View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24
Hibiza
18-01-2024, 03:16 PM
So no excuse for the "token signing " .
18-01-2024, 03:17 PM
Will Fish to Cardiff at the end of the season? I thought his Man U deal was longer? According to this out of contract at the end of the season.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-31828434
https://twitter.com/Record_Sport/status/1748015252246085856
18-01-2024, 03:21 PM
So no excuse for the "token signing " .
Absolutely. There won’t be any token signings.
18-01-2024, 03:33 PM
📝 Ross County FC are delighted to confirm the loan signing of former Manchester United left-back Cameron Borthwick-Jackson on loan from WKS Śląsk Wrocław until the end of the season.
18-01-2024, 03:39 PM
One Hibs fan on Twitter has mentioned Luke Amos. No idea where he heard it from, done a quick Google and it appears he hasn't had a club this season. I'm calling s**** on this one.
18-01-2024, 03:39 PM
Will Fish to Cardiff at the end of the season? I thought his Man U deal was longer? According to this out of contract at the end of the season.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-31828434
https://twitter.com/Record_Sport/status/1748015252246085856
Under contract until 2025, from memory.
18-01-2024, 03:43 PM
One Hibs fan on Twitter has mentioned Luke Amos. No idea where he heard it from, done a quick Google and it appears he hasn't had a club this season. I'm calling s**** on this one.
It’s it’s been mentioned by any of the normal 5 or 6 people on Twitter that try guess Hibs signings all the time or post cryptic messages I’ll guess it’s nonsense
18-01-2024, 03:44 PM
Motherwell trying for Scott Fraser
18-01-2024, 03:47 PM
Good signing on paper, but wouldn’t have played football in ages so not exact ready to improve the team from the off.
badabing67
18-01-2024, 03:55 PM
Leeds United defender's loan move off after trial period with Scottish Premiership side (yorkshireeveningpost.co.uk) (https://www.yorkshireeveningpost.co.uk/sport/football/leeds-united/leeds-united-defenders-loan-move-off-after-trial-period-with-scottish-premiership-side-kris-moore-hibernian-hibs-4484045)
18-01-2024, 03:55 PM
Amos almost looks like, dare I say it, an all round midfielder
https://vimeo.com/870078111
Hibiza
18-01-2024, 03:56 PM
Sounds like us though .
mixumatosis
18-01-2024, 04:00 PM
Myziane Maolida probably not coming apparently...
https://twitter.com/scottburns75/status/1747697537627066649?s=46&t=leEB-Z5M1x386jCfnPMJug
18-01-2024, 04:01 PM
Amos almost looks like, dare I say it, an all round midfielder
Looks class. Can’t see him ending up here.
18-01-2024, 04:06 PM
Looks a good player. Good age. Played alot of games at a good level.
I agree I can’t see it 🤣
18-01-2024, 04:10 PM
Wonder with clubs being interested in Will Fish if he will be recalled. Maybe loaned to Cardiff or sold to Cardiff in this window.
Does look good but My concern would be how long to get up to speed from a fitness point of view!
18-01-2024, 04:17 PM
PM board
18-01-2024, 04:19 PM
PM board
That will be why he's the only one I can see mentioning it on Twitter 😅
18-01-2024, 04:20 PM
Does look good but My concern would be how long to get up to speed from a fitness point of view!
If only we just had a training camp where we do double/triple sessions in the heat to help get him fit and also integrate him into the squad.
Shame…
18-01-2024, 04:20 PM
PM board
Promising
If almost we just had a training camp where we do double/triple sessions in the heat to help get him fit and also ingrate him into the squad.
Shame…
Interesting thought UW. [emoji848]
18-01-2024, 04:46 PM
📝 Ross County FC are delighted to confirm the loan signing of former Manchester United left-back Cameron Borthwick-Jackson on loan from WKS Śląsk Wrocław until the end of the season.
No idea what he’s like now, but on the face of it sounds a good signing for Ross County.
CentreForward
18-01-2024, 05:33 PM
So the Josh saga appears to be finally over. I do think he has been messed about a bit and does sound as if Marseilles was where he wanted to go. No doubt the Evening News will continue to maintain that we are on 27.5% of the whole fee. Wish they were correct but sadly looks as if it’s just the profit.
NC1875
18-01-2024, 05:37 PM
So the Josh saga appears to be finally over. I do think he has been messed about a bit and does sound as if Marseilles was where he wanted to go. No doubt the Evening News will continue to maintain that we are on 27.5% of the whole fee. Wish they were correct but sadly looks as if it’s just the profit.
I heard today Marseille were back in for him and he’s away there.
God knows what’s happening.
18-01-2024, 05:40 PM
Doesn’t matter either way if we are not going to spend it.
Chipper1875
18-01-2024, 05:42 PM
He’s not had a club since last season. He’s the opposite of what Montgomery wants based on his interview from Dubai
18-01-2024, 05:43 PM
He’s not had a club since last season. He’s the opposite of what Montgomery wants based on his interview from Dubai
Also isn't being followed or following anyone connected to Hibs on his socials so must be nonsense😁
andrew70
18-01-2024, 05:45 PM
Brandon Barker signs for Morecambe.
18-01-2024, 05:47 PM
Wise move
Chipper1875
18-01-2024, 05:51 PM
Also isn't being followed or following anyone connected to Hibs on his socials so must be nonsense😁
Hahahah he’s also had two cruciate injuries
18-01-2024, 05:54 PM
Hahahah he’s also had two cruciate injuries
That puts him back to on our list then.
18-01-2024, 05:57 PM
Wise move
Boom boom
18-01-2024, 06:15 PM
Signing incoming!
No idea about the Spongebob link 😂
Gordy M
18-01-2024, 06:19 PM
New signing imminent:aok:
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1748061444086657469?s=19
18-01-2024, 06:19 PM
Signing incoming!
No idea about the Spongebob link 😂
Patrick Starr, striker for bikini bottom rovers
18-01-2024, 06:20 PM
We do like signing young players!
18-01-2024, 06:21 PM
Ohh here we go
Mcbizz1998
18-01-2024, 06:23 PM
Any ideas who this could be?
HendoDelivered
18-01-2024, 06:23 PM
Hertha boy - loan
Made me chuckle! [emoji3]
18-01-2024, 06:25 PM
9 minutes and counting hibs. Better be worth the wait
HFC93
18-01-2024, 06:26 PM
Is that John Collins?
Mcbizz1998
18-01-2024, 06:26 PM
9 minutes and counting hibs. Better be worth the wait
Not sure why they wait like this? Is it just for the amusement of the Hibs twitter guy?
18-01-2024, 06:27 PM
Not sure why they wait like this? Is it just for the amusement of the Hibs twitter guy?
Engagement probably. Likes, shares and comments
Mcbizz1998
18-01-2024, 06:28 PM
Engagement probably. Likes, shares and comments
Possibly. I don't have twitter anymore so can't view replies, but when I did, the only engagement seemed to be people telling them to hurry the F up and tell us who it is!
18-01-2024, 06:28 PM
Leaves time for puns. We are signing Scott Crabbe (patty)
ElginHibbie
18-01-2024, 06:29 PM
All hail the pen
18-01-2024, 06:29 PM
It’s Maolida
18-01-2024, 06:31 PM
Myziane Maolida It is then!
18-01-2024, 06:31 PM
It’s Maolida
Yep.
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1748065220679930105
18-01-2024, 06:33 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/myziane-maolida-joins-on-loan
On loan, no mention of option to buy
18-01-2024, 06:33 PM
Story has made it to the Daily Record. Anybody know if the poster on the bounce is known to have good info in the past?
Seems pretty much like he does have good info 😁
18-01-2024, 06:34 PM
no even a scarf above the head :bitchy:
get shot of him i say
:)
All hail the pen
Gold plated no less.
18-01-2024, 06:35 PM
He’s 24 and played 80 league games across Ligue 1 and Bundesliga. Crazy
18-01-2024, 06:36 PM
Yup. As always, let's see how he gets on but on paper can't ask for more.
Mcbizz1998
18-01-2024, 06:36 PM
that seems like a really solid signing, pleased with that.
18-01-2024, 06:37 PM
Maolida Excited For Fresh Start At Hibs
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/maolida-excited-for-fresh-start-at-hibs
18-01-2024, 06:38 PM
so, mon the songwriters for a wee catchy tune
keeping it clean of course
Mikey_1875
18-01-2024, 06:38 PM
If we can get this guy back to his best it will surely be a fantastic bit of business.
18-01-2024, 06:39 PM
Seems like a high calibre signing for the club, really excited to see what he’s got.
18-01-2024, 06:40 PM
so, mon the songwriters for a wee catchy tune
keeping it clean of course
I can think of a song that only has one word in it..
18-01-2024, 06:41 PM
Seems like a high calibre signing for the club, really excited to see what he’s got.
steady now
Myziane Maolida probably not coming apparently...
https://twitter.com/scottburns75/status/1747697537627066649?s=46&t=leEB-Z5M1x386jCfnPMJug
That got deleted quick sharp
Jair left, Youan right, Vente and Maolida up top, wow. Boyle to come back as well.
We really need a creative midfielder next 😂
18-01-2024, 06:42 PM
I can think of a song that only has one word in it..
is that word ok for a family forum :cool2:
or....
Interview on YouTube
https://youtu.be/1MYKhJ48XSQ?si=J9UpYefM6lUMNJRT
18-01-2024, 06:42 PM
I should probably update the thing
18-01-2024, 06:43 PM
Jair left, Youan right, Vente and Maolida up top, wow. Boyle to come back as well.
A couple of defenders wouldn't go amiss either!
Green-Hibee-7
18-01-2024, 06:43 PM
Does that Scott Burns ever get anything right about Hibs?
18-01-2024, 06:44 PM
A couple of defenders wouldn't go amiss either!
We’ll just score about eight a game, it’s fine.
oh oh, the dreaded.......... subject to international clearance and work permit approval
is that word ok for a family forum :cool2:
or....
Tequila 🥳
18-01-2024, 06:45 PM
oh oh, the dreaded.......... subject to international clearance and work permit approval
Aye we’ll get a couple of matches out him in April
King Cosell
18-01-2024, 06:45 PM
If we can get this guy back to his best it will surely be a fantastic bit of business.
It'll be a boost for Elie having an other French lad, same age. They'll rip the Rangers defence apart next Wednesday. We'll lose 6-4, but it'll be fun.
18-01-2024, 06:46 PM
Tequila 🥳
Warninks
We’ll just score about eight a game, it’s fine.
I've got the fear that however many we score our current defence will manage somehow to let the opposition score more! They're very talented at it. :greengrin
ToffeeCabbage
Song writes itself here. Got to get Maolida sung to Follow the Leader by Soca Boys!
"The roof, the roof, the roof is on fire!
Follow Mao-lida, lida, lida,
Follow Maolida,
Follow Mao-lida, lida, lida.
Follow Maolida"
Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
A bit of fun, need it after reading some of the wrist slashing comments on here :greengrin
18-01-2024, 06:48 PM
Just watched his interview and he said he sees himself as a striker. If that is where we play him then that would make more sense to me. Someone to partner Vente would have been one of the priorities for me. Centre half next please.
18-01-2024, 06:49 PM
https://www.transfermarkt.us/myziane-maolida/leistungsdatendetails/spieler/371142
18-01-2024, 06:50 PM
Song writes itself here. Got to get Maolida sung to Follow the Leader by Soca Boys!
Follow Maolida,
Follow Maolida"
i just can't see Block 7 taking that up :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=atvnv-YCFOk
then again..
HendoDelivered
18-01-2024, 06:52 PM
Cant wait to see him playing fullback :greengrin
18-01-2024, 06:53 PM
Follow Maolida,
Follow Maolida"
https://youtu.be/bbr60I0u2Ng?si=NtvZvoD7Gz28Xs34
My Myziane
I’ll get my coat
18-01-2024, 06:54 PM
“Myziane can play centrally and wide, which is really important as we have been light in attacking options. I’m sure the supporters will be excited to see him in Hibs green and white for the rest of the season, and we will continue to search the market for additional signings.”
:cb
Keepthefaith
18-01-2024, 06:55 PM
Can't be...all the doommongers on here said the recruitment team were **** and we weren't lining anyone of quality up and we'd just get kids or something like that...
Real solid signing by the looks of it. Interesting to see who's next!
18-01-2024, 06:55 PM
“Myziane can play centrally and wide, which is really important as we have been light in attacking options. I’m sure the supporters will be excited to see him in Hibs green and white for the rest of the season, and we will continue to search the market for additional signings.”
:cb
Additional signings? They're my favourite kind of signings
18-01-2024, 06:58 PM
borrowed from a fb group :faf::faf:
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/420963650_7117979974963025_3009822975873891917_n.j pg?_nc_cat=106&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=524774&_nc_ohc=BO4MKZMl3gUAX_1lmrF&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfAdZyN3CzHUWX5PXrSQNuCqgJh9OLXKTnKOuUYZM0i1 Yg&oe=65AF5BBD
Just seen that…. Aw man
18-01-2024, 06:59 PM
Just seen that…. Aw manFast track is back and the boy was signed for 10 million a wee while ago
I'm sure it will be quick
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
18-01-2024, 07:00 PM
Just seen that…. Aw man
hopefully through in time for the SC final
Fast track is back and the boy was signed for 10 million a wee while ago
I'm sure it will be quick
Bloody hope so. Looking forward to seeing him play.
hopefully through in time for the SC final
[emoji1787]
We can only hope!
AltheHibby
18-01-2024, 07:05 PM
This one would hound defenses .
https://youtu.be/M12Ca-a97uA?si=ut8U0zd_iV8dQ918
🤣
18-01-2024, 07:09 PM
On loan, no mention of option to buy
There's always an option to buy. :wink:
Up-the-slope
18-01-2024, 07:11 PM
so are we playing 5 up front now:greengrin
18-01-2024, 07:15 PM
How many strikers do we have now? 😂 Boy seems like he has good pedigree and moved for a huge transfer fee so quite excited.
18-01-2024, 07:16 PM
Warninks
One of them will be on the agenda if we get any mair signings like that.....
18-01-2024, 07:17 PM
Can he play centre half?😏
18-01-2024, 07:18 PM
We really need a creative midfielder next ��
He’s been playing left wing for the last few years.
Obligatory YouTube video
https://youtu.be/caBCO4bpW0E?si=i6fRuTACYI-9FB5J
18-01-2024, 07:19 PM
He said in his interview that he sees himself as a striker. Maybe it’s being played as a left winger that has led him to where he is and his lack of football.
18-01-2024, 07:19 PM
Then that’s the issue for the career stall. Said in his interview he thinks he’s a striker. Get him up top.
In reality must be the left winger we were after.
Hibs4185
18-01-2024, 07:24 PM
Then that’s the issue for the career stall. Said in his interview he thinks he’s a striker. Get him up top.
In reality must be the left winger we were after.
Vente playing midfield and the new boy playing left wing.
Get them both up front in their preferred positions!
Cat Stanton
18-01-2024, 07:24 PM
Myziane Maolida It is then!
Obviously a good pedigree (even in one so young) but what position does he play?
(apologies if this has been covered in depth in past 20 pages of thread that I have skipped past).
CB Hibs 68
18-01-2024, 07:25 PM
Just what we need I would say as we are short in that area of the pitch.Luckily we have by loads of quality in midfield to create chances for our forwards.
18-01-2024, 07:26 PM
Obviously a good pedigree (even in one so young) but what position does he play?
(apologies if this has been covered in depth in past 20 pages of thread that I have skipped past).
Watch his interview on Hibs YouTube
18-01-2024, 07:26 PM
Obligatory YouTube video
https://youtu.be/caBCO4bpW0E?si=i6fRuTACYI-9FB5J
The problem might be his new teammates not being on the same wavelength. :greengrin
18-01-2024, 07:32 PM
How long are work permits taking these days?
Can't be...all the doommongers on here said the recruitment team were **** and we weren't lining anyone of quality up and we'd just get kids or something like that...
Real solid signing by the looks of it. Interesting to see who's next!
ElginHibbie
18-01-2024, 07:36 PM
Vente played his first game 10 days after signing so might be looking at Kilmarnock match
leith lynx
18-01-2024, 07:38 PM
Wise move
Rubbish!
18-01-2024, 07:39 PM
Vente played his first game 10 days after signing so might be looking at Kilmarnock match
Maolida is a full international and has previously gone for silly money. Think we could see him in the squad for the Sevco game 🤞
18-01-2024, 07:40 PM
Rubbish!
Arsenal
18-01-2024, 07:49 PM
Very exciting signing.. well done Hibs
leith lynx
18-01-2024, 07:49 PM
Arsenal
Wahey!
18-01-2024, 07:52 PM
LaLiga leaders Girona have joined the list of clubs interested in Celtic midfielder Matt O’Riley.
Brendan Rodgers sees him as a key player and - after he signed a new bumper contract - Celtic are in a strong position.
(w/@SkySportsLyall
HendoDelivered
18-01-2024, 07:56 PM
LaLiga leaders Girona have joined the list of clubs interested in Celtic midfielder Matt O’Riley.
Brendan Rodgers sees him as a key player and - after he signed a new bumper contract - Celtic are in a strong position.
(w/@SkySportsLyall
They’ll make fortunes off him when they do eventually sell him. *****
Torto7
18-01-2024, 07:57 PM
Just what we need I would say as we are short in that area of the pitch.Luckily we have by loads of quality in midfield to create chances for our forwards.
Judging by his CV you don't turn down:wink: guys like him. There's still time for midfield signings but as you were...
(w/@SkySportsLyall
He’s quality. Celtic signed him for 1.2 million
Think Girona would need to spend close to £15-20 million to get him
Wonder if this person posts on here…..
Doesn’t appear very happy!
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240118/bea88892ee1078997da4dae11245dbd6.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240118/5eed48734dbba570dfcce9e20f11dac8.jpg
18-01-2024, 08:10 PM
The problem might be his new teammates not being on the same wavelength. :greengrin
Agree, same happened with Vente.
He’s quality. Celtic signed him for 1.2 million
Think Girona would need to spend close to £15-20 million to get him
Bournemouth sniffing about him as well I’ve read plays his cards right he could end up here on loan
18-01-2024, 08:13 PM
They’ll make fortunes off him when they do eventually sell him. *****
oooh limbos under the sweary filter … ;)
Bournemouth sniffing about him as well I’ve read plays his cards right he could end up here on loan
We could or he could take Ryan Christie’s place and he could come on loan. Not greedy like!
Torto7
18-01-2024, 08:21 PM
Seems like a stable well balanced guy.:cb
18-01-2024, 08:28 PM
#prayforjimmy
JammyDoidger
18-01-2024, 08:30 PM
Follow Maolida,
Follow Maolida"
Myziane maolida, Lida, Lida
Myziane maolida oi oi
Simple but absolutely effective.
18-01-2024, 08:31 PM
Going by the spfl to get a part investment authorised
Probably about 8 month.
18-01-2024, 08:35 PM
Sounds like they hate Hibs so yes could easily be a poster on here. :greengrin
18-01-2024, 08:48 PM
Pretty sure he posts on here.
I’ve narrowed it down to one of five.
Name and shame lol
18-01-2024, 08:59 PM
From Frabizio Romano
🟢⚫️🏴 Sassuolo have completed the deal to sign Josh Doig from Hellas Verona on permanent deal.
Doig, expected to undergo medical tests on Friday at Sassuolo after OM deal collapsed
18-01-2024, 08:59 PM
Absolutely delighted with this signing! Will be very very disappointed though if we don't get a new centre half in. We absolutely surely must be targeting this area as number one priority..
18-01-2024, 09:03 PM
Seems to have a good pedigree, but then hoppe had a hat trick in the bundesliga, so I'm not getting my hopes too high.
18-01-2024, 09:03 PM
Killie announce the signing of Greg Stewart.
Just_Jimmy
18-01-2024, 09:06 PM
Claros and Doherty improved us. Kujabi, ROD and Soares (who I was most excited about) done nothing positive from my memory.Don't forget superstar matt Thornhill...
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
TrinityHFC
18-01-2024, 09:07 PM
Delighted with this one. Looks to have lost his way a little but certainly seems like he should have a lot of quality.
AL-Qaholik
18-01-2024, 09:12 PM
Stewart exactly the kind of player we needed, imo.
Keepthefaith
18-01-2024, 09:15 PM
jimmy seems to know an awfy lot about idiots...:na na:
I'd guarantee he posts on here, there's a special type that can find a negative or two when faced with any kind of positive...
I think jimmy needs a wee cuddle and a warm glass of milk.
18-01-2024, 09:16 PM
No thanks. Jamie Murphy put me through enough. Stewart is 33 now and if he was good enough for where we want to go Aberdeen and Hearts would’ve been trying to get him as well.
18-01-2024, 09:16 PM
Stewart exactly the kind of player we needed, imo.The nearly 34 year old who's spent the last 2.5 years in India?
Torto7
18-01-2024, 09:19 PM
Going by the spfl to get a part investment authorised
Probably about 8 month.
Gordy M
18-01-2024, 09:22 PM
Absolutely delighted with this signing! Will be very very disappointed though if we don't get a new centre half in. We absolutely surely must be targeting this area as number one priority..
I think the fact we took the young Leeds guy to Dubai means we are definitely looking, but i like that we are not just signing someone who wont improve the first team. Feels like we have done that before just to get bodies through the door.
Pretty sure he posts on here.
I’ve narrowed it down to one of five.
Well I got to 4 :agree:
18-01-2024, 09:42 PM
Don't forget superstar matt Thornhill...
:hmmm::hmmm:
HendoDelivered
18-01-2024, 09:52 PM
Few candidates 🤣
18-01-2024, 10:12 PM
Few candidates 🤣
Eh?
There are several candidates.
18-01-2024, 10:46 PM
Not sure I agree with that assessment at all to be honest. Has been playing in a poor standard league for a while now, and he wasn't exactly the best player going in Scotland before he even went out there.
He'll be an impact player at Killie I expect and don't envisage him being any better than someone like Doidge who probably will move on in the next window or two anyway.
Stonewall
18-01-2024, 11:16 PM
Well I got to 4 :agree:
Maybe you were 5.
18-01-2024, 11:16 PM
You’ll have watched a lot of him playing out in India yeah?
19-01-2024, 07:43 AM
Stewart exactly the kind of player we needed, imo.\
What our squad lacks is strong leaders
Was hoping we might have been looking at the likes of an Allan Campbell/Mark O'Hara type for midfield, to help Joe Newell out in there, and a CB
The new lad will get my support but I'd be in agreement with folk who say its not the position we need to spend on, and it's not exactly laced with the "lead by example" winner-at-all-costs mentality that I think is our biggest squad deficiency
We have a lot of guys who can do stepovers in yet another defeat.
IMO we need fewer of those.
19-01-2024, 07:46 AM
\
They are wingers. If they couldn't do stepovers I'd be concerned about their ability to beat their opposite man.
"lacking leaders" is such a Hibs cliché now. What does it even mean in practice? Who is an example of the leadership we are missing?
Don't say Graeme "8th in the league" Shinnie.
19-01-2024, 07:54 AM
\
What our squad lacks is strong leaders
Was hoping we might have been looking at the likes of an Allan Campbell/Mark O'Hara type for midfield, to help Joe Newell out in there, and a CB
The new lad will get my support but I'd be in agreement with folk who say its not the position we need to spend on, and it's not exactly laced with the "lead by example" winner-at-all-costs mentality that I think is our biggest squad deficiency
There is a chance we are looking at Campbell/O'Hara types. Just because we haven't signed one doesn't mean we aren't actively trying to improve other areas of the team.
19-01-2024, 08:01 AM
There is a chance we are looking at Campbell/O'Hara types. Just because we haven't signed one doesn't mean we aren't actively trying to improve other areas of the team.
Indeed. It sounds like we have a guy that can partner Vente and give us options at both left and right midfield.
For me I think we need 4 players - forward (done), CM, CB and LB.
There is still 12 days left in the window and after all the grumbling, it was feels like we've waited to sign a really good player (on paper at least). This isn't some 19 year old that's never tasted first team football.
If we can get even 1 or 2 more guys in before January ends that have the experience and pedigree he does, I'll be delighted.
We've also brought Megwa back and will have hopefully have some of the injured players back soon.
Sometimes it pays to be patient. Let's see where we are by end of month.
NGoloGrantie
19-01-2024, 08:37 AM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1748277313668604153?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g
Scott burns reporting about Luke Amos being offered a chance at a contract. Bloody Scott burns.
HendoDelivered
19-01-2024, 08:39 AM
He is training today
19-01-2024, 08:44 AM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1748277313668604153?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g
Scott burns reporting about Luke Amos being offered a chance at a contract. Bloody Scott burns.
Oh well - it was good whilst it lasted.
19-01-2024, 08:46 AM
Oh well - it was good whilst it lasted.Probably means he's already signed a 3 year deal [emoji6][emoji1787]
ElginHibbie
19-01-2024, 08:46 AM
Probably means he's already signed a 3 year deal [emoji6][emoji1787]
Or he will have signed for Hearts or Aberdeen before the weekend is done
19-01-2024, 08:54 AM
He is training today
Amos? With Hibs?
19-01-2024, 08:57 AM
I know some people not happy as he hasn't played for 6 months but I think this would be a good signing for us and would slot into our midfield well.
I would be amazed if he's not been training with some teams the last while to keep his sharpness up so hopefully he's not far off making an impact.
Chipper1875
19-01-2024, 09:07 AM
I know some people not happy as he hasn't played for 6 months but I think this would be a good signing for us and would slot into our midfield well.
I would be amazed if he's not been training with some teams the last while to keep his sharpness up so hopefully he's not far off making an impact.
I’ve never seen him play . What type of player is he ? Do you rate hime and who’s place do you think that ?
NGoloGrantie
19-01-2024, 09:09 AM
He is a very good player. Had an amazing season couple seasons ago in the championship for QPR and if we can get that version with him we will have a very talented player on our hands. In the Scott burns article is says he’s been training with Tottenham whilst he has been without a club, it is Scott burns though so not sure how much I believe that [emoji1787]. Can’t trust a word he says
Just_Jimmy
19-01-2024, 09:11 AM
MM is a great signing on paper. Hopefully he adapts to Scotland quickly because he's got the pedigree to really storm this league.
This is the kind of signing that should be getting us excited. I've been critical of the transfer activity over the last few years but credit for rolling the dice here.
Hopefully the start of something good.
NGoloGrantie
19-01-2024, 09:11 AM
I’ve never seen him play . What type of player is he ? Do you rate hime and who’s place do you think that ?
He’s basically Dylan levitt with a much much better work rate. If you combined dylan levitt and JDH together you’d get him. He loves a high press will suit Monty’s system big time.
Pretty good highlight reel, shows every aspect of his game.
Chipper1875
19-01-2024, 09:19 AM
He’s basically Dylan levitt with a much much better work rate. If you combined dylan levitt and JDH together you’d get him. He loves a high press will suit Monty’s system big time.
Intersting why hasn’t had a team since may 2023 . Be miles off match fit. If he’s on trial will give Monty a good chance to
assess him
19-01-2024, 09:21 AM
Obviously things can change quickly in football and if he was still the player he was you'd question why QPR didn't keep hold of him. But if he resembles the player from a few seasons ago then we'd be onto a bit of a gem I think as he's quite an action packed midfielder. At the moment I'd probably have him over Levitt (assuming he's fit and ready).
I also quite like signings like these as I wonder if he'll have ultimate ambitions of being back in the Championship and would burst his gut for 18 months or so to get there before he's 29/30. No issue with that whatsoever if he puts in a shift for us.
19-01-2024, 09:23 AM
Intersting why hasn’t had a team since may 2023 . Be miles off match fit. If he’s on trial will give Monty a good chance to
assess him
He was injured when out of contract it seems but as someone said he's been back training with Spurs to get ready.
19-01-2024, 09:26 AM
There’s a section on “forward runs without the ball”. Having watched Newell and co for years I didn’t know midfielders were allowed to do that.
19-01-2024, 09:27 AM
Languages : Enlgish 😂
19-01-2024, 09:29 AM
He speaks Enlgish which is a first for Hibs.
19-01-2024, 09:32 AM
Joe Newell
delaCalz
19-01-2024, 10:04 AM
Looks exactly like the kind of player we need in that midfield role
Maybe you were 5.
Touché, although I think I've remained fairly positive :greengrin
19-01-2024, 10:12 AM
Amos would be a quality signing.
Hopefully something in this rumour!
badabing67
19-01-2024, 10:14 AM
He is a very good player. Had an amazing season couple seasons ago in the championship for QPR and if we can get that version with him we will have a very talented player on our hands. In the Scott burns article is says he’s been training with Tottenham whilst he has been without a club, it is Scott burns though so not sure how much I believe that [emoji1787]. Can’t trust a word he says
I'm sure there was press articles relating to a invitation to Monty from Ange to go down for a visit to the spurs training ground. I wonder if this has happened and this is a consequence of a visit.
Paloschi
19-01-2024, 10:18 AM
Amos would be a quality signing.
Hopefully something in this rumour!
A good player but very injury prone and suffered 2 horrendous injuries as a youngster. Another to add to the squad. I genuinely feel we have to walk away from this type of signing. We have a limited wage bill and I would rather we signed players who can actually play most games. We love taking a risk and it backfires more often than not.
McGruber
19-01-2024, 10:22 AM
I'm sure there was press articles relating to a invitation to Monty from Ange to go down for a visit to the spurs training ground. I wonder if this has happened and this is a consequence of a visit.
Yeah quite possibly or maybe no coincidence Amos last football was at QPR, McDermott's old club where he no doubt will have good contacts
19-01-2024, 10:24 AM
Is Jim Jeggo going back overseas
badabing67
19-01-2024, 10:28 AM
Yeah quite possibly or maybe no coincidence Amos last football was at QPR, McDermott's old club where he no doubt will have good contacts
Right :aok:
badabing67
19-01-2024, 10:29 AM
Have you heard something
Donegal Hibby
Watched this from 5/6 years ago pre season Luke Amos.
https://youtu.be/sutrEdeeP3E?si=TUmpzVvd0NlNJmFt
CentreForward
Amos looks like a quality player with a great work rate. Is there a reason why he hasn’t played for so long? Injury I’m guessing. Does this mean that Jeggo could be on his way as seems to play in similar position. This guy definitely excites me more Maolida who I am not so sure about yet.
GreenPJ
19-01-2024, 10:30 AM
What makes you say that?
Souter96Mac
19-01-2024, 10:37 AM
Appreciate anyone can look good in a highlight reel, but Amos does look like he'd be a really valuable player in our midfield. Obviously it sounds like his recent injury record is the 'catch' and why we'd be linked with him as opposed to better teams (I'm assuming anyway).
I do suspect that if we bring him/another centre mid in, then it'll pave the way for someone to leave in that area - whether it's Jeggo or JDH.
If we can get him in, that's another target area secured - albeit it's taken us 19 days to do it, it'd be great to get business sorted asap.
19-01-2024, 10:40 AM
Appreciate anyone can look good in a highlight reel, but Amos does look like he'd be a really valuable player in our midfield. Obviously it sounds like his recent injury record is the 'catch' and why we'd be linked with him as opposed to better teams (I'm assuming anyway).
I do suspect that if we bring him/another centre mid in, then it'll pave the way for someone to leave in that area - whether it's Jeggo or JDH.
If we can get him in, that's another target area secured - albeit it's taken us 19 days to do it, it'd be great to get business sorted asap.
He looks exactly like the type of player we have needed for so long.
He has not played a lot of football though for a 26 year old. That suggests he has problems staying fit?
ruthven_raiders
19-01-2024, 10:51 AM
Amos looks like a quality player with a great work rate. Is there a reason why he hasn’t played for so long? Injury I’m guessing. Does this mean that Jeggo could be on his way as seems to play in similar position. This guy definitely excites me more Maolida who I am not so sure about yet.
He's had two serious knee injuries in last four years, hence poor game time, been training with Tottenham since being released. Hopefully he's now strong enough and doesn't suffer a recurrence of old injuries....
19-01-2024, 11:04 AM
Jamie Borthwick also saying Amos is on trial.
https://x.com/jamiekborthwick/status/1748313990118219883?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
For those in the know, is todays Amos’ first day or has he been with us since we returned from Dubai?
19-01-2024, 11:06 AM
Have you heard something
Was there not something on here a few days ago about Jeggo's wife selling the house contents? I can't remember exactly what it was.
19-01-2024, 11:08 AM
https://x.com/jamiekborthwick/status/1748313990118219883?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
For those in the know, is todays Amos’ first day or has he been with us since we returned from Dubai?
We knew about the Brazilian guy and Moore from Leeds being on trial and there was gossip that a few other players had been at EM before the break, not sure if there were more than the two already known about with the team in Dubai.
19-01-2024, 11:14 AM
I hope if we offer him a deal that it’s short term. He hasn’t played since serious injury much like Magennis and we can’t afford to do that again.
With a bit of luck, he performs so well we regret giving him a short deal but better that than being stuck with another player who is never available.
19-01-2024, 11:17 AM
I hope if we offer him a deal that it’s short term. He hasn’t played since serious injury much like Magennis and we can’t afford to do that again.
With a bit of luck, he performs so well we regret giving him a short deal but better that than being stuck with another player who is never available.
Maybe he's only looking to put himself in the shop window to get another Championship club so a short term deal may suit both parties.
Caversham Green
19-01-2024, 11:19 AM
You're thinking of Reading rather than QPR as McDermott's old club.
I'm sure he'll know plenty about Amos though - I have a feeling there was talk of him possibly signing for Reading some time ago but nothing came of it.
19-01-2024, 11:21 AM
Highlight reel maybe, but Amos looks EXACTLY like the sort of player NM needs to make the 2 in the middle work.
Hibees1973
19-01-2024, 11:27 AM
Maybe he's only looking to put himself in the shop window to get another Championship club so a short term deal may suit both parties.
If that's what he wants then sign him on a pay per play contract. As others have said we have been burned a few times with injured players.
If he has not played for a while then surely he cannot possibly be match fit.
19-01-2024, 11:30 AM
Was at EM yesterday.
19-01-2024, 11:39 AM
If that's what he wants then sign him on a pay per play contract. As others have said we have been burned a few times with injured players.
If he has not played for a while then surely he cannot possibly be match fit.
Yes - or maybe a lower basic wage and good appearance bonus would suit both parties.
NGoloGrantie
19-01-2024, 11:52 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240119/fdfaeacaf65b9d0d021e3e5189d0675b.jpg
19-01-2024, 11:53 AM
If that's what he wants then sign him on a pay per play contract
Do these exist?
19-01-2024, 11:54 AM
Dylan Tait returning from Hamilton.
Nevi_SOL
19-01-2024, 11:55 AM
Tait has had his loan cancelled by accies
19-01-2024, 11:57 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240119/fdfaeacaf65b9d0d021e3e5189d0675b.jpg
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkHe's getting his money worth of gear anyway [emoji1787]
19-01-2024, 11:57 AM
Jacob Blaney training with the first team, don’t know if he has been as much lately but was on trial down the road - hopefully gets a chance at some stage
MagicSwirlingShip
19-01-2024, 11:58 AM
Jacob Blaney training with the first team, don’t know if he has been as much lately but was on trial down the road - hopefully gets a chance at some stage
High hopes for him, hope he impresses
yerauldda
19-01-2024, 12:00 PM
Dylan Tait returning from Hamilton.
Really odd wording around the loan termination in the Accies tweet.
A terrible signing, really.
19-01-2024, 12:01 PM
Tait has had his loan cancelled by acciesDoesn't bode well if they are getting shot of him mid loan
That statement sounds pretty strong
https://twitter.com/theacciesfc/status/1748323000980566324?t=ZX-ZpHyAhgO2N4J1auhYCg&s=19
McGruber
19-01-2024, 12:07 PM
You're thinking of Reading rather than QPR as McDermott's old club.
I'm sure he'll know plenty about Amos though - I have a feeling there was talk of him possibly signing for Reading some time ago but nothing came of it.
Ah yeah right you are, confusing my blue and white strips!
19-01-2024, 12:10 PM
What did it say? Looks like it’s been deleted
19-01-2024, 12:11 PM
Yeah, bizarre way to announce it.
19-01-2024, 12:12 PM
Discipline then
19-01-2024, 12:13 PM
*** DYLAN TAIT LOAN *** Following meetings between our Manager, our Director of Football & Club Owner Seref Zengin, the Club can announce that our loan player from Hibernian Football Club, Dylan Tait, will no longer feature for the Club. We are now in a process of engagement with Hibernian Football Club at present and would anticipate to being able to provide our fans with a further update in due course.
The link I opened was from their verifies account, but appears to have been deleted
19-01-2024, 12:14 PM
Hamilton's Twitter has hilarious form that suggests it is a 10-year-old running the account.
Unless it's an older contributor who has learning difficulties, which on occasion seem plausible.
19-01-2024, 12:14 PM
Hamilton weirdly have two Twitter accounts.
One with 33k followers and one with 1k followers, the latter is the one that is verified and announced Hastie.
It’s that same account that’s said the following about Tait;
*** DYLAN TAIT LOAN ***
Following meetings between our Manager, our Director of Football & Club Owner Seref Zengin, the Club can announce that our loan player from Hibernian Football Club, Dylan Tait, will no longer feature for the Club.
We are now in a process of engagement with Hibernian Football Club at present and would anticipate to being able to provide our fans with a further update in due course.
Murphys Touch
19-01-2024, 12:15 PM
Youan more or less deleted all his Instagram content overnight.......read into that what you will
19-01-2024, 12:19 PM
Youan more or less deleted all his Instagram content overnight.......read into that what you will
Still says he plays for Hibs you’d think he wouldn’t have left that in if he was away but quite odd for someone so obsessed with Insta.
19-01-2024, 12:19 PM
Do these exist?
Only in the minds of fans.
19-01-2024, 12:21 PM
Still says he plays for Hibs you’d think he wouldn’t have left that in if he was away but quite odd for someone so obsessed with Insta.
Maybe he’s bored of it?
Doesn't bode well if they are getting shot of him mid loan
Don't think he has very professional attitude to looking after himself etc, likes a wee bevvy I think.
19-01-2024, 12:23 PM
It’s been like that for a while, Megwa’s is the same.
Lendo
19-01-2024, 12:30 PM
It's a real shame. He was Raith's best player when we signed him and looked a really exciting prospect. Also thought he had looked good in the pre-season we signed him
19-01-2024, 12:38 PM
It's a real shame. He was Raith's best player when we signed him and looked a really exciting prospect. Also thought he had looked good in the pre-season we signed him
Gutted this one hasn't worked out as at the time I was fully on board with the approach of pinching the best youngster from that division and giving them a platform at Hibs to go do a Kevin Nisbet/John McGinn etc. While Mackay perhaps hasn't worked out like we hoped you can tell he has the makings of a career at the very least in the top half of the Championship.
However Tait appears to be on a slope to having next to no career beyond kicking about some greater glasgow club in League 2 at this rate, which is a shame because he was probably the most talented one. But I guess you can't change some players attitudes.
Chipper1875
19-01-2024, 12:40 PM
One with 33k followers and one with 1k followers, the latter is the one that is verified and announced Hastie.
*** DYLAN TAIT LOAN ***
Following meetings between our Manager, our Director of Football & Club Owner Seref Zengin, the Club can announce that our loan player from Hibernian Football Club, Dylan Tait, will no longer feature for the Club.
We are now in a process of engagement with Hibernian Football Club at present and would anticipate to being able to provide our fans with a further update in due course.
Looks like he’s still got a bad attitude
Chipper1875
19-01-2024, 12:42 PM
Did ok in a sub against was it Watford? In a walking pace . Can’t recall him ever showing something.
19-01-2024, 12:47 PM
It’s been like that for a while
Rumble de Thump
19-01-2024, 12:53 PM
*** DYLAN TAIT LOAN ***
Hamilton's Twitter account is @acciesfc. Verification on Twitter these days just means the account is connected to a particular phone number - not that it's necessarily authentic.
davhibby
19-01-2024, 12:55 PM
Hamilton's Twitter account is @acciesfc. Verification on Twitter these days just means the account is connected to a particular phone number - not that it's necessarily authentic.
That’s the old twitter account. When the new owner took over they made a new one - the one that’s made the tweet about Tait. Oddly the original one is still updated but it’s not run by the club
19-01-2024, 01:11 PM
That’s the old twitter account. When the new owner took over they made a new one - the one that’s made the tweet about Tait. Oddly the original one is still updated but it’s not run by the club
There's still a weird link to the club as it runs updates that you otherwise just wouldn't know about. That and they were punting Celtic spares on their Facebook a year ago indicate the club is a proper basketcase.
stuart-farquhar
19-01-2024, 01:12 PM
Gutted this one hasn't worked out as at the time I was fully on board with the approach of pinching the best youngster from that division and giving them a platform at Hibs to go do a Kevin Nisbet/John McGinn etc. While Mackay perhaps hasn't worked out like we hoped you can tell he has the makings of a career at the very least in the top half of the Championship.
However Tait appears to be on a slope to having next to no career beyond kicking about some greater glasgow club in League 2 at this rate, which is a shame because he was probably the most talented one. But I guess you can't change some players attitudes.
You mean Glasgow area.
19-01-2024, 01:21 PM
Anyone heard a rumour about Tom McIntyre joining?
19-01-2024, 01:24 PM
Appreciate we’ve struggled defensively but surely he’s past it now……..great on pens tho!😏
ElginHibbie
19-01-2024, 01:27 PM
Seems like not played much this season and McDermott connection to Reading could make sense or someone just putting 2 and 2 together to get 5
19-01-2024, 01:27 PM
DTS podcast had him on the list of potential signings. Not seen anything else. He would be a cracking signing for us at LCB.
King Cosell
19-01-2024, 01:28 PM
No, but I know Reading are on their arse and there could be a few bagains to be had there.
Paulie Walnuts
113 games by 25 years old. Plays less than half the games throughout a season on average. Injury prone? Or just been a backup at Reading for 5 or 6 seasons?
Just joined Queen's Park 😁
19-01-2024, 01:33 PM
113 games by 25 years old. Plays less than half the games throughout a season on average. Injury prone? Or just been a backup at Reading for 5 or 6 seasons?
Hasn’t played many this season, 8 in total but played 41, 20 & 28 the previous 3 seasons. 10 games back in 2019-20
19-01-2024, 01:33 PM
10 appearances this season, think his appearances have been limited this season due to him unwilling to sign a new contract.
41 appearances last season
20 appearances 21/22
28 appearances 20/21
19-01-2024, 01:35 PM
Just joined Queen's Park
Where did you see that - surely they can't afford him! whoosh. :top marks
19-01-2024, 01:39 PM
Where did you see that - surely they can't afford him! whoosh. :top marks
Sorry Brightside, just a bit mischief making 😁
https://i.ibb.co/c83xQCQ/Screenshot-2024-01-19-14-38-00-21-0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg (https://ibb.co/c83xQCQ)
19-01-2024, 01:39 PM
Seems like not played much this season and McDermott connection to Reading could make sense or someone just putting 2 and 2 together to get 5
Yeah that was my thoughts that it was a bit of a guess, especially with him being a Scottish left sided centre half
19-01-2024, 01:41 PM
Monty on Luke Amos 💬
"Luke is a player I know. He's had a couple of little injuries and found himself not signing with anyone at the start of the season, which can happen. He's got himself back fit and training at Tottenham with their Under-23s and now he's come up to train with us. He's a very good player, 26 years old, and it's rare to get a player of that quality who is looking for a platform to get his career back on track. We'll have a look at him and see from there."
itslegaltender
19-01-2024, 01:42 PM
Yeah that was my thoughts that it was a bit of a guess, especially with him being a Scottish left sided centre half
contract is up in the summer...
19-01-2024, 01:43 PM
Reckon Amos must be signing of the club are coming out and talking about him like that
Gordy M
19-01-2024, 01:44 PM
Monty on Luke Amos 💬
"Luke is a player I know. He's had a couple of little injuries and found himself not signing with anyone at the start of the season, which can happen. He's got himself back fit and training at Tottenham with their Under-23s and now he's come up to train with us. He's a very good player, 26 years old, and it's rare to get a player of that quality who is looking for a platform to get his career back on track. We'll have a look at him and see from there."
I think he will sign based on those comments. IF he passes the fitness/medical tests
19-01-2024, 01:45 PM
Monty on Luke Amos 💬
Surely with that sort of praise it’s just a case of seeing that he’s fit and we can agree terms.
ElginHibbie
Monty on Luke Amos 💬
Not sure even seen club Tweet about a trialist like this before, as other say wonder if indication agreement already been made in principle with him
Rumble de Thump
He was out for a while last year after suffering concussion then got injured in his first day back at training.
muzzando
Bearing in mind Montgomery has mentioned before about his relationship with Postecoglou and I'd imagine they'd have had even a small chat about Amos since he trained at Spurs u23s