View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2021-22 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

09-01-2022, 01:58 PM
If it's correct Boyle is on 10k a year his take home pay will be around £260k (before bonuses). If the figure of 20k per week is correct he'd be taking home £1 million a year, £750,000 a year more than he does at the moment.

He is miles off it.

Taxation and NI means he'd lose nearly 50% of that salary in the UK.

Let's assume he's on one of the highest hibs.net estimates (guesses) i.e. £500k p.a.

His take home from that would be £276,035.84.

He'll keep it all in the middle east i.e. £1m.

He may double his money, maybe even more by going abroad for a few years and it would be tax free, I’m sure he would consider it, he would be mad not to.

Of course, you are correct. I forget the tax freeness of it all over there.

Its a very good offer purely financially. With everything else taken into account, its certainly not that simple.

09-01-2022, 02:00 PM
Of course, you are correct. I forget the tax freeness of it all over there.

Its a very good offer purely financially. With everything else taken into account, its certainly not that simple.

Agreed. It's not a simple decision either way.

He's got a lot to think about.

NC1875
09-01-2022, 02:05 PM
Can we start a “Martin Boyles wages” thread.

And keep this for rumours and transfer news

09-01-2022, 02:09 PM
I certainly wouldn't be happy giving up my life for a few bob. Plenty things more important than money. If Boyles rumoured wages are true, hes really not miles off that money a year when you take bonuses into account.

Sound like you are saying Boyle's on nearly £1m per year after taxes with Hibs.

09-01-2022, 02:11 PM

It surely is relevant though, we are discussing the merits of a rumoured Martin Boyle transfer!!!!!

09-01-2022, 02:17 PM
Not sure where you got those numbers but had a quick look at Rangers’ first team squad for this season and it has 37 players listed

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/startseite/verein/903

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/glasgow-rangers/startseite/verein/124

09-01-2022, 02:25 PM
And if receiving £3m for that player allows us to build a better team, rather than 1 individual then that’s what the game is all about. One day in the next couple of years we won’t have Martin Boyle, I’d rather have £3m in his place to replace him rather than heehaw and scraping around with no guarantee that he’s brought us the success that would bring in that level of money.

When he signed the new contract and took the 500 grand escape clause out he was committing to hibs yet again
But also giving the Club a wee insurance policy that meant anyone wanting him would have to pay a decent fee
That’s the measure of the Guy
But like any player with speed as a key asset The Law of Diminishing Returns sets in and value starts to depreciate
You could argue Now is maybe the optimum time to sell him if the price is right and he wants to move as it sets his family up for life No one could possibly grudge him that
S J M was irreplaceable snd the way we have played Boyle makes as reliant on him at times But maybe just maybe Maloney can be the one to fashion a team that can play attractive football without him in the team

09-01-2022, 02:26 PM
You mean the same kind gentlemans agreement that Harry Kane and Spurs had? The one that proved totally useless when push came to shove.That's working out really well for Spurs [emoji106]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

09-01-2022, 02:30 PM
This thread has turned into an absolute car crash [emoji23]

09-01-2022, 02:31 PM
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/startseite/verein/903

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/glasgow-rangers/startseite/verein/124

Off topic but I see we are valued at 20 million...

Last time I checked we were about 14m

09-01-2022, 02:37 PM
It surely is relevant though, we are discussing the merits of a rumoured Martin Boyle transfer!!!!!

Not for me

We have lots of guessing on Boyle's wages here and potentially should he move over there, some from those itk who are usually worth paying attention to, some claiming to be who are patently not and others admitting they have not a clue but feel the need to share their guesses and those same categories of posters also giving their reasons for his potentially going there or not.

Like many threads on Hibs Net this thread is populated by some folk who like nothing more than the sound of their own voice and who would argue black was white rather than concede a sliver of an alternative view might on reflection be correct.

The only threads worth reading on Hibs Net these days are the transfer ones, the match ones and JB's match report, much of the rest of it is like listening to the village bore on replay, someone whom you walk out the village pub to avoid the minute he walked in.

That there is interest in Boyle potential fee and destination is certainly newsworthy.

Everything else is bored folk (like me and my moaning over it) adding nothing to the transfer rumours thread.

I am quite happy to come on here and read that we are interested in players X, Y & Z and that players A, B & C may be moving on but everything else would IMO be better dealt with on individual threads discussing such as Boyle's potential transfer and another on Mueller's rumoured wages so that way folk who really cared on those topics and wanted to hear others opinion's could read and contribute rather than having to wade through pages of irrelevant (to them at least) inanity.

mixumatosis
This thread has turned into an absolute car crash [emoji23]

Was the driver under the influence ? We could maybe find out how much they earn.

even though we swapped boyle for harris with dundee i presume st.mirren will be due a cut :greengrin

09-01-2022, 02:38 PM
Off topic but I see we are valued at 20 million...

Last time I checked we were about 14m

Mueller is valued at around £3m and the value of Doing, Boyle & Nisbet have increased significantly in the last 6-9 months

09-01-2022, 02:42 PM
Mueller is valued at around £3m and the value of Doing, Boyle & Nisbet have increased significantly in the last 6-9 months

Yip should give us a good bounce

09-01-2022, 03:02 PM
Did you not say far better? Boyle directly contributed to 33 goals in 2021. How many players have matched that in the last 2 decades at Hibs?

He’s had a fantastic 18 months or so, can’t argue with that.

I’m just not that fussed and think £3m is huge for us.

I also want the squad freshened up and am happy to see some players move on to fund new additions.

09-01-2022, 03:08 PM

Nisbet’s value has increased in the last 12 months?😂

09-01-2022, 03:13 PM
I agree, it seems that folk are more concerned with the size of Martin Boyles future retirement fund than the damage it does to Hibs if he leaves. He will be very difficult to replace as he’s worth more than £3m to us on the park. He signed a very good contract at Hibs and said he was happy to be here with his family, getting games and repaying Hibs for all his time off through injury. Sometimes moving for money doesn’t always end well.

No offence to you personally but I hate reading this pish about a player REPAYING the club who stuck by them through injury. These players get injured playing for our club, doing their job we have a responsibility to get them back fit they don’t have to repay us for anything. Even so I’d argue Boyle has more than repaid us for everything during his time with Hibs.

Honestly does ma head in why people have this view.

09-01-2022, 03:16 PM
Football doesn’t really work like that though, players get transferred while under contract all the time.

We just signed Melkerson, but I don’t think he forced the move.

I saying if we turned the offer down, I'd expect him to be professional.

09-01-2022, 03:21 PM
He’s had a fantastic 18 months or so, can’t argue with that.

I’m just not that fussed and think £3m is huge for us.

I also want the squad freshened up and am happy to see some players move on to fund new additions.

Sorry but you're on a different planet if you believe Hibs are getting a far better player than Boyle in.

09-01-2022, 03:24 PM
Garry O'Connor cited the big money move to a different, and isolating, environment, as the beginnings of his mental health issues when he's spoken about them publicly.

I’m not sure that would be the case tbh.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

09-01-2022, 03:25 PM
Not for me

We have lots of guessing on Boyle's wages here and potentially should he move over there, some from those itk who are usually worth paying attention to, some claiming to be who are patently not and others admitting they have not a clue but feel the need to share their guesses and those same categories of posters also giving their reasons for his potentially going there or not.

Like many threads on Hibs Net this thread is populated by some folk who like nothing more than the sound of their own voice and who would argue black was white rather than concede a sliver of an alternative view might on reflection be correct.

The only threads worth reading on Hibs Net these days are the transfer ones, the match ones and JB's match report, much of the rest of it is like listening to the village bore on replay, someone whom you walk out the village pub to avoid the minute he walked in.

That there is interest in Boyle potential fee and destination is certainly newsworthy.

Everything else is bored folk (like me and my moaning over it) adding nothing to the transfer rumours thread.

I am quite happy to come on here and read that we are interested in players X, Y & Z and that players A, B & C may be moving on but everything else would IMO be better dealt with on individual threads discussing such as Boyle's potential transfer and another on Mueller's rumoured wages so that way folk who really cared on those topics and wanted to hear others opinion's could read and contribute rather than having to wade through pages of irrelevant (to them at least) inanity.

Ironically this is probably the longest non-transfer-related post on the thread 😂

However I agree with a lot of your points 👍

09-01-2022, 03:28 PM

Which is fair enough now an international and scored against Holland

hibby rae
09-01-2022, 03:29 PM

It's what he said.

09-01-2022, 03:29 PM
No offence to you personally but I hate reading this pish about a player REPAYING the club who stuck by them through injury. These players get injured playing for our club, doing their job we have a responsibility to get them back fit they don’t have to repay us for anything. Even so I’d argue Boyle has more than repaid us for everything during his time with Hibs.

Honestly does ma head in why people have this view.

He definitely has more than paid the club back.

hibby rae
09-01-2022, 03:31 PM

That would be wonderful.

09-01-2022, 03:41 PM
Yip should give us a good bounce

That's his brother Boing you're thinking of :greengrin

09-01-2022, 03:51 PM
That's his brother Boing you're thinking of :greengrin

:hilarious:hilarious:thumbsup:

Knew it wouldnae go over your heid :thumbsup::greengrin

09-01-2022, 03:58 PM
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/st-johnstone/2892126/st-johnstone-hibs-melker-hallberg-signing/

09-01-2022, 04:05 PM
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/st-johnstone/2892126/st-johnstone-hibs-melker-hallberg-signing/

Hallberg to Saints on loan would be good - give him time to get back playing and recall him end of season if doing well.

Steven79
09-01-2022, 04:07 PM
Hallberg to Saints on loan would be good - give him time to get back playing and recall him end of season if doing well.

His contract expires at the end of the season.

09-01-2022, 04:07 PM

If he goes anywhere on loan, we won't see him in a Hibs shirt again whether he does well or not.

He wouldn't be going for development. He'd be going because he's not needed here.

09-01-2022, 04:08 PM
His contract expires at the end of the season.

Ah..Wasn’t aware - not sure then..he’s been out for a while and will need minutes but maybe hard to do that at Hibs. Got a feeling if he goes elsewhere he will end up doing well.

09-01-2022, 04:31 PM
:hyper

Hibs4185
09-01-2022, 04:34 PM
Sorry but you're on a different planet if you believe Hibs are getting a far better player than Boyle in.

Mueller or the Hoff potentially could be better than Boyle. Certainly hope so but no one could have ever imagined the boy we swapped Alex Harris for from Dundee could ever turn out so good, but our new signings certainly have the more potential than Boyle did in the beginning.

MKHIBEE
09-01-2022, 04:36 PM

Why would he say it was then?

09-01-2022, 04:40 PM
Mueller or the Hoff potentially could be better than Boyle. Certainly hope so but no one could have ever imagined the boy we swapped Alex Harris for from Dundee could ever turn out so good, but our new signings certainly have the more potential than Boyle did in the beginning.

They could also be potentially hopeless tbh.

The odds of them putting up 33 goals/assists in a year are extremely slim even if they are good. And even then, they'd only be as good.

Hibs07p
09-01-2022, 04:41 PM
FFS it's like 2 bald men fighting over a comb regarding what will hasppen with Martin Boyle. I see only 3 scenarios.
1) MB is happy with his contract and will see it out.
2) MB and us are happy with any transfer talks and will part company.
3)MB is unhappy with his contract and will force a move against our wishes.
Que sera sera etc.
Scottish Cup Winners 2016

09-01-2022, 04:50 PM

I’m not convinced we have seen the best of Halberg because of the role JR asked him to play. On the other hand Shaun Maloney might have had a good enough look at him by now to rule him out of his plans.

Happy to read other points of view from posters.

09-01-2022, 04:51 PM
FFS it's like 2 bald men fighting over a comb regarding what will hasppen with Martin Boyle. I see only 3 scenarios.
1) MB is happy with his contract and will see it out.
2) MB and us are happy with any transfer talks and will part company.
3)MB is unhappy with his contract and will force a move against our wishes.
Que sera sera etc.
Scottish Cup Winners 2016

It won’t be 3 as he happily signed a new deal recently.

He will be a big loss if he goes but everyone would wish him well - 2 years away making a fortune and then ends up back at Hibs after that tk see out his career.

LunasBoots
09-01-2022, 04:51 PM

Definitely not, other clubs interest in him has also dropped off due to his form drop off.

NC1875
09-01-2022, 04:53 PM
It won’t be 3 as he happily signed a new deal recently.

He will be a big loss if he goes but everyone would wish him well - 2 years away making a fortune and then ends up back at Hibs after that tk see out his career.

Martin Boyle won’t be half the player he is today in 2 years. Once his pace goes, he certainly won’t be playing at our level.

09-01-2022, 04:54 PM

Different scenario though. Boyle had years to develop in to the player he is now.
He came in as a squad player, took a couple of years to properly establish himself, then just got better and better. Anyone replacing him (if he goes which I hope he doesn’t) basically has to come in and be scoring or assisting every second week just to match what he’s giving us these days.

09-01-2022, 04:56 PM
Hearing we are keen on bringing in another keeper and Boyle may be going abroad but not to the Middle East 👀

09-01-2022, 04:56 PM
Different scenario though. Boyle had years to develop in to the player he is now.
He came in as a squad player, took a couple of years to properly establish himself, then just got better and better. Anyone replacing him (if he goes which I hope he doesn’t) basically has to come in and be scoring or assisting every second week just to match what he’s giving us these days.

Boyle never made it off the bench in the cup
Final. James Keatings did…

09-01-2022, 04:57 PM
Martin Boyle won’t be half the player he is today in 2 years. Once his pace goes, he certainly won’t be playing at our level.

While of course if his pace goes he won’t be the same player but who knows. It’s not like he’s been playing in England and loads of European games and international games / tournaments - in a way a late developer with international football.

Would great if he stayed and we could have a Hibs player potentially plying at this winters World Cup in Qatar.

09-01-2022, 04:58 PM
Hearing we are keen on bringing in another keeper and Boyle may be going abroad but not to the Middle East 👀

MLS or M8 ?

09-01-2022, 04:59 PM

What if he doesn't lose his pace and becomes better?

09-01-2022, 05:04 PM
MLS or M8 ?

Neither mate, believe there is interest from Turkey

09-01-2022, 05:04 PM
MLS or M8 ?

Not sure the M8's a cross-border road mate. :wink:

09-01-2022, 05:05 PM

There was talk on here earlier about Marshall maybe coming in as a player/coach ? Not sure if it was wishful thinking.

Potty78
09-01-2022, 05:07 PM

How many players get quicker with age🤔

09-01-2022, 05:07 PM
There was talk on here earlier about Marshall maybe coming in as a player/coach ? Not sure if it was wishful thinking.

I’m hearing there is interest there with DM mate not sure of the details if it would involve coaching role

09-01-2022, 05:10 PM
Boyle owes us nothing. He's delivered year after year and signed multiple contracts at the peak of his career. I wish him well wherever he goes as long as it's not the OF.

09-01-2022, 05:11 PM

I didn't say he'll get quicker. I said he might not get slower, and if he continues to improve as he has, will be a better footballer by then as well.
Plenty of players are still very fast at 30.

09-01-2022, 05:13 PM
Players come and go all the time.

Don’t care if anybody leaves, I just look forward to seeing who we replace them with.

Potty78
09-01-2022, 05:16 PM
I didn't say he'll get quicker. I said he might not get slower, and if he continues to improve as he has, will be a better footballer by then as well.

Course he'll get slower, it comes with age. I love Boyle but if we get decent money for him then take it. One player I'd never grudge a good move. Anyway congratulations on yer 16,000 post👍

09-01-2022, 05:18 PM

Off the wage bill. Another passenger.

09-01-2022, 05:22 PM

You could argue Boyle is quicker now than he was a few years ago. Even though he’s had injuries looks sharper than ever. But I get what your saying especially 30+.

09-01-2022, 05:22 PM
Course he'll get slower, it comes with age. I love Boyle but if we get decent money for him then take it. One player I'd never grudge a good move. Anyway congratulations on yer 16,000 post👍

He'll gradually get slower but he won't be finished by 30.

I would've had it years ago if half of them didn't get deleted :greengrin:wink:

09-01-2022, 05:24 PM
You could argue Boyle is quicker now than he was a few years ago. Even though he’s had injuries looks sharper than ever. But I get what your saying especially 30+.

No way is he quicker. He's just a much better footballer now and has better close control and dribbling. I've been surprised at how much he's improved as a player over the past two years or so. Be honestly gutted if he's to leave.

09-01-2022, 05:28 PM
No way is he quicker. He's just a much better footballer now and has better close control and dribbling. I've been surprised at how much he's improved as a player over the past two years or so. Be honestly gutted if he's to leave.

Few years ago really gutted - but I feel now we will recruit and fill the gaps better.

But also feels like he deserves a chance to play elsewhere and earn more £ - he’s always given his all to Hibs.

He will be a loss as a player but also his character - that can’t be under estimated as he lifts others spirits plus entertainment for fans young and old on social media etc.

There is also the aspect of we won’t replace him with a ready made replacement mid season so part of me thinks do we desperately need to sell now ? Think Boyle holds the cards though as this would have been expected when he signed new deal and Hibs will agree to let him go if value is met.

09-01-2022, 05:29 PM
I’m not convinced we have seen the best of Halberg because of the role JR asked him to play. On the other hand Shaun Maloney might have had a good enough look at him by now to rule him out of his plans.

Happy to read other points of view from posters.

I think Hallberg would fit into Maloney's style of play but it could be a good few weeks before we see if he's capable, maybe best to move on and start afresh.

09-01-2022, 05:30 PM
Off the wage bill. Another passenger.

First part fair enough....Second part, not sure what your definition of passenger is but whether he was good enough or not always did a decent job on the pitch.

09-01-2022, 05:31 PM

Science says athletes slow down mid 20s but speed can improve as you get older.

So he would have been faster at 24 than 21 possibly.

Gaffer1875
09-01-2022, 05:32 PM
What a signing David Marshall would be!

09-01-2022, 05:32 PM
Few years ago really gutted - but I feel now we will recruit and fill the gaps better.

But also feels like he deserves a chance to play elsewhere and earn more £ - he’s always given his all to Hibs.

He will be a loss as a player but also his character - that can’t be under estimated as he lifts others spirits plus entertainment for fans young and old on social media etc.

There is also the aspect of we want replace him with a ready made replacement mid season so part of me thinks do we desperately need to sell now ? Think Boyle holds the cards though as this would have been expected when he signed new deal and Hibs will agree to let him go if value is met.

Definitely agree about missing his character as well as his ability if he leaves.

I just can't see us replacing his goals and assists in the January window. Hoping he stays.

09-01-2022, 05:34 PM
I think Hallberg would fit into Maloney's style of play but it could be a good few weeks before we see if he's capable, maybe best to move on and start afresh.

Thanks.

09-01-2022, 05:34 PM
First part fair enough....Second part, not sure what your definition of passenger is but whether he was good enough or not always did a decent job on the pitch.

I don't think he did tbh. Just my opinion. It's why St Johnstone want him.

09-01-2022, 05:50 PM

But they won’t stay at hibs as long as Boyle has I wouldn’t imagine

09-01-2022, 05:53 PM
Neither mate, believe there is interest from Turkey

Is Mallan still out there

09-01-2022, 05:56 PM

I was a bit concerned about the effect the injury he had a couple of years ago might have had on his pace but he’s recovered brilliantly from that.

His age concerns me less - that would probably be different if he was 32 and not 28.

The only way the situation with Boyle isn’t win win is if we get lowballed by the OF getting up to their antics and he wants to go, or he stays then gets another bad injury. We either keep a cracking player (and he is a top player at our level) who has years worth of good football in him or we get adequately recompensed and wish a favourite all the best for the future.

09-01-2022, 05:58 PM
Is Mallan still out there

He is aye. Started and played 60 minutes for his team yesterday. Bottom of the league and look odds on to go down.

Potty78
09-01-2022, 06:08 PM
He'll gradually get slower but he won't be finished by 30.

I would've had it years ago if half of them didn't get deleted :greengrin:wink:

🤣🤣👍

Potty78
09-01-2022, 06:10 PM

Saints trying really hard to get him but he wants to go abroad, I like him too

cameronw-hfc
09-01-2022, 06:34 PM

Imo, Boyle lost a yard of pace when he got his knee done va Falkirk. He's turned into a considerably better footballer than he was then, but I whole heartedly think he's lost a touch from that injury.

Albiet Boyle with a yard less of pace is still the quickest player in the league, but remember him being Ivan levels f fast at times, now he's rapid but I wouldn't class him as the same level of speed as Ivan anymore, much, much better player though.

09-01-2022, 07:00 PM

Will you be ok if he leaves?

You make it sound like the end of the world. We’ll do just fine.

09-01-2022, 07:16 PM
Will you be ok if he leaves?

You make it sound like the end of the world. We’ll do just fine.

I don't make anything sound like the end of the world. I said you're living on another planet if you think Hibs are getting much better than 24 goals, 9 assists in a year. Which you are.

You've no idea how we'll do without him. We lost Stokes in 2010 and went from 4th to 10th.

I think we'll be okay, but we'd be absolutely better off keeping him imo.

09-01-2022, 07:19 PM
3 million for Boyle should be the baseline figure. In full and not from silly add-ons. We've no reason or need to sell him for anything less.

NC1875
09-01-2022, 07:29 PM

Aye ok mate. Fairytales and all that

09-01-2022, 07:36 PM
Aye ok mate. Fairytales and all that

You think it's a fairy tale that in 2 years Boyle will still be fast and could've improved further?

09-01-2022, 07:44 PM
You think it's a fairy tale that in 2 years Boyle will still be fast and could've improved further?

He could be slower and be start to be on the decline, who knows.

I don’t think we should be actively looking to off load, far from it but if we get a fair price, he goes with my best wishes.

For clarity, I want him to stay.

09-01-2022, 07:45 PM

Please stop arguing with everyone who holds a different opinion.

You've made your point several times already although I'm at a loss as to what you want folk to do about it.

There's nothing to be gained from your approach.

09-01-2022, 07:56 PM

You've made your point several times already although I'm at a loss as to what you want folk to do about it.

Thanks for your opinion. I disagree though, and I'll continue to have this perfectly harmless discussion and I'll continue to make my points, exactly the same way others are making theirs.

09-01-2022, 07:57 PM
I don't make anything sound like the end of the world. I said you're living on another planet if you think Hibs are getting much better than 24 goals, 9 assists in a year. Which you are.

You've no idea how we'll do without him. We lost Stokes in 2010 and went from 4th to 10th.

We got those goals and assists last year, while I believe we would get a decent return this year coming, there’s no guarantee it would need to be 33 in total to match what Boyle would give us this year coming.

I’d like to keep him, but there is always a price and £3m would be around right for me. I’d then hope we could strengthen the squad and not just replace one player.

09-01-2022, 07:58 PM
He could be slower and be start to be on the decline, who knows.

I don’t think we should be actively looking to off load, far from it but if we get a fair price, he goes with my best wishes.

For clarity, I want him to stay.

He could go either way. The most likely one is he'll keep doing well for us.

A offer may come that is too good to refuse, but offloading him because he might decline in 2 or 3 years is wrong imo.

09-01-2022, 08:00 PM
I’d miss boyle. We’d miss boyle as a club, both for what he gives us on the pitch and off the pitch, he’s a personality.

Most improved player I’ve seen at hibs & tbh still surprised he’s not moved on to a bigger club yet.

I’d rather keep him obviously but if he’s getting offered a wage he couldn’t turn down elsewhere and they bid what we deem acceptable I absolutely wouldn’t grudge him it. He’s deserved it.

09-01-2022, 08:01 PM

:faf: There was literally nothing to argue about in my post but you found a way!

09-01-2022, 08:01 PM
Thanks for your opinion. I disagree though, and I'll continue to have this perfectly harmless discussion and I'll continue to make my points, exactly the same way others are making theirs.
You could maybe stamp your feet and wave your arms about. It should have the same effect.:aok:

Magpie2.0
09-01-2022, 08:02 PM
I don’t think this window is the best time to let Boyle go. The chances are he goes to the World Cup in December and the demand for him increases. We are undoubtedly a better team with him than without him. Replacing him this window would be very difficult and could have a negative impact on our chase for European football next season.

09-01-2022, 08:04 PM
We got those goals and assists last year, while I believe we would get a decent return this year coming, there’s no guarantee it would need to be 33 in total to match what Boyle would give us this year coming.

I’d like to keep him, but there is always a price and £3m would be around right for me. I’d then hope we could strengthen the squad and not just replace one player.

It could go either way, with plenty examples 0f both. I'd like to think we can strengthen without selling him too.

09-01-2022, 08:06 PM
You could maybe stamp your feet and wave your arms about. It should have the same effect.:aok:

I've done absolutely nothing wrong here. If you have a problem with me or the contents of my posts, either pm me or speak to an admin. Otherwise, keep the thread on topic.

09-01-2022, 08:07 PM
So if he goes would that mean putting Henderson on the right? Or just leave Cadden there?

09-01-2022, 08:08 PM
This transfer thread has went into complete meltdown the past 2 days

The rumours of Bushiri and Hallberg have hardly had a mention.

Let’s hope another rumour comes up so we done have to read posts about Boyles wage or the living conditions in Saudi Arabia

09-01-2022, 08:09 PM
I don’t think this window is the best time to let Boyle go. The chances are he goes to the World Cup in December and the demand for him increases. We are undoubtedly a better team with him than without him. Replacing him this window would be very difficult and could have a negative impact on our chase for European football next season.

You make good points and I hope we hang on to him.

The cons of keeping him but aiming to sell him in the summer, is that Australia are more than likely to be knocked out after the group stages with MB not getting the stage we'd want.

Also, with only 6 months until he could sign a pre-contract, his value could drop.

I'm glad I'm not the decision maker.

Magpie2.0
09-01-2022, 08:12 PM

The cons of keeping him but aiming to sell him in the summer, is that Australia are more than likely to be knocked out after the group stages with MB not getting the stage we'd want.

Also, with only 6 months until he could sign a pre-contract, his value could drop.

He recently signed a new contract until summer 2024 so we should be fine on that front.

09-01-2022, 08:12 PM
Degenerated into another argumentative thread by the usual suspects, no idea what they're saying but I can still see replies to them.

If Boyle goes so be it, we thank him and move on like we've done since 1875.

09-01-2022, 08:21 PM

Let’s hope another rumour comes up so we done have to read posts about Boyles wage or the living conditions in Saudi ArabiaProbably our best player is linked with a movex ofcourse it evokes offshot discussion from that

Hallberg who is by in a large a fringe player has been linked with a move away. His perceived value to the teams shows in the reponses

I don't get why folk get antsy at posts that really link back to (in this case) Boyle going

Surley it's all under the guise and topic of possible transfer out

09-01-2022, 08:22 PM
Degenerated into another argumentative thread by the usual suspects, no idea what they're saying but I can still see replies to them.

If Boyle goes so be it, we thank him and move on like we've done since 1875.

People you've blocked 😀

Yeah it's annoying that the posters name still shows telling you they're blocked but not the message 🤣

09-01-2022, 08:27 PM
He recently signed a new contract until summer 2024 so we should be fine on that front.

Ah, right.

I thought he only had 18 months.

09-01-2022, 08:27 PM
It could go either way, with plenty examples 0f both. I'd like to think we can strengthen without selling him too.

It could, but speedy wingers generally don’t get better as they get towards 30. He was exceptional last 18 months, I don’t think he gets any better than that level. I’d like us to keep him also, I wouldn’t turn down £3m if it was going to change his life and he wanted to go though and I’m optimistic we’re in a position now where we could reinvest properly and efficiently.

09-01-2022, 08:28 PM

Let’s hope another rumour comes up so we done have to read posts about Boyles wage or the living conditions in Saudi Arabia

And the talk about our interest in getting in another GK

09-01-2022, 08:29 PM

if he leaves, and if we are smart about how we do things, and we end up with those 33 goals/assists or more spread across say 3 players, that would make us a better team and one harder to beat

I'd rather he didn’t go, but I don’t think our club or team will collapse if he does

09-01-2022, 08:30 PM
And the talk about our interest in getting in another GK

Tbf, that's been done to death.

Dazzjw1875
09-01-2022, 08:31 PM
If Boyle goes I wish him well, I think it could be good for both parties. I understand he is our best player but we rely on him too much and became to predictable in games notable the cup games with 2 players marking him constant and leaving us with not a clue what to do. I'm sure Hibs and SM will have it covered and a plan in place perhaps with the other Norwegian lad mentioned?

09-01-2022, 08:33 PM
Tbf, that's been done to death.

Just that it was brought up again earlier but no worries

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 08:37 PM
If Boyle goes I wish him well, I think it could be good for both parties. I understand he is our best player but we rely on him too much and became to predictable in games notable the cup games with 2 players marking him constant and leaving us with not a clue what to do. I'm sure Hibs and SM will have it covered and a plan in place perhaps with the other Norwegian lad mentioned?
I agree, and I don't think he's our best player either. His pace is everything and his decision making is no better than when he first came imho, too many times I've seen him not put his head up and fire an aimless ball to nowhere from a great attacking position.
Stato says he has 9 assists in a year? I don't think that's impressive at all for the many great positions he gets in, in fact I think it's terrible.
If we get anything near 3 million I'd personally take it.

09-01-2022, 08:39 PM

You’re saying we can’t get a better player than Boyle for £3m, yet think I’m from another planet??

That’s absolutely mental talk right there.

I guarantee you there won’t be anybody at Hibs thinking that way.

09-01-2022, 08:42 PM
Probably our best player is linked with a movex ofcourse it evokes offshot discussion from that

Hallberg who is by in a large a fringe player has been linked with a move away. His perceived value to the teams shows in the reponses

I don't get why folk get antsy at posts that really link back to (in this case) Boyle going

Surley it's all under the guise and topic of possible transfer out

I get discussing Boyle leaving as like you’ve said he’s a huge player for us.

But some of the discussions have been so petty and away from the actually football side of things and impact it will have.

09-01-2022, 08:45 PM

He just signed a new deal so he isn’t available for pre contract and the whole World Cup is a stage. If he performs even half decent and Australia are knocked out his value rockets.

09-01-2022, 08:45 PM
I agree, and I don't think he's our best player either. His pace is everything and his decision making is no better than when he first came imho, too many times I've seen him not put his head up and fire an aimless ball to nowhere from a great attacking position.
Stato says he has 9 assists in a year? I don't think that's impressive at all for the many great positions he gets in, in fact I think it's terrible.

:top marksVery selective use of stat being used. He can be hugely frustrating at times. Pretty much every match day thread mentions it.

Tobias Funke
09-01-2022, 08:53 PM
I like Boyle, he’s a very handy and dangerous weapon for us. However, you’d think he was Pele going by some of the comments on here.

09-01-2022, 09:01 PM
You’re saying we can’t get a better player than Boyle for £3m, yet think I’m from another planet??

That’s absolutely mental talk right there.

I guarantee you there won’t be anybody at Hibs thinking that way.
We wouldn't spend anywhere near 3 million on the new player, that's the point. 500k, and a million on his wages over 3 years, sure. Never close to 3 million.

Do you think we're selling him for 3 million then immediately spending 3 million? Surely not.

09-01-2022, 09:04 PM

His decision making isn’t any better? You must be having a laugh surely

How many other players playing in Scotland have comparable numbers to Boyle over the last 18 months? .

09-01-2022, 09:05 PM

You are acting like the only 9 good crosses he has put into the box have equalled a goal, he has put plenty of other decent balls in that the strikers have missed sitters or no one has taken a chance and got into the 6 yard line

09-01-2022, 09:06 PM
We wouldn't spend anywhere near 3 million on the new player, that's the point. 500k, and a million on his wages over 3 years, sure. Never close to 3 million.

Do you think we're selling him for 3 million then immediately spending 3 million? Surely not.

This 100%. Hibs will spend no more than 500k on a replacement for Boyle. We are still way off paying 1M foe a player.

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 09:07 PM
His decision making isn’t any better? You must be having a laugh surely

How many other players playing in Scotland have comparable numbers to Boyle over the last 18 months? .
I'm not big on stats but I'd stick to my guns and say 9 assists in a year isn't that great.

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 09:08 PM
You are acting like the only 9 good crosses he has put into the box have equalled a goal, he has put plenty of other decent balls in that the strikers have missed sitters or no one has taken a chance and got into the 6 yard line
I'm not acting like anything, what a weird statement. I'm saying 9 assists in a year isn't great, and he's missed a fair few himself.

09-01-2022, 09:10 PM
I'm not big on stats but I'd stick to my guns and say 9 assists in a year isn't that great.

What about 24 goals?

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 09:11 PM
What about 24 goals?
Very good, how many were penalties though.

09-01-2022, 09:12 PM

Do they not count like ?

09-01-2022, 09:12 PM

I’m not expecting us to pay a £3m transfer fee. We might sign a player and pay him £2m over 4 years though, for example.

You seem to speak in definitives yet pull me up for saying I can’t know what the future holds. How does that work? Doesn’t really same fair!

09-01-2022, 09:13 PM
I'm not acting like anything, what a weird statement. I'm saying 9 assists in a year isn't great, and he's missed a fair few himself.

Assists aren't exactly like a penalty when it comes down to one player alone, if the people you are passing to don't take a clear cut chance it plays a part in it too, so using that stat as a way to try and diminish what an amazing year Boyle has had is what I find weird

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 09:14 PM
Do they not count like ?

Obviously they do, like.

The thing with assists is they don’t show the full picture.

You can lay it off to someone who scores from 30 yard and claim an assist. Same goes for beating half the team and squaring it to someone for a tap in.

The opposite side is you can beat half the team and put it on a player for a striker who misses.

Boyle has created an absolute ton of chances for his team mates. The amount of times he’s flashed the ball across goal and no one has been there is criminal.

He’d be a massive loss and I think we’d struggle to replace him straight away.

The only thing is I’m not sure if the role he’s likely to play in a Maloney team will be his most effective.

8 or 9 I think but do they not count?

Still waiting to hear who has comparable numbers to his in 2021?

09-01-2022, 09:15 PM
Obviously they do, like.

[emoji3]. And so the point of the question was ?

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 09:16 PM

See above for your first question.

I already told you I'm not big on stats.

09-01-2022, 09:17 PM

His decision making is light years ahead of what it was.

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 09:18 PM
[emoji3]. And so the point of the question was ?

I didn't ask you a question, you must have imagined a question mark.

09-01-2022, 09:19 PM

Without checking, let’s assume his stats are way out in front of anybody’s else’s.

The point some of us are making is that we think £3m is a cracking price and that that money could be well spent.

None of us are saying we would definitely improve, but some are suggesting we would definitely be weaker without him.

If Maloney rates him that highly there’s no discussion to be had.

I didn't ask you a question, you must have imagined a question mark.

The question wasn’t to me…it was about about penalties in your other post..was wondering what the point of it is…if they count the same as any other goal..and can be missed the same as other chances…

See above for your first question.

I already told you I'm not big on stats.

I think you know the answer will be pretty much nobody though, eh?

Or nobody that didn’t cost several millions pounds.

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 09:20 PM
Assists aren't exactly like a penalty when it comes down to one player alone, if the people you are passing to don't take a clear cut chance it plays a part in it too, so using that stat as a way to try and diminish what an amazing year Boyle has had is what I find weird
I'll leave it at 9 assists in a year isn't great imo, I don't rate him as highly as you, you can find it weird all you like.

09-01-2022, 09:26 PM

I disagree with the general point you’re making but playing devils advocate, I actually agree with you on this one.

When judging a player, their ability to score a penalty doesn’t impress me that much. I think the difference with Boyle is though that I think he probably won the majority of those penalties!

I don’t think we will get a direct replacement as good as Boyle however if we can use the money well to not be so reliant on the one player we will be a better team for it.

Other teams in the league don’t have Boyle and doing better than us so I don’t agree he’s irreplaceable.

09-01-2022, 09:28 PM
Without checking, let’s assume his stats are way out in front of anybody’s else’s.

The point some of us are making is that we think £3m is a cracking price and that that money could be well spent.

None of us are saying we would definitely improve, but some are suggesting we would definitely be weaker without him.

If Maloney rates him that highly there’s no discussion to be had.

I get why folk might see value in selling and reinvesting.

But you said he’s not even close to being one of the best players in the league which, IMO, is ludicrous based on what he’s produced over the last year and a bit. And that we should be able to easily spend the money to replace him. If you’re looking at similar type players, someone like Ryan Kent might be returning the same type of numbers and he cost 7 million quid.

andudare2
09-01-2022, 09:30 PM
I'm not acting like anything, what a weird statement. I'm saying 9 assists in a year isn't great, and he's missed a fair few himself.so we dont count those that have been set up by him but missed? Ok your right but so is a broken clock twice per day

09-01-2022, 09:34 PM
This thread is getting ridiculous

09-01-2022, 09:37 PM
The thing with assists is they don’t show the full picture.

You can lay it off to someone who scores from 30 yard and claim an assist. Same goes for beating half the team and squaring it to someone for a tap in.

The opposite side is you can beat half the team and put it on a player for a striker who misses.

Boyle has created an absolute ton of chances for his team mates. The amount of times he’s flashed the ball across goal and no one has been there is criminal.

He’d be a massive loss and I think we’d struggle to replace him straight away.

The only thing is I’m not sure if the role he’s likely to play in a Maloney team will be his most effective.

Agree that an assist total doesn’t paint the full picture. Cadden, Boyle and Doig put in loads of crosses,cutbacks etc that deserve better but it counts for nothing if someone doesn’t make the correct run or fluffs the shot. The thing is these guys are doing it pretty consistently. Boyle used to be just a pace merchant but now his game is so much more. The way he turns and moves his body in comparison to where the opposition are has come on exponentially in recent years. He will be a great player even after his pace has dipped a bit
Similar to yourself and for reasons I’m not sure of I don’t think he will be as effective in SM teams, Hopefully this is because others are taking more responsibility for our creativity.

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 09:37 PM
so we dont count those that have been set up by him but missed? Ok your right but so is a broken clock twice per day
Let me clarify my thoughts on Boyler.

When he's on fire he's great, and practically unplayable like in the semi against Rangers.

Too often though he's snuffed out too easily by defences like in the cup games against St Johnstone.

I'd rather we kept him but if we're offered anything near 3 million i'd sell.

Greenworld
09-01-2022, 09:38 PM
Heard tonight that portious is close to signing a new deal hope its true

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

09-01-2022, 09:40 PM

That would be incredible…decent source for the information?

I'll leave it at 9 assists in a year isn't great imo, I don't rate him as highly as you, you can find it weird all you like.

If we had a penalty box striker Boyle's assists would be up in the 20s .... I've lost count of the number of balls he's played between the keeper and 6 yard line in the last year with none of our so called 'strikers' anywhere to be seen and you can probably have sympathy for doig and Murphy in that area too.

Fantastic if true

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 09:43 PM
If we had a penalty box striker Boyle's assists would be up in the 20s .... I've lost count of the number of balls he's played between the keeper and 6 yard line in the last year with none of our so called 'strikers' anywhere to be seen and you can probably have sympathy for doig and Murphy in that area too.
You could flip that and say if he'd lifted his head and found a man instead of firing in an aimless ball his assists would be higher.

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 09:44 PM

Please let it be true.

09-01-2022, 09:45 PM
I would say Cadden more than anyone. He has put in so many crosses into the perfect area for a penalty box striker.

09-01-2022, 09:48 PM

This will start another spate of posts from those that think he isn’t good enough and we could do better
Personally would be delighted if this comes to pass
Ron The Con has definitely been backing the team in terms of giving existing players new contracts and in funding new signings at a time when income is probably down and when he has had to pay off a management team and fork out good money for Ambitious replacement

09-01-2022, 09:51 PM
The Martin Boyle we signed from Dundee has not improved his decision making and still became a full internationalist years later?

Come on!

Onto Porto

Be delighted if he extends his deal - brilliant news that would be

09-01-2022, 09:54 PM

I'm not sure which year people mean but it's the exact equivalent of a full season.

In comparison, the highest number of assists in the 20/21 season was Ianis Hagi with 11. Ryan Christie, Ryan Kent and James Tavernier were joint second with 9. Martin Boyle was tied 6th with 6.

9 in a calendar year seems more than decent.

09-01-2022, 09:55 PM
Boyle hatrick v the huns at Hampden recently - one of my most favourite Hibs games in last few years.

Can’t believe folk are knocking his stats - yes we maybe aren’t as good if he’s marked out the game or not playing his best but he’s a key player and you will be doing very well to find a replacement ready to make a difference like him. You could argue others around him need to step it up to his levels - especially with all his travelling he’s done.

Crunchie
09-01-2022, 09:59 PM
I'm not sure which year people mean but it's the exact equivalent of a full season.

In comparison, the highest number of assists in the 20/21 season was Ianis Hagi with 11. Ryan Christie, Ryan Kent and James Tavernier were joint second with 9. Martin Boyle was tied 6th with 6.

9 in a calendar year seems more than decent.
The person who quoted 9 in a year would have been very accurate in that statement, I took that to mean more than a season, but still, 9 assists in a season isn't great imo.

09-01-2022, 10:03 PM
You could flip that and say if he'd lifted his head and found a man instead of firing in an aimless ball his assists would be higher.

No you couldn't. Absolutely any ex player worth the name commenting on games from any league in the world raves about balls played between keeper and 6 yard line and is always critical when nobody is there to get on the end of them. As another poster said, Cadden has played a few of them too with nobody to be seen ... in fact the last guy who came close to connecting with a ball like that was Ryan Porteous in the Aberdeen game and he's a centre half.

The likes of Boyle rarely has anybody to 'pick out' because our midfield players rarely get into the box, an issue at Hibs for bloody years, in fact Magennis was becoming a standout because he actually was getting into the box from midfield and was scoring as a result .... it's an absolute bugger that he has picked up another serious injury for that very reason.

09-01-2022, 10:03 PM
What a signing David Marshall would be!

Would be happy with this.

09-01-2022, 10:04 PM
This will start another spate of posts from those that think he isn’t good enough and we could do better
Personally would be delighted if this comes to pass
Ron The Con has definitely been backing the team in terms of giving existing players new contracts and in funding new signings at a time when income is probably down and when he has had to pay off a management team and fork out good money for Ambitious replacement

Without wanting (genuinely really don’t) to kick such a debate off.. is there a single poster on here that doesn’t think Porto is “good enough”?

09-01-2022, 10:11 PM
Thank goodness page 122 has some new exciting information!

Hoping those contract talks are wrapped up quickly and RP is with us long term.

09-01-2022, 10:14 PM
The person who quoted 9 in a year would have been very accurate in that statement, I took that to mean more than a season, but still, 9 assists in a season isn't great imo.

If 11 was the highest, how come 9 isn't very good?

09-01-2022, 10:15 PM
Without wanting (genuinely really don’t) to kick such a debate off.. is there a single poster on here that doesn’t think Porto is “good enough”?

If you look back the last thread when he got sent off again am sure there were a few Most were stating the obvious that they wished he would cut out the rash tackles and he needed to mature Plenty were singing his praises but yes there were a few that thought we could do better

tonyrougier123
09-01-2022, 10:21 PM

Tbf to Boyle and people like myself who have seen a lot of players come and go over the years and rate him highly, I think you need to take in to consideration how far up the park he takes you,how much he is nullifying right side threat and also how many dangerous attacks he starts by digging in and taking a pounding that results in either a chance or a goal.

For me one of the best I’ve seen in a long long time at Easter road.
That’s before you consider what he brings to the dressing room and club as a whole in terms of character.

If he is sold and wants a move fair enough but reinvestment crucial,without counting the business we have already done,a mini clear out of players constantly on the periphery of first team who do a job but don’t get us over line as much on the occasion.

Let’s not be in a position where you wonder if the transfer money was properly reinvested for example John mcginn leaving mcgeouch as well and wondering why the midfield lacks balance.

We need a centre half sign one a good one,as in done a job elsewhere and fans can see at least the motivation to do so,that would be nice.

We have speculated to accumulate on a few young players now in positions you sort of can but centre half I don’t think we can afford to gamble like that for now.

So if Boyle goes hopefully we get what is deserved for a top player and we can sign real talent with the cash to a degree.

09-01-2022, 10:29 PM

Hibs played 51 competitive games in 2021. Presuming the stats that have been branded were correct the Boyle played 48 with 24 goals and 9 assists. That’s a goal contribution every game and a half. One of those games he was only on the park for 20 minutes as well.

09-01-2022, 10:31 PM
Never thought I’d get sick of hearing about Martin Boyle, but here we are.

09-01-2022, 10:31 PM
So after reading countless pages of speculation on Boyle’s current/prospective earnings, and bickering over his number of goals/assists, it’s clear there’s been very little transfer news today🙄

09-01-2022, 10:33 PM
So after reading countless pages of speculation on Boyle’s current/prospective earnings, and bickering over his number of goals/assists, it’s clear there’s been very little transfer news today🙄

If true, good news about Porto though.

Thanks for the summary, now I don't have to waste time going through page after page 😂

NC1875
09-01-2022, 10:35 PM
Martin Boyle is now Messi apparently.

Jeezo, I would rather we kept him but some people are making out he’s the messiah. Plenty games this season and last he’s been anonymous.

He’s not irreplaceable, it doesn’t have to be a like for like player if he does go.

09-01-2022, 10:42 PM
Marshall, Bushiri and Porteous extending his contract would be incredible business.

tonyrougier123
09-01-2022, 10:47 PM
Marshall, Bushiri and Porteous extending his contract would be incredible business.

Is Marshall a definite link or just speculation? I’ve no seen anything on that.some signing if we did.

09-01-2022, 10:52 PM
Is Marshall a definite link or just speculation? I’ve no seen anything on that.some signing if we did.

Only from people here saying it’s a rumour, not seen anything elsewhere

Would be brilliant for us imo and would be in the McGregor and Gordon bracket imo who save a lot of points for their team.

This is coming as someone that’s a fan of Macey (except his kicking) and thinks he’s made some huge saves this season.

tonyrougier123
09-01-2022, 11:04 PM
Only from people here saying it’s a rumour, not seen anything elsewhere

Would be brilliant for us imo and would be in the McGregor and Gordon bracket imo who save a lot of points for their team.

This is coming as someone that’s a fan of Macey (except his kicking) and thinks he’s made some huge saves this season.

Aye macey has been good I agree but two keepers like that would be healthy competition like bogdan and Marciano couple seasons ago.canny go wrong there.

09-01-2022, 11:18 PM
EEN saying Bushiri is a loan but we want a loan to buy similar to Henderson

09-01-2022, 11:40 PM
Boyle's been a good player for us and doesn't owe us anything if he does decide to move on. I do think that people on this forum sometimes go a bit OTT in terms of the good and bad aspects of a player, and in Boyle's case for me that's the case again. I would speculate that now he's probably just about at the top of his game, and for me he stands out more in a pretty ordinary Hibs team. But it has taken him this time IMO to get to the top of his game IMO, there were deficiences in his game in previous seasons, for whatever reason, despite the fact that he was still a good player for us. So it's not like every season that he's been here, he's the one who would be seriously irreplaceable, but people might be more inclined to think because of his position in the current team that is now the case. I'm not in any way putting him down, in fact it's to his credit that he's worked hard on the aspects of his game that needed refining, but I want to see Boyle as part of a powerful Hibs team, and I can't wait to see what the new signings offer in other areas of the pitch. What I don't want is to watch games where Boyle is marked out of the game, Nisbett and Doidge starved of any supply and us getting beaten because we didn't seem to be able to change our game/style of play. That's just my opinion though.

Magpie2.0
09-01-2022, 11:42 PM

He’s following Alan Rennie on Instagram who does a lot of photography for the club. Might not be anything in it but it’s someone I wouldn’t expect Bushiri to know.

09-01-2022, 11:52 PM
He’s following Alan Rennie on Instagram who does a lot of photography for the club. Might not be anything in it but it’s someone I wouldn’t expect Bushiri to know.

Fantastic work.

Only followed him in the last couple of hours also as when I was on his page earlier he only followed Omeonga.

10-01-2022, 12:14 AM
Bushiri looks a big, quick, athletic guy

Not that many videos of him online though

I trust maloney will know him well given us Belgium U21 caps

10-01-2022, 12:33 AM

Only from posters that are (ahem) in the know.So most likely a load of b*****ks then......

10-01-2022, 01:04 AM
https://www.instagram.com/tv/B-nJNzGpFc1/?utm_medium=copy_link

Hopefully Scott reaches that sort of form with us.

He’s noticeably skinner in those clips so hopefully the break has gave him a chance to shed some pounds.

He looks like the exact sort of player we need in those clips.

10-01-2022, 01:11 AM
:hyper

10-01-2022, 06:27 AM

Quick, powerful, but rash seems to be the view on him. I trust Maloney knows him well enough to offer him a contract.

The Evening News understands that initial talks have taken place over a loan deal, with the Easter Road side also exploring the possibility of a loan-then-permanent arrangement similar to the Ewan Henderson deal.

Belgian-born Bushiri is a centre-back comfortable playing in a back three or a back four. He began his career in his homeland with Oostende, joined the Canaries in 2019, and has also had loan spells at Eupen, Blackpool, Sint-Truiden and Mechelen.

Bushiri is yet to make a first-team appearance for the Carrow Road side. A proposed loan move to Coventry last summer failed to materialise but Sky Blues boss Mark Robins praised the centre-back, describing him as “very, very quick and very powerful, but raw and rash at times.”

Norwich loans chief Neil Adams said in May last year: “Rocky has played for the Belgium under-21 team and had some fantastic performances against some big teams.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimg/b25lY21zOjQxM2Q3ZDA1LTc1YmItNGFiNi1hODI5LWI3MjFlNj Q3NTgyZjo5ZmI1ZGJmOS1mMzQyLTQzNTgtOTRkNC1kNjNmZWE3 MzMyZTY=.jpg?width=640&enable=upscale

10-01-2022, 06:44 AM
We had a bid for Sibbick knocked back according to the record. Have now moved onto Bushiri.

10-01-2022, 07:03 AM

Presumably scarf above head pics are done then.

10-01-2022, 07:05 AM
I hope so god we have a bit more transfer speculation today and we can get away from the obvious distraction.

10-01-2022, 07:08 AM
Would really have liked Sibbick, think he’s a good young player with all the attributes to go to the top.

Imagine there’s no chance now we’re after Rocky.

10-01-2022, 07:15 AM
Quick, powerful, but rash seems to be the view on him. I trust Maloney knows him well enough to offer him a contract.

The Evening News understands that initial talks have taken place over a loan deal, with the Easter Road side also exploring the possibility of a loan-then-permanent arrangement similar to the Ewan Henderson deal.

Belgian-born Bushiri is a centre-back comfortable playing in a back three or a back four. He began his career in his homeland with Oostende, joined the Canaries in 2019, and has also had loan spells at Eupen, Blackpool, Sint-Truiden and Mechelen.

Bushiri is yet to make a first-team appearance for the Carrow Road side. A proposed loan move to Coventry last summer failed to materialise but Sky Blues boss Mark Robins praised the centre-back, describing him as “very, very quick and very powerful, but raw and rash at times.”

Norwich loans chief Neil Adams said in May last year: “Rocky has played for the Belgium under-21 team and had some fantastic performances against some big teams.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimg/b25lY21zOjQxM2Q3ZDA1LTc1YmItNGFiNi1hODI5LWI3MjFlNj Q3NTgyZjo5ZmI1ZGJmOS1mMzQyLTQzNTgtOTRkNC1kNjNmZWE3 MzMyZTY=.jpg?width=640&enable=upscale
If this comes to be I'm a bit concerned he'll prove to be another unproven player "full of promise" from the reserves down south who actually isn't good enough to play SPL. I know that's a glass half empty view and I should trust SM's knowledge of him from Belgium U21s but as we've seen with Nathan Woods performing well at U21 International level is not that reliable an indicator.

10-01-2022, 07:20 AM
If this comes to be I'm a bit concerned he'll prove to be another unproven player "full of promise" from the reserves down south who actually isn't good enough to play SPL. I know that's a glass half empty view and I should trust SM's knowledge of him from Belgium U21s but as we've seen with Nathan Woods performing well at U21 International level is not that reliable an indicator.I don't think Nathan Wood had any U21 caps?

10-01-2022, 07:22 AM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/toby-sibbick-hibs-bid-rejected-22695528

10-01-2022, 07:28 AM
If this comes to be I'm a bit concerned he'll prove to be another unproven player "full of promise" from the reserves down south who actually isn't good enough to play SPL. I know that's a glass half empty view and I should trust SM's knowledge of him from Belgium U21s but as we've seen with Nathan Woods performing well at U21 International level is not that reliable an indicator.

I’m the same to be honest. The reviews of Bushiri haven’t exactly been glowing and every loan spell since signing for Norwich seems to have been a failure.

10-01-2022, 07:30 AM
I don't think Nathan Wood had any U21 caps?

U20 level so correct. And I'm sure SM will have seen this guy in the flesh and know very well the Belgian U21 management team for their views.

10-01-2022, 07:45 AM
We had a bid for Sibbick knocked back according to the record. Have now moved onto Bushiri.

It's weird that the Sibbick stuff is still doing the rounds, as the Evening News said there was nothing in it - I'd imagine in accordance with information from the club.

I wonder if this is an agent trying to put his name about.

chippy
10-01-2022, 07:46 AM

On the face of it seems to be a bit risky, but Shaun will be aware of his technical ability and might think that all he needs to thrive is the right environment

10-01-2022, 07:49 AM

Wood never played for England under 21s.

Belgium under 21s level will be miles above England under 20s. Under 20s are basically guys not good enough to play for the 21s.

10-01-2022, 08:02 AM
I wonder how much they want for Sibbick and how far off it we were

Would we go back for him with the Porteous money if he was sold?

10-01-2022, 08:21 AM
The Bushiri stuff doesn't excite me much to be honest. I don't like the look of his loan record at other clubs, how many first team games has he actually played at any level?

The fact all his loans appear to be 6 months with little to no playing time then onto the next one should ring alarm bells for the club surely...

10-01-2022, 08:30 AM

Would be happy with this.

David Marshall has played about 2 games of football in 6 months.

10-01-2022, 08:30 AM
The Bushiri stuff doesn't excite me much to be honest. I don't like the look of his loan record at other clubs, how many first team games has he actually played at any level?

The fact all his loans appear to be 6 months with little to no playing time then onto the next one should ring alarm bells for the club surely...

Or the manager and coaching staff feel they can get him playing and it’s a great opportunity to turn a raw talent into a top player as they see it?

ElginHibbie
10-01-2022, 08:33 AM
David Marshall has played about 2 games of football in 6 months.

Conrad Logan hadn't played a game in 16 months before that semi final, not such a big deal when it comes to keepers

Souter96Mac
10-01-2022, 08:34 AM
I wonder how much they want for Sibbick and how far off it we were

Would we go back for him with the Porteous money if he was sold?

Maybe. I would think if we sold Porto, our targets would be more towards the likes of Kerr or maybe Findlay.

10-01-2022, 08:34 AM
Really hope we sign bushiri.

Never heard of him, or seen him play, but his name is awesome and tbh, I'm happy getting him in on that basis alone.

Souter96Mac
10-01-2022, 08:37 AM
Really hope we sign bushiri.

Never heard of him, or seen him play, but his name is awesome and tbh, I'm happy getting him in on that basis alone.

Hopefully not to derail the thread again..but who's been your favourite Hibs player name in recent years?

10-01-2022, 08:47 AM

I was a bit like that to begin with but after I read into it a bit more I’m excited.

Stated off at Oostend and played a couple of games before going on loan to Eupen and playing the majority of games for them, think he was 19? Ina league that’s a very decent standard.

Signed for Norwich and was playing regularly for Belgium under 21s (alongside Omeonga).

Admittedly he went on a couple of loans that don’t seem to have worked out, he went back to Eupen and then injured his knee and just came back in the summer when he had his trial at Coventry but still wasn’t overly fit.

Coventry fans still thought he was rapid, physical and good on the ball.

He has all the basic attributes to be a success in this league.

I’m not for a second saying he’ll be brilliant as guys like Wood, Boateng etc have proved it’s not always the case.

But it sounds like he’s got something about him. That said Sibbick would have excited me more.

10-01-2022, 08:51 AM

Over 60 starts in the Belgian top flight.

10-01-2022, 08:52 AM
Hopefully not to derail the thread again..but who's been your favourite Hibs player name in recent years?

Not too recent but we've had some corkers. Zemamma. Benjelloun. Zitelli. Kujabi... Nish.

10-01-2022, 08:56 AM
Maybe. I would think if we sold Porto, our targets would be more towards the likes of Kerr or maybe Findlay.

Seems Findlay will go to Hearts if Souttar goes to Blackburn / Rangers.

10-01-2022, 08:56 AM

Where you seeing those numbers? Didn’t think he had anywhere near that many.

10-01-2022, 08:58 AM

Looks like 61 appearances for Oostende, KAS Eupen,bBlackpool, Mechelen and Belgium U21s , would have been more but for injuries

In those 61 appearances he's been yellow carded 23 times and sent of once.

MikeyS
10-01-2022, 09:00 AM

Don't think anyone will come close to Yves Makabu-Ma-Kalambay to be honest.

Nevi_SOL
10-01-2022, 09:00 AM
Looks like 61 appearances for Oostende, KAS Eupen,bBlackpool, Mechelen and Belgium U21s , would have been more but for injuries

Scottish refs will be rubbing their hands at that.

10-01-2022, 09:01 AM
Conrad Logan hadn't played a game in 16 months before that semi final, not such a big deal when it comes to keepers

That game was a freak of nature. He wasn't a very good keeper. In fact he was poor out with that one miraculous game.

Edinburgh Green
10-01-2022, 09:02 AM
I was a bit like that to begin with but after I read into it a bit more I’m excited.

Stated off at Oostend and played a couple of games before going on loan to Eupen and playing the majority of games for them, think he was 19? Ina league that’s a very decent standard.

Signed for Norwich and was playing regularly for Belgium under 21s (alongside Omeonga).

Admittedly he went on a couple of loans that don’t seem to have worked out, he went back to Eupen and then injured his knee and just came back in the summer when he had his trial at Coventry but still wasn’t overly fit.

I’m not for a second saying he’ll be brilliant as guys like Wood, Boateng etc have proved it’s not always the case.

But it sounds like he’s got something about him. That said Sibbick would have excited me more.

Bushiri sounds like he what Motherwell got from Kipre when they signed him from Leicester (fast,strong,raw) and he turned out to be a great signing for them. Although Bushiri looks like he has more experience, Kipre had only had a previous loan spell at Corby Town!

10-01-2022, 09:03 AM
One of the Red Tops suggesting Siegrist to Rangers on a pre-contract

10-01-2022, 09:07 AM
Bushiri sounds like he what Motherwell got from Kipre when they signed him from Leicester (fast,strong,raw) and he turned out to be a great signing for them. Although Bushiri looks like he has more experience, Kipre had only had a previous loan spell at Corby Town!

Funnily enough that’s who I thought of when I first read about him.

Sometimes you need to take a risk instead of signing league 1 dross and I’m all for it!

Greenworld
10-01-2022, 09:10 AM
That would be incredible…decent source for the information?I wouldn't put my house on it but was an out of the blue comment that made my ears prick up from a supporter not known to blether.
I know hibs have been trying to get him to sign a new contract so maybe something in it .

10-01-2022, 09:13 AM

Sounds like the ideal replacement for Porteous ! :greengrin

10-01-2022, 09:14 AM
Wood never played for England under 21s.

Belgium under 21s level will be miles above England under 20s. Under 20s are basically guys not good enough to play for the 21s.

Does the same apply to Norway under 20s?

10-01-2022, 09:25 AM

Best you start a separate thread.

Could be a good one.

10-01-2022, 09:25 AM

Not recent but Yannick Zambarnardi ?

10-01-2022, 09:34 AM
Oh you'll derail the thread alright...why not just start a ne topic and leave this one alone to address its own topic?

10-01-2022, 09:37 AM
Humphrey Rudge. :agree:

10-01-2022, 09:37 AM
Does the same apply to Norway under 20s?

No idea.

Souter96Mac
10-01-2022, 09:41 AM
Oh you'll derail the thread alright...why not just start a ne topic and leave this one alone to address its own topic?

New thread is up 😁

10-01-2022, 09:53 AM
Funnily enough that’s who I thought of when I first read about him.

Sometimes you need to take a risk instead of signing league 1 dross and I’m all for it!

Sounds a bit like Sol Bamba when he arrived.

10-01-2022, 10:07 AM

But it sounds like he’s got something about him. That said Sibbick would have excited me more.That's good to know actually, didn't realise he had decent amount of game time in the top league in Belgium at 19.

Perhaps his recent lack of game time hasn't been helped by the pandemic situation as well as his injury. If we'd picked this guy up at 19 with half a season at the top level in Belgium we'd be happy, so perhaps there is something worth being excited about...

10-01-2022, 10:32 AM
That's good to know actually, didn't realise he had decent amount of game time in the top league in Belgium at 19.

Perhaps his recent lack of game time hasn't been helped by the pandemic situation as well as his injury. If we'd picked this guy up at 19 with half a season at the top level in Belgium we'd be happy, so perhaps there is something worth being excited about...

Also worth pointing out that although it was in the Championship, our greatest successes under Stubbs who had his own philosophy and preference for possession football was from getting young players who had lost their way slightly but had played at a higher level than where we were. Scott Allan, Fyvie, John McGinn, McGeouch, Henderson etc.

If Maloney can get the best out of his signings again then we're in a good place IMO. It's the sort of profile of player a club like Hibs should be going for.

10-01-2022, 10:43 AM

Humphrey Rudge Junior

10-01-2022, 10:43 AM

Bamba was class for Dunfermline.

Fuzzywuzzy
10-01-2022, 10:50 AM

Not sure if posted already

10-01-2022, 11:08 AM

He was still liable to the odd overly robust challenge though

10-01-2022, 11:16 AM
Anyone know the latest with Osame Sahraoui? Any chance of him signing or has that chance gone?

10-01-2022, 11:20 AM

I don't think he was getting a game when we signed him. Had a brief injury then was a bit part player for the latter half of the season.

10-01-2022, 11:28 AM
Anyone know the latest with Osame Sahraoui? Any chance of him signing or has that chance gone?

I'm sure I saw Marseille quoted so on that basis I'd suggest no, but it's good that we are trying (if we have been).

10-01-2022, 11:31 AM

No idea, could be being lined up as possible replacement were we to sell a key player for a decent fee similar to the Tonnesson/Doig situation in the summer.

Souter96Mac
10-01-2022, 11:51 AM
No idea, could be being lined up as possible replacement were we to sell a key player for a decent fee similar to the Tonnesson/Doig situation in the summer.

Maybe for Boyle if/when he leaves? I'm sure we've got players lined up for every position should any key players leave

10-01-2022, 11:55 AM
McGrath getting close to agreeing a pre contract with Aberdeen. Would imagine they’ll use whatever they get for Hedges to sign him this month.

10-01-2022, 11:59 AM
McGrath getting close to agreeing a pre contract with Aberdeen. Would imagine they’ll use whatever they get for Hedges to sign him this month.

Can't make my mind up on Mcgrath tbh , think with Henderson signing for Hibs tells us we weren't pursuing him this window?

10-01-2022, 12:07 PM
I think Henderson will be a better acquisition than McGrath based on nothing more than my gut.

10-01-2022, 12:13 PM
Maybe for Boyle if/when he leaves? I'm sure we've got players lined up for every position should any key players leave

Would certainly soften the blow.

10-01-2022, 12:15 PM
Bushiri is following Hibs on Instagram...

10-01-2022, 12:17 PM
Celtic close to signing Riley McGree fee believed to be around £3m

10-01-2022, 12:19 PM
Bushiri is following Hibs on Instagram...

I preferred the days when we were trying to figure out if the reflection in their sun glasses was Easter Road.

Paul1642
10-01-2022, 12:19 PM
I preferred the days when we were trying to figure out if the reflection in their sun glasses was Easter Road.

They are making it too easy for us.

10-01-2022, 12:22 PM
Bushiri is following Hibs on Instagram...Doenst look like he is? I can't see that anway

10-01-2022, 12:23 PM
I don't think he was getting a game when we signed him. Had a brief injury then was a bit part player for the latter half of the season.

I thought he was their best player and we only got him because I think a deal down south to watford didn't go through at last minute of transfer deadline day?

10-01-2022, 12:27 PM
Doenst look like he is? I can't see that anway

Sorry, it's a family member.

Yeah don't think he is. Kevin Bushiri is though, and Rocky follows one of the club photographers. It's funny how reliable these things often are.

Disappointed about McGrath, think he’s a really good player and would have played well on the left of a front 3.

Maybe Maloney thinks Henderson is better value for money?

Either way Henderson has along way to prove it, he is about 4 years younger in fairness.

10-01-2022, 12:33 PM
I'm sure I saw Marseille quoted so on that basis I'd suggest no, but it's good that we are trying (if we have been).

It was St Etienne but as you say that would lead you to assume he is not heading our way. Saying that St Etienne are rooted to the bottom of Ligue 1 whereas Marseille are 3rd, we maybe a brighter option than a team bottom of Ligue 1, on a terrible run, only 2 wins this season and the worst goal difference by 5 goals?

King Cosell
10-01-2022, 12:42 PM

He's just started following Stephane Omeonga.

10-01-2022, 12:43 PM
Jamie Brandon leaves Hearts to Morton on loan
Jamie Walker doing to Bradford for talks over a possible move

Hearts making some room in their squad for arrivals I'd assume

10-01-2022, 01:01 PM
He's just started following Stephane Omeonga.

Been following him for a while, played together for Belgium.

10-01-2022, 01:15 PM
Disappointed about McGrath, think he’s a really good player and would have played well on the left of a front 3.

Maybe Maloney thinks Henderson is better value for money?

Either way Henderson has along way to prove it, he is about 4 years younger in fairness.

Jamie McGrath? Has he ever played wide of a front 3? I thought he was a very central player.

big gogs
10-01-2022, 01:16 PM
Jamie Brandon leaves Hearts to Morton on loan
Jamie Walker doing to Bradford for talks over a possible move

Hearts making some room in their squad for arrivals I'd assume
New arrivals at tynecastle,must be panic buying,only hibs panic buy ,according to ryan(who)Stevenson.

10-01-2022, 01:17 PM

If he does sign and is half the presence Bamba was we will have won a watch. The thing that stood out with Bamba apart from his pace was his unerring ability to get his positioning badly wrong and still dig himself out of a hole with his incredible athleticism half the time winning the ball with his wrong leg.

Brilliant and scary to watch at the same time, a bit like Effe Ambrose in fact :greengrin