25-11-2022, 11:02 AM
Beautiful :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
25-11-2022, 11:03 AM
What a game!
That's what happens when you've got 8 outfield players having to do the work of 10.
So the team humped by England are beating Wales, now that's embarrassing 🤣🤣
Allen wants punching for that attempt at a clearance for the 1st goal. That has to be in row Z, a lazy attempt at a clearance. Swings at it and lets his team down.
Up-the-slope
iran v USA might be tasty :greengrin
25-11-2022, 11:04 AM
Typical of the World Cup so far. May as well just not bother watching a first half!
Brilliant second half of football again though and well deserved for Iran.
Bale tears please
Wales experiencing a 'Scotland' World Cup.
:agree: Welcome to the World Cup Finals :greengrin
mayhem... what a poor clearance by Joe Allem
Rank rotten
25-11-2022, 11:06 AM
Hibsed it???
25-11-2022, 11:07 AM
Hibsed it???
What does that mean ?
25-11-2022, 11:07 AM
Hugely, massively unlikely but imagine if USA win tonight.
25-11-2022, 11:08 AM
Enjoyable game. Iran were fun to watch going forward, absolutley franetic at the end. The ref ruined my 0-1 Iran prediction there adding on all that time.
Wales deserved nothing from that, they've got to have regrets playing the way they did. No control in the game or looked liked wanting to go for it.
25-11-2022, 11:09 AM
Hennessey is guff, but Wards been terrible for Leicester this season, hasn’t he?
I’ve not noticed him the last couple of games, but he’s mostly been useless.
Started poorly this season but he's been unreal in the last few games. 5 clean sheets in 7 games and man of the match in a narrow defeat to Man City. Won their supporters player of the month for October as well.
Mcbizz1998
25-11-2022, 11:12 AM
Need a heart of stone not to… laugh [emoji23]
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 11:16 AM
I imagine would need a nappy if that happens
25-11-2022, 11:17 AM
BBC panel talking about Iran's "gamesmanship" while Bales dives and whinges throughout the game.
Chorley Hibee
25-11-2022, 11:18 AM
BBC panel talking about Iran's "gamesmanship" while Bales dives and whinges throughout the game.
Showed a compilation of 'fouls' that weren't fouls or marginal at best.
Klinsmann talking ***** too.
Tully
25-11-2022, 11:21 AM
Dry your eyes wales get it up you
Hibsed it???
**** off with that patter
Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 11:30 AM
iran v USA might be tasty :greengrin
Certainly adds a bit of extra spice to it , winner goes through now!
25-11-2022, 11:34 AM
So the team humped by England are beating Wales, now that's embarrassing 🤣🤣
Just proves how good England are 😀
Sergio sledge
25-11-2022, 11:42 AM
Yeah, although to be fair I thought the way the Iran players were acting around the red car was pretty bad. They surrounded the referee and were right in his face, to the point where he had to push some of them away just to be able to move.
Then when he went to the screen they were following him over to it which they're not meant to do.
25-11-2022, 11:47 AM
Was saying that to my English mates on the group chat.
Oh how I’d dearly love to be coming home from Qatar next week with a solitary World Cup point.
In fact, WC 98 and Euro 2020 we came home with 1 point.
JamesHFC
25-11-2022, 11:48 AM
An intense game in which the better team won. If England win tonight then it will make the last group matchday interesting with Iran, USA & Wales still able to qualify.
Bale & Ramsey have hardly kicked a ball this season but it would have been harsh to take away their opportunity of playing in the World Cup after everything they've done for their country, it's not as if Wales were ever going to go very far anyway.
In the last 6 years they've reached the World Cup, got to the knockout stages of one Euro's & to the Semi Final's of another Euro's. For one of the smallest nations about that is an incredible achievement, fairplay to them. Must be some feeling.
Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 11:50 AM
Just proves how good England are 😀
Knew someone was going to come up with that 😁
OldEast
25-11-2022, 11:52 AM
Hibsed it???
Get to **** with that patter and once you're there **** off some more.
25-11-2022, 11:59 AM
Wales a waste of a spot at this WC. #
Hope Qatar get pumped now.
JamesHFC
25-11-2022, 12:05 PM
Wales a waste of a spot at this WC. #
Hope Qatar get pumped now.
They've picked up more points than Argentina & Germany so far.
25-11-2022, 12:06 PM
Ouch, there’s some touchy folk on here today lol
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 12:10 PM
the Qatar goalie reminds me of the days of playing footie in the park when everyone took a turn in goals.. but not any good and looked a bit out of place and in a goalie top 2 sizes too big :greengrin
25-11-2022, 12:13 PM
Ouch, there’s some touchy folk on here today lol
1/ Its use doesnt make sense, the original meaning was that Hibs regularly snatched defeat from the jaws of victory - Wales were never in that position today.
2/ In general it is not in use now apart from idiot 12 year old Hearts fans on twitter.
I guess thats why some people dont like a Hibs fan to use it?
25-11-2022, 12:16 PM
Is it not the case in Scotland that if there is a yellow card, VAR can’t intervene to get it upgraded to a Red?
No. If the referee initially gives a yellow card and then looks at it on the video it can be upgraded to a red card.
The same can happen in reverse.
What can't happen is that the referee gives nothing and then after looking at the replay decides to give a yellow card.
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 12:34 PM
penalty surely.... whats point in VAR
25-11-2022, 12:35 PM
Both of these teams are as ***** as each other:hilarious
25-11-2022, 12:35 PM
penalty surely.... whats point in VAR
Very clumsy tackle. Agree
25-11-2022, 12:36 PM
penalty surely.... whats point in VARif ronaldo was a pen then this one is a stick on. They not even bothered looking at it, what’s the point of VAR as you say.
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 12:37 PM
Did you hear commentator... if England win their group then they play runner up in this one
25-11-2022, 12:38 PM
Player knows what he's doing but the defender is clumsy and still fouls. Should have been a penalty. If they don't win 5-0 will we hear about it for more than 3 days straight? :wink:
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 12:38 PM
if ronaldo was a pen then this one is a stick on. They not even bothered looking at it, what’s the point of VAR as you say.
outside box its effectively a tackle from behind no where near ball :dunno:
25-11-2022, 12:40 PM
Did you hear commentator... if England win their group then they play runner up in this one
If those F****** fell oot a windae they’d go up the way!
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 12:40 PM
still we are getting very little in the way of replays from the 12 cameras as in the previous games this WC
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 12:44 PM
Qatar would look like a division below in the Scottish Championship
Cat Stanton
25-11-2022, 12:48 PM
What rubbish. We managed to draw against Iran....
25-11-2022, 12:58 PM
Yeah, although to be fair I thought the way the Iran players were acting around the red car was pretty bad. They surrounded the referee and were right in his face, to the point where he had to push some of them away just to be able to move.
Then when he went to the screen they were following him over to it which they're not meant to do.
i just watched the replay online, i thought they were an absolute disgrace the way they acted, i've said time and again Fifa/whoever have to clamp down on this, players surrounding referees especially with the anger of those Iranian players is not a good look
hibbie02
25-11-2022, 12:59 PM
If Qatar lose this one, what is the likelihood of them calling off the rest of the tournament? It's their baw and they're takin it with thum!
25-11-2022, 01:09 PM
Couple of nice bits at ht on the BBC there, a nice wee vignette on Maradona who died 2 years ago today, and a fantastic clip of the Saudi Arabia manager "motivating" his players at HT against Argentina :greengrin
25-11-2022, 01:11 PM
If Qatar lose this one, what is the likelihood of them calling off the rest of the tournament? It's their baw and they're takin it with thum!
Zero.
Brilliant header, 2-0
Chorley Hibee
25-11-2022, 01:46 PM
Qatar score.
Jonathan Pearce screaming that "the place goes wild" followed by shots of some of the most passionless goal celebrations I've ever seen, particularly from a host nation of a World Cup.
25-11-2022, 01:47 PM
Qatar score.
Jonathan Pearce screaming that "the place goes wild" followed by shots of some of the most passionless goal celebrations I've ever seen, particularly from a host nation of a World Cup.
Noticed that :tee hee::tee hee:
Chorley Hibee
25-11-2022, 01:47 PM
3-1 Senegal.
25-11-2022, 01:49 PM
Qatar fans leaving in their droves like they did long before the final whistle against Ecuador , Bit harsh not to stay to the end , It's the world cup man !
25-11-2022, 01:54 PM
Qatar fans leaving in their droves like they did long before the final whistle against Ecuador , Bit harsh not to stay to the end , It's the world cup man !
Probably been told their whole lives that if you spend enough you will win.
Harsh lessons for them here.
Renfrew_Hibby
25-11-2022, 01:54 PM
Good to see the Lochgilphead Loyal are there... probably taught the locals how to do the bouncy bouncy.
25-11-2022, 01:57 PM
Good to see the Lochgilphead Loyal are there... probably taught the locals how to do the bouncy bouncy.
Or how to leave early......
25-11-2022, 02:15 PM
Senegal were the better team against Holland and have some of the worlds best players in their positions, I think they have a shot at the quarters.
25-11-2022, 02:41 PM
Wonderful piece by ITV there about the LGBTQ+ community in Qatar and the horrible discrimination they face. Well done to them for continuing to speak about it.
25-11-2022, 02:46 PM
Wonderful piece by ITV there about the LGBTQ+ community in Qatar and the horrible discrimination they face. Well done to them for continuing to speak about it.
I was reminded earlier that, the last time the WC was in England, it was illegal to be gay.
25-11-2022, 02:52 PM
I was reminded earlier that, the last time the WC was in England, it was illegal to be gay.
And it took Scotland till 1980, shamefully. Hard to believe really.
25-11-2022, 02:55 PM
And it took Scotland till 1980, shamefully. Hard to believe really.
Yes and that was only in private. I think it was around 1996 that it became legal to be openly gay in public places. Tragic
25-11-2022, 02:56 PM
I tune in for the football. The pre-match build-up at this world cup does nothing for the viewing fan to enhance the excitement in the run up to games but is now used as a platform to talk about all sorts of issues.
25-11-2022, 02:56 PM
That Dutch team are a bunch of neds
I fancy ecuador here wasnt impressed by holland first game and i think ecuador have more about them than senegal
25-11-2022, 03:05 PM
Pick that one oot
25-11-2022, 03:06 PM
Oofffttt
25-11-2022, 03:36 PM
Any result that leaves England needing a point at least from the Wales game, will surely send the Welsh home early.
25-11-2022, 03:46 PM
Timber just fell over there……
25-11-2022, 03:51 PM
I'm going down, I'm Jurrien Timber
Chorley Hibee
25-11-2022, 03:52 PM
Thought that goal should have stood.
Dutch keeper has already dived in the opposite direction and no way the Ecuador player has hampered his ability to reach that.
Trinity Hibee
25-11-2022, 03:53 PM
Thought that goal should have stood.
Dutch keeper has already dived in the opposite direction and no way the Ecuador player has hampered his ability to reach that.
Thought the same tbh but I can see why it wasn’t allowed
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 03:58 PM
so which of these 2 more likely to beat the team from south of Gretna in next round :confused:
25-11-2022, 03:59 PM
You've gone out on a limb there...
25-11-2022, 04:10 PM
You've gone out on a limb there...
Branching out
Trinity Hibee
25-11-2022, 04:11 PM
Ecuador have been really good here
MartinfaePorty
25-11-2022, 04:14 PM
Been a very decent game, this
Ecuador have been really good here
Treeeemendous….
StevesFamau5
Ener Valencia could do a job for us.. C'mon Ron get him here haha
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 04:18 PM
some meaty challenges now... very competitive in midfield
25-11-2022, 04:20 PM
Deary me, how unlucky for Ecuador
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 04:22 PM
im loving Ecuador getting in dutch faces and not allowing them to build - aggressive pressing all over and pace on the break
25-11-2022, 04:33 PM
Ener Valencia could do a job for us.. C'mon Ron get him here haha
I'm waiting on the Peruvian version
HibeeHibernia
25-11-2022, 04:33 PM
Ecuador have been brilliant can see them nicking the win here.
25-11-2022, 04:34 PM
There was a guy running along George IV bridge this afternoon holding a bit Ecuador flag over his head :greengrin Fair cheered me up.
HibeeHibernia
25-11-2022, 04:40 PM
There was a guy running along George IV bridge this afternoon holding a bit Ecuador flag over his head :greengrin Fair cheered me up.
De la Cruz ? :greengrin
25-11-2022, 04:45 PM
Well, it wouldn’t be The Tank if the bloke was running
Trinity Hibee
25-11-2022, 04:49 PM
Does my head in when a team expects their opponent to put the ball out just because someone’s decided to sit down. Get on with the game.
25-11-2022, 04:49 PM
Netherlands will probably qualify but will almost certainly end up also-rans. They’ve shown nothing in the second half.
25-11-2022, 04:52 PM
Ecuador player off on a stretcher.
Netherlands will probably qualify but will almost certainly end up also-rans. They’ve shown nothing in the second half.
Slow predictable build up and lazy misplaced passes, luckily to get a draw.
25-11-2022, 05:04 PM
Could be! Just brilliant to see the enthusiasm on the other side of the world.
HibeeHibernia
25-11-2022, 05:07 PM
Well, it wouldn’t be The Tank if the bloke was running
:hilarious certainly not mate
HibeeHibernia
25-11-2022, 05:09 PM
Could be! Just brilliant to see the enthusiasm on the other side of the world.
It certainly is mate and he will have a lot to be proud of tonight a thought they were brilliant like hopefully that Valencia's injury isn't too serious.
25-11-2022, 05:55 PM
Watching the ITV presentation of the England game, there’s two young female presenters chatting about the game. One of them is showing everything she’s got plus her breakfast. Am I an out of touch old fuddy duddy to raise an eyebrow at this or are sport presentation standards slipping? I could probably guess what sort of response I’ll get. :greengrin
25-11-2022, 06:04 PM
Watching the ITV presentation of the England game, there’s two young female presenters chatting about the game. One of them is showing everything she’s got plus her breakfast. Am I an out of touch old fuddy duddy to raise an eyebrow at this or are sport presentation standards slipping? I could probably guess what sort of response I’ll get. :greengrin
I’ll have to rewind that to check :)
Does anyone know why England play in predominantly white with blue flashes, when their flag is white with a red cross? Absolutely zero red on their kit.
25-11-2022, 06:10 PM
You can see that Southgate has coached this lot to be cautious, but when they break (like that with Saka) they are pretty exciting.
25-11-2022, 06:11 PM
You can see that Southgate has coached this lot to be cautious, but when they break (like that with Saka) they are pretty exciting.
I think he's made them overcautious, with the players they have they should be going for it in every game
Renfrew_Hibby
25-11-2022, 06:12 PM
Does anyone know why England play in predominantly white with blue flashes, when their flag is white with a red cross? Absolutely zero red on their kit.
Up until WW2 England wore black shorts but obviously the similarity to the German kit forced a subtle change to dark blue shorts.
25-11-2022, 06:16 PM
I think he's made them overcautious, with the players they have they should be going for it in every game
Yep, if Scotland had those players I'd be expecting to win the world cup!
25-11-2022, 06:21 PM
I think England might have a game on their hands here.
Saint Hibee
25-11-2022, 06:24 PM
I’m enjoying the England fans belting out the Andy Halliday song. Didn’t know they were Hibees.
25-11-2022, 06:24 PM
i find it a bit hard to stay interested watching it. It's just a bit too slow for me.
Agree
25-11-2022, 06:27 PM
England are mince at both fullbacks
25-11-2022, 06:32 PM
England are mince at both fullbacks
The whole defence is poor. The will struggle when they face their first decent team.
Green Reaper
25-11-2022, 06:33 PM
Off the bar!
Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 06:33 PM
Off the bar , very unlucky there
25-11-2022, 06:34 PM
Even if they go on and win tonight I've seen enough already to tell me that England aren't winning the tournament.
25-11-2022, 06:37 PM
Even if they go on and win tonight I've seen enough already to tell me that England aren't winning the tournament.
Yes, they are simply too slow, first instinct isn't to attack and are weak at the back.
Nae chance. QF at best
25-11-2022, 06:38 PM
Iran game looks like it was a bit of a false dawn for England. Back to the ultra cautious pish that has had them huffing and puffing for months now, thankfully.
25-11-2022, 06:41 PM
One way traffic this game. England not impressive at all.
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 06:41 PM
no press from England letting yanks get out very easy... and yanks have good shape and are playing well so far
25-11-2022, 06:42 PM
Tyler Adams has been a stand out for the US.
Bags of energy, right in England's faces every time they try to play through the midfield and is breaking up everything then moving the ball quickly.
pollution
Just a bit dull this England team.
No outstanding player.
Only one team looking likely to score at the moment.
USA won't want half time.
25-11-2022, 06:44 PM
I doubt England will be as bad in the 2nd half. This game has shades of the USA v Wales one where they were good for 45 then faded badly.
Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 06:45 PM
Getting quite relaxed about England's chances of winning it now ,look a very ordinary side
25-11-2022, 06:45 PM
Huge chance Mount.
25-11-2022, 06:47 PM
watching the curling instead and tried to cash out my HT/FT england but they won't let me :( have england been rank :)
25-11-2022, 06:48 PM
USA had a first half like that against Wales before falling away in the second half.
Surely England can’t play that poorly in the second half but hopefully they do lol
watching the curling instead and tried to cash out my HT/FT england but they won't let me :( have england been rank :)
Awful.
25-11-2022, 06:49 PM
Commentator, pissed off with England but still patronisingly says ‘sometimes you’ve got to hand it to the opposition …… ‘. Hope your saying that at the end of the game,pal.
25-11-2022, 06:50 PM
Awful.
oh dear, i've also got them 1st/2nd for the damn thing, i'll even lose a fiver if i cash out on that
sigh
Stairway 2 7
25-11-2022, 06:51 PM
Crap game. US shaded it with the two chances but very poor to watch
25-11-2022, 06:57 PM
Neymar and Danilo both have ankle ligament damage after X-rays, Neymar out for at least the next two games
England back to their slow predictable football they were playing this past few months, possibly the Iran scoreline flatters them a bit, USA looking sharper and being the more dangerous.
25-11-2022, 07:06 PM
Neymar and Danilo both have ankle ligament damage after X-rays, Neymar out for at least the next two games
Definitely a blow but for me Vinicius Jr is the real impact player now for Brazil and the one I think they'd miss the most.
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 07:09 PM
USA will run out of steam around 60 mins and England will bring on subs .
we have seen many of the so called better teams get frustrated first half by good athletic / disciplined displays against but ultimately prevail. Even Brasil looked more average first half
25-11-2022, 07:09 PM
May be a slightly blessing in disguise for Brazil in a way. I know all the Brazilian players are very good technically wise but surely there’s a temptation to always pass to your best player on the pitch?
Saint Hibee
25-11-2022, 07:13 PM
Is there some reason Foden isn’t playing?
25-11-2022, 07:14 PM
Almost as if people got a bit carried away over a win against Iran.
25-11-2022, 07:15 PM
Is there some reason Foden isn’t playing?
I think he will be shortly!
Is it just me or does anyone else not see what others do in Declan Rice? Decent player, bit of a machine, and he does have more to his game than just a defensive midfielder but not sure a lot more.
He’s a good age and there’s the English premium, but when he’s linked with clubs its always for £100m or over which seems crazy IMO.
Up-the-slope
im sure I heard a stat that USA have youngest squad in finals
Commentator, pissed off with England but still patronisingly says ‘sometimes you’ve got to hand it to the opposition …… ‘. Hope your saying that at the end of the game,pal.
You should have finished the quote which was, sometimes you have to hand it to the opposition and the US are well organised. Didn't come across as patronising to me just a honest opinion.
Donegal Hibby
The only thing that's " coming home " to England after this world cup is there team😉
25-11-2022, 07:16 PM
Is it just me or does anyone else not see what others do in Declan Rice? Decent player, bit of a machine, and he does have more to his game than just a defensive midfielder but not sure a lot more.
He’s a good age and there’s the English premium, but when he’s linked with clubs its always for £100m or over which seems crazy IMO.
Nope, not just you. I don’t think it would be too ridiculous to say he’s kind of symbolic of this English side in that sense.
Stairway 2 7
25-11-2022, 07:17 PM
Ty Adams won't be at Leeds much longer, best quality midfielder on the park. Tremendous all season but showing to a large audience his quality this tournament
25-11-2022, 07:17 PM
You should have finished the quote which was, sometimes you have to hand it to the opposition and the US are well organised. Didn't come across as patronising to me just a honest opinion.
It’s the US that are handing it to them right now. Just hope USA score before running out of steam.
25-11-2022, 07:20 PM
England being totally outplayed …… I won’t be surprised if they fluke the game in time added on. They don’t look like scoring any time soon.
25-11-2022, 07:25 PM
England look like they have had a man sent off. They must be certs to win this game on that basis.
25-11-2022, 07:25 PM
England will still win.
25-11-2022, 07:28 PM
Ty Adams won't be at Leeds much longer, best quality midfielder on the park. Tremendous all season but showing to a large audience his quality this tournament
Man of the match by a country mile tonight. A cut above anyone else on the park.
25-11-2022, 07:31 PM
Grealish giving England a bit of a spark here
Cracking player
Donegal Hibby
Think the yanks are beginning to tire
NC1875
Nope, not just you. I don’t think it would be too ridiculous to say he’s kind of symbolic of this English side in that sense.
Another overrated English player. Surely not ? Guys bang average
£100 million 🤣🤣
25-11-2022, 07:36 PM
This is tedious pish
25-11-2022, 07:38 PM
NASA don't need to bother spending billions going back to the moon. They could just study the atmosphere at this game at the moment. Absolutely dead.
25-11-2022, 07:40 PM
NASA don't need to bother spending billions going back to the moon. They could just study the atmosphere at this game at the moment. Absolutely dead.
They’ve been doing that at Tiny for decades
25-11-2022, 07:40 PM
Kane is playing like Doidge.....
25-11-2022, 07:41 PM
Even allowing for the dire displays of Argentina and Germany, I haven’t seen such a poor performance from a fancied team. They’ll be a bit worried with this display.
25-11-2022, 07:43 PM
Lump your money on England to spawn this
25-11-2022, 07:45 PM
Even allowing for the dire displays of Argentina and Germany, I haven’t seen such a poor performance from a fancied team. They’ll be a bit worried with this display.
Big reality check. They were getting a bit ahead of themselves after one game. Might do them some good
25-11-2022, 07:48 PM
I suppose England will say they had a similar non performance v Scotland in the 2nd game of the Euros and didn't go on to do too badly.
Tougher challenges ahead this time though.
25-11-2022, 07:48 PM
Lump your money on England to spawn this
They are absolute gash. The fawning over this team is a total embarrassment. They only got a result against Iran cause their keeper knocked himself out after 5 minutes. :agree:
25-11-2022, 07:51 PM
Harry Kane header goes about 5 yards wide
'well he did everything.....'
😅
Kane so very close?
His header was about 5 feet wide of the post!
Donegal Hibby
Some header by kane there😂
England 0-0 USA full time.
England absolutely dire.
Harry Kane header goes about 5 yards wide
'well he did everything.....'
😅
🤣🤣
25-11-2022, 07:52 PM
Get the ball in the ****ing box man
go the yanks
‘A drab English performance in parts’. More like a totally piss poor English performance for 90 minutes. Lucky to survive this game with an ill-deserved point.
WTF the US doing there?? Playing for the draw instead of putting it in the box.
Awful game of soccer!
Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 07:55 PM
The English fans will get S**tfaced tonight on the drink ,.O wait 😂
25-11-2022, 07:55 PM
USA were excellent tonight, great fitness and more importantly great skill and concentration - reality check for England. England were outplayed in the middle of the pitch. USA are a very good emerging side, they’ll do well in future competitions. Terrific attitude throughout the side.
Up-the-slope
25-11-2022, 07:56 PM
looking forward to pundits dredging for positives from that... yanks did better to not fade as badly as they did against wales
JamesHFC
25-11-2022, 07:58 PM
A change of coach required at England. They have so much quality in the attacking positions but he struggles to find a system to suit them. Phil Foden should be one of, if not the first name on the team sheet.
25-11-2022, 07:58 PM
USA still unbeaten in the WC by engerlundy
NC1875
25-11-2022, 08:02 PM
As usual, everything associated with England and football = over rated
ACLeith
25-11-2022, 08:03 PM
If I've worked this out right the only way england can't qualify is if Wales beat them by 3 goals and the other game isn't a draw?
Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 08:06 PM
Which is the real England :faf:
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/20555341/england-0-usa-0-world-cup-shocking-report/
25-11-2022, 08:07 PM
If I've worked this out right the only way england can't qualify is if Wales beat them by 3 goals and the other game isn't a draw?
They are all but through after a point tonight.
Big reality check in terms of performance but as for getting the job done they are as good as through and will likely win the group as well.
JamesHFC
25-11-2022, 08:07 PM
4 goals I think. 3 goals would have them & Wales on the same GD but England would have scored the most goals.
Boring slow England, Southgate shows far too much loyalty to players like Sterling, Maguire, Rice etc, Foden must be wondering what the hell he has to do to get a game for this team, they'll be knocked out when they meet a proper good team.
25-11-2022, 08:10 PM
The English fans will get S**tfaced tonight on the drink ,.O wait 😂
They'll be out on the lash
copyright Donegal Hibby earlier in the thread lol
NC1875
25-11-2022, 08:15 PM
Roy Keane 👏🏼
25-11-2022, 08:15 PM
USA v Iran should be very interesting final game.
ACLeith
25-11-2022, 08:16 PM
4 goals I think. 3 goals would have them & Wales on the same GD but England would have scored the most goals.
Is it the head to head if level on GD? I agree it's unlikely to happen but Bale may turn up next time and dive for 3 pens?
25-11-2022, 08:19 PM
England are obviously through but popcorn stuff coming up after that display as they will struggle to beat any of the top teams.
25-11-2022, 08:24 PM
after reading articles of anti-government protesting iranians,especially women, at the game today getting abused from groups of pro-iranian government fans, and security very much on the side of the pro-government fans i hope USA absolutely batter them, besides, i thought their players were a disgrace today in the lead up to the red card
i know they won't but a last minute winner from Aaronson or Adams will do me :)
A change of coach required at England. They have so much quality in the attacking positions but he struggles to find a system to suit them. Phil Foden should be one of, if not the first name on the team sheet.
25-11-2022, 08:36 PM
Is it the head to head if level on GD? I agree it's unlikely to happen but Bale may turn up next time and dive for 3 pens?
Should be head to head like the Euros,but unfortunately head to head is away down the list of qualifying criteria 😡
after reading articles of anti-government protesting iranians,especially women, at the game today getting abused from groups of pro-iranian government fans, and security very much on the side of the pro-government fans i hope USA absolutely batter them, besides, i thought their players were a disgrace today in the lead up to the red card
100% this
ACLeith
25-11-2022, 08:41 PM
Should be head to head like the Euros,but unfortunately head to head is away down the list of qualifying criteria 😡
OK, so it'll have to be FOUR Bale dives then!
25-11-2022, 08:46 PM
Wales would need to win by 4 goals and a winner between USA and Iran for England to go out.
They've definitely qualified but if they finish 2nd they'll possibly play the Netherlands in the last 16 and although they haven't been great I'm sure England would have preferred an easier draw.
25-11-2022, 08:56 PM
Southgate is a glorified cone carrier.
He has a guy who is a 1st pick for Pep Guardiola in his squad yet can't or won't find a way to build around him.
It will be back to the Championship for him when he's binned in the next couple of weeks.
Donegal Hibby
25-11-2022, 09:31 PM
Won't happen but was thinking what a shock it would be if Wales scored 4 and knocked England out which got me looking into world cup shocks , must admit I'd forgotten some of them.
https://youtu.be/E8Zdq_5qTdc
25-11-2022, 09:39 PM
Kane so very close?
His header was about 5 feet wide of the post!
Shame he wasn't able! 😀
25-11-2022, 10:57 PM
England's team of superstars find their natural level again tonight. Very pleasing though that was a brutal game to watch.
New contract for turgid, unimaginative Southgate immediately please. Especially When he thinks bringing on Henderson and Grealish will solve the problems ahead or Foden 😁
26-11-2022, 02:52 AM
Bizarre attitude, those protesting the government are no less Iranian, and no less desperate to beat the US than those who support the government. I hope they do.
26-11-2022, 08:32 AM
Tunisia Australia shortly, followed by Poland Saudi Arabia at lunchtime, then some big old heavyweight bouts later France Denmark, Mexico Argentina
26-11-2022, 08:36 AM
Tunisia Australia shortly, followed by Poland Saudi Arabia at lunchtime, then some big old heavyweight bouts later France Denmark, Mexico Argentina
Like to say differently, but not confident of Australia getting anything out of this
26-11-2022, 08:51 AM
Oz obviously relying on Jason scoring the winner from the bench
Renfrew_Hibby
26-11-2022, 08:56 AM
Like to say differently, but not confident of Australia getting anything out of this
Admittedly I font know an awful lot regards the domestic football scene in Oz but to me their squad is really poor and there doesn't seem to be a great plan or vision going forward.
Compared to the USA but in Australia's respect, especially Canadas approach, they a now a good bit behind them.
Canada have players playing in the top euro leagues at big clubs and have been improving at all levels year on year. Australia seem to have stood still for a while now.
Jason wouldn't get a look in with Canada... that tells its own story.
26-11-2022, 08:57 AM
Too many jambos in their squad. If Tunisia hump them I’m sure it will feel like a win.
26-11-2022, 09:05 AM
This is like a home game for the Tunisians. Noisiest fans yet?
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 09:09 AM
I see the Tunisians have gone Aussie rules with the tackles already :greengrin
26-11-2022, 09:09 AM
Too many jambos in their squad. If Tunisia hump them I’m sure it will feel like a win.
Only one playing today? Can’t say I know too much about the Jambos actual squad
26-11-2022, 09:11 AM
Only one playing today? Can’t say I know too much about the Jambos actual squad
Cammy Devlin was spotted trying to pinch the Qataris Migrant Workers Benevolent Fund money earlier and so has been relegated to the stands :agree:
26-11-2022, 09:16 AM
Who was the one that Mbappe ripped a new one for
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 09:17 AM
Who was the one that Mbappe ripped a new one for
Atkinson?
26-11-2022, 09:20 AM
Aus squad is poor. Compared to years ago they've regressed in terms of quality.
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 09:21 AM
liking the Aussie away strip.
Although im sure its soaking up the heat for the players
26-11-2022, 09:23 AM
Atkinson?
He seems to have disappeared completely, obviously still stuck in Mbappe’s pocket
26-11-2022, 09:23 AM
1-0 Australia
26-11-2022, 09:24 AM
Get in!!
26-11-2022, 09:24 AM
lovely header 1-0 aussies
26-11-2022, 09:26 AM
lovely header 1-0 aussies
Yep great finish
26-11-2022, 09:27 AM
He seems to have disappeared completely, obviously still stuck in Mbappe’s pocket
Injured they said
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 09:27 AM
Duke looks like a Lyndon Dykes type. Effective if not cultured
SJNB Hibby
26-11-2022, 09:29 AM
Aussies are time wasting already
26-11-2022, 09:30 AM
Duke looks like a Lyndon Dykes type. Effective if not cultured
Plus trying to get the Tunisian into trouble for what he knew fine well was just a follow through.
26-11-2022, 09:33 AM
Sideshow Bob lobbing the ball onto the Aussies face lol
HibeeHibernia
26-11-2022, 09:35 AM
has cummings got any playing yet? hopefully we'll see him get on the day
26-11-2022, 09:37 AM
Sorry, repeated post
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 09:37 AM
Plus trying to get the Tunisian into trouble for what he knew fine well was just a follow through.
just a robust 50/50...
am surprised how much the refs letting go or just free kick - last world cup this would have had 3 or 4 yellows already (all the better for it too)
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 09:38 AM
has cummings got any playing yet? hopefully we'll see him get on the day
was on for 30 last match and touched it twice
26-11-2022, 09:40 AM
Just noticed the Tunisian captain has a “Save the Planet” armband on? Surely that’s more a political message than “One Love”
26-11-2022, 09:42 AM
That souttar is better than the hearts one.
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 09:43 AM
Just noticed the Tunisian captain has a “Save the Planet” armband on? Surely that’s more a political message than “One Love”
Thats an official FIFA sanctioned one
https://www.fifa.com/social-impact :3wise smi
26-11-2022, 09:44 AM
Do you mean the Rangers one?
If so it's his brother.
26-11-2022, 09:44 AM
Thats an official FIFA sanctioned one
Just shows FIFA up for what they are
26-11-2022, 09:45 AM
Didn't realise Harry is Soapy John's brother.
26-11-2022, 09:46 AM
just a robust 50/50...
am surprised how much the refs letting go or just free kick - last world cup this would have had 3 or 4 yellows already (all the better for it too)
It’s a spicy encounter right enough.
26-11-2022, 09:49 AM
Tunisia miss a sitter.
26-11-2022, 09:54 AM
Do you mean the Rangers one?
If so it's his brother.
Aye I know. Was he not at Stoke? Good player.
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 09:58 AM
As im tearing into some smokey bacon pringles and finising my second pot of saturday morning coffee (not long after toasted fruitbread 'breakfast'... im wondering what the average weight gain for an adult male watching most of the world cup is.. :hide:
HibeeHibernia
26-11-2022, 09:59 AM
was on for 30 last match and touched it twice
oh well two touches is better than none a suppose eh
26-11-2022, 10:02 AM
As im tearing into some smokey bacon pringles and finising my second pot of saturday morning coffee (not long after toasted fruitbread 'breakfast'... im wondering what the average weight gain for an adult male watching most of the world cup is.. :hide:
Second pot?? That’s a lot of coffee :faf:
26-11-2022, 10:02 AM
Yep
Was rumoured to be going to Everton until he done his knee playing for Oz.
Probably going to an EPL club next season…hence Stoke’s interest in Porteous.
26-11-2022, 10:04 AM
Injured
26-11-2022, 10:06 AM
Admittedly I font know an awful lot regards the domestic football scene in Oz but to me their squad is really poor and there doesn't seem to be a great plan or vision going forward.
Compared to the USA but in Australia's respect, especially Canadas approach, they a now a good bit behind them.
Canada have players playing in the top euro leagues at big clubs and have been improving at all levels year on year. Australia seem to have stood still for a while now.
Jason wouldn't get a look in with Canada... that tells its own story.
But David Wotherspoon does?
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 10:07 AM
Second pot?? That’s a lot of coffee :faf:
:dunno: im just debating sticking a 3rd on - No5 Columbian roast beans ground to order :greengrin - to get me through second half
26-11-2022, 10:11 AM
Australia are awful, which isn't a great surprise when you look at their squad and the level most guys are playing at.
26-11-2022, 10:11 AM
He still is.
26-11-2022, 10:12 AM
I’m debating a quick scoot on my bike after this and before the Poland game to try and claw back about 5 calories lol
26-11-2022, 10:13 AM
Australia are awful, which isn't a great surprise when you look at their squad and the level most guys are playing at.
They're not great but yet as things stand if France win tonight Australia will likely qualify for the last 16 if they avoid defeat in their last game.
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 10:21 AM
I’m debating a quick scoot on my bike after this and before the Poland game to try and claw back about 5 calories lol
That's a good effort! :greengrin I might walk the 200 yards to the Distillery open day between matches to get my exercise :cb
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 10:22 AM
Must be subs time to freshen things up - some tired looking players
edit... as I type the subs look to be being readied
26-11-2022, 10:25 AM
Here comes super Mac
26-11-2022, 10:26 AM
Ali Abdi should have seen red by now.
26-11-2022, 10:29 AM
Khazri telling everyone they are going two up front.
26-11-2022, 10:32 AM
Great ball by Jamie there. Unlucky.
Up-the-slope
26-11-2022, 10:33 AM
Khazri telling everyone they are going two up front.
but they have to get it to them.
Mooy and Irvine have put in some work closing and breaking things up