View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2021-22 transfer thread
Wee Scottie Dug
10-01-2022, 10:42 PM
I still find it odd this would be record transfer fee for this team. They obviously aren’t short of money but at the same time why don’t they spend more on other players in the world ? There are lots of players out there for around £2 million who are decent.
£3 million will probably be the price he ends up going for. Which will be 3rd most expensive player to depart Hibs according to this -
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/rekordabgaenge/verein/903
Arrivals can be viewed here - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/transferrekorde/verein/903
They don’t appear to be cash rich like some of the teams from that part of the world, indeed with a 7000 capacity stadium that they struggle to fill even halfway and a lowly position in their league I still have some hope that our dynamite winger might not fancy it even with the salary that’s been speculated in various media outlets ……. I guess we’ll find out one way or another in the next few days🤞
BegbieHSC
10-01-2022, 10:46 PM
No the wisest move to leak £30k a week salary offers, while trying to preach financial hardship in being unable to meet a simple £3m asking price. If they can afford that kind of salary, they can afford to pay us what we’re looking for a player tied down to a long term deal.
Chuffed for Boyler to be offered that kind of dosh, and he’d go with my best wishes, however the buying club can’t just be leaking his potential salary in a bid to unsettle him so they can pay a cut price transfer fee. Boyler no stupid, so I’m sure he’ll appreciate that.
10-01-2022, 10:47 PM
Clear your PM’s bud, can’t reply. :aok:
No idea how to do it on my phone 😂
10-01-2022, 10:48 PM
No the wisest move to leak £30k a week salary offers, while trying to preach financial hardship in being unable to meet a simple £3m asking price. If they can afford that kind of salary, they can afford to pay us what we’re looking for a player tied down to a long term deal.
Chuffed for Boyler to be offered that kind of dosh, and he’d go with my best wishes, however the buying club can’t just be leaking his potential salary in a bid to unsettle him so they can pay a cut price transfer fee. Boyler no stupid, so I’m sure he’ll appreciate that.
If we arnt that far away if I was Boyle I’d be telling them to take the difference off my deal and make up the fee, still going to make him wealthy if it’s now 1.5m a season they are offering
10-01-2022, 10:50 PM
we maybe got other deals done earlier so other clubs couldn't cash in on our expected windfall
I’d be hoping for another couple quality additions if we get a good fee for boyle
10-01-2022, 10:53 PM
I’d be hoping for another couple quality additions if we get a good fee for boyleWe need to get some more of the bit part players out the club first. Murphy, Wright, Scott, Halberg etc need to be moved on imo if we are going to bring in quality additions
10-01-2022, 10:57 PM
I’d be hoping for another couple quality additions if we get a good fee for boyle
i'll agree with another poster from about 20 pages back that our incomings could be done, i'm surprised only one player has left so far and we're possibly waiting on another couple of salaries getting freed up if any more incoming, thing is tho if we do sign some quality with MB cash then said quailty will require quality salaries to match, they TV screens must be raking in some advert cash already :)
10-01-2022, 11:12 PM
Our signings so far don’t strike me as ones that were relying on Boyle being sold.
None, with the exception of Melkersen have cost anything.
I’d fully expect us to buy another player or two with Boyles money.
I think our business, in as well as out is far from being done.
delbert
10-01-2022, 11:13 PM
Seigrist ( Dundee Utd ) a top keeper.
Always impressed me and was the guy I hoped we’d sign as Ricky’s replacement
10-01-2022, 11:14 PM
Our signings so far don’t strike me as ones that were relying on Boyle being sold.
Aye that’s my thoughts
Unless the money we get for MB is put aside for the summer but I’d like a another winger in if he goes
10-01-2022, 11:31 PM
Always impressed me and was the guy I hoped we’d sign as Ricky’s replacement
Good keeper, think he’s heading to the Huns
KeithWright9
11-01-2022, 03:58 AM
i'll agree with another poster from about 20 pages back that our incomings could be done, i'm surprised only one player has left so far and we're possibly waiting on another couple of salaries getting freed up if any more incoming, thing is tho if we do sign some quality with MB cash then said quailty will require quality salaries to match, they TV screens must be raking in some advert cash already :)
I think we were light in defence and we’ve not spent money, but I think we are a bit heavy in midfield. Would not be surprised to see Dan Mackay go on loan and perhaps Hallberg leave also…
Think Dabrowski could go on loan again too, he needs game time.
I think we were light in defence and we’ve not spent money, but I think we are a bit heavy in midfield. Would not be surprised to see Dan Mackay go on loan and perhaps Hallberg leave also…
Think Dabrowski could go on loan again too, he needs game time.
6 CB's, 3 LB's, 3RB's I Think we're pretty well covered, don't know whats happening with dabrowski I was expecting him to get cup ties at least but so far he's not been seen, cant see him leaving though as we'll only be left with Mitchell
Who have been our recent deals outwith McGinn and semi recently?
Cummings - 1 million?
Kamberi?
Horgan?
Mallan?
Can’t think off too many lately we’ve made decent money on.
JC went for £500K
chippy
11-01-2022, 07:11 AM
If we arnt that far away if I was Boyle I’d be telling them to take the difference off my deal and make up the fee, still going to make him wealthy if it’s now 1.5m a season they are offering
These salary figures make no sense. So they’re prepared to pay £5 mill in total for a 2 year deal yet not prepared to stump up £3 mill of that for the transfer fee. Sounds guff to me
11-01-2022, 07:22 AM
There's more to life than money, football fans say this all the time, football players hardly ever. :faf:
11-01-2022, 07:53 AM
Ron’s not daft, he’ll know that for his plan to work we need to cash in when players are hot.
I have a feeling he wasn’t happy with the Doig scenario. If we bring young players in and get offered money we need to take the good cash to be able to reinvest it and grow.
Imagine Nisbet for 2-2.5, Doig for 4 and Boyle for 3? That has been the quotes over the past year for our players.
If we bring players in for cheap or a couple of hundred thousand to make a profit, we need to actually take the good deal when it arises.
The summer with Doig sounded like Mathie got a bit greedy and wanted the 5 million as his own personal achievement.
Whatever happens with Boyle leaving though, we need to bring in a similar quality player and go out and sign David Marshall.
This is actually very accurate of the situation, I said it a few months back that RG wasn’t just unhappy with the lack of transfers in it was also the lack of transfers out with JR willing to sell Nisbet and Doig as in his view the money we were being offered he felt he could get better in and they weren’t worth that amount.
11-01-2022, 08:21 AM
There's more to life than money, football fans say this all the time, football players hardly ever. :faf:
Football players rarely say anything of substance, their brains are in their feet.
11-01-2022, 08:28 AM
Loan deals cost money, along with signing on fees. So whilst we’ve “only” paid £300k plus out on transfer fees we are spending money.
Slim Shady
11-01-2022, 08:32 AM
Still looking at bringing in a GK on loan and a Everton Striker who come through Academy.
11-01-2022, 08:35 AM
Still looking at bringing in a GK on loan and a Everton Striker who come through Academy.
Wayne Rooney?
11-01-2022, 08:38 AM
Ellis Sims?
11-01-2022, 08:42 AM
Professionals do what they do for money and football players have the smallest window of all sports to earn.
Golfers can earn millions on the senior tours, snooker players can do exhibitions until they can't walk anymore and even tennis players have a londer window. Djokovic is 34 and going strong. Roger Federer is 41 next birthday.
Most footballers abandon their academic studies and other vocational education to pursue football so if they don't earn as much as they can while they're able to, they're really not very good professionals.
How long can a player expect to earn big money? In Martin Boyle's case, he'll probably manage about 10 years at a decent wage before seeing his income decline again.
He signed for Dundee from Montrose less than 10 years ago so his annual salary would have been in the low tens of thousands.
When he came to Easter Road, he would have been bumped up considerably and, because of the improvements in his game, he's one of the top earners in Scotland outside the erse cheeks.
By no stretch of the imagination can he be described as a rich man, however, and he's hopefully got another 50 years or so of life ahead of him.
If he wants to stay at Easter Road, fantastic, but I most certainly wouldn't advise him against going to earn a few million.
11-01-2022, 08:43 AM
Ellis Sims?
Unlikely as he’s getting first team minutes at the moment along with Lewis Dobbin. Looking at their Under 23s the most realistic would be Thomas Cannon I’d imagine.
11-01-2022, 08:46 AM
Unlikely as he’s getting first team minutes at the moment along with Lewis Dobbin. Looking at their Under 23s the most realistic would be Thomas Cannon I’d imagine.
I think we’re trying to build up our under 23 side just now since Steve Kean came in?
We are well stocked for strikers currently, especially if we’re playing one centrally. I suspect if we are after a young Everton striker it’ll be someone released getting released from their under 19s.
11-01-2022, 08:48 AM
Surprised at GK loan unless it's to allow Dabrowski to go on loan?
Assuming the Everton Academy player is also a loan?
11-01-2022, 08:52 AM
Seems really strange this team that's bid for Boyle have apparently upped their offer to us by 250k but also upped the wages on offer by 500k. That makes no sense to me. Surely they should just be increasing the offer made to us. Weirdos
11-01-2022, 08:54 AM
Professionals do what they do for money and football players have the smallest window of all sports to earn.
Golfers can earn millions on the senior tours, snooker players can do exhibitions until they can't walk anymore and even tennis players have a londer window. Djokovic is 34 and going strong. Roger Federer is 41 next birthday.
Most footballers abandon their academic studies and other vocational education to pursue football so if they don't earn as much as they can while they're able to, they're really not very good professionals.
How long can a player expect to earn big money? In Martin Boyle's case, he'll probably manage about 10 years at a decent wage before seeing his income decline again.
He signed for Dundee from Montrose less than 10 years ago so his annual salary would have been in the low tens of thousands.
When he came to Easter Road, he would have been bumped up considerably and, because of the improvements in his game, he's one of the top earners in Scotland outside the erse cheeks.
By no stretch of the imagination can he be described as a rich man, however, and he's hopefully got another 50 years or so of life ahead of him.
If he wants to stay at Easter Road, fantastic, but I most certainly wouldn't advise him against going to earn a few million.
Footballers don't have the smallest window to earn of all sports. There are others which have a comparable timeframe or less in some instances.
A lot of professional footballers also stay in the game in some capacity through coaching, management, youth academies media ect.
11-01-2022, 08:57 AM
Rafael Garcia would be a possibility maybe?
Out of contract in the summer, previously very highly rated but had bad injuries, back playing this year for their under 23s though.
He was previously at Fulham as well, long after Steve Kean was there however may still have contacts there.
11-01-2022, 08:59 AM
Footballers don't have the smallest window to earn of all sports. There are others which have a comparable timeframe or less in some instances.
A lot of professional footballers also stay in the game in some capacity through coaching, management, youth academies media ect.
Are there any sports with a smaller window?
11-01-2022, 09:00 AM
Loan deals cost money, along with signing on fees. So whilst we’ve “only” paid £300k plus out on transfer fees we are spending money.
Will he be paying signing on fee’s for guys on loan? Can’t say I’ve heard that before.
11-01-2022, 09:02 AM
Seems really strange this team that's bid for Boyle have apparently upped their offer to us by 250k but also upped the wages on offer by 500k. That makes no sense to me. Surely they should just be increasing the offer made to us. Weirdos
I assume their tactic is to tempt Boyle with the absurd wages in the hope that he agitates for the move.
11-01-2022, 09:02 AM
Will he be paying signing on fee’s for guys on loan? Can’t say I’ve heard that before.
Some teams charge a loan fee, when a player is sent to another club
Chelsea make a fortune doing this
11-01-2022, 09:03 AM
Fees are often paid to the parent club for loans.
11-01-2022, 09:04 AM
Ah sorry, I thought you meant signing on fee for the player.
Edinburgh Green
11-01-2022, 09:04 AM
This is actually very accurate of the situation, I said it a few months back that RG wasn’t just unhappy with the lack of transfers in it was also the lack of transfers out with JR willing to sell Nisbet and Doig as in his view the money we were being offered he felt he could get better in and they weren’t worth that amount.
Surely if Ron felt that way, he would of instructed Mathie to accept the offers?
11-01-2022, 09:05 AM
A loan and another young striker doesn’t fill me with confidence to be honest when you consider everyone we’ve signed this window is under 22 with very little experience.
Latapy'sVolley
11-01-2022, 09:06 AM
Surely if Ron felt that way, he would of instructed Mathie to accept the offers?
Thought it came out afterwards that there weren't actually any offers that came in, perhaps as a result of the valuation.
(for Doig)
11-01-2022, 09:12 AM
They didn’t up the wages offer. I understand that was the wages offered at the same time as the £2m offer. Not sure where the £1m quoted in the papers came from
11-01-2022, 09:14 AM
Professional boxing and MMA spring to mind.
11-01-2022, 09:14 AM
David Marshall signing for QPR on loan.
11-01-2022, 09:15 AM
David Marshall signing for QPR on loan.
Just seen that reported, good move for him if he gets game time.
11-01-2022, 09:21 AM
Gymnastics.
11-01-2022, 09:23 AM
Just seen that reported, good move for him if he gets game time.
To push for a place in the Scotland squad
11-01-2022, 09:23 AM
They don’t appear to be cash rich like some of the teams from that part of the world, indeed with a 7000 capacity stadium that they struggle to fill even halfway and a lowly position in their league I still have some hope that our dynamite winger might not fancy it even with the salary that’s been speculated in various media outlets ……. I guess we’ll find out one way or another in the next few days🤞
17000 capacity and offering him more than ten times what we pay. So not exactly poor. They play in their national stadium. GDP of that country around 89th in the world. UK sit 5th.
The Sundance Kid
11-01-2022, 09:30 AM
17000 capacity and offering him more than ten times what we pay. So not exactly poor. They play in their national stadium. GDP of that country around 89th in the world. UK sit 5th.
That’s a different Al-Faisaly, who are from Jordan. The Saudi Arabian team that are being quoted in the press only have a 7,000 seater stadium and are from a town with only 14,000 inhabitants and are in the relegation zone at present according to Wikipedia.
Yet as you say are still able to cough up just under £30k a week which just goes to show the crazy amount of money over there
11-01-2022, 09:38 AM
If the £30,000 a week is true that's the equivalent of £60,000 a week in the UK. Absolutely crazy money.
I just hope it doesn't turn Boyle's head as I know it would turn mine.
HendoDelivered
11-01-2022, 09:42 AM
If the £30,000 a week is true that's the equivalent of £60,000 a week in the UK. Absolutely crazy money.
I think his heads already been turned.
Steven79
11-01-2022, 09:48 AM
I think his heads already been turned.
Can you blame him?
HendoDelivered
11-01-2022, 09:51 AM
Can you blame him?
No way, I’d be snapping that offer up if I were him.
11-01-2022, 09:56 AM
Steven79
11-01-2022, 09:59 AM
No way, I’d be snapping that offer up if I were him.
Yeah same here but at the same time any club that want him have to pay the asking fee.
HendoDelivered
11-01-2022, 10:09 AM
Yeah same here but at the same time any club that want him have to pay the asking fee.
100% :aok:
Rugby
hibby rae
11-01-2022, 10:25 AM
Do tennis players play until an older age than footballers, or are they outliers?
Off the top of my head. Kenny Miller, Brad Friedel, and Craig Brewster all played until they hit 40 at decent levels.
They were better players so played until an older age, but I would imagine the same can be said of a lot of people in other sports.
My personal feeling, if I was in Boyle's shoes. I wouldn't move to Saudi Arabia for moral reasons. The money is secondary. Especially with a wife and daughter, as other's have said, it's a choice between them being second class citizens or leaving them behind for a lengthy period of time.
It's a lot of money, but it's not like footballers stop completely retire from working when they stop playing. So I've never fully agreed with the 'make as much as possible' argument, but that's just me.
11-01-2022, 10:32 AM
Do tennis players play until an older age than footballers, or are they outliers?
Off the top of my head. Kenny Miller, Brad Friedel, and Craig Brewster all played until they hit 40 at decent levels.
They were better players so played until an older age, but I would imagine the same can be said of a lot of people in other sports.
My personal feeling, if I was in Boyle's shoes. I wouldn't move to Saudi Arabia for moral reasons. The money is secondary. Especially with a wife and daughter, as other's have said, it's a choice between them being second class citizens or leaving them behind for a lengthy period of time.
It's a lot of money, but it's not like footballers stop completely retire from working when they stop playing. So I've never fully agreed with the 'make as much as possible' argument, but that's just me.
Personally, I think the money on offer is too big to turn down. An equivalent UK wage of £60,000 a week is genuinely life changing and will mean not only his kids but his grandchildren would be able to live comfortably without the pressures and stress of financial worries.
If it was me I'd do it but everyone will have their own thoughts on it.
Spudster
11-01-2022, 10:37 AM
To say that tennis is the outlier and then name those 3 players?!
Two played for Hibs twenty years ago plus a yank goalie :faf:
hibby rae
11-01-2022, 10:37 AM
Personally, I think the money on offer is too big to turn down. An equivalent UK wage of £60,000 a week is genuinely life changing and will mean not only his kids but his grandchildren would be able to live comfortably without the pressures and stress of financial worries.
I agree a lot of money, but for me going to a country like that is a red line.
hibby rae
11-01-2022, 10:38 AM
To say that tennis is the outlier and then name those 3 players?!
Two played for Hibs twenty years ago plus a yank goalie :faf:
Hence 'off the top of my head'. I meant are Federer etc. not outliers in tennis, not the sport itself. Although maybe it also is
Torto7
11-01-2022, 10:45 AM
Football isn't a short career. Zlatan is over 40 now. I cant be bothered with the footballs a short career crew. How many of us have long careers in one industry nowadays? That being said it is a huge amount of money although theres zero incentive for Hibs to sell at 2/3 mill. This isnt a charity. He signed a new deal.
11-01-2022, 10:48 AM
Football isn't a short career. Zlatan is over 40 now. I cant be bothered with the footballs a short career crew. How many of us have long careers in one industry nowadays? That being said it is a huge amount of money although theres zero incentive for Hibs to sell at 2/3 mill. This isnt a charity. He signed a new deal.
I'd say £3 million we have an incentive. If he really is on 10k a week that's also an additional £1 million pound in wages over the next 2 seasons meaning we'd have £4 million to invest back into the squad. And we don't have a potentially unhappy player.
£3 million and he's gone IMO.
hibby rae
11-01-2022, 10:48 AM
Agreed. You have to balance the risk factor of what we could lose in earnings.
Losing Boyle would probably lessen our chances of third place, which (unless someone outside the top 3 wins the Scottish Cup) guarantees group stage European football.
So that needs added in along with everything else
11-01-2022, 10:53 AM
He'd still be paying UK tax for the first year or two, assuming he moved there full time, before he got to the whole 'tax free' stage. If he remained living here part time, he'd still be paying.
HendoDelivered
11-01-2022, 10:54 AM
😂😂😂 how many outfield players play til 40? Not many. Thats a terrible argument.
11-01-2022, 10:57 AM
He'd still be paying UK tax for the first year or two, assuming he moved there full time, before he got to the whole 'tax free' stage. If he remained living here part time, he'd still be paying.
If he stayed there full-time, with no trips home, it would be tax-free.
He would need to get proper advice on how often he could come back, and for how long, to make sure he wasn't taxed at UK rates.
11-01-2022, 10:58 AM
Yeh has to be careful with how much time he spends in the uk. But he will be paying minimum tax.
11-01-2022, 11:09 AM
That’s a different Al-Faisaly, who are from Jordan. The Saudi Arabian team that are being quoted in the press only have a 7,000 seater stadium and are from a town with only 14,000 inhabitants and are in the relegation zone at present according to Wikipedia.
Yet as you say are still able to cough up just under £30k a week which just goes to show the crazy amount of money over there
Ah so wrong Al-Faisaly, is it definitely the Saudi one then?
11-01-2022, 11:13 AM
I have sympathy with the "short career" argument - if for no other reason than by the time I woke up and started to take my own career seriously most football careers would have been over.
For that reason I'm normally forgiving when lads in their teens or early twenties wander off course - and tbh I have all the admiration in the world for those who manage not to.
He would need to get proper advice on how often he could come back, and for how long, to make sure he wasn't taxed at UK rates.
Exactly right. There's also many other considerations. When I retired I was offered a large sum of money to work for an Eastern European govt for 4 months a year. It was a far more attractive place to go to than Saudi, I've been there. After much thought I turned it down, 3 months later the government was overturned and my sponsor lost all influence. I suspect I would not have received much, if any, money. Now the House of Saud regime is unlikely to disappear any time soon but there are always uncertainties when moving to that part of the world. There's a reason why the Saudis pay high salaries. I suspect it will be a much tougher decision for MB to make than most on here are suggesting.
chippy
11-01-2022, 11:23 AM
That’s why I don’t believe it all. Exaggerated out of all proportion
Dazzjw1875
11-01-2022, 11:24 AM
I think this team are trying to turn his head with wages so he will force through a move away. They clearly have money pay the asking price or he ain't for sale simple!
The Sundance Kid
11-01-2022, 11:27 AM
Ah so wrong Al-Faisaly, is it definitely the Saudi one then?
Seems to be, unless the press have it confused
BegbieHSC
11-01-2022, 11:46 AM
Not a fan of how Al Faisaly have conducted themselves during their pursuit of Boyle.
First they threw in an insulting offer of £500k. They should have been blocked for that as a start.
They’ve gradually crept up to still just two thirds of our asking price, and are leaking all over the place the ridiculous salary they would pay Boyle in an effort to unsettle him and try and force our hand to take a cut price offer.
Boyle has been a magnificent servant for us, and he deserves to get a chance to rake in enough money to set up his family for life, but I hope it’s not to Al Faisaly (or indeed the OF)
11-01-2022, 11:48 AM
90 days per year. Source, my partner's dad who had worked on Saudi oil rigs for 35 years.
Should add though, when he came back to stay here full time, he had a whopper of an NI bill.
I think this team are trying to turn his head with wages so he will force through a move away. They clearly have money pay the asking price or he ain't for sale simple!
Maybe it’s the agent not the team or maybe both!
I think MB will go and it will be on good terms etc
hibbie02
11-01-2022, 11:50 AM
Exactly right. There's also many other considerations. When I retired I was offered a large sum of money to work for an Eastern European govt for 4 months a year. It was a far more attractive place to go to than Saudi, I've been there. After much thought I turned it down, 3 months later the government was overturned and my sponsor lost all influence. I suspect I would not have received much, if any, money. Now the House of Saud regime is unlikely to disappear any time soon but there are always uncertainties when moving to that part of the world. There's a reason why the Saudis pay high salaries. I suspect it will be a much tougher decision for MB to make than most on here are suggesting.
Mad Vlad Conspirator! I knew it!!! :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
IncredibleHibee
11-01-2022, 12:16 PM
Not a fan of how Al Faisaly have conducted themselves during their pursuit of Boyle.
First they threw in an insulting offer of £500k. They should have been blocked for that as a start.
They’ve gradually crept up to still just two thirds of our asking price, and are leaking all over the place the ridiculous salary they would pay Boyle in an effort to unsettle him and try and force our hand to take a cut price offer.
Boyle has been a magnificent servant for us, and he deserves to get a chance to rake in enough money to set up his family for life, but I hope it’s not to Al Faisaly (or indeed the OF)
Its just business. Keep emotions out of it.
As an aside, it looks like most on here accept that £3 Million is the asking price for Boyle. I have read various articles that say Hibs' valuation is higher than that. Will be interesting to see what happens. My feeling is if £3 Million is offered, it will be accepted.
11-01-2022, 12:25 PM
I think we will be working on a replacement already
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
11-01-2022, 12:30 PM
90 days per year. Source, my partner's dad who had worked on Saudi oil rigs for 35 years.
Should add though, when he came back to stay here full time, he had a whopper of an NI bill.
Wish it were that simple.
Source:- someone who's been involved in tax for over 40 years :greengrin
Just as an example of the complexity:-
https://www.bdo.co.uk/en-gb/insights/tax/private-client/leaving-the-uk
11-01-2022, 12:32 PM
Professional boxing and MMA spring to mind.
Yes, they're good examples.
I think my overall point is still valid.
Its just business. Keep emotions out of it.
As an aside, it looks like most on here accept that £3 Million is the asking price for Boyle. I have read various articles that say Hibs' valuation is higher than that. Will be interesting to see what happens. My feeling is if £3 Million is offered, it will be accepted.
I think they will meet at £2.75m. I am also certain that if it doesn't happen, Martin will continue to be professional in his ongoing engagement with us.
Gymnastics.
Is gymnastics professional? :dunno:
11-01-2022, 12:33 PM
I think we will be working on a replacement already
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
:agree: Yip, cant see him staying now. I will miss him, but we carry on. If someone offered me that kind of money, i'd be away on the first flight.
Enough money to last the rest of your life, and the next one, then not have to lift a finger after my 31st birthday, 99% of us would do the same, and the other 1% would never have the question asked of them.
11-01-2022, 12:37 PM
Rugby
Is it shorter than football?
I suppose it depends on when the start of the career is determined.
Anyway, this is now a total digression. Apologies everyone.
No signings today? :grr:
11-01-2022, 12:42 PM
Wish it were that simple.
Source:- someone who's been involved in tax for over 40 years :greengrin
Just as an example of the complexity:-
https://www.bdo.co.uk/en-gb/insights/tax/private-client/leaving-the-uk
100% complex as the auld bugger tried to dodge paying tax. lol When off rig, he stayed in locations that enabled his dodging nature. Things he would tell us and things he wouldn't but he did recommend having a good accountant.
Orchard_Hibs
11-01-2022, 12:52 PM
Is it shorter than football?
I suppose it depends on when the start of the career is determined.
Anyway, this is now a total digression. Apologies everyone.
No signings today? :grr:
American football outside of quarterbacks has a fairly short career and high levels of bankruptcy post career
11-01-2022, 12:54 PM
I thought you could spend nearly 6 months in the UK and not pay UK income tax assuming your home is abroad. Maybe it's 3 months?
11-01-2022, 12:57 PM
I thought you could spend nearly 6 months in the UK and not pay UK income tax assuming your home is abroad. Maybe it's 3 months?
It really depends, are we talking about a full tax year, or if he meets the qualifications to split his tax year? (Which I doubt he will)
It depends on a number of factors.
To be 100% non resident, it's less than 16 days.
Anything above that and you need to take into account previous years.
There's also the sufficient ties test and any other number of quirks.
Basically, without us knowing his plans for the next two years and his contract details, nobody on this thread can say with certainty.
11-01-2022, 12:59 PM
In MB's case, it might be as little as 15 days.
From the BDO link I posted:-
An individual will be non-resident for a tax year if they are present in the UK at midnight at the end of the day for less than a specified number of days in the tax year in question, as follows:
For an individual who was resident in the UK for one or more of the preceding three tax years the limit is 15 days
That's why he needs proper advice before he dives (:greengrin) in.
11-01-2022, 01:01 PM
Dundee Utd about to sell Kerr Smith a 17 year old to Villa for a fee that could eventually net them £2m , I'd imagine there will lots of cluases in the deal to realise £2m but it's reported it's a significant sum upfront
EXCLUSIVE! Kerr Smith to sign for Aston Villa as Dundee United set for £2m windfall after star wows Steven Gerrard | @ScottBurns75
#DUFC
https://t.co/ocnie7IIJY https://t.co/ozaySx0NVr
11-01-2022, 01:05 PM
An individual will be non-resident for a tax year if they are present in the UK at midnight at the end of the day for less than a specified number of days in the tax year in question, as follows:
For an individual who was resident in the UK for one or more of the preceding three tax years the limit is 15 days
Every day's a school day. 👍
11-01-2022, 01:19 PM
Dundee Utd about to sell Kerr Smith a 17 year old to Villa for a fee that could eventually net them £2m , I'd imagine there will lots of cluases in the deal to realise £2m but it's reported it's a significant sum upfront
EXCLUSIVE! Kerr Smith to sign for Aston Villa as Dundee United set for £2m windfall after star wows Steven Gerrard | @ScottBurns75
#DUFC
https://t.co/ocnie7IIJY https://t.co/ozaySx0NVr
Good news for us with Doig.
He’s better than Kerr by quite a bit.
2 million for Kerr and 16 for Patterson.
We’ll call it 7 for Doig and move on 😅
11-01-2022, 01:20 PM
I'd 100 percent move there if I was Boyle. The money is life changing. I'd try and get back every couple of months to see family. Wouldn't move my wife and daughter out there. Would be hard but a year or two and with visits every so often would go by fast.
11-01-2022, 01:37 PM
Good news for us with Doig.
He’s better than Kerr by quite a bit.
2 million for Kerr and 16 for Patterson.
We’ll call it 7 for Doig and move on 😅
I'll bet you a $100 bottle of wine it wasn't even close to 16M for Patterson even with add-ons. Hopefully the accounts from Everton will show the true amount but I'll bet it's half that amount if Sevco are lucky.....
11-01-2022, 01:44 PM
A loan and another young striker doesn’t fill me with confidence to be honest when you consider everyone we’ve signed this window is under 22 with very little experience.
You can't win anything with kids :greengrin
Seriously though, as is often the case a few of the guys we have brought in are at a crossroads even at a young age, clubs like Hibs are sort of the Crewe junction of the football world, the next train is either on a fast track to bigger and better things or heading for the buffers with the next stop nowhereville.
Henderson is a case in point, been at Celtic for ages with relatively little game time, this is his chance to show what he can do but if he fails the only way is down. Melkersen is another for different reasons, he has earned rave reviews in Norway with folk tipping him for big things, he has obviously joined us with a view to drawing the attention of the EPL or Championship, he will be desperate to do well.
If all of the guys we have brought in do see this as make or break and apply themselves accordingly we could end up with an energetic hard working team that will present a real challenge to anybody we come up against, by all accounts none of the signings we have made lack ability on the ball .... if we do end up with a young energetic team that is also technically proficient and can carry out the managers instructions this could be worth watching .... Time will tell, but I have to say for the first time in a while I'm quite excited to see how things pan out.
11-01-2022, 01:46 PM
I'd 100 percent move there if I was Boyle. The money is life changing. I'd try and get back every couple of months to see family. Wouldn't move my wife and daughter out there. Would be hard but a year or two and with visits every so often would go by fast.
That's the bit that needs careful thought. The potential for paying additional tax, balanced against his desire to see his family.
Might be better, and cheaper, to fly them out more often.
Hibiza
11-01-2022, 01:50 PM
Some of the cash for Martin , go for Seigrist . ( Keeper / Dundee Utd ).
11-01-2022, 01:57 PM
From the day I started work the only bit of my payslip that ever interested me was the bottom line. This bloody thread is starting to read like the official HMRC websit
To sum up. If MB moves to the middle east he will be minted so long as he stays out of the UK for most of the year. If he does stay and goes to Celtic he will still be minted. If he stays at Hibs we will love him forever.
Whatever the case, I reckon Martin Boyle's financial affairs have been done to death by now, can we move on please :greengrin
badabing67
11-01-2022, 02:22 PM
How come it has taken so long for Hibs TV to stick up Rocky's 1st interview. Mon Hibs TV
11-01-2022, 02:25 PM
From the day I started work the only bit of my payslip that ever interested me was the bottom line. This bloody thread is starting to read like the official HMRC websit
To sum up. If MB moves to the middle east he will be minted so long as he stays out of the UK for most of the year. If he does stay and goes to Celtic he will still be minted. If he stays at Hibs we will love him forever.
Whatever the case, I reckon Martin Boyle's financial affairs have been done to death by now, can we move on please :greengrin
This. This. A million times this.
11-01-2022, 02:29 PM
How come it has taken so long for Hibs TV to stick up Rocky's 1st interview. Mon Hibs TV
Maybe they first need to decide his tax liabilities should he go to the Botanical Gardens for an hour. :greengrin
11-01-2022, 02:30 PM
I’m still waiting for Mueller and Tait!😅 two forgotten men already
11-01-2022, 02:30 PM
I could do with a bit of free financial advice about my pension payments and tax situation..can someone start a rumour about me signing for Hibs please :greengrin
11-01-2022, 02:31 PM
This. This. A million times this.
Surely 1.5 million times?
11-01-2022, 02:31 PM
Ha! You know what they say about family wealth:
The first generation make the money, the second generation enjoy the money, and the third lose it.
Boyle maybe has an opportunity to earn huge sums for his family here, but he shouldn’t make any assumptions about how long it will last!
11-01-2022, 02:32 PM
He canny think of a reason that he wanted to come to Hibs? :dunno:
11-01-2022, 02:34 PM
I’m still waiting for Mueller and Tait!😅 two forgotten men already
Who?
11-01-2022, 02:46 PM
I'll bet you a $100 bottle of wine it wasn't even close to 16M for Patterson even with add-ons. Hopefully the accounts from Everton will show the true amount but I'll bet it's half that amount if Sevco are lucky.....
You'd be losing 100 quid. Plenty of sources confirming that its a big fee
11-01-2022, 03:04 PM
Like who?
11-01-2022, 03:05 PM
Surely 1.5 million times?
Reported for being Gross.
11-01-2022, 03:11 PM
He never spoke about how big a club we are or our training facilities so had to be edited
11-01-2022, 03:14 PM
Like who?
Fabrizio Romano was one I saw who definitely said the fee was £12m+. About as trusted a journalistic source as you can get.
Juniper Greens
11-01-2022, 03:15 PM
The 16m was a large change at the end of the saga. All previous reports were between 10 and 14. I suspect sevco are at it, to appease their fans. Bet it was around 7 up front, with some pie in the sky clauses
11-01-2022, 03:28 PM
Reported for being Gross.
joe t
11-01-2022, 03:30 PM
One thing to take into account is that the biggest shop window in football is happening in Qatar in November and Boyle is sitting in a front row seat. If I was him I would be inclined to sit out another year at hibs knowing I’m pretty much guaranteed regular football at club level and therefore in with a great chance to start for oz. big money in SA but they change their manager every 5 mins and no guaranteed game time at club could mean no game time at World Cup. Given the WC profile a similar or better offer from the Middle East (and possibly bigger leagues) is likely to be on the table jan next year. And hibs still get paid given the contract length.
Hopefully he stays until jan 23..
big gogs
11-01-2022, 03:49 PM
He never spoke about how big a club we are or our training facilities so had to be edited
Does he know the words to sunshine on leith.if not why not,we must be told 😁.
Greenworld
11-01-2022, 03:50 PM
One thing to take into account is that the biggest shop window in football is happening in Qatar in November and Boyle is sitting in a front row seat. If I was him I would be inclined to sit out another year at hibs knowing I’m pretty much guaranteed regular football at club level and therefore in with a great chance to start for oz. big money in SA but they change their manager every 5 mins and no guaranteed game time at club could mean no game time at World Cup. Given the WC profile a similar or better offer from the Middle East (and possibly bigger leagues) is likely to be on the table jan next year. And hibs still get paid given the contract length.
Hopefully he stays until jan 23..You can pack in that sensible post nonsence
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
11-01-2022, 03:53 PM
He canny think of a reason that he wanted to come to Hibs? :dunno:
“One of my friends is Stephane Omeonga who used to play here. I used to play with Stephane at Belgium U21s and I know he enjoyed his time here,” the new arrival added.
"I also know that we won the Scottish Cup in 2016 and that we are the best team in Edinburgh.”
Hibiza
11-01-2022, 03:58 PM
I could do with a bit of free financial advice about my pension payments and tax situation..can someone start a rumour about me signing for Hibs please :greengrin
You mean the Saudi team Worcester ?
11-01-2022, 04:00 PM
I moved to Singapore at start of 2016. It was 15 days. They split my tax year for 2015/2016, Previous year had worked in India but spent more than 15 days in UK so paid UK tax on all earnings. I was much older and grown up children and parents deceased. Only going back for 15 days to UK was not a big issue. But Boyle's situation very different.
11-01-2022, 04:01 PM
He’ll be on £29k a day at this rate. Net obvs.
60yearahibby
11-01-2022, 04:17 PM
Call me an old cynic but Saudi and Australia in the same World Cup qualifying group. SA are currently top and the last game is between them and OZ. SA club buy one of the best Oz players and then either don't play him so he is out of condition or he gets injured and misses the crucial game. SA beat Oz and so qualify for Qatar so £2-3M well spent.
NC1875
11-01-2022, 04:25 PM
Call me an old cynic but Saudi and Australia in the same World Cup qualifying group. SA are currently top and the last game is between them and OZ. SA club buy one of the best Oz players and then either don't play him so he is out of condition or he gets injured and misses the crucial game. SA beat Oz and so qualify for Qatar so £2-3M well spent.
Conspiracytheories.net
Inconsequential
11-01-2022, 04:44 PM
Call me an old cynic but Saudi and Australia in the same World Cup qualifying group. SA are currently top and the last game is between them and OZ. SA club buy one of the best Oz players and then either don't play him so he is out of condition or he gets injured and misses the crucial game. SA beat Oz and so qualify for Qatar so £2-3M well spent. You may be an old cynic. No hold on you're not old! But you can't discount anything in this crooked and corrupt world we live in.
hhibs
11-01-2022, 04:47 PM
Interesting points and not without some merit IMO
11-01-2022, 04:59 PM
You may be an old cynic. No hold on you're not old! But you can't discount anything in this crooked and corrupt world we live in.
Let’s hope Martin doesn’t ‘disappear’ in the usual Saudi way.
11-01-2022, 05:37 PM
So you are saying we could benefit to the tune of £millions because we signed a player who couldn't get a game for Dundee, developed him enough to win the Scottish Cup with the club and become an International Footballer for Australia even though hes born in Aberdeen and lived in Scotland all his life because the Country he represents is about to play against Oil Rich Saudis in a World Cup Qualifier and they want to do everything in their power to stop him playing?
Best transfer story ever if so :greengrin
11-01-2022, 05:40 PM
So you are saying we could benefit to the tune of £millions because we signed a player who couldn't get a game for Dundee, developed him enough to win the Scottish Cup with the club and become an International Footballer for Australia even though hes born in Aberdeen and lived in Scotland all his life because the Country he represents is about to play against Oil Rich Saudis in a World Cup Qualifier and they want to do everything in their power to stop him playing?
Best transfer story ever if so :greengrin
I'll add to it too and say The Saudis payed Belgium a hefty fee for an International Friendly in 2018 :agree:
11-01-2022, 05:57 PM
With Dabrowski not playing today is it because he’s away to leave on loan with us bringing another keeper in?
There were a couple of rumours about us wanting a new keeper already.
11-01-2022, 06:06 PM
The 16m was a large change at the end of the saga. All previous reports were between 10 and 14. I suspect sevco are at it, to appease their fans. Bet it was around 7 up front, with some pie in the sky clauses
I'll go with the journalists. Unless you think Sevco control every media outlet. Fee is likely 10-12 million baseline, with 2-4 million in clauses. Very good business by Rangers.
Gaffer1875
11-01-2022, 06:21 PM
David Marshall signs for QPR
Juniper Greens
11-01-2022, 06:23 PM
I'll go with the journalists. Unless you think Sevco control every media outlet. Fee is likely 10-12 million baseline, with 2-4 million in clauses. Very good business by Rangers.
Depends which papers you believe. English papers are saying its 11m total. I suspect rangers leaked a bogus number to the daily ranger
https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/nathan-patterson-everton-transfer-fee-rangers-b1986562.html
hibby rae
11-01-2022, 06:35 PM
I read it was 12m with very little in the way of clauses, Huns were given a choice of more now up front or slightly less but a good chance of even more down the line. Obvs they need the money so went for more now.
11-01-2022, 06:40 PM
Newcastle about to spend £25m on 30 year old Chris Wood from Burnley
11-01-2022, 06:43 PM
I imagine Newcastle fans are absolutely gutted with that.
So much excitement with new owners and expecting them to sign guys like Mbappe to only end up with Wood
11-01-2022, 07:08 PM
I imagine Newcastle fans are absolutely gutted with that.
So much excitement with new owners and expecting them to sign guys like Mbappe to only end up with Wood
I was certain Newcastle would have went for John McGinn. Newcastle fans in my family really wanted MCGinn.
11-01-2022, 07:09 PM
I don't even know who that is. 25 million? The money is mental down there.
That's the NZ guy that looks like a horse, scores goals but no that talented tbh big lump, If I was a Newcastle fan I'd be gutted they're signing him and not someone better.
I was certain Newcastle would have went for John McGinn. Newcastle fans in my family really wanted MCGinn.
Sideways move for him, Villa are fairly safe but Newcastle are in a relegation fight, McGinn will have eyes further up the table I think.
11-01-2022, 07:11 PM
That's the NZ guy that looks like a horse, scores goals but no that talented tbh big lump, If I was a Newcastle fan I'd be gutted they're signing him and not someone better.
If they stay up ahead of Burnley who will lose one of their best players and imperative to how they play I don't think they will be that gutted.
11-01-2022, 07:13 PM
It might be mental money, but it absolutely ****s Burnley. He’s probably their most important player, and a relegation rival of Newcastle.
If they stay up ahead of Burnley who will lose one of their best players and imperative to how they play I don't think they will be that gutted.
Would Burnley sell to one of their relegation candidates? for that money I'd want someone better.
11-01-2022, 07:14 PM
They can go for him if they want but Villa would reject it and McGinn would likely tell them to bolt.
11-01-2022, 07:14 PM
Would Burnley sell to one of their relegation candidates? for that money I'd want someone better.
Met his buyout clause apparently
11-01-2022, 07:16 PM
Don’t think they have a choice, had a release clause.
£20m doesn’t get you much down there these days. He’s scored double figures in the league every year for Burnley, decent short term one for Newcastle with it weakening their main rival to stay up as well.
Met his buyout clause apparently
£20m doesn’t get you much down there these days. He’s scored double figures in the league every year for Burnley, decent short term one for Newcastle with it weakening their main rival to stay up as well.
Fair enough didn't realise that, weakens their main rivals I suppose, they are short up front after Wilson's injury.
11-01-2022, 07:26 PM
Think wood is a really decent player actually. Not gonna win champions leagues, but holds it up well and scores a very good amount
11-01-2022, 07:41 PM
Decent enough signing for Newcastle, I think people forget that all they need to do right now is stay up. Not ideal for them but they're forced into signings like this because of the state of their existing squad.
I think they're in for a bit of a shock though as I still see them struggling to stay up...
Just need to plunder Norwich and Watford as well then.
11-01-2022, 07:58 PM
Decent enough signing for Newcastle, I think people forget that all they need to do right now is stay up. Not ideal for them but they're forced into signings like this because of the state of their existing squad.
I think they're in for a bit of a shock though as I still see them struggling to stay up...
Exactly mate. They need to sign best players from lower end teams and create a team that are going to pick up enough points against the bottom 8-10 teams. That will be enough to keep them safe if they get it right , they can then look at signing players from bigger clubs in the summe , players who wouldnt have been interested in this window in case they went down and probably at more reasonable cost
11-01-2022, 08:16 PM
Surely more to the point is why has Burnley got such a ***** value of release clause for their best player?:confused:
11-01-2022, 08:20 PM
Surely more to the point is why has Burnley got such a ***** value of release clause for their best player?:confused:
Same reason we did with Martin Boyle.
11-01-2022, 08:24 PM
Same reason we did with Martin Boyle.
Fair point but we gave him a deal to remove this, I don't think Wood will have been rejecting new contracts over the last two years to increase his wages at Burnley removing the clause just incase Newcastle or another got bought over by rich chaps and activate it. Negligence at best.
He signed for a record fee of £15m then signed a new deal - that deal included a release clause, when in the Prem of £25m.
11-01-2022, 09:40 PM
Agents beginning to work…
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8267207/livid-martin-boyle-hibs-showdown-talks-saudi-arabia/
11-01-2022, 09:43 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8267207/livid-martin-boyle-hibs-showdown-talks-saudi-arabia/
And so it begins…….
AugustaHibs
11-01-2022, 09:44 PM
If we get 2.5 let him go. Top professional and deserves the chance to set his bairns bairns up for life.
11-01-2022, 09:45 PM
Hallberg likely to move on, open to offers for Mackie, no bid made for Sibbick.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfer-latest-melker-hallberg-situation-toby-sibbick-link-darren-mcgregor-and-sean-mackie-update-3523575
11-01-2022, 09:47 PM
We need to respect what Boyle wants, but he also needs to respect what we want. We aren't asking for an outrageous price. We are trying to move forward as a club and getting the best value for our best players is part of our game plan.
11-01-2022, 09:49 PM
If we get 2.5 let him go. Top professional and deserves the chance to set his bairns bairns up for life.
Hibs deserve the best possible deal for helping make him the player he is today.
Maybe he can honor his contract and his grandkids can get a job like everyone else. I love the guy but Nisbet tried the same ***** last year and it hasn't gone too well for him. John McGinn and Steven Fletcher done what Hibs told them and they are minted.
11-01-2022, 09:57 PM
I always take these stories clearly leaked from agents with a pinch of salt.
Any frustration Boyle may have should lie at the door of the club wanting to buy him. We will have a clear price in mind so they either meet it or bolt, simple as that. They're clearly loaded so the decision is with them, it's not on Hibs if he doesn't get this move.
I've seen Chris Wood live on numerous occasions. To describe him as limited is paying him a huge compliment. 20m or 25m is ludicrous. He genuinely isn't, IMO, a huge improvement on Doidge. Posters on here who advocate selling Nisbet, Boyle, Doig or Porto for relative pennies just need to keep repeating, Chris Wood = £25m!!!!!!
Agreed, we should sheik on a deal at £2.5m.
11-01-2022, 10:02 PM
Just a crap paper trying to stir the pot and cause a bit of unrest with fans and have a pop at the club.
11-01-2022, 10:02 PM
Hibs deserve the best possible deal for helping make him the player he is today.
Maybe he can honor his contract and his grandkids can get a job like everyone else. I love the guy but Nisbet tried the same ***** last year and it hasn't gone too well for him. John McGinn and Steven Fletcher done what Hibs told them and they are minted.
Not letting Nisbet go last year hasn't exactly worked out well for us either though.
There's a right time to sell a player and it just feels like this might be the right time for Boyler to go. Get as much cash as we can and move on.
Last thing we want is to be shelling out the wage we're paying Boyle for a disgruntled player come February 1st.
11-01-2022, 10:05 PM
Not letting Nisbet go last year hasn't exactly worked out well for us either though.
There's a right time to sell a player and it just feels like this might be the right time for Boyler to go. Get as much cash as we can and move on.
Last thing we want is to be shelling out the wage we're paying Boyle for a disgruntled player come February 1st.
Boyle can't go in the huff, or his world cup goes with it. January is never the time to sell your best player. Hibs will do what is right for Hibs.
11-01-2022, 10:23 PM
I agree with you.
We’ve got a new manager in and we want all the players singing from the same hymn sheet going forward. Boyle is clearly a very influential person in the changing room, the last thing we want is him not being fully invested in the changes Maloney is wanting to make.
Players will always come and go.
Paul1642
11-01-2022, 10:34 PM
I've seen Chris Wood live on numerous occasions. To describe him as limited is paying him a huge compliment. 20m or 25m is ludicrous. He genuinely isn't, IMO, a huge improvement on Doidge. Posters on here who advocate selling Nisbet, Boyle, Doig or Porto for relative pennies just need to keep repeating, Chris Wood = £25m!!!!!!
And he is 30 so no sell on value. Terrible move and if Burnley can reinvest the money well it might just help them stay up.
11-01-2022, 10:40 PM
Holding out for the highest possible fee without taking Boyler's wishes into consideration won't necessarily be "best for Hibs" in the long term. If promising players know that we won't stand in their way of a life/career changing move when a reasonable bid is on the table then it makes it more likely they sign a long term contract with Hibs in the first place. I think a compromise of looking after Hibs as well as the player would be the right thing to do. Even if he goes to Saudi for £2m. We got him for next to nothing ,he's been a cracking player for us and importantly, he'll be out of Celtic's reach.
NFL - average career length is 3.3 years
Paul1642
11-01-2022, 10:48 PM
That’s crazy. Why is that? I know nothing about it the sport really but aware that Tom Brady seems to have been around for decades so must be possible to last a long time. Is youth valued over experience more than other sports or something else?
11-01-2022, 10:51 PM
Isn’t the salaries astronomical though for getting in ie even in that period they get a lot of money
11-01-2022, 10:53 PM
Just a crap paper trying to stir the pot and cause a bit of unrest with fans and have a pop at the club.
in which case martin boyle will give a statement toworrow denying what's said in the article, he and his agent both know how it works, anger the fans
or maybe not
jonny
11-01-2022, 10:58 PM
Isn’t the salaries astronomical though for getting in ie even in that period they get a lot of money
Depends mate. Undrafted players who end up on practice squads will probably get around 100k dollars a year. Excellent money but if it's only for 3 years they'll need a back up plan.
Players drafted from college teams have a set salary depending on their draft position, players picked up in the early draft rounds start with salaries well into the hundreds of thousands a year, as you get to round 7 the numbers drop off a fair bit but still around 150-200k a year.
Elite players who are given contracts after their rookie contracts are the ones earning 10-20million a year, or even more in some cases
That’s crazy. Why is that? I know nothing about it the sport really but aware that Tom Brady seems to have been around for decades so must be possible to last a long time. Is youth valued over experience more than other sports or something else?
injuries are one reason, another is the influx of 200+ players every year (albeit there’s 32 teams each carrying 50+ players on their books) through the draft system. They have a salary cap which must be adhered to, so a lot of teams will find guys who are as cheap as chips, they work on principles like: we could pay player X 4 million dollars a season, or get 80% of his output for 600k a season with player Y. It’s also common for players to look competent or better in college, and struggle badly in the pros, same sport but standard is much much higher.
Depends mate. Undrafted players who end up on practice squads will probably get around 100k dollars a year. Excellent money but if it's only for 3 years they'll need a back up plan.
Players drafted from college teams have a set salary depending on their draft position, players picked up in the early draft rounds start with salaries well into the hundreds of thousands a year, as you get to round 7 the numbers drop off a fair bit but still around 150-200k a year.
Elite players who are given contracts after their rookie contracts are the ones earning 10-20million a year, or even more in some cases
yeah, very much a steep sliding scale, the position they play also factors into what their salary can be in certain situations, it’s not uncommon to see players pushing to be classified as playing a different position as it equates to a better salary (this is definitely the case for players receiving contract ‘tags’, not sure about the draft).
also, taxes are different in the states. Most people in the states are responsible for calculating and paying their own income taxes etc, plus different states have different levels of income tax, so 2 players playing the same position can be drafted back to back, but one could end up with a lot more ‘take home’ pay by the fluke of being drafted by a team in a low taxing state.
adding to Jonny’s point, a lot of guys on lower value contracts and practice squads have what are called non-guaranteed contracts, which mean they can be ‘cut’ (fired essentially) for no reason other than because the team feels like it (usually to make space to sign another player) and they don’t get paid beyond that point
11-01-2022, 11:12 PM
Anyone know who our next game is against? I’ve no doubt Boyler does want to explore his options however that article is just sheer nonsense 😂
11-01-2022, 11:15 PM
yeah, very much a steep sliding scale, the position they play also factors into what their salary can be in certain situations, it’s not uncommon to see players pushing to be classified as playing a different position as it equates to a better salary (this is definitely the case for players receiving contract ‘tags’, not sure about the draft).
also, taxes are different in the states. Most people in the states are responsible for calculating and paying their own income taxes etc, plus different states have different levels of income tax, so 2 players playing the same position can be drafted back to back, but one could end up with a lot more ‘take home’ pay by the fluke of being drafted by a team in a low taxing state.
adding to Jonny’s point, a lot of guys on lower value contracts and practice squads have what are called non-guaranteed contracts, which mean they can be ‘cut’ (fired essentially) for no reason other than because the team feels like it (usually to make space to sign another player) and they don’t get paid beyond that point
Interesting, I don’t have much interest in NFL but always find it fascinating hearing things like this, very different in the states with the draft approach aswell.
Cheers for explaining it and to Jonny aswell for the above comments 👍
Rumble de Thump
11-01-2022, 11:27 PM
I know Martin is a boyhood Al Faisaly fan so we shouldn't stand in the way of his dream move.
12-01-2022, 12:10 AM
I know Martin is a boyhood Al Faisaly fan so we shouldn't stand in the way of his dream move.
Yep, can’t forget the video of him dancing on the table singing “If you hate the Al Hilal clap your hands”
Also heard him saying he would walk barefoot across England, Belgium, Germany, Austria, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, Turkey and Iraq to get there.
Has anyone told him alcohol is completely prohibited in Saudi? Closest place to get a drink is probably the British Embassy 200km away or if he wants a proper bar, Bahrain is about 650km.
12-01-2022, 12:32 AM
Has anyone told him alcohol is completely prohibited in Saudi? Closest place to get a drink is probably the British Embassy 200km away or if he wants a proper bar, Bahrain is about 650km.
Believe it or not you can still get 100's of lashes if caught with booze in Saudi Arabia. Mental!!!!!
Aberdeen will have to match the £350,000 cash offer Hibs made for Jamie McGrath if they want to lure the St Mirren star away from Paisley this month.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jamie-mcgrath-transfer-price-revealed-25916877
Looks like our attempt to get McGrath last summer wasn't a total waste of time, if it means Aberdeen will have to pay more, than they otherwise might have, to get him now instead of a pre-contract for this summer.
12-01-2022, 03:43 AM
:hyper
12-01-2022, 04:11 AM
Believe it or not you can still get 100's of lashes if caught with booze in Saudi Arabia. Mental!!!!!
Sounds harsh, all I get is yelled at by the wife. Not that I give a s*** obviously.......
12-01-2022, 05:44 AM
Think if you live on a complex as long as you aren't silly you would be able to get it.
NC1875
12-01-2022, 06:29 AM
Boyle can be Livid all he wants. I’ll bet he wasn’t livid when Hibs upped his wages to sign a new contract.
He’s under contract and until someone meets Hibs valuation he should keep it shut and get on with what he’s being paid well to do.
12-01-2022, 06:58 AM
Is this a daily tease or a sign that there's another signing about to happen?
mayo hibee
12-01-2022, 07:01 AM
Boyle isn't "livid". Don't get too hung up on these stories, it's just agents playing games and tabloid papers allowing them to as it generates clicks.
A deal will be done and he will be off in a week or two I'd expect. Good money for both him and Hibs. No major drama.
12-01-2022, 07:16 AM
in which case martin boyle will give a statement toworrow denying what's said in the article, he and his agent both know how it works, anger the fans
or maybe not
We all know this isn’t what happens.
There are already folk on this this board starting to get a bit funny with Boyle for no apparent reason. (Except that crap article with no direct source).
It will be sorted out sooner rather than later and no point posters getting annoyed with Boyle over some crap paper click bait.
12-01-2022, 07:34 AM
Boyle isn't "livid". Don't get too hung up on these stories, it's just agents playing games and tabloid papers allowing them to as it generates clicks.
A deal will be done and he will be off in a week or two I'd expect. Good money for both him and Hibs. No major drama.
Agree tabloid click bait
Crunchie
12-01-2022, 07:36 AM
We all know this isn’t what happens.
There are already folk on this this board starting to get a bit funny with Boyle for no apparent reason. (Except that crap article with no direct source).
It will be sorted out sooner rather than later and no point posters getting annoyed with Boyle over some crap paper click bait.
12-01-2022, 07:46 AM
I’d learn to ignore it 😂
12-01-2022, 07:54 AM
I’m loving the use of the archaic term ‘livid’. Where the hell did the rag drag that term from? :greengrin
Reminds me of the character Ricky Livid from Beyond Our Ken ( one for the oldies ).
To be fair, there’s probably a bit of exaggerated truth in the story but not worth getting the knickers in a twist about
12-01-2022, 07:56 AM
I think we can put the Kevin Thompson is a Hibs fan to bed now.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8264302/rangers-kevin-thomson-heart-set-ibrox-boss/
12-01-2022, 07:59 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8264302/rangers-kevin-thomson-heart-set-ibrox-boss/
🤢
Also seen yesterday he said the worst managers he played for was Collins and Butcher.
12-01-2022, 07:59 AM
Firmly nailed his rotten Hun colours to the mast now. **** him. Canny believe I defended him for so long
12-01-2022, 08:04 AM
Could only get about 10 minutes into the interview and had to turn it off. Also said he hopes he can continue being a 'good ambassador for the club' meaning the huns. Some Hibs fan that is!
12-01-2022, 08:05 AM
I’m shocked there are still some Hibs fans that defend him.
12-01-2022, 08:11 AM
😂😂😂😂
"but he played for free" aye, cause' nae one would take him.
Gloucester Hibs
12-01-2022, 08:14 AM
His offer of a cup winner's medal I would've given him for his contribution in 2016 has now been withdrawn :greengrin
12-01-2022, 08:16 AM
KT knows what side his bread is buttered on and he doesn’t try to hide the fact. He was an employee of the Huns and, as far as I know, still has links with them and probably aspirations to return there one day. I think his reference to Butcher and Collins was about their personal handling of him but it is not very clever of him to have it quoted in black and white in a disreputable red top.
Ps . Sorry, didn’t read the link to his Hun hopes and aspirations. He’s even more stupid than I’ve given him credit for. Daft laddie.
Crunchie
12-01-2022, 08:18 AM
It's hardly transfer news though is it? Who cares about KT's ambitions.
12-01-2022, 08:25 AM
The key to great comedy is endless repetition.
12-01-2022, 08:28 AM
Exactly. They put out 2 different angles on every story on a daily basis, yesterday they said football stadiums wouldn’t be opened up again and a couple of hours later they said the opposite.
12-01-2022, 08:45 AM
I love how the Sun tries to stand up its story about Martin being ‘livid’ by including a completely unrelated quote from Rocky Bushiri.
Cmon guys, you’re not even trying.
12-01-2022, 09:10 AM
KT knows what side his bread is buttered on and he doesn’t try to hide the fact. He was an employee of the Huns and, as far as I know, still has links with them and probably aspirations to return there one day. I think his reference to Butcher and Collins was about their personal handling of him but it is not very clever of him to have it quoted in black and white in a disreputable red top.
Ps . Sorry, didn’t read the link to his Hun hopes and aspirations. He’s even more stupid than I’ve given him credit for. Daft laddie.
The Sun took his comments from the Open Goal Podcast.
12-01-2022, 09:12 AM
It's hardly transfer news though is it? Who cares about KT's ambitions.
He's said he wants to manage Hibs before also by the way though. Rangers are higher up the food chain and he wants to make it to the top.
Think he should talk less and concentrate on his ambitions in the future. For someone that didn't like JC because of his ego.....
12-01-2022, 09:29 AM
He's said he wants to manage Hibs before also by the way though. Rangers are higher up the food chain and he wants to make it to the top.
Think he should talk less and concentrate on his ambitions in the future. For someone that didn't like JC because of his ego.....
It’s about respect and realism.
We all know Shaun Maloney is ambitious but he doesn’t get caught talking about his aspirations to be Celtc manager before being appointed at Hibs.
The last person I heard talk like Katie was Tony Adams, openly musing on how he would apply his ‘philosophy’ as Arsenal manager. Needless to say, his chances of landing that job are non existent.
Kelty Hearts are currently paying Katie’s wages and he shouldn’t be talking about anyone else, really. If he does a good job, folk will notice.
LeithMike
12-01-2022, 09:33 AM
We all know Shaun Maloney is ambitious but he doesn’t get caught talking about his aspirations to be Celtc manager before being appointed at Hibs.
The last person I heard talk like Katie was Tony Adams, openly musing on how he would apply his ‘philosophy’ as Arsenal manager. Needless to say, his chances of landing that job are non existent.
Kelty Hearts are currently paying Katie’s wages and he shouldn’t be talking about anyone else, really. If he does a good job, folk will notice.Spot on. Even if he thinks it he shouldn't be saying it. Its hugely disrespectful to Hibs and should rule him out of ever working for Hibs either in management or hospitality.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
12-01-2022, 09:33 AM
Kelty Hearts are currently paying Katie’s wages and he shouldn’t be talking about anyone else, really. If he does a good job, folk will notice.
Spot on. Problem is, like Adams, harmless or not he likes the sound of his own voice too much, as such.
I think there is a difference between Maloney and Thommo because Thommo is our ex player/captain. I'm sure somewhere SM would have said in the past his ambition or dream is to manage them one day but nobody really cares. We take it personal with Thomson because of past history.
12-01-2022, 09:34 AM
Thomson made his bed a long time ago with the broken glass comment all those years ago.
He can say he’s a hibs fan all he likes, truth is, he isn’t.
12-01-2022, 09:43 AM
Thomson made his bed a long time ago with the broken glass comment all those years ago.
He can say he’s a hibs fan all he likes, truth is, he isn’t.
He deserved the chance to set his grandkids up for life
Greenworld
12-01-2022, 09:47 AM
Aberdeen will have to match the £350,000 cash offer Hibs made for Jamie McGrath if they want to lure the St Mirren star away from Paisley this month.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jamie-mcgrath-transfer-price-revealed-25916877
Looks like our attempt to get McGrath last summer wasn't a total waste of time, if it means Aberdeen will have to pay more, than they otherwise might have, to get him now instead of a pre-contract for this summer.I wonder if hibs are still interested? Or new manager new ideas
12-01-2022, 10:21 AM
I wonder if hibs are still interested? Or new manager new ideas
I think Henderson now has that position.
Edinburgh Green
12-01-2022, 10:21 AM
And he is 30 so no sell on value. Terrible move and if Burnley can reinvest the money well it might just help them stay up.
I don't think that Newcastle are bothered about sell on value, do you? Also that's a very big 'if' saying that Burnley can use the money to reinvest, Wood is only 1 of 6 players to score 10+ prem goals in the last 4 seasons.
joe t
12-01-2022, 10:32 AM
Osame Sahraoui on Twitter 2 hrs ago…
‘Longing for green grass….’
Been taking cryptic message training from Brandon barker it seems. Us or st etienne?!?
12-01-2022, 10:32 AM
EXCLUSIVE: Rangers made Harry Clarke transfer approach but Arsenal REJECTED move and sent him on loan to Hibs
https://t.co/WsxISkPnse https://t.co/fP5AnyTS6R
12-01-2022, 10:33 AM
He deserved the chance to set his grandkids up for life
12-01-2022, 10:37 AM
We should be past caring about Thomson now. As long as he never comes near the manager's job at ER he can say what he wants.
12-01-2022, 10:43 AM
EXCLUSIVE: Rangers made Harry Clarke transfer approach but Arsenal REJECTED move and sent him on loan to Hibs
Pleasing.
Souter96Mac
12-01-2022, 10:44 AM
Been taking cryptic message training from Brandon barker it seems. Us or st etienne?!?
Him in, Boyle out?
Edinburgh Green
12-01-2022, 10:51 AM
Or maybe its been snowing where he is, and he's looking forward to it thawing? :dunno:
12-01-2022, 10:51 AM
I think it’s because the pictures he put up were of him playing on an artificial surface and looking frustrated :greengrin
12-01-2022, 10:52 AM
Him in, Boyle out?
I'm sure he has around 2 years on his contract and is valued at over £1m, I'd be surprised if he comes to Hibs, would love it with what I have read but very surprised.
Steven79
12-01-2022, 10:55 AM
I'm sure he has around 2 years on his contract and is valued at over £1m, I'd be surprised if he comes to Hibs, would love it with what I have read but very surprised.
If we sell Boyle then we can afford him.
12-01-2022, 10:59 AM
He’s made no secret of his ambition to manage Hibs one day.
Steven79
12-01-2022, 11:01 AM
He’s made no secret of his ambition to manage Hibs one day.
Harry Clarke. :wink:
12-01-2022, 11:02 AM
I wonder if that's why they added these release clauses? Do well here then punt them to Rangers for more in the summer?
12-01-2022, 11:08 AM
I wonder if that's why they added these release clauses? Do well here then punt them to Rangers for more in the summer?Unfortunately that sounds about right...
12-01-2022, 11:13 AM
hibbydog
12-01-2022, 11:27 AM
What a grovelling, classless dirtbag. Between that and his comments on Collins/ Butcher, he aint learned much from his past.
An utter weapon, best ignored.
Hibees1973
12-01-2022, 11:34 AM
I know a guy as East Mains and he has just told me that the Sun article is way off the mark.
They were are having a but of a chuckle down at East Mains this morning because of it. Until Hibs get the valuation they want, which is in excess of £3m with a sizeable sell on fee, Boyle does not have permission to speak to anyone. Boyle is apparently cool with the situation.
It won't be of any surprise on here that Celtic have noted an interest in Boyle and want to be informed of any bids we accept. In fact, they bid £700k for him last summer, just after Boyle signed is new 4 year deal.
I'm not saying that Boyle is definitely staying with Hibs. At present it's just that no bid has been received that meets Hibs valuation.
Seems the Glasgow branch of The Sun trying to stir it up a bit, which is not really that unusual.
12-01-2022, 11:38 AM
I know a guy as East Mains and he has just told me that the Sun article is way off the mark.
They were are having a but of a chuckle down at East Mains this morning because of it. Until Hibs get the valuation they want, which is in excess of £3m with a sizeable sell on fee, Boyle does not have permission to speak to anyone. Boyle is apparently cool with the situation.
It won't be of any surprise on here that Celtic have noted an interest in Boyle and want to be informed of any bids we accept. In fact, they bid £700k for him last summer, just after Boyle signed is new 4 year deal.
I'm not saying that Boyle is definitely staying with Hibs. At present it's just that no bid has been received that meets Hibs valuation.
Seems the Glasgow branch of The Sun trying to stir it up a bit, which is not really that unusual.
Of course they are, who do we play next??
12-01-2022, 11:54 AM
Can confirm what the user above posted.
All jokes and laughs at the article this morning at East Mains. Boyle is himself - and we all know what that is like :greengrin. He is aware that until a club meets Hibs valuation then he won't be able to explore any options and is fine with it and will crack on.
12-01-2022, 11:59 AM
As expected. Hibs.net more excited for the tax free money than Boyle is.
He's a good lad.
12-01-2022, 12:03 PM
Knew there was something going on in the background
From the speed of Ross county announcing he had left to when he signed for us there was clearly some sort of spanner thrown in the works. Now we know.
hibby rae
12-01-2022, 12:04 PM
🤢
Also seen yesterday he said the worst managers he played for was Collins and Butcher.
Tbf others have said the same about Collins, and Butcher well.. any words I use to describe him will be covered with an * anyway 😂
IncredibleHibee
12-01-2022, 12:15 PM
I’m being extremely greedy but I want another signing! 😅✍️
12-01-2022, 12:23 PM
I simply want the Boyle to wherever thing done and dusted so we can move on. Kevin Thomson is an ass! The Rankers are poo! And the media are p@sh.
Let's move onto some positive constructive stories! I'm liking what I see from SM and the young fellas coming in fill me full of optimism.
12-01-2022, 12:40 PM
Knew there was something going on in the background
From the speed of Ross county announcing he had left to when he signed for us there was clearly some sort of spanner thrown in the works. Now we know.
If he does as well with Us as he did with County and is playing week in week out he will likely attract a bid you would think
Arsenal just looking after themselves
12-01-2022, 01:06 PM
Was interviewed for the recent Killi job aswell
Rumble de Thump
12-01-2022, 01:23 PM
Does Boyle look livid? Don't ask silly questions then.
Steven79
12-01-2022, 01:27 PM
Does Boyle look livid? Don't ask silly questions then.
Time for another T-Shirt?
12-01-2022, 01:51 PM
What a grovelling, classless dirtbag. Between that and his comments on Collins/ Butcher, he aint learned much from his past.
An utter weapon, best ignored.
Class player but grade A hun weapon.
12-01-2022, 01:55 PM
2016 Scottish Cup Winner, he can do no wrong in my eyes.
12-01-2022, 01:57 PM
The Sun being c*nts again. Rangers drew with Arsenal but Hibs only beat an Arsenal XI.
Hibiza
12-01-2022, 01:59 PM
Class player but grade A hun weapon.
Not as good as he thinks he is. Loves walking on glass Westwards upon Motorways.
12-01-2022, 02:00 PM
The persistence of his hun sooking is too rich for me. He seems to want his to have his hibee cake and eat it - but if pressed, i think his loyalties lie with the blue pound and not with hibs. Yucky man.
12-01-2022, 02:02 PM
As expected. Hibs.net more excited for the tax free money than Boyle is.
He's a good lad.
As expected, MWHIBBIES on to tell hibs.net he was right to be adamant Boyle isn’t leaving Hibs when the latest rumour suits, after a spell of going quiet when it looked the other way.
Probably best just to wait and see what happens over the next couple of weeks, especially as he’s quite likely to be off if and when the correct offer comes in.
He probably is a good lad. But he can’t talk to them until we accept an offer is something we already knew.
Steven79
12-01-2022, 02:02 PM
He was on the bench for the semi and wasn't in the squad for the final.
Won **** all and was probably greeting for Rangers at full-time.