View Full Version : Tories are still lying *******s

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

ACLeith
29-09-2022, 04:58 PM
Very very pissed off reading this, as every decent British person should be. Let's not group the two policies together and focus on the fact that those in the country that have the least will suffer more than the rest, just ****ing awful

@soniasodha
So Kwarteng commits to pension triple lock (state pension will rise in line with inflation) but refused to commit to benefits rising in line with inflation, as normal. Would be a huge cut to benefits in the middle of a worsening cost of living crisis. Hard to get your head round

That cut in benefits will have a terrible impact on the lives of many children in low-income households and people with disabilities who rely on the welfare safety net that has already been eroded over last 12 years

As an OAP who was lucky enough to get the state pension at 65, I would be appalled beyond measure if I got an inflation based increase that wasn't matched for benefit claimants - who I help out in a very trivial way from time to time.

Obvious why this vile person is thinking this way.

Mustn't jump to conclusions too quickly, though, he might be "dead in a ditch" before too long.

29-09-2022, 05:02 PM
I think so. Blaming a few people on here for the evil actions of the tories as a whole. Also people getting called thick because they have a difference in opinions many times recently, just shows the inadequacies of the people saying that I suppose though

Is oz says it's understandable due to the circumstances and it'll perhaps get worse. When people lose their house in the next few months, the people who caused it will be sipping champagne somewhere

On here it's hardly even at handbags stage. In the real world the culture wars, conjured up out of nothing, will become real. Which suits the Tories down to the ground as you don't sow division without a crop in mind.

When Thatcher came to power she shunned the NF/BNP but their existence proved to be a huge distraction and rendered her cruel, callous, destructive, self-serving, foundation laying policies seem normalish.

For any actual real people on here who voted tory I hope what is happening now serves as an eye opener and they take stock to look back at the last 6 years, check the Tories actions and policies and look at the nick we are in now.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Stairway 2 7
29-09-2022, 05:06 PM
Snp main opposition 😆

https://mobile.twitter.com/hzeffman/status/1575526100591169543

Lab: 54 (+9)
Con: 21 (-7)
Lib: 7 (-2)
Green: 6 (-1)
Ref: 4 (+1)

@hzeffman
Earlier I plugged these numbers into the Electoral Calculus predictor. It said the Conservatives would be left with *two seats*

Both are in Scotland so I think it's safe to say... zero seats

Of course it would seem utterly impossible for those numbers to hold to an election tho

29-09-2022, 05:43 PM
Truss on our local news just now, answering, or rather deflecting, pre recorded question from folk in the region whilst sitting in an office somewhere.

The current economic earthquake is down to Ukraine and Covid apparently. Odd how they weren't as apparent 2 weeks ago.

29-09-2022, 05:47 PM
Snp main opposition [emoji38]

@hzeffman
Earlier I plugged these numbers into the Electoral Calculus predictor. It said the Conservatives would be left with *two seats*

Of course it would seem utterly impossible for those numbers to hold to an election thoThe next general election will see the most nuanced tactical voting ever.

Stairway 2 7
29-09-2022, 05:54 PM
The next general election will see the most nuanced tactical voting ever.

Lib dems and neutrals will be voting Labour. A lot can change but its set up to be a hammering for the Conservatives. Rupert murdoch will be setting up the meetings with Starmer imminently to let him kiss the royal ring on his yacht

29-09-2022, 05:56 PM
Doesn't look good for the SNP though

29-09-2022, 05:58 PM
There's a danger of a pile on verging on bullying here. The anger we have against a horrible party shouldn't be put on one or two people who voted for them. It's not fair it's a sub forum of a hibs website, they don't need it.

Surely people who voted for parties or in referendums against the way we want should be one round also. The only way you can get change is by people changing there vote. They are less likely if they are the enemy and treated like crap.

It's very personal. Anyone here want to admit they have shopped in a supermarket, then all of us can say you helped destroy the local shop. Anyone bought Nike or addidas stuff, because you personally help slave labour in the far East. I went across the world on holiday, so I'm a hypocrit for being worried about the climate. We've all got our sins I've shopped in shops I shouldn't and most of the other things you say. I view them as laziness and a character flaw that I should work harder to not support institutions I hate. Not quite the same as voting imo but you are right about piling on especially if it gets personal

Stairway 2 7
29-09-2022, 06:03 PM
If you have a thing for making your blood boil you might enjoy this

IEA
@iealondon
·
🚨 The IEA and
@the_tpa
are delighted to announce that we will be hosting Chancellor of the Exchequer,
@KwasiKwarteng
, for an In Conversation at this year's Conservative Party Conference!

🖥️ Tune in on Tuesday 4th October here

The Tubs
29-09-2022, 06:12 PM
Doesn't look good for the SNP though

At the end of the day, Labour will only be able to slow the decline from the absolute plummet you'll see over the next couple of years. The UK is done for.

29-09-2022, 06:14 PM
If you have a thing for making your blood boil you might enjoy this

IEA
@iealondon
·
[emoji599] The IEA and
@the_tpa
are delighted to announce that we will be hosting Chancellor of the Exchequer,
@KwasiKwarteng
, for an In Conversation at this year's Conservative Party Conference!

[emoji2773] Tune in on Tuesday 4th October hereIEA are said to be financed by American far-right groups.

The ERG, who own the PM and her Chancellor, are the parliamentary version of the IEA. Its a political party within a political party. A militant tendency, so to speak.

Has the Lord of Siberia made any comment on the new PM.

29-09-2022, 06:57 PM
Totally agree.

Anyone who voted for this Government is at least partially to blame for the current absolute ****show, you'd have to have lived in a cave for the past 5 years to think voting for the Conservative party at the last election was a good idea.

Anyone who voted Tory after Cameron wants their heads looking at, anyone who voted Tory after May is a masochist, anybody who intends to vote Tory after Johnson is just a pure **** and anyone who is even considering voting Tory after Truss want locking up in an institute for the criminally insane.

29-09-2022, 07:45 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220929/5eb4c337f59d1c39aa292c6aca38de90.jpg

That would be some result.[emoji102]
SNP official opposition.

29-09-2022, 07:56 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220929/5eb4c337f59d1c39aa292c6aca38de90.jpg

That would be some result.[emoji102]
SNP official opposition.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkCanny see it but I would laugh like a drain.

We are all hostage to events.

Stairway 2 7
29-09-2022, 08:00 PM
Could see wee fabricant and gove handcuffing themselves to the backbenches before giving up a seat at the top two.

29-09-2022, 08:56 PM
I’ve long been someone who’s stated they’d enjoy a property market crash in order that my kids have a greater chance of owning their own home. I didn’t think it would be the far right of the Tory Party who would trigger it though!

29-09-2022, 09:15 PM
Will be a miracle if she lasts to Christmas as PM, she has properly ****ed up the economy even worse than it already was, which takes some doing!

We have a dangerous idiot in charge...

29-09-2022, 09:19 PM
Snp main opposition 😆

@hzeffman

Of course it would seem utterly impossible for those numbers to hold to an election tho

I'm not buying that for a minute. If there was a election tomorrow, even in the middle of this shambles, the Tories would get more than 21% of the vote. People are angry and are lashing out, but there's no way that poll would become reality at the voting booth. The poll I saw has Labour 15 ahead, which is more realistic. The Tories have an 80 seat head start; it's going to be difficult for Labour to transform that into a majority, no matter how badly Truss does.

29-09-2022, 09:23 PM
Will be a miracle if she lasts to Christmas as PM, she has properly ****ed up the economy even worse than it already was, which takes some doing!

We have a dangerous idiot in charge...

IF she does go, the whole of the electorate cannot reasonably expect to let the 160k odd Conservative party members select who will form the next government, but how many Conservative MPs would be willing to put their necks on the line and call for a snap GE, I wonder?

xyz23jc
29-09-2022, 09:26 PM
Anyone who voted Tory after Cameron wants their heads looking at, anyone who voted Tory after May is a masochist, anybody who intends to vote Tory after Johnson is just a pure **** and anyone who is even considering voting Tory after Truss want locking up in an institute for the criminally insane.

WELCOME TO SCOTLAND! :greengrin

29-09-2022, 09:28 PM
IF she does go, the whole of the electorate cannot reasonably expect to let the 160k odd Conservative party members select who will form the next government, but how many Conservative MPs would be willing to put their necks on the line and call for a snap GE, I wonder?

The comment made by the BBC reporter earlier is that there are unhappy Tory MPs but they think it's too early for another leadership contest! Get this idiot and her idiot chancellor away from any kind of power whatever it takes! Seems Rishi may have been the better option after all?

29-09-2022, 09:30 PM
Truss either undertakes a massive U-Turn on the crazy mini-budget, thus making herself look clueless, or she sticks to her guns, risking financial meltdown. Perhaps she will empty Kwerteng and blame him for everything, then change course. No easy way out for Dim Lizzy.

29-09-2022, 09:41 PM
I'm not buying that for a minute. If there was a election tomorrow, even in the middle of this shambles, the Tories would get more than 21% of the vote. People are angry and are lashing out, but there's no way that poll would become reality at the voting booth. The poll I saw has Labour 15 ahead, which is more realistic. The Tories have an 80 seat head start; it's going to be difficult for Labour to transform that into a majority, no matter how badly Truss does.

Going to need the support of the SNP, oh wait, never he said 😂

ElginHibbie
29-09-2022, 10:17 PM

I totally agree Tories would get more than 21% of vote, but country wide polls can translate weirdly to individual seats

This is a good blog, Tories at 28% which is a fairer prediction but looks like they take a seat by seat consideration and it shows Labour destroying them

https://www.electoralcalculus.co.uk/blogs/ec_mrppoll_20220928.html

A lot can change between now and whenever an election actually happens, but when it does happen if Labour only win by 15 seats think that that would mean either Labour somehow imploded or some other unexpected world event happens which the Tories can somehow take advantage of.... and I wouldn't completely rule out either scenario

30-09-2022, 12:11 AM
Telegraph reporting that Tory backbenchers are threatening to rebel over the proposed cut to the 45p tax rate.

Of course, it's all well and good to be saying it now publicly, will said backbenchers actually go through with it when the time comes?

Stairway 2 7
30-09-2022, 05:24 AM

It's more nuanced than that. No one is saying they are going to realistically get 2 seats. But that the last two major polls showing 20 plus% lead. It equates to a landslide victory.

Traditionally the tories would get a bounce from the party conference, but everyone has the popcorn out waiting for truss to defend this shambles.

Usually you would say they will just change the leader in the next 6 months and they will have 2 years. That won't fly when they have just had a lengthy process to change leader.

If anyone thinks things will revert to normal then now is the time to get to the bookies. Tories are 2/1 for most seats, Labour 1/3 on

Stairway 2 7
30-09-2022, 05:51 AM
They didn't want to know and didn't care what this was going to do to the economy

https://mobile.twitter.com/faisalislam/status/1575565395599261703

faisalislam
NEW

OBR confirms on record my story from 9 days ago that it prepared a draft forecast for new Chancellor waiting for him on first day at Treasury 6th September, and that an offer for a legally compliant forecast to accompany the mini-budget was rejected

In a letter from OBR chief Richard Hughes to SNP MPs
@alisonthewliss
and
@ianblackford_MP

* We sent a draft economic and fiscal forecast to the new Chancellor on 6 September, his first day in office. We offered, at the time, to update that forecast

In the event, we were not commissioned to produce an updated forecast alongside the Chancellor’s Growth Plan on 23 September, although we would have been in a position to do so to a standard that satisfied the legal requirements of the Charter for Budget Responsibility

HM Treasury have previously told me that the OBR acknowledged that the forecast it could have published alongside the mini Budget, would not have been as full a document as normal, which is acknowledged by OBR, but it still would have been to legal standards

30-09-2022, 06:03 AM

None is the answer

30-09-2022, 06:57 AM
https://twitter.com/BestForBritain/status/1575500470768242689?t=iHHcTKsnOaJUnH6cBQ_3qA&s=08

30-09-2022, 07:27 AM
https://twitter.com/BestForBritain/status/1575500470768242689?t=iHHcTKsnOaJUnH6cBQ_3qA&s=08

It's actually frightening listening to her!

Paulie Walnuts
30-09-2022, 07:37 AM
Who has said that??

My vote is the very definition of a wasted vote due to my location.

It was over 2 years ago I voted. An awful lot has changed since then!

Nobody voted for the actions taken in the budget and nobody agrees with the actions taken by this govt.

“ the fact I voted Conservative means nothing.”

You did :confused:

30-09-2022, 07:47 AM
It's actually frightening listening to her!Unless you are a hedge fund manager,like the chancellor's former boss, for example.

https://www.opendemocracy.net/en/kwasi-kwarteng-crispin-odey-government-bonds-profit/

30-09-2022, 09:29 AM
It's almost always a bad idea to draw significant conclusions from one or two individual polls, eye-catching as they may be – the margins of errors are just too high. Averaged polls give a much better picture (but still obviously don't eliminate all error).

And it's not like the averaged results of polls aren't eye-catching in themselves, e.g. this data currently has Labour 17 points ahead and shows the remarkable shift over the course of the last few weeks: https://www.politico.eu/europe-poll-of-polls/united-kingdom/

(It also illustrates the folly of reading too much into individual polls – the dots represent individual poll results and at pretty much any point from March to August you could pick outliers showing either Labour with a big lead or the two parties neck and neck.)

30-09-2022, 10:28 AM
It's almost always a bad idea to draw significant conclusions from one or two individual polls, eye-catching as they may be – the margins of errors are just too high. Averaged polls give a much better picture (but still obviously don't eliminate all error).

And it's not like the averaged results of polls aren't eye-catching in themselves, e.g. this data currently has Labour 17 points ahead and shows the remarkable shift over the course of the last few weeks: https://www.politico.eu/europe-poll-of-polls/united-kingdom/

(It also illustrates the folly of reading too much into individual polls – the dots represent individual poll results and at pretty much any point from March to August you could pick outliers showing either Labour with a big lead or the two parties neck and neck.)

:agree: Politico's basket of polls is the best way to get a true picture away from the headline ones. Unless the Tories actually DO something positive though I can see it being sustained for the next few cycles as well.

Stairway 2 7
30-09-2022, 10:28 AM

No one is saying this will be the result. But the margin of the last two hasn't been matched since Blair was about to come into power. If anyone thinks its still close get yourselfs to the bookmakers now. Not enough of a price to tempt me personally

30-09-2022, 10:49 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220930/c38e373620014aca1a691e281125d835.jpg

Stairway 2 7
30-09-2022, 10:51 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/DickMackintosh/status/1575613996887003138

@DickMackintosh
Do you think helping rich people vastly more than poor people in a cost of living crisis is fair?

Liz Truss ''Yes'' #bbcqt

30-09-2022, 11:11 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220930/c38e373620014aca1a691e281125d835.jpg

Johnson: "We have the fastest growing economy in the G7."

30-09-2022, 12:17 PM
Johnson: "We have the fastest growing economy in the G7."Stick it on the side of a bus and millions will believe it.

30-09-2022, 12:53 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/310023064_133573562757337_4655880461936953555_n.jp g?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=Xiok43xmeZkAX_b_CNp&tn=vIvSFNl06GFFe0Qb&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT_7LV7uM1GBA3jXA9smCGUtlW_JEX4z061FBO2UxTTl 4A&oe=633BE407

30-09-2022, 02:12 PM
Bench plaque 'in loathing memory' of Boris Johnson causes a stir in Greater Manchester town - Manchester Evening News (https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/greater-manchester-news/bench-plaque-in-loathing-memory-25081372?fbclid=IwAR1LoRMCHM33MAoisWefydlzuaUll8dY VHgqnv5Q28q2xrkeG0Nxzt_bUzg)

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/308498855_10159404692652060_2430322856462267364_n. jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=kqwAhRYglWkAX8Npw5e&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT8q7tgO2CcACjoxyUSiqqqTnCcdWpKyx44SHvtRIi6v vA&oe=633B830E

no doubt Truss/Kwarteng will probably be remembered fondly as well

Stairway 2 7
30-09-2022, 02:20 PM
Bench plaque 'in loathing memory' of Boris Johnson causes a stir in Greater Manchester town - Manchester Evening News (https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/greater-manchester-news/bench-plaque-in-loathing-memory-25081372?fbclid=IwAR1LoRMCHM33MAoisWefydlzuaUll8dY VHgqnv5Q28q2xrkeG0Nxzt_bUzg)

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/308498855_10159404692652060_2430322856462267364_n. jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=kqwAhRYglWkAX8Npw5e&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT8q7tgO2CcACjoxyUSiqqqTnCcdWpKyx44SHvtRIi6v vA&oe=633B830E

no doubt Truss/Kwarteng will probably be remembered fondly as well

Shows how bad it is when many would reluctantly welcome that government back

30-09-2022, 02:21 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220930/5123382a7ac344b5e86be037d36e9ec3.jpg

Average of the last 6 polls.

30-09-2022, 02:56 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220930/5123382a7ac344b5e86be037d36e9ec3.jpg

Average of the last 6 polls.

Anglesey to declare independence on Monday....

30-09-2022, 04:19 PM

I voted Tory and I regret it now . My vote helped put that ****ing lunatic Truss in power , please accept my humble apologies.

30-09-2022, 04:49 PM
I voted Tory and I regret it now . My vote helped put that ****ing lunatic Truss in power , please accept my humble apologies.Genuine question - you thought Johnson was sane?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

30-09-2022, 05:36 PM
Genuine question - you thought Johnson was sane?

I like Boris , he was prone to the odd gaffe but he means well . Truss on the other hand is a dangerous individual, pure evil

30-09-2022, 05:51 PM
I like Boris , he was prone to the odd gaffe but he means well . Truss on the other hand is a dangerous individual, pure evil

The odd gaff? Really? Even after all this **** Johnson’s **** ups are still gaffs?

30-09-2022, 05:57 PM
I like Boris , he was prone to the odd gaffe but he means well

‘The odd gaffe’??

In other news, I believe Imelda Marcos was quite fond of a pair of shoes.

30-09-2022, 06:46 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fd4_nEYWQAMfByc?format=jpg&name=medium

30-09-2022, 06:47 PM
I like Boris , he was prone to the odd gaffe but he means well .

You're a nasty piece of work aren't you?

https://twitter.com/EuropeanUnity1/status/1557975156726833153?s=20&t=kZ1KKRmEQ1STQlomLrhxdQ

30-09-2022, 07:00 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fd4_nEYWQAMfByc?format=jpg&name=mediumThe world beating stuff just keeps on coming.

Inflation next?

Stairway 2 7
30-09-2022, 07:27 PM
The world beating stuff just keeps on coming.

Inflation next?

Uk inflation at 9.9% eu at 10%, Holland just announced 17.1%. We'll not match that due to energy bail out. Our growth is worse than all of g7 though so we're still pish

30-09-2022, 07:35 PM
Uk inflation at 9.9% eu at 10%, Holland just announced 17.1%. We'll not match that due to energy bail out. Our growth is worse than all of g7 though so we're still pish[emoji106]

I don't think it's unattainable for our current tag team of Liz & Kwakers. World beaters.

Stairway 2 7
30-09-2022, 07:38 PM
[emoji106]

I don't think it's unattainable for our current tag team of Liz & Kwakers. World beaters.

Think their next target is parity between the pound and dollar, I have lots of faith that the glaikit Cs can achieve it

30-09-2022, 07:41 PM
Think their next target is parity between the pound and dollar, I have lots of faith that the glaikit Cs can achieve itNothing, no new low is off the table. Especially if you can just mask it by saying world beating often enough.

30-09-2022, 10:08 PM

Wow. Means well narcissistic compulsive liar but that apart means well

30-09-2022, 11:03 PM

He doesnt mean well, it is all part of his scheming

hibsfan7
30-09-2022, 11:08 PM

Are you Boris Johnson?

30-09-2022, 11:24 PM
https://twitter.com/mehreenkhn/status/1575968135634567168?s=46&t=fGbmv_F-FvpdFPUoRV4RTw

UK gets a ratings downgrade now.

30-09-2022, 11:25 PM
https://twitter.com/mehreenkhn/status/1575968135634567168?s=46&t=fGbmv_F-FvpdFPUoRV4RTw

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNot just any downgrade, it'll be a world beating one.

30-09-2022, 11:36 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220930/8155755e5913d56bbb4211d0110a7e99.jpg

They are going to take the money from the poor to fund the tax cuts for the rich.
This is why I favour Indy. I just do not believe Scotland would have voted in a government who would do this? I’m not sure how much worse it needs to get before more people see it?

30-09-2022, 11:53 PM

They are going to take the money from the poor to fund the tax cuts for the rich.
This is why I favour Indy. I just do not believe Scotland would have voted in a government who would do this? I’m not sure how much worse it needs to get before more people see it?

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI guess this Clarke creature is as challenged on The English language as his boss is on Geography (and so much more).

He seems to think that pressing down on the many whilst enriching a very select few is levelling up, which is a bit weird given his job but then I looked at our PM and Kwakers the chancellor and can see what is driving the guys behaviour.

Maybe he needs a spirit level or a good old fashioned set of scales to help?

01-10-2022, 12:40 AM

Was that the same people who gave the packaged mortgage debt bundles triple A ratings before it all went pear shaped. As Fraser said in Dad's Army "We're Doomed "

01-10-2022, 07:53 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221001/cbf6791e0e43f9178d762dfa4cdca506.jpg

01-10-2022, 07:55 AM
Good to see Kwakers trying the old Bozo trick of "moving on". Which was generally a way to not answer questions about the latest cock up or lie.

He's apparently going to get spending under control. This will impress loyalists and may eventually lead to us hearing a lot of "strong and stable" again.

This will inevitably impact public services and the NHS which they are determined to subtly undermine and privatise by stealth and there's a couple of years to do it.

It's just a pity he seems to be silent on some of the extraordinary hemorrhaging of public money and mountain of future debt that has occurred since his recent actions.

He might have at least said he'd use legislation, in tandem with getting spending under control to claw back this money that's been allowed to flow to his shameless, thick skinned friends and donators. Some might call it "Levelling Up". Another popular sound bite with the faithful.

01-10-2022, 07:56 AM
Was that the same people who gave the packaged mortgage debt bundles triple A ratings before it all went pear shaped. As Fraser said in Dad's Army "We're Doomed "

A crime not a single person went to jail for. Amazingly you’ll see Gordon Brown and Alistair Darling give interviews on TV telling us what an amazing job they did during the financial crisis. All they did was shovel bucket loads of ordinary peoples money into the pockets of the very people who had been committing the fraud in the first place. The Tories then came in and ramped it up a few hundred levels.

01-10-2022, 08:21 AM
https://twitter.com/therimaahmed/status/1576111917336170501?s=46&t=QmOL_iBPiHuxue2EIrlTFA

Quite funny.

01-10-2022, 09:17 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221001/8467a0fecce7111ade296c816acd80dd.jpg

01-10-2022, 09:21 AM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkMaybe a smudged one is worth less and not befitting a man of his "status".

The Tubs
01-10-2022, 09:25 AM

In purely practical terms, it means you’ll pay more for your debt, which you’re going to need more of, in the future.

01-10-2022, 10:55 AM
In purely practical terms, it means you’ll pay more for your debt, which you’re going to need more of, in the future.[emoji106]

Lucky there's plenty bankers and other lenders who have been at Kwakers money trough and will have their plunder to lend, at the sort of rate even Mrs doctor Budge wouldn't get away with charging a Hearts fan[emoji6]

01-10-2022, 11:46 AM

im coming round to the idea , if they had a referendum tomorrow i think i would vote yes

01-10-2022, 11:57 AM
I voted Tory and I regret it now . My vote helped put that ****ing lunatic Truss in power , please accept my humble apologies.

Two Hail Mary's and a wee cotribution to the roof fund,and you are forgiven my Son.

01-10-2022, 12:17 PM
https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMFNFraoS/

OldEast
01-10-2022, 01:22 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221001/cbf6791e0e43f9178d762dfa4cdca506.jpg

I'll be sorry to see him go. He's such a pathetic wee soul, good comedy value.

01-10-2022, 05:12 PM
I'll be sorry to see him go. He's such a pathetic wee soul, good comedy value.There must be some sort of role for him to naturally progress into at Sevco as a continuation of his general hunnishness.

Wonder if they have a pen and paper clip drawer that they could put him in charge of the key for. Similar to what Bozo did. Murray Ross, assistant key holder.

Stairway 2 7
01-10-2022, 05:57 PM
Tories are afraid of Charles's strong environmental feelings

RoyaNikkhah
·
39m
NEW @trussliz has told King Charles not to attend @COP27P next month. The King,a lifelong environmentalist, planned to be at the summit in Egypt to give a keynote speech and attend engagements. In contrast, the Queen gave an address to @COP26 last year
https://thetimes.co.uk/article/liz-truss-orders-king-charles-to-stay-away-from-cop27-climate-summit-573sg09tm

01-10-2022, 06:08 PM
Tories are afraid of Charles's strong environmental feelings

RoyaNikkhah
·
39m
NEW @trussliz has told King Charles not to attend @COP27P next month. The King,a lifelong environmentalist, planned to be at the summit in Egypt to give a keynote speech and attend engagements. In contrast, the Queen gave an address to @COP26 last year
https://thetimes.co.uk/article/liz-truss-orders-king-charles-to-stay-away-from-cop27-climate-summit-573sg09tm

Funnily enough, possibly the only thing I have positive feelings about when it comes to our new King, the Royal family and the current political landscape right now are Charles' environmental opinions.

He's got good on his side there.

Truss, Rees-Mogg and the like most definitely do not.

An almighty squabble between Tories and crown would do quite nicely, thank you very much.

01-10-2022, 06:10 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWhat an absolute welt that man is.

01-10-2022, 06:14 PM
https://twitter.com/pippacrerar/status/1576261348295589889?s=46&t=xxtDKdPIPN2Rxo4GRbQaSw

Horrific what the UK has become.[emoji35]

Stairway 2 7
01-10-2022, 07:49 PM
steve_hawkes
Incredible stuff in the big read from
@ShippersUnbound
tonight “Former ministers are openly discussing what would happen if Truss was ousted. “There would have to be a leader by acclamation,” one said. “And it would have to be Boris or Rishi. She’s finished already

01-10-2022, 11:37 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/309605795_10161822397227835_5166619147419822512_n. jpg?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=m5TzRW8zyLsAX_qM20e&tn=vIvSFNl06GFFe0Qb&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT-kWqo161WYLPdr3j0iIu-mWcaWZT0vkWNxhOYycT-ypA&oe=633E8D4F

Stairway 2 7
02-10-2022, 08:12 AM
We've got an unelected dictator, perfect

bbclaurak
Truss and Kwarteng did not discuss scrapping the 45p rate of income tax with the cabinet as a whole, PM says

Stairway 2 7
02-10-2022, 08:13 AM
I didn't even think of doing that, great idea

@lisaocarroll
·
22m
Conservative chair Jake Berry: People know when they get their bills, they can either cut their consumption or get higher salaries or higher wages and go out there and get that new job

02-10-2022, 09:01 AM
I didn't even think of doing that, great idea

@lisaocarroll
·
22m
Conservative chair Jake Berry: People know when they get their bills, they can either cut their consumption or get higher salaries or higher wages and go out there and get that new job

Retrain as a ballerina? 😉

Stairway 2 7
02-10-2022, 10:01 AM
Tories are revolting

AnushkaAsthana
Ooft- the prime minister on the 45p- admits it wasn’t discussed with the cabinet and says “it’s a decision the Chancellor made

Replying to this
@NadineDorries
One of
@BorisJohnson
faults was that he could sometimes be too loyal and he got that. However, there is a balance and throwing your Chancellor under a bus on the first day of conference really isn’t it. 🤞 things improve and settle down from now

Stairway 2 7
02-10-2022, 10:04 AM
chakrabortty
·
24m
At Friday's reception... 'guests explicitly told Kwarteng to “double down” — an approach from which some stood to make enormous profits.' Afterwards 'at least two prominent hedge fund bosses told City associates that Kwarteng was “a useful idiot

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/kwasi-kwartengs-budget-day-cocktail-party-with-financiers-who-may-have-profited-from-crash-kwdbs72g0

02-10-2022, 10:54 AM
Interesting comments from Michael Gove today on LK's Sunday show. Calling the tax cuts which have not been adequately funded, un-Conservative is a bit of a stinger, given that his forte up until now has been providing a dependable ream of weasel words to argue that black is actually white.

02-10-2022, 12:37 PM
Marco Longhi on Sky telling us that Liz Truss is "very brave" and that the Tories "govern for the benefit of everyone in the country".

[emoji1]

02-10-2022, 01:07 PM
https://twitter.com/AdamBienkov/status/1576490556100055040?t=GeBbvUZ7w30FzbF0GDeotQ&s=19

02-10-2022, 01:45 PM
Tories are revolting

AnushkaAsthana
Ooft- the prime minister on the 45p- admits it wasn’t discussed with the cabinet and says “it’s a decision the Chancellor made

Replying to this
@NadineDorries
One of
@BorisJohnson
faults was that he could sometimes be too loyal and he got that. However, there is a balance and throwing your Chancellor under a bus on the first day of conference really isn’t it. [emoji1696] things improve and settle down from nowSo it sounds like it's Liz's corner shop and she will sit behind the counter making all the decisions bypassing her MP/parliament unless they are ERG ones naturally?

Obvious exception being Kwakers who seems to at least get involved, even if he is only the front man/fall guy/useful idiot. Granville to the nasties Arkwright.

02-10-2022, 02:23 PM
he wouldn't be smiling and smirking without his small army of security (2) Urban Pictures on Twitter: "MP Jacob Rees-Mogg HECKLED and chased by protesters and bundled away by cops as he arrives at the Tory Party Conference in Birmingham. Footasge available at @Newsflare #Birmingham https://t.co/g8T8Ynat2D" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/Urban_Pictures/status/1576546736914341891)

02-10-2022, 02:45 PM
'The City business partner of Jacob Rees-Mogg has been handed a peerage and job as a senior minister by Liz Truss’s government in a move likely to trigger accusations of cronyism.

Dominic Johnson, a financier who co-founded Somerset Capital Management with Rees-Mogg, was appointed as a minister in the Cabinet Office and the Department for International Trade.'

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2022/oct/02/jacob-rees-mogg-business-partner-dominic-johnson-given-senior-minister-role

Not democratically elected but want a role in Government? Not a problem, just use your connections in the Tory party.

02-10-2022, 02:48 PM
he wouldn't be smiling and smirking without his small army of security (2) Urban Pictures on Twitter: "MP Jacob Rees-Mogg HECKLED and chased by protesters and bundled away by cops as he arrives at the Tory Party Conference in Birmingham. Footasge available at @Newsflare #Birmingham https://t.co/g8T8Ynat2D" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/Urban_Pictures/status/1576546736914341891)He's like a one man 1970's National Front march there.

02-10-2022, 02:49 PM
Gaslighting at a peak on the TV news today. If we could use that as energy we'd all be quids in.

02-10-2022, 03:15 PM
Mordaunt invoking the memory of auld queen lizzy in her speech despite her and her party sharing none of the queen's values.

People actually swallow this jive?

02-10-2022, 04:53 PM
Treasury minister Chris Philp says no business with under 500 staff will be subject to business regulation ...

https://twitter.com/votepoliticsuk/status/1576592779203215360?s=20&t=EhmQz8NwxSbJjFrBbybWMg

02-10-2022, 05:19 PM
Treasury minister Chris Philp says no business with under 500 staff will be subject to business regulation ...

https://twitter.com/votepoliticsuk/status/1576592779203215360?s=20&t=EhmQz8NwxSbJjFrBbybWMg

The first reply to that tweet would be my reaction

02-10-2022, 05:23 PM

https://twitter.com/votepoliticsuk/status/1576592779203215360?s=20&t=EhmQz8NwxSbJjFrBbybWMgIndustrial chimney sweeps everywhere will offering internships to 499 children.

02-10-2022, 06:17 PM

What does that mean exactly? Will they exempt from all minimum standards?

02-10-2022, 06:37 PM
What does that mean exactly? Will they exempt from all minimum standards?

Does it mean that gas fitters no longer need their gas safe qualification and license?

02-10-2022, 06:42 PM

https://twitter.com/votepoliticsuk/status/1576592779203215360?s=20&t=EhmQz8NwxSbJjFrBbybWMgThis is a brexit benefit, for them though not the workers who voted for brexit and for the tories.

02-10-2022, 06:49 PM
From The Guardian....

02-10-2022, 06:51 PM
This is a brexit benefit, for them though not the workers who voted for brexit and for the tories.

Yes, the race to the bottom was always the goal of Brexit. Protections for workers, public services and the environment go down the cludgie. Truss has gone full steam ahead with Milton Friedman madness; Toryism on steroids, a Daily Telegraph wet dream.

02-10-2022, 07:00 PM
Making a fortune from doing nothing. Making money from money, the apotheosis of capitalism. Nice work if you have the ear of the chancellor:

https://youtu.be/sLYz_yAqK1c

02-10-2022, 08:35 PM
This is a brexit benefit, for them though not the workers who voted for brexit and for the tories.

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkGot blue passports coming and crowns on pint glasses so I'm sure it will all be seen as worthwhile. Not as if we couldn't have had them anyway........

On a more serious note this has the potential to drive the businesses liability insurance costs through the roof, particularly Employers liability. Unless the nasties abolish that as well.

02-10-2022, 09:55 PM
Yes, the race to the bottom was always the goal of Brexit. Protections for workers, public services and the environment go down the cludgie. Truss has gone full steam ahead with Milton Friedman madness; Toryism on steroids, a Daily Telegraph wet dream.

Which is exactly why most of the Tories who campaigned for Remain were able to "move on". They were only in it for the trade side and consoled themselves with the opportunities to dismantle employment rights

02-10-2022, 10:01 PM
Got blue passports coming and crowns on pint glasses so I'm sure it will all be seen as worthwhile. Not as if we couldn't have had them anyway........

On a more serious note this has the potential to drive the businesses liability insurance costs through the roof, particularly Employers liability. Unless the nasties abolish that as well.

Given that we are still (I think) a democracy and that the vast majority of people are either workers or on the side of the workers, would you not think that they're just making themselves unelectable for a generation if they make such an assault on worker's rights?

It might impress their influential pals but it won't win votes.

02-10-2022, 10:30 PM
Given that we are still (I think) a democracy and that the vast majority of people are either workers or on the side of the workers, would you not think that they're just making themselves unelectable for a generation if they make such an assault on worker's rights?

It might impress their influential pals but it won't win votes.

The tory media will portray the loss of workers rights as a good thing and anyone disagreeing (trade unions) will be demonised. Let's face it Labour aren't going to say anything for fear of being ... err ... demonised!

02-10-2022, 11:11 PM
What does that mean exactly? Will they exempt from all minimum standards?Here is the press release for the announcement.

No discussion in parliament, the new threshold of 500 employees kicks in tomorrow.

03-10-2022, 05:48 AM
Sky news reporting that Truss is going to drop plans to scrap the top tax bracket.

That is an embarrassing climb down for her already.

Stairway 2 7
03-10-2022, 05:52 AM
Sky news reporting that Truss is going to drop plans to scrap the top tax bracket.

Unbelievably embarrassing stuff from them

@MrHarryCole
·
6h
🚨🚨🚨

NEW: Liz Truss preparing to ditch 45p rate TODAY after late crisis talks with Chancellor

Humiliating climb down plan comes after day of acrimony on Brum

Announcement expected in morn in body blow to new Government

No denial from No10 this eve
https://thesun.co.uk/news/19984995/

03-10-2022, 05:55 AM
Chancellor Kami-Kwasi is expected to make a statement in the next hour, reversing the proposed scrapping of the 45p rate of income tax, 10 days after it was announced in the mini-budget.

The U-turn comes after several Tory MPs voiced their opposition to the plan.

BBC political correspondent Nick Eardley said government sources were not commenting.

Ex-cabinet minister Grant Shapps had warned Liz Truss could lose a Commons vote on the proposal.

The plan to scrap the 45p rate, paid by people earning over £150,000 a year, had been criticised as unfair at time of rising living costs.

On Sunday, the prime minister told the BBC she was committed to it, saying it was part of an "overall package of making our tax system simpler and lower".

Mr Grieves
03-10-2022, 06:07 AM

They couldn't have handled this worse if they tried.

BTW , the commentators and journalists that put pressure on the devolved governments to cut taxes have lost credibility

03-10-2022, 06:13 AM
They couldn't have handled this worse if they tried.

BTW , the commentators and journalists that put pressure on the devolved governments to cut taxes have lost credibility

It’s gone :faf:
I suppose we should be grateful, the interesting thing is whether it will improve their polling fortunes. I’m not sure voters like spineless any more than they like greedy and corrupt, mind you.

Stairway 2 7
03-10-2022, 06:14 AM
The absolute gimps in the Scottish media and politics that were telling the snp to do the same, please come forward. Also the idiots going to move south to save tax, 👋

03-10-2022, 06:38 AM
Haha - we get it and have listened

Crikey

I wonder when Douglas Ross will be getting doorstepped about this

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/uk-politics-63114183?at_custom2=twitter&at_custom4=9ABF3860-42E5-11ED-A55F-A73F0EDC252D&at_custom3=%40BBCBreaking&at_medium=custom7&at_campaign=64&at_custom1=%5Bpost+type%5D

03-10-2022, 06:39 AM
The absolute gimps in the Scottish media and politics that were telling the snp to do the same, please come forward. Also the idiots going to move south to save tax, 👋

The leader of the Scottish Tories and a poster on here with a ridder.😳

Stairway 2 7
03-10-2022, 06:43 AM
The leader of the Scottish Tories and a poster on here with a ridder.😳

We might get trickle down apologies. It'll start at the top and surely eventually reach us at the bottom

03-10-2022, 06:44 AM
Removals companies all over Scotland going bust, as contracts dry up.

Top lawyers look to reverse decisions. 😂

03-10-2022, 07:28 AM

It might impress their influential pals but it won't win votes.Yes I do, I sincerely hope so.

My concern would be they manufacture another short term bribe or scaremongering about threats to the nation that only they can solve or indeed whip up some internal division.

The folk pulling the strings of nasty conservativeism recently have done very well out of it and it's not in their character to say enough is enough.

Thinking about it, the puppeteers might well see the 45p distraction as worthwhile given that bankers bonus caps, savaging workers rights and the pillaging by hedge funds survive, or will conference be screaming about abolishing those and recovering the cash from Kwakers pal next?

Thought not.

03-10-2022, 07:33 AM

That is an embarrassing climb down for her already.Expect a major speech to say It's okay she will get another bracket and her and Kwakers will have another go at getting that shelf up.

This Bozo style U turn will be heralded as a sign of greatness. In reality the fact it had to be made so soon after the dullard was backing it tells you how brazen and shameless they really are.

03-10-2022, 08:20 AM
It was a distraction!

No it was a misjudged attempt to appeal to your donators.

Tory chairman hints at April 2024 election.

03-10-2022, 08:40 AM
Alyn Smith on twitter

My thoughts with all the folks starting their days deleting tweets about how Scotland should follow Mrs Truss and her “bold plans” for tax cuts

03-10-2022, 08:50 AM
It was a distraction!

No it was a misjudged attempt to appeal to your donators.

Tory chairman hints at April 2024 election.It was also a financial window for all the Hedgefunders to cash in on the pound and for the Bank Of England to splash us 60 billion more in debt.

Reckless and they should be in jail. A heist.

Stairway 2 7
03-10-2022, 09:13 AM
24 hours ago truss said this about lowering the top tax rate!

https://mobile.twitter.com/antoguerrera/status/1576835769263497216

03-10-2022, 09:16 AM
24 hours ago truss said this about lowering the top tax rate!

https://mobile.twitter.com/antoguerrera/status/1576835769263497216She needs a new distraction to throw to the masses quickly.

03-10-2022, 09:19 AM
From that well known radical left newspaper, the Financial Times.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221003/a912ede25d0c0aca800c04f8d5d0246f.jpg

Stairway 2 7
03-10-2022, 09:19 AM
She needs a new distraction to throw to the masses quickly.

Can't believe I can't wait to watch a tory party conference

Stairway 2 7
03-10-2022, 09:26 AM
Just when you thought they were doing this out of public interest

alexgordon4me
·
46m
Kwarteng confirms further cuts of up to £18bn for public services

Budgets will not be topped up to take account of soaring inflation, a move described by economic experts as likely to have an “extraordinary” impact on the NHS and schools

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/kwarteng-cuts-tax-truss-budget-b2191341.html

03-10-2022, 09:26 AM
Can't believe I can't wait to watch a tory party conferenceIf Sesame Street isn't on, I might go for it as the nearest best thing.

Stairway 2 7
03-10-2022, 09:30 AM
If Sesame Street isn't on, I might go for it as the nearest best thing.

Would rather trust The Count to be Chancellor than Kwarteng

03-10-2022, 09:33 AM
Would rather trust The Count to be Chancellor than KwartengChanged my mind, the cast of Rainbow is what we need running this country.[emoji16]

stu in nottingham
03-10-2022, 10:21 AM
'The abolition of the 45pc rate had become a distraction from our mission to get Britain moving
- Truss

How does she propose to 'get Britain moving'. Does she not understand that people are skint? People are spending less simply because they have less. Many are terrified they may not be able to pay their energy bills or mortgage repayments or make ends meet generally. Where does 'growing the pie' (ridiculous term) stand with that and how do you get an economy on the move with people that are unable to move. This woman, apart from being a very nasty piece of work, is truly an idiot.

03-10-2022, 10:25 AM
'The abolition of the 45pc rate had become a distraction from our mission to get Britain moving
- Truss

How does she propose to 'get Britain moving'. Does she not understand that people are skint? People are spending less simply because they have less. Many are terrified they may not be able to pay their energy bills or mortgage repayments or make ends meet generally. Where does 'growing the pie' (ridiculous term) stand with that and how do you get an economy on the move with people that are unable to move. This woman, apart from being a very nasty piece of work, is truly an idiot.

You've obviously not been paying attention. Here's the answer to your question.

People know when they get their bills, they can either cut their consumption or get higher salaries or higher wages and go out there and get that new job

stu in nottingham
03-10-2022, 10:37 AM
You've obviously not been paying attention. Here's the answer to your question.

https://www.hibs.net/image/webp;base64,UklGRhoBAABXRUJQVlA4TA0BAAAvEYACEI hkJEkqTbrb3M85/HOaTiIJEmR8phP/pk7I/A/MwratpE8/sQOxuHYyzaS7SYnCdscVVEgMbFCzBF5E2Bc75/35/6HxJA69psklhfDryN5JJf1JInh5XIzs9L iAShRqFMEEJsEAOEEGuNO9awuRp9n93VMnPvPUOcmLHjxIMf4s aHE6/BYSTZpnXuebbtbyP/8P79OeyJ6P8EENBmSzXSXC/SzPTbBQpOTpWv4DeaTLEg6AOwYNGIYhGvg2IRXa5YnHyKFYvfa BqHrWKk3BS7njVjxF5H6AMOB gb38hmQu7Y1Z85d/3yJbvIDloCvrfz8bAuyRHYp8t2un4I7wdwv4jI7QE8CQA= Originally Posted by Conservative chair Jake Berry
People know when they get their bills, they can either cut their consumption or get higher salaries or higher wages and go out there and get that new job

I'm going to go for the 'get higher salary' option and suggest everyone does similar. Will report back.

03-10-2022, 10:45 AM
Deleted twitter on Friday night and life feels much better! I get updates on football and current affair exclusively from Hibs.net.

Sick of being on the rollercoaster driven by these clowns and a big part of the media.

03-10-2022, 10:53 AM
Deleted twitter on Friday night and life feels much better! I get updates on football and current affair exclusively from Hibs.net.

Sick of being on the rollercoaster driven by these clowns and a big part of the media.

Coming off twitter definitely corresponded with a general lifting of my mood and the de-MikeyStewartification of my brain. And counterintuitively I am getting news from more diverse sources.

03-10-2022, 11:08 AM
https://news.stv.tv/politics/douglas-ross-says-kwasi-kwarteng-made-the-right-decision-to-u-turn-on-tax-plans

Shameless.

03-10-2022, 11:09 AM
For those no longer on Twitter, here's a photo of Tories discussing levelling up.
While quaffing a morning G&T.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FeI9j_MXEAAsLmZ?format=jpg&name=large

Stairway 2 7
03-10-2022, 11:15 AM
For those no longer on Twitter, here's a photo of Tories discussing levelling up.
While quaffing a morning G&T.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FeI9j_MXEAAsLmZ?format=jpg&name=large

That's brilliant and depressing all at once

03-10-2022, 11:43 AM
Changed my mind, the cast of Rainbow is what we need running this country.[emoji16]

Sent from my SM-A750FN using Tapatalkhttps://images.app.goo.gl/toC3cBVdBFVUaSLU8
Only allowed one Bungle(r) in the Tory party.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

03-10-2022, 11:46 AM
https://images.app.goo.gl/toC3cBVdBFVUaSLU8
Only allowed one Bungle(r) in the Tory party.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk[emoji23]

Yeah, Rainbow wouldn't have any of them either, back to the drawing board.

03-10-2022, 11:51 AM
A far smarter person than me asked me if the Lord Deighton's untendered fast track to Covid supply riches was stage 1 of the great giveaway to selected friends, supporters,donators and occasionally their own families.

Stage 1 having dried up they moved onto the great support your struggling hedge funds plan. Won't be much whining about that at conference though.

Stairway 2 7
03-10-2022, 12:01 PM
The big tax give away is still on

HugoGye
·
Paul Johnson
@TheIFS
on Kwarteng U-turn: "His £45 billion package of tax cuts has now become a £43 billion package - a rounding error in the context of the public finances

03-10-2022, 12:02 PM
Whilst it's good that they have reversed the top rate cut, I don't see how either of them can carry on in their positions.

They thought it was the right, and necessary, thing to do.

It clearly wasn't, so how can they be trusted to get anything right in future. Total cluster F.

Hoping that rules are being looked at to force another vote or GE.

03-10-2022, 12:22 PM
[emoji23]

Yeah, Rainbow wouldn't have any of them either, back to the drawing board.

Liz Truss reminds me of Zippy pity we couldn't zip her mouth.

03-10-2022, 12:22 PM
Whilst it's good that they have reversed the top rate cut, I don't see how either of them can carry on in their positions.

They thought it was the right, and necessary, thing to do.

It clearly wasn't, so how can they be trusted to get anything right in future. Total cluster F.

Hoping that rules are being looked at to force another vote or GE.

There ARE no ‘rules’, it’s actually more common NOT to have a mandate from the electorate than to have one. Out of the last five PMs (Gordon Brown, David Cameron, Theresa May, Boris Johnson and Liz Truss), only BJ had a majority from the electorate; May and Truss were appointed by Tory members, Brown just stepped in without a contest, Cameron had to negotiate himself in with the compliant Lib Dems. And let’s be honest, even Boris’ mandate (43% isn’t strictly speaking a mandate) was based on lies and half truths about Brexit.

In a working democracy, a new leader should have to maintain the same policies that got the last regime elected or face the country at a general election. The fact Truss doesn’t have to is, as she would probably say, ‘a disgrace’.

03-10-2022, 01:53 PM
Just yesterday Truss told Tory Kuensburg that the top rate tax cut was the right policy for growth; now it's postponed. They have no clue what they are doing; credibility destroyed already.

03-10-2022, 02:04 PM
Good to see Douglas Ross saying the nasties have done the right thing, a couple of days after "challenging" the SNP to following the tax cuts[emoji23]

How on earth does this guy get into the positions he does?

03-10-2022, 02:13 PM
Just yesterday Truss told Tory Kuensburg that the top rate tax cut was the right policy for growth; now it's postponed. They have no clue what they are doing; credibility destroyed already.

hopefully the thousands that sold up and moved to England are now on their way back up

Good to see Douglas Ross saying the nasties have done the right thing, a couple of days after "challenging" the SNP to following the tax cuts[emoji23]

and Mr Flip Flop doesn't even get a red face

03-10-2022, 02:26 PM
I'm going to go for the 'get higher salary' option and suggest everyone does similar. Will report back. I'm planning on doing that too by taking Industrial Action. Doubt that will give the economy a boost and will also cause another wedge to be driven between public sector workers, their immediate management and the Government that employs them. I'm fortunate in being able to use savings to make ends meet but the future is becoming increasingly bleak for Public Servants and we are close to the point of little or nothing to lose. I'm of the mind lots of this is to destroy what little we have left of Public Service and sell it off to the Tories mates

03-10-2022, 02:45 PM

Yoga and pilates 😉

03-10-2022, 02:45 PM
There ARE no ‘rules’, it’s actually more common NOT to have a mandate from the electorate than to have one. Out of the last five PMs (Gordon Brown, David Cameron, Theresa May, Boris Johnson and Liz Truss), only BJ had a majority from the electorate; May and Truss were appointed by Tory members, Brown just stepped in without a contest, Cameron had to negotiate himself in with the compliant Lib Dems. And let’s be honest, even Boris’ mandate (43% isn’t strictly speaking a mandate) was based on lies and half truths about Brexit.

In a working democracy, a new leader should have to maintain the same policies that got the last regime elected or face the country at a general election. The fact Truss doesn’t have to is, as she would probably say, ‘a disgrace’.

Agree with all of this although i think BJ certainly had the backing of the country to carry through his levelling up agenda.

The rules I'm referring to are Tory party ones re electing their leader. As it stands, they're not allowed a new contest for 12 months (i think).

That rule could be changed if a GE isn't brought forward.

03-10-2022, 02:52 PM
hopefully the thousands that sold up and moved to England are now on their way back up

and Mr Flip Flop doesn't even get a red face

I don't see what relevance his sexual prowess, or lack it, has to do with the Tories' current situation.

03-10-2022, 02:56 PM
Agree with all of this although i think BJ certainly had the backing of the country to carry through his levelling up agenda.

The rules I'm referring to are Tory party ones re electing their leader. As it stands, they're not allowed a new contest for 12 months (i think).

That rule could be changed if a GE isn't brought forward.

Oh OK I see what you mean. They were looking at changing the leadership contest 12 month gap rule to get rid of Boris after a low moment during partygate so it’s obviously possible for the Tory party. It doesn’t get us any nearer to a new government, i suppose it could potentially mean a Sunak takeover, but that’s an extension of democratic illegitimacy; Truss DID win amongst the membership! A GE is the only scenario that would be genuinely democratic, and clearly will never happen.

03-10-2022, 02:58 PM

At least he’s applying the learning points from his VAR training, specifically the section where they are told to not be precious when someone else points out their original decision was ridiculous.

03-10-2022, 03:06 PM
Ross is the leader of the Tories in Scotland but he only has a pretty small competition and when you consider that Annie Wells, Steven Kerr, Andrew Bowie and Murdo Fraser are amongst that competition it maybe does make sense to how he got there

Steven79
03-10-2022, 03:06 PM

and Mr Flip Flop doesn't even get a red faceI hope they never come back.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

03-10-2022, 03:12 PM
Ross is the leader of the Tories in Scotland but he only has a pretty small competition and when you consider that Annie Wells, Steven Kerr, Andrew Bowie and Murdo Fraser are amongst that competition it maybe does make sense to how he got there

The gp is the most likely successor

03-10-2022, 03:15 PM
The gp is the most likely successor

Forgot about him, another second rater that will be torn to shreds at FMQs. Although he does seem to be the MSM darling when it comes to talking down the SNHS

03-10-2022, 03:16 PM
Oh OK I see what you mean. They were looking at changing the leadership contest 12 month gap rule to get rid of Boris after a low moment during partygate so it’s obviously possible for the Tory party. It doesn’t get us any nearer to a new government, i suppose it could potentially mean a Sunak takeover, but that’s an extension of democratic illegitimacy; Truss DID win amongst the membership! A GE is the only scenario that would be genuinely democratic, and clearly will never happen.

I'm thinking Truss won't call a GE, party knows they're toast if she stays, party ousts her with a leadership campaign, new potential leaders commit to GE within x months, whatever is practical.

Another Xmas GE for example.

03-10-2022, 03:21 PM
Shut your eyes when Kwasi speaks and he sounds exactly like BJ. Is it an identikit voice/accent they teach at Eton or something?

03-10-2022, 03:23 PM
Why do they keep referring to the energy cap as a saving? All they did was make the rise smaller. It is still more expensive than it was before, therefore not a saving.

03-10-2022, 03:34 PM
Why do they keep referring to the energy cap as a saving? All they did was make the rise smaller. It is still more expensive than it was before, therefore not a saving.

Double what it was last winter. That's some saving.

03-10-2022, 03:37 PM
I don’t like stooping to commenting on somebody’s looks but Kwasi’s very off-centre widow’s peak is somehow irrationally really bugging me

03-10-2022, 03:42 PM
Yoga and pilates [emoji6]Been thinking about it and maybe Bozo wasn't as daft as we thought when he created Murray Ross.

Douglas can say it was Murray who was convinced Kwakers tax cut would save the economy and therefore "challenged" Sturgeon.

Whereas Douglas was also putting the poor and less well off than himself's interests first and calling for a U turn?

I think that's how it works.

03-10-2022, 03:42 PM
At least he’s applying the learning points from his VAR training, specifically the section where they are told to not be precious when someone else points out their original decision was ridiculous.[emoji23][emoji23]

03-10-2022, 03:44 PM
Why do they keep referring to the energy cap as a saving? All they did was make the rise smaller. It is still more expensive than it was before, therefore not a saving.They faffed around for a couple of months too, allowing the price to rocket before applying the cap ( which we pay for anyway ).

03-10-2022, 04:03 PM
The Lady is not for turning...

That lasted long.

03-10-2022, 04:06 PM
Where's the wise posters who were telling us that the SG needed to follow in Truss and Kwarteng's footsteps and drop the 45% rate.

03-10-2022, 04:12 PM
Where's the wise posters who were telling us that the SG needed to follow in Truss and Kwarteng's footsteps and drop the 45% rate.

:hmmm:Twister

Your chance to follow in Liz & Kwakers footsteps.

Sign up now offer withdrawn after 5 days.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221003/559a5889b678e5a69a1f6d95303916b9.jpg

03-10-2022, 04:49 PM
https://www.bigissue.com/news/politics/exclusive-suella-braverman-claims-to-have-contributed-to-a-legal-textbook-the-author-says-she-only-did-some-photocopying/

Claims by new Home Secretary Suella Braverman that she “contributed” to a legal textbook have been rubbished by the book’s author – who says she merely did some photocopying for him.

03-10-2022, 05:35 PM
https://www.bigissue.com/news/politics/exclusive-suella-braverman-claims-to-have-contributed-to-a-legal-textbook-the-author-says-she-only-did-some-photocopying/

Talking of Suella Braverman....

' “What we’ve got is too many low skilled workers coming into this country,” she said. “We’ve also got a very high number of students coming into this country and we’ve got a really high number of dependents.”

“Those people are coming here, they’re not necessarily working or they’re working in low-skilled jobs, and they’re not contributing to growing our economy,” she added.'

Braverman also said she wanted to restrict the ability of migrants to challenge deportation on the basis that they had been subjected to forced labour or human trafficking, known in Britain as “modern slavery”. '

https://www.standard.co.uk/news/politics/migrants-home-office-uk-tory-suella-braverman-immigration-students-b1029583.html

Steven79
03-10-2022, 05:52 PM

:hmmm:Going about with a brass neck like Dross.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

03-10-2022, 06:15 PM

' “What we’ve got is too many low skilled workers coming into this country,” she said. “We’ve also got a very high number of students coming into this country and we’ve got a really high number of dependents.”

“Those people are coming here, they’re not necessarily working or they’re working in low-skilled jobs, and they’re not contributing to growing our economy,” she added.'

Braverman also said she wanted to restrict the ability of migrants to challenge deportation on the basis that they had been subjected to forced labour or human trafficking, known in Britain as “modern slavery”. '

https://www.standard.co.uk/news/politics/migrants-home-office-uk-tory-suella-braverman-immigration-students-b1029583.htmlThey constantly moan about the lack of workers for skilled jobs. It's nit rocket science to solve that problem. You invest in education at all levels and divest it of any games of political football.

The talent is in our young people but for some reason they don't seem to want to bring that out.

Just_Jimmy
03-10-2022, 07:01 PM

https://www.standard.co.uk/news/politics/migrants-home-office-uk-tory-suella-braverman-immigration-students-b1029583.htmlWe've got a hell of a lot of "low skilled people" in political roles.

Time we got rid of them.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

03-10-2022, 07:08 PM
Another u-turn with new economic plan this month instead of next.

03-10-2022, 07:40 PM
Another u-turn with new economic plan this month instead of next.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIt's lucky they are sticking with that carefully thought out plan, especially as the dullard said just Sunday how it was necessary to do so.

03-10-2022, 08:15 PM
It's lucky they are sticking with that carefully thought out plan, especially as the dullard said just Sunday how it was necessary to do so.

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkFrankenstein Thatcherism

03-10-2022, 11:03 PM
https://twitter.com/peston/status/1577037182430502915?s=46&t=Jz8fBDP7K80PVWNF2FjrBA

Nice little earner.[emoji35]

Stairway 2 7
04-10-2022, 05:33 AM
We learn we move on, they say?

RupertMyers
·
A reminder that a tax cut that lasted a week forced the Bank of England to spend £65 billion to buy gilts

Stairway 2 7
04-10-2022, 09:00 AM
Jees no wonder those on benefits are struggling

https://mobile.twitter.com/TorstenBell/status/1577180326425923584

TorstenBell
Those worried about incentives should also pay attention to some history ie the long term erosion of basic benefit support. In early 80s basic rate of benefits was 25% of average earnings. Now it’s less than 15%. The life of riley is not being lived

Stairway 2 7
04-10-2022, 09:31 AM
Tories are the pits but a close second are the rats that run the stock markets. Just a game of kidology that can cause unbelievable suffering with there little bets. See the European gas markets causing people to freeze to death this winter, all on prices made due to there assumptions on future gas prices. The pound is at a higher rate than before the budget. Its all a nonsense

@Birdyword
Sterling now up 1.3% against the dollar since the day before the mini-budget

Stairway 2 7
04-10-2022, 10:18 AM
Is she trying to take over from Thatcher as most hated tory of the last 100 years

NatashaC
Truss says raising the retirement age again is "a decision yet to be made"

04-10-2022, 12:08 PM
The BBC.

Liz Truss has said she is still in favour of lowering tax for the highest earners although it is not something she is currently contemplating.

It comes after the PM was forced to U-turn on her plan to scrap the 45p tax rate for those paid over £150,000.

Speaking to the BBC's Chris Mason, Ms Truss said her priority was making sure people could "get through the winter"

She also denied her first weeks in office had been a disaster, saying she had "acted decisively" on energy bills

When was the energy cap confirmed? Pretty sure it was not her that limited the increase in the cap.

Stairway 2 7
04-10-2022, 12:33 PM
Merry Christmas everyone. Some dream of world peace at Christmas or just a happy healthy family, the Tories..

@matt_dathan
·
Suella Braverman says it would be “my dream” to see a flight deporting migrants to Rwanda by Christmas.

But she warns it will take much longer because of the lengthy process of legal challenges.
#ChoppersPolitics

04-10-2022, 12:34 PM
Merry Christmas everyone. Some dream of world peace at Christmas or just a happy healthy family, the Tories..

@matt_dathan
·
Suella Braverman says it would be “my dream” to see a flight deporting migrants to Rwanda by Christmas.

But she warns it will take much longer because of the lengthy process of legal challenges.
#ChoppersPolitics

Not even trying to disguise their UKIP/NF leanings anymore.

04-10-2022, 12:47 PM

@matt_dathan
·

#ChoppersPolitics

What a thing to consider "my dream".

A lot of people I know through work would be what you would consider to be "one nation" moderate Tories and they find the policy absolutely abhorrent.

Stairway 2 7
04-10-2022, 12:55 PM
I still have a dream, a dream deeply rooted in the American dream – one day this nation will rise up and live up to its creed, "We hold these truths to be self evident: that all men are created equal." I have a dream ...

—Martin Luther King Jr. (1963)

04-10-2022, 12:57 PM
Not even trying to disguise their UKIP/NF leanings anymore.

‘Send them back to Africa’.
That’s the actual Tory policy.
If you grew up in the 70s and 80s you’ll have heard that before from the usual NF characters.
They will be old men now and must be delighted.

04-10-2022, 01:12 PM
Beth Rigby really doesn't like Liz Truss. :greengrin

Paul1642
04-10-2022, 01:40 PM
Jees no wonder those on benefits are struggling

https://mobile.twitter.com/TorstenBell/status/1577180326425923584

TorstenBell
Those worried about incentives should also pay attention to some history ie the long term erosion of basic benefit support. In early 80s basic rate of benefits was 25% of average earnings. Now it’s less than 15%. The life of riley is not being lived

For arguments sake it is possible that the average earning figure has been pushed up by the top few % of earners and that benefits on relation to a true average wage (disregarding the mega rich) are still relative. I couldn’t find the info.

04-10-2022, 02:04 PM
For arguments sake it is possible that the average earning figure has been pushed up by the top few % of earners and that benefits on relation to a true average wage (disregarding the mega rich) are still relative. I couldn’t find the info.

I found some.

The average wage in the UK in 2021 was ~ £38000. 15% of that is £5719.

The average wage in 1980 was £6000. 25% of that is £1500 which is the equivalent of £7150 today.

04-10-2022, 02:10 PM
I found some.

The average wage in the UK in 2021 was ~ £38000. 15% of that is £5719.

The average wage in 1980 was £6000. 25% of that is £1500 which is the equivalent of £7150 today.

This is also complicated by the original statement ("25% of average earnings") not clarifying what type of average that is. I'd assume it's the mean (and I think your £38k figure is the mean UK wage), but if it's actually the median then all the numbers will be different.

04-10-2022, 02:14 PM
This is also complicated by the original statement ("25% of average earnings") not clarifying what type of average that is. I'd assume it's the mean (and I think your £38k figure is the mean UK wage), but if it's actually the median then all the numbers will be different.

Yes, good point.

"The median average salary for all workers in the UK is £25,971. The mean average salary for all workers in the UK is £31,447. The median average salary for full-time workers in the UK is £31,285. The mean average salary for full-time workers in the UK is £38,131". - 30 May 2022

So, it's one of those 4.

04-10-2022, 03:04 PM
Beth Rigby really doesn't like Liz Truss. :greengrin
That is not an exclusive club!!!

04-10-2022, 04:00 PM
You see, the problem with the past twelve years of austerity is it hasn't been cruel enough upon the poorest. There needs to be 'more stick' against the least amongst us.

https://youtu.be/yNwK6ZwSZgI

04-10-2022, 04:17 PM
The death of a political party, filmed up close for the first time ever. It’s like an Attenborough film about extinction.

https://twitter.com/bmay/status/1577322900398317569?t=vmxULmRzUtWnjcGmmUvqcQ&s=19

04-10-2022, 04:29 PM
The death of a political party, filmed up close for the first time ever. It’s like an Attenborough film about extinction.

https://twitter.com/bmay/status/1577322900398317569?t=vmxULmRzUtWnjcGmmUvqcQ&s=19

Nadine Dorries seems to be calling for a general election. Priti Patel is giving the leadership a kicking. Ministers seem to be firing off policies without checking that the leadership agrees. No discipline. It’s actually glorious to see.

04-10-2022, 04:37 PM

That was said in 1997. Like Arnie, the Tories will be back one day. Never underestimate the human capacity for greed and cruelty.

04-10-2022, 04:49 PM
That was said in 1997. Like Arnie, the Tories will be back one day. Never underestimate the human capacity for greed and cruelty.True....., young lad at front in the 1st few seconds defo looks like a future PM!

04-10-2022, 04:54 PM
You see, the problem with the past twelve years of austerity is it hasn't been cruel enough upon the poorest. There needs to be 'more stick' against the least amongst us.

https://youtu.be/yNwK6ZwSZgIThis creature was always going to make Priti Patel look like an amateur and has the potential to be worst of the worst as she creeps her way up the slippery pole.

04-10-2022, 04:59 PM
“I will always be on the side of our policemen and women” then proceeds to slag off the police.

04-10-2022, 05:07 PM
“I will always be on the side of our policemen and women” then proceeds to slag off the police.

Says that party that has cut forty thousand officers since 2010....

04-10-2022, 05:22 PM
This creature was always going to make Priti Patel look like an amateur and has the potential to be worst of the worst as she creeps her way up the slippery pole.

She is the epitome of the ERG group: the race to the bottom they hoped for after Brexit. Absolute lunatics and psychopaths.

04-10-2022, 05:48 PM
Let's face it. Liz Truss is a radge on every level. That's why all her ministers think they can say what they want and she thinks there's some kind of uber-brexity template, courtesy the ERG, to run the country. I've said they are feral in the past but they are ripping themselves to pieces. Theresa May danced like constipated dragonfly and had the most elongated coughing fit evah in her speeches. Liz's has the potential to be a doozy.

04-10-2022, 06:52 PM
General election incoming I reckon. Truss is toast. I originally gave her six months but that was too generous. But I am enjoying this spectacle!

04-10-2022, 06:54 PM

@matt_dathan
·

#ChoppersPolitics

Just a reminder that this woman is herself a child of immigrants.... as is Priti Patel.

It's incredible what these people will come out with.

04-10-2022, 07:01 PM
Just a reminder that this woman is herself a child of immigrants.... as is Priti Patel.

It's incredible what these people will come out with.

Yeah but they're children of immigrants who love this country, not the nasty kind that cheer on the cricket team of the countries they originated from.

Stairway 2 7
04-10-2022, 08:31 PM
Shell chief says governments should be taxing them more, tories disagree

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2022/oct/04/shell-chief-tax-energy-firms-ben-van-beurden-gas-electricity?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_b-gdnnews&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1664884157

04-10-2022, 09:24 PM
Tories Tories falling apart again.

04-10-2022, 09:32 PM
Braverman and Truss are the worst sort of Tories trying to be like Maggie no compassion for people.
How dare they remove the cap on bankers bonuses then talk about not increasing benefits by RPI,Bravermans speech about the benefits culture was disgusting.

05-10-2022, 12:05 AM
Dorries must be one of the thickest individuals ever to hold office.

She carried out a viscous campaign against Sunak and in support of Truss. Sunak warned time and again that the policies Truss was espousing were dangerous and would lead to disaster. They are the same policies that Dorries was wholeheartedly supporting at the time, but now is calling for a GE when they are implemented weeks later???

I really wish journalists held people like her to account

05-10-2022, 01:29 AM
Nodding Dorris is right.

Bring back Boris!

05-10-2022, 05:50 AM
petition to remove Truss reaches 500k, quite astonishing When is the next general election as petition to remove Liz Truss soars to 500kTruss (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/when-is-the-next-general-election-as-petition-to-remove-liz-truss-soars-to-500ktruss/ar-AA12zUEo?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=ffac430777464e08898823a53dfed86e)

05-10-2022, 06:34 AM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/309877651_1060653847984966_6121613608268596842_n.j pg?_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=i2qpzFiY3c8AX-sPOxx&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT9gln5D3Tqo0ePsibw_qR1JpL1fHLgiMUyaCJwlKWV2 XA&oe=6341EA28

sounds damn well good to me, all of it :agree:

05-10-2022, 07:29 AM
Dorries must be one of the thickest individuals ever to hold office.

She carried out a viscous campaign

If this is deliberate then it's genius.

05-10-2022, 07:36 AM

😂😂😂

05-10-2022, 08:53 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FeShzK7X0AEwARx?format=jpg&name=large

05-10-2022, 10:06 AM

05-10-2022, 10:20 AM
Well done the greenpeace protesters 👍😁

#whovotedforthis?

05-10-2022, 10:31 AM
I work in the financial sector and ever since since the "mini budget" my work has been absolute carnage, we have had double the amount of customer calls and emails that we had the week before, Monday of this week being a record setting day for them all, the crash of 2008 wasn't even this bad work wise

05-10-2022, 10:31 AM
https://twitter.com/BethRigby/status/1577602677504106498?t=YZeSSWh88b5JnEYgVQPAJw&s=19

05-10-2022, 10:37 AM
Truss arrived on stage to M-People.

You've done me wrong, your time is up
You took a sip from the devil's cup
You broke my heart, there's no way back
Move right out of here, baby, go on pack your bags

Nobody thought to check the lyrics 😂😂😂😂

05-10-2022, 10:37 AM
I work in the financial sector and ever since since the "mini budget" my work has been absolute carnage, we have had double the amount of customer calls and emails that we had the week before, Monday of this week being a record setting day for them all, the crash of 2008 wasn't even this bad work wise

I have a mortgage agreed for when I move house and I called my broker yesterday just to check everything was still ok even though I knew that he wouldn’t know anymore than I did. I felt a bit guilty because I know that everyone else will be doing the exact same with him and it will be stopping him getting any work done.

05-10-2022, 10:41 AM
I have a mortgage agreed for when I move house and I called my broker yesterday just to check everything was still ok even though I knew that he wouldn’t know anymore than I did. I felt a bit guilty because I know that everyone else will be doing the exact same with him and it will be stopping him getting any work done.

I would have done the same, people are just looking for a bit reassurance, it's the ****storm left in the wake of all these kind of decisions that often doesn't get mentioned

05-10-2022, 10:48 AM
Truss arrived on stage to M-People.

You've done me wrong, your time is up
You took a sip from the devil's cup
You broke my heart, there's no way back
Move right out of here, baby, go on pack your bags

Nobody thought to check the lyrics 😂😂😂😂

Heather Small, stood for Labour and her son is a Labour Councillor. Do you think they gave permission??

McSwanky
05-10-2022, 10:54 AM
Heather Small, stood for Labour and her son is a Labour Councillor. Do you think they gave permission??

I really hope not, and I hope they sue the **** out of these incompetent leeches.

05-10-2022, 10:55 AM
A really sad state of affairs.

www.birminghammail.co.uk/news/midlands-news/quietly-desperate-hunger-queue-yards-25179523?utm_source=upday&utm_medium=referral

05-10-2022, 10:59 AM
I really hope not, and I hope they sue the **** out of these incompetent leeches.

Mike pickering says that they tried but can't.

So apparently we can't stop Truss walking out to our song, very weird! So sad it got used by this shower of a government. BTW Truss labour used it with permission in 90's. I don't want my song being a soundtrack to lies

05-10-2022, 11:03 AM

If it's any reassurance I secured a remortgage offer in April and completed on Monday.

Have heard of lots of agreements in principle being pulled, but not mortgage offers.

05-10-2022, 11:17 AM
Mike pickering says that they tried but can't.

So apparently we can't stop Truss walking out to our song, very weird! So sad it got used by this shower of a government. BTW Truss labour used it with permission in 90's. I don't want my song being a soundtrack to lies

It's a PRS thing. The venue can play virtually anything they want, as long as they have the appropriate PRS licence.

At some point, M People might get a royalty payment, which is a bit ironic.

05-10-2022, 11:19 AM
It's a PRS thing. The venue can play virtually anything they want, as long as they have the appropriate PRS licence.

At some point, M People might get a royalty payment, which is a bit ironic.

They should re-release it and give profit to a charity. 👍

McSwanky
05-10-2022, 11:22 AM
Mike pickering

I had to Google him, thought you meant Ronnie Pickering at first :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bvu4FPdEuqo

05-10-2022, 12:41 PM
I just saw a lot bit of Truss’s speech. Love the fact she keeps using two hands to drink from her glass ha ha

05-10-2022, 01:11 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FeThbO6WIAEYkl4?format=jpg&name=large

This ‘party member’ cited by the BBC is Anna-Marie Galojan, a socialite who was freed in July 2015 from a prison in Estonia after serving a five-month sentence for embezzling £50,400. She had been sentenced to prison in 2012 but fled to the UK before then being extradited.

05-10-2022, 01:22 PM
I just saw a lot bit of Truss’s speech. Love the fact she keeps using two hands to drink from her glass ha haYou often see glove puppets doing that.

05-10-2022, 01:29 PM
Yeah but they're children of immigrants who love this country, not the nasty kind that cheer on the cricket team of the countries they originated from.

Ah, I get it now.

So who do you support when Germany's playing Scotland?

05-10-2022, 01:37 PM
Heather Small, stood for Labour and her son is a Labour Councillor. Do you think they gave permission??On the radio earlier, "the band aren't happy" it was used without permission.

Stairway 2 7
05-10-2022, 01:49 PM
Talking heads were good

PippaCrerar
Truss lists her political enemies (the “anti-growth coalition”)

Labour
Lib Dems
SNP
Unions
“Vested interests dressed up as think tanks”
Talking heads
Brexit deniers
Extinction rebellion

05-10-2022, 01:51 PM
Talking heads were good
I'm on the road to nowhere ...

05-10-2022, 02:06 PM
Talking heads were good

More Songs About (Heating) Buildings and (Paying for) Food

05-10-2022, 02:17 PM
Ah, I get it now.

So who do you support when Germany's playing Scotland?

Scotland of course, but getting trounced by my adopted country wouldn't ruin my weekend :wink:

05-10-2022, 02:57 PM
Scotland of course, but getting trounced by my adopted country wouldn't ruin my weekend :wink:

FWIW I reckon Scotland would pump Germany at cricket.

05-10-2022, 03:03 PM
FWIW I reckon Scotland would pump Germany at cricket.

and Rugby

and Darts

05-10-2022, 03:11 PM
the greatest political party on earth :rolleyes: anyway, quite a catchy tune look forward to the full song when released on friday :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6e5GhOWeYbw

05-10-2022, 03:23 PM
(2) Cassetteboy on Twitter: "New! Cassetteboy vs Liz Truss - Nu Tax Plan You can support us at https://t.co/o7kwE1h2gy (https://twitter.com/Cassetteboy/status/1577574300160253953) , we appreciate it now more than ever. Thanks! #CPC22 https://t.co/1VpBccCnGP" / Twitter

Stairway 2 7
05-10-2022, 04:36 PM
This seems to be the next thing some think tank has thought up. They are all saying anti growth coalition today. Do they think this rubbish is going to win over voters?

nadhimzahawi
·
3h
Voters will have a clear choice. The Pro Growth Government of @trussliz or the Anti Growth Coalition