View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2019-20 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

24-01-2020, 12:13 PM
£3m or get tae, no way I'd be accepting £1.5m.

Yes on the surface it seems high however it sends a message out for any future business of the numbers we operate in. Look at Aberdeen, people thought they were crazy saying £8m for McKenna who we all know is limited. Even with him having a mediocre season they will still probably be looking at £3-4m in the summer because they set a marker.

He is our best and most influential player, we don't need to sell and doing could potentially do more harm in terms of reaction from fan base than £1.5m would make up for.This is where I am, we'd only blow the money on more infrastructure or bragging about the balance sheet. We're overdue a spell of enjoying the best possible players being kept for as long as possible so the fans can enjoy them.Nothing else appeals as much just now.

Bizarre concept I know but there it is.

Barman Stanton
24-01-2020, 12:14 PM
Boyle is at best worth 750k... and because it's celtic I'd reject any offer under 2 million...

Not sure where the £750k valuation comes from. A 26 year old full international who is likely the fastest player in the league. Has also now added a bit of composure to his game. I think the 1.5M quoted is cheap personally.

yerauldda
24-01-2020, 12:15 PM
Hearts have had an offer accepted for Boyce. Would be a good signing for them.

24-01-2020, 12:16 PM

We should match it and give him something to think about.

24-01-2020, 12:20 PM

Burton Albion have accepted Hearts' transfer offer for striker Liam Boyce, the Evening News can reveal. The English League One club are also expecting a renewed bid from at least one other club as they prepare to sell their top goalscorer. Boyce is now discussing personal terms with Hearts, who lodged an improved offer for the Northern Ireland internationalist on Thursday. That proposal matched Burton's valuation but, with other teams also set to make new offers, the player may well have a decision to make on where his future lies.

No guarantee that he'll end up at Hertz.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/burton-albion-accept-hearts-offer-liam-boyce-1374836

Celtic aren’t really interested in Boyle as a regular in their squad. They’ll see him as a cheap kick up the arse for James Forrest who isn’t doing as well as they expect just now. We have to keep Boyle till summer as there will be much more serious interest from other clubs. Celtic will probably put in a half hearted, opportunistic offer but won’t care less if they don’t get him. I hope we stand strong.

We should match it and give him something to think about.

We couldn’t match the wages they will offer.......I would be surprised if it was less than 5k

Mind you the player has to agree to a move!

24-01-2020, 12:22 PM
We couldn’t match the wages they will offer.......I would be surprised if it was less than 5k

Mind you the player has to agree to a move!

yeah I would imagine you’re right. Hopefully the potential thought of relegation puts him off however if he signs for them I imagine they would shoot up the league.

Would he a brilliant bit of business for them.

sean04
24-01-2020, 12:24 PM

Is he even that good? Surely if he was some class goal scorer that hearts could afford then championship teams would buy him?

I’m I missing something ?

24-01-2020, 12:26 PM
yeah I would imagine you’re right. Hopefully the potential thought of relegation puts him off however if he signs for them I imagine they would shoot up the league.

Would he a brilliant bit of business for them.

Money talks and I would suggest that they are desperate and would pay whatever it takes to try and get them out the mess.

It does however beg the question where they will find the money to finance it but it is them. When it comes to money they don’t care.

FWIW he could still sign elsewhere!

24-01-2020, 12:27 PM
Celtic aren’t really interested in Boyle as a regular in their squad. They’ll see him as a cheap kick up the arse for James Forrest who isn’t doing as well as they expect just now. We have to keep Boyle till summer as there will be much more serious interest from other clubs. Celtic will probably put in a half hearted, opportunistic offer but won’t care less if they don’t get him. I hope we stand strong.

I think folk are talking Boyle down a bit to be honest. Forrest is the only wide player for them that has been any good this year. The numbers Boyle has delivered since coming back have been superb and that is in a team who have struggled at times. If they signed him, I think he’d get a decent amount of game time.

Greenworld
24-01-2020, 12:28 PM

Would he a brilliant bit of business for them.I'm a it baffled but how is a 200k signing going to make such a difference if the guy is that good why are they getting rid

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Boyce agreed 3.5 year deal with Hearts. Could be a good signing.

NC1875
Boyce will get a big signing on fee from any team if he signs for them in the summer as a free agent. Can’t see any reason he will sign for Hearts unless they are giving him crazy money.

And what if he does sign and they’re relegated ? From potential championship teams in England to a championship team in Scotland in a few months.

He would be mental to go there if you ask me.

Crutch
24-01-2020, 12:29 PM

Annoyingly decent signing for them if they get him.

Career doon the pan if it doesn't work out and they go down though.

24-01-2020, 12:31 PM
I'm a it baffled but how is a 200k signing going to make such a difference if the guy is that good why are they getting rid

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

He’s out of contract in the summer and rejected a new contract with Burton

24-01-2020, 12:31 PM

where you getting this from?

24-01-2020, 12:33 PM

DR. Reported deal is complete. 3.5 years and straight into the squad of the game against Rangers.

24-01-2020, 12:33 PM

Daily Record reporting he’s signed and they’ve beaten Aberdeen to him.

BlackSheep
24-01-2020, 12:35 PM

Daily Ranger is reporting as done.

24-01-2020, 12:37 PM
Good bit of business for the yams if it goes through. He is a good goal scorer. Might just be enough for them to climb the table. Looks like St. Mirren have lost a player to injury today as well.[emoji22]

Time for Hibs to do a bit of business. We are weaker now than when we started the transfer window.

24-01-2020, 12:40 PM

Based on what I've seen from the cup games that were on TV, he'll be a good signing for them.

Him and Naismith could be a good combination. Let's hope not!

Dmas
24-01-2020, 12:52 PM

I’m not sure, NL seems to be reverting his 3 at the back for Celtic ,he knows Boyle will run himself into the ground playing wide right in midfield and Forrest won’t do the dirty side.

24-01-2020, 12:53 PM
Boyce is a good player. Unfortunately he'll probably get them the goals that the other diddies they have up front wouldn't.

24-01-2020, 12:55 PM
Boyce is a fantastic signing for Hearts.

24-01-2020, 12:58 PM
It’s only Liam Boyce.

davhibby
24-01-2020, 01:00 PM
Is Boyce not a bit injury prone?

24-01-2020, 01:01 PM
It’s only Liam Boyce.

While this is correct, it probably means they are in a much better place to fight relegation than they were previously, which is disappointing.

Rest of their team is still pretty shocking in places.

24-01-2020, 01:02 PM

Yep has had a number of serious knee injuries, think he had an ACL not long after joining Burton. Good goalscorer.

24-01-2020, 01:03 PM

If he isn't he soon will be:greengrin

Seriously, that's a good signing for them. Paired with Naismith - they should climb the table now.

HFC93
24-01-2020, 01:03 PM
I hope Boyce made sure he's got a relegation clause in his contact.

davhibby
24-01-2020, 01:05 PM
Yep has had a number of serious knee injuries, think he had an ACL not long after joining Burton. Good goalscorer.

Thought so, good player but how many guys like this can you have in your squad? No wonder they get so many injuries

24-01-2020, 01:06 PM
Boyce scored 22 goals in 78 games for burton. Decent but Hardly earth shattering. He also needs chances to be created for him. Theyve not exactly been creating loads in league games. Didnt have a single shot on target the other night.

24-01-2020, 01:10 PM
Good signing. Hearts will inevitably make him *****. They do this will every striker.

24-01-2020, 01:10 PM
Boyce is a decent player but do they anyone to play in midfield yet?

thebausburst
24-01-2020, 01:12 PM
His goals could make the difference between staying up and relegation.

Steven79
24-01-2020, 01:14 PM
Looking past what he done at Ross County for a minute.

He missed most of the 17/18 season with a serious injury.

He scored 11 goals in 37 games for Burton in the 3rd tier in England last season.

This season it's 8 in 25 in the league.

If we were buying a player with those stats from the 3rd tier in England this place would be up in arms...

24-01-2020, 01:15 PM
Boyce scored 22 goals in 78 games for burton. Decent but Hardly earth shattering. He also needs chances to be created for him. Theyve not exactly been creating loads in league games. Didnt have a single shot on target the other night.

He averages a goal every 2.2 games, the sort of stats we would be dribbling over. He may not be great at Hearts, however I think its wishful thinking as he appears to be a very good signing for them.

HibsGW
24-01-2020, 01:20 PM
He averages a goal every 2.2 games, the sort of stats we would be dribbling over. He may not be great at Hearts, however I think its wishful thinking as he appears to be a very good signing for them.

Absolutely. Not saying he’s going to keep them up for sure or anything like that but we’d be kidding ourselves on to say he’s not a good signing. Especially in their current circumstances

GillyHibee
24-01-2020, 01:20 PM
I can't see this being confirmed anywhere else apart from the Daily Ranger? Evening News reporting talks are on-going, but they are awaiting another bid from another club?

24-01-2020, 01:22 PM

He scored 11 goals in 37 games for Burton in the 3rd tier in England last season.

If we were buying a player with those stats from the 3rd tier in England this place would be up in arms...

If you look back one more season you’ll see what he’s capable of in our league

We can dress it up all we want but ON PAPER a very good signing

Steven79
24-01-2020, 01:22 PM

It's a goal every 3.5 games which is hardly earth shattering!

Steven79
24-01-2020, 01:23 PM
If you look back one more season you’ll see what he’s capable of in our league

We can dress it up all we want but ON PAPER a very good signing

That was before his injury and he was playing for a decent that created chances.

24-01-2020, 01:24 PM
I fear this transfer will decide a few fans fate for season tickets. Sell our best player, no real investment, won’t go down well

24-01-2020, 01:26 PM
That was before his injury and he was playing for a decent that created chances.

A ross county team who finished 7th on -10 goals?

24-01-2020, 01:27 PM
I fear this transfer will decide a few fans fate for season tickets. Sell our best player, no real investment, won’t go down well

From a season ticket point of view it would be a horrendous decision by the board

Steven79
24-01-2020, 01:28 PM
A ross county team who finished 7th on -10 goals?

Hearts fans would kill to finish 7th this season...

PH91
24-01-2020, 01:37 PM
I’m not sure, NL seems to be reverting his 3 at the back for Celtic ,he knows Boyle will run himself into the ground playing wide right in midfield and Forrest won’t do the dirty side.

I wouldn't expect boyle to play ahead of frimpong in that system.

I imagine they are looking at him as a direct and relatively cheap replacement for sinclair i.e. squad player.

Is turnbull from motherwell back playing yet? Surprised they are not back in for him before going after boyle.

24-01-2020, 01:38 PM
I'm hearing that mikey Johnson lad might be coming to us as part of a deal ..... guy at work saying a loan.. don't know how anyone can be sure of anything at this stage though

That shouldn't even be considered as an option.

24-01-2020, 01:39 PM
This thread now consists of one set of punters telling us how wonderful Hertz new signing is going to be and another set telling us how they angry they are about a transfer that hasn't even happened.

What a time to be alive.

PH91
24-01-2020, 01:40 PM

Agreed. Including a loan so that we can give their player game time and dressing it as a positive for us rather than them. No thanks.

Gordy M
24-01-2020, 01:41 PM
This thread now consists of one set of punters telling us how wonderful Hertz new signing is going to be and another set telling us how they angry they are about a transfer that hasn't even happened.

What a time to be alive.

Absolutely,just posted similar on another thread. Its amazing how angry some folk get when someone posts a rumour on a forum with no proof at all its even close to the truth??

24-01-2020, 01:46 PM

Yup. If they want our star winger they can give us one of theirs. Pay up or **** off.

24-01-2020, 01:47 PM

What a time to be alive.

Don't you just love transfer windows, as there's not a lot we can do, I just sit and read the carnage and mayhem on here.

24-01-2020, 01:58 PM
My view on Boyle is that we don't need to sell him, so why not just give a ridiculously high transfer price if another club approaches us.

"Yes, Mr Lennon, ten million and he's yours."

BegbieHSC
24-01-2020, 02:04 PM
Apparently Lenny is on SSN saying it's 'pure speculation' about Boyle...

24-01-2020, 02:05 PM

That’s not a denial.[emoji51]

24-01-2020, 02:06 PM

Yes it is, doesn’t mean it’s not true. Politicians answer.🙄

24-01-2020, 02:10 PM
"Don't renew your season ticket". I'm hearing load and clear. If we sell Boyle on the cheap and then take a youngster on loan for 6months to justify the low fee then I'm done. Especially if we don't invest the money in players. Club have to stop it. Don't want to stand in the way of players progressing their careers but club should get appropriate fees for players and invest it properly. This season alone shows how far we have gone backwards from selling our best player and not replacing. McGinn to mediocrity (accompanying "there is no money" statements).

But this has always been the Hibs way. Selling our best and squandering the cash on less than adequate replacements. And for some reason, we seem to love trying to sweeten deals with the old firm by bring some of their deadwood the other way - I remember us selling Ian Munro to Rangers and getting Alex Scott and Graeme Fyfe from them (that went just as well as it usually does). We never seem to learn but it rarely makes me think I'll stop supporting our club. FWIW selling Boyle this window would be especially mad, even with our track record.

Percy Vere
24-01-2020, 02:13 PM
Ladies and gentlemen, I give you page 4 of the last Labour Party manifesto. :greengrin

Supporters find it hard to accept, but we can't do everything on limited resources.

If we do sell Boyle for £1.5m, we'll be in a far better position to fill the positions than if we just rely on our current bank balance.

As someone pointed out elsewhere, we really need to build from the back so while we may not be replacing like for like, we will still be improving the team.

That’s making the assumption that the funds would be used for transfer business. Hibs have rarely reinvested significant fees from selling players directly back into the squad, it tends to balance the books or go into infrastructure. Frustrating for us but usually true.

24-01-2020, 02:18 PM
Think there is an awful lot of green tinted specs with Boyce. I think everyone would be delighted if we signed him.

Aberdeen have managed to get Kennedy this window.

Big couple of signings needed from Hibs.

mcfly
24-01-2020, 02:19 PM
Let’s see what happens in the next week but selling Boyle and replacing with loans to see out the season is not acceptable in my view and the club could have no complaints if season tickets fall dramatically as a result of poor recruiting this season.

24-01-2020, 02:20 PM
Think there is an awful lot of green tinted specs with Boyce. I think everyone would be delighted if we signed him.

Boyce is a terrific signing for them like. I’ve no idea why he wants to go there though.

24-01-2020, 02:21 PM

To be honest that’s quite a worrying response as he’s not denying it.

Yes, it’s speculation, that’s why he’s being asked about it, doesn’t mean there’s nothing in it.

24-01-2020, 02:21 PM

If we were signing Liam Boyce this place would be delighted, let’s not kid ourselves. It’s a bit like saying we didn’t want McGeough anyway.

24-01-2020, 02:23 PM
If we were signing Liam Boyce this place would be delighted, let’s not kid ourselves. It’s a bit like saying we didn’t want McGeough anyway.

When was the last time you saw Boyce play?

I was gutted when they signed the boy from Man City, thought he sounded like an excellent signing.

Boyce is a big standard SPFL player who will probably do alright, no more, no less.

24-01-2020, 02:24 PM

Yep, everyone else is making them but we get told January’s a difficult month to make big signings

24-01-2020, 02:30 PM
Boyce is a terrific signing for them like. I’ve no idea why he wants to go there though.

Absolutely agree, his goal scoring record is very good especially when you consider the injuries he’s had

Ross County
11 in 32
19 in 40
23 in 38

Burton Albion
3 in 16 (Championship and injured)
13 in 43
13 in 29 so far

If we signed him people would be over the moon especially considering he done it before up here

mcfly
For anyone who witnessed the first half on wed night

We need players - we are not good to watch.

Quality is needed or crowds will drop.

When was the last time you saw Boyce play?

I was gutted when they signed the boy from Man City, thought he sounded like an excellent signing.

Boyce is a big standard SPFL player who will probably do alright, no more, no less.

I seen him bang in goals up here. I’ve seen him play down south and he’s improved his game. He’s playing well at the moment and scoring goals with it.

I’m sure you would have been delighted had it been us signing the player, I also think it’s a fantastic addition for them and will probably help keep them up.

24-01-2020, 02:34 PM
We are weaker than we were before the window opened. Surely got to get minimum three in before it closes next Friday.

24-01-2020, 02:39 PM
I seen him bang in goals up here. I’ve seen him play down south and he’s improved his game. He’s playing well at the moment and scoring goals with it.

I’m sure you would have been delighted had it been us signing the player, I also think it’s a fantastic addition for them and will probably help keep them up.

When was the last time you saw him play though?

I wouldnt have been fussed either way about him signing, I’d have filed him under the ‘meh’ category. Probably be alright but nothing to get excited about.

24-01-2020, 02:41 PM
We are weaker than we were before the window opened. Surely got to get minimum three in before it closes next Friday.

Still a defender, defensive midfielder and striker short at least.

24-01-2020, 02:41 PM

Aye and we got Omeonga!

Clarence
24-01-2020, 02:42 PM
This really is a mid table respectability and hopefully another wee trip to Hampden type season.

Problem is if we get to hampden again and end up in the top 6. The board will probably see that as within expectations and carry on much the same.

TimeForHeroes16
24-01-2020, 02:44 PM
Aye and we got Omeonga!

On loan

24-01-2020, 02:45 PM
Washington was a brilliant signing, so was Whelan...

24-01-2020, 02:46 PM
On loan

Makes no odds to how he plays does it?

24-01-2020, 02:47 PM
Washington was a brilliant signing, so was Whelan...

So was all their signings that come from down south.

People associate names of folk they have heard of as automatically being great signings. This guys a bit different with him playing here before but that was in a different team, in different circumstances and before a really bad injury. He might end up being alright but the reaction from many on here has been way over the top.

24-01-2020, 02:47 PM
https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1220733894124883969?s=21

24-01-2020, 02:49 PM

Good

MacGruber
24-01-2020, 02:52 PM
Boyce is a very good signing for them. There was a real chance of them being relegated because they couldn't score goals but Boyce will score. They won't get relegated now or finish in the play offs. They'll finish below us though.... again.

24-01-2020, 02:53 PM
Boyce is a very good signing for them. There was a real chance of them being relegated because they couldn't score goals but Boyce will score. They won't get relegated now or finish in the play offs. They'll finish below us though.... again.

Amazing how much credit we give some players.

24-01-2020, 02:55 PM
F+++ Hearts and their signings, still pish still going down.

Barman Stanton
24-01-2020, 02:56 PM

Not sure how you could possibly know that for sure. When I have seen Hearts they have looked dreadful. They need more than one player in my opinion.

24-01-2020, 02:56 PM

Stopped ****ing the bed at Hearts signings. They all turn out pish

24-01-2020, 02:57 PM

Not a definite 'naw', but close to it. Good news.

Barman Stanton
24-01-2020, 03:00 PM

Its weird. On kickback every player associated with Hibs is dreadful. Some will still insist McGinn is awful. They generally wont give Hibs any credit at all. Yet on here, everyone Hearts sign is a world beater.

Iv often wondered if their vastly better derby record is due to them hating us a lot more than we do them.

24-01-2020, 03:02 PM
F+++ Hearts and their signings, still pish still going down.

Finally some sense

24-01-2020, 03:06 PM
Sorry if posted elsewhere but seen today that kevin Thomson's son, aged 9 has signed for us.

Interesting to see if he will be half as good as his dad was before the injures really stopped his progress.

24-01-2020, 03:08 PM

6 to 8 k a week I would imagine!

Big money getting thrown about down Tiny way, even though they have a player budget deficit

24-01-2020, 03:08 PM
Sorry if posted elsewhere but seen today that kevin Thomson's son, aged 9 has signed for us.

Interesting to see if he will be half as good as his dad was before the injures really stopped his progress.

Finally signed the DM we've been crying out for then :greengrin

24-01-2020, 03:11 PM

Big money getting thrown about down Tiny way, even though they have a player budget deficit

Big wages for the Championship

24-01-2020, 03:11 PM

Fk they getting that sort of money from? Budge herself? When she sells the club which is meant to be quite soon then I can’t see a board approving erratic spending like this in the future.

24-01-2020, 03:12 PM

All we need is a little time and patience....

24-01-2020, 03:12 PM
Big wages for the Championship

They might get relegated but the money they are chucking about is nuts. They’ve still to pay of the other players they don’t want on long contracts too

24-01-2020, 03:14 PM
Can't wait for the "who's a better signing Doidge or Boyce" thread

24-01-2020, 03:15 PM
Fk they getting that sort of money from? Budge herself? When she sells the club which is meant to be quite soon then I can’t see a board approving erratic spending like this in the future.

Who knows but it’s mental considering they have a short fall, which budge confirmed.

I cannot wait fir fan ownership and I really do wonder if the ‘anonymous benefactors’ will remain once budge hands it all over.

Tbh it’s up to them but yams I know don’t care as they owe it to themselves!

EAZY-ME
24-01-2020, 03:17 PM
They are desperate with relegation looming but no way are they paying Boyce 6-8k per week

24-01-2020, 03:19 PM
They are desperate with relegation looming but no way are they paying Boyce 6-8k per week

Absolutely will be ...that will be nowhere near their top earner either ....

24-01-2020, 03:20 PM
Can't wait for the "who's a better signing Doidge or Boyce" thread

Doidge. Thread not required

24-01-2020, 03:21 PM

If it's true as reported and they beat Aberdeen to his signature then that 6-8k figure wouldn't surprise me at all. Why else would he join Hearts, bottom over Aberdeen, big chance of European football.

24-01-2020, 03:22 PM

Starting to worry a daft old lady is being swindled out of her savings now...

24-01-2020, 03:25 PM
Its weird. On kickback every player associated with Hibs is dreadful. Some will still insist McGinn is awful. They generally wont give Hibs any credit at all. Yet on here, everyone Hearts sign is a world beater.

Iv often wondered if their vastly better derby record is due to them hating us a lot more than we do them.

I can clear that up for you, it's not.

24-01-2020, 03:27 PM
Yep, everyone else is making them but we get told January’s a difficult month to make big signings

Everyone?

Hearts sign a striker, and some other boy who falls over at the very sight of a goal scoring chance.

Aberdeen sign a midfielder, who'll do nowt for them, and McGeough

Who else?

Gordy M
24-01-2020, 03:28 PM
Everyone?

Hearts sign a striker.

Aberdeen sign a midfielder, who'll do nowt for them.

Who else?
Has he actually signed?

24-01-2020, 03:30 PM
Has he actually signed?

Dunno. I don't go on kickback. I'm just basing it on what I see on here.

24-01-2020, 03:31 PM
If it's true as reported and they beat Aberdeen to his signature then that 6-8k figure wouldn't surprise me at all. Why else would he join Hearts, bottom over Aberdeen, big chance of European football.

This is what makes it sort of believable. Why choose them over Aberdeen. Money talks and he would have been offered a whack to go to Tiny!

24-01-2020, 03:31 PM
Dunno. I don't go on kickback. I'm just basing it on what I see on here.

Not yet. Will not travel up until tomorrow yet Keekback reported a 2pm today Press Conference to announce. Remember Ojo?

24-01-2020, 03:36 PM
To be fair to Stendel he's really building a strong team for the promotion push next season. Can see them doing a Dundee United

24-01-2020, 03:37 PM

Nae pressure.

Boyce is a good signing for Hearts if confirmed.
A goalscorer is what they need badly.
Suspect the package of transfer fee, signing on fee and wages is much higher than his actual worth but that's what happens when you are desperate.
Interesting that Aberdeen are mentioned as trying to jump in ahead of Hearts for his signature. Ojo all over again.
Need to make sure Aberdeen and Sunderland don't know you are in for a player.

24-01-2020, 03:38 PM
Can see them doing a Dundee United

Nah...I reckon they'll claw their way back up after 3 seasons

24-01-2020, 03:38 PM
They might get relegated but the money they are chucking about is nuts. They’ve still to pay of the other players they don’t want on long contracts too

They are clearly willing to spend money to try and avoid relegation . It’s a risk worth taking if they can bring the right players in Boyce s goals could just be the difference between going down automatically and just staying up or getting into the play offs
But with no Financial Fair Play Structure in place , they can do what they want if people are willing to put in money
How this plays out if they did go down despite this spending would be interesting though
Would they then ask fans to up their payments .

24-01-2020, 03:42 PM

It's the usual p### that Hibs feed us every transfer window...meanwhile everyone else manages to sign players.

We need a couple of big signings in the next 7 days that's for sure. Am amazed we still havent managed to sign A CDM...crazy

delbert
24-01-2020, 03:48 PM
It's the usual p### that Hibs feed us every transfer window...meanwhile everyone else manages to sign players.

We need a couple of big signings in the next 7 days that's for sure. Am amazed we still havent managed to sign A CDM...crazy

Have to say I totally agree, couldn’t care less who other teams are signing but over three weeks into this transfer window, it utterly amazes me that we still haven’t signed a strong tackling defensive midfielder, we just don’t compete at present in there (Hallberg and Slivka, yir havin a laugh !) - and we are now short up front too, but still nothing !

24-01-2020, 03:50 PM
We will always be a selling club whether is players or managers. There was a thread on here recently about Dundee Utd buying Shankland so they could sell him on, many on here thinking thats what we shouldve done. Same applies to most players we buy. We get them, take a chance, and hope to sell them on for a large profit.

In saying that, I dont think he will go this window.
Totally agree, some people think Hibs can afford to say no to a good offer, in my time I've seen the likes of Stein, Stanton, Blackley, Brownly, Brown, Thomson all go & many others.
Let's not forget Jock Stein wasn't slow in leaving. In real terms Hibs are not a big club, sorry but true.

24-01-2020, 03:53 PM
Friday night signing anyone :greengrin

24-01-2020, 04:06 PM

Yes please...

Any reason you ask 👀?

Dinnae be winding us up because we’re all on edge

24-01-2020, 04:10 PM

Preparing for Motherwell game No distractions needed [emoji849]

24-01-2020, 04:12 PM

Spill? 😀

24-01-2020, 04:14 PM
Yes please

24-01-2020, 04:15 PM
Sorry just wishful thinking :(

24-01-2020, 04:17 PM
Sorry just wishful thinking :(

****sake

24-01-2020, 04:18 PM
Daily Mail Reporting Hibs have said they will play Hardball over Squirrel and any Club wanting him will need to start with a Bid of 0ne point Five Million .
Don’t know their Source but interesting and what I would be wanting the Club to do

24-01-2020, 04:20 PM
Daily Mail Reporting Hibs have said they will play Hardball over Squirrel and any Club wanting him will need to start with a Bid of 0ne point Five Million .
Don’t know their Source but interesting and what I would be wanting the Club to do

Hardball but start bid at 1.5million? That isn't hardball...

He is our best player!

24-01-2020, 04:24 PM
I'm not sure why everyone thinks Hearts are paying out a fortune in wages & yet we pay a pittance. The last published accounts which allow a comparison, show us at about 90/95% of their wage bill. Burton's highest home attendance in last 4 years is 5.5k. They won't be paying high wages.

24-01-2020, 04:26 PM
Hardball but start bid at 1.5million? That isn't hardball...

He is our best player!

Just saying what’s quoted I thought we would get more than we did for McGinn but yep if he was guaranteed to keep his current form going 1 .5 Million does sound cheap But up until this recent upturn in form he was up and down and not scoring as much and not sure any o Club was quoted with an interest

24-01-2020, 04:28 PM
Meanwhile, Inter sign Christian Erikson for €20million, but commit to paying him €60million in wages over 4 years. The financial chasm is getting wider.

24-01-2020, 04:30 PM
When the DR say “hard ball” they basically mean “hey! Why are hibs not bending over and given Celtic what they want?!HOW DARE THEY, WHO DO HIBS THINK THEY ARE?!”

24-01-2020, 04:31 PM
I'm not sure why everyone thinks Hearts are paying out a fortune in wages & yet we pay a pittance. The last published accounts which allow a comparison, show us at about 90/95% of their wage bill. Burton's highest home attendance in last 4 years is 5.5k. They won't be paying high wages.

I'd be surprised if Boyce was on more than 3k per week at Burton

24-01-2020, 04:34 PM
Sorry but for this league I’m not buying for one second that we have limited resources. EEN done a article lately which showed the clubs annul player salaries and we were considerably higher than Motherwell and Livingston, two teams currently above us.

Im not saying to spend millions, but there are affordable players out there that would improve us, we need to recruit better not just chuck money about.

Shaw - Transfer, 6 figure sum allegedly?
Maxwell - Loan terminated
Vela - Free transfer
Middleton - Loan terminated

With only Omeonga and Bogdan coming in?

We should be able to sign players that improve us without having to sell our best player.

We don't have unlimited resources, ergo we have limited resources.

Hibs' business plan includes developing players and selling them on at a profit.

That is what we did with SJM and we might do with Boyler. While it's always disappointing to see a favourite player leave, we know that it's part of the plan.

I don't want to see any Hibs player walk away at the end of their contract with Hibs receiving no fee.

That would be real failure.

craigiehibs
yeah its good to see how we have really made a statement of intent to challenge for the cup and higher up the league this window. not. massive game tomoro...no one in. massive cup tie tues (especially looking at next round draw). no one in and no omeonga. it really is depressing. still aberdeen and herts can sign players in this supposedly difficult window. WTF

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

scotiaf

1.5 million is nothing, 3 million minimum and even then I would not want to sell

24-01-2020, 04:36 PM

24-01-2020, 04:37 PM
yeah its good to see how we have really made a statement of intent to challenge for the cup and higher up the league this window. not. massive game tomoro...no one in. massive cup tie tues (especially looking at next round draw). no one in and no omeonga. it really is depressing. still aberdeen and herts can sign players in this supposedly difficult window. WTF

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

What if we get a result tomorrow and Tuesday?

scotiaf
24-01-2020, 04:38 PM
Boyle is at best worth 750k... and because it's celtic I'd reject any offer under 2 million...

wothout him and his 4-5 goals and 4 assists in the last month we would be in big trouble.

24-01-2020, 04:40 PM
i wonder if McNulty will get any game time tonight

24-01-2020, 04:44 PM

Hibs' business plan includes developing players and selling them on at a profit.

That is what we did with SJM and we might do with Boyler. While it's always disappointing to see a favourite player leave, we know that it's part of the plan.

I don't want to see any Hibs player walk away at the end of their contract with Hibs receiving no fee.

Correct, think McGeoch

24-01-2020, 04:45 PM
Just saying what’s quoted I thought we would get more than we did for McGinn but yep if he was guaranteed to keep his current form going 1 .5 Million does sound cheap But up until this recent upturn in form he was up and down and not scoring as much and not sure any o Club was quoted with an interest

Yeah, I agree but the issue with it is we wouldn't replace Boyle for 1.5m, either through Hibs being tight, other clubs saying "no less than 2 million" for their players or Hibs planning some building works. It is a shame when you know that any money the club brings in is extremely unlikely to be spent to bring in a player even close to the same quality. We are fighting a losing battle. Can't grow a club with this approach surely Hibs have learnt that? If we can't get a player close to Boyle's ability for 1.5m then we have sold cheap.

We've lost some of the heroes, we've lost our best players. Our youth development is really poor, Porteous is the only reasonable one to have established himself and he isn't learning - very similar to Forster.

I know all this is still a rumour but I'm a bit worried about this unknown future our owner has in mind as we are stumbling blind as far as I'm concerned - all initiatives seem to be community focused which is great but we are a professional football club with paying fans. That's 2 seasons in a row which have been largely poor. Time will tell but I can see our ST holders dropping substantially unless these plans are ambitious.

24-01-2020, 04:45 PM
£3m or get tae, no way I'd be accepting £1.5m.

Yes on the surface it seems high however it sends a message out for any future business of the numbers we operate in. Look at Aberdeen, people thought they were crazy saying £8m for McKenna who we all know is limited. Even with him having a mediocre season they will still probably be looking at £3-4m in the summer because they set a marker.

He is our best and most influential player, we don't need to sell and doing could potentially do more harm in terms of reaction from fan base than £1.5m would make up for.

It sends a message that we're totally unrealistic when it comes to selling our players.

That will matter less to the buying clubs, because they'll just laugh at us and offer a realistic amount.

The players we might be trying to sign on the basis that we develop them, give them a high profile stage on which to display their talents then sell them on, might pay a bit more attention.

24-01-2020, 04:47 PM
wothout him and his 4-5 goals and 4 assists in the last month we would be in big trouble.

Certainly, if we didn't score, we'd be in bother.

However, someone will have played instead. You can't know what they would have done.

24-01-2020, 04:48 PM
Kenny Miller is available having left Partick. 🙄

24-01-2020, 04:50 PM

He's signed for Hearts. :agree:

sean04
24-01-2020, 04:50 PM
Jack Ross seems pretty confident that he’s staying. Doesn’t know where the 1.5mill stated came from

24-01-2020, 04:59 PM

I agree with the sentiment in this but the problem with this model is neither McGinn or Boyle came through at Hibs so developing players is only part of the truth. St Mirren had a sell-on percentage so our sale, which was cheap to begin with, was decreased even more. It also costs the club to provide the facilities for these players to develop. For the model to work the profit margins need to be very very large or you need to develop your own youngsters through the academy. For instance, with the St Mirren sell-on fee, any other incentives and say the transfer fee and contract for Doidge/another player, what are you left with as profit? You may even make a loss if Doidge/another player is rubbish, which is more likely the case when you sell your best player to replace with cheap option in the hope you can develop them. Look at Slivka - Juventus to us and looks like a Championship player most games (zero development and signing a gamble).

We are not Ajax or some team renowned for developing youngsters. We very rarely develop a noteworthy player. The list of smaller teams in Scotland that have had more youth development success recently is quite alarming - it is relative success to their stature but nevertheless. McGinn and Boyle developed themselves more than anything. If that wasn't the case, Slivka and other players would be immense by now.

davhibby
24-01-2020, 04:59 PM
Yeah, I agree but the issue with it is we wouldn't replace Boyle for 1.5m, either through Hibs being tight, other clubs saying "no less than 2 million" for their players or Hibs planning some building works. It is a shame when you know that any money the club brings in is extremely unlikely to be spent to bring in a player even close to the same quality. We are fighting a losing battle. Can't grow a club with this approach surely Hibs have learnt that? If we can't get a player close to Boyle's ability for 1.5m then we have sold cheap.

We've lost some of the heroes, we've lost our best players. Our youth development is really poor, Porteous is the only reasonable one to have established himself and he isn't learning - very similar to Forster.

I know all this is still a rumour but I'm a bit worried about this unknown future our owner has in mind as we are stumbling blind as far as I'm concerned - all initiatives seem to be community focused which is great but we are a professional football club with paying fans. That's 2 seasons in a row which have been largely poor. Time will tell but I can see our ST holders dropping substantially unless these plans are ambitious.

Surely you aren’t trying to suggest we should be buying £1.5 million players? With the wages we can afford £500k is about the upper limit we can spend before the player is going to want too high a wage.

24-01-2020, 05:04 PM
Surely you aren’t trying to suggest we should be buying £1.5 million players? With the wages we can afford £500k is about the upper limit we can spend before the player is going to want too high a wage.

No but selling a 1.5m player and (likely) signing an unknown player for 100-200k seems a bit ridiculous to me. How much did Celtic give us for Scott Allan? approx. 300k but he was paid something like 8k a week? Didn't think wages were a percentage of the transfer fee especially at our end of the transfer market.

24-01-2020, 05:05 PM
Jack Ross seems pretty confident that he’s staying. Doesn’t know where the 1.5mill stated came from
If it gets repeated three times on .net it becomes a fact...

HendoDelivered
24-01-2020, 05:05 PM

Rumoured to be heading to Kelty Hearts. Would be some signing for that level.

24-01-2020, 05:06 PM
Ross quoted as wanting a couple of defensive reinforcements. Hopefully one is in midfield.

HendoDelivered
24-01-2020, 05:07 PM
Ben stirling away to Alloa on loan

24-01-2020, 05:08 PM
I'm not sure why everyone thinks Hearts are paying out a fortune in wages & yet we pay a pittance. The last published accounts which allow a comparison, show us at about 90/95% of their wage bill. Burton's highest home attendance in last 4 years is 5.5k. They won't be paying high wages.Their average wage is £2,224, which is less than the £2.3k and £2.6 respective averages at Hibs and hearts.

24-01-2020, 05:09 PM

There surely must be at least 3 incoming with all these departures. Our squad is tiny

24-01-2020, 05:12 PM

Good luck Ben

24-01-2020, 05:15 PM
There surely must be at least 3 incoming with all these departures. Our squad is tiny

A lot of whittling down with very few arrivals so far.

Hopefully someone knows what they are doing, but it raises an eyebrow...

my left peg
24-01-2020, 05:16 PM

That would be real failure.To be honest with you I would have been quite happy for John McGinn to walk away from hibs for nothing at the end of last season,if it ment seeing him play for another season in the green and white.

Sent from my SM-G390F using Tapatalk

24-01-2020, 05:16 PM

You’d hope so? Like you say our squads only got smaller

I wonder if Boyle staying will be the cover story for no incomings

24-01-2020, 05:18 PM
STV caption, Jack Ross, heart of Midlothian head coach
😤

24-01-2020, 05:18 PM
I’d expect 2 new defenders, James moved on.

1 Striker
1 holding midfielder

24-01-2020, 05:20 PM
To be honest with you I would have been quite happy for John McGinn to walk away from hibs for nothing at the end of last season,if it ment seeing him play for another season in the green and white.

From a business point of view that would have been irresponsible to a reckless degree and Hibs, like it or not, are a business.

Hibs4185
24-01-2020, 05:23 PM
Alan Nixon saying we are trying for McNulty but it won’t be cheap.

Tin hat on here but I wasn’t overly impressed with McNulty in the end. Maybe we are the club trying to steal Boyce? I’d imagine he’d be a lot Cheaper than McNulty with a similar scoring rate?

Boyce will score goals for the yams but with our midfield and Scott Allan we must be a far better option.

24-01-2020, 05:25 PM
Jack Ross manages hmfc well done stv amateur hour

24-01-2020, 05:28 PM
Alan Nixon saying we are trying for McNulty but it won’t be cheap.

Tin hat on here but I wasn’t overly impressed with McNulty in the end. Maybe we are the club trying to steal Boyce? I’d imagine he’d be a lot Cheaper than McNulty with a similar scoring rate?

Boyce will score goals for the yams but with our midfield and Scott Allan we must be a far better option.

Hasn't Boyce already signed for Hearts? I heard Aberdeen were the other club in for him?

On another note if Boyle did go, could Paul Mcmullan from Dundee Utd be an option as a replacement. He's not as good as Boyle but reminds me a bit of a younger Boyle.

my left peg
24-01-2020, 05:29 PM
From a business point of view that would have been irresponsible to a reckless degree and Hibs, like it or not, are a business.But it's all subjective mate...coulda finished fourth rather than fifth with McGinn,would have seen us in Europe,balance that with the £2million received from Villa,which has been used for what?
You say we are a business if we are we have been run badly,third manager in a year and no main sponsor.
As a share holder,home and away season ticket holder and a fully paid up member of Hsl,I would have much rather seen a player as good on the eye as McGinn for another year than a few extra pound in the bank and a good business listens to its customers.

Hibs4185
24-01-2020, 05:34 PM
Hasn't Boyce already signed for Hearts? I heard Aberdeen were the other club in for him?

On another note if Boyle did go, could Paul Mcmullan from Dundee Utd be an option as a replacement. He's not as good as Boyle but reminds me a bit of a younger Boyle.

In past years I’d accept hibs selling Boyle for decent money just now buy if the new owner and board want to show internet then they must hold onto him for 18 months and risk losing him for nothing. Hopefully he would sign a much improved contract offer though and let us recoup a fee if sold though.

24-01-2020, 05:35 PM
But it's all subjective mate...coulda finished fourth rather than fifth with McGinn,would have seen us in Europe,balance that with the £2million received from Villa,which has been used for what?
You say we are a business if we are we have been run badly,third manager in a year and no main sponsor.
As a share holder,home and away season ticket holder and a fully paid up member of Hsl,I would have much rather seen a player as good on the eye as McGinn for another year than a few extra pound in the bank and a good business listens to its customers.

Sent from my SM-G390F using TapatalkYour last paragraph is where I've been for a while now and I fully understand the business angle.

I've been involved with Hibs for longer than anything else left in life and I'm bloody infrastructured and balance sheeted out. I backed Petrie all the way but enoughs enough, I'd rather have another year of Boyle in full flight than trying to get excited about extending a bit of real estate somewhere near Tranent or anything else that doesn't quickly benefit us on the pitch.

24-01-2020, 05:39 PM
Would things change for people if Boyle put in a transfer request?

24-01-2020, 05:39 PM
To be honest with you I would have been quite happy for John McGinn to walk away from hibs for nothing at the end of last season,if it ment seeing him play for another season in the green and white.

St Mirren would have been very angry and other teams would have taken note of our incompetence.
Would have cost us the transfer fee, promotion bonus and sell on fee. A loss of at least £5 million.

As I asked earlier in the thread what evidence is there that Boyle to Celtic is anything other than a media invention.
As usual folk prefer a knee jerk melt down rather than examine the truth of the story.

24-01-2020, 05:45 PM
Your last paragraph is where I've been for a while now and I fully understand the business angle.

I've been involved with Hibs for longer than anything else left in life and I'm bloody infrastructured and balance sheeted out. I backed Petrie all the way but enoughs enough, I'd rather have another year of Boyle in full flight than trying to get excited about extending a bit of real estate somewhere near Tranent or anything else that doesn't quickly benefit us on the pitch.

Totally agree with this, we’ve got Boyle for another 18 months, he could be worth £1.5m to us playing in wins, cup runs and attendances, that’s the whole reason we go to football. The £1.5m is a fictitious figure plucked from nowhere anyway but like you I’d rather watch him play than accept peanuts for him. He’s under contract and he’s still coming back from a long term injury that we’ve helped him through. Let’s strengthen our team GGTTH

24-01-2020, 05:48 PM
Would things change for people if Boyle put in a transfer request?

Yes. If he was ready to push a move that much after us standing by him and giving him the platform he now has then it would be time for him to move on.

24-01-2020, 05:48 PM
Would things change for people if Boyle put in a transfer request?Probably yes, but my concerns about the use of the money would be the same.

24-01-2020, 05:49 PM
St Mirren would have been very angry and other teams would have taken note of our incompetence.
Would have cost us the transfer fee, promotion bonus and sell on fee. A loss of at least £5 million.

As I asked earlier in the thread what evidence is there that Boyle to Celtic is anything other than a media invention.
As usual folk prefer to have a melt down rather than examine the credence of the story.

1) Their manager admits they want a winger
2) Their manager brushes it off as “speculation” rather than denying the story
3) Their manager admits that Boyle is a player that he rates and knows well
4) Celtic sent scouts to our last two games prior to Wed
5) Celtic send their own Graeme Mathie to Easter Rd on Wednesday night for a game V Hamilton Accies

I think it’s very fair to assume that they are interested in him.

24-01-2020, 05:49 PM
McNulty on bench for Sunderland tonight, so nothing imminent with him

24-01-2020, 05:52 PM

Could we get better?

24-01-2020, 05:52 PM
1) Their manager admits they want a winger
2) Their manager brushes it off as “speculation” rather than denying the story
3) Their manager admits that Boyle is a player that he rates and knows well
4) Celtic sent scouts to our last two games prior to Wed
5) Celtic send their own Graeme Mathie to Easter Rd on Wednesday night for a game V Hamilton Accies

I think it’s very fair to assume that they are interested in him.

Yup.

The fact he said it was speculation and never came out and denied it wasn’t a good thing imo.

my left peg
24-01-2020, 05:53 PM
Would have cost us the transfer fee, promotion bonus and sell on fee. A loss of at least £5 million.£5 million....no way we have received that...if we have, what's it doing?..I dont suppose I will know until I receive the accounts.
St Mirren would have been angry,I think we could have put up with that!
Who knows what we could have achieved with McGinn in midfield instead of Emerson Hyndman...it is rather subjective however,he could have broke his leg and not played I give you that.

24-01-2020, 05:54 PM
Could we get better?

I liked McNulty but he was nothing special. If we signed him I would be happy but I wouldn’t quite break the bank for him. He’s not exactly Leigh Griffiths for example.

HendoDelivered
24-01-2020, 05:59 PM

All depends if he plays or not according to his Dad

24-01-2020, 05:59 PM

See what you did there :top marks

24-01-2020, 06:01 PM

I've often wondered if their vastly better derby record is due to them hating us a lot more than we do them.

Not in my house.

24-01-2020, 06:03 PM

Ben almost never in the first team squad.

24-01-2020, 06:05 PM
Could we get better?

People keep saying this. No one ever comes up with a realistic suggestion.

24-01-2020, 06:07 PM
I liked McNulty but he was nothing special. If we signed him I would be happy but I wouldn’t quite break the bank for him. He’s not exactly Leigh Griffiths for example.

But we couldn’t afford LG so the comparison is pretty pointless for the argument. I’m not sure what level of striker we could buy but it may not be as good as the type we could get on loan.

24-01-2020, 06:08 PM
Could we get better?

I actually think both Flo and Doidge are better. Didn't really get the fuss with McNulty in the end. Started brightly but completely fell away in the top 6 games.

24-01-2020, 06:08 PM
McNulty had a 1 in 2 scoring rate when he was here last time didn’t he? I’d definitely take him back but would much prefer permanent transfer or loan with the guarantee of a permanent move in the summer.

24-01-2020, 06:10 PM
But it's all subjective mate...coulda finished fourth rather than fifth with McGinn,would have seen us in Europe,balance that with the £2million received from Villa,which has been used for what?

The time was right for John McGinn to move when he did. He was ready for it. I don’t think he’d have forced the club’s hand but he had indicated he wanted the move at that time.

24-01-2020, 06:11 PM
Their average wage is £2,224, which is less than the £2.3k and £2.6 respective averages at Hibs and hearts.

I think these are old figures and won’t include the likes of Naismith

24-01-2020, 06:11 PM
I actually think both Flo and Doidge are better. Didn't really get the fuss with McNulty in the end. Started brightly but completely fell away in the top 6 games.

When he was played up front in a 2 with Kamberi he was good.

When we changed system so he was up top himself with Kamberi out on the wing he struggled.

He’s a good player but he needs to play up front with someone else.

24-01-2020, 06:12 PM
Ryan Shanley on loan to Forfar

DetroitHibs
I’d rather we go for a player like Nisbet from the Pars than McNulty.

But we couldn’t afford LG so the comparison is pretty pointless for the argument. I’m not sure what level of striker we could buy but it may not be as good as the type we could get on loan.

Which is kind of what I’m saying, we can’t afford LG but would be happy with McNulty but not by breaking the bank. It’s also the very reason we need to hang on to Boyle because as soon as he goes, we can’t afford him.

24-01-2020, 06:13 PM
Ryan Shanley on loan to Forfar

Good move for him, needs a step up from CSS level

24-01-2020, 06:24 PM
Rumoured to be heading to Kelty Hearts. Would be some signing for that level.

They are ambitious & for anyone who hasn't been along to see them it's a decent set up.

24-01-2020, 06:25 PM
They are ambitious & for anyone who hasn't been along to see them it's a decent set up.

Miller is on sportsound tonight, said he’s spoken to a few clubs, but will take his time

24-01-2020, 06:26 PM
Miller is on sportsound tonight, said he’s spoken to a few clubs, but will take his time
👍

24-01-2020, 06:28 PM
McNulty had a 1 in 2 scoring rate when he was here last time didn’t he? I’d definitely take him back but would much prefer permanent transfer or loan with the guarantee of a permanent move in the summer.
Oli Shaw wasn't far off a 1 in 2 scoring rate in the top league

24-01-2020, 06:31 PM

How many were penalties

24-01-2020, 06:33 PM

But still not getting a game unless he gets decent run out off the bench surely he wants to be playing again

my left peg
24-01-2020, 06:34 PM
The time was right for John McGinn to move when he did. He was ready for it. I don’t think he’d have forced the club’s hand but he had indicated he wanted the move at that time.Your right of course,and the same may be true for Boyle...though I hope not

24-01-2020, 06:34 PM
I'd rather have someone like Greg Stewart on loan than McNulty - would add creativity and can play the 10 role too if Allan isn't firing.

And bring Efe home :aok:

24-01-2020, 06:36 PM
I'd rather have someone like Greg Stewart on loan than McNulty - would add creativity and can play the 10 role too if Allan isn't firing.

And bring Efe home :aok:

I’d take Stewart, wasn’t even on the bench for Rangers midweek, neither was Barker

24-01-2020, 06:37 PM
If we got McNulty, I personally think he comfortably guarantees you double figures over the course of the season. Also think he’d be ideal for playing off Doidge. His goals dried up once he was playing up front himself and he was having to do more work outside the box than in it.

24-01-2020, 06:38 PM
I’d take Stewart, wasn’t even on the bench for Rangers midweek, neither was Barker

Think GS would be an excellent addition and add much needed creativity and a goal threat Billy.

Efe is an absolute no-brainer for me given Porto and JN are out.

24-01-2020, 06:43 PM
Oli Shaw wasn't far off a 1 in 2 scoring rate in the top league

I’ve just had a look and in the league Shaw got:

4 in 16 - 2017/18
6 in 26 - 2018/19

Unless you are just counting games that he started, in which case the numbers will be quite a bit different.

24-01-2020, 06:44 PM
Marc McNulty isn't worth the money it would take to get him.

24-01-2020, 06:46 PM
Nisbet just scored a cracking goal for the pars. Use the cash we got for Oli and get him here

24-01-2020, 06:47 PM
Your right of course,and the same may be true for Boyle...though I hope not

I think Martin Boyle is more than happy at Hibs - for now at least. I don’t think there’s any chance we’ll be selling him this month.

Keyser Sauzee
24-01-2020, 06:48 PM
I’d rather we go for a player like Nisbet from the Pars than McNulty.

Just scored a very good goal against Dundee, his 22nd of the season. Think he actually offers more in general play than Shankland on tonight’s basis. Maybe one we should go after?

24-01-2020, 06:50 PM

4 in 16 - 2017/18
6 in 26 - 2018/19

Unless you are just counting games that he started, in which case the numbers will be quite a bit different.
I think it would be interesting to count goals to starts.So often he was brought on with less than 20 minutes to go,usually in a lost cause.

24-01-2020, 06:52 PM
Just scored a very good goal against Dundee, his 22nd of the season. Think he actually offers more in general play than Shankland on tonight’s basis. Maybe one we should go after?
Brilliant goal!

24-01-2020, 06:56 PM
I think Martin Boyle is more than happy at Hibs - for now at least. I don’t think there’s any chance we’ll be selling him this month.

More importantly I spoke with a scout (ex player and goalkeeper with no links to Hibs) who said there are a couple of EPL clubs (lower end of the table) looking at MB. Celtic are doing what Celtic do - big fish in a small pond - if the clubs he told me are looking at him then even £1.5 million (gossip figure) is buttons to them. Summer will be the bidding time :aok: he deserves a big move if he continues his form. And he's best looking beyond the SPFL too. One (a coastal town :greengrin) have been interested since last season.

24-01-2020, 06:59 PM
How many were penalties

Goals scored from the penalty are worth the same as goals scored from open play.

24-01-2020, 07:01 PM

I suppose he'd ride his scooter along the M8 to sign for Rangers though, eh?

24-01-2020, 07:01 PM

4 in 16 - 2017/18
6 in 26 - 2018/19

A rate of 1 goal every ~180mins as opposed to 1 goal every 2 appearances.

24-01-2020, 07:04 PM
Goals scored from the penalty are worth the same as goals scored from open play.

No but when your judging the effectiveness of a striker being able to score from a penalty isn’t a good indicator.

24-01-2020, 07:06 PM
More importantly I spoke with a scout (ex player and goalkeeper with no links to Hibs) who said there are a couple of EPL clubs (lower end of the table) looking at MB. Celtic are doing what Celtic do - big fish in a small pond - if the clubs he told me are looking at him then even £1.5 million (gossip figure) is buttons to them. Summer will be the bidding time :aok: he deserves a big move if he continues his form. And he's best looking beyond the SPFL too. One (a coastal town :greengrin) have been interested since last season.Brighton?

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

24-01-2020, 07:06 PM

Pretty poor IMO, even if it’s in jest, it’s a comment about a 9 year old boy living the dream by signing for his team (Hibs).

Kevin has obviously chosen that his son plays for Hibs and he still has a great affinity for the club.

24-01-2020, 07:07 PM

Have you met Kevin ? Good luck to the wee man.

My mates lad signed for Hibs today too (same age).

Let's just wish them well and hope they live their dream as Hibs fans (including their parents) :aok:

Not wanting to hijack the thread but KT's fee put lots of money back into Hibs - first team and youth development. He always gets my thumbs up as a good Hibee.

Clarence
24-01-2020, 07:08 PM
More importantly I spoke with a scout (ex player and goalkeeper with no links to Hibs) who said there are a couple of EPL clubs (lower end of the table) looking at MB. Celtic are doing what Celtic do - big fish in a small pond - if the clubs he told me are looking at him then even £1.5 million (gossip figure) is buttons to them. Summer will be the bidding time :aok: he deserves a big move if he continues his form. And he's best looking beyond the SPFL too. One (a coastal town :greengrin) have been interested since last season.

Surely Villa must be keeping an eye out

24-01-2020, 07:09 PM
Brighton?

Think red and black :aok:

MacGruber
24-01-2020, 07:09 PM
I was surprised and disappointed Shaw was sold and not loaned out for 6 months. It Surprised Jack Ross too!

I was concoling myself with the fact we must have had a striker in the bag given the manager saying we couldn't let Shaw go until we brought someone in. Same as Hecky said before him. Something to do with only having 3 strikers!

We are very light on numbers just now.

24-01-2020, 07:12 PM
Nisbet. Sign him immediately

Souter96Mac
24-01-2020, 07:12 PM
Kevin Nisbet scored a good goal tonight for the Pars. Would definitely take a punt.

24-01-2020, 07:15 PM
Think red and black :aok:Ahh, still begins with a 'B'.

24-01-2020, 07:17 PM
Kevin Nisbet scored a good goal tonight for the Pars. Would definitely take a punt.

More than good, superb. Looking good all over.

yerauldda
24-01-2020, 07:18 PM
Got to gamble on him. Don’t want to risk missing out on the next Shankland. Looks so impressive.

24-01-2020, 07:18 PM
Think red and black :aok:Southampton bypassing their feeder club celtc?[emoji6]

zitelli62
24-01-2020, 07:19 PM
Surely Villa must be keeping an eye out

Not in the know but I'm sure I read Bournemouth say that ryan Fraser is leaving at the end of the season both similar type players .

24-01-2020, 07:19 PM
Think red and black :aok:

They already have previous with Ryan Fraser. When they pay £15m for a striker who can't score you can see why they would take a chance on an SPL player.

24-01-2020, 07:26 PM
Ahh, still begins with a 'B'.

Correct :aok: said person is an ex goalie and youth player for Arsenal who does some scouting still (for an ex Scottish international when he manages). Bournemouth are very interested he tells me. If that's the case - and no reason to disbelieve - then Celtic can do one until summer and open their vast cheque book as they won't get him for this mysterious £1.5 million that's being banded about by Celtic's media spin team.

24-01-2020, 07:42 PM
Correct :aok: said person is an ex goalie and youth player for Arsenal who does some scouting still (for an ex Scottish international when he manages). Bournemouth are very interested he tells me. If that's the case - and no reason to disbelieve - then Celtic can do one until summer and open their vast cheque book as they won't get him for this mysterious £1.5 million that's being banded about by Celtic's media spin team.

Wonder if Rachel would want to move to Bournemouth? What happens to her career?

24-01-2020, 07:45 PM

Neighbours with the 'fixer' Harry Redknapp, I'm sure she'd get a gig with the local ladies team :greengrin

24-01-2020, 07:46 PM

I’m sure the 30k a week would make it easy to move

24-01-2020, 07:48 PM

He’ll not get that in the championship, Bournemouth are going down

24-01-2020, 07:51 PM
He’ll not get that in the championship, Bournemouth are going down

If there is competition they will have to weigh him in...he will certainly be 20k per week.. ....it will be an easy decision for him and his wife....

24-01-2020, 07:52 PM
Pretty poor IMO, even if it’s in jest, it’s a comment about a 9 year old boy living the dream by signing for his team (Hibs).

Kevin has obviously chosen that his son plays for Hibs and he still has a great affinity for the club.

This. Good luck to the lad

24-01-2020, 07:53 PM

He'll get nothing like that. Rachel might be happy with Celtc wages

24-01-2020, 07:57 PM
They already have previous with Ryan Fraser. When they pay £15m for a striker who can't score you can see why they would take a chance on an SPL player.

Out of contract in the summer. Away to liverpool or arsenal apparently

He'll get nothing like that. Rachel might be happy with Celtc wages

Think you are well underestimating what Bournemouth pay players . I’m sure they would grab a Celtic deal too by the way...Bournemouth will double any deal that Celtic offer.

Boruc is on 40k per week at 39 year old and a back up....

Keyser Sauzee
Nisbet looks like he could well be worth the gamble, not sure what length of deal he’s on at The Pars but we should test their resolve this month.

24-01-2020, 08:03 PM
Out of contract in the summer. Away to liverpool or arsenal apparently

He’s just a player who rejects contracts for financial gain
Did it at Aberdeen and now Bournemouth. Aberdeen will lose a 20% sell on clause if he goes for free in the summer. We’d hate that if a local boy did that to Hibs

You’d have thought players would show some respect to the clubs who’ve looked after him. It’s not as if he’s not had a good package all these years

hhibs
24-01-2020, 08:08 PM
Ben almost never in the first team squad.

Had game time in league cup early in the season,failing memory tells me he did no bad,then out of picture completely,loaned out.

He is a DM ,why he did not get more of a chance when we have gone all season without a DM? it is ,well,s1 it and seems completely bonkers.

24-01-2020, 08:09 PM
I was surprised and disappointed Shaw was sold and not loaned out for 6 months. It Surprised Jack Ross too!

I was concoling myself with the fact we must have had a striker in the bag given the manager saying we couldn't let Shaw go until we brought someone in. Same as Hecky said before him. Something to do with only having 3 strikers!

We are very light on numbers just now.

It was interesting reading the Ross County managers comments about Shaw and how highly he rates him. That alone will do wonders for the lads confidence.

24-01-2020, 08:13 PM
Matty Kennedy signs for Aberdeen now after initially signing the pre contract agreement. Their new owner putting up the cash early doors...

24-01-2020, 08:14 PM
Matty Kennedy signs for Aberdeen now after initially signing the pre contract agreement. Their new owner putting up the cash early doors...

St Johnstone fans not happy. Vote with their feet then there will be no one there at all.

24-01-2020, 08:16 PM

Which is why they will be hard to dislodge from third spot

24-01-2020, 08:18 PM
He’s just a player who rejects contracts for financial gain
Did it at Aberdeen and now Bournemouth. Aberdeen will lose a 20% sell on clause if he goes for free in the summer. We’d hate that if a local boy did that to Hibs

You’d have thought players would show some respect to the clubs who’ve looked after him. It’s not as if he’s not had a good package all these years

Surely you have to question both Aberdeen and Bournemouth for not pushing boats out to extend (and improving) contracts then Billy ?

Works both ways. Not always down to the player.

24-01-2020, 08:18 PM
Kennedy would have been an ideal signing for us. Boyle here or not

24-01-2020, 08:23 PM
Kennedy would have been an ideal signing for us. Boyle here or not

Really ? Admittedly he's been away a while but I'd be seriously underwhelmed if we went back for Matt Kennedy. Horgan is a better player (for comparison) :agree:

24-01-2020, 08:31 PM
Really ? Admittedly he's been away a while but I'd be seriously underwhelmed if we went back for Matt Kennedy. Horgan is a better player (for comparison) :agree:

I’d easily have Horgan left, Boyle up front then another winger.