View Full Version : Tories are still lying *******s
01-07-2021, 09:16 PM
https://goodlawproject.org/news/vip-lane-for-testing-contracts/?utm_source=Twitter&utm_medium=social%20media&utm_campaign=greaves%203006
VIP fast track contracts conducted under gmail addresses.
The sleaze is almost hourly, let alone daily.
https://goodlawproject.org/news/vip-lane-for-testing-contracts/?utm_source=Twitter&utm_medium=social%20media&utm_campaign=greaves%203006
VIP fast track contracts conducted under gmail addresses.
The sleaze is almost hourly, let alone daily.
A possible explanation as to how they're getting away with it.
https://www.theneweuropean.co.uk/brexit-news/westminster-news/boris-johnsons-bubble-will-burst-8094622
01-07-2021, 11:18 PM
A possible explanation as to how they're getting away with it.
https://www.theneweuropean.co.uk/brexit-news/westminster-news/boris-johnsons-bubble-will-burst-8094622
That’s exactly how they are getting away with it. They’ll probably win another seat of Labour tonight.
Crunchie
02-07-2021, 04:29 AM
https://news.stv.tv/west-central/councillor-criticised-for-travel-expenses-in-lockdown-year
Tory councillor in Renfrew claims almost £1,000 in expenses despite stay at home message.
A £1000 you say , did you miss this one?
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/local-news/east-kilbride-mp-claims-over-23433791
Add to that the SNP are the biggest claimers at Westminster followed by the Greens, whoulda thought it eh.
https://www.gosimpletax.com/insights/uk-expense-statistics
02-07-2021, 05:40 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/local-news/east-kilbride-mp-claims-over-23433791
Add to that the SNP are the biggest claimers at Westminster followed by the Greens, whoulda thought it eh.
It’s almost like they live the furthest away from Westminster.[emoji849]
Crunchie
02-07-2021, 06:11 AM
It’s almost like they live the furthest away from Westminster.[emoji849]
I expected that kind of reply, what’s your excuse for our SNP MSP’s? The majority of them are at it as well. Didn’t wee nippy have to have a word with them a couple of years ago. All the parties are at it but you’d think the SNP mob were lily white reading the stuff on here.
02-07-2021, 06:30 AM
I expected that kind of reply, what’s your excuse for our SNP MSP’s? The majority of them are at it as well. Didn’t wee nippy have to have a word with them a couple of years ago. All the parties are at it but you’d think the SNP mob were lily white reading the stuff on here.
SNP mob?
Anyway, you're the one who brought it up - on a thread about the Tories.
Do you have evidence the majority are at it?
Seems a fairly serious allegation to bandy about.
02-07-2021, 08:05 AM
So the record claim is over £250,000 while the second link has it at less than £100,000. At least one of them is telling porkies 😂
I noticed that the second link has the MP in the record article on £89,403 expense claims!!
04-07-2021, 08:21 PM
It sounds like the new Health and Care bill will be presented to the Commons on Tuesday. At no point are the words ‘we are selling off the NHS’ going to be uttered, but watch this space. It all depends on how it’s reported, but if it’s widely apparent that a wee sneaky acceleration to the (already underway) sell off happens, at these times of all times, and they stick with a 1% pay rise, and the Tories poll ratings STILL stay high, everybody may as well pack up and let them get on with it.
Stairway 2 7
04-07-2021, 08:30 PM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9754377/amp/Migrants-cross-Channel-small-boats-face-arrest.html?__twitter_impression=true
Priti is bringing in a law to arrest migrants who come across on small boats, what is she like
Logie Green
04-07-2021, 09:14 PM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9754377/amp/Migrants-cross-Channel-small-boats-face-arrest.html?__twitter_impression=true
Priti is bringing in a law to arrest migrants who come across on small boats, what is she like
On the plus side she’s not advocating for shooting at them before they arrive. Yet.
Andy Bee
04-07-2021, 09:41 PM
On the plus side she’s not advocating for shooting at them before they arrive. Yet.
Nah not yet, she's just going to send them to "offshore immigration processing centres" in Rwanda.
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/priti-patel-johnson-immigration-offshore-b1873903.html
05-07-2021, 10:18 AM
He only had one job...
https://www.theguardian.com/world/video/2021/jul/04/uk-africa-minister-james-duddridge-confuses-zambia-with-zimbabwe-kenneth-kaunda-funeral-video?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium&utm_ source=Twitter#Echobox=1625417033[/URL]
CloudSquall
05-07-2021, 04:12 PM
Let's not give her any ideas..
05-07-2021, 04:42 PM
He only had one job...
https://www.theguardian.com/world/video/2021/jul/04/uk-africa-minister-james-duddridge-confuses-zambia-with-zimbabwe-kenneth-kaunda-funeral-video?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1625417033
From the current Tory mob, we're lucky he didn't call it Rhodesia. :rolleyes:
05-07-2021, 06:57 PM
Let's not give her any ideas..
Katie Hopkins has seen to that I think.
07-07-2021, 11:29 AM
https://twitter.com/peterstefanovi2/status/1410709231209271297?s=21
07-07-2021, 02:05 PM
A Tory in all but name.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210707/8deb3f7586bfcb15a38d1e117fe45ecb.jpg
Puddocky
07-07-2021, 04:51 PM
A Tory in all but name.
Is he joking? The Spanish anthem has no lyrics!
07-07-2021, 04:57 PM
Is he joking? The Spanish anthem has no lyrics!
Struggling to think of anyone dimmer than him in the HoL.
07-07-2021, 04:57 PM
A Tory in all but name.
:faf::faf::faf:
Struggling to think of anyone dimmer than him in the HoL.
I take it you're being sarcastic! There's lots to choose from.
07-07-2021, 05:10 PM
I take it you're being sarcastic! There's lots to choose from.
There must be, but I can't name any, off the top of my head, just at this moment. Reeling off a dozen from the HoC, no problem, but who in The Other Place? :dunno:
07-07-2021, 06:00 PM
There must be, but I can't name any, off the top of my head, just at this moment. Reeling off a dozen from the HoC, no problem, but who in The Other Place? :dunno:
I keep thinking of the Spitting Image sketch with all the cobwebs.
08-07-2021, 10:28 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210708/442b3579c3e1860e9cf082c0921baafc.png
09-07-2021, 12:53 AM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/212452476_10159980913166803_3366614601527117560_n. jpg?_nc_cat=106&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=8bOE3mjuJBoAX8okReC&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=601375dc7656d03086d9b00aab5b3301&oe=60EBBADC
CloudSquall
09-07-2021, 12:57 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210708/442b3579c3e1860e9cf082c0921baafc.png
The absolute desperation of Gove to big up his Scottishness is boak inducing.
09-07-2021, 07:47 AM
Will the bookies take a bet?
https://news.stv.tv/politics/ruth-davidson-not-a-chance-ill-become-scottish-secretary
09-07-2021, 07:53 AM
Is the state pension paid from income tax? I thought it was from the superannuation bit, like putting money into a savings account for a rainy day.
https://www.theguardian.com/money/2021/jul/08/rishi-sunak-hints-at-suspension-to-pension-triple-lock
The triple lock was supposed to be legally binding until 2024.
09-07-2021, 09:20 AM
Is the state pension paid from income tax? I thought it was from the superannuation bit, like putting money into a savings account for a rainy day.
https://www.theguardian.com/money/2021/jul/08/rishi-sunak-hints-at-suspension-to-pension-triple-lock
It’s paid from general taxation. There is zero money put aside. Tomorrow’s pensioners will be paid by tomorrow’s workers.
09-07-2021, 10:01 AM
Your pension is calculated from your National insurance contributions over the years, and whenever have the Tories ever respected legally binding agreements?:wink:
10-07-2021, 07:09 AM
The chancellor should take the opportunity this autumn to replace the triple lock with a smoothed earnings link. This would mean the state pension would rise in line with the living standards of working-age people – a change that would be fair to all generations.”
What that means they want the state pension to fall in line with living standards of the workers.
10-07-2021, 07:31 AM
An armed siege? A terrorist munitions factory? No, just the Police breaking into our studio building in Haggerston on Friday 25th June because there is a sculpture on the roof that Priti Patel doesn’t like. https://t.co/4p8X1GD2fs
An art studio, with a sculpture on the roof which looks similar to structure used by extinction rebellion 🙄
10-07-2021, 08:05 AM
An armed siege? A terrorist munitions factory? No, just the Police breaking into our studio building in Haggerston on Friday 25th June because there is a sculpture on the roof that Priti Patel doesn’t like. https://t.co/4p8X1GD2fs
An art studio, with a sculpture on the roof which looks similar to structure used by extinction rebellion 🙄
I counted over 40 officers of various degrees of tooled up-ness going into that building. I wonder what that costs. I wonder if there’s other stuff they could be doing instead.
10-07-2021, 08:08 PM
I hope the owners sue and take cases against whoever authorised that raid. That was a show of power and is the way England is heading. So many signs of Fascism with this government and trying to suppress the arts would be another one ticked off the Fascist Bingo Card. Do individual officers never question some of the acts they are ordered to carry out or are they just glad of the overtime regardless of who the victims are.
10-07-2021, 08:16 PM
Truss lying her head off again. (https://twitter.com/mrjamesob/status/1413862931654193154)
10-07-2021, 10:31 PM
Truss lying her head off again. (https://twitter.com/mrjamesob/status/1413862931654193154)
She was obviously comparing Apples to Oranges to come up with her statement.
11-07-2021, 04:34 PM
I hope the owners sue and take cases against whoever authorised that raid. That was a show of power and is the way England is heading. So many signs of Fascism with this government and trying to suppress the arts would be another one ticked off the Fascist Bingo Card. Do individual officers never question some of the acts they are ordered to carry out or are they just glad of the overtime regardless of who the victims are.
What offence was caused by the sculpture and why was there any need for armed police never mind the number which would be able to take on a small army?
11-07-2021, 04:44 PM
She was obviously comparing Apples to Oranges to come up with her statement.So long as she had her apple adviser and orange adviser alongside to tell her which of the two spherical objects is which, you're right.
11-07-2021, 04:45 PM
What offence was caused by the sculpture and why was there any need for armed police never mind the number which would be able to take on a small army?
The sculpture was designed by and built by an extinction rebellion person. It was similar to one used to block access to the murdoch media empire. It is all in the article I linked to in the post above if you bothered to read it.
11-07-2021, 04:56 PM
The sculpture was designed by and built by an extinction rebellion person. It was similar to one used to block access to the murdoch media empire. It is all in the article I linked to in the post above if you bothered to read it.
Didn't see an article just twitter posts. I get the motivation for the design just why would it be deemed to be an offence.
11-07-2021, 05:01 PM
Didn't see an article just twitter posts. I get the motivation for the design just why would it be deemed to be an offence.
Did you read any of it????
The roof sculpture is a construction made of bamboo and cables as used by Extinction Rebellion in their protest and blockading of the printing plants of Murdoch’s media last Autumn.
11-07-2021, 05:02 PM
Didn't see an article just twitter posts. I get the motivation for the design just why would it be deemed to be an offence.Agreed, especially one that required the police (some armed) to break into the property mob handed.
Would it not have been better to send the local beat cops around ?
11-07-2021, 05:12 PM
Did you read any of it????
The roof sculpture is a construction made of bamboo and cables as used by Extinction Rebellion in their protest and blockading of the printing plants of Murdoch’s media last Autumn.
Are you ok? :confused:
Yep I get that. Don't get why that is an offence?
11-07-2021, 05:13 PM
Agreed, especially one that required the police (some armed) to break into the property mob handed.
Would it not have been better to send the local beat cops around ?
You would think so.
11-07-2021, 06:56 PM
I don't think anyone was charged. The Police are the stormtroopers of the government. Breaking the law has very little to do with being targeted by them. It is more likely the way you think or the colour of your skin that determines how much attention and brutality the Police direct towards you rather than if you committed an offence.
11-07-2021, 07:21 PM
I'm fine thanks.
Neil diamond belting oot the stereo
But you're the one who had to ask what it was about. Even though I had posted everything you needed to know 🙄
12-07-2021, 08:40 AM
I'd imagine, if the structure was previously used to commit an offence, there may be some concerns that it would be used for the same purpose again. Like being in possession of a gun previously used in a murder.
The similar construction used by Extinction Rebellion to block the roadways around Murdochs printing facilities was quite possibly illegal, public right of way and all that sort of stuff.
Having it on the roof of a building isn't going to get in anyones way. I'm not even sure, as a temporary structure, it would fall foul of local building regulations any more than those folk that cover their homes with Christmas decorations.
12-07-2021, 10:42 AM
England lost because Rashford championed underfed children. :rolleyes:
This is from a member of the UK parliament. Elected by people. :rolleyes:
https://twitter.com/miffythegamer/status/1414514304024518656/photo/1
12-07-2021, 10:57 AM
Utter contemptible Tory ****.
12-07-2021, 12:23 PM
https://twitter.com/STVNews/status/1414542711001071617?s=19
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
12-07-2021, 01:00 PM
https://twitter.com/miffythegamer/status/1414514304024518656/photo/1They're known as the Nasty Party for a reason, this type of person doesn't even feel the need to hide their contempt any more.
12-07-2021, 01:01 PM
The similar construction used by Extinction Rebellion to block the roadways around Murdochs printing facilities was quite possibly illegal, public right of way and all that sort of stuff.
Having it on the roof of a building isn't going to get in anyones way. I'm not even sure, as a temporary structure, it would fall foul of local building regulations any more than those folk that cover their homes with Christmas decorations.
I wasn't suggesting the concern related to it being used in situ.
12-07-2021, 04:45 PM
"Would it be ungenerous to suggest.."
Aye it would, and it would also be inane rubbish.
12-07-2021, 04:47 PM
https://twitter.com/miffythegamer/status/1414514304024518656/photo/1Words fail me.
12-07-2021, 04:51 PM
Ok thanks. Wasn't sure whether it was the same structure or a similar one. Obviously completely disproportionate action.
Bangkok Hibby
12-07-2021, 05:17 PM
"Would it be ungenerous to suggest.."
Aye it would, and it would also be inane rubbish.
The English, racist, tory voters will lap this up.
12-07-2021, 08:17 PM
It's ok though, she's said she's sorry, no doubt all sins have been forgiven by Boris and co.
No doubt this will be rapidly swept under the carpet and never spoken of again.
12-07-2021, 09:44 PM
this woman speaketh the truth....again
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/216481343_4493627774029593_6249361902426511688_n.j pg?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=rqSNjmhGrK0AX_7PkOJ&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=718af0a1b6dbde5f143eb260da7f260b&oe=60F165AF
13-07-2021, 07:50 AM
Well done Tyrone Mings for telling it as it is re Patel. https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/jul/13/england-tyrone-mings-criticises-priti-patel-over-racism-remarks
Stairway 2 7
13-07-2021, 01:08 PM
Bizarre when tories have swung so far to nationalist right, that May ect seems liberal in comparison
@PoliticsForAlI
10m
NEW: Theresa May on aid cut:
“This isn’t about palaces for dictators & vanity projects. It’s about what cuts to funding mean. Fewer girls will be educated, more boys & girls will bcm slaves, more children will go hungry & more of poorest people in world will die.”
Damned with feint praise.
Shes still a swivel eyed loon, Windrush was a disgrace.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Stairway 2 7
13-07-2021, 01:26 PM
Oh no very much a horrible **** 😆
13-07-2021, 02:50 PM
Yup. Only speaking freely now as she has nothing to gain or lose. Would have done the same when she was in power of polls showed it was popular.
13-07-2021, 05:02 PM
Bizarre when tories have swung so far to nationalist right, that May ect seems liberal in comparison
@PoliticsForAlI
10m
“This isn’t about palaces for dictators & vanity projects. It’s about what cuts to funding mean. Fewer girls will be educated, more boys & girls will bcm slaves, more children will go hungry & more of poorest people in world will die.”
Yes, a 4 billion cut to the foreign aid budget is just cruel for the sake of being cruel and panders to the ignorant. They are perfectly happy giving tax cut s to multi-millionaires, but reduce the amount we put aside for some of the poorest people on the planet. It isn't at all surprising from that mob. No doubt their apologists will say something like "we need to look after our own", but this government doesn't do that either. They look after nobody but those least in need of the help. It's disgusting.
13-07-2021, 05:37 PM
Dido Harding’s test and trace fiasco pissed away £37 billion.
But we need to cut aid to the worlds poorest by £4billion because we can’t afford it.
Still, just as long as it’s not Corbyn :aok:
13-07-2021, 05:59 PM
not-so Priti rifling through her tweets deleting the unsavoury ones, thank goodness things are copied else we wouldn't know she's a racist, i imagine other members of the nasty party are hastily doing the same thing
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/216733395_4467140603308812_6282311934840428692_n.j pg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=OtGiQsJHdRgAX9Lk0Lt&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=6756b587828e3dce071609e150f4cf28&oe=60F2FA8D
13-07-2021, 07:37 PM
not-so Priti rifling through her tweets deleting the unsavoury ones, thank goodness things are copied else we wouldn't know she's a racist, i imagine other members of the nasty party are hastily doing the same thing
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/216733395_4467140603308812_6282311934840428692_n.j pg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=OtGiQsJHdRgAX9Lk0Lt&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=6756b587828e3dce071609e150f4cf28&oe=60F2FA8D
Patel admits that the points based immigration system she wants would have kept her own family out of the country in the 1970s.
It's a shame we didn't have it then. :greengrin
He's here!
13-07-2021, 07:52 PM
Well done Tyrone Mings for telling it as it is re Patel. https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/jul/13/england-tyrone-mings-criticises-priti-patel-over-racism-remarks (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/jul/13/england-tyrone-mings-criticises-ptriti-patel-over-racism-remarks)
Patel is no stranger to flak but on this occasion I'd venture to say Mings is off the mark. Her views on taking the knee chime with many, including black sportsmen and women. It's been phased out by an increasing number of teams including Scotland and I think he's playing the Tory minister here not the ball. I respect England for sticking with it as it clearly had a unifying effect but it's far from a universally backed gesture for tackling racism.
13-07-2021, 07:55 PM
Patel is no stranger to flak but on this occasion I'd venture to say Mings is off the mark. Her views on taking the knee chime with many, including black sportsmen and women. It's been phased out by an increasing number of teams including Scotland and I think he's playing the Tory minister here not the ball. I respect England for sticking with it as it clearly had a unifying effect but it's far from a universally backed gesture for tackling racism.So the team come out about 5 days in a row explaining why they are taking the knee
You might not agree with it as a gesture but to boo it?
[emoji848]
13-07-2021, 08:16 PM
@PoliticsForAlI
10m
No need to check how the 6 tory MPs from Scotland voted. Slavishly loyal to the London establishment.
13-07-2021, 09:36 PM
Patel is no stranger to flak but on this occasion I'd venture to say Mings is off the mark. Her views on taking the knee chime with many, including black sportsmen and women. It's been phased out by an increasing number of teams including Scotland and I think he's playing the Tory minister here not the ball. I respect England for sticking with it as it clearly had a unifying effect but it's far from a universally backed gesture for tackling racism.
Disingenuous, both on your part and hers. We all know what she was doing. She’s not interesting in ‘Tackling racism’ in any way. The fact she’s been forced to scramble around deleting historic posts shows she’s under pressure, which is at least something.
13-07-2021, 09:41 PM
Yes, a 4 billion cut to the foreign aid budget is just cruel for the sake of being cruel and panders to the ignorant. They are perfectly happy giving tax cut s to multi-millionaires, but reduce the amount we put aside for some of the poorest people on the planet. It isn't at all surprising from that mob. No doubt their apologists will say something like "we need to look after our own", but this government doesn't do that either. They look after nobody but those least in need of the help. It's disgusting.
I think you’ve hit the nail on the head. The money saved will not be spent helping the people in this country that need it most, it will be spent lining the pockets of party donors and personal friends. The staggering amount of money that’s been wasted during the pandemic could’ve lifted a huge number of people out of poverty without cutting foreign aid.
13-07-2021, 11:03 PM
https://youtu.be/QjQFoFqmhNg
14-07-2021, 01:02 AM
Jonathan Pie
https://youtu.be/EI5nw1kYwdo
14-07-2021, 08:15 AM
Rosindell the latest Tory to tell a footballer to "focus on football, not politics". It's hard to imagine more blatant contempt being shown for the electorate.
14-07-2021, 10:14 AM
Rosindell the latest Tory to tell a footballer to "focus on football, not politics". It's hard to imagine more blatant contempt being shown for the electorate.
Has he updated his laser-like analysis since the final? :dunno:
https://twitter.com/AndrewRosindell/status/1410414207770710020
14-07-2021, 10:40 AM
John Major giving the government a good kicking over the foreign aid cut. When even grandees of the centre right like May and Major are getting so shrill you know we’re being run by REAL extremists.
Still, at least it’s not Corbyn.
Also, keep an eye on the coverage (or non coverage) of the health and social care bill, the next step of the NHS sell off-by-stealth.
14-07-2021, 02:50 PM
14-07-2021, 07:17 PM
Did anyone point out to him that there’s only one of those 3 that doesn’t benefit from travel/trade with the EU?
15-07-2021, 04:10 PM
https://www.opendemocracy.net/en/ournhs/protestors-and-doctors-union-call-on-mps-to-block-new-english-health-bill/
Health bill passes its second reading. Really strange, nothing on bbc, Guardian, surely flogging off more NHs services to private operators is an open goal for an opposition?
15-07-2021, 04:41 PM
https://www.opendemocracy.net/en/ournhs/protestors-and-doctors-union-call-on-mps-to-block-new-english-health-bill/
Health bill passes its second reading. Really strange, nothing on bbc, Guardian, surely flogging off more NHs services to private operators is an open goal for an opposition?And it impacts the NHS in Scotland as well, if Westminster reduce the amount paid directly to the ENHS then the amount heading north drops by a similar %
Edit, should add, the Scot Gov could of course mitigate by cost cutting elsewhere.
15-07-2021, 05:04 PM
And it impacts the NHS in Scotland as well, if Westminster reduce the amount paid directly to the ENHS then the amount heading north drops by a similar %
Edit, should add, the Scot Gov could of course mitigate by cost cutting elsewhere.
Mitigating is the best we can hope for these days.[emoji22]
15-07-2021, 09:54 PM
Cronyism, or simply ripping the pish out of the electorate?
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/jul/15/ex-bullingdon-club-member-appointed-to-whitehalls-sleaze-watchdog
16-07-2021, 08:53 AM
Cronyism, or simply ripping the pish out of the electorate?
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/jul/15/ex-bullingdon-club-member-appointed-to-whitehalls-sleaze-watchdog
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210716/301a6ea75016cf590530ace8588baed2.jpg
I’m sure he will hold this govt to account. [emoji23][emoji849] And people think this is the best Scotland can do.
16-07-2021, 09:07 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210716/301a6ea75016cf590530ace8588baed2.jpg
I’m sure he will hold this govt to account. [emoji23][emoji849] And people think this is the best Scotland can do.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkTo be fair, for all we know it's perfectly possible this oik is the one member of the club who didn't (allegedly) enjoy a social evening with a pigs head so could be just the man to ensure fair play.
[emoji23][emoji23]
16-07-2021, 12:59 PM
Ruth has her title Baroness Davidson of Lundin Links 🙄. Could she not have chosen a typical fife dump like methilhill? Dxxx
https://news.stv.tv/politics/official-house-of-lords-title-for-ruth-davidson-unveiled
Lendo
16-07-2021, 08:19 PM
Ruth has her title Baroness Davidson of Lundin Links 🙄. Could she not have chosen a typical fife dump like methilhill? Dxxx
https://news.stv.tv/politics/official-house-of-lords-title-for-ruth-davidson-unveiled
She’s joined my work as a Non-Exec director. £85,000 pa for 30 days work a year. Utterly disgusting.
18-07-2021, 02:22 PM
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/rishi-sunak-poverty-statistics-labour-b1885598.html
20-07-2021, 06:32 AM
More about the NHS bill, sneaking it’s way through second readings right now.
https://www.opendemocracy.net/en/ournhs/forget-the-spin-new-english-nhs-bill-is-all-about-cutting-our-right-to-healthcare/?fbclid=IwAR30_N47IX6t2PbIg_0zsXuRiiTNaCyhFEWonWNA LItcgCI101ky7BqM2PE
“Alongside the alarming drafting on rights to hospital care, the performance targets imposed by the bill scrap the 18-week target for waiting times, mentioning only a target of 52 weeks, for example.
Pollock and Roderick also point out that it scraps the “responsibility” the government has to arrange healthcare for each of us in England and replaces it with a – seemingly undefined, but presumably more restricted – “core responsibility” for uncertain “groups of people”. It also gives the health secretary the power to water down the requirement for staff to be properly trained and qualified.”
20-07-2021, 04:30 PM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9806517/amp/Journalists-face-14-years-prison-embarrassing-Government-proposed-law-change.html?__twitter_impression=true
This seems fine.
21-07-2021, 07:35 AM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9806517/amp/Journalists-face-14-years-prison-embarrassing-Government-proposed-law-change.html?__twitter_impression=true
This seems fine.
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkNot dystopian in the slightest. They're certainly ticking quite a few boxes in the how to run a fascist state guide.
Lendo
21-07-2021, 08:06 AM
This seems fine.
well that’s not terrifying in the slightest……
H18S NX
21-07-2021, 09:38 AM
This seems fine.
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk....We are getting more like the chinese every day.
21-07-2021, 09:52 AM
....We are getting more like the chinese every day.
Chinese, North Korea, DDR, Soviet Union or Germany 1933, take your pick.
21-07-2021, 12:05 PM
A one day ban for work (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/jul/21/tory-mps-suspended-for-trying-to-influence-judge-in-elphicke-case), presumably with full pay for trying to influence the Justice System on behalf of one of their friends. That is unbelievably lenient.
21-07-2021, 12:49 PM
Not dystopian in the slightest. They're certainly ticking quite a few boxes in the how to run a fascist state guide.
Quite telling as well that it's the Daily Mail pushing back given they are pretty much a Tory mouthpiece. Also had a look and all the comments are absolutely hammering UK Govt for this.
The Tories have been able to get away with anything since the last election but hopefully voters are starting to wise up.
21-07-2021, 01:26 PM
Chinese, North Korea, DDR, Soviet Union or Germany 1933, take your pick.I remember going to an exhibition at the historical museum in Berlin on how the Nazi party conditioned Germany into supporting them.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/world/2010/oct/14/germany-first-hitler-exhibition-opens
The parallels are very similar to what's going on here. The illegal proroguing of parliament, The union jackery, the One Britain thing in Schools, almost total control of the media, the banning of right to protest and other Draconian changes to law, the culture of xenophobia and treatment of immigrants.......etc, etc.
It might be slightly more subtle but that's only because they haven't got the uniforms yet.
21-07-2021, 01:30 PM
Quite telling as well that it's the Daily Mail pushing back given they are pretty much a Tory mouthpiece. Also had a look and all the comments are absolutely hammering UK Govt for this.
The Tories have been able to get away with anything since the last election but hopefully voters are starting to wise up.I'm not sure it will make much difference to how England votes, I'm not actually sure if there is anything that the Tories could do that would stop them getting votes.
21-07-2021, 01:36 PM
I remember going to an exhibition at the historical museum in Berlin on how the Nazi party conditioned Germany into supporting them.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/world/2010/oct/14/germany-first-hitler-exhibition-opens
The parallels are very similar to what's going on here. The illegal proroguing of parliament, The union jackery, the One Britain thing in Schools, almost total control of the media, the banning of right to protest and other Draconian changes to law, the culture of xenophobia and treatment of immigrants.......etc, etc.
It might be slightly more subtle but that's only because they haven't got the uniforms yet.
Weren't Johnson and Patel trialling prototypes (https://i0.wp.com/tendenciashoy.com.es/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/1621472816_703_Priti-Patel-reveals-plans-for-up-to-10000-quarantine-checks.jpg?resize=634%2C496&ssl=1) not so long ago?
21-07-2021, 01:38 PM
Weren't Johnson and Patel trialling prototypes (https://i0.wp.com/tendenciashoy.com.es/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/1621472816_703_Priti-Patel-reveals-plans-for-up-to-10000-quarantine-checks.jpg?resize=634%2C496&ssl=1) not so long ago?Indeed, I had forgotten about that. :greengrin
The Nazi ones were somewhat more stylish though.
21-07-2021, 01:40 PM
....We are getting more like the chinese every day.
Or closer to home, Hungary.
21-07-2021, 05:59 PM
https://twitter.com/rosscolquhoun/status/1417899859454087171?s=21
The baroness taking her place as unelected law maker.
21-07-2021, 07:15 PM
I remember going to an exhibition at the historical museum in Berlin on how the Nazi party conditioned Germany into supporting them.
Anyone with a decent understanding of history should be extremely worried about all these little changes to the democratic weights and measures to democracy. Boris Johnson might or might not be a fascist, but his government are certainly laying the groundwork that would make it easier for a fascist to take control.
21-07-2021, 07:45 PM
The coffin is being closed nail by nail....
BBC News - Are judges about to be neutered?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-56901530
21-07-2021, 09:18 PM
https://www.facebook.com/181002789063255/posts/1142886542874870/
22-07-2021, 03:08 PM
Apparently you just can’t say it
https://twitter.com/peterstefanovi2/status/1418222940726779915?s=21
22-07-2021, 03:15 PM
All-year-round panto.
22-07-2021, 03:55 PM
Good on her. Every opposition member should do it in turn.
Crunchie
22-07-2021, 05:27 PM
Then they can all have the day off and go enjoy the sunshine, oh how very productive that would be.
22-07-2021, 05:29 PM
Then they can all have the day off and go enjoy the sunshine, oh how very productive that would be.
Even then she will be more productive than anyone on the government benches. 😉
22-07-2021, 06:11 PM
Why is it against the rules to call the dishonourable member what he is?
They should only be told off if it's not true.
22-07-2021, 06:19 PM
She’s a dinosaur. Supported Extinction Rebellions blockade of the Murdoch press, wouldn’t sign up to the anti semitism ‘can’t criticise Israel’ code of conduct, and has the cheek to represent a London constituency while being black and a woman.
I can’t see her on the shadow front bench anytime soon.
Stairway 2 7
23-07-2021, 02:09 PM
Fairly happy with my new tshirt
23-07-2021, 02:37 PM
Fairly happy with my new tshirt
Oh!! Where from?
Stairway 2 7
23-07-2021, 03:38 PM
Oh!! Where from?
https://shop.newsthump.com/product/a-cabinet-of-********s-t-shirt/?utm_source=NewsThump+Store&utm_campaign=d3c2ec1c13-EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_2018_08_07_02_43&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_b60decf545-d3c2ec1c13-436138134
Newshump, tshirt is called cabinet of ********s ha. Looking forward to seeing if I get any dirty looks from the English tourists up town
23-07-2021, 04:45 PM
https://shop.newsthump.com/product/a-cabinet-of-********s-t-shirt/?utm_source=NewsThump+Store&utm_campaign=d3c2ec1c13-EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_2018_08_07_02_43&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_b60decf545-d3c2ec1c13-436138134
Newshump, tshirt is called cabinet of ********s ha. Looking forward to seeing if I get any dirty looks from the English tourists up town
23-07-2021, 10:21 PM
Oh!! Where from?[emoji106]
I quite liked these ones as wellhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210723/2b93680b756e404029e38d1854de4edb.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210723/121d1b301281ea7222f8a26f89294a13.jpg
Stairway 2 7
23-07-2021, 10:48 PM
[emoji106]
I quite liked these ones as wellhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210723/2b93680b756e404029e38d1854de4edb.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210723/121d1b301281ea7222f8a26f89294a13.jpg
Like them 👏
He's here!
24-07-2021, 09:00 AM
Butler's a joke. Faithful Blairite before disappearing and re-inventing herself as a Corbynite. Playing to the social media gallery yesterday in a bid to look relevant in any future leadership contest (if she were ever to be taken seriously in that respect then Labour really are done for). Thought her Stonewall v Liz Truss poll last month might have taught her something about looking daft:
https://twitter.com/dawnbutlerbrent/status/1399708211838607362?lang=en
24-07-2021, 10:57 AM
Butler's a joke. Faithful Blairite before disappearing and re-inventing herself as a Corbynite. Playing to the social media gallery yesterday in a bid to look relevant in any future leadership contest (if she were ever to be taken seriously in that respect then Labour really are done for). Thought her Stonewall v Liz Truss poll last month might have taught her something about looking daft:
Do you think that Johnson doesn't tell lies?
24-07-2021, 10:59 AM
Alternatively, doing the job she is paid for as a
member of the opposition, and holding the Government to account.
24-07-2021, 11:13 AM
Yep, she’s done well there. Plenty of things to criticise her for but a bizarre time to do so.
24-07-2021, 12:21 PM
I hope every Labour MP now takes it in turns to call out the Pm as a dangerous liar. Take your day ban and come back to cheer on the next MP calling him out.
24-07-2021, 12:24 PM
I hope every Labour MP now takes it in turns to call out the Pm as a dangerous liar. Take your day ban and come back to cheer on the next MP calling him out.
Not a bad tactic.
24-07-2021, 12:41 PM
Is the real issue for you that she seems to have broken Labour strategy and actually criticised Johnson? Well done to her calling him out while Starmer and the rest look on and meekly accept whatever the Tories dish out. It is the job of the opposition to hold gov to account. Something that Starmer seems very reluctant to try to do
Labour really need to land more punches on this mob and get under their thin skins. Yvette Cooper is great at this and yet she’s not on the front bench!
ACLeith
24-07-2021, 01:06 PM
What would happen if she refused to go, sat down and then a dozen others stood and said the same and also refused to go?
Rees Mogg would probably explode with rage which would be a bonus
24-07-2021, 01:07 PM
Yep, she’s done well there. Plenty of things to criticise her for but a bizarre time to do so.
I prefer it to the rather disingenuous applause from those centrists who when the time is right, would happily go along with any old red top sponsored nonsense about her should she ever get close to power and actually change things for ordinary people. Same with Sultana, brilliant on the backbenches, but I’m waiting till she gets taken down by some manufactured pish.
24-07-2021, 03:43 PM
Polls are beginning to tighten with the Tories now only 3-4% ahead of Labour.
Been here before but feels like the public might just be waking up?
24-07-2021, 03:56 PM
At last! https://borisjohnsonsocialcareplan.com/
24-07-2021, 04:02 PM
At last! https://borisjohnsonsocialcareplan.com/
So simple and such a successful site. Another lie that hardly gets a mention. We all know what the plan is though - sell the profitable parts of social care and the NHS and keep the rest so his mates can make the maximum profit
24-07-2021, 04:27 PM
And the NHS is in this sort of characters hands.....https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210724/62f93a2dfa2b4804c73be25957ac7f8c.jpg
24-07-2021, 05:18 PM
Polls are beginning to tighten with the Tories now only 3-4% ahead of Labour.
Been here before but feels like the public might just be waking up?
https://www.politico.eu/europe-poll-of-polls/united-kingdom/
You gov had the Tories by a massive 13 points last week, the basket of pills averages a 9 point lead. For midterm it’s absolutely massive and doesn’t normally happen. Which company did the poll you refer to ?
24-07-2021, 05:37 PM
https://www.politico.eu/europe-poll-of-polls/united-kingdom/
You gov had the Tories by a massive 13 points last week, the basket of pills averages a 9 point lead. For midterm it’s absolutely massive and doesn’t normally happen. Which company did the poll you refer to ?
Seems to be YouGov again from what I’ve found on Google. Very promising.
https://yougov.co.uk/topics/politics/articles-reports/2021/07/24/voting-intention-con-38-lab-34-20-21-july
He's here!
24-07-2021, 05:42 PM
Hardly. She's not so dim that she didn't know she'd have to leave the chamber for that sort of lame stunt. How's she going to 'hold the government to account' if she's not present to do so? Repeated re-tweets to boost her own profile was her real target, not the PM.
He's here!
24-07-2021, 05:44 PM
No, the real issue for me is I think she's an erse.
24-07-2021, 05:45 PM
Hardly. She's not so dim that she didn't know she'd have to leave the chamber for that sort of lame stunt. How's she going to 'hold the government to account' if she's not present to do so? Repeated re-tweets to boost her own profile was her real target, not the PM.
Look at the publicity it has brought. We are still talking about it. Job done 👍😁
24-07-2021, 05:50 PM
Hardly. She's not so dim that she didn't know she'd have to leave the chamber for that sort of lame stunt. How's she going to 'hold the government to account' if she's not present to do so? Repeated re-tweets to boost her own profile was her real target, not the PM.Not sure there is much can be done in the House given the Tory majority and their thirst to stay in power out ranking any morals they may have. The Tories won on publicity so that us the best way to attack them imo
24-07-2021, 06:07 PM
https://yougov.co.uk/topics/politics/articles-reports/2021/07/24/voting-intention-con-38-lab-34-20-21-july
That’s a big change in a week. 6 point fall from the Tory shared equally between Labour and Lib/Dems/Green who have all benefitted
24-07-2021, 06:30 PM
That’s a big change in a week. 6 point fall from the Tory shared equally between Labour and Lib/Dems/Green who have all benefitted
It’s the sheer selfishness of South of the border. If it affects immigrants, those poorer or anyone that isn’t them or their immediate family, go Boris. Can’t fuel up the car or get a punnet of grapes, outrage.
24-07-2021, 08:06 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210724/465727025ffe4a5ec052d48ba1452a22.png
Acknowledging that I am not the target audience but a potentially positive tweet (glad his symptoms were mild) that is twisted by the word cower. It feels like the vaccine equivalent of ‘man up’
24-07-2021, 10:52 PM
Acknowledging that I am not the target audience but a potentially positive tweet (glad his symptoms were mild) that is twisted by the word cower. It feels like the vaccine equivalent of ‘man up’
Over 100,000 needlessly dead because his ****bag party of corrupt ***** had us avoiding lockdown when it was needed to try and get another comedy trade deal or to keep the money rolling in for their already wealthy mates.
Absolutely callous.
25-07-2021, 02:51 AM
Yeah that's the on, cheers.
Crunchie
25-07-2021, 05:36 AM
Alternatively she could have made her point more diplomatically and stayed in the house to do her job, instead she was thrown out after making a show of herself to enjoy the day off.
You could have been forgiven for mistaking her for an snp member.
He's here!
25-07-2021, 02:26 PM
He's apologised. A slightly ill judged turn of phrase perhaps but not intended to offend and hardly the outrage of the century.
25-07-2021, 03:32 PM
He's apologised. A slightly ill judged turn of phrase perhaps but not intended to offend and hardly the outrage of the century.
… calculated phrase that backfired. When your strategy is to infect everyone to build herd immunity you want people to think they are able fight it off. Sad thing is that it doesn’t matter how strong you are
25-07-2021, 03:41 PM
Stairway 2 7
25-07-2021, 06:21 PM
Nonsense thought out but faced huge abuse so he cowered back
25-07-2021, 06:22 PM
I find his use of grammar extremely offensive.
25-07-2021, 10:25 PM
Do you not think that our government should have their finger on the pulse of public mood slightly better, and instead of having to backtrack all the time just use appropriate words and actions first time a little bit more often?
It just seems to me that they can't get even the most basic of things right.
Those in positions of responsibility need to choose words carefully.
26-07-2021, 09:18 PM
R&W has Tory lead down to four, Survation to two.
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2021, 04:16 PM
Notice boris and priti are trying to push chain gangs and hard labour for criminals. Great reply on the subject from ceo of timpsons John timpson
CEO of Timpsons on PM crime comments
“Instead of making offenders wear high viz jackets in chain gangs, how about helping them get a real job instead? In my shops we employ ex offenders and they wear a shirt and tie. Same people, different approach, much better outcome
27-07-2021, 04:58 PM
Notice boris and priti are trying to push chain gangs and hard labour for criminals. Great reply on the subject from ceo of timpsons John timpson
CEO of Timpsons on PM crime comments
“Instead of making offenders wear high viz jackets in chain gangs, how about helping them get a real job instead? In my shops we employ ex offenders and they wear a shirt and tie. Same people, different approach, much better outcome
That's a valid comment if (a) the criminals weren't employed at the time of their offending and (b) their lack of employment contributed to their offending.
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2021, 05:01 PM
That's a valid comment if (a) the criminals weren't employed at the time of their offending and (b) their lack of employment contributed to their offending.
If a. is humiliation going to help them be a better employee person, b. that is the whole point get spend on job/rehabilitation programs, not dehumanising
27-07-2021, 05:37 PM
If a. is humiliation going to help them be a better employee person, b. that is the whole point get spend on job/rehabilitation programs, not dehumanising
I don't think it's dehumanising to wear a hi-vis and pick up litter. Whether it's humiliating is subjective but, if it's part of a punishment/deterrent, it's obviously advantageous for it to be so.
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2021, 05:58 PM
I don't think it's dehumanising to wear a hi-vis and pick up litter. Whether it's humiliating is subjective but, if it's part of a punishment/deterrent, it's obviously advantageous for it to be so.
Boris Johnson: "If you're guilt of antisocial behaviour and you're sentenced to unpaid work, I don't see any reason why you shouldn't be out there in one of those fluorescent-jacketed chain gangs visibly paying your debt to society
Your in good company. Mps from both sides of the bench and thousands of other normal people have been showing their disgust.
It's populist nonsense designed to please the masses. Back to the old days, non-evidence based conservatism. Every other country bar America and a few other authoritarian states have realised. Building up and rehabilitating drops crime better and lowers reoffending. But education programs or more police officers cost real money
Crunchie
27-07-2021, 06:06 PM
Boris Johnson: "If you're guilt of antisocial behaviour and you're sentenced to unpaid work, I don't see any reason why you shouldn't be out there in one of those fluorescent-jacketed chain gangs visibly paying your debt to society
Your in good company. Mps from both sides of the bench and thousands of other normal people have been showing their disgust.
It's populist nonsense designed to please the masses. Back to the old days, non-evidence based conservatism. Every other country bar America and a few other authoritarian states have realised. Building up and rehabilitating drops crime better and lowers reoffending. But education programs or more police officers cost real money
You could throw any amount of money at it and you're career criminals will still offend.
Nothing wrong with getting them out there and helping society instead of wrecking it. Come to think of it there's nothing wrong with pleasing the masses either, isn't that what a government is for?
27-07-2021, 06:10 PM
I'm all for rehabilitation, but not in isolation.
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2021, 06:15 PM
You could throw any amount of money at it and you're career criminals will still offend.
Nothing wrong with getting them out there and helping society instead of wrecking it. Come to think of it there's nothing wrong with pleasing the masses either, isn't that what a government is for?
Not really or the majority of ********s would bring back hanging, hitting children and choosing brexit, even though anyone with a couple of decent braincells would know it will be an economic disaster for the uk
Crunchie
27-07-2021, 06:20 PM
Not really or the majority of ********s would bring back hanging, hitting children and choosing brexit, even though anyone with a couple of decent braincells would know it will be an economic disaster for the uk
Strange and angry response :confused:
27-07-2021, 06:21 PM
Prisoners already work. This is about public shaming.
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2021, 06:21 PM
Strange and angry response :confused:
True but. Populism doesn't mean correct
Crunchie
27-07-2021, 06:26 PM
No they don't, and no it's not. Community service is a great alternative to lesser crime but serial offenders in prison should be doing more to pay back society imo.
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2021, 06:32 PM
Hopefully the chain gangs will be rolled out to the upper echelons too. Fraud, tax evaders, politicians who give contracts to friends or to pay lavish decorations in ill-gotten gains
27-07-2021, 07:02 PM
Hopefully the chain gangs will be rolled out to the upper echelons too. Fraud, tax evaders, politicians who give contracts to friends or to pay lavish decorations in ill-gotten gains
I'd definitely be in favour of this.
24929They'll be the ones who own the companies the prisoners will be working for.
Lendo
27-07-2021, 07:24 PM
Next week Patel will be promising to bring back hanging and witch burnings.
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2021, 07:31 PM
Next week Patel will be promising to bring back hanging and witch burnings.
Not sure I can't see her bringing in a self harming policy like that
27-07-2021, 07:48 PM
The example here is about anti social behaviour though. Not really a group of offences commonly associated with career criminals.
Why are the right always desperate to humiliate the young, poor etc. Why are punishments like this not being doled out to speeders, tax dodgers etc?
27-07-2021, 07:57 PM
Prisoners should be allowed to apply for real jobs in the real economy. They can repay their debt to society by paying tax on their wages. As soon as possible they should be on an electronic tag as well. It’s still a restriction of their Liberty but is not as destructive as prison.
Prison itself should only really be used for the most violent and repeat offenders. Electronic tag should be used for the vast majority of offenders.
27-07-2021, 09:04 PM
No they don't, and no it's not. Community service is a great alternative to lesser crime but serial offenders in prison should be doing more to pay back society imo.
Yes they are!
Prisoners from Castle Huntly, outside Dundee, are often 'employed by Perth and Kinross council for gardening work.
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2021, 09:07 PM
Weird and gimmicky’: police chiefs condemn Boris Johnson’s crime plan
https://amp.theguardian.com/uk-news/2021/jul/27/police-chiefs-condemn-boris-johnsons-plan-as-weird-and-gimmicky?__twitter_impression=true
27-07-2021, 09:22 PM
Yes they are!
Prisoners from Castle Huntly, outside Dundee, are often 'employed by Perth and Kinross council for gardening work.
When we had an allotment elderly gardeners could request for help from those being rehabilitated. It’s a great scheme.
27-07-2021, 10:29 PM
Can’t be long before a Tory donor wins the contract to operate these chain gangs. This slave labour will then be put to graft on lucrative contracts earning millions of pounds. That won’t be enough though. They will lobby for more slave labourers to be recruited, so there will need to be more people sent to jail and for longer sentences. It’s a model that has worked for America.[emoji849]
27-07-2021, 11:46 PM
Can’t be long before a Tory donor wins the contract to operate these chain gangs. This slave labour will then be put to graft on lucrative contracts earning millions of pounds. That won’t be enough though. They will lobby for more slave labourers to be recruited, so there will need to be more people sent to jail and for longer sentences. It’s a model that has worked for America.[emoji849]
i'm thinking of the Warden in Shawshank
28-07-2021, 06:55 AM
“Be sure to thankMaisie for this fine pie”
Crunchie
28-07-2021, 07:39 AM
Yes they are!
It is not compulsory to work in prison and the majority don't :wink:
28-07-2021, 08:51 AM
Which people naturally wish to avoid, thereby making it a deterrent.
28-07-2021, 09:47 AM
Then why isn't every country doing it? Why don't we roll it out for any and all crimes rather than just ones committed by young people? Let's get those speeding, tax dodgers etc out there as well.
28-07-2021, 01:29 PM
Priti showing what a great problem solver she is. (https://twitter.com/MrDavidLane/status/1419370161929342978/photo/1)That combined with her awareness and empathy makes us very lucky to have her. What an ignorant woman she is.
Is this recent? Certainly wasn't the case when I was in prison.
I worked with the SPS for a while.
28-07-2021, 01:55 PM
There is little to no data that shows that public humiliation reduces crime levels.
28-07-2021, 02:41 PM
There is little to no data that shows that public humiliation reduces crime levels.
Just look at the government front benches.
28-07-2021, 05:10 PM
The bbc website fact-checking Johnson’s ’ claims on police numbers, which would never have happened without Butlers intervention in the HoC last week. Again, proof that backbenchers can still have an impact just by representing their constituency while telling the truth.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/57987932
28-07-2021, 09:12 PM
These are inmates close to release, and they generally are the ones who want to stay out. The ones who don't are the ones that the tories have abandoned already 😉
28-07-2021, 09:13 PM
Is this recent? Certainly wasn't the case when I was in prison.
I worked with the SPS for a while.
😂😂
31-07-2021, 06:49 AM
https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/politics/foreign-secretary-dominic-raab-takes-24655257.amp?__twitter_impression=true
Raab the latest to be called into question after a donation.
31-07-2021, 07:41 AM
https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/politics/foreign-secretary-dominic-raab-takes-24655257.amp?__twitter_impression=true
Raab the latest to be called into question after a donation.
Surely they're all being investigated by the police?
31-07-2021, 05:15 PM
https://twitter.com/digbylj/status/1421164856527437825?s=21
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210731/719d01d5072cac8c1bf621505bb27e1f.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210731/bf7278d021193bf204b49280f2a5cee2.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210731/dade2576c8f763aa96bbb96bd3955e3a.jpg
There’s a real level of entitled snobbery around at the moment
31-07-2021, 05:33 PM
It's just scary how out of touch these people are. This isn't a comment in private to one of his posh mates - he's put this out to the world on social media, presumably expecting everyone to agree with him.
We really are run by some right fannies.
31-07-2021, 05:40 PM
To be fair to the Conservative Party, this vacuous malignant **** of a man was only ever a minister under Gordon Browns Labour Government. Then spent the last 14 years sucking at the teat of the taxpayer as a life peer in the Lords.
31-07-2021, 05:45 PM
He should have given more examples of sports endin in in, to be clear what point he was makin.
Also, there should be a space between the end of one sentence and the beginnin of the next. (Or if you're Rees-Mogg, two spaces.)
What do you expect? They've won. The project started in the 80's to grab as much wealth as possible has ended with the rich being able to convince the poor that someone else is to blame for their ills. Now they have that much sway over popular opinion, they might as well start throwing their sense of entitlement about.
02-08-2021, 09:01 AM
https://amp.ft.com/content/4b922f07-9919-4648-915e-065011221906?__twitter_impression=true
02-08-2021, 01:16 PM
https://amp.ft.com/content/4b922f07-9919-4648-915e-065011221906?__twitter_impression=true
Paywall. Unwall please.
Stairway 2 7
02-08-2021, 10:43 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/PickardJE/status/1422180310003896320
Strong words from ft 👏
https://mobile.twitter.com/PickardJE/status/1422180310003896320
Strong words from ft 👏
Grabby, ego-drunk politicians and scheming industrialists. What can go wrong?
05-08-2021, 12:07 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/aug/04/covid-contracts-minister-lord-bethell-replaced-phone-before-it-could-be-searched
05-08-2021, 01:12 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/aug/04/covid-contracts-minister-lord-bethell-replaced-phone-before-it-could-be-searched
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSurely we should be holding mass rallies with the cry "lock them up"
05-08-2021, 04:38 PM
Tories break things a lot.
https://twitter.com/PoliDigitalUK/status/1422583677347786758
06-08-2021, 08:25 PM
Tories break things a lot.
https://twitter.com/PoliDigitalUK/status/1422583677347786758
Mental to think the government appear to be using burner phones.
06-08-2021, 09:36 PM
Mental to think the government appear to be using burner phones.
When you consider that they've spend over £163k over the last couple of years on flags, a few burner phones is acceptable. 🔥
07-08-2021, 07:50 AM
When you consider that they've spend over £163k over the last couple of years on flags, a few burner phones is acceptable. 🔥
Beat me to it
https://news.stv.tv/politics/spending-on-union-flags-flying-high-under-boris-johnson?top
Let the flag debate commence 🇬🇧🏴🏴🏴
Stairway 2 7
07-08-2021, 08:01 AM
Prick refuses to apologise for his thatcher coal mine comments. He was sipping champagne when people were struggling to eat in ex coal mining communities
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/read-this/communities-were-devastated-boris-johnson-criticised-for-crass-joke-praising-margaret-thatcher-closing-coal-mines-3336491
07-08-2021, 08:36 AM
Prick refuses to apologise for his thatcher coal mine comments. He was sipping champagne when people were struggling to eat in ex coal mining communities
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/read-this/communities-were-devastated-boris-johnson-criticised-for-crass-joke-praising-margaret-thatcher-closing-coal-mines-3336491
And still these communities voted tory.
07-08-2021, 08:51 AM
And the English electorate **** love it.
They love being bossed by their “betters”.
(Generally speaking).
08-08-2021, 10:09 AM
Sarah Vine writing in the mail on Sunday that Thatcher was well ahead of her time in shutting the coal mines in the 80s, she was doing this because of concern for the climate, and apparently ‘theLeft’ need to understand this. Michael Goves ex wife, so apparently serious comment :dunno: So this is now an actual Tory argument.
Like so many things they're rewriting history.
08-08-2021, 10:40 AM
BBC will de digging out all their old clips of Thatch being passionate about the environment.
08-08-2021, 10:45 AM
BBC will de digging out all their old clips of Thatch being passionate about the environment.
https://theecologist.org/2018/oct/17/who-drove-thatchers-climate-change-u-turn
I've done the job for them 😉
Stairway 2 7
08-08-2021, 11:22 AM
It's ****ing bizarre. I'm not sure if they are thick or they think we are, or both
08-08-2021, 11:26 AM
Aye, and she had the Belgrano sunk to provide an environment for endangered aquatic species.
08-08-2021, 11:26 AM
It's ****ing bizarre. I'm not sure if they are thick or they think we are, or both
Jury still out on people in England who keep returning them to power to be honest and on us for letting another country decide our leaders for us.
Lendo
08-08-2021, 11:29 AM
It’s so worrying just how little the truth matters any more.
Right-wingers are so keen to talk about “cancel culture” yet that is precisely what we are seeing here, rewriting history. The right wing sheep lap it up.
08-08-2021, 11:36 AM
I have it on good authority that Thatcher was more concerned with preventing the premature deaths of miners.
08-08-2021, 11:48 AM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9872911/amp/Boris-Johnson-lines-Michael-Gove-replace-Priti-Patel-Home-Secretary.html
Warning, contains disturbing images.
Lendo
08-08-2021, 12:00 PM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9872911/amp/Boris-Johnson-lines-Michael-Gove-replace-Priti-Patel-Home-Secretary.html
Warning, contains disturbing images.
Odd that migrant boats crossing the channel wasn’t an issue before Brexit.
It almost feels like we had a successful partnership with France in helping deal with these issues in a far safer way.
Sarah Vine writing in the mail on Sunday that Thatcher was well ahead of her time in shutting the coal mines in the 80s, she was doing this because of concern for the climate, and apparently ‘theLeft’ need to understand this. Michael Goves ex wife, so apparently serious comment :dunno: So this is now an actual Tory argument.That made me laugh, really takes the biscuit.
Any working person supporting this lot, either directly or indirectly, might as well get the smocks on, have a bit straw hanging out their mouths and get practicing their bowing, scraping and forelock touching.
08-08-2021, 12:53 PM
I have it on good authority that Thatcher was more concerned with preventing the premature deaths of miners.Yep, she sent well paid heavily armed police into assault them with foam filled truncheons so as to minimise injuries to just broken bones and cuts.
09-08-2021, 05:11 PM
Programme on this on BBC 1 tonight at 7.35pm
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-58149765
Programme on this on BBC 1 tonight at 7.35pm
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-58149765
A bare-faced con. Right in front of everyones eyes.
10-08-2021, 06:50 AM
A bare-faced con. Right in front of everyones eyes.
Presumably aired to distract from the bare-faced cons of the current incumbents? (I tried to watch but fell asleep halfway through, it all seemed so run-of-the-mill.)
10-08-2021, 06:32 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-58151615
She blew£37 billion (yes Billion with a b) pounds on a system that the Public Accounts Committee says ‘made no measureable impact’. Gets to step down from her role with another plum job waiting in the wings.
Just as well it wasn’t Corbyn in charge though.
10-08-2021, 07:14 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-58151615
She blew£37 billion (yes Billion with a b) pounds on a system that the Public Accounts Committee says ‘made no measureable impact’. Gets to step down from her role with another plum job waiting in the wings.
Just as well it wasn’t Corbyn in charge though.
It's an utterly incredible amount of money. I think the Channel Tunnel only cost £21 billion to complete.
10-08-2021, 08:41 PM
It's an utterly incredible amount of money. I think the Channel Tunnel only cost £21 billion to complete.
Thats a good comparison. But I like to think of it as £1 million. Multiplied by 37,000. Beyond comprehension. Also equivalent to somewhere in the region of half a million ‘council’ houses for the UKs homeless.
1 million seconds is 11 and a half days.
1 billion seconds is almost 32 years!
10-08-2021, 10:00 PM
Or nearly £560 pounds per man, woman and child, and that for what is basically an App.
10-08-2021, 10:26 PM
Or nearly £560 pounds per man, woman and child, and that for what is basically an App.
What I’d like to know is, who’s bank account is that £37bn sitting in now?
10-08-2021, 10:41 PM
BBC is far too busy reporting on ‘kids getting slightly better exam results than last year’ breaking news.
Only found out today why Dido's venture is always being referred to as "NHS Track and Trace".
"NHS Track and Trace" is the name given to it by the Govt even though it is a completely private enterprise and nothing to do with the NHS at all.
11-08-2021, 06:37 AM
Only found out today why Dido's venture is always being referred to as "NHS Track and Trace".
"NHS Track and Trace" is the name given to it by the Govt even though it is a completely private enterprise and nothing to do with the NHS at all.
Yes, it's all along been the UKGov's intention to imply that the massive public spend is on a public organisation, rather than public money being poured into chums'/party donors' pockets.
11-08-2021, 02:40 PM
I'd like to see the itemised bill.
11-08-2021, 06:21 PM
Father Ted’s.
11-08-2021, 06:29 PM
Any idea what the company is called?
Dido herself doesn't appear to be a director of anything, FWIW.
Any idea what the company is called?
Dido herself doesn't appear to be a director of anything, FWIW.
https://www.serco.com
11-08-2021, 07:12 PM
https://www.serco.com
Ta.
She's not on their Board either.
Ta.
From her wiki
Head of NHS Test and Trace
In office
7 May 2020 – 1 May 2021
Prime Minister Boris Johnson
Preceded by Office established
Succeeded by Jenny Harries
...also....
Chair of NHS Improvement
Incumbent
Assumed office
9 October 2017
On leave of absence since 17 June 2021,
with Sir Andrew Morris acting in the interim
Prime Minister Theresa May
Boris Johnson
Deputy Richard Douglas
Preceded by Ed Smith
So it seems she moved on, or back, or to the side - however it is they wangle it.
11-08-2021, 07:38 PM
Ta.
She’s pally with their ceo. There’s a horse racing clique involving Dido, Matt Hancock, Nicholas & Rupert Soames. Links explored here:
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/oct/21/government-covid-contracts-britain-nhs-corporate-executives-test-and-trace
The kicker is the govt’s “anti-corruption champion” John Penrose MP, aka Dido’s hubby.
13-08-2021, 06:50 PM
Interesting polling by yougov… such a stark difference.
Issues of concern for Tory voters,
Immigration 53%
Economy 52%
Health 44%
Issues of concern for Labour voters
Health 62%
Environment 45%
Economy 38%
21-08-2021, 09:17 PM
Tory lead down to 3% with Opinium.
**** knows how they have a lead, let alone anyone voting for them.
21-08-2021, 10:24 PM
Interesting polling by yougov… such a stark difference.
Issues of concern for Tory voters,
Immigration 53%
Economy 52%
Health 44%
Issues of concern for Labour voters
Health 62%
Environment 45%
Economy 38%
If immigration is your biggest concern at the moment you are a racist.
22-08-2021, 09:26 AM
Tory lead down to 3% with Opinium.
**** knows how they have a lead, let alone anyone voting for them.
8 point lead with you gov. Starmer has lower approval ratings than Corbyn, despite a favourable press. It’s not working.
https://yougov.co.uk/topics/politics/trackers/keir-starmer-approval-rating
23-08-2021, 01:26 PM
Johnson breaks the ministerial code yet again. Douglas Ross will be calling for his resignation I imagine?
https://www.businessinsider.com/boris-johnson-used-public-funds-hartlepool-campaign-spending-return-suggests-2021-8?amp&__twitter_impression=true
Johnson breaks the ministerial code yet again. Douglas Ross will be calling for his resignation I imagine?
https://www.businessinsider.com/boris-johnson-used-public-funds-hartlepool-campaign-spending-return-suggests-2021-8?amp&__twitter_impression=true
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkHo ho ho, Boris. What a funny chap he is etc etc.
Lendo
23-08-2021, 05:01 PM
He’s a tad busy just now being all homophobic and that.
Snow White, Superman and Pinocchio are walking along the road.
They see a sign: "Contest for World's Most Beautiful Woman." Snow White goes in, later comes out smiling, wearing a crown.
They walk along and see another sign: "Contest for World's Strongest Man." Superman goes in, later comes out smiling, wearing the belt.
They walk along and see a sign: "Contest for World's Greatest Liar." Pinocchio says "This one's for me", goes in, later comes out with his head down crying. "Who the hell is Boris Johnston?" Pinocchio sobs.
26-08-2021, 08:20 AM
The Home Office admitted that callers to its emergency Afghan aid hotline had been redirected to a washing machine repair company 🤦
https://t.co/H6YYMMrSgz
You couldn't make it up!!!!