View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2021-22 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

davhibby
20-01-2022, 02:49 PM
I agree with this, and to send him to one of Raith’s promotion rivals, is a wee bit naughty in my opinion

Strange also we brought Bradley back too, can’t play for anyone else now, as he’s played for Ayr and Hibs. He’s cup-tied too as he played for Ayr in the last round

The fact he came off the bench the other night suggests Maloney wants him to be involved so not that strange really

20-01-2022, 02:51 PM
Is 20 really that young? It's not as if we are talking about a 16 year old laddie.

I’d say so.

Tait only turned 20 in December.

Campbell is 22 this year and just broke into the team and got a new contract.

Henderson is 22 this year and just signed from Celtic.

Tait has played more than both them already.

20-01-2022, 02:53 PM
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/12519379/martin-boyle-hibernian-considering-third-al-faisaly-bid-for-australian-international

Here we go.

Doesn’t say how much but I think that’ll be that.

Dazzjw1875
20-01-2022, 02:55 PM
Well looks like he will be away then.

20-01-2022, 02:56 PM
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/12519379/martin-boyle-hibernian-considering-third-al-faisaly-bid-for-australian-international

Here we go.

That’ll be that.

Good move for him and if true I wish him nothing but good luck and thank him for his efforts in a Hibs shirt.

Let's see who we have lined up as a replacement as I don't believe we already have his replacement in the building.

20-01-2022, 02:56 PM
His loan with Raith ended. Maloney has had a look and decided he could do with a loan until the end of the season. Don’t see the issue and don’t see why we’d automatically need to loan him back to Raith.

I'd rather he went to raith as they at least try to play football.

20-01-2022, 02:57 PM
Very strange to loan Tait. Either turns out hes hopeless or we're signing probably 2 central midfielders. I thought the plan was for him to feature in the first team.

He strikes me as being a signing from a previous regime. He was also signed when we appeared to be in full blown end of window panic mode.

Mathie, Ross or both probably liked him.

I'm not writing him off but if Maloney's looked at him and thought he looked like he's unlikely to get much game time this season then he's far better off playing every week and hopefully continuing his development rather than watching Hibs play every weekend.

Providing we qualify for Europe, I like to think we'll have a bit more by way of squad depth for that next season. Having Tait with another half season of competitive football under his belt coming back to start the new season with the rest of the squad right at the start of pre-season might be in everybody's best interests.

20-01-2022, 02:58 PM
So he could be off to Saudi after all.

20-01-2022, 02:59 PM

He can't.

davhibby
20-01-2022, 03:00 PM

Yeah, he’ll be stood in the middle of the park watching the ball fly over his head all game.

20-01-2022, 03:01 PM
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1484190984632037381?t=OIJZz-nQDJPm0Qf4E6bWcw&s=19

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

20-01-2022, 03:02 PM
Was that the plan? He’s only a young lad at 20

Just because we’ve loaned him out doesn’t mean he’s hopeless or that we’re signing another 2 CMs. I’d imagine his game time here would’ve been limited just now

Thats the impression I got when we signed him. Seemed like we did want him in right away but Raith refused. It is what it is. I don't see 20 as that young, plenty of 20 year olds playing in top leagues all over.

Very much hope he is a star for us, but this loan is strange, especially with a cup run ahead. Personally would've had him in tonight.

20-01-2022, 03:04 PM
No mention of how much they’ve bid.

Our value was what in excess of 3 million apparently and their last bid was 2.25?

I reckon it will be around 2.75 and Hibs will accept it for Boyles sake.

Steven79
20-01-2022, 03:09 PM

Our value was what in excess of 3 million apparently and their last bid was 2.25?

Why should we accept any offer lower than we want for the players sake?

We aren't a charity and if they want him then they should pay the asking price...

20-01-2022, 03:10 PM
Thats the impression I got when we signed him. Seemed like we did want him in right away but Raith refused. It is what it is. I don't see 20 as that young, plenty of 20 year olds playing in top leagues all over.

Very much hope he is a star for us, but this loan is strange, especially with a cup run ahead. Personally would've had him in tonight.

If we'd had him in tonight then with Raith having taken up their full allocation of loans then we couldn't have loaned him out again.

Having not seen him play I can't really comment on whether or not I'd have chucked him in tonight. Is he an improvement on Newell, JDH, Campbell or any of the other new boys? What type of midfielder is he exactly?

We've had players in the past who have grown a bit stale at a similar age by staying at Hibs when they might have been better being out on loan playing for someone else.

This one looks a bit weird to begin with but I can understand why Hibs have done it tbh.

20-01-2022, 03:12 PM

We aren't a charity and if they want him then they should pay the asking price...

I agree but I think they’ll be bit of an appreciation that he signed a new contract to remove the release clause (appreciate he would have benefited from this too).

I think Boyle will be itching to get away and this will be the final bid.

LunasBoots
20-01-2022, 03:13 PM
Will be a big loss if he goes, his determination and direct play will be hard to replace.

20-01-2022, 03:14 PM
Good move for both parties and now it would be up to Martin to see if he fancy's it. Wouldn't begrudge him if he left and you never know he could return in a few years.

20-01-2022, 03:16 PM
Will be a big loss if he goes, his determination and direct play will be hard to replace.

No doubt but the way Maloney wants to play I'm hoping we wasn't going to be relying on Martin every game.

I'm hoping Henderson, Mueller and Melkersen can bring some much needed quality in the final third.

20-01-2022, 03:17 PM
Yeah, he’ll be stood in the middle of the park watching the ball fly over his head all game.

We'll be getting a player back who will understand the rotational fouling system inside out thought.

20-01-2022, 03:19 PM
Martin Bye-le

LunasBoots
20-01-2022, 03:21 PM

I think if we want 3 million we will get it, if another bid has gone in then it shows this team is serious and wouldn't be surprised if the bid matches what Hibs want.

20-01-2022, 03:22 PM

I’m guessing we will never know but a few will be on to tell us the truth fact details.

20-01-2022, 03:23 PM

Why for Boyles sake? He isn't forcing a move. Hibs must get every penny if we're letting our best player go.

20-01-2022, 03:24 PM

£2.75m and 20% of next transfer when he moves back for £10m having torn up the WC :agree:

20-01-2022, 03:29 PM

Simple.

But if they get close, but don't quite meet it?

20-01-2022, 03:29 PM
Like many it’s difficult to feel resentment on this move for Boyle and his family’s sake. He has totally deserved it and played his part in a number of highlights in recent time.

But reality bites, we will be materially weaker as a team and are almost certainly writing off the rest of the season tilt at 3rd place. Boyle can’t be replaced on a like for like basis.

Hibiza
20-01-2022, 03:33 PM
£2.75m and 20% of next transfer when he moves back for £10m having torn up the WC :agree:

Don't forget the oil well .

andudare2
20-01-2022, 03:34 PM
In regards to Tait being loaned to Killie and the negative comments from some,do these folk never read a thread and just dive in with the pish they spout,Tait was only on loan to Raith for first half of season,Raith being aware of this brought in a replacement in Sam Stanton,they now have 4 loanees which is the maximum allowed, Hibs now have a new gaffer who has decided he feels Tait would benefit from another loan period elsewhere, so where in all of this have Hibs done wrong?

tonyrougier123
20-01-2022, 03:36 PM
Why is the Martin Boyle deal about what he could earn and not what hibs could get in transfer deal?genuinely find it very strange how this on/off transfer has been reported.

20-01-2022, 03:38 PM
Like many it’s difficult to feel resentment on this move for Boyle and his family’s sake. He has totally deserved it and played his part in a number of highlights in recent time.

But reality bites, we will be materially weaker as a team and are almost certainly writing off the rest of the season tilt at 3rd place. Boyle can’t be replaced on a like for like basis.

I don't grudge Boyle it personally, but the fact we are losing our best player to a team in the bottom half of the Saudi League with an average attendance of 4,500 gives me the boak

Sioux
20-01-2022, 03:38 PM
Disappointed with Tait going on loan. Reckon he’d be just as good if not better than Campbell

Also think it’s poor from Hibs moaning him to Kilmarnock, I suppose it’s a business decision though as they may cover more of his wage and perhaps Tait never wanted to go back to Raith.

A loan to a premiership team would have been much better, would imagine a couple would be interested.

Is our admiration of McCinness having an influence of us sending players to him? Developed a fair few at Aberdeen

In fairness to Hibs/Maloney we didn’t recall him.

We signed him in the summer and Raith said the only way they’d accept it is if they got him on loan until January so they could find a replacement.

It’s not like he’s been recalled for absolutely no reason then loaned back out.

Backtrack of the year that one :greengrin

Steven79
20-01-2022, 03:39 PM
In regards to Tait being loaned to Killie and the negative comments from some,do these folk never read a thread and just dive in with the pish they spout,Tait was only on loan to Raith for first half of season,Raith being aware of this brought in a replacement in Sam Stanton which brings their loanees up to 4 which is the maximum allowed, Hibs now have a new gaffer who has decided he feels Tait would benefit from another loan period elsewhere, so where in all of this have Hibs done wrong?Sam signed a 30 month contract.

https://www.raithrovers.net/51658/sam-stanton.htm

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

18Craig75
20-01-2022, 03:40 PM
Insert a first refusal buy back clause in the Boyle deal.

JamesHFC
20-01-2022, 03:42 PM
Will be gutted to see Boyle go but it sounds like he’s away. Hopefully we get the replacement right.

20-01-2022, 03:43 PM
Why is the Martin Boyle deal about what he could earn and not what hibs could get in transfer deal?genuinely find it very strange how this on/off transfer has been reported.

Probably because the wages involved are pretty much unheard of for a player at his level and transfer value.

20-01-2022, 03:47 PM
Been posted on twitter he won't be involved tonight.

andudare2
20-01-2022, 03:50 PM
Sam signed a 30 month contract.

https://www.raithrovers.net/51658/sam-stanton.htm

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalkprobably my cackhanded way of writing m8,was meaning Sam was brought in as a replacement for Tait and they also have the maximum of four loan players,imo Raith would not have been able to bring Tait in,even if they wanted to.

Lendo
20-01-2022, 03:53 PM
Don't forget the oil well .

We should have all seen this move coming a mile away, it was staring us in the face the whole time, Martin BOILE.

I don't grudge Boyle it personally, but the fact we are losing our best player to a team in the bottom half of the Saudi League with an average attendance of 4,500 gives me the boak

Tradition and history doesn’t count for anything anymore, just dollars from oligarchs, dictators and gangsters.

By who?

20-01-2022, 03:54 PM
By who?

Moira Gordon

20-01-2022, 03:54 PM
probably my cackhanded way of writing m8,was meaning Sam was brought in as a replacement for Tait and they also have the maximum of four loan players,imo Raith would not have been able to bring Tait in,even if they wanted to.

They have 3.

Varian, Williamson and Poplatnik.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/raith-rovers-fc/leihspieler/verein/2795

20-01-2022, 03:55 PM
probably my cackhanded way of writing m8,was meaning Sam was brought in as a replacement for Tait and they also have the maximum of four loan players,imo Raith would not have been able to bring Tait in,even if they wanted to.

Good luck to Sam.

20-01-2022, 03:56 PM
Will Caldwell still have some credit in the bank to get Jordan Jones signed?

Seem to recall him and the chairman getting in really well, even when he was sacked

20-01-2022, 03:57 PM
Why is the Martin Boyle deal about what he could earn and not what hibs could get in transfer deal?genuinely find it very strange how this on/off transfer has been reported.I'm guessing because he has the chance to jump from Hibs wages to around £40k GBP equivalent per week

Probabky about 10 times his weekly wage

tonyrougier123
20-01-2022, 04:00 PM
I'm guessing because he has the chance to jump from Hibs wages to around £40k GBP equivalent per week

So his wages have been negotiated before we accepted a deal?
Thought a deal had to be struck with the transfer fee negotiated before the wage?

20-01-2022, 04:00 PM
Will Caldwell still have some credit in the bank to get Jordan Jones signed?

Seem to recall him and the chairman getting in really well, even when he was sacked

Sure he's still got a number of years on his contract? Has he fallen out of favour?

Isn't he another of those right footed left wingers ? Or inverted wingers they get called these days.

20-01-2022, 04:04 PM
The annoying thing for me about Boyle leaving is that if we had went about our business on the field just a wee bit better he should have been leaving with two Scottish cup winners medals and a League cup winners. The guy owes us nothing though and it’s a well deserved move if it happens.:thumbsup:

20-01-2022, 04:07 PM

Money money money. I guess it’s better then losing him to the OF.

andudare2
20-01-2022, 04:09 PM
They have 3.

Varian, Williamson and Poplatnik.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/raith-rovers-fc/leihspieler/verein/2795Poplatnik,Williamson,Varian and Fotheringham was the 4 i seen so unless this needs updated its 4 on loan

Steven79
20-01-2022, 04:14 PM
The annoying thing for me about Boyle leaving is that if we had went about our business on the field just a wee bit better he should have been leaving with two Scottish cup winners medals and a League cup winners. The guy owes us nothing though and it’s a well deserved move if it happens.:thumbsup:

Could have been at least two League cup winners medals and possibly 3 if we had beaten St Johnstone in the semi last year.

Green-Hibee-7
20-01-2022, 04:28 PM
I think it goes to show how highly regarded a person he is that most are seeing the opportunity for him and his family and supporting him on that. I know as well that he’s a really popular guy amongst the players. You always hear the players go on about how good the dressing room is and I’m sure he’s a big part of that.

Having said that, we need to firstly maximise funds before sentiment. I’d also be looking at a first refusal buy back situation. With it being Saudi he is going, there is no guarantees he settles and could very much be looking for a move back to these shores in a years time. We cannot have a situation where Aberdeen swoop in over the next year or two and get him back.

Will be a big task replacing his speed and absolutely makes us weaker.

20-01-2022, 04:33 PM
Huge job replacing him, someone who can contribute as much as he does on and off the pitch is not going to be easy to find.

20-01-2022, 04:36 PM
Tradition and history doesn’t count for anything anymore, just dollars from oligarchs, dictators and gangsters.

Oh my!

20-01-2022, 04:37 PM

They also brought in a central mid from Rangers on loan

20-01-2022, 04:48 PM

Massive boost for Cove Rangers if true. This game has a potential banana skin feel to it and losing your best player just before it isn’t encouraging.

20-01-2022, 04:59 PM

Tbf, he could've done more himself. Offered little in both finals.

20-01-2022, 05:00 PM
Poplatnik,Williamson,Varian and Fotheringham was the 4 i seen so unless this needs updated its 4 on loan

Yep, you're right. Forgot about him. :aok:

(he's hardly played , which is why I missed him).

20-01-2022, 05:00 PM
Potential for us to go get McGrath now?

georgieboy
20-01-2022, 05:01 PM
Looks like no ladies football for his wife over there !! Sad for her but family first !

20-01-2022, 05:04 PM
Yip, just need to look at the flood of players & coaches to China where the majority fadded our minds.

hibee316
20-01-2022, 05:11 PM
Looks like no ladies football for his wife over there !! Sad for her but family first !

That's a hard one.

Imagine having to go to a new place were you are not allowed to do the thing you love and is your job.

20-01-2022, 05:16 PM

Assuming she goes with him. Plenty players don't do that.

20-01-2022, 05:17 PM
Assuming she goes with him. Plenty players don't do that.

Yeah, I'd assume his family will stay in Scotland

20-01-2022, 05:19 PM
That's a hard one.

Imagine having to go to a new place were you are not allowed to do the thing you love and is your job.

Pretty sure she'll be happy with the increase in housekeeping money :greengrin in all seriousness, it's life changing money for the Boyle family and will set them up for life - he's still got another few years playing career too. Shows what hard work and commitment to your profession can bring you :aok:

Greenworld
20-01-2022, 05:19 PM
That's a hard one.

Imagine having to go to a new place were you are not allowed to do the thing you love and is your job.She won't be going . She will have plenty free flights as part of the package to go see him.
And he will have the same to come back.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

20-01-2022, 05:33 PM
I’d say so.

Tait only turned 20 in December.

Campbell is 22 this year and just broke into the team and got a new contract.

Henderson is 22 this year and just signed from Celtic.

Tait has played more than both them already.

And the Hoff has only just turned 19 and hasn’t played that many games
So you have to assume Maloney is happy to go with the midfielders we have with hopefully Kyle being fit and Playing by end of feb at latest
Gogic still surplus to requirements and can go
Halberg needs game time if he has impressed in training So would expect him to feature tonight at some point
Allan been linked with a few clubs but will we keep him if he wants more game time
If two out the three move on do we need someone else in as Mcgennis could break down again

20-01-2022, 05:35 PM

Here we go.

Doesn’t say how much but I think that’ll be that.

Can t bear to read it . Is this a fourth increased bid then

20-01-2022, 05:40 PM
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1484190984632037381?t=OIJZz-nQDJPm0Qf4E6bWcw&s=19

I thought first bid was 500, 000 knocked back
Second bid 2 million knocked back and third bid around 2 . 2 million or thereabouts I thought we had rejected that making it clear it was over 3 million we wanted So this must be a fourth bid or we didn’t reject the third one ?
Or have I got this wrong

20-01-2022, 05:46 PM
We should have all seen this move coming a mile away, it was staring us in the face the whole time, Martin BOILE.

Well Well Well didn’t have to drill down far to get that one

20-01-2022, 05:52 PM
I think it goes to show how highly regarded a person he is that most are seeing the opportunity for him and his family and supporting him on that. I know as well that he’s a really popular guy amongst the players. You always hear the players go on about how good the dressing room is and I’m sure he’s a big part of that.

Having said that, we need to firstly maximise funds before sentiment. I’d also be looking at a first refusal buy back situation. With it being Saudi he is going, there is no guarantees he settles and could very much be looking for a move back to these shores in a years time. We cannot have a situation where Aberdeen swoop in over the next year or two and get him back.

Will be a big task replacing his speed and absolutely makes us weaker.

We simply can’t replace an on form Boyle
But teams had worked out how to nullify him having a huge impact in some games
The hood has to be we can recruit maybe two players who can improve us as a team
But he has been a great servant to the Club and no one could grudge him such a lucrative financial move if that’s what he wants

Sioux
20-01-2022, 05:55 PM
Potential for us to go get McGrath now?

How many players do you want?

20-01-2022, 06:00 PM
How many players do you want?

Still a couple more yet 😅

Think we need to shift about 5 out first though.

Lendo
20-01-2022, 06:03 PM
Well Well Well didn’t have to drill down far to get that one

A rather crude joke

20-01-2022, 06:03 PM
Still a couple more yet 😅

Think we need to shift about 5 out first though.

I think Daz, Gogic, and Wright will leave - can see a few more coming in before deadline day :aok:

20-01-2022, 06:05 PM
I think Daz, Gogic, and Wright will leave - can see a few more coming in before deadline day :aok:

I would think those you mentioned along with Bradley, Mackie, Hallberg and Allan all have potential to leave so will be interesting to see what develops for sure!

20-01-2022, 06:07 PM
I would think those you mentioned along with Bradley, Mackie, Hallberg and Allan all have potential to leave so will be interesting to see what develops for sure!

There'll be more signings, guaranteed.

20-01-2022, 06:08 PM
Sportsound saying £3M for Boyle.

Lee Marvin
20-01-2022, 06:08 PM
Chris mcglaughin saying deal will be done tomorrow. £3m

20-01-2022, 06:10 PM
There'll be more signings, guaranteed.

Good to hear 👍 you heard anything or just a hunch?

Hillsidehibby
20-01-2022, 06:21 PM
A rather crude joke

Get your head out of the sand Martin. You've had us over a barrel with speculation

andudare2
20-01-2022, 06:32 PM
Yep, you're right. Forgot about him. :aok:

(he's hardly played , which is why I missed him).

😁👍

20-01-2022, 09:35 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/demetri-mitchell-hibs-transfer-radar-26006587

Very similar player to Doig so would provide some competition.

Would mean Mackie is surely away.

HendoDelivered
20-01-2022, 09:36 PM
We are in for the lad Dimitri Michell, ex hearts.

20-01-2022, 09:37 PM
Can't remember him. Any good?

20-01-2022, 09:37 PM

He's not better than we currently have.

20-01-2022, 09:39 PM
Can't remember him. Any good?Sure he done well at hearts

Not sure what he's like now

20-01-2022, 09:44 PM

Seem to recall he was quick and tricky but fairly raw.

Stanton Spence
20-01-2022, 09:44 PM
Sure he done well at hearts

Not sure what he's like now

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkI think he done more than well at them when he was on loan but I could be wrong I'm sure he was brutal once he went back for a second stint

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

tonyrougier123
20-01-2022, 09:46 PM
I think he done more than well at them when he was on loan but I could be wrong I'm sure he was brutal once he went back for a second stint

Unavailable a lot at hearts would fit the mould at Easter road.

20-01-2022, 09:48 PM
He's not better than we currently have.

Better than Doig I’d bet

20-01-2022, 09:54 PM
On tonight’s performance, we really do need an experienced midfielder, someone mentioned James McCarthy before, what’s the chance as I think he’d be ideal for us.

As others have mentioned I recall the first spell him being very good and the second not so great.

However hearts were brutal in his second spell iirc.

Would be good competition for Doig but we still need to add to other areas and players who are a clear improvement.

Stanton Spence
Unavailable a lot at hearts would fit the mould at Easter road.I can remember his first loan spell and remember hoping that he wouldn't be back at them cos he looked quite decent but I don't think they were disappointed to see the back of him

20-01-2022, 09:55 PM
Better than Doig I’d bet

Doig, Campbell and Cadden were our only players to get passmark tonight.

20-01-2022, 09:57 PM
Doig, Campbell and Cadden were our only players to get passmark tonight.And say Mueller and our whole defence too

And a big no for Campbell for me

20-01-2022, 09:58 PM
And say Mueller and our whole defence too

I’d add Newall to that as well.

20-01-2022, 10:00 PM

Cadden maybe, the other two, no chance.

I just don’t see a player in Campbell or Doig. I wish for them to do well in every game and every game I just wonder what they are doing out there.

Of course, that’s just my opinion.

Victor
20-01-2022, 10:00 PM

I’ll second that. Best player after Mueller.

20-01-2022, 10:01 PM

I just don’t see a player in Campbell or Doig. I wish for them to do well in every game and every game I just wonder what they are doing out there.

Doig, Campbell and Cadden were the ones trying to drag us through it imo

big gogs
20-01-2022, 10:03 PM
A rather crude joke
Agreed it was not very refined.

20-01-2022, 10:03 PM

Newell played well and was much more positive tonight, looking to move the ball forward instead of the usual interminable one-twos with the centre halves.

18Craig75
20-01-2022, 10:04 PM
Campbell was much better when he went back to RCB. I think it’s because the game was infront of him. He seems pretty laboured in CM when trying to find a pass or space, he always turns into the player/trouble.

Love to see our own youngsters doing well but I’m afraid we’ll need better from him, add Doig to that as well.

20-01-2022, 10:05 PM

Well Doig was laying on the winning goal.Do you mean apart from that?

20-01-2022, 10:07 PM

Ok, what’s your point?

20-01-2022, 10:08 PM

I thought Campbell was awful again tonight

20-01-2022, 10:10 PM
I thought Campbell was awful again tonight

Same. I'll give him a pass when he moved to CB because it obviously isn't his position. But almost nothing came off for him when he was in midfield.

20-01-2022, 10:11 PM
I'd love us to sign a Guillaume Buezelin type

20-01-2022, 10:11 PM

Nope. Really easy to play against as he never ever plays a forward pass & demands a 1-2.

We'll look a lot less slow & ponderous when Kyle McGennis takes over in there

hibeerealist
20-01-2022, 10:13 PM
On tonight’s performance, we really do need an experienced midfielder, someone mentioned James McCarthy before, what’s the chance as I think he’d be ideal for us.

Please no

Doig played well, absolutely nonstop tonight. He's got some engine. A real talent who will go far in the game. And yeah, better than Mitchell IMO.

Nope. Really easy to play against as he never ever plays a forward pass & demands a 1-2.

He played plenty of forward passes tonight. After half time he was turning with the ball and pressing forward a lot more than in the first.

Ok, what’s your point?

My point is you don’t know what he’s doing out there so I’m telling you.

LeithMike
20-01-2022, 10:14 PM
I think we have decent enough players in the wide areas but its the heart of the team that's missing. It looks like we are going 3-4-3 and, therefore, only 2 central midfielders. We need them both to be good all-rounders. Dont think we really have that - possibly Magennis.

As for Demetri Mitchell, did he not play full back for Hearts? In his first spell he looked excellent and I remember him performing really well against Hibs - on his debut I think. Not sure what happened in his second spell or since but definitely a lot of good attributes with pace and strength. Think he'd be a good addition and Mueller looks a natural replacement for Boyle on the right.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

20-01-2022, 10:16 PM

I mean he played the ball forward the majority of the night, but apart from all those times, his pass through to Doig was outstanding and should’ve been finished.

20-01-2022, 10:18 PM

I thought Newell was very good tonight.

20-01-2022, 10:22 PM

Campbell was stinking for the majority of the game, he had a 15 mins spell where he got stuck in and showed some fight, did ok when he moved to defence.

Mueller was the best on the park tonight, good movement and quick brain and feet, he'll do well, can't argue about Doig and Cadden, both excellent tonight.

20-01-2022, 10:24 PM
I thought Newell was very good tonight.

So did I.

I criticised him after Monday but he was decent enough tonight I thought.

Maybe it’s just me but I don’t think we were as bad as people are making out all over the pitch. I know drawing 0-0 with a league 1 (or 2?) side isn’t good but I just felt something wasnt clicking in the final third rather than it being down to poor individual performances.

I’m not actually sure what the answer is or what position is sign to fix it, I’m sure the people that will decide will know more than me though.

Stokesy's on fire
20-01-2022, 10:28 PM
Stevenson was decent tonight

20-01-2022, 10:32 PM
So did I.

I criticised him after Monday but he was decent enough tonight I thought.

Maybe it’s just me but I don’t think we were as bad as people are making out all over the pitch. I know drawing 0-0 with a league 1 (or 2?) side isn’t good but I just felt something wasnt clicking in the final third rather than it being down to poor individual performances.

I’m not actually sure what the answer is or what position is sign to fix it, I’m sure the people that will decide will know more than me though.

I agree with all of that. The assistant referee done us twice in the first half. Doige was onside on both occasions.

Brummie_Hibs
20-01-2022, 10:34 PM
We need a Kris Boyd type player to get on the end of Cadden's balls.

20-01-2022, 10:36 PM

Okay.

20-01-2022, 10:38 PM
“He's still a Blackpool player so I wouldn't want to speak about that just yet.” - Edinburgh Evening News

Maloney’s comments on Mitchell.

20-01-2022, 10:39 PM

Doidge?😅

It’s typical those sort of crosses were flashed across goal when he went off.

20-01-2022, 10:44 PM
Mitchell was very good for hearts.

I'd be happy to have that Mitchell at hibs.

JamesHFC
20-01-2022, 10:47 PM

Hearts fan I know says that he is good at going forward but quite poor at defending.

JamesHFC
20-01-2022, 11:06 PM
Glad to see Maloney come out and say that “we can’t not replace Boyle”. It will be interesting to see whether we try and get someone in on loan until the end of the season or splash a bit of cash. I assume that we have been looking at potential replacements over the last month.

20-01-2022, 11:11 PM
The players clearly still have a relationship with Jack Ross. Something Shaun will have to deal with quickly.

20-01-2022, 11:12 PM

Like Doidge?

davhibby
20-01-2022, 11:53 PM
I’m glad to see we’re addressing the lack of depth at wingback. It’s the area we’re shortest in and the most important to Maloney’s style

21-01-2022, 12:07 AM
Anyone think we’re planning for someone to bid for Doig and getting his replacement in sharp?

I can’t see Mitchell coming here on a 2 and a half year deal to be backup.

21-01-2022, 12:16 AM
Anyone think we’re planning for someone to bid for Doig and getting his replacement in sharp?

Agree.

davhibby
21-01-2022, 12:27 AM

If Doig was to get injured tomorrow we have nobody who could replace him. We have Cadden and Clarke on the right but it’s only Doig capable of playing on the left. Having to play Campbell there on Monday highlighted this and ended up costing us a goal.

21-01-2022, 12:28 AM
If Doig was to get injured tomorrow we have nobody who could replace him. We have Cadden and Clarke on the right but it’s only Doig capable of playing on the left. Having to play Campbell there on Monday highlighted this and ended up costing us a goal.

Stevenson and Mackie?

I know none of those 2 would be ideal, you also have Drey Wright who has played wing back before. Again not ideal.

I just can’t see Mitchell leaving the championship to be back up for us.

21-01-2022, 01:05 AM
Maloney obviously loves this 343 way of playing and I'm not sure how keen he is on playing in other ways.

It sort of places added importance on players who play some roles and make others largely redundant.

Doig looks to have the skill set to play the role on the left but I don't think we have anyone else who can play there who is a natural, Mackie maybe. If Mitchell comes in, is there anywhere else in the team where Doig can be of use? I thought he was pretty mince on Monday and don't see a CH in him at all.

Do we have much need for traditional fullbacks going forward? What does that mean for Stevenson and McGinn? What does Maloney have in mind for Clarke?

Do we have much need for attacking wingers, the like of whom we'd see either side of a striker if you play 451/ 433? Where does that leave Murphy, Boyle, Mueller?

What are we really looking for from the striker? Can any of our current players really carry that out?

What is the skill set required to play the role of the 2 players who play off the striker? Are they more central and passers or are they more wide players and dribblers?

It looks to me at the moment like we have an awful lot of square pegs and an awful lot of round holes - and that Maloney is going to need quite a few transfer windows to get anywhere near what he wants.

21-01-2022, 01:32 AM
Maloney obviously loves this 343 way of playing and I'm not sure how keen he is on playing in other ways.

It sort of places added importance on players who play some roles and make others largely redundant.

Doig looks to have the skill set to play the role on the left but I don't think we have anyone else who can play there who is a natural, Mackie maybe. If Mitchell comes in, is there anywhere else in the team where Doig can be of use? I thought he was pretty mince on Monday and don't see a CH in him at all.

Do we have much need for traditional fullbacks going forward? What does that mean for Stevenson and McGinn? What does Maloney have in mind for Clarke?

Do we have much need for attacking wingers, the like of whom we'd see either side of a striker if you play 451/ 433? Where does that leave Murphy, Boyle, Mueller?

What are we really looking for from the striker? Can any of our current players really carry that out?

What is the skill set required to play the role of the 2 players who play off the striker? Are they more central and passers or are they more wide players and dribblers?

It looks to me at the moment like we have an awful lot of square pegs and an awful lot of round holes - and that Maloney is going to need quite a few transfer windows to get anywhere near what he wants.

Personally I don’t think we’re too far off.

As I said I can’t imagine Mitchell coming here to be back up so for me that’s if Doig leaves. If not Doig will play wingback and Stevenson, Mackie and Wright can fill in.

McGinn and Stevenson have both shown they can play on the left and right of a back 3 so I think they’ll still be very useful players.

Clarke will play on the right of a back 3 imo or at right wing back and be crucial to how Maloney wants to play as he has quality on the ball but can also step into play.

I think mueller looks we suited on the role he played tonight on the right hand side and on the left I think we need someone like Barrie McKay at hearts. Someone who can pass, dribble, run in behind, come to feet and score - I actually think Wright has played it really well but we’ll need more quality.. I still have a feeling we’ll see McGrath this window.

I can’t help but feel like he’ll be keen on a keeper better with his feet though.

All players fit I think we’ll see something along the lines of (when Boyle leaves)

……………....………..Macey……………….

……..…Clarke……Porteous….Hanlon….

Cadden……Magennis…..Newell…..Doig…..

……………Mueller…………..Melkersen…….

…………………………Nisbet…….

Which leaves

Dabroswki
Mitchell
Rocky
McGregor
McGinn
Stevenson
Mackie
Gogic
Hallberg
Campbell
JDH
Allan
Henderson
Murphy
Bradley
Wright
Scott
Doidge

Huge amount of options but imo we need to cut the quantity and recruit some real quality now.

21-01-2022, 01:34 AM
I was impressed with Michell at Hearts and would be happy to have him with us!

21-01-2022, 01:56 AM
One player that would be perfect for the position on the left just off the striker is Danny Mandroiu.

Got a bit of everything about him and scores a ton.

In a league we’re looking closely at.

Celtic previously linked but can’t see that happening now.

21-01-2022, 03:47 AM
My point is you don’t know what he’s doing out there so I’m telling you.

I see a young lad out there who generally can’t defend, too far off his man and the majority of the time, failing to stop the cross coming in. He doesn’t get himself in good defensive positions and the opposition get joy down our left hand side. Going forward he looks quite awkward and he doesn’t know what really he is trying to do when in possession. If he does get in to a crossing position, the majority of the time, it either goes out of play or hits the first defender. When a cross does come in, it’s either too heavy or doesn’t find a man, however well done on spotting last nights assist, thats what happens when he gets it right and it should happen more often with the positions he finds himself in.

I can’t fault his effort or stamina and I don’t think all the transfer talk in the summer has helped him however I do know what I am seeing front of me and it is not a player who appears to be comfy in his role.

I wish for him to do well, I really do but he has a long long way to go.

Dazzjw1875
21-01-2022, 05:13 AM
Personally I don’t think we’re too far off.

As I said I can’t imagine Mitchell coming here to be back up so for me that’s if Doig leaves. If not Doig will play wingback and Stevenson, Mackie and Wright can fill in.

McGinn and Stevenson have both shown they can play on the left and right of a back 3 so I think they’ll still be very useful players.

Clarke will play on the right of a back 3 imo or at right wing back and be crucial to how Maloney wants to play as he has quality on the ball but can also step into play.

I think mueller looks we suited on the role he played tonight on the right hand side and on the left I think we need someone like Barrie McKay at hearts. Someone who can pass, dribble, run in behind, come to feet and score - I actually think Wright has played it really well but we’ll need more quality.. I still have a feeling we’ll see McGrath this window.

I can’t help but feel like he’ll be keen on a keeper better with his feet though.

All players fit I think we’ll see something along the lines of (when Boyle leaves)

……………....………..Macey……………….

……..…Clarke……Porteous….Hanlon….

Cadden……Magennis…..Newell…..Doig…..

……………Mueller…………..Melkersen…….

…………………………Nisbet…….

Which leaves

Dabroswki
Mitchell
Rocky
McGregor
McGinn
Stevenson
Mackie
Gogic
Hallberg
Campbell
JDH
Allan
Henderson
Murphy
Bradley
Wright
Scott
Doidge

Huge amount of options but imo we need to cut the quantity and recruit some real quality now.

I think from your list above come the end of the window atleast 4/5 will not be here. With hopefully 3 quality players incoming for me a Winger, box-to -box ball carrier and another Holding Mid just my opinion of course

21-01-2022, 05:32 AM

He was good in his first spell. Not great in his second

21-01-2022, 05:34 AM
Apparently he had a bad injury at Hearts which cut his loan short. They've had so many players that I can't remember him.

21-01-2022, 06:40 AM
Can confirm the interest in Demetri Mitchell from the Blackpool end.
Also notice League 1 clubs Sunderland/Oxford/Charlton interest in taking Jermaine Defoe on a short term deal to the end of the season. Should be something we should look at.

21-01-2022, 06:41 AM

Could Doig play left centreback in a 3 if we were to sign another wingback? A similar role to the one Tierney plays for Scotland where he’s almost like an inside wingback.

I’d prefer for Doig to play wingback himself. He’s still a bit raw but has all the attributes to go far if he keeps improving and I’d be setting the team up to help get the best out of Doig.

21-01-2022, 06:54 AM

bang on the money. We need someone with a good pedigree who can run a midfield. That will probably cost us a few bob but if they get us to semis and into Europe they pay for their self

21-01-2022, 07:02 AM

bang on the money. We need someone with a good pedigree who can run a midfield. That will probably cost us a few bob but if they get us to semis and into Europe they pay for their self

21-01-2022, 07:08 AM
https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1484436332587925504?s=21

21-01-2022, 07:12 AM

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[emoji24][emoji24][emoji24]

Wonder what his route is - based on edi departures he must be transiting either a UK hub or a European hub

21-01-2022, 07:18 AM
[emoji24][emoji24][emoji24]

Wonder what his route is - based on edi departures he must be transiting either a UK hub or a European hub

London then onward?

21-01-2022, 07:18 AM
I wonder if Mitchell is Boyles replacement?

Mueller on the right and Mitchell to take over the area Murphy would play

21-01-2022, 07:38 AM

Why does he need two big suitcases and a backpack to go for signing talks? Surely he'll be gone a day or two to agree things, have a medical and sign a contract?

Maybe those are pictures of one of the times Martin went off for 2-3 weeks with Oz.

21-01-2022, 07:39 AM
Why does he need two big suitcases and a backpack to go for signing talks? Surely he'll be gone a day or two to agree things, have a medical and sign a contract?

Maybe those are pictures of one of the times Martin went off for 2-3 weeks with Oz.

That's to bring his signing fee back to his wife and kids before he goes for real

21-01-2022, 07:45 AM

Presumably because he is away with Australia next week.

21-01-2022, 07:46 AM

What a strange video

21-01-2022, 07:46 AM

The deal is done and dusted.

Suburban Hibby
21-01-2022, 07:48 AM

Got a cash advance on his new wage👍

21-01-2022, 07:50 AM
Got a cash advance on his new wage👍

I just hope he isn't carrying 34 bottles of wine from the Co-op in one of them. :greengrin

21-01-2022, 07:52 AM
You say goodbye, I say hello.

Greeting

21-01-2022, 08:10 AM
2nd half he played like we all know he can, frustrates the hell out of me when he plays like he did in that first half, which is most of the time.

He took the game by the scruff of the neck 2nd period, and although we didnt score, he passed the ball forward, drove into space and created space for others and opened up the play for the forward players.

21-01-2022, 08:12 AM
Caley Thistle linked with Hector Ingram. Is he no' the love child of Winston and Isa?

jws1875
21-01-2022, 08:16 AM

James Mcfadden was saying last night he expected boyle to be leaving for international duty this week

21-01-2022, 08:19 AM
2nd half he played like we all know he can, frustrates the hell out of me when he plays like he did in that first half, which is most of the time.

He took the game by the scruff of the neck 2nd period, and although we didnt score, he passed the ball forward, drove into space and created space for others and opened up the play for the forward players.

Agree with that - Newall on his day is as good a midfielder in the league outside the Old Firm, hopefully Maloney can get the best out of him more often.

Ross liked to have him drop in between the center halfs too often for my liking.

Steve88
21-01-2022, 08:24 AM
I wonder if Mitchell is Boyles replacement?

Mueller on the right and Mitchell to take over the area Murphy would play

It'll be a front 3 of Nisbet Muller and Melkerson

Call me cynical, but I don't think bringing in a former Hearts player who when asked about Hibs responded "Hibs, who are they" and then laughed - Sure, he's playing to the gallery (hearts fans) but lets be honest, he'll become the scapegoat and focus of every Hibs fan rage if things don't go well when we're playing

21-01-2022, 08:30 AM
Boyles new club (if correct) play in Harmah City

Population 9000

21-01-2022, 08:31 AM

He's very much a second half player, very prone to having completely passive first halfs then busting a gut later on in the game.

Don't know if that makes him more to blame for our issues or not, but I don't think there's an issue with him as a player as such - might not be quick but he's more than fit enough, has the drive we need but only really adopts that style when needs-must.

21-01-2022, 08:33 AM
Boyle officially gone

https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1484458275148083206?s=21

Souter96Mac
21-01-2022, 08:35 AM
V sad to see him go.

Didn't realise until now, the team he's joining is currently in the relegation spots in the Saudi league.

Hopefully we have a buy back clause if they get relegated 😁

21-01-2022, 08:36 AM
V sad to see him go.

Didn't realise until now, the team he's joining is currently in the relegation spots in the Saudi league.

Hopefully we have a buy back clause if they get relegated [emoji16]Surley a relegation release clause [emoji28]

Somehow I think his wages are out our league now

I've been looking at the wrong stadium and City though

His new team play in a tiny region with a tiny stadium too

21-01-2022, 08:38 AM
It'll be a front 3 of Nisbet Muller and Melkerson

Call me cynical, but I don't think bringing in a former Hearts player who when asked about Hibs responded "Hibs, who are they" and then laughed - Sure, he's playing to the gallery (hearts fans) but lets be honest, he'll become the scapegoat and focus of every Hibs fan rage if things don't go well when we're playing

Good, bring him in.

It'll take a bit of pressure off Newell, Porteous, Murphy, Gogic, Hanlon, McGinn, Campbell and Scott.

The more scapegoats the better, imho.

21-01-2022, 08:40 AM

He leaves for Australia today

21-01-2022, 08:41 AM
My heart is broken. Good luck to him.

Strange feeling, gutted as a fan but happy as a human he's going to change his life and families forever and he deserves it everything he's done for us.

Could have pissed off for nout, but was loyal to us..

Good luck Martin

21-01-2022, 08:44 AM
Remember Mitchell doing a press conference before a Derby the Hibs got mentioned he replied who are they there’s only one team in Edinburgh so he can GTF

Just what you would hope one of our players would say about them.

21-01-2022, 08:46 AM
Just what you would hope one of our players would say about them.

Aye exactly, lot of posturing nonsense. Sure they’ll enjoy whipping that wee clip out. Not really a reason we shouldnt be signing him though.

21-01-2022, 08:47 AM
Good, bring him in.

It'll take a bit of pressure off Newell, Porteous, Murphy, Gogic, Hanlon, McGinn, Campbell and Scott.

Another scapegoat can't do any harm, but even by Hibs standards the guy having pissed us of before he has even signed will be a challenge for him.

But we have no shortage of candidates, every player on the books including some real legends in Hanlon, Stevenson & McGregor and Boyle who has just left have all attracted the ire of one section of our support or another at some time.

We are imo particularly harsh on young players breaking through.

For my part I think Murphy's time at Hibs has been awful and I can't wait for him to leave, so I am as guilty as anyone.

21-01-2022, 08:47 AM
Aye exactly, lot of posturing nonsense. Sure they’ll enjoy whipping that wee clip out. Not really a reason we shouldnt be signing him though.

Indeed.

Steven79
21-01-2022, 08:48 AM

He's injury prone, seems to have a bad attitude and can't even get a game for Blackpool.

21-01-2022, 08:52 AM
Good, bring him in.

The original purpose of a scapegoat (an actual goat) was "to carry away the sins of the community": https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scapegoat

It's inefficient to use so many different players for this – we should be piling as many players' sins as possible on to a single scapegoat. I'd argue it should be prioritised as a specialist position in the squad like goalkeeper, perhaps with a young scapegoat as understudy and a cheap journeyman scapegoat as emergency cover.

21-01-2022, 08:52 AM
He's injury prone, seems to have a bad attitude and can't even get a game for Blackpool.

Those, on the other hand, would be perfectly legitimate reasons to give him a miss. I can’t say I’d be overly delighted with bringing him in based on these points. He was rotten for Hearts second time around by all accounts, although hampered by injury.

21-01-2022, 08:57 AM
Mitchell would be a poor signing and the fact he’s an ex Jambo who made silly comments about Hibs in the past means he’s got no chance of succeeding.

21-01-2022, 09:08 AM
Watching us huff and puff without any edge last night made it strange we didn't throw Allan on.
Can only guess we were trying not to cup tie him.
Gutted to see him go, but looks inevitable now.🙁

21-01-2022, 09:14 AM

There’s a picture of Cummings doing the 5-1 thing at Tynecastle, was I thinking about that while he was putting hearts to the sword on route to lifting the Scottish Cup? Was I ****

21-01-2022, 09:14 AM

He has played plenty for Blackpool.

21-01-2022, 09:18 AM
He has played plenty for Blackpool.

From what I can see he's 25 and made 88 appearances for Man Utd ,Hearts & Blackpool. Think he may have had a long term injury which kept him.outnforna while. I remember his first spell at Hearts where he looked very good. Apart from that I have no idea how he's done.

21-01-2022, 09:18 AM
Now Boyle has gone be interesting to see who comes in. Clock is ticking.

Steven79
21-01-2022, 09:35 AM
Blackpool fans on the whole don't seem that fussed about him leaving.

https://avftt.co.uk/index.php?threads/demitri-mitchell.28216/

Hibiza
21-01-2022, 09:41 AM
Good luck Martin, all the very best.

21-01-2022, 10:03 AM

That's because he's not very good.

21-01-2022, 10:10 AM
My one and only memory of Demetri Mitchell is a pretty decent performance as LWB in the streak-breaking cup win over us a few years ago. Presume Maloney would want to play him as a winger?

at last 61
21-01-2022, 10:35 AM
We can afford a better class of players now, hibs always knew that Boyle would be leaving so they must have been looking for replacements, it's going to be an interesting 10 days

21-01-2022, 11:46 AM
Patrick McPartlin in EEN saying Mitchell on the radar as cover on the left, not as replacement for Boyle.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/demetri-mitchell-hibs-latest-former-hearts-loanee-on-radar-but-isnt-martin-boyle-replacement-3536676

21-01-2022, 11:46 AM
So looking at our activity so far..

I still feel we are short - we have brought in 6 but really it’s 5 if you exclude Tait and then we have the injury to Clarke and work permit issue.

We have 3 who have gone out now including our fastest / most influential stats wise and arguably our best player.

We need another 2 I feel and ready to go players who will make a difference like Mueller. A central midfielder for me is the most obvious.

This is before any more players possibly going - Gogic - McGregor / Mackie etc.

Confirmed in (6):
Rocky Bushiri, six month loan (defender, Norwich)

Harry Clarke, one and a half year loan (defender, Arsenal) - injured 4-6 weeks minimum

Ewan Henderson, six month loan then three year contract (midfielder, Celtic)

Elias Melkersen, four and a half year contract (striker, Bodo/Glimt) awaiting work permit

Chris Mueller, three and a half year contract (midfielder, Orlando City)

Dylan Tait, three and a half year contract (midfielder, Raith) - gone on loan

Confirmed out (3):
Martin Boyle (Al-Faisaly)
Jamie Gullan (Raith)
Nathan Wood (Middlesbrough)

Confirmed out on loan (3):
Jack Brydon (Edinburgh City)
Daniel MacKay (Kilmarnock)
Dylan Tait (Kilmarnock)

21-01-2022, 11:48 AM
We can afford a better class of players now, hibs always knew that Boyle would be leaving so they must have been looking for replacements, it's going to be an interesting 10 days

Hibs had the Norwegian left back lined up in the event Doig left in the summer so I would assume there is a list of likely replacements for Boyle that we have been sounding out since the negotiations with Al-Faisaly were progressing in the last week or so.

21-01-2022, 12:07 PM
That's because he's not very good.

Which begs the question why are we looking to try and sign him We really don’t want to be wasting whatever money Maloney gets from the Boyle Transfer
Squad littered with players with history of injuries that leave us short

21-01-2022, 12:08 PM
I see a young lad out there who generally can’t defend, too far off his man and the majority of the time, failing to stop the cross coming in. He doesn’t get himself in good defensive positions and the opposition get joy down our left hand side. Going forward he looks quite awkward and he doesn’t know what really he is trying to do when in possession. If he does get in to a crossing position, the majority of the time, it either goes out of play or hits the first defender. When a cross does come in, it’s either too heavy or doesn’t find a man, however well done on spotting last nights assist, thats what happens when he gets it right and it should happen more often with the positions he finds himself in.

I can’t fault his effort or stamina and I don’t think all the transfer talk in the summer has helped him however I do know what I am seeing front of me and it is not a player who appears to be comfy in his role.

I wish for him to do well, I really do but he has a long long way to go.

I agree your comments about Doig defensively which is why I think Maloney plays him exclusively as a wingback. FWIW I thought he was excellent last night. When others were flagging he was driving us on and continually taking us up the pitch. Even though he missed a good chance it was exceptional for him to be in that position. (Separately it was one of several excellent forward passes from Newell last night). I thought Josh got his reward with his assist and I'll be more than happy if he continues to perform like last night.

21-01-2022, 12:10 PM
So looking at our activity so far..

I still feel we are short - we have brought in 6 but really it’s 5 if you exclude Tait and then we have the injury to Clarke and work permit issue.

We have 3 who have gone out now including our fastest / most influential stats wise and arguably our best player.

We need another 2 I feel and ready to go players who will make a difference like Mueller. A central midfielder for me is the most obvious.

This is before any more players possibly going - Gogic - McGregor / Mackie etc.

Confirmed in (6):
Rocky Bushiri, six month loan (defender, Norwich)

Harry Clarke, one and a half year loan (defender, Arsenal) - injured 4-6 weeks minimum

Ewan Henderson, six month loan then three year contract (midfielder, Celtic)

Elias Melkersen, four and a half year contract (striker, Bodo/Glimt) awaiting work permit

Chris Mueller, three and a half year contract (midfielder, Orlando City)

Dylan Tait, three and a half year contract (midfielder, Raith) - gone on loan

Confirmed out (3):
Martin Boyle (Al-Faisaly)
Jamie Gullan (Raith)
Nathan Wood (Middlesbrough)

Confirmed out on loan (3):
Jack Brydon (Edinburgh City)
Daniel MacKay (Kilmarnock)
Dylan Tait (Kilmarnock)

Given Scotty didn’t get game time last night you have to assume he will want away

21-01-2022, 12:10 PM
Which begs the question why are we looking to try and sign him We really don’t want to be wasting whatever money Maloney gets from the Boyle Transfer
Squad littered with players with history of injuries that leave us short

I thought Mitchell was excellent in his 1st spell at Hearts, he genuinely worried me. I would be happy to see him come in.

21-01-2022, 12:18 PM
You’d imagine Blackpool will want a fairly decent fee to get Mitchell now.

We’ve started spending a fair bit of money, hopefully it’s all going to the right players.

A player I always rate and would have liked to se at us was Scott McCann who is now at Dundee United.

Gaffer1875
21-01-2022, 12:22 PM
Lafferty heading back to Killie and Cummings heading to Central coast mariners….

21-01-2022, 12:24 PM
Lafferty heading back to Killie and Cummings heading to Central coast mariners….

Where has that gangly **** been hiding?

21-01-2022, 12:38 PM
Where has that gangly **** been hiding?

Cyprus, got released by Famagusta hence the Killie return.

21-01-2022, 12:44 PM
Is Mitchell not a bit injury prone too?

I’ve said it a couple of times now but we need to recruit quality that will improve our starting 11 now.

No more “exciting player with massive potential and is our 5th signing this window under 22”.

Let’s get some players who will come in and hit the ground running.

21-01-2022, 02:03 PM

He is going to Oz… he’s got qualifiers.

21-01-2022, 02:19 PM
We so need to recruit a commanding, tough industrious midfielder with a v8 engine attached! That for me is what we are missing.

21-01-2022, 02:29 PM

To be fair a mix of comments in that. A good few praising him.

21-01-2022, 03:03 PM
Dundee have signed Zack Rudden on a pre-contract

Crunchie
21-01-2022, 03:06 PM

Well done, Jase :aok: don't balls it up son.

21-01-2022, 03:19 PM
Dundee have signed Zack Rudden on a pre-contract

Good signing for them. Works like an absolute dog and scores a decent amount of goals which is the exact opposite of what they currently have.

On a side note delighted for Cummings, that’s a great move for him.

21-01-2022, 03:25 PM
Good signing for them. Works like an absolute dog and scores a decent amount of goals which is the exact opposite of what they currently have.

On a side note delighted for Cummings, that’s a great move for him.

I give him 6 months til he is deported back to the UK :agree:

21-01-2022, 03:31 PM
I thought Mitchell was excellent in his 1st spell at Hearts, he genuinely worried me. I would be happy to see him come in.

He was first time roundBut seen the mention of injuries and Blackpool Hibs saying he isn’t very good Given he is down that neck of the woods assumed he knows more about current form

21-01-2022, 03:39 PM
He was first time roundBut seen the mention of injuries and Blackpool Hibs saying he isn’t very good Given he is down that neck of the woods assumed he knows more about current form

Not sure about that. We all watch Hibs regularly but have widely varying opinions of players' abilities. No reflection on BH! 😁

21-01-2022, 04:08 PM
Rudden signs a pre-contract with Dundee.

21-01-2022, 04:13 PM
Just having a look at out of contract right wingers for the sake of it and this guy is top of the list.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/isaac-mbenza/profil/spieler/260806

11.25 million move to Huddersfield a few years ago but don't remember him.

NC1875
21-01-2022, 04:34 PM
Just having a look at out of contract right wingers for the sake of it and this guy is top of the list.

And he’s from Belgium. It’s happening!

21-01-2022, 04:36 PM

Now you’re talking……..

An £11m signing that’s been playing in Qatar won’t be wanting too big a salary will they?

21-01-2022, 04:59 PM
Now you’re talking……..

An £11m signing that’s been playing in Qatar won’t be wanting too big a salary will they?Well we are paying an untried American friend of Ian Gordon 9k a day

Or something

Percy Vere
21-01-2022, 05:01 PM
Now you’re talking……..

An £11m signing that’s been playing in Qatar won’t be wanting too big a salary will they?

Maybe he’s made a lot of money! Now needs game time, get himself going with the Hibees and SM. Plays across the front three…. Ideal

21-01-2022, 05:04 PM
Maybe he’s made a lot of money! Now needs game time, get himself going with the Hibees and SM. Plays across the front three…. Ideal

Don't know. Seems to have been 6 months here 6 months there for the last few years, never settled anywhere. Maybe indicates an attitude or motivation issue?

21-01-2022, 05:06 PM
Not sure about that. We all watch Hibs regularly but have widely varying opinions of players' abilities. No reflection on BH! 😁

He's quick, but he's no Alan O'Brien. :wink:

If i was in charge, he's not a signing i'd make, but of course SM might get a tune out of him. :pray:

LeithMike
21-01-2022, 05:08 PM
I thought Mitchell was excellent in his 1st spell at Hearts, he genuinely worried me. I would be happy to see him come in.With you on this Brog. He looked an excellent prospect. Quick, strong and assured. Not sure what went wrong during the second loan.

Quite happy if this goes through.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

JoeT
21-01-2022, 05:24 PM
I like the look of Conor McGrandles, Lincoln fan I know rates him highly, if he's looking to move back to Scotland then I think we should take him.

Highwayman
21-01-2022, 05:47 PM
I was trying to place Demetrii Mitchell.

I now realise I was trying to forget him as he got man of the match when the Jambos done us 1-0 in the Scottish Cup in January 2018.

I was impressed with him but I don’t think Efe Ambrose was IIRC Mitchell. gave him a really hard time that day.

Don’t know if he would be worth a punt as this the first time I’ve had knowledge of him for years.

Stokesy's on fire
21-01-2022, 05:58 PM
Brandon Barker could be available as his Rangers contracts expiring.

21-01-2022, 06:02 PM

I’d like him but I think with Mueller, McKay, Murph, Wright and Mitchell were well stocked for wide players.

1875Sean
21-01-2022, 06:07 PM
I was trying to place Demetrii Mitchell.

I now realise I was trying to forget him as he got man of the match when the Jambos done us 1-0 in the Scottish Cup in January 2018.

I was impressed with him but I don’t think Efe Ambrose was IIRC Mitchell. gave him a really hard time that day.

Don’t know if he would be worth a punt as this the first time I’ve had knowledge of him for years.

From what I remember he had a decent first loan spell at heart, they got him back on loan and he wasn’t great

21-01-2022, 06:09 PM

Playing tonight for them

King Cosell
21-01-2022, 06:10 PM

He's starting tonight.

21-01-2022, 06:17 PM

No thanks. Flatters to deceive.

21-01-2022, 06:29 PM
I’d like him but I think with Mueller, McKay, Murph, Wright and Mitchell were well stocked for wide players.

McKay is out on loan, Murphy will be gone in 4 months and Wright could be gone be the end of next week.

Inconsequential
21-01-2022, 06:32 PM
I’d like him but I think with Mueller, McKay, Murph, Wright and Mitchell were well stocked for wide players. Two of your list aren't with the club at this moment but I don't think Barker would be a target. Another wide player of similar standard to Boyle is required.

Dazzjw1875
21-01-2022, 06:32 PM
Does anyone think we are still after that St mirren guy? Wondering if Allen and Wright could be used again same deal as in summer that was accepted? Not even sure if we need him though.

21-01-2022, 06:56 PM
Does anyone think we are still after that St mirren guy? Wondering if Allen and Wright could be used again same deal as in summer that was accepted? Not even sure if we need him though.

We could definitely do with him on last night's performance.

Highwayman
21-01-2022, 07:01 PM

If its Jamie McGrath you’re referring to last I saw was that Aberdeen had pulled the plug on a prospective deal and that he was looking for a move down to England.

21-01-2022, 07:11 PM

He’s made of balsa wood, treatment table footballer. Pea heart too.

Souter96Mac
21-01-2022, 07:17 PM
If its Jamie McGrath you’re referring to last I saw was that Aberdeen had pulled the plug on a prospective deal and that he was looking for a move down to England.

With the Boyle money, we could be in a position to offer him a very good deal

delbert
21-01-2022, 07:21 PM
McKay is out on loan, Murphy will be gone in 4 months and Wright could be gone be the end of next week.

Please be true !

21-01-2022, 07:25 PM

So are we paying up Murphy’s contract in the summer, think he’ll trigger another year

21-01-2022, 07:34 PM

He’s better than all of them though, maybe not Mueller but too early to say.

We need to recruit better quality and if that means getting rid of folk so be it.

He’s quality and can go past a player like it’s nothing, should create loads of chances and be good at creating and receiving on the half turn.

21-01-2022, 07:35 PM
I’m not sure McGrath will get the move he thinks he’s going to get.

Think it will be similar to the summer and we’ll get him.

21-01-2022, 07:37 PM
So are we paying up Murphy’s contract in the summer, think he’ll trigger another year

this suggests this season was the further contract ?

On 29 August 2020, Murphy signed for fellow Scottish side Hibernian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.) on an initial one-year loan, with an obligation of a further year on a permanent basis.[37] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamie_Murphy_(footballer,_born_1989)#cite_note-37)[38] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamie_Murphy_(footballer,_born_1989)#cite_note-38)
On 29 July 2021, Murphy scored his first goal for Hibernian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.) in Europe against FC Santa Coloma (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FC_Santa_Coloma) in a 2–1 away win in the UEFA Conference League qualifiers (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2021%E2%80%9322_UEFA_Europa_Conference_League_qual ifying_phase_and_play-off_round#Second_qualifying_round)

21-01-2022, 07:44 PM
He's quick, but he's no Alan O'Brien. :wink:

If i was in charge, he's not a signing i'd make, but of course SM might get a tune out of him. :pray:

Thanks G, I guess time will tell but it certainly looks like we're interested.

21-01-2022, 08:27 PM
I’m not sure McGrath will get the move he thinks he’s going to get.

Think it will be similar to the summer and we’ll get him.

Unpopular with some I know but I don't think McGrath is that good....

21-01-2022, 08:40 PM
this suggests this season was the further contract ?

On 29 August 2020, Murphy signed for fellow Scottish side Hibernian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.) on an initial one-year loan, with an obligation of a further year on a permanent basis.[37] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamie_Murphy_(footballer,_born_1989)#cite_note-37)[38] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamie_Murphy_(footballer,_born_1989)#cite_note-38)
On 29 July 2021, Murphy scored his first goal for Hibernian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.) in Europe against FC Santa Coloma (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FC_Santa_Coloma) in a 2–1 away win in the UEFA Conference League qualifiers (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2021%E2%80%9322_UEFA_Europa_Conference_League_qual ifying_phase_and_play-off_round#Second_qualifying_round)

Not sure what’s right or wrong there but the second paragraph is wrong....

21-01-2022, 08:44 PM
Unpopular with some I know but I don't think McGrath is that good....He's definitely an upgrade on a few of our attacking options

Allan
Wright

He would improve our squad for sure

21-01-2022, 08:47 PM

that's wikipedia, i can see elsewhere he's scored two league goals, winner at St Johnstone 27th November but i can't find the other one

21-01-2022, 08:53 PM

That’s it then. Deal done!

21-01-2022, 08:57 PM
that's wikipedia, i can see elsewhere he's scored two league goals, winner at St Johnstone 27th November but i can't find the other one

Soccerbase is a good place for this kind of thing shows you appearances and goals per season.

https://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=46448&season_id=153

21-01-2022, 09:20 PM
Soccerbase is a good place for this kind of thing shows you appearances and goals per season.

https://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=46448&season_id=153

He scored against Dundee in the league cup last season

21-01-2022, 09:20 PM

It was his first goal in Europe for Hibernian, no?

21-01-2022, 09:22 PM
He's definitely an upgrade on a few of our attacking options

Allan
Wright

He would improve our squad for sure

He’d be an upgrade on of our attacking midfield options imo, obviously with the exception of mueller as it’s too early to judge him.

I can honestly see us getting him even though we’ve not been linked this month.

No one signed him in the summer and again nearing the end of January and none of the English teams have signed him.

I can see it getting to the stage again where if st Mirren let him go it’s too late to sign a quality replacement and they’ll want to have a player as part of the deal.

This is where Goodwin wanting Scott Allan comes in handy.