View Full Version : Tories are still lying *******s

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

19-06-2022, 06:06 PM
He's brought the whole idea of standards in public office crashing down in the space of a few years. He's destroying democracy and some sections of the press seem complicit.

We sometimes read about other countries and how their media are controlled, it's the same here. Look at how Corbyn was treated compared to Johnson.

A very good point, and just imagine how the Tory supporting press would treat a Labour prime minister who did exactly the same as Bozo: would the coverage be the same? No, of course not; the Tory press would be in a frenzy, telling their readers the country is on the brink of total collapse, due to a totally corrupt and incompetent PM.

19-06-2022, 10:00 PM
A very good point, and just imagine how the Tory supporting press would treat a Labour prime minister who did exactly the same as Bozo: would the coverage be the same? No, of course not; the Tory press would be in a frenzy, telling their readers the country is on the brink of total collapse, due to a totally corrupt and incompetent PM.

i often look at the english edition of the mail online and all their right wing journalists they have were relentlessly going after the MP's that dared to vote against Johnson, i include that Dan Hodges you mentioned a few posts back, Dorries let slip the Tory donors demanded Johnson stays, doesn't take a rocket scientist to work out why the mullti-millionaires that don't pay taxes in the UK want a vile repugnant disheveled pathological bare-faced liar like Johnson as the front man. they're not true journalists they're just there to do the bidding for their UK tax-dodging owners, or else they're out of a job.

20-06-2022, 08:24 AM
i often look at the english edition of the mail online and all their right wing journalists they have were relentlessly going after the MP's that dared to vote against Johnson, i include that Dan Hodges you mentioned a few posts back, Dorries let slip the Tory donors demanded Johnson stays, doesn't take a rocket scientist to work out why the mullti-millionaires that don't pay taxes in the UK want a vile repugnant disheveled pathological bare-faced liar like Johnson as the front man. they're not true journalists they're just there to do the bidding for their UK tax-dodging owners, or else they're out of a job.It makes it interesting as to why this isn't all over the UK press and appears to only be reported in other countries.....

https://twitter.com/jane__bradley/status/1524647337557172225?t=qx0qvktOJV6gSxu5mQe_og&s=19

Stairway 2 7
20-06-2022, 02:42 PM
High on my list of things I didn't expect to see, would be Trevor noah doing a whole bit on his US show defending the Rwanda plan. He's obviously wrong, I think because he's just seeing it from the prism of an African.

https://youtu.be/NTrSTq7fJwA

20-06-2022, 03:58 PM
So #10 admits it asked the Times to pull the '£100,000 job for Carrie' story. And the editors just obediently carried out the instruction, despite the journalist standing by the story.

No 10 confirms it asked the Times to drop Carrie Johnson story | Carrie Johnson | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jun/20/no-10-confirms-asked-the-times-drop-carrie-johnson-story)

Its the kind of thing we used to point and laugh at other countries about.

20-06-2022, 04:39 PM
So #10 admits it asked the Times to pull the '£100,000 job for Carrie' story. And the editors just obediently carried out the instruction, despite the journalist standing by the story.

No 10 confirms it asked the Times to drop Carrie Johnson story | Carrie Johnson | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jun/20/no-10-confirms-asked-the-times-drop-carrie-johnson-story)

Its the kind of thing we used to point and laugh at other countries about.

Hard to see what #10 hoped to gain by doing this. Obviously not suppressing the story, which was already reported in Ashcroft's book anyway. Diversion from Partygate, I suppose. Just have a new scandal a day, every day, and the biggest one will come to seem less bigly.

20-06-2022, 06:20 PM

Its the kind of thing we used to point and laugh at other countries about.Why bother?

Look at the gig he got Jennifer Arcuri and who paid for it and no one actually bothered enough for it to make a difference, and he's "moved on" to the next nasty party supported ****show.

20-06-2022, 06:31 PM
As with every party, there are different reasons why people vote for them. I've just been thinking, and I don't think I even know anyone who votes Tory; even the unionist Jambos I know wouldn't vote for them. I'm sure some people vote for them because they believe the Tories are better at managing the economy or stronger on law and order, for example. That's fair enough; everyone will have their own views on the issues. The Tories I cannot abide are the nasty pieces of work, such as those who love the Rwanda policy, for example, or love the idea of kicking needy people off welfare. The Sun/Daily Mail types who thinks Tory governments can never be too cruel, and are filled with anger, fear and misanthropy. The type Teresa May called the nasty party.

I think Scottish Tories largely tend to be more moderate centre-right types, not the swivel eyed loons of the Tory heartlands. Of course the exception are the Sevconians; the Tories amongst them seem to think being as right wing as possible is being staunchly British. Bigotry comes naturally to them.There will be a lot of people who vote tory but are just too embarrassed to admit it.

20-06-2022, 07:51 PM
He's brought the whole idea of standards in public office crashing down in the space of a few years. He's destroying democracy and some sections of the press seem complicit.

We sometimes read about other countries and how their media are controlled, it's the same here. Look at how Corbyn was treated compared to Johnson.

Even the bbc and channel 4 now afraid to air the truth. We are becoming like a third world dictatorship where truth stopped being told a long time ago. Genuinely disgusted in how all the reasonable tories are willing to keep quiet knowing lynton cosby is funding the tearing down of democracy to stay in power. My dad will be raging up there about it. Tragic.

20-06-2022, 09:21 PM
Even the bbc and channel 4 now afraid to air the truth. We are becoming like a third world dictatorship where truth stopped being told a long time ago. Genuinely disgusted in how all the reasonable tories are willing to keep quiet knowing lynton cosby is funding the tearing down of democracy to stay in power. My dad will be raging up there about it. Tragic.

The reasonable Tories were booted out at the last election, and aren't keeping that quiet. Gauke and Grieve especially.

21-06-2022, 07:50 AM
Why bother?

Look at the gig he got Jennifer Arcuri and who paid for it and no one actually bothered enough for it to make a difference, and he's "moved on" to the next nasty party supported ****show.

Laura Kuennsberg Translator pointing out that the £100,000 job is actually an equality issue. If he forked out public cash for one mistress (Arcuri in 2016) he’s clearly obligated to come to the same settlement with the one he ended up marrying :agree: it almost makes moral sense these days :greengrin

21-06-2022, 09:22 AM
https://twitter.com/markjenkinsonmp/status/1539136883678412800

Another thick as **** Tory lowlife doesn’t realise that he’s actually on the government benches, or so it would seem.

21-06-2022, 09:33 AM

Another thick as **** Tory lowlife doesn’t realise that he’s actually on the government benches, or so it would seem.He knows his audience and they will lap it up.

21-06-2022, 09:38 AM

Another thick as **** Tory lowlife doesn’t realise that he’s actually on the government benches, or so it would seem.

Possibly one of the most comical examples of a lack of self-awareness I think I've ever seen.

21-06-2022, 10:19 AM
Very apt for the thread.

https://twitter.com/HUncaring/status/1539004459212230658

Stairway 2 7
21-06-2022, 10:19 AM
Tories are looking to end eu caps on ceo wages. Taking the piss and people still aren't going mad

https://mobile.twitter.com/theipaper/status/1538946339396009990

No 10 planning to tear up restrictions on City bosses' pay amid cost of living crisis

21-06-2022, 10:24 AM
Tories are looking to end eu caps on ceo wages. Taking the piss and people still aren't going mad

https://mobile.twitter.com/theipaper/status/1538946339396009990

No 10 planning to tear up restrictions on City bosses' pay amid cost of living crisis

Is there a version that's not behind a paywall?

Mr Grieves
21-06-2022, 11:01 AM
Various Tory MPs attempting to deflect the blame for the network rail strikes onto Labour and the SNP :rolleyes:

https://twitter.com/AndrewBowie_MP/status/1539143098256830465?t=6ZOKtCEgeqtN3Khkh1WScQ&s=19

https://twitter.com/markjenkinsonmp/status/1539136883678412800?t=1c-rt5VRnE-LxGljRWYbeQ&s=19

https://twitter.com/JamesCleverly/status/1539011074112073728?t=JBcxV1_hxFdKpnzw1wz2dg&s=19

21-06-2022, 11:54 AM

Aw no way, what a fool :lolrangers:

21-06-2022, 11:55 AM
Various Tory MPs attempting to deflect the blame for the network rail strikes onto Labour and the SNP :rolleyes:

https://twitter.com/AndrewBowie_MP/status/1539143098256830465?t=6ZOKtCEgeqtN3Khkh1WScQ&s=19

https://twitter.com/markjenkinsonmp/status/1539136883678412800?t=1c-rt5VRnE-LxGljRWYbeQ&s=19

https://twitter.com/JamesCleverly/status/1539011074112073728?t=JBcxV1_hxFdKpnzw1wz2dg&s=19

Priceless. James Cleverly calls it the ‘Labour supported Rail Strike’ when the one thing Labour definitely AREN’T doing is, y’know, supporting it. So then there’s a pattern of accuse, deny, accuse, deny, and the act of supporting this totally justified action which aims to PROTECT this vital service which makes life better for ALL of us becomes tainted by association, like supporting a strike is something to be ashamed of. And Mandelstarmers office shudders and trembles in fear of what the press might say about him next, so he puts up another Union Jack behind his head in his press conference in hope that they’ll go easier on him.

And the world moves in an ever rightward trajectory…

21-06-2022, 12:17 PM
Stagflation and falling living standards

https://youtu.be/aZjYO8eZS-c

21-06-2022, 12:25 PM
Priceless. James Cleverly calls it the ‘Labour supported Rail Strike’ when the one thing Labour definitely AREN’T doing is, y’know, supporting it. So then there’s a pattern of accuse, deny, accuse, deny, and the act of supporting this totally justified action which aims to PROTECT this vital service which makes life better for ALL of us becomes tainted by association, like supporting a strike is something to be ashamed of. And Mandelstarmers office shudders and trembles in fear of what the press might say about him next, so he puts up another Union Jack behind his head in his press conference in hope that they’ll go easier on him.

And the world moves in an ever rightward trajectory…

The agenda is now creeping towards removing the right to strike for public services. Another tick in the box on the route to fascism.

The current Labour Party are a ****ing joke, Starmer should be out handing out drinks to the strikers but instead he's got his Teflon suit on.

Stairway 2 7
21-06-2022, 12:26 PM
Is there a version that's not behind a paywall?

No 10 planning to tear up restrictions on City bosses’ pay amid cost of living crisis
EXCLUSIVELeaked letter from PM’s chief of staff to Rishi Sunak sets out plan to end ‘burden on business’ of restrictions on directors’ pay

Downing Street has asked ministers to ease restrictions on City bosses’ pay in a bid to show overseas companies the “benefits of Brexit”, i can reveal.
Steve Barclay, the Prime Minister’s chief of staff, wrote to Chancellor Rishi Sunak with a plan for “deregulatory measures to reduce the overall burden on business” and attract more firms to the UK.
One key plank of the plan included “removing restrictions on director (and specifically NED [non-executive director]) remuneration as suggested by the London Stock Exchange Group to improve London’s attractiveness for listings”.
But with the cost of living crisis and a squeeze on earnings hitting millions of ordinary workers, the proposal may spark controversy.
It followed intense talks between the PM’s Minister for Policy Andrew Griffith, the No 10 Policy Unit, Business Secretary Kwasi Kwarteng and Minister for Brexit Opportunities Jacob Rees-Mogg.
A copy of the confidential letter from Cabinet Office minister Mr Barclay to the Chancellor has been seen by i. It says: “I trust you’ll agree this is a more proportionate regulatory response and reflective of the new approach to regulation outlined in the ‘Benefits of Brexit’ publication in January.”
The letter, written following a cross-Whitehall “write-round” consultation conducted by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy [BEIS] on audit and corporate governance, made clear it was “setting out the terms” for wider reform.
It states that “as part of this announcement, I request that the Secretary of State [for Business, Mr Kwarteng] outlines further deregulatory measures to reduce the overall burden on business”, and then refers explicitly to the need to change curbs on bosses’ pay.

Current rules on corporate pay stem from the UK’s previous membership of the European Union, many of which were imposed after the 2008 financial crisis.
It is understood that among the changes being considered by BEIS is amending the UK corporate governance code to allow non-executive directors – outsiders who oversee pay packages – to own more shares in that company.
Backers of the idea say that it would allow independent directors to show they are “fully invested” in the success of the firm, but critics warn it would create possible conflicts of interest.
The current EU rules also include a cap on bonus pay, set at no more than 100 per cent of fixed pay or double that with explicit shareholder approval.
The rules also include “clawback” arrangements in case a firm finds reason to recall any salary, and the power of shareholders to know the details of and approve directors’ pay packages.
The Government announced on May 31 that there were “risks in prescribing a one-size-fits-all approach for every remuneration committee to follow”. Such committees should be allowed to design and enforce their clawback polices “so that they can be tailored to a company’s specific circumstances.”
Some City firms have called for the EU bonus cap rules to be ditched as they fear losing out to financial centres like New York. Last year Mr Sunak resisted such pressure, but the Prime Minister has long been a critic, ever since he lobbied against the original rules when he was Mayor of London.
Back in 2012, Mr Johnson said that the bonus cap was “deluded” and “self-defeating” because it would drive business to financial centres outside the EU.
“This is possibly the most deluded measure to come from Europe since Diocletian tried to fix the price of groceries across the Roman Empire,” the then Mayor said.
Mr Barclay’s letter, dated May 9, was addressed to the Chancellor as the chair of the Cabinet’s Domestic and Economy Implementation sub-committee.

Public outrage over bankers’ pay followed complaints that the financial crisis was caused in part by payments that encouraged financiers to take massive risks with their own firms and with the global economy.
However, in recent months banker bonuses have soared to levels last seen during the 2008 crisis.
Bonuses in the financial and insurance sector grew by 27.9 per cent over the last year, while average wages in the same period grew by just 4.2 per cent. Some £6bn was paid out in City bonuses in March alone.
Last week, the Office for National Statistics revealed that average regular pay fell by 2.2 per cent, the biggest drop in a decade.
A spokesperson for BEIS said that it was looking to strengthen the rules on clawing back bonuses from directors if their company collapses, to stamp out “rewards for failure”.
However, it was also “exploring whether there are any unnecessary restrictions on paying non-executive directors in shares, which could ensure they are fully invested in the success of the company they run”. The spokesperson added: “If the company does well, directors do well.”
The Treasury and Cabinet Office refused to comment, claiming that BEIS was the lead department on the issue. The London Stock Exchange also refused to comment.
Baroness Smith, Labour’s leader in the House of Lords, seized on the Barclay letter during a Government statement on the rail strikes.
Ministers were “telling those who are working that you must have wage restraint”, she said. “Does it not seem hypocritical to be saying to the City that those curbs that have been in place are being removed?”
“It comes back to [this]: the Government seems to think the rules are for other people, and not for them and their friends,” she said.
Shadow Business Secretary Jonathan Reynolds added: “It’s the hallmark of a Government that lurches from crisis to crisis that instead of giving businesses real certainty, they’re looking down the sofa for random ideas.
“If this is what an audit review of four years, three consultations and thousands of pounds of taxpayers money has given us, it’s clear the Tories are incapable of governing.”

21-06-2022, 12:33 PM
Thanks for that

It seems that it's not about lifting restrictions on "pay", which don't actually exist in the EU, but about bonuses (which do exist)

Just as reprehensible, IMO, but you can see how this might be spun in all sorts of ways.

21-06-2022, 01:12 PM
Head of the RMT calls Tory a liar to his face; Tory won't look him in the eye.

https://youtu.be/OrluNy8qUzU

21-06-2022, 02:02 PM
Head of the RMT calls Tory a liar to his face; Tory won't look him in the eye.

https://youtu.be/OrluNy8qUzU

I watched that last night as it unfolded. What that clip doesn't show is Wark giving the Tory minister Chris Philp a full minute to put his case at the end, with no right of reply by the RMT leader. Philp was a peculiar combination of aggressive and scared at the same time (like a school swot attempting to be the school bully) but it was total soft glove treatment from Wark. Mick Lynch does look slightly menacing so she might just have felt protective of the puir wee soul of course.

21-06-2022, 06:19 PM
Best part of the clip is Tory Boy trying to talk over Lynch repeatedly and the attempted interruptions just being totally ignored.

You can see that both frightens and bewilders him. An entitled little twonk used to getting his own way trying and failing to bully someone.

Stairway 2 7
21-06-2022, 09:04 PM
@RussInCheshire
·

Fixing strikes is Labour's job
Fixing Brexit is the EU's job
Fixing inflation is Putin's job
Fixing cost of living is workers' job
Fixing housing is immigrants' job
And fixing immigration is Rwanda's job

But we have to keep Boris, cos he gets things done

Lendo
21-06-2022, 09:43 PM
Paul Dacre to be made a member of the House of Lords, two days after the Carrie story disappears from the papers……

22-06-2022, 08:11 AM
https://twitter.com/peterstefanovi2/status/1539512621610811393?s=21&t=rZifyC3__ugLizyErkH0Mg

This account is worth watching, frequently used facts to debunk Tory lies.

Shows exactly why pointing to something that was said at the Tory Conference as evidence of their policy is utterly laughable.

22-06-2022, 10:48 AM
The wife of one of Putins's former finance ministers gave the Tory Party £30,000 on Monday night for a 'wine tasting session'.

What is it that really, really rich Russian people linked with Putin find so attractive about the Conservative Party given the mess they are making of the country? - clue is in the question.

https://twitter.com/johnestevens/status/1539369523211534337?t=9j5fzFj6EuU2JLwzV4Il-A&s=19

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Stairway 2 7
22-06-2022, 12:31 PM
The wife of one of Putins's former finance ministers gave the Tory Party £30,000 on Monday night for a 'wine tasting session'.

What is it that really, really rich Russian people linked with Putin find so attractive about the Conservative Party given the mess they are making of the country? - clue is in the question.

https://twitter.com/johnestevens/status/1539369523211534337?t=9j5fzFj6EuU2JLwzV4Il-A&s=19

As mutch as I hate Putin and the tories. We have to be careful not to be xenophobic against anyone Russian.

She left for America when a young teen then spent all her adulthood in the uk. The husband was a minister for the previous president. He then had to flee the country decades ago in fear of Putin. He's condemned the war and called for more sanctions.

We can't tar all Russians because of Putin. It just happens to be that these to are rich tory *****, but that is unlinked to putin.

22-06-2022, 12:41 PM
As mutch as I hate Putin and the tories. We have to be careful not to be xenophobic against anyone Russian.

She left for America when a young teen then spent all her adulthood in the uk. The husband was a minister for the previous president. He then had to flee the country decades ago in fear of Putin. He's condemned the war and called for more sanctions.

We can't tar all Russians because of Putin. It just happens to be that these to are rich tory *****, but that is unlinked to putin.

Not meaning to appear xenophobic but any money taken out of Russia into another country has to be ok'd by Putin. If they still have assets in Russia they only have that because Putin allows them to.

Whatever their story ie "fleeing the country" has to be questioned.

I couldn't care less if they Inuits or Martians. Something stinks that so many Russians and people connected with Russia want to finance this version of the Tory Party and thought so before any invasion.

22-06-2022, 12:42 PM
Burley desperate to paint striking railway workers as thugs

https://youtu.be/JiYYxT3l-QI

22-06-2022, 12:52 PM

https://youtu.be/JiYYxT3l-QIThatcher playbook. Police attacking pickets was portrayed as pickets attacking police.

https://twitter.com/MrDaveyWilliams/status/1538277972423102465?t=i0czjLnkMBjvFTNtt57KDg&s=19

Stairway 2 7
22-06-2022, 12:54 PM
Not meaning to appear xenophobic but any money taken out of Russia into another country has to be ok'd by Putin. If they still have assets in Russia they only have that because Putin allows them to.

Whatever their story ie "fleeing the country" has to be questioned.

I couldn't care less if they Inuits or Martians. Something stinks that so many Russians and people connected with Russia want to finance this version of the Tory Party and thought so before any invasion.

She left when 15 for America and made her millions at jp Morgan she never took it out of Russia. He was loyal to kasyanov the ex president and one of putins biggest critic, who has now defected to Ukraine.

They have been critics of Putin years before the war. They are both horrible individuals mind you and massive donors unfortunately

22-06-2022, 01:00 PM

https://youtu.be/JiYYxT3l-QI

If you think that's bad (and it is, extremely) wait until you see the Piers Morgan one. Christ on a ****** bike.

22-06-2022, 01:24 PM
She left when 15 for America and made her millions at jp Morgan she never took it out of Russia. He was loyal to kasyanov the ex president and one of putins biggest critic, who has now defected to Ukraine.

They have been critics of Putin years before the war. They are both horrible individuals mind you and massive donors unfortunatelyFair door, still not trusting them though.

Stairway 2 7
22-06-2022, 01:32 PM
Fair door, still not trusting them though.

Yeah in this case I wouldn't. He may dislike Putin but did put 2 million into the tories and pushed for deregulation of the banks. I think alot of these **** like Boris ect too have no ties to anyone. It's constant self preservation whether that is at the cost of their friends or the poor they don't care

stu in nottingham
22-06-2022, 02:15 PM

And Marxists.

I like the cut of Mick Lynch's jib.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QB4M4ugvaVg&ab_channel=GoodMorningBritain

22-06-2022, 03:25 PM
If you think that's bad (and it is, extremely) wait until you see the Piers Morgan one. Christ on a ****** bike.

The Morgan one was astonishing, really pathetic. Almost laughable that it's the level of discussion that we're fed on a major issue.

Want to understand the underlying issue? No chance, we're having a discussion about Thunderbirds.

This is what we up against, **** them all - sooner we separate ourselves from these clowns (not the c-word I was thinking of, tbf), the better.

22-06-2022, 03:26 PM
And Marxists.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QB4M4ugvaVg&ab_channel=GoodMorningBritain

Its so refreshing to hear some of this nonsense formally challenged. 'These redundancies could be done mostly voluntarily, for members over 60 who don't want to work!' 'No, they are ALL statutory redundancy notices, which means we have to consider them compulsory by definition'. 'You fund the Labour Party!' 'No we don't, we're not affiliated with the labour party' 'Your problem is you cant get Labour on side!' 'No, the problem is Labour cant get working class people onside'.

22-06-2022, 03:36 PM

So what do you think she'll get for her 30 grand donation to the tory party?

Stairway 2 7
22-06-2022, 03:43 PM
So what do you think she'll get for her 30 grand donation to the tory party?

She already gave 2 million to them. The ending of limits on bonuses will be music to her ears though. The same as all there other big business donors to the tories, make sure your looking after us millionaires in these hard times

22-06-2022, 03:57 PM
Best part of the clip is Tory Boy trying to talk over Lynch repeatedly and the attempted interruptions just being totally ignored.

You can see that both frightens and bewilders him. An entitled little twonk used to getting his own way trying and failing to bully someone.

There's nothing more baffling to a toff than an oink who doesn't know his place.

22-06-2022, 04:03 PM
Its so refreshing to hear some of this nonsense formally challenged. 'These redundancies could be done mostly voluntarily, for members over 60 who don't want to work!' 'No, they are ALL statutory redundancy notices, which means we have to consider them compulsory by definition'. 'You fund the Labour Party!' 'No we don't, we're not affiliated with the labour party' 'Your problem is you cant get Labour on side!' 'No, the problem is Labour cant get working class people onside'.

He’s been a breath of fresh air.

Exactly the type of character the Labour Party could have done with having in a prominent role in recent years calling out all the pish from the Tories, the media and others.

Funny how well you can come across if you think, listen, remain patient and polite, firm and simply don’t tolerate being manipulated.

22-06-2022, 04:38 PM
This is brilliant

https://youtu.be/r7cfPFaGxkA

22-06-2022, 05:29 PM
And Marxists.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QB4M4ugvaVg&ab_channel=GoodMorningBritainH ere's a wee compilation of some of his finer moments. The one with the Labour MP made me chuckle.

https://youtu.be/cgSUpyo86ZI

stu in nottingham
22-06-2022, 05:43 PM
Here's a wee compilation of some of his finer moments. The one with the Labour MP made me chuckle.

I particulary enjoyed the Kay Burley interview. He absolutely slayed her and she knew it. So happy to see somebody who is unfailingly ignorant, rude and offensive put back in her box. With ease as well.

22-06-2022, 05:54 PM
So what do you think she'll get for her 30 grand donation to the tory party?As Stairway says she has given far more than that. She'll get her wine tasting, access to some toffs so she schmooze, access to Tory MPs, a say in Conservative Party policy and a lever she can pull if the Tory backbenchers don't play nice (as witnessed when Nadine Dorries told Tory MPs doners were threatening to withdraw funds if the recent VONC went against The Gibbon.)

I'll take it at face value what Stairway says re her disconnect with Putin but that is not provable with the likes Lebedev, who was also palying footsie at the fund raiser on Monday.

What do you think the likes of him, the billionaire son of a KGB agent, gets out of giving them money?

22-06-2022, 05:55 PM
Here's a wee compilation of some of his finer moments. The one with the Labour MP made me chuckle.

There is obviously an element of enjoyment in watching 2nd rate politicians and patsy journos getting ridiculed by a man who isn't intimidated or overawed by them.

There is a key point in that montage though that should be repeated. Railway workers should not be vilified for being organised, represented by a strong union and largely United behind this action. There seems to be something close to jealousy that they are able to demand good pay and conditions for their members. Rather than being upset by or jealous of that people should be asking why they don't have the same representation and protection. More people need to be seeking union membership and fighting for their own rights as a collective.

That's a living nightmare for the Tories and their acolytes.

Stairway 2 7
22-06-2022, 06:05 PM
As Stairway says she has given far more than that. She'll get her wine tasting, access to some toffs so she schmooze, access to Tory MPs, a say in Conservative Party policy and a lever she can pull if the Tory backbenchers don't play nice (as witnessed when Nadine Dorries told Tory MPs doners were threatening to withdraw funds if the recent VONC went against The Gibbon.)

I'll take it at face value what Stairway says re her disconnect with Putin but that is not provable with the likes Lebedev, who was also palying footsie at the fund raiser on Monday.

What do you think the likes of him, the billionaire son of a KGB agent, gets out of giving them money?

Oh no her husband is very much the exception to prove the rule, in that he was anti Putin. Tories were well and truly infiltrated and probably easily. As its easy to manipulate a greedy pig who only cares about getting his food.

To the point you made about the vonc and donors. How the **** was that not front page news that the tories are openly controlled by who pays enough, just scandalous

22-06-2022, 06:06 PM
There is obviously an element of enjoyment in watching 2nd rate politicians and patsy journos getting ridiculed by a man who isn't intimidated or overawed by them.

There is a key point in that montage though that should be repeated. Railway workers should not be vilified for being organised, represented by a strong union and largely United behind this action. There seems to be something close to jealousy that they are able to demand good pay and conditions for their members. Rather than being upset by or jealous of that people should be asking why they don't have the same representation and protection. More people need to be seeking union membership and fighting for their own rights as a collective.

The miners were generally the best paid workers in their communities too. Rinse and repeat…

Stairway 2 7
22-06-2022, 06:07 PM

Railway workers unfortunately for them are the first ones to put there head up so getting it both barrels from press and politicians. Their bravery will help many others

22-06-2022, 06:07 PM
As Stairway says she has given far more than that. She'll get her wine tasting, access to some toffs so she schmooze, access to Tory MPs, a say in Conservative Party policy and a lever she can pull if the Tory backbenchers don't play nice (as witnessed when Nadine Dorries told Tory MPs doners were threatening to withdraw funds if the recent VONC went against The Gibbon.)

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkA wee game of tennis with Bozo? Circa £160k?

22-06-2022, 06:20 PM

As a Union Rep in the Civil Service I am very jealous that the RMT have managed to unite and fight. We have tried a few times but to me it was half hearted and badly led. We will get another chance this year. Hopefully where the RMat and other lead the rest can follow. There is a wealth grab ongoing and workers are so used to accepting poor treatment they have lost the anger and desire needed to get back what has been lost. I feel we are at a huge turning point. If Unions don't win disputes this year bosses, helped by Tories ripping up rights, will go after workers terms, conditions and wages.

23-06-2022, 01:14 PM
i very seldom watch Terrestrial TV, i take it Mike Lynch was interviewed by piers morgan ? anyways...Mike Lynch apparently changed his fb profile pic to this, think she gets her sentence next tuesday

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/290010097_10226630695408931_5427826850827154307_n. jpg?_nc_cat=104&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=IljoIuExXbwAX9IqozU&tn=vIvSFNl06GFFe0Qb&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT_GiRUvM88pS4a2aF7zJSl6JWJ5H4VXXOwnGYBYJgRZ 5Q&oe=62B90D36

23-06-2022, 01:19 PM
i very seldom watch Terrestrial TV, i take it Mike Lynch was interviewed by piers morgan ? anyways...Mike Lynch apparently changed his fb profile pic to this, think she gets her sentence next tuesday

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/290010097_10226630695408931_5427826850827154307_n. jpg?_nc_cat=104&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=IljoIuExXbwAX9IqozU&tn=vIvSFNl06GFFe0Qb&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT_GiRUvM88pS4a2aF7zJSl6JWJ5H4VXXOwnGYBYJgRZ 5Q&oe=62B90D36

That’s brilliant. Mick Lynch is great. It’s taken too long for someone to have a pop back at these media people

23-06-2022, 02:05 PM
Liar Liar

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/288732777_5295110070545781_5302837205908183675_n.j pg?_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=t9J3YYh97bcAX9MkZta&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT-tbUq0ZI4_U3ZDLb6piz2u8PjpO-zIuHdrl2HIRebqsw&oe=62B9B2CC

Andy Bee
23-06-2022, 02:09 PM

I watched the interview with Piers Morgan, he basically spent the whole interview on why Mick Lynch had The Hood as his profile pic rather than talking about the actual reason he should of been there for i.e. rail strikes. When Morgan asked if Mick Lynch thought of himself as The Hood, an evil dictator trying to take over the world, Mick replied "The Hood is a 1960's puppet made out of vinyl Piers, I have the pic because The Hood is bald with big eyebrows, see the similarities Piers, it's a joke between me and my friends". It was all a bit cringe TBH.

23-06-2022, 02:10 PM

That's brilliant. Lynch's previous picture was a lookalike of his - a Thunderbirds puppet, and Morgan was astonished Lynch would have an evil character from a kids show as his picture. It was just crazy. I wonder if Morgan will be so outraged by the new picture :greengrin

23-06-2022, 02:20 PM
That’s brilliant. Mick Lynch is great. It’s taken too long for someone to have a pop back at these media people

I watched the interview with Piers Morgan, he basically spent the whole interview on why Mick Lynch had The Hood as his profile pic rather than talking about the actual reason he should of been there for i.e. rail strikes. When Morgan asked if Mick Lynch thought of himself as The Hood, an evil dictator trying to take over the world, Mick replied "The Hood is a 1960's puppet made out of vinyl Piers, I have the pic because The Hood is bald with big eyebrows, see the similarities Piers, it's a joke between me and my friends". It was all a bit cringe TBH.

That's brilliant. Lynch's previous picture was a lookalike of his - a Thunderbirds puppet, and Morgan was astonished Lynch would have an evil character from a kids show as his picture. It was just crazy. I wonder if Morgan will be so outraged by the new picture :greengrin

apologies chaps, that is apparently photoshoped :rolleyes:

https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/te8/1/16/1f451.pnghttps://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/t4b/1/16/1f5fd.pnghttps://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/tca/1/16/1f684.png "God bless Mick Lynch and all who sail him" https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/t7c/1/16/26f5.pnghttps://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/tfe/1/16/1f44f.png
#MickLynch4PM (https://www.facebook.com/hashtag/micklynch4pm?__eep__=6&__cft__[0]=AZXP55c1gI4Rqh-9ku-YlydjDjoMaGeVY4Iu1hUILguloBgnJXLnn-PnXvKt8iaw8XmnGqqd8wrA0JFNEy-spPWxNBXEa11ayDqaczUdCqJEMlhsMDi931teIODGQcuSuJGJd YoPdxaxHg-0a1OPBWuYCalcLAqbNS1KBxodcLwAO5t9aUd3zFp3KI6xjtjub dSwufDcZljhs4vojDACy7Qs&__tn__=*NK-y-R)

Edit* Apparently it's has photoshoped, (though still an awesome idea whoever did it).

but this one at Glastonbury is Real :greengrin
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/287632246_5294474080609380_4015660439473193876_n.j pg?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=iqaPy7yKFP4AX-ijrT9&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT9Fj6ia3fI-MoIxM48nwRpiM2RWiaRRgsLXEmUWPNypfQ&oe=62B944FC

stu in nottingham
23-06-2022, 02:28 PM

Ha! A picture worth more than a thousand words!

Just watched that Piers Morgan interview, an absolute car crash. Morgan has completely lost his way it seems, no wonder his viewing figures have dwindled to three people and a dog (under duress).

Pathetic doesn't cover it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5r4P3CFfYh0&ab_channel=PoliticsJOE

23-06-2022, 02:33 PM
Ha! A picture worth more than a thousand words!

Just watched that Piers Morgan interview, an absolute car crash. Morgan has completely lost his way it seems, no wonder his viewing figures have dwindled to three people and a dog (under duress).

Pathetic doesn't cover it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5r4P3CFfYh0&ab_channel=PoliticsJOE

jesus wept ta just watched that clip, the tory-owned media are desperate to find some way to bring him down

23-06-2022, 02:46 PM
apologies chaps, that is apparently photoshoped :rolleyes:

https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/te8/1/16/1f451.pnghttps://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/t4b/1/16/1f5fd.pnghttps://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/tca/1/16/1f684.png "God bless Mick Lynch and all who sail him" https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/t7c/1/16/26f5.pnghttps://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/tfe/1/16/1f44f.png
#MickLynch4PM (https://www.facebook.com/hashtag/micklynch4pm?__eep__=6&__cft__[0]=AZXP55c1gI4Rqh-9ku-YlydjDjoMaGeVY4Iu1hUILguloBgnJXLnn-PnXvKt8iaw8XmnGqqd8wrA0JFNEy-spPWxNBXEa11ayDqaczUdCqJEMlhsMDi931teIODGQcuSuJGJd YoPdxaxHg-0a1OPBWuYCalcLAqbNS1KBxodcLwAO5t9aUd3zFp3KI6xjtjub dSwufDcZljhs4vojDACy7Qs&__tn__=*NK-y-R)

Edit* Apparently it's has photoshoped, (though still an awesome idea whoever did it).

but this one at Glastonbury is Real :greengrin
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/287632246_5294474080609380_4015660439473193876_n.j pg?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=iqaPy7yKFP4AX-ijrT9&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT9Fj6ia3fI-MoIxM48nwRpiM2RWiaRRgsLXEmUWPNypfQ&oe=62B944FC

No worries. Still got a good laugh anyway.

23-06-2022, 02:58 PM
I think the reaction to Mike Lynch from all parts of the political spectrum highlights how rare it is to hear a genuine, intelligent, articulate working class voice on TV. You can see why those on the right find that quite frightening.

Working class people are often portrayed in the worst possible way on TV. Bear baiting on the Jeremy Kyle show, the poverty porn of shows about people on benefits or the hugely entertaining spectacle of people sobbing as bailiffs remove their possessions from their homes. Part of the issue is that so many people who find themselves working in the media, TV and print, are privately educated and have no real lived experience of your average working person. Listen to a show like Desert island Discs and the documentary makers, writers, producers etc etc all rattle of the same few schools and universities (there's nothing wrong with people aspiring to go to top class universities of course). There is hard data to back this up too, a Create London and Art Emergency study found just 12% of people working across TV, film and radio had a socio-economic background that could be described as working class. How is that representative of the make up of a country with a 70M population? Of course there are exceptions; people like John Sullivan, Shane Meadows, Caroline Aherne and Paul Abbot have created shows that don't sugar coat the realities of working class or sub working class Britain but paint a picture of one or more of aspiration, familial love, heart, community spirit.

Media is often a closed shop, if you can't afford to be paid in 'experience' then you can't often can't afford to get started at all. It's little wonder young people are so taken by creating and consuming content on social media. It's a space they can see people that look like them and hear voices that sound like theirs. It's probably why so many of us feel an affinity with Mike Lynch. He looks and sounds familiar, he's the kind of working class voice we have all experienced in reality but rarely see represented on TV.

23-06-2022, 03:30 PM
I think the reaction to Mike Lynch from all parts of the political spectrum highlights how rare it is to hear a genuine, intelligent, articulate working class voice on TV. You can see why those on the right find that quite frightening.

Working class people are often portrayed in the worst possible way on TV. Bear baiting on the Jeremy Kyle show, the poverty porn of shows about people on benefits or the hugely entertaining spectacle of people sobbing as bailiffs remove their possessions from their homes. Part of the issue is that so many people who find themselves working in the media, TV and print, are privately educated and have no real lived experience of your average working person. Listen to a show like Desert island Discs and the documentary makers, writers, producers etc etc all rattle of the same few schools and universities (there's nothing wrong with people aspiring to go to top class universities of course). There is hard data to back this up too, a Create London and Art Emergency study found just 12% of people working across TV, film and radio had a socio-economic background that could be described as working class. How is that representative of the make up of a country with a 70M population? Of course there are exceptions; people like John Sullivan, Shane Meadows, Caroline Aherne and Paul Abbot have created shows that don't sugar coat the realities of working class or sub working class Britain but paint a picture of one or more of aspiration, familial love, heart, community spirit.

Media is often a closed shop, if you can't afford to be paid in 'experience' then you can't often can't afford to get started at all. It's little wonder young people are so taken by creating and consuming content on social media. It's a space they can see people that look like them and hear voices that sound like theirs. It's probably why so many of us feel an affinity with Mike Lynch. He looks and sounds familiar, he's the kind of working class voice we have all experienced in reality but rarely see represented on TV.

Excellent post. I agree that Mick Lynch is running rings around the media. He refuses to be baited by inane questioning and speaks bluntly. The media are unaccustomed to someone calling politicians liars to the face on TV; they don't know how to deal with someone who won't play by their normal rules. Like you say, media types usually come from a particular sphere of society, and a working class guy with a regional accent, who is intelligent and articulate, takes most of them out of their comfort zone. It was the same with Lynch's predecessor, the late Bob Crow, who would be very proud.

23-06-2022, 03:42 PM

All very true and well put. The biggest lie the 1980s managed to pull off was that class didn’t matter anymore. (See Owen Jones’ very good book Chavs-the Demonisation of the working class)

Stairway 2 7
23-06-2022, 04:53 PM
Bad news for the tories 😆

Sam Freedman
@Samfr
·
1h
Mail circulation fell another 2% last month down 10% in the past year. Mail on Sunday down down 12%. Express down 14%; Sunday Express down 16%.

Only paid newspaper up (that publishes circulation) is the FT- an impressive 14% on the year

AugustaHibs
23-06-2022, 10:21 PM
Question time is a ****ing disgrace tonight. Whole thing is tory propaganda. How many tory plants are there in the audience?

23-06-2022, 10:28 PM
Question time is a ****ing disgrace tonight. Whole thing is tory propaganda. How many tory plants are there in the audience?

Sadly I don't think they are all plants, England and Scotland are going in completely different directions, feel sorry for the English who didn't sign up for it but many of them have

AugustaHibs
23-06-2022, 10:34 PM
Sadly I don't think they are all plants, England and Scotland are going in completely different directions, feel sorry for the English who didn't sign up for it but many of them have

The amount of selfish ***** in this crowd then is staggering.

Why are people so against other people getting a pay rise?

The tories are ****ing siphoning cash left right and centre, and us dingles are getting poorer and poorer.

Sorry for the rant, I think I need to step back from politics as it’s a disgrace in this country.

24-06-2022, 03:23 AM
Tories lose both Wakefield, and crucially Tiverton and Honiton, byelections.

Massive swing in Tiverton and Honiton to the Lib Dems. One of the biggest ever, and in a proper Tory stronghold. It wasn't even close either, Lib Dems won by over 6k votes after the Tories winning the previous election by nearly 24k.

I can't help but think that Tory rebels triggered their vote against Bojo too soon.

Stairway 2 7
24-06-2022, 05:44 AM

30% of snp voters voted brexit and a big % vote tory. This thing that England is filled with Rees moggs and Scotland full of socialists is fantasy. The English don't really have an alternative to vote for, especially with fptp.

Everything is stacked againsts us, especially the right wing media. The only positive is papers are dying

24-06-2022, 05:47 AM
I think that is what you call getting absolutely humped.

I can almost imagine Zelensky in his office in Kyiv right now. 'He's going to pop round again isn't he? Can we pretend we're not in? I think he might be using us.'

24-06-2022, 06:11 AM
Whilst I’m delighted the conservatives got pumped in the 2 by elections, I really hope they don’t empty Johnson before the next election. He’s a liability and I suspect there’s more bad stuff yet to happen

Stairway 2 7
24-06-2022, 06:14 AM
Tory chairman Oliver dowden quits after by election results

24-06-2022, 06:43 AM
Raab due to appear on BBC Breakfast this morning (to replace Dowden!), pulled out of interview giving 5 mins notice. I wonder what stooge they'll put up now.

Berwickhibby
24-06-2022, 11:10 AM
On a cheerier note….nice to see the Tories lost 2 seats last night :greengrin

24-06-2022, 11:37 AM
Whilst I’m delighted the conservatives got pumped in the 2 by elections, I really hope they don’t empty Johnson before the next election. He’s a liability and I suspect there’s more bad stuff yet to happen

He'll be gone, mate. No way he will see out the year. Tory backbenchers are ruthless at removing a leader who has become an election liability; even Thatcher was expendable. All their MPs will now be thinking about their own majority: if they can lose a seat which had a majority of over 24,000, anything is possible. 148 of them voted to get rid of Bozo before this disaster; he's a dead man walking.

Stairway 2 7
24-06-2022, 11:42 AM
He'll be gone, mate. No way he will see out the year. Tory backbenchers are ruthless at removing a leader who has become an election liability; even Thatcher was expendable. All their MPs will now be thinking about their own majority: if they can lose a seat which had a majority of over 24,000, anything is possible. 148 of them voted to get rid of Bozo before this disaster; he's a dead man walking.

Inflation will peak then drop heavily this year, fuel prices go up in autumn. I think they will let him get battered until after that

Stairway 2 7
24-06-2022, 11:50 AM
I thought England was right wing. The left block gets bigger but its pointless without proportional representation.

24-06-2022, 12:02 PM
I thought England was right wing. The left block gets bigger but its pointless without proportional representation.

The Lib Dems aren't left wing.

Stairway 2 7
24-06-2022, 12:18 PM

Yeah I'd agree but if you took their 12% out you'd still be above 50%. The game is rigged for the tories

Just look how the greens do with their large amount of votes

24-06-2022, 12:25 PM
Yeah I'd agree but if you took their 12% out you'd still be above 50%. The game is rigged for the tories

Just look how the greens do with their large amount of votes

First-past-the-post is a massive advantage to the bigger parties, with the Lib Dems always the biggest losers. In the same way, it now gives the SNP a huge advantage in Scotland for Westminster elections.

24-06-2022, 12:41 PM
Is it a coincidence that when the keek hits the fan de Pfeffel is always out of the country?

Renfrew_Hibby
24-06-2022, 12:53 PM

Tory Lites

24-06-2022, 12:55 PM
Is it a coincidence that when the keek hits the fan de Pfeffel is always out of the country?Probably thinks there's a war for him to be world leading on in Rwanda, only place to be.

It's not as if there's anything happening in the UK that he is actually capable of dealing with.

Lendo
24-06-2022, 12:58 PM
Is it a coincidence that when the keek hits the fan de Pfeffel is always out of the country?

Where is he this time?

24-06-2022, 12:58 PM
Probably thinks there's a war for him to be world leading on in Rwanda, only place to be.

It's not as if there's anything happening in the UK that he is actually capable of dealing with.

I hear de Pfeffel's backbenchers asked Rwanda to keep him as part of their new immigration policy, but the Rwandan's said they won't take criminals.

24-06-2022, 01:07 PM
I missed the boat on the Mick Lynch stuff over the last few days on here (great couple of pages to read!) but I thought I would post what I seen on twitter. His hero was a Hibbie!
It has been so funny watching people flounder around when faced with a person like Mick, who is not uncommon in the Union movement. I think a lot of the surprise from the media and politicians about this guy comes down to plain old classism, how can a working class man who left school at 15 even assume he can debate oxbridge educated journalists and MPs. It has been a joy to watch and this clip just made me love the guy that wee bit more.

https://www.independent.co.uk/tv/news/mick-lynch-strikes-james-connolly-b2107953.html

Skol
24-06-2022, 01:13 PM
The U.K. have exported more PMs to Rwanda than refugees

24-06-2022, 01:16 PM
I missed the boat on the Mick Lynch stuff over the last few days on here (great couple of pages to read!) but I thought I would post what I seen on twitter. His hero was a Hibbie!
It has been so funny watching people flounder around when faced with a person like Mick, who is not uncommon in the Union movement. I think a lot of the surprise from the media and politicians about this guy comes down to plain old classism, how can a working class man who left school at 15 even assume he can debate oxbridge educated journalists and MPs. It has been a joy to watch and this clip just made me love the guy that wee bit more.

https://www.independent.co.uk/tv/news/mick-lynch-strikes-james-connolly-b2107953.html

He's now enhanced his reputation even more with me. I think Lynch's parents were Irish. Mick can use my avatar as his Facebook picture and discuss that with Piers Morgan :greengrin

24-06-2022, 01:21 PM

Swivel eyed loons

https://youtu.be/gcy0wTP7PQQ

24-06-2022, 03:15 PM

I was thinking that earlier….he always seems to be away from Westminster whenever something is hitting the fan…

24-06-2022, 03:16 PM
Just watching the Johnson press conference…can’t stop huffing and puffing and sighing away…

24-06-2022, 04:28 PM
Where is he this time?

Commonwealth meeting in Rwanda.

24-06-2022, 06:29 PM

i've honestly not watched any state TV/whatever "debate" nights since 2014, loaded audiences, i only ever watch small clips on fb

was it anything like this...

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/290257660_2149946178512402_3397322821740539011_n.j pg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=vJUGXE0NpfkAX-lwCIl&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT9qh8QTEL0rinmaJcJbZs7ALWMUBMyC1OwdQHGZaxz-vg&oe=62BB684D

24-06-2022, 07:16 PM
Johnson granting C4 a rare interview earlier and as expected, getting absolutely demolished by Krishnan Guru-Murthy.

24-06-2022, 08:21 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/288193861_5604576309573051_5280380661102210657_n.j pg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=R6bB_XNw0lQAX8ePF-n&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT_3ZuN8BM5Tf-S4MQEgcQJBW33jaGdIFEcbPvvnyo8x9Q&oe=62BB5E3F

BBC Balanced Debate lol nuff said

25-06-2022, 08:53 AM
BBC Balanced Debate lol nuff said

Maclean vying with Gullis and Bridgen for stupidest Tory MP.

https://twitter.com/Femi_Sorry/status/1540095195013959684

25-06-2022, 02:02 PM
A £150,000 treehouse at Chequers with bulletproof glass for his son Wilf? Is this us now finally finding out what ‘levelling up’ was.

25-06-2022, 02:51 PM
A £150,000 treehouse at Chequers with bulletproof glass for his son Wilf? Is this us now finally finding out what ‘levelling up’ was.

Whit??

25-06-2022, 02:54 PM
Whit??

Brownlow was paying, none of our business.

Stairway 2 7
25-06-2022, 08:24 PM
Several dozen Tory MPs have submitted letters to Sir Graham Brady demanding another no-confidence vote on
@BorisJohnson
- Sunday Times

25-06-2022, 11:47 PM
If you haven't seen Nadine Dorries's tweet which finishes by putting the current economic woes in their historical context, I recommend you seek it out!

26-06-2022, 12:21 AM
If you haven't seen Nadine Dorries's tweet which finishes by putting the current economic woes in their historical context, I recommend you seek it out!

I'm so glad I'm not on Twitter. There is no way I would be able to say everything I would like to say to people like her in less than 200 characters.

26-06-2022, 02:36 AM

Dare say she deleted it as I can’t see anything?

26-06-2022, 04:48 AM
Dare say she deleted it as I can’t see anything?

We've all said things we regretted when pished at the weekend. This is probably about her World War Eleven error though: https://www.thelondoneconomic.com/news/here-she-is-nadine-dorries-wades-in-to-support-johnson-it-didnt-go-well-327410/

26-06-2022, 08:49 AM
Johnson talking about wanting to be in power into the 2030s, in a quite incredible interview which sounded ominous to me in terms of ‘you ain’t seen nuthin’ yet’

Asked by reporters in the Rwandan capital, Kigali, about whether he would like to serve a full second term as prime minister, Johnson said: “At the moment I am thinking actively about the third term and you know, what could happen then,” adding, “But I will review that when I get to it.”

He continued: “We’ve embarked on a massive project to change the government, of the constitution of the country, the way we run our legal system, the way we manage our borders, our economy. All sorts of things we’re doing differently. We also, at the same time, are embarked on a colossal project to unite and level up … It’s going to take time. And I want to keep driving it forward.”

26-06-2022, 08:56 AM
Johnson talking about wanting to be in power into the 2030s, in a quite incredible interview which sounded ominous to me in terms of ‘you ain’t seen nuthin’ yet’

Asked by reporters in the Rwandan capital, Kigali, about whether he would like to serve a full second term as prime minister, Johnson said: “At the moment I am thinking actively about the third term and you know, what could happen then,” adding, “But I will review that when I get to it.”

He continued: “We’ve embarked on a massive project to change the government, of the constitution of the country, the way we run our legal system, the way we manage our borders, our economy. All sorts of things we’re doing differently. We also, at the same time, are embarked on a colossal project to unite and level up … It’s going to take time. And I want to keep driving it forward.”He probably thinks he's got a fresh unknowing audience for this sort of hot air and no delivery in Rwanda, maybe he should stay and give them the benefit of his leadership.

It's almost as everything is going swimmingly at home and he isn't in hiding from the mess he's presiding over.

26-06-2022, 09:00 AM
He probably thinks he's got a fresh unknowing audience for this sort of hot air and no delivery in Rwanda, maybe he should stay and give them the benefit of his leadership.

It's almost as everything is going swimmingly at home and he isn't in hiding from the mess he's presiding over.

But if you listen to the actual words, in terms of changing laws, constitutional and legal changes, it sounds like some sort of revolution he’s proposing. Emperor Nero/ Mussolini vibes. This is potentially serious stuff.

26-06-2022, 09:05 AM
But if you listen to the actual words, in terms of changing laws, constitutional and legal changes, it sounds like some sort of revolution he’s proposing. Emperor Nero/ Mussolini vibes. This is potentially serious stuff.

It is serious stuff but we're already on that road and each month that goes by will make it ever more difficult to pull the emergency brake.

26-06-2022, 09:05 AM

I thought it sounded really sinister as well.

26-06-2022, 09:39 AM
I thought it sounded really sinister as well.

Maybe just words. "Colossal" fits with all these other buzzwords..."world-leading" and stuff like that. They'll run out of bigness until they have to resort to "humungous" or "elephantine".

26-06-2022, 10:22 AM

Desperately sooking up to the xRG wing, to stay on for another couple of months. If all that happens, it won't be him that does it. He's nearly gone now. Hurrah!

26-06-2022, 10:31 AM
But if you listen to the actual words, in terms of changing laws, constitutional and legal changes, it sounds like some sort of revolution he’s proposing. Emperor Nero/ Mussolini vibes. This is potentially serious stuff.Meanwhile on planet Earth he is going to run off to get photographed with any political figures outside the UK who fancy a laugh with this Trumpean figure bounding around. It's a much more appealing alternative to trying to solve the mess at home where making big empty statements that aren't followed through isn't working too well.

Stairway 2 7
26-06-2022, 10:52 AM
Think hunt would have it

Odds for contenders listed below with
@StarSports_Bet
:

Cabinet:

🔵Liz Truss: 6/1
🔵Ben Wallace: 9/1
🔵Nadim Zahawi: 10/1

"One-nation"

🔵Jeremy Hunt: 11/2
🔵Tom Tugendhat: 8/1

26-06-2022, 10:59 AM
Think hunt would have it

@StarSports_Bet
:

Cabinet:

[emoji838]Liz Truss: 6/1
[emoji838]Ben Wallace: 9/1
[emoji838]Nadim Zahawi: 10/1

"One-nation"

[emoji838]Jeremy Hunt: 11/2
[emoji838]Tom Tugendhat: 8/1If we are having Truss or Zahawi I think I'll start campaigning for Grayling or Fabricant.

What's Jeffrey Archer up to these days?

McSwanky
26-06-2022, 12:03 PM
Think hunt would have it

@StarSports_Bet
:

Cabinet:

[emoji838]Liz Truss: 6/1
[emoji838]Ben Wallace: 9/1
[emoji838]Nadim Zahawi: 10/1

"One-nation"

[emoji838]Jeremy Hunt: 11/2
[emoji838]Tom Tugendhat: 8/1Mordaunt not quoted in there?

Joint favourite on Betfair Exchange...

Stairway 2 7
26-06-2022, 12:14 PM
Mordaunt not quoted in there?

Joint favourite on Betfair Exchange...

Yep sky have hunt 7/2 mordant nearest on 5/1 truss 6/1. The rest 2 digits

26-06-2022, 12:23 PM

I spent a great hour reading the replies to that last night. She really is the thickest minister, not no 11 but absolutely the thickest, there has ever been and in the company she keeps that is some achievement.

26-06-2022, 12:36 PM
I spent a great hour reading the replies to that last night. She really is the thickest minister, not no 11 but absolutely the thickest, there has ever been and in the company she keeps that is some achievement.

26-06-2022, 07:46 PM

I saw a tweet about her a couple of weeks ago that said something like "if she was any less sentient we'd need to point her at the sun and water her twice a week". After discovering she doesn't understand the most basic Roman numerals I think the gro-bag is actually the place for her.

27-06-2022, 07:34 AM
https://twitter.com/RoryStewartUK/status/1541286667360804864?t=Ga8EL5xLwMoGHNkTewGwjg&s=08

Lying about jogging?[emoji23]

27-06-2022, 08:01 AM
https://twitter.com/RoryStewartUK/status/1541286667360804864?t=Ga8EL5xLwMoGHNkTewGwjg&s=08

Lying about jogging?[emoji23]

The first reply to that tweet is also good, showing Johnson 'playing' guitar. Now I can't decide whether that or Truss being unable to hold a phone the right way up best represents the government's only policy of governing, by dumb photo-opportunity.

27-06-2022, 08:17 AM
The first reply to that tweet is also good, showing Johnson 'playing' guitar. Now I can't decide whether that or Truss being unable to hold a phone the right way up best represents the government's only policy of governing, by dumb photo-opportunity.To be absolutely fair on Truss, it's not her fault the phone has a multiple choice element to it.

27-06-2022, 08:40 AM
The Times:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FWPRpXlX0AA9AXV?format=jpg&name=medium

27-06-2022, 08:42 AM
The Times:

Shirley that must be photoshopped? :shocked:

Lendo
27-06-2022, 08:50 AM
The Times:

Hahahahahhha that is utterly mental

stu in nottingham
27-06-2022, 09:08 AM
To be absolutely fair on Truss, it's not her fault the phone has a multiple choice element to it.

🤣 Well played sir, well played!

27-06-2022, 10:46 AM
The Times:

I have never seen that done anywhere other than Fox News. The Murdoch family connection perhaps?

27-06-2022, 10:58 AM
Shirley that must be photoshopped? :shocked:From The Times app:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FWPt2a-X0AAZ3Wn?format=jpg&name=large

27-06-2022, 11:09 AM
From The Times app:

At some point we all have to say that we've had enough of this pish and do something meaningful about it.

I'm sick of how lying to us, manipulating us etc has become normalised to the point where it's nigh on impossible to actually know what's "true" and what's not.

27-06-2022, 12:08 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/289245501_5242132515832685_8858086777218298082_n.j pg?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=dGYKenuS0CgAX9_B7Ni&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT_s6E0T2lsVbH0ZpTV63O4FlKHx9QJ2JkY11Pj4ColL BA&oe=62BEF620

Stairway 2 7
27-06-2022, 12:50 PM
From The Times app:

It was a mistake and has been changed to the same as the print edition. What is just as baffling is in the actual poll 51% want him to stay 36%. Why do tories still want him when he's clearly the worst they have ever had, is it getting brexit done

https://mobile.twitter.com/DAaronovitch/status/1541339857867374592

27-06-2022, 02:29 PM
The true story of the UK's vaccine rollout.
Fastest in Europe? No.
Better because of Brexit? No.

https://twitter.com/mac_puck/status/1541329319330553856?s=20&t=CtODeVX7JKAnBwrF6JbL9w

Summing up:

1. Brexit had NO bearing on our early vaccine rollout; it was approved and procured under EU rules.
2. Brexit massively DELAYED our vaccine rollout after AZ became contraindicated for under 40's.
3. These facts have not only been concealed by Gov and media alike but in true 1984 fashion the truth has been completely reversed - we don't just have a lie we have an inversion of the truth, where:
1. We have "the fastest rollout in the World" (one of the slowest among similar countries actually)
2. Made possible by Brexit (initial fast vaccine orders made possible by EU rules, later delays to rollout *caused* by brexit actually)
3. And, what is truly tragic, is the big lie, through constant repetition has actually gained traction.

God help us all; nobody else will.

27-06-2022, 02:31 PM
It was a mistake and has been changed to the same as the print edition. yeah right.

Stairway 2 7
27-06-2022, 02:49 PM
yeah right.

the article says 51% backed him, the same as the graph in the print edition. It was clearly a mistake as the numbers are wrong, all they could be guilty of if being anti boris, as the graph is less than the poll

Stairway 2 7
27-06-2022, 02:53 PM
The true story of the UK's vaccine rollout.
Fastest in Europe? No.
Better because of Brexit? No.

https://twitter.com/mac_puck/status/1541329319330553856?s=20&t=CtODeVX7JKAnBwrF6JbL9w

It's clearly nonsense. It says we were fastest for over 40s but then due to myocarditis risk slower in under 40s than the EU. That's ridiculous as 98% of the deaths are in the over 40s so that's what matters. The death rate in the uk from January onwards being bellow eu is down to this. The uk had a shocking first year of covid, but the vaccines was something we did extraordinarily well on, including vaccination speed and uptake

27-06-2022, 03:10 PM
It was clearly a mistake as the numbers are wrong...Do you want to buy a bridge?

Stairway 2 7
27-06-2022, 03:19 PM
Do you want to buy a bridge?

The numbers didn't match the words in the article, your clutching at straws. The article said 51% of tory voters backed him, the print version had 51% in the poll chart. The online version said 51% in the article and had 30% in the chart for a few hours until it was fixed.

If anything it done boris out of 21% of votes.

27-06-2022, 04:47 PM
Some wag on the Twitterati.

I hear that Nadine is really worried about the Barristers going on strike cos it might affect her morning latte.

:not worth

Stairway 2 7
27-06-2022, 04:55 PM
I wonder how the barristers going on strike will go down with the media and public, a confusing one

27-06-2022, 07:02 PM
I wonder how the barristers going on strike will go down with the media and public, a confusing one

It would be years before anybody noticed.

28-06-2022, 07:03 PM
Posties balloting for strike action now. Millions of people cannot tighten their belts any further and are sick of having the pish ripped from them

https://youtu.be/BSeOV2nzuls

28-06-2022, 08:41 PM
Posties balloting for strike action now. Millions of people cannot tighten their belts any further and are sick of having the pish ripped from them

https://youtu.be/BSeOV2nzuls

Civil Servants will ballot this year, hopefully as soon as possible. This is the time for as many strikes as possible. The truth is starting to become more evident to working people and hopeful doffing of caps will be changed to rolling up sleeves for the fight.

29-06-2022, 12:17 PM
The right to peaceful protest being curtailed under the new Tory Police Bill.

https://youtu.be/Y0XP-GB_57Y

29-06-2022, 02:11 PM
Private Eye claiming the real reason The Times dropped the £100K job for Carrie story was they didn't want this getting out. :greengrin (Apparently, "Carrie's people" called "Rebekah's people". :rolleyes:)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FWapgH9XgAERoSc?format=jpg&name=4096x4096

29-06-2022, 02:54 PM
Private Eye claiming the real reason The Times dropped the £100K job for Carrie story was they didn't want this getting out. :greengrin (Apparently, "Carrie's people" called "Rebekah's people". :rolleyes:)

That's a mental image I really don't need :jamboak:

29-06-2022, 05:08 PM

The new Eye front cover with Boris kitted up as a Wimbledon player is a classic, one of their best.

29-06-2022, 05:59 PM
E-mail from the Good Law Project...

We are, today, issuing formal proceedings (https://actions.goodlawproject.org/r?u=SmZaWiZqFW3YDIgBZi-Lr9-8X2S9wopJBn5WWOnoWc0&e=ad37ebbb863cb7204b923f0ff5e8ac1a&utm_source=glp&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=met_partygate_action_sls&n=3&v=385) against the Met Police for their apparent continued failure to properly investigate Boris Johnson’s attendance at three lockdown gatherings, in November and December 2020 and January 2021, and their refusal to answer our legitimate questions about how they reached this decision.
The public have a right to know what really went on inside the Partygate investigation. The Met’s actions have raised grave concerns about the deferential way in which they are policing those in power. It stands in stark contrast to how ordinary people were policed during lockdown.
It was only after we threatened to sue the Met in January 2022 that they agreed to investigate at all and the Prime Minister was eventually fined for attending a lockdown gathering in June 2020.
We’ve given the Met multiple opportunities to explain why he was reportedly not sent questionnaires regarding these three other gatherings, nor issued with fixed penalty notices for attending them, when a number of civil servants and officials who did received both. On 15 June, we wrote to the Met (https://actions.goodlawproject.org/r?u=pMP0Msf0sRl216gBaARm28OX6z30lgrQbnwhF4kCd0ISes nWiMnsH801FAqZUU6UOY4amtate_hcS7Geu8GL8A&e=ad37ebbb863cb7204b923f0ff5e8ac1a&utm_source=glp&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=met_partygate_action_sls&n=4&v=385), giving them a week to finally live up to their duty to be honest and upfront with the public.

Rather than work with us in a spirit of transparency, or address to the substantive issues raised in our case, their response focuses on our right to bring this action at all (known as ‘standing’). Yet even here, they haven’t properly explained themselves. We asked them who, if not us, would have standing and they refused to answer.
We strongly believe that Good Law Project and our co-claimant, former senior Met Officer Lord Paddick, have standing to represent the public interest in this matter. If we aren't allowed to bring this claim, we don't believe anyone else will be in a position to do so.
So now we’re forced to sue the Met for a second time.
Lord Paddick: “Members of the public will have seen Boris Johnson raising a glass at a party that he was apparently not even questioned about, and thought ‘If that had been me, I would have been fined.’ We are determined that the Prime Minister should be held to the same standard as the rest of us."
From its failure to hold the Prime Minister and those around him to account for their lockdown breaches, to shocking reports of institutional misogyny, discrimination and sexual harassment, the public’s faith in the Met has been shaken to the core this year. This is their moment to finally begin repairing the damage their inaction has done.
Our challenge is grounded in a single, simple idea: for the law to have any meaning, it must apply equally to us all. The Met must explain their seeming lack of action in this matter. We won’t stop until the full story is uncovered.
The Met have until 22 July to respond. We will keep you updated.
Thank you,

Jo Maugham - Good Law Project

29-06-2022, 06:32 PM
Excellent, if somewhat depressing, analysis of the vandalism the Tories are doing to the UK from Matthew O’Toole of the SDLP.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/2022/06/28/britain-cannot-be-trusted-and-this-has-deep-implications-for-irish-unity/

29-06-2022, 06:59 PM
Excellent, if somewhat depressing, analysis of the vandalism the Tories are doing to the UK from Matthew O’Toole of the SDLP.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/2022/06/28/britain-cannot-be-trusted-and-this-has-deep-implications-for-irish-unity/

A good read, your post could also equally sit in the indy or union threads where the merits/demerits bear some debate!

29-06-2022, 07:03 PM

It’s amazing that any Scot wants to stay part of that?

30-06-2022, 06:28 AM

It really is excellent :agree:

30-06-2022, 07:31 AM

Status quo, what status quo.

Excellent piece.

30-06-2022, 09:08 AM

Excellent piece.

The O'Toole brothers have been consistently good on the state of the UK since 2016.

30-06-2022, 09:25 AM

Excellent piece.

Down, down, deeper and down? Which I suppose brings us back to Carriegate? :wink:

Apropos of nothing, I've always wondered how Sir Gav of Williamson got that knighthood? 🤔

30-06-2022, 01:33 PM
Down, down, deeper and down? Which I suppose brings us back to Carriegate? :wink:

Apropos of nothing, I've always wondered how Sir Gav of Williamson got that knighthood? [emoji848]

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220630/197330f7116b2d7f06e831107c351202.jpg

30-06-2022, 02:39 PM
https://twitter.com/chrishallitv/status/1542488532274618368?s=21&t=NGV1P7cLpwFx3Xj3K07Xig

30-06-2022, 02:42 PM
https://twitter.com/chrishallitv/status/1542488532274618368?s=21&t=NGV1P7cLpwFx3Xj3K07Xig

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI've heard she's actively considering backing that Marconi chap with his plans for some sort of televisual device.

30-06-2022, 02:58 PM
I've heard she's actively considering backing that Marconi chap with his plans for some sort of televisual device.

Seems crazy when kids (would you believe it) are down streaming tv on Yoo tube!

30-06-2022, 08:17 PM
https://twitter.com/hoffman_noa/status/1542582420310003714?t=cgtDB6a1ovV7VXM4ErTVOw&s=08

Whatever next

30-06-2022, 08:20 PM
https://twitter.com/PippaCrerar/status/1542590086944096259?t=jThmLNUirJXBRpoShpJbJQ&s=19

Perfectly normal in a perfectly normal country. Thank the lord for the status quo, imagine Nippy, Ed "Chaos" Milliband or that Putin puppet Corbyn in charge - all the other countries would be laughing at us. Very brave of him to resign his job, deserves to stay in the party.

30-06-2022, 08:27 PM
https://twitter.com/PippaCrerar/status/1542590086944096259?t=jThmLNUirJXBRpoShpJbJQ&s=19

Perfectly normal in a perfectly normal country. Thank the lord for the status quo, imagine Nippy, Ed "Chaos" Milliband or that Putin puppet Corbyn in charge - all the other countries would be laughing at us. Very brave of him to resign his job, deserves to stay in the party.

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkA knighthood at the very least, what character this man has shown, resigning just before the sun outed him?

30-06-2022, 08:28 PM
In all fairness, it's interesting to know that amongst this bunch of Tories a line of acceptability exists, it's possible to step beyond it and that even just one of them has been found to have enough shame to find the decency to resign.

Some of the #BloJo stuff on twitter tonight is pretty funny though.

davy67 +
30-06-2022, 08:34 PM

Apropos of nothing, I've always wondered how Sir Gav of Williamson got that knighthood? 🤔

Its gonna tai.e. a lot more than a knighthood and a fancy job to rid that image he had implanted in his mind, it gives me shudders just thinking about it :whistle:

Stairway 2 7
30-06-2022, 08:37 PM
Can him and Patrick grady not just grope each other and keep their hands off other people. Westminster continues to be a den of iniquity

30-06-2022, 09:18 PM
Some cracking responses here....

https://twitter.com/OwenJones84/status/1542606774343290880?s=19

30-06-2022, 09:22 PM
https://twitter.com/hoffman_noa/status/1542582420310003714?t=cgtDB6a1ovV7VXM4ErTVOw&s=08

Whatever next

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkIs this not the second time he has had to resign for similar behaviour

30-06-2022, 09:24 PM
Some of the #BloJo stuff on twitter tonight is pretty funny though.

It is, though almost everyone who mentions Williamson says how outrageous it is that he got a peerage because of the incident. Totally false and I'm now beginning to wonder if maybe not everything on twitter is true.

30-06-2022, 09:28 PM
Is this not the second time he has had to resign for similar behaviourMy point exactly[emoji6]

30-06-2022, 10:47 PM

Whatever next

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkBritain Trump so who knows. Promise Liverpool the new Dyson hover-board factory and talk about Spongbob throughout the speech? Start taxing food banks? Tip up as Worzel Gummidge wearing his Mr Blobby head? Standard.

01-07-2022, 12:18 AM
Unionist complaining about Johnson is becoming a bit tiring to be honest.

Berwickhibby
01-07-2022, 03:43 PM
Another sex pest in Westminster…this time Chris Pincher…. Needs to resign pronto.

01-07-2022, 04:02 PM
Another sex pest in Westminster…this time Chris Pincher…. Needs to resign pronto.

He won’t. Best they can hope for is get him out the party.

01-07-2022, 04:57 PM

Not sure why it's an issue.

BJ has been living up to his initials.

Pincher is following his lead by living up to his name.

01-07-2022, 05:06 PM

Pincher is following his lead by living up to his name.:rofl:

01-07-2022, 07:24 PM

Pincher is following his lead by living up to his name.

Let's hope Peter Bone breaks the trend.

01-07-2022, 07:32 PM

Let's hope Peter Bone breaks the trend.

Here’s hoping this guy doesn’t fancy a gig in the Tory Party… not a big leap from Fox News tbf.

01-07-2022, 08:11 PM
Here’s hoping this guy doesn’t fancy a gig in the Tory Party… not a big leap from Fox News tbf.

Mind the former Tory Chief Whip, Richard Ryder - Dick Ryder to his friends.

01-07-2022, 08:15 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNot sure they will or he would have been turfed out when he had to resign in 2017 for groping another male MP.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/conservative-party-whip-chris-pincher-alex-story-olympic-rower-bathrobe-pound-shop-harvey-weinstein-a8039216.html

02-07-2022, 08:52 AM
I think I read an article in April that stated that 56 of the MPS in parliament at that point had been accused of sexual misconduct. That was only the ones actually still in their jobs and didn't include the ones that had already resigned.

It just highlights the issues both of the culture of disgusting behaviour, compared to the average workplace, and the lack of accountability.

Let's put party allegiances aside for while and recognise that for what it is.... a total disgrace.

Stairway 2 7
02-07-2022, 08:57 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2022/jul/01/boris-johnson-chris-pincher-westminster-scandals?CMP=share_btn_tw

From big dog Johnson to ‘big grope’ Chris Pincher: another day in Westminster’s ‘normal’ workplace

02-07-2022, 12:06 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2022/jul/01/boris-johnson-chris-pincher-westminster-scandals?CMP=share_btn_tw

From big dog Johnson to ‘big grope’ Chris Pincher: another day in Westminster’s ‘normal’ workplace

Nice Withnail and I reference too. Marina on top form.

02-07-2022, 12:09 PM
Not sure where to put this. A revealing thread about "the ruling class" and how Brexit will encourage the Tories to be even more feral.

https://twitter.com/BehavinAint/status/1542614164824260609?t=542b7S72vQr2aS7Kl2whQg&s=19

02-07-2022, 05:18 PM
https://twitter.com/supertanskiii/status/1543207306736836608

He's here!
02-07-2022, 05:26 PM
I think I read an article in April that stated that 56 of the MPS in parliament at that point had been accused of sexual misconduct. That was only the ones actually still in their jobs and didn't include the ones that had already resigned.

It just highlights the issues both of the culture of disgusting behaviour, compared to the average workplace, and the lack of accountability.

Let's put party allegiances aside for while and recognise that for what it is.... a total disgrace.

Yes, there's a link to that article in the Hyde column:

56 MPs face sexual misconduct claims | News | The Sunday Times (thetimes.co.uk) (https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/56-mps-face-sexual-misconduct-claims-znv2m9x8s)

It's a shocker as you say. Especially the fact that the likes of Pincher and the former SNP chief whip Grady are elevated to such positions of responsibility...and when it comes to repercussions they actually get backed by their colleagues (It's notable that Ian 'we must rally round Patrick' Blackford has been quiet on the Pincher story).

Stairway 2 7
02-07-2022, 05:59 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/BehavinAint/status/1542614164824260609

A gross insider's guide to the Tories and the lords

02-07-2022, 06:12 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/BehavinAint/status/1542614164824260609

A gross insider's guide to the Tories and the lordsBrexit has signed the country over to these weirdos.

02-07-2022, 06:16 PM
Brexit has signed the country over to these weirdos.

I've said it before but the Cameron pig ****ing rumour probably is far from the most sordid or weird ritual that goes on in these places.

02-07-2022, 06:23 PM

Shame. He was a delightful lad as a nipper.

02-07-2022, 06:29 PM
I've said it before but the Cameron pig ****ing rumour probably is far from the most sordid or weird ritual that goes on in these places.I knew a guy who went Eton. He was one of those on the receiving end. Bullying is encouraged in those schools.

02-07-2022, 06:31 PM
Rats in a sack

https://twitter.com/ThatTimWalker/status/1543285821868064769?t=_02UwJpRhzXqmrF8QKH_5Q&s=08

02-07-2022, 09:42 PM
https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/politics/boris-johnson-sent-ministerial-jet-27382955

Our wonderful union.[emoji849]

Stairway 2 7
03-07-2022, 11:48 AM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/metro.co.uk/2022/07/03/boris-johnson-and-rishi-sunak-announce-6bn-cost-of-living-tax-cut-16932495/amp/

Good news on the face of it, tory backbenchers won't be happy with more handouts

03-07-2022, 12:05 PM
Lots of stuff on BJ getting his Canadian hairdresser pregnant and her being paid off. It’s believable because, if he has a hairdresser, she obviously isn’t spending time doing his hair!

Seems to be a superinjunction on it but Scottish papers sometime get round these.

03-07-2022, 01:01 PM
Lots of stuff on BJ getting his Canadian hairdresser pregnant and her being paid off. It’s believable because, if he has a hairdresser, she obviously isn’t spending time doing his hair!

Seems to be a superinjunction on it but Scottish papers sometime get round these.

I wonder how many people with child he's paid off altogether, given that he never has any money despite the ridiculously high sums he 'earned' as a 'journalist'.

04-07-2022, 04:14 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220704/2b6bd9d606189bccfdbcaafa1dc9ae48.jpg

This is quite the surprise.

04-07-2022, 04:27 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkHospital's are the new Garden Bridges for Bozo, but you'd think that with all those £350m a week payments he promised to the NHS as Brexit dividends all those years ago he could have managed to "knock up" at least a couple of hospitals.

04-07-2022, 04:28 PM

There literally are no 40 new hospitals. Even the Audit office is saying as much. It shows how audacious they are that they can continue to lie and lie and lie, and the only time anyone acts is when an opposition MP calls them out for lying and that right minded person is ejected from the House of Commons as a result :faf:

04-07-2022, 04:30 PM
Nobody real picking up on the pincher stuff on this thread….funny how the tories always have selective language, but the more you pick away at it the more it unravels. Turns out now that Bojo was aware of claims against Pincher when he appointed him in February.

04-07-2022, 04:53 PM

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.see - one new nuclear power station per year.

The status quo means gaslighting the population so they don't know what's true and what isn't.

04-07-2022, 05:01 PM
Nobody real picking up on the pincher stuff on this thread….funny how the tories always have selective language, but the more you pick away at it the more it unravels. Turns out now that Bojo was aware of claims against Pincher when he appointed him in February.Couldn't he say Mr Pinchy was in charge of building 40 hospitals but was too busy being blootered and touching gentlemen's parts to actually deliver?

Pretty sure your average Bozo worshipper will see that as perfectly acceptable and want to move onto the next car crash / grope etc...

04-07-2022, 05:03 PM
Very interesting that things like #DurhamPartyGate and #Beergate have been trending on Twitter all day, very much looks like bot accounts trying to distract from all the latest scandals.

04-07-2022, 06:55 PM
https://twitter.com/SusanChubb1/status/1543935661060890625?t=LEioC-LvsejwZd1gwpQdlg&s=19

04-07-2022, 09:11 PM

Yes, just like the 200,000 new starter homes per year promised in the last Tory manifesto. Number built for far - zero, nil, zilch, nada.

04-07-2022, 09:23 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-62040915

He knew all along. To the surprise of nobody at all.

Party of pervs and predators.

04-07-2022, 09:24 PM
Yes, just like the 200,000 new starter homes per year promised in the last Tory manifesto. Number built for far - zero, nil, zilch, nada.Their manifesto is a poor second place to the actual agenda. Plenty time for tinkering with rights laws, brexit protocol and employment law.

05-07-2022, 06:37 AM
Dan Bloom
@danbloom1
BREAKING - Dominic Raab tells Times Radio he dealt with a formal complaint about Pincher and the Chief Whip and even the head of the department were involved.

He adds he didn't know what Boris Johnson knew of it.

Story on the way

05-07-2022, 07:37 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220705/ec37006d6d35e9498671e1178ba8f8d7.png

05-07-2022, 08:08 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220705/ec37006d6d35e9498671e1178ba8f8d7.png

This sort of blows No10’s version out of the water.

05-07-2022, 08:14 AM
This sort of blows No10’s version out of the water.

Everyone knows they are always lying all of the time. Doesn’t seem to make any difference though.

05-07-2022, 08:26 AM
Everyone knows they are always lying all of the time. Doesn’t seem to make any difference though.

Every time you think "this surely must be the end of the line", you're proven wrong.

05-07-2022, 08:41 AM
https://www.itv.com/news/2022-07-05/downing-street-defence-of-chris-pincher-appointment-in-tatters

05-07-2022, 08:55 AM
There has to be a "straw that broke the camel's back" moment though and this will be doing them absolutely no favours at all.

I don't think the public's patience is inexhaustible (even though it does seem to stretch a fair distance).

05-07-2022, 08:58 AM
https://twitter.com/bbcr4today/status/1544240682100998145?s=21&t=aV_zPJerNnfciX7qOsnVfw

Unbelievable.

05-07-2022, 09:08 AM
"Beginning of the End" #33161361896

Nothing will get rid of him. He will go when he loses an election or dies. He is showing up the office of PM for what it is: unchecked.

05-07-2022, 09:21 AM
Former Tory MP, Matthew Parris in typically whiny but in this case accurate form in the Spectator. The bit in bold is as concise a summary of Johnson as I've seen.

‘Steady on, old chap. You’re a bit hard on the boy.’ The arm around my shoulder was that of Boris Johnson’s father, Stanley. I remember where we were standing – it was outside the entrance to the Birmingham International Convention Centre – and I remember the occasion: a Conservative party conference. But which one? All I can say is that this was a long time ago. It was after Johnson minor had become Mayor of London – he was speaking at that conference – and it must have been after (and probably responding to) a column I wrote in the Times more than six years ago: ‘Tories have got to end their affair with Boris.’

I’m proud of that column – seeing it no doubt conceitedly as a significant piece of journalism amid a waste of routine other stuff in the 6,000-odd articles I’ve written in my career as a columnist. It caused something of a flutter at the time, with the Guardian quoting the paragraph I now quote here:

‘Somebody has to call a halt to the gathering pretence that if only you’re sufficiently comical in politics you can laugh everything off. Somebody has to remind us that it’s not enough for those who seek to govern us simply to be: they must do. Incompetence is not funny. Policy vacuum is not funny. Administrative sloth is not funny. Breaking promises is not funny. A careless disregard for the truth is not funny. Advising old mates planning to beat somebody up is not funny. Abortions and gagging orders are not funny. Creeping ambition in a jester’s cap is not funny. Vacuity posing as merriment, cynicism posing as savviness, a wink and smile covering for betrayal… these things are not funny.’

Though I was 64 at the time, the outburst had a somewhat adolescent quality: a kind of wide-eyed youthful shock at the sheer wickedness of the world. And as I went on to say, I felt uncomfortable about attacking my former Spectator editor in this way: ‘a fellow columnist… an essentially liberal-minded fellow Tory, a wonderful entertainer, and a man who has never been anything but friendly towards me.’

I did feel uncomfortable. From the columnist’s point of view, Johnson had been the perfect editor, often absent, even when present disinclined to interfere, and happy to let a thousand flowers bloom, plus a fair quotient of weeds too. His deputy at the time was an under-sung hero, Stuart Reid, a kind, scholarly and careful man, and an unobtrusively deft editor with a good eye for quality – besides being a patient clearer-up of his boss’s messes. So whenever anyone starts telling you about Johnson’s glorious reign at The Spectator, spare a thought for the man who made it possible. Indeed, whenever anyone starts telling you about any significant achievement in our Prime Minister’s career, spare a thought for the somebody-else who made it possible.

Stuart at least survived in one piece this chapter in both their lives. A notable feature of the Johnson journey so far has been the bodies left in ditches along his way. As with a vampire’s victims, they have this in common: their lives got caught up for a while with his, they fell, and there is no obvious sign of attack or brutality. With Johnson, even the bite marks are invisible after the kiss.

A notable feature of the Johnson journey so far has been the bodies left in ditches along his way
Leaving his personal life aside (I confess to a sneaking regard for Carrie Johnson, the only lover so far to have cornered this rascal), look at the professional engagements: senior civil servants, chief whips, private secretaries, ethics advisers… Owen Paterson and Rishi Sunak are only two of the more recent casualties. So many damaged men and women. When Johnson is finally driven from the field, someone is going to have to come in and bayonet the wounded. What hope Priti, Jacob, Nadine, Grant, Suella, Anne-Marie?

But there I go again, beginning to rant. My life too has been marked indelibly by this destructive force with his undoubted streak of a music-hall genius. Luckily I never wanted an honour, but it would have been pleasant to jog into this last lap of my own career before retirement with a reputation for balance, geniality, fair-mindedness and gentle humour. It was almost within my grasp. There was even an outside chance of becoming a sort of C-list national treasure de nos jours, maybe a notch or two down from Kate Adie, Bernard Levin or Alan Coren. Gone, all gone. I’ve turned into a mini-me Captain Ahab, jaw set, obsessively in pursuit of his own Moby Dick: Moby Johnson, the great white sperm whale. It’s not a good look, I freely confess it. Gentle humour goes out of the window as my readers groan: ‘Oh, not another thrust at Boris by this embittered old journalist – and Matthew used to be such fun! Why can’t he move on?’

Ah me. But in for a penny, in for a pound. Brace yourself for a little flight of pomposity. I know this sounds sanctimonious, but I truly believe that the present Prime Minister has stained his country in the eyes not only of the world, but of its own citizens. We have lost confidence in the essential propriety of democratic politics, we’ve started telling ourselves that they’re all like that: that politicians as a breed are mendacious, insincere and shallowly ambitious; and our faith even in the rule of law has been shaken. One of our two great political parties has been poisoned, mutilated and defaced.

This week the Conservative party, of which, for all its terrible faults, it was once possible to feel proud, nearly shook the incubus off its back; and before too long it will succeed. But the repair of the Tories’ own self-belief and reputation will be the work of a decade or more.

Johnson is routinely accused of having achieved nothing. Not so. He may not have entered politics to make a difference, but he has made a signal difference. Single--handedly he has blighted his party and disfigured the politics of a whole great nation. And I told you so: six years ago.

05-07-2022, 09:42 AM
Leaving aside the issue of whether the circus clown can hang on, its the whole big top that's rotten to the core. We actually have the unions desperately contacting the Speaker saying 1,000 workers in the HoC deal with regular sexual harassment, and its systematic and expected.

Kind of an extension of pre victorian times, when the aristocrat (or laird up here) saw it as part of his ownership rights to have a bit of a ride of his female staff (or male if that was his taste) anytime he liked. Thats what the class system does, and theres no higher representation of it than the HoC.

Parris gets a lot right in that column, but as a member of the ruling class himself he just doesnt get that element of it.

05-07-2022, 11:51 AM
https://twitter.com/bbcnewsnight/status/1544280112513810435?s=21&t=0XMRSJwxpUrXcLsn3UTyBw

Ben Wallace showing he’s just as bad as the rest of them.

05-07-2022, 12:27 PM
https://www.lbc.co.uk/opinion/civil-servant-urges-colleagues-to-quit-over-boris-johnsons-lies/

Incredible call.

05-07-2022, 01:19 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220705/3505790d1044ceb9c94a9aec8e9ca5a3.jpg

05-07-2022, 02:01 PM
Latest govt arsewipe now saying that our dear leader forgot about being told that Pincher was a sex pest. I mean, it's trivial stuff like that which is easily forgotten right enough...

05-07-2022, 02:02 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220705/3505790d1044ceb9c94a9aec8e9ca5a3.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkLooks like it's Rwanda again then, whilst Raab does the rabbit in the headlights stuff.

James310
05-07-2022, 02:11 PM
Latest govt arsewipe now saying that our dear leader forgot about being told that Pincher was a sex pest. I mean, it's trivial stuff like that which is easily forgotten right enough...

Lol, it's easily done.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-54439758.amp

Nicola Sturgeon has said she "forgot" about a meeting in which she believes she was told about harassment complaints against Alex Salmond.

05-07-2022, 02:31 PM
Lol, it's easily done.

Nicola Sturgeon has said she "forgot" about a meeting in which she believes she was told about harassment complaints against Alex Salmond.

Not true.

05-07-2022, 02:49 PM
Lol, it's easily done.

Desperate stuff.

I don't think it would be unreasonable for her to forget specifically which meeting she first heard of any allegations.

It would be entirely unreasonable for her to pretend never to have heard of any allegations.

FWIW I think there's an awful lot of room for improvement regarding the way that the SNP deal with such situations, and I really wish they'd keep their hands off one other.

McSwanky
05-07-2022, 02:55 PM
Lol, it's easily done.

Nicola Sturgeon has said she "forgot" about a meeting in which she believes she was told about harassment complaints against Alex Salmond.Whataboutery at its finest. You're seriously comparing Sturgeon's misdemeanours to Johnson's? Laughable.

05-07-2022, 02:57 PM
Whataboutery at its finest. You're seriously comparing Sturgeon's misdemeanours to Johnson's? Laughable.

She took her mask off briefly once - no wonder they can't build a ferry. :rolleyes:

James310
05-07-2022, 03:00 PM
Whataboutery at its finest. You're seriously comparing Sturgeon's misdemeanours to Johnson's? Laughable.

Both forgot meetings about getting informed about sexual harassment?

05-07-2022, 03:22 PM
Both forgot meetings about getting informed about sexual harassment?No.... one forgot whether it was Wednesday 3 years previously or the Friday.... but admitted it happened.

The other forgot anything had happened at all.. despite being quoted as having jokes about it afterwards.

05-07-2022, 03:23 PM
No.... one forgot whether it was Wednesday 3 years previously or the Friday.... but admitted it happened.

The other forgot anything had happened at all.. despite being quoted as having jokes about it afterwards.

And went to promote the offender.

05-07-2022, 03:24 PM
https://www.instituteforgovernment.org.uk/blog/simon-case-no10-press-office-lies

Is the civil service still considered impartial?

05-07-2022, 03:46 PM
https://www.instituteforgovernment.org.uk/blog/simon-case-no10-press-office-lies

Lord McDonald is now a cross party Lord.

He is not bound by Civil Service impartiality.

Telling it like it is. It works both ways. Taking the Piss then hiding behind the fact that Civil Servants can’t speak out is shan.

05-07-2022, 04:16 PM
https://youtu.be/ujWVfh4REAM

05-07-2022, 04:20 PM
Lord McDonald is now a cross party Lord.

He is not bound by Civil Service impartiality.

Telling it like it is. It works both ways. Taking the Piss then hiding behind the fact that Civil Servants can’t speak out is shan.

I’m talking about the lying press officers who are civil servants standing up and lying to the public every day?

05-07-2022, 04:21 PM
I’m talking about the lying press officers who are civil servants standing up and lying to the public every day?

What a ****ty shift to have.

05-07-2022, 04:22 PM
He's toast. The cabinet are splintering.

Will the Tories have an election whilst theirs a war on?

Shirley no.

05-07-2022, 04:28 PM

With a normal government in power I would say yes.

I spent almost 40 years being impartial, giving advice without fear or favour.

Like most decent folk I've been appalled by what's been going on around Downing Street and some other government departments. The leadership in these departments has been incredibly weak. This short of ****, as described by Lord McDonald, and more should have been nipped in the bud.

05-07-2022, 04:46 PM
Noble Lords peeing themselves as minister Lord True tries to keep a straight face while addressing the issue of Pincher and standards.

https://twitter.com/Direthoughts/status/1544327853701058560

05-07-2022, 05:00 PM
Lol, it's easily done.

:faf: You've got a similar grasp of the truth as Boris.

05-07-2022, 05:05 PM
Johnson just said that he should have realised that ‘people don’t change’. Something for his cabinet to think about.
Javid away now.

05-07-2022, 05:06 PM
Johnson just said that he should have realised that ‘people don’t change’. Something for his cabinet to think about.
Javid away now.

https://twitter.com/sajidjavid/status/1544366218789937152

05-07-2022, 05:06 PM
Javid away now.

At ****** last!

This has got to be the end now.

05-07-2022, 05:10 PM
Javid has resigned and gone rogue. Bozo must be done.

05-07-2022, 05:12 PM
And Sunak goes.

05-07-2022, 05:13 PM
Rishi Sunak gone.

05-07-2022, 05:13 PM
And Sunak goes.

:cb:cb