View Full Version : The world cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

22-11-2022, 12:45 PM
Hartson has just seen the greatest save he’s ever seen in his life ……… he should get out more.

HibeeHibernia
22-11-2022, 12:50 PM
messi and cr7 are the best of their era none of them could lace maradonas boots i hope that result today puts all this messi being the best of all time to rest.

22-11-2022, 12:50 PM
Stat: KS has saved 18 of the 20 shots he’s faced at world cups, that’s 90%.

22-11-2022, 01:05 PM
Hartson was horrendous last night on the Wales game, stupid, uninformed comments which show he hasnt even kept up with changes in the rules of the game.

Its embarrassing that ITV allow him to cover other matches.

22-11-2022, 01:08 PM
messi and cr7 are the best of their era none of them could lace maradonas boots i hope that result today puts all this messi being the best of all time to rest.

Yep, today totally nullifies everything else Messi has done in professional football. Absolutely. :rolleyes:

22-11-2022, 01:19 PM

Even if Messi doesn’t win the World Cup he’s still one of the greatest if not greater ever.

Not his fault his team mates were mostly average today.

Ronaldo and his team got beat by Brentford 4-0 not so long ago.

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 01:27 PM
Stat: KS has saved 18 of the 20 shots he’s faced at world cups, that’s 90%.
He's one of the best keepers going imo . Surprised Leicester didn't hang on to him

Mcbizz1998
22-11-2022, 01:31 PM
Good game this. Both going at each other.

22-11-2022, 01:31 PM
He's one of the best keepers going imo . Surprised Leicester didn't hang on to him

Pretty odd how he left. Think must have been a falling out.

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 01:35 PM
Pretty odd how he left. Think must have been a falling out.
You would think there was definitely something that happened. That was never a penalty for Tunisia either imo

22-11-2022, 01:36 PM
I assumed it was a salary issue - it's been well documented that they've been cutting costs and I imagine he was on a kings ransom.

22-11-2022, 01:44 PM
The worst part about this (almost) nil nil draw is Hartsons co-commentary...

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 01:55 PM
Penalty check

That does my tits in, VAR check says Denmark don't get a penalty which I don't think it was, but they also don't get a corner out of it and it's a goal kick

Thats a great decision. Clear foul by the Dane at the front post

22-11-2022, 01:56 PM
That does my tits in, VAR check says Denmark don't get a penalty which I don't think it was, but they also don't get a corner out of it and it's a goal kick

He gave a foul for the clear shove.

Mcbizz1998
22-11-2022, 01:58 PM
Never minded Hartson as a pundit but his commentary is horrendous. So annoying.

22-11-2022, 01:58 PM

Thought it's only there to see if it's a penalty or not

22-11-2022, 01:59 PM
Denmark are apparently one of the favourites to win the tournament, well that’s what the commentator has just said!

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 02:01 PM
Didn't think either claims were penalties.One thing that's impressed me so far are the referees , they been pretty consistent and good so far .

Cuikyhibs
22-11-2022, 02:02 PM
refreshing to see the ref stick to his guns and say not a penalty....once they get dragged over to the screen you always assume it's going to be given

22-11-2022, 02:05 PM
Another 8 mins of added time :aok: The 100 minute game is becoming commonplace.

22-11-2022, 02:07 PM
If Saudi played Qatar, would we all be supporting Saudi purely based on the colour of the strips?!

The Saudi one looks cracking.

HibeeHibernia
22-11-2022, 02:08 PM
Even if Messi doesn’t win the World Cup he’s still one of the greatest if not greater ever.

Not his fault his team mates were mostly average today.

Ronaldo and his team got beat by Brentford 4-0 not so long ago.

he isn't the greatest ever maradona is.

HibeeHibernia
22-11-2022, 02:10 PM
Yep, today totally nullifies everything else Messi has done in professional football. Absolutely. :rolleyes:

maradona carried argentina to world cup glory this guy needs a team of world class players around him to perform that's the difference for me it's why he's hidden in the spanish league most of his career.

22-11-2022, 02:20 PM
refreshing to see the ref stick to his guns and say not a penalty....once they get dragged over to the screen you always assume it's going to be given

Fair enough sticking to his original decision / non-decision (and good to see it being done so quickly) but why did play re-start with Tunisia getting what looked like a free-kick in their own box when Denmark were waiting to take another corner?

22-11-2022, 02:22 PM
maradona carried argentina to world cup glory this guy needs a team of world class players around him to perform that's the difference for me it's why he's hidden in the spanish league most of his career.

Carried Napoli to their only 2 Scudettos as well. Unbelievable footballer

22-11-2022, 02:28 PM
Thought it's only there to see if it's a penalty or not

I dunno, I guess that's the case. Unless he thought it was a penalty, but couldn't give it because it was a foul first, this giving the foul.

Tbh, I'm guessing. It's a bit of a farce but I think the right decision was made.

22-11-2022, 02:30 PM

Messi carried Barcelona to far more than Maradona did with Napoli. They are a Europa League team without him.

Do you honestly think Messi scored 800, more than double the amount Maradona did, because of the guys around him? Lol.

Paulie Walnuts
22-11-2022, 02:36 PM

Why does winning one specific trophy make you the greatest? What about the fact Messi has just won just short of 40 trophies compared to Maradonas 10? Or Messis 800 goals to Maradonas 350ish? Or Messi’s 17 years (and counting) at the absolute pinnacle of football compares to Maradonas 9 or so? Messi’s 4 European Cups to Maradonas 0?

Yet one World Cup, played out over a matter of weeks makes you the best ever?

22-11-2022, 02:38 PM
Why does winning one specific trophy make you the greatest? What about the fact Messi has just won just short of 40 trophies compared to Maradonas 10? Or Messis 800 goals to Maradonas 350ish? Or Messi’s 17 years (and counting) at the absolute pinnacle of football compares to Maradonas 9 or so? Messi’s 4 European Cups to Maradonas 0?

And even that one world cup boils down to two 1 on 1s. Maradonas striker scored, Messis missed. Both against Germany too.

Diego never won the Copa America either. Messi became the first player to get most goals, most assists and best player at a major tournament as he carried Argentina to it.

supermcginn
22-11-2022, 02:39 PM
Why does winning one specific trophy make you the greatest? What about the fact Messi has just won just short of 40 trophies compared to Maradonas 10? Or Messis 800 goals to Maradonas 350ish? Or Messi’s 17 years (and counting) at the absolute pinnacle of football compares to Maradonas 9 or so? Messi’s 4 European Cups to Maradonas 0

Great post. Couldn't agree more. Messi is the goat.

22-11-2022, 02:41 PM

Really? Did he hide in the Champions League as well?

22-11-2022, 02:42 PM
Messi won’t be winning the World Cup anytime soon

Pele pour moi

22-11-2022, 03:06 PM
German TV Station ZDF have got a video text function that blends in the translated lyrics to the teams national anthems as they're singing it. Mexico's is mental, sounds like the script to a Tarantino film.

22-11-2022, 03:10 PM
Another 316,250 sell out crowd by the look of it

22-11-2022, 03:14 PM
Another 316,250 sell out crowd by the look of it

It certainly SOUNDS like there are that many Mexicans in the ground!

22-11-2022, 03:16 PM

Yep they are by far the noisiest fans so far

22-11-2022, 03:18 PM
A few great players mentioned on this page, although none that come close to number 1, Pele.
As for the crowds just like home with the jambo counting system.
Had little enthusiasm for this world cup and have even less now, the rise of the machine has killed the beautiful game.

Stairway 2 7
22-11-2022, 03:19 PM
Stephane Guivarc won a world cup, so clearly better than George Best, George Weah and di stefano who never even played in one

22-11-2022, 03:21 PM
Always liked the Mexican kit.

22-11-2022, 03:23 PM
Poland and Mexico looking tentative in their approach, neither keen to commit too much. Was hoping the Argentina saudi result would be incentive for both teams to the and go for it and try and establish themselves top of the group but it's all a bit meh so far.

22-11-2022, 03:29 PM
he isn't the greatest ever maradona is.

Maradona good
Pele better
George Best

Says it all really

22-11-2022, 03:30 PM

Better team by far just now.

22-11-2022, 03:32 PM

Still not a patch on the famous Tynecastle roar……

22-11-2022, 03:36 PM
Yeez are all talking s***e. Puskas was the best. Joe Tortalano second best. FACT. I said so.

HibeeHibernia
22-11-2022, 03:36 PM
Carried Napoli to their only 2 Scudettos as well. Unbelievable footballer

aye exactly mate the guy will never be beaten he would have doubled messis stats in todays non contact sport. :not worth

HibeeHibernia
22-11-2022, 03:37 PM
Maradona good
Pele better
George Best

Says it all really

taking my green tinted specks off for a minute here, no chance is best better than DAM no even maybe mate lol :flag:

HibeeHibernia
22-11-2022, 03:40 PM
Really? Did he hide in the Champions League as well?

a superstar when superstars are around him non existent in an Argentina top unlike the man the myth the legend maradona who turned a pub team into a european cup winning giant and he won the world cup on his own you'll never see messi do either of those things mate.

22-11-2022, 03:41 PM
Any chance we can leave the 'greatest ever' stuff to another thread and let this focus on the World Cup please?

HibeeHibernia
22-11-2022, 03:43 PM
Messi carried Barcelona to far more than Maradona did with Napoli. They are a Europa League team without him.

Do you honestly think Messi scored 800, more than double the amount Maradona did, because of the guys around him? Lol.

do you honestly think maradona wouldn't have done the same in todays non contact sport? Maradona was unplayable in an era when career ending challenges weren't even carded lol no way are him or that joker at man united better than the great man no way lol.

Stairway 2 7
22-11-2022, 03:46 PM
do you honestly think maradona wouldn't have done the same in todays non contact sport? Maradona was unplayable in an era when career ending challenges weren't even carded lol no way are him or that joker at man united better than the great man no way lol.

We get it you like Maradona, I'm sure we all do. It's daft and pointless to compare.

Can tell its a slow first half here 😆

22-11-2022, 03:49 PM

Go on YouTube and find a Messi getting hacked compilation. Both him and Ronaldo have been subjected to some.horrific career Ender's, often without a red or yellow produced.

To so simply compare the different eras is lazy, the players that Messi has had to deal with are all absolute athletes, bigger, stronger, tactically better and technically superior to the era of Diego.

Maradonna also had major substance ahuse issues and rarely played a full seasons fixtures. He had 1 season in his career where he managed over 30 goals in a season. Messi has had 13.

22-11-2022, 03:55 PM
What's everyone's favourite pizza? Are they selling it in Qatar? :confused:

22-11-2022, 03:58 PM

No, he would not. Teams are better, fitter and faster these days. A few bad challenges is not a 500 goal difference mate. 500 GOALS. and 60 more for Argentina. Come on.

Maradona is Neymar/Lewandowski/Ibrahimovic level. Messi and Ronaldo send him to the shops for messages.

Off the bar
22-11-2022, 04:00 PM
German TV Station ZDF have got a video text function that blends in the translated lyrics to the teams national anthems as they're singing it. Mexico's is mental, sounds like the script to a Tarantino film.

Just googled that and wow! Not for the faint hearted.

22-11-2022, 04:10 PM
No, he would not. Teams are better, fitter and faster these days. A few bad challenges is not a 500 goal difference mate. 500 GOALS. and 60 more for Argentina. Come on.

Maradona is Neymar/Lewandowski/Ibrahimovic level. Messi and Ronaldo send him to the shops for messages.

To compare Maradona with Lewandowski really weakens your point here . Maradona did things on a pitch that Lewandoski (also a great player ) could only ever dream of.

For me , there is no doubt Messi could well be the greatest ever but equally no doubt he has played with higher quality players in his club career for many years , compared to Maradona. And yes, could easily result in double the goal tally …

It doesn’t matter really - so many wonderful world class players over the years and Maradona and Messi and a few more are right up there with any that have played . Just enjoy their brilliance and celebrate their incredible achievements.

Ps not checked but I bet Messi has played many more games than Maradona

22-11-2022, 04:11 PM

Lol. Aye right.

22-11-2022, 04:14 PM
OOFT Penalty Poland Var.

22-11-2022, 04:16 PM
Thought he was going to miss.

Saved

Never a bloody penalty. Both at it.

22-11-2022, 04:17 PM

Football has also become a lot more uneven though. Maradona played for a club that has never won Seria A before (or since - although maybe this year...) and had decent but not exceptional players around him for most of his career. He was near enough a one man team at times when Seria A and world football was extremely competitive.

Footballers now may be fitter etc but it's unquestionably easier for the bigger teams given the financial gap that that has opened up. You only have to look at Scotland and how the game has gone. I would loved to have seen Messi's goal tally if he played for Napoli for a big chunk of his career.

Messi played with Iniesta, Xavi, Mbappe, Neymar etc. Maradonna was THE guy who had to make things work time and time again.

I'm honestly not sure about rating one over the other but I think they are both extraordinary, once in a generation players.

Messi certainly wins in terms of longevity and consistency but for a spell Maradonna was an unparalleled athlete. To suggest he's in the same league as Lewa and Neymar is mad though.

To compare Maradona with Lewandowski really weakens your point here . Maradona did things on a pitch that Lewandoski (also a great player ) could only ever dream of.

For me , there is no doubt Messi could well be the greatest ever but equally no doubt he has played with higher quality players in his club career for many years , compared to Maradona. And yes, could easily result in double the goal tally …

It doesn’t matter really - so many wonderful world class players over the years and Maradona and Messi and a few more are right up there with any that have played . Just enjoy their brilliance and celebrate their incredible achievements.

Lewandowski scores goals and wins trophies at a rate Diego van only dream of. Been carrying a very poor Poland side for years. I'm not saying he's better, very different players, but both a clear level below Messi and Ronaldo.

I'll say no more, a pointless argument really. Always been on the side of enjoying players rather than comparing.

Agree

Justice done

22-11-2022, 04:18 PM
Saved
Poor penalty

22-11-2022, 04:19 PM
He’s got a hold of his shirt versus trying to outmuscle each other. Penalty is correct.

22-11-2022, 04:20 PM
He’s got a hold of his shirt versus trying to outmuscle each other. Penalty is correct.

I agree, it is a contact sport just, but pulling at a shirt is still a foul i think these days.

22-11-2022, 04:20 PM
OOFT Penalty Poland Var.

Missed it.

22-11-2022, 04:21 PM
What's everyone's favourite pizza? Are they selling it in Qatar? :confused:

Catarrhi pizza……… yum!

22-11-2022, 04:22 PM

Agree to disagree - well done on your trophy by the way :wink:

22-11-2022, 04:22 PM
Agree to disagree - well done on your trophy by the way :wink:
:cup: Ta.

22-11-2022, 04:25 PM
Lewandowski scores goals and wins trophies at a rate Diego van only dream of. Been carrying a very poor Poland side for years. I'm not saying he's better, very different players, but both a clear level below Messi and Ronaldo.

Honestly. The lewandoski comparison is just bollocks …trophies and goals mean little for this topic ….just use your eyes and watch the footballer …Maradona is a football god compared to Lewandoski

You make great points about Messi and Ronaldo, but imo your view of Maradona is way wide of the mark

he was incredible footballer ..perhaps the best ever ..but he didn’t have the stable supportive environment of Messi or Ronaldo ..he dealt with different challenges in life including addiction and exploitation, but at his peak , I’d say he was as special , and unstoppable as any player that has ever played .

22-11-2022, 04:28 PM
That polish guy has been taking advice from Ross county; facing a free kick or corner, just go down holding your head instead of bothering to defend it so you’ll get a free kick.

22-11-2022, 04:30 PM
Any chance we can leave the 'greatest ever' stuff to another thread and let this focus on the World Cup please?

Hear hear.
It’s a debate that boils down to who you like best. Personally, I liked Diego the best. Everything else is pure subjectivity.

22-11-2022, 04:42 PM
Hear hear.
It’s a debate that boils down to who you like best. Personally, I liked Diego the best. Everything else is pure subjectivity.

Pele 😀

22-11-2022, 04:47 PM
Looking like Two nil nils today …bit underwhelming football ….although tbf the Saudi v Argentina game was a good watch ….

Also. What a Mexican support [emoji119][emoji119]

Paulie Walnuts
22-11-2022, 04:50 PM
Looking like Two nil nils today …bit underwhelming football ….although tbf the Saudi v Argentina game was a good watch ….

Also. What a Mexican support [emoji119][emoji119]

Argentina game was very good but the 2 afternoon games have been pretty dull. Hopefully tonight’s is better.

22-11-2022, 04:50 PM
Lot of foul play in this match.

22-11-2022, 04:55 PM
BBC Martin k “Argentinianu or was it just me

22-11-2022, 04:57 PM
Last 2 games today have been poor. Hoping France-Australia is better.

22-11-2022, 04:58 PM
Think 2 Hearts players start for Australia. Atkinson and Rowles
JC on the bench

Paulie Walnuts
22-11-2022, 04:59 PM
Certainly an attacking France team. 4-2-4 almost (I’m sure it’ll be a bit different to that but it’s certainly 4 forwards!)

22-11-2022, 05:00 PM
Think 2 Hearts players start for Australia. Atkinson and Rowles
JC on the bench

As is Jamie MacLaren

22-11-2022, 05:04 PM
Jackson Irvine starts and Arron Mooy Celtic

22-11-2022, 05:11 PM
Denmark v Tunisia was ok but that last game was dire. I think France will win comfortably v the Aussies though. 3-0.

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 05:18 PM
One of Saudi's goal hero's today , I didn't know he had crossed paths with one of my favourite referee's before ?😁
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/watch-saudi-arabias-world-cup-hero-attempt-to-headbutt-scottish-referee-john-beaton-3927807

22-11-2022, 05:43 PM
Good to hear Squirrel getting name dropped and no mention of the sparryheids lol

22-11-2022, 05:51 PM
Mon France !!

22-11-2022, 05:56 PM
Up there in the best Anthem stakes imo. :sauzee:

22-11-2022, 05:57 PM
Absolutely gutted that Boyle isn’t a part of this team.

Donegal Hibby
Mon France !!
Goes against the grain to be for a team in blue for me , Mon the Aussie's 🇦🇺

Horrid watching the anthems and not seeing Martin there. He so deserved it.

Paulie Walnuts
22-11-2022, 05:58 PM
Up there in the best Anthem stakes imo. :sauzee:

Definitely :agree:

22-11-2022, 06:00 PM
Australia taking a risk at the back. Knowles and Souttar just back from injuries

22-11-2022, 06:01 PM
Come on Australia. 🇦🇺

22-11-2022, 06:02 PM
Did want Australia to do well but now no Boyle I hope the defence takes a pasting.

Off the bar
22-11-2022, 06:02 PM
Would Boyle have started?

22-11-2022, 06:04 PM
Atkinson up against Mbappe. Might find the pitch a bit bigger than the Pitz sorry Tiny when defending!

Mcbizz1998
22-11-2022, 06:05 PM
Did want Australia to do well but now no Boyle I hope the defence takes a pasting.

Agree wholeheartedly.

22-11-2022, 06:07 PM
awfy glad i missed the two earlier no goal bore fests

22-11-2022, 06:09 PM
1-0 Australia

Goal to the Aussies!

Get in!!!!

flippin heck

just give it to engerlund now

Scenes

Good goal

22-11-2022, 06:10 PM
Murphy talks about players slipping on the pitch and Pearce counters by saying there are more French fans in the stadium haha

Good goal though

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 06:11 PM
Yass get in

22-11-2022, 06:13 PM
flippin heck

[emoji23]

Bloody hope no and it’s early days but hopefully my bets not burst already [emoji848]

22-11-2022, 06:13 PM
The opposite of his attempt on target in the cup final

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

22-11-2022, 06:14 PM
That was coming.

22-11-2022, 06:15 PM
Early consolation goal for Australia. :wink:

GreenGray
22-11-2022, 06:15 PM
First mention of Hibs this tournament?

22-11-2022, 06:16 PM

Equalising before the other team scores…..

22-11-2022, 06:18 PM

It’s taken away the fear of conceding the first goal.

Mbappé has started on fire

Donegal Hibby
flippin heck

Actually getting a bit worried about it now

22-11-2022, 06:19 PM
Last 2 games today have been poor. Hoping France-Australia is better.

For me the refs are spoiling most of the games.

22-11-2022, 06:20 PM
[emoji23]

Bloody hope no and it’s early days but hopefully my bets not burst already [emoji848]

i didn't even watch the englund game and i've no idea if they are scheduled to play Germany at some stage before the final but i think the Germans are probably the only side with enough quality to beat them, i think Benzema will be a BIG loss for the French

Up-the-slope
22-11-2022, 06:22 PM
oooffft that was a thunderbolt

22-11-2022, 06:24 PM
Actually getting a bit worried about it now

ach i'm not bothering too much about it, this years world cup is tainted anyway :greengrin the biggest serial losers in world football(going by population size) have to, by the law of averages, win it some time again

even heartz will win the league cup again, sometime

22-11-2022, 06:24 PM
BBC just described Jackson Irvine’s tackle as a “crunchy nut one”. I think they meant his challenge on the field just now

Up-the-slope
22-11-2022, 06:25 PM
France yet to have a shot on target... would not have guessed that after 1/4 gone

22-11-2022, 06:26 PM
Too easy

22-11-2022, 06:27 PM
1-1

Up-the-slope
ok thjats on target :greengrin

Boom, get the impression the French are just warming up

Rabiot! You’re not very good but I’ll take that, 1-1.

i didn't even watch the englund game and i've no idea if they are scheduled to play Germany at some stage before the final but i think the Germans are probably the only side with enough quality to beat them, i think Benzema will be a BIG loss for the French

Tbh England strolled it and have a decent squad however I think they are lacking at CH and may struggle against better opposition. That said to score 6 in any game is an excellent achievement at this level.

Think Brazil, Germany and France have better quality than England but means nothing if you don’t turn up on the day!

Totally agree regarding Benzema however Giroud is a decent replacement

un-un

good header, plants it the opposite way the ball is going

22-11-2022, 06:28 PM
Strewth.

It’s OK, Australia will need another goal to win and we all know who is going to provide it lol

The rout starts. I’m going for 5 or 6 France.

22-11-2022, 06:29 PM
Not the best defending maybe

22-11-2022, 06:29 PM
I’ve decided that was defo the big Hearts pricks fault, even if it wasn’t.

22-11-2022, 06:30 PM
The rout starts. I’m going for 5 or 6 France.

I hope Mbappe scores and assists, Giroud gets a goal and there are 3 Aussie bookings

un-un

good header, plants it the opposite way the ball is going

Don’t think the Qatari’s would welcome same sex score

Un - Une

Tbh England strolled it and have a decent squad however I think they are lacking at CH and may struggle against better opposition. That said to score 6 in any game is an excellent achievement at this level.

Think Brazil, Germany and France have better quality than England but means nothing if you don’t turn up on the day!

Totally agree regarding Benzema however Giroud is a decent replacement

jeezo i've clean forgot about them :hilarious

Brazil v Germany final sounds tasty

a little revenge for the Brazilians maybe after that hammering in Brazil

i've noted not too many givin Spain a chance, they're nothing like that side that swept all before them in European/world football

22-11-2022, 06:31 PM
Don’t think the Qatari’s would welcome same sex score

Un - Une

ok

wan-wan

:0

22-11-2022, 06:31 PM
International fitba is a nonsense when one Souttar brother is Australian and one is Scottish........

22-11-2022, 06:32 PM
jeezo i've clean forgot about them :hilarious

Brazil v Germany final sounds tasty

a little revenge for the Brazilians maybe after that hammering in Brazil

[emoji102][emoji23]

I wonder if you could get a bet on how many times Neymar will roll (full rolls) after being fouled.

Too easy

2-1 France

2-1 France

Australia's defending is abysmal. This could be a rout.

22-11-2022, 06:33 PM
Embarrassing defending from Australia there.

Hearts prick 0 cool Giroud 1

Composure completely gone.

22-11-2022, 06:34 PM
Typical Jambo defending.

International fitba is a nonsense when one Souttar brother is Australian and one is Scottish........

Joe Baker/Gerry Baker???

Need to bring on Cumdingo for the 2nd half.

Paulie Walnuts
Atkinson is desperately poor.

Embarrassing defending from Australia there.

And esp from Atkinson

22-11-2022, 06:36 PM
Joe Baker/Gerry Baker???

They were born in the countries they represented though......

22-11-2022, 06:37 PM
Dembele and Mbappé are not slow players.

22-11-2022, 06:38 PM
Atkinson on one side and the Dundee Utd defender on the left both getting torn new ones in the last couple of minutes!

Need to bring on Cumdingo for the 2nd half.
Or it'll really go to the dogs.....

I could watch them and Griezmanm play all day

Also really pleased for Giroud getting a goal

22-11-2022, 06:39 PM
Atkinson is desperately poor.

So is the left back from Dundee Utd

22-11-2022, 06:40 PM
They were born in the countries they represented though......

Joe spent about six weeks living in England if i remember correctly

22-11-2022, 06:41 PM
I just wish he'd have a shot on goal.

Joe Baker/Gerry Baker???
Jerome and Kevin Prince Boateng also - represented Germany and Ghana respectively.

I just wish he'd have a shot on goal.

2 shots, one scoring then assist someone please

Up-the-slope
22-11-2022, 06:43 PM
Aussie CF getting plenty exercise chasing shadows

22-11-2022, 06:45 PM
FFS Mbappe

22-11-2022, 06:46 PM
Dreadful miss from Mbappe.

22-11-2022, 06:46 PM
Mbappes finishing has been more like Bojang so far haha

Up-the-slope
22-11-2022, 06:47 PM
should be 2-2

oooooooooohh so close jackson

think we was put off by the other australian player

Should be 2-2 Irvine off the post.

22-11-2022, 06:48 PM

Happens a lot, Podolski was Polish born but played for Germany.

Souttar's mum was born in Australia so he chose them, John chose Scotland, Cummings mum is from Oz as is Boyle's dad.

22-11-2022, 06:52 PM

Souttar's mum was born in Australia so he chose them, John chose Scotland, Cummings mum is from Oz as is Boyle's dad.

Miroslav Klose is another Polish born German player

And as for Jack Charlton's Ireland team.........

Mooy has been really poor.

Donegal Hibby
Jerome and Kevin Prince Boateng also - represented Germany and Ghana respectively.
Xhaka brothers Switzerland and Albania

22-11-2022, 06:55 PM

Aye, I know all that and none of the examples others mention are a surprise to me....but I still think it's as ridic as guys in rugby moving country every year or so.

Anyway, 2-1 HT, could be a lot worse in the 2nd half if Mbappe gets his eye in.

22-11-2022, 06:55 PM
Shearer picking on Pavard, for once I agree . Pavard is Frances weak link, still living off that goal from the last wc.

22-11-2022, 07:07 PM
Xhaka brothers Switzerland and Albania
Had either of my kids been interested and/or good enough in a sport they would have had the choice of Scotland, England or the USA. Had great grandparent heritage counted then Germany would be there also.

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 07:13 PM
Had either of my kids been interested and/or good enough in a sport they would have had the choice of Scotland, England or the USA. Had great grandparent heritage counted then Germany would be there also.
With a mix of nations like that , must be a Irish connection somewhere there too , you ever drink GUINNESS?😂

22-11-2022, 07:13 PM
What an effort by Giroud!

Atkinson looks extremely poor and totally lost at times!

22-11-2022, 07:15 PM
What an effort by Giroud!

Atkinson looks extremely poor and totally lost at times!

I'm hoping they bring on Cameron Devlin against the French midfield 😁

22-11-2022, 07:16 PM
With a mix of nations like that , must be a Irish connection somewhere there too , you ever drink GUINNESS?😂
Aye once, gave me the s***s so I ditched beer and switched to wine instead :greengrin

I'm hoping they bring on Cameron Devlin against the French midfield [emoji16]

Ah yes forgot about him! Let’s get him on!

Up-the-slope
JC coming on?

22-11-2022, 07:17 PM
Looks like Cumdog getting ready to come on!

Dight
JC coming on?

Looks like it.

No mention of Hibs in Cummings list of Scottish teams 😂 Dundee. Barely played for them.

Donegal Hibby
JC coming on?
Would love him to get a goal.

22-11-2022, 07:18 PM
Looks like Cumdog getting ready to come on!

He's Cumdingo nooadays.....

Looking at the Argentina/Saudi highlights, I didn’t realise how superb the Salem Al-Dawsari goal was. Goal of the tournament so far and possibly at the end.

Cometh the hour, cometh the Cummings - so pleased for him!

Up-the-slope
gamblers get a couple of quid on JC scoring a pen....

Go on Jason

Cummings on.

Up-the-slope
22-11-2022, 07:19 PM
gamblers get a couple of quid on JC scoring a pen....

or getting a red card :greengrin

22-11-2022, 07:19 PM
That's made my World Cup and a wee mention about scoring in the Edinburgh Derby for Hibs - brilliant

Dight
22-11-2022, 07:20 PM
No mention of Hibs in Cummings list of Scottish teams 😂 Dundee. Barely played for them.

They added that after. Hope he scores and gets interviewed.

Paulie Walnuts
22-11-2022, 07:20 PM
Go on the Cumdingo

Up-the-slope
22-11-2022, 07:21 PM
Wonder if Mbappe will be after Cummings shirt at the end :cb

22-11-2022, 07:21 PM
He's a Jambo according the the Mensa folk on Brokeback

22-11-2022, 07:24 PM
He's a Jambo according the the Mensa folk on Brokeback

Scored 55 goals for Hibs, some of them really crucial as well

22-11-2022, 07:26 PM
Cummings on.

Looks like the coach has already worked out he’s miles better than MacLaren

22-11-2022, 07:27 PM
Ooh, he nearly caught Lloris there

Scotty Leither
22-11-2022, 07:28 PM
Scored 55 goals for Hibs, some of them really crucial as well

A statistic none of our current strikers will get anywhere near. Haste ye back, Jason.

22-11-2022, 07:28 PM
Ooh, he nearly caught Lloris there

21/1 to score anytime.

22-11-2022, 07:30 PM
3-1 Mbappe.

22-11-2022, 07:30 PM
Brilliant football at times, they will be in really exciting games as they will also concede

22-11-2022, 07:31 PM
Well taken goal

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 07:32 PM
Mbappe's a class player

22-11-2022, 07:32 PM
I'm a sucker for an elegant French home top - very simple, but very nice.

22-11-2022, 07:33 PM
Has Jason touched the ball yet

22-11-2022, 07:34 PM
4-1 Giroud.

Class. Atkinson could only watch after being left in Mbappe’s wake

Has Jason touched the ball yet

Naw

22-11-2022, 07:35 PM

France looking good. And still have Benzema to come back as well!

Mbappe showing why he's the best in the world just now, what a player.

22-11-2022, 07:36 PM
Did Atkinson win a raffle to play in this game?

And Kye Rowe's just looked on for Girouds goal.......like he did for Mbappes one😁

Brilliant day for Giroud. Good for him. Excellent player.

4-1 Giroud.

If France score another will the Socceroos be dead as a team?

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 07:39 PM
20/1 for top scorer too

22-11-2022, 07:41 PM
Ozzies just annoyed France with that early goal, like Dave Narey in 82. The front line of France has been mesmerising, Dembele good too.

22-11-2022, 07:41 PM
Certainly is

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 07:42 PM
Did Atkinson win a raffle to play in this game?
Got a golden ticket in a chocolate bar

supermcginn
22-11-2022, 07:44 PM

He's out the whole tournament.

22-11-2022, 07:44 PM

Jambo manager giving out sweets again, Rix is alive and well

22-11-2022, 07:45 PM

Cummings must have got one as well then!

The Pointer
22-11-2022, 07:47 PM
Pretty disappointed with Jason so far as he's not putting himself about much. France are a joy to watch though and it's becoming a bit of an exhibition match.

22-11-2022, 07:49 PM
Bizarre watching numerous run of the mill SPL players cutting about the park against some of the best on the planet.

22-11-2022, 07:49 PM

He's not part of their squad.

22-11-2022, 07:50 PM
Bizarre watching numerous run of the mill SPL players cutting about the park against some of the best on the planet.

And Rogic, one of their best players, didn't make the squad? 🤷

22-11-2022, 07:53 PM
Pearce saying another goal would be harsh on Australia…. Eh naw.

They’ve chased shadows for about an hour!

He's not part of their squad.

Ah what do I know! Not been following the WC build up too closely…

Pretty disappointed with Jason so far as he's not putting himself about much. France are a joy to watch though and it's becoming a bit of an exhibition match.

It's a bit difficult when the French keep the ball the whole time

22-11-2022, 07:56 PM
What's brilliant about France is that, as well as having some fantastic talent, they are so so strong on the ball !

22-11-2022, 07:57 PM
So 1 Mbappe shot needed. Why did he miss that one in first half!

Dmas
22-11-2022, 07:58 PM
Pearce saying another goal would be harsh on Australia…. Eh naw.

They’ve chased shadows for about an hour!

Him and his mate have moaned there way through the whole game

22-11-2022, 07:58 PM
Didn't see the 1st half, seemingly Australia played quite well in it. They offered virtually nothing in the 2nd half and France had an easy game of it. I did think Irvine worked really hard when he was on but they really just had too many players that really aren't particularly good.

22-11-2022, 08:00 PM
Cummings must have got one as well then!

On for 25 minutes, ran 10k and briefly touched the ball twice. Not purely his fault as Australia were out of their depth.

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 08:04 PM
What's brilliant about France is that, as well as having some fantastic talent, they are so so strong on the ball !
They will take care of Engurland in quarter finals

22-11-2022, 08:19 PM
The difference between the two sides was the length of Princes Street..but tbf I think everybody knew that would be the case before kick off.

Oz fitba has come a long way in recent years, but there is obviously still a long way to go to be anywhere close to the standard of France.

TV pundits currently dissecting the most minute points over here, but it is quite simple.

France just have much better players than Australia do just now, and that’s not going to change overnight.

22-11-2022, 08:40 PM
I'm not sure if we really learnt much about France that we didn't really know tbh, they're a good team after all. But sometimes their arrogance can get the better of them as Switzerland proved in the Euros. Will be interesting to see who gets who in the next round.

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 09:08 PM
Was wondering if Argentina qualify but finish 2nd in group who will they get then to play surely a harder game would await them?

22-11-2022, 09:18 PM
Was wondering if Argentina qualify but finish 2nd in group who will they get then to play surely a harder game would await them?

They would probably play France in the last 16.

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 09:28 PM
They would probably play France in the last 16.
Now that would be a cracking game though going by today you would have to fancy the French

He's here!
22-11-2022, 10:18 PM
When did an ex-Hibs player last play at a World Cup, let alone a current one? Not watching the tournament but what a moment for Cummings it must be said.

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 10:35 PM
Thought it was really harsh and unfair to be honest the slagging Cummings has taken from a Australian legend . What was he meant to do against one of the best teams in the world when they were totally out played ?

22-11-2022, 11:53 PM
When did an ex-Hibs player last play at a World Cup, let alone a current one? Not watching the tournament but what a moment for Cummings it must be said.

Jamie MacLaren played at the last one and may well have still be on loan at Hibs at the time.

Donegal Hibby
23-11-2022, 12:19 AM
Jamie MacLaren played at the last one and may well have still be on loan at Hibs at the time.
One before that maybe de la Cruz ? Just a guess mind 🤞