.
Some of his decisions though…
Which he doesn’t seem to have for Scotland, which begs the question what they’re all about?
I’d put Fish in a similar bracket tbh. Both are excellent players and ver the years we won’t get that many that much better.
Titans is shortened a bit when they talk about the tarts.
11-12-2023, 09:42 PM
I wasn't actually:na na:. There wasn't enough evidence to confirm either way from Jair's limited time on the pitch. Kenneh had plenty of chances at this level though. It was seriously worrying when Kenneh struggled against part time opposition in the league cup shambles last season - and some of his league performances were dreadful. That attempt at tracking back at Livvy last year when Nouble scored was so bad it was unreal.
12-12-2023, 08:39 AM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/musa-toure-hibs-transfer-interest-28273367
Montgomery comfirms Toure is a player we’re interested in/looking at.
Not many clips of him but for those with TikTok he posts some Elie Youan esque clips - Musa2re69 is his account
12-12-2023, 09:03 AM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/musa-toure-hibs-transfer-interest-28273367
Montgomery comfirms Toure is a player we’re interested in/looking at.
Not many clips of him but for those with TikTok he posts some Elie Youan esque clips - Musa2re69 is his accountWonder how is injury is
With the manager confirming I imagine we think we have him
Edit - fromn another thread he's out for atleast 1 month
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
12-12-2023, 12:17 PM
I'd agree and he's played less than 50 first team games. If he has reasonable luck with injuries I'll think he'll be playing at a higher level than Porto in a couple of years.
12-12-2023, 09:30 PM
Fancy Tom McIntyre will be out the door at Reading come the summer. I think he was linked with a Scottish club in the summer, not saying it was Hibs mind. I know he can play LCB and LB. He was highly rated a fews seasons ago. No idea if he has been injured or dropped recently. Wonder if it could be the kind of player we'd potentially be interested in.
12-12-2023, 09:33 PM
Fancy Tom McIntyre will be out the door at Reading come the summer. I think he was linked with a Scottish club in the summer, not saying it was Hibs mind. I know he can play LCB and LB. He was highly rated a fews seasons ago. No idea if he has been injured or dropped recently. Wonder if it could be the kind of player we'd potentially be interested in.
Jeezo is he still playing? Seems like a lifetime ago he was scoring in the final against Dumfermline.....
12-12-2023, 09:39 PM
Jeezo is he still playing? Seems like a lifetime ago he was scoring in the final against Dumfermline.....
Not just me that thought that then :greengrin
12-12-2023, 09:42 PM
I thought he’s had some career-almost as long as Roy Race.
12-12-2023, 09:43 PM
Basildon Hibs
12-12-2023, 09:57 PM
We need a couple of tough midfielders.
12-12-2023, 10:01 PM
Jeggo is pretty tough but he’s an impact sub at the minute, with two in the middle I’m not sure that’s really what we’re missing tbh. We need a forward and a left back. In an ideal world, a keeper and left sided centre half too.
Longer term, I’d like to see improvements in the midfield, but I can’t see it being a priority for Jan.
12-12-2023, 10:55 PM
I thought he’s had some career-almost as long as Roy Race.
I'll never forgive that Judas for leaving melchester
12-12-2023, 11:05 PM
I'll never forgive that Judas for leaving melchester
Blackie Gray was a better player anyway. :greengrin
13-12-2023, 05:08 AM
Jeggo is pretty tough but he’s an impact sub at the minute, with two in the middle I’m not sure that’s really what we’re missing tbh. We need a forward and a left back. In an ideal world, a keeper and left sided centre half too.
Longer term, I’d like to see improvements in the midfield, but I can’t see it being a priority for Jan.
Obita is doing just fine at LB in my opinion,
13-12-2023, 05:56 AM
Obita is a class act imo and so underrated it’s criminal.
Lovely left foot, composed, athletic and good defensively.
A younger player to compete/cover for him as he picks up some niggles maybe or maybe a cheaper option - Penrice? As I don’t think Stevenson suits the current style and is getting on a bit
LB essential IMO I like obita but as you say some young blood to compete with him is important I can’t see Stevenson being around next year so we’re short.
On that anyone any idea how Macintyre is doing at QOS? could we call him back and give him a few months see if he can be the answer?
13-12-2023, 06:54 AM
I'm not sure it's a priority given how the manager has us playing.
Unless they can pass a ball and dictate play that is. Very hard to find big, tough tacking midfielders who can also pass at our level though.
13-12-2023, 08:07 AM
I agree, we’re just short in depth there and Obita does pick up a few niggles. Both players at LB are 30+ so we need to be prepared.
13-12-2023, 08:35 AM
I agree, we’re just short in depth there and Obita does pick up a few niggles. Both players at LB are 30+ so we need to be prepared.
Obita does seem to pick up an injury or two
Mcbizz1998
13-12-2023, 08:49 AM
Agree, I really rate Obita but we need solid back up for him. Would be pleased if we could strengthen that area in Jan.
13-12-2023, 09:21 AM
I heard a small rumour that we were in for Penrice. But it was 3rd hand info, so no idea if it's true or not.
Gordy M
13-12-2023, 09:22 AM
Agree, I really rate Obita but we need solid back up for him. Would be pleased if we could strengthen that area in Jan.
Whilst you are right, this is where i think clubs like ourselves are in a tricky position. How much do we spend on a left back who is 2nd choice? And who is going to sign to sit on the bench? Are we then lowering the quality of the squad, or do we spend bigger amounts and Obita is 2nd choice? Ideally we would have a youngster waiting in the wings to step in when needed.
Chip shop Joe
13-12-2023, 11:30 AM
I heard a small rumour that we were in for Penrice. But it was 3rd hand info, so no idea if it's true or not.
Was watching Penrice at Livi. He can certainly whip in a cross and this is something we have not had in left back/midfielder for a good while.
13-12-2023, 12:11 PM
Was watching Penrice at Livi. He can certainly whip in a cross and this is something we have not had in left back/midfielder for a good while.
Obita delivers a lovely crossed ball?
13-12-2023, 12:12 PM
So can Obita
NC1875
13-12-2023, 12:20 PM
Jacob Farrell is one I heard NM wants but not heard anymore about it.
13-12-2023, 12:54 PM
https://x.com/archiemeldrum75/status/1734928381886505325?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
This guys looks like what most are saying we’re missing in the middle of the park..
13-12-2023, 12:55 PM
https://x.com/archiemeldrum75/status/1734928381886505325?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
This guys looks like what most are saying we’re missing in the middle of the park..
Pfft he is part of the midfield problem that has us 4th, have you not been keeping up?
13-12-2023, 01:18 PM
Would be nice to see some highlights from games against the Old Firm or Hearts.
13-12-2023, 01:21 PM
We need to hold fire on hopes this transfer window at least until we see what the new investment looks like it could be a real game changer and pretty sure Hibs will be prepared for this.
K-Zazu
13-12-2023, 01:23 PM
Josh Doig loan? Looks to be out of the picture at Verona recently? Not sure if the manager their doesn’t fancy him not sure
Caversham Green
13-12-2023, 01:28 PM
I did wonder if he was related when he first appeared at Reading. He's locally born but his father is Scottish and young Tom has played for under-age Scottish national sides.
I haven't seen him play since lockdown but he looked very promising as a teenager. Definitely a centre half rather than a full back IMO.
13-12-2023, 02:10 PM
Would be nice to see some highlights from games against the Old Firm or Hearts.
You would if you watched more than 4 seconds
HendoDelivered
13-12-2023, 04:07 PM
Josh Doig loan? Looks to be out of the picture at Verona recently? Not sure if the manager their doesn’t fancy him not sure
No chance, Josh has no intentions of coming back to Scotland anytime soon.
13-12-2023, 05:26 PM
I see Hibs have posted a video on twitter with Mckirdy playing snooker with Fish.
Any news on when he'll be back training? New year maybe?
13-12-2023, 05:30 PM
I see Hibs have posted a video on twitter with Mckirdy playing snooker with Fish.
He’s been back training for quite a while, not sure what level of training that’s been ramped up to but he’s definitely been involved outside with the squad.
13-12-2023, 05:32 PM
We need to hold fire on hopes this transfer window at least until we see what the new investment looks like it could be a real game changer and pretty sure Hibs will be prepared for this.
Aye right, if we havnae re-signed McGinn and Messi for a back up by the second week of January, Foley can sling his hook.....
13-12-2023, 05:33 PM
Anyone know if there's drop dead date for United to trigger will fish return?
Last thing we need is a month of uncertainty and recalled in the last days/hours because they want to rent him out to a higher level
13-12-2023, 05:36 PM
Jacob Farrell is a left back.
Best one in Australia just now, but has a year to run on his contract and would incur a fee Hibs may not wish to pay
13-12-2023, 05:45 PM
Be better playing with a snooker cue…..
13-12-2023, 05:51 PM
Be better playing with a snooker cue…..
A swordfish might work?
13-12-2023, 05:54 PM
A swordfish might work?
True
MagicSwirlingShip
13-12-2023, 06:21 PM
Best one in Australia just now, but has a year to run on his contract and would incur a fee Hibs may not wish to pay
Melkerson cash might make this fee possible Fred. What do you think you would be looking for?
13-12-2023, 06:34 PM
Anyone know if there's drop dead date for United to trigger will fish return?
Last thing we need is a month of uncertainty and recalled in the last days/hours because they want to rent him out to a higher level
The way they are leaking goals he might go straight into the 1st team
Bridge hibs
13-12-2023, 06:38 PM
Aw **** is he new to snooker, he would get on better if he used balls instead of fish !
13-12-2023, 09:49 PM
Aw **** is he new to snooker, he would get on better if he used balls instead of fish !
I saw Kirk Stevens playing snooker with a mullet.
13-12-2023, 10:44 PM
Agree … Obita very good going forward and strong at the back
13-12-2023, 10:45 PM
Obita delivers a lovely crossed ball?
Correct
Correct
As does Chris Cadden. looking forward to him being back in the squad and seeing what he can bring to the team under this management team.
13-12-2023, 11:22 PM
👍
Auckland Hibs
13-12-2023, 11:30 PM
👌
14-12-2023, 05:45 AM
The fish slithered into the tight pockets, Harry did look healthy and in good spirit. Not that it's the same as real life but on my Hibs save on FM24 mobile he was available for selection in January.
14-12-2023, 05:47 AM
Be surprised if we weren't in for him.
14-12-2023, 08:50 AM
🗣️"He’s still got a lot of developing to go before he goes overseas."
Hibs told Musa Toure going nowhere as Adelaide United to trigger new contract and fend off transfer interest
📎footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-…
tonyrougier123
15-12-2023, 06:57 AM
Will Dennis at kille anyone? Been liking look of him between the sticks.
15-12-2023, 08:07 AM
Not for me. Three absolute howlers recently, one versus us where Campbell megged him, and two own goals.
Edinburgh Green
15-12-2023, 08:44 AM
Killie fans think he's rotten.
15-12-2023, 09:51 AM
I wouldn't think goalie is a priority recruitment area just now. We brought in Wollacott and Boruc in the summer and Murray Johnstone is on loan but still in the plans.
15-12-2023, 09:56 AM
I wouldn't think goalie is a priority recruitment area just now. We brought in Wollacott and Boruc in the summer and Murray Johnstone is on loan but still in the plans.
If all goes well and they all develop to reach their potential then we shouldn't need to worry about GK for a good wee while.
15-12-2023, 10:42 AM
I suppose the big question is will the new investment go through in time for the Jan window? if not should the club spend the cash anyway as they know its coming in the next couple of months? Id hope they would..
King Cosell
15-12-2023, 10:47 AM
I suppose the big question is will the new investment go through in time for the Jan window? if not should the club spend the cash anyway as they know its coming in the next couple of months? Id hope they would..
We'll almost certainly be getting 1 or 2 players on loan from Bouremouth, no reason why that can't go through early.
Trinity Hibee
15-12-2023, 12:23 PM
We'll almost certainly be getting 1 or 2 players on loan from Bouremouth, no reason why that can't go through early.
Do you think? Has that been mentioned in all of the recent coverage?
15-12-2023, 12:28 PM
Do you think? Has that been mentioned in all of the recent coverage?
I’m sure I read that Bournemouth signed a player for £15m and immediately loaned him to Lorient, so if that’s the case I wouldn’t be surprised to see players come here.
Trinity Hibee
15-12-2023, 12:33 PM
I’m sure I read that Bournemouth signed a player for £15m and immediately loaned him to Lorient, so if that’s the case I wouldn’t be surprised to see players come here.
Fair enough, might be our best option at the moment given getting the Foley deal through and getting signings in might be a struggle for January given timescales
badabing67
15-12-2023, 12:51 PM
I got to be honest I was wanting a new goalie for a while but Marshy has turned it round. So i agree with this
15-12-2023, 12:53 PM
Hamed Junior Traorè would be a good option.
15-12-2023, 01:28 PM
Hamed Junior Traorè would be a good option.
So would Solanke while we are at it.
15-12-2023, 02:04 PM
In truth we are far more likely to get players from Bournemouths development squad.
Baylin Johnson - forward who has been on Loan in Italy to Lecce.. has just returned to Bournemouth - Only 5 appearances and didn't really make an impact, but interesting back history wit Arsenal
Lewis Brown - Midfielder who they have high hopes for.
Gavin Kilkenny is a forward who is currently on loan at Charlton and getting limited opportunities, played against us in the pre-season match
As "Not in the know" has mentioned above Traore would be a very good shout. Attacking midfielder who they bought last year but who is struggling to get minutes in their first team.
15-12-2023, 02:07 PM
In truth we are far more likely to get players from Bournemouths development squad.
Baylin Johnson - forward who has been on Loan in Italy to Lecce.. has just returned to Bournemouth - Only 5 appearances and didn't really make an impact, but interesting back history wit Arsenal
Gavin Kilkenny is a forward who is currently on loan at Charlton and getting limited opportunities, played against us in the pre-season match
That doesn't fit with Monty's understanding going by his remarks about shopping in a new market.
15-12-2023, 02:17 PM
That doesn't fit with Monty's understanding going by his remarks about shopping in a new market.
I think there are a number of possibilities.. 1)Bournemouth buy players and then loan them to us (as they have done with Lorient) 2)Hibs buy players from new markets at higher prices than previously...3) Bournemouth loan us existing players that are better than we have, but can't get in their team.
in the above I was only talking about the third of those options.
Hibiza
15-12-2023, 02:35 PM
😃
15-12-2023, 02:39 PM
I think there’s two types of loans you can get from Premiership clubs, like Bournemouth.
Development players who have no chance of making it with them but are under good contracts and are just seeing out there time there. That’s the kind of loans we currently get from these clubs.
Development/Fringe players who they’ve got high hopes for but not able to break into the team just now. I think this is the kind of loan signing we will be hoping for from them going forward.
King Cosell
15-12-2023, 02:56 PM
I think there’s two types of loans you can get from Premiership clubs, like Bournemouth.
Development players who have no chance of making it with them but are under good contracts and are just seeing out there time there. That’s the kind of loans we currently get from these clubs.
Development/Fringe players who they’ve got high hopes for but not able to break into the team just now. I think this is the kind of loan signing we will be hoping for from them going forward.
If you look at their squad on Transfermarkt, it's far stronger than Rangers' or Celtic's, so another type of player might be players not part of their plans, want to stay in UK, worth a few million, and a move to us puts them in the shop window.
15-12-2023, 04:46 PM
As "Not in the know" has mentioned above Traore would be a very good shout. Attacking midfielder who they bought last year but who is struggling to get minutes in their first team.
What kind of midfielder is Lewis Brown?
15-12-2023, 06:56 PM
If you look at their squad on Transfermarkt, it's far stronger than Rangers' or Celtic's, so another type of player might be players not part of their plans, want to stay in UK, worth a few million, and a move to us puts them in the shop window.
Excellent punctuation. Definitely Hibs class.
:not worth
Bad Habits
15-12-2023, 06:59 PM
Hamed Traore would be phenomenal at this level, unfortunately I can't see it :(
15-12-2023, 07:17 PM
Excellent punctuation. Definitely Hibs class.
:not worth
Pfffffttttt, his fechin dad's a Tory and went tae a private school mair like....
Imagine Bournemouth meeting the asking price for Shankland then loaning him to us. 🤔
PHeffernan
15-12-2023, 09:13 PM
Do you still have it?!
16-12-2023, 07:17 PM
Hopefully the investment is done soon.
Need a lot of quality in January, our starting 11 and bench needs a lot of additions
Chip shop Joe
16-12-2023, 07:24 PM
Imagine Bournemouth meeting the asking price for Shankland then loaning him to us. 🤔
Monty would probably play him left back😃
17-12-2023, 09:41 AM
We need another player who can do a bit of everything like Newell and drive forward with the ball at his feet. While Jeggo and Levitt both have some excellent qualities, we lack a driving force in the middle of the park without Newell. Jamie Lindsay is a player who I admired at Ross County years ago who seems to flit between the Championship and League 1 down south and isn't getting as much game time these days. Maybe Baccus could be an option, but he seems to be used more defensively by St Mirren.
Depending on his recovery, I think Murray Aiken could be recalled and fit that mould.
If we want to play 2 in the middle, we need these kinds of players and there isn't many about.
Hibs4185
17-12-2023, 09:56 AM
If we are playing 4 forwards, Vente, Boyle, Youan and Jair, there is no way we can play 4-4-2.
4 attack minded players and 4 defenders, leaves 2 midfielders.
I’m no expert but if Jeggo and Levitt are the midfield then it’s no wonder the forward players are getting supplied.
Newell does bridge the gap a bit better but either the squad doesn’t fit the managers plans or the manager doesn’t fit the squads attributes.
We badly need a better midfield or I think it’s going to get tricky for NM pretty quickly
Trinity Hibee
17-12-2023, 10:05 AM
I thought 4-3-3 was what suited our attack best? Boyle Vente and Youan. Still leaves you 3 in the middle of the pitch.
I’m a fan of the old 4-4-2 but the front 4 currently playing there doesn’t really work. No physical presence up top and the wingers aren’t much defensively.
17-12-2023, 12:09 PM
I thought 4-3-3 was what suited our attack best? Boyle Vente and Youan. Still leaves you 3 in the middle of the pitch.
I’m a fan of the old 4-4-2 but the front 4 currently playing there doesn’t really work. No physical presence up top and the wingers aren’t much defensively.
4-3-3 would suit us better
17-12-2023, 12:17 PM
4-3-3 would suit us better
McGruber
17-12-2023, 02:06 PM
I think we do have good players and we have been getting results in spite of the 4-4-2 not because of it. I think we would have won the same points and more with other formations and looked a more rounded team.
The other teams in the league must be delighted we have adopted a system and formation that doesn't lend to Boyle, Youan and Vente's strengths
Whether you think 442 is right or not in the modern game, or for this set of players might be up for debate.
What isn't up for debate is that you can't have one formation for every game in every circumstance. I really like Montgomery and hope he learns to be flexible
JammyDoidger
17-12-2023, 02:28 PM
I think we do have good players and we have been getting results in spite of the 4-4-2 not because of it. I think we would have won the same points and more with other formations and looked a more rounded team.
The other teams in the league must be delighted we have adopted a system and formation that doesn't lend to Boyle, Youan and Vente's strengths
Whether you think 442 is right or not in the modern game, or for this set of players might be up for debate.
What isn't up for debate is that you can't have one formation for every game in every circumstance. I really like Montgomery and hope he learns to be flexible
This! I don't get why you can't still adopt the same philosophy and principles in a different formation that suits the players you've got. You don't need to play 4-4-2 in order to play out from the back for example.
17-12-2023, 02:32 PM
Pfffffttttt, his fechin dad's a Tory and went tae a private school mair like....
He's a King. What did you expect? :rolleyes:
17-12-2023, 04:24 PM
This! I don't get why you can't still adopt the same philosophy and principles in a different formation that suits the players you've got. You don't need to play 4-4-2 in order to play out from the back for example.
The thing is, players move around in game, regardless of how you set the play up. Strikers come deep, fullbacks push up, midfielders get into the box etc.
I think too much is made about formation. I just don't think we have the standard needed to play a passing game. Folk are talking about playing more direct and quicker.
Direct sounds to me like long ball. To Vente and Boyle.
Quick passing is not easy for a mid table SPL side.
JammyDoidger
17-12-2023, 04:28 PM
The thing is, players move around in game, regardless of how you set the play up. Strikers come deep, fullbacks push up, midfielders get into the box etc.
I think too much is made about formation. I just don't think we have the standard needed to play a passing game. Folk are talking about playing more direct and quicker.
Direct sounds to me like long ball. To Vente and Boyle.
Quick passing is not easy for a mid table SPL side.
In a 4-4-2 your wide men will do a lot more defensive work, their starting or base positions will be deeper than in the 4-3-3, in a 4-3-3 you've got the extra man in midfield covering. We don't want Boyle, Youan Tavares even vente doing much defensive work. Leave them high in a 4-3-3 and bring in a bit more protection behind them.
A 4-3-3 would allow Levitt to play a bit higher aswell, I honestly don't think his game is a deep playing playmaker, he needs to play much higher up the park. So many players being wasted in this team atm, Monty won't change though. This is going to be it, so we better get used to it.
Midfield is where most games are won and when we are 2 against 3 in there every week we are up against it. 3-5-2 and 4-3-3 is what we should be switching between imo depending on opposition, if you look at teams that have been successful in Scotland recently it's in these shapes. We always try and be too clever imo, we are that desperate to be different.
17-12-2023, 04:38 PM
In a 4-4-2 your wide men will do a lot more defensive work, their starting or base positions will be deeper than in the 4-3-3, in a 4-3-3 you've got the extra man in midfield covering. We don't want Boyle, Youan Tavares even vente doing much defensive work. Leave them high in a 4-3-3 and bring in a bit more protection behind them.
A 4-3-3 would allow Levitt to play a bit higher aswell, I honestly don't think his game is a deep playing playmaker, he needs to play much higher up the park. So many players being wasted in this team atm, Monty won't change though. This is going to be it, so we better get used to it.
Midfield is where most games are won and when we are 2 against 3 in there every week we are up against it. 3-5-2 and 4-3-3 is what we should be switching between imo depending on opposition, if you look at teams that have been successful in Scotland recently it's in these shapes. We always try and be too clever imo, we are that desperate to be different.
Spot on, we get outnumbered most games because our wide men either get tired or lazy. We've got away with it too many times for it to last, we give up too many chances for the opposition, but dont create nearly enough of our own to say its too successful to keep in my opinion.
17-12-2023, 04:40 PM
These players have either seen of numerous managers or just Johnson. They also fluctuated from winning streaks to losing streaks last season, losing to every team in the league and starting the season off with 3 league defeats and even worse performances.
There’s not anyone I’d worry about losing or not take money for. I think it’s time to stick with a manager who has a set formation and way of playing. For me the players are playing for their future. Lots of them are stars on paper, however if the likes of Boyle, Youan, Levit etc don’t start consistently performing in this formations I’d back Montgomery to start moving them out as starters and eventually move them on. Making space and budget for players that can fit into a Montgomery team and finally begin to show some consistency.
17-12-2023, 04:43 PM
These players have either seen of numerous managers or just Johnson. They also fluctuated from winning streaks to losing streaks last season, losing to every team in the league and starting the season off with 3 league defeats and even worse performances.
There’s not anyone I’d worry about losing or not take money for. I think it’s time to stick with a manager who has a set formation and way of playing. For me the players are playing for their future. Lots of them are stars on paper, however if the likes of Boyle, Youan, Levit etc don’t start consistently performing in this formations I’d back Montgomery to start moving them out as starters and eventually move them on. Making space and budget for players that can fit into a Montgomery team and finally begin to show some consistency.
Thats my hope for the future.:agree:
Eaststand
17-12-2023, 05:00 PM
Yep, I agree with you 100%
17-12-2023, 05:03 PM
And another.
17-12-2023, 05:40 PM
Watched the last half an hour of the Central Coast Mariners this morning - was interested in seeing a couple of players were linked with.
The stand out was Nisbet who was playing in a more advanced role. Pretty much one of the front 2 that would drop deep into the hole like Campbell was doing for us in the 442.
His height never seemed an issue, very good and comfortable on the ball and something that I really like was his movement off the ball - drifting into wide areas, going in behind, dropping deep.
Albeit think under Monty he was one of the midfield 2 so would likely play there for us. But his ability to turn or go past a man could be beneficial.
Farrell never had a huge amount to do from what I saw but the commentators were raving about him (and Nisbet). His build and running style reminds me of Callum Booth, looked comfortable on the ball and solid enough defensively however I’d argue it was his decision making that lead to the equaliser
17-12-2023, 06:36 PM
This 100%.
You can’t expect to play with Jair, Boyle, Youan and Vente in the team and expect a 442 to work. On top of that we have one centre mid and a defensive mid. It’s basically playing without a midfield and he expects them to pass out from the back with nowhere to go. He either needs players to work his system or change it for now until we do.
17-12-2023, 06:42 PM
This 100%.
You can’t expect to play with Jair, Boyle, Youan and Vente in the team and expect a 442 to work. On top of that we have one centre mid and a defensive mid. It’s basically playing without a midfield and he expects them to pass out from the back with nowhere to go. He either needs players to work his system or change it for now until we do.
Why is playing with one centre midfielder and one defensive midfielder basically playing with no midfield?
17-12-2023, 06:47 PM
Why is playing with one centre midfielder and one defensive midfielder basically playing with no midfield?
Because we’re normally up against 3 in midfield. I’m obviously exaggerating the fact but our midfield becomes overwhelmed, you know what I mean. 😀
Hibiza
17-12-2023, 06:52 PM
Foley mega million investment and Epl starlets on loan - probably just a folly dream .
andrew70
17-12-2023, 07:04 PM
Watched the last half an hour of the Central Coast Mariners this morning - was interested in seeing a couple of players were linked with.
The stand out was Nisbet who was playing in a more advanced role. Pretty much one of the front 2 that would drop deep into the hole like Campbell was doing for us in the 442.
His height never seemed an issue, very good and comfortable on the ball and something that I really like was his movement off the ball - drifting into wide areas, going in behind, dropping deep.
Albeit think under Monty he was one of the midfield 2 so would likely play there for us. But his ability to turn or go past a man could be beneficial.
Farrell never had a huge amount to do from what I saw but the commentators were raving about him (and Nisbet). His build and running style reminds me of Callum Booth, looked comfortable on the ball and solid enough defensively however I’d argue it was his decision making that lead to the equaliser
Nisbet would be a fantastic signing. Very astute in everything he does. Has high stats on and off the ball.
17-12-2023, 10:39 PM
This 100%.
But generally it has worked. We've just lost our first game under the new manager to a team outwith the OF.
I'm not saying we're the finished article by any means but folk are talking like he's lost 5 on the bounce.
18-12-2023, 12:20 AM
But generally it has worked. We've just lost our first game under the new manager to a team outwith the OF.
I'm not saying we're the finished article by any means but folk are talking like he's lost 5 on the bounce.
18-12-2023, 12:36 AM
I’m not saying we’re the finished article either. He needs to get his own players in but he also needs to adapt. Managers get praised for changing things within games if it’s not working and counter acting opponents tactics. You can’t just keep flogging a dead horse, he got lucky v Aberdeen and Livi and Celtic could have had a barrow load. Setting up with 4 forward and starving them of service is really poor. Was it 3 shots on target v Livi and St J combined? Mmm
18-12-2023, 01:18 AM
Nisbet would be a fantastic signing. Very astute in everything he does. Has high stats on and off the ball.
Only thing that discourages overseas clubs signing Josh is his height..or lack of it…at 5’3”………but he would definitely be the hardest working midfielder in our squad if we signed him.
As for Farrell…..Hibs have known about him since before they signed Miller but haven’t yet made a move for him.
I think this window may well be their last opportunity as he’s being talked about as the next on the overseas conveyor belt.
Having said that, Farrell is a very shy, quiet laddie who may not wish to leave the comfortable lifestyle he enjoys on the NSW Central Coast….he nearly left the game a few years ago, and hasn’t expressed any public overseas ambitions……and indeed he’s not someone who is comfortable sticking his head in front of a camera……but he is undoubtedly the best left back in Australia at the moment, and although skinny, is as tough as nails.
Guess we’ll see soon enough if any of Nisbet, Farrell and/or Tullio are on Monty’s wish list
18-12-2023, 06:00 AM
Absolutely. He was getting criticised early doors for drawing games we should have won, then started winning now it's style. Desperate to criticise.
Greenio
18-12-2023, 06:48 AM
After any loss there is % of fans that will overreact - players are awful, formation is wrong, manager is clueless, club is directionless etc etc
Not saying they dont have the the right to a pov, of course they do.
Fact is we played badly overall, made a silly mistake and took zero form the game - it happens.
What the match did tell me was that Newell missing was a big miss, Rocky can really get forward very well if he's given the instructions to. Boyle, Jair and Youhan are all way below where they can and should be
I expect us to come back form this with a win
18-12-2023, 09:01 AM
Haven’t heard anything to suggest it’s going to happen, but if you join the dots….
Marco Tilio is considered not up to it at Celtic and given he’s not going to get any game time there it’s logical he’ll be sent out on loan.
Now, I don’t fancy him, but Monty may.
18-12-2023, 10:00 AM
Maybe Monty could use his contacts to bring back all time A league top goalscorer Jamie MacLaren!
McGruber
18-12-2023, 10:07 AM
We can win games in 442 and have been and we can also win those games with other formations. I think we win those more convincingly playing in a set up that suits our better players more. I'm not hung up on the label of formations, more that Vente is playing deep with Boyle and Youan wide right or left. Having the extra man in the middle pushes those 3 higher up the pitch and personally what I want to see as think they are our best attackers - even though Jair came on massively. Also think playing those 4 is too much and leaves too much graft for the others covering. That said we have still been getting results, we have good players - we just make it more difficult for them IMO
18-12-2023, 01:15 PM
After any loss there is % of fans that will overreact - players are awful, formation is wrong, manager is clueless, club is directionless etc etc
Not saying they dont have the the right to a pov, of course they do.
Fact is we played badly overall, made a silly mistake and took zero form the game - it happens.
What the match did tell me was that Newell missing was a big miss, Rocky can really get forward very well if he's given the instructions to. Boyle, Jair and Youhan are all way below where they can and should be
I expect us to come back form this with a win
I think I've seen enough in games we haven't lost recently (such as Ross County 2-2) to see what we have on our hands with Dylan Levitt and the ageing stalwarts at the back.
It's far from all doom, as NM and his coaching team have really brought a different improved dimension to Jair's game (and he looks a real asset now).
The puzzle for me is how Vente has gone from having a Next-Level workrate (when he first joined) to what we see with our eyes now, and why we think we can go to places like Perth and Parkhead with an understaffed midfield coupled with workshy forwards like Boyle and Youan, who really are just benchmen / impact players in these sorts of games.
18-12-2023, 01:22 PM
I'm a fan of Monty.. but I have to admit I was very dissapointed by our perfromance in the 2nd half yesterday. Admittedly I wasn't there and have only watched the highlights, but there seemed no evidence that he managed to change things for the better after a very poor first half. There are a lot of talented players in that Hibs team, certainly when compared to St Johnstone, but they created absolutely nothing.
18-12-2023, 05:28 PM
I think I've seen enough in games we haven't lost recently (such as Ross County 2-2) to see what we have on our hands with Dylan Levitt and the ageing stalwarts at the back.
It's far from all doom, as NM and his coaching team have really brought a different improved dimension to Jair's game (and he looks a real asset now).
The puzzle for me is how Vente has gone from having a Next-Level workrate (when he first joined) to what we see with our eyes now, and why we think we can go to places like Perth and Parkhead with an understaffed midfield coupled with workshy forwards like Boyle and Youan, who really are just benchmen / impact players in these sorts of games.Are you suggesting Vente doesn't work hard anymore?
[emoji50]
18-12-2023, 05:33 PM
Are you suggesting Vente doesn't work hard anymore?
[emoji50]
And Boyle and Youan.
MikeyS
18-12-2023, 09:28 PM
And Boyle and Youan.
I don't think it's up for debate with those 2 really.
I wouldn't say Boyle has ever been one to help defensively and we would be better of just chucking an extra ball on at times for Elie to play with while the games goes on around him!
18-12-2023, 10:01 PM
Marshall
Miller
Fish
New CH
Obita
New 6
Levitt
Newell
Boyle / Youan
Vente
Jair / New winger / striker
That set up looks more solid (I think)
I do feel we give a lot of chances away with the current set up and in recent weeks listening to the stats, we give up some amount of chances
A proper 6 which allows newell and levitt to be further forward and drive gets us up the park quicker
I am in favour of how Monty wants to play I do think it will come good
But the formation just now looks unbalanced with the current players
19-12-2023, 05:39 AM
Because we’re normally up against 3 in midfield. I’m obviously exaggerating the fact but our midfield becomes overwhelmed, you know what I mean. 😀
If we are fluid and intelligent enough on the pitch, a centre back steps up to make the midfield 2 a 3, or the second striker drops back in to do the same thing.
The traditional 442 can be quite restrictive but it can also be quite dynamic and fluid, with the right training, personnel and belief on the pitch to take risks.
19-12-2023, 05:55 AM
Ovie Ejaria Just left Reading. Probably already has a move lined up and maybe out our price range.
19-12-2023, 06:50 AM
Marshall
Miller
Fish
New CH
Obita
New 6
Levitt
Newell
Boyle / Youan
Vente
I do feel we give a lot of chances away with the current set up and in recent weeks listening to the stats, we give up some amount of chances
A proper 6 which allows newell and levitt to be further forward and drive gets us up the park quicker
What is a proper 6?
ErinGoBraghHFC
19-12-2023, 07:04 AM
What is a proper 6?
Jeggo
Chipper1875
19-12-2023, 07:34 AM
Jeggo
Jeggo is terrible. Poor on the ball . No pace and no upper body strength
Chipper1875
19-12-2023, 07:35 AM
Marshall
Miller
Fish
New CH
Obita
New 6
Levitt
Newell
Boyle / Youan
Vente
Levitt has no drive , that’s the issue. Can’t run and get about the park
19-12-2023, 07:56 AM
Jeggo
In the Scottish Championship maybe. No athleticism whatsoever to perform at the level we need from a proper 6.
18Craig75
19-12-2023, 09:03 AM
Assuming the billions don’t land in the account in time then we need to go out and sign O’Hara. Seems to me tailor made to play this system alongside Super Joe.
19-12-2023, 09:24 AM
In the Scottish Championship maybe. No athleticism whatsoever to perform at the level we need from a proper 6.
Apart from the fact he has been and hasn't really had a bad game you are correct
HendoDelivered
19-12-2023, 09:29 AM
Assuming the billions don’t land in the account in time then we need to go out and sign O’Hara. Seems to me tailor made to play this system alongside Super Joe.
St mirren would command a fee similar of what we paid of Vente for him
SickBoy32
19-12-2023, 09:30 AM
Totally agree, O'Hara would be a brilliant signing for us - as would Armstrong from Killie IMO.
Use the Melkerson cash and get it done
19-12-2023, 09:35 AM
St mirren would command a fee similar of what we paid of Vente for him
Wonder if we could kill several birds with one stone. Cash plus JDH & Doidge. Anything is possible given we managed to find someone to take Magennis.
19-12-2023, 10:10 AM
Apart from the fact he has been and hasn't really had a bad game you are correct
He's been fine yeah. If the ringing endorsement is "hasn't really had a bad game" then he's not the "proper 6" we need.
He's a decent squad player.
19-12-2023, 10:11 AM
Quite a critique. Has been decent alongside Newell recently
Paulie Walnuts
19-12-2023, 10:29 AM
Wonder if we could kill several birds with one stone. Cash plus JDH & Doidge. Anything is possible given we managed to find someone to take Magennis.
On that note, I see Magennis has just returned after 10 games out. Looks like we made the right call.
19-12-2023, 10:37 AM
Totally agree, O'Hara would be a brilliant signing for us - as would Armstrong from Killie IMO.
I like both of them but I do think they'll command too high a fee for even us. Armstrong will be closer to 7 figures than we can afford.
I can't imagine anyone will take our dreggs off us either with the wages they're likely on.
TrinityHFC
19-12-2023, 11:15 AM
On that note, I see Magennis has just returned after 10 games out. Looks like we made the right call.
He only lasted a few minutes before being subbed again.
19-12-2023, 11:20 AM
I see Ryan Shanley has signed for Falkirk. Just one of a number of Edin City players moving. It’s a 6 month deal with an option of another year
Great move for the lad, hope he knuckles down and makes the grade
19-12-2023, 11:22 AM
I take it you are a "black & white" thinking type of guy, with no shades of grey.
He's not brilliant, but he's certainly not as bad as you portray. Unless, you're comparing him alongside Messi.
Paulie Walnuts
19-12-2023, 11:29 AM
I see Ryan Shanley has signed for Falkirk. Just one of a number of Edin City players moving. It’s a 6 month deal with an option of another year
Great move for the lad, hope he knuckles down and makes the grade
What’s going on at Edinburgh City? Handling moved recently as well.
Financial trouble?
19-12-2023, 11:32 AM
Financial trouble?
Big time by the sounds of it. Seen a report that they may be struggling to pay all their players.
19-12-2023, 11:59 AM
Big time by the sounds of it. Seen a report that they may be struggling to pay all their players.
Seems to be pretty bad. Not sure if it will be admin or liquidation, that’s how serious it is
Paulie Walnuts
19-12-2023, 12:16 PM
Didn’t expect that. That’s a shame.
19-12-2023, 12:23 PM
Didn’t expect that. That’s a shame.
You have to hope it’s only admin. Hibs have a long association with them.
Could be a good place for some of our talented Under 18’s to play after the winter break
Hibs4185
19-12-2023, 12:29 PM
You have to hope it’s only admin. Hibs have a long association with them.
Could be a good place for some of our talented Under 18’s to play after the winter break
Could be a good buy for Hibs, our unofficial B team so all the youth, development teams get serious games in a proper league.
Wouldn’t cost the club much or an investor and the benefits could be huge
I’m a big fan of B teams but this would be a lot better and easier.
19-12-2023, 01:19 PM
I was actually quite surprised after our initial partnership announcement how little we seen of our players move there. I know there's likely a limit on how many you can have at one time but after an initial run of a few names it seemed to dry up. Don't think we even sent anyone there in the summer.
Could be a good buy for Hibs, our unofficial B team so all the youth, development teams get serious games in a proper league.
Didn’t they move to new ownership recently?
Guy that played for west side afc made his debut for them at the weekend I started to wonder what was going on that a Sunday league player got signed
19-12-2023, 01:28 PM
I was actually quite surprised after our initial partnership announcement how little we seen of our players move there. I know there's likely a limit on how many you can have at one time but after an initial run of a few names it seemed to dry up. Don't think we even sent anyone there in the summer.
From memory, there was rumours of a falling out. I think we recalled the players who were on loan last season then sent them elsewhere.
Emmanuel Johnson (Mind him?!?) was one of them. Now he's on loan in the US.
19-12-2023, 01:46 PM
Don't think we'd be allowed to buy them even if wanted to?
Hibiza
19-12-2023, 01:50 PM
👍
He's here!
19-12-2023, 01:55 PM
Absolutely. He was getting criticised early doors for drawing games we should have won, then started winning now it's style. Desperate to criticise.
It's more simple than that. It's the fact we couldn't muster up a single shot on target against St Johnstone which deserved severe criticism. We were second best throughout and that just shouldn't happen against run of the mill sides. If we'd lost narrowly in a game where we'd simply been out of luck with our finishing but created a decent number of chances the flak would have been significantly less.
19-12-2023, 02:19 PM
It's more simple than that. It's the fact we couldn't muster up a single shot on target against St Johnstone which deserved severe criticism. We were second best throughout and that just shouldn't happen against run of the mill sides. If we'd lost narrowly in a game where we'd simply been out of luck with our finishing but created a decent number of chances the flak would have been significantly less.
So purely one game reactionary nonsense sounds fair
19-12-2023, 02:22 PM
You will never sell The Doidge.
Edinburgh Green
19-12-2023, 02:27 PM
O'Hara is having a pretty poor season by all accounts, seen a few St Mirren fans on twitter asking for him to be dropped.
19-12-2023, 02:30 PM
O'Hara is having a pretty poor season by all accounts, seen a few St Mirren fans on twitter asking for him to be dropped.
To be honest never been a fan and think would struggle in a two and don’t think good enough on the ball.
Paulie Walnuts
19-12-2023, 02:35 PM
Guy that played for west side afc made his debut for them at the weekend I started to wonder what was going on that a Sunday league player got signed
Who was that? Have played against them many times.
Edinburgh Green
19-12-2023, 02:53 PM
Who was that? Have played against them many times.
Kenny Fisher
Paulie Walnuts
19-12-2023, 03:37 PM
Kenny Fisher
Hibs4185
19-12-2023, 04:10 PM
I’m not sure just seen the rumours about admin or insolvency mentioned above.
Surely to buy them out of admin or whatever it may be, would only be £100k or something which would be reasonable.
Our very own multi club model!
Maybe the Hibs foundation could buy it so it’s a seperate entity to get around ownership rules. Have it is a community club with players loaned from us etc.
Maybe there is a lot of rules/restrictions but it keeps them afloat and gives us a good breeding ground. Win win
Chipper1875
19-12-2023, 06:29 PM
Financial trouble?
Not been paying the players. Circa 9 walked out . Be lucky not to go
Into administration. Three players have joined new clubs in the last week
19-12-2023, 10:57 PM
Rumoured 6 million initial investment from Foley with the majority going towards recruitment.
Wonder how that affects us/who we go for in January if the money is received by then. Definitely exciting times.
What I would say though is fans still need to be realistic, Aberdeen and hearts both got 6 million for the conference league each over the last 2 seasons so it’s unlikely we’re going to sign players for ridiculous fee’s.
But 6 million plus the 1.2 for Melkersen is a brilliant start.
19-12-2023, 11:02 PM
Rumoured 6 million initial investment from Foley with the majority going towards recruitment.
Wonder how that affects us/who we go for in January if the money is received by then. Definitely exciting times.
What I would say though is fans still need to be realistic, Aberdeen and hearts both got 6 million for the conference league each over the last 2 seasons so it’s unlikely we’re going to sign players for ridiculous fee’s.
But 6 million plus the 1.2 for Melkersen is a brilliant start.
It really is!
Though I think Aberdeen could be in for a huge sell on this summer for Ferguson. Smashing it for Bologna this season and captained them the past few games. Think they’ll get decent fees for a few players as well.
So really important we invest this Jan and get good quality I reckon.
19-12-2023, 11:02 PM
I’m still sceptical that we’ll be seeing multiple expensive signings in January. I think it’ll be the summer before we get the benefit of the investment transfer wise.
I do still think we will spend a bit in January on the back of the fee for Melkersen though.
19-12-2023, 11:06 PM
I’m still sceptical that we’ll be seeing multiple expensive signings in January. I think it’ll be the summer before we get the benefit of the investment transfer wise.
I do still think we will spend a bit in January on the back of the fee for Melkersen though.
19-12-2023, 11:08 PM
I think it will be similar to what we saw in the summer.
Thought we recruited well and spent quite a bit, 700k or so on Vente and Youan, couple of hundred thousand on Levitt etc.
If we were to spend 500-750k on a couple of key positions it could help massively - however the option to pay players and extra 1k a week etc could be more beneficial than anything and exploit potential free agents
Baccus
Strain
Yan Dhanda
Are 3 examples of players that are regularly mentioned on here as ones we should look at, all out of contract in the summer.
19-12-2023, 11:16 PM
Thought we recruited well and spent quite a bit, 700k or so on Vente and Youan, couple of hundred thousand on Levitt etc.
If we were to spend 500-750k on a couple of key positions it could help massively - however the option to pay players and extra 1k a week etc could be more beneficial than anything and exploit potential free agents
Baccus
Strain
Yan Dhanda
Are 3 examples of players that are regularly mentioned on here as ones we should look at, all out of contract in the summer.
I might be wildly wrong of course but if Foley is serious about a link up our sights will be elsewhere - plenty won't work out obviously but I'd imagine we'd be trying to recruit players who it was at least hoped that they could go much higher than any of the three you mentioned, otherwise what's the point from Foley's point of view?
19-12-2023, 11:17 PM
Baccus
Strain
Yan Dhanda
I don’t think we’ll spend as much as that in this window. We’ll spend a fee if we need to but I’m not convinced it’ll be to that level, January window is always a bit different though.
I do agree that just a couple of good players could make a big difference. You look at the window last January and folk were cracking about it but Jeggo and Egan-Riley both made a big difference.
I just don’t see a big spend in January. A reasonable amount maybe, but not the kind of numbers some are hoping for. Not yet!
19-12-2023, 11:20 PM
I might be wildly wrong of course but if Foley is serious about a link up our sights will be elsewhere - plenty won't work out obviously but I'd imagine we'd be trying to recruit players who it was at least hoped that they could go much higher than any of the three you mentioned, otherwise what's the point from Foley's point of view?
100%, was just an example. Maybe using the likes of Docherty and Clarke when they were here and turning loans permanent is a more likely type of player. Potentially a Owen Beck or Mika Biereth type?
One I hope we get despite there being no sell on value is Van Veen, even on loan I think would be a brilliant signing and a real focal point
20-12-2023, 08:29 AM
£6m is a very good start, and i'd imagine we could recieve some loans on top of that too.
Please spend it properly Monty. :thumbsup:
20-12-2023, 08:39 AM
Not sure a player that often doesn't get a start for Ross County is what we need.
tonyrougier123
21-12-2023, 07:35 AM
Zinédine machach looks a decent attacking mid for Melbourne Victory.
All very well but Montgomery doesn't play with an AM, not unless he changess 442 to 4231.
21-12-2023, 08:31 AM
All very well but Montgomery doesn't play with an AM, not unless he changess 442 to 4231.
Looking at transfermrkt it looks like he can play a few positions, he's played as a 2nd striker, Attacking midfielder and a Central midfielder. Can't recall seeing him play so no idea how go or not he is
21-12-2023, 10:09 AM
Some talent in A League but if there is 6 Million ? Should we be dipping into that market ?
21-12-2023, 10:17 AM
I say again Josh Nisbet.
Just watched him again serve it up in the pouring rain against Brisbane.
, in a 3-0 victory to the Mariners.
He might be small but he’s such a clever, clever player……
21-12-2023, 10:39 AM
I'm not really sure the Aussie market is where we should be looking if we want to be getting 3rd.
21-12-2023, 10:49 AM
I’d take
Beck at Dundee / Liverpool
Baccus at St Mirren
Trevor Carson at Dundee I think
I’d bid for Shankland just for banter
21-12-2023, 10:50 AM
I say again Josh Nisbet.
Brilliant play again for the second and third goals.
21-12-2023, 10:51 AM
I'm not really sure the Aussie market is where we should be looking if we want to be getting 3rd.
Where should we be looking?
I say again Josh Nisbet.
He was very good today. The centre of everything good for CCM.
He even won a header!
EGL2000
21-12-2023, 11:01 AM
mika biereth could be one to try for. On loan till the summer though.
21-12-2023, 11:15 AM
There's good players in MOST leagues...just got to find them.
Mo Saleh played in the Egyptian league at one point.
21-12-2023, 11:46 AM
I always find the idea of turning our noses up at where players were signed from utterly bizarre.
The best players in our history have been signed from Dundee North End and Deveronvale and the like.
If they have something they should be signed and if necessary, developed.
I say again Josh Nisbet.
What is the level of players he's up against though?
Bridge hibs
21-12-2023, 12:28 PM
Im sure hearts managed 3rd and a cup final with players from the Aussie market in their team
mika biereth could be one to try for. On loan till the summer though.
Has he done anything except bully us? Not digging out or anything I just haven’t noticed him anywhere since
EGL2000
21-12-2023, 02:16 PM
Has he done anything except bully us? Not digging out or anything I just haven’t noticed him anywhere since
6 goals and 2 assists in 780 mins in an awful Motherwell team.
21-12-2023, 02:21 PM
Exactly look at the league John McGinn came from and he’s flying in the EPL 👀
21-12-2023, 02:44 PM
The young centre half Blokzijl for Groningen at Easter Road with fair hair was classy a player like that could stand out and get bigger move
21-12-2023, 02:51 PM
Young left wingback at Livingston could provide a good bit competition for obita. At the heart of most things going forward thinking at Livingston and likes a tackle. He’s big, strong and swings in a lovely cross. He wouldn’t cost a fortune. We struggled to contain him at ER in the first game against them.
Unfortunately I can’t see McIntyre making it at Hibs as he is small in stature and will eventually move on to a lower level.
21-12-2023, 02:52 PM
Young left wingback at Livingston could provide a good bit competition for obita. At the heart of most things going forward thinking at Livingston and likes a tackle. He’s big, strong and swings in a lovely cross. He wouldn’t cost a fortune. We struggled to contain him at ER in the first game against them.
Unfortunately I can’t see McIntyre making it at Hibs as he is small in stature and will eventually move on to a lower level.
Penrice? Aye, he’s looked decent when I’ve seen him against us.
21-12-2023, 03:15 PM
Penrice? Aye, he’s looked decent when I’ve seen him against us.
The very chap. :agree:
21-12-2023, 03:22 PM
Penrice is quality I think.
Not sure what he is like in a 4 at the back though as I mainly see him at wing back so he’s got a bit more cover.
25 tomorrow so not a young lad anymore, but now hitting his peak. Fast, direct, can beat a man and whip in a great cross.
Wouldn’t be against him coming in to compete with Obita (who I rate highly) as he suffers injuries now and again.
21-12-2023, 03:35 PM
Assume we would be in for Nesbit and Farrell from ccm
Mcbizz1998
21-12-2023, 03:42 PM
Assume we would be in for Nesbit and Farrell from ccm
As with his namesake, it’s Nisbet!!!
21-12-2023, 03:46 PM
As with his namesake, it’s Nisbet!!!
Where’s the fun in that 🤩
1875Sean
21-12-2023, 04:13 PM
I’d take
Beck at Dundee / Liverpool
Baccus at St Mirren
Trevor Carson at Dundee I think
I’d bid for Shankland just for banter
Out of interest why Baccus when he hasn’t been a regular for St Mirren?
Carson is getting on a bit and for me isn’t any better than what we have
Bridge hibs
21-12-2023, 04:17 PM
Agree, Baccus is a pretty ordinary player who I dont think would enhance our team, Carson is decent and would make a decent understudy but that said I would rather promote within with either Boruc or Johnston
ErinGoBraghHFC
21-12-2023, 04:18 PM
Penrice is quality I think.
Not sure what he is like in a 4 at the back though as I mainly see him at wing back so he’s got a bit more cover.
25 tomorrow so not a young lad anymore, but now hitting his peak. Fast, direct, can beat a man and whip in a great cross.
Wouldn’t be against him coming in to compete with Obita (who I rate highly) as he suffers injuries now and again.
He was a couple years above me at school, was at Hibs pro youth for a wee while circa 2012. Always been a very good player technically, might be worth the punt tbh .
21-12-2023, 04:25 PM
I’ve always liked him when I’ve seen him
Think he’ll be thought of by Monty
Better squad depth than what we already have.
1875Sean
21-12-2023, 04:37 PM
I’ve always liked him when I’ve seen him
Think he’ll be thought of by Monty
Better squad depth than what we already have.
For me we need to aim for a player to play along side newell! With this new investment I would like to think we could aim for better, may be ok for back up as you said but I’m not convinced based on this season
21-12-2023, 08:44 PM
For me we need to aim for a player to play along side newell! With this new investment I would like to think we could aim for better, may be ok for back up as you said but I’m not convinced based on this season
I agree
But based on reports no extra money this window
21-12-2023, 08:57 PM
Not as good as him.
22-12-2023, 02:48 AM
https://x.com/aleaguemen/status/1737794301613191442?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
This assist from Nisbet is exactly what we’re missing.
Get him playing just off Vente as he did for CCM the other night and it would give us a much better balance imo
Interesting too that a player scoring regularly for them (hat trick and then double) called Angel Torres was identified and signed under Monty and Sergio. Presumably through Sergios knowledge/contacts in Portugal as he was previously at Porto. The other main attacker for them, Marco Tulio was identified in similar fashion as he was at sporting.
Really intrigued what gems they can ID with a bigger budget.
22-12-2023, 02:50 AM
Kye Rowles, Nathaniel Atkinson, Cammy Devlin and Calem Nieuwenhof sort of standard 😉
https://x.com/aleaguemen/status/1737794301613191442?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
This assist from Nisbet is exactly what we’re missing.
Get him playing just off Vente as he did for CCM the other night and it would give us a much better balance imo
Interesting too that a player scoring regularly for them (hat trick and then double) called Angel Torres was identified and signed under Monty and Sergio. Presumably through Sergios knowledge/contacts in Portugal as he was previously at Porto. The other main attacker for them, Marco Tulio was identified in similar fashion as he was at sporting.
Really intrigued what gems they can ID with a bigger budget.
Nisbet and the left back Farrell look good players at CCM I’d be more than happy if we signed them, I’ve not been impressed with tulio though he has ability no doubt but I think he’d struggle here bit of a lack of pace quite a laid back style and probably too similar a striker to Vente as in comes deeper to link rather than your around the 18 yard box type of striker not sure he’s what we need.
There’s no doubt NM and the coaching staff done a great job there though hopefully we’re able to see some deals done next month to allow them to put more of a mark down on their team, interesting and exiting times ahead IMO
MikeyS
22-12-2023, 07:04 AM
Kye Rowles, Nathaniel Atkinson, Cammy Devlin and Calem Nieuwenhof sort of standard 😉
Wouldn't thank you for any of that lot.
I do like how you've handily ordered them in talent order from awful to dog sh*t though.
22-12-2023, 07:11 AM
Nisbet and the left back Farrell look good players at CCM I’d be more than happy if we signed them, I’ve not been impressed with tulio though he has ability no doubt but I think he’d struggle here bit of a lack of pace quite a laid back style and probably too similar a striker to Vente as in comes deeper to link rather than your around the 18 yard box type of striker not sure he’s what we need.
There’s no doubt NM and the coaching staff done a great job there though hopefully we’re able to see some deals done next month to allow them to put more of a mark down on their team, interesting and exiting times ahead IMO
Tullio can play, and score some pearlers, but I agree with you totally about his lack of pace.
I think the slower paced, more technical build up in the A League suits his style, as does the tendency for defenders not to mark closely, and he would struggle with the close marking that he would also be subject to in the SPL.
If I was in charge of Hibs and was given enough money to bring 3 A League players in it would be
Josh Nisbet and Jacob Farrell…Central Coast Mariners and Joe Gauci, Adelaide United.
That’s not to say there are no other good players in Oz..but they would be my picks.
Having said that Adelaide are about to kick off against Newcastle in a few minutes so no doubt Gauci will have a mare!