View Full Version : Tories are still lying *******s
https://twitter.com/KevinASchofield/status/1552731211344273413?t=ExZgDAn4pARA33MB0FrWMw&s=19
They're not even trying to hide the fact they are corrupt now.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
28-07-2022, 10:43 PM
Apparently, the Games will "put Birmingham on the map" .
🙃
And she means the one in Alabama.
29-07-2022, 07:34 AM
What’s all this woke ‘Commonwealth games’ nonsense?
It was the British Empire Games when I were a nipper, the point was to get rid of all those watermelon smiles like Boris said, take back control, it’s a far better name, get it done!
stu in nottingham
29-07-2022, 09:08 AM
Apparently, the Games will "put Birmingham on the map" .
🙃
I know it's on the map 'cos I've been there.
'Tis but a small West Midlands hamlet of 1.15M people though so easily missed.
29-07-2022, 05:34 PM
Levelling up going well then
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FY2dQSUWIAcjSVe?format=png&name=large
29-07-2022, 05:42 PM
Here's Gordon Brown talking about Johnson's plan to put his own people into the House of Lords
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2022/jul/29/boris-johnson-lords-cronies-legitimising-bribery
A confidential document prepared by CT Group, the influential lobbying firm run by Lynton Crosby (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2022/jun/17/election-guru-lynton-crosby-attending-pms-morning-meetings) which advises Boris Johnson, and which I have seen, makes no bones about the defenestrated prime minister’s aim to pack the House of Lords. The document proposes that Johnson ride roughshod over every convention and standard of propriety in an effort to secure political nominees who will vote for the Tory government, especially its bill to disown the international treaty (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jun/15/northern-ireland-protocol-what-is-the-uk-and-the-eus-standoff-about) it has itself signed over Northern Ireland.
This draft plan to add 39 to 50 new Tory peers includes an extraordinary requirement that each new peer sign away their right to make their own judgment on legislation that comes before them. They have to give, the paper says, a written undertaking to attend and vote with the government.
The plan also legitimises straightforward bribery. In a throwback to the Old Corruption (https://www.historytoday.com/archive/feature/old-corruption) that was a feature of 19th-century Tory Britain, compliant lords will be “rewarded” with lucrative special envoy positions, and, while those who fail to attend votes will be placed on a “name and shame” list, CBEs and additional titles will be handed out, responding to what is an apparently insatiable demand for the already ennobled to be showered with additional honours on top of their peerages.
29-07-2022, 05:59 PM
can't be a pleasant feeling for her auld man, or most fathers, watching yer daughter turn in to Margaret ******* Thatcher
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/295947000_391620129738457_8234229355369410735_n.jp g?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=5HcUqctzL20AX8qL6Pn&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT9KhS6YEsupeVZKwZQPULEpiYwTfErK_KPo4cngh60R 4A&oe=62E9EA0E
29-07-2022, 09:00 PM
Here's Gordon Brown talking about Johnson's plan to put his own people into the House of Lords
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2022/jul/29/boris-johnson-lords-cronies-legitimising-bribery
Paw gets a lot of abuse on here for his efforts to cling onto the Union but he’s absolutely spot on with that, and the unreported danger that this corrupt Tory shower represent.
29-07-2022, 09:05 PM
Paw gets a lot of abuse on here for his efforts to cling onto the Union but he’s absolutely spot on with that, and the unreported danger that this corrupt Tory shower represent.
If only he had been in a position of power to get rid of the lords.[emoji849]
30-07-2022, 07:02 AM
can't be a pleasant feeling for her auld man, or most fathers, watching yer daughter turn in to Margaret ******* Thatcher
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/295947000_391620129738457_8234229355369410735_n.jp g?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=5HcUqctzL20AX8qL6Pn&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT9KhS6YEsupeVZKwZQPULEpiYwTfErK_KPo4cngh60R 4A&oe=62E9EA0E
That’s a real journey to the dark side story.
30-07-2022, 07:58 AM
That’s a real journey to the dark side story.Pity he wasn't a geography professor, he could have told her what was and wasn't part of Russia. Handy bit of info for a foreign secretary wannabe
30-07-2022, 12:55 PM
If only he had been in a position of power to get rid of the lords.[emoji849]
As un democratic as the makeup of the upper house is and was, it has often acted as a brake on anti liberal legislation in the past. The proposed Boris carve up is the equivalent of Trump adding dozens of new appointees to the Senate from republican states. It’s unprecedented.
30-07-2022, 09:21 PM
As un democratic as the makeup of the upper house is and was, it has often acted as a brake on anti liberal legislation in the past. The proposed Boris carve up is the equivalent of Trump adding dozens of new appointees to the Senate from republican states. It’s unprecedented.
Nope. Nope. Nope. The HoL is a nonsense. It doesn't matter what it might have done sometimes. It shouldn't exist. Yet, despite the Labour governments we've had in the last 100 years, it's still here. It's like they don't really mean it.
30-07-2022, 09:38 PM
Nope. Nope. Nope. The HoL is a nonsense. It doesn't matter what it might have done sometimes. It shouldn't exist. Yet, despite the Labour governments we've had in the last 100 years, it's still here. It's like they don't really mean it.
The house of Lords is in its entirety a compromise between absolute dictatorship via monarchy and democracy. It really shouldn't exist in 2022 and it is simply said a barrier holding back democracy to those who it commands.
30-07-2022, 09:47 PM
The house of Lords is in its entirety a compromise between absolute dictatorship via monarchy and democracy. It really shouldn't exist in 2022 and it is simply said a barrier holding back democracy to those who it commands.
And there's about 800 of them!! I do get Hibsbollah's point, but we've basically swapped unelected aristocrats for unelected political favours. The absolute cheek of people insisting we needed to leave the EU because of (elected...) unelected bureaucrats, when we have an actually unelected - and in many cases, have paid for the privilege of being in government - upper house, and head of state.
31-07-2022, 07:05 AM
I’m not arguing with either of you, it’s not sustainable, but just as long as the HoL is here, it just can’t be stuffed full of brand new Boris appointees, it just removes any check s and balance on what the government does. The bishops and hereditary toffs DO exercise independent thought unlike this new proposed tranche.
31-07-2022, 08:24 AM
UK Secretary of State for the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport.
Let's see the sort of post that she decides to retweet:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FY8m2AyXgAER4bX?format=jpg&name=medium
31-07-2022, 02:10 PM
Dorries is utterly freakin unhinged
CULTURE secretary :rolleyes: some of her tweets are really bizarre
The Leadership contest is almost done. Great thing as we won't have to hear anymore about their fantasy policies and weird promises to be mostest right wing. Then we will have a brand new govt which has nothing to do with the least 12 years, which has apparently been awful.
NYHibby
01-08-2022, 05:46 PM
Dorries is utterly freakin unhinged
CULTURE secretary :rolleyes: some of her tweets are really bizarre
Forget the culture bit of her brief, she is responsible for the online safety bill.
01-08-2022, 06:00 PM
Forget the culture bit of her brief, she is responsible for the online safety bill.
good point forgot about that, she's made statements in the past of how she wants to clean up online threats/comments etc etc blah blah blah
'kin hypocrite
01-08-2022, 06:08 PM
good point forgot about that, she's made statements in the past of how she wants to clean up online threats/comments etc etc blah blah blah
'kin hypocriteI think it's fair to say that the nasties pretty much do what they want, be it partygate or knifegate, rules and codes of behaviour are for the rest of us
Though the contest was almost done. Found out that after all the TV debates there now 12 hustings, the 2nd of which is tonight. We'll be hearing even more about what an awful state the country is in and picking the most anti-woke brexiteer is going to fix it. When they took charge they were on about "Broken Britain" which I thought was a description rather than an ambition.
Main stream news going along with the whole shebang so must be normal.
01-08-2022, 06:36 PM
Though the contest was almost done. Found out that after all the TV debates there now 12 hustings, the 2nd of which is tonight. We'll be hearing even more about what an awful state the country is in and picking the most anti-woke brexiteer is going to fix it. When they took charge they were on about "Broken Britain" which I thought was a description rather than an ambition.
Main stream news going along with the whole shebang so must be normal.
I long for the days when Jeremy Beadle would step in to this sort of TV coverage and explain that the whole thing has been a gigantic prank.
I long for the days when Jeremy Beadle would step in to this sort of TV coverage and explain that the whole thing has been a gigantic prank.It's utterly bizarre but it must be normal as the winner gets to meet the queen and her nod means its all kosher.
01-08-2022, 11:42 PM
what a win for big business Tory Donors this will be eh 'I will halt junk food tax': Truss vows to rip up nanny state plans to ban unhealthy 'BOGOF' deals (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/money/other/i-will-halt-junk-food-tax-truss-vows-to-rip-up-nanny-state-plans-to-ban-unhealthy-bogof-deals/ar-AA10bXY7?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=1462213649f9451ca2f597a0d51498dc)
Tories, looking after the nations health
Truss vows to call a halt on taxes aimed at deterring families from buying junk food
01-08-2022, 11:57 PM
I think it's fair to say that the nasties pretty much do what they want, be it partygate or knifegate, rules and codes of behaviour are for the rest of us
and patersongate and tractorgate and pinchergate
the party of sleaze
02-08-2022, 12:05 AM
i'm positive Truss is going to tell parliament she's really the reincarnation of Thatcher, only not quite as smart, she's going full-on trying to show just how nasty she can be
Liz Truss plan to cut £11bn in Whitehall waste ‘ludicrous’ (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/liz-truss-plan-to-cut-11bn-in-whitehall-waste-ludicrous/ar-AA10ckxN?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=99b9f3954bcf4cfe856e64b390d49acf)
Paul1642
02-08-2022, 02:24 AM
what a win for big business Tory Donors this will be eh 'I will halt junk food tax': Truss vows to rip up nanny state plans to ban unhealthy 'BOGOF' deals (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/money/other/i-will-halt-junk-food-tax-truss-vows-to-rip-up-nanny-state-plans-to-ban-unhealthy-bogof-deals/ar-AA10bXY7?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=1462213649f9451ca2f597a0d51498dc)
Tories, looking after the nations health
Truss vows to call a halt on taxes aimed at deterring families from buying junk food
This is a difficult one as on one hand it is clearly in everyone’s interest that we all eat less junk food, however on the other hand it is widely accepted that those in poverty eat more junk food than those not and would therefore be hit hardest by the tax.
To me the simple solution would be to bring in the junk food tax and use the money raised to subsidise certain healthy food choices by reducing VAT on vegetables, pasta, chickens and similar. Never going to happen though.
Paul1642
02-08-2022, 02:26 AM
i'm positive Truss is going to tell parliament she's really the reincarnation of Thatcher, only not quite as smart, she's going full-on trying to show just how nasty she can be
Liz Truss plan to cut £11bn in Whitehall waste ‘ludicrous’ (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/liz-truss-plan-to-cut-11bn-in-whitehall-waste-ludicrous/ar-AA10ckxN?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=99b9f3954bcf4cfe856e64b390d49acf)
It’s scary that this is like our next PM. If only we had a credible opposition they would breeze the next election (or maybe I’m putting too much faith in the electorate).
Plans to adjust staff pay based on where they live? So would staff in Hull get our half of staff in London? Mental. The only part that I agree with is plans to move civil service jobs out of London to avoid paying the additional “London bonus” that many companies pay. This would be a good move in my opinion, both in terms of saving some money and creating jobs around the country.
02-08-2022, 06:43 AM
This is a difficult one as on one hand it is clearly in everyone’s interest that we all eat less junk food, however on the other hand it is widely accepted that those in poverty eat more junk food than those not and would therefore be hit hardest by the tax.
To me the simple solution would be to bring in the junk food tax and use the money raised to subsidise certain healthy food choices by reducing VAT on vegetables, pasta, chickens and similar. Never going to happen though.
Don’t think you get VAT on those items anyway but agree with your point.
02-08-2022, 06:45 AM
I long for the days when Jeremy Beadle would step in to this sort of TV coverage and explain that the whole thing has been a gigantic prank.
02-08-2022, 06:48 AM
I don’t think you pay VAT on food?
What angered me this morning is all those Tory ****ers (Boris in particular) who have lined their pockets with the dividends following Shell/BP and others record profit announcement.
Clear as day the reason they didn’t want to tax them more as it would affect their own pockets!
https://twitter.com/BestForBritain/status/1554167326953570304?t=OAhTzvKdxBPADymYQnNWnw&s=19
Looks normal.
02-08-2022, 11:53 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-62390016
Must be one of the fastest U turns in politics!
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-62390016
Must be one of the fastest U turns in politics!She has a definite plan. Say stuff and if it doesn't land well say other stuff.
02-08-2022, 12:05 PM
Liz Truss plan to cut £11bn in Whitehall waste ‘ludicrous’ (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/liz-truss-plan-to-cut-11bn-in-whitehall-waste-ludicrous/ar-AA10ckxN?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=99b9f3954bcf4cfe856e64b390d49acf)To be fair, maybe she is in fact that much vandalised statue from Grantham, but with an Action man/person cord at the back of her that recites certain stock in trade phrases as well as a wee lever for moving the eyes from side to side.
I bet she has wayfinder shoes with the wee compass in the heel which is a handy feature for geographically challenged foreign secretaries.
02-08-2022, 12:20 PM
To be fair, maybe she is in fact that much vandalised statue from Grantham, but with an Action man/person cord at the back of her that recites certain stock in trade phrases as well as a wee lever for moving the eyes from side to side.
I bet she has wayfinder shoes with the wee compass in the heel which is a handy feature for geographically challenged foreign secretaries.
:faf:brilliant
stu in nottingham
02-08-2022, 12:48 PM
To be fair, maybe she is in fact that much vandalised statue from Grantham, but with an Action man/person cord at the back of her that recites certain stock in trade phrases as well as a wee lever for moving the eyes from side to side.
Very good! :greengrin :applause:
If they made a statue out of that swivel-eyed lunatic no self-respecting pigeon would crap on it.
02-08-2022, 01:10 PM
https://twitter.com/BestForBritain/status/1554167326953570304?t=OAhTzvKdxBPADymYQnNWnw&s=19
Looks normal.
It's a framework contract, and the £70bn is the consultants' (v optimistic) assessment of the potential market.
It's not a UKGov contract for £70bn given to two guys working out of a backstreet in Cornwall.
Having said that, it seems the two shareholders might have some questions to answer ...
https://twitter.com/RaggedTP/status/1554288392841609219?s=20&t=9SYpTPNVLn9kKBeuOyc3hg
https://twitter.com/AdamBienkov/status/1554465944088485888?t=U2xAzicoqHYn9B5h6J08bQ&s=19
Porkies Markets. Deny deny deny.
02-08-2022, 10:51 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220802/9658e7a9ec6b4d5d89c1d844640a6865.jpg
Saying you’ll ignore Scotland seems to be popular.
02-08-2022, 11:20 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/296494531_5131763263589085_4793716498413909042_n.j pg?_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=0Bath-iM-ZAAX8QXa_3&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT9QB8tMrdqgmxeB76F6V4T0POb5JBw4nHdYrYoW7A8K AQ&oe=62EEF7F3
https://twitter.com/benrileysmith/status/1554570111125684225?t=H7VAKXHFqfuTUFlitUS4aQ&s=19
He's going to be Prime Minister for a wee while yet.
Lendo
03-08-2022, 07:12 AM
https://twitter.com/benrileysmith/status/1554570111125684225?t=H7VAKXHFqfuTUFlitUS4aQ&s=19
He's going to be Prime Minister for a wee while yet.
I’m convinced this is the Conservatives way of laying the groundwork for claiming a General Election has been stolen from them in the future. Trump style.
But I’m a little paranoid.
I’m convinced this is the Conservatives way of laying the groundwork for claiming a General Election has been stolen from them in the future. Trump style.
But I’m a little paranoid.When there was suspected interference in the brexit referendum nothing was done. In fact the Security Services were told explicitly not to investigate it.
This seems way more important to the Govt and its not even a national election, just some screwed up old weirdos voting for whoever says the most brutal things.
03-08-2022, 06:29 PM
Hustings for members of the Welsh branch tonight. Another chance to attack devolution.
03-08-2022, 07:04 PM
sieg heil :agree:
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/296933661_612777330207274_8183984584418933515_n.jp g?stp=cp6_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=WAstaZ48oywAX_BTtt_&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT-hbeRo7WgnPrEu-KUx80X_JfZe9r5cJ4_udZ7sQTQ8jA&oe=62F04996
03-08-2022, 07:07 PM
sieg heil :agree:
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/296933661_612777330207274_8183984584418933515_n.jp g?stp=cp6_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=WAstaZ48oywAX_BTtt_&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT-hbeRo7WgnPrEu-KUx80X_JfZe9r5cJ4_udZ7sQTQ8jA&oe=62F04996Anyone think he will start with non doms going back, say 10 years just to make sure we include false patriots?
03-08-2022, 09:04 PM
Anyone think he will start with non doms going back, say 10 years just to make sure we include false patriots?
Naw, I think he has an eye on some of the posters in the Holy Ground forums.
03-08-2022, 09:17 PM
Naw, I think he has an eye on some of the posters in the Holy Ground forums.Can tap my door anytime[emoji6]
03-08-2022, 09:18 PM
https://media4.giphy.com/media/4pMX5rJ4PYAEM/giphy.gif
03-08-2022, 09:32 PM
https://media4.giphy.com/media/4pMX5rJ4PYAEM/giphy.gif[emoji23]
Very good
03-08-2022, 09:39 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/297526220_108436285299205_2388026373235206451_n.jp g?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=YWpxR4kFeOgAX_R3WoW&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT8ujpDiLbHdaY4v7yrLCvAqbEYGZAJs78CNfn4NSdMO DA&oe=62F0981B
03-08-2022, 09:41 PM
i know who grassed us all
05-08-2022, 07:29 AM
It takes a special kind of idiot to stand on national tv and say the economy is in a state of emergency after spending the last two years as chancellor. More alarmingly, then claims to know how to fix it and can be trusted with it.
I really despair.
05-08-2022, 08:55 AM
This is enough to make you sick.
Does he not know the meaning of the word "deprived"?
https://twitter.com/REWearmouth/status/1555475661917421568?s=20&t=5M6Pl_2VYRGtUVbr5wNueg
@RishiSunak (https://twitter.com/RishiSunak) told Tories in Tunbridge Wells that as Chancellor he tried to reverse Treasury formulas "that shoved all the funding into deprived urban areas" so areas like theirs could benefit
05-08-2022, 09:00 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/business/2022/aug/05/workers-asking-for-pay-rises-risk-embedding-inflation-says-bank-boss-andrew-bailey?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1659689750
Bank bosses asking workers to show restraint. [emoji35]
05-08-2022, 09:05 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/business/2022/aug/05/workers-asking-for-pay-rises-risk-embedding-inflation-says-bank-boss-andrew-bailey?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1659689750
Bank bosses asking workers to show restraint. [emoji35]
God that’s infuriating. We KNOW price rices aren’t driving inflation, it’s soaring away regardless, it’s like he’s talking from another era. Idiotonomics.
05-08-2022, 09:16 AM
I wonder if Andrew Bailey will ever have to consider skipping meals because real life inflation for many people is 30%+ and wage rises are either non existent or a fraction of what is needed to even mainitain never mind improve living standards.
Given he admitted to being unable to remember his annual salary (£575k btw) I highly doubt it. It's a bizarre situation that people who set the economic narrative have no concept of real life budgeting.
05-08-2022, 09:24 AM
https://twitter.com/REWearmouth/status/1555475661917421568?s=20&t=5M6Pl_2VYRGtUVbr5wNueg
Was just about to post the same thing.
Now we know what levelling up means! 😡🤐
05-08-2022, 10:23 AM
I think this country is on a very dark pathway towards managed decline and irrelevance. The elite who run the country are so out of touch, and their only solutions are crush unions, lower taxes and lie through their teeth (sorry, forgot its called boosterism).
This isn't some temporary blip - I really fear for ordinary people in this country in the long run.
05-08-2022, 10:36 AM
I think this country is on a very dark pathway towards managed decline and irrelevance. The elite who run the country are so out of touch, and their only solutions are crush unions, lower taxes and lie through their teeth (sorry, forgot its called boosterism).
This isn't some temporary blip - I really fear for ordinary people in this country in the long run.
The rhetoric both these reprehensible pieces of **** are coming out with is plain scary.
They are here to **** things up as much as possible.
I'm an independence supporter, but before it was more of a feeling, now I genuinely think that for the good of future generations we need to escape these people.
Change is not coming, they are here to stay. They are too imbedded in the system to disappear without a revolution. There is too much money at stake for the people at the very heart of government to make changes that benefit ordinary working people.
05-08-2022, 10:39 AM
The only positive, and I use the term cautiously, I see is that the system has been so messed up and is failing so badly that a majority of people in my generation and beyond will be left with so little to conserve that the Conservatives become an irrelevance.
The old trope used to be that it was easy to be idealistic and a bit of a lefty when you were younger but when you got your own home etc etc there was a natural migration to the right. How is that going to work when home ownership is stagnating and the 'living wage' isn't close to being fit for purpose? The Tories already seem to have realisedd this to an extent as their rhetoric becomes increasingly ethno nationalistic, anti immigration, anti trade union and full of incitement for different sectors to turn on each other.
Worryingly it seems to be working for now. There must surely come a point though when people realise they will always be closer to the streets than to the billionaires.
The rhetoric both these reprehensible pieces of **** are coming out with is plain scary.
They are here to **** things up as much as possible.
I'm an independence supporter, but before it was more of a feeling, now I genuinely think that for the good of future generations we need to escape these people.
Change is not coming, they are here to stay. They are too imbedded in the system to disappear without a revolution. There is too much money at stake for the people at the very heart of government to make changes that benefit ordinary working people.https://twitter.com/PeterStefanovi2/status/1555507433656705024?t=zBuOnmN1WtHO3-4t5QWTlA&s=19
Liars and shapeshifters.
05-08-2022, 11:07 AM
The only positive, and I use the term cautiously, I see is that the system has been so messed up and is failing so badly that a majority of people in my generation and beyond will be left with so little to conserve that the Conservatives become an irrelevance.
The old trope used to be that it was easy to be idealistic and a bit of a lefty when you were younger but when you got your own home etc etc there was a natural migration to the right. How is that going to work when home ownership is stagnating and the 'living wage' isn't close to being fit for purpose? The Tories already seem to have realisedd this to an extent as their rhetoric becomes increasingly ethno nationalistic, anti immigration, anti trade union and full of incitement for different sectors to turn on each other.
Worryingly it seems to be working for now. There must surely come a point though when people realise they will always be closer to the streets than to the billionaires.
I hope you are right but I'm not sure. I look across the Atlantic and I think we're heading in that direction. Plenty money at the top, with a middle getting poorer and those at the bottom left to fend for themselves.
Yet in the US there is no real push in a concerted way towards anything that even looks like equality. The country is too focused on culture war nonsense. That's our future imo.
The issue we also have is that the left is very fragmented and under our current system, the Tories as the only party on the right don't have to do much to win as the majority will split their vote so many ways.
Stairway 2 7
05-08-2022, 11:28 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/Peston/status/1555492071909298176
First time I've seen the video of Sunak wanting to take money from deprived areas. Thinking of conservative votes over national good. The idea of heat or eat is alien to him, his kids won't starve
05-08-2022, 11:54 AM
First time I've seen the video of Sunak wanting to take money from deprived areas. Thinking of conservative votes over national good. The idea of heat or eat is alien to him, his kids won't starve
Poverty's a relative thing. There might come a time when some of the Sunaks feel they have to eat the same bread as each other.
Stairway 2 7
05-08-2022, 12:30 PM
Very good, let the two idiots decimate each other at the trough
https://mobile.twitter.com/BBCPolitics/status/1555211223016284163
BBCPolitics
"There's nothing that I could say about either of them that they haven't already said about each other"
Welsh First Minister Mark Drakeford responds to comments made by Tory leadership hopefuls Rishi Sunak and Liz Truss about him and his government
05-08-2022, 12:33 PM
They are utterly despicable but so are the selfish *******s that elect them.
05-08-2022, 01:49 PM
Looks normal. The Good Law Project people have written asking some questions about this programme.
https://goodlawproject.org/news/who-are-the-place-group/?utm_source=Twitter&utm_medium=social%20media&utm_campaign=Place_Group_050822
Yesterday, our lawyers wrote to East of England Broadband Network (E2BN) to query their award of a contract to oversee a £70 billion framework agreement on NetZero procurement to the Place Group, a relatively small company based in Penzance, Cornwall. We don’t understand why E2BN, a small and obscure entity, offered a framework agreement for half the annual NHS budget. We don’t understand why it, specialising as it does in broadband, offered a vast framework agreement on NetZero. And we don’t understand how the Place Group, a tiny for-profit with two employees whose website was recrafted after the contract win to focus on NetZero, came to be chosen.
A framework agreement sets out the terms of an agreement under which a public body may purchase goods or services without further open tender. It allows public bodies when contracts are subsequently awarded through the agreement, to avoid the usual rules about open advertisement and competition. But unless it is tightly drawn and specific it can provide a cloak to obscure bad procurement practice.
This particular framework agreement relates to ‘Everything Net Zero’, a plan to manage tendering for projects aimed at reducing the country’s carbon emissions. The potential spend under the agreement is huge; it covers the entirety of the public sector and is practically open-ended in the kinds of services that might be bought under it. It is a case study in poor (or worse) procurement practice.
We’re written to E2BN, who awarded the contract to Place Group, raising these questions. Unless they are satisfactorily addressed, we are likely to issue legal proceedings.
05-08-2022, 04:48 PM
Openly boasting about re-directing money from the poor to the rich. Those red wall Tories must feel like mugs now.
https://youtu.be/yKk3QQOsaTg
Openly boasting about re-directing money from the poor to the rich. Those red wall Tories must feel like mugs now.
https://youtu.be/yKk3QQOsaTgGiven how much division they, deliberately, sow its almost as though they want riots.
05-08-2022, 06:43 PM
Given how much division they, deliberately, sow its almost as though they want riots.
There were a lot of BNP voters in the 2000s. In the 2010s there were a lot of UKIP voters. None of these parties need to exist anymore, which tells you all you need to know about the 2020 Tories.
05-08-2022, 06:45 PM
Given how much division they, deliberately, sow its almost as though they want riots.
I have to say that I really don't understand this Tory party. I don't know what their endgame is.
Any fool can see that Brexit will be bad for the economy, it's almost as if they want the UK to fail.
But why?
05-08-2022, 07:35 PM
I have to say that I really don't understand this Tory party. I don't know what their endgame is.
Any fool can see that Brexit will be bad for the economy, it's almost as if they want the UK to fail.
But why?
Plenty of people do well out of wars/crises/disasters/collapses of one sort or another. Some people have done very well out of the Covid pandemic, for example.
05-08-2022, 08:00 PM
Liz Truss says that Boris Johnson "went too far" in imposing lockdowns during the pandemic.
"No lockdown would happen under my leadership. I can assure you of that," she says.
Stairway 2 7
05-08-2022, 08:02 PM
Liz Truss says that Boris Johnson "went too far" in imposing lockdowns during the pandemic.
"No lockdown would happen under my leadership. I can assure you of that," she says.
She actually say that. ****ing bafoon. Before vaccines there was literally no way of stopping the health services overwhelming and mass deaths
05-08-2022, 08:06 PM
She’s a ****ing lunatic, the lockdowns might be the only thing BJ got right and she’s trying to disown them.
Absolutely bonkers.
Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 08:16 PM
Every day that goes by makes me want to move from the UK more and more. And I say that as somebody who 3 years ago would have been adamant I had no interest in ever doing that.
Sunak is an utter ****bag and Truss is a ****ing psychopath.
stu in nottingham
05-08-2022, 08:40 PM
Every day that goes by makes me want to move from the UK more and more.
Ditto. I hate living in this f***ing country these days. It's just completely bleak and I struggle to think of any redeeming features or see how things can or will change for the better..
05-08-2022, 08:43 PM
But why?
Its a brilliant question and something that isn’t asked enough. That documentary on Dominic Cummings and Brexit might be worth a rewatch. It’s almost like there’s a self harming pathology going on from those who profess to be the most patriotic of all. But even if it’s all about selling off profitable bit of UK Incorporated to private finance, you don’t vandalise those assets before they hit the market surely?
Id be a **** hedge fund manager. I just can’t get my head round the basic concepts.
05-08-2022, 09:07 PM
Does there have to be an endgame?
They look like they’re making it up as they go along, and exist to try but ultimately fail to mop up the messes of their own making.
It’s just a succession of poorly thought out populist pish, aimed to appeal to the lowest common denominator, knowing they can probably lie their way out of any consequences.
05-08-2022, 09:16 PM
They look like they’re making it up as they go along, and exist to try but ultimately fail to mop up the messes of their own making.
It’s just a succession of poorly thought out populist pish, aimed to appeal to the lowest common denominator, knowing they can probably lie their way out of any consequences.
That's about the long and short of it. They keep their core voters happy by promising to be hard on the poor and lower taxes by cutting public services and get the poor on board to cut their own throats by using nationalistic jingoism that appeals to the hard of thinking.
05-08-2022, 10:31 PM
Better than being independent though.
Stairway 2 7
05-08-2022, 10:51 PM
Just ******g wow, disgusting as expected
https://mobile.twitter.com/SebastianEPayne/status/1555645998722174979
FT exclusive:
@trussliz
tells
@GeorgeWParker
and me there'll be be no "handouts" later this year to help households through the income squeeze and attacks the Treasury's "abacus economics".
And a snap autumn election? "I can absolutely rule that out
05-08-2022, 10:53 PM
Vile is as vile does.
05-08-2022, 10:55 PM
Sadly, probably you’re spot on.
06-08-2022, 05:46 AM
Just ******g wow, disgusting as expected
https://mobile.twitter.com/SebastianEPayne/status/1555645998722174979
FT exclusive:
@trussliz
tells
@GeorgeWParker
and me there'll be be no "handouts" later this year to help households through the income squeeze and attacks the Treasury's "abacus economics".
And a snap autumn election? "I can absolutely rule that out
You knows it's bad when you can almost imagine Thatcher saying 'show a bit of compassion Liz'.
HiBremian
06-08-2022, 07:58 AM
In one of Truss’s earlier interviews, she talked of her ambition and “focussing on results”. It reminded me of my uni days, when we were often taught how to get better exam results, rather than developing an actual understanding of the analysis put in front of us. It’s a good definition of today’s Tory party. Do whatever it takes to get elected, multiple U-turns included. And stuff any coherent analysis.
06-08-2022, 08:02 AM
Not technically a lie but he is a liar. This is a worrying suggestion.
https://twitter.com/grantshapps/status/1555477249478037508?t=lfSCQUZerbeKUxANuLwgsg&s=19
06-08-2022, 08:13 AM
Not technically a lie but he is a liar. This is a worrying suggestion.
https://twitter.com/grantshapps/status/1555477249478037508?t=lfSCQUZerbeKUxANuLwgsg&s=19
That actually used to be the rules. On my license it says I can drive a 7.5t even though I haven’t driven anything bigger than a transit.
06-08-2022, 08:18 AM
That actually used to be the rules. On my license it says I can drive a 7.5t even though I haven’t driven anything bigger than a transit.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThey changed it in 97 because of the volume of accidents.
In one of Truss’s earlier interviews, she talked of her ambition and “focussing on results”. It reminded me of my uni days, when we were often taught how to get better exam results, rather than developing an actual understanding of the analysis put in front of us. It’s a good definition of today’s Tory party. Do whatever it takes to get elected, multiple U-turns included. And stuff any coherent analysis.
The same concept was described to me some 30+ years ago when discussing the difference between results in private and public schools.
Public schools teach subjects, private schools teach students how to pass exams.
06-08-2022, 09:30 AM
The same concept was described to me some 30+ years ago when discussing the difference between results in private and public schools.
Public schools teach subjects, private schools teach students how to pass exams.
Sounds good but it’s not true.
I’m state school but from what I see that is a mile from the case.
06-08-2022, 01:07 PM
he's a pleasant man, i think you have to be vile to be a Tory
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/296407928_5416623305061123_4680716385446142586_n.j pg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=VIlEVWkTXHcAX_hAspk&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT-l5YJLjZ0ENTFtB7_0jWlZRjN6bESVAGo5Bz7c5UvjOg&oe=62F364C1
08-08-2022, 02:52 PM
One man's view on Freeports.
https://eastangliabylines.co.uk/freeports-are-a-threat-to-democracy-in-the-hands-of-sunak-and-truss/
But they do not, of course, work for society as a whole as the bung that freeports provide to the companies that use them has to come from somewhere – and it is from reduced taxation paid to central government. So, the pressures on public services are only made worse by freeports, which are designed to make as little contribution to the common good as they can.
Why then are Sunak and Truss so keen on something that has not worked previously, and which around the world are generally seen as dangerous to well-being? The only explanation is that they don’t care about anything but bungs for their friends, and undermining the state.
In the hands of these two, freeports could be the Trojan horse used to undermine much of what we recognise as democratic government. You should be worried.
https://twitter.com/peteratcmc/status/1556594981791584257?t=3mK1x4NKFWsoTNHBBdBxRg&s=09
Tories grandee desperate to have Boris kept on as PM because without him the finances of the Tory Party decrease.
This is their priorities laid bare.
08-08-2022, 06:15 PM
https://twitter.com/peteratcmc/status/1556594981791584257?t=3mK1x4NKFWsoTNHBBdBxRg&s=09
Tories grandee desperate to have Boris kept on as PM because without him the finances of the Tory Party decrease.
This is their priorities laid bare.
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkI don't get it, surely the Russians will continue to queue up to pay to play tennis with and dine with, Sunak and / or Truss?
08-08-2022, 08:03 PM
Levelling up London as per https://talkingupscotlandtwo.com/2022/08/07/tory-levelling-up-messages-for-the-gullible/?fbclid=IwAR1FWo9-3LKwPlYYNOcro7LNwtfCIQ4N9yzcBSaHtmzTqoLGkBd7kiaLuP o
08-08-2022, 08:07 PM
Levelling up London as per https://talkingupscotlandtwo.com/2022/08/07/tory-levelling-up-messages-for-the-gullible/?fbclid=IwAR1FWo9-3LKwPlYYNOcro7LNwtfCIQ4N9yzcBSaHtmzTqoLGkBd7kiaLuP o
All UK countries and regions saw a large increase in expenditure in financial year ending (FYE) March 2021 as a result of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
London had the highest percentage increase of all parts of the UK compared with the previous year, of 31.0%
Scotland had the lowest percentage increase, 21.6%
Levelling up?
08-08-2022, 08:10 PM
Levelling up?
I was being sarcastic. London as ever is all Westminster cares about. They will spend a few quid in marginal seats come teh election but have no interest in fairness or equality
08-08-2022, 08:22 PM
I was being sarcastic. London as ever is all Westminster cares about. They will spend a few quid in marginal seats come teh election but have no interest in fairness or equalityI know. I was agreeing with you.
Levelling up?Did anyone really expect anything else?
They thought up a slogan, no one from the media asked for a costed plan or how this was to be achieved. Working Class Tories voted for them because the lies of brexit had their claws in. Believing that an Etonian PM was going to make their lives in any way better is beyond a joke, especially when a promise is given.
I look forward to Tory Mps being confronted with those figures on the BBC.
He's here!
08-08-2022, 11:11 PM
Are public schools and private schools not the same thing?
09-08-2022, 08:06 AM
Are public schools and private schools not the same thing?
I think that generally in England it's 'public school' (a fee-paying school) and 'state school' (a normal school) but in Scotland 'private school' (a fee-paying school) and 'public school' (a normal school).
Obviously usage varies to some extent, and the conflicting potential meanings of 'public school' mean you'll often have to determine the meaning from context. Which is trivial in the post you quoted.
He's here!
09-08-2022, 10:20 AM
I think that generally in England it's 'public school' (a fee-paying school) and 'state school' (a normal school) but in Scotland 'private school' (a fee-paying school) and 'public school' (a normal school).
Obviously usage varies to some extent, and the conflicting potential meanings of 'public school' mean you'll often have to determine the meaning from context. Which is trivial in the post you quoted.
Cheers.
Think Edinburgh has the highest proportion of kids attending fee-paying schools of any city in the UK. As much as 25% IIRC.
09-08-2022, 10:26 AM
Cheers.
Think Edinburgh has the highest proportion of kids attending fee-paying schools of any city in the UK. As much as 25% IIRC.Be interested in where you got these figures. Surprised if this were the case. Only 3.9% of children in Scotland attend independent schools.
stu in nottingham
09-08-2022, 10:31 AM
I don't get it, surely the Russians will continue to queue up to pay to play tennis with and dine with, Sunak and / or Truss?
Probably play tennis with Nadine Dorries, she's got her own clubs.
Stairway 2 7
09-08-2022, 10:37 AM
Be interested in where you got these figures. Surprised if this were the case. Only 3.9% of children in Scotland attend independent schools.
https://sourcenews.scot/greens-call-for-focus-on-state-education-as-edinburgh-private-schools-financial-security-is-questioned/
25%
09-08-2022, 10:44 AM
Probably play tennis with Nadine Dorries, she's got her own clubs.Will definitely have, she's always said she's a huge England cricket enthusiast, or was it croquet?
Either way, bound to have a set of clubs and a cue.
09-08-2022, 10:56 AM
https://sourcenews.scot/greens-call-for-focus-on-state-education-as-edinburgh-private-schools-financial-security-is-questioned/
25%I see an article in the Herald referring to a 2019 report by a Consultancy organisation that says it's 25%. I see no evidence of figures to support this. The report referred to doesn't seem to be on the Consultancy's website. Perhaps it is correct. For sure, Edinburgh has a number of fee paying schools.
09-08-2022, 11:15 AM
Be interested in where you got these figures. Surprised if this were the case. Only 3.9% of children in Scotland attend independent schools.
I'd expect though that with the number of fee paying schools here, Edinburgh will find itself being way above any national average?
09-08-2022, 11:19 AM
I see an article in the Herald referring to a 2019 report by a Consultancy organisation that says it's 25%. I see no evidence of figures to support this. The report referred to doesn't seem to be on the Consultancy's website. Perhaps it is correct. For sure, Edinburgh has a number of fee paying schools.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_independent_schools_in_Scotland
Wikipedia is your friend for information like this.
09-08-2022, 11:22 AM
Remember that a lot of the kids educated privately in Edinburgh are not from Edinburgh. All the schools run daily busses into Fife, the borders, east and West Lothian and Midlothian. On top of that you have all the boarders with families abroad.
09-08-2022, 11:27 AM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_independent_schools_in_Scotland
Wikipedia is your friend for information like this.Thanks. The figure of 1 in 4 from that Wikipedia entry lists a Guardian article from 2009 as the source. It may well be correct. It may well have been correct in 2009 (13 years ago). The Guardian article lists no source for that figure.
Anyway, I've forgotten the point. So Edinburgh is unique in Scotland as having a high percentage of private school places. So what? And what does this have to do with the Tories?
09-08-2022, 11:55 AM
Anyway, I've forgotten the point. So Edinburgh is unique in Scotland as having a high percentage of private school places. So what? And what does this have to do with the Tories?
Started from this:
we were often taught how to get better exam results, rather than developing an actual understanding of the analysis put in front of us. It’s a good definition of today’s Tory party. Do whatever it takes to get elected, multiple U-turns included. And stuff any coherent analysis.
09-08-2022, 11:59 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220809/7256c9cce7554bfe6c51c11f5a060b67.jpg
You are only valuable if you are contributing to the economy.[emoji35]
He's here!
09-08-2022, 12:10 PM
Thanks. The figure of 1 in 4 from that Wikipedia entry lists a Guardian article from 2009 as the source. It may well be correct. It may well have been correct in 2009 (13 years ago). The Guardian article lists no source for that figure.
It was just a passing observation in connection to what the difference is between private and public schools ('independent schools' is another term for fee-paying schools I think). Pretty well known surely that Edinburgh's always had a reputation for the 'old school tie' network? I think it's also why it has more of a sporting reputation as a rugby city than a football one.
He's here!
09-08-2022, 12:19 PM
Remember that a lot of the kids educated privately in Edinburgh are not from Edinburgh. All the schools run daily busses into Fife, the borders, east and West Lothian and Midlothian. On top of that you have all the boarders with families abroad.
Yes the buses from outwith the city has been a big shift, though possibly down to more folk buying more affordable property outwith Edinburgh so they can afford the fees?
I don't think there are many kids boarding at schools in Edinburgh these days tho. Fettes maybe and Loretto in Musselburgh. The big boarding schools in Scotland are more rural. Glenalmond, Strathallan etc.
Hard to imagine being sent to boarding school as a young child.
09-08-2022, 12:26 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220809/7256c9cce7554bfe6c51c11f5a060b67.jpg
You are only valuable if you are contributing to the economy.[emoji35]
There's arguably an interesting point here though, and not one Truss will like.
Who is REALLY contributing to the economy and who is not? Are those who are winning the PPE contracts contributing or are they taking out? Are the energy companies contributing or are they strangling it? Are the top 5%, are those with money who are using that money to make more money putting in or taking out?
Are the ones working multiple jobs to make ends meet and keep the cogs going putting or taking out? Are the ones with the small businesses, working all hours to continue to employ people and make sure that all that tax and NI keeps going back to the government who are facing all sorts of issues over the next few months putting in or taking out?
And of those who are contributing - maybe they're prepared to support those who are not. Those who cannot. But maybe not those at the very top who have the power and those who the Tories are hell bent on pandering to.
Whose side are the Tories REALLY on?
And is there anyone out there who is prepared to make that point?
09-08-2022, 12:30 PM
Who is REALLY contributing to the economy and who is not? Are those who are winning the PPE contracts contributing or are they taking out? Are the energy companies contributing or are they strangling it? Are the top 5%, are those with money who are using that money to make more money putting in or taking out?
Are the ones working multiple jobs to make ends meet and keep the cogs going putting or taking out? Are the ones with the small businesses, working all hours to continue to employ people and make sure that all that tax and NI keeps going back to the government who are facing all sorts of issues over the next few months putting in or taking out?
She means the captains of industry, the business owners and landowners. The Tories' donor class. There was a Twitter thread from Cruddas who lamented the impact of Johnson going on Tory party finances. They could care less about the workers.
Whose side are the Tories REALLY on?You have to ask?
09-08-2022, 12:46 PM
But why?
https://joxleywrites.substack.com/p/the-problem-with-the-conservative?sd=pf
09-08-2022, 12:55 PM
She means the captains of industry, the business owners and landowners. The Tories' donor class. There was a Twitter thread from Cruddas who lamented the impact of Johnson going on Tory party finances. They could care less about the workers.
They might not care about them but they've borrowed a lot of votes from them in order to "get Brexit done".
Obviously a huge number of people can see them for what they are, but many can't. Or won't.
If only there was, say, a Labour party to stand up for workers and call the Tories out. To point out that there are any number of potential solutions to the cost of living crisis that the Tories are choosing not to employ, in order to pander to the Tory donor class over those people.
09-08-2022, 01:03 PM
https://joxleywrites.substack.com/p/the-problem-with-the-conservative?sd=pfThanks for this, a fascinating read. I particularly liked the airline pilot analogy. And of course I agree with a lot of his concerns.
It still doesn't address my central question - why are the Tories pursuing the mad Brexit ideology when they must know it will ruin the economy?
09-08-2022, 01:06 PM
That's a great article.
Quite interesting that the writer confesses to being to the right of centre towards the end.
Because when I look at this Tory party, I often find myself wondering - surely even "Tories" can't be happy with this?
09-08-2022, 01:13 PM
Very good article. I would say that he is describing a 'reactionary' culture as opposed to an 'apolitical' culture in the Tory Party, i suppose its semantics whether you describe reactionary politics as apolitical or just classicly right wing, but its certainly Daily Mail reading, lace curtain-peeking, 'othering', misanthropic misery.
09-08-2022, 03:50 PM
One of four Conservative MPs on Partygate has resigned (tdpelmedia.com) (https://tdpelmedia.com/one-of-four-conservative-mps-on-partygate-has-resigned)
One of the (https://atomicdigest.com/) four Conservative MPs serving on the committee looking into Partygate and Boris Johnson has officially resigned.
poor thing probably not willing to get abuse from fans of the Big Liar, Criticised him over the illegal parties so absolutely would face vile abuse
The current Tory members of the committee, Alberto Costa, Sir Bernard Jenkin, and Andy Carter, according to (https://tdpelmedia.com/news) a senior Tory MP, were all feeling the heat
oh they certainly will be :agree:
According to (https://tdpelmedia.com/news) the insider, certain lawmakers would step down to make room for more seasoned ones who are seen to be more unbiased.
or are willing to look away from the lies he told/tells :agree:
09-08-2022, 04:41 PM
I'd forgotten about this.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FZu7EYgXwAAXzel?format=jpg&name=900x900
09-08-2022, 04:42 PM
One of four Conservative MPs on Partygate has resigned (tdpelmedia.com) (https://tdpelmedia.com/one-of-four-conservative-mps-on-partygate-has-resigned)
One of the (https://atomicdigest.com/) four Conservative MPs serving on the committee looking into Partygate and Boris Johnson has officially resigned.
poor thing probably not willing to get abuse from fans of the Big Liar, Criticised him over the illegal parties so absolutely would face vile abuse
The current Tory members of the committee, Alberto Costa, Sir Bernard Jenkin, and Andy Carter, according to (https://tdpelmedia.com/news) a senior Tory MP, were all feeling the heat
oh they certainly will be :agree:
According to (https://tdpelmedia.com/news) the insider, certain lawmakers would step down to make room for more seasoned ones who are seen to be more unbiased.
or are willing to look away from the lies he told/tells :agree:
Is Grayling available to step in and save the day?
09-08-2022, 04:52 PM
If you had Grant Shapps on the committee he could fill all four Tory places.
stu in nottingham
09-08-2022, 05:17 PM
I'd forgotten about this.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FZu7EYgXwAAXzel?format=jpg&name=900x900
Truly special relationship? :rotflmao:
Lord Snooty would set the hounds on someone like Trump if he turned up at Toad Hall.
09-08-2022, 05:31 PM
Is Grayling available to step in and save the day?Think he is still looking for all those non existent ferries he invested tax payers money in but blunderman will surely ride in on his trusty clowns bicycle if called on by a grateful nation.
10-08-2022, 02:07 AM
i honestly didn't realise just how long the catalogue of disasters was for Grayling, quite astonishing
Chris Grayling's catalogue of failure - the Tory's 19 most memorable blunders - Mirror Online (https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/politics/chris-grayling-failures-dumped-government-13978573) no surprise he was born on april fools day
and that corrupt PoS Johnson wanted him to get the gig as Chairman of the Intelligence and Security Committee
It's thought Number 10 wanted him to get the job, and the Tory whips were behind him getting the job. All that had to happen was for the members of the committee - which was loaded with Tories - to vote for him to get the job.
Unfortunately for Mr Grayling, fellow Tory MP Julian Lewis had other ideas. He voted for himself, and all the opposition MPs on the committee apparently voted for him too.
elsewhere i was reading Liz Truss has said she would axe any commons probe into Johnson if she could, nuff said
10-08-2022, 11:04 AM
Is anyone else still struggling to get their head around the fact that we have just come through the biggest societal crisis in a generation and we had Boris Johnson in charge? And with another huge crisis already happening we are going to have Liz Truss in charge? A woman so lightweight she make Johnson look like something of an intellectual.
It's a damning indictment of how far the quality of people seeking public office has fallen.
10-08-2022, 11:29 AM
Is anyone else still struggling to get their head around the fact that we have just come through the biggest societal crisis in a generation and we had Boris Johnson in charge? And with another huge crisis already happening we are going to have Liz Truss in charge? A woman so lightweight she make Johnson look like something of an intellectual.
It's a damning indictment of how far the quality of people seeking public office has fallen.
There are enough people down south who don’t share your view to make it happen. There is not a lot we can do about that. Truss will beat Starmer in two years time.
10-08-2022, 11:32 AM
Also agree that Truss will comfortably see off Starmer.
Quite frankly, she is exactly what the core Tory voter wants.
10-08-2022, 11:37 AM
It's a damning indictment of how far the quality of people seeking public office has fallen.Just as big an indictment of the people that put them there.
10-08-2022, 12:48 PM
Just as big an indictment of the people that put them there.
That is where I am at now too. There still seems to be a huge number of working class voters who think Johnson should still be PM. As far as I am concerned the voters are now the problem and I loathe them as much as the corrupt individuals they enable. It is by far the biggest reason for Scotland to be Independent. Scottish people think differently and we need a way for those thoughts to become the way our society is formed. English voters thoughts are perfectly demonstrated by the actions of their Government and I want to have the chance for that to happen here too
10-08-2022, 01:24 PM
Also agree that Truss will comfortably see off Starmer.
Quite frankly, she is exactly what the core Tory voter wants.
I don't know.
It's really hard to pin down what "the core Tory voter" is now.
They're a broad church who seem to carry support from pretty different areas of the electorate.
She'll appear to some, probably to many, but certainly not all of them.
I reckon her pish will continue to alienate large swathes of them tbh.
With Brexit (sort of) in the rear view mirror, I feel like it's all a bit up in the air at the moment and I don't really know who votes for who.
10-08-2022, 01:33 PM
Just as big an indictment of the people that put them there.
Going Underground really over 40 years old?
10-08-2022, 02:19 PM
That is where I am at now too. There still seems to be a huge number of working class voters who think Johnson should still be PM. As far as I am concerned the voters are now the problem and I loathe them as much as the corrupt individuals they enable. It is by far the biggest reason for Scotland to be Independent. Scottish people think differently and we need a way for those thoughts to become the way our society is formed. English voters thoughts are perfectly demonstrated by the actions of their Government and I want to have the chance for that to happen here too
The voting system is worse than the voters. Johnson won a landslide on 43.6% of the vote. May had a hung parly on 42.4%. Main difference was the drop in enthusiasm for Corbyn's Labour.
The UK Lab+Lib+Grn need to get together and force electoral reform. Hell mend them if they don't. Hell mend us if we don't get out.
10-08-2022, 04:16 PM
The voting system is worse than the voters. Johnson won a landslide on 43.6% of the vote. May had a hung parly on 42.4%. Main difference was the drop in enthusiasm for Corbyn's Labour.
The UK Lab+Lib+Grn need to get together and force electoral reform. Hell mend them if they don't. Hell mend us if we don't get out.
That is true but working people voting Tory grinds my gears. It is so obviously going to be detrimental to them and those they know best when looked through a societal lens. A working person voting Tory only does so out of greed or hatred imo.
11-08-2022, 03:27 PM
https://twitter.com/PrivateEyeNews/status/1557749522356469761?s=20&t=klzYrxnrBS6IwwONZCAMgQ
The NHS’s record is “deplorable” and a social health insurance scheme is needed. Says who? The obscure think tank Liz Truss sits on the board of - although she’s keeping very quiet about it during the leadership campaign.
11-08-2022, 05:39 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FZzITJeXgAI2J04?format=jpg&name=medium
11-08-2022, 06:29 PM
today, the attention seeker wants to be a train driver, she probably won't join any strike action though, much like the leader she will be facing very soon
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/298807809_368915658758040_5075779715048231824_n.jp g?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=_JL_ej0TPbkAX9gnhvx&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT8CWuyMYhfKrPGbwHbMoNFv1e6PjAyJcYytP4BTNC0i NA&oe=62FAC2AE
today, the attention seeker wants to be a train driver, she probably won't join any strike action though, much like the leader she will be facing very soon
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/298807809_368915658758040_5075779715048231824_n.jp g?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=_JL_ej0TPbkAX9gnhvx&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT8CWuyMYhfKrPGbwHbMoNFv1e6PjAyJcYytP4BTNC0i NA&oe=62FAC2AEhttps://www.theguardian.com/politics/2022/aug/10/nicola-sturgeon-says-liz-truss-asked-her-how-to-get-into-vogue
Sturgeon quizzed on her appearances in Vogue magazine.
Typical of a tory thinking that there must be angle to get in it other than being invited.
11-08-2022, 07:11 PM
https://twitter.com/PrivateEyeNews/status/1557749522356469761?s=20&t=klzYrxnrBS6IwwONZCAMgQThinking? FFS thinking? Forming a logical conclusion based on weighing up the likely outcomes irrespective of personal popularity, gain or long term consequences?
Good luck.
11-08-2022, 07:16 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/298807809_368915658758040_5075779715048231824_n.jp g?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=_JL_ej0TPbkAX9gnhvx&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT8CWuyMYhfKrPGbwHbMoNFv1e6PjAyJcYytP4BTNC0i NA&oe=62FAC2AESomeone must have told her being in control of the starship Enterprise sends the right message to the very small group who are choosing our next undemocratically selected Prime minister.
A very, very, very poor persons lieutenant uhura.
11-08-2022, 07:25 PM
Braverman is another slippery one that will most likely be part of the Air head's Cabinet
Suella Braverman accepted leadership campaign donation from prominent climate sceptic | The Independent (https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/braverman-climate-change-conservative-donation-b2143115.html)
Attorney general Suella Braverman (https://www.independent.co.uk/topic/suella-braverman) received £10,000 from a company owned by a leading climate sceptic to support her campaign for the Conservative leadership.
Ms Braverman argued during her campaign that the UK should suspend its legally-binding commitment to hit net zero carbon emissions by 2050.
She endorsed Liz Truss after being eliminated from the race to succeed Boris Johnson (https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/liz-truss-rishi-sunak-cost-of-living-latest-b2142784.html)as prime minister, and is widely expected to be rewarded with a senior cabinet post if Ms Truss wins.
though this one was from the toppling of statues recently she showed she's more than willing to try **** with the law if enough Tory politicians greet about it
Suella Braverman accused of politically driven meddling over Colston Four | UK criminal justice | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jan/07/suella-braverman-accused-of-politically-driven-meddling-over-colston-four)
Senior lawyers have accused the attorney general for England and Wales of politically-driven meddling after she announced (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jan/07/attorney-general-considering-referring-colston-statue-case-to-appeal-court) that she could refer the acquittal of the Colston Four (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-bristol-59727161) to the court of appeal.
Suella Braverman (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/suella-braverman) said she was contemplating the highly unusual move after an outcry from Conservative MPs (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jan/06/minister-grant-shapps-crackdown-court-colston-four-statue) following the jury’s verdict on four Black Lives Matter protesters who toppled a statue of slave trader Edward Colston in Bristol.
11-08-2022, 07:29 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2022/aug/10/nicola-sturgeon-says-liz-truss-asked-her-how-to-get-into-vogue
Sturgeon quizzed on her appearances in Vogue magazine.
Typical of a tory thinking that there must be angle to get in it other than being invited.
only saw the first part of your post on ispy and was going to reply very much the same :greengrin
11-08-2022, 07:30 PM
Braverman is another slippery one that will most likely be part of the Air head's Cabinet
Suella Braverman accepted leadership campaign donation from prominent climate sceptic | The Independent (https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/braverman-climate-change-conservative-donation-b2143115.html)
Attorney general Suella Braverman (https://www.independent.co.uk/topic/suella-braverman) received £10,000 from a company owned by a leading climate sceptic to support her campaign for the Conservative leadership.
Ms Braverman argued during her campaign that the UK should suspend its legally-binding commitment to hit net zero carbon emissions by 2050.
She endorsed Liz Truss after being eliminated from the race to succeed Boris Johnson (https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/liz-truss-rishi-sunak-cost-of-living-latest-b2142784.html)as prime minister, and is widely expected to be rewarded with a senior cabinet post if Ms Truss wins.
though this one was from the toppling of statues recently she showed she's more than willing to try **** with the law if enough Tory politicians greet about it
Suella Braverman accused of politically driven meddling over Colston Four | UK criminal justice | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jan/07/suella-braverman-accused-of-politically-driven-meddling-over-colston-four)
Senior lawyers have accused the attorney general for England and Wales of politically-driven meddling after she announced (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jan/07/attorney-general-considering-referring-colston-statue-case-to-appeal-court) that she could refer the acquittal of the Colston Four (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-bristol-59727161) to the court of appeal.
Suella Braverman (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/suella-braverman) said she was contemplating the highly unusual move after an outcry from Conservative MPs (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jan/06/minister-grant-shapps-crackdown-court-colston-four-statue) following the jury’s verdict on four Black Lives Matter protesters who toppled a statue of slave trader Edward Colston in Bristol.
Nasty member of the Nasty party probably covers it
Only other word that seems to be generic across a large number of them at the moment is opportunistic.
11-08-2022, 07:31 PM
Someone must have told her being in control of the starship Enterprise sends the right message to the very small group who are choosing our next undemocratically selected Prime minister.
sadly recently departed :( Truss couldn't lace the late lieutenant's space boots
11-08-2022, 09:05 PM
Someone must have told her being in control of the starship Enterprise sends the right message to the very small group who are choosing our next undemocratically selected Prime minister.
Possibly poor taste considering the actor that played Uhura died last month.
11-08-2022, 09:09 PM
Flicking through the channels and watched 20 seconds of GB News, only the second time I've ever seen it, first time it was Nigel Farage and Jim Davidson doing an interview in a pub, this time the question was is Liz Truss the only person that can stop us marching into socialism, seemingly the answer is yes, because she will stand up to the establishment(not sure who think the establishment is if it's not the Tories)
****ing mental
11-08-2022, 09:14 PM
Possibly poor taste considering the actor that played Uhura died last month.Someone who I had a very high regard for and a beacon compared to the joker in the picture.
Can just about see where you're coming from if you thought a slur was intended, it wasn't. A comparison of polar opposites.
11-08-2022, 09:19 PM
Possibly poor taste considering the actor that played Uhura died last month.
On the contrary. More like a tribute than anything else.
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/298807809_368915658758040_5075779715048231824_n.jp g?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=_JL_ej0TPbkAX9gnhvx&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT8CWuyMYhfKrPGbwHbMoNFv1e6PjAyJcYytP4BTNC0i NA&oe=62FAC2AE
Can we compare her then to a rejected puppet that didn't make it into Thunderbirds?
12-08-2022, 07:19 AM
Can we compare her then to a rejected puppet that didn't make it into Thunderbirds?
Only John Prescott in recent political history has enjoyed a silly photo-op more than PM-in-waiting Liz Truss. Ye gods did I really just say that, wake me when it’s all over nurse.
12-08-2022, 08:59 AM
Only John Prescott in recent political history has enjoyed a silly photo-op more than PM-in-waiting Liz Truss. Ye gods did I really just say that, wake me when it’s all over nurse.
Johnson loves to dress up like Mr Ben as well.
12-08-2022, 09:54 AM
https://institute.global/policy/how-bad-will-cost-living-squeeze-get?utm_source=Social&utm_medium=Twitter&utm_campaign=tb-rtc
Liz Truss has suggested that further ‘handouts’ aren’t the answer. Instead, she has proposed reversing the NICs increase, designed to fund health and social care, to help ease the crisis. That offsets a large chunk of the October price shock for well-off households. But it does very little for those who are most exposed to this price shock. With a NICs cut households in the bottom half of incomes will still be on average more than £50 a month worse off. Reversing the NICs rise therefore won’t do anything to help the people for whom bills at these levels will be well beyond anything they can afford to pay. For the poorest tenth of households the tax cut would help them by just 76p per month on average, whereas the richest households in the UK will be better off by £93 a month. Similarly, Sunak has indicated that he would cut VAT on fuel. But for the typical household this would only amount to a saving of around £14 per month.
12-08-2022, 10:02 AM
https://institute.global/policy/how-bad-will-cost-living-squeeze-get?utm_source=Social&utm_medium=Twitter&utm_campaign=tb-rtc
These are promises and policies that will win them the leadership contest... but may well lose them a general election.
The lines regarding "who votes for who" are muddier than ever and the Tories have borrowed a lot of red wall voters during the Brexit era to get them the majority they have enjoyed.
They'll be doing well to hang onto them with this sort of stuff, and it certainly won't win back the "liberal elite" of the cities.
Although these are surely just policies from Sunak and truss to get them what they want and need now before being ditched when they want and need something else?
https://twitter.com/jude5456/status/1557799328227418112?t=VUdWALcUKliYI91zE8_TYA&s=19
Our next Prime Minister - another one who failed the auditions for The Muppet Show.
12-08-2022, 10:14 AM
These are promises and policies that will win them the leadership contest... but may well lose them a general election.
The lines regarding "who votes for who" are muddier than ever and the Tories have borrowed a lot of red wall voters during the Brexit era to get them the majority they have enjoyed.
They'll be doing well to hang onto them with this sort of stuff, and it certainly won't win back the "liberal elite" of the cities.
Although these are surely just policies from Sunak and truss to get them what they want and need now before being ditched when they want and need something else?
You would think. But the sort of headbanging views they have to espouse to become PM are well represented among Tory MPs. Generally the most troublesome and also the best organised, ERG and so on.
Truss is very good at changing position, ditching policies etc but it remains to be seen how well that'll fly when she's PM. The Tories, esp at the nutty-right end of things, are not in the habit of quiet loyalty atm.
You would think. But the sort of headbanging views they have to espouse to become PM are well represented among Tory MPs. Generally the most troublesome and also the best organised, ERG and so on.
Truss is very good at changing position, ditching policies etc but it remains to be seen how well that'll fly when she's PM. The Tories, esp at the nutty-right end of things, are not in the habit of quiet loyalty atm.It doesn't what their policies are or what they claim them to be.
They can say anything they want but once in power do the exact opposite. No one is taking them to task so it's all fair game to them.
Heard any really hard questioning about the 40 hospitals they promised in 2019?
12-08-2022, 10:22 AM
Only John Prescott in recent political history has enjoyed a silly photo-op more than PM-in-waiting Liz Truss. Ye gods did I really just say that, wake me when it’s all over nurse.Ruth Davidson and Willie Rennie must be close.
12-08-2022, 10:38 AM
It doesn't what their policies are or what they claim them to be.
They can say anything they want but once in power do the exact opposite. No one is taking them to task so it's all fair game to them.
Heard any really hard questioning about the 40 hospitals they promised in 2019?
Oh, they can absolutely get away with saying anything to the poor schmuck electorate. It's what they say to RW tory MPs that might be a problem. So building hospitals, who cares? Putting taxes up or, god forbid, helping poor people through a crisis, outrage!
Oh, they can absolutely get away with saying anything to the poor schmuck electorate. It's what they say to RW tory MPs that might be a problem. So building hospitals, who cares? Putting taxes up or, god forbid, helping poor people through a crisis, outrage!More madey-up anti-woke guff.
https://twitter.com/SophiaSleigh/status/1558020974246772736?t=sl8Nx_Lk6ym1YXE2b9tk-Q&s=19
12-08-2022, 11:06 AM
Ruth Davidson and Willie Rennie must be close.
My favorite was Prescott was on one of those miniature trains, he was perched on top with a wee hat and a whistle, waving a little flag. Grinning for the cameras. He looked like he was going to collapse it under his weight. Why they feel the need I have no idea.
12-08-2022, 12:04 PM
NHS Scotland staff have voted to reject a 5% pay increase, and will now be balloted on industrial action (strikes).
12-08-2022, 12:22 PM
NHS Scotland staff have voted to reject a 5% pay increase, and will now be balloted on industrial action (strikes).
What about 5% and some clapping? Maybe get some pots and pans out and clang them together, fireworks and a whistle or two?
12-08-2022, 05:08 PM
Truss going full Trump:
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2022/aug/12/liz-truss-protect-british-jews-antisemitism-woke-culture
12-08-2022, 09:25 PM
PORK MARKETS! #news #politics #liztruss (tiktok.com) (https://www.tiktok.com/@eveningstandard/video/7122773266065820934?_r=1&_t=8UmOxfnOMNi&is_from_webapp=v1&item_id=7122773266065820934)
13-08-2022, 11:36 AM
What about 5% and some clapping? Maybe get some pots and pans out and clang them together, fireworks and a whistle or two? I suspect many of the most enthusiastic clappers will grudge them the 5% and be appalled they are likely to take action.
13-08-2022, 12:14 PM
What about 5% and some clapping? Maybe get some pots and pans out and clang them together, fireworks and a whistle or two?
I got roasted about 18 months ago for suggesting that the whole clapping crap was insufficient.
Paul1642
13-08-2022, 08:46 PM
The problem is that the public sector wage bill is huge and every sector needs and deserves a rise as much as any other.
The going rate being offered (and rejected) is around 5% A quick Google shows the total public sector wage bill to be £235 billion pounds meaning that if everyone got a 5% rise the government needs to find around £12 billion pounds a year.
Give some sectors a 10% rise and the rest will justifiably want the same, meaning a further additional £12 billion would need to be found a year. I just can’t see where the govt is supposed to find that money on top of the spending we all want and need them to use on the energy and cost of living crisis.
For balance I am a public sector employee and need a wage rise as much as the rest, and will be pretty pissed if others get a considerably higher % than I do. which is currently looking likely (not for the first time).That’s not about wanting others to not get the wage increase they fee they deserved (and do deserve), but rather just looking for a bit for fairness across the board rather than the sectors who are a bit more popular with the public (NHS) and more capable do holding the government to ransom (rail workers) getting more than the rest.
13-08-2022, 08:53 PM
The problem is that the public sector wage bill is huge and every sector needs and deserves a rise as much as any other.
The going rate being offered (and rejected) is around 5% A quick Google shows the total public sector wage bill to be £235 billion pounds meaning that if everyone got a 5% rise the government needs to find around £12 billion pounds a year.
Give some sectors a 10% rise and the rest will justifiably want the same, meaning a further additional £12 billion would need to be found a year. I just can’t see where the govt is supposed to find that money on top of the spending we all want and need them to use on the energy and cost of living crisis.
For balance I am a public sector employee and need a wage rise as much as the rest, and will be pretty pissed if others get a considerably higher % than I do. which is currently looking likely (not for the first time).That’s not about wanting others to not get the wage increase they fee they deserved (and do deserve), but rather just looking for a bit for fairness across the board rather than the sectors who are a bit more popular with the public (NHS) and more capable do holding the government to ransom (rail workers) getting more than the rest.
They find the money by raising taxes on corporations and the wealthy.
Of course the Tories won't do that but its an simple solution to the problem.
13-08-2022, 08:54 PM
If you could choose one poll to sum up a Conservative Party member, this is it.
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/aug/13/poll-of-tory-members-gives-liz-truss-22-point-lead-to-be-next-prime-minister
Truss has a big lead, is clearly going to be BigDog2, but LOOK at the numbers for ‘would prefer to have Boris Johnson’. Overwhelming. He’s a proven crook, liar and a fraud. Had historically low approval ratings. But that’s not a problem for the Tory membership.
They are just like Trump supporters. No morality at all and just live in a twisted, insular world of their own.
McSwanky
13-08-2022, 10:10 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/aug/13/poll-of-tory-members-gives-liz-truss-22-point-lead-to-be-next-prime-minister
Truss has a big lead, is clearly going to be BigDog2, but LOOK at the numbers for ‘would prefer to have Boris Johnson’. Overwhelming. He’s a proven crook, liar and a fraud. Had historically low approval ratings. But that’s not a problem for the Tory membership.
They are just like Trump supporters. No morality at all and just live in a twisted, insular world of their own.That's just horrendous.
13-08-2022, 10:14 PM
They are just like Trump supporters. No morality at all and just live in a twisted, insular world of their own.
Take about wanting to eat your cake and have it.
14-08-2022, 06:10 AM
Take about wanting to eat your cake and have it.
Imagine sacking Boris ‘just for having a bit of birthday cake on his birthday’.
Stairway 2 7
14-08-2022, 01:08 PM
Weird one. Article about a tory who hit out at funding for useless studies, siting one in particular. A lot of academics steamed into him. They then doubled down in the attacks when it turned out it was a study on how he felt after masterbating to hand drawn child porn, bizarre.
https://stuartritchie.substack.com/p/circling-the-wagons
"A conservative politician attacks a peer-reviewed research paper by a Humanities PhD student.
Sounds terrible, doesn’t it? Anti-free speech. Anti-academic freedom. A chilling atmosphere for researchers. But before you get out the loudhailer and head to protest outside Parliament, perhaps it would be good to get a little context"
Paul1642
14-08-2022, 02:47 PM
Weird one. Article about a tory who hit out at funding for useless studies, siting one in particular. A lot of academics steamed into him. They then doubled down in the attacks when it turned out it was a study on how he felt after masterbating to hand drawn child porn, bizarre.
https://stuartritchie.substack.com/p/circling-the-wagons
"A conservative politician attacks a peer-reviewed research paper by a Humanities PhD student.
Sounds terrible, doesn’t it? Anti-free speech. Anti-academic freedom. A chilling atmosphere for researchers. But before you get out the loudhailer and head to protest outside Parliament, perhaps it would be good to get a little context"
For all the Tory’s wrongs I can’t fault them on this one. Public money should be spent responsibly.
14-08-2022, 02:51 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/299591268_5748277808536233_639548215521402917_n.jp g?_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=mRneTkRADQAAX84ThZ4&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT9vwwDx5scUVIvPW3wlj2_Bhf8CxYhQiEenpk3v75Q7 Uw&oe=62FD6AA8
14-08-2022, 04:17 PM
quite an interesting read on thatcher and the two who want to be her, Sunak and Truss
Margaret Thatcher's economics: a study in ruthlessness - Prospect Magazine (https://www.prospectmagazine.co.uk/economics-and-finance/margaret-thatchers-economics-a-study-in-ruthlessness?fbclid=IwAR3RfGbHwwCh5lXKz8bBpVZ7wxLQ 531TTnBNT7rAoMX9l3gIX3AHQSgTPm4)
14-08-2022, 04:47 PM
(2) Good Law Project on Twitter: "‘Son of Tory donor who hosted Boris Johnson's wedding party given £11.2m Government cash’ https://t.co/GRrtKO5EkQ" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/GoodLawProject/status/1558777630819844099?t=AG-ItGtENMHW02wuj2l9cQ&s=19&fbclid=IwAR0BcETCzsmmNbuJ70OPXHweGRdipT254DxqiV6QU TWd5dypnnapeDNacKU)
no surprise whatsoever
Paul1642
14-08-2022, 04:54 PM
(2) Good Law Project on Twitter: "‘Son of Tory donor who hosted Boris Johnson's wedding party given £11.2m Government cash’ https://t.co/GRrtKO5EkQ" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/GoodLawProject/status/1558777630819844099?t=AG-ItGtENMHW02wuj2l9cQ&s=19&fbclid=IwAR0BcETCzsmmNbuJ70OPXHweGRdipT254DxqiV6QU TWd5dypnnapeDNacKU)
no surprise whatsoever
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-61609108.amp
In fairness they have also just won a huge contract from the German government. Maybe they are just a good at what they do at a time where zero emission busses are a no brainier.
15-08-2022, 01:18 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2022/aug/14/liz-truss-economic-plan-ruinous-nonsense-no-reference-to-reality?CMP=share_btn_tw
The only way for a Tory leader to sustain the leadership of what is ever more obviously a deranged and factionalised political movement is to govern from the hard right. It will end in failure.
The epicentre will be the economy. Her uncontroversial stated aim is growth of 2.5%. Consensus stops there. All the mechanisms to achieve growth are drawn from the evidence-free but prejudice-rich rightwing playbook – persistently anti-Europe, obsessed with tax cuts, buying into the faith that nameless regulations are shackling business and, above all, that a weak political class, deep state and obeisance to technocrats have combined to make Britain quasi-socialist – despite 12 years of Tory rule.
There is no recognition that what matters in a decade beset by a pandemic, climate breakdown, fragile energy markets and threats to food supplies is the resilience of a country’s energy, public health, water and farming systems to support business and civil society, in all of which the state has to play a leadership role. There is no comprehension that today’s economy is built on the “intangibles” of knowledge, intellectual property and digitisation for which smart regulation – not no regulation – is foundational.
15-08-2022, 01:41 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2022/aug/14/liz-truss-economic-plan-ruinous-nonsense-no-reference-to-reality?CMP=share_btn_tw
Will Hutton is great. Ive been reading his stuff for years. I wish he was front and centre of UK policy making.
Stairway 2 7
15-08-2022, 01:45 PM
Does tax cuts in England and more borrowing, not just mean more money for Scotland through Barnett?
15-08-2022, 01:47 PM
Does tax cuts in England and more borrowing, not just mean more money for Scotland through Barnett?
Only more spending in England affects the money Scotland is allowed to spend. When they start cutting back on spending we will have to follow.
15-08-2022, 01:52 PM
Only more spending in England affects the money Scotland is allowed to spend. When they start cutting back on spending we will have to follow.
I'm no expert on this, but I believe the Barnett formula is based on the level of English public expenditure. So, as Ozy points out, tax cuts in England > less tax take > less public expenditure > less money allocated to Scotland under Barnett.
At a time when all of our major public services are in crisis, I cannot understand why any sensible politician would advocated tax cuts?
Stairway 2 7
15-08-2022, 01:58 PM
I've not read the proposals but I'd thought they were going to pay for the tax cuts through more borrowing, would that count as expenditure. Although its the tories so the probably won't borrow and just make cuts
15-08-2022, 02:00 PM
I've not read the proposals but I'd thought they were going to pay for the tax cuts through more borrowing, would that count as expenditure. Although its the tories so the probably won't borrow and just make cuts
Did Truss not say she wanted to cut all departments by 10%? That would include Education and Health so we would be forced to follow.
Stairway 2 7
15-08-2022, 02:04 PM
Did Truss not say she wanted to cut all departments by 10%? That would include Education and Health so we would be forced to follow.
I think that was misrepresented to be fair, she wasn't talking about the budgets for departments. She was talking about some admin jobs. She'll weald cuts wherever she can though as is much further right than boris and Sunak, will effect Scotland definitely
I'm no expert on this, but I believe the Barnett formula is based on the level of English public expenditure. So, as Ozy points out, tax cuts in England > less tax take > less public expenditure > less money allocated to Scotland under Barnett.
At a time when all of our major public services are in crisis, I cannot understand why any sensible politician would advocated tax cuts?Yeah, sensible.
hibby rae
15-08-2022, 02:08 PM
At a time when all of our major public services are in crisis, I cannot understand why any sensible politician would advocated tax cuts?
Because they are driven by a mixture of ideology and playing to the very small gallery that will put them in power, pragmatism and logic are secondary.
Also worth a read. Both the Tory leadership candidates are promoting this:
https://medium.com/@cormack.lawson/charter-cities-the-real-reason-for-brexit-and-the-bigger-picture-4de80dbb69fb
16-08-2022, 06:56 AM
Also worth a read. Both the Tory leadership candidates are promoting this:
https://medium.com/@cormack.lawson/charter-cities-the-real-reason-for-brexit-and-the-bigger-picture-4de80dbb69fb
I read about half of that then scanned the rest. It’s a load of crap really.
I think this is far more likely -
https://bylinetimes.com/2022/08/15/beware-the-charter-cities-conspiracy-theory/
16-08-2022, 07:50 AM
I see that we can watch the Perth hustings on the stv news website. If anybody wants to get angry.
16-08-2022, 07:51 AM
I think this is far more likely -
https://bylinetimes.com/2022/08/15/beware-the-charter-cities-conspiracy-theory/
That reads a bit complacent. Four of the five Britannia Unhinged crew are in the Cabinet; the government, including the last two Attorney Generals, have no problem with breaking the law; the Minister for Brexit Opportunites has not (unless I've missed them) come up with any actual Brexit benefits which are not connected with tax advantages for rich individuals. It's fairly reasonable to assume that Brexit is going well if its ultimate purpose was always to end up in the formation of deregulated zones/an entire deregulated country. His argument that new zones will be monitored to ensure that standards etc do not drop seems especially optimistic in the light of 'Leaving the EU will allow us to set our own very high environmental standards' being followed in very short order by mass dumping of sewage into rivers.
That reads a bit complacent. Four of the five Britannia Unhinged crew are in the Cabinet; the government, including the last two Attorney Generals, have no problem with breaking the law; the Minister for Brexit Opportunites has not (unless I've missed them) come up with any actual Brexit benefits which are not connected with tax advantages for rich individuals. It's fairly reasonable to assume that Brexit is going well if its ultimate purpose was always to end up in the formation of deregulated zones/an entire deregulated country. His argument that new zones will be monitored to ensure that standards etc do not drop seems especially optimistic in the light of 'Leaving the EU will allow us to set our own very high environmental standards' being followed in very short order by mass dumping of sewage into rivers.Complacent is the perfect word. I was surprised to read that angle from that author. Right wingers are happy to play the long game.
The swivel-eyed version of the Tories are piling in huge amounts of time and money to make Charter Cities a reality and that alone makes me highly suspicious that it can't be a good thing for ordinary people.
Stairway 2 7
16-08-2022, 11:42 AM
Good article about government can kicking
https://thecritic.co.uk/the-failing-state-were-in/
@SAshworthHayes
In 2010, Nick Clegg said new nuclear wasn't relevant because it wouldn't "come onstream until 2021-2022". In 2017 the government shut down gas storage to save money.
In 2022, the government is planning for organised blackouts
This is where endless, relentless short-termism governed by “poll of the week” priorities gets you; it’s easier to shut down chunks of the country a few years on than to face an angry letter from a small cluster of NIMBYs
I see that we can watch the Perth hustings on the stv news website. If anybody wants to get angry.
I see the tory hopefuls call for more scrutiny of SNP record. Perhaps its so that they can see how to run a country for the benefit of the whole population rather than just a few tory cronies. Probably not.
16-08-2022, 12:33 PM
Attainment gap in England failing for the last 20 years according to a report by the IFS.
https://www.theguardian.com/education/2022/aug/16/no-improvement-in-school-attainment-gap-in-england-for-20-years-report-says
Bridget Phillipson, the shadow education secretary, said: “Some 12 years of Conservative governments have utterly failed to tackle inequalities across the education system, which are letting down our children and holding back young people’s opportunities and life chances.
“200,000 primary schoolchildren do not have access to a good or outstanding school, teachers are leaving our schools in record numbers, GCSE grades among children on free school meals are going backwards. The Tories are messing about with school structures, not improving children’s outcomes.”
Geoff Barton, general secretary of the Association of School and College Leaders, added: “Government policy is in a rut of meaningless targets, empty rhetoric and pitiful levels of funding.
“We need to see investment in early years education, better support for schools which face the greatest challenges, funding for schools and post-16 education which matches the level of need, and a rethink of qualifications and curriculum so that they work well for all learners.”
16-08-2022, 01:42 PM
Attainment gap in England failing for the last 20 years according to a report by the IFS.
https://www.theguardian.com/education/2022/aug/16/no-improvement-in-school-attainment-gap-in-england-for-20-years-report-says
Bridget Phillipson, the shadow education secretary, said: “Some 12 years of Conservative governments have utterly failed to tackle inequalities across the education system, which are letting down our children and holding back young people’s opportunities and life chances.
“200,000 primary schoolchildren do not have access to a good or outstanding school, teachers are leaving our schools in record numbers, GCSE grades among children on free school meals are going backwards. The Tories are messing about with school structures, not improving children’s outcomes.”
Geoff Barton, general secretary of the Association of School and College Leaders, added: “Government policy is in a rut of meaningless targets, empty rhetoric and pitiful levels of funding.
“We need to see investment in early years education, better support for schools which face the greatest challenges, funding for schools and post-16 education which matches the level of need, and a rethink of qualifications and curriculum so that they work well for all learners.”
Yes, but what is Nicola Sturgeon going to do about it?[emoji35]
16-08-2022, 04:27 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220816/e97aa98717cdce43eb571659744c541e.jpg
Debate in Perth tonight.
16-08-2022, 04:30 PM
I wonder how long that banner will last.
16-08-2022, 04:39 PM
I wonder how long that banner will last.
2024 at least?
16-08-2022, 04:41 PM
I recently said that it was wrong to read too much into a single graph (or words to that effect).
Hmm.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FaS-MqdX0AAo9Cc?format=jpg&name=large
16-08-2022, 04:54 PM
I recently said that it was wrong to read too much into a single graph (or words to that effect).
Hmm.
Its just as well we have a functioning Government on the case:agree: pass the ouzo Carrie
Stairway 2 7
16-08-2022, 04:57 PM
Hmm.
Can't keep up with unprecedented inflation and inflation will be horrendous for a few years so will get worse
16-08-2022, 06:14 PM
well deserved welcome for union Jack (2) Phantom Power on Twitter: "Alister Jack waves to his fan at Perth Hustings https://t.co/y8Xb8AuPha" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/PhantomPower14/status/1559592014706102272?fbclid=IwAR1m4BlA4XcjvdHOprl5e 9VldlanxUxIZC8nNY89bxtlHBHxj0oY3sAeHxo) giving his solitary 'fan' a wave
16-08-2022, 06:28 PM
well deserved welcome for union Jack (2) Phantom Power on Twitter: "Alister Jack waves to his fan at Perth Hustings https://t.co/y8Xb8AuPha" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/PhantomPower14/status/1559592014706102272?fbclid=IwAR1m4BlA4XcjvdHOprl5e 9VldlanxUxIZC8nNY89bxtlHBHxj0oY3sAeHxo) giving his solitary 'fan' a waveYou'd have thought the viceroy of Scotland would have made a grander arrival.
16-08-2022, 07:49 PM
Truss committed to keeping tripple look on pensions. Yet another thing for younger generations to look forward to covering the cost of while their earning prospects nosedive.
xyz23jc
16-08-2022, 08:05 PM
Yes, but what is Nicola Sturgeon going to do about it?[emoji35]
Build a wall...? :greengrin:wink:
Stairway 2 7
16-08-2022, 08:49 PM
Truss committed to keeping tripple look on pensions. Yet another thing for younger generations to look forward to covering the cost of while their earning prospects nosedive.
There's nothing wrong with pensions increasing, totally separate to how the youth are treated
16-08-2022, 09:04 PM
There's nothing wrong with pensions increasing, totally separate to how the youth are treated
Nothing wrong with them increasing but the triple lock is irresponsible.
16-08-2022, 09:05 PM
You'd have thought the viceroy of Scotland would have made a grander arrival.
That's the only way to get from the Premier Inn to the concert hall. 😁
Stairway 2 7
16-08-2022, 09:17 PM
Nothing wrong with them increasing but the triple lock is irresponsible.
Disagree when we're starting at such a paltry level. The tories would love to get rid of it if if wasn't a vote killer
Who knew?
Tories are still lying ********.
https://twitter.com/Femi_Sorry/status/1559672792878129152?t=O2172S74k_mNBeabgbmt0w&s=09
Paul1642
17-08-2022, 04:56 AM
Who knew?
Tories are still lying ********.
https://twitter.com/Femi_Sorry/status/1559672792878129152?t=O2172S74k_mNBeabgbmt0w&s=09
Will it affect her chances at becoming PM? Absolutely not. She’s only talking about the poor people of course. They are poor because they are lazy, everybody knows that…………
17-08-2022, 06:15 AM
Inflation at 10%. Where is all this actually going to end up???
Stairway 2 7
17-08-2022, 06:19 AM
Latest estimate is 13% this year, but that can change
17-08-2022, 06:20 AM
1970s, then 1930s.
17-08-2022, 09:01 AM
We're heading for the worst Prime Minister in my or indeed most of our lifetimes.
17-08-2022, 09:15 AM
We're heading for the worst Prime Minister in my or indeed most of our lifetimes.
And that's something we didn't think was possible.
17-08-2022, 09:18 AM
Worse than Johnson? I can't see how that's possible.
OldEast
17-08-2022, 09:21 AM
Johnson is an incompetent balloon playing a game. These pair are truly evil *******s in classic tory style.
17-08-2022, 09:24 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATbIHU0Y4c4
17-08-2022, 09:40 AM
Johnson was a right wing PM because that's how the wind was blowing. Truss is ideologically right wing.
17-08-2022, 11:30 AM
A flavour of Tory.
https://twitter.com/ScotNational/status/1559855557367934977
Stairway 2 7
17-08-2022, 12:19 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/julianHjessop/status/1559785431574749185
Nice depressing thread on inflation
17-08-2022, 01:25 PM
Johnson was a right wing PM because that's how the wind was blowing. Truss is ideologically right wing.
They're both economically right wing, much more so than Johnson. Both (I think) instinctively more socially liberal than most Tory members, but have jumped right onto the nutter express to bigotville. I think Truss is going to win because she's got enough of a nutty flavour about her anyway to carry it off more convincingly.
Stairway 2 7
17-08-2022, 02:10 PM
Vote tory get ***** should be the new slogan perhaps?
https://mobile.twitter.com/craddock1970/status/1559545091865411586
17-08-2022, 02:31 PM
Vote tory get ***** should be the new slogan perhaps?
https://mobile.twitter.com/craddock1970/status/1559545091865411586
4 words, too complicated for their supporters.
17-08-2022, 03:09 PM
Truss: demonising migrants and Europe is effective. British workers need to graft harder :cb
https://youtu.be/pOGta6LO-I8
Lendo
17-08-2022, 04:18 PM
Can anyone explain this Charter Cities thing to me in plain English?
17-08-2022, 06:03 PM
Can anyone explain this Charter Cities thing to me in plain English?
Think it's a bit like OCP taking over Detroit in Robocop, company comes in and runs the joint and can do what they want
17-08-2022, 06:25 PM
Can anyone explain this Charter Cities thing to me in plain English?Basically private cities out-with normal laws and regulations. Lower tax and relaxed rules around business and diminished employee rights. They can set their own rules around immigration etc. Private police forces as well I think.
It's a miniature version of how the Tories want the whole UK to be.
17-08-2022, 06:29 PM
Basically private cities out-with normal laws and regulations. Lower tax and relaxed rules around business and diminished employee rights. They can set their own rules around immigration etc. Private police forces as well I think.
It's a miniature version of how the Tories want the whole UK to be.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLfghLQE3F4
17-08-2022, 07:04 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLfghLQE3F4
Any mention of slavery being a thing in the Charter Cities?
17-08-2022, 07:56 PM
Any mention of slavery being a thing in the Charter Cities?
Only white British ones.
17-08-2022, 08:07 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLfghLQE3F4Seems about right. :hilarious
18-08-2022, 08:34 AM
https://twitter.com/valhalla51/status/1559944313055989761?s=21&t=d4hL-wZ3nEMOxngqjKZOpg
Must be at least a year old because Scotrail is there but the rest still rings true.
18-08-2022, 09:04 AM
https://twitter.com/valhalla51/status/1559944313055989761?s=21&t=d4hL-wZ3nEMOxngqjKZOpg
Must be at least a year old because Scotrail is there but the rest still rings true.
January 2017.
https://twitter.com/castlvillageman/status/1560126442897391618?t=Fn206WTBFSsSJVqWED5TmQ&s=19
Some old lies. This guy doesn't have any heart felt convictions. Changes his mind with what his financial handlers want.
18-08-2022, 10:07 AM
https://twitter.com/castlvillageman/status/1560126442897391618?t=Fn206WTBFSsSJVqWED5TmQ&s=19
Some old lies. This guy doesn't have any heart felt convictions. Changes his mind with what his financial handlers want.
What a dreamboat