View Full Version : The world cup thread
bringbackbenny
02-12-2022, 04:08 PM
Normal ***** behaviour from self entitled Uruguayan players
They're a disgrace
02-12-2022, 04:08 PM
Korean joy a real joy to see. Loving it.
02-12-2022, 04:15 PM
I'm surprised they all insisted that was a penalty on Cavani - if you go that far out your way to make sure there's contact, he's as much fouling the Ghana player as vice versa. Overly bought it no?
02-12-2022, 04:15 PM
Good to see the ‘lesser’ teams succeed but it probably enhances the prospects of the more fancied teams in the knockout stages. What price England for the cup? :rolleyes:
EGL2000
02-12-2022, 04:21 PM
Good to see the ‘lesser’ teams succeed but it probably enhances the prospects of the more fancied teams in the knockout stages. What price England for the cup? :rolleyes:
korea go into the other side so makes no real difference England get Portugal on their side which is the much harder side.
02-12-2022, 04:22 PM
I'm surprised they all insisted that was a penalty on Cavani - if you go that far out your way to make sure there's contact, he's as much fouling the Ghana player as vice versa. Overly bought it no?
Shearer always says anything’s a penalty, ex striker club. The others are scared to disagree with him because he always always has to be right or he goes in a grump.
They're a disgrace
They are right to be furious re pen claim. VAR didn’t even review. Yet replays lost match show a clear trip. If that was Scotland I would expect a riot
bringbackbenny
02-12-2022, 04:25 PM
They are right to be furious re pen claim. VAR didn’t even review. Yet replays lost match show a clear trip. If that was Scotland I would expect a riot
Furious? Probably a pen but debatable no idea why it didn't go to VAR.
But laying hands on the ref, shouting in his face? Their usual self entitled histronics, Ernie Walker was right.
02-12-2022, 04:25 PM
Cavani puts on the brakes suddenly, there’s slight contact and he goes down, he’s bought it. Not all contact is a foul. And It’s not a foul in the centre of the pitch so why is it one in the box? Great decision.
02-12-2022, 04:26 PM
Aye right lol.....
EGL2000
02-12-2022, 04:26 PM
Cavani puts on the brakes suddenly, there’s slight contact and he goes down, he’s bought it. Not all contact is a foul. And It’s not a foul in the centre of the pitch so why is it one in the box? Great decision.
Totally agree.
Stairway 2 7
02-12-2022, 04:30 PM
Bit annoying it's in Qatar with all that's going on/went on, but this is a fabulous world cup entertainment wise.
Can't wait to support some of the teams I've enjoyed, particularly Japan and Morocco and Senegal obviously
No
Coach Jon
02-12-2022, 04:41 PM
Karma for 1986. Ernie Walker was 100% correct. GIRFUyruguay
02-12-2022, 04:41 PM
Bit annoying it's in Qatar with all that's going on/went on, but this is a fabulous world cup entertainment wise.
Can't wait to support some of the teams I've enjoyed, particularly Japan and Morocco and Senegal obviously
Aye, as my nephew said yesterday, we’re not supposed to be liking this World Cup lol
02-12-2022, 04:42 PM
I'm pleased they didn't qualify and Cavani definitely played for the penalty, but he's allowed to slow down if he wants, isn't he?
If it was in the centre circle, and the Korean player doesn't touch the ball, it would be a foul.
What am I missing?
Would we say that the pen Ronaldo for in the first game was more of a foul than the Cavani injury time challenge/no pen?
The whole point of VAR is to review mistakes. The referee decided on the spot it was a dive. It wasn’t a dive. The striker was cute but he was caught by the defenders leg.
02-12-2022, 04:57 PM
10/1
Yorkshire HFC
02-12-2022, 04:58 PM
Aye, as my nephew said yesterday, we’re not supposed to be liking this World Cup lol
That's how I feel.
I don't think it should be in Qatar - but there's a lot we can learn from this World Cup - and I think it is changing. I think the future will see a more sanitised game - the days of groups of drunk groups of hooligans will soon be over.
Going to games at Easter Road is a completely different experience than it was when I started going in the early 1970s - and all the changes have been for the better except for one thing - the cost to the fan. I think it will keep getting more expensive and the clubs will be looking to attract the affluent fan / family - it will be all about the cash.
02-12-2022, 05:04 PM
I'm pleased they didn't qualify and Cavani definitely played for the penalty, but he's allowed to slow down if he wants, isn't he?
If it was in the centre circle, and the Korean player doesn't touch the ball, it would be a foul.
What am I missing?
My pro-Korea bias, perhaps :greengrin
It could have gone either way. The nonsense at the end wasn’t justified regardless.
Just looking at the draw, a Korea-Japan meeting in the quarters is on, (assuming they take care of Brazil and Croatia respectively) That would be some heated historical rivalry.
02-12-2022, 05:05 PM
Would we say that the pen Ronaldo for in the first game was more of a foul than the Cavani injury time challenge/no pen?
The whole point of VAR is to review mistakes. The referee decided on the spot it was a dive. It wasn’t a dive. The striker was cute but he was caught by the defenders leg.
Yep, and how its perceived seems to be the pundits own personal bias etc - one pundit will say its "clever play" the next one will say its "gamesmanship".
While a lot of people dislike Uruguay, I can understand them being annoyed.
02-12-2022, 05:05 PM
What am I missing?
Not sure he's allowed to slow down AND move his leg out to the side as well. He's blocking the Ghanian defender in that case.
I can see why the ref didn't give it, cos - completely understandably given the situation - you could tell Cavani was absolutely desperate to go down. The replay confirmed that, so gave enough justification to the ref's initial decision and not one they could overrule.
Similar to the Nunez one. In real time the ref thought the defender played the ball, the replay showed that to be just about true, so he didn't feel duty bound to change his mind.
Thought that was more of a penalty mind you, just because of how untidy it was.
The dalmeny
02-12-2022, 05:10 PM
Korean joy a real joy to see. Loving it.
everything Uruguay isn’t
Mcbizz1998
02-12-2022, 05:59 PM
If you don’t like Qatar then probs best to steer clear of supporting Morocco.
02-12-2022, 06:06 PM
Thought it was a definite penalty and was amazed var didn't give it
02-12-2022, 06:08 PM
7 minutes in and two booked already in the Brazil game. Red cards incoming.....
02-12-2022, 06:20 PM
1-0 Switzerland
pollution
02-12-2022, 06:25 PM
I'm watching this on a laptop and the picture keeps freezing.
Anyone having this problem too ?
02-12-2022, 06:26 PM
Serbia equalise great header.
02-12-2022, 06:27 PM
Serbia equalise great header.
Good game too
02-12-2022, 06:30 PM
Mitro is some player. 29 goals in 31 international games.
02-12-2022, 06:32 PM
glad i forgot to have a little flutter today, that portugal result would have beat me
02-12-2022, 06:33 PM
tackle a player from behind and he remonstrates with the referee for booking him
02-12-2022, 06:35 PM
2-1 Serbia
Good game too
Cracking game.
Mikey_1875
Fantastic game so far.
02-12-2022, 06:36 PM
Ooo Vlahovic is absolute quality.
02-12-2022, 06:37 PM
If you don’t like Qatar then probs best to steer clear of supporting Morocco.
Why? I’m in those two boats.
pollution
02-12-2022, 06:37 PM
He turned like Joe Harper . Great strike
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 06:38 PM
Good goal
02-12-2022, 06:44 PM
Serbia could give Portugal trouble I think.
02-12-2022, 06:44 PM
2-2
Superb game. End to end and very open
02-12-2022, 06:45 PM
twa-twa
a draw will do Switzerland, unless Cameroon beat Brazil
Green Reaper
02-12-2022, 06:47 PM
What a game!
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 06:48 PM
Terrible defending by Serbia, cracking game though with plenty for goals 😉
pollution
02-12-2022, 06:48 PM
I thought he was off side. Some ref I would be.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 06:53 PM
I did too and was waiting on VAR to cancel it😆
02-12-2022, 07:06 PM
I did too and was waiting on VAR to cancel it😆
I was totally convinced the Korean winner was offside in real time. The timing of the run and Sons pass was just sublime. It takes real skill to beat the offside trap like that.
02-12-2022, 07:06 PM
Bet you'd be great. The SFA give you a flag thingy after you join the masons and you suddenly get magical powers.
02-12-2022, 07:07 PM
3-2 Switzerland
Wow what a game!
Mikey_1875
02-12-2022, 07:08 PM
Was the commentary well out of sync for anyone else there?
02-12-2022, 07:09 PM
What’s happened to the coverage? I heard the commentary of the goal about a second before the picture showed it, sound and vision not syncing
Green Reaper
02-12-2022, 07:10 PM
Was the commentary well out of sync for anyone else there?
Yep, said goal before he shot
Sergio sledge
02-12-2022, 07:12 PM
Not sure he's allowed to slow down AND move his leg out to the side as well. He's blocking the Ghanian defender in that case.
That was the key thing for me, if he had just slowed down and tangled with the defender then it could well have been a penalty, however he stuck his leg out in front of the defender initiating the contact himself and then going down.
You could almost argue it was in effect a tackle on the defender rather than the defender bundling him over.
Absolute karma for Uruguay anyway.
02-12-2022, 07:25 PM
Embarrassing from Mitrovic.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 07:28 PM
Embarrassing from Mitrovic.
Thought he had been shot 😂
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 07:49 PM
Games went a bit flat now! 🥱
Green Reaper
02-12-2022, 07:51 PM
Games went a bit flat now! 🥱
Switz game management has been very goof since they went ahead
02-12-2022, 07:53 PM
Cameroon 1-0 Brazil, goalscorer takes his shirt off and gets a second booking.
Green Reaper
02-12-2022, 07:54 PM
Cameroon score then scorer sent off, second yellow for removing shirt
Brazil doing a Hibs and being wasteful in front of goal with all the possession.
Green Reaper
02-12-2022, 07:57 PM
C'mon Ron, get the checkbook out and zign Embolo, just what we need 😅
02-12-2022, 07:58 PM
turned over to watch the rugby with just 4 mins remaining in this and miss the cameroon goal, imagine Brazil losing to cameroon jeezo
been some unexpected results huh
02-12-2022, 08:00 PM
Full time 3-2 Switzerland.
Switzerland through with Brazil.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 08:01 PM
C'mon Ron, get the checkbook out and zign Embolo, just what we need 😅
Your not wanting to much , He's only valued at 20 mill😂
Green Reaper
02-12-2022, 08:02 PM
Your not wanting to much , He's only valued at 20 mill😂
Hence the 😅
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 08:07 PM
How does Switzerland qualify and do well in world cups compared to Ireland and Scotland , not that large a population of a country ?
02-12-2022, 08:09 PM
How does Switzerland qualify and do well in world cups compared to Ireland and Scotland , not that large a population of a country ?
They've banned the Xboxes and the Playstations.
02-12-2022, 08:13 PM
Kosovan immigration 😀
Brazil doing a Hibs and being wasteful in front of goal with all the possession.
Hibs will never be like Brazil 🙄
EGL2000
02-12-2022, 08:17 PM
When was the last world cup that no team won all 3 group games?
02-12-2022, 08:18 PM
Only 4 managers in 22 years. They give guys time to build and make a team. Always good tactically and hard to beat, while still posing a genuine threat.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 08:18 PM
They've banned the Xboxes and the Playstations.
Forgot about that one , thought someone was going to mention the weather 😂
02-12-2022, 08:20 PM
When was the last world cup that no team won all 3 group games?
Happens more often than you think, they said it was back in 2002 that Brazil last did it I'm sure
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 08:21 PM
Only 4 managers in 22 years. They give guys time to build and make a team.
Remarkable record they have , not the most exciting team to watch at times but very good solid team with some very good players.
02-12-2022, 08:30 PM
Nazi gold.
02-12-2022, 08:40 PM
Happens more often than you think, they said it was back in 2002 that Brazil last did it I'm sure
I think (although happy to be corrected) that the poster was asking when the last time was that no team qualified for the knockout stages having won all of their group games. What you're thinking of is the last time that a team went through a full World Cup having won every game.
The answer to the first question was 1994.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 08:42 PM
Nazi gold.
Don't know about you Scots but that's us snookered, all we got is turf and Guinness 😂
EGL2000
02-12-2022, 08:43 PM
I think (although happy to be corrected) that the poster was asking when the last time was that no team qualified for the knockout stages having won all of their group games. What you're thinking of is the last time that a team went through a full World Cup having won every game.
The answer to the first question was 1994.
Thankyou yes this is what I was after!
02-12-2022, 09:06 PM
Don't know about you Scots but that's us snookered, all we got is turf and Guinness 😂
Corned beef and cabbage anaw....
02-12-2022, 09:07 PM
About 50-60% higher population as a guess, not that population means that much.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 09:14 PM
About 50-60% higher population as a guess, not that population means that much.
About 8 million, compared to Ireland and Scotland's around 5 million I think it said.
02-12-2022, 09:37 PM
Think we will see Japan and Morocco playing in the quarter-finals.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 09:53 PM
Think we will see Japan and Morocco playing in the quarter-finals.
Can't really see Morocco beating Spain to be honest with you . Tomorrow gets really good now the knockout stages start . If I was going to tip a shock I'd go for USA to beat the Netherlands.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 10:05 PM
Sad stuff when you see footballer's act like this🙄.
https://youtu.be/bktcr_QxP0o
02-12-2022, 10:15 PM
Sad stuff when you see footballer's act like this🙄.
https://youtu.be/bktcr_QxP0o
In the absence of the VAR himself, it's the next best thing to hit 😀
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 10:19 PM
In the absence of the VAR himself, it's the next best thing to hit 😀
Very good . 😁👍
Mcbizz1998
03-12-2022, 08:14 AM
Why? I’m in those two boats.
I was working to the presumption that Stairway has issues with Qatar due to their human rights record, specifically their treatment of homosexuals. Morocco and Qatar are well aligned on their views and laws in that regard, albeit the punishment is more severe in the latter case.
If that’s not the reason for the dislike for Qatar, then crack on.
03-12-2022, 08:18 AM
Can't really see Morocco beating Spain to be honest with you . Tomorrow gets really good now the knockout stages start . If I was going to tip a shock I'd go for USA to beat the Netherlands.
Not sure US beating Netherlands would be much of a shock
03-12-2022, 09:07 AM
I was working to the presumption that Stairway has issues with Qatar due to their human rights record, specifically their treatment of homosexuals. Morocco and Qatar are well aligned on their views and laws in that regard, albeit the punishment is more severe in the latter case.
I think we covered this a lot earlier in the thread. The majority of the world’s governments have work to do, some more than others. European countries like Poland have terrible laws against LGBT and only getting worse. Serbia are quite aligned with Russia, historically and culturally, am I going to want them to lose because they are too close to Putin, at the expense of the Swiss, who I can’t stand watching most of the time and the whole toblerone and Nazi gold thing sticks in the craw? :greengrin
I’d rather just watch and enjoy and have a multitude of possible reasons for wanting a team to win or lose.
EGL2000
03-12-2022, 10:23 AM
Not sure US beating Netherlands would be much of a shock
Agree could see USA beating Netherlands. So strong in the athletic physical side of things.
03-12-2022, 10:24 AM
Have got a feeling Argentina are going to win this. The defeat to Saudi gave them a wake-up call that as good as they are, they can’t be complacent despite their run before that game. Messi has shown up to this tournament as well and they look solid at the back.
03-12-2022, 10:42 AM
Have got a feeling Argentina are going to win this. The defeat to Saudi gave them a wake-up call that as good as they are, they can’t be complacent despite their run before that game. Messi has shown up to this tournament as well and they look solid at the back.
hope you’re right
Curried
03-12-2022, 11:26 AM
hope you’re right
Hope your wrong.
Renfrew_Hibby
03-12-2022, 11:33 AM
Bigger population by at least 60%
Wealthy society, able to invest more in youth/grass roots (its not rocket science)
More open/targeted immigration policy. Switzerland really benefited from being a refuge for people from the 90s meltdown of Yugoslavia.
They have also benefited from naturalised French/German/Italians over the years.
The goal that they scored against Cameroon was born in Cameroon!
With Scotlands ageing population we will only continue yo fall further and further behind the likes of Switzerland, Norway and Denmark unless we radically change our attitudes towards immigration.
Curried
03-12-2022, 11:38 AM
Bigger population by at least 60%
Wealthy society, able to invest more in youth/grass roots (its not rocket science)
More open/targeted immigration policy. Switzerland really benefited from being a refuge for people from the 90s meltdown of Yugoslavia.
They have also benefited from naturalised French/German/Italians over the years.
The goal that they scored against Cameroon was born in Cameroon!
With Scotlands ageing population we will only continue yo fall further and further behind the likes of Switzerland, Norway and Denmark unless we radically change our attitudes towards immigration.
And that's in Scotland's gift?
03-12-2022, 11:47 AM
As much as I hate to say it they blew Poland (who are by no means a bad team) away. Either them or Brazil will be in the final.
03-12-2022, 11:57 AM
As much as I hate to say it they blew Poland (who are by no means a bad team) away. Either them or Brazil will be in the final.
About time we have one of them win the World Cup. It’s been a long time.
Stairway 2 7
03-12-2022, 12:20 PM
More the 7000 dead to put the tournament on. Its been done before on here so I'll leave it with a positive, its been a fantastic tournament to watch and hopefully more to come
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 12:25 PM
Hope your wrong.
Hope he is wrong too . Still backing the Spanish 🇪🇦🇪🇦
Stairway 2 7
03-12-2022, 12:25 PM
I think we covered this a lot earlier in the thread. The majority of the world’s governments have work to do, some more than others. European countries like Poland have terrible laws against LGBT and only getting worse. Serbia are quite aligned with Russia, historically and culturally, am I going to want them to lose because they are too close to Putin, at the expense of the Swiss, who I can’t stand watching most of the time and the whole toblerone and Nazi gold thing sticks in the craw? :greengrin
I’d rather just watch and enjoy and have a multitude of possible reasons for wanting a team to win or lose.
Spot on, governments aren't people. I enjoyed Iran winning games and even the US. Moroccans are possibly the nicest people I have met and I enjoy their team due to the attacking football. I'll no get the pen and paper out today to decide which nations should win due to human rights
03-12-2022, 02:03 PM
Good start from the USA, shot saved from the Netherlands goalkeeper.
Stairway 2 7
03-12-2022, 02:07 PM
The youngest team in the tournament. With the tournament being at home in 4 years, definitely a team on the rise
03-12-2022, 02:09 PM
Pulisic did should really have scored. First 10 minutes all USA.
03-12-2022, 02:09 PM
1-0 Netherlands
EGL2000
03-12-2022, 02:11 PM
Beautiful goal that.
It certainly is.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 02:13 PM
Beautiful goal that.
Yeah it was but nobody went with goalscorer
03-12-2022, 02:25 PM
What's happened to Dumfries for the Dutch? he used to be a flying machine but not really seen any of that in this world cup
03-12-2022, 02:26 PM
USA are playing like Hibs. No penetration, pass pass pass.
03-12-2022, 02:26 PM
Enjoying this game, Holland come alive in the final 3rd, Memphis Dupay is a smashing player.
03-12-2022, 02:27 PM
USA are playing like Hibs. No penetration, pass pass pass.
No striker, nobody to aim for except Pulisic.
Green Reaper
03-12-2022, 02:32 PM
USA look scared to push forward
03-12-2022, 02:32 PM
No striker, nobody to aim for except Pulisic.
:agree: Seems like an absence of quality #9s in this tournament. Seems like a lot of teams expect their goals to come from other areas.
03-12-2022, 02:38 PM
:agree: Seems like an absence of quality #9s in this tournament. Seems like a lot of teams expect their goals to come from other areas.
Too many coaches believing the "false 9" pish 😁
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 02:41 PM
USA aren't that bad a team until they get to the final third that is.
Green Reaper
03-12-2022, 02:43 PM
Nate's fault 😅
Green Reaper
03-12-2022, 02:46 PM
2-0
2-0 game over.
That’s so harsh. 2-0
03-12-2022, 02:47 PM
Terrible defending USA. Sleeping.
03-12-2022, 02:47 PM
Dest was asleep there. USA have a lot to learn.......
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 02:50 PM
Very harsh on yanks , not great defending with both goals
EGL2000
03-12-2022, 03:00 PM
What's happened to Dumfries for the Dutch? he used to be a flying machine but not really seen any of that in this world cup
Got both the assists in this game from being high up the park.
03-12-2022, 03:02 PM
Got both the assists in this game from being high up the park.
I mean more in the sense he would pick the ball up and take folk on Boyle style, might be the different formation they play these days means he can't do it as much
03-12-2022, 03:03 PM
There we go !
Commentator just said that's where they've moved Pulisic into 😁
03-12-2022, 03:08 PM
I just don't get the hype around Pulisic. A very ordinary player IMO.
03-12-2022, 03:32 PM
There are some awful hairstyles in the USA team!
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 03:32 PM
Dutch shots/ on. 9/5 ... USA shots/on . 10/5 up to now
03-12-2022, 03:33 PM
goal of the cup :greengrin
03-12-2022, 03:35 PM
Bergwijn is a weak link up front
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 03:37 PM
Good game this😄
3-1
curtains 3-1
criminal yank defending
03-12-2022, 03:38 PM
Told you Dumfries hasnt been his usual self, up there with me saying Oliver Khan was over rated before the 2002 world cup haha
USA defending is indefensible.......
USA backline all watching the ball
3-1for the Dutch and they bring on a 19 year old 👌
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 03:40 PM
Awful defending, school boy stuff
03-12-2022, 03:59 PM
Dutch into the next round
Up next, Messi v Cummings - one is the goat, the other acts the goat lol
03-12-2022, 05:36 PM
Boyler on the pitch with the rest of the squad. Love that guy.
Irvine starts. Cummings on the bench. Few other players but no interest in them. Mon' the Roos!
03-12-2022, 05:38 PM
Boyler on the pitch with the rest of the squad. Love that guy.
Irvine starts. Cummings on the bench. Few other players but no interest in them. Mon' the Roos!
McLaren on the bench too.
03-12-2022, 05:45 PM
Mon Argentina !
03-12-2022, 05:53 PM
I really think the Aussies have missed a trick here. They should have stuck Jason on Messi and told JC to talk to him the whole game. By the time Messi had heard about the panenka attempt, his head would have gone completely lol
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 05:56 PM
Argentina fans quite vocal.
😂 imaging cumdog talking to you throughout a game of fitba ,you’d asked to be subbed
03-12-2022, 06:01 PM
Cumdog singing the Australia anthem 😂
Up-the-slope
03-12-2022, 06:01 PM
such a shame Boyle is not on the pitch... Imagine where you have played and come from and having chance to be on same pitch as Messi in a WC knockout
Up-the-slope
03-12-2022, 06:04 PM
neck out... 1-1 and pen shoot out :cb
03-12-2022, 06:06 PM
Going by the other penalties that have been given by VAR then that should have been one too
03-12-2022, 06:08 PM
Going by the other penalties that have been given by VAR then that should have been one too
I'd prefer to think that they've learned from previous s***e decisions.
SJNB Hibby
03-12-2022, 06:10 PM
Was it not considered outside the box, so VAR can't adjudicate?
03-12-2022, 06:10 PM
McLaren on the bench too.
Oops missed that before the game.
Cumdog singing the Australia anthem 😂
I hope he sang with an Australian accent
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 06:13 PM
Crazy if you start getting penalty's for blasting the ball at a player anyhow
Up-the-slope
03-12-2022, 06:18 PM
that yellow could be crucial - will stop him playing quite as tight
03-12-2022, 06:18 PM
Crazy if you start getting penalty's for blasting the ball at a player anyhow
It's sure is but I'd be asking questions when they have been dishing them out
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 06:19 PM
77% possession for Argentina
03-12-2022, 06:19 PM
One of those attackers vs defenders training sessions. This is going to be tedious until Argentina score and Ozzie’s have to come out.
03-12-2022, 06:24 PM
They haven't had much of the ball, but I've been impressed by Australia - compact, limiting Argentina to very little clear opportunities. Souttar is a very accomplished defender.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 06:24 PM
It's sure is but I'd be asking questions when they have been dishing them out.
Think a few of them were asking the question though I'm glad it wasn't
03-12-2022, 06:28 PM
They haven't had much of the ball, but I've been impressed by Australia - compact, limiting Argentina to very little clear opportunities. Souttar is a very accomplished defender.
St Johnstone fitba.......
03-12-2022, 06:28 PM
Australia starting to play a bit now, competitive game.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 06:29 PM
One of those attackers vs defenders training sessions. This is going to be tedious until Argentina score and Ozzie’s have to come out.
Can't blame the Aussie's for doing it but definitely makes the game more tedious. Argentina haven't really cut them open as yet for all their possession
03-12-2022, 06:30 PM
Do Argentina know they have to win this game?
Up-the-slope
03-12-2022, 06:30 PM
yes but Aussies have been in Argie box more than other way round :confused:
03-12-2022, 06:31 PM
Boring
03-12-2022, 06:33 PM
yes but Aussies have been in Argie box more than other way round :confused:
They’ve had a lot more possession last ten and definitely upped their attacking game.
Aussies wanna take Mooy off corners and free kicks, his delivery is woeful
Up-the-slope
Boring
id be pleased if Scotland could bore Argentina this much
03-12-2022, 06:34 PM
Never thought I'd see a dude from St Mirren put the shackles on Messi
03-12-2022, 06:35 PM
Argentina seriously unimpressive.
Genius
Messi scores.
Haha I'm on a roll today
Paulie Walnuts
03-12-2022, 06:36 PM
Great goal.
Just a genius of a player
03-12-2022, 06:37 PM
Argentina seriously unimpressive.
Well until now.:greengrin
03-12-2022, 06:37 PM
That's why we all love Messi. Magnificent goal
03-12-2022, 06:38 PM
Idiot Messi got a pass from his team mate for that goal, not carrying them single handedly. Fraud. :greengrin
Never thought I'd see a dude from St Mirren put the shackles on Messi
Lost him there tho....
Messi is the greatest
Donegal Hibby
World's best player :not worth
03-12-2022, 06:39 PM
Time for the Cumdog, surely?
Up-the-slope
03-12-2022, 06:43 PM
great tackle Souttar
03-12-2022, 06:43 PM
Big Argie support there. How much are tickets?
03-12-2022, 06:44 PM
Bit premature........:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin.
Up-the-slope
03-12-2022, 06:45 PM
Save him for ET & pens :greengrin
03-12-2022, 06:46 PM
World's best player :not worth
Not anymore don't think he is, absolute genius though.
Save him for ET & pens :greengrin
Imagine him doing a panenka here !
Paulie Walnuts
Idiot Messi got a pass from his team mate for that goal, not carrying them single handedly. Fraud. :greengrin
Until he walks out onto that pitch on his own like Maradona used to do he’ll never be truly great.
03-12-2022, 06:49 PM
Argentina Holland in the quarters, I get Bergkamp controlled volley vibes.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 06:50 PM
Not anymore don't think he is, absolute genius though.
Getting on a bit now though still don't know who I'd put ahead of him even now 🤔
Up-the-slope
Argentina actually quite poor playing out from the back - credit to Aussies who are setting the trap and winning possession back
Getting on a bit now though still don't know who I'd put ahead of him even now 🤔
Mbappe and Haaland for me these days.
03-12-2022, 06:51 PM
Tax dodging wee bum
03-12-2022, 06:53 PM
What is going on with Rio Ferdinand's top? 🤣
He could make some kind of effort considering he is on the telly
03-12-2022, 06:54 PM
Argentina actually quite poor playing out from the back - credit to Aussies who are setting the trap and winning possession back
I think this is being exaggerated a bit tbh, the better team were in blue and white stripes first half. The underdogs have fought well and the pundits will accentuate that but all the real quality is Argentina.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 06:55 PM
Big Argie support there. How much are tickets?
Read a article today the average price for a ticket for Argentina v Australia game was £100 , rising to £180 between that and accommodation prices and drinks and savoury snack prices , its enough to make you feel quite ill 😆. Maybe article was a load of Tom kite though
03-12-2022, 06:55 PM
Dunno but RF always reminds me of the Action Man that had the beard
03-12-2022, 06:56 PM
He could make some kind of effort considering he is on the telly
You talking about his clothes or ***** punditry?
Dunno but RF always reminds me of the Action Man that had the beard
It looks painted on!
You talking about his clothes or ***** punditry?
Either / or 😁
03-12-2022, 06:57 PM
Read a article today the average price for a ticket for Argentina v Australia game was £100 , rising to £180 between that and drinks and savoury snack prices , its enough to make you feel ill 😆. Maybe article was a load of Tom kite though
Kudos to them, flights, accom, bevvy and tickets can't have been cheap.
Up-the-slope
03-12-2022, 06:59 PM
I think this is being exaggerated a bit tbh, the better team were in blue and white stripes first half. The underdogs have fought well and the pundits will accentuate that but all the real quality is Argentina.
im not a pundit... just a bloke with a keyboard :greengrin although if Mrs UTS had her way that would be confiscated :grr:
03-12-2022, 07:01 PM
im not a pundit... just a bloke with a keyboard :greengrin although if Mrs UTS had her way that would be confiscated :grr:
She can’t confiscate your keyboard man. Stand tall.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 07:03 PM
Kudos to them, flights, accom, bevvy and tickets can't have been cheap.
Think we are watching it from the best place and least our bank managers aren't having a complete breakdown 😂
03-12-2022, 07:04 PM
Read a article today the average price for a ticket for Argentina v Australia game was £100 , rising to £180 between that and accommodation prices and drinks and savoury snack prices , its enough to make you feel quite ill 😆. Maybe article was a load of Tom kite though
Sure that's cheaper than I paid for Scotland v Croatia at Hampden last year.
Up-the-slope
03-12-2022, 07:05 PM
She can’t confiscate your keyboard man. Stand tall.
I always stand tall.... once I have permission :boo hoo:
03-12-2022, 07:12 PM
Argentina have all the possession.
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 07:15 PM
Mbappe and Haaland for me these days.
Two outstanding players but not as good as Messi even at 35 imo
Argentina
Australia
Armenia
Austria
Algeria
Albania
3 more?
03-12-2022, 07:16 PM
2-0 game over.
Oooft
Zibi - is that you??
Argentina
Australia
Armenia
Austria
Algeria
Albania
3 more?
Angola
03-12-2022, 07:17 PM
Whats the goalie daeing Tam
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
03-12-2022, 07:17 PM
that should be enough
03-12-2022, 07:18 PM
Much as I’d like Argentina to win the cup, that’s heartbreaking for the keeper.
03-12-2022, 07:18 PM
Andorra
Antigua and Barbuda
03-12-2022, 07:19 PM
Embarrassing
03-12-2022, 07:20 PM
Antigua and Barbuda
Starts with a B
Donegal Hibby
03-12-2022, 07:21 PM
Angola
Andorra
Azerbaijan?
Had he been an outfield player, he would have gone down and been given a foul.
He's not a natural cheat so he, and Australia, paid the price.
Mikey_1875
Couldn’t pick a winner between the Argies and Netherlands for that quarter final. Very tasty game. All the quarter finals could be in fact if the favourites can get the job done.
03-12-2022, 07:23 PM
Azerbaijan?
Countries that start and finish with an "A"?
03-12-2022, 07:24 PM
Messi is a wee dreamboat. What a run there.
Do any of the Aussies get a game for Scotland? Just Souttar?
Aruba
Donegal Hibby
Australia with just one shot and none on target.
03-12-2022, 07:27 PM
Just realised that the Australian internationalist Harry Soutar was born in Aberdeen and grew up in Angus. He played youth football for Brechin City Boys Club and was attached to Celtic before joining the academy at Dundee United in July 2013. His older brother is John Soutar ex-Dundee United & Hertz and now plays for Rangers, as well as representing Scotland. He looks a good player.
Messi is a wee dreamboat. What a run there.
Reminded me of another Argentinian
Embarrassing
Nah. He’s had a good World Cup and that moment will haunt him.
03-12-2022, 07:29 PM
Aye, Azerbaijania :greengrin
Lesson to read the post properly!
03-12-2022, 07:30 PM
Wear a fox hat😂
Aruba, officially the Country of Aruba is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands physically located in the mid-south of the Caribbean Sea, about 29 kilometres north of the Venezuelan peninsula of Paraguaná and 80 kilometres northwest of Curaçao.
03-12-2022, 07:31 PM
Just realised that the Australian internationalist Harry Soutar was born in Aberdeen and grew up in Angus. He played youth football for Brechin City Boys Club and was attached to Celtic before joining the academy at Dundee United in July 2013. His older brother is John Soutar ex-Dundee United & Hertz and now plays for Rangers, as well as representing Scotland. He looks a good player.
Wonder how much it would cost to get Harry signed.
03-12-2022, 07:33 PM
Before the World Cup? £150k
After the World Cup? £millions probably. England, innit
03-12-2022, 07:34 PM
38 countries that end in "ia" - without the help of google, name them.
Always a good team meeting quiz question.
He'll get a decent move from this. They were saying 6 games back after an ACL op.
03-12-2022, 07:35 PM
2-1
oooohh interesting
Game on
Jason, tighten your shoe laces lol
Donegal Hibby
29 countries that end in "ia" - without the help of google, name them.
Always a good team meeting quiz question.
India