View Full Version : The world cup thread
Donegal Hibby
13-11-2022, 06:04 PM
It's not far away now . Who do you fancy to win it ? Do you think there could be a nation that's a dark horse in it? And who's going to win the golden boot and be player of the tournament?
https://www.fifa.com/fifaplus/en/articles/qatar-2022-all-qualified-teams-groups-dates-match-schedule-tickets-more.
https://images.app.goo.gl/MDCQZqYSqFcJa6YF6
Trinity Hibee
13-11-2022, 06:06 PM
https://bolavip.com/en/world-cup-2022-simulator
A free predictor. Argentina for me
Golden boot I could see being neymar. A surprise team I’m going to say Switzerland
13-11-2022, 06:17 PM
Golden boot I could see being neymar. A surprise team I’m going to say Switzerland
I’ve been tipping Argentina as well but that’s not really based on anything other than Messi and that I l always like them and their radgeness. Are they actually any good and likely to be serious contenders?
Dark horses for me are Japan although I don’t really know why, I think they’re in a group with Spain and Germany? I fancy Germany to have a stinker and go out at the group stages.
13-11-2022, 06:19 PM
Brazil to beat France in the final for me
Donegal Hibby
13-11-2022, 06:32 PM
I think you won't be far away on this though I'm going for Spain and my dark horse team would be Mexico .Reasons being I think there will be a few teams that will handle the climate better than others out there.
13-11-2022, 06:33 PM
I can’t say I have much enthusiasm for it and will be watching very little. It will actually be good to forget about football and VAR for a while.
Trinity Hibee
13-11-2022, 06:33 PM
I’ve been tipping Argentina as well but that’s not really based on anything other than Messi and that I l always like them and their radgeness. Are they actually any good and likely to be serious contenders?
Dark horses for me are Japan although I don’t really know why, I think they’re in a group with Spain and Germany? I fancy Germany to have a stinker and go out at the group stages.
The have a very good squad yeah. Can’t say I’ve seen loads of them either but I think it’s also partly to do with their route to the final. Potential brazil semi but they should beat other opponents put infront of them. But world cups often throw up weird outcomes. The stats about previous holders not making it out of the groups at the next WC is very surprising
Trinity Hibee
13-11-2022, 06:35 PM
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/63126367
Donegal Hibby
13-11-2022, 07:15 PM
England if I'm right have a easy enough time till they get to the quarter finals were they will probably meet France .Always a danger they will win something with the players they have now though I think some of there squad selections aren't possible as good as they could have been .
13-11-2022, 07:28 PM
Wouldn't be so quick to go with that predictor. Stay tuned.
LustForLeith
13-11-2022, 07:40 PM
Denmark topping the group over France
LustForLeith
13-11-2022, 07:41 PM
I think Qatar will go far…
Trinity Hibee
13-11-2022, 07:48 PM
Another South Korea episode from 2002?
13-11-2022, 07:51 PM
Argentina-France final.
13-11-2022, 07:58 PM
If France get ahead of themselves like they did at the Euros and did in 2002 then it won't be them. I hope they avoid that and turn in the master class they're capable of.
Although in their group, Denmark will be worth a look as dark horses. Qatar were mentioned above and unfortunately that could prove correct.
I've not seen comment about the USA Iran match. That was a hot enough potato in 1998 when things were calmer and the match was in Europe.
13-11-2022, 08:02 PM
Sneaky feeling that Croatia will do quite well. Modric still one of the best midfielders around and they have a number of players playing in top leagues
13-11-2022, 08:04 PM
Would like to see Messi and Argentina win it but I think Brazil are real good things for this.
13-11-2022, 08:10 PM
England if I'm right have a easy enough time till they get to the quarter finals were they will probably meet France .Always a danger they will win something with the players they have now though I think some of there squad selections aren't possible as good as they could have been .
I’m not so sure about England this time. Their recent form is pretty poor (relegated from Nations League) and Southgate not quite sure of his best team. Wales will give them a right go and I wouldn’t write off USA either
JammyDoidger
13-11-2022, 08:21 PM
Think Brazil look pretty weak in the full back areas, apart from that strong, Portugal have a strong squad for me.
13-11-2022, 08:30 PM
Same
StirlingHibee
13-11-2022, 08:33 PM
Brazil for me. England outside chance.
Donegal Hibby
13-11-2022, 08:51 PM
I’m not so sure about England this time. Their recent form is pretty poor (relegated from Nations League) and Southgate not quite sure of his best team. Wales will give them a right go and I wouldn’t write off USA either
England have some excellent players Foden , Kane etc and a large pool of players to pick from but for some strange reason they just don't click as a team ,often wonder if the English media puts extra pressure on them with all the media hype .Wouldn't rule them out though.
13-11-2022, 08:59 PM
Harry Maguire to score 3 own goals and get sent off 😁
13-11-2022, 09:07 PM
England have some excellent players Foden , Kane etc and a large pool of players to pick from but for some strange reason they just don't click as a team ,often wonder if the English media puts extra pressure on them with all the media hype .Wouldn't rule them out though.
I think they lack a quality centre midfielder that dictates the tempo of games. They’ve got lots of quality players all over the pitch but that’s where I think they struggle.
I also think there’s not a massive amount of strength in depth up front, if anything was to happen to Harry Kane or if he doesn’t play well then I think they toil.
They’ve definitely got enough to get past the weaker sides and even beat the odd big team on their day, I just don’t think they’ve got enough to beat two or three big teams in a row.
13-11-2022, 09:11 PM
In the first 30 minutes of their first match hopefully.....
13-11-2022, 09:39 PM
Argentina-England final and England to lose on pens would be hilarious.
Green Reaper
13-11-2022, 10:10 PM
Argentina-England final and England to lose on pens would be hilarious.
Or England to lose due to penalty in the game….for a wrongly called hand ball 😅
Donegal Hibby
13-11-2022, 10:13 PM
Or England to lose due to penalty in the game….for a wrongly called hand ball 😅
https://youtu.be/KY40__rBvSk
13-11-2022, 10:58 PM
Argentina. For three reasons
1. they’re unbeaten in 3 years, 35 games, and closing in on Italy’s record.
2. messi deserves a World Cup
3. I’ve supported them in every World Cup since 1990 ( I was only 4 when the won it in 86). And I deserve it :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
13-11-2022, 11:09 PM
Guy who works in supermarket I know told me about a programme " said It was a must watch one " anyhow it's about FIFA and corruption , world cup and so on . It's on Netflix and here's a wee preview of it
https://www.imdb.com/video/vi3786196249/?playlistId=tt22872838?ref_=ext_shr_lnk
Jim Herriot
14-11-2022, 12:41 AM
Got my flag ready...
OldEast
14-11-2022, 01:03 AM
Brazil v Argentina semi then Brazil to beat Portugal in the final.
Key West
14-11-2022, 11:41 AM
Spain for me, I wouldn't be disappointed if Argentina win it.
14-11-2022, 11:48 AM
I think they lack a quality centre midfielder that dictates the tempo of games. They’ve got lots of quality players all over the pitch but that’s where I think they struggle.
I also think there’s not a massive amount of strength in depth up front, if anything was to happen to Harry Kane or if he doesn’t play well then I think they toil.
They’ve definitely got enough to get past the weaker sides and even beat the odd big team on their day, I just don’t think they’ve got enough to beat two or three big teams in a row.
Tend to agree I think they aren't the best defensively either.
Donegal Hibby
14-11-2022, 12:02 PM
World cup odds
https://www.oddschecker.com/football/world-cup
Donegal Hibby
15-11-2022, 02:29 AM
Really looking forward to the world cup , hopefully we will see a few goals like these
https://youtu.be/TMlguTj0bkY
I quite fancied Portugal as a dark horse until Ronaldo started throwing grenades this week, 12/1 a decent bet they have some amount of talent.
Brazil or France would be more steady bets tho both look really strong be who plays the conditions better I think
donno
15-11-2022, 12:13 PM
Aussies to get to the final obviously. $8k for every extra day Boyle is out there!
Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk
15-11-2022, 12:38 PM
Yeh, this for me too. England have never been short of decent players, what the always seem incapable of is making a team out of them capable of winning anything.
As I type the news is reporting a human rights organisation reporting another 25 work related deaths in recent months related to Qatar WC infrastructure projects. It is so very very difficult to reconcile my love for the beautiful game and an obvious desire to watch it's biggest tournament with this utter utter car crash of a choice of host.
However this world cup works out on the pitch, be it the best ever or the worst ever FIFA must never again allow their greed and stupidity to trump common sense and their responsibility as custodians of the world's most popular game to put human dignity and human rights before profit. They have done nothing less than bring football into disrepute and once this is done serious questions need to be asked as to whether they have given up the right to run the game. As things stand the answer to that is pretty obvious.
15-11-2022, 04:35 PM
Are we due a bit of cash for Spoony going?
15-11-2022, 05:54 PM
Feeling Uruguay.
15-11-2022, 05:58 PM
Feeling Uruguay.
that would be sensational
15-11-2022, 06:04 PM
Uruguay have a strong squad. Can't see past Brazil. France's midfield is under strength, full options and they'd be hard to beat but retaining it is some ask. As for the tournament, can't get excited and don't plan to watch it. Football just wasn't supposed to be like this. FIFA are just abhorrent.
heidtheba
15-11-2022, 06:18 PM
Yeh, this for me too. England have never been short of decent players, what the always seem incapable of is making a team out of them capable of winning anything.
As I type the news is reporting a human rights organisation reporting another 25 work related deaths in recent months related to Qatar WC infrastructure projects. It is so very very difficult to reconcile my love for the beautiful game and an obvious desire to watch it's biggest tournament with this utter utter car crash of a choice of host.
However this world cup works out on the pitch, be it the best ever or the worst ever FIFA must never again allow their greed and stupidity to trump common sense and their responsibility as custodians of the world's most popular game to put human dignity and human rights before profit. They have done nothing less than bring football into disrepute and once this is done serious questions need to be asked as to whether they have given up the right to run the game. As things stand the answer to that is pretty obvious.
I'm planning on giving it a miss. I'm not a massive football fan truth be told, but I'm also a teacher by trade. Watching the WC just feels too much like accepting things I'm against. It's all too much 'Berlin 1936' for me. I don't fully blame FIFA. If people watch it, if they buy the stuff, if the players play, if the media support, then we're all involved. I won't judge. I watched the F1 Qatar race and felt bad about doing so. But I also own an iPhone, bought because it does what I need it to do and what I know, but I also know what some of the practices are which go into making it. I'm not judging anyone who does, I've got my own failings as pointed out, but I will be trying not to watch this.
"Nothing matters at all, the needle returns to the start of the song and we all sing along like before". I was impressed by the BLM approach in F1 and in football, but it all seems a bit poor to attend now.
15-11-2022, 06:21 PM
I hope they match Sevco's Champions League record in just 3 games.
A horrible country :agree:
15-11-2022, 06:22 PM
Got my flag ready...
Iran right up there with Qatar in the 'horrible nation' stakes. I almost hope England beat them!
Donegal Hibby
15-11-2022, 06:28 PM
Uruguay have a strong squad. Can't see past Brazil. France's midfield is under strength, full options and they'd be hard to beat but retaining it is some ask. As for the tournament, can't get excited and don't plan to watch it. Football just wasn't supposed to be like this. FIFA are just abhorrent.
Think the winner will come from either Argentina or Brazil, though sticking with Spain who's 9/1 and mbappe at 10/1 looks a good bet for top scorer too.Always enjoy the world cup and will watch what I can of it . FIFA have made a dreadful choice and should never have been held in Qatar . Haven't watched FiFA uncovered on Netflix yet been told it's good ,Guy that told me about it said that the USA I think it was had a much better pitch for this world cup.
Donegal Hibby
15-11-2022, 07:29 PM
Not looking to good for Martin Boyle.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/martin-boyle-doubts-grow-over-hibs-forwards-world-cup-participation-as-australia-fly-potential-replacement-in-3919793
HibeeHibernia
15-11-2022, 07:49 PM
Not looking to good for Martin Boyle.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/martin-boyle-doubts-grow-over-hibs-forwards-world-cup-participation-as-australia-fly-potential-replacement-in-3919793
here's hoping he can get fit in time for it mate but if they have flown someone out it would suggest the writings on the wall. :flag:
15-11-2022, 08:02 PM
Come on England ⚽️❤️😄
15-11-2022, 09:02 PM
The winner of the Argentina Brazil semi will go on and beat France or Spain in the final (according to my predictor)
"Outsider" - Senegal
Posted on the bookie bashing thread but applicable here. PP got a decent offer on
Bet £10 on the golden Boot winner and receive a free £1 bet for EVERY shot on target AND goal scored by said player
SJNB Hibby
15-11-2022, 09:17 PM
Feeling Uruguay.
remember 1986
I have all sorts of other world cup dates for most of the other countries
SJNB Hibby
15-11-2022, 09:18 PM
Come on England ⚽️❤️😄
Aye right
Donegal Hibby
15-11-2022, 09:19 PM
The winner of the Argentina Brazil semi will go on and beat France or Spain in the final (according to my predictor)
"Outsider" - Senegal
Posted on the bookie bashing thread but applicable here. PP got a decent offer on
Bet £10 on the golden Boot winner and receive a free £1 bet for EVERY shot on target AND goal scored by said player
I must have made a mistake as I've worked out Spain will play Argentina in quarter finals ?
Stairway 2 7
16-11-2022, 06:58 AM
Seen similar videos, so weird
https://mobile.twitter.com/FBAwayDays/status/1592485080349708288
Football Away Days
@FBAwayDays
Qatar are hiring people to pretend to be fans and build the atmosphere up for the World Cup
16-11-2022, 07:51 AM
Another few weeks of totally pointless interviews filling all the column inches/bandwith that the editors need to fill, here's this insightful bit of journalism from Sam Vokes on the BBC website in the Wales camp;
There has been a lot of questions about people playing and picking up knocks over the last few weeks.There have been conversations about Gareth Bale's fitness for the last couple of years, but whenever he turns up for a Wales camp, and we've seen it in the last two play-offs, that he produces.
I don't think there needs to be a question about his fitness. When he puts that Wales shirt on it is 100% Gareth Bale and that is what you get.
Fascinating Sam. But what's the actual point of what youve said?
Stairway 2 7
16-11-2022, 09:58 AM
A few countries made up of frenchmen and Qatar just a jumble sale
https://mobile.twitter.com/ZachLowy/status/1592530938009116675
Zach Lowy
@ZachLowy
137 players will be playing in the World Cup for a different country than the one they were born in, per
@Podcastinfinito
:
16-11-2022, 10:23 AM
Come on England ⚽️❤️😄
16-11-2022, 10:37 AM
Are all the videos of actors dressed up as fans of various nations legit or is it part of some advertising campaign and the internet is doing a bit of mischief making?
16-11-2022, 10:51 AM
I'm actually surprised at the lack of hype I have seen so far down here, usually talking about its coming home.
Do have an 11 fold for Monday to Friday with all the favourites on paper at 29-1 with a 30 pound bet on.
Teams in caps is who I have.
ENGLAND vs Iran
ARGENTINA vs Saudi
DENMARK vs Tunisia
FRANCE vs Australia
GERMANY vs Japan
SPAIN vs Costa Rica
BELGIUM vs Canada
PORTUGAL vs Ghana
BRAZIL vs Serbia
NETHERLANDS vs Ecuador
ENGLAND vs Usa
I understand football don't work like that and someone will probably let me down.
Should never have been held there, having said that I will of counse watch it, hopefully football will overcome politics, not holding my breath though.
Stairway 2 7
16-11-2022, 11:50 AM
Are all the videos of actors dressed up as fans of various nations legit or is it part of some advertising campaign and the internet is doing a bit of mischief making?
It's apparently the workers of the stadiums that are being paid $10 a day to help create atmosphere, mostly from Pakistan. I'd read how football bloggers from around the world are being paid to come and be positive about the world Cup also. But seeing some of the fan parks and pop up hotels ,it looks more like fyre festival
16-11-2022, 11:53 AM
Come on England ⚽️❤️😄
Away and s***e in your hat.
16-11-2022, 12:08 PM
Looking forward to the further adventures of Harry Maguire over the next 3 games 😁
16-11-2022, 01:16 PM
Feels a bit flat. Usually there would be so much hype around a WC and what England are going to do etc.
I’ve barely heard a peep about it. Just feels like there’s a lot less interest than normal.
He's here!
16-11-2022, 01:59 PM
Feels a bit flat. Usually there would be so much hype around a WC and what England are going to do etc.
I’ve barely heard a peep about it. Just feels like there’s a lot less interest than normal.
Partly because it's being crammed into the middle of a domestic season and doesn't feel like a normal World Cup, but primarily because it's a tournament many don't believe should be taking place in Qatar. I'll certainly be giving it a miss.
He's here!
16-11-2022, 02:04 PM
I'm planning on giving it a miss. I'm not a massive football fan truth be told, but I'm also a teacher by trade. Watching the WC just feels too much like accepting things I'm against. It's all too much 'Berlin 1936' for me. I don't fully blame FIFA. If people watch it, if they buy the stuff, if the players play, if the media support, then we're all involved. I won't judge. I watched the F1 Qatar race and felt bad about doing so. But I also own an iPhone, bought because it does what I need it to do and what I know, but I also know what some of the practices are which go into making it. I'm not judging anyone who does, I've got my own failings as pointed out, but I will be trying not to watch this.
"Nothing matters at all, the needle returns to the start of the song and we all sing along like before". I was impressed by the BLM approach in F1 and in football, but it all seems a bit poor to attend now.
Indeed. Personally I don't think any international football team should be going near this tournament, while among fans there's a depressing 'ach I don't like the regime but it's fitba so I'll be watching' mentality.
16-11-2022, 02:27 PM
Yep...very flat even in the engerland press. France for me ....😁
16-11-2022, 02:28 PM
I'm off work next week on holiday and thought I'd be looking forward to watching the games, turns out I have zero excitement at all about any of it
Stairway 2 7
16-11-2022, 02:29 PM
Partly because it's being crammed into the middle of a domestic season and doesn't feel like a normal World Cup, but primarily because it's a tournament many don't believe should be taking place in Qatar. I'll certainly be giving it a miss.
Did you not say previously you don't watch world cups. I can't wait, a nice break from hibs.
Yes the regime is abhorrent but I watched the games in Russia and the US too so..
Donegal Hibby
16-11-2022, 02:43 PM
Did you not say previously you don't watch world cups. I can't wait, a nice break from hibs.
Yes the regime is abhorrent but I watched the games in Russia and the US too so..
I'm the same don't agree with venue of it but always enjoy the world cup 😉
He's here!
16-11-2022, 03:05 PM
Each to their own. I'm not trying to change anyone's mind, but I wouldn't watch Hibs either if they happened to tour there.
I just find it a bit dispiriting that the power of football is enough for many to push aside their qualms about what's gone on in Qatar to make this event happen, as though loving football is some sort of get out jail morality card.
He's here!
16-11-2022, 03:09 PM
Should never have been held there, having said that I will of course watch it, hopefully football will overcome politics, not holding my breath though.
How will football overcome politics? Football was complicit in the politics involved in taking the World Cup to Qatar. The game itself wields such power that it could easily have taken the tournament somewhere more palatable when it comes to human rights abuses.
EGL2000
16-11-2022, 03:40 PM
I'm actually really excited for it personally, think there could be a few upsets.
16-11-2022, 03:52 PM
Maybe one for the Holy Ground....
https://youtu.be/gHjbay54F4U
heidtheba
16-11-2022, 04:00 PM
How will football overcome politics? Football was complicit in the politics involved in taking the World Cup to Qatar. The game itself wields such power that it could easily have taken the tournament somewhere more palatable when it comes to human rights abuses.
How good would it have been if the committee had said "Dear Qatar, your bid was successful on a number of points, but failed on x, y, z issues. Get these sorted and you can have it the next again time. Yours, World Football." that could have been quite powerful.
16-11-2022, 04:18 PM
This is by far the least I've ever been interested in a World Cup. I only learned the kick off time for the first match last weekend because the wife asked me. Mid season, injured players dropping like flies and the political issues all play a part.
16-11-2022, 04:51 PM
Me too, I always enjoy watching a World Cup, even if I have major concerns about the politics.
Donegal Hibby
16-11-2022, 06:12 PM
Me too, I always enjoy watching a World Cup, even if I have major concerns about the politics.
I also have the same concerns about the political side of it too and the whole thing stinks of corruption and FIFA are entirely to be blamed here . Once it starts though I will be watching as much of it as I can . The best players in the world competing against one another, on that note it could be our last chance to see Messi , Ronaldo and Luka modric in a world cup which I don't want to miss out seeing either!
norhfc
16-11-2022, 06:18 PM
I hoped one of the bigger countries like Brazil would have pulled out starting a domino effect. This hasn’t happened so me not watching it makes absolutely no difference at all. Not up for it but will no doubt watch the more attractive games.
StirlingHibee
16-11-2022, 06:44 PM
Me too. However, now looking forward to it and will watch as much as I can. England's group is fascinating - a real geo-political edge with all of England's games and USA-Iran could be interesting.
16-11-2022, 06:59 PM
Think I last sat down and properly absorbed a WC in 2002. Will treat this one like every other, not that interested but will watch the odd game if it's on.
Got plans to do a bit groundhopping taking in non league games during the break from Hibs, starting Saturday in Linlithgow, and I'm looking forward to that more.
It's maybe a generational thing and the WC was a bigger deal in the past because of it's rarity and the spectacle of only seeing players every 4 years. If I was so inclined to could watch all these players any time I wanted now and it's been the same for all of my adult life.
Donegal Hibby
16-11-2022, 07:45 PM
Me too. However, now looking forward to it and will watch as much as I can. England's group is fascinating - a real geo-political edge with all of England's games and USA-Iran could be interesting.
England's groups a interesting one , USA - Iran game should be good . Will be very interested in Spain, Germany and Japan games .Think they will be tight games also would be interested in seeing Qatar going out as soon as possible too though wouldn't surprise me to see them get a few dodgy decisions from the referees too
StirlingHibee
16-11-2022, 07:54 PM
England's groups a interesting one , USA - Iran game should be good . Will be very interested in Spain, Germany and Japan games .Think they will be tight games also would be interested in seeing Qatar going out as soon as possible too though wouldn't surprise me to see them get a few dodgy decisions from the referees too
Always embarrassing if the host country does not make it through the group stages. If I remember correctly, it's only happened once - South Africa (2010).
Donegal Hibby
16-11-2022, 08:42 PM
Always embarrassing if the host country does not make it through the group stages. If I remember correctly, it's only happened once - South Africa (2010).
Remember it well , had a Spain backed to win it very early on and had a good bit of money coming my way if they won . It was the Netherlands who Spain played in final and they were very anti football in it , basically tried to stop Spain playing who had iniesta ,fabregas , Silva etc , really great team they had . I also remember that horn that was at every game , really annoying I thought it was . Vuvuzela I think it was which meant " Noise maker" I think . History of the world cup here .
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/FIFA_World_Cup
Stairway 2 7
16-11-2022, 10:01 PM
9 quid salad at the fan zone looks decent..
https://mobile.twitter.com/FootyScran/status/1592878355954937856
£160 a night pop up room👌
https://mobile.twitter.com/barstoolsports/status/1592612316331532289
16-11-2022, 10:10 PM
9 quid salad at the fan zone looks decent..
https://mobile.twitter.com/FootyScran/status/1592878355954937856
£160 a night pop up room👌
https://mobile.twitter.com/barstoolsports/status/1592612316331532289
Tynecastle has better facilities than that.
Stairway 2 7
16-11-2022, 10:16 PM
Tynecastle has better facilities than that.
Qatar doesn't have stairs to nowhere like the bus shelter. Although their stadium lounges and hearts castle view lounge, both have similar views of Edinburgh Castle
Donegal Hibby
16-11-2022, 10:31 PM
Theres 13 ex SPFL players going to the world cup , who are they?
16-11-2022, 11:35 PM
Theres 13 ex SPFL players going to the world cup , who are they?
Virgil van Dijk
Jason Cummings
Jackson Irvine
That'll get things started :greengrin
16-11-2022, 11:43 PM
Virgil van Dijk
Jason Cummings
Jackson Irvine
That'll get things started :greengrin
James Maddison
Jamie MacLaren
Jeremie Frimpong
Kasper Schmeichel
16-11-2022, 11:46 PM
James Maddison
Jamie MacLaren
Jeremie Frimpong
Kasper Schmeichel
Aaron Ramsey
Donegal Hibby
16-11-2022, 11:54 PM
Aaron Ramsey
Think that's 8 , five more to go!
16-11-2022, 11:58 PM
Harry Soutar
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2022, 12:00 AM
Harry Soutar
Your on the ball tonight HH :aok:. 4 to go now
17-11-2022, 12:09 AM
Danny Ward
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2022, 12:18 AM
Danny Ward
3 more mate
17-11-2022, 12:22 AM
3 more mate
Timothy Weah
Liam Miller
Eiji Kawashima
17-11-2022, 12:26 AM
Might be 14 - Olivier Ntcham switched to Cameroon I think?
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2022, 12:33 AM
Timothy Weah
Liam Miller
Eiji Kawashima
Had Weah , Kawashima and Ntcham but not Miller who's he ?
17-11-2022, 12:35 AM
Had Weah , Kawashima and Ntcham but not Miller who's he ?
Canadian played for St Johnstone IIRC.
Edit, Kilmarnock it was...
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2022, 12:39 AM
Canadian played for St Johnstone IIRC.
Edit, Kilmarnock it was...
Just checked and your right and you also caught me out on Jason Cummings who I didn't have either so it's 15 and theres one left I have ! Happy hunting buddy 😄
He's here!
17-11-2022, 06:27 AM
Do you mean they're not clicking at present? They've reached the semi-final and final of the last two major tournaments which is the best England have done for 50 years.
17-11-2022, 06:32 AM
Do you mean they're not clicking at present? They've reached the semi-final and final of the last two major tournaments which is the best England have done for 50 years.
Did something momentous happen 50 years ago? (Leaving aside the 0-7 of course). I do not recall hearing of this.
17-11-2022, 07:45 AM
How quiet the English are just now is a bit worrying. Much prefer when they’re talking about winning it and “it’s coming home” before a ball is kicked
17-11-2022, 07:53 AM
Since the Euro's final they've been pretty terrible though.. I think this team has already peaked.
Things have gone stale with Southgate, and he should have moved on.
Stairway 2 7
17-11-2022, 08:04 AM
They have been questioning whether to sack Southgate for the last 6 months. Not won in their last 6 games, relegated, beat of Hungary twice and one 0-4 at home
He'll need an impressive tournament not to be sacked after it.
17-11-2022, 08:23 AM
Since the Euro's final they've been pretty terrible though.. I think this team has already peaked.
Things have gone stale with Southgate, and he should have moved on.
The downturn can happen quite spectacularly quickly in international football as well.
France won major tournaments in 98 and 00 and were humiliated in the group stages in 2002.
Spain won major tournaments in 08, 10 and 12 and were horsed out in the group stages in 2014.
Germany won the WC in 2014, Euro semi finals in 2016 then finished bottom of their group in 2018 and lost their round of 16 match in 2020(1).
Italy won the last Euros and aren't even at this WC.
England never hit the heights of any of those teams and have been on an obvious downward spiral since the Euros. I'm never really that bothered if England do well or not, it's largely irrelevant to me, but I don't see anything to suggest they will be winning this tournament. A collection of good players but not a good team.
They always have a couple of strange choices squad wise, coady, Phillips and gallagher for me shouldn’t be there all 3 good players but all 3 aren’t playing well just now, Phillips barely played at all, Wilson as well defo in good form but an international striker? guys like Tammy abraham, Tomori sitting at home.
I think what brings an end to successful cycles at international level is the managers work like it is in clubs, build a squad, a group that work and then it eventually works against them as they stay too loyal to players that should be either left out as form dictates or have maybe started to hit the wrong end of their careers
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2022, 10:21 AM
They didn't win anything though . Final against Italy , I thought Italy looked much the better team and deserved to win it even though England had the advantage of playing at home , the semi final you mentioned I wonder who they played to get there as they normally get a easy enough run of games even this world cup they should top the group and will probably play someone easy in last 16 , only facing there first serious opponent in quarter final .Some of there results over the past few years have been poor .beat 2-1 by Czechs , 4-0 defeat to Hungary at home , 0-0 with the Swiss and beaten on penalties, lost 1-0 to Denmark at home , 3-1 to the Dutch . England are a massively under performing imo .They have some very good players but don't seem to click as a team as maybe Germany , France and Spain have done in recent years.
Yorkshire HFC
17-11-2022, 10:39 AM
Good article in The Times today on the infrastructure build for the tournament. What on earth is a tiny country like Qatar going to do with 32 state of the art training complexes - let alone the stadiums, hotels, restaurants, transport links etc. built for a month long tournament?
I guess most of them will just be demolished?
The world is, truly, mad.
17-11-2022, 11:06 AM
Good article in The Times today on the infrastructure build for the tournament. What on earth is a tiny country like Qatar going to do with 32 state of the art training complexes - let alone the stadiums, hotels, restaurants, transport links etc. built for a month long tournament?
I think a fair few of the stadiums were built in such a way that they could be dismantled, sold and then reassembled elsewhere.
I still maintain that was the motivation for Scotland playing Qatar at ER in 2015. It was a crazy footballing decision as even winning hammered our world ranking. I still maintain that at least part of one of the WC stadiums will end up in Mount Florida at some point in the next few years.
Stairway 2 7
17-11-2022, 11:07 AM
A lot of the visitors are staying in pop up villages. Pretty crazy and at a cost of billions, not to mention thousands of lives
Most of the stadiums will be halved from 40k to 20k, one will be dismantled as its made from shipping containers.
https://hukoomi.gov.qa/en/article/world-cup-stadiums#:~:text=After%20the%20tournament%2C%20Lus ail%20Stadium,Qatar's%20commitment%20to%20sustaina ble%20development.
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2022, 11:42 AM
Better watching it at home .
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/20445091/world-cup-fan-zone-england-beer-price/
17-11-2022, 11:50 AM
This is by far the least I've ever been interested in a World Cup. I only learned the kick off time for the first match last weekend because the wife asked me. Mid season, injured players dropping like flies and the political issues all play a part.
I have no idea when this starts, i've not seen much at all here advertising the England games.
I know it's soon, but no idea when or what time?:confused:
Paulie Walnuts
17-11-2022, 12:35 PM
I have no idea when this starts, i've not seen much at all here advertising the England games.
I know it's soon, but no idea when or what time?:confused:
Sunday 4pm.
17-11-2022, 12:38 PM
Sunday 7pm.
4pm here
Paulie Walnuts
17-11-2022, 12:39 PM
4pm here
Sunday 4pm it is!
supermcginn
17-11-2022, 12:44 PM
They always have a couple of strange choices squad wise, coady, Phillips and gallagher for me shouldn’t be there all 3 good players but all 3 aren’t playing well just now, Phillips barely played at all, Wilson as well defo in good form but an international striker? guys like Tammy abraham, Tomori sitting at home.
I think what brings an end to successful cycles at international level is the managers work like it is in clubs, build a squad, a group that work and then it eventually works against them as they stay too loyal to players that should be either left out as form dictates or have maybe started to hit the wrong end of their careers
I'd take Callum Wilson over Abraham every single day of the week, he's been different class for Newcastle since he signed and he was excellent at Bournemouth. Abraham has only scored 3 goals all season and was booed by the Roma fans at the weekend.
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2022, 12:45 PM
I read England had there first Training session and it was 33C , would imagine that sort of heat will effect some European teams . I see Messi scored in 5-0 friendly against UAE .Good goal too .
https://twitter.com/BocaJrsGolArg/status/1592914970026512384
17-11-2022, 01:05 PM
I read this and now really want the Dutch to do it.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2022/nov/17/louis-van-gaal-netherlands-world-cup-qatar-final-act
17-11-2022, 01:15 PM
I read this and now really want the Dutch to do it.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2022/nov/17/louis-van-gaal-netherlands-world-cup-qatar-final-act
yes. I wouldn’t mind, I’ll never forget his wonderful Ajax team in the mid 90s.
all sentiment aside though, that’s a ghastly shiny orange kit the Dutch have this year. Orange shorts too, which never looks right to me.
I'd take Callum Wilson over Abraham every single day of the week, he's been different class for Newcastle since he signed and he was excellent at Bournemouth. Abraham has only scored 3 goals all season and was booed by the Roma fans at the weekend.
He scored 30+ for Roma in serie A, won a European trophy, callum Wilson has been good no denying that but he rarely scores above 10 a season
K-Zazu
17-11-2022, 01:37 PM
https://www.dezeen.com/2021/11/24/stadium-974-fenwick-iribarren-architects-qatar-world-cup/amp/
This is pretty cool
supermcginn
17-11-2022, 01:39 PM
He scored 30+ for Roma in serie A, won a European trophy, callum Wilson has been good no denying that but he rarely scores above 10 a season
He didnt i'm afraid, he's scored 20 league goals in 52 games and only 3 this season! Wilson has averaged nearly a goal every other game for Newcastle in the last 3 years, 2 and a bit of which the team was absolutely terrible.
17-11-2022, 03:25 PM
yes. I wouldn’t mind, I’ll never forget his wonderful Ajax team in the mid 90s.
all sentiment aside though, that’s a ghastly shiny orange kit the Dutch have this year. Orange shorts too, which never looks right to me.
i just revisited that final. What. A. Matchup. Look at the Ajax side, every single one of those names are household names for every self respecting fan, and a lot of them came through the youth squad. The sub goalie is the only one of the 16 i wasnt familar with! And one of the great Milan sides too.
Ajax-Van der Sar, Reizeger, Blind, Rijkaard, DeBoer, Seedorf, Finidi George, Edgar Davids, deBoer, Overmars, Litmanen subs Grim, Winston Bogarde, Kanu, Kluivert, van Vossen.
Milan- Rossi Panucci Maldini, Albertini, Costacurta, Baresi,:not worth Donadoni Desailly Boban Massaro Simeone
You wonder how much of that was down to the system or the talent van Gaal had to work with.
17-11-2022, 03:42 PM
i just revisited that final. What. A. Matchup. Look at the Ajax side, every single one of those names are household names for every self respecting fan, and a lot of them came through the youth squad. The sub goalie is the only one of the 16 i wasnt familar with! And one of the great Milan sides too.
Ajax-Van der Sar, Reizeger, Blind, Rijkaard, DeBoer, Seedorf, Finidi George, Edgar Davids, deBoer, Overmars, Litmanen subs Grim, Winston Bogarde, Kanu, Kluivert, van Vossen.
Milan- Rossi Panucci Maldini, Albertini, Costacurta, Baresi,:not worth Donadoni Desailly Boban Massaro Simeone
You wonder how much of that was down to the system or the talent van Gaal had to work with.
yeah, and they were so unlucky not to make it two in a row the following season, even after losing Rijkaard and Seedorf.
beaten on pens by Juve in the Final.
17-11-2022, 05:56 PM
Just found out that ex Hibee David Wotherspoon is at the World Cup representing Canada. Apparently his Mum was born in Canada.
Fair play to the fella.
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2022, 06:37 PM
Goal from world cup cup team Morocco which caught the keeper out .
https://twitter.com/marwaninho139/status/1593281832002457602
17-11-2022, 06:45 PM
yeah, and they were so unlucky not to make it two in a row the following season, even after losing Rijkaard and Seedorf.
beaten on pens by Juve in the Final.
Good knowledge.
Just found out that ex Hibee David Wotherspoon is at the World Cup representing Canada. Apparently his Mum was born in Canada.
Fair play to the fella.
And a bit of cash for St. Johnstone
StirlingHibee
17-11-2022, 07:26 PM
Agree with a previous comment that England are a collection of (very) good players but not a good team. However, they have a chance. Southgate is prone to being conservative in some areas tactically. If he can ditch his risk averse approach, then I think they could go all the way. This means starting with the likes of Alexandor-Arnold, Grealish, Maddison, Saka, Foden.
17-11-2022, 08:10 PM
https://twitter.com/amjadt25/status/1593271354803032064?s=46&t=305M_ZrU2qb2ddTYuCNong
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2022, 08:24 PM
https://twitter.com/amjadt25/status/1593271354803032064?s=46&t=305M_ZrU2qb2ddTYuCNong
Wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if this was true .
Fuzzywuzzy
18-11-2022, 07:28 AM
Not sure if I'm misremembering but did the world cup not normally kick off on the Friday?
Gloucester Hibs
18-11-2022, 07:49 AM
Not sure if I'm misremembering but did the world cup not normally kick off on the Friday?
Also not sure when or why they changed it from the holders to the hosts kicking off the first game? 2010 maybe? Much better to start the tournament with one of the big teams (might get an upset like 1990 or 2002) than the shanter fixture we have on Sunday!
18-11-2022, 07:54 AM
Friday in Islamic countries is very much like a Sunday used to be here. People will go to Mosque then gather to eat brunch together (and some of the brunches can be ****ing epic). A lot of amenities will close as well.
Not sure if that's the reason for the kick off being a Sunday but it's one potential explanation.
Gloucester Hibs
18-11-2022, 08:03 AM
Friday in Islamic countries is very much like a Sunday used to be here. People will go to Mosque then gather to eat brunch together (and some of the brunches can be ****ing epic). A lot of amenities will close as well.
Not sure if that's the reason for the kick off being a Sunday but it's one potential explanation.
Yeah Friday-Saturday is effectively the weekend in Islamic countries. When I worked in Qatar it was usually not possible to work the Friday even if I wanted to, the Saturday not so much.
18-11-2022, 08:04 AM
Also not sure when or why they changed it from the holders to the hosts kicking off the first game? 2010 maybe? Much better to start the tournament with one of the big teams (might get an upset like 1990 or 2002) than the shanter fixture we have on Sunday!
Germany 06 was the first time the hosts opened the tournament.
I also preferred it when it was the holders but the opening game traditionally was usually a poor game with very few goals.
Fuzzywuzzy
18-11-2022, 08:26 AM
Cheers for this makes sense. I was listening to the radio this morning and it sounds pretty bleak. Hardly any fans about
Donegal Hibby
18-11-2022, 09:51 AM
James Madison of England pulled out of another training session and appears to be struggling to make opening fixture.karim Benzema is also a major doubt for opening game against Australia as well. Another story of the carry on in Qatar here
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/20466933/england-world-cup-stadium-booze-ban/
18-11-2022, 10:15 AM
Beer being pushed further away from Stadiums now: https://www.theguardian.com/football/2022/nov/17/world-cup-hosts-qatar-pressure-fifa-to-stop-beer-sales-at-stadiums
EDIT: Now officially banned at or around stadiums, only in FIFA designated Fan Zones.
EGL2000
18-11-2022, 11:23 AM
Tbf can understand why they didn't take Tammy. In awful form over in Italy this season. Tomori however is a very strange absence.
18-11-2022, 11:25 AM
Really good listen last night on 5 Live.
World Cup Daily giving a preview of all the teams.
Worth a listen!
Think it’s a very open tournament- though can’t see England winning it especially in the heat.
France have so many injuries sadly which may be an issue.
18-11-2022, 11:35 AM
This world Cup is a joke already and it's no even started, journalists getting shut down, sin tax on booze and now banned from. Stadiums all together. Just need a gay couple getting arrested and we'll have BINGO!
18-11-2022, 11:36 AM
Beer being pushed further away from Stadiums now: https://www.theguardian.com/football/2022/nov/17/world-cup-hosts-qatar-pressure-fifa-to-stop-beer-sales-at-stadiums
EDIT: Now officially banned at or around stadiums, only in FIFA designated Fan Zones.
I'm very much a believer in respecting other peoples cultures when you visit their country. Not in the sense that I respect a belief that homosexuality should be punishable by death or imprisonment is an acceptable punishment for carrying a set of rosary beads or whatever. That's abhorrent and should be called out as such. I mean more that if public drunkenness or public displays of affection are frowned upon then I would try to refrain from behaving in a way that would be offensive to my hosts.
However there is an expectation when you host a tournament like the World Cup that it is an international event and a gathering of different countries and cultures. If a country is unable to accept that gay people might want to watch a game of football or that people from many countries enjoy a beer when watching the football then they are unsuitable hosts. It seems there has been a degree of lip service paid to making the tournament open, accessible and friendly to all but now it's too late to do anything about it then the mask is starting to slip and both Fifa and the participating countries are impotent.
Lendo
18-11-2022, 11:36 AM
What a ****ing joke. Two days before kick off…
Surely Budweiser sue FIFA over it given they are the largest sponsor of the event. Why would any fan travel to this ****show?
Amazing that alcohol being consumed isn’t so much of a problem for the hosts if you’re willing to stump up £19,000 for a hospitality package…..
18-11-2022, 11:40 AM
Can't remember any amenities in Egypt closing on a Friday or in Jordan for that matter.
18-11-2022, 11:46 AM
This world Cup is a joke already and it's no even started, journalists getting shut down, sin tax on booze and now banned from. Stadiums all together. Just need a gay couple getting arrested and we'll have BINGO!
When is the first England fan going to caught with some chang on his person?
Death Penalty.
18-11-2022, 11:48 AM
Can't remember any amenities in Egypt closing on a Friday or in Jordan for that matter.
Different level of Islamic observation.
Guess you have Saudi Arabia in the one side and Turkey on the other.
Had some great sessions in Turkey, can’t imagine that in Saudi.
18-11-2022, 12:03 PM
Turkey is a secular country tho.
18-11-2022, 12:17 PM
Even though it's a moral dilemma I wont pretend I'm not going to watch it. Its not as if this is the first time a world cup has been handed to an unsavory regime. Argentina were still chucking their regime's opponents out of planes 100 miles over the south Atlantic as Archie Gemmill was scoring his worldie and Mr Putin's approach to opposition was well known long before they were awarded a world cup.
Chuck in that many folk in Brazil were opposed to their country with it's crushing social and economic problems squandering billions on a football tournament and that Mexico is a country rife with political corruption and you can practically make a moral case against any country hosting a world cup.
The only thing that really makes this world cup unique in modern times is the fact that FIFA's hubris was shown to have reached such levels that they barely made any pretense of keeping the greed and corruption that underpins the 'bidding' process under the radar. You could probably make a better and more believable case for Qatar hosting the world igloo building championships than the planets biggest football tournament and the fact that that didn't bother FIFA shows just how deep the corruption was and almost certainly prompted the FBI to decide it was time they were brought to heel.
Anyway, there's some interesting games in the first round of fixtures and they are always the best ones to watch because if you lose it it makes getting out of your group far more problematic ... looking forward to:
Senegal v Netherlands
USA V Wales*
Mexico v Poland
Morocco v Croatia
Germany v Japan
Switzerland v Cameroon
Uruguay v South Korea
Portugal v Ghana
* There's something unwholesome, possibly even diabolical, about the Welsh being good at football, the sooner they all get back to their Max Boyce records and watching Clwb Rygbi the better :greengrin
18-11-2022, 12:23 PM
Strange no games tomorrow
18-11-2022, 12:25 PM
Just want to see some good football to cheer us all up from the economic doom and gloom and crap weather.
18-11-2022, 12:45 PM
Come on England ⚽️❤️😄
England🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴
Donegal Hibby
18-11-2022, 12:49 PM
Surely Budweiser sue FIFA over it given they are the largest sponsor of the event. Why would any fan travel to this ****show?
Amazing that alcohol being consumed isn’t so much of a problem for the hosts if you’re willing to stump up £19,000 for a hospitality package…..
England's sponsor lucozade have pulled all there branding name out of world cup also Budweiser put up a twit on drinking ban but quickly took it off .
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/9752836/world-cup-beer-alcohol-ban-budweiser-qatar-response/
18-11-2022, 02:05 PM
Even though it's a moral dilemma I wont pretend I'm not going to watch it. Its not as if this is the first time a world cup has been handed to an unsavory regime. Argentina were still chucking their regime's opponents out of planes 100 miles over the south Atlantic as Archie Gemmill was scoring his worldie and Mr Putin's approach to opposition was well known long before they were awarded a world cup.
Chuck in that many folk in Brazil were opposed to their country with it's crushing social and economic problems squandering billions on a football tournament and that Mexico is a country rife with political corruption and you can practically make a moral case against any country hosting a world cup.
The only thing that really makes this world cup unique in modern times is the fact that FIFA's hubris was shown to have reached such levels that they barely made any pretense of keeping the greed and corruption that underpins the 'bidding' process under the radar. You could probably make a better and more believable case for Qatar hosting the world igloo building championships than the planets biggest football tournament and the fact that that didn't bother FIFA shows just how deep the corruption was and almost certainly prompted the FBI to decide it was time they were brought to heel.
Anyway, there's some interesting games in the first round of fixtures and they are always the best ones to watch because if you lose it it makes getting out of your group far more problematic ... looking forward to:
Senegal v Netherlands
USA V Wales*
Mexico v Poland
Morocco v Croatia
Germany v Japan
Switzerland v Cameroon
Uruguay v South Korea
Portugal v Ghana
* There's something unwholesome, possibly even diabolical, about the Welsh being good at football, the sooner they all get back to their Max Boyce records and watching Clwb Rygbi the better :greengrin
On the 'moral dilemma' question, its also just symptomatic of how much of the world lives under terrible governments. im looking at my World Cup wallchart now, if we go down the list of teams, starting with Qatars group we have Ecuador repressing indigenous peoples, arbitrary arrests and police brutality in Senegal, Qatar's murderous slave culture and repressing LGBT+ is well known, so Holland is your best crack at a 'free' liberal democracy. Iran we know about in Group B, and Group C is an all round nightmare with all 4 countries particularly Saudi, but also Poland's authoritarian right wing populism where its extremely difficult to be openly LGBT, Mexico very bad on human rights, Argentina just elected a left wing liberal government but abortion still illegal and hyperinflation has resulted in educated people fleeing the country...
Theres always a political reason not to support a country if you want to try hard enough:greengrin
18-11-2022, 03:17 PM
On the 'moral dilemma' question, its also just symptomatic of how much of the world lives under terrible governments. im looking at my World Cup wallchart now, if we go down the list of teams, starting with Qatars group we have Ecuador repressing indigenous peoples, arbitrary arrests and police brutality in Senegal, Qatar's murderous slave culture and repressing LGBT+ is well known, so Holland is your best crack at a 'free' liberal democracy. Iran we know about in Group B, and Group C is an all round nightmare with all 4 countries particularly Saudi, but also Poland's authoritarian right wing populism where its extremely difficult to be openly LGBT, Mexico very bad on human rights, Argentina just elected a left wing liberal government but abortion still illegal and hyperinflation has resulted in educated people fleeing the country...
Theres always a political reason not to support a country if you want to try hard enough:greengrin
There's so many reasons there to not support one team or another, i'm srtuggling to pick one. so after hours of looking at the list of teams, i think i will just restrict my support to England.
18-11-2022, 03:19 PM
England
It's comin' ome, it's comin' ome.....:greengrin:greengrin
Donegal Hibby
18-11-2022, 03:44 PM
It's comin' ome, it's comin' ome.....:greengrin:greengrin
Or maybe it's a case of " ITS COMING HOME.......... EARLY :greengrin
18-11-2022, 04:48 PM
There's so many reasons there to not support one team or another, i'm srtuggling to pick one. so after hours of looking at the list of teams, i think i will just restrict my support to England.
18-11-2022, 05:06 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fh3WtsQWYAE-fKo?format=jpg&name=medium
18-11-2022, 05:10 PM
When is the first England fan going to caught with some chang on his person?
Death Penalty.
I still shudder to remember when filling in my visa to do some work in Riyadh, one of the boxes I had to tick to confirm I'd read said, "I understand that the penalty for bringing drugs into the country is death". Fair made me stop and think, even though I had no intention of taking drugs there.
Donegal Hibby
18-11-2022, 06:14 PM
So it's Qatar v Ecuador Sunday at 4 o'clock .
Monday's England v Iran 1 o'clock , Senegal v Netherlands 4 o'clock and USA v Wales 7 o'clock . Hopefully I have the times right? A England win , a Dutch win and maybe a draw in last is my prediction.
pollution
18-11-2022, 06:21 PM
What a shan state of affairs. Billion or so potential viewers and thousands of visitors that the Qatar authorities were meant to impress
but blown away by their inability to alter their hard and fast rules. Money talks and FIFA swallowed it hook line and sinker.
Maybe on the day itself the rules might be relaxed...
Hibees1973
18-11-2022, 06:26 PM
Maybe it's my age, but not fussed about this World Cup just now.
Hopefully interest in it will pick up nearer the QF stage.
The 1978 & 1982 World Cups were the golden age for me.
StirlingHibee
18-11-2022, 06:46 PM
Just want to see some good football to cheer us all up from the economic doom and gloom and crap weather.
Me too. Football for me is a little bit of respite in ever increasing gloomy times. I understand (and agree with) those who oppose the current regime, however, were we as vociferous when Russia (arguably one of the most homophobic states in the world) were hosts in 2018. Should Scotland qualify for 2026 would we not travel to Mexico because of their horrific record on human rights (summary executions, enforced disappearances etc)? I get why some people are not onboard but I'm looking forward to the tournament. On a lighter note, I thought Glenn Hoddle made an interesting point this morning "I don't know what the players are moaning about - it was hotter in Spain (82) and in Mexico (86)".
18-11-2022, 06:54 PM
It's totally disrupting the season!!
Not that I was particularly enjoying it anyway.
18-11-2022, 07:03 PM
What a shan state of affairs. Billion or so potential viewers and thousands of visitors that the Qatar authorities were meant to impress
but blown away by their inability to alter their hard and fast rules. Money talks and FIFA swallowed it hook line and sinker.
Maybe on the day itself the rules might be relaxed...
It seems the rules can be relaxed inside the stadium if you are in hospitality, prices start at £19K.
Alcohol is only haram if you are poor.
18-11-2022, 07:13 PM
Any word on Boyler?
18-11-2022, 07:51 PM
Toxic, corrupt tournament, the uk will surely condemn and boycott the whole thing?
Up-the-slope
18-11-2022, 07:54 PM
I see its £12.50 a pint in 'fan Park' ... so pay £5000 to goto a desert to watch on 'big' TV and get rodgered ( not that thats allowed either) for a beer:faf:
18-11-2022, 08:18 PM
Toxic, corrupt tournament, the uk will surely condemn and boycott the whole thing?
Where do you draw the line?
FIFA…
Sportswashing all over the Premier League.
What about the past World Cup in Russia 2018 - Putin handing the trophy to France at the end.
Brazil issues before World Cup
South Africa issues too.
Next World Cup in Mexico and USA..(plus Canada). Is the USA squeaky clean?
The U.K. has various issues too.
18-11-2022, 08:30 PM
only AFTER both countries are out
i'm profoundly proud that Scotland at least took a stance and refused to take part :greengrin
18-11-2022, 08:35 PM
I see its £12.50 a pint in 'fan Park' ... so pay £5000 to goto a desert to watch on 'big' TV and get rodgered ( not that thats allowed either) for a beer:faf:
Well it depends who Rodger is rodgering I guess.
18-11-2022, 08:49 PM
FIFA…
What about the past World Cup in Russia 2018 - Putin handing the trophy to France at the end.
South Africa issues too.
The U.K. has various issues too.Sarcasm on my part, we are at least as bad when £'s are involved.
18-11-2022, 08:49 PM
only AFTER both countries are out
i'm profoundly proud that Scotland at least took a stance and refused to take part :greengrinWe are as one.
18-11-2022, 08:56 PM
FIFA…
South Africa issues too.
The U.K. has various issues too.
Very good point.
there can’t be many more responsible than the US government for aiding and promoting international terrorism over the decades.
18-11-2022, 11:03 PM
I see Rowles is bigging up Cummings, wouldn't be surprised to see them putting in a bid if he has a half decent world cup.
18-11-2022, 11:16 PM
I see Rowles is bigging up Cummings, wouldn't be surprised to see them putting in a bid if he has a half decent world cup.
On a slightly loosely related point, they’ve got to a World Cup with the likes of him, Atkinson, Devlin, that boy from St Mirren and Cummings they can’t be particularly strong. I quite fancy them to get pumped in every game.
I’ve done absolutely no research on that though so I’ve no idea if that’s expected for them to lose every game or if a point would be a great result for them.
I certainly don’t think they’ll do well though,
(Despite the hearts links, I think they’ll be quite a likeable team so I’m not against the idea kf them doing well)
19-11-2022, 08:13 AM
World Cup 2022: Fifa president Gianni Infantino accuses West of 'hypocrisy'.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63687412
19-11-2022, 08:17 AM
Aye, the same Infantino who still has the medal presented to him by Putin - he is just a symptom of the corruption in FIFA and I wont be taking any morality lessons from him.
Paulie Walnuts
19-11-2022, 08:19 AM
On a slightly loosely related point, they’ve got to a World Cup with the likes of him, Atkinson, Devlin, that boy from St Mirren and Cummings they can’t be particularly strong. I quite fancy them to get pumped in every game.
I’ve done absolutely no research on that though so I’ve no idea if that’s expected for them to lose every game or if a point would be a great result for them.
I certainly don’t think they’ll do well though,
(Despite the hearts links, I think they’ll be quite a likeable team so I’m not against the idea kf them doing well)
Jackson Irvine, Jamie Maclaren and Harry Souttar as well.
They’re a really poor side.
19-11-2022, 08:23 AM
Think he just managed to insult a whole number of people with that monologue! What a patronising, horrid little human being.
19-11-2022, 10:27 AM
Think he just managed to insult a whole number of people with that monologue! What a patronising, horrid little human being.
Ginger twat
19-11-2022, 11:09 AM
FIFA failing to read the room, shocker.
Trinity Hibee
19-11-2022, 11:24 AM
Ginger twat
😂😂
19-11-2022, 11:50 AM
FIFA failing to read the room, shocker.
Not even the room, most of the planet!
19-11-2022, 12:07 PM
Not even the room, most of the planet!
"Today I feel gay".
Tomorrow you might be in jail.
19-11-2022, 12:13 PM
There are no words. Dearie me.
19-11-2022, 12:58 PM
There are no words. Dearie me.
Its a disgraceful speech. Straight out of the current Qatari playbook of trying to pin complaints about their awful human rights record on 'Islamophobia' or 'anti Qatari racism'. Its the kind of false flag distraction that Donald Trump was so good at. Almost 90% of the population of Qatar are migrant workers THEMSELVES, so its just ridiculous to suggest the demands for change are driven by Western Europeans, the attacks are often coming from these countries own downtrodden populations.
19-11-2022, 01:04 PM
Has this guy never heard the expression 'when you are in a hole stop digging'
The fact that he's felt the need to double down on this car crash decision which has done nothing less drag FIFA's reputation below the level of the gutter it was already in says everything about just how out of touch the folk running that organisation are. If he had any sense he would shut himself in a room with the rest of his cronies, shut his eyes, cover his ears and wait for the tournament to end. After which they should resolve never again to repeat what has been the dumbest decision in FIFA's history.
19-11-2022, 01:36 PM
No booze near the stadiums. Unless you are in corporate hospitality.
The Prophet Mohamed and Allah are fine with you getting smashed as long as you are paying for a box.
Pretty sure that’s one of the verses in the Koran.
Lendo
19-11-2022, 01:43 PM
No booze near the stadiums. Unless you are in corporate hospitality.
The Prophet Mohamed and Allah are fine with you getting smashed as long as you are paying for a box.
It’s going to bring a whole new meaning to ‘going out on the lash’
19-11-2022, 01:58 PM
"Today I feel gay".
Tomorrow you might be in jail.
"Today I feel like a corrupt baldy twat who loves a brown envelope and fails in any attempt to connect with normal humans"
Its a disgraceful speech. Straight out of the current Qatari playbook of trying to pin complaints about their awful human rights record on 'Islamophobia' or 'anti Qatari racism'. Its the kind of false flag distraction that Donald Trump was so good at. Almost 90% of the population of Qatar are migrant workers THEMSELVES, so its just ridiculous to suggest the demands for change are driven by Western Europeans, the attacks are often coming from these countries own downtrodden populations.
Spot on!
He needs to make sure his Rolex, Sports Car or whatever freebie is in the bag!
19-11-2022, 04:24 PM
https://news.stv.tv/entertainment/joe-lycett-starts-countdown-to-shred-10k-over-david-beckhams-qatar-world-cup-deal
#benderslikebeckham
19-11-2022, 05:01 PM
Has this guy never heard the expression 'when you are in a hole stop digging'
The fact that he's felt the need to double down on this car crash decision which has done nothing less drag FIFA's reputation below the level of the gutter it was already in says everything about just how out of touch the folk running that organisation are. If he had any sense he would shut himself in a room with the rest of his cronies, shut his eyes, cover his ears and wait for the tournament to end. After which they should resolve never again to repeat what has been the dumbest decision in FIFA's history.
19-11-2022, 05:02 PM
[QUOTE=Bristolhibby;7165955]No booze near the stadiums. Unless you are in corporate hospitality.
19-11-2022, 05:03 PM
19-11-2022, 05:12 PM
[QUOTE=Bristolhibby;7165955]No booze near the stadiums. Unless you are in corporate hospitality.
Getting caught in the wrong box will get you stoned to death though.
Donegal Hibby
19-11-2022, 05:29 PM
Banning the Beer could end up costing FIFA . Maybe they will need a stiff drink themselves if this happens 😉
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/20481693/qatar-beer-ban-fifa-budweiser-compensation-world-cup-deal/
19-11-2022, 05:49 PM
I'm finding it really hard to have any enthusiasm for the World Cup this year. Normally I'm glued to it and try to watch as many games as I can, but there is so much wrong with international football at the moment that I really don't give a **** who wins the WC this time round. It's another corrupt money laundering exercise in a country that should never have been allowed to host a major sporting event of any kind under the current regime. Opening game, Qatar v Ecuador? I think I'll stick to Netflix and the excellent series about corruption in FIFA instead. That's just my opinion though.
19-11-2022, 06:56 PM
I’m in the minority by the looks of it but I’m buzzing about the World Cup starting tomorrow.
I’ll be at the HSL game at Easter road so I’ll probably miss most of the first game but im really looking forward to watching the other games.
19-11-2022, 07:00 PM
Banning the Beer could end up costing FIFA . Maybe they will need a stiff drink themselves if this happens [emoji6]
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/20481693/qatar-beer-ban-fifa-budweiser-compensation-world-cup-deal/12 quid for not quite a pint! ... :-(
19-11-2022, 07:03 PM
I’m in the minority by the looks of it but I’m buzzing about the World Cup starting tomorrow.
I’ll be at the HSL game at Easter road so I’ll probably miss most of the first game but im really looking forward to watching the other games.
Me too, I plan to watch as much of it as I can.
19-11-2022, 07:05 PM
Aye, the same Infantino who still has the medal presented to him by Putin - he is just a symptom of the corruption in FIFA and I wont be taking any morality lessons from him.
Couldnt agree more , FIFA is a criminal organisation that has deep rooted corruption at its heart , UEFA too for that matter
19-11-2022, 07:15 PM
Im looking forward to it. You can associate past wrong doings and politcs to virtually any World Cup tournament. As a football festival its the biggest event there is. Im English so got the added spice of "my boys" being there. Do i think England will win it? No, too many issues at the back andwill come unstuck against the best strike forces. Think Southgate is too cautious and risk averse too. Still England are a decent team and should make the QFs which over time is just about Englands world cup par.
Im looking forward to seeing the best players and the best international sides in the world going at it. I think the cup will return to South America after a period of European domination.
My darkhorse Uruguay, and a prediction at least one side from Africa/ Asia will make the QFs.
My prediction by the way is for a Brazil win
19-11-2022, 07:50 PM
Im looking forward to it. You can associate past wrong doings and politcs to virtually any World Cup tournament. As a football festival its the biggest event there is. Im English so got the added spice of "my boys" being there. Do i think England will win it? No, too many issues at the back andwill come unstuck against the best strike forces. Think Southgate is too cautious and risk averse too. Still England are a decent team and should make the QFs which over time is just about Englands world cup par.
Im looking forward to seeing the best players and the best international sides in the world going at it. I think the cup will return to South America after a period of European domination.
My darkhorse Uruguay, and a prediction at least one side from Africa/ Asia will make the QFs.
My prediction by the way is for a Brazil win
In terms of a dark horse. I wonder if Saudi Arabia could be a decent shout. Their group doesn’t look overly difficult and every game will be like a home game for them.
Think Gary Neville suggested them but Keane took the piss out of him for it (was very funny, not complaining). I’ve absolutely no idea if they’re any good or not though.
19-11-2022, 07:52 PM
Looking forward to it also.
Especially some of the last tournaments for many of the greatest players.
Just think back to covid / lockdown / no fans and no football at times - World Cups are still special and expecting some memorable moments.
Donegal Hibby
19-11-2022, 08:07 PM
12 quid for not quite a pint! ... :-(
Maybe there's a happy hour 😂
Renfrew_Hibby
19-11-2022, 08:20 PM
Looking forward to watching Canada. Don't expect them to get out of their group but they have an exceptional group of young players destined for big things and are consistently year on year one of most improving nations.
Ranked ahead of the USA (I think)
I fully expect them to have a really strong performance in what will effectively be a home World Cup in 2026.
Donegal Hibby
19-11-2022, 08:25 PM
For Scotland fans undecided yet who to support?
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/63630163
Donegal Hibby
19-11-2022, 09:20 PM
Karim Benzema ruled out of world cup . Certainly hit by injuries the French!
Trinity Hibee
19-11-2022, 09:39 PM
Shame as he’s been in great form this year.
Renfrew_Hibby
19-11-2022, 09:56 PM
Chance for Youan?
Donegal Hibby
19-11-2022, 10:08 PM
Shame as he’s been in great form this year.
It is a shame ,you always want to see the top players in a world cup and he's certainly one of them . Read that France have two more doubtful in all for Australia game
Donegal Hibby
19-11-2022, 10:13 PM
Chance for Youan?
I wish , it would give Hibs more money😄
BH1875
19-11-2022, 10:56 PM
Exclusive: Qatar bribed eight Ecuadorian players $7.4 million to lose the opener(1-0 ⚽️ 2nd half). Five Qatari and #Ecadour insiders confirmed this.We hope it's false. We hope sharing this will affect the outcome.The world should oppose FIFA corruption.
@MailSport #WorldCup2022
Going round on Twitter- wouldn’t be surprised at all
19-11-2022, 11:01 PM
It is a shame ,you always want to see the top players in a world cup and he's certainly one of them . Read that France have two more doubtful in all for Australia game
Ousmane Dembele the forgotten man will be in. France have ridiculous strength in depth, I still expect them to win it.
19-11-2022, 11:11 PM
Exclusive: Qatar bribed eight Ecuadorian players $7.4 million to lose the opener(1-0 ⚽️ 2nd half). Five Qatari and #Ecadour insiders confirmed this.We hope it's false. We hope sharing this will affect the outcome.The world should oppose FIFA corruption.
@MailSport #WorldCup2022
That's how bribing works these days.
You give £7m to a number of players who tell their mates about it so they can post about it on social media. It's safe to do that because no-one in the Ecuador FA or FIFA use social media so will never find out. :rolleyes:
Folk have actually read this rubbish and put money on Qatar winning 1-0! :hilarious
Of course, that might end up being the score, and the conspiracy will just grow even stronger. Then it'll be Senegal's turn to become millionaires overnight in return for a couple of deliberate fouls in their box.
BH1875
19-11-2022, 11:17 PM
You give £7m to a number of players who tell their mates about it so they can post about it on social media. It's safe to do that because no-one in the Ecuador FA or FIFA use social media so will never find out. :rolleyes:
Folk have actually read this rubbish and put money on Qatar winning 1-0! :hilarious
Of course, that might end up being the score, and the conspiracy will just grow even stronger. Then it'll be Senegal's turn to become millionaires overnight in return for a couple of deliberate fouls in their box.
You’ve definitely put money on it eh 😂
19-11-2022, 11:18 PM
You’ve definitely put money on it eh 😂
I probably should now you say that! :hilarious
19-11-2022, 11:20 PM
@MailSport #WorldCup2022
Korean world cup showed how to do it. Bribe the refs, not players.
Donegal Hibby
19-11-2022, 11:31 PM
Ousmane Dembele the forgotten man will be in. France have ridiculous strength in depth, I still expect them to win it.
Good player , glad it's not just me that's forgot about him though 😉
ClermistonGreen
19-11-2022, 11:35 PM
How much do we need to all chip in to buy the Hibees a win ? :flag:
Yorkshire HFC
20-11-2022, 06:22 AM
Another tournament comes round and Scotland isn't involved. Football is supposedly our national sport and the people running it continue to under perform - yet carry on as if all is well. Steve Clarke is doing a good job, but the management of Scottish football is terrible. I can still remember the joy and positivity from Argentina and Italy - we're missing out on so much by not being involved. Just watching from the sidelines seems to have become the norm for Scotland. The SFA should be ashamed and held to account.
I know (hope) these things are cyclical, but where are our heroes? Countries need them - they're important. Where are our next tennis players - how have we benefitted from the Murrays? When was the last time we had a golfer in the top 50? Our rugby team, our cricket team? The next Allan Wells? Eilish McColgan gave a lot of happiness during the summer but she seems to be doing it on her own.
These people are so important for the country - they get people out of their houses and inspire people to take up sport, be active and make more of their days. I grew up thinking Scotland was a great sporting country - I don't think we are so much now - and it's our loss. Ireland and Wales are riding high at the moment and I bet that their participation numbers will rise as a result - as well as people just feeling good about something for a few days.
20-11-2022, 06:49 AM
Korean world cup showed how to do it. Bribe the refs, not players.
I'm amazed that Italy game still isn't spoken about regularly. It's like everyone watched it, decided it was too obvious to actually be real so just blocked it out and pretended that run at their home WC was a fairy tale after all.
It was mental.
Trinity Hibee
20-11-2022, 07:06 AM
I'm amazed that Italy game still isn't spoken about regularly. It's like everyone watched it, decided it was too obvious to actually be real so just blocked it out and pretended that run at their home WC was a fairy tale after all.
It was mental.
https://football-italia.net/byron-moreno-my-only-regret-from-italy-south-korea-in-2002/
Dodgy as anything
20-11-2022, 07:34 AM
It was mental.
I didn’t think the decisions in the Italy game were as bad as the Spain game, where Spain had two disallowed goals, one for an extremely harsh push decision, the other for a ball that had gone out for a bye kick that clearly, blatantly hadn’t. Korea were my adopted team that year so I prefer to focus on how well the Koreans played (they did) and the insane atmosphere they created. But money definitely changed hands.
20-11-2022, 08:11 AM
They’re missing a few good players.
Benzena, Pogba, ****e, Nkunku, Kimpembe. All out the World Cup.
20-11-2022, 08:39 AM
I think with the ridiculous extra subs rule (6 subs allowed including extra time) teams with the deepest squads will have even more of an advantage than usual. That means the big nations, and a few squads like Japan and Serbia who seem to have a surprising amount of big league players.
Donegal Hibby
20-11-2022, 09:30 AM
Raphael Varane and Jules kounde also struggling to make first match due to injury bad well . Seem to have a very good squad of players to choose from though .
20-11-2022, 11:07 AM
Do you think if Qatar get completely embarrassed in this first game that they will take their ball and go home???
OldEast
20-11-2022, 11:09 AM
Do you think if Qatar get completely embarrassed in this first game that they will take their ball and go home???
Yea that'll happen 🥴🥴🥴
Donegal Hibby
20-11-2022, 11:14 AM
They might go out on the lash too!!
20-11-2022, 11:24 AM
Do you think if Qatar get completely embarrassed in this first game that they will take their ball and go home???Yes, definitely, 100%.
WC will just be officially awarded to Qatar
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
20-11-2022, 11:56 AM
They might go out on the lash too!!
That genuinely made me lol
Jase in the Guardian
https://t.co/JS8IhIJkam
Hibees1973
20-11-2022, 01:40 PM
The more I see about the build up to the World Cup, the more it irritates me.
The cost of tent, aye, a tent is £175 a night. Seeing people arrive from all around the world to attend this World Cup, this one, more than any other gone before is for the wealthy.
Seeing people arrive from countries such as Ecuador and Senegal it's clear that these people are from the wealthy elite. The GDP of countries such as this makes it impossible for the average earner to attend. You will see people having a jolly on the TV, but most of these people will be in the highest 5% of earners of the country the come from.
Disgusting.
My wife, who has no interest in football, made a very pertinent comment. She said what was that FIFA president going on about yesterday. He's the hypocrite, because is there any way Qatar would want to host a Women's World Cup.
Absolutely, no chance.
20-11-2022, 01:45 PM
Shame the opening game isn’t one to get excited about but looking forward to watching the actual football.
20-11-2022, 02:04 PM
Really looking forward to this and I think it will be amazing .
20-11-2022, 02:20 PM
most depressing build up to a game ever watching this almost switching off before it's started
20-11-2022, 02:24 PM
These moaning pundits could easily have boycotted. I guess money talks for them as well. No credibility in my eyes. Just get on with the football.
20-11-2022, 02:27 PM
No win situation for the BBC (and ITV when their turn comes).
Ignore the other issues and they are complicit in the sportswashing. Highlight them and they are hypocrites. It's an elephant in the room and it can't be ignored during the 1st broadcast. Football will come more into the foreground as the games start happening.
20-11-2022, 02:29 PM
I see the BBC have made a quick change to the 3 letter initials used for Iran after some fun was had with their original choice on social media.
20-11-2022, 02:30 PM
These moaning pundits could easily have boycotted. I guess money talks for them as well. No credibility in my eyes. Just get on with the football.
:agree: Exactly its as if they are desperate to be a disaster.
20-11-2022, 02:31 PM
Brutal. Thought turning on the build up it would be opening ceremony, highlights from previous world cup, team news, info on the teams etc.
Nothing on either team yet 30mins to KO! It should be about the football.
Tully
20-11-2022, 02:31 PM
Turned it of will put back on for the game
20-11-2022, 02:56 PM
Well at least Scotland will be represented if not by our team then by our world class referees. Oh wait.......