View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2021-22 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

Bridge hibs
04-01-2022, 04:01 PM
Melkerson deal seems to be agreed. 4 year deal.Where are you hearing that ?

gaz1875
04-01-2022, 04:02 PM
McGrath tends to play more advanced from what I’ve seen.

I couldn’t really care if he signed for Aberdeen personally. I think they’ll continue to be an inconsistent team either way and he’s not that great IMO.

Aberdeen have signed a few players we were linked to and I don't think any have turned out that good. Happy to be proved wrong (or maybe not if they sign anyone new we are linked to).

King Cosell
04-01-2022, 04:02 PM
Would be really funny though! Nominal fee at best or for nowt in Summer! Brilliant

Major mismanagment if that happens. They could him a large sum to sign a new contract and let him leave for X amount in the summer.

04-01-2022, 04:03 PM
Major mismanagment if that happens. They could him a large sum to sign a new contract and let him leave for X amount in the summer.

Brilliant isn’t it!

King Cosell
04-01-2022, 04:05 PM

Right now, at this moment in time, he'd get in the Man Utd team.

King Cosell
04-01-2022, 04:08 PM
Livingston have signed Morgan Boyes, 20, defender from Liverpool.

Juniper Greens
04-01-2022, 04:11 PM
Up to £16 million for Patterson, with a sell on clause, is good business for Sevco. He hasn't played many games in the first team. Easy to say with hindsight, but that's the type of money we should have gotten for McGinn.

Where you seeing this? 10m plus 2m is what I had read?

04-01-2022, 04:12 PM
Where you seeing this? 10m plus 2m is what I had read?

Been saying £10m plus add ons

04-01-2022, 04:15 PM
Jamie McGrath always looks useful on five to ten minute clips on Sportscene but I've never been overly impressed with him in games against us or in full televised games.

He scores goals but a high percentage are penalties.

I'm not fussed whether we sign him or not, I certainly wouldn't be signing him just to stop Aberdeen getting him.

We need some height and presence in our midfield, coupled with and alongside talent. I think McGrath does offer that. If not him we do need a couple of players with height. We need to provide a threat from set pieces and crosses that does not always rely on our two central defenders. The clamour for Omeonga and players of similar stature is all very fine but we need variety in there.

04-01-2022, 04:17 PM
Not a bank holiday though, nearly everyone is back to work, McInnes has been announced at Killie. Just felt if there was a couple of players in getting medicals, an announcement would be really good way to start the new year off, a few folk talking of deals being done and number of years etc.

Yeah - even though it’s barely a holiday up here anymore I don’t think it can be used as a reason.

04-01-2022, 04:17 PM

Well, I think he’s decent enough, but that’s a bit of a leap.

Some on here report that their Jambo mates don’t really rate him. That’s good as they’ll ( the Jamboid mates) no-be that gutted then when he leaves for peanuts.

04-01-2022, 04:24 PM
Well, I think he’s decent enough, but that’s a bit of a leap.

Some on here report that their Jambo mates don’t really rate him. That’s good as they’ll ( the Jamboid mates) no-be that gutted then when he leaves for peanuts.

They’ll just be saying he’s not that good because he’s leaving. Can almost guarantee if he was to sign a new contract he’d be like Beckenbauer

04-01-2022, 04:26 PM
Livingston have signed Morgan Boyes, 20, defender from Liverpool.

He was on loan at Fleetwood last season hardly got a game

04-01-2022, 04:27 PM

One thing that gets exposed at the very top level is a lack of pace and I think that's what Soutar probably lacks even though he reads the game well. He could probably play at EPL level but not for Man Utd I don't think.

04-01-2022, 04:30 PM
Hopefully there will still be an announcement and the delay is due to interviews, photos and training.

Clarke following Hibs on Instagram pretty much confirms what we’re already waiting on

hibee1875
04-01-2022, 04:31 PM
Souter to Huns? Rumour doing the rounds

Heard this was a done deal a few days ago. Source rangers physio

04-01-2022, 04:38 PM
We need some height and presence in our midfield, coupled with and alongside talent. I think McGrath does offer that. If not him we do need a couple of players with height. We need to provide a threat from set pieces and crosses that does not always rely on our two central defenders. The clamour for Omeonga and players of similar stature is all very fine but we need variety in there.

McGrath offers height? He’s smaller than Josh Campbell and Joe Newell.

In the list of attributes we’re looking for, I think height will be close to the bottom. We’re fine across our back 3 or 5.

04-01-2022, 04:41 PM
Patterson having medical at Everton £12m plus 4m add ons. Tavernier must be some player to keep him out the team 🤔

If they had played him against Stokes in the '16 final they might have won it.

Oh wait...

04-01-2022, 04:45 PM
If they had played him against Stokes in the '16 final they might have won it.

Oh wait...
Was he playing in the Semi?

04-01-2022, 04:46 PM
McGrath offers height? He’s smaller than Josh Campbell and Joe Newell.

In the list of attributes we’re looking for, I think height will be close to the bottom. We’re fine across our back 3 or 5.

If that’s correct about McGrath v Newell I cannot argue. However my point is still a fair one. First and foremost we need football players. That said, we need some of those midfield and forward players to pose and aerial threat as well as in the ground. We cannot b so one dimensional as to rely solely on our defenders at set pieces. Equally we need additional height in defensive situations. I am not seeing an impressive return at either end of the park from cross balls.

04-01-2022, 04:46 PM
How can I say what? That’s he’s a good player? Because that’s my opinion.

He hasn’t played as much as I’m sure he wanted but that’s a lot different to being ‘done’.

My point was that he along with Ferguson, McGrath and Brown is a very good midfield to have.

I’m not saying McGeough is the messiah and best centre mid in the league like some are making out I am. Like I said some players suit some teams and for me he was never going to succeed at Aberdeen.

You said he’s still a good player and still a good option to have. Nobody really knows that as he hasn’t played anywhere near enough. He’s back to missing huge chunks of seasons and clearly isn’t good enough to get into a rather ***** Aberdeen side, make of that what you will.

I’d say there’s more signs of him being done than there are of him still being a good player with plenty to give based on recent years and performances.

04-01-2022, 05:14 PM
If that’s correct about McGrath v Newell I cannot argue. However my point is still a fair one. First and foremost we need football players. That said, we need some of those midfield and forward players to pose and aerial threat as well as in the ground. We cannot b so one dimensional as to rely solely on our defenders at set pieces. Equally we need additional height in defensive situations. I am not seeing an impressive return at either end of the park from cross balls.

I think Doidge and Nisbet also offer a wee bit of an aerial threat at set pieces and can contribute to our defence of those set pieces fairly effectively too.

We need quality, energy and creativity in the middle of the pitch. All of our central midfielders, aside from Allan ( who is no longer the answer) are too similar.

If only Magennis could get over his injury issues and Tait comes in a forces his way into the side. That said, I think we will see movement during the window, with fringe players departing and some new faces coming in.

04-01-2022, 05:17 PM
I think Doidge and Nisbet also offer a wee bit of an aerial threat at set pieces and can contribute to our defence of those set pieces fairly effectively too.

We need quality, energy and creativity in the middle of the pitch. All of our central midfielders, aside from Allan ( who is no longer the answer) are too similar.

If only Magennis could get over his injury issues and Tait comes in a forces his way into the side. That said, I think we will see movement during the window, with fringe players departing and some new faces coming in.

Doidge perhaps but have you seen Kevin Nisbet head a ball? 🤣 He has his qualities but is not exactly a good example of aerial threat I’d suggest.

04-01-2022, 05:25 PM
Doidge perhaps but have you seen Kevin Nisbet head a ball? 🤣 He has his qualities but is not exactly a good example of aerial threat I’d suggest.

Bit harsh, lovely goal v killie in the cup & very unlucky to hit the post in last minute of the cup final

04-01-2022, 05:27 PM
Bit harsh, lovely goal v killie in the cup & very unlucky to hit the post in last minute of the cup final

Goal at Ibrox wasn’t too shabby either.

04-01-2022, 05:28 PM

And a brilliant header at ibrox, he has had a lot of chances in the air recently though back to incomings, when are the arriving?

04-01-2022, 05:28 PM

91 career goals, 18 were headers and 13 penalties.

04-01-2022, 06:09 PM
Never going to happen but I’d love to see Scott Twine from MK Dons at Hibs.

He has the creativeness of Scott Allan and can score from anywhere. Would play either of the positions behind the striker perfectly imo.

Doubt we’ll be looking at him though with Boyle, Mueller, Mackay, Wright, Tait, Magennis and Henderson all able to play there.

If Boyle was to move though he’d be a great option.

For those unfamiliar with him -https://twitter.com/marleystfc/status/1392525146703925253?s=21

04-01-2022, 06:10 PM
Melkerson more or less done ✅

*apparently

Bridge hibs
04-01-2022, 06:16 PM
Melkerson more or less done ✅

*apparentlyWhere are you hearing that ?

04-01-2022, 06:17 PM

Is this where I have to say something like “I hope I’m proved wrong” in my criticism of Kevin Nisbet’s heading ability? Nah, it really is not his strongpoint. Powderpuff in fact. Granted he’s managed the odd goal but mostly his headers look like pass backs to the keeper.
I’d prefer to see him played off a striker as he has good vision and can find a pass that a quick thinking strike partner can, does in the case of Boyle, exploit. Oh, and his defensive headers are way better than his offensive headers.

04-01-2022, 06:20 PM
Hopefully there will still be an announcement and the delay is due to interviews, photos and training.

Clarke following Hibs on Instagram pretty much confirms what we’re already waiting on

The delay is probably down to the fact that a certain team have just sold their RB…

They may be in the market for a replacement.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

04-01-2022, 06:23 PM

Souttar? not a chance.

04-01-2022, 06:25 PM
The delay is probably down to the fact that a certain team have just sold their RB…

They may be in the market for a replacement.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Rangers?

This was my fear I alluded to the other day about getting him permanently. He’s really impressed this season and will continue to do so. Alot of rangers fans on Twitter have mentioned they’d hope they’d go for him.

04-01-2022, 06:35 PM
Rangers?

This was my fear I alluded to the other day about getting him permanently. He’s really impressed this season and will continue to do so. Alot of rangers fans on Twitter have mentioned they’d hope they’d go for him.

Let’s wait and see!

Whilst there is still uncertainty and rumour of them sniffing around, I’m confident Clarke will sign for us!

*disclaimer: I’m not itk

04-01-2022, 06:37 PM
Rangers?

No such team with such a name.

04-01-2022, 06:40 PM
Where are you hearing that ?

Can’t say, but it’s not information I have received directly.

Take it with a pinch of salt.

04-01-2022, 06:43 PM
In terms of a potential move to Villa this month, Gerrard could unearth the Premier League’s next Andy Robertson with Doig. Of course, the £2.7m-rated talent is another Scottish left-back who has the potential to grow and develop into an important figure for the Midlands club in the same way that Robertson has at Liverpool, with Doig drawing comparisons to him in the past.

https://www.footballfancast.com/aston-villa-transfer-rumours/aston-villa-josh-doig-transfer-news

04-01-2022, 06:46 PM
In terms of a potential move to Villa this month, Gerrard could unearth the Premier League’s next Andy Robertson with Doig. Of course, the £2.7m-rated talent is another Scottish left-back who has the potential to grow and develop into an important figure for the Midlands club in the same way that Robertson has at Liverpool, with Doig drawing comparisons to him in the past.

https://www.footballfancast.com/aston-villa-transfer-rumours/aston-villa-josh-doig-transfer-news
If Patterson is worth £16m in EPL money then Doig is worth more than 2.7m

04-01-2022, 06:49 PM
Is this where I have to say something like “I hope I’m proved wrong” in my criticism of Kevin Nisbet’s heading ability? Nah, it really is not his strongpoint. Powderpuff in fact. Granted he’s managed the odd goal but mostly his headers look like pass backs to the keeper.
I’d prefer to see him played off a striker as he has good vision and can find a pass that a quick thinking strike partner can, does in the case of Boyle, exploit. Oh, and his defensive headers are way better than his offensive headers.

Almost 1 in 4 of his goals excluding penalties are from the napper. Whether that proves you wrong, who cares really, but it does say to me that Nisbet is better than “powderpuff” with the heid. It’s not his main asset, granted, but he offers more in the air than you suggest.

Where Nisbet does have to up his game is around his movement with the ball at his feet and linking with others in the current preferred formation. I’m a fan overall, but think there is lots of room for improvement around those aspects of his game and I also believe they are more fundamental to the team than scoring more heiders.

04-01-2022, 06:52 PM
And a brilliant header at ibrox, he has had a lot of chances in the air recently though back to incomings, when are the arriving?

His goal at Ibrox was excellent and his effort in the cup final was a decent one.

There's far too much chaff in with that wheat though.

Nisbet needs to do much better from our crosses - whether that's getting a free header in on goal, making the right sort of move to find space or to provide the right finish once getting on the end of it.

I reckon we actually get into fairly decent areas fairly often - and much of our trouble over the past few months is the impotence we have shown in front of goal through only having a cumbersome Nisbet up front.

(Well, that was the case under Jack Ross anyway. I actually think he's looked livelier in the past couple of games.)

Melkersen’s dad and agent both now following Hibs on Instagram.

Daily Record saying Clarke is joining on an 18 month loan deal.

Find that hard to believe when his contract with Arsenal is up in the summer.

Rated at 2.7m?

Yes he hasn't been outstanding this season but didn't we recently reject 2.5m for doig?

04-01-2022, 06:53 PM
i still can't believe Everton have splashed so much money on patterson

in other news Watford have pulled out from wanting Barasic after Sevco knocked back £2m+ add-ons

Juniper Greens
04-01-2022, 06:54 PM
Daily Record saying Clarke is joining on an 18 month loan deal.

Find that hard to believe when his contract with Arsenal is up in the summer.

Contracted until 2023

04-01-2022, 06:55 PM
Contracted until 2023

Really?

I thought the everyone was saying his contract was up this summer?

Even then that loan would take him to the end of his loan, would think it would just be permanent.

Stonewall
04-01-2022, 06:59 PM

I thought Hickey was going to Villa.

04-01-2022, 06:59 PM
Really?

I thought the everyone was saying his contract was up this summer?

Even then that loan would take him to the end of his loan, would think it would just be permanent.
But he'll still receive his full Arsenal wage for the 18 months with us paying an agreed %

04-01-2022, 07:02 PM
But he'll still receive his full Arsenal wage for the 18 months with us paying an agreed %

Very true.

Just hope we can get him permanently after that.

Bags of ability, strong and rapid.

04-01-2022, 07:03 PM
i still can't believe Everton have splashed so much money on patterson

in other news Watford have pulled out from wanting Barasic after Sevco knocked back £2m+ add-ons

I’m not sure why people are surprised at the Patterson fee. Players who go straight into a mid table squad in England are generally costing £10m+. Especially players with the potential of Patterson, with his whole career ahead of him.

Villa paid about £15m for Matty Cash. Wolves paid over £30m for Semedo. Granted those players were a bit more experienced but neither was proven in the EPL.

For less experienced players Southampton seem to have had a relative bargain at £6m odd I think for Livramento. Similar profile to Patterson but hadn’t played in Europe or internationally like Patterson has already I think.

Rangers knew Everton wanted him so why would they accept less than £10/12m? Good deal all round IMO

04-01-2022, 07:08 PM
A proper Tache for a start ! ( I think the tache was part of my problem, not a cool look to a 13 year old who had just bought his first Talking heads single)

And in another effort to defend the great man’s honour, here is how he would have looked to your 13 year old self in 1981.
Nae mowser and fit as a butcher’s dug!

https://i.ibb.co/ZJz3Vtv/DF462-B27-7-CFF-4344-ADF6-EF098-D0-E0-A84.jpg (https://ibb.co/xsqyDPw)

04-01-2022, 07:14 PM
Melkersen’s dad and agent both now following Hibs on Instagram.

Nice work. I checked the players account but not the others.

MagicSwirlingShip
04-01-2022, 07:14 PM
Trippier to Newcastle for around 12m. Seems a bit better value than the Patterson transfer to Everton IMO

04-01-2022, 07:21 PM
Trippier to Newcastle for around 12m. Seems a bit better value than the Patterson transfer to Everton IMO

He's also 11 years older than Paterson and probably had about 3 years left at the top level.

Steven79
Trippier to Newcastle for around 12m. Seems a bit better value than the Patterson transfer to Everton IMOThat's a bargain going by what English players normally go for.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

And in another effort to defend the great man’s honour, here is how he would have looked to your 13 year old self in 1981.

https://i.ibb.co/ZJz3Vtv/DF462-B27-7-CFF-4344-ADF6-EF098-D0-E0-A84.jpg (https://ibb.co/xsqyDPw)

The thing aboot Arthur was he had the right attitude always cheery looked after himself and always gave 100% for the cause

There were loads of other players I would’ve liked to have seen leave the club before him even when his powers were waning as he was Mr Reliable never let you down

One game he goat a bad injury EOSS versus Meadowbank and he was never seen again in a HIBS jersey after 626 appearances and 114 goals

04-01-2022, 07:29 PM

What a great picture!!
Arthur Duncan was such a big part of the Tornadoes but was also an evergreen part of the club for such a long time 👍🏻

04-01-2022, 07:34 PM

He’s 31 and likely on 5 to 10 x the salary Patterson is on.

MagicSwirlingShip
04-01-2022, 07:46 PM
He's also 11 years older than Paterson and probably had about 3 years left at the top level.

Just shows the gamble clubs are willing to take on supposed potential.

Greenworld
04-01-2022, 07:46 PM
If Patterson is worth £16m in EPL money then Doig is worth more than 2.7mTha age old were not the old firm.
would not suprise me to see him sign and be loaned back to hibs.
I think.hibs wanted 5 million last time.
Arsenal and other wanted to pay half that

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Paul1642
04-01-2022, 07:57 PM
Tha age old were not the old firm.
would not suprise me to see him sign and be loaned back to hibs.
I think.hibs wanted 5 million last time.
Arsenal and other wanted to pay half that

We may not be old firm but in the same way that certain teams selling players receive more, certain buyers can be strong armed into paying more due to their size.

We shouldn’t be selling a well contracted player to the English Premiership unless we are getting well more than he is worth to us.

If English Championship teams or the old firm want a player then it’s harder to hold out for big money. Doig won’t go for anywhere near the 2-3 million mark. McGinn and Robertson have set the precedent for what non old firm players can do and hopefully Patterson has set a new precedent for price.

On an unrelated note I find it more unbelievable in hindsight that Hearts managed to sell Craig Gordon for 9 million 14 years ago! That in its self would make us daft to settle for a low figure.

04-01-2022, 08:03 PM
The 4th official on Twitter is saying Clarke to Hibs is an 18 month loan with an option to buy.

Wonder if it’s a similar deal to Murphy.

04-01-2022, 08:05 PM
The 4th official on Twitter is saying Clarke to Hibs is an 18 month loan with an option to buy.

Fingers crossed. Let’s get this officially announced Hibs!

The option to buy would be excellent business. Felt a bit disheartened hearing it was just a long term loan deal, but if there’s the option to make it permanent then it’s an ideal situation.

I thought the initial loan deal for Murphy was to stop him playing against Sevco? There's no such conflict with the Clarke deal.....

04-01-2022, 08:12 PM
I’m not sure why people are surprised at the Patterson fee. Players who go straight into a mid table squad in England are generally costing £10m+. Especially players with the potential of Patterson, with his whole career ahead of him.

Villa paid about £15m for Matty Cash. Wolves paid over £30m for Semedo. Granted those players were a bit more experienced but neither was proven in the EPL.

For less experienced players Southampton seem to have had a relative bargain at £6m odd I think for Livramento. Similar profile to Patterson but hadn’t played in Europe or internationally like Patterson has already I think.

Rangers knew Everton wanted him so why would they accept less than £10/12m? Good deal all round IMO

Is he likely to go straight into their squad?

I'd have thought they'd want to punt him out on loan, let him get some experience (that he wasn't even really getting at Rangers), hopefully learn to defend and if that happens they've got a bargain.

They've wasted much bigger sums on players who may have had pedigree of sorts but who woefully failed to deliver on it.

It's potential they're buying and I'd be surprised to see him making any sort of inroads into their first team any time soon.

04-01-2022, 08:14 PM

Why is a hun fanzine reporting on Hibs transfers?

04-01-2022, 08:22 PM
Melkerson fee 5 million kroner £418000 seemingly

04-01-2022, 08:26 PM
I thought the initial loan deal for Murphy was to stop him playing against Sevco? There's no such conflict with the Clarke deal.....

My understanding of it was the same, albeit I imagine it also had something to do with benefitting all parties wage wise.

For example Murphy kept his larger rangers wage for a year, rangers paid less of the contracted wage and Hibs covered a large portion of it with the view to getting him permanently at the end.

Maybe contract wise it’s the same for Clarke. Saves Arsenal paying his full salary for 18 months or giving him a pay out.

Greenworld
04-01-2022, 08:27 PM

Wonder if it’s a similar deal to Murphy.I wonder if they still want Doig and the long loan is a sweetner

04-01-2022, 08:29 PM
Where are we getting the 2023 Arsenal contract for Clarke from?

I can't find anything that says other than 2022.

04-01-2022, 08:30 PM
...unless we get drawn against them in Europe next season:wink:

04-01-2022, 08:30 PM
I wonder if they still want Doig and the long loan is a sweetner

arsenal want Doig, when they already have tierney ? Watford fancied Doig but pulled out because mathie wanted £5m

04-01-2022, 08:31 PM

Fairly similar to the cost of a pint when I went to watch us in Molde.

Lee Marvin
04-01-2022, 08:35 PM

Do you have a source for this?

04-01-2022, 08:37 PM
Do you have a source for this?

Exchange rates are widely available.

😎

04-01-2022, 08:39 PM
Is he likely to go straight into their squad?

I'd have thought they'd want to punt him out on loan, let him get some experience (that he wasn't even really getting at Rangers), hopefully learn to defend and if that happens they've got a bargain.

They've wasted much bigger sums on players who may have had pedigree of sorts but who woefully failed to deliver on it.

It's potential they're buying and I'd be surprised to see him making any sort of inroads into their first team any time soon.

I think he’ll be straight in. They’ve had to play Jonjoe Kenny the last few games as their squad is so depleted.

The fans have turned against Seamus Coleman aswell, after pretty terrible form.

I think Patterson will get 5-10 starts before the end of the season as Coleman’s backup. Jonjoe Kenny wouldn’t merit a game for Hibs.

04-01-2022, 08:41 PM
Where are we getting the 2023 Arsenal contract for Clarke from?

I can't find anything that says other than 2022.

Tbh when Arsenal announced his new contract in 2019, it just said “new long term deal” and every report from the time says the same. Can’t see an official end date anywhere, although Football manager has 2022. [emoji2369][emoji2369]

04-01-2022, 08:56 PM
Osame Sahraoui heading to St Etienne.

https://twitter.com/ReindeerHotdog/status/1478481804625645570?t=mO5u6fjlcqSb-O0SB0U1Yg&s=19

04-01-2022, 09:13 PM
If the 418k figure is true that’s a lot of money for a young striker who has only ever played in the 2nd division in Norway!

We must value him really high. In fairness the Glimt fans all seem gutted he’s leaving.

With that sort of fee he’ll be expected to hit the ground running.

Hope for Ian Gordons sake this one pays off 😅

04-01-2022, 09:21 PM
Osame Sahraoui heading to St Etienne.

https://twitter.com/ReindeerHotdog/status/1478481804625645570?t=mO5u6fjlcqSb-O0SB0U1Yg&s=19

He’s on the phone to his agent as we speak trying to get a move to Hibs instead.

Where does this rank among our highest ever fees out of interest? Of course any true comparison needs to be adjusted for inflation!

I see The Rangers are reportedly close to signing an American laddie called SANDS. The staunch will be burning their season tickets again. :hilarious:hilarious

04-01-2022, 09:22 PM
If the 418k figure is true that’s a lot of money for a young striker who has only ever played in the 2nd division in Norway!

We must value him really high. In fairness the Glimt fans all seem gutted he’s leaving.

With that sort of fee he’ll be expected to hit the ground running.

Hope for Ian Gordons sake this one pays off 😅

Sure Mathie will get the blame if it doesn't work out 🤣

King Cosell
04-01-2022, 09:23 PM
He’s on the phone to his agent as we speak trying to get a move to Hibs instead.

Osame can break the Hearts.

04-01-2022, 09:24 PM
Where does this rank among our highest ever fees out of interest? Of course any true comparison needs to be adjusted for inflation!

De La Cruz £700k

Sold to villa 1 year later roughly for 1.5 - 2 million

I didn’t even think he was that good to be honest

04-01-2022, 09:24 PM

St Etienne and Hibs were the same team in Subutteo when I was younger, maybe they got the wrong one 😁

04-01-2022, 09:29 PM
De La Cruz £700k

I liked him; he bombed forward effectively. He did well at Villa.

04-01-2022, 09:32 PM

To be honest I was probably still mourning my hero as a boy with latapy having just left and expected him to be an absolute world bearer for the fee we paid.

04-01-2022, 09:35 PM
De La Cruz £700k

You forgetting the 2 goals against Hearts.

04-01-2022, 09:40 PM
De La Cruz £700k

Don’t know if he posts on here any more but can someone check to make sure Andy74 is ok?

King Cosell
04-01-2022, 09:41 PM

Remember amazing game we lost 4-3 v Aberdeen, one of Sauzee's last in charge. He was incredible bombing forward, shambles at the back.

04-01-2022, 09:44 PM
Remember amazing game we lost 4-3 v Aberdeen, one of Sauzee's last in charge. He was incredible bombing forward, shambles at the back.

Did we have him and Alen Orman as our right back options?

MagicSwirlingShip
04-01-2022, 09:47 PM
You forgetting the 2 goals against Hearts.

He was really good against AEK at Easter Rd

Cat Stanton
04-01-2022, 09:49 PM
De La Cruz £700k

De La Cruz is now an MP it seems: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulises_de_la_Cruz

(And before anyone asks, he's still playing on the left...)

04-01-2022, 09:49 PM
The guy who went to have a decent career in the EPL wasn't that good?

[emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

King Cosell
04-01-2022, 09:50 PM
Did we have him and Alen Orman as our right back options?

Both played all season, 2001/02, can't remember how it worked.

04-01-2022, 09:55 PM

[emoji23]

Think the point is that he wasn’t as good as expected at Hibs. Regardless of what he went on to achieve I think that’s still a pretty fair point.

With a few notable exceptions, I don’t think he did live up to expectations,

cameronw-hfc
04-01-2022, 09:55 PM

[emoji23]

He was literally nicknamed Useless De La Cruz by the Villa fans for being...useless 😂

04-01-2022, 09:57 PM
He was literally nicknamed Useless De La Cruz by the Villa fans for being...useless [emoji23]He was also dubbed that by idiots in our own support

You don't play as many games as he did at that level by being useless

04-01-2022, 10:01 PM
He was also dubbed that by idiots in our own support

Not sure how accurate it is but Wiki has him playing something like 89 times for Villa between 02-06 before a free to Reading. Not sure if he was injured in that time but 89 appearances doesn't sound great.

cameronw-hfc
04-01-2022, 10:05 PM
He was also dubbed that by idiots in our own support

I don't remember him, was just before my time of picking up Villa as a second team, but I know he's not highly thought of at Villa.

And you most certainly can be useless and play a lot of games in the Prem. Djemba-Djemba, Squillaci, Titus Bramble to name a few. He may have been good for Hibs, but he's not considered a decent former player for Villa, hence the nickname.

LeithMike
04-01-2022, 10:05 PM
Both played all season, 2001/02, can't remember how it worked.I think Allen Orman was one of the reasons DLC didn't fully succeed. He ended up playing right back a lot of the time with DLC in right midfield. DLC couldn't play with his back to goal and looked lost in midfield. He was an excellent full back and amazing on the overlap making lovely crosses. I don't think he was suited to British football and would have been ideally suited to playing in Spain.

Also showed a failure in our management of the time - thinking an attacking fullback like DLC could play in midfield.

Great song and looked a really nice guy, just a shame he was played out of position so much and probably didn't have the confidence to adapt to the big change in football.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

04-01-2022, 10:19 PM
Not sure how accurate it is but Wiki has him playing something like 89 times for Villa between 02-06 before a free to Reading. Not sure if he was injured in that time but 89 appearances doesn't sound great.

League appearances. He played 100 games in total for Villa, over four seasons, the last of which was a virtual write off, due injury and then falling out of favour with a new manager (O’Leary).

04-01-2022, 10:22 PM
Im a long time season ticket holder, and have been away season ticket holder for 2/3 years (open to correction)). If this site was a true representation of our support, I would quit tmrw.

04-01-2022, 10:27 PM
Im a long time season ticket holder, and have been away season ticket holder for 2/3 years (open to correction)). If this site was a true representation of our support, I would quit tmrw.

Wait till you find the Hibs supporter groups on Facebook.

04-01-2022, 10:35 PM

[emoji23]

Do you just make the posts up you reply to yourself

As another poster said he came with high expectations. It’s prob the equivalent of us signing a £2 million quid player now, we would want decent contribution.

That Aberdeen game 4-3 I was at also and he like a rabbit in headlights defensively.

Joey Barton played hundreds of games in the English premier league and was a joke in scotland….

04-01-2022, 10:43 PM

As another poster said he came with high expectations. It’s prob the equivalent of us signing a £2 million quid player now, we would want decent contribution.

That Aberdeen game 4-3 I was at also and he like a rabbit in headlights defensively.

Joey Barton played hundreds of games in the English premier league and was a joke in scotland….

Barton was rubbish here , as was Roy Keane. Both were at the tail end of very good careers by the time they stumbled in to our league

For me De la Cruz struggled to adapt to the pace and physicality of our game and he also joined a side that was in decline. No surprise really, but he did clearly learn, as his spells at Villa and Reading testifies to.

04-01-2022, 10:47 PM

Joey Barton played hundreds of games in the English premier league and was a joke in scotland….I remember walking away from the Aberdeen game thinking it was one of the best individual performances I had seen for ages

Only to start reading we lost because it was all his fault [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Still, 1 season in Scotland and what, trebled our money?

Wouldnt mind some more of that uselesses

04-01-2022, 10:48 PM
Barton was rubbish here , as was Roy Keane. Both were at the tail end of very good careers by the time they stumbled in to our league

For me De la Cruz struggled to adapt to the pace and physicality of our game and he also joined a side that was in decline. No surprise really, but he did clearly learn, as his spells at Villa and Reading testifies to.

Ultimately imo of course I thought he was a bit meh. Very fast, didn’t like a 50/50.

Two goals against them, brilliant

Other than that. Can’t recall to many stand out moments.

04-01-2022, 10:50 PM
I remember walking away from the Aberdeen game thinking it was one of the best individual performances I had seen for ages

Only to start reading we lost because it was all his fault [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Still, 1 season in Scotland and what, trebled our money?

Wouldnt mind some more of that uselesses

Your right
You win

04-01-2022, 10:51 PM

Strange thing to say in amongst a very timid debate about an ex player. Over dramatic.

04-01-2022, 11:21 PM
Your right
You winI have no idea why you are being so antsy about it

You literally said 'I didn't think he was that good'

No sure how that's me making up anything

Anyway, it was certainly successful from a financial point of view regardless what anyone thinks of him as a player

I guess that's means that folk within the EPL at that time thought he wasn't useless and worth paying the cash for, whether we agree with it or not

Id take more of our signings going for triple what we paid

As you said it would be like signing a 2 million pound player now which would mean selling him January 2023 for 6 million

Ron would be loving it

Paul1642
04-01-2022, 11:32 PM
Maybe a separate thread for De la Cruz and back to transfer news and rumours here. I can’t see him coming out of retirement at 47 :)

05-01-2022, 12:56 AM
:hyper

05-01-2022, 01:38 AM
Strange thing to say in amongst a very timid debate about an ex player. Over dramatic.

Ex player. This is a winter transfer thread.

05-01-2022, 05:49 AM

Barton is a ridiculous comparison. He was 34 and came from the Championship, not the Premier League.

He also only played 8 games and everyone knew he had zero pre-season when he started his first game.

05-01-2022, 06:09 AM
Another car crash transfer window thread, pages and pages of peoples memories.

05-01-2022, 06:14 AM
Another car crash transfer window thread, pages and pages of peoples memories.

I thought the topic of this thread was middle aged Ecuadorian centre left politicians.

Back to De La Cruz, does anyone think he could still do a job for us at 47?

05-01-2022, 06:30 AM

Hey, it could be worse. I literally just woke up from a dream where some guy drew up a bunch of my posts side-by-side to outline why he thought I was a hypocrite.

05-01-2022, 06:37 AM

He must also have a really bad memory, if he’s willing to be corrected by a bunch of total strangers on dot net about how long he’s had an away season ticket.

…anyone think Marc Libbra could still do a job at 49?

05-01-2022, 06:45 AM
Is there any actual transfer news?

Is there any way posts about the winter transfer window 2021-22 can be highlighted so that we can stop wasting our time scrolling through irrelevant rubbish?

05-01-2022, 06:50 AM
Is there any actual transfer news?

Is there any way posts about the winter transfer window 2021-22 can be highlighted so that we can stop wasting our time scrolling through irrelevant rubbish?

So you don't think De La Cruz would still do a job for us then? 🤣

05-01-2022, 06:57 AM
Some rumours of Jordan Jones going back to Killie although don’t know if that’s their fans hoping more than anything.

If there’s an opportunity for him leaving though we should be all over it imo.

05-01-2022, 07:03 AM
So you don't think De La Cruz would still do a job for us then? 🤣

A much better job than some posters on here can post anything worthwhile about the winter transfer window 2021-22.

05-01-2022, 07:13 AM
A much better job than some posters on here can post anything worthwhile about the winter transfer window 2021-22.

On topic. Reported.

More seriously, was amazed that one of my favourite players to watch Lorenzo Insigne, is moving to MLS also rans Toronto from Napoli after spending virtually his whole career in Naples. Quite a decision.

05-01-2022, 07:13 AM
Some rumours of Jordan Jones going back to Killie although don’t know if that’s their fans hoping more than anything.

If there’s an opportunity for him leaving though we should be all over it imo.

Isn’t he a left sided forward? That’s what Mueller is, as well as. Murphy and the Norwegian guy we are after….feels like we would be well resourced for that position…..

05-01-2022, 07:19 AM
Tam saying if boyle is to go then should be for 4-5 million.

Was a slow day yesterday for rumours and news, let's see what today brings.

05-01-2022, 07:19 AM
Isn’t he a left sided forward? That’s what Mueller is, as well as. Murphy and the Norwegian guy we are after….feels like we would be well resourced for that position…..

Mueller has played 90% of his games on the right

05-01-2022, 07:21 AM
Man this thread, as the old saying goes this game needs a goal desperately. :greengrin

05-01-2022, 07:23 AM

I hope you’re not using Transfermarkt as a source for that information, it’s notoriously inaccurate for position data.

05-01-2022, 07:30 AM
I hope you’re not using Transfermarkt as a source for that information, it’s notoriously inaccurate for position data.

I've watched him plenty. He's rarely played on the left. There are plenty more sources than transfermarkt for info btw.

05-01-2022, 07:33 AM

I’m going to assume you know better than me as you take time to post this. The only three games I have watched him he has always started and played most of the game wide left of a three upfront.…

05-01-2022, 07:37 AM
I’m going to assume you know better than me as you take time to post this. The only three games I have watched him he has always started and played most of the game wide left of a three upfront.…

I watched a lot of MLS football, particularly on a Sunday Night, as well as the MLS round up show on Sky and Freesports. I was aware of him well before we signed him. Every game he played wide right.

05-01-2022, 07:38 AM
Left or Right, what does it matter?

05-01-2022, 07:40 AM

Quite important when driving. :greengrin

05-01-2022, 07:41 AM

I think in this case it does as I can't see him playing there as it's Boyler's position.

If he could play left, you'd expect him to have a track record of doing so and he doesn't.

Take Boyler for example. Excellent on the right, nowhere near as good on the left.

HendoDelivered
05-01-2022, 07:46 AM
Anyone reckon if we get all 3 of these signings done, that will probably be us in terms of incomings? We now have Mueller available too

Souter96Mac
05-01-2022, 07:49 AM
Anyone reckon if we get all 3 of these signings done, that will probably be us in terms of incomings? We now have Mueller available too

I think there will be more incomings, but they will either follow/be followed by outgoings of some fringe players and potentially one or two key players (Nisbet, Boyle, Doig, Porto)

I can't see the club being keen on selling more than one from that above list, unless silly money is offered and we have quality replacements lined up.

I'm still expecting a fair bit of change in the squad between now and February.

Should start taking bets at how many incomings and outgoings there will be!

05-01-2022, 07:49 AM

Tait as well. Was thinking about that last night. Personally think that'll be us done, maybe a loan if needed. Can see five or six heading out.

05-01-2022, 07:51 AM

If we sign this guy from Norway, and Clarke, along with Mueller and Tait, we do have a good squad to get us to the end of the season.

I suppose we will lose some players in this window, but hopefully it's just those like Mellberg Gogic and the likes, who have not contributed much this season.

05-01-2022, 07:53 AM
If we sign this guy from Norway, and Clarke, along with Mueller and Tait, we do have a good squad to get us to the end of the season.

I suppose we will lose some players in this window, but hopefully it's just those like Mellberg Gogic and the likes, who have not contributed much this season.

Get the impression at least one of Nisbet and Porto will leave.

05-01-2022, 07:55 AM
Get the impression at least one of Nisbet and Porto will leave.

Aye maybe, if i had to pick, then i'd rather it was Nisbet.

05-01-2022, 08:03 AM

If one of the players does go for big money, I wonder if the club will look at other targets that we have already identified and try to bring them in this window - like we were going to buy that Norwegian guy if Doig had left last summer. Or wiil we keep our powder dry and wait until summer?

05-01-2022, 08:04 AM
Aye maybe, if i had to pick, then i'd rather it was Nisbet.

Agree think we would get a good enough replacement in. Actually think there will be a turnover of players with folk like Newell leaving maybe Doidge not sure. Also think a goalie will come in as simply Macey will struggle to play the style Shaun wants to play. Some guesswork there obviously but wouldn't be surprised if an overhaul of squad

05-01-2022, 08:12 AM
I watched a lot of MLS football, particularly on a Sunday Night, as well as the MLS round up show on Sky and Freesports. I was aware of him well before we signed him. Every game he played wide right.

Out of interest what’s your opinion on mueller since you’ve seen him more than most?

Once he signed I watched 3 Orlando games but in all of them he was pretty quiet. Looked like he worked hard, had pace and a decent cross but hardly got the ball as all the play went through Nani.

I was a bit underwhelmed based on my high expectations but Orlando fans all seem to say he was brilliant until we announced him as signing and then his form dipped.

05-01-2022, 08:14 AM
Tait as well. Was thinking about that last night. Personally think that'll be us done, maybe a loan if needed. Can see five or six heading out.

Yay doesn’t balance though. Losing 5-6 and bringing in those mentioned still leaves us with a squad that lacks depth. We need to add another 2-3 quality players to the current numbers to pad out the squad for the second half of the season as that’s been our issue it’s not big enough.

Souter96Mac
05-01-2022, 08:21 AM
Out of interest what’s your opinion on mueller since you’ve seen him more than most?

Once he signed I watched 3 Orlando games but in all of them he was pretty quiet. Looked like he worked hard, had pace and a decent cross but hardly got the ball as all the play went through Nani.

I was a bit underwhelmed based on my high expectations but Orlando fans all seem to say he was brilliant until we announced him as signing and then his form dipped.

I know there was a lot of chat about us trying to get him to join in Summer. I wonder after that not materialising, that affected him? Or maybe the team just tactically chose to focus through Nani, as I imagine he's there best player anyway.

05-01-2022, 08:22 AM
I agree I think we’ll still see movement in and out.

Can see any of the following leaving

Mitchell/Dabrowski
Gullan
Mackie
Hallberg
Wright
Gogic
Allan
Scott
Murphy
Porteous
Doig
Nisbet

I think Porteous will 100% he away as his contract is running down and we’ll want a healthy return whilst we can and not end up like hearts with Soutter. I’m not convinced Nisbet will have too many clubs chasing him after only scoring 5 goals this season, especially when we’re likely wanting 2 million plus.

Wright, Hallberg, Allan, Gogic and Murphy are all out of contract at the end of the season so again they might want to leave or we might not want them anymore/think we’ll get better value elsewhere.

Mackie and Gullan I just can’t see them breaking into the team and holding down a position. I actually feel bad for Mackie as he’s always looked good to me but has had awful luck with injuries.

Can see Scott being recalled by Hull as he’s hardly playing or Maloney terminating the loan.

I also fail to see the point in us having Mitchell and Dabrowski in the current squad when both are going to play unless Macey is injured. Surely Macey + 1 other with Samson and a youngster being emergency back up.

Plenty opportunity to change the squad if Maloney wants.

05-01-2022, 08:27 AM
He must also have a really bad memory, if he’s willing to be corrected by a bunch of total strangers on dot net about how long he’s had an away season ticket.

…anyone think Marc Libbra could still do a job at 49?

Hey, never mind having a pop at people with bad…
What was I doing just then? It’ll come back to me

05-01-2022, 08:31 AM

Gullan
Mackie
Hallberg
Wright
Gogic
Allan
Scott
Murphy
Porteous
Doig
Nisbet

I think Porteous will 100% he away as his contract is running down and we’ll want a healthy return whilst we can and not end up like hearts with Soutter. I’m not convinced Nisbet will have too many clubs chasing him after only scoring 5 goals this season, especially when we’re likely wanting 2 million plus.

Wright, Hallberg, Allan, Gogic and Murphy are all out of contract at the end of the season so again they might want to leave or we might not want them anymore/think we’ll get better value elsewhere.

Mackie and Gullan I just can’t see them breaking into the team and holding down a position. I actually feel bad for Mackie as he’s always looked good to me but has had awful luck with injuries.

Can see Scott being recalled by Hull as he’s hardly playing or Maloney terminating the loan.

I also fail to see the point in us having Mitchell and Dabrowski in the current squad when both are going to play unless Macey is injured. Surely Macey + 1 other with Samson and a youngster being emergency back up.

Out of that list I'd only be disappointed to see Porteous and Hallberg go. I'd like to see more of Hallberg before I make my mind up.

Dmas
05-01-2022, 08:34 AM

Gullan
Mackie
Hallberg
Wright
Gogic
Allan
Scott
Murphy
Porteous
Doig
Nisbet

I worry the ship has sailed on at least a half decent fee for Porto unless he signs a new deal, I think his disciplinary issues this season will put teams off bidding in Jan and by the time the summer comes round you’d be as well sitting on ur hands for 6months to pick him up for free

05-01-2022, 08:35 AM

The player he reminded me of most was Martin Boyle. Quick and always seemed to want to go on the outside. When we signed him, I immediately assumed Boyle would be off as they play in the same position. On top of that, we're clearly paying him quite a bit so I didn't see us doing that to stick him on the bench.

05-01-2022, 08:36 AM
I worry the ship has sailed on at least a half decent fee for Porto unless he signs a new deal, I think his disciplinary issues this season will put teams off bidding in Jan and by the time the summer comes round you’d be as well sitting on ur hands for 6months to pick him up for free

We got nearly £3m for McGinn when he had a year left. I think he wants to go south and I think there will be plenty interest which should generate a decent fee.

05-01-2022, 08:40 AM
Out of that list I'd only be disappointed to see Porteous and Hallberg go. I'd like to see more of Hallberg before I make my mind up.

And for me that’s the problem, far too many players in our squad don’t contribute and it wouldn’t even be noticeable if they left.

We seem to have a core group of 13 or so players that when fit play and the rest don’t come into consideration.

05-01-2022, 08:42 AM

Gullan
Mackie
Hallberg
Wright
Gogic
Allan
Scott
Murphy
Porteous
Doig
Nisbet

Nisbet has 6 goals this season, but I agree, he won't have as many suitors during this transfer window.

Porto has 18 months on his contract, that makes the comparison with Souttar a bit different. I'm not sure what the club will consider good money for him at this point in his career. I would rather he stayed and improved his game and his temperament. However, I suspect he wants away from Scottish football. Then it's about getting the best deal for the club. An unhappy player isn't the best outcome, so if he's set on going then I reckon the fee will be a compromised.

Doig's form this season would rule out any big money move for him. His career is best served by continuing to learn the game at Hibs.

All the rest mentioned can go, starting with Scott (he's been a shocker). I suppose wages might be on obstacle for guys like Allan and Murphy, both of whom will be top earners at Hibs. For all of them, it will come down to their desire to play and whether there are clubs willing to take them on.

I'd like to see wholesale changes and all the fringe players exit, it would give Maloney more options to bring in players he likes and freshen things up a bit.

05-01-2022, 08:44 AM
And for me that’s the problem, far too many players in our squad don’t contribute and it wouldn’t even be noticeable if they left.

We seem to have a core group of 13 or so players that when fit play and the rest don’t come into consideration.

Hope that changes as only positive from a squad point of view. Ridiculous the lack of rotation in the squad especially the two games at the end of the year Ross and Livi where the team were exhausted and no changes brought in.

Dmas
05-01-2022, 08:44 AM
We got nearly £3m for McGinn when he had a year left. I think he wants to go south and I think there will be plenty interest which should generate a decent fee.

Aye ur possibly right, if there was plenty interest they’d have made themselves known with the millwall bid surely though? I’m not convinced with the foreign offers think it could be agents at work

05-01-2022, 08:48 AM

He’s played on the left in most of the games I’ve watched. But tbh he will be flexible like Boyle so it doesn’t really matter where we think he played in e MLS.

05-01-2022, 09:04 AM
Nisbet has 6 goals this season, but I agree, he won't have as many suitors during this transfer window.

Porto has 18 months on his contract, that makes the comparison with Souttar a bit different. I'm not sure what the club will consider good money for him at this point in his career. I would rather he stayed and improved his game and his temperament. However, I suspect he wants away from Scottish football. Then it's about getting the best deal for the club. An unhappy player isn't the best outcome, so if he's set on going then I reckon the fee will be a compromised.

Doig's form this season would rule out any big money move for him. His career is best served by continuing to learn the game at Hibs.

All the rest mentioned can go, starting with Scott (he's been a shocker). I suppose wages might be on obstacle for guys like Allan and Murphy, both of whom will be top earners at Hibs. For all of them, it will come down to their desire to play and whether there are clubs willing to take them on.

I'd like to see wholesale changes and all the fringe players exit, it would give Maloney more options to bring in players he likes and freshen things up a bit.

Apologies, meant 5 goals in the league.

Yeah Porteous has 18 months left hence why I think we’ll try and cash in now and not allow us to lose out on money like hearts will with Souter.

I actually think Doig has been fine this season and a-lot more solid defensively. Maybe not the same fuss about him this season as he’s not the new boy anymore. I’m not convinced we’d get anything more than 2.5-3 million upfront for him though. He needs to improve technically for me quite a bit and use the ball better, if the PL is his aim he needs to be a lot more accurate in playing out from the back and retaining possession imo.

The only thing I’d be scared of with whole sale changes is upsetting the harmony of the squad and them taking a while to adjust, but hopefully the mainstay players help the transition.

05-01-2022, 09:05 AM

Mitchell/Dabrowski
Gullan
Mackie
Hallberg
Wright
Gogic
Allan
Scott
Murphy
Porteous
Doig
Nisbet

You need 3 senior keepers who are available to step in due to injuries suspension etc, Samson is the coach he shouldn’t be spoken about as any form of back up.

05-01-2022, 09:07 AM
I thought the topic of this thread was middle aged Ecuadorian centre left politicians.

Back to De La Cruz, does anyone think he could still do a job for us at 47?

Only in the Matty Jack role :wink:

05-01-2022, 09:09 AM
Worried we might lose Boyle if an Arabic or Chinese club offer him ridiculous money.

05-01-2022, 09:12 AM
Worried we might lose Boyle if an Arabic or Chinese club offer him ridiculous money.

It will be good money to the club also.

Whilst Boyle is good, he’s not irreplaceable. We won in Perth when he was suspended.

05-01-2022, 09:13 AM
With the Red tops reporting that Clarke, Henderson and Melkerson were being shown around HTC yesterday you would hope they would start being announced today?

05-01-2022, 09:13 AM
You need 3 senior keepers who are available to step in due to injuries suspension etc, Samson is the coach he shouldn’t be spoken about as any form of back up.

The problem with our keepers is Macey, not Dabrowski.Samson is a coach and Mitchell was a random signing for no good reason at the very end of a bad window who adds nothing. Not Mathies fault JR gives mates jobs ( remember Stephen McGinn?)

05-01-2022, 09:14 AM
A couple of signings today before I head back to work please.

Lord Latapy
05-01-2022, 09:20 AM
I have to admit that i am uneasy about this transfer window.

Harry Clarke,he has been part of one of the worst defences in the league,not only this season but last season at Oldham also,only last week he gave both goals away against that lot.

Ewan Henderson,Has been at both County and The Pars and by all accounts left no impression.

Elias Melkersson,Has yet to start a 1st team game for Bod/Glimt and has been playing in the Norwegian 2nd division in front of 1000 fans yet we are spending (allegedly £400 k on him????)Would rather go for Rudden.

Missing out on McGrath to the sheep is a massive blow.

All sounds a bit panicky and mental to me,who has scouted them?Ian Gordon?Matie before he left?Nobody knows do they.:cb

05-01-2022, 09:20 AM
Quite important when driving. :greengrin

Or getting an amputation.

05-01-2022, 09:22 AM

Harry Clarke,he has been part of one of the worst defences in the league,not only this season but last season at Oldham also,only last week he gave both goals away against that lot.

Ewan Henderson,Has been at both County and The Pars and by all accounts left no impression.

Elias Melkersson,Has yet to start a 1st team game for Bod/Glimt and has been playing in the Norwegian 2nd division in front of 1000 fans yet we are spending (allegedly £400 k on him????)Would rather go for Rudden.

All sounds a bit panicky and mental to me,who has scouted them?Ian Gordon?Matie before he left?Nobody knows do they.:cb

Truly magnificent

Victor
05-01-2022, 09:22 AM

[emoji1787]

05-01-2022, 09:23 AM
Agree think we would get a good enough replacement in. Actually think there will be a turnover of players with folk like Newell leaving maybe Doidge not sure. Also think a goalie will come in as simply Macey will struggle to play the style Shaun wants to play. Some guesswork there obviously but wouldn't be surprised if an overhaul of squad
I will never profess to being technically minded as far as football goes, didn't play beyond school level, have never coached football but have never heard this before - a goalie struggling to play to a certain style. Can you enlighten me?

05-01-2022, 09:23 AM

I must say I don’t rate this effort. If I go to troll another team’s forum, I reckon I would at least say something that bigs a few of the players up so it at the least seems genuine

Lord Latapy
05-01-2022, 09:27 AM
I must say I don’t rate this effort. If I go to troll another team’s forum, I reckon I would at least say something that bigs a few of the players up so it at the least seems genuine

Not at all,i just really hope Ian Gordon knows what he is doing,would hate to see a repeat of Fenlons 2012 window.GGTTH

If Porteous was to go then surely we would need another central defender in as well as Clarke.

Partyraiser

is this the internet forum equivalent of opening your mouth to let your belly rumble?

05-01-2022, 09:29 AM

Welcome to the Forum 😁

05-01-2022, 09:29 AM
Not at all,i just really hope Ian Gordon knows what he is doing,would hate to see a repeat of Fenlons 2012 window.GGTTH

Can’t do any worse than the 90 odd duffers Levein signed for Hearts over the space of about three seasons.

05-01-2022, 09:30 AM

Lord Latapy, you are George Foulkes & I hereby claim my £303 (per day, in a corrupt decaying House of Lords way)

You're going to fit right in here.

HendoDelivered

Cute

05-01-2022, 09:31 AM

Jambo, 100%…

05-01-2022, 09:31 AM

How's Maulary Martin working out?

05-01-2022, 09:33 AM
is this the internet forum equivalent of opening your mouth to let your belly rumble?

More like a wee pre-porcelain ‘dribble’ stain before the full Niagara Falls of George Foulks pishybreekery.

The Sundance Kid
05-01-2022, 09:33 AM
If Porteous was to go then surely we would need another central defender in as well as Clarke.

Moira Gordon stated in an article that on top of Melkersen, Henderson and Clarke, we would look to add further defensive options, as well as letting some players leave. Therefore, I would expect at least one centre half to be signed as well as the 3 players already linked

05-01-2022, 09:36 AM
I will never profess to being technically minded as far as football goes, didn't play beyond school level, have never coached football but have never heard this before - a goalie struggling to play to a certain style. Can you enlighten me?

I think he means keeping possession of the ball with sharp passing of the ball out of his hands, whether it be throwing or kicking.

It is probably the weakest part of Macey's game.

Kicking the ball straight into the stands isn't what SM will be looking for.

I would have thought it is something that MM could work on to be honest.

05-01-2022, 09:38 AM
Anyone beginning to sweat on these suggested three deals getting across the line?
Those of us who can sweat that is. :wink:

05-01-2022, 09:41 AM

A goalie who can distrubute the ball from hand and foot quickly and accurately, can pass the ball and keeep the game flowing? Who doesn't take 10 minutes to take s goal kick? (How many times has he been booked for time wasting now?)

05-01-2022, 09:45 AM
A goalie who can distrubute the ball from hand and foot quickly and accurately, can pass the ball and keeep the game flowing? Who doesn't take 10 minutes to take s goal kick? (How many times has he been booked for time wasting now?)

Matt Macey has only ever been booked once for Hibs.

05-01-2022, 09:45 AM

Ha ha ,, nice try , now get back to keek back 😂

05-01-2022, 09:48 AM

It’s nonsense. Has he struggled in the last 2 games? There are very few sweeper keepers at the SPL level.

Superb!

True laugh out loud moment!

Please announce a signing Hibs before everyone loses their minds

05-01-2022, 09:50 AM
Anyone beginning to sweat on these suggested three deals getting across the line?

Pretty cool about it, all three will come with two being loans and one permanent.

05-01-2022, 09:50 AM

It’s the 5th. 😂😂

05-01-2022, 09:51 AM
I think he means keeping possession of the ball with sharp passing of the ball out of his hands, whether it be throwing or kicking.

Can't argue with that but where does distribution rank alongside other goalie attributes eg shot stopping, coming for crosses, organisation at set pieces etc.
I wouldn't see weak distribution being a reason to get rid of a goalie who has proven to be a very competent shot-stopper. I also agree, I'd expect a professional goalie to be able to work on and improve effective distribution in line with the desired style of play much more easily than other attributes.

05-01-2022, 09:53 AM
It’s nonsense. Has he struggled in the last 2 games? There are very few sweeper keepers at the SPL level.

His distribution is brutal, kicks are basically giving the ball back and he takes an age to do it, allowing opponents to get back into their shape.

05-01-2022, 09:56 AM

Definitely his biggest weakness and something he can improve but to be fair many/most goalies struggle with this.

05-01-2022, 09:58 AM
Matt Macey has only ever been booked once for Hibs.

Hate it when stats are used in this way. Was it for time wasting?

05-01-2022, 10:01 AM
Pretty cool about it, all three will come with two being loans and one permanent.

Henderson loan to sign like Murphy? Celtic not wanting him to come back and bite them this season.

05-01-2022, 10:03 AM
Definitely his biggest weakness and something he can improve but to be fair many/most goalies struggle with this.

:agree: I dont know the percentages, but a very high percentage of balls kicked out from keepers is bound to go to the opposition, purely as they will be outnumbered if the ball is punted long.

I do agree that Macey could be better at short passes though, and he does need to work on that along with his defenders.

05-01-2022, 10:06 AM

Are you a glass half full or half empty person? It's so hard to tell when people sit on the fence like that. :greengrin

05-01-2022, 10:07 AM

No idea. Probably. But you'd think he'd have more than 1 booking in a year if he was taking 10 minutes per kick.

05-01-2022, 10:13 AM
No idea. Probably. But you'd think he'd have more than 1 booking in a year if he was taking 10 minutes per kick.

Definitely. If someone just read the post you replied to they might come away thinking he was regularly suspended due to it - despite it being effectively non existent.

05-01-2022, 10:14 AM
If hibs.net got a quid for every time I’m clicking refresh hoping to see a signing we could prob buy griffiths for £250k

05-01-2022, 10:16 AM
:agree: I dont know the percentages, but a very high percentage of balls kicked out from keepers is bound to go to the opposition, purely as they will be outnumbered if the ball is punted long.

I do agree that Macey could be better at short passes though, and he does need to work on that along with his defenders.

He does - they need to work on it as a unit.

Most opposition goalies also kick the ball out the park at least once per game. Sometimes in panic and other times because they're aiming to the touchline for someone to flick it down the line so a smaller margin for error.

05-01-2022, 10:17 AM
If hibs.net got a quid for every time I’m clicking refresh hoping to see a signing we could prob buy griffiths for £250k

The official site and twitter will both be quicker than here.

davhibby
05-01-2022, 10:18 AM
Marciano’s distribution was brutal for the first 18 months he was here. No reason why Macey can’t work on it and improve

05-01-2022, 10:18 AM
Definitely. If someone just read the post you replied to they might come away thinking he was regularly suspended due to it - despite it being effectively non existent.

Posters are also regularly complaining over the years that we are ‘too soft’ ‘not streetwise enough’…If Macey has mastered controlling the clock when we have the lead and possession without getting booked…that’s a good thing no?

Also, from what we have seen from Maloney, the snappy short passes to wide players near the bye line is going to be Maceys bread and butter distribution now, not the drop kick or side volley to the halfway line, and I think we’ll see improvements in ball retention across the whole team.

05-01-2022, 10:20 AM
His distribution is brutal, kicks are basically giving the ball back and he takes an age to do it, allowing opponents to get back into their shape.

How general kicking has been poor. He’s more than capable of playing basic wall passes between CBs and wingbacks. He does it in every game.

05-01-2022, 10:27 AM
We aren’t even looking at bringing a keeper in this window So what’s the point in using a transfer thread to slag off our current No 1

BS44
05-01-2022, 10:27 AM
Macey is much better at commanding his box than Marciano.

05-01-2022, 10:29 AM
If we do sign Ewan Henderson, where does he fit in?
If Maloney sticks with a 3-4-3, is he athletic enough for the two central midfield roles, where we already have Newell, Campbell, JDH, Tait & maybe a returning Hallberg, with Magennis hopefully recovering too, assuming Gogic is not in the long-term plan? That only really leaves left of the main striker since Boyle is nailed down on the right.
Depth and versatility are obviously important and Henderson is good with both feet but we have Mueller, Mackay, Wright, Murphy & Allan also in contention for that problematic attacking position on the left and possibly even Nisbet if Doidge goes through the middle, with Bradley to come back.
A few of the guys mentioned will be moving on sooner or later and we need quality cover but does Henderson start in our best XI in the second half of the season?

Clarke's first job will be to replace the suspended Porteous and then he's probably in competition with McGinn for the third centre-back position on the right.
Good to get Mueller in if Boyle misses a few games playing for the Aussies but we don't know how he'll adapt.
The Norwegian kid is more of a punt for the future and that deal looks harder to get done than the others, given interest from elsewhere and foreign signing red tape.
Building a squad and succession planning are important but it would be great to find someone in this window who would make an instant impact and really lift the team as an attacking force. Fingers crossed...

Rumble de Thump
05-01-2022, 10:29 AM

He was booked against Dundee United in the League Cup, supposedly for time wasting, as he was about to take a goal kick. No other bookings as far as I can recall.

05-01-2022, 10:38 AM

And his distribution is on a par.

05-01-2022, 10:40 AM
He was booked against Dundee United in the League Cup, supposedly for time wasting, as he was about to take a goal kick. No other bookings as far as I can recall.

"Supposedly" :faf:

I was there that night, he'd been warned already. Stuck a tenner on him to be booked at 33/1 and it came in about 60 seconds later.

05-01-2022, 10:41 AM
And his distribution is on a par.

I agree - I don't get why so many are picking him out as one of our main points of weakness.

Nah.

King Cosell
If you search Ewan Henderson on Twitter it's all love from Celtic fans, lots gutted he's leaving. Cracking young player with huge future. Rodgers a big fan, sidelined when Lennon took over.

05-01-2022, 10:43 AM
If you search Ewan Henderson on Twitter it's all love from Celtic fans, lots gutted he's leaving. Cracking young player with huge future. Rodgers a big fan, sidelined when Lennon took over.

It's a weird one really - he played 8 games for them in total. Wonder why so much of a love-in?

05-01-2022, 10:46 AM
I agree - I don't get why so many are picking him out as one of our main points of weakness.

I thought Marciano was a really good shot stopper with great reactions but he constantly slowed play down taking an age to get play going. Also people forget how many mistakes he made and getting himself dropped two or three times. I was never a huge fan of his and I'm more than happy with Macey as a replacement.

Rumble de Thump
05-01-2022, 10:47 AM
"Supposedly" :faf:

I was there that night, he'd been warned already. Stuck a tenner on him to be booked at 33/1 and it came in about 60 seconds later.

So you're saying I'm right?

HendoDelivered
05-01-2022, 10:49 AM
Hendo an initial loan til end of season?

Saint Hibee
05-01-2022, 10:50 AM
On topic. Reported.

More seriously, was amazed that one of my favourite players to watch Lorenzo Insigne, is moving to MLS also rans Toronto from Napoli after spending virtually his whole career in Naples. Quite a decision.

Is this really true? It will be like the Maradona signing, but in reverse, the streets of Naples filled with people gnashing their teeth and pulling their hair out.

05-01-2022, 10:54 AM

Players who leave automatically become 100% better. .net rule.

05-01-2022, 10:54 AM
I thought Marciano was a really good shot stopper with great reactions but he constantly slowed play down taking an age to get play going. Also people forget how many mistakes he made and getting himself dropped two or three times. I was never a huge fan of his and I'm more than happy with Macey as a replacement.

Yeah - Marciano had a tendency to make the occasional wonder save (I remember a couple v Dunfermline and Rangers) and the memory of them helped him when he made a blunder. Good goalie but absence is making the heart grow fonder I think.

05-01-2022, 10:55 AM
Is this really true? It will be like the Maradona signing, but in reverse, the streets of Naples filled with people gnashing their teeth and pulling their hair out.

Yeh done deal. He’s getting £70m in wages.

05-01-2022, 10:55 AM
Players who leave automatically become 100% better. .net rule.

:agree: posted similar at the same time as this.

05-01-2022, 11:00 AM
Yeah - Marciano had a tendency to make the occasional wonder save (I remember a couple v Dunfermline and Rangers) and the memory of them helped him when he made a blunder. Good goalie but absence is making the heart grow fonder I think.

Tbf Rocky made wonder saves quite regularly. Purely looking at shot stopping, he was a very good keeper, easily one of the best in Scotland.

He’s moved on and so must we, but he’s fondly remembered for good reason imo.

05-01-2022, 11:04 AM
Tbf Rocky made wonder saves quite regularly. Purely looking at shot stopping, he was a very good keeper, easily one of the best in Scotland.

His save at Easter Road against Dundee is up there with the best i've ever seen.:agree:

05-01-2022, 11:09 AM

He was a brilliant keeper for us. Totally disagree with the idea people are only saying that because he’s left us now.

I’ve really warmed to Matt Macey. I like him now even though I wasn’t sure at first. His distribution is a problem though.

05-01-2022, 11:10 AM
It's a weird one really - he played 8 games for them in total. Wonder why so much of a love-in?

I think he got man of the match in 2 of those games then was dropped or didn't feature after each game.

He seems to have done well whenever he played but was never given much of a chance.

I see him coming in as a number 10 - but he can play across midfield.

05-01-2022, 11:15 AM
Hendo an initial loan til end of season?

It was reported that Celtic had said he is free to go now, along with a few others. Strange one if true.

badabing67
05-01-2022, 11:17 AM
Or getting an amputation.

This thread has taken a seriously bad turn

King Cosell
05-01-2022, 11:19 AM
I think he got man of the match in 2 of those games then was dropped or didn't feature after each game.

He seems to have done well whenever he played but was never given much of a chance.

I see him coming in as a number 10 - but he can play across midfield.

If Nathan Patterson was at Celtic it's quite possible he'd be heading here having only played 8 games.

05-01-2022, 11:21 AM
He was a brilliant keeper for us. Totally disagree with the idea people are only saying that because he’s left us now.

I’ve really warmed to Matt Macey. I like him now even though I wasn’t sure at first. His distribution is a problem though.

Not only saying that because he's left but folk can remember specific saves and that's clouding the memory. I also remember a game v Rangers where his distribution sold at least 1 goal. A good goalie and all the best to him.

Macey's distribution can improve but not what I'd describe as a problem, especially now that the centre-halves will be dropping into the box to take the ball off him.

05-01-2022, 11:21 AM

I watched a bit of the Celtic view on YouTube, granted it was just one fans view but the talk there was hes almost 22, didn’t really make the impression he’d hoped to on loan at Ross County, showing no glimmer of a first team chance so a permanent move seems the logical thing to do. He scored against Real Betis which caused a bit of excitement at the time.

I remember Liam saying in an interview his brother was always a better player than he was.

05-01-2022, 11:27 AM

You're the one sounding a bit panicky and mental but don't worry, the business we do this window will see us bring in the players Maloney needs to close the gap to Hearts. Putting the derby back a month should help as it'll allow the new players some time to bed in and with Hearts not looking like bringing many in and just about to lose their best player (for next to zero £), they'll probably be a bit weaker at the end of the window.

Hearts fans are obviously getting worried about it so no need for Hibs fans to panic.

badabing67
05-01-2022, 11:28 AM

We should just send him a 250K voucher for McDonald's instead

05-01-2022, 11:34 AM
We should just send him a 250K voucher for McDonald's instead

Can you buy vouchers for Lucozade?

05-01-2022, 11:40 AM
Supposedly that’s Melkersen signed a 4.5 year deal.

badabing67
05-01-2022, 11:40 AM
Can you buy vouchers for Lucozade?

05-01-2022, 11:41 AM

The deal seems to get longer every time it's reported.

05-01-2022, 11:41 AM

That's a phenomenal bit of business if true.

05-01-2022, 11:42 AM

Source please? That’s a very long deal.

Souter96Mac
05-01-2022, 11:43 AM
Announce the Hoff

05-01-2022, 11:44 AM
Source please? That’s a very long deal.4 year (plus half this season) makes sense for a young player with apparently big potential

Il wait until its confirmed but if its 400k plus 4 year deal it's a big commitment from us

We must have massive hopes for the guy

05-01-2022, 11:44 AM
Announce the HoffWill he be the 2nd Hoff to play for us?

05-01-2022, 11:45 AM
Source please? That’s a very long deal.

Norwegian journalist who first broke the story.

https://twitter.com/arilasos/status/1478705368536698886?s=21