View Full Version : Tories are still lying *******s
24-10-2022, 10:49 AM
Cleverly/Zahawi/Patel all supported Johnston yesterday,today all changed to Sunak,absolutely disgusting behaviour hoping for a nice wee job later.
That lot are only in it for themselves. Desperate to keep their snouts in the trough
24-10-2022, 11:23 AM
Cleverly/Zahawi/Patel all supported Johnston yesterday,today all changed to Sunak,absolutely disgusting behaviour hoping for a nice wee job later.
I don't really understand why this is being attacked so much. I'm not sure what people think they should have done. Abstain?
They wanted Johnson to stand, he hasn't, so they have a choice between 2 declared candidates. They've chosen Sunak and, because they went public with their initial preference, they're explaining what they'll do now that it's not available.
Undoubtedly they'll be interested in getting a job, but that can be levelled at every MP in every party, so as much as I dislike the three of them, there's little to criticise here.
24-10-2022, 11:25 AM
I don't really understand why this is being attacked so much. I'm not sure what people think they should have done. Abstain?
"Hibs for the Cup!"
*Hibs lose to St Johnstone*
"St Johnstone for the Cup!"
Stairway 2 7
24-10-2022, 11:35 AM
"Hibs for the Cup!"
Not really the same is it. Every party election people endorse one candidate, it only happened just over a month ago also. When there candidate loses they say I'll work for the winner.
The problem comes if the don't actually have that support, I think the tories are very fractured.
24-10-2022, 11:43 AM
"Hibs for the Cup!"
"St Johnstone for the Cup!"I didn't get past the Hibs lose to St. Johnstone bit.
24-10-2022, 11:47 AM
I hope Penny Mordaunt wins :tee hee:
24-10-2022, 11:48 AM
Thought he did a good job during lockdown. Pretty much the only leading member of government to do so. In what way is he 'evil'? Strikes me as relatively sensible/normal by politician standards.
Of course if Covid hadn't struck (or if he'd opted for his preferred Swedish-style non-lockdown approach) Boris would most likely still be PM.
He had the easy take of splurging taxpayers money. Any chancellor would have done the same thing and would be loved for doing it. The fact he didn’t want to do this should be remembered. He wanted hers immunity.
They had no other choice in the end, but this was not of Sunaks doing.
Stairway 2 7
24-10-2022, 11:48 AM
Morgan Stanley say 30-40% of uk households could struggle to pay their mortgage next year, ouch
https://mobile.twitter.com/RobinWigg/status/1584479798784466944
24-10-2022, 11:50 AM
Just to summarise, Boris Johnson cut short a family Caribbean Holiday to rush back to the UK so he could stand down from the party leadership election in the name of uniting the party despite having enough backers to ensure he would get to the next stage?
Liar liar pants on fire.
We only need his position on not going to the Wimbledon v MK Dons game for the full set.
Stairway 2 7
24-10-2022, 11:50 AM
He had the easy take of splurging taxpayers money. Any chancellor would have done the same thing and would be loved for doing it.
They had no other choice.
But he fought tooth and nail not to do it. He thought lockdown and furlough would be too harmful for the economy, sums the man (billionaire) up really
Chorley Hibee
24-10-2022, 11:54 AM
But he fought tooth and nail not to do it. He thought lockdown and furlough would be too harmful for the economy, sums the man (billionaire) up really
He also left 3 million self employed etc, without a penny in terms of support.
It would be fascinating to know why some of these strongly anti-Sunak Tories, like Christopher Chope, dislike our distinguished former chancellor so much. Sunak's agenda is going to be extreme austerity, low taxes, a hollowed out public sector and more departures from European standards and legal frameworks. They should love him. Its almost like they have something existential against him, a kind of public school prejudice, dislike of skinny people perhaps?
I dont think its beyond the realms of possibility that Mordaunt scrapes the requisite 100 votes tonight and then the Boris cheerleaders unite behind her and she wins against the odds.
We only need his position on not going to the Wimbledon v MK Dons game for the full set.James Cleverley is an MK Don's and AFC Wimbledon fan, he's got a half and half suit. It's catching on and he's setting up a Nasty Party supporters branch as there's so many shape shifters there.
24-10-2022, 11:56 AM
We only need his position on not going to the Wimbledon v MK Dons game for the full set.
Just to be clear, there is no way i'd be going to that fixture, even if i wasn't working that day. Which i'm not.
24-10-2022, 12:06 PM
Phil Moorhouse offering good analysis once again: Machiavellian Boris's calculated lies
https://youtu.be/N7ZzOukfSuU
24-10-2022, 12:07 PM
Stability [emoji23]
https://twitter.com/theousherwood/status/1584514586887081984?t=STjzvXmdpUiVYk1QORCLlg&s=19
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
24-10-2022, 12:09 PM
It would be fascinating to know why some of these strongly anti-Sunak Tories, like Christopher Chope, dislike our distinguished former chancellor so much. Sunak's agenda is going to be extreme austerity, low taxes, a hollowed out public sector and more departures from European standards and legal frameworks. They should love him. Its almost like they have something existential against him, a kind of public school prejudice, dislike of skinny people perhaps?
I dont think its beyond the realms of possibility that Mordaunt scrapes the requisite 100 votes tonight and then the Boris cheerleaders unite behind her and she wins against the odds.
Sunak will not unite the party. He is hated by the Boris lovers as the architect of Boris's downfall.
24-10-2022, 12:12 PM
Stability [emoji23]
https://twitter.com/theousherwood/status/1584514586887081984?t=STjzvXmdpUiVYk1QORCLlg&s=19
How is it even possible to be so unprincipled?
Sunak will not unite the party. He is hated by the Boris lovers as the architect of Boris's downfall.So fistfights still a possibility.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
24-10-2022, 12:13 PM
So fistfights still a possibility.
Guaranteed, and with Bozo doing everything he possibly can to undermine Sunak.
24-10-2022, 12:25 PM
"Hibs for the Cup!"
That's not a good analogy, but for interest's sake, if their opponents were hearts, I'd definitely be wanting St. Johnstone to win.
24-10-2022, 12:30 PM
Surely the motto of anybody now struggling to pay a mortgage should be...
"I detest the Tories."
24-10-2022, 12:47 PM
Sunak will not unite the party. He is hated by the Boris lovers as the architect of Boris's downfall.
You think that’s the reason? I don’t think they seriously think Sunak orchestrated Boris’ demise. Who could seriously think that? He did it to himself. I think Chope et Al are just looking for an excuse not to unite behind Sunak. Politically, he’s giving them everything they want. It just comes in a wrapping they dont want.
24-10-2022, 12:55 PM
You think that’s the reason? I don’t think they seriously think Sunak orchestrated Boris’ demise. Who could seriously think that? He did it to himself. I think Chope et Al are just looking for an excuse not to unite behind Sunak. Politically, he’s giving them everything they want. It just comes in a wrapping they dont want.
I've seen lots of reason they apparently don't like him, stabbing Johnson in the back, lockdown, he's in the hands of the World Economic Forum, globalist elites, the fact the members didn't vote for him two months ago etc, it's like a GB news starter pack
24-10-2022, 12:59 PM
You think that’s the reason? I don’t think they seriously think Sunak orchestrated Boris’ demise. Who could seriously think that? He did it to himself. I think Chope et Al are just looking for an excuse not to unite behind Sunak. Politically, he’s giving them everything they want. It just comes in a wrapping they dont want.Listening to the nasty party "man in the street", okay pub, round here, you're not wrong in what you allude to. There have been a few hideous comments.
24-10-2022, 01:00 PM
Mordaunt withdraws. That's that then.
24-10-2022, 01:00 PM
Mordaunt withdraws. That's that then.Just waiting on Bozo to walk in like Vince McMahon [emoji23]
24-10-2022, 01:03 PM
So a month and a half ago we got a leader voted in by 150,000 people and now it's a leader handed a job by under 200, there has to be a General Election
24-10-2022, 01:05 PM
So a month and a half ago we got a leader voted in by 150,000 people and now it's a leader handed a job by under 200, there has to be a General Election
You can't allow the plebs to vote. What do you think this is, a democracy?
24-10-2022, 01:09 PM
One amusing aspect of this is that the people that have shouted the loudest for voter ID in UK elections are apoplectic that the Tory membership (including tortoises, and kids etc.) aren't being allowed an online vote on the next leader this week.
24-10-2022, 01:11 PM
It's good to have another man of the people as PM. Public school educated, worth about £300 million and married to a billionaire. Rishi understand what millions of people are enduring just now.
Stairway 2 7
24-10-2022, 01:12 PM
They on the right of the party love Braverman and Kemi Badenoch is being groomed by them to be future leader. Sunak is pro European and isn't really interested in culture wars, both main pillars of erg. Baker wanted cast iron insurances over brexit before they would back. There are obviously a disproportionate amount of racists in the Conservatives, but the right of the part would have loved Suella if they could have.
Stairway 2 7
24-10-2022, 01:13 PM
It's good to have another man of the people as PM. Public school educated, worth about £300 million and married to a billionaire. Rishi understand what millions of people are enduring just now.
Does that not make him a billionaire, they won't want him being called that of course
24-10-2022, 01:16 PM
I think you're both right.
Sunak is blamed for betraying Johnson by resigning but he's also the wrong shade of white.
Stairway 2 7
24-10-2022, 01:18 PM
Zarah Sultana on Sunak and colour, great as usual
https://mobile.twitter.com/DoubleDownNews/status/1584531649605214210
24-10-2022, 01:22 PM
They on the right of the party love Braverman and Kemi Badenoch is being groomed by them to be future leader. Sunak is pro European and isn't really interested in culture wars, both main pillars of erg. Really?
24-10-2022, 01:28 PM
Really?
I'm pretty certain he's always been pro-Brexit.
24-10-2022, 01:28 PM
https://youtu.be/CNo74O7_HXc
Stairway 2 7
24-10-2022, 01:32 PM
Really?
I was talking in terms of the party, they think he's too pro eu. He wanted brexit more for getting rid of legislation and the freedom to irode rules. He knew there would be a financial downside, pure profiteering for his rich mates.
From reuters
Sunak supported Brexit in the 2016 referendum but is still seen by some on the right of the party as too sympathetic to the EU
He's an article from some idiot spouting pish but the gist is the right think he doesn't want hard brexit
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2022/08/09/may-have-leaver-rishi-sunak-would-keep-us-tied-eu/
https://www.newstatesman.com/politics/brexit/2022/03/brexit-is-making-us-poorer-and-rishi-sunak-agrees
Stairway 2 7
24-10-2022, 01:50 PM
In happier news
https://mobile.twitter.com/BazakeMedia/status/1584179837409058817
@BazakeMedia
🚨 | BREAKING: Sick pranksters have added further insult to injury last night by placing a giant novelty dildo on top of the already vandalised statue of Baroness Thatcher
Stairway 2 7
24-10-2022, 01:53 PM
University and college staff to go on strike, there will be many in the next year
Jo Grady
@DrJoGrady
·
Sunak is now the Prime Minister. On the day we have just announced a historic strike ballot across every university, it is worth saying the UCU have more branches than Sunak got nominations to be PM. We also have more members than votes Truss got to be PM.
Remember that
24-10-2022, 02:24 PM
In happier news
@BazakeMedia
🚨 | BREAKING: Sick pranksters have added further insult to injury last night by placing a giant novelty dildo on top of the already vandalised statue of Baroness Thatcher
What a dickhead she was.
24-10-2022, 02:39 PM
In happier news
@BazakeMedia
Well, that made me laugh 😄
24-10-2022, 03:13 PM
In happier news
@BazakeMedia
[emoji599] | BREAKING: Sick pranksters have added further insult to injury last night by placing a giant novelty dildo on top of the already vandalised statue of Baroness Thatcher[emoji16]
Typical Tory, never misses a photo opportunity
24-10-2022, 04:30 PM
They on the right of the party love Braverman and Kemi Badenoch is being groomed by them to be future leader. Sunak is pro European and isn't really interested in culture wars, both main pillars of erg. Baker wanted cast iron insurances over brexit before they would back. There are obviously a disproportionate amount of racists in the Conservatives, but the right of the part would have loved Suella if they could have.
Sunak has always been anti EU.
24-10-2022, 04:32 PM
I'm pretty certain he's always been pro-Brexit.
:agree: He was critical of the EU even as a schoolboy.
24-10-2022, 04:44 PM
Mordaunt withdraws. That's that then.
it's a pity Stanley Johnson didn't practise how to withdraw
24-10-2022, 05:11 PM
Unless things have changed recently, our new PM is married to a woman, billionaires, much of whose money is tied up in a company based in Russia. The company was established by her father, a friend and supporter of Putin. Makes you want to vomit.
Stairway 2 7
24-10-2022, 05:12 PM
Sunak has always been anti EU.
That's my opinion too as are almost all tory mps to some extent, but to erg he's too non mental. Culture wars, immigration and brexit seems more important than the UK economy to them
Stairway 2 7
24-10-2022, 05:15 PM
Unless things have changed recently, our new PM is married to a woman, billionaires, much of whose money is tied up in a company based in Russia. The company was established by her father, a friend and supporter of Putin. Makes you want to vomit.
And isreal, a right nice bunch
https://mobile.twitter.com/Lowkey0nline/status/1583423329620307969
Lowkey
@Lowkey0nline
Rishi Sunak's family has significant business interests in Israel.
Their company, Infosys, is co-directed by Uri Levine, formerly of Israeli Military Intelligence Unit 8200.
Infosys and its subsidiaries there all employ former Israeli military personnel
@kennardmatt
·
Apr 19
Influence of the Israeli state over British politics is orders of magnitude greater than anything ever achieved by the Russians. "Sir" Alan Duncan, UK foreign minister from 2016-19, blew the whistle on it in his diaries last year. It was ignored by media.
https://declassifieduk.org/former-british-minister-the-israelis-think-they-control-the-foreign-office-and-they-do/
24-10-2022, 05:22 PM
Unless things have changed recently, our new PM is married to a woman, billionaires, much of whose money is tied up in a company based in Russia. The company was established by her father, a friend and supporter of Putin. Makes you want to vomit.Nothings changed except she might be paying her UK taxes now and may no longer be non-domiciled to avoid paying tax to the uk?
24-10-2022, 05:26 PM
Last year Sunak gave Richmondshire - which lies entirely within his own constituency - preferred access to a £4.8b levelling up fund by listing it as a category 1 area, despite it being one of the least deprived areas in England (251 out of 317 on govt's own index of deprivation).
24-10-2022, 06:17 PM
Last year Sunak gave Richmondshire - which lies entirely within his own constituency - preferred access to a £4.8b levelling up fund by listing it as a category 1 area, despite it being one of the least deprived areas in England (251 out of 317 on govt's own index of deprivation).
As Rich-i infamously said, "the Labour government had diverted money to deprived urban areas. I started the job of undoing that."
24-10-2022, 06:34 PM
I am disappointed Sunaks the PM, and I didn’t vote for him myself. But I respect the will of the people, it was a fair election and that’s the will of the people, democracy at work. That’s why our country is the best. What majority of seats did they end up getting, I forgot to check.
https://twitter.com/Aiannucci/status/1584561979930587136?t=PreuKJhhZox8Qkff3dLxwQ&s=19
Ouch. Guess who staying in the political wilderness.
24-10-2022, 06:47 PM
https://twitter.com/Aiannucci/status/1584561979930587136?t=PreuKJhhZox8Qkff3dLxwQ&s=19
Ouch. Guess who staying in the political wilderness.
The moment when his pus drops of a cliff when he's dinghied :hilarious:hilarious
24-10-2022, 07:08 PM
"The UK faces a profound economic challenge"
...says Sunak
Yeah, and the majority of the economic problems we face were caused by his own bloody party.
24-10-2022, 07:10 PM
aw diddums :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/312489612_184181794182828_216204907156681420_n.jpg ?stp=cp6_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=106&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=Au4lJJHcMiYAX_rcqY7&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT_NDbQl9ZAesHJZqgtIvamgrFfAWBHTLg_d2L3QnOCf eg&oe=635CA188
24-10-2022, 07:13 PM
"The UK faces a profound economic challenge"
...says Sunak
Yeah, and the majority of the economic problems we face were caused by his own bloody party.
:rolleyes:He'll be along in a minute to tell us it's all because of Ukraine. Most nasties do.
Maybe he could get his father in law to have a word with his Russian pals?
24-10-2022, 07:27 PM
leaked photo, state o that room :bitchy:
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/311575533_659343065808144_2813489814972238889_n.jp g?_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=rf_oOOVq5MIAX-0C2aw&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT99gSHGmbXoXNECYTe96AktZdc8R17jrYVbDL5cL4I7 Ug&oe=635B870C
General vibe among those Tories who have been sent to speak to the media since yesterday afternoon is that it is a relief now that someone who is "competent" in charge, someone they can "trust" and that he will bring "stability".
So none of the previous leaders recently have been competent, trustworthy or stable.
Thank god the Tories are in charge now after all that.
25-10-2022, 08:30 AM
General vibe among those Tories who have been sent to speak to the media since yesterday afternoon is that it is a relief now that someone who is "competent" in charge, someone they can "trust" and that he will bring "stability".
So none of the previous leaders recently have been competent, trustworthy or stable.
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkCompetent Trust Stability.
We have a winner of the 3 word slogan competition, all they need now is the side of a bus to put it on and it'll be true.
Stairway 2 7
25-10-2022, 08:41 AM
It's a disgrace how the tories are trying to push stability and normality today, erasing the last 12 years. Forgetting this was the Chancellor up until this summer. The man who didn't want lockdown, who came up with the idiotic eat out help out help out and got a FPN from the police.
Their was a tory on TV saying you can't call him a billionaire as its his wife's wealth. People who get rejected for benefits this week because their partner has a job, should say wow that's not my wealth
25-10-2022, 08:48 AM
Their was a tory on TV saying you can't call him a billionaire as its his wife's wealth. People who get rejected for benefits this week because their partner has a job, should say wow that's not my wealth
Very good point.
25-10-2022, 09:38 AM
Never forget that this is the guy who doesn't know how to use a contactless payment card.
25-10-2022, 09:42 AM
Never forget that this is the guy who doesn't know how to use a contactless payment card.
He does drive a Kia though.
25-10-2022, 09:43 AM
That’s still a very divided party, and no way in hell is Sunak strong enough to manage that.
25-10-2022, 09:52 AM
Resignation statements, abbreviated.
Cameron: Oops.
May: I'm sorry.
Johnson: You *******s.
Truss: I was right.
25-10-2022, 10:52 AM
Someone playing I predict a riot while Sunak speaks.
25-10-2022, 11:35 AM
Someone playing I predict a riot while Sunak speaks.Surely You've got to pick a pocket or two would have been a better choice? Spanning, as it does the whole period of recent Nasty party governance.
25-10-2022, 11:56 AM
Rees-Mogg resigns from government
Just_Jimmy
25-10-2022, 12:05 PM
Rees-Mogg resigns from governmentHopefully the evil **** will lose his seat at the next election. Not that'll it'll matter to him.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
25-10-2022, 12:08 PM
Sunak has a very boring lecturn compared to the previous ones. Truss had the twisted blocks to reflect her mind.
25-10-2022, 12:19 PM
Brandon Lewis resigns from government too.
25-10-2022, 12:30 PM
Rumours that Braverman is going to be back in cabinet, potentially as home sec. Surely not.
25-10-2022, 01:27 PM
Rumours that Braverman is going to be back in cabinet, potentially as home sec. Surely not.
Defence Against The Dark Arts Minister, I’m hearing. Matt Hancock Minister in Charge of Biscuits.
Is anyone else exhausted by this? It’s a new tactic to further disengage people from REAL politics, just give everyone wall to wall ‘politics’ involving moving various nutters around the key positions of power so they can’t take it anymore.
25-10-2022, 01:36 PM
Will Alistair ‘union’ Jack survive?
25-10-2022, 02:32 PM
has rees-mogg resigned ?
(1) Beth Rigby on Twitter: "BREAK: And so it begins. Just heard that Jacob Rees-Mogg has resigned from govt. A close ally of both Johnson and Truss, I’m told his letter has been delivered to the new PM" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/BethRigby/status/1584873673802285057?t=4bypwNwrTXJf0e7wKPyoTA&s=19&fbclid=IwAR3AYjiLuFt-uHFiv3J5bT30TWL8M2ncDT7wChShkyFCvQ0nWqrZ36x0zkQ)
25-10-2022, 02:39 PM
has rees-mogg resigned ?
(1) Beth Rigby on Twitter: "BREAK: And so it begins. Just heard that Jacob Rees-Mogg has resigned from govt. A close ally of both Johnson and Truss, I’m told his letter has been delivered to the new PM" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/BethRigby/status/1584873673802285057?t=4bypwNwrTXJf0e7wKPyoTA&s=19&fbclid=IwAR3AYjiLuFt-uHFiv3J5bT30TWL8M2ncDT7wChShkyFCvQ0nWqrZ36x0zkQ)
He's been shuffled out of the cabinet.
25-10-2022, 02:56 PM
Joe Biden heartily congratulates ‘Rashi Sanook’
25-10-2022, 02:58 PM
Jeremy Hunt will remain in his post as Chancellor of the Exchequer, Prime Minister Rishi Sunak has confirmed.
Hunt was appointed chancellor by former prime minister Liz Truss 11 days ago, after turmoil in the financial markets following the mini-budget and its platform of unfunded tax cuts.
Possibly the only bit of good news as I imagine he will stick with the reversal of Kwarteng mini budget.
Stairway 2 7
25-10-2022, 03:17 PM
Jeremy Hunt will remain in his post as Chancellor of the Exchequer, Prime Minister Rishi Sunak has confirmed.
Hunt was appointed chancellor by former prime minister Liz Truss 11 days ago, after turmoil in the financial markets following the mini-budget and its platform of unfunded tax cuts. The 45% took the headlines but that was only 2 billion of the 60
Possibly the only bit of good news as I imagine he will stick with the reversal of Kwarteng mini budget.
Aye brilliant news. Kwarteng was going to get the cuts from building up debt, hunt is going to take it through brutal austerity
Just_Jimmy
25-10-2022, 03:36 PM
So far it's a retread of the same dross that's ****ed the country sideways for years.
Get them out
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
25-10-2022, 03:52 PM
More of the raving loonies going back in ..Braverman, Badenoch, Coffey....he obviously doesn't get it.
25-10-2022, 03:53 PM
More of the raving loonies going back in ..Braverman, Badenoch, Coffey....he obviously doesn't get it.
He has to keep the nutter wing of the party happy.
Please not Braverman as HS.
Edit - Confirmed, she’s back. I hope the matter that caused her to resign is fully investigated by the Parliamentary Standards Committee.
Stairway 2 7
25-10-2022, 04:00 PM
It's like swirling **** with a stick, same old bass
Bbc
Dominic Raab has been named as Deputy Prime Minister, Lord Chancellor, and Secretary of State for Justice
25-10-2022, 04:01 PM
So 12 years of absolute misery and no long term economic plan. The UK getting more and more into debt and most public services ready to break. Just what we need a PM and Chancellor who put the foot on the accelerator as we approach the cliff. At least a decade ago our kids, who have no blame in this, could open the door and jump. Now the child locks have been secured by the adults and everyone will perish together, well the PM and his toff pals will be fine of course. We really are a clueless nation. Austerity doesn't work. Start to govern for people and not markets and you will have a happier and more productive society that will also do better in terms of Markets than the ludicrous Plan we see at the moment.
25-10-2022, 04:08 PM
After watching the Wrexham series I really liked what they were doing there in terms of community etc. This is a bit of a set back though for their reputation. Well done to Paul Mullins though. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63385682
25-10-2022, 04:12 PM
Braverman back in 6 days after resigning for breaking the ministerial code
25-10-2022, 04:17 PM
Braverman back in 6 days after resigning for breaking the ministerial code
So much for the integrity, accountability and professionalism he spoke about on steps of no10 this morning.
Braverman back in 6 days after resigning for breaking the ministerial codeIt's a fresh start for everyone, except for people not in top positions in the Tory Party.
I'm hearing tory leaders speaking about previous governments as if its got naff all to do with them.
Cameron: tory government kicked off the cluster****.
May: tory government haplessly continued the cluster****.
Johnson: tory government took the cluster**** to a whole new level ...
... and just when you thought it couldn't get any worse ...
Truss: tory government took cluster**** way into the stratosphere.
Sunak: *tory government* ...
25-10-2022, 04:56 PM
Defence Against The Dark Arts Minister, I’m hearing. Matt Hancock Minister in Charge of Biscuits.
Is anyone else exhausted by this? It’s a new tactic to further disengage people from REAL politics, just give everyone wall to wall ‘politics’ involving moving various nutters around the key positions of power so they can’t take it anymore.Ministry of slack jawed adultery, I heard wee Matt was the man once Bozo couldn't be contacted as his flight crossed the Atlantic.
25-10-2022, 05:01 PM
It's a fresh start for everyone, except for people not in top positions in the Tory Party.
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkIt's a fresh start for everyone, especially those who are really, really nasty and are prepared to reinvent that nastiness over a short period of time to suit changing circumstances.
This creature makes Patel look like a libertarian humanitarian.
25-10-2022, 05:01 PM
Ministry of slack jawed adultery, I heard wee Matt was the man once Bozo couldn't be contacted as his flight crossed the Atlantic.
Junior Minister for Gentle Buttcupping
25-10-2022, 05:04 PM
Junior Minister for Gentle ButtcuppingHopefully we won't be subjected to too many videos of this like when he was leading from the front as health minister during lockdown.
25-10-2022, 05:05 PM
Gillian Keegan, 5th education Secretary in 4 months. 5 in 4 months :faf:
Can you imagine being a civil servant in that department? Nothing can have been happening. No strategic direction at all. Probably countless pointless meetings with new ministers whose new edicts will be inconsequential in about 3 weeks.
25-10-2022, 05:07 PM
Will Sunak not get the easiest passage of any recent Prime Minister? He will get absolute support from every last member of his party as any further internal strife will see a landslide Labour win at the next election, and hundreds of unemployed Tory MPs.
Will Sunak not get the easiest passage of any recent Prime Minister? He will get absolute support from every last member of his party as any further internal strife will see a landslide Labour win at the next election, and hundreds of unemployed Tory MPs.You forget how angry, feral and revengeful the more nutty branch is. Many of them hate Sunak as they think he was responsible for the Yeti resigning. There are tensions among them which are anti-globalist and pro- globalist (whatever that is). There is also the fact that there will be very little actual growth post-brexit. Chuck in how entitled they all are and they will be at each others throats again soon.
25-10-2022, 05:19 PM
Gillian Keegan, 5th education Secretary in 4 months. 5 in 4 months :faf:
Can you imagine being a civil servant in that department? Nothing can have been happening. No strategic direction at all. Probably countless pointless meetings with new ministers whose new edicts will be inconsequential in about 3 weeks.It's a great appointment if you are a Nasty, irrespective of whoever happens to currently be in the revolving chair. The last thing you want is a highly educated population from the state sector. Mirroring the cabinet is important.
25-10-2022, 05:26 PM
Will Sunak not get the easiest passage of any recent Prime Minister? He will get absolute support from every last member of his party as any further internal strife will see a landslide Labour win at the next election, and hundreds of unemployed Tory MPs.
Argument between Rees Mogg and another Tory backbencher in Parliament today.
25-10-2022, 05:28 PM
Argument between Rees Mogg and a Tory backbencher in Parliament today.
Just a bit of political banter probably and insignificant in the bigger picture.
25-10-2022, 05:58 PM
Bonkers Braverman back at the Home Office a week after admitting to breaking the ministerial code.
At least Rees-Mogg is out, and he won't be back, given the mutual hatred between him and Sunak.
If Coffey still at Health? I haven't seen it.
25-10-2022, 06:07 PM
:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious
https://youtu.be/lIyOkuoAW6Q
25-10-2022, 06:08 PM
Aye brilliant news. Kwarteng was going to get the cuts from building up debt, hunt is going to take it through brutal austerity
And you want us to continue with covid testing and funding the war in Ukraine?
Cake and eat it comes to mind.
Desmond Swayne channeling Jeffry Dahmer on Channel 4 news, trying to pretend he's reasonable but looking ravenously at the interviewer.
Blimey: C4N also showing one Truss's better speeches. She sounds like a speak-and-spell machine that forgot it's homework. Does "stability" mean "not a moron"?
25-10-2022, 06:16 PM
I just saw Dim Lizzy's farewell speech for the first time. She was in top form, quoting Seneca whilst not being able to pronounce his name :greengrin:greengrin
25-10-2022, 06:33 PM
I just saw Dim Lizzy's farewell speech for the first time. She was in top form, quoting Seneca whilst not being able to pronounce his name :greengrin:greengrin
Cringe from beginning to end. Why she felt the need to speak at all is beyond me.
25-10-2022, 06:44 PM
Braverman…integrity…I’m not sure Sunak is off to a flyer here.
Stairway 2 7
25-10-2022, 06:47 PM
And you want us to continue with covid testing and funding the war in Ukraine?
Cake and eat it comes to mind.
Covid testing will save lives of vulnerable people so yes I do. As for funding the war, I think you have been reading boris's press releases. Giving Ukraine our 3rd generation equipment on training space isn't funding the war that has raged for 8 years. The don't account for 100th of Brexits cost
25-10-2022, 06:48 PM
Braverman…integrity…I’m not sure Sunak is off to a flyer here.She doesn't seem, by her own admission, that competent at security either, which can sometimes come in handy when you are in charge of the secret service and safety of the nation.
25-10-2022, 06:56 PM
She doesn't seem, by her own admission, that competent at security either, which can sometimes come in handy when you are in charge of the secret service and safety of the nation.
But, like Sunak and Patel, she is a descendant of recent immigrants who now wants to send refugees to Rwanda. National security comes a distant second behind victimising some of the most desperate people in the world.
25-10-2022, 07:02 PM
But, like Sunak and Patel, she is a descendant of recent immigrants who now wants to send refugees to Rwanda. National security comes a distant second behind victimising some of the most desperate people in the world.Yep, which is ironic when you consider how important having a very close and personal relationship with flags is to many core nasty party voters / Patriots..
25-10-2022, 07:05 PM
A real step back for the LGBT+ community. In proof that Tories don’t get irony, Kemi Badenoch who described trans women as “men”, banned gender neutral toilets at her failed leadership bid launch and abstained on same-sex marriage in Northern Ireland is the new cabinet Minister for, wait for it, Women & Equalities.
25-10-2022, 07:17 PM
A real step back for the LGBT+ community. In proof that Tories don’t get irony, Kemi Badenoch who described trans women as “men”, banned gender neutral toilets at her failed leadership bid launch and abstained on same-sex marriage in Northern Ireland is the new cabinet Minister for, wait for it, Women & Equalities.
Indeed, and another appointment where Sunak knows exactly what he's doing. It will keep the right wing of the party and the Tory press onside. He is sleekit, much cleverer than Truss.
Andy Bee
25-10-2022, 07:19 PM
Gavin Williamson appointed as Minister of no portfolio, WTAF is that, has he got a cabinet seat but no actual department to **** up?
25-10-2022, 07:32 PM
Gavin Williamson appointed as Minister of no portfolio, WTAF is that, has he got a cabinet seat but no actual department to **** up?Sneaky ******* who knows where bodies were buried under previous regimes?
Stairway 2 7
25-10-2022, 07:33 PM
Possibly the most right wing cabinet in decades, terrifying
25-10-2022, 07:37 PM
Possibly the most right wing cabinet in decades, terrifying
Quite possibly ever.
25-10-2022, 07:38 PM
Quite possibly ever.
Definitely in modern times, yes.
Stairway 2 7
25-10-2022, 07:45 PM
Kemi Badenoch minister for trade means as hard and crushing a brexit as possible. As for Braverman Rwanda dream lives on
@GeorgeMonbiot
With his reinstatement of Cruella Braverman as Home Secretary, we see what Sunak really stands for:
Crushing civil liberties, persecuting refugees, sacrificing lives to the billionaire press.
The Nasty Party never went away
25-10-2022, 07:46 PM
At least that’s the nail in the coffin for the ***** at the next election.
25-10-2022, 07:46 PM
Quite possibly ever.
In British parliamentary history, without a doubt. Assuming we are taking into account the prevailing social attitudes of the day (George Hamilton Gordon Viscount of Aberdeen’s cabinet probably had a harder policy on gay marriage, and I bet they all thought the white man was genetically superior, for example, but I think we all know what we mean)
25-10-2022, 09:02 PM
https://twitter.com/mrjamesob/status/1585012608138375168?t=hVl_ye-0CDf_lBJBfXVYmg&s=19
25-10-2022, 09:08 PM
https://twitter.com/mrjamesob/status/1585012608138375168?t=hVl_ye-0CDf_lBJBfXVYmg&s=19
Comments below saying Dorries is dyslexic; so why get her to read autocue? :confused:
Stairway 2 7
25-10-2022, 09:51 PM
@NicolaSturgeon
·
39m
Constructive call with
@RishiSunak
tonight. I expressed hope that we will build a UK/Scot gov relationship based on mutual respect - inc for mandates - and my fear that further austerity will do real damage to people & public services. I look forward to further engagement soon
26-10-2022, 04:38 AM
At least that’s the nail in the coffin for the ***** at the next election.
Is it though? With over a third of the population creaming themselves at the idea of refugees being shipped off to camps in Africa, all it takes is enough of the core Tory voters to hold their nose about that and they're back in, especially if there's an upwards trend in the economy come election day.
OldEast
26-10-2022, 05:20 AM
Is it though? With over a third of the population creaming themselves at the idea of refugees being shipped off to camps in Africa, all it takes is enough of the core Tory voters to hold their nose about that and they're back in, especially if there's an upwards trend in the economy come election day.
If you've got some spare cash a bet on the tories to be the largest party at the next GE isn't the daftest idea ever. I'll qualify that by saying only if they go full term. If things go tits up and an early election is called then all bets are off.
Stairway 2 7
26-10-2022, 05:26 AM
% was roughly the the amount of Scots that agreed with the abhorrent Rwanda policy too. I think it just shows sometimes public opinion isnt worth a sook sometimes
26-10-2022, 05:39 AM
% was roughly the the amount of Scots that agreed with the abhorrent Rwanda policy too. I think it just shows sometimes public opinion isnt worth a sook sometimes
Just out of interest, what corner of the Scottish electorate does the bulk of that statistic come from, is it the unionist or independence minded voter that wants to see foreigners shipped off to Africa?
Stairway 2 7
26-10-2022, 05:45 AM
Just out of interest, what corner of the Scottish electorate does the bulk of that statistic come from, is it the unionist or independence minded voter that wants to see foreigners shipped off to Africa?
It obviously doesn't break it down the same as in England, you would assume its weighted left right. But the fact is a similar amount of Scots like the idea, a good bit more londoners disagree with it than Scots.
I'm not pointing at your because I agree with you that the problem lies with the tory party who are right wing loons. But the amount of times the % of English who agree with Rwanda as a slight towards them, whilst not admitting were the same is poor.
26-10-2022, 05:53 AM
It obviously doesn't break it down the same as in England, you would assume its weighted left right. But the fact is a similar amount of Scots like the idea, a good bit more londoners disagree with it than Scots.
I'm not pointing at your because I agree with you that the problem lies with the tory party who are right wing loons. But the amount of times the % of English who agree with Rwanda as a slight towards them, whilst not admitting were the same is poor.
I'd wager that the vast majority of Scots that support interning refugees in Africa are pretty much one and the same who wanted Brexit, the Union intact and voted Tory.
26-10-2022, 06:52 AM
https://twitter.com/mrjamesob/status/1585012608138375168?s=46&t=0JWBAXJL-kSvcCJzai4LhA
I know this is because she’s dyslexic but this is absolutely hilarious.
Reminded me of this:
https://youtu.be/DQRYAptC2i0
26-10-2022, 08:03 AM
I don't think it's an issue so important that it trumps motgage rates, inflation, heating and cuts.
Stairway 2 7
26-10-2022, 08:38 AM
I don't think it's an issue so important that it trumps motgage rates, inflation, heating and cuts.
There's been a huge decrease in uk publics concern for immigration
https://mobile.twitter.com/jburnmurdoch/status/1525766106119606273
Interesting study here shows the voters the tories have lost in the polls, about 6 million, about 4 million are to the economically left of the party. Dropping the 45% tax rate obviously didn't go down well.
I can't see them moving financially to the left so I don't know how they will win them back
https://mobile.twitter.com/Will_Tanner/status/1584443376333529089
26-10-2022, 09:00 AM
There's been a huge decrease in uk publics concern for immigration
https://mobile.twitter.com/jburnmurdoch/status/1525766106119606273
Interesting study here shows the voters the tories have lost in the polls, about 6 million, about 4 million are to the economically left of the party. Dropping the 45% tax rate obviously didn't go down well.
I can't see them moving financially to the left so I don't know how they will win them back
https://mobile.twitter.com/Will_Tanner/status/1584443376333529089
Although that graph is a snapshot and people's feelings change faster than the weather, I think Truss and Kwarteng have let a massive feral cat out of the bag with their mini-budget.
It proves the Tories are, at heart, a party for the privileged and rich and care nothing for the rest of us (once our votes are cast).
For them to come back from that it will need a big mistake by Labour and, so far, Starmer seems to be avoiding major banana skins.
I should have also included in my previous reply, the NHS. There are currently nearly 7 million people waiting for hospital treatment and getting a GP appointment is becoming mythical.
Immigration is an insignificant issue when people's own well being is threatened. Labour must develop significant and believable plans and promises for the NHS, because, after 12 years of deliberate neglect, the Tories have no credibility when it comes to health.
26-10-2022, 09:08 AM
I should have also included in my previous reply, the NHS. There are currently nearly 7 million people waiting for hospital treatment and getting a GP appointment is becoming mythical.
Immigration is an insignificant issue when people's own well being is threatened. Labour must develop significant and believable plans and promises for the NHS, because, after 12 years of deliberate neglect, the Tories have no credibility when it comes to health.
I don't think you can separate the NHS and immigration issues. The Tories hostile environment and their general approach to immigration has resulted in many immigrant NHS workers going home. Fix immigration - and I mean, really fix it, not with points based systems - and you go some way towards helping the NHS too. But getting that change of mindset (towards immigration) is no quick fix.
26-10-2022, 09:33 AM
I don't think you can separate the NHS and immigration issues. The Tories hostile environment and their general approach to immigration has resulted in many immigrant NHS workers going home. Fix immigration - and I mean, really fix it, not with points based systems - and you go some way towards helping the NHS too. But getting that change of mindset (towards immigration) is no quick fix.
The problem is, the link between immigration and mortage rates etc can be exploited the other way in order to get the hard of thinking to do what the Tories want.
They've done quite nicely out of the dog whistle racism brigade, where the brown people in boats are coming over and taking your jobs, doctors appointments etc so must be sent back to Rwanda.
So it might not be top of the agenda right now but the Tories hold that vile card and might choose to play it again if they've got too little to show for their efforts over the next few years, which isn't exactly unlikely.
26-10-2022, 09:41 AM
I agree with that entirely.
I meant that when it comes to the General Election, when people are struggling to pay their mortgages, heat their homes and get medical treatment, the vast majority of people aren't going to prioritise immigration when it comes to which way to vote.
Stairway 2 7
26-10-2022, 09:41 AM
The problem is, the link between immigration and mortage rates etc can be exploited the other way in order to get the hard of thinking to do what the Tories want.
They've done quite nicely out of the dog whistle racism brigade, where the brown people in boats are coming over and taking your jobs, doctors appointments etc so must be sent back to Rwanda.
So it might not be top of the agenda right now but the Tories hold that vile card and might choose to play it again if they've got too little to show for their efforts over the next few years, which isn't exactly unlikely.
The voters tories have lost and will lose them the next election are from the left of the party. I think Hibbyradge is right that the mask has slipped for many. They got overconfident in thinking they could cut the highest rate, but during a crisis like this it wasn't going to work with the left of the tories.
Immigration is just distraction tactics don't look here whilst we rob you, look at Immigrants. Figures will be released before Christmas but it's predicted net migration will be at its highest ever level. Unfortunately for the racist brexit voter, they will be more brown than pre brexit
26-10-2022, 09:49 AM
They do hold that card, and it will undoubtedly be played, but it's a 6 of clubs compared to the Aces of the economy and the NHS.
The fact that Labour aren't ripping into the government over its Rwanda plans is a bitter pill to swallow, but it neuters that card even further.
26-10-2022, 10:43 AM
They do hold that card, and it will undoubtedly be played, but it's a 6 of clubs compared to the Aces of the economy and the NHS.
The fact that Labour aren't ripping into the government over its Rwanda plans is a bitter pill to swallow, but it neuters that card even further.
You might be right about the card score analogy, but it’s not all about the next election. Keeping quiet while things like that go on is a kind of endorsement by stealth and damages the whole political debate.
26-10-2022, 11:07 AM
You might be right about the card score analogy, but it’s not all about the next election. Keeping quiet while things like that go on is a kind of endorsement by stealth and damages the whole political debate.
You know what I'm going to say, but winning the next election is more important than winning any individual argument.
2 years ago, Jeremy Corbyn said "We won the argument but didn't win a majority". That's about as pyrrhic a victory as you can get. I'd have far rather the Tories had won the argument but Corbyn was in No10.
However, as distasteful as some of Labour's recent policy positions might be, the strategy seems to be working. The Tories are losing all their ammunition while Labour's armoury flourishes.
They can't use Brexit or immigration against Labour anymore, and their claims of being capable of running the economy are in tatters.
Labour needs to be in government, not just to start implementing better, fairer policies, but to start setting the agenda and changing the whole political conversation.
I dread to think where this country would go if this government gets another term.
26-10-2022, 11:24 AM
Sunak mocks Blackford that crime falling in England while it rises in Scotland. Also points out that police numbers rising in England and falling in Scotland.
How do the crime rates compare per head of population?
26-10-2022, 11:29 AM
Sunak mocks Blackford that crime falling in England while it rises in Scotland. Also points out that police numbers rising in England and falling in Scotland.
How do the crime rates compare per head of population?
The serious crime rate in England did fall from 89 to 77 in a thousand, he probably failed to mention in Scotland it's 45
26-10-2022, 11:36 AM
The serious crime rate in England did fall from 89 to 77 in a thousand, he probably failed to mention in Scotland it's 45
Police numbers also show he has inherited Johnson’s talent for using figures to mislead the public.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221026/ec05708288f6fcc1e04f8c371c4d61e3.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221026/741d2796d1021cd003cff60dca29c066.jpg
2nd figure is police officers per head of population.
26-10-2022, 11:44 AM
You know what I'm going to say, but winning the next election is more important than winning any individual argument.
2 years ago, Jeremy Corbyn said "We won the argument but didn't win a majority". That's about as pyrrhic a victory as you can get. I'd have far rather the Tories had won the argument but Corbyn was in No10.
However, as distasteful as some of Labour's recent policy positions might be, the strategy seems to be working. The Tories are losing all their ammunition while Labour's armoury flourishes.
They can't use Brexit or immigration against Labour anymore, and their claims of being capable of running the economy are in tatters.
Labour needs to be in government, not just to start implementing better, fairer policies, but to start setting the agenda and changing the whole political conversation.
I dread to think where this country would go if this government gets another term.
You can do The Right Thing and win an election at the same time. The two aren't mutually exclusive. Refusing to repeal Rwanda and going along with the draconian Public Order Bill is not what he needs to win an election. He needs to build a broad coalition.
26-10-2022, 11:48 AM
You can do The Right Thing and win an election at the same time. The two aren't mutually exclusive. Refusing to repeal Rwanda and going along with the draconian Public Order Bill is not what he needs to win an election. He needs to build a broad coalition.
Nah mate compromise and unity etc etc only apply to the left. The centrists can do whatever they want, it's common sense politics or something.
Stairway 2 7
26-10-2022, 12:18 PM
Kwarteng was rightly criticised for not bringing the financial statement forward during an emergency and for it to settle the markets. Hunt has just announced his will be 17th of November, no rush.
carldinnen
·
The Governor of the Bank of England said the fiscal statement THEN the interest rate decision on 3rd November was “the correct sequence”.
But that’s not what will happen now
26-10-2022, 12:19 PM
Nah mate compromise and unity etc etc only apply to the left. The centrists can do whatever they want, it's common sense politics or something.
Starmer is compromising regularly.
Stairway 2 7
26-10-2022, 12:38 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/robertnpalmer/status/1585167966081286144
Robert Palmer
@robertnpalmer
Spending cuts aren't inevitable
This morning
@TaxJusticeUK
sets out 5 ways of raising up to £37bn in tax
https://taxjustice.uk/blog/five-policies-that-could-raise-37-billion-in-tax
Stairway 2 7
26-10-2022, 12:45 PM
There's no way he'll get away with it, they don't have enough good grace left. Starting to think this is a scorched earth policy of seeing what they can get away with
@KateAndrs
In winter 2020, there were serious discussions about ditching the triple lock, a 'key source of intergenerational unfairness' one Tory insider said at the time. But PM Johnson shut down these discussions
@johnestevens
🚨Rishi Sunak considering dumping the pensions triple lock
(Just one week after Liz Truss committed to keeping it!
https://mobile.twitter.com/robertnpalmer/status/1585167966081286144
Robert Palmer
@robertnpalmer
Spending cuts aren't inevitable
This morning
@TaxJusticeUK
sets out 5 ways of raising up to £37bn in tax
https://taxjustice.uk/blog/five-policies-that-could-raise-37-billion-in-taxLooks sensible and applicable in both the short and long term.
So sensible you can see it never happening.
26-10-2022, 01:30 PM
Starmer is compromising regularly.
There’s no need to bring bedroom talk into this.
26-10-2022, 01:41 PM
There’s no need to bring bedroom talk into this.
Sex, sex, sex. That's all they think about, huh? Well, how are you then, officer?
He's here!
26-10-2022, 02:46 PM
If you've got some spare cash a bet on the tories to be the largest party at the next GE isn't the daftest idea ever. I'll qualify that by saying only if they go full term. If things go tits up and an early election is called then all bets are off.
Certainly worth a bet. Sunak has instantly brought with him a 'grown-up in the room' manner, so much so that it seems scarcely credible they initially went with Truss. It's quite startling that Starmer, with so much ammo at his disposal, toiled to lay a glove on Sunak at his first PMQs...trying to get some mileage out of the Braverman re-appointment really was a weak strategy when her resignation last week was so clearly staged to tip Truss over the edge.
26-10-2022, 02:55 PM
Certainly worth a bet. Sunak has instantly brought with him a 'grown-up in the room' manner, so much so that it seems scarcely credible they initially went with Truss. It's quite startling that Starmer, with so much ammo at his disposal, toiled to lay a glove on Sunak at his first PMQs...trying to get some mileage out of the Braverman re-appointment really was a weak strategy when her resignation last week was so clearly staged to tip Truss over the edge.
You think she broke the ministerial code as a political ploy?
You think she broke the ministerial code as a political ploy?If so she is being praised for having no ethics.
26-10-2022, 03:07 PM
26-10-2022, 03:08 PM
I'm actually going to say something positive about Sunak: well done for re-introducing the fracking ban. One less crazy Truss policy.
26-10-2022, 03:19 PM
I'm actually going to say something positive about Sunak: well done for re-introducing the fracking ban. One less crazy Truss policy.I don't disagree with you unless he is doing a Bozo and saying one thing whilst intending to do another.
On the big negative side though he has appointed the braverman creature.
26-10-2022, 03:26 PM
I'm actually going to say something positive about Sunak: well done for re-introducing the fracking ban. One less crazy Truss policy.Reversing the imbecilic actions of Truss is not exactly something he should be praised for. Anyone with a modicum of sentience would know that fracking in the UK is stupid.
26-10-2022, 03:38 PM
Reversing the imbecilic actions of Truss is not exactly something he should be praised for. Anyone with a modicum of sentience would know that fracking in the UK is stupid.
I'd be more concerned if he didnt reverse EVERYTHING she did.
26-10-2022, 03:42 PM
I'd be more concerned if he didnt reverse EVERYTHING she did.
Jeremy Hunt already reversed most of it. Is Truss's plan not to increase National Insurance still in place? That was just about all she had left from her seven weeks of carnage.
I'd be more concerned if he didnt reverse EVERYTHING she did.He can't recoup the £60b her actions cost us.
You think she broke the ministerial code as a political ploy?She was lined up to face questions on her resignation but ran out the HoC just as it was due to be asked. So much for the professionalism and accountability promised by the current PM.
https://twitter.com/NaomiBr22935667/status/1585244161867132928?t=Cs27b0b92Dsbr-ol5tVrVA&s=19
26-10-2022, 03:59 PM
I'm actually going to say something positive about Sunak: well done for re-introducing the fracking ban. One less crazy Truss policy.
yes, its a sigh of relief on that one. Although I don't think it would ever have got approval anywhere regardless.
26-10-2022, 04:02 PM
I'm hearing this 'grown up' in the room a lot. This means sense only if 'grown up' is a euphemism for 'more austerity policies' that have, and continue to, actually kill poor people?
He was a major constituent part of the same Government that has ****ed this country over for 12 years. This 'new broom' bollocks is actually laughable.
He's here!
26-10-2022, 04:15 PM
You think she broke the ministerial code as a political ploy?
I think the reason she gave for her departure seemed pretty thin.
26-10-2022, 04:27 PM
I thought she was caught using personal email to send official documents.
26-10-2022, 04:30 PM
She broke the ministerial code. She decided to do something she knew was wrong. She sent sensitive information to a personal email address so that she could forward it to someone who didn’t have security clearance to see it. And then she lied about it.
"2.14 Ministers have an important role to play in maintaining the security of Government business. They should ensure that they follow the advice about Security of Government Business."
26-10-2022, 04:33 PM
She broke the ministerial code. She decided to do something she knew was wrong. She sent sensitive information to a personal email address so that she could forward it to someone who didn’t have security clearance to see it. And then she lied about it.
"2.14 Ministers have an important role to play in maintaining the security of Government business. They should ensure that they follow the advice about Security of Government Business."Done a Rees-Mogg and got the resignation in just in time to avoid being sacked?
26-10-2022, 04:35 PM
I'm hearing this 'grown up' in the room a lot. This means sense only if 'grown up' is a euphemism for 'more austerity policies' that have, and continue to, actually kill poor people?
He was a major constituent part of the same Government that has ****ed this country over for 12 years. This 'new broom' bollocks is actually laughable.
he is still basically the same killer as the previous 2 but he can speak in full sentences and dress himself
He's here!
26-10-2022, 04:45 PM
You can't underestimate how much personality plays a part in swaying voters' views, frustrating as that may be. Many were wooed by Johnson's off the cuff 'says it as he sees it, bloke you'd share a pint with' facade, while it was immediately obvious that Truss's total and utter absence of personality was going to torpedo Tory hopes as much as her policies. After the shambles of the last few months, Sunak will come across to many as genuinely smart, a steadying hand, basically somebody who's in command of his subject. I'll be surprised if that alone doesn't see the ship steadied in terms of Tory support.
Stairway 2 7
26-10-2022, 04:46 PM
he is still basically the same killer as the previous 2 but he can speak in full sentences and dress himself
In 500 quid palm angel slippers last week
Stairway 2 7
26-10-2022, 04:49 PM
He only did it after the uproar it brung. Mps willing to lose the whip to appose it. He realised they would never get it approved anywhere, so why fight even if they wanted it
He was a major constituent part of the same Government that has ****ed this country over for 12 years. This 'new broom' bollocks is actually laughable."Grown-up" to them means the ability to chuck loads of people into poverty and onto the scrap heap, look at the graphs which show this and shrug knowing it has zero affect on them and they will never meet those people anyway.
You can't underestimate how much personality plays a part in swaying voters' views, frustrating as that may be. Many were wooed by Johnson's off the cuff 'says it as he sees it, bloke you'd share a pint with' facade, while it was immediately obvious that Truss's total and utter absence of personality was going to torpedo Tory hopes as much as her policies. After the shambles of the last few months, Sunak will come across to many as genuinely smart, a steadying hand, basically somebody who's in command of his subject. I'll be surprised if that alone doesn't see the ship steadied in terms of Tory support....all I'm reading there is that he is willing to be a ****, competently and with smile but a **** nonetheless.
26-10-2022, 05:08 PM
You can't underestimate how much personality plays a part in swaying voters' views, frustrating as that may be. Many were wooed by Johnson's off the cuff 'says it as he sees it, bloke you'd share a pint with' facade, while it was immediately obvious that Truss's total and utter absence of personality was going to torpedo Tory hopes as much as her policies. After the shambles of the last few months, Sunak will come across to many as genuinely smart, a steadying hand, basically somebody who's in command of his subject. I'll be surprised if that alone doesn't see the ship steadied in terms of Tory support.
I don’t necessarily disagree. It’s all largely irrelevant when you walk out of a fancy restaurant in The Edinburgh Grand, as I did last weekend, with folk who think nothing of spending a few hundred pounds on a nice dinner, and then you walk out across St Andrew Square and you see the dozens of desperate folk sleeping on the street and you think **** me this wasn’t like this fifteen years ago, what is going on and why does no one on TV since Jeremy Corbyn ever talk about it. That’s what this endless fascination with presentation has done. Kept folks eye off the ball and off actual POLICY.
I have moments of politically nerd-ism and find developments fascinating but other times I am sickened by it.
26-10-2022, 06:56 PM
"Grown-up" to them means the ability to chuck loads of people into poverty and onto the scrap heap, look at the graphs which show this and shrug knowing it has zero affect on them and they will never meet those people anyway.
100%. Sunak is an evil get in a cabinet of evil gets. He’s worth north of 700m but is happy to take £20 a week off someone on UC which literally could be a matter of life and death. And don’t forget his missus’s nondom status. A nasty piece of work who will smile as he cuts what’s left to shreds next month. Still, they’ll wrap it in a flag, blame the poor and the immigrants and England will vote it in …
Stairway 2 7
26-10-2022, 07:13 PM
Sunaks tories
Institute for Employment Studies
@EmploymtStudies
·
One in twelve claimant unemployed are under sanction - the highest ever rate
"Sanctions have become an end in themselves, rather than what happens when things go wrong" argues IES Director @tonywilsonIES at @CommonsWorkPen this morning.
Full video here: https://parliamentlive.tv/event/index/27736a7c-020b-4bab-9b19-c2b210587be4
26-10-2022, 08:26 PM
Don't know if this counts as lying (to Parliament, no less)or just incompetence, but Badenoch has had a good start as "Equalities " Minister.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/kemi-badenoch-lgbt-trans-rights-b2210909.html%3famp
26-10-2022, 08:55 PM
Don't know if this counts as lying (to Parliament, no less)or just incompetence, but Badenoch has had a good start as "Equalities " Minister.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/kemi-badenoch-lgbt-trans-rights-b2210909.html%3famp
I think they deliberately lie in the knowledge that saying they didn't know seems to e enough to absolve them of any blame.
26-10-2022, 09:23 PM
I think the reason she gave for her departure seemed pretty thin.This from Jake Berry - until last week he was Chairman of the Conservative party
Extraordinary from Jake Berry - says Suella Braverman committed multiple breaches and that cabinet secretary Simon Case made his view clear and that she did not own up to it but was presented with the evidence
https://twitter.com/PiersUncensored/status/1585361104062058508?s=20&t=CDrVB_Py6FKp6GNDJPGu8Q
26-10-2022, 09:29 PM
The Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee getting involved:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FgAxP5hXwAURFRI?format=jpg&name=large
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FgAxP5fXwBA9JAo?format=jpg&name=large
27-10-2022, 07:06 AM
Mail and Express going after Sunak already.
I'm sure it's been mentioned before but it's probably got something to do with his Indian heritage he's so proud of.
27-10-2022, 08:00 AM
I'm sure it's been mentioned before but it's probably got something to do with his Indian heritage he's so proud of.
I wondered about this but they loved Patel. Maybe they're happy enough to have people of colour who are racist against their own in the Cabinet but PM is a step too far for them.
I think there will be a huge number still on the smelling salts in-between fits of rage!
27-10-2022, 09:49 AM
I thought they were supporting him how that their beloved Boris graciously stood down?
What is there problem now?
Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 10:48 AM
I thought they were supporting him how that their beloved Boris graciously stood down?
They will love him if he plays the game, just like every other tory leader. He'll need to find massive cuts that's when the problems will start. There headline today on him is fawning
Snappy Sunak left Keir Starmer flapping like a scarecrow in a whirlwind
27-10-2022, 01:00 PM
Mail - migrants
Express - triple lock
It's the total opposite from the fawning that they were giving Truss in her first few weeks.
Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 01:09 PM
Mail - migrants
Express - triple lock
It's the total opposite from the fawning that they were giving Truss in her first few weeks.
Papers have been unbelievably fawning since Sunday. So much so that they are trying to get us to forget that he was Chancellor for much of this disaster. Steady head, statesman, normality and other such gaslighting has been used.
They are praying everyone gets behind him and the gap closes.
He's here!
27-10-2022, 02:20 PM
I think you're both right.
Sunak is blamed for betraying Johnson by resigning but he's also the wrong shade of white.
Is this a significant issue? I know a female Labour MP had to delete a tweet along the lines of him not being the right type of Asian because he's a Tory (there was a similar Labour blunder about Kwarteng not 'sounding black' IIRC) but I'd say the overall reaction to the UK having our first non-white PM has been overwhelmingly positive (irrespective of the fact he's a Tory) and the fact that there has been so little made of where his parents were born or what he looks like is a positive thing for this country. I wonder how many other countries would embrace this so readily. Can you imagine China or Russia welcoming leaders who were not ethnic Chinese or Russian? Even in the US, there were attempts made to negate Obama's 'American' credentials.
27-10-2022, 02:26 PM
Is this a significant issue? I know a female Labour MP had to delete a tweet along the lines of him not being the right type of Asian because he's a Tory (there was a similar Labour blunder about Kwarteng not 'sounding black' IIRC) but I'd say the overall reaction to the UK having our first non-white PM has been overwhelmingly positive (irrespective of the fact he's a Tory) and the fact that there has been so little made of where his parents were born or what he looks like is a positive thing for this country. I wonder how many other countries would embrace this so readily. Can you imagine China or Russia welcoming leaders who were not ethnic Chinese or Russian? Even in the US, there were attempts made to negate Obama's 'American' credentials.
Of which Donald Trump was a central figure, demanding Obama release his birth certificate to prove he was born in Hawaii. That alone should have made his winning the presidency later impossible, but, sadly, a significant portion of white America lapped it up.
27-10-2022, 02:30 PM
Stalin was Georgian and Brezhnev Ukrainian.
I do agree though that Sunak's ethnicity not being a big deal has been a small positive amongst the ****** massive gloomy gloominess the Tories are putting us through.
Stalin was Georgian and Brezhnev Ukrainian.
I do agree though that Sunak's ethnicity not being a big deal has been a small positive amongst the ****** massive gloomy gloominess the Tories are putting us through.It's not a big deal to me. It seems like it's not a big deal to the Tory supporters/press either, yet.
It was significant enough that the tory membership voted a well known Cupid Stunt ahead of him only a few weeks ago.
OldEast
27-10-2022, 02:38 PM
It was significant enough that the tory membership voted a well known Cupid Stunt ahead of him only a few weeks ago.
Yep, and if Mordaunt had joined him in a members vote he wouldn't be pm. The only reason Braverman is home secretary is to appease the racists.
27-10-2022, 03:06 PM
Can't help but think this bill isn't getting the discussion it merits ...
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FgFVcNLVIAI5iQo?format=jpg&name=large
Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 03:12 PM
Yep, and if Mordaunt had joined him in a members vote he wouldn't be pm. The only reason Braverman is home secretary is to appease the racists.
Badenoch and Braverman polled better than him with members, he polled better than Mordaunt. The members and erg are wanting Badenoch in future, probably because she is a ****ing lunatic right winger
27-10-2022, 03:42 PM
In 48 hours as PM, Rishi Sunak has
Pulled out of attending Cop27 in Egypt
Removed Cop president Alok Sharma from Cabinet
Removed climate minister Graham Stuart from Cabinet
He's here!
27-10-2022, 03:52 PM
Appointing a Home Secretary of Indian origin is designed to appease racists. How does that work?
OldEast
27-10-2022, 03:55 PM
Appointing a Home Secretary of Indian origin is designed to appease racists. How does that work?
Because the most important thing to the racist membership is immigration.
27-10-2022, 03:58 PM
Appointing a Home Secretary of Indian origin is designed to appease racists. How does that work?Seriously??
27-10-2022, 04:24 PM
https://youtu.be/JbRpH8HahNk
Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 04:25 PM
Someone said the express was against but every article is pro except one saying businesses would be damaged by fracking ban, sums them up money money
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.express.co.uk/latest/rishi-sunak/amp
Some nuggets of headlines
Sunak wins over support with ‘Cameron-like’ performance as new PM ditches ‘Boris bluster
Pound soars and FTSE rallies back up as markets rejoice over new PM Rishi Sunak
Sunak is devastating for Labour! Rishi humiliates Starmer's two-faced strategy at PMQs
Appointing a Home Secretary of Indian origin is designed to appease racists. How does that work?Do you really think people of Indian origin can't be right wing, racist (castist) loons?
27-10-2022, 05:01 PM
Have you read any of her opinions on immigration and refugees lately?
I think the right wing racist nut jobs are quite willing to overlook the colour of her skin if they see her as anti-immigration, and wanting to send refugees to Rwanda.
She is also spitting mad at anything that is "woke" is seems. Whatever that is.
Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 05:18 PM
If the polling shows sunak closer to labour than Truss was and boris near the end, where does that put this theory.
Even though Sunak had a higher approval rating than boris and Mordaunt and Sunak was expected to beat Mordaunt in a run off
Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 05:40 PM
Public inexplicably like Sunak more than Starmer and much more than Truss, Johnson and Mordaunt
https://archive.ph/bcrkc
@theipaper
·
31m
Sunak beats Starmer on economy, taxes and business, poll shows - giving hope for Tories
➡️ Labour still holds a large polling lead – but Rishi Sunak’s personal ratings appear to be positive
27-10-2022, 06:03 PM
Someone said the express was against but every article is pro except one saying businesses would be damaged by fracking ban, sums them up money money
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.express.co.uk/latest/rishi-sunak/amp
Probably a view based on this front page.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FgBoGkLXgBAc9xZ?format=jpg&name=900x900
Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 06:11 PM
Probably a view based on this front page.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FgBoGkLXgBAc9xZ?format=jpg&name=900x900
So they ignored the 20 positive ones like the ones saying he was great against Starmer or that he will close the gap. Picking the outlier to fit it into your point doesn't show much.
Every mp that has tried to cut pensions has always been hammered by the papers. Probably because the vast majority that still buy papers are old
So they ignored the 20 positive ones like the ones saying he was great against Starmer or that he will close the gap. Picking the outlier to fit it into your point doesn't show much.
Every mp that has tried to cut pensions has always been hammered by the papers. Probably because the vast majority that still buy papers are oldLoady pesh anyway. Not even tomorrow's fish and chip wrapper these days. They'll flip on a whim.
Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 06:24 PM
Loady pesh anyway. Not even tomorrow's fish and chip wrapper these days. They'll flip on a whim.
Undoubtedly everything in the express is rot for the masses. When he has to perform cuts next month they will hate him, well actually cuts to those better off, he can bash on cutting benefits ect
27-10-2022, 06:28 PM
Every mp that has tried to cut pensions has always been hammered by the papers. Probably because the vast majority that still buy papers are old
They don’t read the Daily Express or it’s website would be my guess. For most people, their opinion on the editorial position of publications they don’t read will be based on what’s put on their front page rather than what’s inside.
How many people who don’t read the Daily Express do you reckon go on their website to search for articles tagged with Rishi Sunak’s name?
He's here!
27-10-2022, 06:37 PM
Because the most important thing to the racist membership is immigration.
So it's actually got nothing to do with racism then?
Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 06:44 PM
They don’t read the Daily Express or it’s website would be my guess. For most people, their opinion on the editorial position of publications they don’t read will be based on what’s put on their front page rather than what’s inside.
How many people who don’t read the Daily Express do you reckon go on their website to search for articles tagged with Rishi Sunak’s name?
So your saying the almost dozen positive front pages they missed, then seen one not really negative one they say its racist and anti Sunak. If I was going to say it was I'd do the 30 seconds research needed to confirm my point.
The public and tory voters have higher approval ratings for Sunak than boris and Mordaunt, clutching. I personally hate him because he's a **** but it seems tories quite like him
27-10-2022, 06:53 PM
The membership is racist. Immigration is important to those racists.
Hence his original comment.
27-10-2022, 06:57 PM
Yep that was me, I wouldn't look any further than the front page in these rags. It was so unusual, their usual headline would be "Rishi to [insert blatant lie here]".
Undoubtedly everything in the express is rot for the masses. When he has to perform cuts next month they will hate him, well actually cuts to those better off, he can bash on cutting benefits ectOk. Here's what I think they'll do. Not that I'm a financial expert but that never stopped them.
They will link the pensions and the benefits they ensure people need to inflation.
They will stick to more or less the Hunt reversals otherwise.
A huge big culture war drum will be banged on social media, the rags and telly so the 20 per cent of racists in this country might just vote for them again, not en mass like 2019 but a lot. That ensures another 10% of dimwits who listen to the racists on FB/down the pub/foodbank.
Look at how the graphs are doing (rather than actual people) then risk a GE in march. That's if we aren't dragged into the war by that time. The actual war with Putin I mean, rather than the culture war. They are on the same side as Putin in that one.
WC will be interesting what with all the knee taking and pro LGBT stuff coming from squads.
Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 07:01 PM
Yep that was me, I wouldn't look any further than the front page in these rags. It was so unusual, their usual headline would be "Rishi to [insert blatant lie here]".
Pretty much all their front pages have been positive to him , fawning really. Tories like him and sadly the electorate too. He was inexplicably well liked as chancellor too until near the end
Stairway 2 7
27-10-2022, 07:07 PM
Ok. Here's what I think they'll do. Not that I'm a financial expert but that never stopped them.
They will link the pensions and the benefits they ensure people need to inflation.
They will stick to more or less the Hunt reversals otherwise.
A huge big culture war drum will be banged on social media, the rags and telly so the 20 per cent of racists in this country might just vote for them again, not en mass like 2019 but a lot. That ensures another 10% of dimwits who listen to the racists on FB/down the pub/foodbank.
Look at how the graphs are doing (rather than actual people) then risk a GE in march. That's if we aren't dragged into the war by that time. The actual war with Putin I mean, rather than the culture war. They are on the same side as Putin in that one.
WC will be interesting what with all the knee taking and pro LGBT stuff coming from squads.
I think they will want and need to cut massively. They will obviously do what is most popular to their voters rather than the public or the worst off.
The study I put up of 20,000 tory voters showed 4 million of the 6 they lost in recent poll, were from the left of the party. Culture wars won't save them the voters that go between labour and tories are politically centre. They care about mortgages and pensions. Both could be getting hammered next year
27-10-2022, 07:28 PM
Are they concerned about Irish, or Canadian or Australian immigrants when those people want to come here to better themselves? And do those people even tick the mental box when one thinks of ‘immigrants’ anymore? Of course they aren’t concerned and of COURSE those aren’t the immigrants that come to mind. Everyone knows that. That’s why it’s racism, same as it was in the Cowgate circa 1850
So it's actually got nothing to do with racism then?Politician appeals to racists by being racist.
Is it like a double negative making a positive?
He's here!
27-10-2022, 08:33 PM
Are they concerned about Irish, or Canadian or Australian immigrants when those people want to come here to better themselves? And do those people even tick the mental box when one thinks of ‘immigrants’ anymore? Of course they aren’t concerned and of COURSE those aren’t the immigrants that come to mind. Everyone knows that. That’s why it’s racism, same as it was in the Cowgate circa 1850
How about the supposed illegitimacy of British people living in Northern Ireland, having been 'planted' there 400 years ago? That's at the root of Irish nationalism, but do these people still tick the 'immigrant' box?
How about the supposed illegitimacy of British people living in Northern Ireland, having been 'planted' there 400 years ago? That's at the root of Irish nationalism, but do these people still tick the 'immigrant' box?That's quite a tangled opinion to untie.
Have you read any Irish history?
27-10-2022, 08:55 PM
How about the supposed illegitimacy of British people living in Northern Ireland, having been 'planted' there 400 years ago? That's at the root of Irish nationalism, but do these people still tick the 'immigrant' box?
Planted? You mean, like a potato?
I think you misunderstood my metaphor and lost yourself in another one :greengrin
Let’s keep it simple. I contend immigration concerns are really always about racism.
27-10-2022, 09:00 PM
Absolutely this.
I've just finished a book called Irish, about the influx and subsequent influences of the Irish, both Catholic and protestant, into Glasgow.
A lot of stuff I didn't know. Edinburgh hibernian gets an honourable mention when it comes to formation of the Keltic by brother Walfrid.
27-10-2022, 09:13 PM
Planted? You mean, like a potato?
I think you misunderstood my metaphor and lost yourself in another one :greengrin
Let’s keep it simple. I contend immigration concerns are really always about racism.
I reckon a theoretical situation may occur where immigration concern is justified. I'm thinking of maybe a very small, densely populated country, where the demographic is such that there are plenty of young people of working age paying ample taxes to maintain the needs of the whole population, and who are breeding successfully or maybe even too quickly. In that situation, what is to be gained from further immigration?
That situation is some distance from reality anywhere imo, especially in the UK (and even more so in Scotland) where racist "concerns about immigration" are actually depriving us of valid ways to make the lives of white, indigenous folk better.
The idiots who drive these agendas have a lot to answer for.
27-10-2022, 09:20 PM
I think they will want and need to cut massively. They will obviously do what is most popular to their voters rather than the public or the worst off.
The study I put up of 20,000 tory voters showed 4 million of the 6 they lost in recent poll, were from the left of the party. Culture wars won't save them the voters that go between labour and tories are politically centre. They care about mortgages and pensions. Both could be getting hammered next year
As anybody who follows the us elections will point out the swing voters care about mortgages,bills and the cost of fuel. On all counts it will be bad in 2 years time. Folk looked past boris being a lying barsteward as he wasnt hurting their wallet. Truss has taken loads out of folks wallets and sunak wont stop this. He will merely stop it being a rout at the election. Best the tories can hope for is either a small labour majority or a lab/snp govt.
I reckon a theoretical situation may occur where immigration concern is justified. I'm thinking of maybe a very small, densely populated country, where the demographic is such that there are plenty of young people of working age paying ample taxes to maintain the needs of the whole population, and who are breeding successfully or maybe even too quickly. In that situation, what is to be gained from further immigration?
That situation is some distance from reality anywhere imo, especially in the UK (and even more so in Scotland) where racist "concerns about immigration" are actually depriving us of valid ways to make the lives of white, indigenous folk better.
The idiots who drive these agendas have a lot to answer for.What was never discussed until after 2016 was that the UK could have heavily restricted the immigration of people coming to work from the EU by the placing conditions. Germany has freedom of movement but to there you must have a job and somewhere to live.
It was put around that a "grown up discussion" was required which turned into a xenophobic free for all and as it stands the word "immigration" has connotations of dinghys, 70 million turks coming "over here" and "EU tyrants", any kind of conversation is therefore stunted.
27-10-2022, 09:23 PM
Pretty much all their front pages have been positive to him , fawning really. Tories like him and sadly the electorate too. He was inexplicably well liked as chancellor too until near the end
Positive in the sense hes not truss or boris. The honeymoon wont last long. Mortgage rates will soon go up again and then reality will bite
He's here!
27-10-2022, 09:26 PM
That's quite a tangled opinion to untie.
Have you read any Irish history?
Not an opinion, just questioning what these folk are after 400 years. Are they still invaders?
He's here!
27-10-2022, 09:27 PM
Of which Donald Trump was a central figure, demanding Obama release his birth certificate to prove he was born in Hawaii. That alone should have made his winning the presidency later impossible, but, sadly, a significant portion of white America lapped it up.
Daily Show accused of trying to project American views on race on to the UK. Noah's comments do seem wildly misjudged:
No 10 wades into row over Trevor Noah's 'simply wrong' comments on Sunak (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/no-10-wades-into-row-over-trevor-noah-s-simply-wrong-comments-on-sunak/ar-AA13rvhp?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=c8ae4e494e0b4bf2870958bee30a4a66)
27-10-2022, 09:58 PM
The idiots who drive these agendas have a lot to answer for.
I agree, theoretically there is. It probably does exist, lots of Sci-if deals with the idea. As you say, you need a perfect social and economic environment which is threatened by mass migration on a huge scale. Climate change means the latter is inevitable, but the former is nowhere to be seen unfortunately.
OldEast
28-10-2022, 02:25 AM
The membership is racist. Immigration is important to those racists.
Hence his original comment.
Exactly, surely not difficult to grasp.
Stairway 2 7
28-10-2022, 05:32 AM
Exactly, surely not difficult to grasp.
It's simplistic. The union jack boxers wearer's will always vote tory and the people in a union Labour, broad generalisation but you get the drift. As mjhibby says the swing voters care about finances, that's where the tories have lost their voters in the polls.
Sunaks got a honeymoon period. Tory voters like him, certainly more than boris Mordaunt ect. They see stability in their pocket. Unfortunately uk is going to go into recession next year, mortgages are going to explode, there is a massive austerity coming and more. They will turn on him next year
28-10-2022, 07:05 AM
https://inews.co.uk/news/politics/rishi-sunak-keir-starmer-beats-economy-taxes-business-poll-hope-tories-1938481
Sunak more popular than Starmer but Labour still miles ahead. Shows how quickly voters forget though.
I have a bad feeling about how the next couple of years will play out and how the media will rally round the Tories.
28-10-2022, 07:51 AM
It's simplistic. The union jack boxers wearer's will always vote tory and the people in a union Labour, broad generalisation but you get the drift. As mjhibby says the swing voters care about finances, that's where the tories have lost their voters in the polls.
Sunaks got a honeymoon period. Tory voters like him, certainly more than boris Mordaunt ect. They see stability in their pocket. Unfortunately uk is going to go into recession next year, mortgages are going to explode, there is a massive austerity coming and more. They will turn on him next year
That's all correct but the point was that Braverman's appointment would please the racists in the party. That's all.
28-10-2022, 08:33 AM
https://inews.co.uk/news/politics/rishi-sunak-keir-starmer-beats-economy-taxes-business-poll-hope-tories-1938481
Sunak more popular than Starmer but Labour still miles ahead. Shows how quickly voters forget though.
I have a bad feeling about how the next couple of years will play out and how the media will rally round the Tories.
I still think it will be hard for him to escape unscathed as everybody gets poorer over the next couple of years.
A bit like Gordon Brown, he was left holding the parcel when the music stopped. He didn’t cause the world crash in 2008 but was a sitting duck for critical Tories sniping from the sidelines.
28-10-2022, 08:55 AM
That's all correct but the point was that Braverman's appointment would please the racists in the party. That's all.
There seems to be a consistent attempt to deny anyone is motivated to vote a particular way because of racism, when it’s clearly some peoples strong motivation, as it would be if your priority was the NHS, or the environment, or low taxes. I don’t know why anyone would deny something so evidently true. A consistent 20-25% of us, regardless of wider societal change, just don’t like the ****ing *****.
28-10-2022, 09:05 AM
There seems to be a consistent attempt to deny anyone is motivated to vote a particular way because of racism, when it’s clearly some peoples strong motivation, as it would be if your priority was the NHS, or the environment, or low taxes. I don’t know why anyone would deny something so evidently true. A consistent 20-25% of us, regardless of wider societal change, just don’t like the ****ing *****.My experience, living in an area with a very large nasty party majority has always been that race and anti foreign feelings are a big factor.
Braverman is very much in sync with what many talk about in relation to all things foreign/immigration. Like her it's often big on rhetoric and short on detail of how what they want to see is to be achieved and there is generally an absence of any compassion or humanity in what they say though cost of doing anything is often a factor.
Giving £65bn to hedge fund managers in a fortnight isn't on their radar.
Stairway 2 7
28-10-2022, 09:17 AM
The original conversation was about Sunak, Braverman got brought into it. Fact is tory voters like him, quite a bit above the other contenders too. The press is giving him an easy ride too unfortunately. A large proportion of racists will vote tory, but the swing voters do it for economics
28-10-2022, 09:44 AM
A few weeks in the life of Douglas Ross.
https://twitter.com/marcuscarslaw1/status/1585592852205166593
28-10-2022, 09:56 AM
A few weeks in the life of Douglas Ross.
https://twitter.com/marcuscarslaw1/status/1585592852205166593
Brilliant.
28-10-2022, 10:05 AM
The original conversation was about Sunak, Braverman got brought into it. Fact is tory voters like him, quite a bit above the other contenders too. The press is giving him an easy ride too unfortunately. A large proportion of racists will vote tory, but the swing voters do it for economics
Again, I agree.
My reply was explaining what the poster meant by saying that Braverman was brought in to please the racists. I didn't react to the wider issue. Not that it really matters. :greengrin
28-10-2022, 10:07 AM
I am astounded by the people saying that it's ok to bring Braverman back into government because she used her private email deliberately as a political weapon against Truss.
FFS, that's much worse than her just being careless.
Stairway 2 7
28-10-2022, 10:08 AM
Again, I agree.
My reply was explaining what the poster meant by saying that Braverman was brought in to please the racists. I didn't react to the wider issue. Not that it really matters. :greengrin
Doesn't really matter your probably right ha. We're all going to get absolutely screwed in the next two years by the tories, even the racist *******s that vote for them