View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2019-20 transfer thread
09-01-2020, 03:15 PM
That’s exactly the update we need and keeps us hoping that good players could be added. It’s so much better than saying happy with what we have and won’t be looking to add unless we can shift players out. That is all that they needed to say. Well done eventually. 👍
Can't be right. The budgets gone and Ron has a lot to answer for etc
09-01-2020, 03:20 PM
I think there will be plenty of clubs willing to take a Chanson Damour......
RA-TA-TA-TA-TA :greengrin
JDHibs
09-01-2020, 03:24 PM
Yeah think a lot of jambos are celebrating early. Just because stendal says he doesn't want them, doesn't mean they'll find new clubs, could easily end up with a few of them just running down their contracts. Damour has 3+ years left so there's no way he just goes without it costing them some proper money.
Aidy White - 05/21
Damour - 05/23
Mulraney - 05/22
Uche - 05/22
Wighton - 05/21
Berra - 05/21
Not 1 of them are out on contract. Lets face it, theyve all been torture, so not like they will have a queue of clubs waiting to sign them. They got lucky when Whelan agreed to walk for free. Doubt itll happen with the rest.
09-01-2020, 03:25 PM
Spoke to my Jambo mate and said it is all very butcheresque to which he said it had to be done. I then asked what does he do if he can't get in the players he wants or there is an injury crisis. His honest answer is then they are goosed and relegated. It maybe had to be done but it was after he had got a few of his own players in. A hugely high risk strategy but they are facing relegation so probably felt he had to do something. Amazing how their fans are backing a manager with one point out of a possible 15 and who they know nothing about.
If it all goes wrong (even if not relegated) they are goosed. Stendel and Slavers sacked with the so called transition plan bust as they cleared all the other coaches out previously.
Fingers crossed.
Aidy White - 05/21
Damour - 05/23
Mulraney - 05/22
Uche - 05/22
Wighton - 05/21
Berra - 05/21
Not 1 of them are out on contract. Lets face it, theyve all been torture, so not like they will have a queue of clubs waiting to sign them. They got lucky when Whelan agreed to walk for free. Doubt itll happen with the rest.
I actually think Mulraney has potential. Reminds me a bit of early Martin Boyle, pace to burn but lack of end product.
09-01-2020, 03:45 PM
I actually think Mulraney has potential. Reminds me a bit of early Martin Boyle, pace to burn but lack of end product.
I’ve always liked the look of him as well. We should sign him and he can relegate them in the final derby.
stantonsboots
09-01-2020, 03:46 PM
I actually think Mulraney has potential. Reminds me a bit of early Martin Boyle, pace to burn but lack of end product.I was thinking the same myself,but in all honesty we don't need him we already have a STARMAN on the wing!
09-01-2020, 03:48 PM
They will only be saving wages if they actually leave, if they don't leave they have unhappy players on their hands and no money to buy replacements......
This is the key thing.
Lots of senior unhappy players on the books sotting picking up big wages
09-01-2020, 03:54 PM
Seems to me that the boy only lacks one thing over there - a supportive attacking coach?
I'm no coach myself, but just how he does not fit into Danny Boy's attacking philosophy beats me.
From what I've seen of him he has pace, control and a quickly developing level of dribbling skill. Reminds me somewhat of a young Peter Marinello the way he keeps the ball close to him when running with it, and usually, with some ease goes past defenders with a drop of the shoulder.
No real end product yet though.
09-01-2020, 03:56 PM
Seems to me that the boy only lacks one thing over there - a supportive attacking coach?
I'm no coach myself, but just how he does not fit into Danny Boy's attacking philosophy beats me.
From what I've seen of him he has pace, control and a quickly developing level of dribbling skill. Reminds me somewhat of a young Peter Marinello the way he keeps the ball close to him when running with it, and usually, with some ease goes past defenders with a drop of the shoulder.
No real end product yet though.
They need his transfer fee. DC united going to pay one seemingly
09-01-2020, 03:59 PM
I'd mentioned on another thread i hadn't seen Dabrowski name mentioned for Cowdenbeath recently, i believe he had a good start there on loan. Is he injured at the moment.
Injured
09-01-2020, 04:04 PM
Mulraney is tatties.
Barely got a game at Inverness. Goes to Hearts. Does nowt and they want rid.
He'd be a terrible signing for us!
MikeyS
09-01-2020, 04:08 PM
Mulraney is tatties.
Agreed, weve got our own ineffective winger in Horgan anyway.
09-01-2020, 04:10 PM
Mulraney is tatties.
This in spades . they are pish and next person that says 1 of their rejects could do a job for us should get a lifetime ban :lolyam:
09-01-2020, 04:15 PM
Mulraney is tatties.
I don't think anyone was saying he should come to us.
As far I can see, any posts, including mine, were simply referring to our opinion of the boy and the potential he may have.
09-01-2020, 04:16 PM
This in spades . they are pish and next person that says 1 of their rejects could do a job for us should get a lifetime ban :lolyam:
See post 1265 :greengrin
09-01-2020, 04:23 PM
I don't think anyone was saying he should come to us.
As far I can see, any posts, including mine, were simply referring to our opinion of the boy and the potential he may have.
I didn't say you or anyone else said we should sign him. I'm just giving my opinion on a terrible footballer.
09-01-2020, 04:29 PM
I didn't say you or anyone else said we should sign him. I'm just giving my opinion on a terrible footballer.
Fair enough.
No harm meant.
Peace and blessings be upon you brother/ sister. :greengrin
Scotty Leither
09-01-2020, 04:32 PM
What about this laddie? Impressed me every time i've seen him play for Killie against us.
Hardly wastes a ball, good in the air, very good going forward and his delivery/final ball is first class as well. Out of contract at QPR in the summer so I wouldn't imagine they'd want a massive fee.
Much as I like wee Louie, he doesn't have any competition, and I would like to think this guy would be a straight starter anyway.
Thoughts?
09-01-2020, 04:36 PM
What about this laddie? Impressed me every time i've seen him play for Killie against us.
Hardly wastes a ball, good in the air, very good going forward and his delivery/final ball is first class as well. Out of contract at QPR in the summer so I wouldn't imagine they'd want a massive fee.
Much as I like wee Louie, he doesn't have any competition, and I would like to think this guy would be a straight starter anyway.
Thoughts?
Gies a clue
09-01-2020, 04:38 PM
Lewis Morgan going to Inter Miami. Some move for him.
Is that David Beckham’s club?
09-01-2020, 04:39 PM
Is that David Beckham’s club?
Yeah
09-01-2020, 04:41 PM
Keeps earphones in when warming up for a derby. Terrible attitude
Scotty Leither
09-01-2020, 04:42 PM
Gies a clue
See the link in bold, Sauzee - Niko Hamalainen - Kilmarnock left back.
09-01-2020, 05:23 PM
See the link in bold, Sauzee - Niko Hamalainen - Kilmarnock left back.
There is no link? Anyhow, I have liked the look of him in the admittedly small amount of times I’ve seen him :agree:
Souter96Mac
09-01-2020, 05:51 PM
Tweets going round about Hibs making an approach for Shankland
09-01-2020, 05:55 PM
[QUOTE=Souter96Mac;6039972]Tweets going round about Hibs making an approach for Shankland[/QUOTE
Not a chance, this has onlt started as someone thought it would be a laugh because we are olaying utd in the cup
09-01-2020, 06:02 PM
There's tweets going around that this almost 65 year old wee wummin looks like Audrey Hepburn in her prime. It's a nice thought, but it ain't true. :greengrin :greengrin
09-01-2020, 06:09 PM
Laurence shankland is an anagram of Aachaen Drunk Snell.
I fear he is joining the Stendel hic revolution...
Also "Anal Kneads Luncher"
Time to exit that website I think
09-01-2020, 06:12 PM
Hibs couldn't afford Shankland.
09-01-2020, 06:17 PM
United want over 2 million, he’s rumoured to be on about 5k a week. No chance!!
Steven79
09-01-2020, 06:18 PM
I’ve always liked the look of him as well. We should sign him and he can relegate them in the final derby.
Only one problem with that.
We won't be playing them after the split...
09-01-2020, 06:19 PM
More chance of us buying Berra.
09-01-2020, 06:22 PM
Lol
09-01-2020, 06:23 PM
How many games till he scored? How many goals were sclaffs or miss hit shots, jeez one was so badly miss hit from 2yds out it was missing the target until it got deflected in. My opinion Calum.
He scored in his second match
09-01-2020, 06:28 PM
Agreed, weve got our own ineffective winger in Horgan anyway.
Horgan is many things but he is definitely not ineffective, the stats back that up hugely.
09-01-2020, 06:36 PM
Been told by a jambo whos normally good with info that Uche, Damour, White & Lee have all been told they arent in Stendals plans. Add in Wighton, Mulraney, Berra & Whelan, they will be saving alot on wages
They have some new stand to finish.
MikeyS
09-01-2020, 06:44 PM
Horgan is many things but he is definitely not ineffective, the stats back that up hugely.
What stats are you using? From what I can see its 27 games in all comps, 3 goals and 0 assists. That's pretty ineffective as a winger to me.
09-01-2020, 06:44 PM
We play Dundee United in the cup next week...go figure the "interest"
09-01-2020, 06:48 PM
They don’t though
09-01-2020, 06:49 PM
Interview with graeme Mathie saying we’re looking to be active
Good interview pointing out need to make sure squad size is correct to keep squad hungry and will be recruits.
Hopefully put the scaremongers ‘skint’ worries to rest ......... not gonna hold my breath
09-01-2020, 06:53 PM
What stats are you using? From what I can see its 27 games in all comps, 3 goals and 0 assists. That's pretty ineffective as a winger to me.
Those aren't the stats though
He also has 3 assists this season. Last season 7 goals, 10 assists.
Overall 10 goals, 13 asssits in 60 odd games, really isn't bad. One contribution every 3 isn't ineffective at all.
MikeyS
09-01-2020, 07:00 PM
Overall 10 goals, 13 asssits in 60 odd games, really isn't bad. One contribution every 3 isn't ineffective at all.
Ok, I'll ask again. What stats are those you are using?
This season he has 3 goals from 20 in the league and 0
assists & 7 apps from League Cup with no goals or assists as far as I can see.
Would you be kind enough to share your info?
Edit. Just found Info showing 3 assists in LC, so apologies there bit I still feel that's a poor return for someone who is meant to be an attacking threat this season. Now I will say it's been pointless playing him in our diamond shape so not all his fault but he doesn't do himself many favours running balls out of play or dilly dallying like he is prone to do. Plus hes knackered by 65/70 mins each week too
09-01-2020, 07:08 PM
Ok, I'll ask again. What stats are those you are using?
This season he has 3 goals from 20 in the league and 0
assists & 7 apps from League Cup with no goals or assists as far as I can see.
Would you be kind enough to share your info?
Transfermarket. He got assists in the league cup against Arbroath, Elgin and Morton
09-01-2020, 07:11 PM
I read his stats were better than Ryan Kent last season. Not sure if true
09-01-2020, 07:12 PM
What they save on wages they will lose on pay-off fees, unless those named can find another club.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Finding another club isn’t really relevant. The player can still demand a pay-off to leave.
09-01-2020, 07:31 PM
How many games till he scored? How many goals were sclaffs or miss hit shots, jeez one was so badly miss hit from 2yds out it was missing the target until it got deflected in. My opinion Calum.
Your opinion but ridiculous - in my opinion. You’d still call him a dud if he hit 40 goals and they were all sclaffs or mis-hits. What a ridiculous view.
09-01-2020, 07:33 PM
I think there will be plenty of clubs willing to take a Chanson Damour......
Brilliant 😀
09-01-2020, 08:11 PM
I prefer AC Miami myself
I'm an AC/DC man myself but that's for another forum. :greengrin
09-01-2020, 09:06 PM
Aidy White - 05/21
Damour - 05/23
Mulraney - 05/22
Uche - 05/22
Wighton - 05/21
Berra - 05/21
Jerry Butcher is emboldened by being able to get rid of Whelan so easily. Just because Whelan was understandably desperate to get away from there doesn’t mean that he’ll have this whole batch of players happy to just pop off quietly.
Hugely risky strategy.
09-01-2020, 09:10 PM
Jerry Butcher is emboldened by being able to get rid of Whelan so easily. Just because Whelan was understandably desperate to get away from there doesn’t mean that he’ll have this whole batch of players happy to just pop off quietly.
Hugely risky strategy.
Not going to happen. Whelan played at a high enough level that he likely has some money stashed away and could afford to walk away but none of the rest are likely to be in that position. Berra possibly I guess, but he won't walk away from a huge amount......
09-01-2020, 09:32 PM
Ah, the innocence of youth. Would loved to have seen thoughts on someone like Gareth Evans on social media.
Sky Sports/PlayStation generation in full swing.
Micky Weir would be a fraud and Geebsie too slow.... blah, blah....
Ah, the innocence of youth. Would loved to have seen thoughts on someone like Gareth Evans on social media.
Innocence of youth, you do realise I'm 61 yrs old aye?
Evans, Weir and Geebsie all cracking players who loved playing for this club.
09-01-2020, 09:39 PM
This season,
League - 21 appearances, 10 starts, 3 goals in the league no assists.
League Cup - 7 appearances, 6 starts, 0 goals, 3 assists.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/daryl-horgan/leistungsdaten/spieler/178139
Last season -
League - 29 appearances, 22 starts, 3 goals, 7 assists
Scottish Cup - 3 starts, 3 goals, 1 assist
League Cup - 1 starts 1 goals, 1 assist
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/daryl-horgan/leistungsdaten/spieler/178139
09-01-2020, 10:00 PM
Innocence of youth, you do realise I'm 61 yrs old aye?
Evans, Weir and Geebsie all cracking players who loved playing for this club.
Rose tinted memories there. Evans was average at best. Simon Murray is better. I don’t think he would be would anywhere near our first team if he was a modern day player....great attitude and work ethic though ..good pro...but very average footballer.
Cracking players doesn't have to mean they were brilliant, they got Hibs, some were even fans, their attitude work ethic made them cracking players. Give me an average great attitude Evans over some of the garbage we've seen in the past.
09-01-2020, 10:15 PM
Cracking players doesn't have to mean they were brilliant, they got Hibs, some were even fans, their attitude work ethic made them cracking players. Give me an average great attitude Evans over some of the garbage we've seen in the past.
Yeah. he was a good pro, who liked Hibs. Likeable guy.
some players certainly connect with the club and fans. Evans was one ..at a time when we had limited heroes. This “got Hibs” stuff is a bit subjective. Some players are simply better at winning the fans overs by beating their chest or fan friendly messaging through the media....doesn’t mean they “got Hibs” better than others - just played the “game” better.
09-01-2020, 10:15 PM
I agree I loved Gareth Evans. That midweek game against Dundee Utd where he came of the bench when we were 2-0 down is still one of my favourite ever games, he was unplayable that night.
09-01-2020, 10:23 PM
I agree I loved Gareth Evans. That midweek game against Dundee Utd where he came of the bench when we were 2-0 down is still one of my favourite ever games, he was unplayable that night.
We had such limited quality when Evans joined, that we all loved his work rate and passion....very likeable player.
if he was a player today , do you think he would get a strip in our team? I don’t think he would be anywhere near it. Championship level.
09-01-2020, 10:31 PM
We had such limited quality when Evans joined, that we all loved his work rate and passion....very likeable player.
if he was a player today , do you think he would get a strip in our team? I don’t think he would be anywhere near it. Championship level.
The team that won the league cup in 91 was a decent team and played a big part in that. I think championship level is being unfair to him he was much better than that.
09-01-2020, 10:35 PM
The team that won the league cup in 91 was a decent team and played a big part in that. I think championship level is being unfair to him he was much better than that.
Fair enough...think you are remembering him very fondly though ...don’t think he made it near double figures for league goals in a season. Great work ethic, pretty inconsistent. Poor finisher. average ability.
Was never a prolific scorer but more to his game than just scoring. 301 games and 38 goals.
Cat Stanton
09-01-2020, 10:41 PM
Eh... any transfer news?
Possibly, I was drunk for most of that period :greengrin
Just logged in to see what the transfer chat was all about and find that it's about Gareth Evans.
Re the point about what would Social Media say about Gareth, can you imagine what it would say about Joe Tortolano or Alan Sneddon.
09-01-2020, 10:42 PM
Eh... any transfer news?
Gareth Evans is signing a short term deal till the end of the season :greengrin
09-01-2020, 10:43 PM
Was never a prolific scorer but more to his game than just scoring. 301 games and 38 goals.
I liked him too - probably was my fave player for a few seasons....just reflecting on the standard he played at...he was our number 9 for a few of those seasons. Goal return poor . He was like Martin Boyle with a bit less pace.
09-01-2020, 10:43 PM
Possibly, I was drunk for most of that period :greengrin
Hahaha. Made me laugh.
09-01-2020, 10:44 PM
Eh... any transfer news?
Gareth Evans signed from Rotherham....23 years ago. [emoji6][emoji2957]
09-01-2020, 11:20 PM
Just logged in to see what the transfer chat was all about and find that it's about Gareth Evans.
Re the point about what would Social Media say about Gareth, can you imagine what it would say about Joe Tortolano or Alan Sneddon.
I've said before that Ally McLeod would have been hounded out for being overweight, worse than a man short etc etc blah blah blah...... One of my favourite ever players too......
Percy Vere
10-01-2020, 12:09 AM
Who is Nisbet-he’s really under my radar.
In my opinion none of the players you list would have got anywhere near the squad two seasons ago and given our excellent financial position that’s outrageous.
Sorry Naismith doh
tonyrougier123
10-01-2020, 12:56 AM
Wee steph going back to genoa,apparent interest from league below.
Now could be the time to nip in for him.
Sweet Left Peg
10-01-2020, 01:44 AM
My abiding memory of Gareth Evans was scoring the winner in a 4-3 win at home to St Mirren. We were 3-1 down late into the 2nd half. Geebsie scored a first time volley from the edge of the box to get us back into it and Evans came off the bench to win it at the death. Must have been late 80s. We went 1-0 up in the first half, a penalty I think. But it stuck in my mind because it seemed like an incredible come back.
10-01-2020, 05:16 AM
Wee steph going back to genoa,apparent interest from league below.
Now could be the time to nip in for him.
I saw yesterday that Coszensa Calcio were interested, be interesting to see if we would try and hijack any deal.
Iv said before I think he’s a good wee player but not as good as others seem to think, still a bit raw around the edges but plenty potential. Plenty energy, work rate, quick feet and a great attitude but lacks a final ball or that decision making
I’m sure I read that Cercle Brugge had an option to buy him at the end of the loan so would be interesting to see how much that was. With him hardly kicking a ball for them his stock has hopefully dropped quite a bit and we could get him for a small fee.
10-01-2020, 05:53 AM
Can't be right. The budgets gone and Ron has a lot to answer for etc
To be fair people were only jumping to those conclusions based on what the manager said in his Hibs TV interview. I get playing it cagey but he more or less said nobody coming in unless we get rid
McGeouch & Omeonga are good tidy players and in an ideal world I'd have both of them instead of what we currently have. But that's not what we need at the minute we've got enough of them. Mallberg, Slivka, Mallan, Allan, Newell etc. We need a bully, a presence, a voice, we're far to soft in the midfield. We miss Bartley it's as simple as that for me
10-01-2020, 06:18 AM
I've said before that Ally McLeod would have been hounded out for being overweight, worse than a man short etc etc blah blah blah...... One of my favourite ever players too......
Nah...his class came through every time he got the ball . Played like a mixture of Andy Ritchie and chic charnley with brains. [emoji2]. What a player [emoji119]
10-01-2020, 06:20 AM
McGeouch & Omeonga are good tidy players and in an ideal world I'd have both of them instead of what we currently have. But that's not what we need at the minute we've got enough of them. Mallberg, Slivka, Mallan, Allan, Newell etc. We need a bully, a presence, a voice, we're far to soft in the midfield. We miss Bartley it's as simple as that for me
This is, in my opinion, why the Scottish national team has been rubbish for years. We're so busy worrying about having grit and determination and all those good things we forget to actually play football and other sides play 5 footballers in the midfield and roast us. I love Marv as much as the next guy and he was undoubtedly great in a scrap but he couldn't pass it more than 15 yards, offered zero going forward and his defensive contribution was on the decline. You only had to watch Hibs with him playing instead of McGeouch to see us punting it forward because he couldn't take it off the back 4. He was a pure anchor man and no decent side has played with one of those in years.
McGeouch is a much better central midfidler than all of those you have listed (including Allan who is wasted there). He is always there for a pass and takes it from the back 4 and brings it forward, this is exactly what we need. He played at the base of a midfield diamond and a midfield 3 for us many times and was excellent, winning the ball (without going to ground), intercepting it, keeping it, distributing it. That is exactly what we need. An in form McGeouch would, at worst, be our 2nd best player and would make us better than we are now.
The best Hibs midfield in the last 15 years is McGinn, McGeouch and Allan. All footballers, all dynamic, all could win the ball and bring it forward, all very versitile. Thats the players we should be looking for. Not bullies. Hibs had the chance to reunite 2 of those 3 and if we have turned it down in favour of some big knuckledragger who can kick people I'll be really disappointed.
Saint Hibee
10-01-2020, 06:27 AM
This is, in my opinion, why the Scottish national team has been rubbish for years. We're so busy worrying about having grit and determination and all those good things we forget to actually play football and other sides play 5 footballers in the midfield and roast us. I love Marv as much as the next guy and he was undoubtedly great in a scrap but he couldn't pass it more than 15 yards, offered zero going forward and his defensive contribution was on the decline. You only had to watch Hibs with him playing instead of McGeouch to see us punting it forward because he couldn't take it off the back 4. He was a pure anchor man and no decent side has played with one of those in years.
McGeouch is a much better central midfidler than all of those you have listed (including Allan who is wasted there). He is always there for a pass and takes it from the back 4 and brings it forward, this is exactly what we need. He played at the base of a midfield diamond and a midfield 3 for us many times and was excellent, winning the ball (without going to ground), intercepting it, keeping it, distributing it. That is exactly what we need. An in form McGeouch would, at worst, be our 2nd best player and would make us better than we are now.
The best Hibs midfield in the last 15 years is McGinn, McGeouch and Allan. All footballers, all dynamic, all could win the ball and bring it forward, all very versitile. Thats the players we should be looking for. Not bullies. Hibs had the chance to reunite 2 of those 3 and if we have turned it down in favour of some big knuckledragger who can kick people I'll be really disappointed.
Amen
10-01-2020, 06:40 AM
Oh dear!
Big Marv was a much better footballer than a lot on here gave him credit for Two assists in his last game for Livvy and he is exactly what we need right now
McGeouch was hawked around all clubs by his Agent and Jack Ross having worked with him for 18 months obviously decided for whatever reason he is not the answer
Perhaps the coffers are bare
The last thirty minutes of every game this season the HIBS midfield / team turns to paper we are too soft this needs to be addressed better game management mental and physical toughness to see games out I for one do not fancy the present bunch in a relegation dog fight the Livvys Hamilton’s and St Johnstone’s of our world must be rubbing their hands in anticipation
10-01-2020, 06:42 AM
Lewis Morgan to Beckhams Inter Miami for 6 figure sum apparently
10-01-2020, 06:43 AM
Agree with this, we don’t just need an outright big guy in there that offers nothing else. In fairness to Marv I think his performances with us declined due to lack of minutes and match sharpness. He was very good for us overall and is again showing this for Livi.
Scott Brown isn’t the biggest guy but the way he reads the game and imposes himself on it is brilliant. He has McGregor and Christie in beside him normally who again are by no means big but work hard.
Kamara and Jack for Rangers are again good readers of the game, get stuck in are very comfy on the ball.
Aberdeen had Shinnie, McLean and now have Ferguson in there who again all mix it and can look after themselves physically. McLean and Ferguson are bigger but by no means is that all they do, both very good on the ball.
I think we will be looking for someone who is big, athletic who enjoys the physical side but and comfortable on the ball to play in a two with Hallberg and Allan behind the striker.
10-01-2020, 06:46 AM
The club are looking for dynamic players, they must have something in the works if JR didn't pursue Dylan.
Though January is a difficult month for transfers so I am not holding my breath that we'll get some quality in.
10-01-2020, 06:47 AM
Agree with this, we don’t just need an outright big guy in there that offers nothing else. In fairness to Marv I think his performances with us declined due to lack of minutes and match sharpness. He was very good for us overall and is again showing this for Livi.
Scott Brown isn’t the biggest guy but the way he reads the game and imposes himself on it is brilliant. He has McGregor and Christie in beside him normally who again are by no means big but work hard.
Kamara and Jack for Rangers are again good readers of the game, get stuck in are very comfy on the ball.
Aberdeen had Shinnie, McLean and now have Ferguson in there who again all mix it and can look after themselves physically. McLean and Ferguson are bigger but by no means is that all they do, both very good on the ball.
I think we will be looking for someone who is big, athletic who enjoys the physical side but and comfortable on the ball to play in a two with Hallberg and Allan behind the striker.
10-01-2020, 06:48 AM
The club are looking for dynamic players, they must have something in the works if JR didn't pursue Dylan.
Though January is a difficult month for transfers so I am not holding my breath that we'll get some quality in.
To be fair they’ve managed to get better quality in using the last two winter windows than what they’ve signed in the summer.
10-01-2020, 07:01 AM
Oh dear!
Big Marv was a much better footballer than a lot on here gave him credit for Two assists in his last game for Livvy and he is exactly what we need right now
McGeouch was hawked around all clubs by his Agent and Jack Ross having worked with him for 18 months obviously decided for whatever reason he is not the answer
Perhaps the coffers are bare
The last thirty minutes of every game this season the HIBS midfield / team turns to paper we are too soft this needs to be addressed better game management mental and physical toughness to see games out I for one do not fancy the present bunch in a relegation dog fight the Livvys Hamilton’s and St Johnstone’s of our world must be rubbing their hands in anticipation
Marv wasn't a much better footballer than given credit for. I do love the guy but he is a pure anchor man.
What would you prefer, keeping the ball better in the last 30 minutes and controlling the game or having a big guy to win it back when we give it away?
Keeping it against tired opposition and controlling it is a much better way of holding the lead. You only need to look at how many goals we got in the last 20 minutes with that midfield 3 to see that.
10-01-2020, 07:07 AM
Marv wasn't a much better footballer than given credit for. I do love the guy but he is a pure anchor man.
What would you prefer, keeping the ball better in the last 30 minutes and controlling the game or having a big guy to win it back when we give it away?
Keeping it against tired opposition and controlling it is a much better way of holding the lead. You only need to look at how many goals we got in the last 20 minutes with that midfield 3 to see that.
Yup. Marv was completely wasted against the likes of Hamilton or anyone else we generally dominated possession against. Great in the derbys where it was usually a scrappy battle. I love Marv as much as the next Hibs man but he couldn't go on playing a handful of games a season even if he was a useful weapon in our arsenal and he made the decision to leave not us. He will look better at Livingston as they generally play a very different style which might be effective but not how we normally play. Glad it's working out for him.
10-01-2020, 07:13 AM
He was but he played his last season for us carrying an injury and for the last part of his career was relegated to the bench did not do himself or the club any favours
Ross County League Cup Final all games against Hearts and Molde away are all games in which Big Marv showed his physical and technical attributes
As another poster said we need another skilful defensive minded midfielder who perhaps enjoys a tackle to win the ball back to compliment the Hallbergs Allan’s Slivkas and Malians in our present squad
My preference would be Matty Jack but probs before your time :greengrin
In Jack Ross we trust
10-01-2020, 07:28 AM
It is possible to do both. The two best midfielders in Scotland at the moment are probably Scott Brown and Ryan Jack both are decent on the ball and also have the physicality to battle and win the ball back when you need to defend. We need that balance as we don't currently have it.
10-01-2020, 07:37 AM
To be fair they’ve managed to get better quality in using the last two winter windows than what they’ve signed in the summer.
Think that is because good players at bigger clubs are looking for game time. Unless they are totally out of the picture at the start of the season they will want to see how it goes and then look for game time in the second half. People say Jan window is a tough window and they are probably right if looking to buy however for clubs of our size it is probably the best window for getting players on loan which we probably couldn't afford to buy.
This and most of MWHIBBIES post.
I think Heckingbottom knew what type of midfielder he wanted, it's just he had a poor eye for a player. Liverpool, Man C, Leicester, Celtic, Rangers etc, don't have big lumps as DM's, physical ball players with legs, we had one in McGinn and as we've found they're not easy to get because everyone wants one. What we need is another Hallberg but with a bit more bite.
10-01-2020, 08:33 AM
I think Marv was a better footballer than a lot of us realised as he has shown since moving to Livingston. At the time I understood why he was allowed to leave, but am now of the opinion he just needed to get regular game time, the odd appearance here and there made it seem he was finished at our level - clearly he isn't.
As for the bit in bold the trouble with that logic is that McGeouch can't keep hold of the ball himself for the last 30 minutes and so has to pass to his colleagues, who will invariably give it away.
As others have posted it's not just an out and and out destroyer we need it's someone of the style of Ryan Jack, someone who does break up attacks but can also play a bit too.
10-01-2020, 08:36 AM
It is possible to do both. The two best midfielders in Scotland at the moment are probably Scott Brown and Ryan Jack both are decent on the ball and also have the physicality to battle and win the ball back when you need to defend. We need that balance as we don't currently have it.
Scott Brown wouldn't even be in my top 5 tbh.
He hinders Celtic's play by taking too long on the ball and not having the agility and dribbling ability to play through a high press the way players like Kamara, McGregor and McGeouch do. The celtic midfield looked awful in the transition phase against Rangers and this was mainly down to him IMO. Had Celtic gone with the far more press resistant trio of McGregor, Ntcham and Christie in the middle I think they would have fared much better.
10-01-2020, 08:39 AM
We don’t need people that stop football. We just need a midfield with more energy that can close down quicker and force mistakes, and one that will run its backside off to come back and cover when we lose possession. Every week we see players just jogging back. I wouldn’t accept it at youth level I’ve no idea why coaches allow it at senior level.
10-01-2020, 08:40 AM
I think Marv was a better player than a lot of us realised as he has shown since moving to Livingston. At the time I understood why he was allowed to leave, but am now of the opinion he just needed to get regular game time, the odd appearance here and there made it seem he was finished at our level - clearly he isn't.
As for the bit in bold the trouble with that logic is that McGeouch can't keep hold of the ball himself for the last 30 minutes and so has to pass to his colleagues, who will invariably give it away.
As others have posted it's not just an out and and out destroyer we need it's someone of the style of Ryan Jack, someone who does break up attacks but can also play a bit too.
Just watched Marvs assist for the fourth Livvy goal versus Ross County sublime
Marv just needed game time and a good preseason glad it has worked out for him at Livvy
Agree re Dylan the ball will just keep coming back regardless of whether he is fit or not
We need a better fit hopefully we bring someone in before the window closes
In Jack Ross we trust
10-01-2020, 08:42 AM
We don’t need people that stop football. We just need a midfield with more energy that can close down quicker and force mistakes, and one that will run its backside off to come back and cover when we lose possession. Every week we see players just jogging back. I wouldn’t accept it at youth level I’ve no idea why coaches allow it at senior level.
Agree mostly. but still feel we need someone who will put in a proper challange in the middle of the park. I like Hallberg as a player and probably he best fits your description, but he is guilty at times of shirking out of challenges.
10-01-2020, 08:43 AM
My abiding memory of Gareth Evans was scoring the winner in a 4-3 win at home to St Mirren. We were 3-1 down late into the 2nd half. Geebsie scored a first time volley from the edge of the box to get us back into it and Evans came off the bench to win it at the death. Must have been late 80s. We went 1-0 up in the first half, a penalty I think. But it stuck in my mind because it seemed like an incredible come back.
You are indeed correct, after my mates had naffed off to the pub at 3 1 down I decided to stay and had the smugest grin on my face in the pub that night 🙂 what a great wee player oor Gareth was 💚👍
10-01-2020, 08:51 AM
Gareth Evans was gid linked up well with Steve Archibald did he no score in the fa cup while on loan with stoke
10-01-2020, 09:09 AM
Jackson to be announced at Bolton today apparently
10-01-2020, 09:13 AM
He’d be a good one to get off the books. Was never the type of signing who was going to improve us and not really putting any pressure on those in the team.
10-01-2020, 09:14 AM
One down a couple more to go, if that’s the case. He just isn’t better or on a level with what we’ve already got in that position. I’m guessing it’ll be a loan?
No better than we have and another who wouldn't have cheap coming from the Championship.
10-01-2020, 09:15 AM
Can't see him getting much game time with McGregor fit again
hibsmad
Although I think Dylan is a great player, I agree that he is not whats required just now.
Omeonga however would transform us. He wins the ball in deep positions, whether via an interception or by getting stuck into a tackle, and can then start us off playing football at pace. Allowing Allan or Mallan to get the assists and goals.
In my opinion, adding Omeonga into our current team would see us challenge for top 4 this season.
Will we get a fee for him? Or have we let him go for nothing?
One down a couple more to go, if that’s the case. He just isn’t better or on a level with what we’ve already got in that position. I’m guessing it’ll be a loan?
Maybe not, Vela, Jackson, Newell and James were all freebies, so maybe just a case of released from his contract to negotiate another deal.
The Count
10-01-2020, 09:17 AM
At last a proper Hibs in or out transfer rumour.Jackson to Bolton well done on posting.I wish there was more radio silence until there were proper rumours.Or am I just an old fart !!!
deekster
10-01-2020, 09:18 AM
You are indeed correct, after my mates had naffed off to the pub at 3 1 down I decided to stay and had the smugest grin on my face in the pub that night 🙂 what a great wee player oor Gareth was 💚👍
IIf I remember correctly we got boo off at half time then boo back on lol
10-01-2020, 09:19 AM
At last a proper Hibs in or out transfer rumour.Jackson to Bolton well done on posting.I wish there was more radio silence until there were proper rumours.Or am I just an old fart !!!
You mean you're not fascinated by all this Gareth Evans rumourmongering? Shame on you :greengrin
10-01-2020, 09:19 AM
I actually didnt see much wrong with Jackson when he played. Hardly any game time but I agree he is unlikely to get further game time when we have Ryan and Daz.
10-01-2020, 09:20 AM
Maybe not, Vela, Jackson, Newell and James were all freebies, so maybe just a case of released from his contract to negotiate another deal.
I was more thinking because Bolton are skint and the player might not want to commit long term. We’ll find out later if he’s away or not when the teams announced for our friendly.
10-01-2020, 09:22 AM
I actually didnt see much wrong with Jackson when he played. Hardly any game time but I agree he is unlikely to get further game time when we have Ryan and Daz.
Didn’t do much wrong tbf
10-01-2020, 09:27 AM
Didn’t do much wrong tbf
Very decent performance against st johnstone, scored a goal too. But if it frees up a space for a player Ross wants, it's obviously a good move for both parties.
davhibby
10-01-2020, 09:28 AM
It’s a shame sentiment means we’re getting rid of a better player and being left with Daz who is nowhere near the standard needed for a club wanting to be top 3/4
10-01-2020, 09:29 AM
It’s a shame sentiment means we’re getting rid of a better player and being left with Daz who is nowhere near the standard needed for a club wanting to be top 3/4
i think Daz will only play when Ryan is out anyway.
10-01-2020, 09:30 AM
Very decent performance against st johnstone, scored a goal too. But if it frees up a space for a player Ross wants, it's obviously a good move for both parties.
Could they no take Vela back instead? 😂
10-01-2020, 09:32 AM
Could they no take Vela back instead? [emoji23]
“Aswell”
10-01-2020, 09:33 AM
Could they no take Vela back instead? 😂
The new Brian Kerr. Still time to weigh in with a 2nd minute opener in a derby, Mr Vela:agree:
10-01-2020, 09:33 AM
Pretty sure we paid a few for James,albeit it was reported as "nominal".
10-01-2020, 09:34 AM
3 year deal IIRC?
You are correct, undisclosed fee, apologies.
MikeyS
10-01-2020, 09:36 AM
Best of all Heckys signings in my opinion. Not that it's been a high bar in all honesty though.
10-01-2020, 09:36 AM
I'm guessing Jackson didn't travel to Spain then? See James did which says to me he's still in Ross's plans
Steven79
10-01-2020, 09:38 AM
I'm guessing Jackson didn't travel to Spain then? See James did which says to me he's still in Ross's plans
Or nobody is interested in him at present.
I quite liked Jackson, thought he was probably the best of Heckingbottom's signings. Disagree with your comments re Daz though showed recently against Hearts he's still more than good enough at our level.
I was actually looking forward to Jackson signing, he was identified very early doors and with Heckingbottom having worked with him before I thought he was coming in as a definite starter.
I actually thought he looked fine, especially as he wasn’t given a real run of games.
Speaks volumes when he couldn’t get a game though and then as soon as Porteous and then McGregor were fit they went in the starting 11 ahead of him.
Hopefully we get a bit of a fee and it will free up some wages at least.
Re Vela, I actually think he’s rather unfairly been made a massive scapegoat. His performances weren’t the best but nowhere near as bad as some make out. To me it looked like he never understood the tactics or his position he was being asked, seemed to be all over the place a bit, would do the running and try press but often his positioning made it difficult for him to do it effectively.
He never influenced games on the ball enough either imo which was a let down as I thought when we signed him he was a real coup and would do very well for us. Since Ross has came in everyone’s has a new lease of life especially Doidge and Newell who are now performing well, no reason Vela can’t do the same once back from his injury!
That being said I imagine it’s best for all parties if he moves on.
All imo, not meaning to turn this into a Vela debate!
I’m sure I saw him in some of the photos.
Maybe until we see how Gray gets through thos weeks heavy training and match today, if Gray proves his fitness the Naismith is all we need as cover at RB.
10-01-2020, 09:39 AM
You are correct, undisclosed fee, apologies.
No worries.
I quite liked Jackson, thought he was probably the best of Heckingbottom's signings. Disagree with your comments re Daz though showed recently against Hearts he's still more than good enough at our level.
The derby at PBS suited Darren perfectly. I'm afraid his lack of pace would be exposed on a proper size pitch though. Great back up & great team player.
I was actually looking forward to Jackson signing, he was identified very early doors and with Heckingbottom having worked with him before I thought he was coming in as a definite starter.
I actually thought he looked fine, especially as he wasn’t given a real run of games.
Speaks volumes when he couldn’t get a game though and then as soon as Porteous and then McGregor were fit they went in the starting 11 ahead of him.
Hopefully we get a bit of a few and it will free up some wages at least.
He was a bit part player at Barnsley though, decent enough as cover but never going to be a starter.
hibbycraig
10-01-2020, 09:43 AM
Lewis Morgan away to Miami probably. Fee been agreed
MikeyS
10-01-2020, 09:43 AM
Jackson is in Spain, he is in the background of Scott Allan's latest Instagram pic.
10-01-2020, 09:45 AM
Jackson is in Spain. Or at least he was 2 days ago.
Jackson is in Spain, he is in the background of Scott Allan's latest Instagram pic.
Transfers can still be organised through agents and clubs, we're only away for a week.
10-01-2020, 09:46 AM
I think a club needs four decent centre halfs, but it must be frustrating when you are perceived as the fourth choice.
Sure currently Daz and Ryan may be ahead of him but it is not inconceivable as the season prgresses that two of our CH’s are either injured or suspended and who do we turn to then. Youth or someone out of position?
10-01-2020, 09:49 AM
I'm sure I remember him doing similar against Dundee United at ER, coming on as a sub and scoring two to come from behind and win the game.
10-01-2020, 09:50 AM
Ah wiz there 👍
10-01-2020, 09:53 AM
Jackson is playing today, so not going anywhere for now.
10-01-2020, 09:55 AM
I saw yesterday that Coszensa Calcio were interested, be interesting to see if we would try and hijack any deal.
Iv said before I think he’s a good wee player but not as good as others seem to think, still a bit raw around the edges but plenty potential. Plenty energy, work rate, quick feet and a great attitude but lacks a final ball or that decision making
I’m sure I read that Cercle Brugge had an option to buy him at the end of the loan so would be interesting to see how much that was. With him hardly kicking a ball for them his stock has hopefully dropped quite a bit and we could get him for a small fee.
I liked him but his limitations were glaring.
I once pointed out that although people were raving about his performance, he'd only touched the ball about 4 times and hadn't won any tackles. That might have been in the first half, but predictably I came close to being "hounded out" :greengrin because of my observation.
He's a bundle of energy, certainly, but I wouldn't be pushing the boat out to get him.
H18S NX
10-01-2020, 10:08 AM
I liked him but his limitations were glaring.
I once pointed out that although people were raving about his performance, he'd only touched the ball about 4 times and hadn't won any tackles. That might have been in the first half, but predictably I came close to being "hounded out" :greengrin because of my observation.
He's a bundle of energy, certainly, but I wouldn't be pushing the boat out to get him......I agree,i would rather have a Mulumbu type player,imo.
10-01-2020, 10:16 AM
Will we get a fee for him? Or have we let him go for nothing?
Bolton aren't allowed to pay transfer fees at the moment so it'll just be a loan
10-01-2020, 10:20 AM
Bolton aren't allowed to pay transfer fees at the moment so it'll just be a loan
Or just a free transfer. For someone that plays so little I think we’d be happy just to get him off the payroll.
10-01-2020, 10:32 AM
If it frees up a wage for Ross to bring his own player in then so be it. Good luck to him if he goes. Needs games
10-01-2020, 10:36 AM
I quite liked him and mentioned that the other day in the context of having quite liked nearly all of Hecky’s signings.
Someone pulled me up on it the other day and I forgot to reply to their post to defend him.
We had a decent second quarter of the season and it meant that a few folk didn’t get a chance to stake a claim under the new manager. I don’t think any of them are bad players (from the limited amount I’ve seen of them) and they may just have needed a bit of time to settle in.
I’ve quite liked the look of Jackson when he’s played, but I like all 4 of our centre halves.
10-01-2020, 10:37 AM
Gareth Evans was ok at best, to be fair. I mean he tried extremely hard but he pretty much failed to get a start most of the time and when we had Wright and Jackson it was a world better.
10-01-2020, 11:00 AM
Transfers can still be organised through agents and clubs, we're only away for a week.
It honestly amazes me that some posters seem to think that a player has to be physically present in order to negotiate a transfer. Obviously he has to undergo a medical at some point but nothing else I can think of would require him to be there given the capabilities of modern day communication.
10-01-2020, 11:18 AM
It honestly amazes me that some posters seem to think that a player has to be physically present in order to negotiate a transfer. Obviously he has to undergo a medical at some point but nothing else I can think of would require him to be there given the capabilities of modern day communication.
How's he going to see how amazing East Mains is? :wink:
10-01-2020, 11:33 AM
Nah...his class came through every time he got the ball . Played like a mixture of Andy Ritchie and chic charnley with brains. [emoji2]. What a player [emoji119]
One of my top five favourite players for Hibs, truly magnificent footballer. But in this day of athletes being more in demand I think he would struggle. Would have been great to see him play beside McGinn!!
10-01-2020, 12:09 PM
If it frees up a wage for Ross to bring his own player in then so be it. Good luck to him if he goes. Needs games
If he goes then I hope it frees up enough to go for Efe.
10-01-2020, 12:19 PM
If he goes then I hope it frees up enough to go for Efe.
As good as Efe is, how is it going to help us to sign a player in the January window who hasn't played in a year and is a million miles away from being match fit?
10-01-2020, 12:39 PM
As good as Efe is, how is it going to help us to sign a player in the January window who hasn't played in a year and is a million miles away from being match fit?
Efe got up to speed pretty quickly last time after signing fairly late on no? Even if he did take a while to get up to speed, I’d rather get him signed now so we had him in future, not just for right now/this season.
10-01-2020, 12:42 PM
Efe got up to speed pretty quickly last time after signing fairy late on no? Even if he did take a while to get up to speed, I’d rather get him signed now so we had him in future, not just for right now/this season.
I'd rather looked for a younger up and coming player like Porteous, we have to look to the future, even Efe ain't no spring chicken, added to Gray, Daz, Lewis and Hanlon we'd have the oldest defence in the league.
10-01-2020, 12:47 PM
Would love to see us get Jason Kerr, massive Hibs fan too
10-01-2020, 12:52 PM
:hyper
10-01-2020, 01:05 PM
Fairly :greengrin
10-01-2020, 01:41 PM
:hyper
Stop it. There have been complaints :grr:
10-01-2020, 01:46 PM
I'd rather looked for a younger up and coming player like Porteous, we have to look to the future, even Efe ain't no spring chicken, added to Gray, Daz, Lewis and Hanlon we'd have the oldest defence in the league.
Exactly. Efe is in the past.
10-01-2020, 01:59 PM
Stop it. There have been complaints :grr:
Reported
10-01-2020, 01:59 PM
Efe got up to speed pretty quickly last time after signing fairly late on no? Even if he did take a while to get up to speed, I’d rather get him signed now so we had him in future, not just for right now/this season.
Was he not training on a daily basis with Celtic prior to signing for us? Whats he been doing for the last year?
10-01-2020, 04:18 PM
Dundee United sign American midfielder Dillon Powers. Tam McManus raving about him on Twitter
10-01-2020, 04:19 PM
Dundee United sign American midfielder Dillon Powers. Tam McManus raving about him on Twitter
Ahhh yes, austin's son.
Amazed this guy can get a work permit?
10-01-2020, 04:25 PM
Not so sure he's raving about him, classed him as a good player.
10-01-2020, 04:29 PM
Ahhh yes, austin's son.
One trillion dollars a bit steep
10-01-2020, 04:35 PM
Ahhh yes, austin's son.
Italian passport apparently.
10-01-2020, 04:41 PM
Italian passport apparently.
Any US football player that can get a EU passport does quickly.
10-01-2020, 04:44 PM
It’s about time we were making signing, double figures in days now, GORDON
10-01-2020, 04:46 PM
Ahhh yes, austin's son.
I sat next to Mindy Sterling at a bar inside George Bush airport a couple of months ago and didn't recognize her until the barman asked for a selfie. Not the first time I've felt like a daftie right enough......:greengrin
10-01-2020, 04:53 PM
Bit weird we havent even offically confirmed bogdan extending his contract. When do they fly back to scotland?
10-01-2020, 04:55 PM
Bit weird we havent even offically confirmed bogdan extending his contract. When do they fly back to scotland?
Tomorrow I think. Maybe it was dependent on Maxwell moving on
10-01-2020, 05:02 PM
https://news.stv.tv/sport/hearts-working-to-persuade-wolfsburg-to-part-with-herrmann/?top&&__twitter_impression=true
10-01-2020, 05:27 PM
https://news.stv.tv/sport/hearts-working-to-persuade-wolfsburg-to-part-with-herrmann/?top&&__twitter_impression=true
Least they’ve got a bit of news to get excited about
10-01-2020, 05:36 PM
"the German club now want Hermann to stay and help their second string gain promotion from the German fourth tier" 😂
10-01-2020, 05:39 PM
"the German club now want Hermann to stay and help their second string gain promotion from the German fourth tier" 😂
Let’s make out Wolfsburg want to keep him so when hearts sign him we can pretend it’s a coup
10-01-2020, 05:41 PM
And they want this 19 year old rookie to get them out of relegation, that’ll work! 😂
I think it’s all going to end with a big bust up when the breaks eventually get put on Stendel. It’s going to be fun to watch 😂
10-01-2020, 05:59 PM
Hermann the German. There has to be a song there sonewheee.
10-01-2020, 06:01 PM
Jambos must be worried if relying on 19 year old to score their way out of the trouble they are in. In a typical Jambo fashion I’m sure he’s the next Ronaldinho.
10-01-2020, 06:04 PM
Jambos must be worried if relying on 19 year old to score their way out of the trouble they are in. In a typical Jambo fashion I’m sure he’s the next Ronaldinho.
He might be a very good prospect but Scottish football has seen off many good prospects who can’t adjust to our style of football.
10-01-2020, 06:08 PM
He might be a very good prospect but Scottish football has seen off many good prospects who can’t adjust to our style of football.
Scottish news claiming they agreed a fee?? Where would they get the money???
10-01-2020, 06:09 PM
When has that ever bothered them?
10-01-2020, 06:16 PM
I sat next to Mindy Sterling at a bar inside George Bush airport a couple of months ago and didn't recognize her until the barman asked for a selfie. Not the first time I've felt like a daftie right enough......:greengrin
Who?
10-01-2020, 06:19 PM
Who?
My thoughts too!
Jeezus it's simple
Hickey to Man City done deal
Uche mis going for a 6 figure sum
Mulraney going to the US for £200k
Rolling in it.
Jeezus it's simple
Hickey to Man City done deal
Uche mis going for a 6 figure sum
Mulraney going to the US for £200k
Rolling in it.
10-01-2020, 06:21 PM
Usually from the Haig fund charity tins or Big Hearts Foundation.
10-01-2020, 06:22 PM
Who?
I was replying to the Austin Powers post - she played the German woman Frau Farbissina in Austin Powers.....
10-01-2020, 06:35 PM
Hermann the German. There has to be a song there sonewheee.
The Basil Brush tune sprang to mind (if you’re old enough to remember it), I’ll have to give Bernie Taupin a call for the lyrics.
Edit: Basil de farmer the man in shining armour - is all I mind of it.
10-01-2020, 06:38 PM
I was replying to the Austin Powers post - she played the German woman Frau Farbissina in Austin Powers.....
And you never recognised her? Jeez.
10-01-2020, 06:51 PM
And you never recognised her? Jeez.
Looks a wee bit different in real life lol.........
10-01-2020, 07:00 PM
Was he not training on a daily basis with Celtic prior to signing for us? Whats he been doing for the last year?
He has been training with his previous Nigerian club .
10-01-2020, 08:17 PM
The German 4th tier is regionalised and contains 91 teams who would be the 57th - 147th tanked teams in the German pyramid. The equivalent level in England would be from lower half of league 1 down to Conference North/South level.
10-01-2020, 08:41 PM
Kyle Lafferty rejects the yams and joins Sunderland.
Souter96Mac
10-01-2020, 08:46 PM
Kyle Lafferty rejects the yams and joins Sunderland.
That'll be the Mackems getting used to league one 😂
Heckys Wheel
10-01-2020, 08:47 PM
Where ex hibs player Steven Thicot plays now.
Was doing the Cramond park run last year. A guy with a Hibs strip on with Thicot on the back ran past me. Saw him at the end drinking a coffee and it was in fact, Stephen Thicot. True story.
10-01-2020, 09:12 PM
Was doing the Cramond park run last year. A guy with a Hibs strip on with Thicot on the back ran past me. Saw him at the end drinking a coffee and it was in fact, Stephen Thicot. True story.
Top lad!
10-01-2020, 09:29 PM
Jackson not going to Bolton
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51066780
Jackson is decent so i'm happy he remains.
Hibs need 4 centre half's especially when 1 is 34 and could thus easily spring a long term leak. They all have different attributes, a tool kit of centre halfs, if you will, a combination of 2 for every pitch size and type of striker in the SPFL.
10-01-2020, 09:33 PM
Why are the stories connected?
10-01-2020, 09:33 PM
Article doesn't say anything about Jackson or am I missing something?
10-01-2020, 09:42 PM
Why are the stories connected?
Article doesn't say anything about Jackson or am I missing something?
Earlier today in this thread folks suggested that Jackson would be signing for Bolton today.
Given their signing of the CH from Ipswich I didn't think they would be looking to sign a 2nd one, hence connection.
10-01-2020, 10:31 PM
Earlier today in this thread folks suggested that Jackson would be signing for Bolton today.
Given their signing of the CH from Ipswich I didn't think they would be looking to sign a 2nd one, hence connection.
You do know they are doing a rebuild I wouldn’t be surprised to see them bring in as many experienced players as they can this window as have a young squad I believe
10-01-2020, 10:37 PM
Jackson can play DM as well mind[emoji16]
11-01-2020, 05:45 AM
I'm generally a pretty chilled character so not really that concerned about the lack of transfer activity.
However, I'm very surprised that we don't appear to have any trialists away with us to Spain. I'm pretty sure we tend to do this in previous trips.
Also, by now, I'm pretty sure we've made some signings and they were ready to play in the SC game, being the first game back after the break.
It's all beginning to add up to my view that we're not actively looking to strengthen the team. I was a bit surprised that we didn't add a couple more players in August and I think the same will happen again. No major changes unless someone gets transferred out or injured.
11-01-2020, 06:31 AM
As others have said why no try Adam Jackson as a DM he is calm in possession has composure on the ball a good passer good in the air and has a physical presence He might be the next Matty Jack
If only he had a Russell Latapy to protect :greengrin
11-01-2020, 06:34 AM
Ross saying there is interest to take Shaw on loan again but we are reluctant to let him go because we are lacking depth upfront.
11-01-2020, 06:41 AM
I'm generally a pretty chilled character so not really that concerned about the lack of transfer activity.
However, I'm very surprised that we don't appear to have any trialists away with us to Spain. I'm pretty sure we tend to do this in previous trips.
Also, by now, I'm pretty sure we've made some signings and they were ready to play in the SC game, being the first game back after the break.
It's all beginning to add up to my view that we're not actively looking to strengthen the team. I was a bit surprised that we didn't add a couple more players in August and I think the same will happen again. No major changes unless someone gets transferred out or injured.
Curtis Anderson is on trial with us. Young goalkeeper who is currently playing in the states, ex Man City.
Graeme Mathie said in his interview the other day the club are looking to bring new players in and are actively speaking to several players.
I think we will see a few players joining, probably a case of us trying to hold out for the best player/deal available.
It’s an awkward one as the players we could get in straight away will probably be good but not brilliant, the players we will be waiting for will be holding out for a better club/offer before signing for us.
Hopefully a couple of things happen and fall into place in the next couple of days
11-01-2020, 06:43 AM
Ross saying there is interest to take Shaw on loan again but we are reluctant to let him go because we are lacking depth upfront.
I can’t decide if it would be better for him to go out on loan provided we bring someone in, or to stay and play as the auxiliary striker. If I was shaw I’d feel a bit hard done by that I’d barely had a look in other than a few cameos.
11-01-2020, 06:59 AM
If he goes on loan it has to be to a team at a very decent level and he would have to get minutes.
We would also have to replace him with better.
Not an easy one.
11-01-2020, 07:16 AM
If he goes on loan it has to be to a team at a very decent level and he would have to get minutes.
Not an easy one.
Shaw hasn’t offered anything in the first team for months now so replacing him with someone better isn’t likely to be the issue.
I don’t mean that to sound as harsh as it does, I personally don’t see it with Shaw but I know that some do, I just mean that whoever replaces him doesn’t have his goals to replace or have to make the same impact off the bench as Shaw hasn’t done that for quite some time..
Trying to be fair to Shaw, his confidence has maybe been effected by his lack of game time and he’s maybe struggled to be the kind of player that makes an impact when only getting 10-15 minutes here and there, it doesn’t change the fact though that whoever replaces him doesn’t have a high benchmark in terms of offering more to the first team than Shaw has done over the last year.
11-01-2020, 07:16 AM
I can’t decide if it would be better for him to go out on loan provided we bring someone in, or to stay and play as the auxiliary striker. If I was shaw I’d feel a bit hard done by that I’d barely had a look in other than a few cameos.
Same here. 2 goals v Willem II could mean he gets a decent run of games so Ross can see what he can do. I’d keep Shaw on balance I think
11-01-2020, 07:30 AM
Either Shaw or Gullan have to go out on loan. I expect only one will make the bench most weeks so one of them needs to be getting regular game time, ideally in the championship
11-01-2020, 07:56 AM
Either Shaw or Gullan have to go out on loan. I expect only one will make the bench most weeks so one of them needs to be getting regular game time, ideally in the championship
ideally Hamjlton or st Mirren
Would be happy with either as long as he put the yams to the sword when he played against them!
11-01-2020, 08:28 AM
Maybe the players we're looking to bring in don't need trials.
11-01-2020, 08:32 AM
Was your first sentence was written by a different person to the one who wrote the last paragraph? :greengrin
11-01-2020, 08:36 AM
Jackson can play DM as well mind[emoji16]
I’ve heard this said (and often put him in my team there when doing the XI for Saturday threads) but if he doesn’t get a shot there during the first half of this season when we have no midfielders who can actually tackle, I have come to the conclusion that he must just not be able to play there.
11-01-2020, 08:36 AM
Either shaw or Gullan has to be given a run of games. For me it would be Gullan. Get shaw out for the rest of the season. Hamilton for 6 months.
11-01-2020, 08:41 AM
Would be happy with either as long as he put the yams to the sword when he played against them!
Shaw was linked with loan move to St Mirren last season Didn’t happen and they seem to be saying they have finished their Transfer Business
Shaw is an enigma in we have seen flashes from him that indicate he can score in our League ,but he hasn’t been able to do it consistently enough to keep his place in team
Off the bench v Livingston he just looked poor it to be fair we were hopeless as a team and really don’t think he should of been brought on under those circumstances
Scored twice in Spain so will be interesting to see if he gets another chance But if not send him out on loan with recall option makes sense as he needs to kick on
Cracker
11-01-2020, 09:11 AM
[QUOTE=Haymaker;6040918]Top lad
Sorry guys Steven did not do a park run last year , he last did one in the winter of 2015 , also he continues to wear his old hibs training gear, as he has great feelings for hibs, but would never wear a top with his name on it to train or run in public , not his style 😁
11-01-2020, 09:15 AM
I would rather see Shaw go to a top end Championship team where he will get more chances created for him to score. Go to St Mirren or Hamilton and most weeks he’ll be lucky to have more than 1 scoring opportunity.
Gillan is scoring goals because his ability is getting the chance to flourish in a team that are top of the league, on the attack the majority of the time and creating opportunities for him.
His confidence will be high which is essential for a striker.
Shaw can undoubtedly hit the net as we know from development team but lacks confidence.
Going to Hamilton or Saints will not boost his confidence
11-01-2020, 09:29 AM
Shaw needs to be playing regularly. If we could get him a loan deal at St Johnstone that would be brilliant. Worst comes to the worst we can recall him should we have injury issues.
Oft. Looks like they’re not getting their No1 and 2 targets.... which the yams will deny and put the usual spin on it.
Would be funny if they didn’t get anyone decent
11-01-2020, 09:40 AM
Sorry guys Steven did not do a park run last year , he last did one in the winter of 2015 , also he continues to wear his old hibs training gear, as he has great feelings for hibs, but would never wear a top with his name on it to train or run in public , not his style 😁
Thanks for the correction, Steven. :greengrin
Cracker
11-01-2020, 09:43 AM
[QUOTE=Cracker;6041117]
Thanks for the correction, Steven. :greengrin
🤣🤣🤣🤣👍🏻
11-01-2020, 10:03 AM
I have it on good authority he did one early in the Spring of 2016. His dog had a stomach upset and he was on the way to the vet in Cramond at the time.
11-01-2020, 10:37 AM
Oft. Looks like they’re not getting their No1 and 2 targets.... which the yams will deny and put the usual spin on it.
Would be funny if they didn’t get anyone decent
Got a link to this?
Just noticed the post I quoted from sauzee 4 has been deleted.
I was replying to that post!
Lafferty is the first...
Hermann the German lad was the other I thought!
11-01-2020, 10:52 AM
Lafferty is the first...
Sorry i remived that post and put it in the hearts thread
Doh! Not to worry!
11-01-2020, 11:02 AM
Lafferty is the first...
Ah right fair enough
Cracker
11-01-2020, 11:06 AM
[QUOTE=Cracker;6041117]
I have it on good authority he did one early in the Spring of 2016. His dog had a stomach upset and he was on the way to the vet in Cramond at the time.
🤣🤣🤣 nope your mistaken , was playing in Portugal 🇵🇹 no pets either 🤣🤣🤣
11-01-2020, 11:37 AM
Kennedy to Aberdeen could happen this month
The exact signings we should be looking at tbh, hungry scottish lads who know what the game up here is all about
Obviously he was here previously but seems to have taken his game up a notch
Souter96Mac
11-01-2020, 11:44 AM
The exact signings we should be looking at tbh, hungry scottish lads who know what the game up here is all about
Decent player but reckon he looks best out of a bad bunch at St Johnstone.
11-01-2020, 11:44 AM
He's obviously got something but havent seen it in the games he's played against Hibs.
11-01-2020, 11:49 AM
Decent player but reckon he looks best out of a bad bunch at St Johnstone.
Perhaps or he could flourish with better players around him
11-01-2020, 12:04 PM
Kennedy isn’t one if look twice at tbh. Was average when we had him and doesn’t work hard enough for what we need. We already have Horgan.
11-01-2020, 12:06 PM
Not an easy one.
I would rather see him playing for a team that creates a lot of chances to get his confidence up. Not sure that he would thrive at this moment in a team that gets one or two chances per game.
11-01-2020, 12:07 PM
He's obviously got something but havent seen it in the games he's played against Hibs.
I thought he was excellent against us at ER.
11-01-2020, 12:10 PM
I thought he was excellent against us at ER.
Dont recall anyone being excellent against us and hw was dreadful at Perth against us. Even saying he was dreadful is being kind.
11-01-2020, 12:12 PM
I liked Kennedy when he was with us, saw his stay pretty similar to that of Agyepong, both missed crucial penalties too if I'm right.
11-01-2020, 12:13 PM
[QUOTE=hibsbollah;6041150]
🤣🤣🤣 nope your mistaken , was playing in Portugal 🇵🇹 no pets either 🤣🤣🤣
Good Thicot knowledge:not worth
Did you know he also won the u17s Euros for France, same team as Ben Arfa, Benzema, Samir Nasri etc? Beat a Spain team including Fabregas in the final.
11-01-2020, 12:15 PM
Dont recall anyone being excellent against us and hw was dreadful at Perth against us. Even saying he was dreadful is being kind.
Him and OHalloran absolutely ripped us to shreds from both wings second half, their equaliser was inevitable.
11-01-2020, 12:23 PM
I would rather see Shaw go to a top end Championship team where he will get more chances created for him to score. Go to St Mirren or Hamilton and most weeks he’ll be lucky to have more than 1 scoring opportunity.
Gillan is scoring goals because his ability is getting the chance to flourish in a team that are top of the league, on the attack the majority of the time and creating opportunities for him.
His confidence will be high which is essential for a striker.
Shaw can undoubtedly hit the net as we know from development team but lacks confidence.
Going to Hamilton or Saints will not boost his confidence
But he wont relegate them playing for Dundee
Cracker
11-01-2020, 12:36 PM
[QUOTE=Cracker;6041223]
Good Thicot knowledge:not worth
Did you know he also won the u17s Euros for France, same team as Ben Arfa, Benzema, Samir Nasri etc? Beat a Spain team including Fabregas in the final.
Yes I did know that , unfortunately Steven never hit the same heights as those guys , but that’s life 👍🏻
11-01-2020, 12:37 PM
But he wont relegate them playing for Dundee
Fair point [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
11-01-2020, 12:38 PM
Kennedy is a good player, but attacking midfield and wingers aren't what we're lacking at the moment.
11-01-2020, 12:44 PM
[QUOTE=hibsbollah;6041281]
Yes I did know that , unfortunately Steven never hit the same heights as those guys , but that’s life 👍🏻
It's very interesting why players that are the best in the world at one point in their development go in different directions in a short space of time.
11-01-2020, 12:44 PM
Kennedy is a good player, but attacking midfield and wingers aren't what we're lacking at the moment.
I didn’t mean Kennedy as such just players in a similar market
mcfly
11-01-2020, 01:01 PM
Anyone think we will have new signings before the cup tie?
11-01-2020, 01:03 PM
Yams after a striker from Blackburn called Dom Samuel, Rovers fans tell me he is not very good😁