View Full Version : The world cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

Donegal Hibby
27-11-2022, 04:21 PM
This is a great game, wide open. Croatias passing and energy is very impressive now.
It's good stuff, one of the best games so far.

27-11-2022, 04:23 PM
It's good stuff, one of the best games so far.

Alphonso Davies is almost unplayable at times.

27-11-2022, 04:24 PM

Who do you think is faster, Davies or Mbappe? Both absolutely rapid and a joy to watch.

27-11-2022, 04:29 PM
Who do you think is faster, Davies or Mbappe? Both absolutely rapid and a joy to watch.

:agree: they both have the Speed of Sproule, Skill of Latapy and first touch of Murphy :greengrin

27-11-2022, 04:30 PM
3-1 game over.

27-11-2022, 04:31 PM
3-1, again, harsh on Canada for their attacking play but just wide open in defence.

Seekyit
27-11-2022, 04:32 PM
Tough on Canada that, they’ve looked not bad in the two games.

Modric is some footballer. His fitness levels at his age are fantastic

Donegal Hibby
Only 22 as well , cracking player , 3 - 1 Croatia .

27-11-2022, 04:34 PM
Tough on Canada that, they’ve looked not bad in the two games.

I'd say Canada will probably be one of the best sides to be eliminated in the group stage.

27-11-2022, 04:36 PM
Early Canadian goal provides a good opportunity to back Croatia in play. Then again, we could have yet another shock.

I'm putting a score on Croatia.

I followed your suggestion and took Croatia at 15/4 👍

Bridge hibs
27-11-2022, 04:39 PM
Aw **** off Croatia, could you not just have left it at 2-1, you can stick your Pag cheese up yer erse 🤬

27-11-2022, 04:39 PM
I'd say Canada will probably be one of the best sides to be eliminated in the group stage.

Agree, and Australia who haven’t impressed at all could be going to the R16. It is indeed a funny old game.

27-11-2022, 04:54 PM
4-1

Donegal Hibby
27-11-2022, 04:56 PM
Think the scoreline is very harsh on Canada btw

27-11-2022, 05:00 PM
Think the scoreline is very harsh on Canada btwExcellent

Looks like one of them Did indeed get f'd

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
27-11-2022, 05:07 PM
Read this a wee while ago .talk about not taking a beaten well ,crazy stuff
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/9833567/riot-brussels-belgium-morocco/

27-11-2022, 05:14 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/9833567/riot-brussels-belgium-morocco/

you like yer links to that rag

what does it say

27-11-2022, 05:16 PM

There's quite a big Moroccan population in Belgium. I remember that from the trip to play Anderlecht in 1992.

Donegal Hibby
27-11-2022, 05:23 PM
you like yer links to that rag

what does it say
Big riot in Brussels .

27-11-2022, 05:26 PM
Big riot in Brussels .

ah ok, as said above the moroccon's were crazy ****s and liked a bit of bother when we were in Brussels in the 90's

Donegal Hibby
27-11-2022, 05:39 PM
ah ok, as said above the moroccon's were crazy ****s and liked a bit of bother when we were in Brussels in the 90's
Next game on paper is a cracker . Think Spain wil be to good for Germany tipping " Dani Olmo for first goal .

27-11-2022, 05:42 PM
https://www.reddit.com/r/soccer/comments/z4qgsn/front_page_of_a_croatian_newspaper_shows_naked/

[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji850][emoji850]

27-11-2022, 06:10 PM
Spain playing a 20 and 18 year old in midfield. I know these 2 are exceptional players but we really don’t often give youth a chance sometimes.

27-11-2022, 06:16 PM
3-1, again, harsh on Canada for their attacking play but just wide open in defence.
Nieve defending

Up-the-slope
27-11-2022, 06:26 PM
Spain well on top first 15 but Germans getting back into it...

Up-the-slope
27-11-2022, 06:27 PM
Spanish falling over a tad easy

27-11-2022, 06:31 PM
Nieve defending

That's the Attraction.

Or is he an Imposter?

27-11-2022, 06:35 PM
Spain taking too long when they get a chance.

27-11-2022, 06:39 PM
1-0 Germany

27-11-2022, 06:39 PM
Offside no goal.

27-11-2022, 06:41 PM
VAR working well for offsides. Instant decisions.

Donegal Hibby
27-11-2022, 07:18 PM
Game could do with a goal

27-11-2022, 07:19 PM
1-0 Spain

Crossing in this game has been chronic.

1-0 Spain

Game could do with a goal

And there it is. :greengrin

1-0 Morata

27-11-2022, 07:20 PM
Boo.

27-11-2022, 07:21 PM
Excellent

Germany in bother now

Donegal Hibby
And there it is. :greengrin
Didn't actually expect it to happen that quickly 😆

JoeT
Off the Germans

27-11-2022, 07:25 PM
Germany on the brink of going out again.

Paulie Walnuts
27-11-2022, 07:26 PM
Germany on the brink of going out again.

Lovely :agree:

Spain look like the team to beat so far imo.

27-11-2022, 07:27 PM
Lovely :agree:

Spain look like the team to beat so far imo.

Think France and Brazil are up there as well. But Spain are the only team so far to face a proper challenge and this has been a breeze so far, you could be right.

Paulie Walnuts
27-11-2022, 07:28 PM
Think France and Brazil are up there as well. But Spain are the only team so far to face a proper challenge and this has been a breeze so far, you could be right.

Yeah, between the 3 of them from what we’ve seen so far.

27-11-2022, 07:30 PM

Spain v Brazil looking more likely in the QF. 👀

27-11-2022, 07:34 PM
Spain v Brazil looking more likely in the QF. 👀

Oft! That will be some game! Been really impressed by Spain. Didn't think much of them before the tournament but they've been fantastic.

27-11-2022, 07:40 PM
1-1

27-11-2022, 07:41 PM
Didn't see that coming

JoeT
Off the Germans

Shouldn't have written them off😂

Didn't see that coming

Neither did the Spanish keeper lol

27-11-2022, 07:45 PM
that should get the Germans that all important point i think they needed

Stairway 2 7
27-11-2022, 07:45 PM
Moroccans stills rioting in Brussels, hate to see them if they got beat 😆

https://mobile.twitter.com/visegrad24/status/1596944387279572993

27-11-2022, 08:19 PM
If tonight's game was anything to go by I don't fancy either of them to win it. Spain are nowhere near the ability of previous Spanish teams, for me a few of their players are totally overrated. Morata can finish well enough though.

The Wireless
27-11-2022, 08:55 PM
If tonight's game was anything to go by I don't fancy either of them to win it. Spain are nowhere near the ability of previous Spanish teams, for me a few of their players are totally overrated. Morata can finish well enough though.

As a matter of interest, which of their players do you think are overrated ?

LewysGot2
27-11-2022, 09:01 PM
Reports of rioting in Belgium 🇧🇪 :confused:

Seems that Moroccan nationals took to the streets in Brussels after the game to celebrate but it’s all gone Pete Tong…

supermcginn
27-11-2022, 09:10 PM

This Spain team is streets ahead of the one that lost to a rotten Russia team in the last world cup. They have some of the best young players in the world, the best manager and plenty of experience. They'll go very close.

Donegal Hibby
27-11-2022, 09:16 PM
I would agree with you that there have been better Spanish teams in the past but this could be said of Argentina, Germany , Holland , Brazil and the rest too. I think Spain done enough tonight and will top the group . Spain, Brazil and France are the 3 best teams I've seen in it . I think they have some fantastic players and a really strong squad , Barcelona, man city ,PSG , real Madrid, Athletico Madrid players all in this Spanish squad. Id probably put Brazil and France as favourites but I think they are to good to rule out either though

27-11-2022, 09:28 PM
This Spain team is streets ahead of the one that lost to a rotten Russia team in the last world cup. They have some of the best young players in the world, the best manager and plenty of experience. They'll go very close.

Well I hope your last sentence is true, I've always enjoyed watching Spain the past and I'm more than happy to be proved wrong. But tonight was a big test for them and imo there wasn't nearly as much skill on show as you seemed to imply. That's just my opinion though.

28-11-2022, 06:58 AM
Is today potentially the worst set of fixtures yet? I have only missed a few games but this world Cup has been a bit boring. I remember the one in Brazil in particular was a good one.

28-11-2022, 07:03 AM
Is today potentially the worst set of fixtures yet? I have only missed a few games but this world Cup has been a bit boring. I remember the one in Brazil in particular was a good one.

We just haven’t had the surprise package in this one , the teams that unexpectedly make a big splash in the group stages. Neither Japan nor Saudi could follow up on their shock opening results. With none of the top contenders really firing on all cylinders yet it’s not been a very inspiring tournament so far.

28-11-2022, 09:49 AM
Brilliant game this.

28-11-2022, 10:14 AM
Brilliant game this.

Sods law, back at work today and missing a belter of a game

28-11-2022, 10:18 AM
Absolutely exceptional team goal from Serbia.

28-11-2022, 10:20 AM
Fantastic goal from Serbia.

28-11-2022, 10:23 AM
I’m being a bit of a nippy sweetie here but the over-celebration of a goal with the whole squad of subs running all over the pitch is a bit much. It should be nipped in the bud ‘cos it will only escalate into a farce every time a team scores.

28-11-2022, 10:28 AM
Another fantastic goal.

28-11-2022, 10:30 AM
What a game this is.

28-11-2022, 10:31 AM
Wow, game of the tournament so far.

28-11-2022, 10:32 AM
It's a funny old game! 😀

28-11-2022, 10:33 AM
Excellent stuff!

28-11-2022, 10:33 AM

That would be a massive naw.

28-11-2022, 10:34 AM
World cup classic

28-11-2022, 10:46 AM
I’m being a bit of a nippy sweetie here but the over-celebration of a goal with the whole squad of subs running all over the pitch is a bit much. It should be nipped in the bud ‘cos it will only escalate into a farce every time a team scores.
I agree

28-11-2022, 12:01 PM
Sods law, back at work today and missing a belter of a game

Same here, brutal developments.
Come on the Koreans

28-11-2022, 12:04 PM
Grandparent duty today, watched the Grinch instead with my granddaughter.

28-11-2022, 12:26 PM
1-0 Ghana

28-11-2022, 12:30 PM
“The Korean defence was ‘discombobulated’ there.” ….. the BBC commentator at Ghana’s goal. Best use of vocabulary yet.:greengrin

28-11-2022, 12:35 PM
2-0 Ghana

28-11-2022, 12:36 PM

Going good so far.

28-11-2022, 12:40 PM
“The Korean defence was ‘discombobulated’ there.” ….. the BBC commentator at Ghana’s goal. Best use of vocabulary yet.:greengrin

It’s a massively overused word in American sport and is clearly making its way over here now.

28-11-2022, 01:21 PM
What's day for comebacks!

2-2 Ghana vs Korea

28-11-2022, 01:21 PM
Another absolutely brilliant game. Scenes in the Korean end.

28-11-2022, 01:22 PM
Scenes

28-11-2022, 01:27 PM
10 goals so far today, let's hope for 10 more lol

Sheffhibee
28-11-2022, 01:29 PM
2-3 Ghana, terrific match

28-11-2022, 01:30 PM
Gonna get four 3 - 3's today lol

28-11-2022, 01:30 PM
This was a decent game 16 years ago at Easter road. Today it's been exceptional. Ghana back Infront.

28-11-2022, 01:31 PM

That's outstanding work. Owe it all to you.

28-11-2022, 01:58 PM
This was a decent game 16 years ago at Easter road. Today it's been exceptional. Ghana back Infront.

16 years ago? Mental! 😲

Stairway 2 7
28-11-2022, 02:49 PM
Unbelievable two games today 👏

28-11-2022, 03:07 PM

Thank you.

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2022, 03:10 PM
This is my first game today so I will probably jinx it and it will be rubbish :greengrin

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 03:23 PM
This is my first game today so I will probably jinx it and it will be rubbish :greengrin

likewise - only a wee bit of radio while driving... hope this is decent though

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 03:26 PM
so far like couple of boxer sizing each other up but not wanting to risk going for the haymaker

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2022, 03:32 PM
so far like couple of boxer sizing each other up but not wanting to risk going for the haymaker
After two cracking games , we come on and it's not great , think we are going to get barred 😂

28-11-2022, 03:32 PM
Quite a few naughty wee challenges by the Swiss. Slow mo there of a defender running his studs down Richarlisons ankle

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 03:36 PM
After two cracking games , we come on and it's not great , think we are going to get barred 😂

Ronaldo looks like he had dined at McDonalds for 10 years straight... humungous

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2022, 03:49 PM

Big lad now alright , probably ate all the pies too

28-11-2022, 03:52 PM
The Swiss have done well so far and will be up to Brazil to step it up second half.

28-11-2022, 03:56 PM

Could still do a job for us! [emoji41]

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 03:57 PM
Samba Football not on the menu first half - hopefully like so many games where first half has been keek it improves. Credit Swiss though as they have rarely looked troubled and kept their shape well -might have crossed earlier / at all a few times and tested CH's

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 04:04 PM
Could still do a job for us! [emoji41]

:confused: testing the new catering outlet offerings

28-11-2022, 04:09 PM
Samba Football not on the menu first half - hopefully like so many games where first half has been keek it improves. Credit Swiss though as they have rarely looked troubled and kept their shape well -might have crossed earlier / at all a few times and tested CH's

Credit Suisse, shirley?

Not banking on a reply......

28-11-2022, 04:11 PM
Thank you.

Just doing my bit :greengrin

Brazil is a let down though, where's the south american flare? They have a european style of football about them.

28-11-2022, 04:11 PM
Looks like I'm the jinx, missed 11 goals while working today and now we have a glorious 0-0 now I'm able to watch again

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 04:12 PM
Credit Suisse, shirley?

Not banking on a reply......

:top marks.... more entertaining than entire first half

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 04:14 PM
Looks like I'm the jinx, missed 11 goals while working today and now we have a glorious 0-0 now I'm able to watch again

Back to work :rules:

28-11-2022, 04:19 PM
Ive just caught the highlights, I actually can’t believe the scenes I’ve missed today :faf:

28-11-2022, 04:21 PM
How do they make it look so effing easy!

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 04:23 PM
funny i saw that offside straight away.... i wish lines persons would be allowed to get back to sticking flag up

What a great goal VAR just ruled out.

VAR check on my comment

Incorrect posting lol

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 04:24 PM
but yet again no replays showing us the supporter why... let alone in ground for those who have paid 000's

edit... and when it does comes its the most pap set of replays

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2022, 04:26 PM
You are off the hook now👍

Richarlisons a mile offside, was obvious in the build up, not sure where the commentary team are getting so confused. Ball watching most likely.

VAR can get in the bin, especially if we end up with these 55 minute halves the WC is throwing up .

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 04:27 PM
Ive just caught the highlights, I actually can’t believe the scenes I’ve missed today :faf:

and you
Back to work :rules:

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 04:30 PM
on comes the Saviour

28-11-2022, 04:40 PM
Yaaaas **** the Swiss

Bridge hibs
28-11-2022, 04:40 PM
Boooooommmmm !!

28-11-2022, 04:41 PM
As I says in the Plusnet advert, that will do!

Green Reaper
28-11-2022, 04:41 PM
Cracking finish

28-11-2022, 04:42 PM
No bad strike from a DM

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2022, 04:43 PM
Great strike

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 04:45 PM
No bad strike from a DM

he was their best player even before that

28-11-2022, 04:48 PM
That was a blatant back pass, WTF?

pollution
28-11-2022, 04:54 PM
Itv screen freeze

28-11-2022, 05:01 PM
Cracking goal. Brazil at the end looked like they may have a lot more in the tank when they are free'd up to go and attack.

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2022, 05:57 PM

Was checking up on Ronaldo club appearance's 384 , 280 goals . Brazil appearance's 98 , 62 goals No wonder he's big now ,seems he ate defence's for breakfast one time.

28-11-2022, 06:00 PM
I had a strange dream last night ……. Uruguay won 3-2 and Renaldo was sent off. I don’t even understand why I was dreaming about football and that game in particular.

28-11-2022, 06:00 PM
Portugal and Uruguay for the size of their populations, produce so many world class players
You wonder how they do it

28-11-2022, 06:16 PM
Portugal and Uruguay for the size of their populations, produce so many world class players

Better weather

28-11-2022, 06:28 PM
Better weather

Will be part of it, but got to be much more than that
Some hot Countries like Mexico (130m) and Turkey (85m) have massive populations, but do next to do nothing
I’m sure someone somewhere has written a paper on this

28-11-2022, 06:33 PM
Will be part of it, but got to be much more than that
Some hot Countries like Mexico (130m) and Turkey (85m) have populations, but do next to do nothing
I’m sure someone somewhere has written a paper on this

Maybe they don't have parents looking to batter other parents because their wee boys team got beat in some crappy cup tourney at peffermill on a Saturday morning?

28-11-2022, 06:43 PM
Maybe they don't have parents looking to batter other parents because their wee boys team got beat in some crappy cup tourney at peffermill on a Saturday morning?

I think you’re closer with this. Our football culture especially on how it impacts on youngsters is about fifty years out of date. I am going to annoy people here but I’d say 75% of the people I’ve had to deal with in relation to boys football in Edinburgh have been absolute dicks and should be nowhere near either sporting development, tactics or child welfare.

The Pointer
28-11-2022, 06:46 PM
Laughing at the commentator pronouncing Sebastian Coates of Uruguay as 'Coh-ah-tez' in the modern, prescribed manner.

Until you read on Wiki, "On his paternal side, he is of Scottish (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_people) ancestry," in which case I'll stick with the Paisley pronunciation.

The Pointer
28-11-2022, 06:50 PM

He's on the Maradona diet.

28-11-2022, 06:52 PM
If ever the phrase his legs have gone is used this world cup, it should be when mentioning Ronaldo.

He's brought walking football to the worlds stage. :timebomb:

28-11-2022, 06:54 PM
I think you’re closer with this. Our football culture especially on how it impacts on youngsters is about fifty years out of date.

I was being flippant - a bit - but it's a bit crap that we have had people talking about revamping football from grassroots up for decades now.......but as soon as some da gets a sniff of a plastic trophy for his boys mantle piece all bets are off.

ETA, just saw the rest of your post, made me laugh / cry😂

28-11-2022, 06:57 PM
I was being flippant - a bit - but it's a bit crap that we have had people talking about revamping football from grassroots up for decades now.......but as soon as some da gets a sniff of a plastic trophy for his boys mantle piece all bets are off.

ETA, just saw the rest of your post, made me laugh / cry😂

It’s honestly the way I feel, I genuinely get a pleasant surprise when I meet someone who seems to be involved for the right reasons.

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2022, 07:02 PM
I'm normally quite critical of Referee's but think they have been pretty good so far , what has surprised me is between last game and this one theres been quite a few cynical fouls but the Ref's have genuinely kept there cards in there pockets ( apart from the early booking of course :greengrin )

28-11-2022, 07:02 PM

They have a national directive banning the Xboxes and the Playstations.

28-11-2022, 07:08 PM
Take it McCoist doesn't know Johan Cruyff is deed?

28-11-2022, 07:12 PM
1-0 Portugal Ronaldo

28-11-2022, 07:13 PM
:faf: 1-0 The walking footballer.

28-11-2022, 07:14 PM
Goat

28-11-2022, 07:15 PM
Did he actually get a touch?

28-11-2022, 07:16 PM
Great goal by Bruno Fernandes there. Genius dummy by Ronaldo.

Ronaldo does himself an injury kicking the guys foot

Did he actually get a touch?

I don’t think he did

Ronaldo doesn't touch that ball

McSwanky
28-11-2022, 07:17 PM
Pretty sure he didn't touch that.

28-11-2022, 07:18 PM
FIFA disagrees and have said he got a touch!

28-11-2022, 07:19 PM
Ronaldo doesn't touch that ball

Yep looked like no contact at all. I am sure he will admit that after the game :greengrin

28-11-2022, 07:20 PM
According to Ally Fernandez has been given the goal.

FIFA disagrees and have said he got a touch!

So does William Hill 😉

Yep looked like no contact at all. I am sure he will admit that after the game :greengrin

It wasn't even a close call , He's nowhere near it

28-11-2022, 07:21 PM
So does William Hill [emoji6]

Skybet have given goal to Bruno

28-11-2022, 07:23 PM
Fantastic turn of speed from Ronaldo, there.

Up-the-slope
28-11-2022, 07:24 PM
maybe some of his hair oil dripped on ball as it flew past :greengrin

28-11-2022, 07:25 PM
Wonder if he'll do a Harry Kane when he claimed that goal that was also nowhere near him.

Garymcl
28-11-2022, 07:25 PM
Make no mistake he’ll claim it might be a great player but trust me if that was Messi in the same situation a bit different never a team player no matter how good he is

28-11-2022, 07:31 PM
Ronaldo should have been booked for that dive

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2022, 07:34 PM
Ronaldo should have been booked for that dive
That's what happens when you have played for Man u , you pick up those sort of bad habits 😉

28-11-2022, 07:35 PM
Fantastic turn of speed from Renaldo, there.

28-11-2022, 07:40 PM
Wonder if he'll do a Harry Kane when he claimed that goal that was also nowhere near him.

Harry Kane is claiming that goal

cameronw-hfc
28-11-2022, 07:44 PM
Doesn't touch it, of course he claims it. Egotistical maniac.

28-11-2022, 07:45 PM
The Uruguay manager should be taken round the back and shot. A nice dark blue suit ruined by dazzling white trainers and also what looked like no socks.

28-11-2022, 07:48 PM
Penalty Portugal I think.

Yep.

**** off, how's he meant to avoid that

28-11-2022, 07:49 PM
That’s never a penalty

28-11-2022, 07:49 PM
VAR is horrible

28-11-2022, 07:50 PM
Harsh as ****, but intent has never mattered. He got skinned and his hand stopped it.

Games ****ed with VAR and these daft rules, he's putting his arm down for balance as he's sliding in, he has no idea where that ball is going.

2-0 Portugal, that's them through to the last 16.

28-11-2022, 07:51 PM
dreadful decision

28-11-2022, 07:51 PM
Harsh as ****, but intent has never mattered. He got skinned and his hand stopped it.

Yip but as you’ve mentioned he stops the progress of the ball

28-11-2022, 07:52 PM

His hand was hardly in an unnatural position when he's falling backwards though

Donegal Hibby
Never a penalty, terrible decision.

dreadful decision

We’d be screaming for a penalty if that was for us.

VAR is horrible
I don't like VAR either but the rules on handball are a dumpster fire and I genuinely think that the referees don't know what they are. High time it went back to intentional or not - that's all that's ever mattered IMHO.

I suppose playing devils advocate, Fernandez would have got on the nutmeg if the handball hadn't deflected the ball away......

28-11-2022, 07:53 PM
I mind Ulrik Laursen coincided a penalty like that too. Mind you, it was against the Huns and no referee needed VAR to give it

28-11-2022, 07:54 PM
We’d be screaming for a penalty if that was for us.

Fans want penalty for their team even if it isn't shock horror

Green Reaper

Agree but unfortunately the handball rules now are too black and white

The "unnatural" term is about the stupidest I've ever seen introduced into football. Defenders being forced to run with their hands behind their backs is the poster child for unnatural.

VAR is destroying the beautiful game that I was brought up on it’s just a show now. Don’t know if I will go back if this is what going to happen , the baws burst.

28-11-2022, 07:56 PM

Absolute joke, what are you meant to do, land on your head?!!

28-11-2022, 07:56 PM
Fans want penalty for their team even if it isn't shock horror

[emoji41][emoji2957]

Still a penalty for me given he’s stopped the progress of the ball.

However I can see why folk would be peed off that it was given

28-11-2022, 07:57 PM
I mind Ulrik Laursen coincided a penalty like that too. Mind you, it was against the Huns and no referee needed VAR to give it

And send him off :greengrin

I don't like VAR either but the rules on handball are a dumpster fire and I genuinely think that the referees don't know what they are. High time it went back to intentional or not - that's all that's ever mattered IMHO.

But how many people ever intentionally handled the ball? Apart from extremely rare Suarez in 2010 incidents when players try to save a goal, no one ever intentionally handles the ball. Sometimes players handle it ( unintentionally) and its a foul though surely?

VAR is destroying the beautiful game that I was brought up on it’s just a show now. Don’t know if I will go back if this is what going to happen , the baws burst.

Totally agree, what should have improved the game is destroying it

28-11-2022, 07:58 PM
I suppose playing devils advocate, Fernandez would have got on the nutmeg if the handball hadn't deflected the ball away......

From an attacking point of view, the guys hand has stopped him getting through for a one on one. Seems unfair to not then give the penalty.

From a defensive point of view, he's not able to put his hand anywhere else, it's not deliberate (if that's still part of the rule) or in an unnatural position (if that's still part of the rule) although it does increase the area of his body (if that's still part of the rule). Seems unfair to have given the penalty.

Games ****ed with VAR and these daft rules, he's putting his arm down for balance as he's sliding in, he has no idea where that ball is going.

That's where I'm at. It's making me question whether it's worth watching football anymore. Games are being ruined by ridiculous decisions and over analyzing of incidents.

But how many people ever intentionally handled the ball? Apart from extremely rare Suarez in 2010 incidents when players try to save a goal, no one ever intentionally handles the ball. Sometimes players handle it ( unintentionally) and its a foul though surely?

Diego :)

Fernandez is an excellent player but also a complete kok

Totally agree, what should have improved the game is destroying it

Bit extreme!

28-11-2022, 07:59 PM
[emoji41][emoji2957]

Still a penalty for me given he’s stopped the progress of the ball.

However I can see why folk would be peed off that it was given

If I was a striker in the box with nothing much on then I'd be pinging shots galore off defenders hands and arms these days, they have technology that if they had kept the old rules still in action might actually work but they've somehow made it worse

accidental

Yes exactly - happened once in the history of the world cup! :greengrin

28-11-2022, 08:00 PM
Refs are just bottlers and go with what VAR says to not show up their mate.

Happened in championship final at Wembley last season but other way round. VAR wouldn't give Huddersfield a pen as their future boss was the ref. Confirmed to me by someone working with VAR.

VAR is a joke and surprised Scottish football went with it.

28-11-2022, 08:04 PM
Portugal are a bigger price than Germany to win the tournament which to me is utterly ridiculous.
I think they could beat anybody in a one off match with that midfield.

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2022, 08:05 PM
If I was a striker in the box with nothing much on then I'd be pinging shots galore off defenders hands and arms these days, they have technology that if they had kept the old rules still in action might actually work but they've somehow made it worse
Agree with this:agree:

28-11-2022, 08:05 PM

VAR is brutal and there is little or no consistency (and never will have any either) all about the interpretation by the officials.

You can think of a few during a few games before the break at Tiny where they were award penalties using VAR however the most blatant one was Smiths handball with his arm well away from his body(you could see that without VAR) wasn’t given!

28-11-2022, 08:07 PM
Not a penalty as per IFAB’s own guidelines.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FirdG2gUcAEh0gs.jpg

https://twitter.com/dalejohnsonespn/status/1597332269709918208?s=46&t=jL14om69MbSOnzj0YLnVdA

28-11-2022, 08:11 PM
VAR is horrible

The referee makes the decision, not VAR.

28-11-2022, 08:14 PM
Not a penalty as per IFAB’s own guidelines.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FirdG2gUcAEh0gs.jpg

https://twitter.com/dalejohnsonespn/status/1597332269709918208?s=46&t=jL14om69MbSOnzj0YLnVdA

The loophole there is that his arm comes down on to the ball. It's not a supporting arm on contact with the ground, more a following arm that connects with the ball.

28-11-2022, 08:14 PM

This is wrong, intent does matter. The intent of his arm being in an unnatural position was to support his body not to make his body bigger so it shouldn’t be a penalty.

“An attacker (Team A) attempts to pass the ball. A defender (Team B) makes a slide tackle to block the pass. The ball touches the right arm which is clearly extended away from the body and is not supporting the body. What is the correct decision?
It is a handball offence. A player is considered to have made their body unnaturally bigger when the position of their arm is not a consequence of, or justifiable by, the player’s body movement for that specific situation. The referee will award a direct free kick (or penalty kick) to Team A.”

https://www.theifab.com/laws/latest/fouls-and-misconduct/#indirect-free-kick

28-11-2022, 08:15 PM

It’s the double whammy of the delay which spoils the event as a spectator and then the mistakes are happening regardless. VAR rules are a disaster for a sport which just has to accept that refs will sometimes make mistakes and put this Ill fated system in the bin where it belongs.

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2022, 08:16 PM
Thought the handball was never a penalty , his hands behind him being used to break his fall and it does touch his hand but is unintentional imo

28-11-2022, 08:16 PM
The loophole there is that his arm comes down on to the ball. It's not a supporting arm on contact with the ground, more a following arm that connects with the ball.

That’s not a loophole, look at the image, the defenders hand isn’t touching the ground. That image was provided by IFAB, the people who literally wrote the rule.

28-11-2022, 08:18 PM

The VAR recommended the referee take another look on the screen. A competent VAR would have confirmed that the referees initial on pitch decision was correct.

28-11-2022, 08:19 PM
That’s not a loophole, look at the image, the defenders hand isn’t touching the ground. That image was provided by IFAB, the people who literally wrote the rule.

Was assuming that was the journalist's image

In that case, they're just tying themselves in knots.

28-11-2022, 08:22 PM
Was assuming that was the journalist's image

In that case, they're just tying themselves in knots.

See point 4

28-11-2022, 08:25 PM
Paddy Power paying out on all CR7 first goal scorer and shot on target bets

The good guys

angus hibby
28-11-2022, 08:28 PM
VAR picks up on the handball, but ignores the two Portuguese players who have run through the D and are in the box when pen taken. They’re only about 5 yards further than what they should be 🙄

28-11-2022, 08:30 PM
The VAR recommended the referee take another look on the screen. A competent VAR would have confirmed that the referees initial on pitch decision was correct.

Fair point.

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2022, 08:31 PM
First Ghana goal today , think the ball hit Ghana player on the hand and goal stood , could be said that Ghana and Uruguay handball's were similar.Mike Dean ex referee says it was never a penalty against Uruguay and referee was still deciding on it as he walked onto pitch

28-11-2022, 08:34 PM
Paddy Power paying out on all CR7 first goal scorer and shot on target bets

The good guys

Are they also paying out on Fernandez who scored it?

28-11-2022, 08:43 PM
Are they also paying out on Fernandez who scored it?

Who cares ?

I had Ronaldo shot on target and they paid oot 🤑

28-11-2022, 08:45 PM
Today is the last day of the 10 am and 1 pm kick offs

All 4 pm and 7 pm from here on in

28-11-2022, 08:47 PM
Today is the last day of the 10 am and 1 pm kick offs

All 4 pm and 7 pm from here on in

3pm and 7pm

28-11-2022, 08:52 PM
3pm and 7pm

👍

Thought I better double check that before posting 😀

29-11-2022, 06:22 AM

I think the ref was struggling to give that penalty last night, in fact if you watch it again i dont think he wanted to give it at all?

I'm wondering if he's been directed to give it from above, or pressurised to?

29-11-2022, 07:48 AM
I think the ref was struggling to give that penalty last night, in fact if you watch it again i dont think he wanted to give it at all?

I'm wondering if he's been directed to give it from above, or pressurised to?

I have no evidence for this what so ever, but I feel like who ever is in charge of the world cup want the stars of the show to have the headlines, so the end up getting decisions like that. Ronaldo, Messi and the likes get favoured IMO.

29-11-2022, 10:19 AM
I have no evidence for this what so ever, but I feel like who ever is in charge of the world cup want the stars of the show to have the headlines, so the end up getting decisions like that. Ronaldo, Messi and the likes get favoured IMO.

I completely agree with you. There’s only one World Cup where the people implicated have admitted corrupt practices (the first one I watched, Argentina 78-this regime was arguably much more brutal and murderous than any World Cup host state ever), but there is no doubt in my mind that this is a showcase for the teams and players that make the most money for the organisers. I still love it and it’s the pinnacle of the sport in my eyes, but we can’t ignore the likelihood that it’s fairly widespread. Korea 2002 also had some very suspicious outcomes.

29-11-2022, 10:25 AM
I completely agree with you. There’s only one World Cup where the people implicated have admitted corrupt practices (the first one I watched, Argentina 78-this regime was arguably much more brutal and murderous than any World Cup host state ever), but there is no doubt in my mind that this is a showcase for the teams and players that make the most money for the organisers. I still love it and it’s the pinnacle of the sport in my eyes, but we can’t ignore the likelihood that it’s fairly widespread. Korea 2002 also had some very suspicious outcomes.

South Korea got a some really dodgy decisions against Spain and Italy if I remember correctly

Trinity Hibee
29-11-2022, 10:26 AM
Not a fan of VAR at all but I thought that Portugal penalty last night should have been one. He’s been nutmegged with the attacker going to get the ball and have an attempt on goal. The hand redirected the ball and stopped that from happening. Felt it was one of the easier calls tbh.

The Ronaldo one earlier in the tournament now that should never have been a pen and can’t believe VAR never overturned it.

Donegal Hibby
29-11-2022, 11:00 AM
Not a fan of VAR at all but I thought that Portugal penalty last night should have been one. He’s been nutmegged with the attacker going to get the ball and have an attempt on goal. The hand redirected the ball and stopped that from happening. Felt it was one of the easier calls tbh.

The Ronaldo one earlier in the tournament now that should never have been a pen and can’t believe VAR never overturned it.
The hand did redirect the ball but he had his hand behind him and was using it to break his fall , totally unintentional hand ball and should never had been a penalty . Mike Dean ex referee said the same , also said when referee was walking on to the field you could see he hadn't decided but looked like he didn't want to go against the decision to gave it.

Trinity Hibee
29-11-2022, 11:11 AM
The hand did redirect the ball but he had his hand behind him and was using it to break his fall , totally unintentional hand ball and should never had been a penalty . Mike Dean ex referee said the same , also said when referee was walking on to the field you could see he hadn't decided but looked like he didn't want to go against the decision to gave it.

Yeah fair enough. Can’t say I know the details of the rules nowadays but refs just seem confused generally. I can see the unintentional part but for me it still impacted the direction of the ball and prevented a clear effort in goal. I’m sure we’ll see plenty more dubious decisions throughout the tournament.

Dmas
29-11-2022, 11:16 AM
3pm and 7pm

Taken by surprise by this this morning, soured my cup of tea at 9:50 when I was flicking to find what station the game was on, actually had to give work full focus!

29-11-2022, 11:30 AM
Yeah fair enough. Can’t say I know the details of the rules nowadays but refs just seem confused generally. I can see the unintentional part but for me it still impacted the direction of the ball and prevented a clear effort in goal. I’m sure we’ll see plenty more dubious decisions throughout the tournament.
Just wait till penalties are being awarded for unintentionally heading the ball.

29-11-2022, 11:33 AM
Taken by surprise by this this morning, soured my cup of tea at 9:50 when I was flicking to find what station the game was on, actually had to give work full focus!
You and quite a few others, whereas us retirees don't have that problem 😊

Donegal Hibby
29-11-2022, 12:00 PM
Can't say I know the details of the rules nowadays either . I can see why the refs are confused by it , really is becoming a problem , getting to the stage were you are in with a good shout of a penalty by firing the ball at the opponent. I can see why you thought it was a penalty with the direction change of the ball but to me he didn't know anything about it and was unintentional and a very harsh penalty decision. Actually thought Ghana's first goal yesterday was another dubious decision and your right it won't be the last dubious decision either . It's a funny old game 😂

29-11-2022, 12:43 PM
I'm normally quite critical of Referee's but think they have been pretty good so far , what has surprised me is between last game and this one theres been quite a few cynical fouls but the Ref's have genuinely kept there cards in there pockets ( apart from the early booking of course :greengrin )
Is it not the cynical fouls refs SHOULD be getting their cards out for though?!?

29-11-2022, 01:58 PM
Senegal game ITV4

Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 02:05 PM
Senegal game ITV4

thats what i'm on - should be good.. (but with annoying trumpet / vuvuzela noise)

29-11-2022, 02:07 PM
South Korea got a some really dodgy decisions against Spain and Italy if I remember correctly

Bloody expensive decisions! 😠

29-11-2022, 02:22 PM
There has been some chat on here about how Maradonas brutal treatment at world cups has been exaggerated by his fans to make a case that he’s the best ever.

Just heard a great stat today, Messi has just equaled Maradonas matches played at world cups. After 21 games each, Messi has been fouled 60 times. Maradona was fouled in the same number of games a total of 152 times, that’s over seven times a game. And it goes without saying those fouls will not be of the shirt pulling, obstruction type. They will be studs down the Achilles, stamp the metatarsal type fouls. The three most fouled players of all time at world cups have all been Maradona; 82 86 and 90.

It’s just a completely different game now.

29-11-2022, 02:28 PM
There has been some chat on here about how Maradonas brutal treatment at world cups has been exaggerated by his fans to make a case that he’s the best ever.

Just heard a great stat today, Messi has just equaled Maradonas matches played at world cups. After 21 games each, Messi has been fouled 60 times. Maradona was fouled in the same number of games a total of 152 times, that’s over seven times a game. The three most fouled players of all time at world cups have all been Maradona; 82 86 and 90.

It’s just a completely different game now.

Anyone thats old enough (you and me fit that category) to have watched some of DM matches can testify to the amount of ridic tackles he endured, the number of times he was totally clattered.

Not in the same category obviously, but its like when people talk about Boyles dives without mentioning how many times he is skelped up and down the park.

Good goal Gatko, terrible defending tho.......

29-11-2022, 02:39 PM
Gakpo

1-0 Netherlands

Stairway 2 7
29-11-2022, 02:44 PM
1 nil Senegal penalty, been the better team and a stone waller

Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 02:50 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjKjSwgUHLY

If you can put up with Danny Dyer interjections... have a look at video above if you are too young to remember the level of aggro on the pitch in years gone by - no protection for skilled player. it seems unbelievable that a haymaker right hook was only worthy of a booking. todays players get so much protection to the point it can spoil the game (to be fair refs have got it about right in this tournament so far)

Senegal Pen and in the driving seat for 2nd spot

29-11-2022, 02:52 PM
Anyone thats old enough (you and me fit that category) to have watched some of DM matches can testify to the amount of ridic tackles he endured, the number of times he was totally clattered.

Not in the same category obviously, but its like when people talk about Boyles dives without mentioning how many times he is skelped up and down the park.

Good goal Gatko, terrible defending tho.......

It still can go tits up but potentially this could be the best WC collectively for African nations. Morocco look the pick of them but Ghana and Senegal both also look capable of a run at the quarters/semis.

29-11-2022, 02:56 PM
Those painted Senegal fans could show our Ultras a thing of two. 😃

They look amazing and they just haven't stopped!

29-11-2022, 02:58 PM
Those painted Senegal fans could show our Ultras a thing of two. 😃

They look amazing and they just haven't stopped!

What else are they painting?

29-11-2022, 03:01 PM
What else are they painting?

I've no idea but body paint is a lot cheaper than Stone Island gear.

Do we have enough Ultras to spell Hibernian or would we need to settle for Hibs?