View Full Version : The world cup thread
05-12-2022, 06:36 PM
Easy
Donegal Hibby
Brazil are just a joy to watch
Wonder what Gary, Rio and co will make of this?
it's a hammering
Korea are in line for a doing here!
Sensational !!!
05-12-2022, 06:37 PM
Wonder what Gary, Rio and co will make of this?
“They’ll be looking at England and not wanting to play them”
Now that's just taking the p1ss, what a goal.
05-12-2022, 06:37 PM
Some beautiful football this half from Brazil and 3 quality goals and the pen which was quality itself.
05-12-2022, 06:38 PM
Wonder if Korea will come out for the 2nd half?
05-12-2022, 06:38 PM
Korea are in line for a doing here!
I think they have already had one. :greengrin
I genuinely thought South Korea would go close in this one.......
Yea I seen you prediction haha
05-12-2022, 06:39 PM
Never thought South Korea had a chance but didn't see this coming. This could be really messy at the end for South Korea.
05-12-2022, 06:42 PM
The only thing I’m not liking about this Brazil performance is the font used on the numbering. Absolutely shocking.
“They’ll be looking at England and not wanting to play them”
Indeed but Neymar’s not world class as he’s only playing in France and they’ve got Kyle Walker!
05-12-2022, 06:47 PM
I'm sure the STV audio and video have gone out of sync.
05-12-2022, 06:48 PM
I'm sure the STV audio and video have gone out of sync.
Change channel and return
plhibs
05-12-2022, 06:48 PM
5 mins added time, must be for the goal celebrations, give S.K. a break ref.:greengrin:greengrin
This should be 6 or 7, S Korea all over the place.
it's a hammering
Sam a football
05-12-2022, 06:51 PM
Change channel and return
Merci buckets
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 06:54 PM
On this performance it's really hard to see anyone beating Brazil.
05-12-2022, 06:57 PM
Different sport playing against one of the other top teams.
05-12-2022, 07:00 PM
I think we can probably look forward to a Brazil v Argentina semi final.
05-12-2022, 07:00 PM
I’m pleased Keane has mentioned how disrespectful Brazil are being. I don’t mind the players dancing after goals, I think he was harsh to criticise them but the manager was out of order taking the piss there IMO.
Fully accept that makes me a grumpy old *******.
05-12-2022, 07:03 PM
The proof is in the pudding and in this case the pudding is a football
Eat my goal
05-12-2022, 07:12 PM
Is Infantino on appearance money?
His face gets shown in just about every game.
05-12-2022, 07:13 PM
What does Infantino get a 5 second screen time with his wee golden name plate during every single game?
05-12-2022, 07:15 PM
Is Infantino on appearance money?
His face gets shown in just about every game.
BBC commentator made a barbed remark earlier that it was contractual.
I think he was probably right.
DIXIHIBS
05-12-2022, 07:19 PM
I’m pleased Keane has mentioned how disrespectful Brazil are being. I don’t mind the players dancing after goals, I think he was harsh to criticise them but the manager was out of order taking the piss there IMO.
I must be a grumpy old git as well...
05-12-2022, 07:22 PM
What does Infantino get a 5 second screen time with his wee golden name plate during every single game?
He needs to be careful. Sniper vibes.
05-12-2022, 07:28 PM
Am i right in hearing the commentator said the stadium the Brazil game is taking place right now will be knocked down and the materials shipped to Uruguay ?! WTF?! That must have cost millions to build !! Not to mention years of labour building it
05-12-2022, 07:28 PM
That should have been 4-1.
05-12-2022, 07:31 PM
Am i right in hearing the commentator said the stadium the Brazil game is taking place right now will be knocked down and the materials shipped to Uruguay ?! WTF?! That must have cost millions to build !! Not to mention years of labour building it
Aye, it’s been built in such a way it’s like a ****ing massive Lego set that can just be taken apart and rebuilt elsewhere.
It’s something to do with thousands of shipping containers but i don’t really get that.
05-12-2022, 07:34 PM
Aye, it’s been built in such a way it’s like a ****ing massive Lego set that can just be taken apart and rebuilt elsewhere.
It’s something to do with thousands of shipping containers but i don’t really get that.
Crazy eh . All this for a world cup in the winter
05-12-2022, 07:36 PM
What a goal!
05-12-2022, 07:36 PM
Score
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 07:39 PM
What a strike wow
05-12-2022, 07:42 PM
Nice touch bringing on the third choice keeper
05-12-2022, 07:45 PM
Brazil have taken their foot completely off the pedal. The game’s won, saving energy but primarily to prevent future opposition getting too much insight into their attacking strategies.
05-12-2022, 07:53 PM
Think it’s 974 containers hence the name
05-12-2022, 08:12 PM
Think it’s 974 containers hence the name
Aye but how do container’s make a football stadium? Taking it really back to basics, the (normally) concrete structure where the seats go is sloped down and not the shape of a shopping container?
Do the containers make up the outside shell of the stadium? If the whole stadium is made of these containers I’m baffled 😂 and if they’re not, what structure is the sloped bit the seats go on?
Absolutely miles out my depth here
05-12-2022, 08:14 PM
Brazil have taken their foot completely off the pedal. The game’s won, saving energy but primarily to prevent future opposition getting too much insight into their attacking strategies.
That's exactly what I was thinking.
They definitely don't want to give away any free kick strategies.
JamesHFC
05-12-2022, 08:31 PM
Brazil v France in the final I think. Hard to see past the Brazilian's at the moment, their attack is immense. Experienced defence and the best GK in the world to back it up.
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 08:40 PM
Brazil v France in the final I think. Hard to see past the Brazilian's at the moment, their attack is immense. Experienced defence and the best GK in the world to back it up.
Was just going to post the same. Though Ruud Guillet thinks Netherlands will beat Argentina which I doubt.Could Argentina beat Brazil or Spain beat France to cause a minor shock , I am actually expecting one shock result for some reason!
JamesHFC
05-12-2022, 08:44 PM
Was just going to post the same. Though Ruud Guillet thinks Netherlands will beat Argentina which I doubt.Could Argentina beat Brazil or Spain beat France to cause a minor shock , I am actually expecting one shock result for some reason!
LVG is a clever manager, if Messi & Di Maria are up for it though they should win. Morocco against Spain tomorrow could be an upset I feel.
05-12-2022, 08:46 PM
Aye but how do container’s make a football stadium? Taking it really back to basics, the (normally) concrete structure where the seats go is sloped down and not the shape of a shopping container?
Do the containers make up the outside shell of the stadium? If the whole stadium is made of these containers I’m baffled 😂 and if they’re not, what structure is the sloped bit the seats go on?
Absolutely miles out my depth here
You know we have this thing called Google? It's like ask Jeeves but better .. 😁
Anyway: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stadium_974
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 08:49 PM
LVG is a clever manager, if Messi & Di Maria are up for it though they should win. Morocco against Spain tomorrow could be an upset I feel.
Did any of you see that about Ronaldo and Portuguese manager?
05-12-2022, 08:51 PM
You know we have this thing called Google? It's like ask Jeeves but better .. 😁
Anyway: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stadium_974
Google is for losers who don’t go on hibs.net.
I won’t even open that link, I’ll just wait until a geek does and explains it to me in idiot terms.
Not sorry for that either FWIW.
JamesHFC
05-12-2022, 08:57 PM
Did any of you see that about Ronaldo and Portuguese manager?
With him apparently being unhappy with Ronaldo's reaction to being subbed? I don't know if I'll read too much into it, media just trying to stir things or take things out of context probably. Fully expect Ronaldo to start every game they play.
05-12-2022, 08:59 PM
Google is for losers who don’t go on hibs.net.
I won’t even open that link, I’ll just wait until a geek does and explains it to me in idiot terms.
Not sorry for that either FWIW.
Shippy containerybold,
Bangy bangy, weldy weldy, screwy screw,
Voila! Stadiumy builty!
Unbangy bangy, un weldy weldy, un screwy screw,
Loady on shippy, set sailybold to Uruguay
Sinky at sea, huge insurancey pay!
And many apologies to Stanley Unwin!
05-12-2022, 09:02 PM
Shippy containerybold,
Bangy bangy, weldy weldy, screwy screw,
Voila! Stadiumy builty!
Unbangy bangy, un weldy weldy, un screwy screw,
Loady on shippy, set sailybold to Uruguay
Sinky at sea, huge insurancey pay!
And many apologies to Stanley Unwin!
Makes sense. Thanks
Donegal Hibby
05-12-2022, 09:04 PM
With him apparently being unhappy with Ronaldo's reaction to being subbed? I don't know if I'll read too much into it, media just trying to stir things or take things out of context probably. Fully expect Ronaldo to start every game they play.
Just read about it there now
05-12-2022, 09:05 PM
Makes sense. Thanks
I think the containers are how they brough the migrant workers into the country to build the thing...
Logie Green
05-12-2022, 10:23 PM
Years ago Chris Robinson said hertz would be able to dismantle their 3 oldest Meccano stands and re-assemble them elsewhere when he told them they’d have to move from Tynecastle. Visionary.
05-12-2022, 10:34 PM
several teams have immense attacking options and Brazil will face far tougher defences than the one that collapsed in front of them tonight. It’s actually a very very good World Cup (football-wise).
i’d be happy with a Brazil France Final though I’d be equally happy with Argentina vs France or Brazil vs England
06-12-2022, 12:37 PM
Looking forward to the matches today.
Cheering on Morocco purely because of Benji and Zemamma then Portugal as they are my tip for the tournament.
06-12-2022, 12:39 PM
:greengrinDon't have a problem with it and I am getting on a bit. It's what makes Brazil Brazil, nothing to do with being disrespectful.
That cock Jason Cundy was going on about how bad it was last night, attention seeking moron.
:greengrinDon't have a problem with it and I am getting on a bit. It's what makes Brazil Brazil, nothing to do with being disrespectful.
That cock Jason Cundy was going on about how bad it was last night, attention seeking moron.
06-12-2022, 01:33 PM
the post-goal dancing isn’t really my scene ( I don’t have a huge problem with it either) but I’m amazed at how many people are offended by so-called ‘showboating’ on the pitch. I personally love watching highly skilled players doing wonderful things with a football that I and 99% of others could never do. I don’t think there’s enough of it.
06-12-2022, 01:55 PM
meanwhile, rio ferdinand has stated Brazil are the only side that could beat england
thankfully i switch over whenever the cameras are back to the studios
06-12-2022, 01:57 PM
So many empty seats at every game.
06-12-2022, 01:59 PM
meanwhile, rio ferdinand has stated Brazil are the only side that could beat england
thankfully i switch over whenever the cameras are back to the studios
Against Scotland in the Euros he stated he'd never been so confident of a result
06-12-2022, 02:04 PM
Against Scotland in the Euros he stated he'd never been so confident of a result
so that's yet another trophy won , in Rio Land
06-12-2022, 02:40 PM
Just turned this on, looks like Morocco are holding their own against Man City here.
I'm desperate for Morocco to win this.
06-12-2022, 03:27 PM
very tense, you can feel it from the 90% of the fans who are supporting Morocco.
Spain must break through eventually.
Green forever
06-12-2022, 03:28 PM
Really poor game for the neutral watching it, very little has happened in the whole game.
06-12-2022, 03:32 PM
very tense, you can feel it from the 90% of the fans who are supporting Morocco.
Spain must break through eventually.
I’m not impressed by Spain. They’ll probably manage to scrape through here but I can’t see them going any further.
Ah his classic Euro 2021 prediction of a 2-1 England win even before Italy had played their semi-final, because 'it didn't matter' who the mighty 3 Lions would be playing and eventually beating.
Man's a welt.
Morocco have been good this tournament but this is a very poor game. Spain seem to be getting worse with every game they play!
06-12-2022, 03:41 PM
Ziyech knows what 'puta' means in Spanish. Its getting feisty.
06-12-2022, 03:45 PM
only watched this last 5 mins on the 2nd half, disappointing no goals :(
06-12-2022, 03:45 PM
Every game ive seen Amrabat has been immense. Has to be in the team of the tournament.
06-12-2022, 03:47 PM
Really poor game for the neutral watching it, very little has happened in the whole game.
I've seen people saying it's been a great world cup, alot of the games I seem to choose to watch have been like this. A miss match in quality/ belief with one team trying to hold out over the other and offering nothing in attack and the attacking side playing possession-based side to side struggling to create, refusing to be direct.
Equador v Senegal and the Uruguary v Ghana towards the end are the sort of games I've probably enjoyed most purely as it was two evenly matched teams going for it end to end.
Should be some cracking quarters to watch though.
06-12-2022, 03:47 PM
Spain miss a proper radge like Ramos in their team, he's always good for a red card or a free kick from 2,475,183 yards that hits Jupiter
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 03:48 PM
Just turned this on, looks like Morocco are holding their own against Man City here.
I'm desperate for Morocco to win this.
Funny how some teams just dont look like themselves when in rank change strips
06-12-2022, 03:49 PM
thank goodness the moroccon player survived that
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 03:52 PM
I've seen people saying it's been a great world cup, alot of the games I seem to choose to watch have been like this. A miss match in quality/ belief with one team trying to hold out over the other and offering nothing in attack and the attacking side playing possession-based side to side struggling to create, refusing to be direct.
Equador v Senegal and the Uruguary v Ghana towards the end are the sort of games I've probably enjoyed most purely as it was two evenly matched teams going for it end to end.
Should be some cracking quarters to watch though.
i think Morocco have shown great technical ability - just far less possession. Very even as its 0-0 :greengrin Defending is a big part of the game and Spain do not look quite so clever at that. (keeper cant be best in Spain :confused:)
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 04:01 PM
i think Morocco have shown great technical ability - just far less possession. Very even as its 0-0 :greengrin Defending is a big part of the game and Spain do not look quite so clever at that. (keeper cant be best in Spain :confused:)
If Morocco go any deeper they will end up getting the bends !!
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 04:07 PM
If Morocco go any deeper they will end up getting the bends !!
Sure but that does not contradict my points :dunno: Their job is not to play open expansive football to make Spain look good and create more - its to try and win a knock out match
06-12-2022, 04:08 PM
:agree:Even if you dont like the style of play you cant argue with the pure dedication and quality of some of the tackling and blocks, its astonishing from them.
Id just like to see an underdog in the quarters.
06-12-2022, 04:11 PM
Balde and Fati come on for Spain, who's next? Ginge
06-12-2022, 04:12 PM
:faf: Specki?
How does that fat Moroccan #21 not score there?! His second good chance
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 04:14 PM
:agree:Even if you dont like the style of play you cant argue with the pure dedication and quality of some of the tackling and blocks, its astonishing from them.
Id just like to see an underdog in the quarters.
Id rather see the best teams progress , find Morocco awful to watch.
06-12-2022, 04:15 PM
Harsh. Bono still hasnt found what hes looking for and i for one want him to find it.
06-12-2022, 04:16 PM
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 04:17 PM
:rules:
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 04:20 PM
surely best team is one that wins the game :confused:
06-12-2022, 04:22 PM
surely best team is one that wins the game :confused:
Morocco played some nice stuff in the groups, got forward a lot from full back.
I think theyve just got different strategies depending on the opponent.
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 04:26 PM
Harsh. Bono still hasnt found what hes looking for and i for one want him to find it.
Funny 😁 . Would be a travesty if Spain go out to this lot though.
#21 is a ****ing donkey up front. 3 good chances now for Morocco.
That striker is brilliant until he has to shoot haha
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 04:27 PM
They topped their group with 7 (Belgium & Croatia in it) where as Spain got 4 (in group with Costa Rica & Japan) so better team in qualifiers :aok:
06-12-2022, 04:28 PM
Morata has been honking too.
PHeffernan
06-12-2022, 04:29 PM
Yeah, no point in coming out like Korea did last night.
A good team are Morocco.
A shame their sub striker has been so poor at finishing tonight.
Morrocan attackers do a Miller and Hansen
The tension man. Good noise from a sparse crowd.
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 04:30 PM
amazing looking at all the subs (6 allowed with ET) that no subs were allowed pre 1970 WC
06-12-2022, 04:32 PM
where has 3 minutes time come from? crazy
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 04:33 PM
even with all the subs will there be 10 players who don't have cramp able to take pens at the end :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 04:34 PM
They topped their group with 7 (Belgium & Croatia in it) where as Spain got 4 (in group with Costa Rica & Japan) so better team in qualifiers :aok:
Surprised you think they are better than Spain what I've seen it's been all Spain , Morocco sitting deep trying to catch Spain on the break .each to their own though
CL0762
06-12-2022, 04:35 PM
Penalty kicks you absolutely love to see it.
Should just completely do away with ET
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 04:36 PM
where has 3 minutes time come from? crazy
they are giving full allocation for every sub this WC which is adding masses - stops time wasters benefitting (but nonsense when 3 subs come on at once they still in other matches have added the time x 3)
06-12-2022, 04:37 PM
i wish they had a Golden Goal rule
instead of some sides hoping to instead hang on/play for the lottery that is penalties
Penalty kicks you absolutely love to see it.
Should just completely do away with ET
I give you May 21st 2016.
Even in the last minute of injury time in extra time, Spain just pass around the midfield not really trying to bust a gut to score. Quite frustrating to watch.
06-12-2022, 04:38 PM
That wasn't in extra time
06-12-2022, 04:38 PM
Spain to win narrowly on penalties. They just about deserved to win in 120 minutes.
06-12-2022, 04:39 PM
Come on Morocco. Do it for Benji
Even in the last minute of injury time in extra time, Spain just pass around the midfield not really trying to bust a gut to score. Quite frustrating to watch.They hit the Post in the last minute?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
CL0762
Why would you give me that when the game didn’t go to extra time?
That wasn't in extra time
I realised it didn’t make sense just after typing :faf:
Up-the-slope
Surprised you think they are better than Spain what I've seen it's been all Spain , Morocco sitting deep trying to catch Spain on the break .each to their own though
Im not saying that technically or possesion wise they are better than Spain in this game - but they have played the game they needed to to stay in the contest in a way others have tried but not managed. And in groups performed better than Spain. Its what makes watching Football what it is. I would have stopped watching Hibs years ago if the best paper team always won:greengrin
06-12-2022, 04:40 PM
Will Bono have the edge here??
06-12-2022, 04:41 PM
Cool 1-0 Morocco
i wish they had a Golden Goal rule
instead of some sides hoping to instead hang on/play for the lottery that is penalties
Pretty sure GG was done away with because teams would play even more defensively in ET.
Sarabia looked scared
06-12-2022, 04:42 PM
2-0 the Lions
06-12-2022, 04:43 PM
Ronaldo benched. Don't think he's bouncing back this time. Career certainly over at the top level.
06-12-2022, 04:43 PM
Soler also looking petrified, misses again!!
06-12-2022, 04:44 PM
ta ta spain i think
06-12-2022, 04:44 PM
I can hear my Spanish neighbour going ****ing nuts from here haha
06-12-2022, 04:45 PM
Hilarious stuff.
Bono has the ****ing edge all right
06-12-2022, 04:45 PM
Pretty sure GG was done away with because teams would play even more defensively in ET.
any idea when that GG was actually used, was it just trialled or actually in a competition
06-12-2022, 04:46 PM
Biscuits deary me
Hakimi to win it
Paulie Walnuts
These pens from Spain have been so lazy.
Up-the-slope
spain have gone all Engurlund in their pens... very poor...
Mr Grieves
What a penalty
Panenka unbelievable.
Marseille will be bouncing tonight.
Up-the-slope
fans going mental now
meh
06-12-2022, 04:47 PM
Stunned, well done Morocco. :thumbsup:
That was tremendous. Brilliant stuff
Spain looked as though they hadn’t practised pens
Talented Spain squad but still haven't found what they're looking for.
06-12-2022, 04:48 PM
Well I did not see that coming before the match started.
Ronaldo benched. Don't think he's bouncing back this time. Career certainly over at the top level.
Write off CR7 at your peril :greengrin
Hopefully the death knell for "slow" penalties. Those stuttering run-ups are awful to watch and always seem to be saved. Just blast the thing.
06-12-2022, 04:49 PM
Morocco have a chance against Portugal/Switzerland.
Come on the Zemammas
The English pundits will be absolutely wetting themselves watching yet another fancied team bite the dust.
Donegal Hibby
Bad day for world cup when a pub team like that go thru . Will enjoy there next game when they get pumped :smug:
06-12-2022, 04:50 PM
They hit the Post in the last minute?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
After about 20 million passes doing nothing. Whistle could have gone at any time
06-12-2022, 04:50 PM
Sarabia’s bottom lip was wobbling there, no tears, just lip wobbles.
Got to feel for him, misses that chance at the end then misses the pen. At least he wasn’t alone.
06-12-2022, 04:51 PM
Hopefully that's the last we see of tippy tappy pish. One shot on target.
06-12-2022, 04:51 PM
Bad day for world cup when a pub team like that go thru . Will enjoy there next game when they get pumped :smug:
hope so, played for penalties from the second half
06-12-2022, 04:52 PM
Write off CR7 at your peril :greengrin
Not writing him off, still a deadly finisher but the world's best don't get benched in the world cup.
Up-the-slope
Portugal or Swiss.... are you sure :greengrin
Come on the Zemammas
Shame he doesn’t drink. Shisha pipe perchance
When did we turn into the old firm on here. Of course they did. Far inferior players.
At the Hydro and missed this, another big name bites the dust.
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 04:53 PM
Yeah , horrible football totally negative , add nothing to world cup.
06-12-2022, 04:54 PM
The pundits are spot on about Amrabat. Four superb performances now against top teams, he should be at champions league level.
DIXIHIBS
06-12-2022, 04:56 PM
Hopefully the death knell for "slow" penalties. Those stuttering run-ups are awful to watch and always seem to be saved. Just blast the thing.
Japan done the same thing. Dont get it.
Stairway 2 7
06-12-2022, 04:56 PM
When did we turn into the old firm on here. Of course they did. Far inferior players.
Spot on well done then. They did what they had to in the knock out stages of the ******g world cup. Brilliant well done then, Morocco will be bouncing
Stairway 2 7
06-12-2022, 04:58 PM
The pundits are spot on about Amrabat. Four superb performances now against top teams, he should be at champions league level.
Liverpool are in talks with him apparently
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 04:58 PM
No old firm here just like watching good football and best team went out to pub team of world cup , when did we turn into st Johnstone and Livingston on here ?
06-12-2022, 05:02 PM
No old firm here just like watching good football and best team went out to pub team of world cup , when did we turn into st Johnstone and Livingston on here ?
Aww, best team should've had more than 1 shot on target in 120 minutes then.
Nothing pub team about Morocco. Belgium, Croatia and Spain played, zero conceded. Deserved to be in the quarters. Spain all fart, no poo.
06-12-2022, 05:03 PM
Liverpool are in talks with him apparently
Reminds me of Fabinho now you mention it.
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 05:04 PM
:rolleyes: now you are being silly - everyone of those Moroccan players would get in the Hibs team...other than 21 :greengrin
and of course no Pub Teams allowed there... it is Qatar
SJNB Hibby
06-12-2022, 05:06 PM
Interesting point that of the 7 games so far, 6 have been won by Group Winners. Croatia the only runners-up to get through
06-12-2022, 05:07 PM
The English pundits will be absolutely wetting themselves watching yet another fancied team bite the dust.
Understandably, no?
06-12-2022, 05:07 PM
Morocco have looked pretty good throughout the tournament. Great win for them tonight and totally deserve to enjoy the moment before trying to go even better. Quite a fan of the Spanish team but no complaints.
Good luck to them.
06-12-2022, 05:09 PM
Scotland should be taking points off Spain in the Euro Qualifers next year.
CL0762
06-12-2022, 05:10 PM
77% possession with over 1000 attempted passes - 1 shot on target.
Awful.
06-12-2022, 05:11 PM
Interesting point that of the 7 games so far, 6 have been won by Group Winners. Croatia the only runners-up to get through
So you're saying we should all put our mortgage on Portugal tonight then?
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 05:12 PM
Aww, best team should've had more than 1 shot on target in 120 minutes then.
Nothing pub team about Morocco. Belgium, Croatia and Spain played, zero conceded. Deserved to be in the quarters. Spain all fart, no poo.
If you like watching that type of football , totally defensive trying to counter attack now and again that's fine . Only one team trying to win it in 2nd though.Anyway explains why some you want Martindale and Davidson as next Hibs manager 😂
06-12-2022, 05:13 PM
If you like watching that type of football , totally defensive trying to counter attack now and again that's fine . Only one team trying to win it in 2nd though.Anyway explains why some you want Martindale and Davidson as next Hibs manager 😂
Tell us you has a bet on Spain without telling us you had a bet on Spain.
06-12-2022, 05:15 PM
Give up your **** about pub team, Spain weren't good enough to beat them, deal with it.
Paulie Walnuts
06-12-2022, 05:17 PM
Could Morocco go all the way?
They’ll fancy themselves in their QF. Neither Portugal or Switzerland are all that.
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 05:17 PM
Portugal or Swiss.... are you sure :greengrin
Portugal or swiss very capable of beating them maybe not pump them but France or England would certainly be capable of it . As I said don't enjoy watching teams like and will be glad when they are knocked out .
06-12-2022, 05:18 PM
Argentina v Brazil and France v Portugal in the semi-finals. Would be surprised if it's not.
06-12-2022, 05:19 PM
I like your posts mate but you’re letting yourself down a bit here.
Defending is a part of the game and Morocco did a masterclass tonight.
06-12-2022, 05:20 PM
Not writing him off, still a deadly finisher but the world's best don't get benched in the world cup.
Would not surprise me if he scores the winner
Needs to cut out the petulant stuff and be a team player
The end is nigh so needs to go out on a high
Let’s see what happens
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 05:21 PM
Tell us you has a bet on Spain without telling us you had a bet on Spain.
No bet on Spain just like to see the best footballing teams go thru that's all.
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 05:39 PM
Agreed defending is part of the game but when you consider they done it for the entire 2nd half with only a odd counter attack didn't really add to the spectacle of the game and imo they were playing for penalties at the start of the 2nd half .World cup is only around 4 years a time and I'd prefer to see the better teams that play the nicest football stay in it than the likes of a extremely negative team like Morocco who don't excite me at all . Anyway we all have different opinions on the beautiful game 😉
Pretty hard to not defend when the other team has 70-80% possession.
Got feeling this game on now will be very good.
Stairway 2 7
06-12-2022, 05:47 PM
Javier Fernández Donegal De La Hibs
06-12-2022, 05:47 PM
Got feeling this game on now will be very good.
Switzerland are normally quite a cautious side. Let's hope you're right.
06-12-2022, 05:51 PM
Hopefully that's the last we see of tippy tappy pish. One shot on target.
Hopefully they play like that in March
06-12-2022, 05:57 PM
Portugals anthem boring.
Swiss anthem basically ‘happy birthday to you’
06-12-2022, 06:01 PM
Regardless of Ronaldo’s problems just now, it’s interesting to note, in the numerous camera shots of the guy, he never appears to be in conversation or having banter with anyone and seems wrapped up in his own world. I wonder if this is a shrewd Portuguese tactic for this game.
06-12-2022, 06:02 PM
Ronaldo benched? Like their flag, that’s a big plus for the Swiss
06-12-2022, 06:06 PM
Ronaldo benched? Like their flag, that’s a big plus for the Swiss
Yup. Not sure what his uber fans will come up with now to deflect.
06-12-2022, 06:11 PM
Morocco, reminded me of watching Greece in the Euro's when they won it, anti-football that would send you to sleep. Although Spain just no good enough to get past the parked bus, so they go oot.Swiss to beat the Portuguese, wi any luck.
06-12-2022, 06:12 PM
I have a lot of sympathy with Donegal's view.
Most of the second 45 was deliberately played in the last two thirds of Morocco's half and I commented, "I hope I don't have to watch this negativity again."
However, I also joked that I wouldn't be surprised if penalties ended 0-0 such was Spain's lack of penetration too.
One big positive for Morocco was their less than hirsute player with the infinite energy. He was outstanding so he deserved something from the game.
06-12-2022, 06:12 PM
Portugals anthem boring.
Swiss anthem basically ‘happy birthday to you’
I liked the Spain one the words were very meaningful and deep.
06-12-2022, 06:14 PM
I liked the Spain one the words were very meaningful and deep.
Silence is golden? :greengrin
06-12-2022, 06:16 PM
I have a lot of sympathy with Donegal's view.
Most of the second 45 was deliberately played in the last two thirds of Morocco's half and I commented, "I hope I don't have to watch this negativity again."
However, I also joked that I wouldn't be surprised if penalties ended 0-0 such was Spain's lack of penetration too.
One big positive for Morocco was their less than hirsute player with the infinite energy. He was outstanding so he deserved something from the game.
:agree: He really was.
06-12-2022, 06:17 PM
Zitelli
It was a great strike, but I’m not sure he looked up, just hit and hope.
1-0 Portugal
06-12-2022, 06:18 PM
Zitelliesque.
06-12-2022, 06:19 PM
Didn't realise Ronaldo's replacement was John McGinn. Looks a player.
oh that was good timing, i don't think i've saw the beginning of a game cause i keep forgetting to turn back over after i've switched away from 'the studio'
Ronaldo looked absolutely delighted with that.
06-12-2022, 06:20 PM
Just like one of my goals…….but then I’ll miss a tap in from a yard out
06-12-2022, 06:20 PM
Zitelliesque.
For you Jim
06-12-2022, 06:23 PM
Ronaldo looked absolutely delighted with that.
He’s certainly not in a good place just now. Not a team player.
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 06:27 PM
oh that was good timing, i don't think i've saw the beginning of a game cause i keep forgetting to turn back over after i've switched away from 'the studio'
:agree: Mrs UTS has made me switch the sound off as ' the only thing worse than all the football being on is Ally McCoist's inane drivel as well'
06-12-2022, 06:27 PM
He’s certainly not in a good place just now. Not a team player.
He is just wondering what he is going to spend his 175million on.
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 06:29 PM
Just like one of my goals…….but then I’ll miss a tap in from a yard out
Just stay more than a yard out then 😉
06-12-2022, 06:31 PM
:agree: Mrs UTS has made me switch the sound off as ' the only thing worse than all the football being on is Ally McCoist's inane drivel as well'
Swaly needs to educate us all as we dont know much about watching the game. Slaver of the highest order.
06-12-2022, 06:33 PM
2-0 game over.
06-12-2022, 06:33 PM
if she suffers from insomnia get her to listen to Rio Ferdinand/Wright :)
anyways... 2-0 and that'll be that i think
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 06:34 PM
what a leap that was... must be a fair age now Pepe and still good at both ends
has Ronaldo claimed both goals yet
That’s a stonking header
One of the best Co presenters
06-12-2022, 06:35 PM
has Ronaldo claimed both goals yet
Harry Kane has
06-12-2022, 06:35 PM
Harry Kane has
06-12-2022, 06:36 PM
Awe well, thats why I never bet on games, one for the auld yins with that goal for sure. The Swiss defense, like the cheese they are famous for is full o holes.
One of the best Co presenters
Totally agree. Think he’s been excellent!
06-12-2022, 06:38 PM
what a leap that was... must be a fair age now Pepe and still good at both ends
I say that about the wife when I'm feeling romantic..
Up-the-slope
06-12-2022, 06:42 PM
Swaly needs to educate us all as we dont know much about watching the game. Slaver of the highest order.
if she suffers from insomnia get her to listen to Rio Ferdinand/Wright :)
anyways... 2-0 and that'll be that i think
Its says something when someone with no interest and limited knowledge of football can spot a slaver in the first sentence :greengrin
I will see if there is a podcast of said sleep inducers - but even although she is English see will not tolerate mention of England unless they are playing.... 'WHY are they talking about England....they are not even playing' has been uttered many times under her breath.... saves me saying it I guess :blah:
06-12-2022, 06:42 PM
I think he's the best pundit on TV just now.
Apart from his irritating and incessant "He really is" emphasis, he actually does offer insights which I, certainly, wouldn't have noticed otherwise.
Maybe that's more about me than McCoist, before you say it.
06-12-2022, 06:44 PM
Excellent co-commentator.
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 06:46 PM
Great save by swiss keeper . Portugal been good so far
06-12-2022, 06:47 PM
Excellent co-commentator.
I’ve heard very split opinions. I think he’s absolutely superb and always has been as a co-commentator. Passionate, loves the game, good humour and some good reads/insights.
Great save by swiss keeper . Portugal been good so far
Agree playing some lovely football
06-12-2022, 06:50 PM
Super A#%*hole miles better than Jermaine Jenas and John Hartson by a country mile
06-12-2022, 06:55 PM
Its says something when someone with no interest and limited knowledge of football can spot a slaver in the first sentence :greengrin
I will see if there is a podcast of said sleep inducers - but even although she is English see will not tolerate mention of England unless they are playing.... 'WHY are they talking about England....they are not even playing' has been uttered many times under her breath.... saves me saying it I guess :blah:
hope she knows all about 1964
or whenever it was
06-12-2022, 07:02 PM
I say that about the wife when I'm feeling romantic..
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 07:05 PM
Was listening to a guy on the radio saying that the Portuguese manager made a massive call in dropping Ronaldo but the right call ,that no one's bigger than the team. He said Ronaldo's has to realise that he's not going to be playing for the full 90 minutes now at 37 and has to stop throwing his toys out of his pram when he doesn't get his own way and except he is more of a impact player now . Think that's fair comment?
cameronw-hfc
06-12-2022, 07:13 PM
Man U play better without Ronaldo, looks like Portugal might also. He isn't half falling away
06-12-2022, 07:14 PM
4-0 wow.
Was listening to a guy on the radio saying that the Portuguese manager made a massive call in dropping Ronaldo but the right call ,that no one's bigger than the team. He said Ronaldo's has to realise that he's not going to be playing for the full 90 minutes now at 37 and has to stop throwing his toys out of his pram when he doesn't get his own way and except he is more of a impact player now . Think that's fair comment?
Perfectly fair IMHO. I do wonder how he is going to cope when he is done, he'll always be well known obviously but the star will inevitably fade at some point and I'm not sure he will deal with that well.
easy peasy
06-12-2022, 07:15 PM
Sensational as Ally says.
Portugal are flying, coming onto form at the right time, dark horses in the competition.
06-12-2022, 07:16 PM
Surely England won't beat all three of France, Portugal and Brazil.
4-1.
game on
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2022, 07:21 PM
I do love a goal feast :hyper
06-12-2022, 07:25 PM
Surely England won't beat all three of France, Portugal and Brazil.
If they do they'll have deserved their trophy.
Ronaldo will be seething 😂😂
5-1
Switzerland dead as a country.
06-12-2022, 07:26 PM
Dead as a country.
Up-the-slope
CR7 will be chuffed for his replacement...
That's Ronaldos international career over.
the Swiss have just rolled over
What a superb game from the Portuguese youngster
06-12-2022, 07:27 PM
Absolutely, not in question at all.
There'll be a telly sitting at the end of my drive free to a good home if they do. I'll never watch fitba again.
Never heard of G Ramos until this evening. What an absolute baller he is!
Paulie Walnuts
06-12-2022, 07:28 PM
Never heard of G Ramos until this evening. What an absolute baller he is!
Likewise.
Cracking record at Benfica as well.
06-12-2022, 07:28 PM
CR7 will be chuffed for his replacement...
How do you say "sticking pins in his wax effigy" in Portuguese?