View Full Version : The world cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

01-12-2022, 07:09 PM
Scenes

Donegal Hibby
Good finish.
Germany on the way out again as it stands?
Think I've jinxed Spain 😳

Japan goal ruled out.

Correct decision.

Goal awarded 2-1 Japan.

Absolute disgrace.

01-12-2022, 07:10 PM
I was convinced that ball was out.

Wtf, was close but the ball looked like it was def out

VAR, or rather the officials using it, are a joke.

Spain keeper has to do better for both goals as well. 2 hands on the 1st one and absolutely bottles it for the 2nd. Keepers are supposed to be brave FFS.

VAR a nonsense again, the camera angle showed that to be over the line.

Japan 2 v 1 Spain

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 07:11 PM
Goal awarded 2-1 Japan.

Absolute disgrace.
Surely that ball was out ?

01-12-2022, 07:12 PM

It was, I genuinely can't believe that decision.

01-12-2022, 07:13 PM
oh wow, go Japan :greengrin

01-12-2022, 07:14 PM
I've seen countless pictures on twitter already showing that the ball was over the line and somehow VAR with 7 officials have got it wrong unless it was on purpose

01-12-2022, 07:14 PM
Costa Rica 1 v 1 Germany

01-12-2022, 07:15 PM
Costa Rica 1-1 Germany

Germans going out. Wow.

oh Dear what has happened to the Germans

Donegal Hibby
Strange decision taking off morata , still can't believe Var couldn't see that ball was out , what a joke Var is !

01-12-2022, 07:16 PM
this is englands cup i'm afraid :(

01-12-2022, 07:16 PM
Germany have reminded me of Hibs tonight. Loads of chances to be out of sight but dont take them and bang it's 1-1.

01-12-2022, 07:17 PM
Saying that although the ball was over the line part of it, guessing the equator part was overhanging it so it's still classed as being in haha

If Costa Rica score again then Spain are going home if their result stays the same

Come on Costa Rica

01-12-2022, 07:18 PM
Scenes.

Up-the-slope
01-12-2022, 07:18 PM
this has warmed up nicely :greengrin....

Is it not Adidas that do ball technology? they are certainly not favouring their countrymen the Germans

01-12-2022, 07:19 PM
if costa rica and japan win then Spain and Germany go out

ooohh

01-12-2022, 07:19 PM
Imagine Spain and Germany go out here.

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 07:20 PM
If Costa Rica score again then Spain are going home if their result stays the same
Wouldn't want to see any team going out on a dreadful decision like that.

Up-the-slope
01-12-2022, 07:22 PM
Wouldn't want to see any team going out on a dreadful decision like that.

youre assuming its a dreadful decision... none of us know as the flaw with VAR / ball sensor info is we the fans don;t get to see what they see..

01-12-2022, 07:22 PM
Strange decision taking off morata , still can't believe Var couldn't see that ball was out , what a joke Var is !

He doesn't drop back and work for the team, he's an out and out poacher, Spain needs legs in there to work hard for the ball.

01-12-2022, 07:24 PM
Germans hit the same post again

01-12-2022, 07:24 PM
So far the Costa Rica right-hand post is the man of the match.

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 07:25 PM
youre assuming its a dreadful decision... none of us know as the flaw with VAR / ball sensor info is we the fans don;t get to see what they see..
What I seen was the whole off the ball out of play

01-12-2022, 07:25 PM

If it's taking a ball sensor, 7 officials and a protractor to work out if a ball is out or not then surely it's not a "clear and obvious" error though

Green Reaper
01-12-2022, 07:26 PM
Holy moly!

It's happening

Scenes ****ing scenes

oh my 2-1 costa rica

Stairway 2 7
Omg

Donegal Hibby
He doesn't drop back and work for the team, he's an out and out poacher, Spain needs legs in there to work hard for the ball.
Good point 👍

01-12-2022, 07:27 PM
Offside I think. Hope no

01-12-2022, 07:28 PM
Wow Spain and Germany going out!

Green Reaper
Offside I think. Hope no

Goal given

Best World Cup ever :faf:

Madness. Germany hit the post 3 times and Costa Rica score. Its not just Hibs....

The implosion of Germany since they won the World Cup has been spectacular.

They went from humiliating Brazil to utter pony in the space of about 8 weeks.

Green Reaper
2_2

01-12-2022, 07:29 PM
2-1 Costa Rica, scores stay like this both Spain and Germany are out ffs.

Edit, 2-2 now.

This is a pretty strange state of affairs. :greengrin

Germany 2-2 Costa Rica

Good goal Germany

2-2 germany

2-1 Costa Rica, scores stay like this both Spain and Germany are out ffs.

Germany's equalised.

LunasBoots
Crazy

Stairway 2 7
01-12-2022, 07:30 PM
I can't keep up

Green Reaper
The group standings constantly changing this half, mental

Germany and Spain could both go out, the way it's going England will be in the final against one of the Diddy teams 😂

01-12-2022, 07:31 PM
Who's got the most bookings?

Germany's equalised.

Edited. can't keep up. :greengrin

Stairway 2 7
Even if Germany get a winner they need Spain to score

As long as Morocco **** whatever of these crazy teams emerge I don’t care.

01-12-2022, 07:32 PM
What a save there by

01-12-2022, 07:32 PM
What a save. Some game this.

01-12-2022, 07:33 PM
german has to score there

Up-the-slope
01-12-2022, 07:34 PM
anyone remember the WC where at this stage they showed other game in miniature inscreen... wish we had that its madness trying to keep up... but great

01-12-2022, 07:36 PM
I'll be surprised if Germany don't score again they're all over Costa Rica.

Might not be enough for them though.

01-12-2022, 07:37 PM
This Spain Japan game is like our 2015 SC semi final v Falkirk. We basically camped in their half for 89 minutes and 55 seconds but just couldn't find the gap.

01-12-2022, 07:38 PM
Seeing that replay of the Japan goal again I'm increasingly raging about what a *****bag the Spain goalie was.

Green Reaper
01-12-2022, 07:40 PM
3-2

Up-the-slope
01-12-2022, 07:41 PM
Remember size matters... of the balls that is

a size 5 ball must be between 680mm-700mm in circumference and therefore roughly 220mm in diameter so 219mm can be over rear of line and ball is still legally in

unless you are looking straight down that is hard to see visually. from pitchside camera angles you can theoretically due to ball being spherical see grass beyond line giving optical illusion

LunasBoots
01-12-2022, 07:42 PM
Mon Japan

Costa Rica 2-3 Germany

Green Reaper
Germans still need Spain to bail them out

01-12-2022, 07:43 PM
So Germany want Spain to score? Or to score another barrowload themselves.

Up-the-slope
01-12-2022, 07:43 PM
I hope Japan hold on as they deserve it after beating Germany

Green Reaper
01-12-2022, 07:44 PM

They need Spain to draw

01-12-2022, 07:45 PM
I hope Japan hold on as they deserve it after beating Germany

Japan are a strong side. Know how to soak up pressure and break quick.

Up-the-slope
how important could the mental ET's be in these games :confused:

Thought Spain and Japan might have been happy just to look after each other now. Spain still pressing though.

01-12-2022, 07:46 PM
What a save by the Japan keeper.

Commentators blaming the striker but keepers position was spot on. There was nothing to aim at.

Correct 5 goals for Germany puts them through and Spain go out.

Or more likely another Spain goal put Germany through and Japan go out.

Up-the-slope
germans again

01-12-2022, 07:47 PM
4-2 Germany

Green Reaper
4-2 Germany

+7 mins at both games

Up-the-slope
Looooooong 7 mins this will be

01-12-2022, 07:48 PM
What a save by the Japan keeper.

Commentators blaming the striker but keepers position was spot on. There was nothing to aim at.

You are part of the goalies union though, McCoist was spot on, should have smashed it instead of side footing it

01-12-2022, 07:48 PM
I was convinced that ball was out.

Wtf, was close but the ball looked like it was def out

VAR, or rather the officials using it, are a joke.

Spain keeper has to do better for both goals as well. 2 hands on the 1st one and absolutely bottles it for the 2nd. Keepers are supposed to be brave FFS.

It was, I genuinely can't believe that decision.

I've seen countless pictures on twitter already showing that the ball was over the line and somehow VAR with 7 officials have got it wrong unless it was on purpose

Are you all sure the ball was out?:hmmm:

https://twitter.com/TheSharpeEnd/status/1598410546482651180

Up-the-slope
01-12-2022, 07:49 PM
10 mins ET in Germany match.... could they score enough :greengrin

01-12-2022, 07:50 PM
1966 gets a mention in the Spain Japan game.

Why. Why

You are part of the goalies union though, McCoist was spot on, should have smashed it instead of side footing it

Definitely more chance of it going in if he smashes it but keepers position was so good that if he stands big he still has a high chance of saving it.

He's made it difficult for the striker rather than doing that floppy thing so many keepers do or being terrified of being beat at the near post so leaving a gaping hole to aim at on the other side.

Up-the-slope

Nope see post 3070 above

01-12-2022, 07:51 PM

I thought the save before was better, bounced right before it reached him.

01-12-2022, 07:51 PM
This is proper fitba lol. Shut the computer off and stopped working ages ago :greengrin

01-12-2022, 07:52 PM

I'll add again, a ball sensor, 7 VAR officials, Professor Brian Cox and the Hubble Telescope doesn't say to me a clear and obvious error was made

Nope see post 3070 above

:aok: Not as clear cut as we all thought!

SJNB Hibby
Spain not trying too hard here

Up-the-slope
01-12-2022, 07:53 PM
i thought the Japanese were meant to be reserved... they are going tonto in the stands now :greengrin

but will clean up their mess at the end

01-12-2022, 07:53 PM
can't believe the Germans are oot likes

Green Reaper
01-12-2022, 07:54 PM
Germany oot!

Full time 2-1 Japan, Germany go out.

Nope see post 3070 above

Maybe it's just the coverage here but I'm yet to see an image that conclusively shows the whole of the ball was out.

Japan win the group

Up-the-slope
so Gamblers... odds pre tournament on Japan doing Spain / Germany double?

Mcbizz1998
auf wiedersehen [emoji23]

01-12-2022, 07:55 PM
That was some 45 minutes, didn’t see that coming at all at half time. :greengrin

Stairway 2 7
Spain Morocco should be class

Green Reaper
Japan top a group with Spain and Germany in it, wow!

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 07:57 PM
Unbelievable stuff 😆

Well done Japan

before Russia the Germans hadn't went out in the group stage since 1938

now twice in a row

01-12-2022, 07:58 PM
Germany out on a pathetic decision.

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 07:59 PM
That was some 45 minutes, didn’t see that coming at all at half time. :greengrin
Thought for a wee while there the world cup had come 4 years to early for Spain😂

Stairway 2 7
Souness is a ******g bore, hate itv games

Ah, I do like to see Germany going out.

01-12-2022, 08:03 PM
So the machine makes a decision yet we are not allowed by the un-corruptible FIFA to see this joke, what are they doing to the beautiful game, even the english could win this cup now.

Stairway 2 7
01-12-2022, 08:05 PM
Ball doesn't look fully over the line

01-12-2022, 08:06 PM
I think Japan have the game to beat Croatia. Not sure if Morocco can deal with Spain on top form but it will be a fascinating and unexpected pair of R16 games.

01-12-2022, 08:07 PM
Ball doesn't look fully over the line

That's what I've seen so far, not yet seen an image that shows the entire ball is out.

01-12-2022, 08:08 PM
Germany out on a pathetic decision.

Its not clear that it was a pathetic decision though:

We need to see the definitive angle from Fifa!

Up-the-slope
01-12-2022, 08:08 PM
Souness is a ******g bore, hate itv games

and has just said pic shows balls out when it looks obvious to me its not :confused:

Fritz
01-12-2022, 08:11 PM
I don’t get the controversy, curvature of the ball has been the rule for years. It was in.

01-12-2022, 08:11 PM

Ball looks like its touching the line here. As Peter Walton says its about the curvature of the ball which is still on top of the line, so the whole ball is not out.

01-12-2022, 08:12 PM
So I've just seen the replays and I dobt k it if ut was originally given as out on the field and var overturned it or if the goal was given and var confirmed. Which was it? Cos if it was given out on the field them surely to christ that is not a CLEAR and OBVIOUS error

Stairway 2 7
01-12-2022, 08:13 PM
and has just said pic shows balls out when it looks obvious to me its not :confused:

I don't think him and aluko know the rules as they keep talking about the low side angle. After seeing it from above I think Gary tried to row back. The angle from above is the only one they should be showing as its the only one that matters. I think it's conclusive it's in.

It's a shame as 30 minutes of that when we should be talking about Japan

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 08:14 PM
Dietmar hamann thought it was out too on RTE and slated VAR , though it did look like he was ready to cry😁

01-12-2022, 08:15 PM
So I've just seen the replays and I dobt k it if ut was originally given as out on the field and var overturned it or if the goal was given and var confirmed. Which was it? Cos if it was given out on the field them surely to christ that is not a CLEAR and OBVIOUS error

Yeah but just like offsides, the ball being over the line or not is a binary objective decision, so Clear and Obvious error doesn't come into it. Its either in or out and its in as (some of) the pictures show.

01-12-2022, 08:15 PM
Yeah but just like offsides, the ball being over the line or not is a binary objective decision, so Clear and Obvious error doesn't come into it. Its either in or out and its in as the pictures show.

So was it given out at the time?

01-12-2022, 08:16 PM
So was it given out at the time?

Yes but it doesn't matter, just like if an incorrect offside is given at the time it will be overturned if wrong.

01-12-2022, 08:17 PM
Yeah but just like offsides, the ball being over the line or not is a binary objective decision, so Clear and Obvious error doesn't come into it. Its either in or out and its in as (some of) the pictures show.

The pictures we are seeing now 30 mins after a game?, it's the World Cup with football in the spotlight, FIFA should be showing live to everyone at the time why they've made the decision

SJNB Hibby
01-12-2022, 08:17 PM
Am I right in thinking that puts Spain in England's bracket,?
Senegal.....France.....Spain, possibly, to reach the
final?

01-12-2022, 08:18 PM
The pictures we are seeing now 30 mins after a game?, it's the World Cup with football in the spotlight, FIFA should be showing live to everyone at the time why they've made the decision

Absolutely agree. But the decision still looks right.

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 08:19 PM
Hamann reckons finishing 2nd gives Spain a easier run in than if they topped the group. Anyone knows if this is true?

01-12-2022, 08:20 PM
They think the balls over!
(Cue cutback)
It is now!

01-12-2022, 08:21 PM
Absolutely agree. But the decision still looks right.https://twitter.com/TheSharpeEnd/status/1598410546482651180?s=20&t=9TJykgJZWCu4L_Xe9cRnKw

Shows that camera angles are not always conclusive.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

01-12-2022, 08:23 PM
Yes but it doesn't matter, just like if an incorrect offside is given at the time it will be overturned if wrong.

I get that but for **** sake we're no half killing the game as a spectator sport when you have to get the protractor and slide rules out to work out if decisions are right or wrong. Next year will be my 50th year of watching Hibs and football and to be honest this crap is putting me off the wider game.

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 08:23 PM
My score predictions again. :faf:

Up-the-slope
01-12-2022, 08:24 PM
I don't think him and aluko know the rules as they keep talking about the low side angle. After seeing it from above I think Gary tried to row back. The angle from above is the only one they should be showing as its the only one that matters. I think it's conclusive it's in.

Look on the bright side, Spain have unexpectedly appeared on the same side of the draw as England.

Would have been buzzing with that had it not been for the 45mins we just saw :greengrin

You never feel like Spain will score chasing a game. Even with 30 secs left still trying to pass it in.

Hamann reckons finishing 2nd gives Spain a easier run in than if they topped the group. Anyone knows if this is true?

Spain now play Morocco rather than Croatia. So on paper that seems easier, although maybe not based on Morocco's recent performances.

If they get through that then they will face Portugal or Switzerland in the quarters rather than ( probably) France or England. So all in all a better route to the semis I would say.

Edit - got that wrong they would likely face Brazil in the quarters if they had won the group. So yes easier up to the semi, but then the prospect of France is not good.

Stairway 2 7
I get that but for **** sake we're no half killing the game as a spectator sport when you have to get the protractor and slide rules out to work out if decisions are right or wrong. Next year will be my 50th year of watching Hibs and football and to be honest this crap is putting me off the wider game.

Your not Japanese. They are going through correctly due to technology

Stairway 2 7
01-12-2022, 08:27 PM

I don't think so. They are now in the same side of the draw as favourites France. Easier next game going by world rankings Morocco, but I wouldn't fancy playing them

01-12-2022, 08:28 PM

It’s also time for us to pay less attention to the possession stat. (Unless it’s the 81%-19% derby triumph under John Collins). Spain had 78% possession today but I have no problem at all saying Japan were the deserved winners. We have lost the importance of direct runs at goal in modern football.

01-12-2022, 08:29 PM

They got the decision right though, adding in some unbelievable drama on the way. Surely that's a good thing on a decision like this? Imagine VAR had been about when Griffiths and Oli Shaw's disallowed goals v Hearts had been given when they were clearly over the line. That would have been 2 more wins to add to our derby record.

I know people don't like change in general, but some people are getting a bit dramatic about how bad VAR is and the notion that it is destroying the game.

Brunswickbill
01-12-2022, 08:30 PM
The way a ref explained the rule to me is to imagine the ball is inside a closely fitting transparent cube. For the ball to be out of play, the side of the cube nearest the outside of the line needs to wholly outside of the line. It’s impossible to accurately establish this during normal play and linesmen always flag for out of play if the ball looks like it’s rolled over the line. Because it’s impossible to interpret it’s not enforced and I guess that a lot of players don’t fully understand the rule. One thing’s for sure, Geoff Hurst’s goal was definitely not over the line,

01-12-2022, 08:30 PM
Your not Japanese. They are going through correctly due to technology
And? they would be just as happy if they went through on a wrong decision. VAR is sucking the life out of football for me.

01-12-2022, 08:31 PM
My first look at it my feeling that the whole of the ball was not over. Wonder what odds you would have got on Japan beating Spain and Germany. Souness going a bit mental about the decision.

01-12-2022, 08:34 PM
They got the decision right though, adding in some unbelievable drama on the way. Surely that's a good thing on a decision like this? Imagine VAR had been about when Griffiths and Oli Shaw's disallowed goals v Hearts had been given when they were clearly over the line. That would have been 2 more wins to add to our derby record.

I know people don't like change in general, but some people are getting a bit dramatic about how bad VAR is and that the notion that it is destroying the game.

No one would have had to zoom in, measure, draw imaginary lines, use pythagorus theorem to check as they were definitely clear and obvious errors though. Maybe I'm just old but it really isn't working for ne. And no, I'd rather that we didn't have to wait minutes on a decision being made

01-12-2022, 08:35 PM
And? they would be just as happy if they went through on a wrong decision. VAR is sucking the life out of football for me.

Did you really not enjoy tonight's drama? I thought it was brilliant and VAR played it's part in that. That doesn't mean I think it is being used correctly in Scotland yet, but that's a separate discussion.

01-12-2022, 08:37 PM
Did you really not enjoy tonight's drama? I thought it was brilliant and VAR played it's part in that.

Didn't actually see it, just caught the after match stuff. I was dragged along to ikea. Maybe that's why I'm in such a crabbit mood😄

01-12-2022, 08:37 PM
Didn't actually see it, just caught the after match stuff. I was dragged along to ikea. Maybe that's why I'm in such a crabbit mood😄

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 08:38 PM
Spain now play Morocco rather than Croatia. So on paper that seems easier, although maybe not based on Morocco's recent performances.

If they get through that then they will face Portugal or Switzerland in the quarters rather than ( probably) France or England. So all in all a better route to the semis I would say.

Edit - got that wrong they would likely face Brazil in the quarters if they had won the group. So yes easier up to the semi, but then the prospect of France is not good.
I think it worked out ok in the end for Spain and even though they will be underdogs playing France , I fancy them to give them a good game . Thanks for the run down on it btw :aok:

01-12-2022, 08:39 PM

I think it’s ikea that’s ‘sucking the life out of you’. Don’t worry, the place makes me feel the same way.

01-12-2022, 08:41 PM
I think it’s ikea that’s ‘sucking the life out of you’. Don’t worry, the place makes me feel the same way.

Probably for another thread but it is ****ing miserable. You never see anyone laughing or smiling in the place. Anyway VAR is a loadiepish

Donegal Hibby
I don't think so. They are now in the same side of the draw as favourites France. Easier next game going by world rankings Morocco, but I wouldn't fancy playing them
I'd still fancy Spain to have to much quality for them but the way it's going you never know .

Brunswickbill
No one would have had to zoom in, measure, draw imaginary lines, use pythagorus theorem to check as they were definitely clear and obvious errors though. Maybe I'm just old but it really isn't working for ne. And no, I'd rather that we didn't have to wait minutes on a decision being made

Ref just needs to carry a plumb line. It’s a rule that can’t be accurately interpreted during play and why it’s largely not properly enforced. Rugby is a bit cleaner where if the ball touches the line then it’s out of play

Renfrew_Hibby
01-12-2022, 08:42 PM
Spain now wanting to get beat off of Japan...
Eliminates the Germans and they go on to play Morocco thus avoiding Croatia?

Stranger things have happened.

Thought this might happen. Easy ish run to the semis now for Spain.

01-12-2022, 08:47 PM
Ref just needs to carry a plumb line. It’s a rule that can’t be accurately interpreted during play and why it’s largely not properly enforced. Rugby is a bit cleaner where if the ball touches the line then it’s out of play

Plumb line? Did you serve your apprenticeship building WW2 ships on the Clyde? Its awe lasers noo mate....:greengrin

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 08:49 PM
That's the Belgium manager going , plus pressure on the German manager too but NO saki for Japanese boss:greengrin

01-12-2022, 08:50 PM
You never see anyone laughing or smiling in the place.

Except for the killer clowns.
Could have been a Covid fever dream right enough

Feed McGraw
01-12-2022, 08:59 PM
I get that but for **** sake we're no half killing the game as a spectator sport when you have to get the protractor and slide rules out to work out if decisions are right or wrong. Next year will be my 50th year of watching Hibs and football and to be honest this crap is putting me off the wider game. Bad Hibs teams will never chase me away from the game ( always the chance they might improve 😄) but this Var guff or the way it's managed just might!

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 09:30 PM
Still not convinced this should have stood , anyone see anything to suggest otherwise ?
https://images.app.goo.gl/taLff4sD79mE71FB8

Stairway 2 7
01-12-2022, 09:34 PM
Still not convinced this should have stood , anyone see anything to suggest otherwise ?
https://images.app.goo.gl/taLff4sD79mE71FB8

That angle is useless, only from above shows the whole width of the ball. I thought the slow mo's from above showed it was the correct decision

Stairway 2 7
01-12-2022, 09:37 PM
That angle is useless, only from above shows the whole width of the ball. I thought the slow mo's from above showed it was the correct decision

Actually sorry read the article and they show another angle from above showing it just stayed in.

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 09:48 PM
Actually sorry read the article and they show another angle from above showing it just stayed in.
Is the rule on it that some of the ball as to be touching the line ?. Maybe this is something like the one you seen , very tight call though
https://images.app.goo.gl/usU4ZHWAppCxaAaC7

Stairway 2 7
01-12-2022, 09:59 PM
Is the rule on it that some of the ball as to be touching the line ?. Maybe this is something like the one you seen , very tight call though
https://images.app.goo.gl/usU4ZHWAppCxaAaC7

Ball doesn't have to touch the line, the bottom can be over. It's whether the wildest part the middle is over if looking directly above.

01-12-2022, 10:00 PM
Ball doesn't have to touch the line, the bottom can be over. It's whether the wildest part the middle is over if looking directly above.

:agree: Exactly.

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 10:06 PM
That's fair enough 😁. Though I haven't seen anything yet to suggest it was, though if you have and are sure then that's good enough 👍

Donegal Hibby
01-12-2022, 11:44 PM
Was reading tonight the legendary " PELE " was taking into hospital . For me he's the best player in the world .
https://youtu.be/bUTRZGCiiFs

Renfrew_Hibby
02-12-2022, 07:50 AM
So England's route to glory looks like Senegal - France - Brazil then Portugal or Argentina in the final.

02-12-2022, 07:51 AM
So England's route to glory looks like Senegal - France - Brazil then Portugal or Argentina in the final.

Or Senegal - Flight Home :wink::greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
02-12-2022, 07:53 AM

They’ve had an easy group but they’ll be deserving winners if they see off all those sides.

02-12-2022, 07:56 AM
They’ve had an easy group but they’ll be deserving winners if they see off all those sides.
They deserve nothing but failure and never let them forget it :saltireflag:wink:

02-12-2022, 08:00 AM

Would they not have to face Spain potentially? I thought they are now on that side of the group.

If they beat all of those then they deserve it tbh. Their squad has a tonne of depth compared to everyone else. This could be the time :(

Renfrew_Hibby
02-12-2022, 08:23 AM
Would they not have to face Spain potentially? I thought they are now on that side of the group.

If they beat all of those then they deserve it tbh. Their squad has a tonne of depth compared to everyone else. This could be the time :(

I'm thinking Brazil could beat Spain in the quarters but it could well be Spain in the semis.

02-12-2022, 08:29 AM
I'm thinking Brazil could beat Spain in the quarters but it could well be Spain in the semis.

Brazil & Spain are in separate halfs of the draw so can't meet until the final (I think)

Renfrew_Hibby
02-12-2022, 08:31 AM
Brazil & Spain are in separate halfs of the draw so can't meet until the final (I think)

Fairly sure they are now on the same side due to Spain finishing second.

Stairway 2 7
02-12-2022, 08:38 AM
https://bolavip.com/en/world-cup-2022-simulator

A free predictor. Argentina for me

Golden boot I could see being neymar. A surprise team I’m going to say Switzerland

Good calculator trinity put up. Brazil Spain separate sides if things go according to plan. England would probably have to beat Senegal, France, either Spain or Portugal and either Argentina or Brazil. Obviously that's if favourites win

02-12-2022, 08:40 AM
Fairly sure they are now on the same side due to Spain finishing second.

Nope.....Spain are now in Eng half of the draw because they finished 2nd

Renfrew_Hibby
02-12-2022, 08:42 AM
Nope.....Spain are now in Eng half of the draw because they finished 2nd

That's what I said

Renfrew_Hibby
02-12-2022, 08:44 AM
Good calculator trinity put up. Brazil Spain separate sides if things go according to plan. England would probably have to beat Senegal, France, either Spain or Portugal and either Argentina or Brazil. Obviously that's if favourites win

OK, fair enough, I was going on a FIFA chart I saw last night. Here's hoping someone skelps them along the way.

02-12-2022, 08:54 AM
That's what I said

You said Brazil could beat Spain in the QF. Anyway I'm boring myself now so will leave it there.

02-12-2022, 10:20 AM
On the subject of ballgate do FIFA not have the same technology as Wimbledon which scans the whole pitch and can pinpoint if it was in our out. It is an extension of the goal line technology.

Stairway 2 7
02-12-2022, 10:54 AM
Brilliant a tweet showing the twists of who was going through and at what time last night

https://mobile.twitter.com/wc22updates/status/1598645754284937219

02-12-2022, 11:45 AM
Japan government has announced they are changing their national flag.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fi7ICXpX0AY2aGC?format=jpg&name=small

02-12-2022, 12:10 PM
Japan government has announced they are changing their national flag.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fi7ICXpX0AY2aGC?format=jpg&name=small

02-12-2022, 01:01 PM
My score predictions again. :faf:

Should see my bet’s history 😢😢

MKHIBEE
02-12-2022, 01:03 PM
They deserve nothing but failure and never let them forget it :saltireflag:wink:

Thet deserve everything associated with failure

EGL2000
02-12-2022, 01:09 PM
Surely all Ghana today?

SJNB Hibby
02-12-2022, 01:54 PM
Surely all Ghana today?
Shirley for me

02-12-2022, 01:56 PM
Shirley for me

Valentine?

SJNB Hibby
02-12-2022, 01:58 PM
Valentine?

Hello wall

Mr Grieves
02-12-2022, 01:59 PM
Surely all Ghana today?

:agree: hope they get sweet revenge

02-12-2022, 01:59 PM
Suarez starts and captains v Ghana

02-12-2022, 02:14 PM
Surely all Ghana today?
Ghana would win the tournament if I had my way. Spent three years there in the late 80's/early 90's and loved the place.

02-12-2022, 02:20 PM
Penalty.

Nunez booked for trying to damage the penalty spot.

What a pish penalty. JUST ****ING BLOOTER IT

02-12-2022, 02:21 PM
That’s hard to believe. Awful pen. I can’t stand Uruguay.

02-12-2022, 02:22 PM
Penalty.

Nunez booked for trying to damage the penalty spot.

What a pish penalty. JUST ****ING BLOOTER IT

Justice done for me, yet another VAR farce

EGL2000
02-12-2022, 02:22 PM
Horrific penalty, what is the obsession with these slow run up tapped penalties now???

02-12-2022, 02:23 PM
Keeper awful there, the defender saves him.
Black Stars losing the plot here.

02-12-2022, 02:24 PM
What on earth is going on with the application of the rules.
Keeper is a mile of his line there, a clear and obvious not a daft mm call.

The ref should have had that shambles cleared up long before they were eventually able to take the pen. Uruguary players being allowed to behave like that for far too long.

02-12-2022, 02:26 PM
A very poor pen and the game is set up for a suarez winner.

Mr Grieves
02-12-2022, 02:27 PM
That's comically bad defending

EGL2000
What on earth is going on with the application of the rules.
Keeper is a mile of his line there, a clear and obvious not a daft mm call.

The ref should have had that shambles cleared up long before they were eventually able to take the pen. Uruguary players being allowed to behave like that for far too long.

His back foot is on the line when he strikes the ball, well with the rules. I thought he was off aswell just be jumps so far forward.

SJNB Hibby
Ghana making too many stupid mistakes, they deserve to be behind
Watch the time-wasting now

Ghana all over the place

02-12-2022, 02:28 PM
Justice done for me, yet another VAR farce

Maybe but I don’t like Uruguay and hope they get pumped

02-12-2022, 02:31 PM
That was a cracking finish

02-12-2022, 02:32 PM
Uruguay 2 up, can't see Ghana getting back now

02-12-2022, 02:33 PM
Time to cheer on the Koreans now methinks.

02-12-2022, 02:33 PM
Right choice to play Suarez from the start, 2 assists

02-12-2022, 02:40 PM
Right choice to play Suarez from the start, 2 assists

He's really got his teeth into this game........

Sergio sledge
02-12-2022, 02:40 PM
Uruguay are a horrible football team.

Stairway 2 7
02-12-2022, 02:42 PM
Switched over, Mon the south Korea

02-12-2022, 02:42 PM
That looked like a stamp to me!

EGL2000
02-12-2022, 02:43 PM
Got to be a red there, blatant stamp off the ball?

02-12-2022, 02:44 PM
Got to be a red there, blatant stamp off the ball?

Looked deliberate. If VAR doesn't look at that, it's ridic

Sergio sledge
Why's VAR not getting involved there? Looked like a stamp to me.

Mr Grieves
That looked like a stamp to me!

You'd think that's the sort of thing VAR should be used for

02-12-2022, 02:47 PM
He's really got his teeth into this game........
Bit of bite to that comment.....

SJNB Hibby
02-12-2022, 02:50 PM
Bit of bite to that comment.....
Commentator on the International feed says he still has a great hunger for the game

02-12-2022, 02:51 PM
If Uruguay qualify from this then they play Brazil in the next round - will be fun. Assume there's a bit of a rivalry going on there stemming from the 1950 WC.

Sergio sledge
02-12-2022, 02:53 PM
Can VAR suggest the referee books players for simulation, going down holding your face when there has been no contact anywhere near your face...

02-12-2022, 02:53 PM
If Uruguay qualify from this then they play Brazil in the next round - will be fun. Assume there's a bit of a rivalry going on there stemming from the 1950 WC.

Doesn’t everyone have a rivalry against Uruguay? I suppose someone will pop up now to say they like them just to be different :greengrin Bit they’ve always been ***** on the pitch.

02-12-2022, 02:54 PM
Can VAR suggest the referee books players for simulation, going down holding your face when there has been no contact anywhere near your face...

Thought it was a penalty

EGL2000
02-12-2022, 02:54 PM
Doesn’t everyone have a rivalry against Uruguay? I suppose someone will pop up now to say they like them just to be different :greengrin Bit they’ve always been ***** on the pitch.

Yeah got to be up there with one of the most hated.

02-12-2022, 02:56 PM
Surely a red card coming in the 2nd half of the Ghana game, their players have lost the plot.

Sergio sledge
02-12-2022, 02:59 PM
Thought it was a penalty

I think it was a risky block for the defender to make, but if they are not giving the penalty then it's a clear case of a player trying to deceive the referee. The Uruguay player went down holding his face like he'd been smashed in the face when there was no contact with the face at all.

Uruguay players at the ref complaining about something as they go off at half time, horrible football team.

02-12-2022, 03:05 PM
They should be, honestly sick of seeing the theatrics both here and the EPL. Honestly dislike the play acting more than VAR.

02-12-2022, 03:25 PM
I must know absolutely nothing about football because that VAR checked incident looked far more like a penalty than the one that was given in the first half.

02-12-2022, 03:29 PM

Honestly, considering they've a population of 3 million and are sandwiched between arguably the two best footballing nations in the world their record is pretty impressive.

02-12-2022, 03:29 PM
Can’t help but think Uruguay are dirty bassas after the 0-0 with Scotland in ‘86 when they had a man sent off in the first minute and still proceeded to kick us off the park

Their mentality has not changed

02-12-2022, 03:32 PM
Honestly, considering they've a population of 3 million and are sandwiched between arguably the two best footballing nations in the world their record is pretty impressive.

Can’t argue with that. Still a dickish group of footballers though.

02-12-2022, 03:33 PM
Can’t help but think Uruguay are dirty bassas after the 0-0 with Scotland in ‘86 when they had a man sent off in the first minute and still proceeded to kick us off the park

Their mentality has not changed

I was just telling my son about that game. I still don’t know whether the ref pulled out the red by mistake, it was a horror tackle on Gordon Strachan but they never used to give straight reds early doors in those days.

02-12-2022, 03:40 PM
A Pepe own goal here would be nice.

02-12-2022, 03:40 PM

I love them tbh. Mainly because I’m a semi regular visitor to the country and have loads of friends there. And their football history from the 1920s to the 1950s is extraordinary.

no doubt the 1980s version was contemptible.

02-12-2022, 03:49 PM
Brilliant. 대한민국 하이팅

02-12-2022, 03:49 PM
The delay on that pass from Son was genius, just onside.

02-12-2022, 03:50 PM
Brilliant. 대한민국 하이팅
Good goal

02-12-2022, 03:51 PM
Suarez crying. Some comfort for Ghana I suppose

02-12-2022, 03:51 PM
Just something else that dawned on me with all these VAR decisions. These days, last round matches kick off at the same time to stop any W.Germany/Austria style shenanigans but at the minute the Portugal v S. Korea game is about six mins ahead so the slightly later game may know what result they need

02-12-2022, 03:57 PM
Just something else that dawned on me with all these VAR decisions. These days, last round matches kick off at the same time to stop any W.Germany/Austria style shenanigans but at the minute the Portugal v S. Korea game is about six mins ahead so the slightly later game may know what result they need

Good point.

02-12-2022, 03:59 PM
This had been a cracking world cup. Great entertainment.

02-12-2022, 04:01 PM
Ghanas time wasting here to send Korea through is pure anti Uruguay ****hoosery

02-12-2022, 04:01 PM
Shame Ghana's legs have gone, last ten minutes have been great fun. About as thrilling a game as you could get.

02-12-2022, 04:02 PM

Once Germany took the lead last night Spain and Japan knew what was required.

02-12-2022, 04:03 PM
Once Germany took the lead last night Spain and Japan knew what was required.

Karma lol

Mcbizz1998
02-12-2022, 04:04 PM
Nae luck Uruguay! Stay classy.

EGL2000
02-12-2022, 04:05 PM
Luis Suárez tears so pleasing!

02-12-2022, 04:06 PM
Normal ***** behaviour from self entitled Uruguayan players