View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2021-22 transfer thread
31-01-2022, 04:52 PM
Maybe they have some kind of belief and hope that good things will happen and people are going to do their best to deliver what they set out? Not everyone is out to rip you off.
It's just blind faith in that case.
We effectively sacked three very important personnel and there's been no induction anything thats replaced has been anywhere near better.
Let's sack Mathie, the successor to Craig, who put loads of hard work into succession planning for the club to last us years because we couldn't sell Josh Doig in August - okay fair enough, but lets see some improvement with the boy that replaces him even if that boy is Gordons laddie.
Really concerned that 6 hrs left and we are still scrambling around for a Boyle replacement...where was the forward planning from Recruitment...its the last day of the summer window all over again
We can forward plan all we want but if a club doesnt want to sell us their player or the player doesn't want to come here there isn't much we can do!
Nope.
Trust Ron Gordons (judgement) based on what? Blind faith? Because it suited the new people to come in to rip the people who left?
We are miles away, miles away from the cup winning side or even under Lenny let alone finishing third last season.
Why do people just trust **** based on zero? It's truly baffling.
500 miles away?
Why do people not trust in the changes being made to the club?
The cup winning legends brought us that day but failed to win the championship. Lenny delivered the championship but then had a hissy fit and longed for his true love in Celtic.
Ross, with backing of the new structure got us 3rd and European games, plus a couple of finals (but failed to win them).
The board then acted in a horrendous run of form with no clear improvement or change coming from the team under Ross.
They have backed Maloney, replaced Mathie and upgraded the stadium.
Maybe people’s trust isn’t misplaced, it’s just different from yours?
Did you read the statement from Hibs though? Sounds exciting when he’s ready to step up. And one that would be out of our reach had we waited to sign him when he was ready for the 1st team
Yep, the comments from Kean sound very positive.
Keepthefaith
Maybe they have some kind of belief and hope that good things will happen and people are going to do their best to deliver what they set out? Not everyone is out to rip you off.
Truth is 90+2 just bats back every challenge, every comments which differ from his own stuck view. There's no reasoning with folk who aren't open minded!
We're all concerned that were not having a more successful season but dear god some folk just want to stick the knife in and twist! Trust and time are what's needed right now. As tough as it is to hear, sometimes success comes after overcoming challenges, not after a honeymoon period...
31-01-2022, 04:53 PM
This is worse than some of the match day threads, some folk really need to take a chill pill.
Worries me that on deadline day after selling our best player and playing Hearts tomorrow having created next to nothing in our last two league games we're pinning our hopes on a 19 year old loan player that we will probably still miss out on. What is going on?
We effectively sacked three very important personnel and there's been no induction anything thats replaced has been anywhere near better.
Let's sack Mathie, the successor to Craig, who put loads of hard work into succession planning for the club to last us years because we couldn't sell Josh Doig in August - okay fair enough, but lets see some improvement with the boy that replaces him even if that boy is Gordons laddie.
And what is wrong with having some faith? Rather hope for the best than see shadows and demons at every turn, it's better for the soul and the blood pressure 😁
Let's sack Mathie, the successor to Craig, who put loads of hard work into succession planning for the club to last us years because we couldn't sell Josh Doig in August - okay fair enough, but lets see some improvement with the boy that replaces him even if that boy is Gordons laddie.How can you tell if our recruitment hasnt been better this window than the summer?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
BlackSheep
Do folk really think that just because nothing has been rumoured or announced that nothing is happening as we speak!?
This place is mental today!
DIXIHIBS
Not hibs related but was just mentioned on radio about Ramsay going to the huns. He is on £400k a week at Juventus...a week!!
31-01-2022, 04:54 PM
These 2 Norwegian guys being academy signings is weird. We paid 400k for Melkerson ffs, he should be getting first team games asap for that price.
Hibs will have to move quick if they want to get someone into East Mains for a medical, get all the paperwork done and sent off before midnight.
Let’s just hope they do the paperwork right this time….
Fogzie
Really concerned that 6 hrs left and we are still scrambling around for a Boyle replacement...where was the forward planning from Recruitment...its the last day of the summer window all over again
So I take it Mitchell and Runar Hague don't count? BOTH FAST WINGERS.
May21/05/216
Nope.
Trust Ron Gordons (judgement) based on what? Blind faith? Because it suited the new people to come in to rip the people who left?
We are miles away, miles away from the cup winning side or even under Lenny let alone finishing third last season.
Why do people just trust **** based on zero? It's truly baffling.Nowt baffling about getting the club through the covid pandemic also as far as I can tell we've had more sponsors this year than I can remember which gives more money to invest in the team but you crack on with your negative posts
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
31-01-2022, 04:55 PM
Do folk really think that just because nothing has been rumoured or announced that nothing is happening as we speak!?
This place is mental today!
I suspect people realise there will be multi conversations live..they will be getting nervous that none have concluded positively though ..
Not hibs related but was just mentioned on radio about Ramsay going to the huns. He is on £400k a week at Juventus...a week!!
Free transfer with his pick of clubs to join. Best way to get yourself a big salary.
These 2 Norwegian guys being academy signings is weird. We paid 400k for Melkerson ffs, he should be getting first team games asap for that price.
Both should be on the bench tomorrow night.
Steve88
Another signing (Hauge) not ready for first team football and will instead go " straight into the B/Development team" . And another winger..
I'm a little concerned here, We have a gaping hole in midfield..
We're starting to building a solid B team though so might start watching them instead
31-01-2022, 04:56 PM
Melkerson has been signed for the first team
Hibiza
Surely we got to keep Scotty .
Another signing (Hauge) not ready for first team football and will instead go " straight into the B/Development team" . And another winger..
We're starting to building a solid B team though so might start watching them instead
At least season ticket prices for the B team will be cheaper. :aok:
Nowt baffling about getting the club through the covid pandemic also as far as I can tell we've had more sponsors this year than I can remember which gives more money to invest in the team but you crack on with your negative posts
Has the more money to invest in the team improved it from this time last year?
31-01-2022, 04:57 PM
With both Gogic and Allan possibly going our options aren’t getting much stronger in that area of the park.
Latapy'sVolley
Now would be a great time for Brighton throw us a pacy goal-scoring winger/forward shaped bone and get this strategic partnership started.
That's the plan and that is why he has been signed? It's pretty clear and the club have explained what they are doing and why.
Well, he has his permit and is training, where was he Saturday?
Gordy M
I don't see what? What is it we are meant to be seeing? Shaun Maloneys sales pitch for the managerial job?
We are regressing big time - nowhere near 3rd let alone challenging at the top.
What is the plan and where do you see that it's working? I'm not bitter I'm living in real time, not in a fantasy world based on baseless comments from management.
If you can advise me where about we are progressing since this time last year or even since the summer I would love it. Even transfer wise Nisbet and Doig's transfer value has deteriorated. We have very little sell able assets.
Some supporters, obviously not you, are willing to give the new set up some time. We have a relatively new owner, new CEO and new manager. Has everything been rosy and wonderful, no, but some folk are willing to give it a bit of time. I realise we live in world where its all about instant success and gratification but maybe giving it more than what...2 months? There are dozens of examples of players and managers that have just taken a bit of time to get it right. Is it a guarantee it will be....nope, but im certainly not going to be slagging off the club, players,manager, ceo etc at every given opportunity in the meantime.
Nope.
Why do people just trust **** based on zero? It's truly baffling.
That's what supporting a football team is basically.
31-01-2022, 04:58 PM
Nowt baffling about getting the club through the covid pandemic also as far as I can tell we've had more sponsors this year than I can remember which gives more money to invest in the team but you crack on with your negative posts
But all clubs have navigated through the pandemic …it’s nothing unique
Very kind of them to get a potentially Scotland World Cup opponent match fit
Steve88
Has James Scott left yet??
Defoe close to Sunderland move.
LunasBoots
Surely we got to keep Scotty .
Hope so if we are getting nothing in, and I'd play him the morn aswell.
It brings the Scandinavian wonder-kid quota back up - and I was kidding on earlier on too.
This time next year Rod.......Doh.
Maloney said they are giving him a few weeks to settle and get up to speed.
But won't be ready for a few weeks as he gets his fitness up.
31-01-2022, 04:59 PM
The Rogers rumours maybe back on.
Supposedly us wanting him permanently may be the deciding factor as had put other teams off.
Reporter from Huddersfield saying he’s not going there.
We can forward plan all we want but if a club doesnt want to sell us their player or the player doesn't want to come here there isn't much we can do!
Save it mate we heard all those excuses at end of August...Boyle left weeks ago
Zambernardi1875
Development team player. Hardly inspiring given our situation.
Hopefully used more to get fit an settle in, I’d be disappointed he’s not in the 1st team after a month or so.
31-01-2022, 05:00 PM
Maloney said they are giving him a few weeks to settle and get up to speed.
Why is it our new players need weeks yet Hearts sign some boy on loan from Everton reserves and Barnsley injury list and they come in and play right away and one scores? Even Livi got that player back from Arbroath on Saturday and he strolled it.
Keepthefaith
31-01-2022, 05:00 PM
Some supporters, obviously not you, are willing to give the new set up some time. We have a relatively new owner, new CEO and new manager. Has everything been rosy and wonderful, no, but some folk are willing to give it a bit of time. I realise we live in world where its all about instant success and gratification but maybe giving it more than what...2 months? There are dozens of examples of players and managers that have just taken a bit of time to get it right. Is it a guarantee it will be....nope, but im certainly not going to be slagging off the club, players,manager, ceo etc at every given opportunity in the meantime.
👋👋
Steve88
31-01-2022, 05:02 PM
That's the plan and that is why he has been signed? It's pretty clear and the club have explained what they are doing and why.
We have more immediate, higher priority problems needing to be dealt with
We already have bradley + mackey (dev players -wingers) out on loan
The Tubs
The Rogers rumours maybe back on.
Supposedly us wanting him permanently may be the deciding factor as had put other teams off.
Reporter from Huddersfield saying he’s not going there.
Eh...how much would it cost? Boyle might have been cheaper.
Keepthefaith
Why is it our new players need weeks yet Hearts sign some boy on loan from Everton reserves and Barnsley injury list and they come in and play right away and one scores? Even Livi got that player back from Arbroath on Saturday and he strolled it.
Like Mitchell you mean? 🤦
Man you need to cool down with all the posts. . We need to back the club here and give it a little time unfortunately.
That's what supporting a football team is basically.
That kind of attitude previously lead us into a dark hole that was bottom six pish, relegation battles and Championship football.
We should learn by past mistakes.
If this continues season ticket sales will be well down next year. That's not a sound business plan.
31-01-2022, 05:03 PM
I can but I'm not a rich **** and don't have unlimited data.
Don’t worry nothing happening
Mathie was punted in September. Where has the scouting been since then to bring in players since he got the blame? :confused:
We have signed Hendo's wee brother, a boy punted from Blackpool on loan before to the gunts twice, a couple of unknown youngsters and a very decent defender on a long term loan. Rocky looks different class mind you.
I don't blame Jack Ross for any of this mess. I don't blame Maloney either - but I don't think by any means he's any kind of improvement.
Maloney was an attack minded central midfielder - how the **** can he not see we desperately need creativity in the middle of the park and if he does why is Rons laddie not bringing anyone in having threw Mathie under the bus?
You know you have been on here most of the day spouting the same old rhetoric, give us all a break will ya. The old guard are gone they all got a fair chunk o cash and left.
We now have a new forward looking crowd as guardians of our fine club, if you are so peed off go and watch the hertz or some other club. Or just sit doon wi a huge bag o samosas, or a huge bag o Liquorice allsorts and let the rest of the day go by, nothing you or I can do about it, just chill and see what the rest of the day brings, we may be surprised we may be a wee bit disappointed but Hibernian F.C. will still be there in the morning.
Like Mitchell you mean? 🤦
Just what we needed right enough. But Mitchell seems to have started not badly in a team that's won 1 point in 2 games.
31-01-2022, 05:04 PM
Because Hearts have their house in order.
You already know the answer, but its because the Scandanavian season was over and Melkerson had been off for weeks, same as Meuller.
You sound like someone who has never moved to a new country before, giving players time to settle is worth it in the long run, not everything is about the instant gratification you seem to be after.
Save it mate we heard all those excuses at end of August...Boyle left weeks ago
Save what? He left a week ago!! Christ this place is insane!
You know you have been on here most of the day spouting the same old rhetoric, give us all a break will ya. The old guard are gone they all got a fair chunk o cash and left.
We now have a new forward looking crowd as guardians of our fine club, if you are so peed off go and watch the hertz or some other club. Or just sit doon wi a huge bag o samosas, or a huge bag o Liquorice allsorts and let the rest of the day go by, nothing you or I can do about it, just chill and see what the rest of the day brings, we may be surprised we may be a wee bit disappointed but Hibernian F.C. will still be there in the morning.
That's a worrying attitude to have.
skyehibee
Barker released by rangers.
31-01-2022, 05:05 PM
That kind of attitude previously lead us into a dark hole that was bottom six pish, relegation battles and Championship football.
If this continues season ticket sales will be well down next year. That's not a sound business plan.
The fans didn't lead us down any dark hole.
Do you think its the fans fault that East Stirling are pish?
BlackSheep
Melkerson isn’t an academy signing.
Then they found out he's not ready for the first team.
The boy they got back from Arbroath was dreadful, he won't be at Livi for long, Jet was twice the player and he wasn't even that good.
JamesHFC
31-01-2022, 05:06 PM
Brandon Barker has left Rangers by mutual consent.
Barker has officially left rangers.
You already know the answer, but its because the Scandanavian season was over and Melkerson had been off for weeks, same as Meuller.
You sound like someone who has never moved to a new country before, giving players time to settle is worth it in the long run, not everything is about the instant gratification you seem to be after.
So we sack a manager because results are not good enough at that moment in time but sign players that might be ready in a few months time :confused:
31-01-2022, 05:07 PM
Raman Bhardwaj STV tweets
Brandon Barker has left Rangers. No club yet, but his Ibrox career is over
May21/05/216
Some supporters, obviously not you, are willing to give the new set up some time. We have a relatively new owner, new CEO and new manager. Has everything been rosy and wonderful, no, but some folk are willing to give it a bit of time. I realise we live in world where its all about instant success and gratification but maybe giving it more than what...2 months? There are dozens of examples of players and managers that have just taken a bit of time to get it right. Is it a guarantee it will be....nope, but im certainly not going to be slagging off the club, players,manager, ceo etc at every given opportunity in the meantime.Agree with this
I’d take him. If he’s fit, sign him
31-01-2022, 05:08 PM
The timeline for Melkerson is weeks. Not months, not years. He's training with the first team. He has a first team squad number. And vitally, he's not played football in two months.
Just untrue.
We should send him back and get a refund then! Or maybe let the young laddie settle in and get homnuo to the level we want him to be at which Maloney said is a couple of weeks. So he is clearly first team ready.
BlackSheep
Nope, then they found he hasn’t played in 2 months so needs a bit of time to get back up to speed.
Will need a few weeks to get him up to speed 😉
Likewise.
Would instantly improve our starting 11 imo.
Fitness is the only thing.
31-01-2022, 05:09 PM
So we sack a manager because results are not good enough at that moment in time but sign players that might be ready in a few months time :confused:
Is that not what Ross did? Signed Magennis in the knowledge it wouldn’t be until this season, after a pre season, we’d see the best of him.
Will need a few weeks to get him up to speed 😉
The hibs way. Fit by April.
Come on board
Why is it our new players need weeks yet Hearts sign some boy on loan from Everton reserves and Barnsley injury list and they come in and play right away and one scores? Even Livi got that player back from Arbroath on Saturday and he strolled it.Melkerson hasn't played in over 2 months, perhaps thats why they are getting him a bit sharper. At least give him a fighting chance of not getting booed off in his first game.
The fans didn't lead us down any dark hole.
Do you think its the fans fault that East Stirling are pish?
No but fans saying the same as just now in the past didn't help when it was further and further deteriorating. Did blindnessly backing the club then work? No.
Anyway, you'll be glad to know rants over for tonight. We will sign nobody of note tonight. Posters will rip others for being over dramatic and concerned.
That's a worrying attitude to have.
After watching Hibs for 60 years its the best attitude to have, believe me.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
Melkerson hasn't played in over 2 months, perhaps thats why they are getting a bit sharper. At least give him a fighting chance of not getting booed off in his first game.
Lets hope he hits the ground running in 2023 then :thumbsup:
31-01-2022, 05:10 PM
After watching Hibs for 60 years its the best attitude to have, believe me.
Fair point :aok:
31-01-2022, 05:11 PM
I am sure you are just trolling at this point.
31-01-2022, 05:11 PM
Defo would take Barker. Other than Murphy we don’t have a player that can take anyone on.
31-01-2022, 05:12 PM
That comparison makes no sense at all?
Oh the hysteria, oh the drama!
Madly, win tomorrow and suddley we will all be rejoicing
Be as well signing macgennis replacement now .. It does not look too clever for him and his career with the amount of injuries he has already had at a relatively young age. We quite simply cannot rely on him and need someone in
Someone sent my something on Twitter saying he has had a set back in his Rehab
Anyone know if this is true
Is that not what Ross did? Signed Magennis in the knowledge it wouldn’t be until this season, after a pre season, we’d see the best of him.
He did having a midfield that then went the season finishing the third best in the country. Not just now when we are struggling and desperate for improvement in vital areas.
31-01-2022, 05:13 PM
Someone sent my something on Twitter saying he has had a set back in his Rehab
Anyone know if this is true
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkHe took a knock in a bouce game
Few weeks now
RIP Bestie
31-01-2022, 05:13 PM
Well take him as far from here as you can.
He is f****** p***
Please no Hibs.
JamesHFC
31-01-2022, 05:14 PM
I can’t imagine Maloney being very happy if we sell our best player without some sort of replacement. He’s publicly made it clear we need someone.
31-01-2022, 05:14 PM
That comparison makes no sense at all?
We sacked our manager because we wanted to save the season - instant or some improvement.
Lets sign players that make improvement next year.
Improvement hasn't happened btw. There's been nothing to show we are a better side even slightly. And that's with Maloney getting all these players in January.
Steve88
31-01-2022, 05:15 PM
Folk wanting Barker...
We've got more wide players wingers than we do ball boys
CENTRAL MIDFIELD:confused:
31-01-2022, 05:16 PM
Where is Melkerson? :confused:
In Keane s B Team
To be fair he has only just turned19 and Maloney said he will need time to adapt and we should be expecting him to come straight into the team immediately
31-01-2022, 05:16 PM
We sacked our manager because we wanted to save the season - instant or some improvement.
Improvement hasn't happened btw. There's been nothing to show we are a better side even slightly. And that's with Maloney getting all these players in January.Who's signing folk to only improve in a year?
Its just a nonsense line you keep spouting
Mueller, Henderson, Clarke, Melkerson, Rocky and Mitchell have all be signed for our first team squad
Thats 6 added in January so far
31-01-2022, 05:17 PM
Improvement hasn't happened btw. There's been nothing to show we are a better side even slightly. And that's with Maloney getting all these players in January.
The league position is better than when he left, to be fair. And closer to a European place.
In Keane s B Team
To be fair he has only just turned19 and Maloney said he will need time to adapt and we should be expecting him to come straight into the team immediately
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWho told you Melkerson is in our B team?
Now it looks like next season instead.
hibbie02
31-01-2022, 05:19 PM
Watmore, talented kid but kicked about by cloggers up here
That’s the boy!
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
At least with the five year contract we'll see Magennis occasionally.
In Keane s B Team
No he isn’t.
31-01-2022, 05:20 PM
Lets hope he hits the ground running in 2023 then [emoji106]Gie it a rest, you making this place unbearable
If it wasn't for export taxes I'd be selling waterproof bedsheets on this forum on TDD. Could probably retire after 2 years.....
STV saying Allan expected to stay.
You do know we didn’t appoint a manager for the short term and it’s called having a strategy and planning for the future. No idea why folk can’t see that, signings like these are hopefully what prevents us having these last minute panic dealings in the window.
Still need players for here and now I agree, the are both different circumstances though
31-01-2022, 05:21 PM
Apart from the fact we have gone from 7th to 5th under Maloney there’s been no improvement.
There’s lots to be concerned about at the moment, but it’s no worse now than it was under Jack Ross most of this season, just a continuation. It doesn’t look like happening this window but I hope Maloney gets what he needs recruitment wise to give him every chance of succeeding. If not he’ll end up sacked and probably, justifiably, feel he wasn’t set up for success by Hibs.
hibeesjoe
31-01-2022, 05:22 PM
Hibs will have to move quick if they want to get someone into East Mains for a medical, get all the paperwork done and sent off before midnight.That rules out Barker then. His medical would take about 3 days
Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk
31-01-2022, 05:23 PM
Now it looks like next season instead.
MaGennis has never had a full season for anyone not even close to one. Is looking like money down the drain.
Sergio sledge
Exactly. Are we building for 2025?
Hopefully we are yes. It would be pretty short sighted of the club to ignore future seasons and only concentrate on the season we are in just now.
It is possible to both strengthen now and build for the future, the two things aren't mutually exclusive. Rocky, Clarke, Mitchell, Henderson, Mueller and Melkersen were signed to contribute now, not in 2025....
Apart from the fact we have gone from 7th to 5th under Maloney there’s been no improvement.
There’s lots to be concerned about at the moment, but it’s no worse now than it was under Jack Ross most of this season, just a continuation. It doesn’t look like happening this window but I hope Maloney gets what he needs recruitment wise to give him every chance of succeeding. If not he’ll end up sacked and probably, justifiably, feel he wasn’t set up for success by Hibs.
Last sentence, like Jack Ross can feel 😉
If he's staying we have to be playing him, which doesn't seem likely given that Wright, Bradley and Murphy have come on instead of him the past few games.
31-01-2022, 05:24 PM
That rules out Barker then. His medical would take about 3 days
Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk
Aye but if he ran from Glasgow tonight he'd be at East Mains yesterday.
31-01-2022, 05:24 PM
You do know we didn’t appoint a manager for the short term and it’s called having a strategy and planning for the future. No idea why folk can’t see that, signings like these are hopefully what prevents us having these last minute panic dealings in the window.
Still need players for here and now I agree, the are both different circumstances though
So, I’m assuming based on that our strategy is to go with the complete unknown/tested and the future will just be what it will be? People are entitled to have faith and positivity. People are also entitled to have concerns (based on reality).
HendoDelivered
31-01-2022, 05:25 PM
So pointless if we aren’t gonna play him
31-01-2022, 05:26 PM
So pointless if we aren’t gonna play himI think we'd rather he did move on
If Allan decides to stay, which is his right he has to show much more
I suspect we will hardly see him though
31-01-2022, 05:26 PM
So, I’m assuming based on that our strategy is to go with the complete unknown/tested and the future will just be what it will be? People are entitled to have faith and positivity. People are also entitled to have concerns (based on reality).
What do you mean like the half dozen other players of good age signed on long contracts that your classing as unknown/tested? Your no for a minute suggesting we are going to sign tried and tested for the B team are you!
They are both not mutually exclusive what’s so hard to understand? Do we stop planning for the future because the right players we want we can’t get in January? It’s a nightmare window hence all the pish last minute with every club
31-01-2022, 05:28 PM
That's not a strategy and not something the club have stated so why assume that? The plan is to build clear lines of progression from youths to first team and grow our own and to sign good talent from Scotland and abroad, along with good professionals and push the club forward at all levels to be consistent and regularly at the top end of the league and challenging in Europe. That takes a wee bit of time and patience.
Hibiza
31-01-2022, 05:29 PM
We were in total " freefall " under Ross .Shaun's steadied things and we will go forward.
31-01-2022, 05:29 PM
We sacked out manager because our league form over a few months was shocking...Our performances outside of the results may have had a factor in driving fans away. I never heard anything about 'saving the season' though Id like that to happen. I did hear plenty about changing the focus of the club which if we actually want that to happen will take time. New manager bounces are one thing but I cant really think of many that have been substainable for other clubs.
We have signed a number of players who have just started making appearances for the club. A couple of them have been put into the academy and others are for the here and now. A new manager with new ideas has also come in so the whole teams picking up new stuff. Whether this all works is still to be seen but you cant compare one who was judged on results against others who havent had a chance to contribute meaningfully to results.
31-01-2022, 05:30 PM
We were in total " freefall " under Ross .Shaun's steadied things and we will go forward.
I admire your optimism
Hope yet I suppose.
https://twitter.com/StevenChicken/status/1488209308793909248?s=20
Gie it a rest, you making this place unbearable
Agree, its the same boring stuff getting repeated constantly
What do you mean like the half dozen other players of good age signed on long contracts that your classing as unknown/tested? Your no for a minute suggesting we are going to sign tried and tested for the B team are you!
They are both not mutually exclusive what’s so hard to understand? Do we stop planning for the future because the right players we want we can’t get in January? It’s a nightmare window hence all the pish last minute with every club
No, I’m talking about the manager and our planning for the future. If we have a ‘strategy’, that’s the basis of it. I’m not suggesting it won’t all come good but we haven’t a clue and people hammering folk based on blind faith, against the actual reality of the situation is futile. We’re fickle from top to bottom. A 19 year old can come in and do a job cause he’s from City, a 20 year old joins the B team cause he’s not…
31-01-2022, 05:31 PM
Hope yet I suppose.
I just can't believe his name is genuinely Steven Chicken
We may as well no bother signing players early in the window, because its forgotten by the end.
Rocky - 22
Henderson - 21
Mueller-25
Melkerson - 19
Clarke-20
Mitchell - 25
Get them all in the B team!
Aye but if he ran from Glasgow tonight he'd be at East Mains yesterday.
Genuine laugh out louder that one.....😆😆
31-01-2022, 05:32 PM
Hope yet I suppose.
Steven Chicken is my go to guy for any info on matters like these simply because he has a brilliant name.
I believe him.
Last sentence, like Jack Ross can feel 😉
To be fair I think Jack Ross can feel aggrieved about the summer window and has some mitigation. However he also didn’t capture the imagination of a large chunk of the support, with many different factors as to why that was. He also wasn’t getting anywhere near enough out of what he did have available to him this season.
That's not a strategy and not something the club have stated so why assume that? The plan is to build clear lines of progression from youths to first team and grow our own and to sign good talent from Scotland and abroad, along with good professionals and push the club forward at all levels to be consistent and regularly at the top end of the league and challenging in Europe. That takes a wee bit of time and patience.
You’re missing my point. I said assuming based on that. If our actual strategy is basically SFA I’d be a little concerned.
Such a shame
31-01-2022, 05:33 PM
We may as well no bother signing players early in the window, because its forgotten by the end.
Don't think anyone's forgot really. But early business doesn't take away from the fact we're still needing players in with what, less than six hours to go? Throw in losing Boyle on top of that.
It’s not really, it’s just that they’ve made very little impact between them even if it’s only over three games. And in some cases, we know they’re not going to be making any impact for some time.
Sergio sledge
He is doing a pre-season effectively as his season finished in November. Giving him a few weeks to get up to speed is sensible isn't it? or should we have just chucked him in at the start of his pre-season program?
He also picked up a minor injury in a bounce game....
Murphy has agreed terms and is gone.
Ramsey has signed for Rangers.
Keepthefaith
31-01-2022, 05:34 PM
Can we maybe all stop responding to 90+2?
He's fixed in his negativity, nothing anyone can say will make him even the slightest bit open. He's like the kid at school who thrives off the negative attention. Let's not feed him and refocus on a positive end to the window and a bloody good result tomorrow night!
31-01-2022, 05:34 PM
I just can't believe his name is genuinely Steven ChickenI got excited for a second there thinking we had a transfer target called Steven Chicken.
What a name, incredible stuff. Would surely make for an epic song.
31-01-2022, 05:35 PM
He is doing a pre-season effectively as his season finished in November. Giving him a few weeks to get up to speed is sensible isn't it? or should we have just chucked him in at the start of his pre-season program?
He also picked up a minor injury in a bounce game....
Why do our players need to do pre-season while Celtic sign all the Japanese players, season over ages back and they come in and look fantastic? :confused:
31-01-2022, 05:35 PM
Everyones entitled to an opinion but how is one based on faith and positivity & the other is based on reality? Is that your reality or hard facts? Surely the other is based on lack of faith and general negativity about the situation were in now & potentially in the future? Nice spin :wink:
31-01-2022, 05:36 PM
I knew of a guy years ago who's name is Robin Crook....
31-01-2022, 05:36 PM
Admin can we please allow the guests and block the regulars save us all a headache 😂
31-01-2022, 05:37 PM
MaGennis has never had a full season for anyone not even close to one. Is looking like money down the drain.
88 games in 4 seasons for St Mirren, take out the season he was injured would make it 74 games in 3 seasons.
Hardly a perpetual crock.
31-01-2022, 05:37 PM
He used to write for football365. I really like him!
31-01-2022, 05:38 PM
Can we maybe all stop responding to 90+2?
He's fixed in his negativity, nothing anyone can say will make him even the slightest bit open. He's like the kid at school who thrives off the negative attention. Let's not feed him and refocus on a positive end to the window and a bloody good result tomorrow night!
He'd entitled to his opinion surely?
Good and wish him all the best.
Ramsay is an outstanding signing. Where are they getting the cash for this!
31-01-2022, 05:42 PM
I got excited for a second there thinking we had a transfer target called Steven Chicken.
Does the boy chicken foul a lot
31-01-2022, 05:44 PM
Who told you Melkerson is in our B team?
Assumed as he needs to get up to speed that’s the only place he can get game time at present
sahpaton
31-01-2022, 05:45 PM
Why do our players need to do pre-season while Celtic sign all the Japanese players, season over ages back and they come in and look fantastic? :confused:
Celtic’s Japanese signings are senior international players with hundreds of professional appearances, not really sure what comparison you’re trying to make to a 19 year-old with minimal experience who’s understandably being given some time to settle
31-01-2022, 05:45 PM
He used to write for football365. I really like him!
Though his article's were a lot of cluck-bait.
31-01-2022, 05:46 PM
Signing experienced players doesn’t bring any future guarantees either though. No one can predict the future.
31-01-2022, 05:46 PM
Celtic’s Japanese signings are senior international players with hundreds of professional appearances, not really sure what comparison you’re trying to make to a 19 year-old with minimal experience who’s understandably being given some time to settle
Because its a reason to have a go at the club yet again
31-01-2022, 05:47 PM
Does the boy chicken foul a lot
No. But his writing has nae teeth 🐓
leith lynx
Mate, your posts make depressing reading, but, unfortunately so true!
Brilliant.
Close the thread and start a new one, that’s no being topped the night.
31-01-2022, 05:49 PM
Where are you seeing about Murphy
31-01-2022, 05:49 PM
Steven Chicken is my go to guy for any info on matters like these simply because he has a brilliant name.
I believe him.Surely you mean he has an eggselent name :greengrin
Hibees1973
31-01-2022, 05:50 PM
Cannot believe Gogic is still in the building, on the other hand I understand why.
There’s just enough time for me to drive down to East Mains. I’m willing to drop him off anywhere.
I'm tempted to think your either
1 Jack Ross
2 leanne Dempster
3 Graham mathie
I trust Ron Gordon as he has got us through the most difficult time and hopefully come out the other end of a pandemic
So he will have my full support and gratitude for that alone I would suggest that you give our new ceo a chance as well as for maloney I'm willing to give him more time as well
Thanks, saved me a very lengthy post. How anyone can make a judgement on a manager after 6 games or a chief executive after a few months is beyond me. They're also moaning about us losing our best player, Martin Boyle. Martin would have been chased out after his 1st season if current expectations were applied! There's a possibility that some of these young signings will prove to be our star men in years to come. How's about we give them a chance!
31-01-2022, 05:52 PM
That's a joke for chicks....
Surely you mean he has an eggselent name :greengrin
Eggsactly!
31-01-2022, 05:53 PM
Thanks, saved me a very lengthy post. How anyone can make a judgement on a manager after 6 games or a chief executive after a few months is beyond me. They're also moaning about us losing our best player, Martin Boyle. Martin would have been chased out after his 1st season if current expectations were applied! There's a possibility that some of these young signings will prove to be our star men in years to come. How's about we give them a chance!Piffle! How can we improve with B team players!!!
Forget how rated they may or may not be we demand instant gratification!!!!!
31-01-2022, 05:54 PM
Delighted to get him off the wage Bill. When he wasn’t injured we seen performances like the league cup final where at the slightest sight of being able to drive at a defence he chickened and headed away from the danger area into the corner.
An expensive mistake and Mansfield’s problem now.
31-01-2022, 05:54 PM
I got excited for a second there thinking we had a transfer target called Steven Chicken.
What a coop that would be.
31-01-2022, 05:55 PM
Hatate has never been capped for the senior Japan side. Youth levels and olympic team only.
Miuza has 3 caps since he made his debut in 2019.
Silky
31-01-2022, 05:55 PM
Surely you mean he has an eggselent name :greengrin
Aye, but is he a breast or leg man?
leith lynx
31-01-2022, 05:56 PM
Lets hope he hits the ground running in 2023 then :thumbsup:
Us auld yins can't wait that long!
31-01-2022, 05:57 PM
Saying rogers has chosen English championship rather than hibs.
Next…
31-01-2022, 05:58 PM
He's good on the wing.
31-01-2022, 05:59 PM
Next…
Cue Hibs recruitment scrabbling around for Barker’s phone number
He's good on the wing.
That’ll never fly
Next…
With five hours to go, fantastic. Just sign Barker now and get the done for this window message out.
BigKev
31-01-2022, 06:00 PM
This thread is dire enough without turning it into a pointless pun thread. You’re no as funny as you think you are.
That’ll never fly
He'd be down the pecking order right enough.
Next…
Time for the backup's backup.
31-01-2022, 06:01 PM
This thread is dire enough without turning it into a pointless pun thread. You’re no as funny as you think you are.
Just as uninspiring as our attempts to sign the necessary players I guess
Puns are better than all the depressing doom and gloom posts.
And I am exactly as funny as I think I am.
Next…
So we've missed out on or number one target? Great.
Hibees1973
31-01-2022, 06:02 PM
Delighted to get him off the wage Bill. When he wasn’t injured we seen performances like the league cup final where at the slightest sight of being able to drive at a defence he chickened and headed away from the danger area into the corner.
An expensive mistake and Mansfield’s problem now.
100%...never seen a more flat footed winger. Think I saw a post earlier who said if Murphy goes we have no one left to take on defenders. Don’t know what that guy was watching as I never saw Murphy ‘take on’ or go by a defender in the time he was here.
I’m beginning to get a bit more hopeful as this window should be more about moving on our ineffectual players and creating space in the squad for new ones.
Hopefully a few more will be leaving.
Aye, but is he a breast or leg man?
By the time they are at my age it doesn't matter, both can be found in pretty much the same place.....
That is a very good point 🤣
31-01-2022, 06:03 PM
Puns ruffling a few feathers again I see
31-01-2022, 06:04 PM
By the time they are at my age it doesn't matter, both can be found in pretty much the same place.....
Green Reaper
What a coop that would be.
Probably would turn out to be a bit of a Turkey
leith lynx
Sign him, might be good on the wing..
31-01-2022, 06:05 PM
I just hope the club can poulet together before the window closes
Aye but will you still be crowing when the deadline has passed?
Nevi_SOL
Where is it saying he’s chosen the championship. All I’ve seen is he’s turned down Huddersfield
31-01-2022, 06:06 PM
Sign him, might be good on the wing..
We could have unearthed a nugget...
31-01-2022, 06:06 PM
Any rumours of incoming or is it only outgoing that look likely?
31-01-2022, 06:07 PM
Can everyone shut the cluck up with these puns please?
So we've missed out on or number one target? Great.
Another poached away
We could have unearthed a nugget...
All very well if we’ve got the midfielders to feed him. Really needs chances laid on a plate for him though.
Hibees1973
31-01-2022, 06:08 PM
Cue Hibs recruitment scrabbling around for Barker’s phone number
Was just thinking that....this would be a new low for the recruitment guys if that happens.
Next…
Rogers was never coming to Hibs - he had various English Championship options.
JammyDoidger
Thanks, saved me a very lengthy post. How anyone can make a judgement on a manager after 6 games or a chief executive after a few months is beyond me. They're also moaning about us losing our best player, Martin Boyle. Martin would have been chased out after his 1st season if current expectations were applied! There's a possibility that some of these young signings will prove to be our star men in years to come. How's about we give them a chance!
Your deluded pal, and it's happy clappers like you accepting pure mediocrity that's the reason we are such a soft touch. We have every right to demand more.
If you carry on with the puns, you'll be up in front of the beaks.
Where is it saying he’s chosen the championship. All I’ve seen is he’s turned down Huddersfield
Yeah I think that’s the latest on it.
Club better do something or they are going to fall fowl of the fans again! [emoji15]
31-01-2022, 06:09 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Celtic in talks with Fortuna Sittard over Ismaila Soro loan with permanent option
@Football_Scot
https://t.co/081nnkWznW
31-01-2022, 06:09 PM
Your deluded pal, and it's happy clappers like you accepting pure mediocrity that's the reason we are such a soft touch. We have every right to demand more.
31-01-2022, 06:10 PM
**** sake. No matter your opinion on any manager we've had, when you start the accepting mediocrity patter, you immediately lose any argument.
Go on then, what are you doing to demand more? Posting on a messageboard?
Feed McGraw
31-01-2022, 06:10 PM
I believe him. I`m sure he used tae hing aboot wi` Hen Broon & Wishbone fae Rawhide.
31-01-2022, 06:11 PM
Seemingly Murphy is away, deal done with Mansfield Town.
May21/05/216
31-01-2022, 06:11 PM
Thanks, saved me a very lengthy post. How anyone can make a judgement on a manager after 6 games or a chief executive after a few months is beyond me. They're also moaning about us losing our best player, Martin Boyle. Martin would have been chased out after his 1st season if current expectations were applied! There's a possibility that some of these young signings will prove to be our star men in years to come. How's about we give them a chance!Agree with this but they may well turn out good or bad signings time will tell I will trust the people in charge just like trusted the previous owners and board that's why I've supported hibs for over 50 years through bad times and good times if folk think I'm a happy clapper then that's OK
31-01-2022, 06:12 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/runar-hauge-scottish-football-will-suit-me-hibs-opportunity-was-too-good-to-miss-3549477
Hauge article saying Scottish football will suit him and Hibs opportunity to good to turn down.
JammyDoidger
**** sake. No matter your opinion on any manager we've had, when you start the accepting mediocrity patter, you immediately lose any argument.
Go on then, what are you doing to demand more? Posting on a messageboard?
Voicing my opinon at the very least, Since this owner has come in we've been on a downward spiral despite being promised the opposite, action needs taken now before it's too late.
Good news
31-01-2022, 06:13 PM
Your deluded pal, and it's happy clappers like you accepting pure mediocrity that's the reason we are such a soft touch. We have every right to demand more.Jesus
Give me the low down on how you are driving this demand for more
You didnt even @Ben Kensell
Below par.
Have to think we've only let him go if we have another body coming in. Especially with letting MacKay go out on loan to Killie.
Still not even a sniff of a centre mid? Maloney must have a death wish.[emoji849]
Mikey_1875
31-01-2022, 06:14 PM
As much as Murphy isn’t anything great I wouldn’t let him go if there is nobody coming in. If it’s Barker for Murphy then i’d say its a small upgrade but not sure if Maloney is playing with out and out wingers currently.
Voicing my opinon at the very least, Since this owner has come in we've been on a downward spiral despite being promised the opposite, action needs taken now before it's too late.
Have we?
We had our best finish in 2 decades last season.
Oh well, that’s Ron and the boys told. There’ll be nae mare mediocrity going forward now it’s not being accepted.
Have to think we've only let him go if we have another body coming in. Especially with letting MacKay go out on loan to Killie.
This is Hibs mind.
Still not even a sniff of a centre mid? Maloney must have a death wish.[emoji849]
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNewell JDH it must be
With Hendo /campbell/mueller pushing forward
Hibees1973
31-01-2022, 06:17 PM
Looks like Rogers of Man City is not coming then. Caldwell was previously loans manager at Man City. Appears Caldwell’s charisma and managerial record could not persuade Rogers to come to Hibs.:greengrin
31-01-2022, 06:18 PM
Everyone is voicing their opinion, thats literally what every post on here is :faf:
I actually agree there are many red flags with Ron Gordon. I don't start namecalling and insulting those who don't agree with that.
We actually improved significantly under Ron during last season, taking a brilliant 3rd place and, had we beat SJ in the final, that would've been our best season in 70 years. Sadly didn't happen.
The accepting mediocrity patter is so daft. Up there with that boyband *****. Total nonsense ****ing statement, with no basis or thought behind it.
Club better do something or they are going to fall fowl of the fans again! [emoji15]
That’s what happens when we pay chicken feed
leith lynx
Scraping the (KFC) bucket now....
Unless we get two good centre mids tonight, we are on a hiding tomorrow.
88 games in 4 seasons for St Mirren, take out the season he was injured would make it 74 games in 3 seasons.
Hardly a perpetual crock.
4 seasons at 38 league games per season is 152 games plus cup games say 162 and you say 88 out of 162 isnt ba?. Maybe its just me but I dont get your point.
Hibiza
Think I'm just going to my kip . Not a wasted day after the " mood hoover " craic - priceless.
31-01-2022, 06:19 PM
Looks like Rogers of Man City is not coming then. Caldwell was previously loans manager at Man City. Appears Caldwell’s charisma and managerial record could not persuade Rogers to come to Hibs.:greengrin
He was only there 5 mins
Has mcgrath signed for anyone yet?
No RCC chat either?
A wee move for Thomas Apeyong again then?
JamesHFC
31-01-2022, 06:20 PM
I doubt any player signed tonight would even start tomorrow.
31-01-2022, 06:22 PM
I doubt any player signed tonight would even start tomorrow.
B team again ?? [emoji3]
31-01-2022, 06:23 PM
Newell JDH it must be
With Hendo /campbell/mueller pushing forward
Are we expecting Newell and JDH to play every game - not get suspended - injured - covid - drop form?
2 central midfielders is madness and as bad a decision as not signing another striker then Doidge getting injured and having Nisbet as only main striker.
Hibees1973
31-01-2022, 06:24 PM
At this rate Ron’s boys coat is on a shoogly peg.
31-01-2022, 06:25 PM
Everyone is voicing their opinion, thats literally what every post on here is :faf:
I actually agree there are many red flags with Ron Gordon. I don't start namecalling and insulting those who don't agree with that.
We actually improved significantly under Ron during last season, taking a brilliant 3rd place and, had we beat SJ in the final, that would've been our best season in 70 years. Sadly didn't happen.
The accepting mediocrity patter is so daft. Up there with that boyband *****. Total nonsense ****ing statement, with no basis or thought behind it.
We've since last season sacked the manager that got us there and sacked the guy that brought the players in to get us there.
We are now sitting in 5th. Rudderless.
Do posters genuinely believe this has been a good window if it stays the same and Maloney is a good appointment? There's is literally nothing to suggest so.
Everyone on this board is sitting here desperately waiting for a couple of signings to sort the mess we are in out. Now we are at the stage of apologists galore and belittling others posts.
You will notice the concerned posters are not the ones personally ripping others posts btw. It's always the other way.
No new players will play tomorrow.
Signing then not even having a training session - unless it was Messi who comes straight into the team we are stuck with the same group that lost to the mighty Livingston. You can pretty much predict the starting Hibs 11.
Are we expecting Newell and JDH to play every game - not get suspended - injured - covid - drop form?
2 central midfielders is madness and as bad a decision as not signing another striker then Doidge getting injured and having Nisbet as only main striker.
Especially after one has already left the club and one more could be out the door.
31-01-2022, 06:26 PM
2 central midfielders is madness and as bad a decision as not signing another striker then Doidge getting injured and having Nisbet as only main striker.Campbell, Gogic
Nevi_SOL
😂😂😂😂. The Donald trump of .net?
Come on Ben. Livi is only 30 mins up the road. Go get Stephane!
Hibs.net word of the month - rudderless
JammyDoidger
31-01-2022, 06:27 PM
Or is that a case of jack ross over achieving? And not so much to do with Gordon?
At this rate Ron’s boys coat is on a shoogly peg.
He owns the club, and the stadium.
His laddie runs recruitment.
Their choice is the manager and assistant.
Safe as houses.
Any Hibs news at all? A rumour would do. Ins or outs?
31-01-2022, 06:29 PM
Campbell, Gogic
Are you naming players that wouldn't get in the midfield of any club in the top six?
Hibees1973
Campbell, Gogic
We’re f***ed then!
HendoDelivered
He owns the club, and the stadium.
His laddie runs recruitment.
Their choice is the manager and assistant.
Safe as houses.
That’s the main concern for me and the fact it’s been kept almost a secret.
31-01-2022, 06:30 PM
Are you naming players that wouldn't get in the midfield of any club in the top six?I'm naming our central midfield options as of now
Strangely though Gogic played a big part in a team finishing 3rd
Last time I checked that was indeed top 6
31-01-2022, 06:30 PM
Any Hibs news at all? A rumour would do. Ins or outs?
We all know deep down what is going to happen mate. Nobody or a Blackburn under 20 player because Mogga feels bad for us.
31-01-2022, 06:31 PM
I'm naming our central midfield options as of now
Strangely though Gogic played a big part in a team finishing 3rd
Last time I checked that was indeed top 6
Well done to Jack Ross in getting the best out a player only wanted by St Mirren then. :aok:
31-01-2022, 06:31 PM
That’s the main concern for me and the fact it’s been kept almost a secret."secret"
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/our-club/club-directory
31-01-2022, 06:32 PM
Are you naming players that wouldn't get in the midfield of any club in the top six?
One signed by and the other introduced into the first team by your hero
davhibby
31-01-2022, 06:33 PM
We've since last season sacked the manager that got us there and sacked the guy that brought the players in to get us there.
Do posters genuinely believe this has been a good window if it stays the same and Maloney is a good appointment? There's is literally nothing to suggest so.
Everyone on this board is sitting here desperately waiting for a couple of signings to sort the mess we are in out. Now we are at the stage of apologists galore and belittling others posts.
You will notice the concerned posters are not the ones personally ripping others posts btw. It's always the other way.
I’m already regretting bothering to reply to this but that’s absolute nonsense. Dempster leaving was a year or two overdue by the time it happened and really the issue was that we gave Mathie a lot of extra responsibility that he shouldn’t have been given. He was good for us when he was only involved in recruitment but clearly ended up with too much on his plate.
We identified the areas we needed players in and recruited well early. Various things have gone a bit pear shaped in the window since then but there’s still time for it to turn around and I think we could come out of this evening in a pretty good position.
Ron has given both managers good money to spend at a time when the club will have been losing plenty.
AugustaHibs
"secret"
Very strange that he was never announced in the role though, only slid into the club directory.
Seems a pretty important position and for it not to be mentioned is concerning.
Chorley Hibee
Come on Ben. Livi is only 30 mins up the road. Go get Stephane!
Yep.
Not a fan of continually signing ex-players, but he is an exception.
Give me him over Brandon Barker any day of the week.
31-01-2022, 06:34 PM
"secret"
Yes. He's never been formally appointed. For someone in such an important position you shouldn't have to look up the phone book.
“Full credit goes to our Technical Scout, Ian Gordon, who has worked very hard to deliver this partnership,” Hibernian FC Sporting Director Graeme Mathie said. “The link with Charleston Battery allows us to tap in to their network and resources as we look to expand our scouting activities into new markets, and we are already looking forward to welcoming two of their current squad to the Hibernian Training Centre in the coming weeks for an extended training period, with the potential for two of our young players to travel there early next year.
That's all we've ever heard.
After our fruitful partnership with with fc Duricell
Very strange that he was never announced in the role though, only slid into the club directory.
Seems a pretty important position and for it not to be mentioned is concerning.If it was a secret then the person updating the website my be Jimmy 'the snitch' or Frankie 'the squealer'
hibeerealist
I know you are still bitter about Jack Ross being sacked, I for one, was relieved that Ron took action. The timing, with a cup final coming up, was not ideal but when you need to act you act and Ron should be applauded for his decisiveness.
Like many Hibbies I am hoping we get at least a midfielder before the TD closes and I am aware that our pink chums are loving the panic on Hibs.Net. I get texts from the ones I know on about "mind the Gap" "Tuesday cant come quick enough" etc.
My response, "I remember the Unbeatables coming to ER and what was the score that day?". For those pinkies looking in GIRFUY see you on Tuesday!!!
31-01-2022, 06:35 PM
They might be planning on mugging him for his visa.
Hibees1973
31-01-2022, 06:35 PM
Best signing we could make is get Sir Tom on the blower and ask him to get these imposters out of our club.