View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

16-01-2024, 07:16 PM
Yip didnae want to get injured did not turn up versus Hearts or Aberdeen
Seems to remember he scored a pretty good goal and from that moment he was the best thing since sliced bread according to some on here, never saw it myself.

16-01-2024, 07:21 PM
Seems to remember he scored a pretty good goal and from that moment he was the best thing since sliced bread according to some on here, never saw it myself.

Was a cracker tbf Killie away

Looked good initially then didnae want to be here wanted back to Sevco or down south

16-01-2024, 07:24 PM
Docherty with Newell and Levitt sounds a half decent midfield all of a sudden.
Pity we will never see that 🤣

Docherty totally Shat the bed against Hearts - I wouldn't be bothered if we weren't interested.

Hibees1973
16-01-2024, 07:25 PM
Hope the recruitment guys get at least a new centre half and midfielder for Montgomery in this window.

Montgomery was getting a bit of stick towards the end of last year, but I like him. He has been here long enough now and will have made his mind up about who he wants to keep and who should go.

The onus is now on the board and McDermott to finance and overhaul the squad.

Will take at least a couple of transfer windows to sort out some of the mess Montgomery inherited.

16-01-2024, 07:25 PM
Docherty was no more than OK during his brief loan spell, he couldn't wait to get away.

What about him gave that impression?

Just because he never signed longer? He got to try himself down south and done really well for hull, probably offering more money too especially due to covid.

16-01-2024, 07:27 PM
Monty’s never played with a 10, played 442 since he’s got here and said he’s not going to change.

Can’t understand why he’d want him.

This may take us back to a debate last week as to what the definition of a 10 is. My definition of a 10, Monty plays literally every week.

A forward that plays off the front man and drops a bit deeper, ideally to link midfield and attack. Vente has been doing that without much joy in recent weeks but prior to that Alf and Doidge have also dropped deeper.

I think other people see a number 10 as an attacking midfielder but I disagree with that. Going back to the period before squad numbers, 9 and 10 were the two forwards, the 9 was the great goal scorer, the 10 was the scorer of great goals and more of a creator. Why people think a 10 now is a midfielder is beyond me.

16-01-2024, 07:30 PM
This may take us back to a debate last week as to what the definition of a 10 is. My definition of a 10, Monty plays literally every week.

A forward that plays off the front man and drops a bit deeper, ideally to link midfield and attack. Vente has been doing that without much joy in recent weeks but prior to that Alf and Doidge have also dropped deeper.

I think other people see a number 10 as an attacking midfielder but I disagree with that. Going back to the period before squad numbers, 9 and 10 were the two forwards, the 9 was the great goal scorer, the 10 was the scorer of great goals and more of a creator. Why people think a 10 now is a midfielder is beyond me.

I’m with you. We play with a 10, and a 10 is a forward.

Gordy M
16-01-2024, 07:35 PM
Where is the Yan Danda rumour coming from? I cant see anything online about it apart from fans on twitter etc?

16-01-2024, 07:39 PM
What about him gave that impression?

Just because he never signed longer? He got to try himself down south and done really well for hull, probably offering more money too especially due to covid.
Just another ordinary player, nothing more.

16-01-2024, 07:40 PM
Doig to Leeds

16-01-2024, 07:42 PM
Where is the Yan Danda rumour coming from? I cant see anything online about it apart from fans on twitter etc?

Hopefully no truth to it. He’s crap.

16-01-2024, 07:43 PM
Doig to Leeds
And so the never ending transfer saga goes on :greengrin

Edinburgh Green
16-01-2024, 07:44 PM
Montys version of a 10 is rank rotten then, as it's the most defensive 10 I've ever seen.

16-01-2024, 07:48 PM
Montys version of a 10 is rank rotten then, as it's the most defensive 10 I've ever seen.

I’m no saying that we’ve been easy on the eye, or good or anything like that. But considering how defensive some people have him down as being, it’s amazing that we’re the third top scorers in the league.

16-01-2024, 07:48 PM

Found it on a Leeds fan podcast, could me be mince

16-01-2024, 07:50 PM
Docherty totally Shat the bed against Hearts - I wouldn't be bothered if we weren't interested.

So what about the whole squad here now, who have solid consistency in keeking their breeks against hearts, do we get rid of Boyle, fish etc too.

Docherty played one derby? The whole team was minging that night.

Not a valid enough reason for not signing a player.

Won’t be happening anyway. But still your talking out your rear.

16-01-2024, 07:51 PM

You’re one of many who read that nonsense somewhere online and swallowed it as gospel!!

He was poor that day, like many. Nothing more to it.

For the record, I didn’t think he was up to much before that. Plenty energy but not the best on the ball and doesn’t chip in with goals either.

He’s playing for Hull right now so maybe the Docherty chat will die down in a couple of weeks zzzz
of weeks.

16-01-2024, 07:56 PM
You’re one of many who read that nonsense somewhere online and swallowed it as gospel!!

For the record, I didn’t think he was up to much before that. Plenty energy but not the best on the ball and doesn’t chip in with goals either.

He’s playing for Hull right now so maybe the Docherty chat will die down in a couple of weeks zzzz
of weeks.
Hope so there are better I'm sure.

16-01-2024, 07:56 PM
How about David Brooks?

Attacking / right sided midfielder, decent EPL record but fallen down the pecking order at Bournemouth and needs game time. A loan might suit all parties.

I have no info on this, but surely our supposed new billionaire sugar daddies will throw us a bone?

16-01-2024, 07:59 PM

Is Stuart Baxter his agent?

I’m amazed you think we can sign players better than those starting for clubs in the English Championship. We are so far away from that, never mind “better”.

Edinburgh Green
How about David Brooks?

Attacking / right sided midfielder, decent EPL record but fallen down the pecking order at Bournemouth and needs game time. A loan might suit all parties.

I have no info on this, but surely our supposed new billionaire sugar daddies will throw us a bone?

Would be a tremendous loan, however Leeds and Southampton are looking at him.

16-01-2024, 08:18 PM
Ross County Manager on tv tonight stating they will have signed four player by end of week and hope to sign another two next week
So be interesting to see if improves them ,or not But he is clearly being backed to try and get them up the table

Dmas
16-01-2024, 08:20 PM

Sassuolo offered €6m euro for him Verona didn’t meet Marseilles time limit because of It, Sassuolo now in for Pisa left back beruatto we’re on to plooms here he’ll stay at Verona now

16-01-2024, 08:23 PM
I’m amazed you think we can sign players better than those starting for clubs in the English Championship. We are so far away from that, never mind “better”.
So you think Docherty would be an "amazing" signing?

Paulie Walnuts
16-01-2024, 08:33 PM

of weeks.

He had a goal contribution per game when he was here. His output was nothing short of exceptional.

16-01-2024, 08:38 PM
I’m with you. We play with a 10, and a 10 is a forward.

So effectively it's 4231 then

16-01-2024, 08:39 PM
Doig to Leeds

The crucial point is not actually how much we stand to get from a possible Doig’s sale, if it happens, but, more importantly, how our board choose to spend the money, given their recent unimpressive record.

16-01-2024, 08:47 PM
https://x.com/fabrizioromano/status/...u62WUfbidLejfg

This probably kills off the Doig sale.

Verona were desperate for cash and they’ve just scooped €18m+ by shipping Cyril Ngonge to Napoli.

16-01-2024, 10:22 PM
I’m no saying that we’ve been easy on the eye, or good or anything like that. But considering how defensive some people have him down as being, it’s amazing that we’re the third top scorers in the league.

We scored seven in four league games before NM arrived, so it’s 19 goals in 16 since he came in. We are not a free scoring team.

GreenPJ
16-01-2024, 10:28 PM
https://x.com/fabrizioromano/status/...u62WUfbidLejfg

This probably kills off the Doig sale.

Verona were desperate for cash and they’ve just scooped €18m+ by shipping Cyril Ngonge to Napoli.

Am sure 18m will help but was it not the case that they are in serious financial issues so 18m may not be enough plus presumably they will need to sign a replacement.

16-01-2024, 10:29 PM
We scored seven in four league games before NM arrived, so it’s 19 goals in 16 since he came in. We are not a free scoring team.

We’re still 3rd highest scorers in the SPL.

16-01-2024, 10:40 PM

We’re not, but I don’t think anyone outside the obvious two is really out scoring us. Even if you just look at Montgomery’s 16 league games there are 5 separate occasions that we’ve scored 2 goals but failed to win the game. Our biggest problems are still at the other end of the park, although I absolutely think we need to sign someone to play with Vente.

Don’t get me wrong, I’d do things a bit differently, it’s just some of the comments I read would make you think we never crossed the halfway line if you didn’t know any better.

16-01-2024, 10:42 PM
We’re still 3rd highest scorers in the SPL.

Yes we are, I didn’t dispute that. It’s of zero comfort when you’re sixth in the league though, and our scoring output is dropping. We have 11 goals from our last ten games, so hard to see us being third top scorers come May unless there’s a very dramatic improvement.

16-01-2024, 10:45 PM
We’re not, but I don’t think anyone outside the obvious two is really out scoring us. Even if you just look at Montgomery’s 16 league games there are 5 separate occasions that we’ve scored 2 goals but failed to win the game. Our biggest problems are still at the other end of the park, although I absolutely think we need to sign someone to play with Vente.

Don’t get me wrong, I’d do things a bit differently, it’s just some of the comments I read would make you think we never crossed the halfway line if you didn’t know any better.

Yeah it’s a far from free scoring league this year. Motherwell in 9th are fourth highest scorers.

We definitely need to tighten up at the back, but much more going forward is also required. I make it 11 goals in ten games going back to that Aberdeen semi final.

My early impression of NM was that he’d be able to get the most out of our attacking threats, so it’s been a really disappointing couple of months.

16-01-2024, 11:00 PM
Yeah it’s a far from free scoring league this year. Motherwell in 9th are fourth highest scorers.

We definitely need to tighten up at the back, but much more going forward is also required. I make it 11 goals in ten games going back to that Aberdeen semi final.

My early impression of NM was that he’d be able to get the most out of our attacking threats, so it’s been a really disappointing couple of months.

This is fair comment.

NM does seem very stuck on his formation, but with a tweak it could become more like Mowbray’s 4-5-1. That team gave away soft goals at times but scored aplenty.

16-01-2024, 11:05 PM

He would be a great signing for Hibs

17-01-2024, 06:17 AM
He had a goal contribution per game when he was here. His output was nothing short of exceptional.

Apart from Hearts 1-3 where he s#at it and Aberdeen 1-3 where he never turned up and never played for Hibs again and it was only March

The minimum we ask for is 100% effort it is not too much to ask ?

Didn’t want to be here

Next

Musselbound
17-01-2024, 06:21 AM

I thought he was meant to be signing for Hearts. Possibly on a pre-contract.

17-01-2024, 06:39 AM
I thought he was meant to be signing for Hearts. Possibly on a pre-contract.

It was rumoured on Kickback, presumably from one of their itk posters that he’d turned them down as we had come in for him and offered him more money.

I’m not convinced, suspect they’re at the wind up.

17-01-2024, 06:47 AM

of weeks.

Nonsense?!? I was at all his games. He was very decent in low pressure games for us. Complete opposite in big games. That’s prob the reason he got binned by the **** too.

Paulie Walnuts
17-01-2024, 06:54 AM
Apart from Hearts 1-3 where he s#at it and Aberdeen 1-3 where he never turned up and never played for Hibs again and it was only March

The minimum we ask for is 100% effort it is not too much to ask ?

Didn’t want to be here

Next

Ah yes, I forgot he engineered the covid pandemic so that he didn’t have to play for us post March.

If he managed to average a goal contribution a game without trying then he must be a quite incredible player.

17-01-2024, 06:59 AM
Ah yes, I forgot he engineered the covid pandemic so that he didn’t have to play for us post March.

Cheers. That made me laugh stuck in front of my work laptop on a freezing morning.

17-01-2024, 07:02 AM

Reckon Hearts will win league cup before Doig leaves Verona.

17-01-2024, 07:14 AM
So you think Docherty would be an "amazing" signing?

I haven't watched him enough recently to comment on just how good a signing he'd be. However the league he is playing in is streets ahead of our tinpot one.

17-01-2024, 07:25 AM
According to this £650,000 cash coming our way soon via UEFA solidarity payments. Maybe already budgeted for but maybe also a wee boost to the transfer kitty.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/spfl-clubs-brace-for-champions-league-money-explosion-as-celtic-and-rangers-spark-bumper-payments/ar-AA1n6zVE?ocid=msedgntp&pc=HCTS&cvid=1a4fe6a1c53848699c511e7b93986702&ei=18

17-01-2024, 07:48 AM

If he managed to average a goal contribution a game without trying then he must be a quite incredible player.

Ha ! Ha !

Forgot about that need to get out more

Good thing was Hearts got themselves relegated in Paisley

Anyway still ragin about his performance against Hearts and his performance versus Aberdeen wasn’t much better

Couldn’t wait to get back to Sevco or make decent wedge down South no point getting himself injured busting a gut for us was there ?

Sorry it’s a no from me

17-01-2024, 08:06 AM
I didn't think there were any issues with Doherty's commitment or attitude.

He didn't exactly play with a smile on his face and he had a stinker against Hearts but even if all the criticisms on here are fair, the cold hard fact is that he improved a midfield that had been dire during the first half of that season quite substantially during his short time with us.

chippy
17-01-2024, 08:14 AM
Doherty is the only midfielder who I thought bested John McGinn when he was at Hibs and when Doherty played for Hamilton. Just one game but very impressive.

gorgie greens
17-01-2024, 08:16 AM
I didn't think there were any issues with Doherty's commitment or attitude.

He didn't exactly play with a smile on his face and he had a stinker against Hearts but even if all the criticisms on here are fair, the cold hard fact is that he improved a midfield that had been dire during the first half of that season quite substantially during his short time with us.
If having a stinker against Hearts was hanging offence we could fill the grand canyon with bodies unfortunately

17-01-2024, 08:23 AM
Personally don't see it happening as he'll no doubt have suitors at the bottom end of the Championship or top of League 1 which will probably offers more money than we can.

But he's the type of player I'd happily break the bank to get in, he's a proper action midfielder who can get involved at both ends of the park. Not suggesting he's John McGinn reincarnated by any stretch but he's probably the closest we've had to that type of player since JM left. Seen him a few times on the TV since he left for Hull and think he's filled out physically more as well.

As I say I doubt he'll be in a Hibs jersey again personally and think he would be more likely to end up back at the **** as a cheap homegrown option to replace Ryan Jack etc if he did come to Scotland.

17-01-2024, 08:26 AM
If having a stinker against Hearts was hanging offence we could fill the grand canyon with bodies unfortunately

And I'm absolutely flabbergasted regarding some of the insinuations that his attitude wasn't great. His commitment, drive and enthusiasm were absolutely fantastic- what on earth do people think they remember here?

The whole team were dreadful v Hearts that night.

Tarrahib
17-01-2024, 08:26 AM
Josh Peters striker playing for Buckie Thistle against Celtic at the weekend maybe worth a trial game!:wink::wink:

17-01-2024, 08:29 AM
Josh Peters striker playing for Buckie Thistle against Celtic at the weekend maybe worth a trial game!:wink::wink:

He was with us before if I remember correctly?

Paulie Walnuts
And I'm absolutely flabbergasted regarding some of the insinuations that his attitude wasn't great. His commitment, drive and enthusiasm were absolutely fantastic- what on earth do people think they remember here?

The guy is about as professional as they come. Works his arse off on the pitch, is one of the fittest players you’ll come across and is almost never injured. Never involved in any controversy and is extremely talented.

It’s a bizarre take imo. He was terrible against Hearts that night, I’d suggest the fact he’s held accountable for it is because he has shown how good he was in the games previous but that seems to have been forgotten about.

If I was Brian McDermott I’d be offering him a 4 year deal as our top earner.

Ex Hibs boy.

17-01-2024, 08:34 AM

The guy is about as professional as they come. Works his arse off on the pitch, is one of the fittest players you’ll come across and is almost never injured. Never involved in any controversy and is extremely talented.

It’s a bizarre take imo. He was terrible against Hearts that night, I’d suggest the fact he’s held accountable for it is because he has shown how good he was in the games previous but that seems to have been forgotten about.

Are you his agent by any chance? :wink:

17-01-2024, 08:34 AM

Ha ! Ha !

Forgot about that need to get out more

Good thing was Hearts got themselves relegated in Paisley

Anyway still ragin about his performance against Hearts and his performance versus Aberdeen wasn’t much better

Couldn’t wait to get back to Sevco or make decent wedge down South no point getting himself injured busting a gut for us was there ?

Sorry it’s a no from me

The main criticism for that Hearts performance should go to Jack Ross. Hearts played a very high press under Stendel, the rest of the league had worked out fairly easily how to beat it but Jack Ross had us trying to play through it with catastrophic results.

Paulie Walnuts
17-01-2024, 08:38 AM
Are you his agent by any chance? :wink:

ElginHibbie
17-01-2024, 08:40 AM

With the criticism "he was desperate to leave" I always just think "Aye and so was Scott Allan", he came back and won fans over so to write off anyone for the same reasons just seems silly

17-01-2024, 08:48 AM
m going to give Monty credit and assume he is sticking to his view he needs three or four players who can come straight into first team to improve us
So far he hasn’t seen anyone within our budget that can do thst
all good things come to those who wait

NGoloGrantie
17-01-2024, 08:49 AM
https://x.com/anthonyrjoseph/status/1747553409329201592?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g

‘Newcastle Jets winger Clayton Taylor is attracting interest from a number of clubs in Europe.

An unnamed Scottish Premiership club and two English Championship teams have made enquiries about the 19-year-old’s availability in this window.’

Would like the think there’s a very big chance the Scottish club is us.

17-01-2024, 09:24 AM
I haven't watched him enough recently to comment on just how good a signing he'd be. However the league he is playing in is streets ahead of our tinpot one.
The way things are going he and Hull could well be playing in league 1 next season, not exactly the pinnacle of excellence.

Paulie Walnuts
17-01-2024, 09:29 AM
The way things are going he and Hull could well be playing in league 1 next season, not exactly the pinnacle of excellence.

Am I missing something here? They’re 9th in the championship, 17 clear of relegation. :confused:

17-01-2024, 09:39 AM
The main criticism for that Hearts performance should go to Jack Ross. Hearts played a very high press under Stendel, the rest of the league had worked out fairly easily how to beat it but Jack Ross had us trying to play through it with catastrophic results.

Agree out thought and out fought

Hibs second to every ball and every second ball

The better team on the night won

Don’t get me started on Jack Ross as well

Anyway any transfer news ? 😀

17-01-2024, 09:41 AM

Hull aren't going down. Not on a great run now, but they're having a decent season and have some cracking young players coming through.

17-01-2024, 09:58 AM

For some reason has not started a league game this season making four appearances as a late sub

He did start both FA Cup matches versus Birmingham so hopefully he can kick on

Pete70
17-01-2024, 10:01 AM
Folk need to get over Doherty’s performance in the Hertz game. The only question is, would he improve the team? For me its a yes.

17-01-2024, 10:02 AM

Omeonga was even worse that night and there are shouts to bring him back almost every transfer window (not this one, yet). I think Doherty was alright. Nothing more nothing less. If we signed him i'd be reasonably happy but wouldn't lose any sleep at all if we didn't.

Gordy M
17-01-2024, 10:05 AM
As with the Yan Danda rumour, is there actually any reports etc that Docherty is being linked with us? Or is it the usual, someone makes up a rumour and folk spend days debating something thats not going happen?

17-01-2024, 10:08 AM
As with the Yan Danda rumour, is there actually any reports etc that Docherty is being linked with us? Or is it the usual, someone makes up a rumour and folk spend days debating something thats not going happen?

Someone got a text saying he had been at EM then that text was questioned about whether that was from twitter.

Doch started for Hull hours later.

So I reckon it’s a load of pish.

I also reckon the attitude being in question is because it was rumoured he never wanted to be here in the first place.

He had an absolute stinker against Hearts. The whole team did. It was actually a vile performance all things considered.

I’d take him back though. He’s a quality player at our level.

17-01-2024, 10:21 AM
Agree out thought and out fought

Hibs second to every ball and every second ball

The better team on the night won

Don’t get me started on Jack Ross as well

Anyway any transfer news ? 😀
Me too. :wink:

17-01-2024, 10:22 AM

Ah the famous make things up to get a point across on Hibs.net strikes again.

17-01-2024, 10:35 AM
95 pages. Has anyone actually signed yet!! 😀

17-01-2024, 10:59 AM
95 pages. Has anyone actually signed yet!! [emoji3]

Don’t think we even have a player we are trying for yet?

17-01-2024, 11:24 AM
Doherty won't sign for us in a million years, thank ****.

17-01-2024, 11:40 AM
https://x.com/anthonyrjoseph/status/1747553409329201592?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g

‘Newcastle Jets winger Clayton Taylor is attracting interest from a number of clubs in Europe.

An unnamed Scottish Premiership club and two English Championship teams have made enquiries about the 19-year-old’s availability in this window.’

Is he any good?

AugustaHibs
17-01-2024, 11:45 AM

Yeah thank ****. JDH will make it all better when he’s back from injury.

Or maybe jeggo will learn to pass to a teammate?

We are so gifted with great midfielders at the moment, like you said, thank ****.

badabing67
17-01-2024, 11:53 AM
JDH might not make it all better, all by himself. But FWIW I think he is a better player than he gets credit for on here anyway, and at least he wants to be here. I think he will make a difference when he is back.

17-01-2024, 12:00 PM
JDH might not make it all better, all by himself. But FWIW I think he is a better player than he gets credit for on here anyway, and at least he wants to be here. I think he will make a difference when he is back.

He could be the best player in the world but it’s meaningless if we can’t get him on a football pitch.

Dmas
17-01-2024, 12:01 PM
He could be the best player in the world but it’s meaningless if we can’t get him on a football pitch.

Exactly I quite like JDH but he’s approaching Kyle magennis levels now

17-01-2024, 12:02 PM

I think if he wasn't injured he'd probably have been one of the names on the list to leave this window as well. I had hopes for the guy when he joined and was even impressed by him when he first showed up. But the guy has struggled to make any sort of mark at Hibs now for coming up two years.

I also think in a 2 man midfield he would offer us nothing better than rest of them currently are.

badabing67
17-01-2024, 12:03 PM

TBF he has had a piece of bone that was floating around in his ankle removed. So hopefully he can kick on.

17-01-2024, 12:16 PM
Still no update on Delf, Harbottle or Boruc leaving?

Seems odd nothing is confirmed especially with them not being in Dubai. Unless of course we’re waiting on replacements first.

17-01-2024, 12:19 PM
I don’t think Hibs have or ever had an interest in signing him, as you say thankfully.

17-01-2024, 12:23 PM
Still no update on Delf, Harbottle or Boruc leaving?

Seems odd nothing is confirmed especially with them not being in Dubai. Unless of course we’re waiting on replacements first.

Interview with Monty I read this morning said there would be a halt on any outgoing loans until later in the window.

ruthven_raiders
17-01-2024, 12:32 PM
Interview with Monty I read this morning said there would be a halt on any outgoing loans until later in the window.

Makes sense, until we knwo is coming in, then we can release players for loan, otherwise we will be short of bodies in certain areas....

badabing67
17-01-2024, 12:43 PM
When are they due back from Dubai

17-01-2024, 12:49 PM

We are so gifted with great midfielders at the moment, like you said, thank ****.

Oops I thought we were talking about Matt Doherty lmao, Greg Docherty would be fine.

17-01-2024, 12:50 PM

Totally agree. Good at keeping the ball, aggressive and works his socks off to close down

17-01-2024, 12:54 PM
I also like JDH but he's another one of our inconsistent players. Just when you've made your mind up that he is in fact a very good player, he drops in the sort of minging performance that very good players simply do not have.

17-01-2024, 12:58 PM
When are they due back from Dubai

Yesterday.

17-01-2024, 01:01 PM

Doesn’t sound promising.

17-01-2024, 01:01 PM
I also like JDH but he's another one of our inconsistent players. Just when you've made your mind up that he is in fact a very good player, he drops in the sort of minging performance that very good players simply do not have.

He's ok but never fit. Taken over from Magennis.

Rumble de Thump
17-01-2024, 01:12 PM
Doesn’t sound promising.

They can go out on loan when our international players have returned.

17-01-2024, 01:46 PM

I think this is sensible so we don't leave ourselves too short, but it also needs to be remembered when some are demanding we have 4 or 5 in the door by now. Most clubs will be in a similar position to us, especially if the player is of any use whatsoever to their first team.

I imagine most of the players you see having moved by this point are either youngsters who are not part of any first team plans and needing loans (like who we trialled from Leeds), or guys who are downright not wanted for various reasons (not usually a good indication).

Having a look across the league so far after 17 days other than Celtic's winger and Rangers signing Fabio Silva I don't think anyone has signed a player I'd have been overly excited or happy to get. I think the last week of the window will be where we see any action happen as the wheels start turning at the top of the football pyramid and patience is required.

jakeshibs
17-01-2024, 01:56 PM

Sorry but JDH is not up to the standard and dies not improve us

17-01-2024, 01:58 PM
I think this is sensible so we don't leave ourselves too short, but it also needs to be remembered when some are demanding we have 4 or 5 in the door by now. Most clubs will be in a similar position to us, especially if the player is of any use whatsoever to their first team.

I imagine most of the players you see having moved by this point are either youngsters who are not part of any first team plans and needing loans (like who we trialled from Leeds), or guys who are downright not wanted for various reasons (not usually a good indication).

Having a look across the league so far after 17 days other than Celtic's winger and Rangers signing Fabio Silva I don't think anyone has signed a player I'd have been overly excited or happy to get. I think the last week of the window will be where we see any action happen as the wheels start turning at the top of the football pyramid and patience is required.

You obviously haven’t read the news that Dundee have just announced Curtis Main……🤣

17-01-2024, 02:00 PM
You obviously haven’t read the news that Dundee have just announced Curtis Main……🤣

I did hear that rumour but didn't see it was announced. Still would stand by my point that I've not seen anyone sign anyone I would specifically be happy to see in a Hibs jersey so far :greengrin

17-01-2024, 02:08 PM
There’s not much happening is there?

17-01-2024, 02:13 PM
And I think that will be the case at the end of the window.

AugustaHibs
17-01-2024, 02:29 PM
Sorry but JDH is not up to the standard and dies not improve us

Sarcasm.

17-01-2024, 02:53 PM

Was at the ticket office earlier and seen no new signings.

Bridge hibs
17-01-2024, 03:09 PM
Was at the ticket office earlier and seen no new signings.

I would be more concerned if they ended up in the ticket office instead of East Mains

17-01-2024, 03:32 PM
Celtic are favourites to sign Doig according to the bookies. Didn't know there was betting on where a player may end up? Can't see Celtic signing him tbh.

17-01-2024, 03:34 PM
Celtic are favourites to sign Doig according to the bookies. Didn't know there was betting on where a player may end up? Can't see Celtic signing him tbh.

I know Rangers were in the race for him initially, but I think he would be a good addition for either of them with the homegrown quota etc. But would they pay the £5m/£6m that Verona were asking for him? Not so sure their fans would go for it.

Bridge hibs
17-01-2024, 03:37 PM

Johnston and Taylor both left backs and they have plenty left wingers as well as signing another winger so unsure where Doig would fit in, plus celtc dont like splashing the cash much for Scottish talent

17-01-2024, 03:40 PM

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/11809289/celtic-rangers-josh-doig-january-transfer-swoop-verona-marseille/

17-01-2024, 03:40 PM
Johnston and Taylor both left backs and they have plenty left wingers as well as signing another winger so unsure where Doig would fit in, plus celtc dont like splashing the cash much for Scottish talent

Johnston is a right back is he not?

Glasgowhibby95
17-01-2024, 03:41 PM

Alistair Johnston is a right back so just Taylor that Doig would be competing with, assuming Bernabei is out the picture as seems to be case.

FWIW I'd have Doig ahead of Taylor.

Cat Stanton
17-01-2024, 04:10 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/11809289/celtic-rangers-josh-doig-january-transfer-swoop-verona-marseille/

Why would you want to swap Verona or Marseille for the east end of Glasgow...?

17-01-2024, 04:11 PM
Someone on the Bounce saying we have signed a French forward from Hertha Berlin = Kelian Nsona. :dunno::dunno:

17-01-2024, 04:12 PM
Why would you want to swap Verona or Marseille for the east end of Glasgow...?

Money talks, or so I've been told.

17-01-2024, 04:15 PM

10/1 to stay at Verona seems incredibly generous.

17-01-2024, 04:16 PM
Someone on the Bounce saying we have signed a French forward from Hertha Berlin = Kelian Nsona. :dunno::dunno:

Looks like the exact sort of signing we would make tbf

17-01-2024, 04:17 PM
Looks like the exact sort of signing we would make tbf

6ft 2 right winger.

17-01-2024, 04:19 PM

It does appear from the outside looking in that perhaps Josh wants to leave or they want him to go. It sounds like they're a bit of a loose cannon outfit judging by the way they conduct their business in the windows so far. Wonder if he's pretty nailed on to go somewhere if the relationships starting to deteriorate?

17-01-2024, 04:21 PM

Love a rumour like that.

Hope it’s true, seems to be heavily linked with Bordeaux.

17-01-2024, 04:24 PM

Is he following anyone at Hibs? That seems to be the giveaway

17-01-2024, 04:26 PM
6ft 2 right winger.

Watched some clips and appears he can play both flanks.

Looks quick with a poor final ball.

Spent alot of time out lately with injuries

Clips don’t say a lot but doesn’t seem an upgrade on Youan, Boyle or Tavares.

Perfect 🤝

17-01-2024, 04:32 PM
Just checked and it just said a French player from Hertha Berlin

The other player for them who was born in French is a left winger called Myziane Maolida. 24 years old and previously been bought for large fees

Could be a coincidence but I also found this

https://x.com/plettigoal/status/1746245176450793585?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

https://x.com/qamarfootball/status/1746279070902497620?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

17-01-2024, 04:37 PM

The other player for them who was born in French is a left winger called Myziane Maolida. 24 years old and previously been bought for large fees

https://x.com/qamarfootball/status/1746279070902497620?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

That fits the profile more than the other lad IMO. He'd probably do well at this level.

NGoloGrantie
17-01-2024, 04:39 PM

Don’t see him being unrealistic tbf, been playing this season with Hertha Berlin II in the German 4th Tier. But the younger one probs the one we’re after. If we are after either of them. Big if.

17-01-2024, 04:40 PM

A few Aberdeen fans seem certain it's them that are interested in this guy.

Bridge hibs
17-01-2024, 04:46 PM
Johnston is a right back is he not?

Och so he is Aldo, Im getting my lefts mixed up with my lefts because Im a lefty 😀

17-01-2024, 05:19 PM
Sheffield Wednesday supposedly interested in getting Mika Biereth on loan from Arsenal.

17-01-2024, 05:19 PM
Don’t see him being unrealistic tbf, been playing this season with Hertha Berlin II in the German 4th Tier. But the younger one probs the one we’re after. If we are after either of them. Big if.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-31828434

Story has made it to the Daily Record. Anybody know if the poster on the bounce is known to have good info in the past?

17-01-2024, 05:20 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-31828434

Story has made it to the Daily Record. Anybody know if the poster on the bounce is known to have good info in the past?

Poster on the bounce said he heard about the Brazilian on trial with Hibs before the story broke here

17-01-2024, 05:27 PM

Me to

17-01-2024, 05:33 PM

Some folk appear to feel jilted because he had a poor game against hearts then chose to go down south to a much higher wage than we could offer. This being a player who’d been here a few months, put in some good performances, and had no emotional connection to Hibs, yet shouldn’t have dared to maximise his earnings to stay here instead.

17-01-2024, 05:39 PM
French boy 14 million in total transfers 😯

17-01-2024, 05:43 PM
French boy 14 million in total transfers 😯

Had a reported 100m buy out clause at one point. Has he actually played much recently?

17-01-2024, 05:46 PM
Had a reported 100m buy out clause at one point. Has he actually played much recently?

10 matches this season according to Google.

17-01-2024, 05:53 PM
See Maolida wiki page has already been changed to current team - Hibs 😂

€14m in transfer fees and only 24. Surely there’s absolutely no chance he ends up at us??

Saying that, think he’s playing in the German third tier just now.

17-01-2024, 06:00 PM
See Maolida wiki page has already been changed to current team - Hibs 😂

€14m in transfer fees and only 24. Surely there’s absolutely no chance he ends up at us??

Saying that. Think he’s playing in the German third tier just now.

On loan possibly.

17-01-2024, 06:00 PM
Scott Fraser looking for a return to Scotland. I'm sure Hibs were interested or maybe even bid for him under JR. A few clubs are already reportedly interested. Not sure who and not sure what type of midfield player he is.

17-01-2024, 06:12 PM
And so the saga goes on, how many clubs will he
be linked to before window closes:greengrin

17-01-2024, 06:13 PM
https://x.com/scottburns75/status/1747697537627066649?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

17-01-2024, 06:16 PM
https://x.com/scottburns75/status/1747697537627066649?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

Oh well - another one bites the dust! :greengrin

17-01-2024, 06:16 PM

Fun whilst it lasted. Ok next 😁

Gordy M
17-01-2024, 06:21 PM
Well at least it says Hibs working on NMs priority targets.....suggests we are at least looking to sign players this window.

17-01-2024, 06:24 PM
I’m a bit bored now tbh.

It’s a long way until the 31st and the 2012-esque, 14 players announced at once extravaganza.

I want George Francombe and I want him now!

NGoloGrantie
17-01-2024, 06:25 PM

Think Scott burns is quite unreliable imo, has been caught out for it in the past.

From Mark Hendrys article: https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/myziane-maolida-hibs-transfer-shortlist-28465418

It says we are looking to bring him in this January but a switch in the summer is also possible. Also says we are ready to ‘cash in’ on the player which suggests there is money there to be spent which is good news.

17-01-2024, 06:28 PM
I’m a bit bored now tbh.

It’s a long way until the 31st and the 2012-esque, 14 players announced at once extravaganza.

It’s even longer until the 1st when the window closes.

Bridge hibs
17-01-2024, 06:28 PM
I’m a bit bored now tbh.

Still playing for Dorking Wanderers, its never too late 😄

NGoloGrantie
17-01-2024, 06:29 PM
https://x.com/smmediaent/status/1747688691273716115?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g

Van veen could be on the move.

HendoDelivered
17-01-2024, 06:34 PM
Scott Fraser looking to return home to Scotland. Decent player.

17-01-2024, 06:34 PM
https://x.com/smmediaent/status/1747688691273716115?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g

Van veen could be on the move.

That post says nothing about Van Veen, given the teams that account covers it’s likely to be a lower league player.

17-01-2024, 06:40 PM

They’ve scooped over 25m Euros this window. That’s a great price

17-01-2024, 07:02 PM
They’ve scooped over 25m Euros this window. That’s a great price

You can’t actually meet on it though can you, looks like it’s just from a clickbait website that’s purpose is to generate ad revenue from gambling websites.

17-01-2024, 07:28 PM

Di Marzio on Twitter reporting that he’s agreed to sign for Sassulo for 6m Euros + add ons

17-01-2024, 07:34 PM
Di Marzio on Twitter reporting that he’s agreed to sign for Sassulo for 6m Euros + add ons

https://gianlucadimarzio.com/it/sassuolo-doig-verona-calciomercato-serie-a-17-gennaio-2024

Edit:

This journo thinks it is Verona trying to push Doig out the door and Doig still wants to go to Marseille:

https://www.alfredopedulla.com/il-retroscena-doig-non-si-allena-il-verona-lo-spinge-al-sassuolo/

17-01-2024, 07:47 PM
Posted the other day about Henderson scoring for Oostende, he's done it again tonight in the cup against top flight RWDM. I wonder if we may get offers for him.

Dmas
17-01-2024, 07:51 PM
Posted the other day about Henderson scoring for Oostende, he's done it again tonight in the cup against top flight RWDM. I wonder if we may get offers for him.

They have option to buy don’t they?

17-01-2024, 07:53 PM
They have option to buy don’t they?

I didn't think they did but they do

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/ewan-henderson-joins-k-v-oostende-on-loan

17-01-2024, 07:59 PM
That post says nothing about Van Veen, given the teams that account covers it’s likely to be a lower league player.

Tiwi Daramola signed for East Kilbride

CentreForward
17-01-2024, 08:02 PM
I didn't think they did but they do

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/ewan-henderson-joins-k-v-oostende-on-loan

Another Melkersen type fee incoming :cb

Hibstrooper
17-01-2024, 08:07 PM
Another Melkersen type fee incoming :cb

They are botttom of their league so in risk of dropping to third tier in Belgium. Would imagine that would kybosh them spending any cash

Bridge hibs
17-01-2024, 08:08 PM

Me toBoth of you ?

17-01-2024, 08:09 PM
5 in 15 for Henderson now.

Not saying he’s the answer, but think he’d do well in a Montgomery type of system.

17-01-2024, 08:11 PM

Not saying he’s the answer, but think he’d do well in a Montgomery type of system.

If folk are talking about Dhanda possibly playing as a 10 to allow Vente to play further forward then you would be as well using Henderson in that roll. Think it would still be best for him to move on tbh.

17-01-2024, 08:17 PM

I’d rather we had a proper clear out this summer.

He’s nowhere near good enough for where we want to be

17-01-2024, 08:18 PM
They are botttom of their league so in risk of dropping to third tier in Belgium. Would imagine that would kybosh them spending any cash

Not to mention a 9 point deduction and transfer ban for financial irregularities.

EGL2000
17-01-2024, 08:28 PM

Far gone. Had many a chance and never taken it way to lightweight get him punted asap for me.

17-01-2024, 08:44 PM
Surprised Campbell has been struggling for game time, always looked decent.

Luton Town are weighing up their options over what to do with Allan Campbell.

The former Motherwell man has been loaned out to Millwall until the summer, but has played only 12 times for the Lions.

That has the Hatters exploring if they could find a more suitable destination for the Scot.

If that happens, then he could be brought back from the Den and sent elsewhere, potentially back up north in search of regular game time.

However, Millwall would need time to get another body in before agreeing to cut Campbell's stint short.

King Cosell
17-01-2024, 08:47 PM
Allan Campbell on loan? Not getting much game time a at Millwall, Luton looking at alternative loan options.

Bridge hibs
17-01-2024, 08:47 PM

The former Motherwell man has been loaned out to Millwall until the summer, but has played only 12 times for the Lions.

That has the Hatters exploring if they could find a more suitable destination for the Scot.

If that happens, then he could be brought back from the Den and sent elsewhere, potentially back up north in search of regular game time.

However, Millwall would need time to get another body in before agreeing to cut Campbell's stint short.We could swap Campbells 😄

leith lynx
17-01-2024, 08:50 PM
We could swap Campbells 😄

Why not have the two? Would result in a a very condensed midfield...

17-01-2024, 08:53 PM
Allan Campbell and Greg Doch would be a sensational midfield.

Shame it’s no happening really.

17-01-2024, 08:57 PM

This could mushroom into a full on pun fest

17-01-2024, 08:58 PM

Souperb

1875Sean
17-01-2024, 08:59 PM

The team are bottom of the league in the second division, can’t be a great level

17-01-2024, 09:06 PM
The team are bottom of the league in the second division, can’t be a great level

He's playing in the same level as the rest of the league to be fair. And scoring goals doing it.

Henderson's issue was purely physicality and speed. He might do well in Belgium - certainly played a stormer for Celtic in right wing back in Europe.

He could come back like prime Modric and there'd still be howls of agony at any stray pass. Hope he gets a good move.

17-01-2024, 09:07 PM

However, Millwall would need time to get another body in before agreeing to cut Campbell's stint short.

Him and Newell would be a great partnership.

HendoDelivered
17-01-2024, 09:10 PM
Allan Campbell and Greg Doch would be a sensational midfield.

Shame it’s no happening really.

Imagine 😍

17-01-2024, 09:24 PM
m going to give Monty credit and assume he is sticking to his view he needs three or four players who can come straight into first team to improve us
So far he hasn’t seen anyone within our budget that can do that
All good things come to those who wait

Maybe you should give Brian credit for not signing anyone yet. Cos that's HIS main job.

Nick's main job is to play players in their best positions, employ a system that improves the team and get us into Europe. The jury is out on how successful he's been so far.

17-01-2024, 09:33 PM
Is he any good?

Clayton Taylor that is.

He’s in the first season of his first professional contract at the Jets having been signed from Sydney FC development side, where he apparently impressed.

Can’t say I have noticed him….he’s only played a dozen games or so……but is praised in a few reports I have read.

His contract still has a year to run though, and with Monty’s statement that they are looking at players in the A League whose contract expires THIS season…..that suggests to me it’s probably not us.

Incidentally as background ….The whole of the A League is skint……the controlling body just made redundant over half their staff…but as a club Newcastle are particularly skint….being propped up by the league and a few fellow clubs while they seek an owner…and Perth are in the same boat.

Nevi_SOL
17-01-2024, 09:40 PM
Imo Allan Campbell is the exact mould of player we need right now and him alone would change our season. Don't think we have any chance though unfortunately

Cat Stanton
17-01-2024, 09:43 PM
Fun whilst it lasted. Ok next 😁

Hey, at least it was a rumour.

Musselbound
17-01-2024, 09:57 PM

I suspect that if we had someone doing that well in a Scottish Championship team many people would be saying get him recalled now.

17-01-2024, 09:59 PM

Do we know what position hes playing ? And what shape the team play ?

Edinburgh Green
17-01-2024, 10:06 PM
Should be all over Campbell like a tramp on chips!

MagicSwirlingShip
17-01-2024, 10:12 PM
He's playing in the same level as the rest of the league to be fair. And scoring goals doing it.

Henderson's issue was purely physicality and speed. He might do well in Belgium - certainly played a stormer for Celtic in right wing back in Europe.

He could come back like prime Modric and there'd still be howls of agony at any stray pass. Hope he gets a good move.

Not mentally strong enough to play for Hibs in my opinion, would miss a chance then hide for the rest of the match.

I hope this loan move propels his career in the right direction but think a move would be best for us and him.

Torto7
18-01-2024, 12:09 AM

Docherty isn't any better than the guys you mentioned. Horrendously overrated on here and definitely not a good passer at all so I'm not sure why Jeggo was singled out for that. Docherty is like Campbell.

PHeffernan
18-01-2024, 12:59 AM

Henderson is an important player for K.V. Oostende. Scores and assists.
They lost their first 3 league games before he arrived but have only lost 3 of the following 14.
His goal at the weekend was high quality.
It is the first goal of the game and is at the start of the following clip. No need to watch beyond 50 seconds.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ojnr-wE62-s

18-01-2024, 03:33 AM
Henderson is an important player for K.V. Oostende. Scores and assists.
They lost their first 3 league games before he arrived but have only lost 3 of the following 14.
His goal at the weekend was high quality.
It is the first goal of the game and is at the start of the following clip. No need to watch beyond 50 seconds.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ojnr-wE62-s

I read a report that suggested Ostend were a basket case financially……don’t think we’ll be able to do a Melkersen with Henderson.

babahibs
18-01-2024, 05:41 AM

They could be brothers

McGruber
18-01-2024, 06:20 AM

That might give us a Campbell's Meatball!

USA_Hibee
18-01-2024, 06:42 AM
Are there any proper rumours? It's all very quiet and I can't tell if that's a good thing or not 😁.

18-01-2024, 07:10 AM
I thought we had an option to buy built into Henderson's loan? If so, I'd be keeping my fingers crossed they take it, we need much better.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

18-01-2024, 07:18 AM
I’m a bit bored now tbh.

Don't. I'm getting flashbacks to Pat's Soares, Claros, O'Donovan, Doherty January window.

AltheHibby
18-01-2024, 07:26 AM
We could sign this guy. He might cost a lot. He looks deer.

https://twitter.com/AMAZlNGNATURE/status/1747774572013732308?t=t03nGy_Cc9KIUeyJiV3R8g&s=19

18-01-2024, 07:51 AM
Are there any proper rumours? It's all very quiet and I can't tell if that's a good thing or not 😁.

Did you see the story about the French guy playing for Hertha Berlin?

That was only last night, if that’s no enough for you on the rumours front you’re being very demanding 😂

18-01-2024, 08:18 AM
Don't. I'm getting flashbacks to Pat's Soares, Claros, O'Donovan, Doherty January window.

Those players improved us beyond recognition that season. Their biggest problem was that they did so well they got us to a cup final that we all really wish they hadn't.

We were mince and in deep trouble before they arrived.

18-01-2024, 08:24 AM
Those players improved us beyond recognition that season. Their biggest problem was that they did so well they got us to a cup final that we all really wish they hadn't.

True. They weren't bad players but just makes me remember a pretty bleak period.

18-01-2024, 08:32 AM
Motherwell boss Stuart Kettlewell confirms Mika Biereth has been recalled by Arsenal.

I posted yesterday Sheffield Wednesday were linked with him.

Donegal Hibby
18-01-2024, 08:42 AM
We could sign this guy. He might cost a lot. He looks deer.

https://twitter.com/AMAZlNGNATURE/status/1747774572013732308?t=t03nGy_Cc9KIUeyJiV3R8g&s=19

This one would hound defenses .
https://youtu.be/M12Ca-a97uA?si=ut8U0zd_iV8dQ918

18-01-2024, 08:51 AM
Bireth recalled by Arsenal from Motherwell

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

18-01-2024, 09:51 AM
Bireth recalled by Arsenal from Motherwell

Thought he was by far their best player both times they played us this season. Delighted he won't be there next time we play them.

18-01-2024, 09:53 AM

Claros and Doherty improved us. Kujabi, ROD and Soares (who I was most excited about) done nothing positive from my memory.

18-01-2024, 10:01 AM
Claros and Doherty improved us. Kujabi, ROD and Soares (who I was most excited about) done nothing positive from my memory.

Ironically I felt Claros didn't show his best stuff until the next season with us. Then after that I thought he was an excellent wee player. After the 5-1 final I would have happily seen the back of him as well.

badabing67
18-01-2024, 10:03 AM
Thought he was by far their best player both times they played us this season. Delighted he won't be there next time we play them.

They still have that guy Theo Bair who looks pretty decent imo

18-01-2024, 10:04 AM

Francombe was alright too. I slightly preferred him to Doherty, actually. Obviously their careers have gone in opposite directions and GF was more experienced than MD at that point. Did Claros not take a while to settle? I seem to remember that some folk thought we should cancel his loan in the summer. He was outstanding after the summer, though. Maybe it was his Hampden performances that caused folk to want him sent back.

18-01-2024, 10:08 AM

Thought he bullied Whittaker a bit but when I seen him for St Johnstone before I've never been that impressed. But he's a handful and that probably counts for something in our league and something we lack.

18-01-2024, 10:14 AM

Either ROD or soares scored an absolute peach at rugby park.

18-01-2024, 10:18 AM
Thought he bullied Whittaker a bit but when I seen him for St Johnstone before I've never been that impressed. But he's a handful and that probably counts for something in our league and something we lack.

This season's Joel Nouble. Form will drop off a cliff IMO.

18-01-2024, 10:26 AM
Aye he's decent, a handful for defenders.

18-01-2024, 10:29 AM
This season's Joel Nouble. Form will drop off a cliff IMO.

That’s an insult to Nouble in my opinion, and I dinnae even rate Nouble at all.

Theo Bair is crap.

18-01-2024, 10:34 AM
That’s an insult to Nouble in my opinion, and I dinnae even rate Nouble at all.

Theo Bair is crap.

Yeah he beat our 16 year old right back and now everyone thinks he's a world beater. It's the "scored against Hibs" bias.

18-01-2024, 10:40 AM
Ryan Kent could be on his way to Hull.

Dmas
18-01-2024, 10:40 AM
Seemingly Luton are unhappy with Allan campbells game time on loan at Millwall according to the DR should be lifting the phone their to check in, would be a quality signing think he’d be looking to stay down there but nothing wrong with asking the questions.

18-01-2024, 10:44 AM
Dundee are closing in on the signing of Everton centre-back Ryan Astley.

It’s understood personal terms with the 22-year-old are being finalised.

Once agreed, Astley will move on a free transfer, with the Premier League club inserting a sell-on clause into the deal.

18-01-2024, 11:10 AM

Once agreed, Astley will move on a free transfer, with the Premier League club inserting a sell-on clause into the deal.

Jeez, he looks a real player going by this.

https://youtu.be/dQw4w9WgXcQ?si=L9R4iZU3H5dG_gVA

18-01-2024, 11:13 AM

He’ll never let them down.

18-01-2024, 11:18 AM

For a defender though, he doesn't run around, or hurt you, and that's not good at SPFL level

yerauldda
18-01-2024, 11:24 AM
he does have full commitment though and that's not something you'll get from any other guy

18-01-2024, 11:52 AM
he does have full commitment though and that's not something you'll get from any other guy

Long contract apparently. He’s never gonna say goodbye.

18-01-2024, 11:59 AM
Long contract apparently. He’s never gonna say goodbye.
Together Forever in fact...

Trinity Hibee
18-01-2024, 01:00 PM

He’s knows the game and he’s going to play it..

EGL2000
18-01-2024, 01:13 PM

He's honking Whits just made him look alright.

18-01-2024, 01:20 PM
This could mushroom into a full on pun fest

You seem like a fungi.

18-01-2024, 01:34 PM
You seem like a fungi.
Maitake on things is always fun....

18-01-2024, 01:35 PM
Maitake on things is always fun....

But it's never a shiitake.

18-01-2024, 01:41 PM
Megwa stays at hibs

Loan terminated

badabing67
18-01-2024, 01:55 PM
Megwa stays at hibs

Loan terminated

Kanayo Megwa Recalled From Airdrieonians - Hibernian FC (https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/kanayo-megwa-recalled-from-airdrieonians)

18-01-2024, 02:07 PM
Unfortunately, Kanayo will be ineligible to play in our upcoming Scottish Cup Fourth Round match with Forfar Athletic having represented Airdrieonians in the same competition earlier this season.

Never in doubt [emoji1787]

TheHibernator
18-01-2024, 02:12 PM

Soares scored a double in an away win to Killie I’m sure, one was an absolute screamer.

Kujabi actually looked quite good on his debut - think it was at home to Killie - separate from the Soares game - can remember he skinned a boy and ran down the wing and also had a few good passing moves that drew a reaction from the East.

King Cosell
18-01-2024, 02:19 PM
Stop me if you think you've heard this one before, but it looks like Doig to Sassuolo is done.

Torto7
18-01-2024, 02:21 PM
Megwa stays at hibs

Loan terminated

I'm not sure I agree with this. He's unlikely to play for us as he's more defensively minded and Monty seems to want his RB pushed on. I'd rather he completed a full year with Airdrie as it was going well for him.

Rumble de Thump
18-01-2024, 02:27 PM
I'm not sure I agree with this. He's unlikely to play for us as he's more defensively minded and Monty seems to want his RB pushed on. I'd rather he completed a full year with Airdrie as it was going well for him.

We only had one right back available and he's only 16.

18-01-2024, 02:36 PM

Other than the cup tie I expect he’ll be heavily involved for the next 7-8 games

Cadden will take time to get match fit and Miller away for the next few weeks. And if Megwa does well it could be miller left out/moved on

badabing67
18-01-2024, 02:37 PM
Stop me if you think you've heard this one before, but it looks like Doig to Sassuolo is done.

Where are you seeing this

18-01-2024, 02:39 PM
550k for Doig.

Between that and Melkersen I’m struggling to see how we appear so skint.

Go and get players in now Hibs and give the manager and team a fighting chance

GreenArmy1875
18-01-2024, 02:47 PM
550k for Doig.

Sometimes getting money like this isn't great for negotiating deals. Clubs think can get a bit more from us. Will be same once Foley money comes in

badabing67
18-01-2024, 02:49 PM
550k for Doig.

Does this mean that the instalments also have to be paid in full from the original transfer from the fee they receive

18-01-2024, 02:49 PM
Not sure why you think he’s more defensively minded to be honest.

andrew70
18-01-2024, 02:50 PM

More defensively minded?

King Cosell
18-01-2024, 02:51 PM

4 of our next 5 league games are Rangers, Killie away, Celtic & Aberdeen away. Monty has to be a bit more defensively-minded or we could find ourselves in 8th or 9th place with 13 games left.

Paulie Walnuts
18-01-2024, 02:53 PM
Does this mean that the instalments also have to be paid in full from the original transfer from the fee they receive

Will just depend what’s in the contract.

yerauldda
18-01-2024, 02:53 PM
Not quite the move I'd hoped for Doig. 2 points above Verona, not much of a step up.
A welcome 500k for us and not joining Celtic/Rangers, though.

18-01-2024, 02:54 PM
Where are you seeing this

Being reported

https://i.ibb.co/wrtpRJm/Screenshot-2024-01-18-15-52-46-70-0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg (https://ibb.co/wrtpRJm)

18-01-2024, 02:58 PM
But it's never a shiitake.
Never, thats the Morel of the story always...

badabing67
18-01-2024, 02:59 PM
Being reported

https://i.ibb.co/wrtpRJm/Screenshot-2024-01-18-15-52-46-70-0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg (https://ibb.co/wrtpRJm)

Ta

andrew70
18-01-2024, 02:59 PM
Being reported

Think that means our percentage carries on to possible next move.

18-01-2024, 03:03 PM
Think that means our percentage carries on to possible next move.

I’d presume so. If the sell on was indeed 27.5% of profit and we’re now into the profit area, then we should get 27.5% of any future amount Verona get. Anyone confirm if that’s right?

18-01-2024, 03:04 PM
I’d presume so. If the sell on was indeed 27.5% of profit and we’re now into the profit area, then we should get 27.5% of any future amount Verona get. Anyone confirm if that’s right?

How much did we sell him for? £3m?

18-01-2024, 03:05 PM
550k for Doig.

I don't think we are. I think the imminent investment is hindering us in this window. Will Foley's group want a say on who we sign? Do we know we're on the verge of potentially shopping in a different market to now? Are other clubs aware we're just about to come in to money? think it'll be all three. That's the reason i think it'll be loans only this window.

18-01-2024, 03:05 PM
Not quite the move I'd hoped for Doig. 2 points above Verona, not much of a step up.

Can’t help but feel for the lad, seemed a certainty to be going to Marseille only for the club to stop it and now end up at sassuolo

inglisavhibs
18-01-2024, 03:08 PM
You would hope so.

18-01-2024, 03:11 PM

I hope he's negotiated conditions that Sassuolo have to let him speak to bigger clubs if they come in for him. Seems like he's been messed about a bit by Verona.