View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2021-22 transfer thread
12-01-2022, 02:03 PM
The persistence of his hun sooking is too rich for me. He seems to want his to have his hibee cake and eat it - but if pressed, i think his loyalties lie with the blue pound and not with hibs. Yucky man.
Aye.. I’m afraid I think I’m in the “he’s a knob” camp now too.
12-01-2022, 02:09 PM
Is this a daily tease or a sign that there's another signing about to happen?
I'm just way to excited for the transfer window
:hyper
hibby rae
12-01-2022, 02:24 PM
2016 Scottish Cup Winner, he can do no wrong in my eyes.
Apparently, because he wasn't in the match day squad, he never got a medal. Something about Hibs not wanting to pay for extras.
Pretty sure he made a vital goal line clearance during the 2-2 game at Tynie very near the end of the game, so I would say he earned a medal for it.
12-01-2022, 02:29 PM
Can confirm what the user above posted.
All jokes and laughs at the article this morning at East Mains. Boyle is himself - and we all know what that is like :greengrin. He is aware that until a club meets Hibs valuation then he won't be able to explore any options and is fine with it and will crack on.
Livid Martin Boyle demanding showdown talks? Just can't picture it myself.
12-01-2022, 02:30 PM
As expected, MWHIBBIES on to tell hibs.net he was right to be adamant Boyle isn’t leaving Hibs when the latest rumour suits, after a spell of going quiet when it looked the other way.
Probably best just to wait and see what happens over the next couple of weeks, especially as he’s quite likely to be off if and when the correct offer comes in.
He probably is a good lad. But he can’t talk to them until we accept an offer is something we already knew.
Touched a nerve. I continually said a good source had never linked him with a good. Now there is clearly a chance he does move and I'm more interested in Hibs getting the best deal for Hibs.
Do you actually think footballers don't communicate with clubs before offers are accepted?
12-01-2022, 02:34 PM
Are we signing Kevin Thomson?
12-01-2022, 02:36 PM
Are we signing Kevin Thomson?
Yeah, Shaun’s being binned and KT will fill in until a life changing offer from Sevco comes in.
May only be short term but we can’t afford to ignore talent like that.
12-01-2022, 02:37 PM
Touched a nerve. I continually said a good source had never linked him with a good. Now there is clearly a chance he does move and I'm more interested in Hibs getting the best deal for Hibs.
Do you actually think footballers don't communicate with clubs before offers are accepted?
No nerves involved MW. Someone, and I was sure it was you, has been saying before this window that Martin Boyle isn't going anywhere and increased that chat during these rumours (not just "no good source") to the extent that they were making out people shouldn't even be allowed to mention it as it's just not happening.. if that wasn't you then apologies.
Do you actually think that just because a couple of posters said Martin Boyle was having a laugh at training means he hasn't spoken to anyone at all?
12-01-2022, 02:52 PM
No nerves involved MW. Someone, and I was sure it was you, has been saying before this window that Martin Boyle isn't going anywhere and increased that chat during these rumours (not just "no good source") to the extent that they were making out people shouldn't even be allowed to mention it as it's just not happening.. if that wasn't you then apologies.
Do you actually think that just because a couple of posters said Martin Boyle was having a laugh at training means he hasn't spoken to anyone at all?
All the facts pointed to Boyle not going anywhere. He simply would not have renewed his deal and removed the release clause if he was desperate to go. There was nothing whatsoever linking him with a move. Now that has changed. As things do.
No, I don't. I know players speak to other clubs all the time without transfer fees having been accepted.
12-01-2022, 03:02 PM
All the facts pointed to Boyle not going anywhere. He simply would not have renewed his deal and removed the release clause if he was desperate to go. There was nothing whatsoever linking him with a move. Now that has changed. As things do.
No, I don't. I know players speak to other clubs all the time without transfer fees having been accepted.
That's fair, MW. In the event Martin does decide to move to pastures new, would you accept that you were wrong to insist he's not going anywhere and those that suggested he could be away were quite correct and entitled to do so?
12-01-2022, 03:15 PM
I see Defoe has left the Huns. Wonder if he will carry on playing.
12-01-2022, 03:17 PM
That's fair, MW. In the event Martin does decide to move to pastures new, would you accept that you were wrong to insist he's not going anywhere and those that suggested he could be away were quite correct and entitled to do so?
This is weird, where are you trying to go with this?
I form my opinions based on evidence at the time. As I have formed the opinion now that there is a chance he may leave.
Considering no one said he was going to this Saudi mob, how exactly were they correct? 99% of it was utterly baseless links with Celtic, which are still clearly wrong.
At no point did I say anyone wasn't entitled to their opinion.
12-01-2022, 03:22 PM
Still a fantastic poacher, seems more interested in off the field stuff now though
12-01-2022, 03:24 PM
This is weird, where are you trying to go with this?
I form my opinions based on evidence at the time. As I have formed the opinion now that there is a chance he may leave.
Considering no one said he was going to this Saudi mob, how exactly were they correct? 99% of it was utterly baseless links with Celtic, which are still clearly wrong.
At no point did I say anyone wasn't entitled to their opinion.
Trying to go nowhere further with it than wondering if there was a chance of you admitting to being wrong. Don't worry, I'll comment no further on it or make things any weirder.
12-01-2022, 03:30 PM
I understand that the only tangible offer is from the Saudi Arabian club. This has to impact seriously on the effect such a move would have on his and his family’s lifestyle. I believe that Muslim laws and restrictions have relaxed a bit but I think that living there for two or three years shouldn’t be taken lightly …… the money is not the be all and end all. I can’t see him living out there on his own with occasional, brief visits back to the UK, determined highly by tax regulations, so he has to take into account the educational welfare of his daughter, the day to day social lifestyle of himself and his wife, etc. I concede that I’m talking from a position of ignorance, but, given that he is leaving Hibs sooner rather than later, a big part of me wishes that he could get a move which meets Hibs’ valuation and to a place where it would be easier for him and his family to fully integrate. The guy deserves a big pay day move but I’m not sure this is the one for him.
12-01-2022, 03:31 PM
Trying to go nowhere further with it than wondering if there was a chance of you admitting to being wrong. Don't worry, I'll comment no further on it or make things any weirder.
Why would I need to admit it? Why do you want me to admit it? Strange.
I'd be factually wrong and quite disappointed Hibs had lost their best attacking player.
I have absolutely no problem admitting to being wrong if I have been. Can only base opinions on what you know can't you.
delbert
12-01-2022, 03:33 PM
Love the fact you’ve now mentioned facts and evidence of which you, and pretty much everyone else, have none ! Here is a fact, if someone offers enough and it’s acceptable to all parties, he is away, if not, he stays, it’s not exactly a complicated system !
12-01-2022, 03:39 PM
Love the fact you’ve now mentioned facts and evidence of which you, and pretty much everyone else, have none ! Here is a fact, if someone offers enough and it’s acceptable to all parties, he is away, if not, he stays, it’s not exactly a complicated system !
There were far more facts pointing to him staying than leaving this window. Now it's up in the air a bit.
Him renewing his deal, when he didn't need to, and removing the release clause which hadnt long been added was a huge point in the staying collum.
What will be will be. No one can influence this either way and we all just need to see what happens.
Almost want the window to close now.
12-01-2022, 03:48 PM
Surprised we haven't seen any more outgoings yet, thought there would be some solid interest in the likes of Gogic and Wright with both of their contracts up in the Summer.
12-01-2022, 03:56 PM
Not a transfer but some positive news on Magennis as he steps up his fitness/training
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/boost-for-hibs-as-kyle-magennis-steps-up-return-from-injury-3525054
12-01-2022, 04:00 PM
Not a transfer but some positive news on Magennis as he steps up his fitness/training
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/boost-for-hibs-as-kyle-magennis-steps-up-return-from-injury-3525054
Good news. Be delighted to see him back.
12-01-2022, 04:10 PM
Good news but not telling us a lot No indication of what injury is or timeline for being back in team ,so could still be a while away yet before in contention to get game time
But given we had heard nothing it is positive news
K-Zazu
12-01-2022, 04:24 PM
Surprised we haven't seen any more outgoings yet, thought there would be some solid interest in the likes of Gogic and Wright with both of their contracts up in the Summer.
Still ages in the window left
12-01-2022, 04:38 PM
Did I not read recently that St Johnstone or some other club were preparing a bid for Gogic?
12-01-2022, 04:49 PM
Did I not read recently that St Johnstone or some other club were preparing a bid for Gogic?
Halberg was linked to St Johnstone, with Gogic linked with St Mirren .
EXCLUSIVE: Rangers made Harry Clarke transfer approach but Arsenal REJECTED move and sent him on loan to Hibs
https://t.co/WsxISkPnse https://t.co/fP5AnyTS6R
He f***ed off Rangers
To play for Hibees
Ha-a-arry Clarke
hhibs
12-01-2022, 05:10 PM
I’m loving the use of the archaic term ‘livid’. Where the hell did the rag drag that term from? :greengrin
Reminds me of the character Ricky Livid from Beyond Our Ken ( one for the oldies ).
To be fair, there’s probably a bit of exaggerated truth in the story but not worth getting the knickers in a twist about
Indeed,it drives me "Round the Horne "
IncredibleHibee
12-01-2022, 05:29 PM
As much as I enjoy watching the attempts at playground point scoring can we focus on transfer news? Who cares if someone admits they are wrong or not. The majority will be able to work out who the airheads are without them admitting it. If not, again who cares. Transfers please….
hibbydog
12-01-2022, 05:47 PM
Apparently, because he wasn't in the match day squad, he never got a medal. Something about Hibs not wanting to pay for extras.
Pretty sure he made a vital goal line clearance during the 2-2 game at Tynie very near the end of the game, so I would say he earned a medal for it.
I would agree.
But since reading his most recent bile in another red top rag, he can do one.
Gaffer1875
12-01-2022, 06:24 PM
Highly rated Stephen Kelly from the Rangers signs for Salford on loan
12-01-2022, 07:02 PM
As much as I enjoy watching the attempts at playground point scoring can we focus on transfer news? Who cares if someone admits they are wrong or not. The majority will be able to work out who the airheads are without them admitting it. If not, again who cares. Transfers please….
Just as well the voice of authority came on two hours later (without transfer news) after the thread was well back on track to tell us all to only speak if we have transfer news 👍
12-01-2022, 07:28 PM
Highly rated Stephen Kelly from the Rangers signs for Salford on loan
Good catholic name.
12-01-2022, 07:35 PM
Said on the news he had left Rangers to play the last few months of his career.
12-01-2022, 07:50 PM
Appears that Celtic are going to miss out on the Australian winger Riley McGree
Wonder if they’ll come calling for our Ozzie man.
Torto7
12-01-2022, 08:15 PM
If they do it will be tokenism. They wont pay what we want.
12-01-2022, 08:18 PM
Is McGree a winger?
Interesting, I don’t have much interest in NFL but always find it fascinating hearing things like this, very different in the states with the draft approach aswell.
Cheers for explaining it and to Jonny aswell for the above comments 👍
Anytime mate :aok:
12-01-2022, 09:18 PM
I fully suspect after the Mcginn saga Celtic don't want to get in to a bidding war with us for a player and instead are waiting until we agree a figure with another club, which they'll then match.
If MB moves this window I fully believe it will be to Celtic (based on no inside info and just my own assumptions).
12-01-2022, 09:23 PM
I fully suspect after the Mcginn saga Celtic don't want to get in to a bidding war with us for a player and instead are waiting until we agree a figure with another club, which they'll then match.
If MB moves this window I fully believe it will be to Celtic (based on no inside info and just my own assumptions).
Celtic may be able to match the transfer fee but no way will they be able to match the wages being offered from Saudi
IncredibleHibee
12-01-2022, 09:27 PM
Just as well the voice of authority came on two hours later (without transfer news) after the thread was well back on track to tell us all to only speak if we have transfer news 👍
You’ve just proven my point wee Russ… 😝
12-01-2022, 09:28 PM
Celtic may be able to match the transfer fee but no way will they be able to match the wages being offered from Saudi
Oh I absolutely agree but I think they'll offer enough to make the move attractive to MB while allowing him to be near his family. Plus having an Aussie manager will help him with his place in the national team (not that he needs it right now).
12-01-2022, 09:31 PM
Some reports that Rangers have won the race to a sign Souttar from Hearts and will try to do a deal to get him in during this window. Big blow to Hearts if he leaves this window and a big blow if they lose him for nothing.
12-01-2022, 09:34 PM
Dunfermline line up move for St Johnstone defender Efe Ambrose https://t.co/chK07Sv9si https://t.co/oERm6hH02v
12-01-2022, 09:39 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/martin-boyle-stay-hibs-saudi-25929892
Boyle latest.
12-01-2022, 09:40 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Martin Boyle set to stay at Hibs as Ron Gordon closes door on Saudi switch | @ScottBurns75
https://t.co/VV8embWVSz https://t.co/swZG0LSjIn
Also states Hibs priority is bringing in another wide player
Let the speculation begin 😁😁
EXCLUSIVE! Martin Boyle set to stay at Hibs as Ron Gordon closes door on Saudi switch | @ScottBurns75
https://t.co/VV8embWVSz https://t.co/swZG0LSjIn
Also states Hibs priority is bringing in another wide player
Let the speculation begin 😁😁
I'm actually surprised at that, thought Hibs might have negotiated them up to £2.5m to £2.75m. Mind you, it was on Superscoreboard that we're valuing him at £3.5m.
Good to see they're reporting he didn't try to force the issue. I guess that makes yesterday's report (by the Sun I think) bollocks that he was livid.
12-01-2022, 09:52 PM
I'm actually surprised at that. Good to see they're reporting he didn't try to force the issue. I guess that makes yesterday's report (by the Sun I think) bollocks that he was livid.
The only person who was livid was the Sun reporter.
12-01-2022, 10:08 PM
We’ve heard the Saudi team say they’ve move in a couple times only to come back with a higher offer. I think they’ll offer the 3 still.
I’ll only be convinced he’s staying on the first of February.
Interesting the article says we’re after a winger still as a priority.
https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/3837138/aberdeen-dante-polvara-special-talent/ This also says we were after new Aberdeen signing Dante Polvara however seems a bit like guesswork.
Torto7
12-01-2022, 10:18 PM
We’ve heard the Saudi team say they’ve move in a couple times only to come back with a higher offer. I think they’ll offer the 3 still.
https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/3837138/aberdeen-dante-polvara-special-talent/ This also says we were after new Aberdeen signing Dante Polvara however seems a bit like guesswork.
That's the Sheep and following the Jambo's blueprint. The Boyle affair made them look very silly. Best ignored.
12-01-2022, 10:21 PM
Anyone else surprised about the lack of rumours about
Doig
Nisbet
Allan
Porteous
Leaving? There’s been the odd one about Porto but other than that it’s been quiet.
Obviously there’s rumours of
Hallberg
Gogic
Boyle
But for the amount of players we have I’m surprised there’s not been more.
12-01-2022, 10:25 PM
Doig
Nisbet
Allan
Porteous
Leaving? There’s been the odd one about Porto but other than that it’s been quiet.
Hallberg
Gogic
Boyle
If it stays that way it’ll have been a very good transfer window in terms of the squad, given the few we’ve added! If Boyle sticks around then obviously even more so! Think regardless of how it goes now we will look at it as a decent January window
Torto7
12-01-2022, 10:46 PM
I wonder who the wide player is. We seem strong in the forward positions now I'm surprised by that. I wonder if someone unexpected like Murphy might go?
12-01-2022, 11:03 PM
I wonder who the wide player is. We seem strong in the forward positions now I'm surprised by that. I wonder if someone unexpected like Murphy might go?I think it will be wide left as you suggest. Murphys performance and ability is only going one way and Mackay isn't ready to be a first team starter yet.
I reckon if we are going for a winger it will be a left footed winger ready for first team action, I can see Hibs thinking that would be beneficial.
Torto7
12-01-2022, 11:10 PM
I think it will be wide left as you suggest. Murphys performance and ability is only going one way and Mackay isn't ready to be a first team starter yet.
I reckon if we are going for a winger it will be a left footed winger ready for first team action, I can see Hibs thinking that would be beneficial.
Yeah although I thought Mueller was in mind for that left side. I think your point about a natural left footer would be a good shout. It's something we lack.
12-01-2022, 11:13 PM
I wonder who the wide player is. We seem strong in the forward positions now I'm surprised by that. I wonder if someone unexpected like Murphy might go?
Maybe Darragh Burns the winger we were linked with from St Pats.
12-01-2022, 11:24 PM
I think it will be wide left as you suggest. Murphys performance and ability is only going one way and Mackay isn't ready to be a first team starter yet.
I wouldn’t be so quick to make that judgement on Mackay
I have my doubts as to whether or not we were ever after him. Was there not a story recently where it said we were beaten to a player (can't remember who) and then a couple of days later it was reported we never tried to get him at all? He been on the shortlist as someone who fitted the description of the type of player we were looking for and had maybe at most had made an enquiry to see if he was available/open to the idea of a move but that was as far as our interest went.
No doubt enquiries like that will happen all the time and agents will exaggerate the interest to try and stir up some actual interest. Then when discussions start they'll exaggerate the level of interest from other clubs to help get the deal over the line on the best possible terms. We're pretty well stocked for midfielders now so I wouldn't be surprised if something like that is what's happened here.
Of course I totally believe the reports that we beat off Rangers to land Harry Clarke.
13-01-2022, 04:36 AM
Mackay has been injured for months. He could be our best player, we've no idea really
13-01-2022, 05:21 AM
Doig
Nisbet
Allan
Porteous
Hallberg
Gogic
Boyle
Not surprised there aren’t any rumours re Nisbet. We’ll never get an offer as big as the one we received from Birmingham.
13-01-2022, 07:10 AM
Total guesswork. Going from College football to professional is a massive jump.
Ardenttwo
13-01-2022, 07:10 AM
I wouldn’t be so quick to make that judgement on Mackay
I have watched Daniel Mackay at Elgin City and Inverness Caley and there is a player there no doubt Very fast and direct
13-01-2022, 07:17 AM
I have watched Daniel Mackay at Elgin City and Inverness Caley and there is a player there no doubt Very fast and direct
Aye, my Caley pal says so too and says he'd be a real waste just sitting on the bench.
davemcbain
13-01-2022, 07:24 AM
My first thought was Nade - maybe the wrong type of wide though. :nade:
13-01-2022, 07:43 AM
Mackay has been injured for months. He could be our best player, we've no idea reallyJust to clarify I've not written Mackay off, far from it. I have high hopes for him and I'm glad he's on our books.
That being said, I've seen enough of him at the start of the season to make the judgement that he's not our best player, and it's unlikely we will be able to rely on him to be a first team starter every week.
IMO Murphy will be gone in the summer, leaving only Mackay for the left side winger role and I think he'd be better with a more experienced left winger (Murphy replacement) ahead of him initially to learn from/take the expectation off him a bit. Similar to Doug's breakthrough season with Stevenson.
13-01-2022, 07:54 AM
Just to clarify I've not written Mackay off, far from it. I have high hopes for him and I'm glad he's on our books.
That being said, I've seen enough of him at the start of the season to make the judgement that he's not our best player, and it's unlikely we will be able to rely on him to be a first team starter every week.
IMO Murphy will be gone in the summer, leaving only Mackay for the left side winger role and I think he'd be better with a more experienced left winger (Murphy replacement) ahead of him initially to learn from/take the expectation off him a bit. Similar to Doug's breakthrough season with Stevenson.
My lasting memory of Mackay is that sitter against Rijeka that would've won us the home tie.
13-01-2022, 08:15 AM
Not sure if it's been covered but the Aberdeen equivalent of the EEN says they beat us to signing the new American boy they have. I don't even remember seeing us linked though.
13-01-2022, 08:18 AM
My lasting memory of Mackay is that sitter against Rijeka that would've won us the home tie.
I think sitter is a bit harsh. He should have scored bit it's not as if he had an open goal Infront of him.
13-01-2022, 08:39 AM
I think sitter is a bit harsh. He should have scored bit it's not as if he had an open goal Infront of him.
It's not. It was a brilliant chance and it was an awful finish.
13-01-2022, 08:42 AM
A sitter, IMO, is a chance that should be scored 99/100 ie Chris Iwelumo v Norway.
Mackay was running with the ball at pace and still had the keeper to beat. It's a good chance, one he really should have scored, but it's not a sitter.
13-01-2022, 09:00 AM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1481566239461978115
This worth mentioning aswell.
13-01-2022, 09:03 AM
Thus speaketh the voice of doom.
Mueller is pish, Nisbet is pish and McKay missed a brilliant chance, ergo must be pish. I'd probably lower my expectations or just stick to watching the Champions League. Clearly there is no pleasure for you in the football offered by lesser mortals.
13-01-2022, 09:04 AM
Thus speaketh the voice of doom.
Mueller is pish, Nisbet is pish and McKay missed a brilliant chance, ergo must be pish. I'd probably lower my expectations or just stick to watching the Champions League. Clearly there is no pleasure for you in the football offered by lesser mortals.
Just living up to his username.
13-01-2022, 09:14 AM
A sitter, IMO, is a chance that should be scored 99/100 ie Chris Iwelumo v Norway.
Mackay was running with the ball at pace and still had the keeper to beat. It's a good chance, one he really should have scored, but it's not a sitter.
IMO a sitter is where a player really should have scored :wink:
13-01-2022, 09:17 AM
Pop it in the new 'Wages' thread!
13-01-2022, 09:17 AM
Probably getting into semantics now, but by definition is that not a chance that should be scored (using your own words) rather than a sitter?
I just feel people are using that opportunity to bash Mackay with. He'd hardly played, playing in Europe for the first time and he was up against a good standard of keeper. I just don't see the merit in continuing to bring it up and make out the miss was more than it was.
13-01-2022, 09:25 AM
Probably getting into semantics now, but by definition is that not a chance that should be scored (using your own words) rather than a sitter?
I just feel people are using that opportunity to bash Mackay with. He'd hardly played, playing in Europe for the first time and he was up against a good standard of keeper. I just don't see the merit in continuing to bring it up and make out the miss was more than it was.
I'm not bashing Mackay whatsoever. It's just all I remember of him playing for us because he's been injured for a long while.
13-01-2022, 09:36 AM
It's an easy opportunity. I think it was a good chance, but with the keeper still to beat and running at pace, I don't think it was an easy chance for an inexperienced player to take imo. Need to transfer this chat back into signings though.
13-01-2022, 09:39 AM
For me a sitter is when it's harder, or more unlikely, to miss than score.
e.g. very few headers are sitters unless there was an open goal. Chances with the keeper to beat are not sitters.
13-01-2022, 09:43 AM
You mean the guy who was only on £1.8k pw in the US isn’t now earning £10k pw at Hibs, well I am absolutely shocked at that.
13-01-2022, 09:50 AM
Pop it in the new 'Wages' thread!
What is the line about Mueller couldn't see it in the tweet?
13-01-2022, 09:51 AM
What is the line about Mueller couldn't see it in the tweet?
The current estimates are miles off the mark ie way too high
13-01-2022, 09:54 AM
The current estimates are miles off the mark ie way too high
Personally don't think there was any doubt about that.
If Boyle stays which sounds like it’s possible now I think we have a real chance of finishing 3rd and a crack at the Scottish cup.
We have strengthened up front / wide, have really strengthened at the back and have added some quality to midfield.
Get Nisbet and Porto on longer term deals and we are flying.
13-01-2022, 10:16 AM
If Boyle stays which sounds like it’s possible now I think we have a real chance of finishing 3rd and a crack at the Scottish cup.
We have strengthened up front / wide, have really strengthened at the back and have added some quality to midfield.
3rd is extremely realistic, which is mad when you consider the run we went on under JR. From what i've seen, Hearts havent really strengthened their team at all with any quality (or anyone) - which I know is still early days into the window - and are about to lose their best defender to Rangers putting even more pressure on Craig Gordon to constantly save them points, whereas we have addressed our lack of depth and our lack of quality in certain areas too - should make a very exciting second half of the season, all to play for!
13-01-2022, 10:18 AM
Doig
Nisbet
Allan
Porteous
Hallberg
Gogic
Boyle
I think Scott Allan’s time with us is up, sadly. The new arrivals add more competition for a place and his game time will be reduced.
Still plenty of time for him to get a move to St Mirren or somewhere else.
The quicker February comes the better and get this car crash of a thread to ****. Page upon page of petty bickering about wages, who's better, who should've scored etc etc.
13-01-2022, 10:42 AM
The quicker February comes the better and get this car crash of a thread to ****. Page upon page of petty bickering about wages, who's better, who should've scored etc etc.
Thats what we get for doing our business early in the window :wink:
Victor
13-01-2022, 10:42 AM
Not to mention ‘hyper’ [emoji3]
SideBurns
13-01-2022, 10:43 AM
Maybe Darragh Burns the winger we were linked with from St Pats.
Was that recently? Always wanted to see a Burns play for Hibs, so would like this to be true 😁
Most people would consider it a sitter for a professional footballer.
13-01-2022, 11:00 AM
Mackay signed for Killie on loan.
13-01-2022, 11:03 AM
Fantastic for him and Killie and after being out for so long he needs to play regularly. He will benefit greatly from this and come back stronger next season.
13-01-2022, 11:06 AM
Good move will walk into the first team there. Gets him game time. There is a good player there.
13-01-2022, 11:09 AM
In contention for the game on Friday Vs Partick Thistle which is on BBC so will give it a watch.
13-01-2022, 11:10 AM
Disappointed Mackay has left on loan, was hoping he’d play a part for us in the second half of the season. Really good young player with bags of energy and pace, very direct too.
I wonder if this means our winger we’re targeting is close?
13-01-2022, 11:12 AM
Disappointed Mackay has left on loan, was hoping he’d play a part for us in the second half of the season. Really good young player with bags of energy and pace, very direct too.
Much better than kicking about looking for bit part roles. Build the confidence up bring Killie up and start next season flying.
13-01-2022, 11:15 AM
Is this Sean Mackie? Or the young winger Mackay?
Edit. Just seen on-line now. We must be getting a left winger in very soon given how injury prone Murphy is.
13-01-2022, 11:18 AM
Kind of get what you mean , he's missed alot of football already this season, if Killie can give him much needed game time it's definitely a positive , he's likely to have been a bit part player this 2nd part of this season all be it a good bit part player but he need minutes, looking forward to him coming back to us fitter and stronger.
As you alluded to we may be close to bringing someon in as we know we are looking at another wide player.
With MacKay anyway we still have a squad of 31.
13-01-2022, 11:19 AM
MacKay loan is a bit odd tbh. Surely someone coming in?
BlackSheep
13-01-2022, 11:20 AM
Is this Sean Mackie? Or the young winger Mackay?
Edit. Just seen on-line now. We must be getting a left winger in very soon given how injury prone Murphy is.
Answered your own question there 😂
13-01-2022, 11:22 AM
Sure Scott Burns had said, in an article today, that our next priority is signing another winger.
13-01-2022, 11:24 AM
Was that recently? Always wanted to see a Burns play for Hibs, so would like this to be true 😁
Just before Xmas. Both ourselves and Oxford credited with an interest. I haven't heard anything since then.
13-01-2022, 11:30 AM
What do you mean 'rash' [emoji23]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220113/f1acd60facf31a89ab0baab49015d204.jpg
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
13-01-2022, 11:32 AM
Kevin Nisbet pumped Winston Ingram’s missus, pass it on.
13-01-2022, 11:32 AM
Don't forget to mention the posts moaning about what everyone else is moaning about :wink:
13-01-2022, 11:42 AM
Kevin Nisbet pumped Winston Ingram’s missus, pass it on.
13-01-2022, 11:48 AM
Nisbet has had anew deal put to him which he chose not to take up Whether he though he could be moving on this window I don’t know ,but can’t see him signing a new deal now
Someone posted they heard Porto was about to sign a new deal but it hasn’t happened yet or we would of heard
So it remains to be seen if both will still be here after this window slams shut
If they are ,you would think it would be in Thier best interests to sign new deals
But if they don’t then we need to plan ahead as am sure we are
13-01-2022, 11:48 AM
What do you mean 'rash' [emoji23]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220113/f1acd60facf31a89ab0baab49015d204.jpg
That doesn't look great does it. Definitely shouldn't be flying in to tackles like that in training. He's going to be a great bet to get booked if he starts at celtc park.
13-01-2022, 11:50 AM
I think Scott Allan’s time with us is up, sadly. The new arrivals add more competition for a place and his game time will be reduced.
Still plenty of time for him to get a move to St Mirren or somewhere else.
His cameo v st Johnstone won us the game No other player we have is capable of doing that imo
Would be happy for him to play a part off the bench for rest of this season but he may want more game time than we can give himIf that’s the case am sure he will move even if just on loan till end of season
13-01-2022, 11:53 AM
Must mean bringing someone else in as Murphy could be out with another injury at any point
13-01-2022, 11:54 AM
That doesn't look great does it. Definitely shouldn't be flying in to tackles like that in training. He's going to be a great bet to get booked if he starts at celtc park.
I disagree mate. I think it shows that there is a high intensity which is a good thing
13-01-2022, 11:56 AM
I’m the opposite, I like to see that and glad to know they’re going in like it’s a game, can only benefit the team.
You hear alot about ex players saying the standard and intensity of training with players going for it.
And in fairness to Rocky we don’t know if he’s went flying into the tackle, could just be a unfortunate angle for the photo.
13-01-2022, 12:00 PM
It is odd and even more so if we’re having to bring in a replacement. Why not keep him and play him? He must be fit or Kilmarnock wouldn’t be taking him. I’m not sure bringing in another loan player is a better option than developing our own players, especially young guys who aren’t long here.
His cameo v st Johnstone won us the game No other player we have is capable of doing that imo
Would be happy for him to play a part off the bench for rest of this season but he may want more game time than we can give himIf that’s the case am sure he will move even if just on loan till end of season
One game against 10 men doesn’t do enough for me. I’ve said it before Scott Allan on his game etc was outstanding. Whilst I never like to slate a player Scott Allan by his own standard will never reach those heights or consistency again. Real shame but if another player becomes available and he needs to move on for this to happen then so be it!
IncredibleHibee
13-01-2022, 12:04 PM
Love it! Who's that getting put up in the air?
You mean the guy who was only on £1.8k pw in the US isn’t now earning £10k pw at Hibs, well I am absolutely shocked at that.
Yeah, did think rumour was a bit dubious. How did it get started?
13-01-2022, 12:05 PM
Love it! Who's that getting put up in the air?
Nisbet, apparently been told to expect that everytime he gets the ball until he signs a new contract.
13-01-2022, 12:15 PM
Sun says Boyle wants to leave, we all rubbish it for being a rag.
Record says Boyle is staying, we all lap it up!
13-01-2022, 12:22 PM
Sun says Boyle wants to leave, we all rubbish it for being a rag.
Record says Boyle is staying, we all lap it up!
Tbf, multiple people had said that even Boyle himself was laughing at the Sun story around East Mains and that he was cool with the transfer situation either way.
We may have someone coming in but I don't see it as odd. He hasn't played for months and we have Boyle, Cadden, Murphy and Mueller at a minimum who can play wide. Conversely, if we do have someone coming in then it would seem that person would be higher up the pecking order than Dan Mackay currently is.
13-01-2022, 12:40 PM
Surely we work on getting Scotty the games and confidence to get back to what we know he can be.
No chance we can bring in another with that quality.
Writing him off or letting him go seems crazy.
13-01-2022, 12:56 PM
Surely we work on getting Scotty the games and confidence to get back to what we know he can be.
No chance we can bring in another with that quality.
Writing him off or letting him go seems crazy.
Couple of good strong midfielders around him would be perfect to let him do his thing.
cameronw-hfc
13-01-2022, 12:59 PM
Nisbet has had anew deal put to him which he chose not to take up Whether he though he could be moving on this window I don’t know ,but can’t see him signing a new deal now
Someone posted they heard Porto was about to sign a new deal but it hasn’t happened yet or we would of heard
So it remains to be seen if both will still be here after this window slams shut
If they are ,you would think it would be in Thier best interests to sign new deals
But if they don’t then we need to plan ahead as am sure we are
There is 100% something behind the scenes with Nisbet. He was in the media saying he's close to agreeing a new deal and is looking forward to putting the negotiations behind him etc a few months ago, clearly wanting to sign it, but no announcement has been made. Strange one.
13-01-2022, 01:08 PM
Love this. Train as you play.
13-01-2022, 01:15 PM
One game against 10 men doesn’t do enough for me. I’ve said it before Scott Allan on his game etc was outstanding. Whilst I never like to slate a player Scott Allan by his own standard will never reach those heights or consistency again. Real shame but if another player becomes available and he needs to move on for this to happen then so be it!
Me neither. Apparently he nearly played a really good pass against Aberdeen too. A lot of us are hanging on to the Scott Allan we had in the Championship or the second half of Lennon's promotion season. Might sound harsh but i feel the wage could be better spent elsewhere.
13-01-2022, 01:20 PM
Well no one else looked capable of playing the passes he did Aldo
It remains to be seen what the new young players being brought in can do but suspect they will need time
As I say if used as a sub still think he had a role to Play ,but don’t think he will be happy with that ,and it’s likely he will move on if someone comes in for him
Yup he could have landed on big Rocky's bollocks and really hurt him.
13-01-2022, 01:22 PM
I’m not denying his quality but with Henderson, Tait and Mueller all adding competition for places I just don’t see him getting much game time.
Scott wants to play and I think he will go.
13-01-2022, 01:28 PM
It's an easy opportunity. I think it was a good chance, but with the keeper still to beat and running at pace, I don't think it was an easy chance for an inexperienced player to take imo. Need to transfer this chat back into signings though.
Quality punning :aok:
13-01-2022, 01:32 PM
Mind you're allowed to stop reading it before February though :wink:
I do hope Scott Allan is sticking around and we get to see more from him, but admittedly it does feel like we've been having this debate a long time now so I do wonder if he might make a change. Having said that, new manager may see things differently and Allan may already be aware he's a bigger part of Maloney's plans.
As always, time will tell. No doubt be a bit of movement one way or another (or both ways) before the window shuts.
13-01-2022, 01:33 PM
The first Hibs player ever to be sent off in training :greengrin
13-01-2022, 01:33 PM
Thought the big keeper did really well to save but was an excellent chance though wasnt on the pitch for long when Scott set him up
13-01-2022, 01:40 PM
Celtic manager states they have no offers in for any other players, they are not actively looking to add to their squad unless anything happens within their current squad.
Could be nonsense but he did want to make the above quite clear .
13-01-2022, 02:09 PM
Has anyone asked if they think Deek could still do a job?😁
13-01-2022, 02:10 PM
Has anyone asked if they think Deek could still do a job?😁
Definitely:agree:
13-01-2022, 02:17 PM
Well I am personally insulted.
Why not take your moaning elsewhere instead of clogging up the valued transfer thread eh?
13-01-2022, 02:24 PM
That doesn't look great does it. Definitely shouldn't be flying in to tackles like that in training. He's going to be a great bet to get booked if he starts at celtc park.I think it was Gary Caldwell who I saw being interviewed and said when he went to Celtic he couldn't believe the intensity of the training. They were encouraged to train as they played.
13-01-2022, 02:33 PM
The Belgian Ryan Porteous :greengrin
13-01-2022, 02:44 PM
I think it was Gary Caldwell who I saw being interviewed and said when he went to Celtic he couldn't believe the intensity of the training. They were encouraged to train as they played.
If that’s still the case it probably accounts for the number of hamstring strains.
Cat Stanton
13-01-2022, 02:46 PM
Looks like Joe Tortolano's "friendly" challenge on Gordon Strachan.
13-01-2022, 03:08 PM
I think the MacKay loan deal makes sense as he is going to get much more gametime at Killie for me.
Shame how his first season has went so far but I hope he can show Hibs they was wrong to loan him with good performances for them.
Highwayman
13-01-2022, 03:08 PM
Has Hibs now become a Kilmarnock feeder club.Only need another six on loan or ex to make a full team
13-01-2022, 03:29 PM
I think it was Gary Caldwell who I saw being interviewed and said when he went to Celtic he couldn't believe the intensity of the training. They were encouraged to train as they played.
Correct, Strachan encouraged it, he would wind players up from the sidelines, the captain at the time was forever getting stuck in to players with full on tackles and plenty fighting would break out amongst the players.
13-01-2022, 04:05 PM
Correct, Strachan encouraged it, he would wind players up from the sidelines, the captain at the time was forever getting stuck in to players with full on tackles and plenty fighting would break out amongst the players.
Who was the captain at that time?
MagicSwirlingShip
13-01-2022, 04:13 PM
McManus?
Rumble de Thump
13-01-2022, 04:15 PM
It was usually Lennon then McManus.
Hibees1973
13-01-2022, 04:19 PM
Looks like Joe Tortolano's "friendly" challenge on Gordon Strachan.
Wow...still remember that, right on the touchline on front of the main stand.....in the first 10 minutes.
A sold out ER for Gordon Rae's testimonial was in stunned silence. Can't remember if Joe Torrelominos was sent off or the manager told to sub him.
Anyone know?
13-01-2022, 04:23 PM
Wow...still remember that, right on the touchline on front of the main stand.....in the first 10 minutes.
A sold out ER for Gordon Rae's testimonial was in stunned silence. Can't remember if Joe Torrelominos was sent off or the manager told to sub him.
Anyone know?
Joe was sent off.
13-01-2022, 04:25 PM
Anyone know?
George Smith sent him off.
13-01-2022, 05:11 PM
Reports on Thursday suggested the Easter Road side had prioritised the signing of another attacker, but the Evening News understands that there are no immediate plans to source another player capable of playing out wide.
13-01-2022, 05:33 PM
Reports on Thursday suggested the Easter Road side had prioritised the signing of another attacker, but the Evening News understands that there are no immediate plans to source another player capable of playing out wide.
That makes more sense to me, it would be pointless loaning out Mackay and bringing another winger in.
13-01-2022, 05:54 PM
That makes more sense to me, it would be pointless loaning out Mackay and bringing another winger in.To be honest, that fits more with the 343 formation that Maloney want to play. A winger doesn't really fit into that so maybe he wants someone for the left side of the front 3 that's more akin to an inside forward/attacker than a winger.
13-01-2022, 06:59 PM
I think Henderson will be on the left of the attacking three.
Might not start every week, but that's the position he's here for.
13-01-2022, 07:55 PM
St Johnstone have a bid for Robbie Deas of ICT turned down, naturally a LCB but has been playing LB recently.
13-01-2022, 07:58 PM
I think Henderson will be on the left of the attacking three.
Might not start every week, but that's the position he's here for.
I agree with that.
13-01-2022, 08:35 PM
St Johnstone have a bid for Robbie Deas of ICT turned down, naturally a LCB but has been playing LB recently.
Might be wrong but were we not previously linked with him, possibly on here? It was maybe just a suggestion but definitely a name I recognise.
13-01-2022, 08:46 PM
Might be wrong but were we not previously linked with him, possibly on here? It was maybe just a suggestion but definitely a name I recognise.
Not sure but you think he'd fit in with the profile of player we are looking at, something like 21 years of age and close on 100 appearances for ICT, and other clubs where he had been on loan. Not sure how good he is tbh though?
JamesHFC
13-01-2022, 09:09 PM
I think Gogic and Hallberg will definitely move on this window. We might try and get a small fee for Murphy before his contract ends in the summer. Wright and Allan a good possibility but both have played part in Maloney’s first two games.
13-01-2022, 09:46 PM
I think Gogic and Hallberg will definitely move on this window. We might try and get a small fee for Murphy before his contract ends in the summer. Wright and Allan a good possibility but both have played part in Maloney’s first two games.
Cannae imagine any club would pay us anything for Murphy. I’d keep him for the rest of the season anyway.
JamesHFC
13-01-2022, 09:48 PM
Cannae imagine any club would pay us anything for Murphy. I’d keep him for the rest of the season anyway.
His injury record will probably put a lot of teams off, chances are that he probably stays now MacKay is away for the season anyway.
13-01-2022, 10:00 PM
His injury record will probably put a lot of teams off, chances are that he probably stays now MacKay is away for the season anyway.
Not many teams can afford Murphy unless he takes a huge wage drop. Realistically everyone we are looking to move on will be to a bottom 6 team or championship.
13-01-2022, 10:04 PM
Get Abubeker Nasir in
14-01-2022, 05:47 AM
There’s a random post on Twitter linking us with Joel Valencia on loan from Brentford - Ecuadorean winger/striker.
JamesHFC
14-01-2022, 06:17 AM
There’s a random post on Twitter linking us with Joel Valencia on loan from Brentford - Ecuadorean winger/striker.
He won the Polish top flight with Piast Gliwice in 18/19 and won the leagues player of the year award. Then went to Brentford for a reported fee of £1.8 million. Multiple sub appearances but he was behind Benrahma, Watkins and Mbuemo. Hasn’t really settled in England and although being named in Brentford’s 25 man PL squad he has only made a few appearances for their B team.
Polish football expert, Christoper Lash, describes Valencia as; “A really intelligent player who directed Piast Gliwice’s title winning side last season. He’s clever with the ball, a good passer, with good movement and is deceptively strong for a small player. His best position is behind a lone striker.”
King Cosell
14-01-2022, 06:30 AM
It's an Equadorian account with over 12,000 followers.
14-01-2022, 06:47 AM
It's an Equadorian account with over 12,000 followers.
I’m not a social media buff mate so don’t know if there’s credibility in it - is that good or bad (amount of followers) ?
King Cosell
14-01-2022, 06:50 AM
I’m not a social media buff mate so don’t know if there’s credibility in it - is that good or bad (amount of followers) ?
That's quite a lot. There might be nothing in it but it does look like a credible source.
14-01-2022, 06:53 AM
https://twitter.com/mercadofutbolec/status/1481785265509253122?s=21
Only thing I’d say is that for the amount of followers they don’t seem to get much engagement with their tweets.
A few likes or retweets but hardly any comments. I don’t know what that means but it doesn’t strike me as a particularly credible source.
14-01-2022, 07:00 AM
https://twitter.com/mercadofutbolec/status/1481785265509253122?s=21
Only thing I’d say is that for the amount of followers they don’t seem to get much engagement with their tweets.
A few likes or retweets but hardly any comments. I don’t know what that means but it doesn’t strike me as a particularly credible source.
Alternatively it's a random thing to make up.
14-01-2022, 07:02 AM
It can be hit and miss. However, it would be strange for them to pick Hibs out of thin air.
14-01-2022, 07:04 AM
It can be hit and miss. However, it would be strange for them to pick Hibs out of thin air.
They’ve done it with Dundee as well, different player though.
https://twitter.com/mercadofutbolec/status/1481774649985974277?s=21
14-01-2022, 07:06 AM
They’ve done it with Dundee as well, different player though.
https://twitter.com/mercadofutbolec/status/1481774649985974277?s=21
FFS. Rumour quashed within 5 minutes this morning :greengrin
14-01-2022, 07:21 AM
Son of De La Cruz 😁
14-01-2022, 07:39 AM
FFS. Rumour quashed within 5 minutes this morning :greengrin
Seems so 😂 made me have horrible flashbacks of Hurtado - very unsettling on a Friday !
14-01-2022, 07:40 AM
Alternatively it's a random thing to make up.
I used to think that but linking players with random clubs is probably a decent way of gaining followers from these places.
It’s also maybe someone they’ve signed in Football Manager.
14-01-2022, 08:07 AM
I used to think that but linking players with random clubs is probably a decent way of gaining followers from these places.
It’s also maybe someone they’ve signed in Football Manager.
He was told he could go out on loan this week. He is left sided. We have just sent one of our left sided attackers out on loan.
It's happening Bingo. (Maybe).
14-01-2022, 08:21 AM
He was told he could go out on loan this week. He is left sided. We have just sent one of our left sided attackers out on loan.
Had a look at recent involvement. There isn’t much. If we are letting players go on loan we need to be replacing them with better.
14-01-2022, 08:21 AM
That’s good enough for me, I’m convinced.
14-01-2022, 08:23 AM
Had a look at recent involvement. There isn’t much. If we are letting players go on loan we need to be replacing them with better.
He appears to have had one good season.
For a South American with a hugely exciting sounding name, one good season is more than enough to convince me.
I just hope our management team is as unreasonable as I am.
14-01-2022, 08:36 AM
We do. Maybe a loan deal until Mackay comes back in the summer.
BlackSheep
14-01-2022, 08:58 AM
I've seen a few folk saying why would we have sent Mackay on loan if we were considering a 'replacement' on loan or to buy....
Well, Maloney may have said to Mackay he can't guarantee him much game time this season so Mackay may have wanted to go on loan to get games under his belt, and in turn we are looking at someone to fill that void in the squad for the rest of the year.
Makes sense to me...
14-01-2022, 09:06 AM
I don’t think we need to replace McKay.
He’s not feature this season and we’ve probably got two forwards in this window who can play across that front three as it is. Plus I think Henderson will play from the left of that three.
14-01-2022, 09:09 AM
I've seen a few folk saying why would we have sent Mackay on loan if we were considering a 'replacement' on loan or to buy....
Well, Maloney may have said to Mackay he can't guarantee him much game time this season so Mackay may have wanted to go on loan to get games under his belt, and in turn we are looking at someone to fill that void in the squad for the rest of the year.
Makes sense to me...
Loaning Mackay out makes perfect sense. He needs regular games after his injury and he'd be unlikely to get that here between now and the summer. Good player though. Will be a regular for a side who will be winning and attacking teams most weeks at Killie. Perfect loan on paper.
14-01-2022, 09:10 AM
Scott Burns has reiterted today when presented with the quote from the Evening News about us not looking for a winger that we are looking for 'wide options'
https://twitter.com/ScottBurns75/status/1481930373944811521?t=oVLjJ8iGadYbdorJWmMbIQ&s=19
I didn't think McKay looked ready and his injury will have done him no favours on that front.
He did well enough last season (by all accounts) to suggest he can go to Killie, get a game and make an impact there for a club who should be playing on the front foot in order to get up.
I think that is a good move for all parties.
He'll not improve sitting on the periphery of our squad and he can come back in the summer ready for a fresh start.
I don’t think we need to replace McKay.
He’s not feature this season and we’ve probably got two forwards in this window who can play across that front three as it is. Plus I think Henderson will play from the left of that three.
I agree. The only thing I’d say is that our bench has been hopeless for most of the season. Very few game changers can come on if we’re struggling.
If Mackay wants to be playing 90 minutes and we are looking for people capable of making an impact coming on then it probably makes sense to ship him out on loan and replace him with someone who can contribute off the bench.
14-01-2022, 09:12 AM
Personally don’t really fancy another loan.
I also don’t want to replace Dan Mackay if we thought he wasn’t going to get many games.
If we bring someone in, I want them competing for a space in the starting 11 and not coming in as back up.
The only thing that worries me about our current signings is I’m not sure how many of them are starters for us and dislodge our players who have already played this season.
We need quality and whilst they new guys might be, I don’t have a clue because I’ve never seen some of them play, they’re young guys and some from different leagues so might need a settling in period - but the majority haven’t played alot of football.
14-01-2022, 09:14 AM
Scott Burns has reiterted today when presented with the quote from the Evening News about us not looking for a winger that we are looking for 'wide options'
https://twitter.com/ScottBurns75/status/1481930373944811521?t=oVLjJ8iGadYbdorJWmMbIQ&s=19
Maybe we’re signing a fatty.
14-01-2022, 09:14 AM
Kilmarnock sign Ash Taylor until the summer of 2023
They have a squad of 31 which is similar to us. That's a bloated squad for a championship team.l
14-01-2022, 09:21 AM
I also don’t want to replace Dan Mackay if we thought he wasn’t going to get many games.
If we bring someone in, I want them competing for a space in the starting 11 and not coming in as back up.
The only thing that worries me about our current signings is I’m not sure how many of them are starters for us and dislodge our players who have already played this season.
We need quality and whilst they new guys might be, I don’t have a clue because I’ve never seen some of them play, they’re young guys and some from different leagues so might need a settling in period - but the majority haven’t played alot of football.
I had the same thought. I'm not a huge fan of loans. Maybe i'm paranoid after 2012 but i often question loan players commitment to the cause. On reflection though we only really have Clarke on "loan" as Henderson is becoming permanant and we have an option to buy Bushiri so he'll be busting a gut to impress. Based on his time at Ross County i've no concerns about Clarke's commitment. I'd be happy if we kept it at that though.
Forgot about James Scott too (easily done).
Spudster
14-01-2022, 09:25 AM
Two sides to each type of signing:
Inexperience = Potential to improve and eventually sell on for profit.
Experienced = Journey man. Stop gap/short term approach.
14-01-2022, 09:44 AM
If you look at the way we are playing under Maloney the width is coming from Doig/Cadden who aren’t wingers. The front three are a lot narrower and we’re pretty well stocked in that position. I don’t think there is any real competition for Cadden particularly, it would be folk playing there who can ‘do a job’ so wonder if that’s what he’s getting at.
14-01-2022, 09:46 AM
The daily record have decided to take up the story about Valencia - https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-25943472
Basically all they do is quote the earlier tweet
Maybe we’re signing a fatty.
If we are, I'm yet to be approached as an option!
14-01-2022, 09:56 AM
If you look at the way we are playing under Maloney the width is coming from Doig/Cadden who aren’t wingers. The front three are a lot narrower and we’re pretty well stocked in that position. I don’t think there is any real competition for Cadden particularly, it would be folk playing there who can ‘do a job’ so wonder if that’s what he’s getting at.
Boyle could play there with the Hoff, Nisbet, Doidge and Mueller vying for the 3 spots upfront
14-01-2022, 09:57 AM
I had the same thought. I'm not a huge fan of loans. Maybe i'm paranoid after 2012 but i often question loan players commitment to the cause. On reflection though we only really have Clarke on "loan" as Henderson is becoming permanant and we have an option to buy Bushiri so he'll be busting a gut to impress. Based on his time at Ross County i've no concerns about Clarke's commitment. I'd be happy if we kept it at that though.
Forgot about James Scott too (easily done).
Plenty of positive experiences with loans in recent years:
Boyle
McGeouch
Henderson
Stokes
Marciano
Commons
Ambrose
Barker
Kamberi
MacLaren
Allan
McNulty (1st spell)
Naismith
Docherty
Even ones that standout less still had their moments, like Shinnie and Anier.
chippy
14-01-2022, 10:11 AM
Maybe the Norwegian LB, LWB, LCB Torfasson who we had lined up in summer window ?
14-01-2022, 10:15 AM
Boyle
McGeouch
Henderson
Stokes
Marciano
Commons
Ambrose
Barker
Kamberi
MacLaren
Allan
McNulty (1st spell)
Naismith
Docherty
I'd forgotten all about Anier. Completely slated when we signed him but turned up and looked actually pretty good before United cut his loan short.
HibsGW
14-01-2022, 10:24 AM
Boyle
McGeouch
Henderson
Stokes
Marciano
Commons
Ambrose
Barker
Kamberi
MacLaren
Allan
McNulty (1st spell)
Naismith
Docherty
I mistook Docherty at the end there for Matt Doherty and was just about raging even reading the name
14-01-2022, 10:26 AM
I mistook Docherty at the end there for Matt Doherty and was just about raging even reading the name
Contrary to popular opinion, Matt Doherty was actually quite good for us.
I forget his name but the big blonde northern Irish lad we had from Man City was alright in his first loan spell too. He was ***** when he joined us permanently (or was it a second loan?)
14-01-2022, 10:30 AM
I forget his name but the big blonde northern Irish lad we had from Man City was alright in his first loan spell too. He was ***** when he joined us permanently (or was it a second loan?)
McGivern and Doherty were both initially very good; McGivern in particular I remember for a superb goal line clearance at Tynecastle. The animosity from Doherty comes from an interview post-cup final where he said there was "no chance" he was coming back to Hibs, and McGivern as you say nosedived after we signed him permanently.
14-01-2022, 10:31 AM
Was just about to type the same. Played well for us and scored a very important goal in the relegation decider v Dunfermline.
Ryan McGivern was very good on loan, I thought - looked good at both LB and LCB. Was a disaster when signed permanently though, and his mistake early in the Hamilton second leg put us behind.
14-01-2022, 10:34 AM
Was just about to type the same. Played well for us and scored a very important goal in the relegation decider v Dunfermline.
Ryan McGivern was very good on loan, I thought - looked good at both LB and LCB. Was a disaster when signed permanently though, and his mistake early in the Hamilton second leg put us behind.In my mind McGivern is the poster child for that relegation season. His bleach blonde top is the first think I think of when someone mentions relegation.
14-01-2022, 10:34 AM
McGivern and Doherty were both initially very good; McGivern in particular I remember for a superb goal line clearance at Tynecastle. The animosity from Doherty comes from an interview post-cup final where he said there was "no chance" he was coming back to Hibs, and McGivern as you say nosedived after we signed him permanently.
Doherty next day on Twitter after that cup final asking best place to shop in Edinburgh or something along those lines. Despise him after that.
14-01-2022, 10:39 AM
In my mind McGivern is the poster child for that relegation season. His bleach blonde top is the first think I think of when someone mentions relegation.
Owain Tudor-Jones for me.
Don’t think he actually played much, just when he did I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.
14-01-2022, 10:43 AM
Doherty next day on Twitter after that cup final asking best place to shop in Edinburgh or something along those lines. Despise him after that.
Im sure someone asked him how he felt after the final on twitter too and he replied saying he couldnt give a ****. Guys a prick.
14-01-2022, 10:44 AM
Don’t think he actually played much, just when he did I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.Aw man, Tudor-Jones. One of so many names in that team that I forget about until someone mentions them and I feel a wave of despair.
14-01-2022, 10:44 AM
Don’t think he actually played much, just when he did I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.
Same here. A player that shouldn’t have been anywhere near the pitch for us. Sure he played in the second game vs Accies at some point.
14-01-2022, 10:45 AM
I’d have said a winger is a wide option haha
Edinburgh Green
14-01-2022, 10:58 AM
Same here. A player that shouldn’t have been anywhere near the pitch for us. Sure he played in the second game vs Accies at some point.
The 1st memory for me from that game was Danny Haynes not being interested at all straight from KO, made it to 8 min before asking to be subbed and replaced by a mentally fragile Alex Harris. Genuinely wouldn't have been surprised if he was on the train down the road before the full time whistle.
14-01-2022, 10:59 AM
Oh, he did. Didn't fully commit to a 50/50 in the lead up to their second goal.
14-01-2022, 11:04 AM
Will Harry not be the competition for Cadden?
Causewayside PR
14-01-2022, 11:04 AM
Think Mackay will prove to be a good player for Hibs and am excited to see him play and develop. However, that miss was criminal and definitely was a sitter. Moreover, it would have given us a great chance of qualifying. It happens though and was just one moment.
14-01-2022, 11:09 AM
The daily record have decided to take up the story about Valencia - https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-25943472
Basically all they do is quote the earlier tweet
From the article:
'Aberdeen have landed American Dante Polvara while Hibs have made four signings so far and Jamie McGrath is on the verge of penning a pre contract.'
This seems to suggest we're doing a deal to get McGrath in next season, or is it just a badly written sentence and he's on the verge of signing a pre-contract with Aberdeen :confused:
14-01-2022, 11:11 AM
I personally don’t get the issues with a loan deal, yeah ideally we would all want everyone signed as it’s generally preferable. What I’d say is if a player comes in on loan and helps us get to say 3rd and leaves end of the season id be delighted with the contribution. It’s not like the days we had no plan or structure we have plenty of term projects with players signed on multiple year contracts a loan here and there is fine for me. I’d also take out the loan to buy as loans as they are permanent deals if we want them as such so arguably an even better situation as the player has to massively impress to get the permanent deal.
14-01-2022, 11:12 AM
From the article:
'Aberdeen have landed American Dante Polvara while Hibs have made four signings so far and Jamie McGrath is on the verge of penning a pre contract.'
This seems to suggest we're doing a deal to get McGrath in next season, or is it just a badly written sentence and he's on the verge of signing a pre-contract with Aberdeen :confused:
Aberdeen is how I read it
Nevi_SOL
14-01-2022, 11:36 AM
Hibs central( I know) signalling a keeper inbound
loanheadhibby
14-01-2022, 11:36 AM
Jumped out a tackle leading to their 2nd goal. An embarrassment.
14-01-2022, 11:37 AM
Hibs central( I know) signalling a keeper inbound
Lifted straight from the PM board, right on cue.
14-01-2022, 11:54 AM
Any idea who the keeper is?
You’d imagine it will be one comfortable with the ball at his feet, that makes me think they’ll be pretty young too as that’s more that they’re trained on coming through the ranks
14-01-2022, 12:00 PM
any idea who that is between Allan and Murphy?
Almost looks mixed race and short dark hair similar to Nathan Wood - not someone I recognise from our squad.
Malik Zaid from development team?
Maybe it’s just the angle that’s throwing me off.
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1481972200966176772?s=21 Full photo there as the attachment might not be the best. Scotty certainly seems excited by him…
14-01-2022, 12:03 PM
Almost looks mixed race and short dark hair similar to Nathan Wood - not someone I recognise from our squad.
Hallberg
Edinburgh Green
14-01-2022, 12:05 PM
Magennis?
14-01-2022, 12:09 PM
Not convinced it’s Hallberg or Magennis, looks like the hair has ‘waves’
at last 61
14-01-2022, 12:12 PM
Benji
14-01-2022, 12:14 PM
Drey Wright?
14-01-2022, 12:19 PM
Watch the build up to the equalizing goal clearly bottled a 50 50. Torture
EGL2000
14-01-2022, 12:52 PM
Feel we should be looking at Afcon players. Alot of potential although often raw. Scandinavian teams had great success from this market over the years. Although alot of the players are already playing above Hibs level, so may not be an attractive move for many.
Inconsequential
14-01-2022, 12:59 PM
Magennis? Joel Valencia.
14-01-2022, 01:00 PM
Watch the build up to the equalizing goal clearly bottled a 50 50. Torture
Cynically though Jim, I’d thank OTJ, and nearly every one of those hopeless players as their utter failure started / sparked the real (total) rebuild process to what ultimately is now a far stronger, stable, competing football club. Imagine another few seasons under Butcher and Malpas - immeasurable torture !!!
EGL2000
14-01-2022, 01:03 PM
Joel Valencia.
Can't be he's only 5,5 looks taller than Scotty, with him facing down
Souter96Mac
14-01-2022, 01:19 PM
Tait?
14-01-2022, 01:19 PM
From the article:
That’s what I thought too when I read it.
14-01-2022, 01:34 PM
That’s what I thought too when I read it.
The gossip has been that McGrath was signing a pre-contract with Aberdeen.
As others have pointed out, it does seem odd that we would have an offer accepted for him on deadline day and then not be back for him this window.
Hibiza
14-01-2022, 01:35 PM
Any idea who the keeper is?
You’d imagine it will be one comfortable with the ball at his feet, that makes me think they’ll be pretty young too as that’s more that they’re trained on coming through the ranks
Seib .
Hibiza
14-01-2022, 01:37 PM
Oops , soz . Seigrist.
14-01-2022, 01:53 PM
Oops , soz . Seigrist.
Guesswork or heard something?
Very decent keeper at this level although don’t know if he’s good with the ball at his feet.
14-01-2022, 01:58 PM
Tait?
Think it's Tait after the latest pic of him in Hibs Twitter.
14-01-2022, 02:07 PM
The gossip has been that McGrath was signing a pre-contract with Aberdeen.
As others have pointed out, it does seem odd that we would have an offer accepted for him on deadline day and then not be back for him this window.
I’m pretty sure that was a Mathie/Ross deal. Could be that SM doesn’t fancy him.
14-01-2022, 02:11 PM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1482004153761255434?s=21
Nothing in the Joel Valencia rumour.
14-01-2022, 02:15 PM
Dundee Utd sell young Kerr Smith to Aston Villa, expect them to chuck some money to Motherwell to try and get Watt in this window
🦁 We can confirm that @DUFCAcademy graduate Kerr Smith has joined Premier League side @AVFCOfficial for an undisclosed fee.
Everyone at the Club would like to extend our congratulations and best wishes to Kerr and his family for the future 💪
#UnitedTogether
14-01-2022, 02:30 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned but it's been reporter that Souttar had passed a medical at Rangers and could sign for them this window.
Most Hearts fans are of the opinion that if he's signed a pre-contract fir Rangers he shouldn't kick a ball again for Hearts
14-01-2022, 02:33 PM
Anyone think Scott Allan has shed some weight based on that pic?
14-01-2022, 02:43 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned but it's been reporter that Souttar had passed a medical at Rangers and could sign for them this window.
Most Hearts fans are of the opinion that if he's signed a pre-contract fir Rangers he shouldn't kick a ball again for Hearts
He can only sign if they agree something with Hearts, they hold all the cards
They could keep him and not play him, would end his hopes of playing for Scotland
Works both ways
14-01-2022, 02:45 PM
They could keep him and not play him, would end his hopes of playing for Scotland
Works both ways
I’m not sure it would end his Scotland hopes. Steve Clarke’s well aware of how good he is and why he wouldn’t be getting played. I don’t think hearts can afford not to play him either
King Cosell
14-01-2022, 02:49 PM
Works both ways
Yeah but they're rubbish cards. Keep and not play a player that's worth a few million or sell him now for a few hundred grand.
14-01-2022, 02:50 PM
I’m not sure it would end his Scotland hopes. Steve Clarke’s well aware of how good he is and why he wouldn’t be getting played. I don’t think hearts can afford not to play him either
If he’s not playing, he won’t be in a Scotland squad
Rangers will be offering Hearts peanuts for him, but Souttar is making the decision to sign a pre contract with them
If he stays at Hearts if will be toxic for him and them
14-01-2022, 02:55 PM
Stuart Findlay was over here recently. I'm sure Hearts will just get him in to replace Souttar. Definite downgrade though.
Going by some of the comments from hearts fans The bitterness and seethe towards him now shows their true colours.
Hoping he gets injured etc