View Full Version : The world cup thread
10-12-2022, 06:51 PM
I thought England should have had a penalty. Just my humble opinion.
Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 06:52 PM
I'd thought he's been decent. Opinions eh?
Thought the same as well compared to the one in Argentina game he's world-class 😄
Is the reason the penalty was not awarded because the foul was just outside the box, and because it was a penalty review it was not a penalty only a foul outside?:confused:
Dembele is the man for France.
10-12-2022, 06:53 PM
Is the reason the penalty was not awarded because the foul was just outside the box, and because it was a penalty review it was not a penalty only a foul outside?:confused:I believe so
I Won't make up my mind until I hear Ian Wright at half time tho
[emoji848][emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Would love to get excited but England look threatening when they do get an attack. Can’t see them not scoring. Just hope it’s not a second half like all other quarter finals have been!
Dembele is the man for France.Griezmann has been the best player on the park by miles at half time
Is the reason the penalty was not awarded because the foul was just outside the box, and because it was a penalty review it was not a penalty only a foul outside?:confused:
I think it was deliberately not given so England has someone to blame for when they go out 😁
10-12-2022, 06:54 PM
England dominated since the goal and been harshly treated by var. Oh well I doubt it will disturb my sleep.
ITV’s in-house ref said it wasn’t a foul and yet the commentator persists in asking if it should have been a foul - absolute walloper
NC1875
I thought England should have had a penalty. Just my humble opinion.
Was a yard outside the box 😂
10-12-2022, 06:55 PM
I think it was deliberately not given so England has someone to blame for when they go out 😁
Lets hope so. :greengrin
10-12-2022, 06:58 PM
Lets hope so. :greengrin
Watching the replay Kane shoves him as well and a bit of handbags before he swan dives 😁
10-12-2022, 06:59 PM
Saka slipped simples
He been slip sliding away the whole game needs to check his studs
Brilliant strike
England getting their excuses in first
10-12-2022, 07:01 PM
kane's dives haven't worked here, will england bring on their other serial diver sterling and see if he has better luck
Ref has been terrible. Ah well.
You sense this is going to end in pens. 1-0 is never enough to win this game.
Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 07:02 PM
The penalty claim was outside the box and VAR is only used in four situations goals , penalty's, redcard incidents or mistaken identity, cause it was outside the box it wasn't a penalty claim.
I think there is more controversy to come second half.
10-12-2022, 07:03 PM
England have a travelling band of supporters, like literally a band with trumpets and drums that go to every game. Nearly as infuriating as the commentators tbh
The fans are dull and boring and the commentators are just as bad but the Scottish ones aint any betterr
This is the first game I’ve seen of this World Cup, and main observation is to wonder how on earth did England get to the quarter finals? Don’t look to me anywhere near being serious contenders for the trophy.
HibsGW
The penalty claim was outside the box and VAR is only used in four situations goals , penalty's, redcard incidents or mistaken identity, cause it was outside the box it wasn't a penalty claim.
This is pretty obvious to the neutral, funny watching them continually talk about it though so they’ve got an excuse if they lose.
Maybe they mistook Kane for a dying Swan??
Up-the-slope
10-12-2022, 07:06 PM
YES... if VAR deem it outside box they cant bring back for foul
10-12-2022, 07:07 PM
Lee Dixon is making me laugh :faf:
10-12-2022, 07:07 PM
Defo something in this for England if they can take a chance
France need a 2nd
Jim Herriot
10-12-2022, 07:08 PM
Commentator sets new record of longest time (45'30") before mentioning 1966.
10-12-2022, 07:08 PM
Hell of a strike from Bellingham and equally good save from Lloris
pollution
10-12-2022, 07:09 PM
******g itv frozen screen
10-12-2022, 07:10 PM
just in case of disappointment i've put another couple of bets on england to win this :greengrin
10-12-2022, 07:11 PM
Defo something in this for England if they can take a chance
France need a 2nd
It seems generally accepted that the winner of this game goes on to win the tournament.
I'd argue that is far from a given. It's been a decent enough game but neither team looks head and shoulders above anyone else and I don't think any of the others left in the competition will be quaking in their boots.
Penalty England. Stonewaller.
Penalty England.
**** off
They need to score it though.....
10-12-2022, 07:12 PM
Saka is so good.
It's a pen.
That Tchouaméni is garbage likes
, [emoji51][emoji51][emoji51]
Stupid challenge.
Up-the-slope
they know each other well
They need to score it though.....
That's how to take a penalty
10-12-2022, 07:14 PM
Hell of a penalty.
Brainless defending to give him the chance. You'd crucify a Sunday league player for doing that.
france need to offer more here, a lot more
Wake the **** up France
Up-the-slope
Fair play thats an awsome penalty against a keeper that sees you every day in training and with the pressure
10-12-2022, 07:15 PM
Yeah he’s good. He’s one of these players you never notice because he never seems to make mistakes. (Eek)
FFS [emoji33][emoji2957]
Deserved equalizer. Game on now still fancy France
He always goes that way. lloris should bloody know that.
Stones, Walker and McGuire must have nipped out for a coffee and a fag there.
80% of Harry Kane's pens go to the goalies right, so Loris dives .....
10-12-2022, 07:16 PM
Pickford is a great keeper.
Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 07:16 PM
Crazy tackle for the penalty . France need to up there game
10-12-2022, 07:17 PM
Mbappe DESTROYED Kyle Walker for pace there.
Pickford is a great keeper.
Said nobody ever
His mum probably did
Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 07:18 PM
Guys just lightening beep beep
10-12-2022, 07:18 PM
His mum probably did
Nah she thinks he isnt a patch on Joe Hart 😁
10-12-2022, 07:19 PM
FFS [emoji33][emoji2957]
But I think Saka deserves the credit really.
Should be a great game now.
Said nobody ever
I would say he is. Not one of the best in the world but a very solid and dependable keeper.
One of my best mates is a huge Everton fan and loves him. He rarely lets England down and is subject to ridiculous scrutiny. Commentators have a narrative about him and highlight every little thing he does desperately trying to pin blame on him.
He's cocky and arrogant and not easy to like but he's also a very good goalkeeper.
10-12-2022, 07:20 PM
He always goes that way. lloris should bloody know that.
Said to my dad before he took it that his go to was hard tothe keepers right. He hits it with that much power it's difficult for the keeper to get over in time.
Saka is Eng best player. Giroud is Mr Anonymous.
Falklands reunion final I think
France seem to have remembered they have a game to play again.
10-12-2022, 07:21 PM
I would say he is. Not one of the best in the world but a very solid and dependable keeper.
One of my best mates is a huge Everton fan and loves him. He rarely lets England down and is subject to ridiculous scrutiny. Commentators have a narrative about him and highlight every little thing he does desperately trying to pin blame on him.
He's cocky and arrogant and not easy to like but he's also a very good goalkeeper.
I don't know why but the Everton fans tend to distrust him. He kept them in the prem a few years ago.
Surely not. The only player in the world that can cope with him
Falklands reunion final I think
Then Argentina beating them would be really funny.
Up-the-slope
never seen Englands full backs so deep (still playing well) in a 4-3-3 they need to be higher if they want to win - Foden had no influence on game and mainly because Shaw not overlapping as he normally would. (cant work out how much is game plan and how much is France wingers forcing them back)
At the moment England looking the more likely to win this.
Up-the-slope
10-12-2022, 07:22 PM
As others have said Griezman lucky ref is not being tough as thats 6 fouls now and only 1 yellow
10-12-2022, 07:23 PM
Asking for a 2nd yellow for griezmann coz fodden fell into him
[emoji23]
England are winning this.
again Dembele gives the ball away which leads to another dangerous break
stop giving the ball away Dembele
you hear me
In what way?
10-12-2022, 07:24 PM
Surely not. The only player in the world that can cope with him
Surely you mean the universe? Or even the multiverse? 😁
10-12-2022, 07:24 PM
I don't know why but the Everton fans tend to distrust him. He kept them in the prem a few years ago.
I think there is a vocal minority who don't like him.
He's been their club player of the year twice in the last 5 years (including last year), fans POTY 3 times in that period and players player once. He must be doing something right.
Asking for a 2nd yellow for griezmann coz flodden fell into him
[emoji23]
[emoji23][emoji23] he was already going down following contact from the other player!
They will target Greizman now.
10-12-2022, 07:25 PM
England are going to bloody win this.
10-12-2022, 07:26 PM
Saka loves to hit the turf! Get up!
10-12-2022, 07:26 PM
Saka is Eng's match winner here. Unplayable at the moment, other than hacking him down.
The BNP revival vs the striking services.... they won't have a clue which tabloid to believe
10-12-2022, 07:27 PM
[emoji23][emoji23] he was already going down following contact from the other player!
They will target Greizman now.
I said ten minutes ago he'd be sent off and England would win 3-1
10-12-2022, 07:29 PM
stop touching saka for the love of god
Get that Dembele off. Been really poor.
England are going to bloody win this.
Feels like they have all the momentum.
10-12-2022, 07:30 PM
He was great in the first half.
Eng should have scored. French head have gone, hanging on and hoping.
Would bring on Coman.
10-12-2022, 07:31 PM
France need an injection of energy here
10-12-2022, 07:31 PM
2nd goal incoming
Up-the-slope
10-12-2022, 07:32 PM
70 + mins - is this the longest time that neither team has made a sub :confused:
France need an injection of energy here
I’d be taking Giroud and Dembele off
10-12-2022, 07:33 PM
France have been garbage.
France need to pull le doigt out here
Donegal Hibby
France have been poor 😡
10-12-2022, 07:34 PM
this
Giroud has done the square root of **** all and Dembele just gives the ball away and is on a booking
French have gone to pieces. Eng completely on top, F forgotten why they are there.
I'd switch Mbappe to Shaw's side, he'd take him apart.
this
Giroud has done the square root of **** all and Dembele just gives the ball away and is on a booking
Giroud is only as good as the service he gets. He’s not going to run the channels etc.
Stones and MacGuire getting an easy ride of it.
10-12-2022, 07:35 PM
If you played with Dembele you'd be thinking he needed a boot up the erse.
Been miles of it in the 2nd half and has been on his heels at least twice when presented with good opportunities.
10-12-2022, 07:36 PM
Save.
England's defence all over the shop there.
10-12-2022, 07:37 PM
Mbappe is such a lovely footballer to watch
Pickfords mum will be happy with that
Great save, but he's still pish
Yaaaaaaaaas!!!
And with that goal 😁😁😁
Brilliant !!!
GIIIRRROUD
Yasssss
this
Cough cough [emoji102]
Up-the-slope
10-12-2022, 07:38 PM
Get that Giroud off.........
England going to blow it again. France have barely kicked a ball all night and are still too much for them.
Giroud is only as good as the service he gets. He’s not going to run the channels etc.
he's a great player
keep him on :thumbsup:
But maybe not that one lol
You big beautiful man you with a une belle barbe.
Griezmann is a dream .
YES!! Phew! Was looking more and more like England were going to win it.
Great save, but he's still pish
True and ... true :greengrin
Slab head lost him 🤣
Not much Pickford could do about that.
Under rated player, some header there.
Harry Maguire own goal surely
10-12-2022, 07:39 PM
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
Curried
That's the way to do it:-)
came off maguires arm
good stuff
Great header from that position.
That's about the only touch Giroud has had.
Have England taken Saka off? That's nuts!
Harry Maguire own goal surely
he deserves it, brilliant flick :agree:
10-12-2022, 07:40 PM
Slab head lost him 🤣
He is utter dung.
Get up.
The referee Tam Shuggie MacSporran is having a great game.
Donegal Hibby
Great Maguire goal. 😁
That ANOTHER penalty.
england players demand another penalty
Sheffhibee
Slab head lost him 🤣
And shouldered it into the net brilliant :wink:
pollution
Vivent les gars !!
This will be another penalty.
What's the defender doing there
Under rated player, some header there.
I think he’s a fantastic player. Just lacked service
10-12-2022, 07:41 PM
**** off
That’s a pen
Crazy mount wasn't even getting there
Crazy
This is a penalty btw. France have been ****ing idiotic twice and it will cost them.
that's a penalty
another ridiculous challenge in the box, just crazy so stupid
What an absolute dick.
Stupid by French player. Stonewaller.
**** off France
Ffs
Up-the-slope
Drama.......
10-12-2022, 07:42 PM
Cheating diving Brexit voting foreigner hating English ****ers 😉😁
france have real dafties in their defence
Crazy mount wasn't even getting there
Crazy
CRAZY French. He's sold the jerseys. Eng player was not going to score there. Madness.
OMG. French defender should give his WC winner's medal to Harry Kane.
Mr Grieves
Hernandez is a ****ing idiot
Donegal Hibby
Penalty all the long . bloody stupid
10-12-2022, 07:43 PM
england players demand another penalty
And now asking for a red.
I thought that was a foreigner thing.
Up-the-slope
pressure on this kick is insane
How the **** did this ref not give it and had to go to VAR
Zambernardi1875
Kane same way
You honestly wonder what he was thinking there. Just mental.
Hernandez is a ****ing idiot
Too polite…unbelievable stuff.
Yesssss
he deserves a red just for complete idiocy alone
Haaaaaa haaaaa haaaaaa
10-12-2022, 07:44 PM
How many points for the conversion Harry? 😁
Yassssss
England and penalties don't go.
Yasss
Yaaaaaaaaaaas
Should have gone to the right, tried to change it.
England and penalties 😂🥳
:faf::faf::faf:
brilliant :faf:
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Still think there’s an England goal in this
Zambernardi1875
The diving cheat deserved that
10-12-2022, 07:45 PM
The ball has just whizzed by my window
Why is Rashford coming on now, should've been on 20 odd minutes ago, or even starting, Southgate far too loyal at times.
Yaaaaas
Curried
Superb Harry.
Got away with that. Breathtaking stupidity from the French defenders today.
I wanna see the addidas speed and spin stats on Kanes pen there
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
:wtf:
Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 07:46 PM
What a penalty by kane :greengrin
Can take the boy out of Spurs, but you can't take the Spurs outta the boy.
He's the perfect Spurs legend. Brilliant until it actually matters
JamesHFC
Spursy
Glaikit looking Kane folded like a cheap suit there. The moment got to him.
lets have no more stupidity from french defenders please
that would be nice
Mbappe laughing :faf:
10-12-2022, 07:47 PM
Ha ha ha Mbappe’s face there lol
I do like Giroud! Great beard, great goal and lovely wee trip on hateful Walker 😁
brilliant watching mbappe pizzing himself laughing
Mbappe laughing :faf:
Dixon didn’t like it lol
Only 3 mins and 25 mins injury time to play :rolleyes:
France need to stop giving away so many fouls.
If Scotland had a face
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221210/76e56832e00e6cc5109d70e7c800ca99.jpg
Yep you have to be fair to him.
He's never been in situations where a trophy is potentially on the line as often as most of these players.
JamesHFC
Lloris is going to be the first captain ever to win back to back World Cup's isn't he?
Up-the-slope
10-12-2022, 07:48 PM
how much ET sweep?... im going 8mins
can someone make a laughing mbappe emoji please
Wonder when England will bring Foden on?
Maguires dive there a thing of beauty.
Lloris is going to be the first captain ever to win back to back World Cup's isn't he?Il be happy to see him. Confirmed as semi finalist
England not giving up on this
I'm increasingly convinced Argentina and Messi are winning this.
10-12-2022, 07:49 PM
Two VARs - gonna be a fair bit
JamesHFC
10-12-2022, 07:49 PM
Il be happy to see him. Confirmed as semi finalist
England not giving up on this
As I mentioned earlier, today I feel French.
10-12-2022, 07:50 PM
8 mins added
Jesus
8 minutes. That seems about right really.
Up-the-slope
Bingo lol
So that's 12 (TWELVE) added minutes ... for what ?
Donegal Hibby
10-12-2022, 07:51 PM
If Scotland had a face
Just priceless. :faf:
Boooooooooooooooooooo yer 8 mins
JamesHFC
England & penalties don't go 😋
10-12-2022, 07:52 PM
Lee Dixon is so bitter about this ref 🤣
Dixon has long ago left the world of professionalism behind.
8 minutes my arse. :rolleyes:
And serial loser.
Reminds me of Craig Levein
Superb from Lloris.
Just what you want from your keeper.
Lee Dixon is an absolute fud.
JamesHFC
10-12-2022, 07:53 PM
Superb from Lloris.
Just what you want from your keeper.
2 games away from legendary status.
Up-the-slope
If Scotland had a face
looks like someone put a hamster down his pants :faf:
Lee Dixon is so bitter about this ref 🤣
Yep, but he can't blame the ref for Kane making such a James Hunt of that penalty.
Dixon has long ago left the world of professionalism behind.
2 penalties awarded and the referee is still against them. No wonder I can’t stand them.
10-12-2022, 07:55 PM
Yas Lloris.
Nice wee lie down for a minute or 2 now.
Donegal Hibby
So that's 12 (TWELVE) added minutes ... for what ?
Don't know how they worked out it was 12 minutes of added time needed.
I don't know how Maddison doesn't get a game when they badly need a goal?
Curried
England’s coming home :greengrin
Poor Stones. I think that’s a bad one.
NC1875
10-12-2022, 07:56 PM
Lee Dixon is an absolute fud.
Was on sky sports this morning saying Goroud didn’t worry him in the slightest.
Brilliant. Absolute fanny
Don't know how they worked out it was 12 minutes of added time needed.
8 minutes in the 2nd half is probably about spot on.
4 subs = 2 mins
2 VAR checks = approx 4 mins
Delay before the 1st penalty was taken after being awarded was over 2 minutes
That about covers it.
Eddie Howe's phone should start ringing anytime soon.
10-12-2022, 07:57 PM
Poor Stones. I think that’s a bad one.
Harry Kane lost his stones earlier...
Dixon is enraged. I fear for his pets at home later.
Mbappe has done virtually nothing in the game.
Zambernardi1875
Souness last week saying France didn’t worry him. 😂
Torto7
Splatterface getting ready to stick the knife into Southgate this after Itv running a pompous PR piece for him earlier.
just finish the game early so there's no more unnecassary injuries
10-12-2022, 07:58 PM
Souness last week saying France didn’t worry him. 😂
He'll be gutted.
Mbappe has done virtually nothing in the game.
Walker has played him really well.
Mbappe has done a lot of dirty work tonight though that is maybe a bit under appreciated.
Uh oh.
JamesHFC
Alvarez exception, is that all Man City & Arsenal players back ready for Boxing Day? Saliba shouldn't be affected too much.
10-12-2022, 07:59 PM
How THICK are the French ?
Another ****ing idiotic foul. Could it happen again?
Here we go.
What a woeful place to give away a free kick
Coman mad challenge. WTAF
Torto7
Oh no