View Full Version : The world cup thread
18-12-2022, 03:28 PM
This might be one of Argentina’s easiest games in this tournament. France have been abysmal.
18-12-2022, 03:29 PM
This might be one of Argentina’s easiest games in this tournament. France have been abysmal.
This is the worst World Cup final performance I can remember from France.
Aye, a very disappointing final.
I said after the England game this isn't a great France team. Their performance in the Euros and the last Nations League points to that.
Of course injuries have played a huge part but I don't understand why so many had them as favourites before this game today. Argentina have had shaky moments as well but when they have been on it they have looked the best side in the tournament by a distance.
Donegal Hibby
Di Maria had a fantastic game imo .Shocked that France haven't even had a shot at goal up to now.
France looking better now on the left.
18-12-2022, 03:31 PM
This is the worst World Cup final performance I can remember from France.
Reminiscent of us in the cup final against St Johnstone. Started slow, concede an early goal, collapse.
18-12-2022, 03:36 PM
Macallister looking like Messi’s protégé here
18-12-2022, 03:37 PM
Macallister looking like Messi’s protégé here
Showing his Scottish genes off. We taught them how to play :greengrin
18-12-2022, 03:38 PM
Can’t believe a 34 year old Otamendi is going to have a World Cup winners medal! He’s been good this game/tournament to be fair to him.
18-12-2022, 03:40 PM
Come on France FFS
Yep. De Paul has been properly hacked twice in the last minute but you just assume he’s faking it because of all the other histrionics.
He’s had but there you go again!
Donegal Hibby
Showing his Scottish genes off. We taught them how to play :greengrin
Or Irish genes :greengrin
I said after the England game this isn't a great France team. Their performance in the Euros and the last Nations League points to that.
Of course injuries have played a huge part but I don't understand why so many had them as favourites before this game today. Argentina have had shaky moments as well but when they have been on it they have looked the best side in the tournament by a distance.
Would disagree. They have quality throughout the squad with players at top clubs. Not sure how many nations would still make the final with four certain starters out?
It hasn't worked for them here though, they've been very poor. Argentina have been really good, played it brilliantly.
Must have flew the boy in from tynecastle last night to count the attendance
18-12-2022, 03:41 PM
Game on
Game could well be on.
Poor defending.
Seekyit
Might have a game now.
Interesting
2 all, who would believe it. Unfortunately that plonker Macron is there waving his arms around
18-12-2022, 03:42 PM
Game on
Yaaaas
France penalty.
Messi deserved French to miss that.
Didn't 2-1.
Thought Martinez had saved it. He'll want that one back.
Seekyit
Oof. Just.
I love Mbappe
Softish pen but still a pen
18-12-2022, 03:43 PM
Game on …. I hope, :greengrin
2-1 Mbappe
Can’t believe a 34 year old Otamendi is going to have a World Cup winners medal! He’s been good this game/tournament to be fair to him.
I cursed Oramendi!
Wow just wow
Brilliant
18-12-2022, 03:44 PM
**** off
How has this happened?
Argentina have collapsed.
Yaaaaaaaaaaas
Seekyit
Oh ya fkr
not game
Oh my word!
Best WC ever
Jeez 2-2, where did this come from, France have been rank all game.
Argentina have bottled it
Messi deserved French to miss that.
Didn't 2-1.
What ??? Messi deserves what he gets f all hopefully
18-12-2022, 03:45 PM
Defending is honking again. Just stands there and let's Mbappe walk into the space behind him.
Messi made that goal 😉
Wow 2-2.
Coman robbing Messi was incroyable
Game on …. I hope, :greengrin
Ok , it is. :greengrin
What ??? Messi deserves what he gets f all hopefully
I was messing after a comment above saying football owes Messi a world cup 😁
What a goal, what a finish. Outstanding
Donegal Hibby
18-12-2022, 03:46 PM
Unbelievable 😳
18-12-2022, 03:46 PM
Defending is honking again. Just stands there and let's Mbappe walk into the space behind him.
Don’t see how you can focus on that. Tremendous break, run made the space and unbelievable hit.
18-12-2022, 03:47 PM
Holy ****!
18-12-2022, 03:47 PM
I was messing after a comment above saying football owes Messi a world cup 😁
:greengrin Sorry bud
18-12-2022, 03:48 PM
First time a team came from 2 down in a WC final since 1986.
18-12-2022, 03:48 PM
Argentina have totally collapsed, what a turnaround.
18-12-2022, 03:49 PM
Don’t see how you can focus on that. Tremendous break, run made the space and unbelievable hit.
It's a great goal but it doesn't take away from the fact the defender loses the 1st ball and then doesn't react to the 2nd ball leaving Mbappe in yards of space.
18-12-2022, 03:49 PM
That's a pen
18-12-2022, 03:50 PM
Good job by the ref because that looked like a pen. He did well to spot the dive
Seekyit
Yea, well done ref.
Incredible. France have played for all of 5 mins of this final and are 2-2.
18-12-2022, 03:51 PM
That's a pen
It's a dive.
18-12-2022, 03:51 PM
It's a great goal but it doesn't take away from the fact the defender loses the 1st ball and then doesn't react to the 2nd ball leaving Mbappe in yards of space.
Every goal has a element of mistake if you look close enough. It wouldn’t be my take on that goal at all.
18-12-2022, 03:52 PM
Jermaine Jenus adds so much to Co commentary I feel the only thing that could better him is Rio Ferdinand :faf:
18-12-2022, 03:53 PM
That's a pen
No chance.
You have to hand it do Deschamps. This is how good managers influence games.
Realised it wasn't working and had made change after change to get his team doing something that works. It's nothing fancy, he's just got them being physical, upsetting Argentina and targeting their right side which looks weak.
Unbelievably France look most likely winners in a game they've never been in.
Linekers puss will be tripping him. Pleasing.
Donegal Hibby
18-12-2022, 03:54 PM
That's a pen
A blatant dive imo
18-12-2022, 03:54 PM
Incredible. France have played for all of 5 mins of this final and are 2-2.
If Argentina lose this they'll be sick.
One of the most one sided games I've seen for 80 minutes.
18-12-2022, 03:56 PM
Mbappe is a video game character.
18-12-2022, 03:57 PM
Mbappe is a video game character.
It's like the created FIFA player with all stats jacked up to 99 midway through a game because you were getting battered.
18-12-2022, 03:58 PM
Giroud can’t leave the stage :faf:
18-12-2022, 03:58 PM
Argies hanging on here
18-12-2022, 03:59 PM
I dunno how otamendi and tagliafico have managed to not be booked
18-12-2022, 03:59 PM
What a save.
18-12-2022, 04:00 PM
Play on ref ffs
18-12-2022, 04:02 PM
Breathtaking stuff.
18-12-2022, 04:03 PM
Extra time.
18-12-2022, 04:03 PM
Messi getting Otamendi to 2 finals is by far his most impressive achievement.
Glad France made a game of it in the end.
Roll on extra time.
Seekyit
18-12-2022, 04:04 PM
Cracking last twenty minutes.
Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 04:04 PM
Best final of all time?
18-12-2022, 04:05 PM
The game changed after the **** up by the Argentinian defender for the penalty. This game should never have gone to extra time, but it has.
18-12-2022, 04:05 PM
Messi to score the winning penalty. :wink:
Donegal Hibby
18-12-2022, 04:06 PM
I'm knackered watching it 😂
Nessi
Best final of all time?
It’s been poor… until the last 15. :greengrin
Argentina looking spent. Think the French athleticism will get them across the line. Not fussed either way, both teams would make worthy winners for different reasons.
18-12-2022, 04:07 PM
Best final of all time?
In my lifetime, yes.
18-12-2022, 04:07 PM
Messi has played really well (other than losing the ball in his own half for the equaliser).
But Argentina have missed Di Maria. After he's gone off they have had almost no threat going forward.
18-12-2022, 04:08 PM
Best final of all time?
Nah , West Germany v Argentina in 1986 , The Game Maradonna won the World cup :wink:
cammy1969
18-12-2022, 04:08 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221218/c08ee8725f1a233cb7dc8933ec1b7d25.jpg
Glad I cashed oot
Donegal Hibby
18-12-2022, 04:10 PM
I think most world cup finals that went to extra time have went to penalties?
That's 2 or 3 times now Messi has seemed to want to do it all himself.
Easy pass to slide his teammate in there but he has tried to run into an area with about 5 defenders waiting.
I think most world cup finals that went to extra time have went to penalties?
Only two. Just from the top of my head. Nothing the commentator said.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221218/c08ee8725f1a233cb7dc8933ec1b7d25.jpg
Glad I cashed oot
Bet365 pay oot when your team goes 2-0 up
I had Argentina and it was settled when Di Maria made it 2-0
cammy1969
18-12-2022, 04:12 PM
Yeah but not on that bet as was an anti post
cammy1969
18-12-2022, 04:12 PM
Was your bet on 90 mins
18-12-2022, 04:13 PM
That is a nasty tackle there.
18-12-2022, 04:14 PM
Was your bet on 90 mins
Yeah mate 90 minutes
Love the 2-0 settlement option . Had loads off bets recently where a team goes 2-0 up and end up drawing but i still win
18-12-2022, 04:16 PM
Acuna for Di Maria looking like the worst sub of the tournament.
18-12-2022, 04:18 PM
Acuna for Di Maria looking like the worst sub of the tournament.
I just assumed at the time Di Maria had run his race but if it was tactical then it's been a disastrous decision.
cammy1969
18-12-2022, 04:18 PM
Yeah mate 90 minutes
Love the 2-0 settlement option . Had loads off bets recently where a team goes 2-0 up and end up drawing but i still win
Yeah it really is Andy nothing better than bet settled by h/t me and a m8 still got anti post bets running paying £1300 for argies and £1500 French so it’s a win win really
18-12-2022, 04:19 PM
Kolo Muani is a weird one. I never thought he’d be at this level judging by watching him for Frankfurt. Him Coman Thuram and Canavinga have been great subs and changed it.
Donegal Hibby
18-12-2022, 04:19 PM
Only two. Just from the top of my head. Nothing the commentator said.
Yeah , your right 👍
18-12-2022, 04:21 PM
2 totally different but equally outstanding defensive blocks there.
18-12-2022, 04:21 PM
Bonkers World Cup, just bonkers.
18-12-2022, 04:22 PM
Yeah it really is Andy nothing better than bet settled by h/t me and a m8 still got anti post bets running paying £1300 for argies and £1500 French so it’s a win win really
Superb mate :aok:
Better in your/our pockets than the bookies
Argentina suddenly looking the more likely again.
What a game.
And how is that not a corner?
Upamecano saves them again!!
Think this is going to pens.
18-12-2022, 04:23 PM
Think this is going to pens.
Messi or Mbappe will win it before then :agree:
18-12-2022, 04:24 PM
Yeap. One of them is going to produce a moment of magic.
18-12-2022, 04:25 PM
As an aside this is the first major final I have ever chosen STV over the BBC to watch, for me the pundits etc have been a class above.
18-12-2022, 04:25 PM
I'd quite like penalties to add to the drama
18-12-2022, 04:26 PM
Acuna has been hideous since coming on.
He looks gassed.
Paulie Walnuts
As an aside this is the first major final I have ever chosen STV over the BBC to watch, for me the pundits etc have been a class above.
I didn’t realise it was on both. Changed to STV after 20 mins and it’s been streets ahead.
I'm going McAllister.
18-12-2022, 04:28 PM
Yasss
Think that will be ruled out
On second viewing he's on
I'm going McAllister.
Or not.
JamesHFC
18-12-2022, 04:29 PM
🐐
Ah ffs
JamesHFC
It was meant to be. The greatest footballer ever.
No reason to overturn that. Great run, timed perfectly.
Ball was obviously about 10 yards over the line even with the naked eye.
God I love Messi
game
this time
i think
maybe
CL0762
Leo 😍😍😍😍😍
18-12-2022, 04:30 PM
Wow. What a moment.
James310
I am nearly crying here, please let him win the World Cup.
Both managers deserve credit.
Both have amde subs that have swung the game for their team at key moments.
There's still another goal in this.
18-12-2022, 04:31 PM
Come on France one last push
18-12-2022, 04:31 PM
3-2 Argentina
Donegal Hibby
18-12-2022, 04:32 PM
Messi is the best :not worth
WOW! what a game this has turned into, too busy enjoying to type, had to be Messi with the goal.
Paulie Walnuts
18-12-2022, 04:33 PM
Feel quite emotional watching this. I love Messi anyway but this feels like your watching one of the most special sporting moments ever.
JamesHFC
18-12-2022, 04:33 PM
Feel quite emotional watching this. I love Messi anyway but this feels like your watching one of the most special sporting moments ever.
This moment will be spoken of a long time after we pass away, we are witnessing history.
18-12-2022, 04:34 PM
Camavinga been sensational since he came on, that’s an assault.
18-12-2022, 04:34 PM
I reckon there is another twist in this yet. It's been that kind of game.
Great World Cup, topped off by a great final.
18-12-2022, 04:35 PM
Penalty.
18-12-2022, 04:36 PM
That's a penalty
Thus is unbelievable stuff
Just saying.
**** off again
Hibs didn't get a pen for the same thing midweek, Hun *****
CL0762
Jesus ****ing Christ man
James310
What's the lottery numbers?
Well **** me, never seen this coming
def penalty
oh dear argentina
18-12-2022, 04:37 PM
Great penalty.
JamesHFC
The greatest world cup final ever.
Yaaas. Heart is racing.
How cool was that??
Penalty France.
Mbappe is superb. Nerves of steel
18-12-2022, 04:38 PM
Crazy defending again from Argentina.
You know as soon as you put your arm up like that the risk you are taking. Take nothing away from France but the Argentina defence has been bizarre at times.
3-3 unbelievable.
soul destroying for fans and players alike when a bit of sheer idiocy may stop you winning
def penalty
oh dear argentina
Don't cry for me Argentina 😢
Great final great world cup
Greatest game of all time
Apart from 0-7
Argentina wasting time at 3-2 with 8 mins left.
Good to see a team pay for it.
TBH how can you jump with your back to the ball and keep your arms glued to your side, almost physically impossible.
18-12-2022, 04:39 PM
Don't cry for me Argentina 😢
it's their fans and the rest of his team mates i feel sorry for, madness
‘First person to score a hat trick in a World Cup final with all three over the line.’
Argentina wasting time at 3-2 with 8 mins left.
Good to see a team pay for it.
Spot on
18-12-2022, 04:40 PM
This is the Mbappe final. Unbelievable.
CL0762
I ****ing love football. Absolutely ****ing love it
Some game
It’s THE game.
Brilliant final this.
‘First person to score a hat trick in a World Cup final with all three over the line.’
Thought I’d never say this, but ally McCoist is a ****ing legend
18-12-2022, 04:41 PM
That's how you do it Harry.
18-12-2022, 04:41 PM
First ever final in which both teams have scored 3.
Bridge hibs
18-12-2022, 04:42 PM
I want Argentina to win it now as there will be a wee bit Scottish and Irish in there through MacAllister 😀
His family were in the Irish town of Donabate since 1690, before a Joseph Mac Allister moved to Pergamino in 1865, where many Irish had settled. Joseph then arranged for his nephews John and William to also emigrate from Ireland to Argentina. Mac Allister also has ancestry from Fife in Eastern Scotland.
18-12-2022, 04:43 PM
What a save
Greatest World Cup final I’ve ever seen.
wow what a save
What a ****ing save. That's as good as a goal.
Sitter at the other end.
Almost a Watford v Leicester moment.
Whoever wins glad we've all witnessed this WC Final. Astonishing game.
Let's hope the Hibs players are watching this and put it into practice for the next game.
Yup, this is the best game of football I've ever seen.
What an end to a game. Both sides could have scored.
18-12-2022, 04:44 PM
****ing bravo
both keepers will save a penalty :)
Shame this has to be decided on penalties.
I'd happily watch another half hour of this instead.
Incredible save.
Paulie Walnuts
This is potentially the best football match of all time.
Handball rules in football need changed. Ball is smashed towards your face and your supposed to just take it full on the nose?
I never want this to end.
Mr Grieves
What a ****ing game that was. Feels incredibly cruel deciding it on penalties
18-12-2022, 04:45 PM
Ended up an amazing game. Wow.
Paulie Walnuts
Handball rules in football need changed. Ball is smashed towards your face and your supposed to just take it full on the nose?
It wouldn’t have hit his nose though?
Seekyit
Well, that was mental.
cameronw-hfc
Emi f*****g Martinez.
Football is brilliant when teams want to win rather than avoid losing.
Top marks to everyone involved in making that the spectacle it was.
Penalties seem somewhat harsh.
Penalties.
Whoever wins it will have deserved it.
Whoever loses won’t have.
Seekyit
18-12-2022, 04:46 PM
What a ****ing game that was. Feels incredibly cruel deciding it on penalties
Deserved a replay that.
Handball rules in football need changed. Ball is smashed towards your face and your supposed to just take it full on the nose?A handball covering your face wouldnt be a penalty
Clear making his body bigger for the 3-3 pen
Silly but can't argue with it
And I say that as someone who wants Messi to win it
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Football is brilliant when teams want to win rather than avoid losing.
Top marks to everyone involved in making that the spectacle it was.
Penalties seem somewhat harsh.
Penalties are excellent way to end a game like that.
Best world cup final I have ever seen.
Anybody put 3-3 on the predictor?
Paulie Walnuts
Is this World Cup an argument for winter World Cups when players are in full swing rather than shattered?
This has been the best tournament I’ve seen by a mile.
18-12-2022, 04:47 PM
2nd best final I've seen
Only beaten by one in May 2016
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Anybody put 3-3 on the predictor?
I put 0-0 😅.
It wouldn’t have hit his nose though?
But you put up your hands to protect your face. Where do your elbows go? Sorry but handball is total nonsense at the moment. Folk getting done when they are in no way trying to stop the ball.
Penalties in front of the Argentina fans.
I hope this goes to Lloris and Martinez taking penalties!
One of Messi or Mbappe will miss.
18-12-2022, 04:48 PM
What a ****ing save. That's as good as a goal.
Sitter at the other end.
Almost a Watford v Leicester moment.
How good a save was that, given it's well beyond the core of his body?
This is potentially the best football match of all time.
….. nah! …… I give you 21 May 2016. :greengrin
Bravo Argentina and France, greatest game of football I've ever witnessed, except the 0-7 game.
JamesHFC
Martinez is the better penalty saver but I just think France will do this. Lloris to captain back to back World Cup's is meant to be.
18-12-2022, 04:49 PM
Is this World Cup an argument for winter World Cups when players are in full swing rather than shattered?
This has been the best tournament I’ve seen by a mile.
I actually really like the tournament this time of year. Great to have football to watch when it's freezing outside.
Just nonsense with it being changed after the fact.
Roxyhibee
Absolutely brilliant.!! 👏🏻
“We are going to get a few letters about that Ally..”
Wheatabix wrists Martinez
Mbappe and Messi going 1st. No nonsense waiting until 5th from them.
18-12-2022, 04:50 PM
Ice for blood
Good save, poor penalty.
Advantage Argentina
Good to see the best two players in the World step up first . Contrast with Neymar.
Granite wrists Martinez
18-12-2022, 04:51 PM
Twice if Lloris resisted the urge to step then he would have saved them. Hard to do but he'd want another go at both I reckon.
18-12-2022, 04:52 PM
He didn't look confident
These French penalties 😂
Another shocker of a penalty
Martinez always staying big and not guessing has spooked them. They know he'll go the right way 8 times out of 10.
JamesHFC
Lloris is dreadful at pens.
18-12-2022, 04:53 PM
score this and it's game
for the 3rd time
France will miss again.
Martinez is horrible
18-12-2022, 04:54 PM
Yassss
18-12-2022, 04:55 PM
Baws
Are Argentina the 1st team to win the new World Cup trophy 3 times?
Do they get to keep it?
What an outstanding game that was!
Brilliant final. Mbappe and Messi exceptional. Martinez excellent in the shootout. Great TV.
Let's never insult Messi by comparing him to anyone else again.
Well done Argentina and especially Messi, thoroughly deserved.
18-12-2022, 04:56 PM
i feel for the losers in this game
well done Argentina