View Full Version : The world cup thread
29-11-2022, 03:01 PM
It still can go tits up but potentially this could be the best WC collectively for African nations. Morocco look the pick of them but Ghana and Senegal both also look capable of a run at the quarters/semis.
It feels like a changing of the guard - The Germany / Argentina / Belgium losses, and the way some "unfancied" teams have played.
Its all very interesting.
Still think France and Brazil are faves
29-11-2022, 03:09 PM
I've no idea but body paint is a lot cheaper than Stone Island gear.
Do we have enough Ultras to spell Hibernian or would we need to settle for Hibs?
Enough for Hibees actually. Is this the reason they had to settle for celtc?
29-11-2022, 03:09 PM
Enough for Hibees actually. Is this the reason they had to settle for celtc?
29-11-2022, 03:30 PM
Ecuador 1 v 1 Senegal
There has been some chat on here about how Maradonas brutal treatment at world cups has been exaggerated by his fans to make a case that he’s the best ever.
Just heard a great stat today, Messi has just equaled Maradonas matches played at world cups. After 21 games each, Messi has been fouled 60 times. Maradona was fouled in the same number of games a total of 152 times, that’s over seven times a game. And it goes without saying those fouls will not be of the shirt pulling, obstruction type. They will be studs down the Achilles, stamp the metatarsal type fouls. The three most fouled players of all time at world cups have all been Maradona; 82 86 and 90.
It’s just a completely different game now.
I watched a clip of Maradona v England during that infamous game and he was blootered about the park by the English players.
Hodge, Reid, Butcher, Fenwick and co took it in turns to ‘take him out’ all over the pitch. Only one booking IIRC!
29-11-2022, 03:32 PM
Ecuador 1 v 2 Senegal
29-11-2022, 03:32 PM
Wow 2-1 Senegal
This World Cup is a slow burner, warming up nicelY
Back to today and looks like the Portuguese FA are submitting evidence that Ronaldo actually touched the ball before it crossed the line, even though Adidas have provide details he didn’t!
Ronaldo has apparently thrown the rattle out the pram!
Stairway 2 7
29-11-2022, 03:35 PM
Back to today and looks like the Portuguese FA are submitting evidence that Ronaldo actually touched the ball before it crossed the line, even though Adidas have provide details he didn’t!
Fernandes must be delighted with Portuguese fa's efforts for Ronaldo
29-11-2022, 03:40 PM
I watched a clip of Maradona v England during that infamous game and he was blootered about the park by the English players.
Hodge, Reid, Butcher, Fenwick and co took it in turns to ‘take him out’ all over the pitch. Only one booking IIRC!
Even when you see replays of the - brilliant - second goal of his, they were booting his ankles (well, when they could get close) all the way to the goal.
It was only his build and will to win that drove him on to score that goal.
Today, most players would have been looking for a foul on the half way line from Reids attempt.
29-11-2022, 03:44 PM
Senegal look like they’re trying to score a third instead of defending the lead…
29-11-2022, 03:46 PM
Netherlands v Qatar even the players look like they can’t be arsed, 2nd half is utterly mind numbing boredom
Even when you see replays of the - brilliant - second goal of his, they were booting his ankles (well, when they could get close) all the way to the goal.
Today, most players would have been looking for a foul on the half way line from Reids attempt.
Definitely. That goal was outstanding.
Mind you the tackles that went in would be close to Red cards.
Fernandes must be delighted with Portuguese fa's efforts for Ronaldo
I know. They won FFS.
29-11-2022, 03:53 PM
They weren't really.....no one got really put a tackle in. He turned away from Reid & Beardsley then just waltzed past Butcher, Fenwick & Shilton
29-11-2022, 03:54 PM
I have all the favourites to win the groups, Netherlands and England tonight I think.
France and Argentina tomorrow I reckon but have no faith in Belgium and think I'm gonna cash out after tomorrow night.
29-11-2022, 03:56 PM
Wow absolutely ridiculous
A very poor Qatar team out without a point and should never have been given the tournament in the 1st place.
29-11-2022, 03:57 PM
Senegal looking like being Englands next opponents all going as expected later.
The English have NEVER lost to African opposition I’ve just heard?
29-11-2022, 03:59 PM
Well done Senegal.
29-11-2022, 04:05 PM
Take it we will all be supporting Senegal against England in the last 16. :wink:
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2022, 04:25 PM
Senegal looking like being Englands next opponents all going as expected later.
The English have NEVER lost to African opposition I’ve just heard?
Always a first time for everything :greengrin
29-11-2022, 04:28 PM
Always a first time for everything :greengrin
Here’s hoping!
Gaun the Teranga Lions
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 05:22 PM
Here’s hoping!
Gaun the Teranga Lions
They have to Slay the Dragon first :greengrin
Bridge hibs
29-11-2022, 05:45 PM
Yma o Hyd
Song by Dafydd Iwan
I heard this song a few months ago, brilliant to see Dafydd and thousands of Welsh fans sing it, its on youtube and well worth a watch
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 05:48 PM
i wanted Wales to win.... BEFORE I just heard Shearer complaining how much time was being spent talking about Wales. Linekar trying to make joke of it but he was being serious...
29-11-2022, 05:50 PM
i wanted Wales to win.... BEFORE I just heard Shearer complaining how much time was being spent talking about Wales. Linekar trying to make joke of it but he was being serious...
Watch this to get you in the mood
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1fpV0OFC0vc
29-11-2022, 05:55 PM
Why can't football fans/players ever sing the national anthem in time?
29-11-2022, 05:59 PM
Why can't football fans/players ever sing the national anthem in time?
I assume it's because of acoustics and the size of the stadium.
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 06:02 PM
Watch this to get you in the mood
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1fpV0OFC0vc
indeed.
Been subject to them since the Battle of Orewin Bridge... and had 'Prince's of Wales' foisted on them ever since. quite a big chip on the shoulder to have
29-11-2022, 06:05 PM
Watching Iran v USA and the first thing the commentator says is "welcome to viewers in Northern Ireland and Scotland" lol
29-11-2022, 06:09 PM
Wales are pish, put the ball straight out the park 4 times in the first 8 mins
29-11-2022, 06:10 PM
Great keeping Ward. Declan Rice dominating things there.
29-11-2022, 06:11 PM
indeed.
Been subject to them since the Battle of Orewin Bridge... and had 'Prince's of Wales' foisted on them ever since. quite a big chip on the shoulder to have
And the current Prince of Wales is patron of the English FA!
29-11-2022, 06:12 PM
Watching Iran v USA and the first thing the commentator says is "welcome to viewers in Northern Ireland and Scotland" lol
29-11-2022, 06:13 PM
Just shows the arrogance of the typical englander
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 06:17 PM
Great keeping Ward. Declan Rice dominating things there.
it was..
Walker playing well and overloading midfield most of the time like he does for club when in possession. Wales need to look for a foot race with McGuire as that is weakest part of defence
29-11-2022, 06:19 PM
it was..
Walker playing well and overloading midfield most of the time like he does for club when in possession. Wales need to look for a foot race with McGuire as that is weakest part of defence
They need to get the ball first, total domination in possession. I’d get Dan James running at McGuire wherever possible.
29-11-2022, 06:20 PM
it was..
Bale and Ramsay haven't exactly looked swift so far...
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 06:20 PM
And the current Prince of Wales is patron of the English FA!
nothing against him as an individual - seems a pretty decent bloke - but the fact Wales is referred to as the 'Principality' :rolleyes: rather than a country....
Can you imagine a 'Prince of Scotland' being tolerated
29-11-2022, 06:21 PM
I had the tv on but wasn’t looking at it. I couldn’t help being amazed, hearing the complaint ( it really sounded like a serious complaint) of one of the English pundits about the time spent on talking about Wales …….. so it was that twat, Shearer? Absolutely disgraceful public comment by the blinkered idiot. It’s this sort of self importance that makes you hate the English attitude. They’ve little chance but I would love to see Wales winning the game.
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 06:21 PM
Bale and Ramsay haven't exactly looked swift so far...
you are right - Dan James only chance
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 06:24 PM
thats surely a concussion...brave
29-11-2022, 06:25 PM
thats surely a concussion...brave
Naw, it's just a "let's get a drop ball" job
29-11-2022, 06:27 PM
‘Clever play by Ben Davies’ no it isn't. Its just diving and cheating.
29-11-2022, 06:28 PM
I did enjoy seeing that hateful Walker get clattered by Moore 😁
29-11-2022, 06:32 PM
Poor poor game.
Renfrew_Hibby
29-11-2022, 06:32 PM
Be funny if the English end up with the Dutch on the next round. Goal for Iran and a drab draw here would be hilarious
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 06:34 PM
its hard when star players are at end of career as to whether to play or not... we all now they have game changing skill but surely Allen / Ramsey / Bale in starting line up is at least 1 too many when you lose pace and energy required to press & close and not give up total possession:dunno:
29-11-2022, 06:34 PM
Be funny if the English end up with the Dutch on the next round. Goal for Iran and a drab draw here would be hilarious
Which is why I'm watching the other game - USA should be two up but aren't
29-11-2022, 06:35 PM
What a ***** game of football
I have flicked over to Knight Rider 🤣
Naw, it's just a "let's get a drop ball" job
Perhaps not.....
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 06:36 PM
decent game?
SJNB Hibby
29-11-2022, 06:37 PM
I'm watching both side by side
Commentary on the wales game, but it's the international feed so fairly unbiased
29-11-2022, 06:38 PM
decent game?
It is - noisy as well!
Up-the-slope
Perhaps not.....
Var check on your comment:greengrin
I thought it was one he should have gone off from straight away... full blooter right in the napper that knocked him off feet.
USA score
SJNB Hibby
29-11-2022, 06:39 PM
States 1 up
Green Reaper
Good goal USA, thoroughly deserved
Iran 0-1 USA Pulisic
29-11-2022, 06:40 PM
pulisic 1-0 USA :)
took a sore one, still getting treatment in the goals
i think he's going to come off
Green Reaper
29-11-2022, 06:42 PM
Iran need to score now so game should open right up, Pulisic injured at goal and is struggling
29-11-2022, 06:43 PM
Pulisic, crocked himself scoring, still off the pitch
29-11-2022, 06:43 PM
Commentator and Jenas are really trying to convince themselves that England are actually better than they are
29-11-2022, 06:44 PM
pulisic should be ok
29-11-2022, 06:44 PM
If Wales can do the unlikely and win this and Iran win, England will face the Netherlands.
Sorry, got that wrong. Ignore it. :-)
Can’t remember the last time Bale touched the ball!
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 06:45 PM
Englands final ball is honking.
29-11-2022, 06:47 PM
Can’t remember the last time Bale touched the ball!
Him and Ronaldo have brought walking football to this years world cup.
hope the yanks don't regret those missed chances
Donegal Hibby
For all the very good players England have , they just never click as a team .poor match
29-11-2022, 06:48 PM
Why don't they use VAR to give Wales the goal kick? Imagine that led to an England goal?
Renfrew_Hibby
29-11-2022, 06:49 PM
For all the very good players England have , they just never click as a team .poor match
Bunch of prima donna *****
29-11-2022, 06:49 PM
iranian dude injured, Groin injury
Stairway 2 7
29-11-2022, 06:50 PM
USA look good but need to take a second. Will be goals the second half
Him and Ronaldo have brought walking football to this years world cup.
Indeed. Can add Ramsay to that too.
29-11-2022, 06:51 PM
Another dreadful England performance.
As things stand they have a very winnable last 16 tie but I don't see them going any further.
29-11-2022, 06:51 PM
Utter drivel , No danger are England winning the world cup , Garbage against USA drivel against Wales
29-11-2022, 06:53 PM
Weah scores, flagged offside
29-11-2022, 06:53 PM
US have second goal ruled out, great goal too
29-11-2022, 06:54 PM
2-0
nope
offside 1-0
nah i don't think he was off
nice stadium btw
Linekar and co making out England playing well :hilarious:hilarious
Bore off
Another dreadful England performance.
As things stand they have a very winnable last 16 tie but I don't see them going any further.
To be honest Senegal will be no walkover. England have zero creativity and are pedestrian
Stairway 2 7
Must be close, what a finish
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2022, 06:56 PM
What a ***** game of football
Look on it this way . It can't get much worse 😁
29-11-2022, 07:05 PM
Bale subbed off!
29-11-2022, 07:07 PM
Bale subbed off!
They’re saying he picked up an injury. He must have tripped up going in at half time.
29-11-2022, 07:08 PM
Bale subbed off!
He's been magnificent for Wales over the years, but the years have caught up with him, and he no longer has the pace that made the difference now.
Saying that, i hope he gets another game in this world cup.:wink:
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 07:09 PM
soft free kick?
now goal... if it was not a free kick then thats where VAR needs changed.... stilll dont know if it was / wasnt
29-11-2022, 07:09 PM
1-0 England Rashford
29-11-2022, 07:10 PM
Keepers ****ed it there
29-11-2022, 07:10 PM
Poor from the keeper
29-11-2022, 07:11 PM
1-0 England Rashford
What a strike.
USA giving Aaronson more time this game
Keeper at the World Cup shouldn't get beat from that distance. Cracking free kick though
2-0 Foden
Surprise surprise, put Foden in the correct position, he wins a fk and Rashford scores.
And, there's no 2 from Foden
This could get messy
pollution
Oh well
**** off Wales
pollution
29-11-2022, 07:12 PM
Was there contact for the free kick?
I think it’s fair to say England have come out fired up for the second half. :greengrin
Oh dear Wales. Number 4 arsed that up
Wales are utter gash
Wales are shocking. Maybe that’s why Gareth baled out.:greengrin
pollution
29-11-2022, 07:13 PM
Jeezo
29-11-2022, 07:14 PM
Wales are shocking. Maybe that’s why Gareth baled out.:greengrin
A leeky defence?
29-11-2022, 07:15 PM
Wales attacking now!!!
29-11-2022, 07:18 PM
A leeky defence?
Geez peas....
Donegal Hibby
Wales attacking now!!!
Harry McGuire trying to help them out too
Wales have been lucky that they had a superstar in Bale, adequately supported by players like Ramsay. However, they are on a decline. They've reached their peak.
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 07:19 PM
What a strike.
:agree: if it was a free kick
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2022, 07:19 PM
Wales attacking now!!!
Harry McGuire trying to help them out too
29-11-2022, 07:28 PM
Welsh goalie is honkin
That Danny Ward is pish!
More Leaks than Leeks
Welsh goalie is honkin
So bad
Wales are poop!!!
29-11-2022, 07:29 PM
Wales are ****ing awful.
Their goalie is the cherry on top. Horrendous
29-11-2022, 07:29 PM
More Leaks than Leeks
I bet the game is just dragon on for Wales now...
Mcbizz1998
29-11-2022, 07:30 PM
At least Wales are out, and bottom as well.
the yanks could suffer ye olde sucker-punch here
Up-the-slope
game of two halfs :wink:
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2022, 07:31 PM
England will be going to win it now again 😂
29-11-2022, 07:32 PM
States need to win but seem to be on top
JamesHFC
29-11-2022, 07:33 PM
Embarrassing that we got pumped out by Ukraine & as teams prepare for the biggest competition in world football, we are getting slapped about in Turkey (if that's what they still call it). I doubt I'll see Scotland reach the knockout stages of any major tournament in my lifetime, we couldn't beat Croatia or the Czechs on our home patch ffs.
29-11-2022, 07:35 PM
Multi million dollar bid for the Welsh keeper after the World Cup anyone? :LOL:
29-11-2022, 07:36 PM
Can we get that Michael Sheen speech again, Wales 😂
29-11-2022, 07:37 PM
Embarrassing that we got pumped out by Ukraine & as teams prepare for the biggest competition in world football, we are getting slapped about in Turkey (if that's what they still call it). I doubt I'll see Scotland reach the knockout stages of any major tournament in my lifetime, we couldn't beat Croatia or the Czechs on our home patch ffs.
Still reckon even we beat this wales team. They’re honking
Fuzzywuzzy
29-11-2022, 07:39 PM
Just clocked the ref had his laces tied under and round his boot!! Haven't seen that for years!!
29-11-2022, 07:39 PM
It’s good to hear the English commentators have got their mojo back. :sick: At least for maybe another game or two if they’re lucky.
29-11-2022, 07:40 PM
they've offered zero in this game anyway, and nothing at all outwith a 15min spell against the US.
29-11-2022, 07:41 PM
It’s good to hear the English commentators have got their mojo back. :sick: At least for maybe another game or two if they’re lucky.
🇸🇳🇸🇳
You sense USA might give something away here
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Hard to begrudge Marcus Rashford I suppose.
hibstag
29-11-2022, 07:43 PM
Wales have been lucky that they had a superstar in Bale, adequately supported by players like Ramsay. However, they are on a decline. They've reached their peak.
That was the 2016 euros been slipping away since
29-11-2022, 07:43 PM
Hard to begrudge Marcus Rashford I suppose.
They could have Mother Theresa up front and I'd still want her to pull her hamstring.
29-11-2022, 07:45 PM
USA v Iran is a good watch on BBC 2
29-11-2022, 07:47 PM
They could have Mother Theresa up front and I'd still want her to pull her hamstring.
He fed the kids. Fair play. He even runs in a classy way.
29-11-2022, 07:47 PM
Iranian substitute booked for mouthing off to the Ref
29-11-2022, 07:48 PM
Wales are utterly honking 😂
29-11-2022, 07:49 PM
Am glad Harry Maguire is saving his **** ups for the group stages 😁
JamesHFC
29-11-2022, 07:49 PM
All good saying it now but they beat Ukraine when we couldn't. They also qualified for the knockouts of the last euros playing thousands of miles away as we shat the bed home against the Czechs.
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 07:51 PM
USA v Iran is a good watch on BBC 2
i swapped a bit ago USA playing dangerous with only 1
hibstag
The rearranged date did for us played on the original date (I know the war) we were in form and in great place as a squad. Those summer fixture feel like a blip on our current international progress.
At the euros we had two World Cup semi finalists in our group we hadn't been anywhere in 24 years
yank keeper collecting a long range shot, then doing a wee dive holding the ball, sad
9 mins added
29-11-2022, 07:52 PM
yank keeper collecting a long range shot, then doing a wee dive holding the ball, sadExpecting nearly 10 mins added time
JamesHFC
29-11-2022, 07:54 PM
The rearranged date did for us played on the original date (I know the war) we were in form and in great place as a squad. Those summer fixture feel like a blip on our current international progress.
At the euros we had two World Cup semi finalists in our group we hadn't been anywhere in 24 years
This Wales squad got through a group of Italy, Switzerland & Turkey. The tournament before that reached the semi finals, beating Belgium. Incredible stuff. Scotland are really poor imo. Mental if we reach the next world cup with Adams & Dykes 😭
All good saying it now but they beat Ukraine when we couldn't. They also qualified for the knockouts of the last euros playing thousands of miles away as we shat the bed home against the Czechs.
Watch them spiral down the rankings now Baie is spent though 👍 one man team who bailed them out loads (pardon the pun). They’ve been the worst team to watch this World Cup. We’ve far better prospects moving forward than they’ll have 👍
i swapped a bit ago USA playing dangerous with only 1
I’m disappointed to be honest, I switched over 10 mins ago and Irans final ball is reminiscent of Doyle Hayes.
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 07:55 PM
i want Iran to score... ive come to realise that i cant help but support the underdog....:rolleyes:....
JamesHFC
Watch them spiral down the rankings now Baie is spent though 👍 one man team who bailed them out loads (pardon the pun). They’ve been the worst team to watch this World Cup. We’ve far better prospects moving forward than they’ll have 👍
Yet they have achieved more in the last 6 years than Scotland will in our lifetime.
:agree: Wales have been absolute garbage. Only Qatar possibly worse.
29-11-2022, 07:56 PM
Expecting nearly 10 mins added time
poor guess, a full minute out
Am glad Harry Maguire is saving his **** ups for the group stages 😁
He's been outstanding from what I've seen
That’s fair enough. But Wales are only going one way now without anything coming through.
We’ll be well ahead of them in a few years time
Yet they have achieved more in the last 6 years than Scotland will in our lifetime.
I am sorry to hear of your terminal illness.
Otherwise, this is conjecture.
29-11-2022, 07:57 PM
To be fair, they were always likely to get to the Quarters given the draw. Senegal might not be easy but I'd expect England to get past them. France in Quarters is a totally different ball game.
JamesHFC
I am sorry to hear of your terminal illness.
Otherwise, this is conjecture.
What you on about? Weird reply.
What?
Iran very unlucky there, header just past
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2022, 07:58 PM
Good chance for Iran , thankfully went wide
JamesHFC
That’s fair enough. But Wales are only going one way now without anything coming through.
We’ll be well ahead of them in a few years time
Possibly but I can't see us reaching the knockout stages of any major tournament. Not even convinced we will reach the next world cup as it expands, we are brutal.
JamesHFC
What?
Semi finals of a European Championship. Think Scotland will top that before you fall into the grave?
29-11-2022, 07:59 PM
USA have controlled most of this game but this 2nd half they have been petrified to put it in the Iranian box
29-11-2022, 08:00 PM
To be fair, they were always likely to get to the Quarters given the draw. Senegal might not be easy but I'd expect England to get past them. France in Quarters is a totally different ball game.
Never underestimate just getting the job done. France are obviously a class above but I wouldn’t say England have no chance.
29-11-2022, 08:01 PM
Possibly but I can't see us reaching the knockout stages of any major tournament. Not even convinced we will reach the next world cup as it expands, we are brutal.
I reckon we’ll reach the next euros and next World Cup.
We’re getting better and don’t think we’re as bad as you’re making out
Some exciting young players coming through as well
Mcbizz1998
Semi finals of a European Championship. Think Scotland will top that before you fall into the grave?
Well, there’s a cheery thought [emoji23]
Haha drama
Up-the-slope
chaos in usa v iran.... for VAR check
This peculiar obsession about posters and their lifespans is concerning.
JamesHFC
29-11-2022, 08:02 PM
I reckon we’ll reach the next euros and next World Cup.
We’re getting better and don’t think we’re as bad as you’re making out
I hope so mate. Just fed up of being let down.
JamesHFC
This peculiar obsession about posters and their lifespans is concerning.
It's a question not an obsession pal
I hope so mate. Just fed up of being let down.
Being from Scotland and supporting hibs is good for that 🤣
JamesHFC
Being from Scotland and supporting hibs is good for that 🤣
They add fuel to the fire 😂
29-11-2022, 08:03 PM
Usa through
Usa through
They’ll lose to Holland on Saturday.
Iranian subs go absolutely radio rental, and now the players on the field lol
it's not a penalty ffs
29-11-2022, 08:04 PM
Iranian subs go absolutely radio rental, and now the players on the field lol
it's not a penalty ffsIt's not but the boy has to score
29-11-2022, 08:04 PM
that shot when usa finally got in the box, absolutely apalling
29-11-2022, 08:05 PM
that shot when usa finally got in the box, absolutely apallingThat boy had a nightmare since he came on
They’ll lose to Holland on Saturday.
Who cares did the business tonight
29-11-2022, 08:06 PM
He's been outstanding from what I've seen
Which hopefully means a monumental **** up is on the way 😁
England pedestrian in the first half but once they got the first goal it was easy. They’ll best Senegal but then the real tournament begins. Can’t see them winning 3 games in a row against world class opposition.
hopefully all the iranian players families are safe
Up-the-slope
29-11-2022, 08:07 PM
:greengrin it was the epitome of honking... public park stuff... he had to go to the flag with whole left of pitch empty... imagine if Iran had gone up pitch and scored
JamesHFC
I think USA will actually give Netherlands a good game. Depay looked way off it today, Gakpo is carrying them so if he's off it they may face issues.
hibstag
Had a jambo neighbour who thought like this about a certain cup.....
Donegal Hibby
Yeah , was like a pass back 😆
True, but not in my lifetime they haven’t James - we’ve qualified for more World Cups and Euros than they’ll.ever manage 👍 that’s achievement over the decades. And against far better players and teams over my lifetime too 👍 take an off form and aged Bale out that side, you get what you’ve seen this tournament- he’s held them up the last 6/7 years. They were rotten every game.
Wales had a prosperous spell, all down to one world class player as a talisman. Good for them, but as I say, watch them spiral down the rankings now.
I’m maybe from a different era buddy so not having a go at you 👍
29-11-2022, 08:08 PM
Scotland have been in 4 World cups in my lifetime, I have attended two. No Welshman my age can say that.
Also, you can't get a semi on the mantle piece unless your name is Ron Jeremy.
JamesHFC
29-11-2022, 08:09 PM
Scotland have been in 4 World cups in my lifetime, I have attended two. No Welshman my age can say that.
Also, you can't get a semi on the mantle piece unless your name is Ron Jeremy.
If I had the option of supporting my country to a semi final of a major tournament or getting knocked out of the group stages I think I know what I would opt for.
JamesHFC
29-11-2022, 08:10 PM
True, but not in my lifetime they haven’t James - we’ve qualified for more World Cups and Euros than they’ll.ever manage 👍 that’s achievement over the decades. And against far better players and teams over my lifetime too 👍 take an off form and aged Bale out that side, you get what you’ve seen this tournament- he’s held them up the last 6/7 years. They were rotten every game.
Wales had a prosperous spell, all down to one world class player as a talisman. Good for them, but as I say, watch them spiral down the rankings now.
I’m maybe from a different era buddy so not having a go at you 👍
My comment specifically referred to the last 6 years mate but unfortunately I'm not old enough to remember anything other than the 1998 world cup. No hard feelings, I hope we make it in the next years. Just don't see where we are going to get it from.. Tierney & Robertson won't last forever.
29-11-2022, 08:11 PM
That wales manager is being very kind to that performance tonight, ****ing awful
29-11-2022, 08:11 PM
If I had the option of supporting my country to a semi final of a major tournament or getting knocked out of the group stages I think I know what I would opt for.
Surely you mean the group stages of multiple competitions and hence having loads of trips with mates and memories that last a lifetime?
Or one semi?
Aye, I know which I would pick......
29-11-2022, 08:12 PM
:greengrin it was the epitome of honking... public park stuff... he had to go to the flag with whole left of pitch empty... imagine if Iran had gone up pitch and scored
England pedestrian in the first half but once they got the first goal it was easy. They’ll best Senegal but then the real tournament begins. Can’t see them winning 3 games in a row against world class opposition.
If it all goes to plan I think they'll meet France in the quarters. Can't see them beating France.
JamesHFC
Surely you mean the group stages of multiple competitions and hence having loads of trips with mates and memories that last a lifetime?
Or one semi?
Aye, I know which I would pick......
Depends how many of those group stages you've been alive for.
29-11-2022, 08:14 PM
He keeps going with it.
29-11-2022, 08:15 PM
Ok, I give up.
You win 🫣
29-11-2022, 08:19 PM
Would you swap that one off semi defeat in your only Euros for regular trips to World Cups and Euros (over a lifetime) ? Bale has carried them buddy- as he would have done last 6 years if he’d been Scottish.
JamesHFC
29-11-2022, 08:20 PM
Would you swap that one off semi defeat in your only Euros for regular trips to World Cups and Euros (over a lifetime) ? Bale has carried them buddy- as he would have done last 6 years if he’d been Scottish.
Would you swap Hibs getting knocked out of the Europa League qualifying round every season for a one off Europa League semi final?
29-11-2022, 08:23 PM
Would you swap Hibs getting knocked out of the Europa League qualifying round every season for a one off Europa League semi final?
Not for all eternity.
29-11-2022, 08:24 PM
Aye because after 50 years watching Hibs I’d expect disappointment in a semi final 😂👍 but I get your point.
29-11-2022, 08:25 PM
Wales have undoubtedly achieved more in 6 years than Scotland ever have. That euro semi was special. Scotland have achieved nothing like it.
Also guys like Ramsey, Williams, Davies and Allan were absolutely vital to that success. Bale was not carrying them.
JamesHFC
29-11-2022, 08:28 PM
Wales have undoubtedly achieved more in 6 years than Scotland ever have. That euro semi was special. Scotland have achieved nothing like it.
Also guys like Ramsey, Williams, Davies and Allan were absolutely vital to that success. Bale was not carrying them.
For all the debates we have, I'm glad we finally come to an agreement, you're a likeable guy really 😉
Boring 1st half but England upped a gear and won easily, Wales were poor there's no denying that but they did get there, where have we been since 1998?
29-11-2022, 08:32 PM
Maradonna carried Argentina, Platini carried France, Cruyff carried Holland - all in the sense that yes there were good players around them, but those three were the emulators and ones who others around them raised their game around to win trophies - Bale carried them over the line, no doubt about it.
JamesHFC
29-11-2022, 08:34 PM
Maradonna carried Argentina, Platini carried France, Cruyff carried Holland - all in the sense that yes there were good players around them, but those three were the emulators and ones who others around them raised their game around to win trophies - Bale carried them over the line, no doubt about it.
I couldn't care if it was Aaron Hickey, as long as someone takes us past the line of a World Cup play off semi final I'm happy.
29-11-2022, 08:34 PM
Yes, all in the sense that they were 1 of 11 players and done their job to a high standard.
29-11-2022, 08:37 PM
Yes, all in the sense that they were 1 of 11 players and done their job to a high standard.
Yes, and they all made the crucial difference in vital games - it was their genius that won the important games. Much like Gareth Bale. Take any of those three I mentioned out the side, they’re not winning those vital games
JamesHFC
29-11-2022, 08:39 PM
Yes, and they all made the crucial difference in vital games - it was their genius that won the important games. Much like Gareth Bale. Take any of those three I mentioned out the side, they’re not winning those vital games
Hopefully Ryan Fraser steps up for us.
29-11-2022, 08:46 PM
Never underestimate just getting the job done. France are obviously a class above but I wouldn’t say England have no chance.
Fair play, they got the job done, that is all they can be asked to do. With the draw they had, meeting France in the Quarters was always going to be England's first real test. Recent Nations League games against teams of similar standing didn't show them up very well though.
29-11-2022, 08:47 PM
Hopefully Ryan Fraser steps up for us.
I hope any player in a Scotland jersey gets us there James. My point to MW was you take Bale out that Wales side, they don’t reach semi finals or major tours- he carried them over the line with his world class ability and talent - take him out that side over the last decade, they don’t attain what they have. Joe Allen for example raised his game I think because he played alongside Bale - he’s distinctly average, but when you play with really good players, you go that extra mile to achieve. Like you, I hope we do qualify and reach milestones- but my point stands, remove Bale from that Welsh side, they wouldn’t achieve what they had - hence I think he’s carried them over the line in games.
29-11-2022, 08:48 PM
Yes. Because they'd have 10 men.
I get what you're saying but Williams, Robson-Kanu and Vokes scored in the quarter final win vs Belgium. So I assume they were carrying that night?
Its just silly to say 1 player carried a team for years. Key games absolutely. Years? No.
Folk continue to say ''if you take him out the team''? Why, though? hes Welsh, he wouldn't be out the team. So its a pointless argument. He was in the team and played well.
29-11-2022, 08:53 PM
Yes. Because they'd have 10 men.
I get what you're saying but Williams, Robson-Kanu and Vokes scored in the quarter final win vs Belgium. So I assume they were carrying that night?
Its just silly to say 1 player carried a team for years. Key games absolutely. Years? No.
I’m going to have to google and find an article about Maradonna and their 1986 team to prove my point - the players all said they believed in their ability but when you had him in the side they believed they were unbeatable- hence take him out the side, they become less believing in the team ability.
Bale has that same affect.
29-11-2022, 08:58 PM
I’m going to have to google and find an article about Maradonna and their 1986 team to prove my point - the players all said they believed in their ability but when you had him in the side they believed they were unbeatable- hence take him out the side, they become less believing in the team ability.
Bale has that same affect.
I’ll try and find it but I’m sure it was Passarella who was interviewed- and he’d won it before.
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2022, 09:04 PM
The Poland v Argentina game looks a cracker , with Argentina needing a win and I think a point would be enough for poland
30-11-2022, 08:47 AM
Can only see three possible winners of this World Cup - France, Brazil or England. In that order.
Seems a much shallower field at the top tier than usual with no Italy, weaker Germany, Portugal and Spain not what they were, Argentina struggling a bit and the Uruguayans flattering to deceive as ever.
Holland were a disgrace to football in that Qatar game too, completely disrespecting the hosts by playing passing triangles after the second goal with no intent to attack whatsoever. I hope they are somehow horsed in their next game.
30-11-2022, 08:57 AM
Can only see three possible winners of this World Cup - France, Brazil or England. In that order.
Seems a much shallower field at the top tier than usual with no Italy, weaker Germany, Portugal and Spain not what they were, Argentina struggling a bit and the Uruguayans flattering to deceive as ever.
Holland were a disgrace to football in that Qatar game too, completely disrespecting the hosts by playing passing triangles after the second goal with no intent to attack whatsoever. I hope they are somehow horsed in their next game.
Kind of agree but I thought Spain showed signs in the first game they could go on a run here. I did miss the Germany game though.
30-11-2022, 11:50 AM
Would love to see Australia qualify later.
30-11-2022, 03:17 PM
Tunisia 1 France 0
France are rank :agree:
30-11-2022, 03:17 PM
Saliba > Varane
30-11-2022, 03:20 PM
Australia 1 Denmark 0
jings the bet is doomed today :(
Santa Cruz
Aus 1 - Den 0 - I was nearly sleeping there too
Would love to see Australia qualify later.
Winning 1-0 now.....
Saliba > Varane
Didier agrees it seems.
30-11-2022, 03:22 PM
Bonzer!
Fair dinkum
EGL2000
30-11-2022, 03:24 PM
Rowles looks a brilliant singing for hearts, defended so well in the past two games.
30-11-2022, 03:27 PM
Denmark look like they are out of ideas. Struggle to see them scoring here.
30-11-2022, 03:37 PM
It really highlights how poor Scotlands managers have been for years.
Australia have guys like Souttar, Cummings and Boyle who all were not in contention for us but are part of squad doing an amazing job in a competition we can only dream of making.
30-11-2022, 03:39 PM
Jamie Mac coming on
30-11-2022, 03:41 PM
you can hear a pin drop at both venues today
30-11-2022, 03:41 PM
It really highlights how poor Scotlands managers have been for years.
Australia have guys like Souttar, Cummings and Boyle who all were not in contention for us but are part of squad doing an amazing job in a competition we can only dream of making.
:top marks all the dingo dollars in the world have not helped us. It is all about the team spirit.
30-11-2022, 03:42 PM
you can hear a pin drop at both venues today
I know, it's pathetic isn't it?
Last 10 of vital matches and there's nothing.
Mcbizz1998
30-11-2022, 03:49 PM
The French don’t appear to be anything to be scared of. Can’t see them winning it when they face the big teams.
Donegal Hibby
30-11-2022, 03:50 PM
Just seen the scores . My predictions are goosed again 😂
30-11-2022, 03:51 PM
Jackson Irvine has been class here.
Australia fully deserve to qualify. Even more gutted for Boyle.
The French don’t appear to be anything to be scared of. Can’t see them winning it when they face the big teams.
Had there C Team out to be fair
I know, it's pathetic isn't it?
Last 10 of vital matches and there's nothing.
at least we've had the excitement of Tunisians booing for the last 5 mins of normal time & now for 8 mins more of time added on
30-11-2022, 03:52 PM
Have you looked at their line up today? A very long way from their strongest team.
30-11-2022, 03:53 PM
Could Ryan have kicked for a goal there?
Mcbizz1998
30-11-2022, 03:54 PM
Had there C Team out to be fair
Ok, fair enough then.
30-11-2022, 03:55 PM
Fair play to Australia, but Denmark have been absolutely shocking for a team needing a win.
Manager will be bulleted tonight I imagine.
EGL2000
30-11-2022, 03:56 PM
Amazing Australia through, get in!
Scenes
huge disappointment for the Danes, one point from three games
they're not taking any bacon home
mind you though i don't think they will get any bacon :)
France equalise 98 mins