View Full Version : The world cup thread
04-12-2022, 06:46 PM
Last time they played each other he did.
Walker is exceptional in one on one situations and is absolutely lightening.
He's arguably the best right sided defender in the world when fit.
Shame he is a ****
04-12-2022, 06:47 PM
Excellent at falling over though. And those swan dives when someone brushes his ankle are not bad!
He's scored about 50 international goals in 70 games and 250 Premier League goals in about 400.
That's a very good record, comparable with almost anyone who's ever played for England or played in the Premier League, bearing in mind he's not playing for one of the top sides. It he played for Man City that number would likely be far higher.
04-12-2022, 06:47 PM
2-0 game over.
04-12-2022, 06:48 PM
Am off to watch the Antiques roadshow...
Hopefully France pump this England team in the quarter-final.
Bellingham is the difference maker.
And there it's, Kane scores game over.
NC1875
04-12-2022, 06:49 PM
Bellingham the difference again
Was thinking that Senegal needed to hold on to half time. Game over now.
bringbackbenny
Anu idea why an extra 30 secs played when there was no other stoppages?
A decent goal there. Game over I think.
2 shots, 2 goals.
Ffs
Bellingham is the difference maker.
Two players had a chance to take him out but didn't, unacceptable
TV off.
04-12-2022, 06:50 PM
Can we stick a bid in for Bellingham, absolutely first class in that goal.
Great assit and finish also.
04-12-2022, 06:51 PM
Senegal midfielder HAD to pull the England player down but allowed him to break free, make the pass and they score. Soooo naive by Senegal who are no more than a very basic side with a bit of pace. France v Brexit it is then.
Donegal Hibby
04-12-2022, 06:51 PM
Senegal have been s***e . Suppose England will be world beaters again 😡
LunasBoots
04-12-2022, 06:53 PM
Anu idea why an extra 30 secs played when there was no other stoppages?
Any other game in the tournament the refs have been blowing right on time, strange
04-12-2022, 06:54 PM
Two players had a chance to take him out but didn't, unacceptable
True, but they probably thought the angry ref would start kicking **** out of them if they did :greengrin
04-12-2022, 06:54 PM
£93 back on it's way to my account
thanks , ermm england
04-12-2022, 06:55 PM
Senegal are pretty gash. Had to take advantage when England couldn't get anything going. The much maligned Pickford once again pulling out the big stop when England need him, rarely if ever lets them down. It's game over now.
04-12-2022, 06:56 PM
To be fair the pundits are honest about the ragdolling they’d had up to the goals.
04-12-2022, 07:00 PM
It’s coming home
:duck:
04-12-2022, 07:02 PM
£93 back on it's way to my account
thanks , ermm england
Me tae , Easy easy money
Mcbizz1998
04-12-2022, 07:02 PM
Pretty routine for England once they woke up!
Looking forward to the France game. Spain v Portugal on that day as well (hopefully it’s them).
04-12-2022, 07:03 PM
Those Puma number shields on the front of the shirts are boggin.
04-12-2022, 07:03 PM
Pretty routine for England once they woke up!
Looking forward to the France game. Spain v Portugal on that day as well (hopefully it’s them).
Can see it being a France-Portugal semi-final.
04-12-2022, 07:04 PM
Harry Kane must be one of the most over rated players in the world.
About to overtake Greaves Spurs record and become the highest goalscorer in their history. Not overrated at all
04-12-2022, 07:04 PM
Don’t think that’s possible is it? Other half of the draw
04-12-2022, 07:05 PM
Don’t think that’s possible is it? Other half of the draw
Same side of draw.
04-12-2022, 07:06 PM
So would I but, for the moment, I’m happy to let England help me beat the bookie. :greengrin I won’t moan too much if Senegal cause an upset and cost me a few bob.
Thanks England. You and France filled my wallet with an early payout. Now I’m looking for France to spoil the party next week. Mind you, Senagal might surprise us.
04-12-2022, 07:08 PM
Same side of draw.
I’ve been reading my fourfourtwo wall chart wrong all this time :faf:
04-12-2022, 07:09 PM
Can still see Senegal nicking one back and making it interesting
04-12-2022, 07:10 PM
Possibly, but it could easily be England v Spain.
2 very tight games IMO.
04-12-2022, 07:15 PM
3-0 too easy.
04-12-2022, 07:16 PM
Foden sensational again.
04-12-2022, 07:17 PM
There are some very good players in this England side.
04-12-2022, 07:18 PM
Might be at the point where we have to admit this lot are alright.
Great decision by Southgate to play Saka. Been excellent.
Mcbizz1998
04-12-2022, 07:18 PM
England are really quite good tbh.
04-12-2022, 07:19 PM
Really bad challenge from Bellingham, unpunished. Dixon ‘likes this ref’.
Donegal Hibby
04-12-2022, 07:19 PM
Can still see Senegal nicking one back and making it interesting
Need the nick 2 back now🤬
NC1875
04-12-2022, 07:20 PM
Senegal have been poor. We’ll see how good England are when they play a half decent team
Hate saying it but when England click, they are a very good side indeed.
04-12-2022, 07:20 PM
Might be at the point where we have to admit this lot are alright.
Great decision by Southgate to play Saka. Been excellent.
It’s been a funny game though. England very clinical in the final third but we’re lucky to escape the first 35 mins of capers at the back and Maguire moments.
Donegal Hibby
04-12-2022, 07:21 PM
Combination of England been ok and Senegal being s***e
04-12-2022, 07:22 PM
Harry Kane must be one of the most over rated players in the world.
SJNB Hibby
04-12-2022, 07:23 PM
i've switched over to watch Packers @ Bears ;)
Hoping the vikings can hold off the jets....Patriots may win the division yet
Mcbizz1998
04-12-2022, 07:24 PM
Combination of England been ok and Senegal being s***e
Sure [emoji106]
04-12-2022, 07:24 PM
Horrid feeling that England might win it this time!
04-12-2022, 07:26 PM
How f****** unbearable would that be?
04-12-2022, 07:26 PM
Mbappe v Maguire
Rest easy lol
04-12-2022, 07:27 PM
France will be the first decent team England have faced and England will be the first decent team France have faced.
Should be interesting.
04-12-2022, 07:27 PM
Iran Wales and Senegal they’ve beaten.
I’m not convinced yet.
04-12-2022, 07:28 PM
How f****** unbearable would that be?
Horrendous. At least we would beat them in the friendly though lol
04-12-2022, 07:29 PM
Jeez oh, this commentator must be the worst ever, wft is he prattling on about
04-12-2022, 07:30 PM
Hoping the vikings can hold off the jets....Patriots may win the division yet
WC thread :tsk tsk:
anyway
i've been flicking between Packers and Jets game, Jets have been brilliant this season, didn't fancy them at Minnesota though
Packers
Jets
Eagles
Seahawks
in that order, not sure if it's just coincidence they all have green in their colours :wink:
NC1875
04-12-2022, 07:32 PM
France will be the first decent team England have faced and England will be the first decent team France have faced.
Should be interesting.
Poland are a decent side. Better than anything England have faced so far.
LunasBoots
04-12-2022, 07:32 PM
No easy games after today's though so always hope
04-12-2022, 07:33 PM
Mbappe v Maguire
Rest easy lol
The French defence isn’t the best either.
04-12-2022, 07:33 PM
WC thread :tsk tsk:
anyway
i've been flicking between Packers and Jets game, Jets have been brilliant this season, didn't fancy them at Minnesota though
Packers
Jets
Eagles
Seahawks
in that order, not sure if it's just coincidence they all have green in their colours :wink:
Not outwith the realms of possibility that all 4 AFC East teams could be in the play offs. I'd say 2 of the 4 are legitimate contenders as well with the Jets arguably a season or 2 away.
Anyway is there some other sporting event on tonight?
04-12-2022, 07:34 PM
Poland are a decent side. Better than anything England have faced so far.
Nowhere near the standard of England though.
Surprised Kane is still on. Could end in tears....
04-12-2022, 07:41 PM
Quite scary Harry Kane could ( probably will ) Be England's all time record goalscorer and the premier leagues all time greatest goal scorer and finish his career with not a single winners medal to his name
Shame Daniel Levy never flinched when Kane never turned up for training and tried to force a move to Man city
04-12-2022, 07:42 PM
Not outwith the realms of possibility that all 4 AFC East teams could be in the play offs. I'd say 2 of the 4 are legitimate contenders as well with the Jets arguably a season or 2 away.
Anyway is there some other sporting event on tonight?
yep, chiefs at Bengals should be a cracker :cb
Quite scary Harry Kane could ( probably will ) Be England's all time record goalscorer and the premier leagues all time greatest goal scorer and finish his career with not a single winners medal to his name
Shame Daniel Levy never flinched when Kane never turned up for training and tried to force a move to Man city
Real Madrid would be daft not to go in when Benzema fades
04-12-2022, 07:43 PM
That would just about sum up what has been a real shiety year.
Really dislike the english at any sport. Difficult to like at the best o times.
LunasBoots
04-12-2022, 07:43 PM
Nowhere near the standard of England though.
Probably not but when England have played Poland in recent times they have been pretty tight games, so I'd expect France to be more of a test.
04-12-2022, 07:47 PM
England will consider this job done after a shakey start. France will be a massive test, if they get through it they have a realistic chance.
France 5-1 to win the tournament. England 7-1
04-12-2022, 07:54 PM
‘I’m waiting a few minutes before talking about France, can’t wait to see Walker against Mbappe’ commentator 🤷*♂️
04-12-2022, 07:56 PM
‘I’m waiting a few minutes before talking about France, can’t wait to see Walker against Mbappe’ commentator 🤷*♂️
Walker is one of the few who might be able to deal with him. He's extremely fast.
Donegal Hibby
04-12-2022, 08:04 PM
England 8 shots , 4 on target . Senegal 10 shots , 1 on target. Really disappointed in Senegal didn't really lay a glove on England and went out in a whimper :rolleyes:
StirlingHibee
04-12-2022, 08:08 PM
I've got no issues if England win it. Good guy for a manager with, seemingly, a good bunch of lads clearly playing for each other. Even the English football press don't seem as arrogant as they used to be. With Bellingham and Foden playing brilliantly they definitely have a chance!
04-12-2022, 08:10 PM
Think England have been fortunate with draws in the last couple of tournaments, and they’ve not played anyone so far in this one. Likely they’ll need to get past France in the quarters, Spain/Portugal in the semis and Brazil/Argentina in the final. That’s a hell of a run.
I think they have the attacking players to hurt anyone but when they actually get tested defensively they’ll still struggle IMO.
04-12-2022, 08:10 PM
I've got no issues if England win it. Good guy for a manager with, seemingly, a good bunch of lads clearly playing for each other. Even the English football press don't seem as arrogant as they used to be. With Bellingham and Foden playing brilliantly they definitely have a chance!
I agree, but if they beat France it'll all crank up again.
04-12-2022, 08:13 PM
That's the way I feel although I only tune in at kick off then change channels at the final whistle.
Donegal Hibby
04-12-2022, 08:15 PM
I agree, but if they beat France it'll all crank up again.
I never want them to win ever . Imagine how long we would have to leave our TV's off for ?😂
04-12-2022, 08:16 PM
Think England have been fortunate with draws in the last couple of tournaments, and they’ve not played anyone so far in this one. Likely they’ll need to get past France in the quarters, Spain/France in the semis and Brazil/Argentina in the final. That’s a hell of a run.
I think they have the attacking players to hurt anyone but when they actually get tested defensively they’ll still struggle IMO.
Having to play France twice will be a real test!
04-12-2022, 08:16 PM
Not a single England player booked in the tournament yet. Walker should have been booked tonight and walking a suspension tightrope as a result.
04-12-2022, 08:17 PM
I never want them to win ever . Imagine how long we would have to leave our TV's off for ?😂
Netflix to the rescue.
04-12-2022, 08:17 PM
Think England have been fortunate with draws in the last couple of tournaments, and they’ve not played anyone so far in this one. Likely they’ll need to get past France in the quarters, Spain/France in the semis and Brazil/Argentina in the final. That’s a hell of a run.
Spain or Portugal I take it?
Donegal Hibby
04-12-2022, 08:18 PM
Having to play France twice will be a real test!
Can we not throw France in the final as well just in case?😂
04-12-2022, 08:20 PM
France England will be a cracker of a game think France will edge it due to Mbappe but not much in it at all.
04-12-2022, 08:21 PM
Spain or Portugal I take it?
Aye that’s one.
04-12-2022, 08:33 PM
Eñgland have done well in recent tournaments, but have only ever beaten teams they were expected to beat. France will be favourites & should be much more formidable opposition, but of course as a one-off tie who knows what will happen.
04-12-2022, 08:33 PM
They've beat three crap teams and were lucky to get a draw against USA, will be interesting how they cope with decent team. Out next round I'd imagine
archie
04-12-2022, 08:52 PM
Trying to be objective, I think the England team has some amazing attacking talent. Bellingham is something else. I still think the central defence looks lumbering.
04-12-2022, 08:54 PM
England's likely run to the World Cup:
QF: France
SF: Spain or Portugal
F: Brazil or Argentina
If they win it they'll have earned it.
04-12-2022, 09:44 PM
Eñgland have done well in recent tournaments, but have only ever beaten teams they were expected to beat. France will be favourites & should be much more formidable opposition, but of course as a one-off tie who knows what will happen.
Who have France, Argentina and Brazil beat that they weren't expected to beat in recently tournaments, though?
04-12-2022, 10:07 PM
England's likely run to the World Cup:
QF: France
SF: Spain or Portugal
F: Brazil or Argentina
If they win it they'll have earned it.
I think they’re capable of beating most teams because they have some top forward players. But I can’t see them beating three of those teams in the space of a week.
04-12-2022, 10:22 PM
I think they’re capable of beating most teams because they have some top forward players. But I can’t see them beating three of those teams in the space of a week.
For me it’s a win/win game. If England win, my tidy wee bet lingers on. If France win, and I think they will, my financial loss will temporarily delay my glee at England’s grief. :greengrin
04-12-2022, 10:47 PM
It’s been a funny game though. England very clinical in the final third but we’re lucky to escape the first 35 mins of capers at the back and Maguire moments.
Yep, and Saka gave the ball away which nearly led to a Senegal goal before England had even scored.
France are a different to anything England have experienced for a while.
They are absolutely top drawer and even an on form England team should not be a match for them.
04-12-2022, 10:52 PM
They are absolutely top drawer and even an on form England team should not be a match for them.
I agree and really really hope that's true.
05-12-2022, 12:30 AM
This seems to be the go to in order to belittle the recent success England have had in tournaments. It’s nonsense really, you qualify and then get grouped with opponents who have also qualified. Being one of the top ranked teams means they will be likely to draw opponents you would expect them to beat, it’s the way tournament football works. It’s takes nothing away from how well they have done unless you have an agenda.
05-12-2022, 01:55 AM
This seems to be the go to in order to belittle the recent success England have had in tournaments. It’s nonsense really, you qualify and then get grouped with opponents who have also qualified. Being one of the top ranked teams means they will be likely to draw opponents you would expect them to beat, it’s the way tournament football works. It’s takes nothing away from how well they have done unless you have an agenda.
The highest ranked team they beat in last World Cup was Colombia on penalties, of course it's not their fault to have received such a favourable draw, but it remains a matter of fact that to date this group of players have proven very effective at consistently beating such opponents, but not taken the step to beating any of the true top ranked sides.
Yorkshire HFC
05-12-2022, 03:54 AM
I just don't get the anti Southgate stance - how could he have done any better?
They've just beaten the Champions of Africa - no mean feat.
He's got some good forwards - but I don't think any of the goalie or back 4 would have got a game for Capello or Eriksens England teams - and that's before you think that they had Beckham, Scholes, Gerrard, Lampard and Rooney - not many of this England team would have been first picks 10 - 15 years ago. He seems to know how to set up a team and to get them to play to a system.
hibbydog
05-12-2022, 05:32 AM
English hubris is already in full swing ahead of their game with France.
Kaveh Solekol on Sly Sports l
‘Mbappe is a good player, but it’s not like he’s a superman that’s going to be the difference between the teams’
I couldn’t disagree more.
England are a good side, but they don’t belong with the elite of Spain, France, Brazil or Argentina. Good enough for the last 8 and deservedly so. But as usual their arrogance will be their down fall.
05-12-2022, 05:40 AM
English hubris is already in full swing ahead of their game with France.
Kaveh Solekol on Sly Sports l
‘Mbappe is a good player, but it’s not like he’s a superman that’s going to be the difference between the teams’
I couldn’t disagree more.
England are a good side, but they don’t belong with the elite of Spain, France, Brazil or Argentina. Good enough for the last 8 and deservedly so. But as usual their arrogance will be their down fall.
I’m not seeing that. Of course you will get the odd pundit saying daft things but other than that the media have been fairly reasonable. Southgate and his players certainly aren’t projecting any air of arrogance, far from it, they come across as a very likeable group.
05-12-2022, 05:45 AM
England will be comforted by the way both Poland and Denmark competed against them though Mbappe looks the difference Englands goal threat means imo it will be a tight game either can win.
05-12-2022, 05:47 AM
I’m not seeing that. Of course you will get the odd pundit saying daft things but other than that the media have been fairly reasonable. Southgate and his players certainly aren’t projecting any air of arrogance, far from it, they come across as a very likeable group.
Where has this very likeable group thing come from when Walker Sterling Grealish Maguire are in it. Think they are just marketed much better to give that presentation
05-12-2022, 06:11 AM
Where has this very likeable group thing come from when Walker Sterling Grealish Maguire are in it. Think they are just marketed much better to give that presentation
Do you think arrogance will be their undoing? When England go out, probably against France, it will simply be because they came up against a better team. There’s nothing wrong with their attitude.
Paulie Walnuts
05-12-2022, 06:46 AM
Do you think arrogance will be their undoing? When England go out, probably against France, it will simply be because they came up against a better team. There’s nothing wrong with their attitude.
05-12-2022, 07:07 AM
Who said anything about arrogance? All I stated was my perception being that not all their players were maybe as likeable as you were trying to portray. Have alot of time for Southgate and obvious positive role models like Rashford. Yes if they lose it will be because they have been beaten by a better team :greengrin
05-12-2022, 07:10 AM
Who said anything about arrogance? All I stated was my perception being that not all their players were maybe as likeable as you were trying to portray. Have alot of time for Southgate and obvious positive role models like Rashford. Yes if they lose it will be because they have been beaten by a better team :greengrin
Why do you think those players you mention are dislikeable? Walker, Grealish, Sterling, McGuire.
Not looking to get into an argument, I am genuinely interested - I dont pay a huge amount of attention to English football outside of occasionally watching a match.
05-12-2022, 07:28 AM
What success though?
england have arguably done what is to be expected of a major football power, and England are that, whatever anyone says. But success? They haven’t won anything (yet).
I think they have a great chance this year. That team has pace, technique and goals and they’ll trouble anybody. The defence concerns me a bit, you always feel there’s a mistake in Maguire.
05-12-2022, 07:43 AM
I thought Harry Kane was very good last night. I didn’t appreciate how good he is a dropping deep to pick the ball up. Some of his passes were superb.
05-12-2022, 08:25 AM
This England team are great going forward when it actually clicks, they have exciting players, but I think France have better players in those positions.
Mbappe, Giroud, Dembele should cause a lot of problems for Shaw, Maguire, and Walker. England hasn't come up against a really competent attacking force for ages, not their fault but the favourable draws have meant they have coasted through qualifying and the group. Senegal whatever way you shake it were hugely affected by Mane not making the world cup.
Personally think it's going to come down to which defense handles the other team's attack better. Both Lloris and Pickford have a catastrophic mistake in them too.
05-12-2022, 08:31 AM
This England team are great going forward when it actually clicks, they have exciting players, but I think France have better players in those positions.
Mbappe, Giroud, Dembele should cause a lot of problems for Shaw, Maguire, and Walker. England hasn't come up against a really competent attacking force for ages, not their fault but the favourable draws have meant they have coasted through qualifying and the group. Senegal whatever way you shake it were hugely affected by Mane not making the world cup.
Personally think it's going to come down to which defense handles the other team's attack better. Both Lloris and Pickford have a catastrophic mistake in them too.
Good point. Pit them against their peers in the Nations League and see what happens. Draws with Germany, defeats to Italy and Hungary.
05-12-2022, 08:49 AM
I thought Harry Kane was very good last night. I didn’t appreciate how good he is a dropping deep to pick the ball up. Some of his passes were superb.
Yep quality player you just knew he was scoring with his chance.
05-12-2022, 08:50 AM
Why do you think those players you mention are dislikeable? Walker, Grealish, Sterling, McGuire.
Not looking to get into an argument, I am genuinely interested - I dont pay a huge amount of attention to English football outside of occasionally watching a match.
They just are right :greengrin
05-12-2022, 10:03 AM
Who have France, Argentina and Brazil beat that they weren't expected to beat in recently tournaments, though?
Come come Mr Bond, France are the current World Champions.
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 10:22 AM
England's group most countries would have wanted , one of the easiest in the world cup ,Iran , Wales and USA . USA for a decent team caused them problems , the other two were two poor teams . Senegal were also extremely poor against them . England have some very good players but it's hard to judge them as they have had a real cushy 4 games . France game will test them out , basically there first serious hurdle which I think they will fall at .
05-12-2022, 10:23 AM
France beat everybody in 2018 :wink: including Argentina and also Croatia and Belgium who both beat England.
Argentina beat Brazil in the Maracana to win the Copa America (albeit with a tiny covid crowd) and Italy at Wembley but I suppose that was a bit of a glorified friendly.
I think England are better than 2018 and France not quite as strong collectively. But Mbappe is even better than he was and probably will be the only guy on the park who you would say could make the difference on his own. I think France will shade it but I wouldn't be surprised if England win.
05-12-2022, 10:28 AM
I just don't get the anti Southgate stance - how could he have done any better?
They've just beaten the Champions of Africa - no mean feat.
He's got some good forwards - but I don't think any of the goalie or back 4 would have got a game for Capello or Eriksens England teams - and that's before you think that they had Beckham, Scholes, Gerrard, Lampard and Rooney - not many of this England team would have been first picks 10 - 15 years ago. He seems to know how to set up a team and to get them to play to a system.
Pickford and Kyle Walker would start for both Capello and Eriksens. So would Rice. And Kane and at least 1 of the left wingers.
In 10 years, Saka, Foden, Bellingham will be some of Englands best ever players.
05-12-2022, 10:29 AM
If France didn't have the injuries they have I'd make them favourites to beat England. Now I'd say it's a genuine 5050.
05-12-2022, 10:48 AM
Pickford and Kyle Walker would start for both Capello and Eriksens. So would Rice. And Kane and at least 1 of the left wingers.
In 10 years, Saka, Foden, Bellingham will be some of Englands best ever players.
Might be, might not be. Michael Owen was on course to be the new Pele when he was 18.
Think I'll stay off any World Cup articles the next few days. Hype machine already in overdrive, already seen articles about how Bellingham (who was good yesterday I'll admit) has potential to be World's best midfielder, how Foden as more career potential than Messi, etc.
If Stones and Maguire can keep Mbappe quiet & they win Saturday I'll maybe see them as having a chance. But think Mbappe will rip them to shreds if given too much space.
05-12-2022, 10:56 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63852600
Here Foden is saying of Jude Bellingham this morning ‘I don’t want to big him up too much’ and then continues with ‘he’s going to be the best midfielder in the world’. :dunno:
I thought Bellingham played well against Senegal. But F me, that’s some claim. Think of the worlds top ten midfielders and I’m not sure he’s even there yet.
05-12-2022, 10:59 AM
Not so sure many promising young players never quite reach their potential. Struggle to see what Foden offers internationally many games seem to pass him by imo.
05-12-2022, 10:59 AM
On Bellingham, I dont think its entirely his fault.
He was interviewed the other day and was asked what he wanted to "be" in his career - and he said he wanted to be the best midfielder in the world.
As has been mentioned, hes good but not close to that yet.
05-12-2022, 11:00 AM
Here Foden is saying of Jude Bellingham this morning ‘I don’t want to big him up too much’ and then continues with ‘he’s going to be the best midfielder in the world’. :dunno:
I thought Bellingham played well against Senegal. But F me, that’s some claim. Think of the worlds top ten midfielders and I’m not sure he’s even there yet.
Footballers aren't the sharpest imo :greengrin
05-12-2022, 11:01 AM
On Bellingham, I dont think its entirely his fault.
He was interviewed the other day and was asked what he wanted to "be" in his career - and he said he wanted to be the best midfielder in the world.
As has been mentioned, hes good but not close to that yet.
Very good player but nowhere near that. Let's see how he does at the weekend
05-12-2022, 11:01 AM
I thought England were very good after a slow start last night and I’ve no issue with them fancying their chances now, they’re a good side so they’ve got a chance (I don’t think they will win it though)
I also think France, Holland and Argentina were very good as well though and will also fancy their chances of doing well. Despite some shocks earlier in the group stages it’s setting up to be a terrific knockout stages of the competition.
05-12-2022, 11:06 AM
The highest ranked team they beat in last World Cup was Colombia on penalties, of course it's not their fault to have received such a favourable draw, but it remains a matter of fact that to date this group of players have proven very effective at consistently beating such opponents, but not taken the step to beating any of the true top ranked sides.
I rest my case.
The most successful England manager in my lifetime has been Gareth Southgate in terms of tournament finishes. Of course even if we are to beat France, I fully expect to hear some reasoning behind it, worse France have played/ lucky England/ blah blah blah. I’ll live in hope for now. 👍
05-12-2022, 11:08 AM
Wonder if Spaniards all say stuff like that about Pedri and Gavi?
05-12-2022, 11:13 AM
Not a single England player booked in the tournament yet. Walker should have been booked tonight and walking a suspension tightrope as a result.
😂 love the straw clutching.
Paulie Walnuts
05-12-2022, 11:25 AM
There’s something about Saka that I just can’t see that being the case with him but at the same time the stats don’t lie and neither do his performances. I watch him and feel like I need to rethink my opinion on him but I never seem to manage to shake the idea he’s not THAT good. Probably pretty unfair on my part.
Would agree with Foden and Bellingham though. Exceptional players.
05-12-2022, 11:30 AM
There’s something about Saka that I just can’t see that being the case with him but at the same time the stats don’t lie and neither do his performances. I watch him and feel like I need to rethink my opinion on him but I never seem to manage to shake the idea he’s not THAT good. Probably pretty unfair on my part.
Would agree with Foden and Bellingham though. Exceptional players.
I’m like that with Phil Foden. I’m happy to accept I’m probably wrong as you don’t play for Man City unless you’re absolutely exceptional but almost every time I see him I’m disappointed.
In fairness though I don’t watch much English football and when I do it’s rarely Man City so my judgement of him isn’t over a huge amount of games
05-12-2022, 11:32 AM
I’m like that with Phil Foden. I’m happy to accept I’m probably wrong as you don’t play for Man City unless you’re absolutely exceptional but almost every time I see him I’m disappointed.
In fairness though I don’t watch much English football and when I do it’s rarely Man City so my judgement of him isn’t over a huge amount of games
I am like that with Foden also.
Curried
05-12-2022, 11:38 AM
Who cares......the're out in the next round.
05-12-2022, 11:48 AM
Wonder if Spaniards all say stuff like that about Pedri and Gavi?
A quick search for some key words suggests they don’t. I’ve heard Lewandowski and Salah say they are the best in the world at their position, but that kind of chat Foden came out with about a young teammate is pretty unusual. And it’s not great if you’re building a case that this Southgate England are all humble gentlechaps :greengrin
05-12-2022, 12:02 PM
armed robbers had targetted raheem sterlings house hence the reason he went home, this seems to be quite a regular occurence down south whenever players are away out the country, i'm sure a few liverpool players have had break-ins when they've been playing an away European tie.
worrying if any family members are left at home
05-12-2022, 12:16 PM
A quick search for some key words suggests they don’t. I’ve heard Lewandowski and Salah say they are the best in the world at their position, but that kind of chat Foden came out with about a young teammate is pretty unusual. And it’s not great if you’re building a case that this Southgate England are all humble gentlechaps :greengrin
I think I've heard Gerard Pique say something moderately hyperbolic about Pedri/Gavi. I'll see if I can find it again ...
05-12-2022, 12:21 PM
Not so sure many promising young players never quite reach their potential. Struggle to see what Foden offers internationally many games seem to pass him by imo.
They are already top top players. Key players for huge clubs and country. All will easily be among the world's best if they continue.
05-12-2022, 12:23 PM
Completely agree. The fawning over Foden by the commentators and panel was almost making me sick in my mouth. Neville comparing him to Gascoigne ffs. The only similarity is that they both died their hair blonde. I acknowledge i'm probably in the minority though. They haven't played anyone yet at this tournament. France will be their first test and if they can get past them then fair play to them. I'll maybe buy in to the hype.
05-12-2022, 12:24 PM
Pique with Gary Nev.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUUVtwv8oy4&t=167s
05-12-2022, 12:26 PM
England's group most countries would have wanted , one of the easiest in the world cup ,Iran , Wales and USA . USA for a decent team caused them problems , the other two were two poor teams . Senegal were also extremely poor against them . England have some very good players but it's hard to judge them as they have had a real cushy 4 games . France game will test them out , basically there first serious hurdle which I think they will fall at .
In terms of the world rankings England's group was actually the toughest;
Group A
Netherlands - 8
Senegal - 18
Ecuador - 44
Qatar - 50
Average - 30
Group B
England - 5
USA - 16
Iran - 20
Wales - 19
Average - 15
Group C
Argentina - 3
Poland - 26
Mexico - 13
Saudi Arabia - 51
Average - 23
Group D
France - 4
Australia - 38
Tunisia - 30
Denmark - 10
Average - 21
Group E
Japan - 24
Spain - 7
Germany - 11
Costa Rica - 31
Average - 18
Group F
Morocco - 22
Croatia - 12
Belgium - 2
Canada - 41
Average - 19
Group G
Brazil - 1
Switzerland - 15
Cameroon - 43
Serbia - 21
Average - 20
Group H
Portugal - 9
South Korea - 28
Uruguay - 14
Ghana - 61
Average - 28
05-12-2022, 12:27 PM
They are already top top players. Key players for huge clubs and country. All will easily be among the world's best if they continue.
If being the key word
05-12-2022, 12:33 PM
Belgium - 2
I think that one line tells you how accurate these are. :wink:
05-12-2022, 12:59 PM
If being the key word
Yes, but why wont they? Because other young players didn't keep improving, is that it?
I think you'd struggle to name many young players as established at those 3 are now that didn't have brilliant careers unless brutal injuries ruined them.
05-12-2022, 01:01 PM
Yes, but why wont they? Because other young players didn't keep improving, is that it?
I think you'd struggle to name many young players as established at those 3 are now that didn't have brilliant careers unless brutal injuries ruined them.
They might you are right there are many young players who havent fulfilled obvious potential though
05-12-2022, 01:15 PM
armed robbers had targetted raheem sterlings house hence the reason he went home, this seems to be quite a regular occurence down south whenever players are away out the country, i'm sure a few liverpool players have had break-ins when they've been playing an away European tie.
worrying if any family members are left at home
You would think with all their cashola that they could hire some pretty heavy and overt security to make their presence known at their houses. Also, do they not have gated houses? I know I would.
05-12-2022, 01:16 PM
Group A
Netherlands - 8
Senegal - 18
Ecuador - 44
Qatar - 50
Average - 30
Group B
England - 5
USA - 16
Iran - 20
Wales - 19
Average - 15
Group C
Argentina - 3
Poland - 26
Mexico - 13
Saudi Arabia - 51
Average - 23
Group D
France - 4
Australia - 38
Tunisia - 30
Denmark - 10
Average - 21
Group E
Japan - 24
Spain - 7
Germany - 11
Costa Rica - 31
Average - 18
Group F
Morocco - 22
Croatia - 12
Belgium - 2
Canada - 41
Average - 19
Group G
Brazil - 1
Switzerland - 15
Cameroon - 43
Serbia - 21
Average - 20
Group H
Portugal - 9
South Korea - 28
Uruguay - 14
Ghana - 61
Average - 28
That. doesn’t suit the narrative though so will be instantly dismissed, it’s only teams that people on here think are decent that counts!
05-12-2022, 01:57 PM
Here we go with Japan Croatia.
Off work with the cold, big bowl of spicy noodles and ginger beer for this one.
Hoping for a good competitive game and a Japan win.
05-12-2022, 02:00 PM
Here we go with Japan Croatia.
Off work with the cold, big bowl of spicy noodles and ginger beer for this one.
Hoping for a good competitive game and a Japan win.
Maybe stick them in the microwave?
05-12-2022, 02:04 PM
Maybe stick them in the microwave?
:agree: I’ll eat, shoot and leave.
Decent energetic start by Japan.
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 02:06 PM
Group A
Netherlands - 8
Senegal - 18
Ecuador - 44
Qatar - 50
Average - 30
Group B
England - 5
USA - 16
Iran - 20
Wales - 19
Average - 15
Group C
Argentina - 3
Poland - 26
Mexico - 13
Saudi Arabia - 51
Average - 23
Group D
France - 4
Australia - 38
Tunisia - 30
Denmark - 10
Average - 21
Group E
Japan - 24
Spain - 7
Germany - 11
Costa Rica - 31
Average - 18
Group F
Morocco - 22
Croatia - 12
Belgium - 2
Canada - 41
Average - 19
Group G
Brazil - 1
Switzerland - 15
Cameroon - 43
Serbia - 21
Average - 20
Group H
Portugal - 9
South Korea - 28
Uruguay - 14
Ghana - 61
Average - 28
When you see this yes it's true on FIFA rankings England's group wasn't the easiest though I'd still rather their group than E. ,. F , G . I noticed Qatar are 50th , Republic of Ireland 49th and Northern Ireland 59th . Id rather play Qatar every time rather than the other two who I think are better even though Qatar are nine places above one and only one behind the other! Probably just me that thinks that though 😉
05-12-2022, 02:06 PM
You would think with all their cashola that they could hire some pretty heavy and overt security to make their presence known at their houses. Also, do they not have gated houses? I know I would.
get one of those wee gadgets in every room that flicker like a TV is on :greengrin
05-12-2022, 02:07 PM
Who would want to live like that?
05-12-2022, 02:08 PM
Great chance for Perisic, Japan keeper makes a great one on one save.
05-12-2022, 02:10 PM
no little flutter on for this game, i can't pick a winner
fancy Croatia but any side that beats both Germany and Spain is hard to bet against
05-12-2022, 02:10 PM
The Croat-hun at left back has made some good interventions already.
05-12-2022, 02:12 PM
Oooft so close, what a ball that is by Ito
05-12-2022, 02:17 PM
Another great ball, this time from the other side.
05-12-2022, 02:20 PM
Ito is rapid
05-12-2022, 02:23 PM
Croatia have 67% possession apparently:dunno:
Doesn’t seem like it. Japan are quick and direct and the better team so far.
05-12-2022, 02:41 PM
Japan infuriating in front of goal.
05-12-2022, 02:43 PM
1-0 Japanl.
05-12-2022, 02:43 PM
Finally, Maeda 1-0
05-12-2022, 02:44 PM
So many quality crosses from wide positions.
Who would want to live like that?
Anyone else read that in a LLoyd Grossman voice. :greengrin
05-12-2022, 02:54 PM
Strongly fancied Japan to win this one. I thought they'd have too much pace for the Croats. But it's fairly tight.
05-12-2022, 03:02 PM
Can’t wait to see Rio Ferdinand’s pus when England get knocked out
Did I just sat that out loud ?
05-12-2022, 03:07 PM
Japan fans singing the Wallace Mercer song. Sickening.
05-12-2022, 03:12 PM
I’d have Ito at Hibs. David Murphy with pace.
05-12-2022, 03:13 PM
That is a sensational header. 1-1.
05-12-2022, 03:13 PM
pick that one out
05-12-2022, 03:24 PM
From the bits I've seen of it this game looks a cracker
05-12-2022, 03:30 PM
From the bits I've seen of it this game looks a cracker
I think that’s Itos first cross that hasn’t beat the first man. How those full backs are still running I don’t know.
Edit-that’s them subbed Sakai on now.
05-12-2022, 03:46 PM
Picky ref is now annoying me. Spoiling a good game with his no contact pish.
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 04:03 PM
Missed most of the match 1-1 extra time . Who's been the better team?
05-12-2022, 04:08 PM
Missed most of the match 1-1 extra time . Who's been the better team?
Japan, but Perisic has driven Croatia back into it 2nd half.
05-12-2022, 04:12 PM
What a save
05-12-2022, 04:15 PM
mon the Croats
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 04:16 PM
Japan, but Perisic has driven Croatia back into it 2nd half.
👍. Seen Modric going off there , world class player, for that reason only I hope Croatia win and prolong his world cup
05-12-2022, 04:17 PM
Perisic off now, can’t believe that, he’s been outstanding, he must have nothing left.
05-12-2022, 04:30 PM
I really like this Japan keeper.
He's been solid throughout the tournament, was excellent against Spain and just looks so calm and assured. You can see how much the defenders trust him
05-12-2022, 04:34 PM
I really like this Japan keeper.
He's been solid throughout the tournament, was excellent against Spain and just looks so calm and assured. You can see how much the defenders trust him
His distribution wide has been outstanding.
05-12-2022, 04:39 PM
Those 2 Japan penalties ffs
05-12-2022, 04:40 PM
ooohh looking good for croatia if they can score with this 2nd penalty
05-12-2022, 04:40 PM
2 awful pens from Japan.
05-12-2022, 04:41 PM
You just knew he was missing the target there.
Tried to look cool, looks like a fool.
05-12-2022, 04:42 PM
serves him right for the casual approach :)
and then another miss by japan
curtains me thinks
05-12-2022, 04:43 PM
Croatia keeper done well but **** sake the Japanese made it easy for him.
05-12-2022, 04:43 PM
Brazil should beat Croatia without any issues in the quarter-finals.
05-12-2022, 04:44 PM
WTF is the linesman on the line for at the pens ? Croatian keeper yards off his line every pen. Waste of time :confused:
05-12-2022, 04:44 PM
Croatia keeper done well but **** sake the Japanese made it easy for him.
only one of them actually lifted the ball
and was the only one to score
LunasBoots
05-12-2022, 04:45 PM
What where Japan actually doing there, all the same penalties, did they even practice...
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 04:47 PM
WTF is the linesman on the line for at the pens ? Croatian keeper yards off his line every pen. Waste of time :confused:
Croatian keeper was very good kept a foot on the line at all times.
05-12-2022, 04:47 PM
they will go home at least having a great couple of wins
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 04:50 PM
they will go home at least having a great couple of wins
They certainly shocked a few people with topping the group . Good team in all
05-12-2022, 04:52 PM
Terrible penalties. Japan have been good to watch wanted them to go through.
In the studio I'm finding Lineker who I used to never really notice has become annoying overnight. Try letting others get a word in Gary.
05-12-2022, 04:54 PM
His distribution wide has been outstanding.
:aok: been watching DM
Sad to see that, Japan were the better team and have been class this tournament. The quarterfinals have a glamourous but predictable look about them, 6 european sides plus brazil and argentina is the usual makeup isnt it? An upset from South Kore tonight or Morocco tomorrow would be fantastic.
Mcbizz1998
Feel sorry for the Japanese but my god, those penalties were awful!
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 04:55 PM
Commentator on channel I was watching the game said the Koreans were very unlucky to go out on penalties 😂
05-12-2022, 04:58 PM
BBC getting over excited about England beating France.
05-12-2022, 05:00 PM
BBC getting over excited about England beating France.
RIO again :hilarious
05-12-2022, 05:01 PM
RIO again :hilarious
Would love to see this backfire on the arrogant twat again.
05-12-2022, 05:14 PM
Would love to see this backfire on the arrogant twat again.
He just can't help himself, every time a big tournament comes along. I'm no big France fan because they sometimes come across as quite arrogant. But after the comments on Match of the Day and the BBC News, I really hope they stuff England big time.
05-12-2022, 05:37 PM
Souness and Keane waving their alpha male egos about here. Poor Aluko in the middle.
I love this Souness comment that Mbappe can’t be considered the best in the world because he plays in France. Even if you believe it’s too substandard compared to England, has he never heard of the champions league where he’s testing himself against the best every fortnight?
Switched on TV for football and it's all England and Bellingham with Souness doing his usual sucking up to the English, nauseating. Who's playing again?
05-12-2022, 05:41 PM
Souness and Keane waving their alpha male egos about here. Poor Aluko in the middle.
I love this Souness comment that Mbappe can’t be considered the best in the world because he plays in France. Even if you believe it’s too substandard compared to England, has he never heard of the champions league where he’s testing himself against the best every fortnight?
By his reckoning Pele was never the best player in the world because he only played in Brazil and the US too then
05-12-2022, 05:43 PM
One foot off the line, one on/behind the line so he complied with the regulations.
The better goalkeepers seem to have developed a way of pushing themselves off from behind the line giving themselves a better chance of saving the ball.
Mind you, I think even I could have saved the Japanese penalties today
05-12-2022, 05:52 PM
Souness on Neymar; 'it hasnt really happened for him'.
05-12-2022, 05:55 PM
brazils anthems crap. It should be samba really.
05-12-2022, 05:57 PM
They certainly shocked a few people with topping the group . Good team in all
:agree: hope the fans still cleaned the stadium at the end :greengrin i'm sure they would have, good people
05-12-2022, 06:00 PM
The 6’3” Korean CB at Napoli is called The Monster, which I like.
05-12-2022, 06:07 PM
1-0 Brazil
Cool as you like finish
game over i say :agree:
I thought he should take it first time and he missed his chance but was a cute finish, so cool.
05-12-2022, 06:09 PM
Cool as you like finish
That was a bit special.
05-12-2022, 06:09 PM
That's a lesson on how to be composed and calm under pressure. Could easily have just smashed that over the bar in a panic. Magic goal.
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 06:10 PM
Lovely finish , enjoyed that 😁
05-12-2022, 06:10 PM
Penalty Brazil.
05-12-2022, 06:11 PM
That's a shocking decision.
05-12-2022, 06:11 PM
Don't think that was a pen.
05-12-2022, 06:12 PM
2-0 game over.
05-12-2022, 06:12 PM
Brazil are terrific
05-12-2022, 06:13 PM
2-0 game over.
Apart from a few more Brazil goals. :greengrin
That's a shocking decision.
It’s nearly as shocking as the Messi one against Poland.
Tbh Richarlison was a complete Pussy there and went down like it was a leg breaking tackle!
05-12-2022, 06:15 PM
Don't think that was a pen.
In my opinion it wasn't, really can't understand VAR's role if that's not overturned.
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 06:20 PM
In my opinion it wasn't, really can't understand VAR's role if that's not overturned.
Sorry, I actually thought the Korean did kick Brazilian on the foot ? Would like to see it again though
05-12-2022, 06:21 PM
It’s nearly as shocking as the Messi one against Poland.
Tbh Richarlison was a complete Pussy there and went down like it was a leg breaking tackle!
I detest that guy’s attitude. Disliked him at Everton and now at Spurs. Decent player but as big a cheat and actor as you’ll find on a football pitch.
05-12-2022, 06:24 PM
Sorry, I actually thought the Korean did kick Brazilian on the foot ? Would like to see it again though
It was definitely a foul. Richarlison got to the ball first and the Korean player kicked him.
Accidental or not, penalty was the correct decision.
05-12-2022, 06:28 PM
What a ****ing goal
Liquid football there
3-0 great goal.
Donegal Hibby
It was definitely a foul. Richarlison got to the ball first and the Korean player kicked him.
Accidental or not, penalty was the correct decision.
Thanks D , thought I was the only one that thought it was 😉
That's fantastic
3-0 Richarlison, just too easy.
05-12-2022, 06:29 PM
And the English media think England can win the World Cup lol
05-12-2022, 06:30 PM
Brilliant from Richarlison
05-12-2022, 06:30 PM
Oh my word, magnificent goal
I detest that guy’s attitude. Disliked him at Everton and now at Spurs. Decent player but as big a cheat and actor as you’ll find on a football pitch.
Undoubted talent but like many others in the modern game likes to play act.
05-12-2022, 06:31 PM
Oh my
Renfrew_Hibby
05-12-2022, 06:31 PM
'Oohhh John' Coisty sums it up
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 06:32 PM
Wish Brazil would slow down , only took them to score 4 in prediction league 😂
05-12-2022, 06:33 PM
Liquid football there
The proof is in the pudding and in this case the pudding is a football
05-12-2022, 06:34 PM
Brazil on a totally different level
05-12-2022, 06:36 PM
4-0 easy peasy.
He must have a foot like a traction engine
I genuinely thought South Korea would go close in this one.......
Stunning stuff by Brazil here. Really enjoying this.