View Full Version : SNP are lying b******s as well !

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

07-04-2023, 03:22 PM
Not suggesting anything but in the last few weeks, Chief Constable retires unexpectedly, Nippy retires unexpectedly, Murrell resigns after a push, gets arrested and house searched. Now the SNPs accountants have dropped them as clients stating the were not allowed access to the accounts by Murrell…. Perhaps 🤔 there might be something amiss

Both stv and the BBC going with the same story

Accountants Johnston Carmichael’s decision to resign came before Wednesday after reviewing its client portfolio and existing resources and commitments, STV News understands.

The timing might appear a godsend to the SNP BAD crowd but they had already taken the decision before the dawn raids in Uddingston

07-04-2023, 03:52 PM
Not suggesting anything but in the last few weeks, Chief Constable retires unexpectedly, Nippy retires unexpectedly, Murrell resigns after a push, gets arrested and house searched. Now the SNPs accountants have dropped them as clients stating the were not allowed access to the accounts by Murrell…. Perhaps [emoji848] there might be something amiss

Auditors. And I haven’t seen any thing from either party to say who dropped who?

07-04-2023, 03:54 PM

Accountants Johnston Carmichael’s decision to resign came before Wednesday after reviewing its client portfolio and existing resources and commitments, STV News understands.

The timing might appear a godsend to the SNP BAD crowd but they had already taken the decision before the dawn raids in Uddingston

Did the police inform them of the impending garden dig. We need to know.

Berwickhibby
07-04-2023, 04:04 PM
Keep believing that Murrell is transparent and honest :faf::faf::faf::faf:

07-04-2023, 04:12 PM
Did the police inform them of the impending garden dig. We need to know.

Maybe the polis thought they were better at digging than the auditors. :greengrin

07-04-2023, 04:17 PM
10 years is too long for the same auditors to have been in post IMO.

I get why it happens, but it's still not good practice.

Could this just be coincidence then and this would be a normal time to quit? A natural break of sorts?

He's here!
07-04-2023, 04:25 PM

I don't think the UK national news would lead on the SNP changing auditors if the events were regarded as unconnected.

Nobody seriously believes Sturgeon's spiel about being unaware of her husband's impending arrest.

07-04-2023, 04:27 PM
I don't think the UK national news would lead on the SNP changing auditors if the events were regarded as unconnected.:greengrin

07-04-2023, 04:57 PM
Not suggesting anything but in the last few weeks, Chief Constable retires unexpectedly, Nippy retires unexpectedly, Murrell resigns after a push, gets arrested and house searched. Now the SNPs accountants have dropped them as clients stating the were not allowed access to the accounts by Murrell…. Perhaps 🤔 there might be something amiss

Of course this was all a coincidence St Sturgeon knew nothing. :rolleyes:

07-04-2023, 05:42 PM
Is this the same auditors who have just dumped the SNP as clients :faf:

So they audited them incorrectly clean, and then “dumped the SNP”.

Is that the suggestion?

speedy_gonzales
07-04-2023, 05:42 PM

It should be borne in mind that these raids will not have come as a big surprise to those on the inside. The police have been investigating this missing £600K for a long time and like other cases of suggested financial impropriety, the authorities like to get hands on with the paper trail chasing.
That being said, the auditors/accountants if at all concerned have had ample opportunity to manage their exit plan.

Berwickhibby
07-04-2023, 05:48 PM
So they audited them incorrectly clean, and then “dumped the SNP”.

Is that the suggestion?

Not my suggestion

07-04-2023, 06:00 PM
Has it been decided if a by election is required in Margaret Ferrier's seat yet?

Bet Humza will be relsihing that. A split vote between Ferrier and an SNP candidate and Labour ready to throw everything at it. An SNP win was always quite unlikely but this will make the task all the harder.

I daresay Starmer and Sarwar wouldn't want to be seen to be missing what is a bit of an own goal either mind you.

07-04-2023, 06:06 PM
Has it been decided if a by election is required in Margaret Ferrier's seat yet?

Bet Humza will be relsihing that. A split vote between Ferrier and an SNP candidate and Labour ready to throw everything at it. An SNP win was always quite unlikely but this will make the task all the harder.

I daresay Starmer and Sarwar wouldn't want to be seen to be missing what is a bit of an own goal either mind you.

Nae need! [greetin emoji]

Can only be a by election if she's suspended and 10% of electorate there sign up to recall her. Boris potentially in same picture so thought by some that suspension might not happen so as to not set a precedent. Not saying that's okay, like.

07-04-2023, 06:11 PM
Nae need! [greetin emoji]

Can only be a by election if she's suspended and 10% of electorate there sign up to recall her. Boris potentially in same picture so thought by some that suspension might not happen so as to not set a precedent. Not saying that's okay, like.

Needs to happen and any medicine that has to be taken is.

07-04-2023, 06:27 PM
Needs to happen and any medicine that has to be taken is.

By nae need, I meant as if it's not been an upsetting enough week without thinking about what other horrors might befall!

07-04-2023, 08:59 PM
The Times newspaper, on Good Friday:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FtIfkMMXoDEpDdR?format=png&name=900x900

Berwickhibby
07-04-2023, 09:27 PM

:faf::faf::faf: not very appropriate but funny 😄

07-04-2023, 09:41 PM
:faf::faf::faf: not very appropriate but funny 😄

The film was. The funniest ever made in my opinion.

But that? I’m not sure it could even be called a joke. Regardless of who the subject was and how inappropriate it is, it’s surely for the very simply amused.

07-04-2023, 09:56 PM

But that? I’m not sure it could even be called a joke. Regardless of who the subject was and how inappropriate it is, it’s surely for the very simply amused.

It’s irreverent and funny. Something sadly lacking in Scottish politics. I am very easily amused though. :greengrin

07-04-2023, 10:24 PM
No, hang on.

There was a cartoon this year depicting Sturgeon as decapitated, and now a cartoon showing political figures crucified?

None of that is cool. And I say that regardless of whose heid is shown on the ground or which bunch of bams are on the cross (whatever configuration it takes).

Stairway 2 7
07-04-2023, 10:33 PM
It's no that funny but it's not offensive as it's no 1950, well Kate Forbes might disagree. Same people that find it offensive probably would have found the wonderful life of Brian offensive when it first came out

07-04-2023, 11:14 PM
It's no that funny but it's not offensive as it's no 1950, well Kate Forbes might disagree. Same people that find it offensive probably would have found the wonderful life of Brian offensive when it first came out

Nah. I've just got this natural aversion to cartoons depicting the death of folk.

Rumble de Thump
07-04-2023, 11:17 PM
Casually depicting violence against politicians is dangerous and very problematic. The people doing it obviously feel it serves a purpose and it will be lapped up by their target audience.

07-04-2023, 11:28 PM
Casually depicting violence against politicians is dangerous and very problematic. The people doing it obviously feel it serves a purpose and it will be lapped up by their target audience.

I can’t watch Eric Idle singing Always Look on the Bright Side of Life without recoiling in horror at the violent imagery. And I’m sure Pastor Jack Glass would have agreed. :agree:

08-04-2023, 05:10 AM

How very fitting, it's what the Romans did with anyone who threatened their empire.

Stairway 2 7
08-04-2023, 05:28 AM
I just joked on the other thread about guillotining the royals it wasn't meant though..

"Down with this sort of thing" as father Ted would say

Rumble de Thump
08-04-2023, 05:53 AM
I can’t watch Eric Idle singing Always Look on the Bright Side of Life without recoiling in horror at the violent imagery. And I’m sure Pastor Jack Glass would have agreed. :agree:

If you had a point to make it would be more helpful to just share it.

08-04-2023, 06:21 AM
https://news.stv.tv/scotland/deal-to-allow-tech-companies-to-trial-products-in-nhs-test-beds

Sounds promising.[emoji1696]

08-04-2023, 06:57 AM
It’s irreverent and funny.
Care to explain what's funny about it?

08-04-2023, 08:00 AM

Just because you don't find it funny doesn't mean someone else can't be amused by it.

FWIW it brought a smile to my face too. Clearly qualified by the cartoonist's reference to Life of Brian ad opposed to real actual crucifixion.

Lighten up.

08-04-2023, 08:40 AM
Just because you don't find it funny doesn't mean someone else can't be amused by it.

FWIW it brought a smile to my face too. Clearly qualified by the cartoonist's reference to Life of Brian ad opposed to real actual crucifixion.

Lighten up.
Did I ever say they couldn't? I'm just asking someone to explain what they find funny. Lighten up yourself.

08-04-2023, 09:22 AM

They definitely know how to keep order. Let's face it. They're the only ones who could in a place like this.

08-04-2023, 09:23 AM
If you had a point to make it would be more helpful to just share it.

I understood his point.

MartinfaePorty
08-04-2023, 09:55 AM

Lighten up.So if it's a reference to Life of Brian, does that mean, like him, they are being crucified for something they didn't do [emoji6]

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

He's here!
08-04-2023, 10:10 AM

I remember when I lived in Glasgow there was quite a buzz around the Life of Brian being screened for the first time I something like 40 years. It definitely raised many hackles.

Anyone offended by that cartoon though presumably just finds anything which pokes fun at the SNP offensive.

I thought it was quite well put together, with the saltire-shaped crucifixes etc and it seems a pretty apt summary of where the SNP are at right now. Things could hardly be worse and they're a sitting duck or ridicule so Always Look on the Bright Side of Life seems an appropriate lyric.

I guess some might still fail to make the Life of Brian (ie comedy) connection though.

08-04-2023, 10:18 AM
Anyone offended by that cartoon though presumably just finds anything which pokes fun at the SNP offensive.

In what way does it poke fun at the SNP?

There would be questions in the HoC, front page howling headlines in the English press for weeks if a Scottish paper printed a cartoon of Sunak and Starmer being crucified on Good Friday. Whether you like the SNP or not, it's simply not funny. And putting a Monty Python quote at the bottom doesn't make it so.

He's here!
08-04-2023, 10:34 AM
In what way does it poke fun at the SNP?

There would be questions in the HoC, front page howling headlines in the English press for weeks if a Scottish paper printed a cartoon of Sunak and Starmer being crucified on Good Friday. Whether you like the SNP or not, it's simply not funny. And putting a Monty Python quote at the bottom doesn't make it so.

If it offends you as Christian then I can see why that might be so.

The whole shtick is based around the Life of Brian scene tho, not just the quote. In that sense it's just lampooning the SNP using a theme which ties in with the time of year.

Political cartoonists tend not to pull their punches but other than the religious aspect I'm not seeing this as especially shocking.

He's here!
08-04-2023, 10:35 AM
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/nicola-sturgeon-peter-murrell-arrested-update-today-b2316382.html?amp

'Sturgeon was forced to quit' according to Salmond.

08-04-2023, 10:45 AM
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/nicola-sturgeon-peter-murrell-arrested-update-today-b2316382.html?amp

'Sturgeon was forced to quit' according to Salmond.
Who's Paul Murrell, and what does his arrest have to do with the SNP?

08-04-2023, 10:47 AM

Given that humour induces a spontaneous reaction that would require a degree of self analysis that terrifies me. I ain’t going there :greengrin

08-04-2023, 10:52 AM
Given that humour induces a spontaneous reaction that would require a degree of self analysis that terrifies me. I ain’t going there :greengrin
Good answer.

08-04-2023, 10:53 AM
If it offends you as Christian then I can see why that might be so.

The whole shtick is based around the Life of Brian scene tho, not just the quote. In that sense it's just lampooning the SNP using a theme which ties in with the time of year.

Political cartoonists tend not to pull their punches but other than the religious aspect I'm not seeing this as especially shocking.

Not personally offended by it. Have much thicker skin. The use of the saltire in the background make it look an attack from one country on another.
However, it’s Easter and it’s fine for people to have a bit of fun. I really don’t care about it.

He's here!
08-04-2023, 10:54 AM
Who's Paul Murrell, and what does his arrest have to do with the SNP?

Maybe he's the guy who got paid after Peter was robbed of the indy funds?

08-04-2023, 11:02 AM
Maybe he's the guy who got paid after Peter was robbed of the indy funds?Very good.

08-04-2023, 11:22 AM
Could this just be coincidence then and this would be a normal time to quit? A natural break of sorts?

It could be.

That said, the gossip has been around for a while. It may have been that the toxicity has forced them to think about their own reputation.

I have no opinion, as yet.

He's here!
08-04-2023, 11:34 AM
It could be.

That said, the gossip has been around for a while. It may have been that the toxicity has forced them to think about their own reputation.

I have no opinion, as yet.

Bearing in mind the party's accounts are due imminently is it not a curious time to decide against carrying out an audit?

08-04-2023, 11:39 AM
Bearing in mind the party's accounts are due imminently is it not a curious time to decide against carrying out an audit?

Not really.

The accounts for 2022 are to be submitted to the Electoral Commission by the 7th of July. The work on the audit would probably be starting around now, no matter who was doing them. Resigning now, before the engagement starts, gives a new firm enough time to do the audit properly.

He's here!
08-04-2023, 12:01 PM
Not really.

The accounts for 2022 are to be submitted to the Electoral Commission by the 7th of July. The work on the audit would probably be starting around now, no matter who was doing them. Resigning now, before the engagement starts, gives a new firm enough time to do the audit properly.

Thanks. As you say it might just come down to preserving their reputation.

Would a political party normally be regarded as a good/prestigious client to have on the books?

08-04-2023, 12:03 PM
Thanks. As you say it might just come down to preserving their reputation.

Would a political party normally be regarded as a good/prestigious client to have on the books?

Depends on one's view of politicians :greengrin

But, generally, yeah.

He's here!
08-04-2023, 12:21 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/scotland

I'm guessing the Salmond affair must rank pretty highly on Russell's 'worst crisis' leaderboard, tho it would probably have only trumped the current implosion had he been FM at the time it came to public attention.

Hibs4185
08-04-2023, 01:33 PM
Not really.

What happens if no firm will touch them and the accounts can’t be audited?

Skol
08-04-2023, 02:41 PM
Not really.

Would an auditor not normally signal their intention as they complete what would be their final audit so the firm has 12 months to prepare. It doesn’t feel like much time to find and engage a new auditor and give them time to do their job. Especially given current circumstances where they may want to look at things in detail

08-04-2023, 04:28 PM
Looks like the strain of the past few days has taken its toll on Nicola Sturgeon, it must have been tough for her facing the cameras today. It’s easy to forget that politicians are just human beings like the rest of us, hopefully she can get back to enjoying some privacy in her own home.

08-04-2023, 04:42 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230408/fa24f945635e718b2f964ed1c0d3cfbd.jpg

08-04-2023, 09:48 PM
https://twitter.com/georgia_edkins/status/1644812700742983680?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

It’s getting a bit funny now.[emoji23]

09-04-2023, 05:21 AM
https://twitter.com/georgia_edkins/status/1644812700742983680?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

I'd be surprised if a 92 year old could drive, let alone a motorhome worth £110,000.

Crunchie
09-04-2023, 05:51 AM

I'm sure his mother is in stitches right enough.

09-04-2023, 06:22 AM

Mike Russell ain’t laughing. Looks like he’s parking the Indy bus next to the motor home for a while. :greengrin

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2023/apr/08/snp-facing-biggest-crisis-in-50-years-says-party-veteran-mike-russell

LewysGot2
09-04-2023, 06:29 AM
I'm sure his mother is in stitches right enough.

Indeed.

He's here!
09-04-2023, 08:05 AM
https://twitter.com/newshacksreboot/status/1644773398633934849?s=20

New series of Neighbours from Hell...

He's here!
09-04-2023, 08:43 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FtQbQwDWIAActIb?format=jpg&name=large

Wings over Scotland (or 'Flying Scotsman' Stuart Campbell) being touted for a national press award for their revelations about the SNP.

09-04-2023, 08:46 AM

Getting a bit more serious I would suggest.

This is only going to get worse for NS and Murrell.

McSwanky
09-04-2023, 08:52 AM
Not sure whether to put this in here or on the Tory thread but

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/tories-labour-tactical-voting-snp-b2316732.html

Tories encouraging voters to vote Labour. Jeez.

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

archie
09-04-2023, 08:53 AM

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/tories-labour-tactical-voting-snp-b2316732.html

There is no advantage for Labour in this.

09-04-2023, 08:53 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FtQbQwDWIAActIb?format=jpg&name=large

Wings over Scotland (or 'Flying Scotsman' Stuart Campbell) being touted for a national press award for their revelations about the SNP.

Good old Kev. Does the award take into account the Rev inferring that NS was a "dyke"?

archie
09-04-2023, 08:55 AM

I suspect you're the only one finding it funny.

He's here!
09-04-2023, 09:02 AM

It's been posted on the Labour thread...

It's a tactic already being used by voters, most notably I would suggest in Edinburgh South where Ian Murray's stonking majority is certainly enhanced by Tory voters. If Ross is serious about the proposal though, they should stand down Tory candidates in all but their strongest couple of Scottish seats and make it a Labour v SNP head-to-head in the majority constituencies.

09-04-2023, 09:04 AM
Already being discussed on the Labour thread...

It's a tactic already being used by voters, most notably I would suggest in Edinburgh South where Ian Murray's stonking majority is certainly enhanced by Tory voters. If Ross is serious about the proposal though, they should stand down Tory candidates in all but their strongest couple of Scottish seats and make it a Labour v SNP head-to-head in the majority constituencies.

God almighty, the Tories are simply obsessed by the constitutional question. When will they concentrate on the things that matter?

He's here!
09-04-2023, 09:09 AM
I suspect you're the only one finding it funny.

https://twitter.com/kittycatboyd/status/1644318826543079424?s=20

This is quite funny...

He's here!
09-04-2023, 09:14 AM
God almighty, the Tories are simply obsessed by the constitutional question. When will they concentrate on the things that matter?

The only way the constitutional question is getting taken off the table is by removing the independence-obsessed SNP from power. Only then would Scottish politics be freed up to focus on the things that matter.

09-04-2023, 09:16 AM
The only way the constitutional question is getting taken off the table is by removing the independence-obsessed SNP from power. Only then would Scottish politics be freed up to focus on the things that matter.

I think you'll have to remove the 50% of the Scottish electorate first before the constitutional question is off the table. Like it or not, the SNP are only trying to cater for the wishes of around 50% of the population, democracy huh.

09-04-2023, 09:18 AM
This all feels very much like Brexit all over again.

09-04-2023, 09:22 AM
And those things would be ...?

09-04-2023, 09:26 AM

The simple solution would for Westminster to allow the referendum and win that. The independence movement would be put to bed for decades or die out completely. There's no Brexit, EU type crunch coming up anytime soon. There will be no legitimate argument for another referendum after the next one.

Of course if the unionist parties think they'll lose they'll keep kicking the can down the road and the constitutional question will continue to fester.

09-04-2023, 09:30 AM
And those things would be ...?Things that the Labour/Tory Party say matter. He's here doesn't care which one.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Stairway 2 7
09-04-2023, 09:37 AM
The simple solution would for Westminster to allow the referendum and win that. The independence movement would be put to bed for decades or die out completely. There's no Brexit, EU type crunch coming up anytime soon. There will be no legitimate argument for another referendum after the next one.

Of course if the unionist parties think they'll lose they'll keep kicking the can down the road and the constitutional question will continue to fester.

SNP party president says not right now. The first minister says they need a clear and consistent lead in the polls. That's the only way we'll get a referendum. Unfortunately for me his cabinet shows he's more interested in leading than winning no voters to get that lead

09-04-2023, 09:41 AM

All you have to do is win more votes than them. Not looking likely any time soon.

archie
09-04-2023, 09:46 AM

Health, housing, education, cost of living crisis, just transition from fossil fuels as so on.

09-04-2023, 10:01 AM

Strange calling them independence obsessed when the SNP are a party deliberately det up for the one purpose of gaining independence. Surely they're only doing what the voters and party members ask of them, try to gain independence. Do you not think a government can still focus on the day to day stuff and look at independence, they don't just drop everything and say, "it's independence and sod everything else,"

09-04-2023, 10:03 AM
Health, housing, education, cost of living crisis, just transition from fossil fuels as so on.
All things that the Scottish Government with their limited resources are managing better than Westminster, because the Scottish Government is focused on making things better for the Scottish people whereas the UK Government is focused on accumulating wealth for themselves and their donors, and keeping foreigners out of the country. I suggest you give independence a go - you might enjoy it. Hundreds of countries around the world thrive as independent countries.

archie
09-04-2023, 10:05 AM
All things that the Scottish Government with their limited resources are managing better than Westminster, because the Scottish Government is focused on making things better for the Scottish people whereas the UK Government is focused on accumulating wealth for themselves and their donors, and keeping foreigners out of the country. I suggest you give independence a go - you might enjoy it. Hundreds of countries around the world thrive as independent countries.

Well that's one view.

09-04-2023, 10:09 AM
Well that's one view.

Which area of govt are Westminster doing better than Holyrood?

Berwickhibby
09-04-2023, 10:16 AM
Which area of govt are Westminster diving better than Holyrood?

Your right …the dive by Humza on his scooter was a lot better than anyone In Westminster :faf::faf:

He's here!
09-04-2023, 10:28 AM

You'd need to ask Glory Lurker. He claimed that Labour and the Tories are obsessed with the constitutional question instead of the 'things that matter'. I'm just pointing out that for as long as the dead hand of the SNP controls the agenda there are no other things that matter. That's made clear by the litany of failure Sturgeon left behind her in terms of domestic policy, which seems irrelevant to those who claim the pursuit of independence trumps all else.

09-04-2023, 10:29 AM
Your right …the dive by Humza on his scooter was a lot better than anyone In Westminster :faf::faf:

No area then. [emoji849]

09-04-2023, 10:31 AM
You'd need to ask Glory Lurker. He claimed that Labour and the Tories are obsessed with the constitutional question instead of the 'things that matter'. I'm just pointing out that for as long as the dead hand of the SNP controls the agenda there are no other things that matter. That's made clear by the litany of failure Sturgeon left behind her in terms of domestic policy, which seems irrelevant to those who claim the pursuit of independence trumps all else.

Says someone who thinks the defence of the union trumps all else. Claiming one side to be more obsessed with the constitution than the other is childish. The whole of Scotland is obsessed with the constitution. And it will stay that way until there is a vote.

09-04-2023, 10:33 AM
SNP party president says not right now. The first minister says they need a clear and consistent lead in the polls. That's the only way we'll get a referendum. Unfortunately for me his cabinet shows he's more interested in leading than winning no voters to get that lead

My post didn't reference the SNP though.

HH suggested the only any to remove the constitutional question was for the SNP to be wiped out. I suggested that the constitutional question would be resolved if unionists at Westminster took the lead. By winning the referendum the rebellious Scots and their quest for independence would be crushed for a very long time.

He's here!
09-04-2023, 10:40 AM
Strange calling them independence obsessed when the SNP are a party deliberately det up for the one purpose of gaining independence. Surely they're only doing what the voters and party members ask of them, try to gain independence. Do you not think a government can still focus on the day to day stuff and look at independence, they don't just drop everything and say, "it's independence and sod everything else,"

Seems to me that's exactly what the SNP have done. Presumably because they know it's a bigger vote winner than actually delivering on their supposed priorities.

Stairway 2 7
09-04-2023, 10:41 AM
My post didn't reference the SNP though.

HH suggested the only any to remove the constitutional question was for the SNP to be wiped out. I suggested that the constitutional question would be resolved if unionists at Westminster took the lead. By winning the referendum the rebellious Scots and their quest for independence would be crushed for a very long time.

And I'm adding the other parties don't need to do anything. SNP is basically the independence moment in Scotland their president and FM say now is not the time so not much to discuss. They would be insane to go for a vote when the opposition aren't even pushing for one now.

The defacto referendum is dead. The FM says they need a constant clear lead in the polls, not much to talk about till then unfortunately.

archie
09-04-2023, 10:41 AM

My starter for ten: Drugs policy (cue 'if only we had safe consumption rooms' arguments).

archie
09-04-2023, 10:42 AM
Says someone who thinks the defence of the union trumps all else. Claiming one side to be more obsessed with the constitution than the other is childish. The whole of Scotland is obsessed with the constitution. And it will stay that way until there is a vote.

Nice bit of DARVO there!

09-04-2023, 10:46 AM

Borrowing. 😂

09-04-2023, 11:02 AM
Seems to me that's exactly what the SNP have done. Presumably because they know it's a bigger vote winner than actually delivering on their supposed priorities.

If that's your view, then you're far more obsessed with the SNP than they are of independence.

Stairway 2 7
09-04-2023, 12:00 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/nicola-sturgeon-ordered-snp-chiefs-29664221

Nicola Sturgeon ordered SNP chiefs to stop talking about party finances and insisted they were 'fine'
A recording of meeting of the SNP's ruling National Executive Committee shows the former FM angrily responding to calls for transparency

ehf
09-04-2023, 03:34 PM
A Niesmann+Bischoff motorhome was taken from a house in Fife at the same time police searched the home of Nicola Sturgeon and her husband, Peter Murrell, according to the Mail on Sunday.

The same model of campervan can sell for around £110,000.

So about the same amount as Murrell lent to the SNP, then...

09-04-2023, 03:47 PM
A Niesmann+Bischoff motorhome was taken from a house in Fife at the same time police searched the home of Nicola Sturgeon and her husband, Peter Murrell, according to the Mail on Sunday.

I'm missing the point? He had £220,000 spare?

09-04-2023, 04:02 PM

Didn't Sturgeon leave home just before the police arrived, have the police checked her alibis or has she been seen in the Fife area around the time of the theft?

09-04-2023, 04:24 PM
I'm missing the point? He had £220,000 spare?He sold it to himself, giving the camper van to his ma, then burying the surplus 20k in his front garden.

09-04-2023, 07:14 PM
He sold it to himself, giving the camper van to his ma, then burying the surplus 20k in his front garden.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk'kin Kensell!!

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

09-04-2023, 08:25 PM

You called? :-)

The post you replied to did not mention Labour.

Tories are possessed by independence. They have no policies at all apart from "stop the SNP". Maybe that's unfair, because they are also hardwired into making the rich richer but they just do that regardless of electoral contract.

09-04-2023, 10:06 PM
You called? :-)

The post you replied to did not mention Labour.

Tories are possessed by independence. They have no policies at all apart from "stop the SNP". Maybe that's unfair, because they are also hardwired into making the rich richer but they just do that regardless of electoral contract.

They're just "stop the.....[insert appropriate culture war bogeyman here]...!

10-04-2023, 12:44 AM
https://www.sundaypost.com/fp/peter-murrell-legal-fees/

Have to say I agree with these MSP’s. I don’t see how the SNP can pay these legal fees when it’s possible the SNP are the victim as well? It seems like a huge conflict of interest?

10-04-2023, 05:41 AM
Bonkers.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/snp-urged-bin-ballot-senior-29664765

10-04-2023, 08:11 AM
Bonkers.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/snp-urged-bin-ballot-senior-29664765

Aye, he is.

He's here!
10-04-2023, 08:14 AM

Have to say I agree with these MSP’s. I don’t see how the SNP can pay these legal fees when it’s possible the SNP are the victim as well? It seems like a huge conflict of interest?

£250 a month to be a member of the SNP?? No wonder membership is plummeting. Or is this some sort of higher fee for MSPs?

10-04-2023, 08:19 AM
£250 a month to be a member of the SNP?? No wonder membership is plummeting. Or is this some sort of higher fee for MSPs?

It's for members of Parliament, not ordinary members.

10-04-2023, 08:23 AM

The public paid Johnson's legal fees for defending his recent investigation into misleading Parliament. Maybe Murrell's legal fees should be paid by the taxpayer too?

archie
10-04-2023, 08:34 AM
The public paid Johnson's legal fees for defending his recent investigation into misleading Parliament. Maybe Murrell's legal fees should be paid by the taxpayer too?

I didn't know Murrell was an MSP. I didn't know Murrell was being investigated by the Scottish Parliament. I don't think Johnson's legal fees should have been paid, though I suspect it was because it was in his Ministerial role. Did Nicola get hers paid when she was investigated?

Berwickhibby
10-04-2023, 08:38 AM
I didn't know Murrell was an MSP. I didn't know Murrell was being investigated by the Scottish Parliament. I don't think Johnson's legal fees should have been paid, though I suspect it was because it was in his Ministerial role. Did Nicola get hers paid when she was investigated?

He could sell his camper van to cover his legal fees :greengrin

He's here!
10-04-2023, 08:51 AM
Good old Kev. Does the award take into account the Rev inferring that NS was a "dyke"?

He'll naturally be chuffed at what's come to pass after the months/years he's spent writing about the rot at the heart of the SNP, but this is a decent overview of the whole mess:

https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-partys-over/#more-136844

10-04-2023, 09:34 AM
He'll naturally be chuffed at what's come to pass after the months/years he's spent writing about the rot at the heart of the SNP, but this is a decent overview of the whole mess"Decent overview".

Posts link to deranged individual from Bath.

He's here!
10-04-2023, 10:21 AM
"Decent overview".

Posts link to deranged individual from Bath.

https://i0.wp.com/wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/04/calums.jpg?resize=460%2C141&ssl=1

10-04-2023, 11:02 AM

I heard from a totally unreliable source that not only was NS gay , so is Mr Murrell.

They had what was called a lavender wedding :greengrin

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lavender_marriage

10-04-2023, 11:17 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/police-investigating-snp-over-money-donated-by-euromillions-winners-3271299

If the police keep talking to the press like this then they are going to hobble their own investigation.

10-04-2023, 11:18 AM
https://i0.wp.com/wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/04/calums.jpg?resize=460%2C141&ssl=1

a white, middle-aged, hate-filled troll

https://twitter.com/AnasSarwar/status/957547774391840769?s=20

10-04-2023, 11:48 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/police-investigating-snp-over-money-donated-by-euromillions-winners-3271299

If the police keep talking to the press like this then they are going to hobble their own investigation.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkMaybe Indyref2 is hiding in the campervan.

Skol
10-04-2023, 12:21 PM

It is pretty clear what happened. Whether it’s criminal or not is debatable. I doubt if there is anything to make a prosecution likely.

10-04-2023, 12:34 PM
Maybe Indyref2 is hiding in the campervan.

That was buried in a time capsule in the garden.

10-04-2023, 12:58 PM
I heard from a totally unreliable source that not only was NS gay , so is Mr Murrell.

They had what was called a lavender wedding :greengrin

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lavender_marriage

Is this meant to be funny or something? Some weird stuff on here.

10-04-2023, 01:05 PM

That's an article from two years ago?

10-04-2023, 01:07 PM
That's an article from two years ago?

That’s not what I meant to share. Bugger. Will have to look out the other one now.

10-04-2023, 03:16 PM
That was buried in a time capsule in the garden.Was that what they were digging up

https://youtube.com/shorts/1wRScH57RfA?feature=share

10-04-2023, 05:23 PM
NS observed by members of the press arriving at her home after a driving lesson.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/nicola-sturgeon-pictured-returning-home-29672937

How dare she!

10-04-2023, 05:35 PM
NS observed by members of the press arriving at her home after a driving lesson.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/nicola-sturgeon-pictured-returning-home-29672937

How dare she!

She’s gone too far this time.[emoji35]

He's here!
10-04-2023, 05:51 PM

How dare she!

Looks like the wedding ring might be back on her finger in the driving lesson pics?

https://www.express.co.uk/news/politics/1756406/nicola-sturgeon-wedding-ring-interview-peter-murrell-snp

10-04-2023, 06:26 PM

How dare she!

What license will she need to drive that camper bus?

He's here!
11-04-2023, 10:39 AM
I tend to be a bit sceptical of the Express but I note they're claiming Sturgeon is set to step down as an MSP. Might not be wildly off the mark.

Berwickhibby
11-04-2023, 10:41 AM
I tend to be a bit sceptical of the Express but I note they're claiming Sturgeon is set to step down as an MSP. Might not be wildly off the mark.

That would add another twist to the SNP saga :agree:

11-04-2023, 10:42 AM

I think that’s pretty likely as well. I think it would have happened by now but for the polls just now.

archie
11-04-2023, 10:45 AM

There was a lot of twitter chatter last night, which is where I suspect they sourced it from.

11-04-2023, 11:27 AM
Was that what they were digging up

https://youtube.com/shorts/1wRScH57RfA?feature=share

11-04-2023, 12:03 PM
That would add another twist to the SNP saga :agree:

Why? She was FM, what can she do now that's more important. She spoke about working in children's charities. Calling it a twist is pure trolling.

11-04-2023, 12:07 PM
Why? She was FM, what can she do now that's more important. She spoke about working in children's charities. Calling it a twist is pure trolling.

Come on, he never used the word “nippy” or “krankie” in his post. It’s a start.

11-04-2023, 12:17 PM
Come on, he never used the word “nippy” or “krankie” in his post. It’s a start.

23 years as an MSP and 9 as FM, did he think she was just going sit on the back benches doing nowt but like trying to have a wee dig eh.

He's here!
11-04-2023, 12:25 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-65237610

I'm very surprised Yousaf hasn't put addressing this fiasco higher up his agenda. Not appointing a transport minister to his cabinet seems baffling. Or does he calculate that the number of voters affected means it's not a pressing issue?

Prioritising a GRA court challenge which most voters would rather see quietly forgotten about seems bizarre (or at best a deflection from the current SNP turmoil).

11-04-2023, 12:37 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-65237610

I'm very surprised Yousaf hasn't put addressing this fiasco higher up his agenda. Not appointing a transport minister to his cabinet seems baffling. Or does he calculate that the number of voters affected means it's not a pressing issue?

Prioritising a GRA court challenge which most voters would rather see quietly forgotten about seems bizarre (or at best a deflection from the current SNP turmoil).

He appears to be drifting just now, not sure what to do. The mistake of not bringing Forbes into govt has proven to be a disaster for him.
At some point soon, that side of the party are going to rebel and he will lose a vote. Probably on marine protected areas. There are about 16 MSP’s likely to vote against that. The greens only contribute 8 MSP’s to the coalition. It would be madness to try proceed with this and back 8 MSP’s from another party against 16 of your own. If he pulls it then the Bute house agreement falls. That is much preferable than splitting your own party.
He doesn’t appear to have thought all this through. He needs to start looking at the numbers and realise that the greens have to go. Will he do that? Right now he is a bit like a deer in the headlights.
He needs to start making moves soon.

LewysGot2
11-04-2023, 01:06 PM
Yousaf saying auditors actually stopped being involved at the end of 2022...calls the situation "problematic".

11-04-2023, 01:18 PM
https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/the-news-agents/id1640878689?i=1000607736368

Stephen Flynn comes across poorly here.

He's here!
11-04-2023, 01:24 PM
Yousaf saying auditors actually stopped being involved at the end of 2022...calls the situation "problematic".

SNP auditors quit six months ago and First Minister Humza Yousaf did not know until becoming party leader | STV News (https://news.stv.tv/politics/snp-auditors-quit-six-months-ago-and-first-minister-humza-yousaf-did-not-know-until-becoming-party-leader)

And he had no idea until now! Extraordinary.

I note that further down the story he's confirmed they won't be suspending Murrell but neither will they be paying his legal fees.

Berwickhibby
11-04-2023, 01:25 PM

So if it’s not pro SNP it’s trolling …pathetic

11-04-2023, 01:58 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/firm-which-audited-snp-accounts-resigned-six-months-ago-reveals-humza-yousaf-4099634

11-04-2023, 01:59 PM
Is it not only important to have auditors when you're getting your accounts done though ie the last auditors finishing up 6 months ago isn't really news or something to be alarmed about - unless they're not replaced at the appropriate time when the accounts are next done, presumably within the next 6 months?

(CWG????)

11-04-2023, 02:01 PM
Is it not only important to have auditors when you're getting your accounts done though ie the last auditors finishing up 6 months ago isn't really news or something to be alarmed about - unless they're not replaced at the appropriate time when the accounts are next done, presumably within the next 6 months?

(CWG????)

No, they should be in by now as accounts needs presented in July. There is no getting away from the fact that this is a cluster**** and that it needs someone to get a grip of it pronto.

11-04-2023, 02:22 PM
So if it’s not pro SNP it’s trolling …pathetic

Not really, I was just surprised you didn't use the usual names for her that you normally call her.

I'll ask again, why would Sturgeon stepping down be another twist, it's probably the most logical and unexpected thing that will happen within the SNP, many years serving the party and the country and you see it as a twist. :confused:

Stairway 2 7
11-04-2023, 02:24 PM
Not really, I was just surprised you didn't use the usual names for her that you normally call her.

I'll ask again, why would Sturgeon stepping down be another twist, it's probably the most logical and unexpected thing that will happen within the SNP, many years serving the party and the country and you see it as a twist. :confused:

If she does it soon it'll be a twist as people will be interested in how the SNP would do, like Rutherglen. I suspect she will wait until the next election though. I'm sure she'll get a much bigger wedge elsewhere and good on her

11-04-2023, 02:33 PM

(CWG????)

I would expect normal (does a political party count as that?) practice would be to have tendered and replaced the auditors as opposed to going half the year without any appointed. Although they're only useful (subjective :wink: ) for a limited time of the year as you point out - I wouldn't know when that would typically be in the year but would have thought before now if accounts are due in July.

I would also expect that to be led by the company rather than the auditors resigning.

Could all be different in the sphere of political parties though!

Berwickhibby
11-04-2023, 02:41 PM

Because after she stepped down as FM she stated she will be a back bench MSP, then if the Express story is true and she resigns her seat prior to the next election it adds a twist to her fall from power. Or is this also trolling

11-04-2023, 02:51 PM
Because after she stepped down as FM she stated she will be a back bench MSP, then if the Express story is true and she resigns her seat prior to the next election it adds a twist to her fall from power. Or is this also trolling

She didn't fall from power, she stepped down.

11-04-2023, 03:01 PM
She didn't fall from power, she stepped down.

Its starting to become harder and harder to believe that the power couple in Scotland for so long weren't pushed out by forces beyond their control. A fall from power may turn out to be a fair assessment.

11-04-2023, 03:04 PM
Its starting to become harder and harder to believe that the power couple in Scotland for so long weren't pushed out by forces beyond their control. A fall from power may turn out to be a fair assessment.

Possibly, but that's speculation that may or may not come to pass.

As it stands with the information we have at the moment, she stood down rather than being pushed or "falling".

LewysGot2
11-04-2023, 03:06 PM

I'd say that it's more obvious that the jury is definitely out now on the stepped down v jumped scenario...if you'll pardon the pun. If she didn't know some of this stuff then, as leader of the party it was remiss (that's being kind). If she knew...that's a whole different ball game.

11-04-2023, 03:11 PM
Sounds like zero governance. Too much control and power held by the CEO and the "board" or relevant committee not holding him to account.

The President (chair) should know that the auditors have resigned and ask for work to be put in place for new ones to be appointed or tendered for.

And I would think that there would be no way that other members, MSPs and the FM didn't know about this.

He's here!
11-04-2023, 03:45 PM

I'd be very surprised if she sees stepping down as an MSP as 'logical' right now. Subjecting her party to a by-election in the current climate is the last thing they need. Her intention, reading between the lines of her resignation speech, was to step down at the next Holyrood election. Going now would smack of jumping before pushed.

11-04-2023, 04:33 PM
https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/the-news-agents/id1640878689?i=1000607736368

Stephen Flynn comes across poorly here.

I thought Flynn came out OK. He was willing to go slightly further than the normal politicians answers without crossing any lines.

Stairway 2 7
11-04-2023, 05:26 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/magnusllewellin/status/1645831354024591386

TimesEditorScotland
@magnusllewellin
🔺Revealed: The SNP kept the resignation of the party’s auditors secret from its own ruling council

11-04-2023, 06:22 PM
https://twitter.com/_kateforbes/status/1645838910621089794?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Forbes on marine protected zones.

11-04-2023, 06:25 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/magnusllewellin/status/1645831354024591386

TimesEditorScotland
@magnusllewellin
[emoji832]Revealed: The SNP kept the resignation of the party’s auditors secret from its own ruling council

The NEC elections will be interesting next time out.

11-04-2023, 07:21 PM
https://twitter.com/_kateforbes/status/1645844045552336899?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Skol
11-04-2023, 07:56 PM
https://twitter.com/_kateforbes/status/1645844045552336899?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Some pretty weird replies to Forbes. Especially those who think her role as finance minister included the finances of the snp.

He's here!
11-04-2023, 08:06 PM
The NEC elections will be interesting next time out.

Everything about Murrell's stewardship of the party is really coming out in the wash now. Hard to imagine that Sturgeon can emerge from all this with her reputation anything other than heavily tarnished (and quite possibly worse). The 'I wasn't aware' card has already been overplayed.

Berwickhibby
11-04-2023, 08:10 PM
Everything about Murrell's stewardship of the party is really coming out in the wash now. Hard to imagine that Sturgeon can emerge from all this with her reputation anything other than heavily tarnished (and quite possibly worse). The 'I wasn't aware' card has already been overplayed.

She does suffer with selective amnesia ….she probably forgot

11-04-2023, 08:33 PM
Some pretty weird replies to Forbes. Especially those who think her role as finance minister included the finances of the snp.

Forbes doing more to keep party together than Humza at this stage. Self interest at play as well. She needs her supporters to stay members.

Stairway 2 7
11-04-2023, 08:57 PM
Snp can't get an auditor, Humza said today he won't divulge why they quit

https://mobile.twitter.com/ConnorGillies/status/1645874471121883141

@ConnorGillies
NEW: SNP contact Electoral Commission over “difficulty” finding replacement auditors as deadline for finances looms.

@SkyNews
understands accountants Johnston Carmichael resigned in Sept. Earlier the FM said it was “around Oct”.

Former auditors apparently “raised no concerns

11-04-2023, 09:27 PM
Snp can't get an auditor, Humza said today he won't divulge why they quit

https://mobile.twitter.com/ConnorGillies/status/1645874471121883141

@ConnorGillies
NEW: SNP contact Electoral Commission over “difficulty” finding replacement auditors as deadline for finances looms.

@SkyNews
understands accountants Johnston Carmichael resigned in Sept. Earlier the FM said it was “around Oct”.

Former auditors apparently “raised no concerns

He had almost a week to divulge they’d quit ‘around October’ (actually September) and didn’t. He does find it easier to promise more transparency than deliver it.

He's here!
11-04-2023, 10:50 PM
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2023/04/11/snp-nicola-sturgeon-latest-politician-forced-resign-police/?li_source=LI&li_medium=liftigniter-rhr

One rule for Murrell and one rule for Michelle Thomson?

Berwickhibby
12-04-2023, 09:55 AM
So the motor home parked at Murrell’s mum was actually the SNP Battle Bus https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/snp-motorhome-seized-police-holyrood-29686185?utm_source=linkCopy&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar
:faf:you could not make this up

12-04-2023, 10:02 AM
So the motor home parked at Murrell’s mum was actually the SNP Battle Bus https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/snp-motorhome-seized-police-holyrood-29686185?utm_source=linkCopy&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar

It will be interesting to see who owned it? If it’s the SNP then it should be returned, no?

Berwickhibby
12-04-2023, 10:06 AM
It will be interesting to see who owned it? If it’s the SNP then it should be returned, no?

Absolutely, the Log book should show registered keeper and if an SNP asset then it will be on the SNP accounts. Their accountant or fund manager should know.

12-04-2023, 10:08 AM
The accounts show a vehicle/vehicles being bought during 2021.

Book value at the end of the year £80,632. Assuming depreciation of 25%, that means it/they cost £107k.

12-04-2023, 10:33 AM
The accounts show a vehicle/vehicles being bought during 2021.

Book value at the end of the year £80,632. Assuming depreciation of 25%, that means it/they cost £107k.

Sounds like that’s the very vehicle. Hopefully it can now be sold and the money returned to the party. By all accounts it’s unused and they hold their value better than most vehicles so the loss shouldn’t be too much.
As far as Murrell goes, unless he has been using it privately then there should not be any legal jeopardy for him over that?

12-04-2023, 10:39 AM
Sounds like that’s the very vehicle. Hopefully it can now be sold and the money returned to the party. By all accounts it’s unused and they hold their value better than most vehicles so the loss shouldn’t be too much.
As far as Murrell goes, unless he has been using it privately then there should not be any legal jeopardy for him over that?

The DR piece suggests it hasn't moved.

I wonder what the parking or storage costs would have been for the 2 years they've owned it.

Stairway 2 7
12-04-2023, 11:13 AM
They should have sold it when it was clear it wasn't getting used as pandemic housing. It was years ago that hotels opened up and it was clearly unneeded. Bizarre episode

12-04-2023, 11:15 AM
They should have sold it when it was clear it wasn't getting used as pandemic housing. It was years ago that hotels opened up and it was clearly unneeded. Bizarre episode

What is bizarre is why the police would lift it?

Stairway 2 7
12-04-2023, 11:21 AM
What is bizarre is why the police would lift it?

Both sides of the story are bizarre. Wonder if it will be sold on the proceeds of crime act if found it was money for independence campaign that bought it.

Berwickhibby
12-04-2023, 11:32 AM
Could be attempted theft IF there is evidence that he obtained the motor home with SNP funds with the intention of keeping it. Either way it would not be sold under the proceeds of crime act as there is a lawful owner.

12-04-2023, 11:39 AM
Both sides of the story are bizarre. Wonder if it will be sold on the proceeds of crime act if found it was money for independence campaign that bought it.

I doubt that. If they were going to charge that then surely they could have done that already? Besides, the van could count as an expense towards the Indy campaign anyway.
I’m wondering what seizing the van achieved? Unless Murrell registered it in his own name?

Berwickhibby
12-04-2023, 11:41 AM
I doubt that. If they were going to charge that then surely they could have done that already? Besides, the van could count as an expense towards the Indy campaign anyway.
I’m wondering what seizing the van achieved? Unless Murrell registered it in his own name?

Or the SNP requested the return of their property

12-04-2023, 11:48 AM

It looks as if it's in the accounts. If it is, the auditors would have seen the VRD, the invoice, and the vehicle itself.

12-04-2023, 12:12 PM
I'm trying to remain open minded about this all (as I did during the Salmond affair) but I must admit I'm still waiting for any smoking guns to turn up and prove beyond doubt that the SNP are shower of total wrong 'uns.

Berwickhibby
12-04-2023, 12:24 PM
I'm trying to remain open minded about this all (as I did during the Salmond affair) but I must admit I'm still waiting for any smoking guns to turn up and prove beyond doubt that the SNP are shower of total wrong 'uns.

Nobody is suggesting that the SNP are a shower of total wrong uns…..just Murrell and possibly Sturgeon….I can offer over 600,000 smoking guns that are being investigated

12-04-2023, 12:28 PM
Yousaf going to court. Fool.

Stairway 2 7
12-04-2023, 12:34 PM

He'll be out by Christmas. Who is advising him is it the same advisor's as Sturgeon had the last 12 months. No wonder Kate forbes is putting out press interviews recently. It's like Humza has deliberately self destroyed his first 2 weeks in office

12-04-2023, 12:36 PM
Nobody is suggesting that the SNP are a shower of total wrong uns…..just Murrell and possibly Sturgeon….I can offer over 600,000 smoking guns that are being investigated

Being investigated... as it should.

I've always been more "innocent until proven guilty" than "no smoke without fire" though.

12-04-2023, 12:41 PM
Being investigated... as it should.

I've always been more "innocent until proven guilty" than "no smoke without fire" though.

I think there will at least be a charge. Police Scotland have went in with both feet here and they will need to find something to justify their approach.

Berwickhibby
12-04-2023, 01:01 PM
I think there will at least be a charge. Police Scotland have went in with both feet here and they will need to find something to justify their approach.

Wrong again this is a Procurator Fiscal lead enquiry and they will decide what if any charges will be brought. Police on this enquiry are solely evidence gathers.

He's here!
12-04-2023, 01:10 PM

What an eejit.

12-04-2023, 01:23 PM

The Motor home was just resting on my Mother’s driveway. :greengrin

12-04-2023, 01:23 PM
Wrong again this is a Procurator Fiscal lead enquiry and they will decide what if any charges will be brought. Police on this enquiry are solely evidence gathers.

I would say that the way they have gathered their evidence seems to be a bit heavy handed? Maybe not, we won’t know until the charges are brought.

Paul1642
12-04-2023, 03:15 PM

Trying hard to keep the greens happy when the the non hardcore element of the SNPs vote is looking more flimsy by the day.

He's here!
12-04-2023, 05:26 PM
Trying hard to keep the greens happy when the the non hardcore element of the SNPs vote is looking more flimsy by the day.

https://i0.wp.com/wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/04/priorities1.jpg?resize=460%2C205&ssl=1

But hey, instead I'll prioritise this instead:

https://i0.wp.com/wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/04/priorities2.jpg?resize=460%2C90&ssl=1

12-04-2023, 05:43 PM

Jose Mourinho probably parked it in their driveway. 😊

12-04-2023, 06:18 PM
https://twitter.com/scott_wortley/status/1646123570265747464?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Skol
12-04-2023, 08:13 PM
The battlebus I guess is plausible. You can pick so many holes in that thought but it could be true.

It is odd that the cost of the battlebus is pretty much the same as the loan

Yousaf has a big job on his hands now. Even bigger than the job he applied for.

12-04-2023, 08:17 PM
The battlebus I guess is plausible. You can pick so many holes in that thought but it could be true.

His S35 legal challenge is going to push him further away from the voters he needs to connect with in my opinion.

12-04-2023, 08:18 PM

Suggestions would be that PM lent the party the money to buy the bus, or bought it himself (in January, IIRC), and transferred the ownership later.

I'm going for the latter, as the accounts suggest the cash for the bus purchase didn't come directly from the party.

Again, nothing illegal there.

Skol
12-04-2023, 08:36 PM
Suggestions would be that PM lent the party the money to buy the bus, or bought it himself (in January, IIRC), and transferred the ownership later.

I'm going for the latter, as the accounts suggest the cash for the bus purchase didn't come directly from the party.

Again, nothing illegal there.

It isn’t exactly normal practice though is it. And it appears very few we’re aware of this either. Or they are not admitting they were aware.

12-04-2023, 08:39 PM
It isn’t exactly normal practice though is it. And it appears very few we’re aware of this either. Or they are not admitting they were aware.

It's fairly common tbf.

I've no idea who knew.

12-04-2023, 08:42 PM
So far, it’s shaping up much like the Salmond case. Lots of iffy behaviour but nothing that looks illegal.
Hopefully it won’t have to go as far as that one did.

Stairway 2 7
12-04-2023, 08:47 PM
So far, it’s shaping up much like the Salmond case. Lots of iffy behaviour but nothing that looks illegal.
Hopefully it won’t have to go as far as that one did.

Damage is done, as they say, no one notices the retraction in a newspaper.

People think Salmond is sleazy now and will think Murrell/SNP were dodgy. Party would be better to distance from the past totally, an unbelievably poor 6 months and can't see a different trajectory the next 6.

12-04-2023, 09:05 PM
Damage is done, as they say, no one notices the retraction in a newspaper.

People think Salmond is sleazy now and will think Murrell/SNP were dodgy. Party would be better to distance from the past totally, an unbelievably poor 6 months and can't see a different trajectory the next 6.

To be fair Salmond was sleazy. He just should never have been near a court.
Murrell has probably overstretched his authority. If he’s charged then it affects Sturgeon, if not she’ll ride it out.
Next 6 months, it’s all about Yousaf. So far, I’m not hopeful. I think he was the 2nd best candidate and it showing. Forbes would have been better at unifying the party.

13-04-2023, 10:02 AM
What are the charges so far? When will things come to trial?

13-04-2023, 10:10 AM

Could be months I would think.

13-04-2023, 10:15 AM
Could be months I would think.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkUntil a trial or until whatever charges exist are pressed?

13-04-2023, 10:17 AM

Nowt. Doubt it will be this year, if it ever happens.

13-04-2023, 10:21 AM
To be fair Salmond was sleazy. He just should never have been near a court.
Murrell has probably overstretched his authority. If he’s charged then it affects Sturgeon, if not she’ll ride it out.
Next 6 months, it’s all about Yousaf. So far, I’m not hopeful. I think he was the 2nd best candidate and it showing. Forbes would have been better at unifying the party.

Just got round to listening to the "Holyrood Sources" interview with KF. Not sure about unifying but I certainly think she would make a better job of running the government. It's a bloody shame she hadn't just gone to the regular Kirk instead of the Wee Frees.

13-04-2023, 02:06 PM
Just got round to listening to the "Holyrood Sources" interview with KF. Not sure about unifying but I certainly think she would make a better job of running the government. It's a bloody shame she hadn't just gone to the regular Kirk instead of the Wee Frees.

I think she would have been smart enough to have kept Yousaf very close and rewarded him with a top job. Probably deputy FM.

13-04-2023, 02:06 PM
https://twitter.com/buchananpost/status/1646422084883554306?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

This is going to be a huge issue in next few months with potential for an SNP Green split.

Berwickhibby
13-04-2023, 03:40 PM
According to Guido Fawkes - Unless a new auditor is found by May 31, the party’s Westminster Group faces losing £1.15 million in short money, which will be withdrawn under Commons rules until auditors sign off on the party accounts. Short money is the taxpayer cash given to opposition parties to pay staff wages and MP travel, which is only provided on the condition it is used “exclusively in relation to the party’s parliamentary business.” No auditor, no cash.

13-04-2023, 03:44 PM
https://twitter.com/buchananpost/status/1646422084883554306?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

This is going to be a huge issue in next few months with potential for an SNP Green split.

Our Islanders are already mightily hacked off at the Government because of the ferries situation where the aging fleet is causing real problems. The Greens look like much more of a liability than an asset to the SNP at the moment.

13-04-2023, 03:45 PM
According to Guido Fawkes - Unless a new auditor is found by May 31, the party’s Westminster Group faces losing £1.15 million in short money, which will be withdrawn under Commons rules until auditors sign off on the party accounts. Short money is the taxpayer cash given to opposition parties to pay staff wages and MP travel, which is only provided on the condition it is used “exclusively in relation to the party’s parliamentary business.” No auditor, no cash.

That's enough for ten motorhomes. :greengrin

Berwickhibby
13-04-2023, 04:03 PM
That's enough for ten motorhomes. :greengrin

The new SNP fleet :greengrin so instead of using a ferry you cab bed yourself down in a comfy camper :greengrin

13-04-2023, 04:04 PM
Genuine question. Do commentators here think that one of the issues around the recent SNP leadership contest is that it made public competing visions of what Scotland might look like, rather than the singular 'progressive' vision that has dominated in recent years? And might that have an impact?

It's a good question... it shouldn't but there's always going to be be people who don't understand and indy Scotland isn't 'The SNP'

Not sure how they can get that over to those that don't understand the difference.

I still believe they (SNP) will likely win the honeymoon election but after that it's up for grabs and any party could have an impact on the future, he'll, even the Conservatives unchained from Westminster and able to show some integrity will do better than many think.

13-04-2023, 08:35 PM
https://twitter.com/_kateforbes/status/1646604386771128324?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Forbes retweets protest song about HPMA’s.

Skol
13-04-2023, 08:40 PM
It's fairly common tbf.

I've no idea who knew.

We now know that humza only found out after he became leader and apparently when he saw the police warrant to seize the asset.

To be fair humza does appear to be honest and transparent about things right now.

13-04-2023, 09:01 PM
We now know that humza only found out after he became leader and apparently when he saw the police warrant to seize the asset.

To be fair humza does appear to be honest and transparent about things right now.

Constantly saying I don’t know what’s going on is not a good look for someone running the country though. He needs political advisors and a new press guy in very quickly. Right now, everyone in the SNP is just freelancing all over the place. He needs to get control sharpish.

Skol
13-04-2023, 09:12 PM
I saw an interview with Geoff Aberdein recently and I warmed to the guy and thought he appeared to be someone who could do a good job.

Skol
13-04-2023, 09:14 PM
Oh and I think humza has no choice as that’s the way snap we’re run and only now is he finding out. I give him some slack for a period to try and get his head around what he has taken on and see if he sorts it out.

Skol
13-04-2023, 09:15 PM
Sorry for auto corrects

13-04-2023, 09:20 PM
Oh and I think humza has no choice as that’s the way snap we’re run and only now is he finding out. I give him some slack for a period to try and get his head around what he has taken on and see if he sorts it out.

I agree, but he needs to start giving the impression he’s getting on top of it instead of reacting to each thing as it comes out. He should be starting to announce proper investigations and suspensions by now. No matter the police investigations, there was some bad business practises here and not just by Murrell. He needs to start cleaning house.

Skol
13-04-2023, 09:54 PM
I agree, but he needs to start giving the impression he’s getting on top of it instead of reacting to each thing as it comes out. He should be starting to announce proper investigations and suspensions by now. No matter the police investigations, there was some bad business practises here and not just by Murrell. He needs to start cleaning house.

Lol at you taking a harder line than me. A role reversal. I do agree with you on this but I suspect humza is only learning as he goes.

The sad fact is that many of us called out our distrust of the snp and it was dismissed out of hand at the time. I do agree though that it’s not appearing to be criminal charges and it’s not as bad as Westminster. However we should expect better.

13-04-2023, 10:28 PM
Lol at you taking a harder line than me. A role reversal. I do agree with you on this but I suspect humza is only learning as he goes.

The sad fact is that many of us called out our distrust of the snp and it was dismissed out of hand at the time. I do agree though that it’s not appearing to be criminal charges and it’s not as bad as Westminster. However we should expect better.

I do expect better. That’s why there needs to be full disclosure now and better procedures in place to stop it happening again.

14-04-2023, 09:23 AM
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/opinion/4302943/snp-communications-andrew-liddle-liddle/

A good article on what needs to start happening. Yousaf needs to get on top of the story. His communications have so far been horrific.

Santa Cruz
14-04-2023, 10:00 AM
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/opinion/4302943/snp-communications-andrew-liddle-liddle/

A good article on what needs to start happening. Yousaf needs to get on top of the story. His communications have so far been horrific.

For such a high profile post, advertised for 8 days only :wink:

http://www.w4mpjobs.org/JobDetails.aspx?jobid=88389

14-04-2023, 10:02 AM
I saw an interview with Geoff Aberdein recently and I warmed to the guy and thought he appeared to be someone who could do a good job.

Is there a suggestion he could stand for an elected position?

14-04-2023, 10:34 AM
I do expect better. That’s why there needs to be full disclosure now and better procedures in place to stop it happening again.

They could start by encouraging all MSPs and ministers to be aware of what's in publicly available documents like their own party's accounts :cb

Berwickhibby
14-04-2023, 01:26 PM
More wasted money

https://www.insider.co.uk/news/scottish-national-investment-bank-reports-28148552?utm_source=whatsapp&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar

14-04-2023, 01:33 PM
More wasted money

https://www.insider.co.uk/news/scottish-national-investment-bank-reports-28148552?utm_source=whatsapp&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar

If you read the article it looks like it’s doing very well? Or was the headline enough?

Berwickhibby
14-04-2023, 01:41 PM
If you read the article it looks like it’s doing very well? Or was the headline enough?

Read the article ….losing money, should the investors remove their funds then it’s knackered

14-04-2023, 01:43 PM
Headlines £3.4m loss.

Article £165m net assets.

TrumpIsAPeado
14-04-2023, 01:46 PM
Read the article ….losing money, should the investors remove their funds then it’s knackered

It's a loss if you conveniently ignore the investments made with the profits. A very selective article headline.

14-04-2023, 01:46 PM

Wow, are you telling me that if people withdraw their money from banks, the bank is knackered? This is amazing. Do other people know about this?[emoji51]

14-04-2023, 02:04 PM
"a loss of £3.4m, largely due to the early valuation profile of fund investments where unrealised losses are expected, followed by capital appreciation in later years."

Also, set-up costs which won't recur in the future.

He's here!
14-04-2023, 02:16 PM

As you say, repeatedly admitting he didn't know about the issues he's being questioned about makes him look ever more like the Murrells' willing stooge. It's hard/impossible to imagine he'd have won the leadership election on a 'continuity' ticket had the membership been party to what was happening behind the scenes.

14-04-2023, 02:23 PM
More wasted money

Where was it wasted? How much was wasted? You surely have the answers. 😂

14-04-2023, 02:35 PM
That bank story has given me some reassurance that some good things are happening with the economy.[emoji106]

Skol
14-04-2023, 05:46 PM
As you say, repeatedly admitting he didn't know about the issues he's being questioned about makes him look ever more like the Murrells' willing stooge. It's hard/impossible to imagine he'd have won the leadership election on a 'continuity' ticket had the membership been party to what was happening behind the scenes.

I think humza genuinely didn’t know. It appears only the murrells and maybe a few select others did. However the murrells won’t disclose what they knew as they seem to have bad memories. Those that did know don’t seem willing to disclose what they knew.

I agree with Ozy in another post that his commas have been bad and this is him effectively not having the support behind him that he thought he had and at the same time being faced with sorting the mess that’s been left for him.

Now of course none of this is going to be a criminal act and there will be no charges, but it’s confirmation about how misleading things actually were. It’s going to take some fixing

What’s even worse is that there is no one on the other side who appears capable of appearing to be an alternative safe pair of hands.

14-04-2023, 06:03 PM
I think humza genuinely didn’t know. It appears only the murrells and maybe a few select others did. However the murrells won’t disclose what they knew as they seem to have bad memories. Those that did know don’t seem willing to disclose what they knew.

I agree with Ozy in another post that his commas have been bad and this is him effectively not having the support behind him that he thought he had and at the same time being faced with sorting the mess that’s been left for him.

Now of course none of this is going to be a criminal act and there will be no charges, but it’s confirmation about how misleading things actually were. It’s going to take some fixing

What’s even worse is that there is no one on the other side who appears capable of appearing to be an alternative safe pair of hands.

Again, the accounts.

The accounts show the bus and the loan. They also show, and talk about, the independence fundraising.

The accounts were approved by the Murrells and the party treasurer.

Heartily agree with your last comment. Good government needs good opposition, and the latter has been poor for too long.

14-04-2023, 06:21 PM
Again, the accounts.

The accounts show the bus and the loan. They also show, and talk about, the independence fundraising.

Heartily agree with your last comment. Good government needs good opposition, and the latter has been poor for too long.

It’s probably Yousaf’s saving grace. The fact is, out of him, Sarwar and Ross, he looks like the best bet of the three. It’s slim pickings but it’s all we have.

Skol
14-04-2023, 07:01 PM
Again, the accounts.

Do the accounts tell us what the ringfenced independence fundraising was spent on?

I assume peter would have just shown them the accounts and that’s why he wasnt charged

14-04-2023, 07:07 PM
Do the accounts tell us what the ringfenced independence fundraising was spent on?

I assume peter would have just shown them the accounts and that’s why he wasnt charged

This is what the accounts say:-

Referendum Appeal

By 31 December 2021, a total of £740,822 had been raised through the independence related
appeals. These donations are also included in – and have been reconciled with – the total
amount for donations included in Party accounts from 2017 to 2021. Up until 31 December 2021
a total of £253,335 of expenditure had been applied against this income. The balance remains
“earmarked” for independence related campaigning.

Of course, the SNP is the party of independence and, as such, every action we take – directly or
indirectly – is in support of winning independence. However, we continue to take a very strict
approach to ensuring that this income supports expenditure directly related to the campaign
for independence. We will ensure that an amount equivalent to the sums raised from these
appeals will go directly to our work to secure a referendum and win independence.

The £253k isn't broken down any further. However, there is an amount of £1.6m in 2021 for "Campaigning Costs", which seems the best home for that £253k.

14-04-2023, 07:11 PM

The ‘ringfenced’ reference is tricky? I don’t think there is any legal commitment to do so. Not arguing what is right and wrong here, just what’s legal.
I’m struggling to see how this is a legal issue.

14-04-2023, 07:23 PM
The accounts seem pretty clear. And there's no mention of "ring fencing".

14-04-2023, 07:28 PM
I’m surprised there hasn’t been a charge yet? Given the size of the police operation, they must have been pretty certain a crime had been committed?

Skol
14-04-2023, 07:45 PM
But the fund raising was pretty clear that the money would be ring fenced. But it hasn’t been.

I am now lawyer or accountant, as is probably clear. But I can see when something has been misleading.

I have said in a few posts I don’t believe there will be any charge. However it doesn’t make it right. All my opinion of course.

I guess it’s not unlike vlad selling the cash only shares to jumbos :greengrin

14-04-2023, 07:53 PM
But the fund raising was pretty clear that the money would be ring fenced. But it hasn’t been.

I am now lawyer or accountant, as is probably clear. But I can see when something has been misleading.

I have said in a few posts I don’t believe there will be any charge. However it doesn’t make it right. All my opinion of course.

I guess it’s not unlike vlad selling the cash only shares to jumbos :greengrin

https://www.investopedia.com/terms/r/ringfence.asp

"Ring-fencing can also describe earmarking assets for a particular purpose."

The accounts use the term "earmarked". Had that been not true, or the number wrong, the auditors wouldn't have given them a clean report.

14-04-2023, 07:55 PM
https://www.investopedia.com/terms/r/ringfence.asp

"Ring-fencing can also describe earmarking assets for a particular purpose."

The accounts use the term "earmarked". Had that been not true, or the number wrong, the auditors wouldn't have given them a clean report.

The accounts might say that. The seperate website they set up to raise the funds didn’t.

LewysGot2
14-04-2023, 07:58 PM
The party has been able to be run by a tight group of individuals who are married or friends - or both
It's not healthy and it's hard to imagine many other arenas where the CEO and leader of a party be married. Especially when one is first min.

Take into account Robison is Sturgeons best pal and was hitched to Stuart Hosie. Angus Robertson another in the inner circle also married to a key party worker. Is it hard to imagine Robison and Robertson didn't know this was on the cards? The lack of the latter's candidacy for the leadership was interesting in itself.

14-04-2023, 08:05 PM
The party has been able to be run by a tight group of individuals who are married or friends - or both
It's not healthy and it's hard to imagine many other arenas where the CEO and leader of a party be married. Especially when one is first min.

Take into account Robison is Sturgeons best pal and was hitched to Stuart Hosie. Angus Robertson another in the inner circle also married to a key party worker. Is it hard to imagine Robison and Robertson didn't know this was on the cards? The lack of the latter's candidacy for the leadership was interesting in itself.
It’s like the old Etonian Tories on speed.

14-04-2023, 08:15 PM
The accounts might say that. The seperate website they set up to raise the funds didn’t.

Did it say "ring-fenced"?

That article I posted suggests that it means the same as "ear-marked".I'm not so sure, though.