Stupid tackle that

Big chance rashford free kick

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

10-12-2022, 07:59 PM
oh oh another silly fk given away by the french

10-12-2022, 08:00 PM
Clock doesn't stop for anything other than Pens, so how are we in the 100th min ?

France have been collectively moronic at times.

Got away with it twice tonight.

Hector Mudflap
I wouldn't mind England winning and I think they have been the better team. I have much less time for the French and players like Mbappe just annoy me with their arrogance. The love in with Argentina is another thing I don't get- they hate Brits.
Come on England

Great effort that

Unlukcy

France trying their best to blow this

Full time

Shame

[emoji13][emoji13][emoji13]

ho ho ho merry xmas

10-12-2022, 08:01 PM
It’s all about Giroud. Quelle barbe.

And breathe 😁 am off to get another beer 🥳

Hahahahaha

And only the fodder of Morocco ahead of England winning the World Cup. Utter cocks, the lot of them :thumbsup:

Mr Grieves
Harry Kane the hero!

Donegal Hibby
If Scotland had a face
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221210/76e56832e00e6cc5109d70e7c800ca99.jpg

Mbappe hearing England fans singing " it's coming home"

Great effort that

Unlukcy

One for Madison

10-12-2022, 08:02 PM
I want to see Lee Dixon

Hahahahhaha, the World Cup winners are out!!!

Move on, nothing to see here

Right feet up and listen to the excuses with a wee glass of Pinot Noir

When they come up against a top team they're always found wanting.

Argentina would have destroyed them.

Harry Kane the hero!

I have a dislike of Kane so am very happy 😁

Don’t understand why he subbed Saka, he was their best player and had Hernandez struggling. Sterling offered heehaw. Not that I’m complaining 🤣

So.....

France v Morocco
Argentina v Croatia

Anyone's to win now.

Just a wee one? 😁

Good World Cup for England . No disgrace , they have been beaten by the tournament winners.

10-12-2022, 08:03 PM
I want to see Lee Dixon

He has left the building.

Don’t understand why he subbed Saka, he was their best player and had Hernandez struggling. Sterling offered heehaw. Not that I’m complaining 🤣

Still got his favourites and is never brave enough t go for it

Kane has never won anything.

Thank you to our friends in France! Yes its coming home that is The England team!

Donegal Hibby
And breathe 😁 am off to get another beer 🥳
That's the best idea I've heard all day 😆

If France play like that in the semi, Morocco will beat them

10-12-2022, 08:04 PM
Why no Dixon?

for the first time this WC i may just stay tuned for 'the studio'

Kane has never won anything.

The English Gary MacKay 🤣

Bridge hibs
Hard lines England 🤣

NC1875

Couldn’t care who wins it now. 😂😂

Why no Dixon?

He can't speak, due to tears and snotters.

Painful loss. GIRUY.

Southgate will be signing on this time next week. He won't survive this with the prospect of playing Morocco in a semi final having slipped away. This whole tournament is on the back of a horrendous run and by any measure they have regressed since 4 years ago.

Next stop Southampton or Huddersfield. No top 6 team will touch him.

10-12-2022, 08:05 PM
Ronaldo out and England out, a good days World Cup.

Zambernardi1875

France will beat Morocco 3-0

The Baldmans Comb
A fine admirable nation but utterly and completely without bottle.

As always put under pressure and one of more of their players will just crumble.

Scots still can't see though them sadly and never will.

Ryanair

They're coming home

Nothing to declare. 😂

10-12-2022, 08:06 PM
The first decent side they play, and normal service is resumed. :faf:

-

No doubt we will hear about the penalty that never was for the next 4 yrs

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221210/62748ebf189eb52739f728df40d63951.gif

Stairway 2 7
10-12-2022, 08:07 PM
Cracking world cup. Bring on the semi's

Donegal Hibby
That's probably the best way to do some gloating I've heard 👍

Painful loss. GIRUY.

Obtenez-le tout de suite

Phew

Southgate will be signing on this time next week. He won't survive this with the prospect of playing Morocco in a semi final having slipped away. This whole tournament is on the back of a horrendous run and by any measure they have regressed since 4 years ago.

Next stop Southampton or Huddersfield. No top 6 team will touch him.

Probably make a good career as an international manager for nations with less expectation! Maybe a nice stint in charge of Saudi or Qatar or Bermuda?

The Auld alliance wins through in the end.

Well i'm not sure where it's going, but it sure as hell aint coming home again. :wink:

It's Coming Homen't

10-12-2022, 08:08 PM
Best World Cup. EVER.

10-12-2022, 08:08 PM
And breathe again!! I genuinely thought that they've really going to win the world cup this year. Thought everything was falling into place. Oh, well. Not to worry

10-12-2022, 08:09 PM
I am so happy

borrowed from hibs supporters fb page

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/318416746_10230316872371631_329275107756319680_n.j pg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=0k7zRsG-ossAX_-4SzO&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfAGcFwU7n3x3NYzr8-TnMMOO6j30cQCOGabUtWNRF82Cg&oe=639AA7EC

Well i'm not sure where it's going, but it sure as hell aint coming home again. :wink:

When they said it was coming home…they didn’t tell us it was taking the old 32 bus route to get there ! #decades

Hahahahahahahahahaha

Probably make a good career as an international manager for nations with less expectation! Maybe a nice stint in charge of Saudi or Qatar or Bermuda?

My concern is if England can tempt a genuine top class manager to take the job they have a hell of a lot of good, young players.

That was as poor as I have seen France tonight and Southgate took off the player that was running the show to bring on his wee favourite. Mental.

NC1875
10-12-2022, 08:10 PM
Ah well, they’ll win the next Euros/world cup/euros/World Cup

Rinse and repeat

10-12-2022, 08:10 PM
Why no Dixon?

He’ll be coming to terms with being homeless. After all, he said he’d put his house on Harry Kane scoring that penalty

10-12-2022, 08:11 PM
He’ll be coming to terms with being homeless. After all, he said he’d put his house on Harry Kane scoring that penalty

10-12-2022, 08:12 PM
My concern is if England can tempt a genuine top class manager to take the job they have a hell of a lot of good, young players.

That was as poor as I have seen France tonight and Southgate took off the player that was running the show to bring on his wee favourite. Mental.

Hernandez just isn’t a great defender, which is why he’s normally a back up to his own brother. Saka had him on toast, bizarre decision by Southgate

10-12-2022, 08:12 PM
Think that was a good game though. England can't definitely play at this level. Really not much in it.

10-12-2022, 08:13 PM

What top class manager wants to manage a country though?

Hernandez just isn’t a great defender, which is why he’s normally a back up to his own brother. Saka had him on toast, bizarre decision by Southgate

Yeah. His skill is definitely going forward. Saka had him.

Gary Neville blaming the ref 🤣 get it up you ya miserable tosser 🤣

oh well, at least they don't need to worry about that parade now

England played well and they will be kicking themselves not to be progressing, France will probably win it now but I hope its Croatia.

Just a wee one? [emoji16]

Yeah.

Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 08:14 PM
Why no Dixon?
On his way home maybe 😂

Yeah. Biking it tomorrow

Qué Syrah Syrah then? 😁

JoeT

Nonsense, did you both miss the Southgate love in before the game?

10-12-2022, 08:15 PM
The Auld alliance wins through in the end.

Good point. We have two affiliate WC stars. And we're getting a third.

It's great being Scottish.

10-12-2022, 08:15 PM
Nonsense, did you both miss the Southgate love in before the game?

Aye but the knives will be out now it's not coming home 😁

10-12-2022, 08:16 PM
Neville in tears.

Beautiful.

10-12-2022, 08:16 PM
England will never have a better chance of winning the World Cup. French defenders were trying to chuck the game, and the winner came from Giroud who did absolutely nothing all game ... other than head the ball into the England net :greengrin

You don't get better chances than penalties but England just bottle it time and time again. Simply not good enough.

10-12-2022, 08:17 PM
Qué Syrah Syrah then? [emoji16]

It’s indoor so maybe tempted with another [emoji102]

10-12-2022, 08:17 PM
"with the greatest of respect to Morocco it's a missed opportunity. It's Morroco". Bit disrespectful that...

10-12-2022, 08:18 PM
Morocco to do a Leicester???

10-12-2022, 08:19 PM
England played well and they will be kicking themselves not to be progressing, France will probably win it now but I hope its Croatia.

I don’t get how England played so well?

They never created any chances? The two goals they scored were penalties that weren’t close to being goal scoring opportunities. France scored two from open play and I remember a good save from Pickford.

England didn’t play well at all IMO.

10-12-2022, 08:19 PM
And now I can relax and support smaller countries again. Croatia Morocco final please.

10-12-2022, 08:21 PM
Did they finish the coverage early? 🤣

No they didn't, thought they had gone off in a huff!

10-12-2022, 08:21 PM
And now I can relax and support smaller countries again. Croatia Morocco final please.

Booooo. France all the way.

10-12-2022, 08:22 PM
England will never have a better chance of winning the World Cup. French defenders were trying to chuck the game, and the winner came from Giroud who did absolutely nothing all game ... other than head the ball into the England net :greengrin

You don't get better chances than penalties but England just bottle it time and time again. Simply not good enough.

The hearts of world fitba.

10-12-2022, 08:22 PM
Declan Rice was magnificent this evening? Was he even playing? 😁🤣

10-12-2022, 08:24 PM

Is he not a pop star?

that grealish dude had a very good game i think

Is he not a pop star?

Damien Rice! Declan Rice is an overrated former Irish footballer...

10-12-2022, 08:25 PM
England had a pretty easy route to the quarter final and lost against the first big test they've had. For all the hype and bigging up of their players they've just been their usual disappointing selves. They're a slightly better than average international team but miles away from the big boys.

10-12-2022, 08:25 PM
gareth southgate is the first england manager that i think is an ok dude

10-12-2022, 08:26 PM

He had a decent game. England were pretty good, really wasn't much in it.

10-12-2022, 08:27 PM
He had a decent game. England were pretty good, really wasn't much in it.

Especially the bit where he tried and failed to take Mbappe out at the first goal 🤣🤣🤣

10-12-2022, 08:27 PM
England had a pretty easy route to the quarter final and lost against the first big test they've had. For all the hype and bigging up of their players they've just been their usual disappointing selves. They're a slightly better than average international team.

i've only saw him twice this WC but this Foden dude is bigged up for being the best player in the world by some

i've not saw this myself, maybe just an off few games

10-12-2022, 08:28 PM
England tried their very best and France almost had to get into 3rd gear :greengrin . But hey, the ref will be the villain, not the gilt-edged penalty chance missed by HC.

10-12-2022, 08:29 PM
i've only saw him twice this WC but this Foden dude is bigged up for being the best player in the world by some

i've not saw this myself, maybe just an off few games

Foden is hyped beyond belief.

10-12-2022, 08:30 PM
Especially the bit where he tried and failed to take Mbappe out at the first goal 🤣🤣🤣

Yeah, he made a mistake. Still had a decent game.

Jakhog1
kane hits a plane, is that the new elf on a shelf

Liberté, égalité, fraternité, getitrightupyé

Stolen from twitter

Foden is hyped beyond belief.

As is Grealish and Rice and several others in they squad

10-12-2022, 08:31 PM
Yeah, he made a mistake. Still had a decent game.

Was the only point I noticed him in the match.

10-12-2022, 08:31 PM
BBC will be all about who Southgate will rest for the match against Morocco .... oh, that will be the whole team then :cb

10-12-2022, 08:32 PM
Was the only point I noticed him in the match.

Okay. He still had a decent game.

Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 08:33 PM
Referee's Wikipedia page had to be changed , England fans furious kane didn't get a penalty for incident outside the box, french first goal shouldn't have stood etc etc :blah:

supermcginn
As is Grealish and Rice and several others in they squad

Rice especially, he's at West ham for a reason.

Okay. He still had a decent game.

Ok! Like I say, didn't really notice him. Could have run around in a tutu with a traffic come on his head for all I saw of him.

10-12-2022, 08:34 PM
hopefully the remaining four games are still shown

;)

Croatia will win this now. Time to put Harry Kane’s house on it 🫣

;)

Remaining four games of what?

10-12-2022, 08:35 PM

;)

Now exclusively on BBC Alba 😁

10-12-2022, 08:35 PM
Remaining four games of what?

the WC :confused:

10-12-2022, 08:36 PM
Good World Cup for England . No disgrace , they have been beaten by the tournament winners.Going out on penalties in 90 minutes has to be a unique achievement, surely :hilarious

10-12-2022, 08:38 PM
Now exclusively on BBC Alba 😁

maybe they will receive HD cameras for the occasion :hyper

10-12-2022, 08:39 PM
This was the chance for England.

They will say they lost to the current world champions but that French squad is down a few key players and they had a bit of an off night tonight. Every other team left in the competition has question marks against them. It was there for England, they were on top and one player in particular was influential and their manager made a horrendous decision, they miss a penalty and the chance is gone.

I'm far from convinced we saw the eventual winners of the tournament beat England tonight, I could be wrong but that French side look well beatable. Their recent run of form in the Nation's League wasn't good; losses to Denmark twice and Croatia, draws with both Austria and Croatia against a solitary win against Austria. 1 win in 6 competitive games is hardly anything to write home about. They hardly set the heather on fire at the last Euros either: 1 win, 3 draws and out on penalties in the round of 16.

I just can't see how it opens up so well for England again. They should have done far better at this WC but their own form has been dire for months as well so I suppose it's not all that surprising they performed worse than the last 2 major tournaments.

10-12-2022, 08:40 PM
Croatia will kick the hell out of France.

In the final.

10-12-2022, 08:40 PM

I know! I was just joking that it's irrelevant now England are out. You might not believe this but I am the life and soul of every party!

10-12-2022, 08:41 PM
Booooo. France all the way.

10-12-2022, 08:42 PM

In the final.

Nope. France will take Argentina out in the final. Les trois etoiles viennent!!!!!

"with the greatest of respect to Morocco it's a missed opportunity. It's Morroco". Bit disrespectful that...

They are a ****ing good side. I’m sure they’ll be happy to keep getting disrespected while they’re sneaking around the back with the trophy.

Classic!!!!! Burst here!

10-12-2022, 08:43 PM
Taking an honest look at things beforehand and a Quarter final place for England looked realistic. I think they have something to build on there, expectations may be higher next time around.

10-12-2022, 08:44 PM
Rice especially, he's at West ham for a reason.

Cos he’s under contract. He’ll have his pick of teams in the next 12
months probably for £80m+

10-12-2022, 08:45 PM
Will be interesting to see if Harry Kane gets similar abuse to the lads that missed penalties in the European Championships.

10-12-2022, 08:46 PM
Will be interesting to see if Harry Kane gets similar abuse to the lads that missed penalties in the European Championships.You mean the white Harry Kane?

Doubts it

HibsGW

Comical if that happens, decent player and that’s about it

England were the better team there but that doesn't win you anything if you don't make the difference count. They were lucky really to be playing a fairly weakened France.

I'm not sure they'll get as good a chance again as that to win the thing for a long time. There's something really weird about their serial failure since 1966.

10-12-2022, 08:47 PM
up yi Murdoch ya wee scrote

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/318650317_481402980763598_4302377470840635975_n.jp g?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=AjPgBGJuKE4AX_2wbP1&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AfA-npkO5UEgfVXErMSrPBdisvdBbXznHyl_1A3xedvuRg&oe=639A44E9

Logie Green
Taking an honest look at things beforehand and a Quarter final place for England looked realistic. I think they have something to build on there, expectations may be higher next time around.

Thankfully they didn’t make the Qatar final.

Indeed. Rice is a top class player. He'll go wherever he wants

10-12-2022, 08:48 PM
I know! I was just joking that it's irrelevant now England are out. You might not believe this but I am the life and soul of every party!

supermcginn
10-12-2022, 08:50 PM

He just isn't that good that's why.

Quality of the teams is noticeably poorer than previous WC Finals. England might have higher expectations next time, but other countries will not be standing still. Jees, even Scotland might decide to have a crack at this tournament.

England were the better team there but that doesn't win you anything if you don't make the difference count. They were lucky really to be playing a fairly weakened France.

I'm not sure they'll get as good a chance again as that to win the thing for a long time. There's something really weird about their serial failure since 1966.

I don't disagree but I'm, er, buoyant tonight, so... What was weird was that they got all their games at home, referees sending main challenger's top player off for the look in his eyes, and a blind linesman.

10-12-2022, 08:51 PM
Indeed. Rice is a top class player. He'll go wherever he wants

Wouldn't get a game in our midfield 😁

He just isn't that good that's why.

No, it's not. Watch the guy and follow the situation. He's very good. He'll be on the move soon. It's not lack of interest.

In the final.

As long as Morocco don't get to the final. Mind you, it would be a good chance to catch up on my sleep while the St Johnstone international side play Argentina or Croatia.

10-12-2022, 08:53 PM
Wouldn't get a game in our midfield 😁

No, because the Sommelier won't sign anybody that we might need for our midfield. So TBF, NOBODY can get a game for our midfield.

supermcginn
10-12-2022, 08:53 PM
Comical if that happens, decent player and that’s about it

Exactly 🤣 if he was that good one of the big teams would have paid what west ham wanted for him years ago.

10-12-2022, 08:56 PM
As long as Morocco don't get to the final. Mind you, it would be a good chance to catch up on my sleep while the St Johnstone international side play Argentina or Croatia.

Can you imagine if the England team had the desire, skill, support, centre midfielder or even the attacking full backs of the Moroccans?

They might not have been on the plane back to Blighty.

10-12-2022, 08:57 PM
No, because the Sommelier won't sign anybody that we might need for our midfield. So TBF, NOBODY can get a game for our midfield.

Is that the swiss keeper? 🤷

10-12-2022, 08:58 PM
Best moment of the evening, the 3 female post-match analysis team where one of them raged that Kane should not have taken the 2nd penalty because he didn't sort his socks before taking the spot kick. Football has regressed in so many ways :rolleyes:

10-12-2022, 08:58 PM
Exactly 🤣 if he was that good one of the big teams would have paid what west ham wanted for him years ago.

Great logic that. Only players at the top clubs are good, no one else.

10-12-2022, 08:59 PM

He’s a decent player, a bit of a machine and still young-ish so could maybe still improve. He’ll have his suitors but it will be telling that none of them are Barca, Real, PSG or Bayern IMO.

Same with Mount, whenever I see him play I can’t understand why he’s so highly rated. Another who is decent, no more no less.

10-12-2022, 09:01 PM
He’s a decent player, a bit of a machine and still young-ish so could maybe still improve. He’ll have his suitors but it will be telling that none of them are Barca, Real, PSG or Bayern IMO.

Same with Mount, whenever I see him play I can’t understand why he’s so highly rated. Another who is decent, no more no less.

Rice will go to Chelsea as he is best mates with Mount, so they can form an average midfield togethe

10-12-2022, 09:04 PM
Rice will go to Chelsea as he is best mates with Mount, so they can form an average midfield togethe

You know mount won the champions league 18 months ago?

Hibees1973
10-12-2022, 09:07 PM
The first thing that comes to my mind about tonight's game is the respect France and England had for each other. It was a much more enjoyable watch than the Argentina v Holland game.

Much as I like a game with a bit of and edge, the antics of some of the Argies was sickening. The Dutch were no angels, mind you, but watching a game like that becomes tedious and gets really annoying. The image shown in the press this morning of instant reaction of the Argentinian players goading the Dutch was disgraceful. Maybe the Dutch players would have done the same. But on the whole the game left a sour taste. The reaction of the France and England players post match tonight was the polar opposite.

Which brings me to tonight's game. Tin hat on. Why all the hate towards England. Politics aside, while watching all the games at the World Cup it's the England team I felt most in common with. By no means was I shouting them on and I do not having a St George's flag in my window.

I just feel that when it comes to these tournaments, a fair portion of Scotland as a nation, become England haters which I feel is insular and small minded. The World Cup is a global competition and England is the one we have most in common with.

I fully understand Scottish people not showing visible support for England. I just don't get the hate.

Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 09:07 PM
Hoping for Argentina v France final . 👍

Monopolyguy
10-12-2022, 09:09 PM
The first thing that comes to my mind about tonight's game is the respect France and England had for each other. It was a much more enjoyable watch than the Argentina v Holland game.

Much as I like a game with a bit of and edge, the antics of some of the Argies was sickening. The Dutch were no angels, mind you, but watching a game like that becomes tedious and gets really annoying. The image shown in the press this morning of instant reaction of the Argentinian players goading the Dutch was disgraceful. Maybe the Dutch players would have done the same. But on the whole the game left a sour taste. The reaction of the France and England players post match tonight was the polar opposite.

Which brings me to tonight's game. Tin hat on. Why all the hate towards England. Politics aside, while watching all the games at the World Cup it's the England team I felt most in common with. By no means was I shouting them on and I do not having a St George's flag in my window.

I just feel that when it comes to these tournaments, a fair portion of Scotland as a nation, become England haters which I feel is insular and small minded. The World Cup is a global competition and England is the one we have most in common with.

I fully understand Scottish people not showing visible support for England. I just don't get the hate.

Because the hate isn't one way only.

Edit. Not saying I hate England, just offering a reason

10-12-2022, 09:10 PM

I've not seen any hate. Loads of delight at them losing, a lot of piss taking. But hate? Don't see it.

10-12-2022, 09:11 PM

No hate for me - just football rivalry ….

10-12-2022, 09:12 PM

That's your opinion and I respect it. I don't agree with it but I respect it.

10-12-2022, 09:13 PM
Hate? Nah.

10-12-2022, 09:13 PM

Do you support Hearts after we go out of the Cup? After all, we have more in common with their supporters than anyone else.

10-12-2022, 09:15 PM
Can you imagine if the England team had the desire, skill, support, centre midfielder or even the attacking full backs of the Moroccans?

They might not have been on the plane back to Blighty.

England's problem has always been and in my view remains their innate caution. Over the decades they have had some of the world's very best players and still conspired to look less than the sum of their parts. Pretty much everything you list England have as well or better than Morocco, their problem is I think psychological.

I'm not sure that playing the free flowing two lines of five at the back that Morocco treated us to in the second half today would improve England much. Great for Morocco and all that but it's a lot more McDiarmaid Park than Marrakesh.

Smiggy 7-0
10-12-2022, 09:16 PM
No hate for me - just football rivalry ….No hate for England Football Team or English people its the English media I can't stand.

10-12-2022, 09:17 PM

Apparently the tv didn’t show antics from the Dutch players during the penalty shootout, including 5 of them in the winning taker’s face as he went up to take the penalty. There were bookings handed out during the shootout which the tv didn’t show the reasons for. Might explain some of the Argentinian reaction on top of what turned into quite a fierce game.

As an aside it was a brilliant game to watch last night.

And for your England point - do you usually get right behind almost any if not every team playing against hearts?

10-12-2022, 09:22 PM
Hate? Nah.

No hate at all, many friends who are English. But why would I want England to win at anything.

10-12-2022, 09:24 PM
Keown and Jenas look as if they are going to burst into tears.

10-12-2022, 09:24 PM

Where is all this "hate" ?

Suspect 40 years ago, you might have seen it. Now it is more likely mocking and wallowing in the anguish of our nearest neighbours. I'm half English but absolutely delight in the English national side's regular, inevitable implosion and collapsing hubris especially of the tiresome media commentators. It's classed as entertainment north of the Border.

Hulk1875
10-12-2022, 09:27 PM
Apparently the tv didn’t show antics from the Dutch players during the penalty shootout, including 5 of them in the winning taker’s face as he went up to take the penalty. There were bookings handed out during the shootout which the tv didn’t show the reasons for. Might explain some of the Argentinian reaction on top of what turned into quite a fierce game.

As an aside it was a brilliant game to watch last night.

And for your England point - do you usually get right behind almost any if not every team playing against hearts?

Yeah the Dutch players were walking with the argies as going to toe there penalty’s so just as bad, we’ll within there right to GIRFYU

10-12-2022, 09:29 PM
No hate for England Football Team or English people its the English media I can't stand.

…… in a nutshell!!! I admire the English team and their manager, who’s a nice guy. The crap from the media and pundits is loathsome to the extent I’m delighted to see them silenced.

Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 09:37 PM
The two semi finals , you would expect a Argentina v France final but could there be another shock in it with one of the favourites going out ?

10-12-2022, 09:39 PM
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/319360910_10230791435833183_3649663936986086548_n. jpg?stp=cp6_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=tt5noCeJ_RMAX_1BhUK&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AfAQNYjany2lKFZIrHClwkkieXf1cuHAotZvsAgAQVny DQ&oe=639986CD

10-12-2022, 09:42 PM
Southgate is sound and has done a great job for England. A world cup semi and a European final can't be sniffed at.

But why does he, and his players, heartily beg an imaginary sky guy to give favourable treatment to a super rich guy before games? That's like mad.

Edit: sorry, wrong thread. Ah well. Whose round is it?

Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 09:45 PM
Spurs new logo 😆.
https://m.facebook.com/SPORTbible/posts/4026611544151014/

10-12-2022, 09:47 PM
The two semi finals , you would expect a Argentina v France final but could there be another shock in it with one of the favourites going out ?

A Croatia-Morocco final is definitely possible. Both teams are underrated and deserved to win their quarters against two other ‘big teams’ Portugal and Brazil. But A decisive factor might be energy and strength in depth; Argentina will be able to bring on better replacements than Croatia, France definitely will have better than Morocco, who’ve also just played 120 minutes and pens.

10-12-2022, 09:52 PM
Do you support Hearts after we go out of the Cup? After all, we have more in common with their supporters than anyone else.

In a nutshell Sporting rivalry nothing more

Mantis Toboggan
10-12-2022, 09:55 PM

Well said. And there is no hate to England, just taking the proverbial. Which is absolutely fair enough.

10-12-2022, 09:57 PM

Foden is another hugely overrated

10-12-2022, 09:59 PM
funny

the ball from Harry kane's penalty, scheduled to land at Heathrow, has been diverted to Gatwick due to freezing fog.

McSwanky
10-12-2022, 10:02 PM

I fully understand Scottish people not showing visible support for England. I just don't get the hate.What have we got in common with England more than the likes of e.g. France, Canada, USA, Netherlands and many more? Just that we share a border/island with them?

It's 11 guys playing against 11 guys. For me, that's about all we've got in common with them, or any of the other teams.

If it wasn't for the wall to wall sycophantic coverage of a nation that isn't mine on my country's national TV, I imagine I'd see England much the same as any other country. But it really grinds my gears to have to put up with it, so the sooner they are out of any competition the better for me.

10-12-2022, 10:04 PM

Hang on, we have a midfield????

Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 10:09 PM
A Croatia-Morocco final is definitely possible. Both teams are underrated and deserved to win their quarters against two other ‘big teams’ Portugal and Brazil. But A decisive factor might be energy and strength in depth; Argentina will be able to bring on better replacements than Croatia, France definitely will have better than Morocco, who’ve also just played 120 minutes and pens.
Both will be intriguing semi finals . The Croatia v Argentina one will be close I think with the two best players going head to head and is a hard one to call . Morocco and France I feel maybe France will have to much for them but while I haven't enjoyed watching Morocco's style of football at all I can appreciate what they done is quite amazing , a good all round team that are very defensive ,counter - attack minded team and it works well for them . Probably think the energy and quality of squad will tell more in France game ! Hoping for Argentina v France final but wouldn't be surprised if Croatia get thru either.

10-12-2022, 10:09 PM
https://twitter.com/faytuks/status/1601704756434841600?s=61&t=Wu7dAQ5XtJF0MUs3qfX1CA

Suspect all Parisian Police leave now cancelled for Wednesday…

10-12-2022, 10:11 PM

This is all a bit silly. If the top 4 or 5 teams in the world don’t want him then he’s only “decent”. He’s a very good player but obviously a bit short of being a Modric or Busquets. Don’t think anyone is claiming he’s world class. Just a very good player.

As for other comments that Foden is over rated, that is just laughable. He’d play for any team in the world.

10-12-2022, 10:12 PM
Seeing a bunch of England fans raging at full-time was the last thing I witnessed before boarding my flight. Beautiful.

10-12-2022, 10:22 PM
https://twitter.com/faytuks/status/1601704756434841600?s=61&t=Wu7dAQ5XtJF0MUs3qfX1CA

Suspect all Parisian Police leave now cancelled for Wednesday…

Aye. It'll be a nightmare from now until a good way in to next week.

10-12-2022, 10:35 PM
What an excellent result, time to break out some wine to celebrate. Cheeky wee French Chardonnay perhaps

Jim Herriot
10-12-2022, 10:41 PM

cameronw-hfc
10-12-2022, 10:45 PM
This is all a bit silly. If the top 4 or 5 teams in the world don’t want him then he’s only “decent”. He’s a very good player but obviously a bit short of being a Modric or Busquets. Don’t think anyone is claiming he’s world class. Just a very good player.

As for other comments that Foden is over rated, that is just laughable. He’d play for any team in the world.

I agree to a certain extent here. I think Foden has the world at his feet and could be known as an all time great, but he's spoken about like he's already at that level, I think that's where the overrated stuff comes from. I think a lot of City fans and English are slightly overrating him, although I think it's a matter of time before he's actually at the level they think he is.

10-12-2022, 10:46 PM

Whoosh

10-12-2022, 10:51 PM
No hate for England Football Team or English people its the English media I can't stand.

Bollocks.

10-12-2022, 11:04 PM

Correct. They have some top class players and played some great stuff. Southgate showed real class post game.

10-12-2022, 11:57 PM
gareth southgate is the first england manager that i think is an ok dude

Yep. I don’t even mind the England players that much tbh. Watching clips of them and interviews most of them seem a decent bunch.

Mcbizz1998
11-12-2022, 12:02 AM

I actually wanted England to do well but this cracked me up [emoji1787]

11-12-2022, 12:18 AM
After last week's indiscretion against Senegal, good to see that ITV have went back to their usual lose rate for England games at the World Cup since 1998.

BBC Pld 16 W12 D1 L3
ITV Pld 17 W3 D6 L8

Go team ITV. 😆

11-12-2022, 12:38 AM

Replace England with Hearts or Rangers and you have your answer.

They are our oldest rivals. I want them to lose at tiddlywinks.

And I say that as a man whose home is in Wiltshire, married to an English girl with half English kids.

11-12-2022, 01:04 AM
Replace England with Hearts or Rangers and you have your answer.

They are our oldest rivals. I want them to lose at tiddlywinks.

And I say that as a man whose home is in Wiltshire, married to an English girl with half English kids.

I even want them to lose in a thong throwing competition.

And I say that as a man who has lived in Australia for 48 years 😉

cameronw-hfc
11-12-2022, 07:00 AM

You said you didn't want to get political, but I think the reason involves politics.
If were talking about why most scots want them to lose, its our geographical rival. If you want to know why the sheer level of hatred for them when we dont have the same for NI, Wales, Ireland, then its got a lot to do with politics. Not left and right politics, but decades of being looked down upon by the English, being forced to sit through mind-numbing English propaganda at every tournament, on "Scottish " tv stations.

Then you've got the current political side, which you'd say is more left and right politics. A lot of unionists will support/not be vocal about England losing, whereas a lot of people have a serious sense of unjust after the last 10/15 years of how the UK has panned out. There's a lot of resentment in Scotland to the English, not random English people, but the English as a whole. Tory rule, brexit, the immigrant situations (Rwanda etc), im not saying what's right and wrong here, but I've got friends who sit on every fence I've mentioned here. Some detest England for political reasons, some hate them for ancestry reasons(few scots-irish lads I know), some purely just because they're our rivals. Some weirdly support them, some just dont care all that much

Like most international geographic rivalries, the reason tends to vary massively. Everyone has their own reason for how they feel about our rivals, some more strongly than others and some for drastically different reasons. Got to remember politics /religion in football is pretty big in Scotland compared to a lot of other places, so that will play apart as well. Catholic Republicans will most likely sit on the fence of anti-england during the tourney, whereas Protestant unionists will side on the English side. I know that's a generalization but even if its a minority, we know what Celtc and Rangers fans are like.

It's part of football, and its going to be like that forever mot likely. Social media has also amplified a lot of it. A lot of the tweets, FB posts, insta posts etc emitting a lot of hate or mockery dont actually come from a place of hate, rather than a place of trolling/mockery. Ive tweeted about 5.6 things about it winding them up, but I don't actually care. I just like winding up a few of my pals that follow my tweets and are English.

Sorry for the Bible, would say like a lot of national rivalries, we have a pretty complex situation with England, after all we literally have hundreds of years of history with them, usually fighting with them in one way or another.

11-12-2022, 07:31 AM
NASA had to adjust the approach of the Orion capsule due to the trajectory of a football entering low orbit from Qatar...

11-12-2022, 07:39 AM

Croatia reached the Final in the last World Cup too. How many tournaments do they need to do well in before people stop seeing it as a shock?

just wondering btw, it’s not aimed at you. With the players France have, and certainly one or two players Argentina have I can see why they’re fancied.

HNA11
11-12-2022, 08:05 AM
If at all possible can we discuss the World Cup and England national team without using the Falklands as some kind of point scoring excercise. It wasn't exclusively English soliders killed in the associated conflict (not that it would make any difference if it was of course).

11-12-2022, 08:17 AM

Is Foden even a regular at City? Seems to be on the bench a lot maybe I am out of touch with his club form. Internationally not sure I can remember him having a brilliant game many games pass him by imo. Obviously hugely technical but for England guys like Saka have much more of an impact.

NC1875
11-12-2022, 08:20 AM
Yep. I don’t even mind the England players that much tbh. Watching clips of them and interviews most of them seem a decent bunch.

Yup, agree with that apart from Kane the cheat. Could add Sterling to that list as well but the majority of them seem decent lads.

It’s the media that makes everyone hate them. Already heard 3 times this morning how they’ll win the euros and the older players will go out on a high 🥱

Stairway 2 7
11-12-2022, 08:43 AM
What's the final going to be. I think Morocco have a chance. Great defence and France due to injuries are poor at the back.

Other semi will surely be close and nervy but I fancy Messi and Di Maria to open them up.

Two crackers unfortunately days away

11-12-2022, 08:48 AM
Any of the press mention the 2 handed push on Giroud in the box?

11-12-2022, 08:59 AM
I agree to a certain extent here. I think Foden has the world at his feet and could be known as an all time great, but he's spoken about like he's already at that level, I think that's where the overrated stuff comes from. I think a lot of City fans and English are slightly overrating him, although I think it's a matter of time before he's actually at the level they think he is.

No doubt Foden is a quality footballer.

I think his issue seems to be how often he actually impacts games. Occasionally I’ll see him dominate a match and clearly be the difference maker but not nearly enough.

So I get why people can say he is over rated while at the same time agree will people who says he’s top quality…

As for Declan Rice…never really liked him that much and did think he was well over rated but must admit that over the last season or two he has matured very well and for that type of ‘powerhouse’ type player he’s right up there. Probably got a bit to go yet as well.

Finally for 19yo Bellingham is already an outstanding player. He really could turn out to be the best of the best.

11-12-2022, 09:28 AM
Is Foden even a regular at City? Seems to be on the bench a lot maybe I am out of touch with his club form. Internationally not sure I can remember him having a brilliant game many games pass him by imo. Obviously hugely technical but for England guys like Saka have much more of an impact.

Started 11, came on in the other 3, 7 goals, 3 assists. Key player for city.

11-12-2022, 09:34 AM

I’ll guess that, if he moves, it’ll be to another English team and not Man City.

Could well be for a sum close to what you’re saying as that’s what happens down there.

11-12-2022, 09:36 AM
I’ve really enjoyed this World Cup. It feels like the “poorer” teams in the tournament have become much stronger whilst the teams at the top aren’t as clear as they used to be. I don’t think, whoever the winner is this time around, would beat:

- Brazil (2006)
- Spain (2010)
- Germany (2014)
- France (2018), but this is purely on the basis the current French squad is injury-hit. Full-strength and they are there, which speaks volumes for their quality and I know contradicts what I’ve said!

Has made for some brilliant matches. Can’t wait for the Semis and the Final. I’m going Argentina Vs France. Argentina to win with a Messi double 2-1.

Paul1642
11-12-2022, 09:37 AM
You said you didn't want to get political, but I think the reason involves politics.
If were talking about why most scots want them to lose, its our geographical rival. If you want to know why the sheer level of hatred for them when we dont have the same for NI, Wales, Ireland, then its got a lot to do with politics. Not left and right politics, but decades of being looked down upon by the English, being forced to sit through mind-numbing English propaganda at every tournament, on "Scottish " tv stations.

Then you've got the current political side, which you'd say is more left and right politics. A lot of unionists will support/not be vocal about England losing, whereas a lot of people have a serious sense of unjust after the last 10/15 years of how the UK has panned out. There's a lot of resentment in Scotland to the English, not random English people, but the English as a whole. Tory rule, brexit, the immigrant situations (Rwanda etc), im not saying what's right and wrong here, but I've got friends who sit on every fence I've mentioned here. Some detest England for political reasons, some hate them for ancestry reasons(few scots-irish lads I know), some purely just because they're our rivals. Some weirdly support them, some just dont care all that much

Like most international geographic rivalries, the reason tends to vary massively. Everyone has their own reason for how they feel about our rivals, some more strongly than others and some for drastically different reasons. Got to remember politics /religion in football is pretty big in Scotland compared to a lot of other places, so that will play apart as well. Catholic Republicans will most likely sit on the fence of anti-england during the tourney, whereas Protestant unionists will side on the English side. I know that's a generalization but even if its a minority, we know what Celtc and Rangers fans are like.

It's part of football, and its going to be like that forever mot likely. Social media has also amplified a lot of it. A lot of the tweets, FB posts, insta posts etc emitting a lot of hate or mockery dont actually come from a place of hate, rather than a place of trolling/mockery. Ive tweeted about 5.6 things about it winding them up, but I don't actually care. I just like winding up a few of my pals that follow my tweets and are English.

Sorry for the Bible, would say like a lot of national rivalries, we have a pretty complex situation with England, after all we literally have hundreds of years of history with them, usually fighting with them in one way or another.

I feel like you have just looked far too far into this and I don’t think any of this comes close to applying to me or most others.

As many have said above, I want them to loose because they are out geographical rival. Simple as that.

As for the comparison to NI, IRL and Wales. I want them to loose as well to be honest, and those who don’t is probably based on a success / ability level rather than much else. England are the only British Isles team to have been consistently good since WW2 whilst the rest of us have gone through decades of being crap. It’s harder to dislike a team when they are rubbish. We also don’t share a border with any other nation.

11-12-2022, 09:39 AM
Started 11, came on in the other 3, 7 goals, 3 assists. Key player for city.

Fair enough have no concerns about his quality however internationally a lot of games don't see him making an impact.

hibby rae
11-12-2022, 09:42 AM
I’ve really enjoyed this World Cup. It feels like the “poorer” teams in the tournament have become much stronger whilst the teams at the top aren’t as clear as they used to be. I don’t think, whoever the winner is this time around, would beat:

- Brazil (2006)
- Spain (2010)
- Germany (2014)
- France (2018), but this is purely on the basis the current French squad is injury-hit. Full-strength and they are there, which speaks volumes for their quality and I know contradicts what I’ve said!

Has made for some brilliant matches. Can’t wait for the Semis and the Final. I’m going Argentina Vs France. Argentina to win with a Messi double 2-1.

Italy won in 2006. Think you mean 2002

hibby rae
11-12-2022, 09:45 AM
I feel like you have just looked far too far into this and I don’t think any of this comes close to applying to me or most others.

As many have said above, I want them to loose because they are out geographical rival. Simple as that.

As for the comparison to NI, IRL and Wales. I want them to loose as well to be honest, and those who don’t is probably based on a success / ability level rather than much else. England are the only British Isles team to have been consistently good since WW2 whilst the rest of us have gone through decades of being crap. It’s harder to dislike a team when they are rubbish. We also don’t share a border with any other nation.

Tbf they says at the very beginning most fall into the geographical thing. I think they make some valid points.

There would be a little less schadenfreude if the media etc railed it in a bit. Like when Messi scored two days ago the commentator saw that as an opportunity to mention England 🤦🤦

11-12-2022, 09:57 AM
Any of the press mention the 2 handed push on Giroud in the box?I noticed Dixon and Matterface stayed really quiet after that replay [emoji848][emoji23]

11-12-2022, 10:02 AM
England need to take a big step forward and start beating the nations you always get in the latter rounds https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221211/8ea4287337e5e7b2a6f18b4650a096a9.jpg

11-12-2022, 10:05 AM
Both will be intriguing semi finals . The Croatia v Argentina one will be close I think with the two best players going head to head and is a hard one to call . Morocco and France I feel maybe France will have to much for them but while I haven't enjoyed watching Morocco's style of football at all I can appreciate what they done is quite amazing , a good all round team that are very defensive ,counter - attack minded team and it works well for them . Probably think the energy and quality of squad will tell more in France game ! Hoping for Argentina v France final but wouldn't be surprised if Croatia get thru either.

Worked for Greece in 2004

11-12-2022, 10:12 AM
I see Pepe and Bruno Fernandes are moaning about the appointment of an Argentinian referee for for the quarter final

Suppose they have a point in terms of the optics

11-12-2022, 10:14 AM
I see Pepe and Bruno Fernandes are moaning about the appointment of an Argentinian referee for for the quarter final

Suppose they have a point actually

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkLucky for them that neither of them will have to endure a couple of seasons in the Scottish premiership[emoji16]

11-12-2022, 10:16 AM
England need to take a big step forward and start beating the nations you always get in the latter rounds https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221211/8ea4287337e5e7b2a6f18b4650a096a9.jpg

That is pretty atrocious.

11-12-2022, 10:32 AM
Fair enough have no concerns about his quality however internationally a lot of games don't see him making an impact.

Yeah, still to make an impact for England.

11-12-2022, 10:33 AM

Maybe. But one has always been a fud and the other is usually greetin’ about something.

They were beat fair and square and should leave the nonsensical referee-blaming to the English media.

HibsGW
11-12-2022, 11:18 AM

I assume then they also didnt want an English or French referee since they were both still in the tournament? Can’t see the issue myself seems too big a stretch

11-12-2022, 12:06 PM
Maybe. But one has always been a fud and the other is usually greetin’ about something.

They were beat fair and square and should leave the nonsensical referee-blaming to the English media.I don't disagree with the comments on Pepe and Fernandes [emoji23]

I do so there wider point tho

11-12-2022, 12:10 PM
Saw a stat that Ronaldo never scored a knockout goal at the World Cup in his whole career. Think it’s just one of those weird anomalous stats.

11-12-2022, 12:17 PM
Saw a stat that Ronaldo never scored a knockout goal at the World Cup in his whole career. Think it’s just one of those weird anomalous stats.

Neither did Rooney. Only one goal at a WC ever and it was in a loss to Uruguay in the group.

Stairway 2 7
11-12-2022, 12:43 PM

- Brazil (2006)
- Spain (2010)
- Germany (2014)

I think due to better scouting and it being a smaller world, more of the smaller teams players play champions league.

USA, Canada and others all have world class players. For Morocco mazraoui, hakimi, amrabat and ziyech would get into any club squad in the world, I'd doubt you'd get that 20 years ago. Even Scotland have a couple of world class players again

Donegal Hibby
11-12-2022, 12:54 PM
I was trying to work out what happened to Harry Kane on the 2nd penalty and I think I've figured it out , it was his training on penalties you see 😂.
https://youtu.be/cOVkjVWVSBM

11-12-2022, 12:55 PM
I don't disagree with the comments on Pepe and Fernandes [emoji23]

I do so there wider point tho

👍😂

Paul1642
11-12-2022, 12:57 PM
I think due to better scouting and it being a smaller world, more of the smaller teams players play champions league.

USA, Canada and others all have world class players. For Morocco mazraoui, hakimi, amrabat and ziyech would get into any club squad in the world, I'd doubt you'd get that 20 years ago. Even Scotland have a couple of world class players again

For me World Class players are Messi, Ronaldo, Mbappe, Lewandowski, Haaland and the likes who can carry and entire team on their backs at time.

Andy Robertson is a top player but I think word class is a push. Not sure who else in the Scotland squad would even be considered close.

Same applies to USA / Canada. Davies and Pulisic are good but never word class

Stairway 2 7
11-12-2022, 01:11 PM
For me World Class players are Messi, Ronaldo, Mbappe, Lewandowski, Haaland and the likes who can carry and entire team on their backs at time.

Andy Robertson is a top player but I think word class is a push. Not sure who else in the Scotland squad would even be considered close.

That's not what almost anyone else's definition of world class is I'd bet. World class is generally, capable of playing at the top level.

11-12-2022, 01:11 PM
That's not what almost anyone else's definition of world class is I'd bet. World class is generally, capable of playing at the top level.

11-12-2022, 01:24 PM
Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/reel/1548739895551853/?s=single_unit)

expert tip for taking a penalty :)

11-12-2022, 01:25 PM

It’s been discussed on here before and clearly means different things to different people. I’m actually more inclined to agree with Paul in that I think of world class being more like players you would consider picking in your best 11 from the whole world and therefore far more restricted. Many people would still have Andy Robertson falling into that category mind you.

If playing at the top level means high end of the English premier league for example.. there’s no danger every player in those teams is world class.. in my opinion.

11-12-2022, 01:28 PM

Hmm, certainly interesting to see how people’s definitions would differ. For me it means elite players who would be the among the top 2 or 3 in their position in the world.

“Playing at the top level” is a bit vague. The EPL for example or the Champions League? The Celtic squad were playing in Champions League this season, none would be world class. Scott McKenna plays at the top level in terms of domestic leagues…

World class is the best in class.

Stairway 2 7
11-12-2022, 01:37 PM
Hmm, certainly interesting to see how people’s definitions would differ. For me it means elite players who would be the among the top 2 or 3 in their position in the world.

“Playing at the top level” is a bit vague. The EPL for example or the Champions League? The Celtic squad were playing in Champions League this season, none would be world class. Scott McKenna plays at the top level in terms of domestic leagues…

World class is the best in class.

I'd have the Morocco full backs in contention for the best 2/3 players in the world. Mckenna is just daft. The fact is the four Moroccan players I mentioned would be in contention for a start for say real Madrid, shows the strength in depth of the teams

Stairway 2 7
11-12-2022, 01:41 PM
It’s been discussed on here before and clearly means different things to different people. I’m actually more inclined to agree with Paul in that I think of world class being more like players you would consider picking in your best 11 from the whole world and therefore far more restricted. Many people would still have Andy Robertson falling into that category mind you.

If playing at the top level means high end of the English premier league for example.. there’s no danger every player in those teams is world class.. in my opinion.

I didn't say every player I said a few. The fact that you're got a number of players from real, bayern, Chelsea playing for the smaller nations nowadays. 20 years ago I think it would be one player if any

11-12-2022, 01:46 PM
I didn't say every player I said a few. The fact that you're got a number of players from real, bayern, Chelsea playing for the smaller nations nowadays. 20 years ago I think it would be one player if any

No you didn’t.

In any case I’m not arguing about your opinion on the Moroccan players, I think they’re brilliant. I was only stating that, for me, “capable of playing at the top level” is too broad to define world class if something like the top end of the premier league is ‘top level’.

I’m not saying I’m right. Just pointing out that ‘world class’ isn’t the straightforward, generally agreed term you’re suggesting.

11-12-2022, 01:51 PM
On another note, now that Englandshire are oot, Michael Oliver surely must be in with a good shout of getting to referee the final.

Stairway 2 7
11-12-2022, 01:56 PM
No you didn’t.

In any case I’m not arguing about your opinion on the Moroccan players, I think they’re brilliant. I was only stating that, for me, “capable of playing at the top level” is too broad to define world class if something like the top end of the premier league is ‘top level’.

I’m not saying I’m right. Just pointing out that ‘world class’ isn’t the straightforward, generally agreed term you’re suggesting.

I've not one iota of interest in finding the true definition of world class. The only point I'm making is 20 years ago smaller teams had less what people would call the world's best.

You'd have a much higher % playing in their own leagues. Now lots play for the top clubs and regularly play in the later stages of the champs league. This will end the fear factor for them playing against teams like Spain. If you look at the Cameroon squad that got to the quarters in 1990, no player played in say the top 30 European clubs

11-12-2022, 01:57 PM
I'd have the Morocco full backs in contention for the best 2/3 players in the world. Mckenna is just daft. The fact is the four Moroccan players I mentioned would be in contention for a start for say real Madrid, shows the strength in depth of the teams

I agree about Hakimi and Mazrouai

I hadn’t even seen that post initially though, I was just replying re definitions of World class.

DIXIHIBS
11-12-2022, 01:58 PM

Totally agree. I know its all about opinions but in my lifetime i see world class as Cruyff, Maradona, Zidane, Messi etc. Truly exceptional players not just guys who play at the top level.

11-12-2022, 02:02 PM
I've not one iota of interest in finding the true definition of world class. The only point I'm making is 20 years ago smaller teams had less what people would call the world's best.

You'd have a much higher % playing in their own leagues. Now lots play for the top clubs and regularly play in the later stages of the champs league. This will end the fear factor for them playing against teams like Spain. If you look at the Cameroon squad that got to the quarters in 1990, no player played in say the top 30 European clubs

I don’t think I or anyone else has disagreed with your point above?

I replied to you telling another poster that his definition of world class was essentially wrong, which you’ve now not an iota of interest in, so that’ll be that 👍

11-12-2022, 02:03 PM

We would of course bite their hands off to get that record but for a team who constantly think they are going to win every tournament they play in it's shocking.
England defeated Iran, Wales, Senegal & drew with the USA to get as far as France, all outside the top 15 (just, admittedly).
Morocco in this world cup have beaten Belgium, Portugal, Spain & drawn with Croatia, ranked 2,9,7 & 12th in the World to get to the semi-final.
Bleating away as usual about being robbed, so unlucky, 'better team' etc etc, not looking at themselves at all, why they come up short over and over again against the 'top' teams. Long may it continue to continue.

Donegal Hibby
11-12-2022, 02:08 PM
Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/reel/1548739895551853/?s=single_unit)

expert tip for taking a penalty :)
Found this one in the sun quite funny 😂
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/9906056/harry-kane-penalty-miss-still-game-scotland-england-world/

DIXIHIBS
11-12-2022, 02:10 PM
We would of course bite their hands off to get that record but for a team who constantly think they are going to win every tournament they play in it's shocking.
England defeated Iran, Wales, Senegal & drew with the USA to get as far as France, all outside the top 15 (just, admittedly).
Morocco in this world cup have beaten Belgium, Portugal, Spain & drawn with Croatia, ranked 2,9,7 & 12th in the World to get to the semi-final.
Bleating away as usual about being robbed, so unlucky, 'better team' etc etc, not looking at themselves at all, why they come up short over and over again against the 'top' teams. Long may it continue to continue.

Read somewhere ( maybe on here lol) that since 1966 England have only ever beaten 1 team ranked above them at World Cup finals, Argentina in 2002. Some stat if correct and shows they struggle to step up their game when it really matters.

11-12-2022, 02:31 PM

The thing is, England play pish sides because they are winning. That is the benefit. Morocco play good sides because they are a lower seed.

Based on what I've seen m, England would've had every chance of beating the sides Morocco did.

JamesHFC
11-12-2022, 02:36 PM
This was the chance for England.

They will say they lost to the current world champions but that French squad is down a few key players and they had a bit of an off night tonight. Every other team left in the competition has question marks against them. It was there for England, they were on top and one player in particular was influential and their manager made a horrendous decision, they miss a penalty and the chance is gone.

I'm far from convinced we saw the eventual winners of the tournament beat England tonight, I could be wrong but that French side look well beatable. Their recent run of form in the Nation's League wasn't good; losses to Denmark twice and Croatia, draws with both Austria and Croatia against a solitary win against Austria. 1 win in 6 competitive games is hardly anything to write home about. They hardly set the heather on fire at the last Euros either: 1 win, 3 draws and out on penalties in the round of 16.

I just can't see how it opens up so well for England again. They should have done far better at this WC but their own form has been dire for months as well so I suppose it's not all that surprising they performed worse than the last 2 major tournaments.

I think they should replace Southgate & I think he will actually walk away in the coming days/weeks.

He's created what seems to be a great bond within the team which is important and I think he deserves credit for that. As a manager though I think there are simply more suited people out there for the calibre of players that England have got. I think Pochettino is a great option with the young, attacking players they have available to them. A likeable fella and already respected by the English media, would probably be a good fit. Tuchel another fantastic coach available but I feel that Pochettino would be better suited.

The Germany victory aside at the previous Euro's, England imo have been underwhelming under Southgate. They played every game at Wembley in the Euro's which was a huge advantage yet still came short. Relegated from the Nations League which was another opportunity of winning some silverware. Now out of the World Cup in the Quarter Final. They beat pretty average sides which is expected and in all fairness they can only beat the team put in front of them so I can't discredit them for that but every time they face a decent opponent they seem to fail.

They have some of the best young footballers in the world with the likes of Bellingham, Foden, Saka, James, Trent etc with one of the best strikers in the game. Get a manager who can create a system which gets the absolute best out of these players and I think they will win one of the next two major tournaments.

11-12-2022, 02:48 PM
The thing is, England play pish sides because they are winning. That is the benefit. Morocco play good sides because they are a lower seed.

Based on what I've seen m, England would've had every chance of beating the sides Morocco did.

Yet when they do eventually play a “good” side, they get beat. Which I think is the point.

11-12-2022, 03:03 PM
Yet when they do eventually play a “good” side, they get beat. Which I think is the point.

Of course, yes. But you play 1 or 2 decent sides each tournament it's really difficult to consistently beat them. France are better than England. England have them a very good game. No shame in it.

They beat Germany, Denmark and Croatia at the Euros and drew with Italy in the final. Does that not suit the narrative?

11-12-2022, 03:13 PM
Of course, yes. But you play 1 or 2 decent sides each tournament it's really difficult to consistently beat them. France are better than England. England have them a very good game. No shame in it.

They beat Germany, Denmark and Croatia at the Euros and drew with Italy in the final. Does that not suit the narrative?

The narrative of their World Cup record which is being discussed? No it doesn’t. Neither does their very poor showing in the nations league.

They had a great euros, no doubt. Of the ‘very best’ though, it could be argued they’ve still only beat a declining Germany team.

Again though. In terms of their World Cup record discussed above, when they do eventually face someone they’re not heavy favourites to beat, they don’t beat them.

Morocco have done the opposite so far in this WC, and good luck to them in their next one.

11-12-2022, 03:25 PM
As ever, I don't think England are far off achieving what they "should".

They qualify for everything at a canter. They got through the group with minimum fuss, drew with the USA when they knew that a drew as good as put them though - why do more? They got the job done against Senegal then got edged out in a tight game against one of the best sides in the competition which might have gone another way had Kane's penalty gone in.

Not sure they need to go back to the drawing board and I'm not sure they should believe their own hype. Yes, they've got some very good players but they also have some very average ones. If, as it seems, the players love Southgate then why should they change? Their last few performances at major tournaments have been decent and I don't see the great and good of world football queuing up to take the position.

I don't think they're far off, I think they should be patient and I think Southgate has done enough to deserve a bit of loyalty.

cameronw-hfc
11-12-2022, 04:28 PM

I said at the start most fall into the fact its just a geographical rivalry. The poster said he didn't understand why every wanted England to lose, I was just explaining its mainly geographical, but unfortunately, unlike most int rivalries theres intricacies to it. Some political, some historical and here, some sectarian.

11-12-2022, 05:43 PM

They need to take a look at themselves and accept that their players just aren’t as good as they consistently believe. A lot of it is driven by the hype that goes with the Premier League. Declan Rice probably the one that sticks out for me. Good player but not that real top level.

They have some top young players in Bellingham, Saka and Foden but they’ve really missed some big, big opportunities in the last couple of years.

11-12-2022, 06:02 PM
They need to take a look at themselves and accept that their players just aren’t as good as they consistently believe. A lot of it is driven by the hype that goes with the Premier League. Declan Rice probably the one that sticks out for me. Good player but not that real top level.

They have some top young players in Bellingham, Saka and Foden but they’ve really missed some big, big opportunities in the last couple of years.

But collectively the squad is as good as any. Rice is not quite top level but then neither is Rabiot for France. Brazil and Argentina especially with several average players

It’s just fine margins at that level. England could easily win the game and the tournament. France’s experience and nous paid off.

I don’t think England need to reflect too much tbh