View Full Version : The world cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

Donegal Hibby
21-11-2022, 06:46 PM
Bale caught the guy before getting the ball

In an ideal world it isn't, but two footed and from behind it's a yellow all day in the modern game

Yeah I know letter of the law it probably is, but it's indicative of how the games becoming sanitised.

He caught him though!

21-11-2022, 06:47 PM
Commentater got me hinkin , Di steffano never played in a world cup

International career. Di Stéfano played with three different national teams during his career, scoring 6 goals in 6 appearances for Argentina, and 23 in 31 appearances for Spain. However, he never played in the World Cup.

Eh ? What ?

21-11-2022, 06:49 PM
Wales are pish

21-11-2022, 06:50 PM
He caught him though!

It's a contact sport

21-11-2022, 06:50 PM
Wales are bang average and have relied on Ramsay and Bale for too long, now they are not the same players they were, they're not the same team.

21-11-2022, 06:51 PM
I don't know if this is the Welsh top midfield, but if so they are in bother.
The arse Hartson talking about bringing on Keifer Moore but who's going to pass him the ball??

Mikey_1875
Although it’s only one game Wales should be treating this one like a final. Kiefer Moore should come on early and cause problems.

Donegal Hibby
Yellow card for Bale all day long , tackle from behind , caught the player before getting the ball , don't think this is going to end 11 v 11.

i can see wales bringing on that dude Bale in the 2nd half

Wales are bang average and have relied on Ramsay and Bale for too long, now they are not the same players they were, they're not the same team.
Ramsay looks like he's playing for Rangers

21-11-2022, 06:53 PM
Bale is playing the same role as Deeks did yesterday, I never noticed him either as he was playing in front of the East lol

21-11-2022, 06:53 PM
just having a squint at the USA bench and noticed a carter-vickers

quick google search confirms it is indeed the dude that plays for sellick

21-11-2022, 06:55 PM
USA have got some really good players, Pulisic obviously, Robinson and Adams are cracking young players, bags of energy and miles better then Wales. Bizarre team selection from Wales, he'll need to bring some proper strikers on.

21-11-2022, 06:58 PM
i can see wales bringing on that dude Bale in the 2nd half

And Doidge!

21-11-2022, 06:59 PM
Roy Keane gone all grizzly Adams again 😂

21-11-2022, 06:59 PM
can see Adams getting the captains armband at Leeds next season

21-11-2022, 07:00 PM
And Doidge!

he's having a WC break

21-11-2022, 07:01 PM
Unless they get a free kick I can’t see Bale doing anything in this game.

21-11-2022, 07:04 PM
Ramsay looks like he's playing for Rangers
Did he miss another penalty? :greengrin

21-11-2022, 07:11 PM
That is absolutely embaressing by Rodon there in the way he went down claiming a knock to the head at that corner

VAR should be stepping in and he should be booked and sent off

Wasn't mentioned at all by the commentary team

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

21-11-2022, 07:13 PM
Listen to Hartson and tyldsley, you would think Wales had the best of this game.....

21-11-2022, 07:16 PM
Wales need bailed oot or Bales oot. Maybe both.:greengrin

21-11-2022, 07:17 PM
Empty seats yet again, shouldn't be happening at a World Cup.

21-11-2022, 07:19 PM
USA should bring on Aaronson for some more energy in that midfield

21-11-2022, 07:25 PM
Two massive chances for Wales there.

welsh goal coming

yank coach has received my text

Putting their fans through it. :greengrin

21-11-2022, 07:28 PM
Moore really should have scored

Up-the-slope
21-11-2022, 07:30 PM
Bale looks like he has been on extended holiday and no pre-season

21-11-2022, 07:31 PM
Hartson wanted Williams back on before the corner was taken........

pollution
21-11-2022, 07:32 PM
Cannot cross a ball these USA players !

Wull
21-11-2022, 07:33 PM
Wales a different team 2nd half, making it a good game

21-11-2022, 07:35 PM
Wales a different team 2nd half, making it a good game

They need more from Bales. He’s made two good tackles and sod all else.

21-11-2022, 07:38 PM

Ramsay too. He’s been the hide and seek champion of the Wales team this evening!

21-11-2022, 07:38 PM
Hartson has broken out one of my commentary pet hates at least twice in this game. Player misses a chance:

'He's done absolutely everything right'

Well he's not. If he had got 'absolutely everything right' then he would have scored.

Paulie Walnuts
21-11-2022, 07:39 PM
Freddy Adu should be playing his last World Cup for USA here after a few Ballon D’Ors.

Brummie_Hibs
21-11-2022, 07:39 PM
In a parallel universe, Doidge is about to come on for Wales, to then score 2 goals in the last 10mins to beat the USA.

21-11-2022, 07:40 PM
Wales penalty.

Penalty to Wales

Penalty Wales

Wull

Bale not near what he was

Up-the-slope
3 CH's piddling about at the back and can hardly pick a pass and no help in task from midfield not showing... ....

thought I had seen enough of that this season

What a mental tackle to make

21-11-2022, 07:41 PM
lol bales gets his leg in first

clever

21-11-2022, 07:41 PM
USA 1-1 Wales

21-11-2022, 07:42 PM

The US defender shaking his finger…. Eh fud!

21-11-2022, 07:42 PM

Crazy.

21-11-2022, 07:43 PM
That's how you hit a penalty.

Keeper does great, gets an early step, gets across and gets hands up but you aren't keeping that out. Absolute rocket

Donegal Hibby
Crazy from the yank there.

Wales are crap, USA have let them off the hook here, but no doubt the story will be about how amazing the rugby lovers are.

21-11-2022, 07:44 PM
lol bales gets his leg in first

clever

More a case of stupidity from the USA player.

Calm down, he only scored a penalty FFS

Hartson has broken out one of my commentary pet hates at least twice in this game. Player misses a chance:

'He's done absolutely everything right'

Well he's not. If he had got 'absolutely everything right' then he would have scored.

He is the Welsh Yogi...slavering idiot

21-11-2022, 07:45 PM
USA 1-1 Wales
Pleasing

Up-the-slope
21-11-2022, 07:45 PM
That's how you hit a penalty.

Keeper does great, gets an early step, gets across and gets hands up but you aren't keeping that out. Absolute rocket

Like to see again - looked like keeper had feet off line before it was struck... possible re-take if saved?

PS.. team at top of group will like this score..:rolleyes:

21-11-2022, 07:47 PM
More a case of stupidity from the USA player.

i don't think ream even saw bale at the back of him, bale was never getting the ball and stuck his leg in front of the guy, as i said...clever

my decision is final

:)

Like to see again - looked like keeper had feet off line before it was struck... possible re-take if saved?

PS.. team at top of group will like this score..:rolleyes:

Don’t think England will be fussed. They’ll beat these two easily. Holland be the happiest team getting one of them in the last 16.

Paulie Walnuts
He is the Welsh Yogi...slavering idiot

Bizarre comment about a Hibs legend.

21-11-2022, 07:48 PM
i don't think ream even saw bale at the back of him, bale was never getting the ball and stuck his leg in front of the guy, as i said...clever

my decision is final

I thought it was Zimmerman who made the challenge??

Shows what I know. Both look similar. Doh!

21-11-2022, 07:49 PM

nah i'm sure it was ream, he was already on a yellow and i thought he may have got a 2nd one for that

Wull
21-11-2022, 07:50 PM
Hartson says the Welsh winger has young youthness

Paulie Walnuts

It was

Assuming both of these beat Iran, whoever gets point or so off England may be in good shape?

21-11-2022, 07:51 PM
9 mins added

Finally seeing some proper added time

We barely get over 5 mins in the spl

I'd say a draw really opens up this group.

I think England will finish on 9 points and Iran will probably finish on 0 points so it all depends on how many Wales and the USA score v Iran and concede v England in terms of second place.

didn't watch england game but they will easily beat both these sides

it will come down to GD between the yanks and wales, both of them will beat Iran

It was

I’ve edited my post as everywhere reporting Ream made challenge! Need to see it again

Up-the-slope
21-11-2022, 07:52 PM
9 mins ET... pubs will be shut around stadium by time game finishes:greengrin

21-11-2022, 07:53 PM
Haha Hartson doing his nut first half about the ref stopping the game as it wasn't a head knock

Now say all is good and ampadu must go down if he's hurt

Its the Welsh Kris Boyd [emoji23]

Donegal Hibby
21-11-2022, 07:54 PM
Thought game was only meant to be stopped for head knocks?

Ramsey has been woeful this evening!

Tyldsley slavering on about the communion between the team and the fans. What a walloper

21-11-2022, 07:55 PM
Thought game was only meant to be stopped for head knocks?

Referee decides

Haha Hartson doing his nut first half about the ref stopping the game as it wasn't a head knock

Now say all is good and ampadu must go down if he's hurt

Its the Welsh Kris Boyd [emoji23]

He’s certainly as big a fud as Boyd is

Bizarre comment about a Hibs legend.

Hartson never played for us? 😁

21-11-2022, 07:59 PM
If I'm Page I would be making the hard decision to swap my keeper for the next game.

You have a guy playing out his skin for Leicester sitting on the bench and you are starting a guy who has played less than 10 club games in 3 seasons. He's not made any glaring errors but he's looked uncomfortable a few times. You have to go with the form player imo.

21-11-2022, 08:01 PM
Full time USA 1-1 Wales.

Shows what I know. Both look similar. Doh!

just checked BBC ;)

PENALTYUSA 1-0 Wales

Tim Ream goes through Gareth Bale!
He's touched the ball in the box now!
Penalty to Wales!

If I'm Page I would be making the hard decision to swap my keeper for the next game.

You have a guy playing out his skin for Leicester sitting on the bench and you are starting a guy who has played less than 10 club games in 3 seasons. He's not made any glaring errors but he's looked uncomfortable a few times. You have to go with the form player imo.
And even Iran might cross better than the USA.....

21-11-2022, 08:02 PM
It was

no it wasn't

Donegal Hibby
21-11-2022, 08:02 PM
Happy with that , my first right score prediction 😁

21-11-2022, 08:05 PM
Like that result, both teams will need to go at England or face putting themselves in danger of getting knocked out.

Trinity Hibee
21-11-2022, 08:09 PM
no it wasn't

It was Zimmerman

21-11-2022, 08:10 PM
Like that result, both teams will need to go at England or face putting themselves in danger of getting knocked out.

Wales play Iran next and the USA play England. I think Wales will go into the last round of games needing just a point v England to qualify.

21-11-2022, 08:12 PM
It was Zimmerman

ok, both myself and the BBC dude is wrong

PENALTYUSA 1-0 Wales

Penalty to Wales!

it was REAM

21-11-2022, 08:16 PM

PENALTYUSA 1-0 Wales

Penalty to Wales!

it was REAM

Definitely Zimmerman

21-11-2022, 08:18 PM
Wales play Iran next and the USA play England. I think Wales will go into the last round of games needing just a point v England to qualify.
Correct, but they can't go into the game hoping for a draw.

Off the bar
21-11-2022, 08:20 PM

PENALTYUSA 1-0 Wales

Penalty to Wales!

it was REAM

I didn’t watch but the Washington Post report says Zimmerman.

21-11-2022, 08:20 PM
I'd say a draw really opens up this group.

I think England will finish on 9 points and Iran will probably finish on 0 points so it all depends on how many Wales and the USA score v Iran and concede v England in terms of second place.

A bit like Scotland, Yugoslavia and Zaire in 1974 🙂

Trinity Hibee
21-11-2022, 08:21 PM

PENALTYUSA 1-0 Wales

Penalty to Wales!

it was REAM

I’ve just rewatched it a couple of times. It’s number 3 who makes the challenge. They’ve got him mixed up with Ream.

Anyway just pointing it out not having a go

21-11-2022, 08:21 PM
Definitely Zimmerman

this is getting quite bizarre now

BBC

me

and here USA 1-1 Wales: Gareth Bale penalty rescues point for Welsh on World Cup return in Qatar - Eurosport (https://www.eurosport.co.uk/football/world-cup/2022/fifa-world-cup-2022-in-qatar-live-usa-v-wales-updates_sto9237902/story.shtml) all say Ream :rolleyes:

Bale was anonymous until he wasn’t - on 80 minutes, Tim Ream went through the back of their talisman unnecessarily, and the penalty was despatched with the fury of the generations.

21-11-2022, 08:22 PM
I’ve just rewatched it a couple of times. It’s number 3 who makes the challenge. They’ve got him mixed up with Ream.

Anyway just pointing it out not having a go

neither am i :greengrin

just found this one in the guardian, they've scored out Ream and given it to zimmerman :hilarious

80 min Ramsey’s cutback from the byline bobbles towards Bale, back to goal in the area. Ream Zimmerman goes straight through him and the referee gives a penalty! Ream Zimmerman did get the ball, but he took an absurd shortcut through the back of Bale to get there. It’s a clear penalty.

21-11-2022, 08:25 PM

BBC

me

and here USA 1-1 Wales: Gareth Bale penalty rescues point for Welsh on World Cup return in Qatar - Eurosport (https://www.eurosport.co.uk/football/world-cup/2022/fifa-world-cup-2022-in-qatar-live-usa-v-wales-updates_sto9237902/story.shtml) all say Ream :rolleyes:

Bale was anonymous until he wasn’t - on 80 minutes, Tim Ream went through the back of their talisman unnecessarily, and the penalty was despatched with the fury of the generations.

It showed 100% on TV that it was Zimmerman despite Tyldesley saying it was Ream.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wHWVBtNuIHQ

21-11-2022, 08:27 PM

BBC

me

You’re all wrong

21-11-2022, 08:28 PM
It showed 100% on TV that it was Zimmerman despite Tyldesley saying it was Ream.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wHWVBtNuIHQ

that's quite conclusive and backs up what i've been saying all along

it was zimmerman :cb

Aljazeera got it wrong as well they must look similar80 mins: USA 1-0 Wales

PENALTY: Ream goes in rashly on Bale and it’s an easy as decision you’re likely to get. Bale to take it …

Trinity Hibee
21-11-2022, 08:34 PM
Haha!

21-11-2022, 08:39 PM
just checked BBC ;)

PENALTYUSA 1-0 Wales

Penalty to Wales!

I read that and then this

Wales has scored its first goal against the United States of America at the 2022 World Cup in a successful penalty attempt.

Wales was awarded a penalty as USA’s Zimmerman tackled Gareth Bale inside the American area.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221121/1f89572d0dbed90832d67c9059517669.jpg

21-11-2022, 08:43 PM
I reckon it was Carter Vickers.

Trinity Hibee
21-11-2022, 08:44 PM
I reckon it was Carter Vickers.

Donegal Hibby
21-11-2022, 08:50 PM
Definitely a penalty whoever it was 😏

21-11-2022, 09:01 PM
I read that and then this

Wales has scored its first goal against the United States of America at the 2022 World Cup in a successful penalty attempt.

Wales was awarded a penalty as USA’s Zimmerman tackled Gareth Bale inside the American area.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221121/1f89572d0dbed90832d67c9059517669.jpg

jings, i thought my english was bad tae :greengrin

21-11-2022, 09:06 PM
jings, i thought my english was bad tae :greengrin

Copied it from a Sports Network… [emoji102] too lazy to read it over just posted it

JamesHFC
21-11-2022, 09:12 PM
Wales turning up on the big stage yet again.

21-11-2022, 09:23 PM
Things can only get better for T. Ream.

Donegal Hibby
21-11-2022, 09:25 PM
Wales turning up on the big stage yet again.
Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde performance though . Really awful first half and Much better in the 2nd

21-11-2022, 09:26 PM
Copied it from a Sports Network… [emoji102] too lazy to read it over just posted it

i know, i was criticising them/him/her/the author :wink:

21-11-2022, 09:35 PM
Jason Cummings for the Golden Boot.

21-11-2022, 10:47 PM
i know, i was criticising them/him/her/the author :wink:

[emoji1303][emoji41]

21-11-2022, 11:03 PM
Jason Cummings for the Golden Boot.

250-1

Just seen the highlights on bbc and it looked a decent day of football.

Messi tomorrow morning while France vs Australia should be fun.

21-11-2022, 11:39 PM
250-1

Printing money that.

Donegal Hibby
21-11-2022, 11:45 PM
250-1

Hope Messi plays some reports of him having a injury ( swollen ankle) .some good games tomorrow, as footie fans it's hard work keeping up with all these games , we should all be really getting paid 😂

21-11-2022, 11:47 PM
Printing money that.

I will give you 500-1

22-11-2022, 06:09 AM
Watching Breakfast TV News hoping for an update re the war in Ukraine and the cost of living crisis all I am getting is the England football team goal celebrations with a wee bit thrown in about Wales

Someone please knock England out

Doing ma heid in already

22-11-2022, 07:02 AM
Stoppage time records broken as FIFA clamps down on time wasting.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63710986
Another improvement to take from rugby - stop the clock for injuries, VAR reviews, subs etc - so you know exactly how long there is to go from the clock display and with the match ending exactly on 90'.

22-11-2022, 07:21 AM
I know this was briefly mentioned last night but official attendances from yesterdays games have been released by Qatari officials

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221122/4146ec915738b35cb437231d6c46715a.jpg

[emoji848]

22-11-2022, 08:05 AM
Messi starts despite injury rumours.

Dmas
22-11-2022, 08:47 AM
Messi starts despite injury rumours.

God didn’t know he had a knock if took him and Martinez to have a shot on target both halves hope he’s not only gonna get 45mins here

22-11-2022, 08:57 AM
Normally love the Argentinian anthem but that was gash today

22-11-2022, 09:03 AM
Quite fancy Martinez to have a good tournament.

22-11-2022, 09:08 AM
gie the baw tae messi

22-11-2022, 09:09 AM
nah i'm not having that one lol

penalty messi wan-nil

game over after nine minutes :wink:

22-11-2022, 09:10 AM
1-9 Argentina

22-11-2022, 09:11 AM
How cool is that, just roll the ball into the back of the net!

22-11-2022, 09:11 AM
Yet again the use of VAR massively inconsistent!

22-11-2022, 09:14 AM
nah i'm not having that one lol

penalty messi wan-nil

game over after nine minutes :wink:

It's a pen, players are daft as **** putting their hands on anyone when VAR is in effect

22-11-2022, 09:14 AM
I cant decide if I'm happy VAR is hammering down on the wrestling in the box you see every week or not. :confused:

If it was consistent...

22-11-2022, 09:17 AM
Messi turning up for a world cup for a change maybe?

22-11-2022, 09:18 AM
I cant decide if I'm happy VAR is hammering down on the wrestling in the box you see every week or not. :confused:

If it was consistent...

If it was consistent you wouldn’t see it every week but we all know that VAR and consistency doesn’t mix.

22-11-2022, 09:23 AM
Messi 👏🏻

22-11-2022, 09:24 AM
Hope these wasted attacks don't come back to bite the Argies. They've looked suspect at times.

Paulie Walnuts
22-11-2022, 09:26 AM

He’s won player of the tournament at a World Cup.

Renfrew_Hibby
22-11-2022, 09:26 AM
Argentinian fans travelling in decent numbers could well give them an advantage later in the tournament.
Chat in Europe of all the issues and of this not being a proper world cup not really penetrating South America.

22-11-2022, 09:29 AM
brilliant timing

22-11-2022, 09:30 AM
eh chalked off :confused:

Renfrew_Hibby
What a shame, loved that goal

Why the hell does the caption say "VAR check - goal" every time a goal is ruled out?

22-11-2022, 09:32 AM
Why the love in on here for the Argies ? Dirty *******s :confused:

22-11-2022, 09:32 AM
Watching Breakfast TV News hoping for an update re the war in Ukraine and the cost of living crisis all I am getting is the England football team goal celebrations with a wee bit thrown in about Wales

Someone please knock England out

Doing ma heid in already

Similar to coming on a thread about the World Cup and having to read about some bloke moaning because he just doesn’t like England and can’t accept the fact that they played well and Scotland are at home already. 😀

22-11-2022, 09:33 AM
Do Argentina understand what offside is?! Their front line can't seem to time a run properly.

22-11-2022, 09:35 AM
VAR is a farce

22-11-2022, 09:36 AM
Argies going for the record of most disallowed goals in a game

22-11-2022, 09:36 AM
VAR is a farce

But it's been right, every single time so far!

Argentina only have themselves to blame here.

22-11-2022, 09:39 AM

Cool as **** strip, mental case players and the best player in the world about does it for me, oh aye and the fact I have a bet on them to win this game

22-11-2022, 09:40 AM

Coupons :greengrin

supermcginn

Clueless. He won best player in 2014

But it's been right, every single time so far!

Argentina only have themselves to blame here.

It’s maybe not VAR in itself, but football wasn’t invented to deny goals because a millimetre of Messi’s “t-shirt line” is offside. They should go back to the daylight rule IMO

22-11-2022, 09:41 AM
interesting :greengrin

Argentina's seven offsides so far is the most by a team in the first half of a World Cup game since Spain against Republic of Ireland in 2002 (nine).

22-11-2022, 09:48 AM

Having the best footballer in history featuring for them probably has some sort of influence.

22-11-2022, 09:50 AM
Having the best footballer in history featuring for them probably has some sort of influence.

Ronaldo isn't Argentinian

22-11-2022, 09:51 AM
Do Argentina understand what offside is?! Their front line can't seem to time a run properly.

Hate to use the old hibs.net cliche but it's fine margins.

They could easily hang back and guarantee they're onside but they don't get the advantage of trying to spring that high line. You might get the odd one wrong but when you get it right, you're one on one with the goalkeeper so a gamble worth taking.

You don't have to get it far wrong to look miles offside and some of these have been by inches.

Or so Colin Nish told me, anyway.

Paulie Walnuts
22-11-2022, 09:52 AM
It’s maybe not VAR in itself, but football wasn’t invented to deny goals because a millimetre of Messi’s “t-shirt line” is offside. They should go back to the daylight rule IMO

22-11-2022, 09:53 AM
Similar to coming on a thread about the World Cup and having to read about some bloke moaning because he just doesn’t like England and can’t accept the fact that they played well and Scotland are at home already. ��

England played very well I admit that

I just wish the English media would stop banging on about it especially when there are more important things happening in the world

After all it is a news programme

The news for you is England don’t win it

It is only Day 3 and the English Broadcasting Corporation is pissing me off already

22-11-2022, 09:54 AM
Cool as **** strip, mental case players and the best player in the world about does it for me, oh aye and the fact I have a bet on them to win this game

:agree: love Argentina.

22-11-2022, 09:58 AM
Five added minutes :agree:
Best thing about this tournament apart from Alex Scott is the correctly applied time. Could do with this level of attention in Scotland.

Dmas
22-11-2022, 09:59 AM
Wee bet messi and Martinez to both hit the target in each half and despite scoring twice Martinez failed to hit the target that half 😂 l

Renfrew_Hibby
22-11-2022, 10:00 AM
A Souness v Keane rumble would be box office.

22-11-2022, 10:01 AM
A Souness v Keane rumble would be box office.

I'd quite like Keane to knock Sourpuss out. The man is irritating.

22-11-2022, 10:09 AM
Ronaldo isn't Argentinian

I knew this response was pending… I just wasn’t sure of which player and poster it would be 😁

22-11-2022, 10:11 AM
Similar to coming on a thread about the World Cup and having to read about some bloke moaning because he just doesn’t like England and can’t accept the fact that they played well and Scotland are at home already. 😀

I resent that. I’d be moaning about England whether Scotland were there or not 🤗

1-1

oh oh

Yes get in there. ****** the Argies :thumbsup:

22-11-2022, 10:12 AM
That was a cracking finish

22-11-2022, 10:12 AM
They've been there to get got at, need to go up the gears now

22-11-2022, 10:13 AM
Excellent. Makes it a much better game.

22-11-2022, 10:15 AM
Tell you what, for being most peoples pick for the Tournament. Argentina haven't looked all that, and this wasn't in the script and now it's kinda feeling like a World Cup...

Apart from the fact its cold outside :greengrin

22-11-2022, 10:16 AM
I resent that. I’d be moaning about England whether Scotland were there or not 🤗

We’ll never know 😂

Hahah what a goal

WOW

Scenes.

OMG get in there

Pick that one out! 👏

don't you dare muck my bet up argentina

just don't

oh my 1-2 lol

Wow what a goal.

22-11-2022, 10:18 AM
they'll be dancing in the streets of Riyadh

if they're allowed to that is

22-11-2022, 10:20 AM
This is a fantastic match now.

22-11-2022, 10:22 AM
I've only seen since HT but the Saudis look fit and fast

2 great goals too

Souness - "it's only a matter of time before Argentina make it 2-0"

10 mins later its 1-2 [emoji23]

22-11-2022, 10:23 AM
they'll be dancing in the streets of Riyadh

if they're allowed to that is

Yeah it’s funny how the Qataris are being portrayed as evil killers and the Saudis are plucky underdogs.

22-11-2022, 10:25 AM
that's a huge contingent from Argentina

22-11-2022, 10:27 AM
Limbs at that 2nd Saudi goal . How fitting

22-11-2022, 10:27 AM
Anyone else like that Saudi top?

22-11-2022, 10:31 AM
Yeah it’s funny how the Qataris are being portrayed as evil killers and the Saudis are plucky underdogs.
👍

Mcbizz1998
22-11-2022, 10:31 AM
I've only seen since HT but the Saudis look fit and fast

2 great goals too

Souness - "it's only a matter of time before Argentina make it 2-0"

10 mins later its 1-2 [emoji23]

Before the game as well he predicted it would be “damage limitation” for SA, whilst going on and on about Messi.

22-11-2022, 10:35 AM
Anyone else like that Saudi top?

Maybe if it had white sleeves

Paulie Walnuts
22-11-2022, 10:35 AM
This is by far the best game so far.

22-11-2022, 10:37 AM
Otemendi screaming at the slightest touch. Nit sure tat was a booking though for the SA player until he rolled and screamed!

22-11-2022, 10:39 AM
if Argentina win this WC i'll eat my hat

22-11-2022, 10:41 AM
There's a lot of coupon busters and its only day 3 ! I cant see Argentina scoring 2 more...

(Que them scoring 3 in the last 10 minutes :greengrin)

Just_Jimmy
22-11-2022, 10:41 AM
Before the game as well he predicted it would be “damage limitation” for SA, whilst going on and on about Messi.Tbf there's hardly a football fan out there that would have suggested different.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

22-11-2022, 10:42 AM
Never a foul

22-11-2022, 10:42 AM
if Argentina win this WC i'll eat my hat

What kind of hat?

22-11-2022, 10:43 AM
ridiculous time for a free kick to get taken

22-11-2022, 10:44 AM
What kind of hat?

one of those edible paper types

Mcbizz1998
22-11-2022, 10:44 AM
Tbf there's hardly a football fan out there that would have suggested different.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Keane and Cole didn’t go that far. They said it’s football and anything can happen, whilst obviously saying Argentina will win.

22-11-2022, 10:46 AM
Great game this.

Can SA hold out?

22-11-2022, 10:46 AM
Dunno why the Argentinian managers seems to hate Dybala, never seems to get brought on when he seems the obvious choice

22-11-2022, 10:47 AM
That header by Messi was pish

22-11-2022, 10:49 AM
28 mins added on :greengrin

22-11-2022, 10:50 AM
What kind of hat?

One of those nacho sombreros you dip in guacamole would suffice

22-11-2022, 10:50 AM
This will either ruin Argentina's WC or kick um up the Arsenal !

22-11-2022, 10:51 AM
Superb performance from SA today!

22-11-2022, 10:51 AM
One of those nacho sombreros you dip in guacamole would suffice

I could eat one of those now!

22-11-2022, 10:52 AM
I’m waiting for the “ this result would mean England could face them earlier than the semis’s “ sentence

22-11-2022, 10:52 AM
It's really heartening to see some action taken to combat time wasting. It absolutely ruins the game imo.

22-11-2022, 10:53 AM
8 mins added

22-11-2022, 10:54 AM
Argentina can **** off. If they knew how to work an offside trap, this would have been over at HT.

22-11-2022, 10:54 AM
It's really heartening to see some action taken to combat time wasting. It absolutely ruins the game imo.

Best thing about this tourney.

22-11-2022, 10:58 AM
Oooft that a dull one

22-11-2022, 10:58 AM
Everyone's prediction league knackered with this result 🤣

22-11-2022, 10:59 AM
What a terrible collision. Hope the boy is ok.

22-11-2022, 10:59 AM
Di Maria has been absolutely garbage here and Saudi Arabia have played him brilliantly.

All left foot, has taken the sting out of their attacks every time by cutting back and letting the defence get their men back.

Saudi have let him do it, time after time and then pressured him, often getting the ball off him.

Dmas
22-11-2022, 11:00 AM
Commentary there ‘using every trick in the play book’ guys possibly no teeth left in his head

Di Maria has been absolutely garbage here and Saudi Arabia have played him brilliantly.

All left foot, has taken the sting out of their attacks every time by cutting back and letting the defence get their men back.

Saudi have let him do it, time after time and then pressured him, often getting the ball off him.

Messi has been just as poor.

ah well

that's the dream 15-fold scunnered after just my 2nd pick

and today's treble as well

boooooo you Argentina

just booooo

nice stadium btw

22-11-2022, 11:03 AM
ah well

that's the dream 15-fold scunnered after just my 2nd pick

and today's treble as well

boooooo you Argentina

just booooo

nice stadium btw

O dear! I was out until just before KO and never managed a bet!

Wonder how much ‘Messi Time’ there will be?

22-11-2022, 11:03 AM
I'm loving this goalie haha

22-11-2022, 11:04 AM
spectacular diving save lol

22-11-2022, 11:04 AM
Argentina won't win the World Cup.

22-11-2022, 11:06 AM
O dear! I was out until just before KO and never managed a bet!

Wonder how much ‘Messi Time’ there will be?

they could play for another 30 mins and argentina still wouldn't score

22-11-2022, 11:07 AM
Brilliant

22-11-2022, 11:07 AM
Ref must of had Argentina on his coupon

22-11-2022, 11:09 AM

Not to mention all those ludicrous 20 match accas.

Has a manager been sacked during the World Cup finals ?

Absolutely shocking performance, tactically niaive by Argentina and all it took was high energy and commitment by SA.

Wow.

22-11-2022, 11:10 AM
Could that be the biggest shock in the history of the World Cup? Astonishing win for the Saudis. There will be chaos in Argentina now.

Paulie Walnuts
22-11-2022, 11:10 AM
Argentina looked like we have for ages now. Throwing aimless balls into the box.

They’ll get nowhere near the final stages if that’s anything to go by.

Yorkshire HFC
22-11-2022, 11:12 AM
Wow! That is what sport is about. Saudi beating Argentina. Bale scoring last night. Sako scoring two yesterday. Brilliant.

22-11-2022, 11:13 AM
Messi schmessi.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

22-11-2022, 11:19 AM
Attendance:88,012

Qatar 2022: The ‘Iconic’ Venue To Host Argentina And Saudi Arabia | Football/Soccer | Peacefmonline.com (https://www.peacefmonline.com/pages/sports/soccer/202211/478521.php)

Tuesday's match will be played at the Lusail Iconic Stadium, which has a capacity of 80,000 and is therefore the largest being used at the tournament.

so confusing

22-11-2022, 11:21 AM
Will be carnage in Argentina.

Had there not been VAR, this match could easily have ended 5 or 6-0.

22-11-2022, 11:22 AM
Attendance:88,012

Qatar 2022: The ‘Iconic’ Venue To Host Argentina And Saudi Arabia | Football/Soccer | Peacefmonline.com (https://www.peacefmonline.com/pages/sports/soccer/202211/478521.php)

Tuesday's match will be played at the Lusail Iconic Stadium, which has a capacity of 80,000 and is therefore the largest being used at the tournament.

so confusing

There's a wiff of Jambomaths about that :wink:

22-11-2022, 11:24 AM
Messi schmessi.

Next stop Easter Road on a six month contract. "I've heard what a massive club Hibs are and I can't wait to start".

22-11-2022, 11:25 AM

Just as Harry Kane ruined stick on bet builder punts by not scoring last night.:greengrins Bookies will be laughing.

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 11:30 AM
Be very lucky to get out of there group now

22-11-2022, 11:31 AM
Ref must of had Argentina on his coupon

The Refs are finally doing their job and adding on ALL wasted time. All for it.

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 11:53 AM
Read that Argentina were 36 games unbeaten going into today's match . Some record they had if true before Saudi's ended it

22-11-2022, 11:57 AM
Read that Argentina were 36 games unbeaten going into today's match . Some record they had if true before Saudi's ended it

Brazil last team to beat them

AugustaHibs
22-11-2022, 12:07 PM
Be very lucky to get out of there group now

I reckon they still beat both Mexico and Poland

22-11-2022, 12:12 PM

Aye, but what about my buggered accumulator today????? :greengrin

22-11-2022, 12:24 PM
John Hartson proving he doesn't understand the offside law

22-11-2022, 12:26 PM
Hartson also unhappy refs have been card happy. That's a good thing, refs have been far too lenient for years.

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2022, 12:28 PM
Can never understand why when a players offside and plays the ball , why linesman let's play continue before flagging offside, complete waste of time and players energy imo

22-11-2022, 12:28 PM

Exactly what I was thinking. He’s a bit of an arse.:greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
22-11-2022, 12:30 PM

Nothing will ever beat him declaring that Connor Sammon ‘should be scoring’ with an effort from the halfway line for Alloa against Celtic.

22-11-2022, 12:42 PM
Pat Nevin doing the punditry on five live Denmark Tunisia. He’s the best pundit there is. Always some insight.

22-11-2022, 12:42 PM
I don’t think that deserves a pen, but outside the box it gets a freekick 99% of the time.

Great save by Schmeichel there!

22-11-2022, 12:43 PM
Hartson talks some right crap.

22-11-2022, 12:44 PM
Hartson talks some right crap.

Aye. That’s not the best save Hartson has ever seen. Calm down big John.