View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2021-22 transfer thread
15-12-2021, 12:56 PM
What’s the view of the Buddies on him these days Ronnie ??
Struggling in a poor team and not scoring Like us ,one or two key players missing that would probably help him to improve form
So be interested to see if anyone comes in for him in next window
15-12-2021, 01:01 PM
Struggling in a poor team and not scoring Like us ,one or two key players missing that would probably help him to improve form
If he’s not been as good as last season it may work in our favour if we’re still after him
15-12-2021, 01:14 PM
SJM had a quiet season with them before he joined us ….maybe he is ready for a fresh start too :).
mayo hibee
15-12-2021, 01:20 PM
I agree, it shows how poorly Celtic nurture their young prospects. Out of interest, who are seen as the Irish success stories in recent years? Jamie McGrath is the obvious one in Scotland.
Gavin Bazunu - the Man City keeper on loan at Portsmouth - is probably the biggest prospect at the moment. Has a very high ceiling, only 19 and already into double digits senior caps for Ireland. Kelleher the Liverpool number 2 keeper is also Irish.
Then there are three young centre backs - Collins at Burnley, Omobamidele at Norwich and O'Shea at West Brom. The first two are two of the three youngest centre backs to play in the EPL this season, the other O'Shea, had the most appearances for an under 21 centre back in the Premier League last season.
Then the other one is Jason Knight, a central midfielder who is in the Championship with Derby but is expected to move to the Premier League in January. Very much in the John McGinn mould, I'm a big fan of his. We were linked to him on loan once, but it didn't materialise unfortunately.
None of those players are household names yet but all of them have a great chance I think.
McGrath is a bit older than those lads but is doing well also as a late developer. Has done well when given a chance with the Ireland senior team. I still think he would be a great signing for Hibs if we haven't missed the boat with him.
One other player to keep an eye on is Evan Ferguson at Brighton. He has only just turned 17 but has already had first team involvement. Will probably go out on loan when he turns 18 - I know our link up with Brighton isn't really about loaning players, but he is one we should consider I think.
15-12-2021, 01:29 PM
If there’s still any chance of McGrath we should be all over it.
I said that last season his goals will likely earn him a move but people need to remember about 10 of them were penalties.
He was always going to score less this season but as a player he’s very good, he has a very good touch, passing, vision and eye for goal.
He’s also by no means lightweight for an attacking mid.
He would be a great addition for us and suit us to a tee
15-12-2021, 02:09 PM
SJM had a quiet season with them before he joined us ….maybe he is ready for a fresh start too :).
Possibly
15-12-2021, 11:27 PM
Now Maloney and Caldwell are all but confirmed, who do we think we’ll be going for? Any connections?
Both have obvious Celtic connections which could work in our favour. Maloney will hopefully have knowledge of some young Belgian players whilst Caldwell can tap into the under 23 market in England with his time at 23’s interim manager at Newcastle and loans coach at Man City
Based on nothing other than loose connections/knowledge of players I’ll say
Tony Watt - Celtic connection
Ewan Henderson - Celtic connection
Karamoko Dembele - Celtic connection
Mandela Keita - Young Belgian international
Koni De Winter - Young Belgian international
Who else we thinking/would you like?
Fwiw I think we’ll see a fair clear out in January and that’s not including our assets
Gogic
Wright
Scott
Wood - No longer training but officially off our books
I would have said Gullan but you never know, Maloney might like his energy and directness. Same with Hallberg as he gets around the pitch well and is comfortable on the ball. If not they’ll both be gone. Will Allan become more prominent for us again - he seems to suit the attacking style Maloney wants.
We’ll also have Mueller and Tait eligible to play.
A lot of room to manoeuvre
Rumble de Thump
15-12-2021, 11:32 PM
David Marshall
15-12-2021, 11:43 PM
David Marshall
That’s a great shout, will know both them well and not getting a game for Derby.
Out of contract in the summer too.
Coming to the end of his career but Gordon and McGregor show that’s irrelevant.
Would just be if they want to spend that wage on a keeper when we have Macey who has had a good season and Dabrowski who is young with potential and then add in Mitchell who…..well I don’t know why he’s here.
15-12-2021, 11:51 PM
Now Maloney and Caldwell are all but confirmed, who do we think we’ll be going for? Any connections?
Both have obvious Celtic connections which could work in our favour. Maloney will hopefully have knowledge of some young Belgian players whilst Caldwell can tap into the under 23 market in England with his time at 23’s interim manager at Newcastle and loans coach at Man City
Fwiw I think we’ll see a fair clear out in January and that’s not including our assets
Gogic
Wright
Scott
I would have said Gullan but you never know, Maloney might like his energy and directness. Same with Hallberg as he gets around the pitch well and is comfortable on the ball. If not they’ll both be gone. Will Allan become more prominent for us again - he seems to suit the attacking style Maloney wants.
Wouldn't be shocked if we end up signing Watt now.
Magpie
15-12-2021, 11:57 PM
If there’s still any chance of McGrath we should be all over it.
I said that last season his goals will likely earn him a move but people need to remember about 10 of them were penalties.
He was always going to score less this season but as a player he’s very good, he has a very good touch, passing, vision and eye for goal.
He’s also by no means lightweight for an attacking mid.
He would be a great addition for us and suit us to a tee
Involved in the Ireland squad also. I haven’t really seen enough of him personally to properly judge but he seems to have a bit about him.
16-12-2021, 07:32 AM
Gogic
Wright
Scott
I think the new coaching team have some decisions to make - if they want to bring in a few players, a few will have to go. I can see Gullan being given a pay off and freed if we get the young Irish striker. And Gogic, Hallberg and Murphy who are out of contract in the summer will be eased out the door to make way for new players. Plus we have Mueller and Tait coming in from the New Year.
Could be a revolving door at New Year and the summer.
16-12-2021, 07:45 AM
Gogic
Wright
Murphy
Hallberg
Mackie
Gullan
Mcgregor
Scott
Hate to say it (Allan)
All potentially could go this window
Not one in that list is a first team starter nailed on each week.
Think / Hope we could see a good few replacements in January that will really beef up the challenge for the first eleven and push us back to higher end of the league
Watt
Marshall
I’d take all day
16-12-2021, 07:52 AM
Gogic
Wright
Murphy
Hallberg
Mackie
Gullan
Mcgregor
Scott
Hate to say it (Allan)
All potentially could go this window
Not one in that list is a first team starter nailed on each week.
Think / Hope we could see a good few replacements in January that will really beef up the challenge for the first eleven and push us back to higher end of the league
There’s not likely to be much call for most of these guys tbh. Only Gogic, Gullan and Wright would be likely to find clubs mid season.
McGregor will stay until his contract is up. Mackie and Hallberg are both still injured, with Mackie having* a chronic injury history.
Murphy will be on a good wage and can find a club in the summer. Why would he go now?
As for Scott, least said. He should have been out the door already.
16-12-2021, 12:51 PM
Who is leading on recruitment for us now? I assume that Maloney will already have been in discussions about potential targets.
I see that Graeme Mathie has just been appointed MD at Ayr United.
Leitherhibs
16-12-2021, 01:22 PM
Not so sure we'll end up signing lots of players from Celtic/Ex-Celtic players on the basis Maloney is coming in.
16-12-2021, 01:31 PM
We always start to think about who their connection might bring to us on loan etc but in my experience it very rarely materialises into anything.
Stubbs & Everton was a prime example I think.
Who knows maybe we'll finally get a loan from Brighton [emoji28]
16-12-2021, 01:50 PM
We always start to think about who their connection might bring to us on loan etc but in my experience it very rarely materialises into anything.
Stubbs & Everton was a prime example I think.
Who knows maybe we'll finally get a loan from Brighton [emoji28]
Did Stubbs not bring Matthew Kennedy in on loan from Everton in his first transfer window?
Gavin Bazunu - the Man City keeper on loan at Portsmouth - is probably the biggest prospect at the moment. Has a very high ceiling, only 19 and already into double digits senior caps for Ireland. Kelleher the Liverpool number 2 keeper is also Irish.
Then there are three young centre backs - Collins at Burnley, Omobamidele at Norwich and O'Shea at West Brom. The first two are two of the three youngest centre backs to play in the EPL this season, the other O'Shea, had the most appearances for an under 21 centre back in the Premier League last season.
Then the other one is Jason Knight, a central midfielder who is in the Championship with Derby but is expected to move to the Premier League in January. Very much in the John McGinn mould, I'm a big fan of his. We were linked to him on loan once, but it didn't materialise unfortunately.
None of those players are household names yet but all of them have a great chance I think.
McGrath is a bit older than those lads but is doing well also as a late developer. Has done well when given a chance with the Ireland senior team. I still think he would be a great signing for Hibs if we haven't missed the boat with him.
One other player to keep an eye on is Evan Ferguson at Brighton. He has only just turned 17 but has already had first team involvement. Will probably go out on loan when he turns 18 - I know our link up with Brighton isn't really about loaning players, but he is one we should consider I think.
Your series of post have been excellent and very informative. Thank you. 👍
Hibiza
16-12-2021, 02:42 PM
Your series of post have been excellent and very informative. Thank you. 👍
Great stuff .
16-12-2021, 03:30 PM
Not really seen this Irish lad but seems a good prospect from reports.
Was hoping Laidlaw would of broke though a little but still time.
16-12-2021, 08:02 PM
Not sure those Soccerbase stats are correct. He has played a lot more than that this season.
My mistake, usually they're spot on.
16-12-2021, 08:22 PM
Another young Irish player on the radar. Invited as a guest to the cup final.
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/st-pats-winger-darragh-burns-on-hibs-radar-as-duo-set-for-dundalk-return-41157815.html
16-12-2021, 08:27 PM
Another young Irish player on the radar. Invited as a guest to the cup final.
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/st-pats-winger-darragh-burns-on-hibs-radar-as-duo-set-for-dundalk-return-41157815.html
Assuming that’s the Tim Clancy that used to play for us that’s the St Pats manager? Hopefully puts a good word in for us if there’s competition for his signature.
mayo hibee
16-12-2021, 09:42 PM
Yes, the same Tim Clancy. Interesting that we're after both players, clearly we have been scouting the League of Ireland heavily.
16-12-2021, 09:45 PM
Yes, the same Tim Clancy. Interesting that we're after both players, clearly we have been scouting the League of Ireland heavily.
Do you think these players with a fee involved would be first team players intitaily? Would be incredible if we are paying fees for players to bridge the gap between the development team and the 1st team. They sound interesting and exciting players .
I see St Johnstone are supposedly signing a CB from Dundalk ?
mayo hibee
16-12-2021, 09:59 PM
I'd expect them to be first team squad players, but not first eleven players initially.
I can't see us paying 100k to 150k for players just to put them in the development squad, we don't have that kind of money to throw around unless we are signing players that we think can make a contribution to the team in the near term. Certainly Kenny I think is good enough to make a first team contribution within the next year if we can get him.
St Johnstone are looking at Dan Cleary. He's 25, so older than the lads we're looking at. I don't think there are many 25 year olds in the League of Ireland that would improve Hibs to be honest. Our interest will be in younger players that can hopefully develop through first team exposure at a higher level with us.
16-12-2021, 10:05 PM
I'd expect them to be first team squad players, but not first eleven players initially.
I can't see us paying 100k to 150k for players just to put them in the development squad, we don't have that kind of money to throw around unless we are signing players that we think can make a contribution to the team in the near term. Certainly Kenny I think is good enough to make a first team contribution within the next year if we can get him.
St Johnstone are looking at Dan Cleary. He's 25, so older than the lads we're looking at. I don't think there are many 25 year olds in the League of Ireland that would improve Hibs to be honest. Our interest will be in younger players that can hopefully develop through first team exposure at a higher level with us.
Cheers very insightful as always, certainly interesting to see if they do sign how our team would look with young McKay and Tait in and around the squad as well.
Edinburgh Green
16-12-2021, 10:33 PM
There definitely seems to be a plan to recruit promising talent at the earliest opportunity. McKay, Tait and now rumours of the young Irish lads.
K-Zazu
16-12-2021, 11:16 PM
What’s actually wrong with Daniel Mackay?
16-12-2021, 11:24 PM
Did Stubbs not bring Matthew Kennedy in on loan from Everton in his first transfer window?He did you're right. He was one player and didn't do much at Hibs though which is kind of what I was getting at (albeit I didn't make that very clear haha).
If Maloney comes in I don't see us bringing in Belgian players or Man city loanees like some are potentially suggesting.
16-12-2021, 11:53 PM
He did you're right. He was one player and didn't do much at Hibs though which is kind of what I was getting at (albeit I didn't make that very clear haha).
If Maloney comes in I don't see us bringing in Belgian players or Man city loanees like some are potentially suggesting.
My point wasn’t specifically Belgian players or Man City but the fact that between him and Caldwell they’ll have good knowledge of either under 23 players in England and Belgian players/play in the Belgian league
Re Stubbs he brought in
Matty Kennedy
Islam Feruz
Fraser Fyvie
Jake Sinclair
All whom he would have had knowledge of from his role at Everton.
Darragh Burns (haven't noticed him mentioned on here but haven't read whole thread).
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/darragh-burns-hibs-radar-club-22489633
17-12-2021, 03:11 AM
Not really seen this Irish lad but seems a good prospect from reports.
Was hoping Laidlaw would of broke though a little but still time.
saw this on fb the other day
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/267885976_10228029342264808_2074272270730831482_n. jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=fGpwDfKT2XQAX-emnJX&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT9bGD0AfWDpjXQKeRklSd4XiPD4QsbvcqOxQEODPKVc tA&oe=61C10D61
17-12-2021, 05:43 AM
What’s actually wrong with Daniel Mackay?
Definitely back in full training.
17-12-2021, 07:02 AM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/267885976_10228029342264808_2074272270730831482_n. jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=fGpwDfKT2XQAX-emnJX&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT9bGD0AfWDpjXQKeRklSd4XiPD4QsbvcqOxQEODPKVc tA&oe=61C10D61
Possibly depending on injuries, one or two could be on the bench on Sunday, although Brydon is out on loan
20 players get stripped in the league cup
Robbie Hamilton is the son of the well travelled player, Jim Hamilton
Possibly depending on injuries, one or two could be on the bench on Sunday, although Brydon is out on loan
Jim Hamilton scored one of the best goals I've ever seen against Celtic for Well. Left footed volley from outside the box with his back to goal, absolute peach.
I also saw Brydon play for Civil against Bonnyrigg a month or so ago, I'd be surprised if he makes any first team squad at Hibs.
17-12-2021, 07:52 AM
Jim Hamilton scored one of the best goals I've ever seen against Celtic for Well. Left footed volley from outside the box with his back to goal, absolute peach.
I also saw Brydon play for Civil against Bonnyrigg a month or so ago, I'd be surprised if he makes any first team squad at Hibs.
I'm going to have to see if that goal is on YouTube, I'm trying to imagine scoring a left footed volley with your back to the goal 😁 Impressive.
And here it is , great goal
https://youtu.be/kOZ7pIe0TcE
17-12-2021, 08:00 AM
Aberdeen back in for McGrath in January apparently
17-12-2021, 08:05 AM
Aberdeen back in for McGrath in January apparently
See Scott Burns is reporting the very same
@AberdeenFC will renew their interest in St Mirren midfielder Jamie McGrath. The Republic of Ireland star is out of contract in the summer. Stephen Glass was interested in August and is keen to see if he can bring him north second time around, amidst English interest. https://t.co/jCX3why2hc
17-12-2021, 08:58 AM
With the amount of Covid circulating it’s a good idea to have plenty of options.
17-12-2021, 08:59 AM
What’s your thoughts on Stephen Bradley? I thought he’d be a very good candidate for our new manager based on his achievements in recent years.
17-12-2021, 10:04 AM
What’s your thoughts on Stephen Bradley? I thought he’d be a very good candidate for our new manager based on his achievements in recent years.
Isn’t he away on loan at Ayr or something
17-12-2021, 10:06 AM
I'd wait a wee bit before giving Bradley the manager's job, he's only 19.
17-12-2021, 10:18 AM
Is Robbie a keeper?
17-12-2021, 10:21 AM
Is Robbie a keeper?
Hopefully he will be here for a while yet yes 😁
Seriously though think he's a left footed midfield player
H18S NX
17-12-2021, 10:21 AM
I'd wait a wee bit before giving Bradley the manager's job, he's only 19....Ha-Ha,very good m8:aok::top marks
17-12-2021, 10:24 AM
Hopefully he will be here for a while yet yes 😁
Seriously though think he's a left footed midfield player
Ok ha ha :greengrin
17-12-2021, 10:27 AM
Is Robbie a keeper?
He always texts the morning after and plumps up your pillow so he defo is.
17-12-2021, 10:28 AM
Sounds like you are almost speaking from experience there :greengrin
17-12-2021, 10:39 AM
Sounds like you are almost speaking from experience there :greengrin
Here, have you seen the price of tickets recently?
17-12-2021, 10:45 AM
Aye but does he keep clean sheets?
17-12-2021, 11:36 AM
So to confirm
Rumoured in:
Stuart Findlay (defender, Philadelphia Union)
Johnny Kenny (striker, Sligo )
Darragh Burns (winger , St Pat's)
Hopefully here some more rumours soon 😁
hhibs
17-12-2021, 11:48 AM
Can only say that from the appearance for televised Ayr United in the cup game the looked very raw.However others wili have watched him on many more than this and would have much better view.
17-12-2021, 11:50 AM
To clarify I’m talking about Stephen Bradley, current manager of Shamrock Rovers who has just won back-to-back league titles 🤣
17-12-2021, 11:51 AM
Tony Watt turned down a new contract at Motherwell and out of contract in the summer…
17-12-2021, 12:01 PM
Tony Watt turned down a new contract at Motherwell and out of contract in the summer…
I'd take him.
Saint Hibee
17-12-2021, 12:17 PM
I'm going to have to see if that goal is on YouTube, I'm trying to imagine scoring a left footed volley with your back to the goal 😁 Impressive.
And here it is , great goal
https://youtu.be/kOZ7pIe0TcE
Goodness, that's some strike!
17-12-2021, 12:23 PM
I'd take him.
Me too.
17-12-2021, 12:24 PM
I'd take him.
For the money that he's no doubt looking for now, I wouldn't. Having a really good season so far, and he may well be entering into a peak time in his career - but he's been underwhelming at nine clubs now, until this purple patch at Motherwell. Possibly no coincidence that's it's happening when he's close to the end of his contract too.
Great finish against us a couple of weeks back, but didn't see him stand out other than that. I'd take him as a decent option, but his wage demands would exceed that role I think. There's greater value elsewhere, IMO.
17-12-2021, 12:27 PM
With the amount of Covid circulating it’s a good idea to have plenty of options.
that's probably the reason, there's also the possibility that maybe SDG has thought for a while that this group of lads should be nearer the first team but haven't been given the chance by JR/whoever else, unfortunately i never see the young dudes playing nowadays so you're both probably nearer to the reasoning than i am :)
17-12-2021, 12:53 PM
Goodness, that's some strike!
Fantasy stuff.
17-12-2021, 12:54 PM
I'd take him.
And me.
Newcastlehibby
17-12-2021, 01:52 PM
Aye but does he keep clean sheets?
Made me laugh out loud.
17-12-2021, 02:13 PM
Some of Kennys highlights for the season https://youtu.be/cvG0I9zfID4
Hibiza
17-12-2021, 05:14 PM
Welcome Johnny.
17-12-2021, 05:20 PM
Thats good if they can at least make the bench Sunday. Maybe we a new manager some of the youth might get a chance to impress.
Bridge hibs
17-12-2021, 06:06 PM
Welcome Johnny.Has he signed ?
17-12-2021, 06:09 PM
Thats good if they can at least make the bench Sunday. Maybe we a new manager some of the youth might get a chance to impress.
I’d hope so. If having a threadbare squad which is then decimated up front isn’t the time to bleed in our promising youngsters then when is? Aberdeen, St Mirren and Dundee Utd have all played 16 or 17 year olds this season. Why can other clubs do it but not us? I think Kean is in to address things like that step up for youngsters, hopefully him and a braver approach from the next man will see is use bleed in these youngsters.
https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/st-pats-winger-darragh-burns-on-hibs-radar-as-duo-set-for-dundalk-return-41157815.html
17-12-2021, 08:27 PM
I wonder if both the Irish lads will be at the final, hope the bought a ticket
17-12-2021, 08:29 PM
I wonder if both the Irish lads will be at the final, hope the bought a ticket
Now, remember why we are us and they are them. Those lads won’t have to buy a ticket.
JXM73
18-12-2021, 09:00 AM
Aberdeen looking to sign Mcgrath fae saint mirren..
Aberdeen are poised to renew their attempt to sign St Mirren midfielder Jamie McGrath - and they are keen to do a deal for the 25-year-old Republic of Ireland international in January. (Daily Express)
chippy
18-12-2021, 09:20 AM
Aberdeen are poised to renew their attempt to sign St Mirren midfielder Jamie McGrath - and they are keen to do a deal for the 25-year-old Republic of Ireland international in January. (Daily Express)
Will we go for him? May not be Maloney’s cup of tea. May have other targets. Same goes for Findlay and McCart
BegbieHSC
18-12-2021, 10:03 AM
Aberdeen literally don’t have scouts, do they? They have Hibs.net
Will we go for him? May not be Maloney’s cup of tea. May have other targets. Same goes for Findlay and McCart
He's been fairly pish this season, we've already got players like him in the squad, no big loss, we need to aim higher.
IncredibleHibee
18-12-2021, 10:21 AM
He's been fairly pish this season, we've already got players like him in the squad, no big loss, we need to aim higher.
Disagree.
Admittedly he hasn’t had a great season but the guy is class
18-12-2021, 12:20 PM
Disagree.
Admittedly he hasn’t had a great season but the guy is class
We have a lot of midfielders (admittedly not all of them fit) and Mueller and Tait to come in next month and see where they might fit in the team.
There are other priority areas I’d prefer to see addressed first.
18-12-2021, 12:36 PM
We have a lot of midfielders (admittedly not all of them fit) and Mueller and Tait to come in next month and see where they might fit in the team.
There are other priority areas I’d prefer to see addressed first.
Is McGrath not more like Magennis than Mueller or Tait?
I do think we need another midfielder like McGrath in the squad, especially if Magennis is going to continue to be unavailable.
18-12-2021, 03:27 PM
Any interest in McGrath will depend on how Maloney wants us to play, whether he has a role in that preferred system and whether we already have suitable players for that role.
19-12-2021, 08:25 AM
https://the72.co.uk/258275/morecambe-set-sights-on-hibernians-alex-gogic/
Interest in Gogic.
Players like Gogic, Wright etc need to be moved on, he had some decent games last season but is limited as has been seen this year. Freeing up wages is needed for the new manager to bring players in.
BegbieHSC
19-12-2021, 09:27 AM
Players like Gogic, Wright etc need to be moved on, he had some decent games last season but is limited as has been seen this year. Freeing up wages is needed for the new manager to bring players in.
If our ball-playing centre mids are mobile, and don’t shirk out of tackles, we don’t need destroyer midfielder types like Gogic, and look better for it.
It Gogic goes, which might be his best choice if he wants first-team football, I wish him all the best.
Magpie
19-12-2021, 09:39 AM
Interest in Gogic.
Let him go.
19-12-2021, 10:04 AM
If our ball-playing centre mids are mobile, and don’t shirk out of tackles, we don’t need destroyer midfielder types like Gogic, and look better for it.
It Gogic goes, which might be his best choice if he wants first-team football, I wish him all the best.
I think it’s normally well worth having a destroyer type - but they’re for special occasions rather than every week, and they have to be content with that.
19-12-2021, 01:17 PM
Gogic was great for us last season, made us horrible to play against. Ross obviously wanted to improve our quality on the ball, and the transition away from that has been so difficult that it cost him his job.
I wouldn't be moving Gogic on unless we have a real quality alternative lined up.
19-12-2021, 01:21 PM
Let him go.
Is selling him to Morcambe wise though?
19-12-2021, 01:24 PM
He's replaceable.
19-12-2021, 01:26 PM
ho ho
19-12-2021, 01:26 PM
:greengrin:greengrin
chippy
19-12-2021, 01:42 PM
Gogic was great for us last season, made us horrible to play against. Ross obviously wanted to improve our quality on the ball, and the transition away from that has been so difficult that it cost him his job.
I wouldn't be moving Gogic on unless we have a real quality alternative lined up.
Think that might be Josh Campbells role after Tait arrives and if Magennis gets fit
19-12-2021, 03:59 PM
I tell you if anybody wants Murphy in the transfer window I’ll drop him off after today’s showing. Awful
19-12-2021, 03:59 PM
I tell you if anybody wants Murphy in the transfer window I’ll drop him off after today’s showing. Awful
He plays 3 games then injured, pointless signing
Mantis Toboggan
19-12-2021, 04:11 PM
Why? He barely plays and has been largely poor when he has this season. No loss whatsoever.
19-12-2021, 04:29 PM
Zak Rudden is signing
19-12-2021, 04:41 PM
Why? He barely plays and has been largely poor when he has this season. No loss whatsoever.
I refer you to my first paragraph.
leith lynx
19-12-2021, 04:43 PM
Rubbish!
Dazzjw1875
19-12-2021, 04:43 PM
Zak Rudden is signing
The Partick striker? Never heard anything but I would think we would be aiming a bit higher with signings but that could be very unfair as I know nothing about him.
Zak Rudden is signing
Maybe a replacement for Gullan??
19-12-2021, 05:49 PM
Zak Rudden is signing
Good, I was hoping we’d get him in during the last window.
19-12-2021, 06:01 PM
Zak Rudden is signing
In January?
6'2 not sure what kind of striker he is but we could do with some pace and good movement up front.
Torto7
19-12-2021, 06:08 PM
Rudden is an interesting one. He looks rough sometimes but there's definately something there if we can take his game on. Any price mentioned? I wouldnt mind Tony Watt either.
at last 61
19-12-2021, 06:09 PM
Well that went right over some people’s head 😁😁
19-12-2021, 06:22 PM
He plays 3 games then injured, pointless signing
That’s truly kind of you to suggest he does anything in between injuries.
19-12-2021, 06:28 PM
Zak Rudden is signing
Think he's worth a gamble. Raw, but shows promise. Good attitude, Hibs fan to boot.
Wonder if this means our interest in Dion Charles has wavered.
19-12-2021, 06:32 PM
Rudden is an interesting one. He looks rough sometimes but there's definately something there if we can take his game on. Any price mentioned? I wouldnt mind Tony Watt either.
Contracts up at the end of the season so won’t be a lot.
The Captain....
19-12-2021, 06:53 PM
Seen Rudden a few times..strong, decent movement and quite raw, something there to work with definitely.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
Tarrahib
19-12-2021, 07:00 PM
Rangers are laughing all the way to the bank.
19-12-2021, 07:09 PM
Rangers are laughing all the way to the bank.
Why? We paid zero for him and his contract was literally up in the summer anyway?
19-12-2021, 07:10 PM
Can't see anything anywhere about Rudden signing for Hibs other than on here. Looking at the Thistle forums it looks like he hasn't signed an extension to his contract but it doesn't look like they'd be to fussed if he was to leave them.
19-12-2021, 08:12 PM
Apologies, the Rudden stuff might not be as true as I first thought.
I was initially told by someone who is normally spot on in November that Ross was very keen on bringing him in.
Today I got a couple of texts saying he is signing from other people and Rudden was watching us today - I posted quickly after the game based on this and the previous info.
From speaking to them further it appears that Rudden is infact a Hibs fan and was there was one - I think it was a case of Chinese whispers at the game which is why I got a couple of texts about it.
No idea if Maloney will follow up the interest Ross previously had.
Tarrahib
20-12-2021, 06:25 AM
Why? We paid zero for him and his contract was literally up in the summer anyway?
Excuse me. The 2 nd part of last season when Murphy was on loan which by the way he was on the treatment table the majority of the time,who was paying all or most of his wages Hibs or Rangers.
If it was Hibs I would say that Rangers were laughing all the way to the bank.
20-12-2021, 06:33 AM
We’ve overpaid massively by the sounds of it then.
20-12-2021, 06:40 AM
We need to stop signing perma-injured players like Murphy and Magennis. It’s not like we didn’t know their injury history before hand. Magennis hadn’t played in over 6 months at the time we bought him. Since then, I doubt he has managed 25 games for us since? Pathetic return on our investment. As for Murphy, he’s not even very good when he’s fit.
20-12-2021, 06:46 AM
We need to stop signing perma-injured players like Murphy and Magennis. It’s not like we didn’t know their injury history before hand. Magennis hadn’t played in over 6 months at the time we bought him. Since then, I doubt he has managed 25 games for us since? Pathetic return on our investment. As for Murphy, he’s not even very good when he’s fit.
They both stink of desperation signings. The recruitment in recent years has been nothing short of awful.
20-12-2021, 07:33 AM
They both stink of desperation signings. The recruitment in recent years has been nothing short of awful.
Really? Magennis was outstanding before his injury.
20-12-2021, 07:36 AM
Correct.
20-12-2021, 07:36 AM
He was brilliant. Giving him a five year deal looks rather hasty at this point though. We’ve had one small brilliant spell out of him in over a year.
20-12-2021, 07:44 AM
How long has he been out injured again ? We signed him as an injured player oh and by the way he's out injured again long term. Yes he played well for the short spell he was injury free but my point is why are we always signing players that spend more time on the table than on the pitch ??
#2 Double Tap
20-12-2021, 08:13 AM
he was looking good, but those fluffed shots in the derby at tiny, kinda took the shine off him imo. still live in hope he can be an asset for us, the injury proneness is a huge issue though!
HibsGW
20-12-2021, 08:16 AM
He was but Messi isn’t any use to us if he’s constantly injured either. That’s the problem with him.
20-12-2021, 08:53 AM
And a five year contract was a huge gamble that to date hasn’t paid off
20-12-2021, 12:20 PM
With our new management team in place you’d like to think we’ll make full use of their connections.
Maloney - Celtic 19s & Belgium first team.
Surely he’ll have good knowledge of players at the younger age groups and those available to us. If we could get a couple of young Belgian players it could be a huge boost as they’ve a fantastic reputation of bringing through quality.
Caldwell - Wigan, Chesterfield, Patrick, Newcastle and Man City
Again I’d hope Caldwell had a list of under 23s from his time coaching and being loans coach that he feels can come in and have an instant impact. Celtic, Aberdeen and Hearts have all used this market very well lately and it’s one we’ve been poor in.
Valeria Zuddas - Lazio, Reggina, Hadjuk Split, Kolkheti Poti, Spartaki Tskhinvali, UTA Arad in Romania and Budapest Honvéd.
That’s a large selection of teams from counties we rarely scout or recruit from. Hopefully we can unearth a gem or two from there
20-12-2021, 12:23 PM
Excuse me. The 2 nd part of last season when Murphy was on loan which by the way he was on the treatment table the majority of the time,who was paying all or most of his wages Hibs or Rangers.
If it was Hibs I would say that Rangers were laughing all the way to the bank.
He was on loan for all of last season. We probably would've been paying a portion of his wages.
Alex Cropley and Willie Ormond suffered multi broken bones in their careers. Lawrie Reilly retired at 29 because of persistent injuries. Wage thieves all of them!
Seriously, do people really think we don't check out players before they sign? Injuries, even muscular and persistent can occur at any time and without notice. No player wants to be on the sidelines. It would be nice if we supported our injured players instead of writing them off.
20-12-2021, 01:23 PM
Alex Cropley and Willie Ormond suffered multi broken bones in their careers. Lawrie Reilly retired at 29 because of persistent injuries. Wage thieves all of them!
Seriously, do people really think we don't check out players before they sign? Injuries, even muscular and persistent can occur at any time and without notice. No player wants to be on the sidelines. It would be nice if we supported our injured players instead of writing them off.
Aye but I’m raging at Hibs and it’s all Kyle Magennis’ fault
Dr What If?
20-12-2021, 01:32 PM
I had wondered if this wasn't a deliberate signing policy. Money is finite and you need to get the best for your buck, in the case of Magennis you have the biggest touted player to come out of St Mirren since SJM before he got his injury....if he was to come back and have a stormer he could be attracting fee's way out of our price range....getting him when we did was a case of getting in at a time when we could afford him. That is how I read it anyway, could be nonsense.
Murphy I thought was a no brainer, quality player and not exactly a granddad quite yet......then again I was over the moon when we signed Jonathan Johansen so probably I'm not the best person to ask :greengrin
loanheadhibby
20-12-2021, 01:32 PM
To be fair medical science has moved on since the 50's and 70's. If Cropley/Ormond/Reilly picked up those injuries in this era, they may well have carried on playing well in to their 30's. and I can bet they were not being paid anywhere near what guys are being paid today (pro rata obviously).
20-12-2021, 02:17 PM
I wonder if Valerio Zuddas will have any links to Ivan Kepcija.
Remember that’s the Croatian lad we recruited to help with our recruitment, think he lasted about one month.
20-12-2021, 02:18 PM
David Marshall should be a priority for January.
Macey isn't good enough and is especially ***** with the ball at his feet.
20-12-2021, 02:22 PM
That’s absolute guff, you cannot possibly compare them.
20-12-2021, 02:26 PM
With the exception of his kicking I actually think Macey is a decent keepers though thought he should have done better with the first yesterday.
Think he is a good shot stopper though and has saved us plenty this season.
That said, if we have an opportunity to get Marshall we should be taking it. He would be a fantastic signing and bring some much needed experience
20-12-2021, 02:39 PM
With the exception of his kicking I actually think Macey is a decent keepers though thought he should have done better with the first yesterday.
Think he is a good shot stopper though and has saved us plenty this season.
That said, if we have an opportunity to get Marshall we should be taking it. He would be a fantastic signing and bring some much needed experience
I just don't see it with him. Played excellent in the derby mind you.
20-12-2021, 02:41 PM
That’s absolute guff, you cannot possibly compare them.
What you talking about ? The original post was how poor both signings have been due to injury & time on pitch not comparing them :rolleyes:
JammyDoidger
20-12-2021, 02:51 PM
I agree, macey isn't the answer for me.
Dr What If?
20-12-2021, 03:00 PM
I don't think Macey is that bad, definitely very good for his age and will get better. Doesn't mean to say there aren't better keepers out there and Marshall is one of them....he would improve us. He wouldn't fit in with the policy of developing and selling young player philosophy I read so much about, makes me think we a far more likely to stick with a good young keeper with potential than bring in a better older one.
20-12-2021, 03:00 PM
I don’t think we’ll be desperate to bring in a new keeper, Macey has been decent enough. We’d probably give the young lad a try before bringing in someone new.
20-12-2021, 03:16 PM
Robert Snodgrsss available in January.
Someone Caldwell and Maloney know very well.
Bags of quality but getting on a bit.
20-12-2021, 03:19 PM
I don’t think we’ll be desperate to bring in a new keeper, Macey has been decent enough. We’d probably give the young lad a try before bringing in someone new.
He's not even near the top six keepers in the country. We should 100% looking for someone much better to form the core of our side.
CallumHibs07
20-12-2021, 03:23 PM
Macey will probably cost us more points than he wins us. Compare to Gordon for them who will win them 10+ points easy and it’s obvious we need an upgrade.
20-12-2021, 03:24 PM
He's not even near the top six keepers in the country. We should 100% looking for someone much better to form the core of our side.
I’m not seeing what others seem to see with him, other than his kicking I think he’s been good. He’s started coming for a lot more crosses recently and I can’t think of any howlers he’s made.
20-12-2021, 03:25 PM
Macey will probably cost us more points than he wins us. Compare to Gordon for them who will win them 10+ points easy and it’s obvious we need an upgrade.
Can’t think of one situation that’s involved him alone that’s even led to a goal never mind a lost point.
To be fair medical science has moved on since the 50's and 70's. If Cropley/Ormond/Reilly picked up those injuries in this era, they may well have carried on playing well in to their 30's. and I can bet they were not being paid anywhere near what guys are being paid today (pro rata obviously).
Willie actually played until he was 35 and he was capped at about 32 IIRC. Crops played until he was 31. The point is though they both spent long periods out the game through injury. Those injuries were not by choice though Crops was the bravest player I ever saw.
20-12-2021, 03:27 PM
With Mueller coming in soon and hopefully MacKay back to full fitness soon I really hope we try offload Murphy, even a mutual consent.
20-12-2021, 03:34 PM
With Mueller coming in soon and hopefully MacKay back to full fitness soon I really hope we try offload Murphy, even a mutual consent.
he only has 4/5 months remaining, if i were him i wouldn't accept anything less than what i'm due
besides, i think the new manager will want to assess every player first
20-12-2021, 03:39 PM
With our new management team in place you’d like to think we’ll make full use of their connections.
Maloney - Celtic 19s & Belgium first team.
Surely he’ll have good knowledge of players at the younger age groups and those available to us. If we could get a couple of young Belgian players it could be a huge boost as they’ve a fantastic reputation of bringing through quality.
Caldwell - Wigan, Chesterfield, Patrick, Newcastle and Man City
Again I’d hope Caldwell had a list of under 23s from his time coaching and being loans coach that he feels can come in and have an instant impact. Celtic, Aberdeen and Hearts have all used this market very well lately and it’s one we’ve been poor in.
Valeria Zuddas - Lazio, Reggina, Hadjuk Split, Kolkheti Poti, Spartaki Tskhinvali, UTA Arad in Romania and Budapest Honvéd.
That’s a large selection of teams from counties we rarely scout or recruit from. Hopefully we can unearth a gem or two from there
Give me another Denes Rosa 😀. What happened with him in the end anyway, he only played a handful of games and left…was he just rubbish?
Inconsequential
20-12-2021, 03:43 PM
I’m not seeing what others seem to see with him, other than his kicking I think he’s been good. He’s started coming for a lot more crosses recently and I can’t think of any howlers he’s made. Totally agree with you m' Lord. I think he is decent enough and has potential to improve. Can't be easy playing behind that defence. The previous 'keeper was a bombscare in my eyes if I'm allowed to say that? My opinion only... backlash expected! :agree:
Tarrahib
20-12-2021, 03:43 PM
I agree give Dabrowski a run out,looked pretty good in some of the games I’ve seen in him.
Might save Ron some money.
20-12-2021, 04:09 PM
What games has he been poor in that have cost us and who are the other 6 keepers that are better than him
20-12-2021, 04:24 PM
Totally agree with you m' Lord. I think he is decent enough and has potential to improve. Can't be easy playing behind that defence. The previous 'keeper was a bombscare in my eyes if I'm allowed to say that? My opinion only... backlash expected! :agree:
I really liked Rocky as well, it’s a shame he left imo.
I agree give Dabrowski a run out,looked pretty good in some of the games I’ve seen in him.
Might save Ron some money.
I never understood why Dabrowski didn’t play in the league cup games this season, he’s been here a while, I’d say it’s time to have a look at him in a proper game. Hopefully Maloney will play him against Cove.
CallumHibs07
20-12-2021, 04:27 PM
Can’t think of one situation that’s involved him alone that’s even led to a goal never mind a lost point.
Really? Beaten at his near post against St Mirren in the last game at ER. Morelos' winner in the last game at Ibrox went straight through him as well. A better keeper (such as Marciano) would've saved Ramsey and Watt's goals against Dons and Motherwell. Carter-Vickers goal at ER is a howler also.
In addition to his kicking which often puts us under pressure straight from goal kicks and his positional sense is poor.
But no bother he's fantastic, we shouldn't be looking at better.
20-12-2021, 04:28 PM
Hibs v Motherwell recently - Watt equaliser
Hibs v Celtic - Kyogo - 1st goal think he should have done better
Macey's kicking is a slight issue though - yesterday the players were raging at him 1s half for hitting it straight down the pitch to the Celtic CB's. He seems to go underneath the ball and it goes higher than lower and more direct.
I've noticed the back line look at him a few times when he hasn't come for some crosses or dealt with a few balls - happened in Dundee home game giving away a needless corner.
Keepers mistakes are obviously easy to pick apart more than an outfielder but I still think we downgraded after Marciano (who had his own faults too).
Macey has been fine but I feel we can get better and a keeper who makes more saves - Gordon is a prime example as mentioned above.
We need improvement in other areas but if we are to improve the spine of the team is so important to sort.
20-12-2021, 05:08 PM
What games has he been poor in that have cost us and who are the other 6 keepers that are better than him
It’s a the classic opinion where someone totally ignores all the saves he makes when deciding he’s not good enough.
20-12-2021, 05:14 PM
Dabrowski showed his quality in the Arsenal game and if Macey is faltering (which I don't really see, tbh) than might as well give him a shot. He needs a run of games sooner or later.
20-12-2021, 05:18 PM
Really? Beaten at his near post against St Mirren in the last game at ER. Morelos' winner in the last game at Ibrox went straight through him as well. A better keeper (such as Marciano) would've saved Ramsey and Watt's goals against Dons and Motherwell. Carter-Vickers goal at ER is a howler also.
In addition to his kicking which often puts us under pressure straight from goal kicks and his positional sense is poor.
But no bother he's fantastic, we shouldn't be looking at better.
Macey's kicking is a slight issue though - yesterday the players were raging at him 1s half for hitting it straight down the pitch to the Celtic CB's. He seems to go underneath the ball and it goes higher than lower and more direct.
I've noticed the back line look at him a few times when he hasn't come for some crosses or dealt with a few balls - happened in Dundee home game giving away a needless corner.
Keepers mistakes are obviously easy to pick apart more than an outfielder but I still think we downgraded after Marciano (who had his own faults too).
Macey has been fine but I feel we can get better and a keeper who makes more saves - Gordon is a prime example as mentioned above.
We need improvement in other areas but if we are to improve the spine of the team is so important to sort.
All opinions rather than hard evidence. If there’s money for wages or transfers there other areas in more need of attention. Obviously IMO.:greengrin
20-12-2021, 05:32 PM
Maloney in his first interview dodged the question about being backed in the transfer window
Immediately deflected to being backed in other ways and to bring in the backroom staff he wanted
Then said all players will get a clean sheet to impress and he would look to the academy
Maybe didn’t want to demotivate the players the way Butcher did when he first came in but found it strange he didn’t at least say Once I have taken stock of what we have I know I will have funds to strengthen squad if needed
20-12-2021, 05:38 PM
Graig Gordon is world class. If he wasn't a Jambo he'd be nowhere near Hearts. There's no way we'd get a keeper of that quality. Macey is probably the best we'll get. No worse than Marciano.
1875Hibees
20-12-2021, 05:48 PM
Graig Gordon is world class. If he wasn't a Jambo he'd be nowhere near Hearts. There's no way we'd get a keeper of that quality. Macey is probably the best we'll get. No worse than Marciano.
No worse than Marciano. You're having a laugh eh? With Macey its almost like there is a goal a game he could do better with. Marciano made mistakes occasionally yeah, but he single handedly kept us in games at times. Macey is not a good keeper sadly.
20-12-2021, 05:53 PM
No worse than Marciano. You're having a laugh eh? With Macey its almost like there is a goal a game he could do better with. Marciano made mistakes occasionally yeah, but he single handedly kept us in games at times. Macey is not a good keeper sadly.
A goal a game what utter nonsense...there is far bigger issues in the current squad than Macey
1875Hibees
20-12-2021, 05:55 PM
A goal a game what utter nonsense...there is far bigger issues in the current squad than Macey
Maybe there is but he is up there in changes needing made. Maybe not a goal a game, but it feels like it sometimes.
20-12-2021, 05:56 PM
Maybe there is but he is up there in changes needing made. Maybe not a goal a game, but it feels like it sometimes.
Single handedly won us a point at Livingston less than a fortnight ago.
20-12-2021, 05:57 PM
All entitled to our opinions but he's nowhere near as bad as u r making out. Like a few u have rocky tinted specs on I think...lets concentrate on the bombsite defence in front of him this season before we start worrying about replacing the keeper...and I included the much praised Porteous in that who has cost us far more points/goals than Macey has this season thats for sure
20-12-2021, 05:58 PM
Gordon
Hart
McGregor
McLaughlin
Lewis
Kelly
Siegrist
Clark.
There's 8 goalkeepers in the league undoubtedly better. We sign Marshall we are top 4.
20-12-2021, 05:59 PM
Single handedly won us a point at Livingston less than a fortnight ago.
We lost in Livingston? :confused:
20-12-2021, 06:00 PM
Gordon
Hart
McGregor
McLaughlin
Lewis
Kelly
Siegrist
Clark.
There's 8 goalkeepers in the league undoubtedly better. We sign Marshall we are top 4.
Dundee Utd second choice is probably better too to be honest. Carson who used to be at Motherwell and is (I think) a Northern Ireland international.
1875Hibees
20-12-2021, 06:03 PM
All entitled to our opinions but he's nowhere near as bad as u r making out. Like a few u have rocky tinted specs on I think...lets concentrate on the bombsite defence in front of him this season before we start worrying about replacing the keeper...and I included the much praised Porteous in that who has cost us far more points/goals than Macey has this season thats for sure
The reason I have Rocky tinted specs on is because he is a very good keeper. Like you said we obviously all have our opinions. But Macey isnt good enough. Dont disagree with you about the defense though.
20-12-2021, 06:05 PM
We lost in Livingston? :confused: my bad:greengrin saved us from an embarrassment. Not mine obviously.
20-12-2021, 06:09 PM
I agree we could do better than macey but he is the least of the problems at Hibs.
We need to start scoring more goals in games to take the pressure on relying on the defence all the time.
We also need a battling midfield 8 games out of 10 as every player can have an off day or two.
Not long to wait for the transfer window.
20-12-2021, 06:21 PM
Manuel Neuer is world class, no Craig Gordon.
Hes a very good shotstopper, but world class? No chance. Gordon is about the same level as McGregor and Marciano. A very good spl keeper.
20-12-2021, 06:22 PM
Gordon
Hart
McGregor
McLaughlin
Lewis
Kelly
Siegrist
Clark.
Surely not JOE LEWIS? Maybe 3 years ago. Completely washed up now.
Trust me, a goalie isn't the difference between us being top 4 and not. We won the cup with Conrad Logan ffs. Its the other 10 players who need sorting.
20-12-2021, 07:00 PM
He’s not a terrible keeper, but he’s definitely a downgrade from last season, and I definitely think he shares responsibility for our defensive frailties this season.
There’s more to being a keeper than making the occasional great stop. A keeper should have a presence, should command his area, the defence has to have confidence in him. To me, Macey doesn’t have any of those things.
20-12-2021, 08:35 PM
Gordon
Hart
McGregor
McLaughlin
Lewis
Kelly
Siegrist
Clark.
First 2 and lewis ill give you, the rest is nonsense sorry
20-12-2021, 08:37 PM
Dundee Utd second choice is probably better too to be honest. Carson who used to be at Motherwell and is (I think) a Northern Ireland international.
Was going to mention him plus the Livi goalie but didn't want to be too disrespectful to out current No 1.
20-12-2021, 08:38 PM
You think our goalie is better than Alan McGregor? Seriously?
20-12-2021, 08:39 PM
You think our goalie is better than Alan McGregor? Seriously?
I hadnt scrolled up to see gordon at the top of the list
20-12-2021, 08:39 PM
He’s not a terrible keeper, but he’s definitely a downgrade from last season, and I definitely think he shares responsibility for our defensive frailties this season.
There’s more to being a keeper than making the occasional great stop. A keeper should have a presence, should command his area, the defence has to have confidence in him. To me, Macey doesn’t have any of those things.
Thing is Andy, he might, quite possibly in time.
We can't be a work in progress though if we want to be up with the ambitions of the club. Right now you're right and we need better and exactly what you described.
20-12-2021, 08:41 PM
Do you have any stats to back up this “feeling”.
20-12-2021, 08:42 PM
Now you are just talking utter rubbish
Now now, I was quite respectful to your opinion I clearly don't agree with.
Carson is a better goalie though and has been consistent for years. Liam Kelly is much better (we should have went for him) as is the Dundee Utd No1.
1875Hibees
If you actually believe that, you dont really understand the goalkeeping position.
Gordon
Hart
McGregor
McLaughlin
Lewis
Kelly
Siegrist
Clark.
If that’s Joe Lewis on your list I do t think we need to take the discussion any further.
20-12-2021, 08:43 PM
Joe Lewis has the lowest shot stopping percentage of any regular keeper in the top flight. Macey is, if I remember correctly, about seventh or eighth.
You can get away with an average shot stopping ratio if the rest of your game is good and Macey has to improve on both just now.
20-12-2021, 08:44 PM
If you actually believe that, you dont really understand the goalkeeping position.
Apart from being a keeper for 10 years you may be correct, i also stated i hadnt even seen gordon on the list. What makes you a goalkeeping expert
1875Hibees
20-12-2021, 08:45 PM
Is there any stat sites which shows the stats on him getting beaten at his near post, failing to come for crosses and his horrible passing?
20-12-2021, 08:45 PM
If that’s Joe Lewis on your list I do t think we need to take the discussion any further.
I don’t know what his forms been like this season but I’ve always been impressed with him in the past.
1875Hibees
20-12-2021, 08:47 PM
Apart from being a keeper for 10 years you may be correct, i also stated i hadnt even seen gordon on the list. What makes you a goalkeeping expert
Im not an expert but played goalkeeper also and had numerous fairly well known coaches. If you watch him and cant see the obvious faults, thats on you.
I don’t know what his forms been like this season but I’ve always been impressed with him in the past.
He’s been brutal for last 18 months.
Joe Lewis has the lowest shot stopping percentage of any regular keeper in the top flight. Macey is, if I remember correctly, about seventh or eighth.
You can get away with an average shot stopping ratio if the rest of your game is good and Macey has to improve on both just now.
Maceys distribution is horrendous definitely, he is actually good at coming for crosses, wish he would do it a bit more, he done it a few times yesterday with success
1875Hibees
20-12-2021, 08:49 PM
Maceys distribution is horrendous definitely, he is actually good at coming for crosses, wish he would do it a bit more, he done it a few times yesterday with success
Mate. Your own message just pointed out a huge flaw. "wish he would do it a bit more". Yeah, thats a big problem.
20-12-2021, 08:49 PM
Im not an expert but played goalkeeper also and had numerous fairly well known coaches. If you watch him and cant see the obvious faults, thats on you.
So apart from his distribution what are his faults, good shot stopper although it could be said he needs to parry it out a bit wider, handling is pretty good, communication is good
20-12-2021, 08:50 PM
I've never in my life sat there watching any hibs player thinking to myself "I'm unsure of this player but I've never seen stats saying anything against so it's all good".
20-12-2021, 08:52 PM
Mate. Your own message just pointed out a huge flaw. "wish he would do it a bit more". Yeah, thats a big problem.
That doesnt make him poor or the 8th best keeper in the league, thats my personal opinion though, the coaching ataff may have different ideas
1875Hibees
20-12-2021, 08:54 PM
So apart from his distribution what are his faults, good shot stopper although it could be said he needs to parry it out a bit wider, handling is pretty good, communication is good
Poor from crosses, gets beat often at his near post(so poor positioning), passing. He dosent seem to move his feet either. Every shot looks like hard work for him. Weak hands aswell.
1875Hibees
20-12-2021, 08:57 PM
I've never in my life sat there watching any hibs player thinking to myself "I'm unsure of this player but I've never seen stats saying anything against so it's all good".
Exactly. I dont get this weird defense of him. Its almost like people think the fans want him to be poor, and have jumped on a players case for no reason.
20-12-2021, 08:58 PM
Poor from crosses, gets beat often at his near post, so poor positioning, passing. He dosent seem to move his feet either. Every shot looks like hard work for him. Weak hands aswell.
Just because you are beaten at your near post doesnt necessarily mean poor positioning and if you have been a keeper you will know this, yip that cross yesterday where he was almost twisted was a really poor cross, he has shown quite a few times he is decent at coming for crosses. Could he do better of course he could, that goes for every single player in our team but lets not pretend he is a poor keeper just because we are on a bad run
1875Hibees
20-12-2021, 09:01 PM
Just because you are beaten at your near post doesnt necessarily mean poor positioning and if you have been a keeper you will know this, yip that cross yesterday where he was almost twisted was a really poor cross, he has shown quite a few times he is decent at coming for crosses. Could he do better of course he could, that goes for every single player in our team but lets not pretend he is a poor keeper just because we are on a bad run
I have thought he was a poor keeper a long time before this poor run. And I agree it dosent always mean poor positioning. But he very often gets beat at his near post.
20-12-2021, 09:01 PM
Now now, I was quite respectful to your opinion I clearly don't agree with.
Carson is a better goalie though and has been consistent for years. Liam Kelly is much better (we should have went for him) as is the Dundee Utd No1.
Apologies and happy to delete the comment
20-12-2021, 09:04 PM
I have thought he was a poor keeper a long time before this poor run. And I agree it dosent always mean poor positioning. But he very often gets beat at his near post.
So when we were winning at the start of the season you thought he was poor, fair enough if thats your opinion, can't remeber seeing many posts slating him then, you have your opinion and i have mine, cant see that changing so we could debate this all night!
GreenPJ
20-12-2021, 09:06 PM
Poor from crosses, gets beat often at his near post, so poor positioning, passing. He dosent seem to move his feet either. Every shot looks like hard work for him. Weak hands aswell.
If Macey was as bad as being made out then what does that say about either the old management team in sticking with him or how poorly they must have rated Dabrowski which seems strange that it wasn't that long ago we gave him a contract and from what I have heard he seems to be a good prospect.
1875Hibees
20-12-2021, 09:18 PM
If Macey was as bad as being made out then what does that say about either the old management team in sticking with him or how poorly they must have rated Dabrowski which seems strange that it wasn't that long ago we gave him a contract and from what I have heard he seems to be a good prospect.
It is a bit strange about Dabrowski. I really want to see him in a few games. But yeah, its a bit worrying that he hasnt been given a chance yet. Hopefully from the new manager. At least in the cups at first.
GreenPJ
20-12-2021, 10:49 PM
It is a bit strange about Dabrowski. I really want to see him in a few games. But yeah, its a bit worrying that he hasnt been given a chance yet. Hopefully from the new manager. At least in the cups at first.
I would assume its because the previous management team (including the goalkeeping coach who is still here) rates him higher than Dabrowski at this stage. Macey is definitely not the best goalkeeper in the league but I would say he is definitely mid table at least. We will see what Maloney and co think but I personally don't expect a change. Admittedly if Marshall was available at a reasonable cost I would be delighted to add him to the ranks but also I would rather spend a limited budget in other areas first.
20-12-2021, 10:51 PM
Apologies and happy to delete the comment
That's fine mate. It's all good :aok:
20-12-2021, 11:38 PM
Macey is just a bang average keeper to me. Typically does well with 1 on 1's but has other flaws in his game. Sometimes with keepers you just can't place a finger on it but you can tell it could be better. That's how I feel about him, he concedes a few too many goals where I find myself thinking that he probably should have done better. Very rarely do we concede and I sit back and say, you know what Macey couldn't have done any more with that.
Also, I thought Marciano's kicking was bad but Macey has taken that to a whole new level. His distribution is atrocious for a professional keeper.
21-12-2021, 05:59 AM
I thought this was a transfers thread..not a slag existing players thread…give the Macey bashing a rest abs let’s keep this to signing chat.
Stanton Spence
21-12-2021, 06:38 AM
I thought this was a transfers thread..not a slag existing players thread…give the Macey bashing a rest abs let’s keep this to signing chat.Well said and sorry for adding to it as I've just scrolled through two pages on debate about our keeper and totally forgot why I opened the thread
Come on guys another place please
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
21-12-2021, 06:53 AM
I thought this was a transfers thread..not a slag existing players thread…give the Macey bashing a rest abs let’s keep this to signing chat.Fair point...
I'll covert my post into this then - due to the new style of play being implemented by Maloney do we think he'll need a keeper who's distribution is very good?
I think he'll be wanting to replace Macey fairly soon.
#2 Double Tap
21-12-2021, 06:56 AM
Fair point...
I'll covert my post into this then - due to the new style of play being implemented by Maloney do we think he'll need a keeper who's distribution is very good?
I think a few of the posers in this thread should be replaced pretty soon tae.
21-12-2021, 07:00 AM
Fair point...
I suspect under Maloney more players will make themselves available for a quick throw out, meaning that Macey will be rarely expected to boot it long.
21-12-2021, 07:17 AM
I thought this was a transfers thread..not a slag existing players thread…give the Macey bashing a rest abs let’s keep this to signing chat.
It’s a speculation thread and people are speculating what positions our new manager might want to sign players. Of course the performance of people currently in those positions will be discussed.
If we only discussed actual credible rumours, this thread would never be on the first page.
21-12-2021, 07:21 AM
It’s a speculation thread and people are speculating what positions our new manager might want to sign players. Of course the performance of people currently in those positions will be discussed.
If we only discussed actual credible rumours, this thread would never be on the first page.
There is nothing to suggest that we are looking to transfer Macey. If we want 3 pages going on about his kicking AGAIN, then can we not add it to the many other threads than concentrate on slagging our players.
21-12-2021, 07:24 AM
I don't think it's a pressing priority but i do think macey needs to improve or he will find himself on the bench
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
21-12-2021, 08:26 AM
There is nothing to suggest that we are looking to transfer Macey. If we want 3 pages going on about his kicking AGAIN, then can we not add it to the many other threads than concentrate on slagging our players.
There is, there’s supporters suggesting it.
That’s the point of this thread, to discuss and speculate what players might or might not be coming in. Who any incoming player might replace is relevant.
Also, if there wasn’t an appetite for it to be discussed, it wouldn’t be but there clearly is, so it is 😉
21-12-2021, 12:57 PM
2+2 = 5 time
Had a look at Man City 23 squad and they have a young Belgian player Romeo Lavia. Obviously we will get him here In January 😁😁
Inconsequential
21-12-2021, 01:44 PM
Maybe Hibs will get a new goalkeeeping coach in January. Both Marciano and now Macey had/have weaknesses in their game that never improved. Seems odd when there's a specialised coach for their position. Just saying. :agree:
21-12-2021, 01:47 PM
One of the first things Pep did when he went to Man City was replace Hart with a keeper who was much better with his feet.
And hands. 😂
21-12-2021, 02:09 PM
And hands. [emoji23]Aye, but apart from feet and hands he wasn't much different.
21-12-2021, 03:09 PM
Depending on Maloney's favoured formation will determine what we need
I think we play best (always have done) with two up top so would like to see another centre forward coming in. but if we go with a more fluid attacking three i suspect we'll be looking for a wide player or two
If Magennis is out long term, we need a box to box midfielder. Midfield aren't contributing anywhere near enough goals so an area that clearly needs looked at.
I'd also be looking at the GK position as well as getting a CB in
21-12-2021, 04:13 PM
Nathaniel Atkinson to Hearts transfer deal 'agreed' as Robbie Neilson bolsters his defence with Australian star
https://t.co/EltF2fnoYR https://t.co/6NenIZvZOk
gegs70
21-12-2021, 11:12 PM
Depending on Maloney's favoured formation will determine what we need
I think we play best (always have done) with two up top so would like to see another centre forward coming in. but if we go with a more fluid attacking three i suspect we'll be looking for a wide player or two
If Magennis is out long term, we need a box to box midfielder. Midfield aren't contributing anywhere near enough goals so an area that clearly needs looked at.
I'd also be looking at the GK position as well as getting a CB in
Wasn't quite sure where Mueller would fit in, is he a striker or winger? But don't disagree with the players you have pinpointed we also have Tait coming from Raith Rovers too. Will he still want to offload fringe players before he has had an opportunity to assess them?
Sl1010
21-12-2021, 11:49 PM
Lewis is statistically the worst keeper in the league for saving shots. I know that stats only show so much in regards to a keeper but the state against him aren't good.
BegbieHSC
21-12-2021, 11:51 PM
Wonder if our two Irish lads are close to signing yet.
21-12-2021, 11:53 PM
Really do think we’ll sign Tony Watt.
Supposedly he’s quite settled up here and I think more money and the Maloney/Caldwell effect will get him.
21-12-2021, 11:54 PM
Wonder if our two Irish lads are close to signing yet.
I wonder how that will work as both appear to be demanding a 6 figure fee.
Maloney might turn round and say he’d rather go elsewhere that 2 young iriish players.
22-12-2021, 08:43 AM
I wonder how that will work as both appear to be demanding a 6 figure fee.
Maloney might turn round and say he’d rather go elsewhere that 2 young iriish players.
Not demanding 😉 JK just has a 150k release clause as he only just signed a new contract with Rovers.
22-12-2021, 08:47 AM
Wonder if the potential of playing games behind closed doors will affect who we sign in the Jan window?
22-12-2021, 08:53 AM
Really do think we’ll sign Tony Watt.
Supposedly he’s quite settled up here and I think more money and the Maloney/Caldwell effect will get him.
11 teams in 10 years. He’s settled at Motherwell and scoring because, for some reason, they’re a good fit for him. I don’t think he’s for us and I see him staying at Motherwell for the foreseeable.
22-12-2021, 09:10 AM
11 teams in 10 years. He’s settled at Motherwell and scoring because, for some reason, they’re a good fit for him. I don’t think he’s for us and I see him staying at Motherwell for the foreseeable.
Unless there is a breakthrough in negotiations it looks like he will be playing for a new club next season or maybe even in January. It's a been reported that he's turned down a new deal at Motherwell. Not sure if they will go back with a better offer or if he wants a new challenge.
22-12-2021, 09:11 AM
Talk of him going to Dundee for some reason!
I’ve no idea if he’d be a good fit for us but I don’t see why not. He’s been excellent the times I’ve seen him this season.
22-12-2021, 09:19 AM
I’ve no idea if he’d be a good fit for us but I don’t see why not. He’s been excellent the times I’ve seen him this season.
If he goes to Dundee it will be fir more money Probably taking over Cummings contract given they are looking to ditch him given his drinking and turning up worse fir wear to training
It might be him and Griffiths are a better combination and last throw of the dice from Dee to try and ensure they don’t go down
But seems a strange move to make if true
Edinburgh Green
22-12-2021, 09:37 AM
Tony Watt is having his Kamberi 2018 moment. A small period of great form is a very average career. If we signed him I worry we would see the Hearts/St Johnstone Tony Watt.
Steven79
22-12-2021, 09:40 AM
Tony Watt is having his Kamberi 2018 moment. A small period of great form is a very average career. If we signed him I worry we would see the Hearts/St Johnstone Tony Watt.Yep! That's my worry as well.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
22-12-2021, 09:48 AM
Nathaniel Atkinson to Hearts transfer deal 'agreed' as Robbie Neilson bolsters his defence with Australian star
https://t.co/EltF2fnoYR https://t.co/6NenIZvZOk
Replacement for Souttar?
22-12-2021, 10:09 AM
Tony Watt is having his Kamberi 2018 moment. A small period of great form is a very average career. If we signed him I worry we would see the Hearts/St Johnstone Tony Watt.
I’ve had the same thoughts.
His goal scoring record this season is the exception, not the norm.
In fairness I’ve always thought he was a decent player but just lacked goals.
Would the fans take to him here? I’m not sure.
Willis1875
22-12-2021, 10:11 AM
Replacement for Souttar?
Right back
22-12-2021, 10:30 AM
Right back
Ah, maybe should have read the article!
badabing67
22-12-2021, 11:10 AM
Looks like it could be curtains for Cummings and Griffiths at Dundee
22-12-2021, 11:38 AM
Really hope we don't have any intention of signing Watt. Ok he is having a good season, however..... in past 4 season's prior to this one his scoring stats are 1 3 1 3. Not great reading, as poster above states he appears to be having a " Kamberi moment". No guarantee he would continue in same veign with us.
22-12-2021, 11:42 AM
Really hope we don't have any intention of signing Watt. Ok he is having a good season, however..... in past 4 season's prior to this one his scoring stats are 1 3 1 3. Not great reading, as poster above states he appears to be having a " Kamberi moment". No guarantee he would continue in same veign with us.
Not saying we should or shouldn't sign him but looks to me like 10 goals in 24 games this season 3 previous seasons it's 7 in 40, 5 in 12 and 8 in 37
One of those seasons was for At Johnstone and one was in sofia
22-12-2021, 12:16 PM
Tony Watt is the epitome of a player who would sink without trace at Hibs.
Clearly, all the clubs with more money than us have passed on him, so his level is somewhere between us and Motherwell. Could he fight for a place here? I’m not desperate to find out.
LunasBoots
22-12-2021, 12:19 PM
Will no doubt be well known to Maloney, would not surprise me if we do sign him on the back of Maloney knowing him and believing that he is capable of forming a decent career here.
22-12-2021, 03:22 PM
Tony Watt is the epitome of a player who would sink without trace at Hibs.
Clearly, all the clubs with more money than us have passed on him, so his level is somewhere between us and Motherwell. Could he fight for a place here? I’m not desperate to find out.
Agree hope we are after much better
22-12-2021, 03:23 PM
I’ve had the same thoughts.
His goal scoring record this season is the exception, not the norm.
In fairness I’ve always thought he was a decent player but just lacked goals.
Would the fans take to him here? I’m not sure.
Just don't tell the fans he used to play for Hearts :greengrin
Lived off 1 goal against Barca for the past 5 years and eventually starts playing decent again. What has he done this past 5 years, nowt.
22-12-2021, 04:32 PM
There's always a chance that Tony Watt could be a bit more of a Paul Hartley.
No, not a ****.
But someone who had a promising start to their career, went through the motions for a bit before screwing the nut and finding somewhere where they could prosper?
22-12-2021, 04:38 PM
Lived off 1 goal against Barca for the past 5 years and eventually starts playing decent again. What has he done this past 5 years, nowt.
Played in Scotland, Belgium, Bulgaria and England, scored 60 goals and made loads of money. What have you done since he scored vs Barcelona? :wink:
22-12-2021, 04:39 PM
Aye, but apart from feet and hands he wasn't much different.
[emoji23]
22-12-2021, 04:43 PM
Was about 8-9 years ago that goal I think….he’s still got a scoring record of 1:3 , not bad for someone who, as you say, hadn’t been performing until recently. I guess the judgement clubs will make will be - can he keep it up?
22-12-2021, 04:55 PM
Has there been any hint of us even thinking about Watt?? I’d be very surprised if there was.
Was about 8-9 years ago that goal I think….he’s still got a scoring record of 1:3 , not bad for someone who, as you say, hadn’t been performing until recently. I guess the judgement clubs will make will be - can he keep it up?
Jeez you're right 2012, makes it even worse, 320 games and 73 goals, 1 in every 4.4 games isn't that good tbh.
22-12-2021, 09:43 PM
I can see Tony watt playing that left of a front 3 position we have in the new 343 formation.
Might not go for him as we have Muller.
Also have Mackay coming back along with Murphy, Scott and Wright.
But that’s Watt’s best position so it makes sense