View Full Version : The world cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26

10-12-2022, 03:08 PM
Own goals probably. It’s coming home. :greengrin

Always puzzled me this “coming home” stuff. The French invented the World Cup so assume it will be going home to France? 😈

10-12-2022, 03:08 PM
Theatrics have started by the Portuguese. I’m expecting them to put pressure on the officials at every opportunity

Yep absolute torture. Fernandes is despicable

10-12-2022, 03:11 PM
Yep absolute torture. Fernandes is despicable

Yip. I’m expecting screams and rolls at the slightest of touches!

10-12-2022, 03:11 PM
Always puzzled me this “coming home” stuff. The French invented the World Cup so assume it will be going home to France? 😈

A bit like the Fartz and their “special” relationship with the Scottish Cup

10-12-2022, 03:14 PM
Morocco just the better side. If I was England I wouldn’t be pleased about this, they have a better chance against Portugal.

Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 03:17 PM
A bit like the Fartz and their “special” relationship with the Scottish Cup
Must be in a huff with the league cup then😂

10-12-2022, 03:18 PM
That’s the correct abbreviation.never knew that , you learn something new everyday.

10-12-2022, 03:19 PM
I don't think anyone will fancy playing this Morocco team.

Very solid defensively and excellent on the counter attack. They have seen off some good teams already and look comfortable in this one as it stands.

Hibees1973
10-12-2022, 03:20 PM
Cannot argue that Ronaldo is an all time great, no question.

But it will give me a hint of pleasure to see the selfish rat knocked out here.

10-12-2022, 03:20 PM
never knew that , you learn something new everyday.

You used to get wee stickers on the satsumas with ‘maroc’ on them :greengrin

cameronw-hfc
10-12-2022, 03:23 PM
Portugal easily one of the most dislikeable team's at the WC. Rapist, Pepe being Pepe and Bruno being one of footballs biggest rats. Would not be sad to see them go out in the slightest here. Team of absolute roasters

10-12-2022, 03:25 PM
I don't think anyone will fancy playing this Morocco team.

Very solid defensively and excellent on the counter attack. They have seen off some good teams already and look comfortable in this one as it stands.

They are a very good team but the player that has impressed me and and gels the team is Amrabat. His defensive play in the middle of the park allows the fullbacks to push on!

One of the best midfielders at the WC for me!

10-12-2022, 03:27 PM
Portugal easily one of the most dislikeable team's at the WC. Rapist, Pepe being Pepe and Bruno being one of footballs biggest rats. Would not be sad to see them go out in the slightest here. Team of absolute roasters

I think as the game progresses and stays the same we will see the worst of the Portuguese and their antics. I expect Pepe to show his true colours at some point.

10-12-2022, 03:28 PM
They are a very good team but the player that has impressed me and and gels the team is Amrabat. His defensive play in the middle of the park allows the fullbacks to push on!

One of the best midfielders at the WC for me!

Without a doubt, he completely dominates the middle. There’s an argument that they have four of the best players in the world on form in their positions.

10-12-2022, 03:33 PM
Goal of the tournament if they had been able to get a strike away there.

Amazing counter attacking football.

10-12-2022, 03:34 PM
Pepe throwing himself to the ground at a corner. I expect him to spend more time rolling around than staying upright for the rest of the game

10-12-2022, 03:34 PM
Pepe throwing himself to the ground at a corner. I expect him to spend more time rolling around than staying upright for the rest of the game

A total s***house.

I hope he cries.

10-12-2022, 03:36 PM
A total s***house.

I hope he cries.

Or scores an own goal

Morocco are very effective as a team if a little unattractive to watch.

Without a doubt, he completely dominates the middle. There’s an argument that they have four of the best players in the world on form in their positions.

I don’t know a lot of their players and tbh until this tournament I had never heard of him but he’s definitely been a standout!

Their CH’s have been excellent too and they’ll miss the lad that’s went off injured!

If Ziyech really is injured that’s massive for Moroccos hopes

10-12-2022, 03:37 PM
A total s***house.

I hope he cries.

That would be pleasing.

10-12-2022, 03:37 PM
You used to get wee stickers on the satsumas with ‘maroc’ on them :greengrin
Always bought Spanish ones 😀

10-12-2022, 03:39 PM
I don’t know a lot of their players and tbh until this tournament I had never heard of him but he’s definitely been a standout!

Their CH’s have been excellent too and they’ll miss the lad that’s went off injured!

I’d never seen him before this tourney despite me having a soft spot for Fiorentina, I don’t watch much Italian football. Morocco are more well known for their two fullbacks at PSG and Bayern that’s their real strength.

10-12-2022, 03:40 PM
Bono is Maroc n roll.

10-12-2022, 03:40 PM
What a save.

10-12-2022, 03:41 PM
What a save!!

10-12-2022, 03:41 PM
What a save.

There’s an echo in here lol

10-12-2022, 03:42 PM
Portugal look a team totally out of ideas.

A lot of knocking the ball about but it's pedestrian and easy for Morocco to hold their shape.

Portugal have been pretty poor today, little composure in the final 3rd, Morocco have been very well disciplined and hard to break down, playing counter attack is a bit boring though.

I’d never seen him before this tourney despite me having a soft spot for Fiorentina, I don’t watch much Italian football. Morocco are more well known for their two fullbacks at PSG and Bayern that’s their real strength.

They are a proper team not a group of self egotistic players trying to prove whose the biggest in the team!

Brilliant free kick from Penandes there lol

10-12-2022, 03:44 PM
I really hope the Moroccans can hold on and maybe even grab a second on the break!

Pepe is a greeting faced ****

Stairway 2 7
10-12-2022, 03:45 PM
Fernandes has been awful, Ronaldo pretty anonymous

10-12-2022, 03:46 PM
England are winning this.

10-12-2022, 03:46 PM
Morocco fans are tremendous.

10-12-2022, 03:47 PM
Morocco fans are tremendous.

Apart from their friggin whistles.

10-12-2022, 03:48 PM
8 minutes!

10-12-2022, 03:50 PM
Morocco down to 10 men.

10-12-2022, 03:51 PM
Harsh harsh harsh.
Awful red.

Hoping for a Great day for African football, about 75 years after Pèle said a country from there would win it in his lifetime :greengrin

Sub has done his side no favours

Two daft fouls, needless red card.

10-12-2022, 03:52 PM
Harsh harsh harsh.
Awful red.

Hoping for a Great day for African football, about 75 years after Pèle said a country from there would win it in his lifetime :greengrin

Think they were both yellows

10-12-2022, 03:53 PM
England are winning this.
Have to agree all the stars are following into line.

10-12-2022, 03:54 PM

It was only a yellow because the Portuguese player threw himself into the air, flailed his arms and screamed like he had been hit by Tyson fury!

Should have won it there.

That finish was reminiscent of Bojang against whoever it was. You knew he wasn't scoring from about 45 yards out.

Morocco should have wrapped it up there.

10-12-2022, 03:55 PM
Waste time now lads.

Weeeeeeyyyyyy

Pepe GTF

Ha ha, miss from Pepe

Looked like a free header

Argentina to beat England in the final would be funny.

10-12-2022, 03:56 PM
Ha ha ****ing ha. What a miss from Pepe.

They've done it, fair play to them.

Come on France!

Yes!

10-12-2022, 03:57 PM
meh

JamesHFC
Messi 🐐

Looked like a free header

Looks like a Nick from the MOTM Amrabat putting Pepe off

Well deserved

10-12-2022, 03:58 PM
Superb.

They'll fancy their chances now and rightly so. No one will want to try and break that defence down knowing how lightning fast they are on the break.

Ronaldo storming off in the huff just completes the scene. Yesterday's man that nobody wants.

They were.

Renaldo doing what Ronaldo does best looks after himself. Did he actually congratulate and shake hands with any if the opposition. Bad ****ing loser

JamesHFC
10-12-2022, 03:59 PM
Superb.

They'll fancy their chances now and rightly so. No one will want to try and break that defence down knowing how lightning fast they are on the break.

Ronaldo storming off in the huff just complete the scene. Yesterday's man that nobody wants.

Tried to get all the attention on him as the tournament was about to start. Benched in the knockouts, will probably end up in Saudi Arabia making top dollar, fairplay to him. One of the best footballers I've ever seen, a sour end to his career though.

10-12-2022, 04:00 PM
Tried to get all the attention on him as the tournament was about to start. Benched in the knockouts, will probably end up in Saudi Arabia making top dollar, fairplay to him. One of the best footballers I've ever seen, a sour end to his career though.

£3 million per week in Saudi Arabia should soften the blow.

10-12-2022, 04:01 PM
Absolute scenes. How can you not warm to that.

France Morocco will be quite the matchup.
:sauzee:

10-12-2022, 04:01 PM
Absolutely outstanding scenes. Going to be some party tonight.

Fair play to the little group of Portugal fans at the front applauding the Moroccans as well.

Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 04:03 PM
Morocco are very good at the way they play but as a football fan they are awful to watch. Amazing world cup though 😄

Anyone got the odds for a Croatia-Morocco final?

https://frinkiac.com/meme/S08E07/190556.jpg?b64lines=IE9ILCBZT3UgVEhJTksgTW9yb2Njbw ogd2lubmluZyBpcyBBIExBVUdIIFJJT3QsCiBET04nVCBZT1U_ IHdlbGwgaSdsbCB0ZWxsCiB5b3Ugc29tZXRoaW5nIHRoYXQncy Bub3QKIGZ1bm55LiBjcmlzdGlhbm8gUm9uYWxkbyAKIGlzIGNy eWluZyBsaWtlIGEgCmxpdHRsZSBnaXJsIQ==

EGL2000
10-12-2022, 04:04 PM
They will fancy beating anyone now, had the hardest run in the tournament and passed with ease. They haven't even let an opposition player score yet.

10-12-2022, 04:05 PM
Have to agree all the stars are following into line.

How do you work that out? All the big boys that have gone out (Spain/Brazil/Portugal) have all been beaten by better sides. It may look easier on paper but theses guys have ripped the paper up.

supermcginn
Absolutely brilliant. A fitting end to Ronaldo 's international career, storming off on his own making it all about him. Goodbye 🤣

Stairway 2 7
@spectatorindex
·
3m
Morocco's path to World Cup semi-final

1-0 win over Portugal

0-0 (3-0) penalty win over Spain

2-1 win over Canada

2-0 win over Belgium

0-0 draw with Croatia

They will fancy beating anyone now, had the hardest run in the tournament and passed with ease. They haven't even let an opposition player score yet.

It’s an unbelievable stat. Defensive wall against some of the best players in the world.

Absolutely outstanding scenes. Going to be some party tonight.

Fair play to the little group of Portugal fans at the front applauding the Moroccans as well.

A bit more sporting than the Portugal captain at full time then 😁

(No pun intended)

Ronaldo is an utter fanny of a human being.

10-12-2022, 04:07 PM
Well done Morocco, not a fan of their style but it gets the job done, Portugal were rotten today.

Ronaldo is a ****ing disgrace again, strops off the park with fake tears, doesn't congratulate anyone from Morocco or even console any of the younger Portuguese players, just walks off the park on his own, all about him once again, hope it's the last we see or hear about him.

10-12-2022, 04:08 PM
Right time to break out the Kronenbourg, l'escargot and croissants.

Ordering in a case of Stork, a **** load of cous cous and a new tajine just in case.

10-12-2022, 04:09 PM
Folk will hate Ronaldo for anything eh? Haha.

No doubt the guys a helmet, but going straight down the tunnel after losing a quarter final isn't anything new and he wasn't the only player to do it.

10-12-2022, 04:09 PM
Pat Nevin talking so so well on Morocco on the radio now. Love listening to him.

10-12-2022, 04:10 PM
Anyone got the odds for a Croatia-Morocco final?

Morocco 10/1 to reach the final and Croatia 11/5 if that helps.

10-12-2022, 04:11 PM

No doubt the guys a helmet, but going straight down the tunnel after losing a quarter final isn't anything new and he wasn't the only player to do it.

I don’t hate him. He just lacks class. Anyone who hangs out with piers Morgan is for watching.

10-12-2022, 04:13 PM
I don’t hate him. He just lacks class. Anyone who hangs out with piers Morgan is for watching.

I hate Piers Morgan if that’s any good to anyone.

10-12-2022, 04:14 PM
Right time to break out the Kronenbourg, l'escargot and croissants.

Ordering in a case of Stork, a **** load of cous cous and a new tajine just in case.

Why do you need a case of margarine? A cheaper version of Last Tango?

cameronw-hfc
10-12-2022, 04:16 PM

Aye folk hating a rapist is just for "anything" right enough. The guys a vile, self-absorbed, rapist, petulant, and petty d**k. He's not the only player to do it, but the rest of his team stayed out and shook hands. This is the 3rd or 4th time THIS SEASON he's done something of the ilk. It's no just "for anything "

10-12-2022, 04:21 PM
Pepe really is a tit

It's in his jeans 😁

supermcginn
10-12-2022, 04:22 PM
Aye folk hating a rapist is just for "anything" right enough. The guys a vile, self-absorbed, rapist, petulant, and petty d**k. He's not the only player to do it, but the rest of his team stayed out and shook hands. This is the 3rd or 4th time THIS SEASON he's done something of the ilk. It's no just "for anything "

Well said.

10-12-2022, 04:23 PM

And there’s this also of course 😂

10-12-2022, 04:27 PM

Spot on

10-12-2022, 04:31 PM
Caught the second half of that game between St Johnstone on speed and Portgual this afternoon. Minging.

10-12-2022, 04:31 PM
Pat Nevin talking so so well on Morocco on the radio now. Love listening to him.
He's terrific and you then have Graham Souness on the TV spouting rubbish.

10-12-2022, 04:34 PM
He's terrific and you then have Graham Souness on the TV spouting rubbish.

I think McCoist has been excellent in his role too.

cameronw-hfc
10-12-2022, 04:37 PM

Ally is the best commentator, by a country mile. Just loves the game, dont even care that he's a currant bun. Proper pundit.

10-12-2022, 04:40 PM
Ally is the best commentator, by a country mile. Just loves the game, dont even care that he's a currant bun. Proper pundit.

Yep. Both informed and passionate - and that's regardless of who is playing.

10-12-2022, 04:46 PM
He has great insight through out any match he was involved in.

10-12-2022, 04:51 PM
It’s already the best World Cup ever.
A fairly dull start punctuated with tedious 0-0s has just sparkled with ridiculous endings after ridiculous endings and drama.
Well, it will be until England win the thing.

10-12-2022, 04:52 PM
Ally seems a sound bloke too. All very annoying!

10-12-2022, 04:54 PM
A fairly dull start punctuated with tedious 0-0s has just sparkled with ridiculous endings after ridiculous endings and drama.

Not even remotely.

cameronw-hfc
10-12-2022, 04:55 PM

South Africa 2010 will always be the top for me. The cultural impact, it felt like the whole world was in WC fever. I actually remember being in school at the time and getting to miss classes just to watch certain games in the class.

10-12-2022, 04:56 PM
Not even remotely.

What you going for? Espana 82 for me.

10-12-2022, 04:57 PM
Tremendous from Morrocco; they couldn't have dreamed of a semi-final.

Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 05:00 PM
Mexico 86 for me. Though I enjoyed 1990 one cause Ireland got to the quarter finals:thumbsup:

10-12-2022, 05:01 PM

Yeah I really like when Ally is on.

Great mix of humour and insight. He’s never scared to say what needs to be said about some players performances when they are poor but boy you can feel his love for the game when he describes the good stuff.

My favourite co commentator by a long way.

JamesHFC
10-12-2022, 05:01 PM
Today I feel French.

10-12-2022, 05:04 PM

Always hard to say ‘best ever’ but wow it’s been great. As you say some amazing moments…summed up by that Netherlands free kick last night!

Now for France to round it all off so we can all relax as to who might win [emoji1787]

10-12-2022, 05:06 PM
Today I feel French.

As a Stuart I can say je suis un écossais français.

10-12-2022, 05:08 PM
Always hard to say ‘best ever’ but wow it’s been great. As you say some amazing moments…summed up by that Netherlands free kick last night!

Now for France to round it all off so we can all relax as to who might win [emoji1787]

I’m aware that schadenfreude is a bad emotion. Psychologists have associated it with mental health problems. So it’s probably best for self-respecting Scottish (and French)football fans, especially with these current dark nights, depressing political news and economic travails, to just turn the tv off and not watch.

But I’m not going to. :sauzee: Vive La Belle France

Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 05:08 PM
Today I feel French.
I'm even having frogs legs and snails for dinner . YUMMY 😋

10-12-2022, 05:10 PM
I'm even having frogs legs and snails for dinner . YUMMY 😋

Poulet frites for me.

NC1875
10-12-2022, 05:10 PM

Exactly. The guys an absolute winker

10-12-2022, 05:16 PM
Vive l'Auld Alliance, even if vous didnae help us very much!

10-12-2022, 05:19 PM

There are a few. 1974, 1978 and 1982 all stand out. I just also think this one has been particularly abysmal in football, political, human rights, climate change and horrible bloated corporate terms.

England should win it, it would be fitting. Perhaps the league most brutally captured by big money ought to produce the team that wins the finals tournament most bought and paid for, against football's interest, by big money. I also wouldn't grudge them it, their fans have waited a long time for a nation that should have been more serious challengers long before now to win it or get close again. I always thought they'd need a more adventurous manager to pull it off one day but looking at this tournament it seems you can dull your way to glory.

In the interests of better football I hope it's a Croatia v France final.

10-12-2022, 05:21 PM

... touché. Also come on, France!

10-12-2022, 05:22 PM
There are a few. 1974, 1978 and 1982 all stand out. I just also think this one has been particularly abysmal in football, political, human rights, climate change and horrible bloated corporate terms.

England should win it, it would be fitting. Perhaps the league most brutally captured by big money ought to produce the team that wins the finals tournament most bought and paid for, against football's interest, by big money. I also wouldn't grudge them it, their fans have waited a long time for a nation that should have been more serious challengers long before now to win it or get close again. I always thought they'd need a more adventurous manager to pull it off one day but looking at this tournament it seems you can dull your way to glory.

In the interests of better football I hope it's a Croatia v France final.

Abysmal in football terms? Are you serious? It blows 78 out of the water in football terms, also played in an atmosphere of blood soaked political nastiness, and stymied by a ridiculous group system. 82 caught fire in the latter stages but had some of the dullest group games ever, many involving England. El Salvador were funny though.

10-12-2022, 05:26 PM
Vive l'Auld Alliance, even if vous didnae help us very much!

It helped Leith become rich, far richer than Edinburgh thanks to the Bordeaux connection. But yeah actual battlefield involvement was all one way.

10-12-2022, 05:38 PM
Abysmal in football terms? Are you serious? It blows 78 out of the water in football terms, also played in an atmosphere of blood soaked political nastiness, and stymied by a ridiculous group system. 82 caught fire in the latter stages but had some of the dullest group games ever, many involving England. El Salvador were funny though.

Yes, abysmal. Brog makes the point well over on the thread discussing Ron Gordon - most teams now try play the same style of football, possession based, recycle where necessary and build from the back. It's almost uniform and as a result much less rich. It heartbreaking watching, for example, the nation of Cruyff and total football playing the dour stuff they did. Brazil weren't immune either. Most of the 'major' football nations have been weaker in this one but that hasn't led to a better standard generally.

You're absolutely right about the Argentinian (and wider South American) political backdrop to '78 but you're making my point for me. What on earth are we - or rather FIFA - doing fully 45 years later still allowing regimes with these kinds of records to corporate wash their reputations with one of THE biggest communal global events on the planet?

I certainly have issues with the relatively small numbers who make it to the finals and with the purely geographical qualification basis. That's long overdue change.

10-12-2022, 05:42 PM
Vive la France 🇫🇷

10-12-2022, 05:42 PM
Today I feel French.

Je suis un Frenchie :greengrin

Ich bin ein Frenchie

:greengrin:greengrin

10-12-2022, 05:44 PM
That wee ITV skit showing all the England players as young boys does make me think if England are going to win it then I'd probably just about accept it being this team. They aren't a bunch it's easy to dislike imo.

I'd certainly prefer to see Henderson, Shaw and Saka win it than Terry, Gerrard and Cole.

10-12-2022, 05:44 PM
Entrer dans ces imbéciles. Allez Allez!!

10-12-2022, 05:45 PM
Allez la France....

10-12-2022, 05:45 PM
Am I the only one thinking if England win this they will go on to win the tournament?

Edit: And what were Hyundai thinking using Gerrard for that advert?

10-12-2022, 05:48 PM
I can’t see either defence stopping either attack. France to edge a seven goal thriller :sauzee:

10-12-2022, 05:48 PM
Am I the only one thinking if England win this they will go on to win the tournament?

Edit: And what were Hyundai thinking using Gerrard for that advert?I think the winner of this will be the favorites to win it

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

10-12-2022, 05:50 PM

Winner here will defo win the whole thing imo.

If can keep Mbappe quiet or he has a bad game they will be goosed imo. Whereas England have multiple game winners. Feel like I think France are better than they might actually be at this point (minus a Benzema etc)

10-12-2022, 05:51 PM

If you are under 5 ! WCs are rated by their BBC theme tunes. Italia 90 and Argentina 78 were proper world cups.

10-12-2022, 05:51 PM
Today I am Francais

10-12-2022, 05:53 PM
If you are under 5 ! WCs are rated by their BBC theme tunes. Italia 90 and Argentina 78 were proper world cups.

Ooooh. Argentina theme tune was brilliant.

Today I am Francais

Ian Wright thinks you aren’t :greengrin

If I owned a French flag I'd be flying it at ma hoose.....

10-12-2022, 05:54 PM
Winner here will defo win the whole thing imo.

If can keep Mbappe quiet or he has a bad game they will be goosed imo. Whereas England have multiple game winners. Feel like I think France are better than they might actually be at this point (minus a Benzema etc)I'm. Sure Griezmann and Dembele can change a game aswell as foden or Saka

Anyones game this tho

Ooooh. Argentina theme tune was brilliant.

Best ever football theme tune by a mile.

Ian Wright thinks you aren’t :greengrin"We! WE!"

Mair like Oui Oui Ian

10-12-2022, 05:55 PM
Allez le blu :sauzee:

10-12-2022, 05:56 PM
Best anthem:sauzee: brings the movie Casablanca to mind every time.

1-0 France on national anthems

Up-the-slope

Edit: And what were Hyundai thinking using Gerrard for that advert?

:agree: ive seen it 5 times now and get worse each time... thats the edited / polished up final cut and its horrific on every level

10-12-2022, 05:58 PM

Glad the game is on Zitelli tonight 😁

1-0 France on national anthems

A belter.

Cutting throats and watering fields with your enemies blood.

Pisses all over a dirge about a serial adulterer and his ****ed up family.

I'm. Sure Griezmann and Dembele can change a game aswell as foden or Saka

Anyones game this tho

Both Dembele and Griezmann have had a great tournament so far.

10-12-2022, 05:59 PM

Oh and Ian Wright is a knob and I look forward to him being in tears again at the end of this 😁

Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 05:59 PM
Best anthem:sauzee: brings the movie Casablanca to mind every time.
Makes me very proud to be french 😉

Up-the-slope
10-12-2022, 06:00 PM
im going 3-1 England :rolleyes:

10-12-2022, 06:01 PM
Lee Dixon reiterates that England have players as well as France...such insight 🙄

Lee Dixon on Co comms

Devestating

Up-the-slope
hoiw can you kick off a world cup 1/4 final with a bust ball :faf:

I’m pretty relaxed whoever wins. I can’t see past France though, head and shoulders above every other team so far.

10-12-2022, 06:03 PM
France had a great chance to counter there

5 England players taken out the game with 1 pass

Didn't execute well though

I don't mind a bit English bias in the commentary, I'd expect the same if it was Scotland.

Dixon is just soul destroying though. Absolutely brutal.

I love that france have come dressed as Scotland 😁

10-12-2022, 06:04 PM
I don't mind a bit English bias in the commentary, I'd expect the same if it was Scotland.

Dixon is just soul destroying though. Absolutely brutal.

Mrs Dixon is hoping England get to the finals 😁🤣

10-12-2022, 06:05 PM
Griezmann can be an orthodox striker or a CDM, such a versatile player. Great at stealing the ball.

Up-the-slope
10-12-2022, 06:06 PM
never offside..

loads of empty seats again... poor

10-12-2022, 06:06 PM
1 player I really like is Tchouaméni for France

Be intersting to see how he shows up here

Every time I've seen him he's been excellent

10-12-2022, 06:08 PM
How many times is Maguire going to be offside at free kicks, he looks across the line and must realise he's off, noticed this the last game too.

10-12-2022, 06:08 PM
Oh and Ian Wright is a knob and I look forward to him being in tears again at the end of this 😁

Nah, Ian Wright has genuine passion. An English Ally McCoist. It's the presenters I generally can't stand.

Plus Lee Dixon, obv.

10-12-2022, 06:09 PM
England defence looks nervy every time the ball is in the box.

Yeah he’s good. He’s one of these players you never notice because he never seems to make mistakes. (Eek)

Up-the-slope
still not totally used to timing of this WC... pitch dark and chucking it with snow outside as I watch this .

will be pleased when its back to watching on a warm summers day

10-12-2022, 06:10 PM
Giroud hat trick would be just lovely.

How many times is Maguire going to be offside at free kicks, he looks across the line and must realise he's off, noticed this the last game too.

Hopefully all the time, the big galoot!

I love that france have come dressed as Scotland 😁

It's a bit dark blue compared to their flag, unlike England who have zero red in their strip even though their flag is red and white.

10-12-2022, 06:13 PM
If England are to win this then they need to score first for me.

They start throwing bodies forward and this defence will be ruthlessly exposed. Panic stations every time France work the ball into the box.

10-12-2022, 06:14 PM
It's a bit dark blue compared to their flag, unlike England who have zero red in their strip even though their flag is red and white.

It's comfortably the worst England strip I can remember. What is all that 5hit on the shoulders?

10-12-2022, 06:15 PM
It's comfortably the worst England strip I can remember. What is all that 5hit on the shoulders?

Maguire's heid?

10-12-2022, 06:16 PM
What a hit!!!!

10-12-2022, 06:16 PM
What a goal!

10-12-2022, 06:17 PM
Yessssssssss!!!!!!

Get ****ing in there. What a goal and all came from Rice trying and failing to do Mbappe.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalkooh yeeeeah. [emoji106][emoji106][emoji106]

Yasssss

That's special.

What a post this is. Genius.

JoeT
Was just thinking France were in control

Go to the top of the class :greengrin

Well that's pleasing. :thumbsup:

Curried
10-12-2022, 06:18 PM
Get in:-)

SJNB Hibby
There's a long way to go , but that's a start
That
Is
A
Start

Donegal Hibby
Goal of the tournament so far.just brilliant 🇨🇵🇨🇵🇨🇵

i'm watching the rugby sevens

but enjoying these updates

mon Le Francais

we want two
we want two

10-12-2022, 06:19 PM
There's a long way to go , but that's a start
That
Is
A
Start2016 vibes [emoji106][emoji106]

10-12-2022, 06:20 PM
Now England have to abandon safety first. Good.

If they'd ever employed a manager with an attacking philosophy God knows what they could have managed over the years with the embarassment of riches at their disposal.

10-12-2022, 06:21 PM
Lee Dixon 😂😂

Now Dixon can stfu about if it was a foul

Lee Dixon 😂😂

Just been put in his place by the ex ref 🤣

Now England have to abandon safety first. Good.

If they'd ever employed a manager with an attacking philosophy God knows what they could have managed over the years with the embarassment of riches at their disposal.

Correct, if they could ever get Klopp or Pep they'd be right up there.

Stairway 2 7
10-12-2022, 06:22 PM
Just been put in his place by the ex ref 🤣

That was delicious

Save by Lloris. All over Kane before he could set.

He makes mistakes but he does the high risk thing that makes that a possibility. At his best he's just brilliant.

Correct, if they could ever get Klopp or Pep they'd be right up there.

Or Clough, back in the day.

10-12-2022, 06:24 PM
That was deliciousAye but Dixon still hoping to have it disallowed at half time because of what he decided was a foul way before the goal[emoji16]

10-12-2022, 06:25 PM
Never a penalty that

That's a foul all day. Outside the box though?

Could be a pen

Might get that

That’s a pen

Pen check for England

Looks like a. Foul but outside?

This will be a penalty.

10-12-2022, 06:26 PM
Hahahha yaaaaas

Ibrox vibes here [emoji23][emoji23]

This will be a penalty.

Or not 🤣🤣🤣

Up-the-slope
That's a foul all day. Outside the box though?

would like to see 'foul' on Saka in lead up to Frances goal as in real time thought it was

I think thats a pen.:greengrin

This will be a penalty.

It should have been.

No penalty. Shame.

SJNB Hibby
Whew!

That should be a penalty

bringbackbenny
Lee Dixon not a happy chappy 😂

Never a penalty that
Is fot me

10-12-2022, 06:27 PM
Dixon thinks it was a penalty so will moan about that all game

That's a penalty all day long.

Donegal Hibby
Outside the box for me

This will be a penalty.

Wow. Play on.

And Kane not booked for diving ?

Lee Dixon not a happy chappy [emoji23]They really should have let him referee the match.

Lee Dixon not a happy chappy 😂

Good, absolute tosser of a man

No replay of the Saka foul and poss pen denied

Souness will be screaming conspiracy [emoji23]

That should be a penalty

Haven't seen a good angle but it looked outside the box to me.

SJNB Hibby
That should be a penalty

Agreed, but they must have judged it to be outside the penalty area

10-12-2022, 06:28 PM
Haven't seen a good angle but it looked outside the box to me.It's a definate foul but can they bring it back for a free kick?

I thibk they mights thought foul but could only give a pen it inside box

Agreed, but they must have judged it to be outside the penalty area

I think if they take it from initial contact which was the pull on the shirt then it was clearly outside the box. The leg to calf contact is a different story though.

stu in nottingham
Just outside the box.

HibsGW
Yep it’s outside the box so that’s why it’s not a pen. They might well agree it’s a foul but can’t use VAR for free kicks.

10-12-2022, 06:29 PM
I hope France get a really soft VAR penalty - Dixon may combust lol

SJNB Hibby
French being very sloppy in defenceq

England have recovered well they look the more likely

Hanging on a bit atm the French

10-12-2022, 06:30 PM
France living a charmed life. Eng should have scored.

england fans getting behind their side when they're getting beat

it really is a tournament of surprises

Hanging on a bit atm the FrenchYep, they are playing well

It's all England right now.

Up-the-slope
10-12-2022, 06:31 PM
It's a definate foul but can they bring it back for a free kick?

I thibk they mights thought foul but could only give a pen it inside box

NO

When Dixon utters his last words it will be 'but the foul on Saka in the build up in 22'.

Hanging on a bit atm the French

Like every other side in the quarters who have go behind. Every one of them have woken up to the fact they need to try score.

10-12-2022, 06:32 PM
Is Harry Kane auditioning to partner Tom Daley?

10-12-2022, 06:34 PM
Saka would be better trying to stay on his feet

10-12-2022, 06:36 PM
brilliant crossfield pass from griezman

Who is the trumpet with the trumpet? Who decides to pack a trumpet to take to the world cup? 🤣

That trumpet should be banned from grounds.

10-12-2022, 06:37 PM
France seem to have regained their composure. Just killed the tempo of the game the last few minutes which will suit them quite nicely. England look at their best when they can move it quickly.

10-12-2022, 06:38 PM
That trumpet should be banned from grounds.

And his trumpet too.

Stairway 2 7
Paul Pogba, ****e, Kimpembe, Nkunku, Karim Benzema, Lucas Hernandez

France's injured players, some squad

ErinGoBraghHFC
Who is the trumpet with the trumpet? Who decides to pack a trumpet to take to the world cup? [emoji1787]

England have a travelling band of supporters, like literally a band with trumpets and drums that go to every game. Nearly as infuriating as the commentators tbh

MGmick
This will end up as the best game of the tournament. Two very good sides, both trying to win the game not trying to avoid losing it. I think France are a level above England at the moment and should win but that might change when the time comes for substitutions.

Up-the-slope
10-12-2022, 06:39 PM
England losing a lot without Walker going inside to be additional midfielder when in possession & overloading midfield. They had good 10 mins but did not score when well on top. need to be braver to get overload

10-12-2022, 06:41 PM
england fans getting behind their side when they're getting beat

it really is a tournament of surprises
I think the lack of alcohol has a lot to do with the fans behavior.

10-12-2022, 06:43 PM
Griezmann needs to be careful. That's about his 5th foul and they have all been similar. A couple more and he's off.

JoeT
10-12-2022, 06:47 PM
Griezmann needs to be careful. That's about his 5th foul and they have all been similar. A couple more and he's off.

Ref seems poor though

10-12-2022, 06:48 PM
Ref seems poor though

I'd thought he's been decent. Opinions eh?

10-12-2022, 06:50 PM
Ref seems poor though

I like how he is reffing this, compared to that nutter last night!

10-12-2022, 06:50 PM
Ref seems poor though

Didn’t give the pen so decent so far lol

10-12-2022, 06:51 PM
Where did 5 minutes of extra time at HT come from ?

10-12-2022, 06:51 PM
I like how he is reffing this, compared to that nutter last night!