View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2021-22 transfer thread
31-01-2022, 12:00 PM
Makes it even more bizarre that he starts at Parkhead and comes on with 25 to go against Motherwell when needing a goal
Not really, he was obviously just giving him an opportunity to show what he can do. Probably impressed in training.
Now that he’s shown he offers nothing when coming on we are happy to let him go.
31-01-2022, 12:00 PM
My dream window would be Murphy, Scott, Wright all leaving and we sign someone actually good alongside the signings we have already made which I think are all going to be good players for us too.
31-01-2022, 12:01 PM
Anyone else heard we are working on a release with Daz?
31-01-2022, 12:01 PM
Makes it even more bizarre that he starts at Parkhead and comes on with 25 to go against Motherwell when needing a goal
Yes first sub at Motherwell was an odd one
31-01-2022, 12:05 PM
You are the most negative, pessimistic poster on hibs.net.
It's truly awesome to behold.
There are more than one who are mega negative at the moment.. Not sure why they are all over every thread! I tend to take time out from here when im annoyed at the club. I'm nervy about where we are right now, but Im not sure how constant commenting with the same things helps anyone - The poster, the message board or the club.
hhibs
31-01-2022, 12:06 PM
Griffith signing for Doncaster Rovers
http://bit.ly/3IOaH2z
Nice Gocha there
HendoDelivered
31-01-2022, 12:10 PM
Some signing if the huns get Aaron Ramsey
JXM73
31-01-2022, 12:10 PM
Anyone know when we can start pressing the panic button for being a couple players short?
August 2021
31-01-2022, 12:12 PM
Not sure, just going by this tweet.
Hibs winger Stephen Bradley is set to sign for Dundalk on loan.*
He’s already played for 2 clubs this season - Hibs & a loan spell at Ayr United.*
But because the League of Ireland Premier Division is a 'summer league', he’s eligible to play in their 2022 season.
He signed a new contract with us to 2024, when he went on loan to Ayr United in the summer
just read an edinburghlive article after googling :aok:laddie seemed happy at Ayr, sure he would have preferred nearer to home
Inconsequential
31-01-2022, 12:13 PM
August 2021 😂😂😂 It's good but but it's not right! 1875 is the answer!
31-01-2022, 12:14 PM
You would never have thought you'd hear Araron Ramsey signing for Rangers in a sentence ever and think it might actually happen. He will get booted to buggery up here.
HendoDelivered
31-01-2022, 12:15 PM
You would never have thought you'd hear Araron Ramsey signing for Rangers in a sentence ever and think it might actually happen. He will get booted to buggery up here.
Same with the lad Diallo as well. Some coup for them if they end up adding AR.
31-01-2022, 12:17 PM
Really can't see it, can you? His wages were a stumbling block for EPL sides!
31-01-2022, 12:19 PM
What does Ramsay gain by joining them apart from guaranteed game time.
We should try get Arfield if it's a possibility.
31-01-2022, 12:20 PM
What does Ramsay gain by joining them apart from guaranteed game time.
We should try get Arfield if it's a possibility.
Thought he's just signed a new deal?
31-01-2022, 12:22 PM
just read an edinburghlive article after googling :aok:laddie seemed happy at Ayr, sure he would have preferred nearer to home
Strange one that we recall Tait and Bradley from loans and then loan them back out again. Can't see a lot of joined-up thinking there.
31-01-2022, 12:23 PM
Thought he's just signed a new deal?
Not yet.
31-01-2022, 12:23 PM
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1488137284599881735
31-01-2022, 12:26 PM
Stopped believing that at "wage structure" :cb
31-01-2022, 12:27 PM
Strange one that we recall Tait and Bradley from loans and then loan them back out again. Can't see a lot of joined-up thinking there.
Even more odd with Tait and MacKay if we fail to bring anyone in for these positions.
31-01-2022, 12:31 PM
Does Scottish Football have a squad size limit?
No VAR
No financial fair play
Part time refs
Torto7
31-01-2022, 12:32 PM
He's an injury prone flake. One of the most overrated players around and it's telling sevco are his only option. He'll be another Barton.
31-01-2022, 12:32 PM
It's truly awesome to behold.There's some fierce competition which just shows what an impressive feat it actually is.
31-01-2022, 12:33 PM
It's never too early.
Drama queens ken whits going oan.
I have an infinite number of Green and white panic buttons for sale on eBay if anyone is interested. £500 each.
31-01-2022, 12:34 PM
the Bradley one is even stranger, obviously i don't know the arrangements but is he expected to travel back and forth every few days, surely he can't train with hibs then travel over to play games for Dundalk, and if he does train and play with Dundalk does that mean he will be living over there away from family/friends whatever, but then maybe it's just for 3/4 months, still doesn't make sense recalling from a Scottish championship side only to farm him out to another country..even if it is just a short ferry ride :)
scratchingheadsmiley
Torto7
31-01-2022, 12:35 PM
A team with little to no assets long term and huge financial stresses throwing all their eggs in one basket to try and get the champions league loot this season, aye nothing could go wrong there. I hope Celtic win the league because Sevco will be screwed. They are like the compulsive gambler who can't give it up.
31-01-2022, 12:36 PM
He's an injury prone flake. One of the most overrated players around and it's telling sevco are his only option. He'll be another Barton.
He’s played over 500 senior games. He can’t be that injury prone ?
31-01-2022, 12:37 PM
It's truly awesome to behold.
I’ve not been overly negative on here for a wee while now, in fact I haven’t posted too much recently.
A strange post to a clear tongue in cheek question
There’s a lot more posters who’ve been a lot more negative than me recently
Torto7
31-01-2022, 12:38 PM
He’s played over 500 senior games. He can’t be that injury prone ?
He's 31 years old.
31-01-2022, 12:38 PM
He's 31 years old.
And ? That’s over 50 games a season for 10 years in a row
31-01-2022, 12:39 PM
i honestly thought Kemar Roofe would have been banging goals in left, right and centre when Sevco signed him, but he's not even when he does play
31-01-2022, 12:41 PM
Does Scottish Football have a squad size limit?
No VAR
No financial fair play
Part time refs
Wonderful, is it not? :greengrin
31-01-2022, 12:42 PM
Ramsay was absolutely fantastic for Wales in the Euros. If he was in a better side it was player of the tournament credentials.
31-01-2022, 12:43 PM
The ‘loan fee’ is now a way of circumventing all that.
Juve continuing to pay his wages but if Sevco pay a £2.5m loan fee for 5 months that is something like £100k a week.
The loan system is totally corrupt imo and needs reform.
31-01-2022, 12:44 PM
Wright likely to stay.
31-01-2022, 12:45 PM
I have an infinite number of Green and white panic buttons for sale on eBay if anyone is interested. £500 each.
Have you sold out of the white and green ones then? :greengrin
31-01-2022, 12:45 PM
The ‘loan fee’ is now a way of circumventing all that.
Juve continuing to pay his wages but if Sevco pay a £2.5m loan fee for 5 months that is something like £100k a week.
The loan system is totally corrupt imo and needs reform.
It's a gamble but with Hagi goosed and Champions League for the League winners guaranteed it could be one worth taking - especially if it's funded by more of they amazing soft loans they manage to get all the time.
31-01-2022, 12:47 PM
Wright likely to stay.
Brilliant. :rolleyes:
31-01-2022, 12:47 PM
Wright likely to stay.
Probably not going to be a popular opinion but since Maloney came in Wright has made the best fist of that role between the midfielders and the strikers.
31-01-2022, 12:48 PM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1488145811422777349
****** off
31-01-2022, 12:48 PM
Probably not going to be a popular opinion but since Maloney came in Wright has made the best fist of that role between the midfielders and the strikers.
Not for me.
Doesn’t do anything IMO.
31-01-2022, 12:49 PM
****** off
Absolutely bizarre.
31-01-2022, 12:50 PM
He's not good enough for us.
He's an absolute waste of a wage. Probably a good one too.
Come on, the guys nowhere near good enough for where we want to be. One particular moment against Motherwell last week he had the ball in acres of space no-one closing him down and he passed it straight to the Motherwell player.
31-01-2022, 12:52 PM
Come on, the guys nowhere near good enough for where we want to be. One particular moment against Motherwell last week he had the ball in acres of space no-one closing him down and he passed it straight to the Motherwell player.
Then hunted him down and won the ball back ……butI get your overall point - has done nothing of note since he joined …
31-01-2022, 12:53 PM
Then hunted him down and won the ball back ……butI get your overall point - has done nothing of note since he joined …
That's not really a positive though considering how he gave the ball away.
He's murder.
AugustaHibs
31-01-2022, 12:54 PM
****** off
Alarm bells are ringing.
This appointment is going to end in tears
That's not really a positive though considering how he gave the ball away.
He's murder.
It is positive. The pass wasn’t ….
Henderson has been disappointing so far but against both Cove and then Livvy at the weekend, he's picked out 2 great crosses that Doidge should have netted.
More in those 2 moments than Drey Wright has contributed all season in an attacking sense.
31-01-2022, 12:56 PM
Yea that’s fair enough but at that point we were on the attack and getting ourselves up the pitch.
Just doesn’t happen for some players and unfortunately think he’s one of them for us. I’ve nothing personal against the guy
31-01-2022, 12:56 PM
****** off
Phoney baloney from Maloney - if it's an accurate quote.
NC1875
31-01-2022, 12:57 PM
Alarm bells are ringing.
Or it could be Maloney being clever, if he can’t get anyone in today, he needs Wright on side to make a contribution. No point getting rid of half the squad when we have no one lined up to replace them.
People writing Maloney off after 1 transfer window. It will take this window and the summer to fix Jack Ross’s mess.
31-01-2022, 12:58 PM
So Souttar, Smith and Halkett potentially all put tomorrow ….
They probably only need Sibbick to take care of Nisbet
LunasBoots
****** off
Squads not big enough to get rid so stays until the summer.
hhibs
[QUOTE=The 90+2;6839342]What does Ramsay gain by joining them apart from guaranteed game time.
We should try get Arfield if it's a possibility.[/QUOTE
No thanks!
31-01-2022, 12:59 PM
Absolutely bizarre.
Alarm bells are ringing.
Phoney baloney from Maloney - if it's an accurate quote.
If this is the standard of player that Maloney deems good enough to take us up the league and challenge for the top 4 then he will be sacked before the end of the season.
31-01-2022, 01:00 PM
There are some serious drama queens on this site now
If this is the standard of player that Maloney deems good enough to take us up the league and challenge for the top 4 then he will be sacked before the end of the season.
Don’t think there’s any chance of Maloney getting the bullet unless we go down or end up in the play offs. That’s not happening
JamesHFC
He was deemed good enough when we signed him and we finished 3rd. I doubt he will be a regular starter but if Cadden gets an injury he will be a useful option.
31-01-2022, 01:01 PM
Squads not big enough to get rid so stays until the summer.
Waste of a wage and its players like that who get Maloney his books.
31-01-2022, 01:01 PM
****** off
I’d hate to think how much we’re paying him that we aren’t able to move him on.
The amount of deadwood Maloney has been lumbered with from Hecky, Ross and Mathie who’ll be picking up sizeable wages while contributing nothing to the team is a farce. Thankfully most of their contracts are up in the summer.
31-01-2022, 01:02 PM
Some folk need to slow it down to a panic 🙀 unreal some of the comments 🙈
He was deemed good enough when we signed him and we finished 3rd. I doubt he will be a regular starter but if Cadden gets an injury he will be a useful option.
No he wasn't, he's always offered little to nothing when he's played.
Folk do know we can't sign a whole new squad in January right?
Jesus wept
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
31-01-2022, 01:03 PM
He didn't sign him and he can't force him to leave.
Remember last time our manager told everyone they were garbage gone at the end of the season? Yep, we got relegated.
31-01-2022, 01:04 PM
He played just over 900 minutes of league football for us last season across 20 appearances. His contribution to us finishing 3rd was negligible.
JamesHFC
31-01-2022, 01:04 PM
No he wasn't, he's always offered little to nothing when he's played.
I doubt Shaun Maloney will be sacked before the end of the season for keeping Drey Wright as a squad player.
31-01-2022, 01:05 PM
Waste of a wag and its players like that who get Maloney his books.
He had actually done OK playing in a more central role than when he was played as a winger. Too many have written him off completely though for his appearances to be met with anything more than groans when they are announced which is a shame. We can all agree to differ on that point though.:greengrin
Do you trust Maloney to bring in anybody at this stage who is better than Wright?
JamesHFC
31-01-2022, 01:06 PM
He played just over 900 minutes of league football for us last season across 20 appearances. His contribution to us finishing 3rd was negligible.
Well it obviously was if he played 900 minutes of a season we finished 3rd. Scored against Rangers in a game we drew IIRC.
hhibs
31-01-2022, 01:07 PM
My dream window would be Murphy, Scott, Wright all leaving and we sign someone actually good alongside the signings we have already made which I think are all going to be good players for us too.
I have a horrible feeling we can't get rid of James Scott because of the way the loan deal was shaped.
Great pity as he has been a non event and will not have been cheap.
I think Hull saw we were pretty desperate and we screwed ourselves.
Jordan Jones signs for St Mirren
JamesHFC
Aaron Ramsay is in Glasgow, done deal it seems. Gives Rangers a boost in the league and Europe, gives Ramsay the minutes he needs for the Wales qualifiers. Works for both parties, probably the best signing I’ve seen come to Scotland in a long time.
31-01-2022, 01:08 PM
I have a horrible feeling we can't get rid of James Scott because of the way the loan deal was shaped.
Great pity as he has been a non event and will not have been cheap.
I think Hull saw we were pretty desperate and we screwed ourselves.
Our summer window really was atrocious.
31-01-2022, 01:09 PM
That’s a really good signing for them if he can stay fit
Hibeewilly
31-01-2022, 01:10 PM
Or it could be Maloney being clever, if he can’t get anyone in today, he needs Wright on side to make a contribution. No point getting rid of half the squad when we have no one lined up to replace them.
People writing Maloney off after 1 transfer window. It will take this window and the summer to fix Jack Ross’s mess.
My thoughts entirely
31-01-2022, 01:11 PM
That’s a really good signing for them if he can stay fit
Yeah, if he can recover his Killie form then it really is.
Souter96Mac
31-01-2022, 01:13 PM
That's a huge signing for them.
31-01-2022, 01:13 PM
Quite unbelievable that rangers are going to pull off the Aaron Ramsay signing. I know signings like these haven’t worked out for them but he’s on a different level to the likes of Barton.
31-01-2022, 01:14 PM
We have held talks with the huns about Brandon Barker....
I am assuming we are done in this window then? I don’t read any rumours or even media saying we are very active.
How are we all feeling about sticking with what we have? Is this a better window than the summer which Mathie was responsible for?
31-01-2022, 01:15 PM
Jordan Jones is a brilliant signing for St Mirren - I imagine he’s being used as part of the McGrath deal.
Would have liked to have seen him with us.
I get people being worried about signings based on the last couple of deadline days but let’s give the club the benefit of the club.
Hauge has been signed and not announced yet, im sure there will be others.
31-01-2022, 01:16 PM
Must mean we’ve missed out on other targets.
I’m sure a week or so ago it was said he was on our list but not a top target.
31-01-2022, 01:16 PM
I am assuming we are done in this window then? I don’t read any rumours or even media saying we are very active.
How are we all feeling about sticking with what we have? Is this a better window than the summer which Mathie was responsible for?Why the assumption?
Ages left yet
31-01-2022, 01:18 PM
Aaron Ramsay is in Glasgow, done deal it seems. Gives Rangers a boost in the league and Europe, gives Ramsay the minutes he needs for the Wales qualifiers. Works for both parties, probably the best signing I’ve seen come to Scotland in a long time.
Gives the huns every opportunity to support Wales against Scotland too. :rolleyes:
LunasBoots
How are we all feeling about sticking with what we have? Is this a better window than the summer which Mathie was responsible for?
My opinion aswell, real lack of any substance in rumours in past weeks, all a bit of a mess again.
Apparently we're in talks with Brandon Barker. Raman Bhardwaj, STV.
Edit: See above.
I doubt Shaun Maloney will be sacked before the end of the season for keeping Drey Wright as a squad player.
Exactly 😂. Like the majority, I’m far from a huge Drey Wright fan. But him still being at the club at the end of this transfer window as a squad player being touted as the beginning of the end for Maloney is ludicrous.
It’s slightly concerning that it’s not even a surprise to read so many comments of this nature now.
I’m not sure hardly any of us would have had Wright odds-on to be leaving a few days ago anyway.
31-01-2022, 01:19 PM
I’ve been quite enjoying the hysteria of other posters so far today but I feel like I’m getting close to joining in with them.
If we do go for him, apart from him being *****, why has it taken 10 days since Boyle left to make this move?
Keeping Drey Wright when another club wants him and then replacing Martin Boyle with Brandon Barker is a new low for Hibs kicking me in the nuts on transfer deadline day.
Last minute move for Rudi Skacel to top it off maybe?
31-01-2022, 01:20 PM
Jordan Jones is a brilliant signing for St Mirren - I imagine he’s being used as part of the McGrath deal.
Would have liked to have seen him with us.
I get people being worried about signings based on the last couple of deadline days but let’s give the club the benefit of the club.
Hauge has been signed and not announced yet, im sure there will be others.
What McGrath deal?
Why the assumption?
Ages left yet
2pm on transfer deadline day and nothing really happening. I am sure we are trying but we will run out of time soon.
JXM73
31-01-2022, 01:20 PM
Looking forward to how we compete with no ****ing midfield...
31-01-2022, 01:21 PM
In fairness to Maloney re Wright.
He said he would take everyone at face value and get a clean slate and against United and Celtic he had decent games added in with him impressing in training.
It would be silly for him to get rid of a player that he has been impressed with unless something comes up.
Some are saying Allan shouldn’t leave, he done nothing in his start other than nearly making a pass.
Brandon barker is exactly what we don’t need.
hhibs
Naw,just naw.
Gives the huns every opportunity to support Wales against Scotland too. :rolleyes:
Oh I wouldn’t worry about that, plenty of them already will be fully intending on that - Ramsey could sign for Celtic along with Bale, Giggs and Shirley Bassey and plenty of the Huns would still gladly voice their support against the national side.
31-01-2022, 01:22 PM
Ticks all the injury boxes, anyway.
2pm on transfer deadline day and nothing really happening. I am sure we are trying but we will run out of time soon.
10 hours yet, no need to blow any gaskets at the moment.
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!! Please just NO!
31-01-2022, 01:23 PM
Naw,just naw.
hear hear.
31-01-2022, 01:23 PM
Remember we were linked/made him rumour for the boy Summerville from leeds?
Was there ever any truth in that other than a badly edited Instagram post?
I see his move to Hamburg on loan has collapsed….
31-01-2022, 01:24 PM
If Brandon Barker is a Boyle replacement, aw naw.
If Brandon Barker is simply another attacking option, then I'm actually in favour. Loved his directness. Fitness a big question, but he was very skilled at carrying the ball. Something we're lacking.
Gave Hearts a torrid time in the Simon Murray derby and all.
****ing hell. We’ll get a couple games out him before he’s injured
There’s a signing that would really have me questioning our window. £3m for Boyle to be replaced by Brandon Barker? Nowhere near good enough
JammyDoidger
Brandon barker is coming back.
31-01-2022, 01:25 PM
Joe will have him in his back pocket😎
The Captain....
Please no ****ing Brandon Barker...exactly the type we don't need.
I hope this is another load of *****.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
Does Brandon Barker come pre-injured or will we have to wait until after his first few appearances?
nellio
I've watched Ramsay since he broke through at Cardiff city as a teenager. Cannot believe the rangers have signed him.
He's Wales most important player for me not Bale. We're always worse off when Rambo is missing.
Incredible signing for the huns. Best player in the league IMO by a distance.
31-01-2022, 01:27 PM
I don't think we should be allowed to panic until there is 90 minutes left, roughly the same as a match day
31-01-2022, 01:27 PM
Does Brandon Barker come pre-injured or will we have to wait until after his first few appearances?Was he injured much during his last loan?
Haven't really followed him much since he left us
JamesHFC
31-01-2022, 01:28 PM
If Brandon Barker is a Boyle replacement, aw naw.
If Brandon Barker is simply another attacking option, then I'm actually in favour. Loved his directness. Fitness a big question, but he was very skilled at carrying the ball. Something we're lacking.
Gave Hearts a torrid time in the Simon Murray derby and all.
My prediction is that he will come in on loan until the end of the season then we will spend the Boyle money then on a replacement when better options become available. Not ideal though. We need our new signings to kick on and out of form players to get that good form back.
Pretty Green
31-01-2022, 01:29 PM
If Barker is the level we are looking at, my season ticket is on a shoogly peg!
Seemed to do well on loan at Oxford last year:
https://youtu.be/7x46rcWwGIA
The Captain....
Does Brandon Barker come pre-injured or will we have to wait until after his first few appearances?He's liable to strain something lifting the pen to sign so anything is possible. Would rather we didnt sign anyone than Barker...pea hearted, injury prone who only tries when he can be arsed.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
31-01-2022, 01:30 PM
Was he injured much during his last loan?
Haven't really followed him much since he left us
Done his hamstring for Oxford.
31-01-2022, 01:31 PM
10 hours yet, no need to blow any gaskets at the moment.
Haha, that reminds me of this scene with Trautman in Rambo First Blood.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9hLY1TYUWp4
I can’t believe the amount not wanting barker.
Really good player who is rapid, beats a man with easy and is a part of what this team is missing.
Don’t think he’s had many injuries lately and he had a good loan at Oxford last season.
As it stands we don’t have anyone that offers what he can.
I want him and another couple though.
Brandon Barker is injury prone and bang average but the thing that really puts me off is that atrocious wig he wears
31-01-2022, 01:32 PM
It's the hope that kills you 😂
I'm still hoping 🙈
What McGrath deal?
Supposedly McGrath is going to Wigan - I’m just guessing it could be used as part of the deal
Surley Barker is better than Murphy though?
What exactly is wrong with the signing of Brandon Barker? He was pretty decent for us first time round so I don’t get the uproar.
I don’t think he’s a replacement for Boyle as he’s going to be very difficult to replace but how do you replace your top player and goal scorer in a couple of weeks?
What exactly is wrong with the signing of Brandon Barker? He was pretty decent for us first time round so I don’t get the uproar.
I don’t think he’s a replacement for Boyle as he’s going to be very difficult to replace but how do you replace your top player and goal scorer in a couple of weeks?Leigh Griffiths.
[emoji33][emoji23]
LunasBoots
I can’t believe the amount not wanting barker.
Really good player who is rapid, beats a man with easy and is a part of what this team is missing.
Don’t think he’s had many injuries lately and he had a good loan at Oxford last season.
As it stands we don’t have anyone that offers what he can.
I want him and another couple though.
A fit Barker yes, the one that gets injured every week no.
31-01-2022, 01:33 PM
I’ve not been overly negative on here for a wee while now, in fact I haven’t posted too much recently.
A strange post to a clear tongue in cheek question
There’s a lot more posters who’ve been a lot more negative than me recently
Ach, it was just a light-hearted observation on an early prediction of TDD failure.
Well done with your new, more positive attitude. Did you go cold turkey or give up gradually?
JamesHFC
We are apparently after Morgan Rogers from Man City too, apologies if already mentioned.
For all that Barker could beat a man with pace...he rarely ever did anything following it.
Sue or Brandon?
31-01-2022, 01:34 PM
Sue or Brandon?Either
31-01-2022, 01:35 PM
Would rather have Kamberi back than Barker.
31-01-2022, 01:36 PM
I don’t think he’s a replacement for Boyle as he’s going to be very difficult to replace but how do you replace your top player and goal scorer in a couple of weeks?
We’ve got different memories of the player.
He was hot and cold when he was with us before, had the odd good game but for the most part he was bang average. I couldn’t believe it when he joined Rangers.
Don’t believe for a second we couldn’t have got him 10 days ago if we wanted him.
This is up there as the worse TDD since Hearts stole Dylan Bikey from us.
31-01-2022, 01:36 PM
For all that Barker could beat a man with pace...he rarely ever did anything following it.
Agree, lost count the amount of times he got himself into great scoring positions but always fluffed his lines. His final ball was poor as well.
Sergio sledge
31-01-2022, 01:37 PM
He at least has some pace, which Murphy doesn't.
Jamie Murphy on a less reliable motorbike....
If Barker is fit and stays fit he would bring pace and a bit of skill. There has to be huge question marks over whether he can stay fit and motivated though. Not convinced he has the right attitude to be a professional footballer.
If it is a low risk half season loan (i.e. we pay very little of his wages) then I'm ok with bringing him in, unpredictability and pace are desperately needed in this team. Wouldn't expect or want this to be a longer term signing though.
Would rather have Kamberi back than Barker.He's scored 5 goals since he left us
Would rather have Kamberi back than Barker.
Away ye go ya rage. :greengrin:faf:
We are apparently after Morgan Rogers from Man City too, apologies if already mentioned.
Very highly rated
Huddersfield, Aberdeen, us and others all after him.
Be stunned if we get him.
davhibby
31-01-2022, 01:38 PM
Barker isn’t a Boyle replacement but he’s a lot more likely to make an impact on a game than any of Wright, Scott or Murphy. Sadly though I think this probably means the players at the top of our list to replace Boyle we’ve not been able to get in this window so rather than waste the money on someone who’s not a top target we’re taking Barker to see us through to the summer.
31-01-2022, 01:39 PM
Barker finished the season well with us, but was poor at the start. If he comes, let's hope we get the player that finished the season.
31-01-2022, 01:39 PM
He's scored 5 goals since he left us
Away ye go ya rage. :greengrin:faf:
Aye, probably took it too far :greengrin
JamesHFC
31-01-2022, 01:40 PM
Barker wasn’t terrible for us last time round, hence why Rangers signed him. If he rejoins I certainly won’t write him off and look to give him abuse before he kicks a ball.
Barker finished the season well with us, but was poor at the start. If he comes, let's hope we get the player that finished the season.
As in he played well in the last game ? Other than that I can’t recall a game where he didn’t flatter to deceive ..someone said he has scored 5 goals in the years since he left . Underwhelming…
chippy
Does Brandon Barker come pre-injured or will we have to wait until after his first few appearances?
Apparently part of the loan deal is that Rangers have insisted he MUST play against them for the rest of this season
31-01-2022, 01:41 PM
Dundee.
https://twitter.com/scot*****sport/status/1488135353210920961?s=24 (https://twitter.com/scot*****sport/status/1488135353210920961?s=24)
31-01-2022, 01:41 PM
Barker wasn’t terrible for us last time round, hence why Rangers signed him. If he rejoins I certainly won’t write him off and look to give him abuse before he kicks a ball.
Rangers just sign any old player who has a bit potential from teams below them.
Oh, wait.
31-01-2022, 01:42 PM
Would rather have Barker than Murphy.
The odd part for this deal would be where does he play - he plays on the left (but right footed).
We still need a CM or 2 plus a striker.
Hibiza
A fit Barker yes, the one that gets injured every week no.
Spot on Sur , we've signed enough injury prone players.
Agree, lost count the amount of times he got himself into great scoring positions but always fluffed his lines. His final ball was poor as well.
:agree: And he hasn't improved any of his manifest weaknesses since he was here before - no composure, can't cross a ball for toffee, can't tackle, can't track back, hides when things not going well, inconsistent and streaky.
Barker 😂😂😂
So we could potentially end the day with Murphy, Wright, Allan, Scott, Barker and Henderson all competing for pretty much one spot in the team.
What an indictment of the recruitment approach that would be.... :rolleyes:
31-01-2022, 01:44 PM
Brandon Barker?
Some imagination from the recruitment team to come up with that one.
:agree: And he hasn't improved any of his manifest weaknesses since he was here before - no composure, can't cross a ball for toffee, can't tackle, can't track back, hides when things not going well, inconsistent and streaky.
Seemed to create plenty at Oxford.
EVENTUALLY
Apparently part of the loan deal is that Rangers have insisted he MUST play against them for the rest of this season
He at least has some pace, which Murphy doesn't.
Jamie Murphy on a less reliable motorbike....
If Barker is fit and stays fit he would bring pace and a bit of skill. There has to be huge question marks over whether he can stay fit and motivated though. Not convinced he has the right attitude to be a professional footballer.
If it is a low risk half season loan (i.e. we pay very little of his wages) then I'm ok with bringing him in, unpredictability and pace are desperately needed in this team. Wouldn't expect or want this to be a longer term signing though.
You can have all the pace in the world, but if you can't make it count what good is it?
HibsTYT
Barker gives us pace and directness that we lack, happy to have him if he signs
31-01-2022, 01:45 PM
We’re working on one signing.
Wright is staying.
Allan and Gogic can leave if they want.
Source - Sheelagh Maclaren - Twitter
31-01-2022, 01:46 PM
Maloney still saying he hopes to add just one more before the transfer window closes.
Starting to think he might actually be serious here.
As in he played well in the last game ? Other than that I can’t recall a game where he didn’t flatter to deceive ..someone said he has scored 5 goals in the years since he left . Underwhelming…That was Kamberi (a centre forward)
Brandon barker is coming back.
Scouting department at it's finest again...
Ticks ex-player and injury prone boxes.
Can't be true surely...
Dundee.
https://twitter.com/scot*****sport/status/1488135353210920961?s=24 (https://twitter.com/scot*****sport/status/1488135353210920961?s=24)Fake
31-01-2022, 01:47 PM
Haha, that reminds me of this scene with Trautman in Rambo First Blood.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9hLY1TYUWp4
"To eat things that would make a billy goat puke", I love this film, Stallone at his best, writing and acting. :greengrin
AugustaHibs
31-01-2022, 01:47 PM
Club is in a horrendous spot.
‘Best of the rest’
**** off ron and take your ‘transfer expert’ laddie with you
31-01-2022, 01:48 PM
Wright is staying.
If the only player we bring in today is Brandon Barker I will not be happy - don’t imagine I’ll be the only one. Seriously underwhelming TDD and puts us in a really rough spot for the rest of the season.
TheHibernator
31-01-2022, 01:48 PM
After Morgan rogers on loan from Man City, Aberdeen Huddersfield and Blackpool all in for him as well
Souter96Mac
31-01-2022, 01:49 PM
Wright is staying.
Doesn't fill you with a lot of confidence that. But let's see where we are come the end of today
31-01-2022, 01:50 PM
Barkers happening.
Been in saying his goodbyes at ibrox supposedly.
31-01-2022, 01:50 PM
Depends on who the 1 signing is I suppose. If it's a guy who instantly inproves us and plays in the middle of the park then it could be enough.
31-01-2022, 01:51 PM
Barkers happening.
If that our is replacement for Boyle I’ll be pissed off.
31-01-2022, 01:51 PM
I don’t believe it’s just one more signing.
Normally clubs say that as they know they’ve got one concrete and don’t want to get others hopes up too much incase the others don’t happen.
31-01-2022, 01:52 PM
Barkers happening.
Been in saying his goodbyes at ibrox supposedly.Loan or perm?
6 months loan id be OK with. Not if we are spending a decent sum on him and wages
HendoDelivered
31-01-2022, 01:54 PM
Shaun Maloney says Hibs “not close” to signing Brandon Barker but didn’t totally dismiss it. Still hopeful of getting one player in. Alex Gogic and Scott Allan may be allowed to leave; no plans to let Drey Wright depart
31-01-2022, 01:54 PM
Normally clubs say that as they know they’ve got one concrete and don’t want to get others hopes up too much incase the others don’t happen.
I’ll be surprised if we get more than the one winger/attacker.
It really concerns me that we don’t really seem interested in a midfield player. I don’t get it.
31-01-2022, 01:55 PM
I’ll be surprised if we get more than the one winger/attacker.
It really concerns me that we don’t really seem interested in a midfield player. I don’t get it.
We probably are, but if they aren't available I am not sure what you want Hibs to do?
HendoDelivered
Jeezo, Ramsay to Sevco almost done… loan with option to buy…
Bradley to Dundalk is on the cards apparently.
31-01-2022, 01:56 PM
At work, but keep logging in to see what's what. I honestly don't know what's going on, but I have a feeling that someone is having a laugh. Barker? Wright? McGrath? Rumour and counter rumour. Ma heads dizzy! :dizzy:
I keep hoping that someone actually knows what's going on and we're going to be excited later on with the signings. However, got a feeling that we'll be feeling underwhelmed.:worried:
31-01-2022, 01:57 PM
Jeezo, Ramsay to Sevco almost done… loan with option to buy…
With a possible World Cup play-off on the horizon, extra reason to go in physical against The Rangers.
31-01-2022, 01:58 PM
Brandon barker 🤦*♂️
31-01-2022, 01:58 PM
We probably are, but if they aren't available I am not sure what you want Hibs to do?
Sign a decent midfielder, clearly. You’re not telling me there is nobody available that would improve us, especially when we’ve just banked a lot of cash.
I don’t think it’s something we see as a priority.
31-01-2022, 01:59 PM
If Ron Gordon’s at tomorrow’s game can someone please check his pockets for £3m
JammyDoidger
31-01-2022, 01:59 PM
Shaun Maloney says Hibs “not close” to signing Brandon Barker but didn’t totally dismiss it. Still hopeful of getting one player in. Alex Gogic and Scott Allan may be allowed to leave; no plans to let Drey Wright depart
Wish Maloney would just stay quiet, pure mood hoover.
31-01-2022, 02:00 PM
Loan or perm?
6 months loan id be OK with. Not if we are spending a decent sum on him and wages
I was told loan with obligation to buy similar to Murphy and Henderson.
However I see Sky are saying the one player were after us from England. Morgan Rogers was linked?
31-01-2022, 02:00 PM
After Morgan rogers on loan from Man City, Aberdeen Huddersfield and Blackpool all in for him as well
Huddersfield favourites to sign him.
31-01-2022, 02:01 PM
Barkers happening.
Yes, the medical team were in tears losing their best client was the news I heard
31-01-2022, 02:02 PM
Wish Maloney would just stay quiet, pure mood hoover.
WTF is a mood hoover?? :confused: :dunno:
Got one of those off of Wish. Haven't been walking straight since.
If Ron Gordon’s at tomorrow’s game can someone please check his pockets for £3m
Anyone expecting us to reinvest the 3m in on another planet. 1m at best would be reinvested the rest will no doubt cover other signings already made and surplus banked
31-01-2022, 02:04 PM
I keep getting told that these players are not bang average as they got 3rd last season, if that's the case why did Ross struggle to get a song out of them this season?
It wasn't all season - it was a poor run of games either side of getting to another cup final. Hampered by a poor window which we seem to be having again, despite bringing loads of players in.
Just get behind the new guy and stop focussing on the achievements of the last guy.
Anyone expecting us to reinvest the 3m in on another planet. 1m at best would be reinvested the rest will no doubt cover other signings already made and surplus banked
If Ron Gordon’s at tomorrow’s game can someone check his pockets for £1m please
Mind when we were signing guys like McGinn, McGeouch, Henderson, mcgregor, gray, Fyvie, marciano etc in the championship
All comes down to leadership at the club. Dempster and George Craig set a standard the current lot are getting nowhere near.
31-01-2022, 02:05 PM
Please no Barker Maloney.
Chorley Hibee
31-01-2022, 02:05 PM
If Brandon Barker, and another nondescript youngster on loan from England, is all we have, then this season is finished.
Every transfer window just looks increasingly like groundhog day.
We'll be lucky to finish top half.
31-01-2022, 02:06 PM
Just watched Barker on YouTube scoring what turned out to be the winner against Motherwell exactly 4 years ago. Spooky.
Please no Barker Maloney.
Is Barker Maloney a midfielder?
This is where you hope Gary Caldwell has a good relationship with Man City and Rogers having been loans coach.
31-01-2022, 02:07 PM
If there is to be one player then please let it be a creative, forward thinking central midfielder. I can live with the rest I suppose.
31-01-2022, 02:07 PM
This is where you hope Gary Caldwell has a good relationship with Man City and Rogers having been loans coach.
And not the joke figure he was at Partick.
31-01-2022, 02:08 PM
Is Barker Maloney a midfielder?
Rather take this guy than Brandon Barker
Mind when we were signing guys like McGinn, McGeouch, Henderson, mcgregor, gray, Fyvie, marciano etc in the championship
All comes down to leadership at the club. Dempster and George Craig set a standard the current lot are getting nowhere near.
Mcgeouch and henderson were celtic cast offs. Mcgregor was a St. Mirren crock who had been playing lower league with Newco who binned him, Gray was a lower league journeyman, Fyvie was doing nothing at Wigan and McGinn had a disappointing season ended with freak injury at St mirren.
If there is to be one player then please let it be a creative, forward thinking central midfielder. I can live with the rest I suppose.
I can't. I'm looking for a decent hibs team - not flatmates.
Think they believe that’s Henderson
Hibiza
31-01-2022, 02:10 PM
" mood hoover " 😂😂😂😂😂
Lee Marvin
31-01-2022, 02:11 PM
So, looks like we are going to go with 3 actual centre mids for the remainder of the season (who are in Maloney's plans);
Campbell - doesn't look very good at all
JDH - I still have hopes for, but not been good since covid
Newell - average at best. Similar to JDH.
We have about 17 players who can play in the forward positions, yet we don't seem to be interested in improving the weakest and most threadbare part of the team. Absolute madness.
I do get what you’re saying, but those players also had the advantage of doing it in the championship.
We need another window like the Allan, Kamberi and MacLaren one.
In fairness to the club I feel a bit for them that two of the main signings in Melkersen and Clarke haven’t been able to make their debut yet.
We need a couple in today though and above the age of 20 and played 30 top flight games.
Mcgeouch and henderson were celtic cast offs. Mcgregor was a St. Mirren crock who had been playing lower league with Newco who binned him, Gray was a lower league journeyman, Fyvie was doing nothing at Wigan and McGinn had a disappointing season ended with freak injury at St mirren.
One thing in common, all quality players.
" mood hoover " 😂😂😂😂😂
It's actually quite a well known expression.
Someone who sucks the joy and excitement out of everything.
31-01-2022, 02:12 PM
Can't see Rogers coming to Hibs - seems several Championship sides want him. Plus he's another player who plays on left and cuts inside onto right foot. He has played on the right though also.
Newell - average at best. Similar to Newell
Virtually identical.
So, looks like we are going to go with 3 actual centre mids for the remainder of the season (who are in Maloney's plans);
Campbell - doesn't look very good at all
JDH - I still have hopes for, but not been good since covid
Newell - average at best. Similar to Newell.
We have about 17 players who can play in the forward positions, yet we don't seem to be interested in improving the weakest and most threadbare part of the team. Absolute madness.
If Magennis can stay fit that's 4, but agree it looks too light. Makes letting Hallberg go look strange when we could do with more options there.
Cat Stanton
31-01-2022, 02:13 PM
Hibs.net after a defeat?
Think they believe that’s Henderson
That's deeply concerning. He's not as good as Liam was with us - and he found it hard to get a game at times.
Will Barker not have played for 2 teams already this season?
He played for Rangers against Stirling Albion a few weeks back after being recalled from Oxford.
Have I got this wrong?
Surely he can’t play for us if that was the case?
Lee Marvin
One thing in common, all quality players.
His point is we didn't know that at the time. Like we don't know if our signings this window will be good or *****.
31-01-2022, 02:14 PM
He played for Rangers against Stirling Albion a few weeks back after being recalled from Oxford.
Have I got this wrong?
Left Oxford in the summer? Just didn't play until it was against L2 opposition.
"The Mood Hoover Easter Road Stadium" has a good ring to it :wink::greengrin
Have I got this wrong?
Great point that - did he also not play in a European game ? Maybe that was last season
Cat Stanton
31-01-2022, 02:15 PM
Rather take this guy than Brandon Barker
St. Mirren have signed Jordan Jones on loan - I'm no big fan, but he would have been a better option than Barker.
Then again, I would be a better option than Barker. And I'm pants and in my 50s.
HendoDelivered
31-01-2022, 02:17 PM
Hibs looking to sign a player “from England” according to SSN
https://twitter.com/btg1875/status/1487905059698622471?s=21
This sums up the position right now. And to be clear it’s the right button.
31-01-2022, 02:18 PM
St. Mirren have signed Jordan Jones on loan - I'm no big fan, but he would have been a better option than Barker.
Then again, I would be a better option than Barker. And I'm pants and in my 50s.
I know he isn't what we are all hoping for but he wasn't nearly as bad as some are making out when he was here before.
31-01-2022, 02:18 PM
I’ve been quite enjoying the hysteria of other posters so far today but I feel like I’m getting close to joining in with them.
If we do go for him, apart from him being *****, why has it taken 10 days since Boyle left to make this move?
Keeping Drey Wright when another club wants him and then replacing Martin Boyle with Brandon Barker is a new low for Hibs kicking me in the nuts on transfer deadline day.
Last minute move for Rudi Skacel to top it off maybe?Saved me typing it. Barker in for Boyle,surely not. I'm not even convinced we've enough treatment tables unless sevco are throwing one in to sweeten the deal.
31-01-2022, 02:19 PM
If the only player we bring in today is Brandon Barker I will not be happy - don’t imagine I’ll be the only one. Seriously underwhelming TDD and puts us in a really rough spot for the rest of the season.
I think that is fair. Really hope the quotes are a ruse while working on completing more ins and outs. Barker would give us some pace we are sadly lacking however more of a squad player and would hope at least a couple come in who are clearly starters.
JamesHFC
31-01-2022, 02:19 PM
Brandon Barker isn’t an option according to Patrick McPartlin.
31-01-2022, 02:20 PM
Were Dempster and Craig still here when we replaced McGinn and McGeough with Milligan and Mallan? Was Dempster not CEO when the transfers of Josh Vela and Tom James were being signed off?
31-01-2022, 02:20 PM
Great point that - did he also not play in a European game ? Maybe that was last season
I think I’ve got it wrong. Wasn’t this season he was on loan, he was just miles out the picture at Rangers..
JamesHFC
31-01-2022, 02:21 PM
Loan deal for Darren McGregor by Dundee has been rejected.
Jones better option than Murphy.
Hopefully our transfer strategy isnt link a name and see how Hibs.net reacts then decide whether to sign or not. :greengrin
JamesHFC
Hopefully our transfer strategy isnt link a name and see how Hibs.net reacts then decide whether to sign or not. :greengrin
If that was the case we would sign nobody.
It wasn't all season - it was a poor run of games either side of getting to another cup final. Hampered by a poor window which we seem to be having again, despite bringing loads of players in.
Just get behind the new guy and stop focussing on the achievements of the last guy.
Haha I am behind Maloney, you obviously missed me having a go at the posters still in love with Ross. My point was the majority of our players are bang average, 3rd or not and this season so far has proved that. It'll take more than this window to fix it.
31-01-2022, 02:22 PM
Hopefully our transfer strategy isnt link a name and see how Hibs.net reacts then decide whether to sign or not. :greengrinIt's all making sense now [emoji23]
HendoDelivered
Morgan rogers
https://twitter.com/btg1875/status/1487905059698622471?s=21
This sums up the position right now. And to be clear it’s the right button.
Will Ron sack his son, who hasn't even been officially appointed yet?
JamesHFC
31-01-2022, 02:23 PM
Dele Alli signing a permanent deal to Everton.
31-01-2022, 02:23 PM
Thank God, it had me pulling my hair out.
31-01-2022, 02:24 PM
Agree dont believe it is one signing. Would settle for one at the moment right enough :greengrin
31-01-2022, 02:24 PM
Mr Maloney has me baffled Scotty can go but Drey Wright has to stay , considering Barker who I didnt rate first time around and not breaking bank to get Cooke in and refusing to cancel James Scott loan . Now I may only be a fan and next month will mark 70 years of me attending matches at Easter Road and I think he is getting it badly wrong. I hope he proves me wrong but I dont think he will and god help us for the rest of this season. I am normally a pretty happy clapper but this is just wrong.
31-01-2022, 02:25 PM
Dele Alli signing a permanent deal to Everton.
On the face of it a terrible signing imo. How much for him?
31-01-2022, 02:25 PM
Henderson had potential, McGinn even moreso and was highly sought after. McGregor was Sevco's player of the year. We all knew Fyvie was decent. Gray was the only one who didn't appear to have much to offer but the recruitment team knew better.
I'll admit it all went pear-shaped signing wise in the summer of 2018 though.
31-01-2022, 02:26 PM
Scott Arfield?
Ramsey coming in might free up him being able to leave and he’s out of contract in the summer.
31-01-2022, 02:26 PM
Mr Maloney has me baffled Scotty can go but Drey Wright has to stay , considering Barker who I didnt rate first time around and not breaking bank to get Cooke in and refusing to cancel James Scott loan . Now I may only be a fan and next month will mark 70 years of me attending matches at Easter Road and I think he is getting it badly wrong. I hope he proves me wrong but I dont think he will and god help us for the rest of this season. I am normally a pretty happy clapper but this is just wrong.
Get the impression Scott loan must not allow us to return him
31-01-2022, 02:27 PM
If that was the case we would sign nobody.
😄
31-01-2022, 02:27 PM
Get the impression Scott loan must not allow us to return him
Doesn't mean we have an obligation all of a sudden to play the guy.
31-01-2022, 02:28 PM
Henderson had potential, McGinn even moreso and was highly sought after. McGregor was Sevco's player of the year. We all knew Fyvie was decent. Gray was the only one who didn't appear to have much to offer but the recruitment team knew better.
I'll admit it all went pear-shaped signing wise in the summer of 2018 though.
To counter that, we could also say about our current signings
Henderson - Potential
Melkersen - Potential and highly sought after
Clarke - Potential but also proven his worth at County
Mitchell - Know he’s good and what we’re getting
Rocky - Potential
You never really know what you’re getting until you see them play and how they fit in. I remember thinking Vela was a brilliant signing!
31-01-2022, 02:28 PM
Jamie Murphy to Mansfield on the cards, STV
31-01-2022, 02:29 PM
Someone who sucks the joy and excitement out of everything.A fun sponge
Even if this is the only business we do today, I'd be delighted.
HibsGW
I know he isn't what we are all hoping for but he wasn't nearly as bad as some are making out when he was here before.
He was a perfectly decent player but he’s never fit, sick of having players who play about 5 games a season.
😁😁 please
31-01-2022, 02:30 PM
Ramsey's signed for the Stickies.