View Full Version : The world cup thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

20-11-2022, 02:56 PM
Ecuador anthem sounds like something from a twee 1940s Disney film. 10/10 for passion from the players though.

20-11-2022, 02:58 PM
Qatar starting with some strong Soviet vibes but descends into a bit of a nothing dirge really. Not impressed.

The Italians will be missed on the anthem front.

20-11-2022, 02:59 PM
Ecuador anthem sounds like something from a twee 1940s Disney film. 10/10 for passion from the players though.

The players were superb. :greengrin

Why have the Qatar fans come dressed as Jambos?

20-11-2022, 03:01 PM
The players were superb. :greengrin

Why have the Qatar fans come dressed as Jambos?

They're real Jambos, they'll do anything for some tax free money.

20-11-2022, 03:03 PM
The lack of a radio controlled vehicle of some description delivering the match ball is troubling

20-11-2022, 03:05 PM
Qatar 0-1 Ecuador

20-11-2022, 03:06 PM
Dodgy, dodgy keeper klaxon. There is always at least one at a WC. Madness coming into that group of bodies for that. This is going to be fun.

20-11-2022, 03:07 PM
VAR check offside.

Still 0-0.

Yas!

Match fixing conspiracy lives.

Lol! Here we go!

20-11-2022, 03:08 PM
Surely that can't be offside. 😂

That is just corruption.

Good goal ruled out by brown envelope… I mean VAR :greengrin

Offside :faf:

****ing scandalous decision 5 mins in, **** this

In all seriousness no idea how that has been disallowed. It would be an idea if football explained these sort of things to fans.

VAR will end these controversies though.....

Well well well.

There’s a surprise.

Clear goal ruled off for offside!

Never off

Football is ruined

VAR ****ing up the world cup already, perfectly good goal that.

20-11-2022, 03:09 PM
Yas!

Match fixing conspiracy lives.

Can’t wait for Qatar to get a penalty.

Up-the-slope
well this is riveting.... goal chopped off an absolutely no idea what its for... unless hosts are not allowed to be embarrassed

I'm. Sure the ref signalled for Offisde but it doesn't look nearly offside

Where's the images with the lines? [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

That was a goal. What on earth is happening?

Football has become considerably less enjoyable since VAR.

20-11-2022, 03:10 PM

How can anyone not want to watch this. Its going to be absolute comedy. Goal already ruled out for nothing.

I think I may have lost interest in this World Cup already after 5 minutes.

LunasBoots
VAR ruining football

Renfrew_Hibby
What a nice little earner for the VAR officials this games going to be...

When the keeper comes out, there's only 1 defender between the eventual scorer and the goals. That's what they're saying is offside.

Whether it's the "same phase", though.....

Both these teams are utterly pish.

Brummie_Hibs
This game will now always be tainted with potential bribery

That is an outrage. Are they just refusing to allow the host nation to lose??

Forever_Green93
20-11-2022, 03:11 PM
EH!??? How the **** was that offside??? One of the worst decisions I have ever seen in football. WTF.

Edit: It was offside.

i've just put a cheeky wee £1 on Qatar to win the damn thing, returns £251

why not

Qatar look utterly hopeless. I'm sure Linfield beat them back in the summer. That looks about their level.

Yas, another dodgy keeper moment. I like this guy.

20-11-2022, 03:12 PM
EH!??? How the **** was that offside??? One of the worst decisions I have ever seen in football. WTF.

Dion says he couldn't see an offside, where was the VAR lines in the replays?

supermcginn
20-11-2022, 03:12 PM
Both these teams are utterly pish.

Yet Ecuador have only been beaten once in their last 4 games against Argentina and brazil. They've had a goal ruled out for nothing they are hardly pish.

20-11-2022, 03:13 PM
Just watched it again. Good decision. The boy in the white boots who headed the ball on after the collision with the keeper was offside. Not surprised it took so long for VAR to sort it.

Up-the-slope
this is ridiculous... 11 officials (referees) officiating (i use that term loosely) this match and they cant even get a basic decision right ... and whats the point in commentators when even they have no additional information to explain what on earth happened

LunasBoots
Dion says he couldn't see an offside, where was the VAR lines in the replays?

Nobody anywhere knows why it was dissalowed, it looks a ridiculous decision

20-11-2022, 03:14 PM
Qatar look a terrible side.

20-11-2022, 03:15 PM
Yet Ecuador have only been beaten once in their last 4 games against Argentina and brazil. They've had a goal ruled out for nothing they are hardly pish.

You're forgetting that its cool now to just dismiss any hyped up event as pish. Thats all thats happening. No one can actually judge 2 football teams pish based on 10 minutes.

20-11-2022, 03:16 PM
Nobody anywhere knows why it was dissalowed, it looks a ridiculous decisionJust showed the var decision there

Top call in the end

Penalty Ecuador.

You're forgetting that its cool now to just dismiss any hyped up event as pish. Thats all thats happening. No one can actually judge 2 football teams pish based on 10 minutes.

Good point, it’s taken me decades to finally decide Hibs are. :greengrin

Nobody anywhere knows why it was dissalowed, it looks a ridiculous decision

Correct decision. See a couple above.

20-11-2022, 03:17 PM
That is an outrage. Are they just refusing to allow the host nation to lose??
Think you Nailed it, after listening to that so called head of FIFA.

20-11-2022, 03:18 PM
Qatar 0-1 Ecuador

20-11-2022, 03:18 PM
This keeper is absolute banter.

He'd struggle to get game time in the Saturday morning Churches League

20-11-2022, 03:19 PM
Loving Ecuador.

Zambernardi1875

Is it cool to say “Goal already ruled out for nothing.” When he was clearly offside

I reckon if I was born in Qatar I would have a decent chance of playing in this World Cup.

20-11-2022, 03:20 PM
Qatar look a terrible side.

An absolute gang!

When the keeper comes out, there's only 1 defender between the eventual scorer and the goals. That's what they're saying is offside.

Whether it's the "same phase", though.....

I’ve watched it 3/4 times and I cannot see where he’s offside.

When the free kick is taken he’s on. The keeper flaps, he’s on and then there’s 4 players between him and goal.

Is it cool to say “Goal already ruled out for nothing.” When he was clearly offside

Clearly offside? Literally no one saw that with the naked eye, including the match officials.

It might have been the right decision in the end but we are talking a flap of short and half a kneecap.

a £1 down the drain

20-11-2022, 03:21 PM

They'll finish 3rd in the group.

20-11-2022, 03:21 PM

Oh yeah, miles offside.

Bore off would you. Not interested.

20-11-2022, 03:22 PM
Goalie :faf:

Qatar keeper injured.

A brief celebration from the other 10 then they remember the only issue they have is this guy is apparently the best of the 3 they have in their squad.

I'm still not convinced by that offside decision. They've basically removed the goalie from the equation to make the player offside.

There was a player still behind the goalie and the graphic should show where the keeper was in relation to the player not the defender

20-11-2022, 03:23 PM
I’ve watched it 3/4 times and I cannot see where he’s offside.

When the free kick is taken he’s on. The keeper flaps, he’s on and then there’s 4 players between him and goal.

While you were re-watching it, the telly showed "the lines". :greengrin

It was actually a different player whose knee was off....Ignore me.:cb

20-11-2022, 03:23 PM
Very Saad moment for the Qatar keeper.

20-11-2022, 03:24 PM
Qatar keeper is going to provide plenty entertainment for as long as they are in the competition 😅

Up-the-slope
20-11-2022, 03:24 PM
i see a few posts saying off side technically correct ? but how are fans supposed to engage if you cant see / have it explained... also doesnt look like there are screens in stadium :confused: so how are those who have paid huge sums to be in these supposed to have any idea

20-11-2022, 03:26 PM
i see a few posts saying off side technically correct ? but how are fans supposed to engage if you cant see / have it explained... also doesnt look like there are screens in stadium :confused: so how are those who have paid huge sums to be in these supposed to have any idea

some wee laddie got excited when he was on TV so must be something in the stadium

20-11-2022, 03:26 PM

Ah right. [emoji2957]

20-11-2022, 03:27 PM
I reckon this Qatar keeper could displace Driss Benzerkri of Morocco 98 as my favourite random crap keeper.

20-11-2022, 03:28 PM
I'm still not convinced by that offside decision. They've basically removed the goalie from the equation to make the player offside.

There was a player still behind the goalie and the graphic should show where the keeper was in relation to the player not the defender

The guy in the white boots who headed the ball on was closer to the goal line than the keeper. There was only one defending player between him and the goal line. He then came into play to head the ball on hence the offside.

20-11-2022, 03:28 PM

Was that player involved in the move. Still struggling to see an offside to be honest

20-11-2022, 03:29 PM
Was that player involved in the move. Still struggling to see an offside to be honestYes, he headed it on which lead to the ball being played into the middle

20-11-2022, 03:30 PM
Was that player involved in the move. Still struggling to see an offside to be honest
The boy ended up heading the ball on. So yes he was involved.

CyberSauzee
20-11-2022, 03:30 PM
Qatar league is a very poor standard if this lot are their best 11.

20-11-2022, 03:31 PM
The guy in the white boots who headed the ball on was closer to the goal line than the keeper. There was only one defending player between him and the goal line. He then came into play to head the ball on hence the offside.

I'm not sure he was closer than the keeper which was my point. Ive rewound it a few times and when he heads it it looks to me like the keeper is still between him and the goal line. The graphic then just ignores the keeper to me.

20-11-2022, 03:32 PM
When he heads it is irrelevent, when it hit the Ecuador player and fell to him is

It was actually a good example of VAR doing a good job in the end

20-11-2022, 03:33 PM
Beauty 2-0

2-0 great header

Cracking header.

What a goal that is. Absolute bullet header.

2-0 Ecuador

Up-the-slope
20-11-2022, 03:34 PM
offside?

I'm not sure he was closer than the keeper which was my point. Ive rewound it a few times and when he heads it it looks to me like the keeper is still between him and the goal line. The graphic then just ignores the keeper to me.
Its the position he came back from where he was offside. His foot was closer to the goal than the keeper. As soon as he attempted to play the ball - and he headed it - that's what made him offside.

i'm calling this game over

Seekyit
Great goal, counts as well.

20-11-2022, 03:35 PM
Its the position he came back from where he was offside. His foot was closer to the goal than the keeper. As soon as he attempted to play the ball - and he headed it - that's what made him offside.

Ffs give it a rest and enjoy the game :faf:

20-11-2022, 03:35 PM
Hope Qatar get pumped!

20-11-2022, 03:36 PM
2-0 great header

More please

20-11-2022, 03:36 PM
This keeper is absolute banter.

He'd struggle to get game time in the Saturday morning Churches League

He is already my favourite player of the tournament. :greengrin

Up-the-slope
20-11-2022, 03:37 PM
on another subject than var.... im liking the safe standing behind Qatar goal :greengrin

Ffs give it a rest and enjoy the game :faf:

ffs, it's no my fault folk don't understand offside. :rolleyes:

Donegal Hibby
Very good header . Qatar announce Beer will be available everywhere after match 😂

20-11-2022, 03:38 PM
Hope Qatar get pumped!

Holland might set a new record high score at World Cup finals against them.

AugustaHibs
20-11-2022, 03:38 PM
The state of this Qatar side. All I’ve heard the past 5 years is how they’re a massive footballing nation and they have a good national team. If Ecuador really wanted to they could put 10 past this outfit. Stenhousemuir would pump these clowns

20-11-2022, 03:39 PM
Qataris like a tackle. Airdrie circa 1984.

20-11-2022, 03:39 PM
Holland might set a new record high score at World Cup finals against them.

Hope so!

Kickfest now. Can see a red card for them this afternoon!

20-11-2022, 03:40 PM
The state of this Qatar side. All I’ve heard the past 5 years is how they’re a massive footballing nation and they have a good national team. If Ecuador really wanted to they could put 10 past this outfit. Stenhousemuir would pump these clowns
Maybe is them, same color of shirt I think.

Up-the-slope
Qataris like a tackle. Airdrie circa 1984.

:agree: the side that was Jambo retirement home

Confidence builder for the keeper there. We'll see the real him now.

20-11-2022, 03:41 PM

They look like a semi pro side at best.

They need to remember Scotland Zaire 74 and rack the goals up!

Alcohol ban starting to take it's toll, lots of guys sat in the stands with the Sheikhs.

20-11-2022, 03:43 PM
Confidence builder for the keeper there. We'll see the real him now.

Looks a bit sheikhy to me.

20-11-2022, 03:43 PM
Pie and Bovril nailing it on Twitter:

'Qatar are already the Dundee Utd of the World Cup. Fans are Arabs, defence is leaky and the goalkeeper is absolutely *****'

Up-the-slope
20-11-2022, 03:44 PM
Alcohol ban starting to take it's toll, lots of guys sat in the stands with the Sheikhs.:not worth

20-11-2022, 03:44 PM
Qatar too maroon looking for my liking. 5-0 please.

20-11-2022, 03:45 PM
Strange that despite all the really strict laws in Qatar they are quite happy to have Afif playing for them

Great support by the Qatari fans

Getting pumped and still cheering on there there team

Wish Dion Dublin had stuck to flogging hooses

20-11-2022, 03:46 PM
**** me. Looks like the boy that scored the goals and playing like Maradona has now done his knee. Awful.

GreenGray
20-11-2022, 03:46 PM
**** me. Looks like the boy that scored the goals and playing like Maradona has now done his knee. Awful.

Brutal for him, and me who have them in a sweepstake

AugustaHibs
20-11-2022, 03:47 PM
Great support by the Qatari fans

Getting pumped and still cheering on there there team

Actors performing well aye

20-11-2022, 03:50 PM
Actors performing well aye
Or migrant workers that have just been told they can have their passports back.

20-11-2022, 03:51 PM
Or folk enjoying cheering on there countryman at a massive tournament?

However, I know it's now high fashion to belittle everything related to this tournament

20-11-2022, 03:52 PM
Surely if you are Ecuador you just take Valencia off?

They could stick me up top in the 2nd half and still see this out. Keep him wrapped in cotton wool for the tougher challenges ahead.

20-11-2022, 03:52 PM
Oooft sitter!!

AugustaHibs
20-11-2022, 03:53 PM

However, I know it's now high fashion to belittle everything related to this tournament

I’m all for this world cup and will enjoy it, but I’m no sure anything to do with Qatar is genuine and legit tbh.

20-11-2022, 03:53 PM
Oooft sitter!!It was but wasn't he likley offside from the cross in?

If not, shoukd be 2-1!

20-11-2022, 03:54 PM

Wonder why?

20-11-2022, 03:54 PM
Oooft sitter!!

He was only about 2 oil tankers offside so it would have counted.

CyberSauzee
20-11-2022, 03:55 PM

By folk you mean just men.

20-11-2022, 03:55 PM
Cattahr is more exciting than Quatar.

20-11-2022, 03:58 PM
By folk you mean just men.No

Again, this a prime example of what I mean - there's certainly females in the Qatari fans but the glee to critisize everything overrides that fact

Up-the-slope
20-11-2022, 04:02 PM
No

Again, this a prime example of what I mean - there's certainly females in the Qatari fans but the glee to critisize everything overrides that fact

The 'safe standing' which does look good and obviously planned to give atmosphere most certainty does not have females' in it (yes in other seated areas)... in the middle its just men jumping about hugging :devil:

CyberSauzee
20-11-2022, 04:04 PM
No

The main maroon t-shirted section is exclusively male. Compare with the Ecuador end which is very mixed.

I don't think countries should be awarded a men's WC if they cannot host a female equivalent.

seanshow
20-11-2022, 04:13 PM
Far too late for that now, money talks and equal,human rights walks

I've looked at that offside several times.

When the ball was initially headed, the goalscorer might have been behind the keeper so in an offside position. However, the ball wasn't played to him then and went through a couple of players before it was and he was onside then.

Also, I don't understand where they got the graphic showing the guy's knee offside. Very strange.

Brummie_Hibs
This Qatar team would still beat Hibs

20-11-2022, 04:17 PM

Not on a cold, frosty night in January at ER. :bitchy:

20-11-2022, 04:17 PM
It was but wasn't he likley offside from the cross in?

If not, shoukd be 2-1!

I’m scared to talk about offside now:greengrin

20-11-2022, 04:18 PM

Hibs to have 17 shots on target.

Qatar to win 1-0 after a penalty decision that VAR takes 8 minutes to decide on.

20-11-2022, 04:19 PM
I've looked at that offside several times.

When the ball was initially headed, the goalscorer might have been behind the keeper so in an offside position. However, the ball wasn't played to him then and went through a couple of players before it was and he was onside then.

Also, I don't understand where they got the graphic showing the guy's knee offside. Very strange.

It wasn't the goalscorer who was offside. That was my first thought.

It's the guy on the right, with the white boots, who heads it on. He came back from an offside position to do that.

It wasn't the goalscorer who was offside. That was my first thought.

It's the guy on the right, with the white boots, who heads it on. He came back from an offside position to do that.

Thanks.

I'll look again.

Newell-esque through ball there from Ecuador. Nice to see Valencia not badly hurt.

20-11-2022, 04:23 PM
Bit of a non event so far in the 2nd half. Ecuador look like they could score again and reckon they probably will as Qatar start to get leggy.

They have chased shadows for 60 minutes and give the ball away almost immediately after gaining possession. That takes it's toll.

20-11-2022, 04:23 PM
After an hour of watching this match I'd say that Qatar are to the World Cup what Rangers are to the Champions League.

20-11-2022, 04:24 PM
For a "long ball team" equador are good to watch.

20-11-2022, 04:27 PM
For a "long ball team" equador are good to watch.

:agree: they are decent. Could be a good team playing on the counter against the European nations.

20-11-2022, 04:28 PM
Hard to tell how good Ecuador are as Qatar are obviosuly poor

Interesting to see Ecuador vs the Netherlands

20-11-2022, 04:30 PM
A better second half from Qatar.
Pity their fans are now doing the swirly scarf thing now. :greengrin

20-11-2022, 04:31 PM
I predict zero goals or points for Qatar in the group.

20-11-2022, 04:31 PM
A better second half from Qatar.
Pity their fans are now doing the swirly scarf thing now. :greengrin

Maroon tops, twirly scarves. They’ll be stealing the poppy money next.

DIXIHIBS
20-11-2022, 04:34 PM
Just stick to 2-0 to get my .net predictor off to a flyer!!

20-11-2022, 04:35 PM
Leaving aside the whole VAR issue the ref has been good today. Let a lot of strong challenges go and the bookings have largely been merited.

He's the main man in Serie A and has reffed a Champions League final before so arguably has a shot at getting the final here.

Donegal Hibby
20-11-2022, 04:35 PM
Maroon tops, twirly scarves. They’ll be stealing the poppy money next.
Wonder will there manager say " it's a learning curve" ?😄

20-11-2022, 04:37 PM
Leaving aside the whole VAR issue the ref has been good today. Let a lot of strong challenges go and the bookings have largely been merited.

He's the main man in Serie A and has reffed a Champions League final before so arguably has a shot at getting the final here.

:agree: he’s been very good.

20-11-2022, 04:40 PM
Just checked on a bet I had and wondered where it was, seems the bookie paid out 30 mins early since Qatar are so ****

20-11-2022, 04:40 PM
2nd half turned into a typical world cup group game, boring.

Brummie_Hibs
20-11-2022, 04:56 PM
The BBC basically spouting Pro Quari propaganda on behalf of the Qatar Govt and FIFA, by saying how great Qatar is, and how it's football growth is something to be praised, and how it will bring great benefits.

Donegal Hibby
20-11-2022, 04:57 PM
When did Qatar poach Erik ten hag away from Man u btw?

20-11-2022, 04:58 PM
The BBC basically spouting Pro Quari propaganda on behalf of the Qatar Govt and FIFA, by saying how great Qatar is, and how it's football growth is something to be praised, and how it will bring great benefits.

One comment.
The pre match discussion was far from complimentary.

20-11-2022, 04:59 PM
Who is the co-commentator?

20-11-2022, 04:59 PM
Full time Qatar 0-2 Ecuador

20-11-2022, 05:00 PM
Awful 2nd half. Almost fell asleep.

20-11-2022, 05:01 PM
Well there just went two hours of my life.

20-11-2022, 05:05 PM
Well there just went two hours of my life.

The first half was great I thought? Controversy, great goal, class penalty, goalie calamity.

20-11-2022, 05:11 PM
The first half was great I thought? Controversy, great goal, class penalty, goalie calamity.

Qatar were so obviously out of their depth though, game wasn't particularly competitive.

20-11-2022, 05:11 PM
And then.......

20-11-2022, 05:12 PM

They had plenty to say about the other side before the game.

As I said at the time it's a no win for them and ITV. Any criticism is hypocrisy, 'we should focus on the football' and I daresay there will be the odd accusation of racism as well. Any praise and it's propaganda and sportswashing.

Qatar will be like anywhere else, there will be some good things happening along with the bad. Obviously in this case the bad is really bad but growing participation in football still merits comment at what is still a football tournament after all.

Donegal Hibby
20-11-2022, 05:16 PM
Qatar were so obviously out of their depth though, game wasn't particularly competitive.
Wait till the Dutch get them , it should be a hiding .

supermcginn
20-11-2022, 05:22 PM

It was, folk are desperate to criticise everything about this world cup though so it's no surprise. Looking forward to some cracking games tomorrow.

20-11-2022, 05:51 PM
They need to remember Scotland Zaire 74 and rack the goals up!

This for me too. When you have the Netherlands and Senegal in your group and after 45 minutes have a fair idea just how pish Qatar actually are, why the hell would you fanny about for the whole of the 2nd half barely even trying to score? If 3rd place comes down to GD Equador will want shooting. The BBC pundits were going on about the 'professional' job Equador did in the 2nd half ..... professional would have been sticking another 3 in the net.

Donegal Hibby
20-11-2022, 06:02 PM
Was the Qatar keeper maybe fortunate not to see red today?

20-11-2022, 06:35 PM
It was, folk are desperate to criticise everything about this world cup though so it's no surprise. Looking forward to some cracking games tomorrow.

Its a farce of a tournament, but the football, as usual, will be very entertaining. The Euros was exceptional. Some of the best games at any tournament ever

20-11-2022, 06:45 PM
Was the Qatar keeper maybe fortunate not to see red today?

I thought there was maybe enough of a covering defender coming across, but I do have a memory that that isn’t strictly speaking part of the rule anymore. Definitely could have been a red, which would have been a shame because he was fun to watch.

Donegal Hibby
20-11-2022, 07:07 PM
I thought there was maybe enough of a covering defender coming across, but I do have a memory that that isn’t strictly speaking part of the rule anymore. Definitely could have been a red, which would have been a shame because he was fun to watch.
I thought it was one of them calls that on another day maybe with a different referee it could have been red though like yourself I thought it would have been a shame as he was entertaining to watch.

Mikey_1875
20-11-2022, 07:16 PM
Decent enough first half and the game was a formality in the second. Hadn’t watched Qatar before but certainly didn’t expect them to be that poor.

As mentioned earlier hopefully now most of the pundits will have said their piece on the other issues and we can focus more on the football now.

Will miss the England game tomorrow unfortunately but think USA vs Wales could be a good game.

20-11-2022, 07:22 PM
Decent enough first half and the game was a formality in the second. Hadn’t watched Qatar before but certainly didn’t expect them to be that poor.

As mentioned earlier hopefully now most of the pundits will have said their piece on the other issues and we can focus more on the football now.

Will miss the England game tomorrow unfortunately but think USA vs Wales could be a good game.

Hopefully not, important to continue to highlight the many issues. Failing to do so is letting sportwashing win.

Dmas
20-11-2022, 08:32 PM
Hopefully not, important to continue to highlight the many issues. Failing to do so is letting sportwashing win.

There’s been 12 years to highlight all this off field stuff, it’s terrible it’s there we know why it’s there let’s just watch the football eh let the news programmes run with the other stuff, I don’t care about the political thoughts of Lineker shearer and Alex Scott there employed to watch and talk about football there hardly in a position to be casting rocks when there pocketing a fortune for a months work the bbc employ a vast amount of people much more qualified to report political affairs in Qatar

20-11-2022, 08:38 PM
There’s been 12 years to highlight all this off field stuff, it’s terrible it’s there we know why it’s there let’s just watch the football eh let the news programmes run with the other stuff, I don’t care about the political thoughts of Lineker shearer and Alex Scott there employed to watch and talk about football there hardly in a position to be casting rocks when there pocketing a fortune for a months work the bbc employ a vast amount of people much more qualified to report political affairs in Qatar

What, doing their job? I thought Alex Scott was incredibly brave in her scathing assault on this competition and her justification for why she still chose to go to Qatar and have the difficult conversations rather than staying home.

If there's an army of 'more qualified journalists' out there talking about the plethora of issues around this world cup, I don't see them or hear them anywhere.

Dmas
20-11-2022, 08:54 PM
What, doing their job? I thought Alex Scott was incredibly brave in her scathing assault on this competition and her justification for why she still chose to go to Qatar and have the difficult conversations rather than staying home.

If there's an army of 'more qualified journalists' out there talking about the plethora of issues around this world cup, I don't see them or hear them anywhere.

She was more than happy to hang about with Putin with Rio Ferdinand at the last World Cup, there’s league football in England still going she could be working there but she’s taken the coin on offer and traveled to a country she obviously has very strong feelings against, it dilutes any message brave or not she’s trying to give, her shearer and linear are former football players there job is to host and provide analysis on a 90 min football match I don’t need them reiterating what’s been said for the last 12 years in the lead up to this tournament.

Give it 6 weeks and the same 3 will be having banter about what a great season Newcastle Utd are having or debating weather Man City can finally win the the champs league this year on MOTD

20-11-2022, 08:58 PM
She was more than happy to hang about with Putin with Rio Ferdinand at the last World Cup, there’s league football in England still going she could be working there but she’s taken the coin on offer and traveled to a country she obviously has very strong feelings against, it dilutes any message brave or not she’s trying to give, her shearer and linear are former football players there job is to host and provide analysis on a 90 min football match I don’t need them reiterating what’s been said for the last 12 years in the lead up to this tournament.

Give it 6 weeks and the same 3 will be having banter about what a great season Newcastle Utd are having or debating weather Man City can finally win the the champs league this year on MOTD

Alex Scott ‘Hanging about with Putin’ :faf:
Come on now this is getting ridiculous.

Dmas
20-11-2022, 09:01 PM
Alex Scott ‘Hanging about with Putin’ :faf:
Come on now this is getting ridiculous.

There’s photos of her rio infantino putin and his cronies the mans as questionable a human as you’ll find but there was no outrage there from
her or any other bbc pundit then just got on with the football that’s all I’m asking this time

20-11-2022, 09:11 PM

Not representative of many of the Beeb folk in attendance. And many have expressed their true feelings on air.

Stairway 2 7
20-11-2022, 09:16 PM
There’s photos of her rio infantino putin and his cronies the mans as questionable a human as you’ll find but there was no outrage there from
her or any other bbc pundit then just got on with the football that’s all I’m asking this time

Indeed remember her and rio at the Kremlin. Barely a whisper of complaint when it was in Russia. This is after they stole crimea, flattened and butchered chechnya and poisoned political opposition. Reggie yates also did a program on Russia being the worst place to be gay in Europe.

Qatar is a vile regime but most of the big European team have some middle east funding. Also next up is the US 400,000 dead Iraqis would say that's sportswashing.

It's a hard one. I think though the pr exercise Qatar was wanting has failed as most topics of conversation are the regime. Compare it to people's perceptions of dodgy dubai next door.

It's a disgrace it's their, but fifa and the Qatari government aren't stealing one of my favourite things from me. The world cup isn't there's and I'm looking forward to the football

Dmas
20-11-2022, 09:30 PM
Indeed remember her and rio at the Kremlin. Barely a whisper of complaint when it was in Russia. This is after they stole crimea, flattened and butchered chechnya and poisoned political opposition. Reggie yates also did a program on Russia being the worst place to be gay in Europe.

Qatar is a vile regime but most of the big European team have some middle east funding. Also next up is the US 400,000 dead Iraqis would say that's sportswashing.

It's a hard one. I think though the pr exercise Qatar was wanting has failed as most topics of conversation are the regime. Compare it to people's perceptions of dodgy dubai next door.

It's a disgrace it's their, but fifa and the Qatari government aren't stealing one of my favourite things from me. The world cup isn't there's and I'm looking forward to the football

Absolutely, great post, I don’t disagree with anything said today or leading to today about the regime or against it being held there in the first place, I want to watch the football I want to hear opinions and debate on what’s happened during the game.

Terrible things happen the world over you can’t stay quiet in South Africa, Russia, USA etc and then get all political when it goes to Qatar.

Donegal Hibby
20-11-2022, 09:44 PM
Couldn't see anything wrong with the goal that was chalked off today but seen it there now again and it was the correct call ,it was offside though heard shearer and panel say the big problem with var is the fans don't know what the hell is going on in the ground and they are the most important part of any football match . Why they can't put a image up on the screens to why a decision is made for the fans with all the technology they have isn't good . Speaking about fans Ecuador fans told them what they wanted today. 😂
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/20488308/ecuador-world-cup-beer-chant-qatar/

20-11-2022, 09:45 PM
Newell-esque through ball there from Ecuador. Nice to see Valencia not badly hurt.

I thought he was Spanish?

20-11-2022, 10:01 PM

Nah, he's only 28.

21-11-2022, 03:19 AM

Nope. Essential to continue to highlight these things as much as possible. Qatar want it to be forgotten about and have people focus on the football. If you don't care, don't watch it.

It's like Man City and Newcastle. Everyone has now forgotten about their disgusting owners. You get people supporting these clubs and saying things like "they've actually done a lot for the area". Sportswashed to ****.

21-11-2022, 03:24 AM

Why are you so uncomfortable with the brutal truth about what happens in these countries?

You do not have to live a perfect ****ing life of no hypocrisy to call out crimes against human rights. You don't just cease all right to speak about issues because you own an iPhone or buy clothing than can be traced back to a sweatshop. What happens every day in Qatar is disgusting and I hope they talk about it constantly.

Dmas
21-11-2022, 04:47 AM
Why are you so uncomfortable with the brutal truth about what happens in these countries?

You do not have to live a perfect ****ing life of no hypocrisy to call out crimes against human rights. You don't just cease all right to speak about issues because you own an iPhone or buy clothing than can be traced back to a sweatshop. What happens every day in Qatar is disgusting and I hope they talk about it constantly.

I’m not uncomfortable about anything it happens over there and in other countries that share the same beliefs for hundreds of years why is it footballs problem?
I want to watch the World Cup without being lectured too about why I shouldn’t enjoy it for what it is by a bunch of people as qualified about the situation as me, especially when it’s not made any sort of change with their own morale compass to decline the money on offer or the free journey on offer to that country.

OldEast
21-11-2022, 04:54 AM
I’m not uncomfortable about anything it happens over there and in other countries that share the same beliefs for hundreds of years why is it footballs problem?
I want to watch the World Cup without being lectured too about why I shouldn’t enjoy it for what it is by a bunch of people as qualified about the situation as me, especially when it’s not made any sort of change with their own morale compass to decline the money on offer or the free journey on offer to that country.

👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

21-11-2022, 05:18 AM

Again, you're confused. You seem to have this nonsense idea that those working on this world cup shouldn't have an opinion on human rights abuses by Qatar. That's just a dumb thing to say.

You're not being lectured. You're being informed of the cultural background of this country. They do it at every world cup. You're just uncomfortable because they aren't saying nice things.

It is footballs problem now because a world cup is happening in a country where you risk death if you show affection for your same sex partner. Where woman are treated as 2nd class citizens. The world cup should not be happening there and the BBC and itv have a duty to continue to highlight that and not ignore it. Failing to do so is allowing sportswashing.

21-11-2022, 06:04 AM
After the opening game that need a world cup song, maybe "While my Qatar gently weeps"? 😁

21-11-2022, 06:07 AM
Again, you're confused. You seem to have this nonsense idea that those working on this world cup shouldn't have an opinion on human rights abuses by Qatar. That's just a dumb thing to say.

You're not being lectured. You're being informed of the cultural background of this country. They do it at every world cup. You're just uncomfortable because they aren't saying nice things.

It is footballs problem now because a world cup is happening in a country where you risk death if you show affection for your same sex partner. Where woman are treated as 2nd class citizens. The world cup should not be happening there and the BBC and itv have a duty to continue to highlight that and not ignore it. Failing to do so is allowing sportswashing.

I agree with his comment about hypocrisy though so many countries including our own have committed atrocities yet the media mainly decide which to highlight and which not to which kind of weakens the argument when being so selective at what you are outraged about.

Dmas
21-11-2022, 06:10 AM

I’ve said my bit on it, I think I’ve made it clear it’s not the opinions I disagree with, I’ll say no more as not to flood this thread with the same stuff I’m moaning about on the telly.

A full day ahead of football

21-11-2022, 06:11 AM
I agree with his comment about hypocrisy though so many countries including our own have committed atrocities yet the media mainly decide which to highlight and which not to which kind of weakens the argument when being so selective at what you are outraged about.

Yet the atrocities in Qatar are happening here and now and can be dealt with head on, where a lot of the whataboutery by Infantino and his cronies is generally about historical behaviours by Western countries. This can be and must be part of the conversation around this world cup where 6000+ immigratant workers have died during the build of stadia and infrastructure for the tournament! That doesn't happen in the western world, as one example.

21-11-2022, 06:19 AM

Argentinian. He’s a good old boy.

21-11-2022, 06:24 AM
Argentinian. He’s a good old boy.

He was in the Dukes of Hazzard?

21-11-2022, 06:35 AM

Are Scotland commuting human rights abuses right now, every day? I don't think so. Qatar are. You have to be able to condemn the things happening there without mentioning things X and y did years ago.

Stairway 2 7
21-11-2022, 06:54 AM
Gutted thought there was a 10 o'clock game today, just the rest of the week. How many English will be putting on fake coughs this morning and asking for a half day

Dmas
21-11-2022, 07:32 AM
Gutted thought there was a 10 o'clock game today, just the rest of the week. How many English will be putting on fake coughs this morning and asking for a half day

I thought the same until now! That is gutting I held off having breakfast this morning so I could have something with the game on

21-11-2022, 07:59 AM
Why did they decide to have Casper the Friendly Ghost as the Word Cup Mascot?

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/cf6e18dc178e064c24a7dc92cc9d9cd370ed9b36/0_152_6000_3600/master/6000.jpg?width=465&quality=85&dpr=1&s=none

21-11-2022, 08:36 AM
Are Scotland commuting human rights abuses right now, every day? I don't think so. Qatar are. You have to be able to condemn the things happening there without mentioning things X and y did years ago.

An interesting test of that will come when the US step up next - their anti-abortion, gun-violence, racism and homophobia are equally abhorrent to me as some of Qatar's issues, but we won't hear any of that before the first match of the next World Cup. I agree, current human rights abuses should be illuminated wherever they're happening, even if that risks upsetting people's entertainment.

I agree Qatar should rightly be put under the microscope - the entire awarding of this World Cup to them and everything that's followed since, stinks - and their religious zeal makes the place unsafe for football supporters attending if they don't fit the cultural norms - Dmas and others are spot on though, that this was also the case in Russia, though the difference being homophobic opinions aren't enshrined in law in Russia - just widely held (along with racist views) by a dangerous, violent element of society.

21-11-2022, 08:47 AM
If I was to protest every war crime and human rights abuse I'd have given up watching Scotland - or any other UK team - a very long time ago.
I won't apologise for Qatar's record but equally I won't criticise footballers and pundits for failing to carry the torch over these things. We have politicians that are routinely selling arms - and helping them use them - right now to a regime every bit as bad as Qatar as they seek to crush their neighbours. Bring them to task before the MOTD panel ffs.

21-11-2022, 08:51 AM
An interesting test of that will come when the US step up next - their anti-abortion, gun-violence, racism and homophobia are equally abhorrent to me as some of Qatar's issues, but we won't hear any of that before the first match of the next World Cup. I agree, current human rights abuses should be illuminated wherever they're happening, even if that risks upsetting people's entertainment.

I agree Qatar should rightly be put under the microscope - the entire awarding of this World Cup to them and everything that's followed since, stinks - and their religious zeal makes the place unsafe for football supporters attending if they don't fit the cultural norms - Dmas and others are spot on though, that this was also the case in Russia, though the difference being homophobic opinions aren't enshrined in law in Russia - just widely held (along with racist views) by a dangerous, violent element of society.

Russia has declared various groups as 'Extremist', including a number of perfectly peaceful minority religions. This was done to appease, and appeal to, the majority Russian Orthodox church. Those groups are now basically treated in the same manner as terrorist organizations.

The control of what is now effectively the' State Religion' in Russia hasn't quite reached the same levels as it has in the Gulf States, but it's getting closer every day. The restriction of gay rights is simply an extension of that religious extremism.

The Baldmans Comb
21-11-2022, 09:01 AM
I see the English and the Welsh (with their 9 English ringers) have bottled it about on wearing their futile wee armbands.

Good to see FIFA clamping down on these arrogant countries who seem to think they own the World Cup and can do whatever they like.

There is an inherent racism in these countries when they didn't have any problem with the last World Cup being held in a nasty horrible country such as Russia and will be lapping up the next World Cup in the USA despite its appalling record for illegal wars, rendition flights, Guantenamo Bay and its racist police force.

21-11-2022, 09:10 AM
Whilst I'm perhaps being a tad facetious it would be interesting to see a list of countries that would make acceptable hosts for a World Cup.

21-11-2022, 09:22 AM
Whilst I'm perhaps being a tad facetious it would be interesting to see a list of countries that would make acceptable hosts for a World Cup.

Not the US.

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/live-blog/live-updates-shooting-colorado-springs-lgbtq-nightclub-kills-5-rcna58061

21-11-2022, 09:24 AM

We touched on this earlier in the thread. Less than half of the countries are free of significant criticism on human rights, oppressing minorities and so on. It depends on your political POV as well. That doesn’t mean Qatar isnt a particularly egregious example of an unpleasant autocracy, but football also provides a break from the ****ty world we inhabit; the Iranian people might like something to smile about for once so for that reason among plenty of others I hope they give England a good hiding today.

21-11-2022, 09:47 AM
I see the English and the Welsh (with their 9 English ringers) have bottled it about on wearing their futile wee armbands.

Good to see FIFA clamping down on these arrogant countries who seem to think they own the World Cup and can do whatever they like.

There is an inherent racism in these countries when they didn't have any problem with the last World Cup being held in a nasty horrible country such as Russia and will be lapping up the next World Cup in the USA despite its appalling record for illegal wars, rendition flights, Guantenamo Bay and its racist police force.

****ing hell...

21-11-2022, 09:48 AM
I think half the posts on here should be sent over to the Holy Ground board so anyone interested in human rights etc can discuss it properly there, leave this thread to talk about football.

21-11-2022, 10:03 AM

Pretty sure England did protest over last World Cup and no diplomats or royals attended?
England an Wales have made fools of themselves for bottling it. You don’t ask permission to protest. They are basically saying we stand for what we believe in so long as it doesn’t cost us anything. Virtue signalling at its finest.

Yorkshire HFC
21-11-2022, 10:06 AM

Qatar is obviously not the right place to hold a World Cup. It cannot be defended, but people should remember that the country is only 50 years old - perhaps that is the context around which its laws should be judged. The world is still a big place and not everywhere is like Europe - there are many things we can learn from their culture, as well as many, many areas where we should be encouraging them to learn from the west.

21-11-2022, 10:07 AM
Pretty sure England did protest over last World Cup and no diplomats or royals attended?
England an Wales have made fools of themselves for bottling it. You don’t ask permission to protest. They are basically saying we stand for what we believe in so long as it doesn’t cost us anything. Virtue signalling at its finest.

It's not just England and Wales. Was quite a few nations.

I agree, without using that cringe term "virtue signalling" . Easy to protest with no consequences.

21-11-2022, 10:17 AM
We touched on this earlier in the thread. Less than half of the countries are free of significant criticism on human rights, oppressing minorities and so on. It depends on your political POV as well. That doesn’t mean Qatar isnt a particularly egregious example of an unpleasant autocracy, but football also provides a break from the ****ty world we inhabit; the Iranian people might like something to smile about for once so for that reason among plenty of others I hope they give England a good hiding today.

Might be wrong but were you not largely in favour of Qatar being awarded the World Cup all those years ago

21-11-2022, 10:23 AM

England have announced since that their Captain WILL wear this armband for the first two games.

In a separate announcement, Harry Maguire has been named new England Captain....

21-11-2022, 10:31 AM
Might be wrong but were you not largely in favour of Qatar being awarded the World Cup all those years ago

**** me, how do you remember that from 12 years ago :faf: Surprisingly enough, human beings have the capacity to change their minds Betty.

21-11-2022, 10:31 AM
I think half the posts on here should be sent over to the Holy Ground board so anyone interested in human rights etc can discuss it properly there, leave this thread to talk about football.

Completely agree with this.

21-11-2022, 10:40 AM
Varane fit for France for tomorrow, Giroud likely to start in place of Benzema.

21-11-2022, 10:47 AM
I wish the media coverage would do the same. Is a decision on armbands really sports breaking news :rolleyes:

cameronw-hfc
21-11-2022, 10:58 AM
I wish the media coverage would do the same. Is a decision on armbands really sports breaking news :rolleyes:

Should be aye, if England actually were standing up for anyone wearing the One Love armband. If they wanted to make a stand, wear an LGBTQ+ armband, its similar to wearing an All Lives Matter armband. Cop out at the highest level and theyve copped out from even wearing it now.

21-11-2022, 11:04 AM
Qatar is obviously not the right place to hold a World Cup. It cannot be defended, but people should remember that the country is only 50 years old - perhaps that is the context around which its laws should be judged. The world is still a big place and not everywhere is like Europe - there are many things we can learn from their culture, as well as many, many areas where we should be encouraging them to learn from the west.

Out of interest- what countries are the “right” places to hold World Cup ?

One of the biggest jokes of an organisation are FIFA so not exactly surprised they changed their stance so late similar to the alcohol sales.

If the main governing body can be trusted that creates issues.

Donegal Hibby
21-11-2022, 11:14 AM
Varane fit for France for tomorrow, Giroud likely to start in place of Benzema.
Giroud? He must be getting on a bit ?looking forward to the Dutch game ,haven't seen them play for a long time so don't know what to expect from them!

21-11-2022, 11:15 AM
Looking at that England line up and wow I didn't realise how average it was.

The defence in particular is terrible.

They only have a couple of truly top players in that side. I think they'll get turned over by the first half decent team they face.

Paulie Walnuts
21-11-2022, 11:18 AM

They only have a couple of truly top players in that side. I think they'll get turned over by the first half decent team they face.

Trippier is playing out his skin for Newcastle and Stones is a superb centre half playing for one of the best teams in the world.

Maguire and Shaw are usually pretty good for England as well. If that defence is terrible then the same probably needs to be said for near enough every other team in the tournament.

21-11-2022, 11:22 AM
Will be the standard England viewing approach for me: they go one up, sound off. Two up, TV off.

21-11-2022, 11:24 AM

I don't think you can call any of the England players 'average' every one of them plays at the highest level for mostly big clubs. The trouble England have never had is having decent players, the trouble they almost always have is making a team out of them.

Donegal Hibby
21-11-2022, 11:31 AM

Players like Foden , Grealish , Bellingham ,Kane are far from average ,I'd say most countries would take them in a heartbeat.

21-11-2022, 11:37 AM
Will be the standard England viewing approach for me: they go one up, sound off. Two up, TV off.

And mute button for their anthem.

21-11-2022, 11:43 AM

I think across the board they have a strong squad and an even stronger pool to choose from.

The loyalty, some may call it a blindness, that Southgate is showing Maguire is bizarre though and may well cost them. You have a CB who won Serie A with AC Milan last year not even in the squad and even if GS felt he needed experience Chris Smalling had a very good season at Roma as well and would have been a preferable option to Maguire.

I won't be complaining if he has a moment today right enough.

21-11-2022, 11:45 AM
And mute button for their anthem.

I boo at the TV. I'm 51 😂

21-11-2022, 11:46 AM

I concur, as I said my previous post was a tad facetious.

21-11-2022, 11:54 AM
I think across the board they have a strong squad and an even stronger pool to choose from.

The loyalty, some may call it a blindness, that Southgate is showing Maguire is bizarre though and may well cost them. You have a CB who won Serie A with AC Milan last year not even in the squad and even if GS felt he needed experience Chris Smalling had a very good season at Roma as well and would have been a preferable option to Maguire.

I won't be complaining if he has a moment today right enough.

One of the Easter Island statue would be a better and more mobile than that lump :greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
21-11-2022, 11:56 AM
Did the England team forget the Queen had died?

21-11-2022, 12:03 PM
That’s a penalty

21-11-2022, 12:04 PM
What is the actual point of VAR.

There’s a tackle that wouldn’t go amiss on the rugby pitch!

21-11-2022, 12:05 PM
That’s a penalty
Behave yourself never a pen, Maguire had his arms round the boy :greengrin

You can check VAR for someone being offside by one millimetre but not for a bear hug, games ****ed

Just about to post the same, what is the point.

21-11-2022, 12:07 PM
Behave yourself never a pen, Maguire had his arms round the boy :greengrin

Get back to your VAR room and shut up 😀😂

21-11-2022, 12:08 PM
I’m not in favour or awarding penalties for every contact in the box but if that’s not a penalty for a defender impeding an attacker from trying to win a header I don’t know what is🤷🏼

That's a belter of a heidbutt by the goalie

Said it before, we should have a challenge system like in tennis.

21-11-2022, 12:09 PM
Trippier is playing out his skin for Newcastle and Stones is a superb centre half playing for one of the best teams in the world.

Maguire and Shaw are usually pretty good for England as well. If that defence is terrible then the same probably needs to be said for near enough every other team in the tournament.

Trippier has been decent for Newcastle I'll give you that but Pickford is playing in a terrible team moored down the bottom of the league, Maguire and Stones are both not first picks at CB for their teams and Shaws form has been up and down.

Yes if course compared to Iran or Wales they have bigger names. But there are no players in that back 4 and keeper that would anywhere near top of their game at a global level.

21-11-2022, 12:10 PM

Absolutely ridiculous decision, oh well! 😀

Why have England got blue on their tops and navy shorts when their flag is red and white? Not one part of their strip has red on it.

That's a belter of a heidbut by the goalie

The more you see it the worse it looks! Dull one for sure!

21-11-2022, 12:11 PM
Said it before, we should have a challenge system like in tennis.

Nah - we should simply have the refs explaining the decisions like rugby / rugby league.

No holding on Maguire so no penalty for example. No idea how that wasn’t a penalty.

Would make the game better and show more respect for the refs even if they are still incompetent.

Trippier has been decent for Newcastle I'll give you that but Pickford is playing in a terrible team moored down the bottom of the league, Maguire and Stones are both not first picks at CB for their teams and Shaws form has been up and down.

Yes if course compared to Iran or Wales they have bigger names. But there are no players in that back 4 and keeper that would anywhere near top of their game at a global level.

Apart from a mistake in his last game, Pickford has been in great form for Everton.

Mcbizz1998
Why is this guy not off yet?

Get back to your VAR room and shut up 😀😂
Unbelievable decision mate.

21-11-2022, 12:12 PM
Nah - we should simply have the refs explaining the decisions like rugby / rugby league.

No holding on Maguire so no penalty for example. No idea how that wasn’t a penalty.

Would make the game better and show more respect for the refs even if they are still incompetent.

We got a penalty for less contact on Porteous.

21-11-2022, 12:13 PM
Why is this guy not off yet?

Can't just lift him up in case he has a damaged neck.

Mcbizz1998
21-11-2022, 12:13 PM
Can't just lift him up in case he has a damaged neck.

He’s staying on! Farcical.

21-11-2022, 12:14 PM
Football is turning into a total joke.

How is the keeper not having a concussion protocol ?

21-11-2022, 12:14 PM
Iran have 4 goalies in their squad too.

21-11-2022, 12:15 PM
Unbelievable decision from the medical team.

Medical professionals! Should be ashamed of themselves

21-11-2022, 12:16 PM
He’s staying on! Farcical.

I know, one minute he looked like a stretcher case, next minute he's staying on. Probably told you're staying on or it's off to jail.

21-11-2022, 12:17 PM
Shambles from medical team - unacceptable.

Football is so far behind other sports with concussion.