View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2021-22 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

Souter96Mac
10-01-2022, 01:35 PM
Celtic close to signing Riley McGree fee believed to be around £3m

Who?

I preferred the days when we were trying to figure out if the reflection in their sun glasses was Easter Road.

Was that Henderson (older) that had us all puzzled?

Jamie McGrath? Has he ever played wide of a front 3? I thought he was a very central player.

He was central last season however this season they’ve deployed there front 3 similar to what we are with them being in narrow so it’s a role he’s familiar with.

Think he’d be really good at dropping into areas unmarked and making things happen. Not one to run in behind though.

10-01-2022, 01:36 PM

Could be wrong, but I thought it was Brandon Barker

10-01-2022, 01:38 PM
Could be wrong, but I thought it was Brandon Barker

Yep, and the stadium turned out to be Preston I think?

Cat Stanton
10-01-2022, 01:42 PM
I think Henderson will be a better acquisition than McGrath based on nothing more than my gut.

Has your gut been right before?

10-01-2022, 01:43 PM
If he does sign and is half the presence Bamba was we will have won a watch. The thing that stood out with Bamba apart from his pace was his unerring ability to get his positioning badly wrong and still dig himself out of a hole with his incredible athleticism half the time winning the ball with his wrong leg.

Brilliant and scary to watch at the same time, a bit like Effe Ambrose in fact :greengrin

Perhaps with Harry Clarke coming in this one might be worth taking a chance on.

10-01-2022, 01:46 PM
Disappointed about McGrath, think he’s a really good player and would have played well on the left of a front 3.

Maybe Maloney thinks Henderson is better value for money?

Either way Henderson has along way to prove it, he is about 4 years younger in fairness.

I suspect McGrath was very much a Jack Ross target.

MikeyS
10-01-2022, 01:49 PM
Who?

Aussie International and a very naughty boy judging by the article I read earlier from an OZ journo. (Sorry dunno how to link from Twitter)

Him and Hearts new signing Atkinson have been banned by the national team due to an incident with a female in Cambodia. 🤷🏻*♂️

10-01-2022, 01:55 PM
Aussie International and a very naughty boy judging by the article I read earlier from an OZ journo. (Sorry dunno how to link from Twitter)

Him and Hearts new signing Atkinson have been banned by the national team due to an incident with a female in Cambodia. 🤷🏻*♂️

The Hearts boys never even played for Australia. He's as banned for them, as I am for Scotland :faf:

10-01-2022, 01:57 PM
He was central last season however this season they’ve deployed there front 3 similar to what we are with them being in narrow so it’s a role he’s familiar with.

Think he’d be really good at dropping into areas unmarked and making things happen. Not one to run in behind though.

Didn't realise that, potentially why he's been a lot quieter this season then?

10-01-2022, 01:58 PM

What are the Aussie like these days , P.C. Warriors.

Don’t know what Sir Les Patterson would have made of it. :greengrin

MikeyS
10-01-2022, 02:00 PM
The Hearts boys never even played for Australia. He's as banned for them, as I am for Scotland :faf:

My apologies Andy, it's the Olympic qualification squad they have been banned from.

chippy
10-01-2022, 02:02 PM
Perhaps with Harry Clarke coming in this one might be worth taking a chance on.

That’s how I read it

10-01-2022, 02:03 PM

That was in 2019 and their ban was up in 2020.

10-01-2022, 02:48 PM
Who?
Celtic.

Cat Stanton
10-01-2022, 03:12 PM
Celtic close to signing Riley McGree fee believed to be around £3m

Never heard of him. Was he not in Trumpton?

Souter96Mac
10-01-2022, 03:26 PM
Celtic.

Nope, sorry. Still never heard of them

SideBurns
10-01-2022, 03:37 PM

You're thinking of Barney McGrew. A smashing fitba player, but even better fireman!

10-01-2022, 03:46 PM

😂👏👏👏

Cat Stanton
10-01-2022, 03:47 PM
You're thinking of Barney McGrew. A smashing fitba player, but even better fireman!

"Pugh, Pugh, Barney McGrew/Riley McGree, Cuthbert, Dibble, Grubb".

10-01-2022, 03:54 PM
Alex windy Miller

10-01-2022, 03:59 PM
Alex windy Miller

Sure somebody had that as a username on here years ago.

Hibiza
10-01-2022, 04:12 PM

😂😂😂

BS44
10-01-2022, 04:31 PM

Love Island apparently.

10-01-2022, 04:38 PM

Omeonga I'm sure.

10-01-2022, 04:40 PM
£2m bid for Boyle rejected.

FifeHibs
10-01-2022, 04:40 PM
Omeonga I'm sure.

Brandon Barker

10-01-2022, 04:41 PM
This thread is going to be a classic - not many threads will ever feature Trumpton.

The younger generation will be thinking WTF. What next, Pugwash!

Bridge hibs
10-01-2022, 04:42 PM
£2m bid for Boyle rejected.Who from ?

Green Reaper
10-01-2022, 04:42 PM
This thread is going to be a classic - not many threads will ever feature Trumpton.

We also have Mr Ben as ceo

10-01-2022, 04:43 PM
Who from ?

Al faisaly apparently

10-01-2022, 04:44 PM
Who from ?

Hibs have rejected a £2m bid from Saudi Arabian club Al-Faisaly for forward Martin Boyle.

@SkySportsNews understands the Australian international was keen to speak to the Pro-League side, with a life-changing two-year contract on offer from the Middle East.

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11792/12513243/martin-boyle-hibernian-reject-2m-bid-from-al-faisaly-for-australia-international-winger

10-01-2022, 04:45 PM
Who from ?

Trumpton Town

10-01-2022, 04:46 PM
Who from ?

Saudi's.

I reckon he will be away.

10-01-2022, 04:47 PM
Saudi's.

I reckon he will be away.

Unfortunately I agree.

10-01-2022, 04:47 PM
Hibernian have rejected a £2m bid from Saudi Arabian club Al-Faisaly for forward Martin Boyle, Sky Sports News understands.
The 28-year-old Australia international was keen to speak to the Pro-League side with a life-changing two-year contract on offer from the Middle East.

It is the second offer Al-Faisaly have made for Boyle, after a £500,000 bid was rejected in December.

.Louise.
10-01-2022, 04:48 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1480597323138936839?s=21

ElginHibbie
That Rocky about to be announced

Rocky incoming.

10-01-2022, 04:49 PM
New guy being teased by hibs on imsta

10-01-2022, 04:50 PM
Hibernian have rejected a £2m bid from Saudi Arabian club Al-Faisaly for forward Martin Boyle, Sky Sports News understands.
The 28-year-old Australia international was keen to speak to the Pro-League side with a life-changing two-year contract on offer from the Middle East.

It is the second offer Al-Faisaly have made for Boyle, after a £500,000 bid was rejected in December.

EEN saying we want much more than the previously rumoured £3m.

Dr What If?
10-01-2022, 04:52 PM
They quadrupled their last bid, quadruple it again and we can start talking about add ons.

10-01-2022, 04:53 PM
Well here's a turnip for the books.

10-01-2022, 04:54 PM
Hibs clearly think they can milk a fair few million out of that team.

Before they’re offering 500k and then upping it straight to 2 million and offering him 1 million a year I think they’re right.

Unfortunately I think Boyle will be off.

10-01-2022, 04:54 PM

A few years ago we’d have already accepted the £500k bid

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 04:55 PM
Well done Hibs 👏

10-01-2022, 04:55 PM

Before they’re offering 500k and then upping it straight to 2 million and offering him 1 million a year I think they’re right.

Aye, they’ve clearly got the cash to spend and we are in a good position.

10-01-2022, 04:56 PM
A few years ago we’d have already accepted the £500k bid

Aberdeen fans thought they were getting him for £500k 🤣🤣🤣

10-01-2022, 04:57 PM

I was right then…..

10-01-2022, 04:57 PM

To be honest we as a club as need to be fair to Boyle, who signed a new contract to help get us maximum value and has been a loyal player for 7 years.

If he's going to be offered the £1m p/a and it looks that way now as the Saudis are serious I would hate for us to **** him over for money that could change him and his Hibernian family for life. £3m is more than suitable, imagine we ask for £3.5m and they tell us to bolt? You think MB is going to be okay with the explanation that they must have not really wanted him afterall.

10-01-2022, 04:58 PM
I was right then…..

I didn't question it :greengrin

10-01-2022, 05:00 PM
I didn't question it :greengrin

You didn’t mate 👍

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 05:02 PM
Welcome Rocky 👍

Bushiri loan with an option to buy.

Loan with option to buy for Rocky

10-01-2022, 05:03 PM
You didn’t mate 👍

10-01-2022, 05:04 PM
To be honest we as a club as need to be fair to Boyle, who signed a new contract to help get us maximum value and has been a loyal player for 7 years.

If he's going to be offered the £1m p/a and it looks that way now as the Saudis are serious I would hate for us to **** him over for money that could change him and his Hibernian family for life. £3m is more than suitable, imagine we ask for £3.5m and they tell us to bolt? You think MB is going to be okay with the explanation that they must have not really wanted him afterall.

It's a two way street, he's being paid well for his loyalty, they pay what Hibs think the going rate for him is or they **** off, it's really simple, Scottish Clubs(out with the OF)need to play more hard ball with selling their players for less than their true worth

Even £3m for Boyle is a steal when you look at the overall footballing market

10-01-2022, 05:07 PM

Right or left footer

10-01-2022, 05:08 PM
It's a two way street, he's being paid well for his loyalty, they pay what Hibs think the going rate for him is or they **** off, it's really simple, Scottish Clubs(out with the OF)need to play more hard ball with selling their players for less than their true worth

Even £3m for Boyle is a steal when you look at the overall footballing market

He is being paid well, yes. But there also comes a time and a place where you look at the whole picture, where a 28 year old lad who has given us 7 years of fantastic service and shown loyalty to the club is in a position to potentially be made for life over this. All things considered I don't think we should do him over because of greed.

10-01-2022, 05:08 PM
Excellent Twitter clip announcing him.

10-01-2022, 05:09 PM
Right or left footer

Sure he's another Right sided player, may be wrong though?

10-01-2022, 05:10 PM

Well at least we can’t accuse the club of sitting on their hands during this window. Interesting, I hope, exciting times for us. :hibees

10-01-2022, 05:12 PM
He is being paid well, yes. But there also comes a time and a place where you look at the whole picture, where a 28 year old lad who has given us 7 years of fantastic service and shown loyalty to the club is in a position to potentially be made for life over this. All things considered I don't think we should do him over because of greed.

Regardless of the financial cost to the club I agree with you. The club name, morals and principles mean more than money in my opinion.

10-01-2022, 05:14 PM
Bushiri loan with an option to buy.

Let the rumour mill run on what the ££ of the option to buy is!

Good to see this type of deal though, bit of a try before you buy concept.

For no reason at all I have a feeling this is gonna work out very well for us…can’t wait to see this dude play.

10-01-2022, 05:15 PM
If and it is a big if we don't lose anyone, if we could get another centre-half and centre-forward in I would be delighted with this window.

We could shed a few midfielders and I would be okay with that but if any central defenders or forwards go I would want them replaced.

Interesting few days still left in this window but we cant be accused of mucking around this window

10-01-2022, 05:16 PM
Regardless of the financial cost to the club I agree with you. The club name, morals and principles mean more than money in my opinion.

Then you have every club trying to sign your players for nothing but offering them huge wages and because you have morals about a player changing their life you end up with nothing

I think Hibs would likely be happy to let him go for the sake of £50/£100k but to potentially lose out on millions is just ludicrous

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 05:17 PM
We are certainly making up for the summer. I expect a couple of outgoings between now and the end of the window with one more player coming in.

10-01-2022, 05:20 PM
Then you have every club trying to sign your players for nothing but offering them huge wages and because you have morals about a player changing their life you end up with nothing

I think Hibs would likely be happy to let him go for the sake of £50/£100k but to potentially lose out on millions is just ludicrous

I was clumsy. I should have referred to the alleged £2 million bid in my post. I take your point, it’s logical.

10-01-2022, 05:23 PM
We are certainly making up for the summer. I expect a couple of outgoings between now and the end of the window with one more player coming in.

That takes our squad up to 32 players now , to be fair though we have 3 keepers listed.

I'd imagine we'd have to shed a number of players.

I wonder if we will still be active signing players should we not loose any of our very sellable players.

10-01-2022, 05:23 PM
They quadrupled their last bid, quadruple it again and we can start talking about add ons.

Don't know about quadrupling it again but they should be able to sheik a few more £££ out of the piggy bank.

10-01-2022, 05:26 PM

We could potentially end up with no money for him and an unhappy player that's been denied being set up for life. Agents will possibly bring it up in future negations with other players too.

10-01-2022, 05:28 PM

If they up their bid and get him, which we all expect will happen, then they will have a player at the top of his game and one of the best in our league. Further their league will suit him and he will be massive player for them.

10-01-2022, 05:28 PM
If and it is a big if we don't lose anyone, if we could get another centre-half and centre-forward in I would be delighted with this window.

We could shed a few midfielders and I would be okay with that but if any central defenders or forwards go I would want them replaced.

Interesting few days still left in this window but we cant be accused of mucking around this window

Cannae see us signing a 3rd centre half to be honest

10-01-2022, 05:29 PM
We could potentially end up with no money for him and an unhappy player that's been denied being set up for life. Agents will possibly bring it up in future negations with other players too.

We don't know how the revised bid was structured. It could have been in twenty instalments. Doubt it was £2m up front.

Nevi_SOL
10-01-2022, 05:30 PM
Can see us still signing a out and out winger this window. Especially if we’re going with a 443 or a 343

10-01-2022, 05:31 PM
Think we will sign a goalie next and that's us. If anyone leaves will be a replacement.

10-01-2022, 05:33 PM
Don't know about quadrupling it again but they should be able to sheik a few more £££ out of the piggy bank.

Oil be surprised if they dont.

10-01-2022, 05:39 PM

Hibs will have a fee in mind, they will likely have told Boyle and his agent what that fee is when he signed his new contract or will definitely have told him now what they value him at, its now up for Boyle to get on with it and do his job which I'm sure he will do

I wouldn't grude Boyle a move in the slightest and to set his family up for life but Hibs need to do what's best for Hibs and no one else

10-01-2022, 05:39 PM
Cannae see us signing a 3rd centre half to be honest

Depends on where they see Clarke featuring.

IMO we were one short beforehand and IMO the sands of time are running out on Daz, I would prefer not to have to rely on him any longer.

So another would be very welcome but I agree it is probably a long shot

Greenworld
10-01-2022, 05:40 PM
We could potentially end up with no money for him and an unhappy player that's been denied being set up for life. Agents will possibly bring it up in future negations with other players too.You seem very concerned that he should go . Im not quite getting this we have made him the top earner at the club .
The club have alledgedly set the fee at 3 million minimum. So there is no confusion as to what is required to make the deal happen.
I would love him to stay but if he goes its because we got the corre t valuation for our best player

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

10-01-2022, 05:44 PM
Love the way we've gone about our business so far! Six in if you include Tait returning from loan.

Gullan the only out so far. Surely that'll change with Halberg looking to go. Please, please not Boyle as well!

10-01-2022, 05:47 PM
You seem very concerned that he should go . Im not quite getting this we have made him the top earner at the club .
The club have alledgedly set the fee at 3 million minimum. So there is no confusion as to what is required to make the deal happen.
I would love him to stay but if he goes its because we got the corre t valuation for our best player

It's claimed we are now looking for more than £3m. I agree there should be a valuation set and the player should also be informed of that or was when he signed a new deal. I just don't think it would be a good look pricing him out of being set for life.

10-01-2022, 05:48 PM
Alex windy Miller
https://youtu.be/d27hPy38EyI
Windy on the cider. Actual episode.

Lots of cover in the side now all over the park , good squad now.

10-01-2022, 05:49 PM
Can’t see it ending any other way than him leaving, two positives from it are that it won’t be along the M8, and that both Hibs and Boyle will do very well financially out of it. Obviously losing a huge part of the team if he goes but surely money will be made available to strengthen throughout.

10-01-2022, 05:49 PM

Roger the Cabin Boy and Seaman Staines will never be allowed by Admin😉

10-01-2022, 05:51 PM
Can’t see it ending any other way than him leaving, two positives from it are that it won’t be along the M8, and that both Hibs and Boyle will do very well financially out of it. Obviously losing a huge part of the team if he goes but surely money will be made available to strengthen throughout.

I agree, and hopefully we invest well, and we become a team that is capable of hurting teams from many positions rather than just through Boyler.

10-01-2022, 05:52 PM
Love the way we've gone about our business so far! Six in if you include Tait returning from loan.

Gullan the only out so far. Surely that'll change with Halberg looking to go. Please, please not Boyle as well!

We will all be sad to see Martin go but at least this window has softened that inevitable blow and it gives the new signings a chance. I imagine theyve been told likeliehood is he is going opening up opportunities for them.

I think he’ll go too.

Suspect the next stage will be Boyle saying to the club he wants to go and then we will reluctantly accept a little bit more than currently being offered.

… there was me looking for Half Man Half Biscuit [emoji172]

10-01-2022, 05:53 PM
If reports are right then Boyle looks like he wants to get this luxury contract and I don't think anyone could be mad at him for that.

Get as much money as you can Ron.

10-01-2022, 05:54 PM

Chances of him leaving for £3m now, having an amazing World Cup and Angeball bids £7m for him next Jan. :devil:

10-01-2022, 05:59 PM
Chances of him leaving for £3m now, having an amazing World Cup and Angeball bids £7m for him next Jan. :devil:

50% sell-on clause 😉

10-01-2022, 06:01 PM

Did we force him to sign that contract?

Works both ways.

If the Saudis hit our figure then he’ll go, if not he won’t.

I’d like to think that he could make similar money in a better league.

10-01-2022, 06:02 PM
Had this situation arose during JR's tenure I would have been very concerned to say the least, as Martin was our main source of goals & out best & most consistent performer. We as a team relied too heavily on him to be honest.
Now with SM in charge, the shape,tactics & additions personnel, I believe we will still be a force to be reckoned with without him.
This transfer is good for both Martin & his family & the Club.
I wish him well & thank him for the 7 years service he has given us.

stuart-farquhar
10-01-2022, 06:02 PM

It's a goat bank. Piggies nah!

10-01-2022, 06:03 PM

I think when push comes to shove we will do the right thing if Boyle wants to explore the option which sounds like he does
Given money is no object to the owner we will clearly look to get as much as we can ,but there will come a time when we need to be fair to Martin anything over three million plus add on may have to be the compromise

10-01-2022, 06:03 PM
Had this situation arose during JR's tenure I would have been very concerned to say the least, as Martin was our main source of goals & out best & most consistent performer. We as a team relied too heavily on him to be honest.
Now with SM in charge, the shape,tactics & additions personnel, I believe we will still be a force to be reckoned with without him.
This transfer is good for both Martin & his family & the Club.
I wish him well & thank him for the 7 years service he has given us.

Whilst I’d still love to keep him I think we’re a lot better placed to deal with him going than we were a few months ago.

10-01-2022, 06:06 PM
I think when push comes to shove we will do the right thing if Boyle wants to explore the option which sounds like he does
Given money is no object to the owner we will clearly look to get as much as we can ,but there will come a time when we need to be fair to Martin anything over three million plus add on may have to be the compromise

Yeah I agree with this.

10-01-2022, 06:12 PM
Did we force him to sign that contract?

Works both ways.

If the Saudis hit our figure then he’ll go, if not he won’t.

I’d like to think that he could make similar money in a better league.

JI can see him making any where near that cash elsewhere

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

10-01-2022, 06:21 PM

He signed the contract and is being well paid for it, that is all Hibs owe him.

Hibs should always do what is best for Hibs.

Boyle would be daft to go live in that hole anyway. Doing him a favour.

10-01-2022, 06:23 PM
Roger the Cabin Boy and Seaman Staines will never be allowed by Admin😉
Not forgetting Master Bates.
Sadly, however, it's all urban myth as explained by the Evening Standard.
In the Young Guardian of September 13 [1991] we stated that the Captain Pugwash cartoon series featured characters called Seaman Staines and Master Bates, and for that reason the series had never been repeated by the BBC. We accept that it is untrue that there ever were any such characters. Furthermore, the series continues to be shown on television and on video. We apologize to Mr. Ryan, the creator, writer and artist of the Captain Pugwash films and books. We have agreed to pay him damages and his legal costs.

10-01-2022, 06:24 PM

I think there’s also an element of the perception to any potential future signing targets.

We will effectively be looking to position ourselves as a stepping stone to bigger things. We can’t be that and stop players moving all the time.

Since the start of the summer we’ve rejected a lot of bids for a lot of players, I do think at some point we need to accept an offer and not just to balance the books.

loanheadhibby
10-01-2022, 06:26 PM

Come on! Don’t believe you mean that for a minute.

I hope the club does the right thing and get Boyle his move. That’s life changing money.

Thanks Boyler for Hampden and all the best.

10-01-2022, 06:28 PM

Simply don't agree. We should do the best for our employees also.

Nobody is asking him to live there for the rest of his life. 3 years of torture in luxury then set for life back in Scotland or Oz. He would be mad not to do so.

10-01-2022, 06:29 PM

Abu Dhabi is a pretty chilled, luxurious place to
live for people with good incomes..weather extraordinary, lifestyle outstanding and the private schools exceptional …compared to Dubai it doesn’t have the extreme shopping focus , more of a community feel to it …

I don’t think Boyle should go, as I think there will be better moves for his football career - but purely from a lifestyle basis, it would be a pretty great move for him and his family ….

10-01-2022, 06:29 PM

I hope the club does the right thing and get Boyle his move. That’s life changing money.

Hibs will get a good deal with Boyle and Boyle will get his move (assuming he wants it).

He will probably be exploring the challenges of uprooting family etc but at the same time x2 years on that money will make a huge difference.

All Hibs fans will miss him but also wish him luck - he’s been a legend for us.

Hibees1973
10-01-2022, 06:31 PM
if it's £3m cash for Hibs, then Boyler goes with my best wishes.

He has given us great service over the last 5-6 years. It was great business Boyle signing a new 4 year contract a wee while back which will enable us to sell him (if that's what happens) at his peak value. He's 28 years old I and feel we have got the best from him as his value will only depreciate from now.

Good planning by Hibs. This is highlighted when compared to those clowns over the road who will be losing Soutter for a fraction of his value.

10-01-2022, 06:32 PM
live for people with good incomes..weather extraordinary, lifestyle outstanding and the private schools exceptional …compared to Dubai it doesn’t have the extreme shopping focus , more of a community feel to it …

I don’t think Boyle should go, as I think there will be better moves for his football career - but purely from a lifestyle basis, it would be a pretty great move for him and his family ….

The club who bid don’t play in Abu Dhabi.

10-01-2022, 06:36 PM

No chance hibs will stand in his way, we have made some decent money from getting players tied up on long deals then letting them leave for the right amount or when time is right for them , it just takes us to much around with one player and the next one we try will be more wary

10-01-2022, 06:37 PM
I know people won’t think we will, but for me if Boyle goes we need to go and buy a replacement.

His numbers the last couple of years have been brilliant. Also his ability to take is up the park and take on a lot of responsibility.

We can’t put that on one of the new young guys.

For me I’d be taking Jordan Jones or someone similar that I’ve probably never heard of.

Jones isn’t getting a game and supposedly is leaving. His goals and assists is good wherever he plays and he’s quick and direct

10-01-2022, 06:38 PM

There is a world of difference between the UAE and Saudi.

7Hero
10-01-2022, 06:40 PM
I agree, and hopefully we invest well, and we become a team that is capable of hurting teams from many positions rather than just through Boyler.

We are investing already. Think this will be our lot and they are basing current spending on the future money from Boyle...

10-01-2022, 06:40 PM
The club who bid don’t play in Abu Dhabi.

Ha! Apologies for my useless “travelog” then …tbh for an expat in Saudi it’s pretty relaxed in most ways …not a place I’d want to live in - but wouldn’t be much hassle for them if they fancied it ….

10-01-2022, 06:41 PM
Surely the Saudi mob have enquired how much we are looking for which means they are trying to lowball us. Plus putting his potential wages out there to unsettle Martin. Hibs come first so make them pay what we are after. If they don’t MB will just have to accept it and although he would be disappointed I’m sure he would understand and just get on with it.

10-01-2022, 06:41 PM
Boyle is brilliant and I don't want to see him go but in a way it might allow us to rebalance the side. For the last 18 months or so we've become massively dependent on him to the point if he doesn't perform then we look very very ordinary.

I'd rather keep him but £3 million invested back into the team may result in a more balanced side that isn't overly reliant on 1 player.

10-01-2022, 06:42 PM
… there was me looking for Half Man Half Biscuit [emoji172]

Time flies by…..

Anyway I am sure MB and his wife will be in discussion about the best way forward!

Big decision to make but as others have alluded, If he does move abroad I wish him all the very best as it’s well deserved!

HendoDelivered
10-01-2022, 06:44 PM
If Boyle does go, who do we sign to try and replace him? I can’t think of anyone off the top of my head who would be anywhere near him in terms of a replacement that we could realistically afford.

10-01-2022, 06:45 PM
Time flies by…..

Anyway I am sure MB and his wife will be in discussion about the best way forward!

Big decision to make but as others have alluded, If he does move abroad I wish him all the very best as it’s well deserved!

They don’t have a decision to make just now.

10-01-2022, 06:46 PM
Boyle is brilliant and I don't want to see him go but in a way it might allow us to rebalance the side. For the last 18 months or so we've become massively dependent on him to the point if he doesn't perform then we look very very ordinary.

I'd rather keep him but £3 million invested back into the team may result in a more balanced side that isn't overly reliant on 1 player.

I think we already look like we’re doing that anyway. If we sell, I’m not convinced we’ll be going out and getting a direct replacement right away. I think they might already be here.

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 06:47 PM
If Boyle does go, who do we sign to try and replace him? I can’t think of anyone off the top of my head who would be anywhere near him in terms of a replacement that we could realistically afford.

If he goes for £3m+ I’d like to see us break our transfer record for a replacement.

10-01-2022, 06:47 PM
There is a world of difference between the UAE and Saudi.

There is …but living in an exclusive compound for a couple of years won’t really feel too bad..Schools excellent , lots of help in your beautiful house ..for the family, would feel like a big holiday resort …and for Boyler the work environment will be outstanding …

Food is great , supermarkets excellent , movies etc all high quality ….

As I said earlier - it’s not a great football move for him - but for a few years of his life , it wouldn’t be a bad experience .

10-01-2022, 06:50 PM
I think there’s also an element of the perception to any potential future signing targets.

We will effectively be looking to position ourselves as a stepping stone to bigger things. We can’t be that and stop players moving all the time.

Since the start of the summer we’ve rejected a lot of bids for a lot of players, I do think at some point we need to accept an offer and not just to balance the books.

On the flip side, we are creating a perception with future buyers of our players that we won’t sell our players for less than we value them.

There’s not a chance in hell that the old firm would be entertaining less than £3m for a full international in their prime who’d just contributed to 33 goals in the previous calendar year and buying clubs know that. We may lose out on some potential fees in the short term by playing hard ball but if our transfer strategy is a success and we lose the soft touch perception then we would hopefully receive fair fees for them when we sell players in the future.

If he goes for £3m+ I’d like to see us break our transfer record for a replacement.

Mueller is a right winger

I know people won’t think we will, but for me if Boyle goes we need to go and buy a replacement.

His numbers the last couple of years have been brilliant. Also his ability to take is up the park and take on a lot of responsibility.

For me I’d be taking Jordan Jones or someone similar that I’ve probably never heard of.

Jones isn’t getting a game and supposedly is leaving. His goals and assists is good wherever he plays and he’s quick and direct

100% agree.

It willl be an established / consistent player leaving and we will need to add another like Jones.

The current wide players..

Mueller
Murphy
Mackay
Cadden

Mueller and Mackay hard to comment on but Murphy and Cadden won’t get near the same output Boyle has had.

Looking at the team who submitted the bid for Boyle - seems Boyle could be their record transfer fee paid - seems they have put a few million pound deals over the tears but Boyle could be the most.

10-01-2022, 06:53 PM

I 100% believe it. He is already on life changing money. He signed a contract and Hibs can hold him to it if they like. We must ensure the absolute best deal for Hibernian, not Martin Boyle.

10-01-2022, 06:54 PM
We may find out soon if the lesser mob are serious or not, if they are I expect a bid 2.5million plus Mikey Johnston

10-01-2022, 06:55 PM
They don’t have a decision to make just now.

Maybe not a decision but it will more than likely be discussed Bingo!

10-01-2022, 06:56 PM

He’s not being lifted out of poverty, he’d be going from being a rich man to a richer man.

10-01-2022, 06:57 PM
We may find out soon if the lesser mob are serious or not, if they are I expect a bid 2.5million plus Mikey Johnston

They can bid that but I don’t see MJ being valued at 1.5 million

But will pay him a £ million a year tax free ? Maybe fix him up with an EBT :greengrin

100% agree.

It willl be an established / consistent player leaving and we will need to add another like Jones.

The current wide players..

Mueller
Murphy
Mackay
Cadden

Mueller and Mackay hard to comment on but Murphy and Cadden won’t get near the same output Boyle has had.

Looking at the team who submitted the bid for Boyle - seems Boyle could be their record transfer fee paid - seems they have put a few million pound deals over the tears but Boyle could be the most.

With the different set up under Maloney, Boyle isn’t really providing the width, that’s coming from Cadden and Doig. The front three are a lot narrower so think you can chuck Melkersen in the mix as well given they spoke about him playing right across the front three when he signed.

10-01-2022, 06:58 PM
I 100% believe it. He is already on life changing money. He signed a contract and Hibs can hold him to it if they like. We must ensure the absolute best deal for Hibernian, not Martin Boyle.

Couldn't agree more we are not a charity.

10-01-2022, 06:58 PM
Can see us still signing a out and out winger this window. Especially if we’re going with a 443 or a 343
I would fancy our chances playing the 443. Just hope the ref doesn’t count the players:greengrin

10-01-2022, 07:01 PM
But will pay him a £ million a year tax free ? Maybe fix him up with an EBT :greengrin

It's not certain that his salary will be tax-free in Saudi. He needs to be careful about how often he comes home. I'd doubt he'd be able to come home for the full close-season, for example.

10-01-2022, 07:05 PM
Very exciting signing in Rocky however again, along with Henderson and The Hoff, a huge amount of uncertainty about what we’ll get. I say uncertainty but I expect that’s just in my mind and the club are in no doubt about what we’ve bought.

They keep bigging up our new young signings as gifted etc, I just hope we know what we’re doing and there is a real belief these boys will take us to the next level.

Hopefully we’re not banking just on youth and are able to get a couple more experienced players in.

I suppose you could argue that we never needed huge improvements but just more depth.

It will be an interesting couple of months, I just hope we’re not hedging all out bets in 20 year olds being brilliant for us. They’ll all take time to adapt and will undoubtedly be inconsistent.

We need to be ready for that.

wallpaperman
10-01-2022, 07:05 PM
He’s not being lifted out of poverty, he’d be going from being a rich man to a richer man.

I would doubt anyone who has to this point in their career, counted Hibs as the biggest club they have played for, would consider themselves rich (whatever that can be defined as).

I’m sure Martin is comfortably off now with his last contract or two, but it would be hard to begrudge him a life changing contract if it’s a genuine offer.

10-01-2022, 07:07 PM

so up to £1m for a player, how much of a weekly wage does a £1m player expect to receive :dunno:

hfc-1875
10-01-2022, 07:10 PM
Don’t want to sound negative but this boy on loan doesn’t excite me. Hope I’m wrong but I’m not expecting much 22 year old and hardly kicked a ball got a feeling he could be a Nathan wood type!

10-01-2022, 07:13 PM

He’s not on life changing money though. Even if he was on 10k a week for the next 3 years (which he isn’t), that’s 1.5m minus tax and NI and he’s be lucky to be earning 2-250k a year for that period. That’s not money you could survive on for life with a young family and you’d hope another 50 years left to live.

This move would offer him that and for me he’s be daft not to push for it.

RG has said on numerous occasions that we wouldn’t stand in the way of a player moving for extra cash so long as the deal was right for us too.

No reason to doubt him. We’ll get the money we want, as will Boyle. Everyone’s a winner.

Don’t want to sound negative but this boy on loan doesn’t excite me. Hope I’m wrong but I’m not expecting much 22 year old and hardly kicked a ball got a feeling he could be a Nathan wood type!

Why not give him a chance?

hfc-1875
10-01-2022, 07:15 PM
Why not give him a chance?

Obviously I will fully get behind him, just my opinion I’m not holding out much hope!

IncredibleHibee
I think we already look like we’re doing that anyway. If we sell, I’m not convinced we’ll be going out and getting a direct replacement right away. I think they might already be here.

That's my inclination as well.

I think you do want to sound negative to be fair.

10-01-2022, 07:16 PM
Obviously I will fully get behind him, just my opinion I’m not holding out much hope!

Relax till you see him play lol that’s how folk make opinions and can’t shake them despite how players do. I have no expectations whatsoever for any of the signings, regardless of where they come from or who’s bumming them up I will judge with my own eyes on what he does for Hibs.

10-01-2022, 07:16 PM

Again, why not give him a chance?

10-01-2022, 07:17 PM
Relax till you see him play lol that’s how folk make opinions and can’t shake them despite how players do. I have no expectations whatsoever for any of the signings, regardless of where they come from or who’s bumming them up I will judge with my own eyes on what he does for Hibs.

Bang on

loanheadhibby

I don’t think anyone has suggested he is being lifted out of poverty? We are talking life changing money here. A reputed £1 million a year tax free. That would be going from £10k gross to an equivalent of £36-40k net.

You’re not suggesting we deny the guy of at least discussing the option?

hfc-1875
I think you do want to sound negative to be fair.

Nah it’s just giving an opinion which is what a forum is for.

He’s not on life changing money though. Even if he was on 10k a week for the next 3 years (which he isn’t), that’s 1.5m minus tax and NI and he’s be lucky to be earning 2-250k a year for that period. That’s not money you could survive on for life with a young family and you’d hope another 50 years left to live.

This move would offer him that and for me he’s be daft not to push for it.

There is far more to life than money. I personally think he'd be daft to disappear to that dump for his prime years.

10-01-2022, 07:19 PM

You say that but you’ve already decided he’ll not be good enough so first mistake you’ll be right on his back.

10-01-2022, 07:19 PM

I mentioned earlier in the threat that I was the same until I read up about him.

Started off at Oostende and played a couple of games before going to Eupen on loan where he played the majority of games that season in the Belgian top flight at 19.

Norwich then signed him and he went on several loans which on paper don’t look great.

However when you factor in Covid and the fact he has been out injured with a knee injury it explains why his appearances may look low.

He went on trial at Coventry in the summer after just returning from injury and although unfit they said he was rapid, strong and good on the ball. Albeit a bit rash and raw.

The fact Norwich signed him at 19 gives me hope these something about him instead of a player that’s just came through at that club since they were young.

He’s also played 7 times for the Belgian 21s - although Omeonga also done similar.

I think he has all the physical attributes needed for the league. Hopefully he has the composure and learns the style we want.

IncredibleHibee
10-01-2022, 07:21 PM
There is far more to life than money. I personally think he'd be daft to disappear to that dump for his prime years.

why do you keep calling the middle east a dump? Have you ever experienced it? I am sure there are nice places to live out there.

loanheadhibby
10-01-2022, 07:21 PM

I’m genuinely surprised that you would deny the guy this move, if it’s what we wants. You’re right he signed a contract with Hibs. He didn’t have to. Could have left for virtually nothing but signed a new contract.

Did right by the club and himself. Hopefully the club will do right by him and get a decent fee for him.

10-01-2022, 07:23 PM
I’m genuinely surprised that you would deny the guy this move, if it’s what we wants. You’re right he signed a contract with Hibs. He didn’t have to. Could have left for virtually nothing but signed a new contract.

Did right by the club and himself. Hopefully the club will do right by him and get a decent fee for him.

I would not deny him anything if Hibs demands are met. No cut price deal so he can make mega bucks.

Hibs have done as much if not more for Martin Boyle as he has done for Hibs, I personally don't feel we owe him anything. Same as he doesn't owe us anything.

Crunchie
10-01-2022, 07:25 PM
I would not deny him anything if Hibs demands are met. No cut price deal so he can make mega bucks.

Hibs have done as much if not more for Martin Boyle as he has done for Hibs, I personally don't feel we owe him anything. Same as he doesn't owe us anything.
You're coming across as a tad bitter, or jealous even.

10-01-2022, 07:26 PM

I think Boyle would be off his head to not leave.

The money is staggering and whilst there’s more to life than money, you’re talking 2-3 years.

Him and his family could fly over and earn 20k a week. Clubs over there normally end up chucking in other benefits too like your accommodation and car. He’d be living a very luxurious lifestyle and if his wife and kids wanted to go home for a while they’d have plenty money to fly back to visit family.

I’d be off in an instant.

Whilst I want Hibs to get a good fee for him, he also helped us by signing a new deal that removed the 500k clause.

Yes I get he’s paid well in that contract but this is night and day.

10-01-2022, 07:27 PM
You're coming across as a tad bitter, or jealous even.

No. I just have a different opinion. I say this about every single player who gets linked with a move. Trust me, I'm absolutely not jealous.

Martin Boyle is a Hibs player, he has my 100% support. I love the guy, great player. Hibs don't owe him a big move, that is all.

10-01-2022, 07:27 PM
Honestly laughed when I read that. He'd be nuts to turn down an opportunity to set his family up for life. Lol.....

10-01-2022, 07:29 PM
Until Hibs asking price is met then there is no discussion to be had. Contracts are there to be honoured by both sides. We don’t go asking perpetually injured players like Magennis or Murphy if we can terminate their contracts early because that would be the wrong thing to do. Likewise, Boyle will have to hope that our asking price is met because it’s just as wrong for him to want to terminate a contract just because a better one has come along.

10-01-2022, 07:32 PM

I’m no convinced him signing his new deal was to do right by us. More likely the best option for him at the time.

As long as we get a deal that’s good for us then, as much as I’d rather keep him, he can’t be grudged his move. He’s certainly earned it.

10-01-2022, 07:32 PM
Honestly laughed when I read that. He'd be nuts to turn down an opportunity to set his family up for life. Lol.....

and yet, people do it all the time.

There is more to life than money. If Boyle only wanted money, he wouldn't have signed the new deal. He'd get more money as a free agent.

loanheadhibby
10-01-2022, 07:35 PM

10-01-2022, 07:36 PM
Nah it’s just giving an opinion which is what a forum is for.

The issue is you said you didnt want to sound negativd then you wrote a negative opinion. However your opinion may well be justified so thats not the issue. The guy is described as being raw so not exactly completely ready to hold a place.

10-01-2022, 07:37 PM
I don't think Boyle has asked for a move, so don't understand anyone that thinks he's at it wanting more money or Hibs not standing by him etc. He signed a new deal last year and is happy here, a bid has come in from abroad and duly we've told him about it, he's asked to see if it's worth thinking about but as yet our valuation hasn't been met. I'm pretty sure Boyle will be kept up to date with what's going on and what we will accept as an offer, it'll then be up to him if he wants to take it further.

10-01-2022, 07:42 PM
I don’t think anyone has suggested he is being lifted out of poverty? We are talking life changing money here. A reputed £1 million a year tax free. That would be going from £10k gross to an equivalent of £36-40k net.

You’re not suggesting we deny the guy of at least discussing the option?

I’m happy for him to go if we receive a fee commensurate with what the club values him. He signed a new contract a few months ago which removed a release clause so he will be under no illusion that he won’t be sold for less than what we value him.

The idea that we should just accept a bid below what we value him simply because the wage he would get is large is absolute nonsense.

10-01-2022, 07:44 PM
I’m happy for him to go if we receive a fee commensurate with what the club values him. He signed a new contract a few months ago which removed a release clause so he will be under no illusion that he won’t be sold for less than what we value him.

The idea that we should just accept a bid below what we value him simply because the wage he would get is large is absolute nonsense.

davhibby
10-01-2022, 07:45 PM

Can I ask what you see in Jordan Jones? If it was 3 years ago I’d understand your point but he’s not come anywhere close to hitting his Killie levels since and has an attitude that’s somewhere in between Jason Cummings and Leigh Griffiths. I’d be expecting us to push the boat out for someone significantly better than that as a replacement for Boyle.

loanheadhibby
10-01-2022, 07:45 PM
I’m no convinced him signing his new deal was to do right by us. More likely the best option for him at the time.

As long as we get a deal that’s good for us then, as much as I’d rather keep him, he can’t be grudged his move. He’s certainly earned it.

Surely the last time the best option would have been to run his contract down and leave for free? Any signing on fee would have been his alone.

Agree about a good deal and I’m sure Hibs will not stand in his way. It’s a bit of a balancing act for Hibs as well. We want to entice young talent to ER and if we start stalling player moves to greater riches, it may put off some youngsters.

10-01-2022, 07:46 PM
I'm guessing that another norweign boy might be out target if Boyle goes

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

ElginHibbie
10-01-2022, 07:46 PM
I don't think Boyle has asked for a move, so don't understand anyone that thinks he's at it wanting more money or Hibs not standing by him etc. He signed a new deal last year and is happy here, a bid has come in from abroad and duly we've told him about it, he's asked to see if it's worth thinking about but as yet our valuation hasn't been met. I'm pretty sure Boyle will be kept up to date with what's going on and what we will accept as an offer, it'll then be up to him if he wants to take it further.

Sky Sports saying he is keen to speak to them anyway

10-01-2022, 07:47 PM

He better hope they value him as much as Hibs do then.

10-01-2022, 07:49 PM

Speculation on behalf of Sky Sports imho. I’m sure the only way they can speak with him is if they agree a fee with the club?

Maybe wrong though!

10-01-2022, 07:50 PM
No messing about in terms of getting players in nice and early this window. Good to see.

10-01-2022, 07:51 PM
Surely the last time the best option would have been to run his contract down and leave for free? Any signing on fee would have been his alone.

Agree about a good deal and I’m sure Hibs will not stand in his way. It’s a bit of a balancing act for Hibs as well. We want to entice young talent to ER and if we start stalling player moves to greater riches, it may put off some youngsters.

Would have been a risk for him to do that with no guarantees. He’s reputedly on very good money at Hibs from signing that contract. Who’d been in for him at that point, Aberdeen? He’ll have signed his deal at Hibs because it was the best deal for him, not to look after us IMO. And rightly so.

We knocked back moves for Nisbet and Porteous last year and it’s not stopped a number of young players coming to us since. Need to look after ourselves first and foremost IMO.

Greenworld

The idea that we should just accept a bid below what we value him simply because the wage he would get is large is absolute nonsense.Spot on its no big secret Hibs want 3 million plus for there best player.
The money being offered in wages is how it works out there they generally get the players out of contract so offer more money to get them to go.
I am sure when the email arrives saying 3 million then martin can go oh ok I will talk to them . 30 second later he says ive decided to go.

He'll be keen to speak to see what they're offering but he'll be under no illusion that if Hibs valuation isn't met, he'll be going nowhere.

10-01-2022, 07:54 PM

They're just repeating what The Sun said.

10-01-2022, 07:56 PM
Can I ask what you see in Jordan Jones? If it was 3 years ago I’d understand your point but he’s not come anywhere close to hitting his Killie levels since and has an attitude that’s somewhere in between Jason Cummings and Leigh Griffiths. I’d be expecting us to push the boat out for someone significantly better than that as a replacement for Boyle.

Just always rated him as a player to be honest and think he’d suit our system well, having previously done well in the league.

Think he done well on loan last season at Sunderland too IIRC.

Not necessarily saying it must be him, but someone similar style who is a bit more proven and quality.

high bee

Agreed but I wouldn’t be surprised if they lowball us and expect the media to make us the pantomime villains again whilst expecting MB to try to push a move through.

I would be shocked if they give us a serious bid, they’ve had it their way too long and I’m sure we’ll be hearing about how he would’ve been a bench warmer anyway, much like the the SJM saga.

I suspect Boylers replacement is already here by the way..

Prof. Shaggy
10-01-2022, 07:58 PM
Speculation on behalf of Sky Sports imho. I’m sure they inky way they can speak with him us if the agree a few with the club?

Maybe wrong though!

I think you've got all the right words.
Just in the wrong order...

10-01-2022, 07:59 PM
I think you've got all the right words.
Just in the wrong order...

WTF…. That’s not what I typed. Right I’m away to change it

10-01-2022, 08:01 PM
I suspect Boylers replacement is already here by the way..

Mueller or another new signing yet to be announced??

10-01-2022, 08:01 PM
He'll be keen to speak to see what they're offering but he'll be under no illusion that if Hibs valuation isn't met, he'll be going nowhere.If he has an agent then he knows exactly whats on offer. Martin can't speak to another club but any rep can.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

10-01-2022, 08:03 PM
Mueller or another new signing yet to be announced??

Was meaning Mueller but will gladly take a new signing too :greengrin

10-01-2022, 08:04 PM
The Scotsman understands that Al Faisaly are not prepared to pay any more than £2m for Boyle and have now moved on to another target in the forward area.
Hibs have been braced for interest in Boyle this transfer window, with his performances for Australia catching the eyes of many teams in the Middle East.

10-01-2022, 08:05 PM
They’re shaking a big bag of sweeties. I’d want a wee look inside too.

10-01-2022, 08:06 PM
Was meaning Mueller but will gladly take a new signing too :greengrin

[emoji1303]
I’m hoping it’s another as Mueller was already signed. Shall see though!

high bee
10-01-2022, 08:09 PM

I don’t think it should be discounted how life changing this move could be for him and I wouldn’t blame him for wanting it.

He’s probably be going from a very comfortable living but with a need to seriously consider how he can maintain that income/lifestyle beyond his playing career to being set for life and able to choose/not worry what to do once he hangs up his boots.

It’s a short career where he’s only recently gone onto this big wage and after giving around half to the tax man over most of his career time then I doubt he’s rich after 10-12 years of professional football in Scotland outside the OF.

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 08:10 PM
The Scotsman understands that Al Faisaly are not prepared to pay any more than £2m for Boyle and have now moved on to another target in the forward area.
Hibs have been braced for interest in Boyle this transfer window, with his performances for Australia catching the eyes of many teams in the Middle East.

Good. I don’t think this is over but we shouldn’t be letting him go for £2m.

10-01-2022, 08:15 PM
I don’t think it should be discounted how life changing this move could be for him and I wouldn’t blame him for wanting it.

He’s probably be going from a very comfortable living but with a need to seriously consider how he can maintain that income/lifestyle beyond his playing career to being set for life and able to choose/not worry what to do once he hangs up his boots.

It’s a short career where he’s only recently gone onto this big wage and after giving around half to the tax man over most of his career time then I doubt he’s rich after 10-12 years of professional football in Scotland outside the OF.

I mean, even if you have him on an average of £2k a week until his new contract, 10 years of that is over a million quid before tax. He'll easily be on more than a quarter million a year salary with Hibs now.

If he's been remotely sensible with even some of that income, by any definition he'll be a rich man. Not as rich as he'd be after a stint in the Middle East, but I would suspect his current Hibs contract will be worth the best part of 7 figures to him.

10-01-2022, 08:21 PM
I mean, even if you have him on an average of £2k a week until his new contract, 10 years of that is over a million quid before tax. He'll easily be on more than a quarter million a year salary with Hibs now.

If he's been remotely sensible with even some of that income, by any definition he'll be a rich man. Not as rich as he'd be after a stint in the Middle East, but I would suspect his current Hibs contract will be worth the best part of 7 figures to him.
Nailed it :top marks

10-01-2022, 08:25 PM

I know it’s all relatively. But circa 50k a year after tax and before living expenses does not make you a rich man ..he will be comfortable currently, but by no means will he have secured his future on that level of earnings …

10-01-2022, 08:26 PM
No messing about in terms of getting players in nice and early this window. Good to see.

No so sure what we going to speculate on for the rest of the month 😂

high bee
10-01-2022, 08:31 PM

£2k a week is £66k a year after tax but before a pension so probably about £60k a year. That sounds a lot in principle but once you deduct the cost of living then it will be significantly lower. If anyone times their wage by 10 years they’re probably wondering where it’s all gone, I doubt I’ve got 10% of my earnings left over the last decade.

If he’s been sensible then he most likely has a nice house and/or is mortgage free. It’s the length of career that’s the crux here, a rich person could choose to stop working whenever they want IMO whereas I can’t see that being the case for any career SPFL player outside the OF.

10-01-2022, 08:31 PM

The fact that he may have to continue working like the rest of us after he retires from football is no reason for us to accept an offer lower than what we value him at.

high bee
10-01-2022, 08:37 PM
The fact that he may have to continue working like the rest of us after he retires from football is no reason for us to accept an offer lower than what we value him at.

Totally agree, which is why I never said or alluded to that being the case.

I merely pointed out that I think it’s a life changing offer for him which is why he is most likely interested even if he loves being here/is unsure about the prospect of living there.

Juniper Greens
10-01-2022, 08:39 PM
I know it’s all relatively. But circa 50k a year after tax and before living expenses does not make you a rich man ..he will be comfortable currently, but by no means will he have secured his future on that level of earnings …

104k per year equates to 67k after tax not 50k. Quite an overexageration from you there.

10-01-2022, 08:40 PM

Yup, hoping he doesn’t spend the rest of his days on the golf course.

Depriving Leith of Squirrel the publican would be a great shame.

10-01-2022, 08:48 PM

ah, so they want to make him a multi millionaire but don't think he's worth more than £2m to buy

10-01-2022, 08:53 PM

How the hell would they know what al faisaly are prepared to pay . Complete guesswork there from the scotsman , be interesting to hear who their sourcce is..

10-01-2022, 08:56 PM
104k per year equates to 67k after tax not 50k. Quite an overexageration from you there.

Ha. Ok. Wasn’t trying to exaggerate tbh..was just going with a rough rule Of thumb …50% net after tax and NI from a 100k salary. however the principle still stands £5.5k net per month for 10 years - doesn’t not make anyone a rich man …I know it’s a good wage compared to most - but it’s not making him “rich”

10-01-2022, 08:56 PM
They’re shaking a big bag of sweeties. I’d want a wee look inside too.

Shudders.

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 09:00 PM
How the hell would they know what al faisaly are prepared to pay . Complete guesswork there from the scotsman , be interesting to hear who their sourcce is..

The Sun and Daily Record seem to be connected to the best sources for Hibs related stuff.

10-01-2022, 09:02 PM
The Sun and Daily Record seem to be connected to the best sources for Hibs related stuff.

I was more meaning how would they know what a club from the far east are prepared to spend on a transfer deal.

10-01-2022, 09:04 PM
No so sure what we going to speculate on for the rest of the month 😂

Boyle and Muellers wages

10-01-2022, 09:09 PM
I was more meaning how would they know what a club from the far east are prepared to spend on a transfer deal.

These things are don’t though agents who the press have relationships with and not uncommon for an agent to leave a story to drive interest or push for a move for a player. Just see what leaving that salary information had done, almost every Hibs fan I’ve seen acknowledging he would be daft to not move with those wages.

10-01-2022, 09:13 PM
These things are don’t though agents who the press have relationships with and not uncommon for an agent to leave a story to drive interest or push for a move for a player. Just see what leaving that salary information had done, almost every Hibs fan I’ve seen acknowledging he would be daft to not move with those wages.

Completely agree about the dosh on offer. Set the guy up for life if reports are accurate

10-01-2022, 09:13 PM
Very exciting signing in Rocky however again, along with Henderson and The Hoff, a huge amount of uncertainty about what we’ll get. I say uncertainty but I expect that’s just in my mind and the club are in no doubt about what we’ve bought.

They keep bigging up our new young signings as gifted etc, I just hope we know what we’re doing and there is a real belief these boys will take us to the next level.

Hopefully we’re not banking just on youth and are able to get a couple more experienced players in.

I suppose you could argue that we never needed huge improvements but just more depth.

It will be an interesting couple of months, I just hope we’re not hedging all out bets in 20 year olds being brilliant for us. They’ll all take time to adapt and will undoubtedly be inconsistent.

We need to be ready for that.

Loan to the end of the season with option to buy, transfer details already agreed. Very happy with that, a low risk bit of business.

10-01-2022, 09:28 PM
If Boyle stays he’ll be due a testimonial in a couple of seasons, he’d make a few quid of that and he wouldn’t be moving to a footballing backwater in the Middle East. I’m sure a testimonial for Boyle would be well attended given how big a player he’s been for us.

10-01-2022, 09:30 PM
Until Hibs asking price is met then there is no discussion to be had. Contracts are there to be honoured by both sides. We don’t go asking perpetually injured players like Magennis or Murphy if we can terminate their contracts early because that would be the wrong thing to do. Likewise, Boyle will have to hope that our asking price is met because it’s just as wrong for him to want to terminate a contract just because a better one has come along.

I don't disagree, but I think we always have to remember we're dealing with people here. I'm not for a second suggesting that Martin Boyle will down tools if we hold him back but what's to say he doesn't get the hump and just doesn't come out firing after it? We're £2m worse off with a guy who can't find his form again and who is approaching 30. We wouldn't be able to sell him in 12 months time for example and Martin will never be offered that cash ever again.

The other side of it is Martin may have been great with us and signed on a decent deal that we put in front of him to be able to remove his transfer clauses so that we COULD get around £2m for him instead of just £500k. Then all of a sudden we don't accept 4 times the amount of his initial clause? If I was Martin I'd be asking what's up there and it wouldn't exactly help us the next time we need to negotiate a similar move with the next player in his position.

10-01-2022, 09:39 PM
I don't disagree, but I think we always have to remember we're dealing with people here. I'm not for a second suggesting that Martin Boyle will down tools if we hold him back but what's to say he doesn't get the hump and just doesn't come out firing after it? We're £2m worse off with a guy who can't find his form again and who is approaching 30. We wouldn't be able to sell him in 12 months time for example and Martin will never be offered that cash ever again.

The other side of it is Martin may have been great with us and signed on a decent deal that we put in front of him to be able to remove his transfer clauses so that we COULD get around £2m for him instead of just £500k. Then all of a sudden we don't accept 4 times the amount of his initial clause? If I was Martin I'd be asking what's up there and it wouldn't exactly help us the next time we need to negotiate a similar move with the next player in his position.

That assumes the club didn’t tell him the sort of fee they’d be looking for when he signed that contract.

Either way, Boyle signed a contract that removed a release clause, so regardless of what was discussed at the time, it’s for the club alone to decide how much is an acceptable price to sell him.

10-01-2022, 09:42 PM
Scott Burns saying the same club have bid again at £2.25m. Scotsman said earlier they wouldn’t bid again. It’s almost as if no one has a clue :greengrin

10-01-2022, 09:44 PM
Scott Burns saying the same club have bid again at £2.25m. Scotsman said earlier they wouldn’t bid again. It’s almost as if no one has a clue :greengrin

You’d think we would have told them pretty clearly that £2m was nowhere near our valuation, weird for them to come back with an increase of only £250k - if that’s true of course.

10-01-2022, 09:45 PM
You’d think we would have told them pretty clearly that £2m was nowhere near our valuation, weird for them to come back with an increase of only £250k - if that’s true of course.

He’s also saying they are wanting to offer Boyle £1.5m a year. Mental.

I think Scott Burns has been the one that has had the exclusives on this throughout.

Could be wrong but sure he broke the story in the first place of their interest.

Reckons he could earn in excess of £1.5m per year.

10-01-2022, 09:48 PM
Feels inevitable Boyle is going to be away now. Really hope it doesn’t drag on if he is going to go.

10-01-2022, 09:48 PM

So that's where Peter Lawwell is these days.

I reckon if they offer £2.5m to £2.75m, the deal will be done. Would be announced as undisclosed obviously.

10-01-2022, 09:49 PM

As I said earlier a lot will depend on how the deal is structured. If the previous offer was £500,000 up front and they have increased it to £1,000,000 up front that is a big increase.

Don't know the figures but using these as an example.

10-01-2022, 09:50 PM

We’ll need to sell by next April anyway as that’s when he turns 30. Wouldnt want to waste wages on an injury prone 30+ year old.

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 09:51 PM
£30k a week, he’s not turning that down.

10-01-2022, 09:54 PM
We’ll need to sell by next April anyway as that’s when he turns 30. Wouldnt want to waste wages on an injury prone 30+ year old.

He’s a had a couple of big injuries but he’s not injury prone at all - averages 37 appearances a season for the last seven years.

10-01-2022, 09:54 PM
£30k a week, he’s not turning that down.

He’s not getting the choice unless we accept an offer.

10-01-2022, 09:55 PM
That assumes the club didn’t tell him the sort of fee they’d be looking for when he signed that contract.

Either way, Boyle signed a contract that removed a release clause, so regardless of what was discussed at the time, it’s for the club alone to decide how much is an acceptable price to sell him.

I don't think that's a great way to deal with these situations.

10-01-2022, 09:56 PM
Reckons he could earn in excess of £1.5m per year.

If they were initially offering him £1m per year then I don't get why they'd increase it by £500k rather than add the £500k to what they're offering Hibs if that's what's needed to get us to agree to the sale. Boyle would surely accept £1m a year so increasing his salary offer is pointless if we don't accept their offer, unless they think it will get Boyle to request a transfer.

10-01-2022, 09:57 PM
He’s a had a couple of big injuries but he’s not injury prone at all - averages 37 appearances a season for the last seven years.

I wasn’t expecting a bite from someone other than Ozy to be fair 😂

10-01-2022, 09:59 PM
He’s not getting the choice unless we accept an offer.

Certainly true but if that team has truly gone from offering £500K to £2.25M in matter of days, they’ll offer what’s needed.

HendoDelivered
10-01-2022, 09:59 PM

Clear your PM’s bud, can’t reply. :aok:

10-01-2022, 10:00 PM
I wasn’t expecting a bite from someone other than Ozy to be fair 😂

Ah, didn’t realise it wasn’t a serious post.

10-01-2022, 10:05 PM

Trumpton highlights.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tuqgj6zzt3E

It's possible Boyler has played his last game for Hibs. Sad to see him go if it happens but delighted for him on a personal basis.

10-01-2022, 10:07 PM
500k - initial offer

Declined

2 million - Last offer and onto new targets
1 million - wages per year

Declined

2.25 million - latest offer
1.5 million - wages per year

They’re fairly upping the money. I can see why Hibs are trying to get every last penny the rate they’re increasing it.

10-01-2022, 10:11 PM
Certainly true but if that team has truly gone from offering £500K to £2.25M in matter of days, they’ll offer what’s needed.

I agree.

I’ll be surprised if we keep knocking back offers.

£2.25m will be enough imo.

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 10:11 PM
500k - initial offer

Declined

Declined

They’re fairly upping the money. I can see why Hibs are trying to get every last penny the rate they’re increasing it.

£3m and they have got their man by the looks of it.

10-01-2022, 10:16 PM
500k - initial offer

Declined

Declined

I still find it odd this would be record transfer fee for this team. They obviously aren’t short of money but at the same time why don’t they spend more on other players in the world ? There are lots of players out there for around £2 million who are decent.

£3 million will probably be the price he ends up going for. Which will be 3rd most expensive player to depart Hibs according to this -

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/rekordabgaenge/verein/903

Arrivals can be viewed here - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/transferrekorde/verein/903

10-01-2022, 10:20 PM
I still find it odd this would be record transfer fee for this team. They obviously aren’t short of money but at the same time why don’t they spend more on other players in the world ? There are lots of players out there for around £2 million who are decent.

£3 million will probably be the price he ends up going for. Which will be 3rd most expensive player to depart Hibs according to this -

Arrivals can be viewed here - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/transferrekorde/verein/903

For me I think it will be because his stock is high due to his form with Australia and then scoring a hat trick against rangers.

Can imagine clubs over there thinking he’s a superstar with that sort of stuff.

10-01-2022, 10:21 PM

I’d expect McGinn went for more than £3m.

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 10:23 PM
For me I think it will be because his stock is high due to his form with Australia and then scoring a hat trick against rangers.

Can imagine clubs over there thinking he’s a superstar with that sort of stuff.

Couple of goals against Celtic next Monday and we can agree a deal at £5m.

Joking aside I still think that losing him in this window will have a big impact on our league position this season. That’s easy to say as he could easily pick up another long term injury and we have just done ourselves out of a few million but if we aren’t going to use the money we get for him to bring in an immediate replacement I think we should take the risk and keep him until the summer.

Ron’s not daft, he’ll know that for his plan to work we need to cash in when players are hot.

I have a feeling he wasn’t happy with the Doig scenario. If we bring young players in and get offered money we need to take the good cash to be able to reinvest it and grow.

Imagine Nisbet for 2-2.5, Doig for 4 and Boyle for 3? That has been the quotes over the past year for our players.

If we bring players in for cheap or a couple of hundred thousand to make a profit, we need to actually take the good deal when it arises.

The summer with Doig sounded like Mathie got a bit greedy and wanted the 5 million as his own personal achievement.

Whatever happens with Boyle leaving though, we need to bring in a similar quality player and go out and sign David Marshall.

CL0762
I would take £3m and thank Martin for his service to the club. Life changing amount of money being banded about, he'd be silly not to take it for 1/2 years then come back.

10-01-2022, 10:24 PM

McGinn went for 2.75m I believe, plus promotion fee of 1 million, plus staying in the prem fee plus 1 million, 4.75 million.

10-01-2022, 10:24 PM

We didn't get as much as £450k for Stevie Mallan did we?

10-01-2022, 10:25 PM

Who have been our recent deals outwith McGinn and semi recently?

Cummings - 1 million?
Kamberi?
Horgan?
Mallan?

Can’t think off too many lately we’ve made decent money on.

10-01-2022, 10:27 PM
Just read transfermarket for our sold player figures.

Kevin Nicol to Peterhead for 630k back in 2005?….

I’ll guess their figures are miles off

10-01-2022, 10:28 PM
Who have been our recent deals outwith McGinn and semi recently?

Cummings - 1 million?
Kamberi?
Horgan?
Mallan?

Can’t think off too many lately we’ve made decent money on.

Yeah very little. Unfortunately any fringe players tend to leave for next to nothing and we’ve not had any real assets. Now we’ve started to speculate to accumulate we’re starting to get the rewards of this. I really feel well get a few decent fees coming in over the next few years which should increase what we can spend, and if done correctly increase the fees we receive again.

10-01-2022, 10:30 PM
Just read transfermarket for our sold player figures.

Kevin Nicol to Peterhead for 630k back in 2005?….

I’ll guess their figures are miles off

Yeah not sure how accurate they are but some of the names and deals do make you wonder. Obviously add ons etc tricky to calculate.

10-01-2022, 10:33 PM
Yeah very little. Unfortunately any fringe players tend to leave for next to nothing and we’ve not had any real assets. Now we’ve started to speculate to accumulate we’re starting to get the rewards of this. I really feel well get a few decent fees coming in over the next few years which should increase what we can spend, and if done correctly increase the fees we receive again.

Someone mentioned this on another post - I think with Ron and Ben in charge I feel they will reinvest the ££ any transfer fees come in compared to the RP days when I’m not so sure..only time will tell but I wouldn’t be surprised if they knew the Boyle bids were coming hence the early deals for other players. Also post covid a decent transfer fee probably can’t be turned down as many clubs made losses with no fans etc.

10-01-2022, 10:38 PM
we maybe got other deals done earlier so other clubs couldn't cash in on our expected windfall