View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2019-20 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

08-01-2020, 07:17 AM
Totally in agreement with this and as a ST holder I will be hesitating to renew for next season unless i see some sort of ambition this month. Dempster said when JR was appointed he would have money to spend in Jan and she admitted there was weaknesses in squad...so what's changed??

That’s where I’m at, if we don’t bring in any quality this month and we stutter until the end of the season to another mid table finish my ST cash can be better spent elsewhere

08-01-2020, 07:26 AM
I'd be astonished if we didn't sign one or two players this window.

Gaffer1875
08-01-2020, 07:28 AM
Hmm na not having that. Newell & Jackson previously played for Hecky. In fact there was talk not long after newell signed that Hecky was advised by the recruitment team against signing him

I think out of all our signings Naismith & Hallberg look like the ones who were recruitment teams signings

Not too fussed if you are having that but that’s what came from someone very very close to Hecky.

08-01-2020, 07:31 AM
I'd be astonished if we didn't sign one or two players this window.

Probably still not enough

08-01-2020, 07:45 AM
Probably still not enough

It’s definitely not enough. Three minimum required imo.

ads913
08-01-2020, 07:48 AM
Dillon Was brilliant at Hibs, I dont buy the nonsense that he was nothing to average without SJM.
I have saw loads of games with Dillion running the show with or without John in the side.
Before he left the trio of Mcginn ,Allan, Mcgeoagh was the best midfield Hibs had in years.
Him coming on the radar as being available lets also face it Mcinnes is no mug.
Its a lost opportunity.
Very disappointed that Hibs did not show the ambition and go for DM .

08-01-2020, 07:55 AM
Dillon Was brilliant at Hibs, I dont buy the nonsense that he was nothing to average without SJM.
I have saw loads of games with Dillion running the show with or without John in the side.
Before he left the trio of Mcginn ,Allan, Mcgeoagh was the best midfield Hibs had in years.
Its a lost opportunity.

Dylan, his name is Dylan and if you've seen him so many times you'll have seen his name on the team sheet. Oh! it's also McGeouch.

08-01-2020, 07:59 AM
Dylan, his name is Dylan and if you've seen him so many times you'll have seen his name on the team sheet. Oh! it's also McGeouch.

👏👏👍

MikeyS
08-01-2020, 08:10 AM
[QUOTE=Speedway;6038645]Football fans excel in remembering/exaggerating money in and forgetting/underestimating money out.

Why don’t we have much money? Well we tried to build a long term squad to back a long term manager by giving out long term contracts at a level above what we’d done in recent times and it failed by November.

We were also bought out and debt cleared for the price of Kevin De Bryne’s Shoelace. We’re not that big a deal.

Aye but ST sales, McGinn money etc

Happens every transfer window now, same folk implying we are hoarding 'McGinn' money away. Would love to know their thoughts on how much we got for Villa's promotion, I'd ne amazed if we got anywhere near the amount it must've cost to bring Vela, Newall, Doidge (with a hefty fee) Middleton, Jackson & Halberg in. Plus pay offs for NL, GP, PH & RS.

08-01-2020, 09:33 AM
Its a lost opportunity.

Thing quite over on Keekback Kiwi?

08-01-2020, 09:43 AM
Fairly sure every manager we have had has said that at some point during a transfer window in recent years, standard not showing you hand tactics

Hecky said it and we got told he was bluffing - he was telling the truth. Middleton came in for Boyle right at the end but the window finished early for us. I don’t think Ross is the type to spin stuff either.

ads913
08-01-2020, 09:50 AM

very funny dude .Apple auto correct is a pain in the arse.

ads913
08-01-2020, 09:52 AM
Thing quite over on Keekback Kiwi?
sorry what do you mean

tonyrougier123
08-01-2020, 09:54 AM
Genoa bottom,wee steph no getting a game at cercle who are also struggling,we should be pulling out all the stops to get him in.

ElginHibbie
08-01-2020, 09:54 AM
Hecky said it and we got told he was bluffing - he was telling the truth. Middleton came in for Boyle right at the end but the window finished early for us. I don’t think Ross is the type to spin stuff either.

Hallberg came after Middleton did he not?

08-01-2020, 10:01 AM
Genoa bottom,wee steph no getting a game at cercle who are also struggling,we should be pulling out all the stops to get him in.

Yup - he should sign for us.

Would give himself a better chance of a bigger move to England if his form was good.

Like Malonga he was loved by the fans and maybe didn’t realise staying here would have helped his career.

08-01-2020, 10:05 AM
Hallberg came after Middleton did he not?

True, good shout 👍

08-01-2020, 10:13 AM
very funny dude .Apple auto correct is a pain in the arse.

Haha auto correct, Dillon, then Dillion and his surname McGeoagh.

08-01-2020, 10:15 AM
Haha auto correct, Dillon, then Dillion and his surname McGeoagh.

Does it matter that much?

ElginHibbie
08-01-2020, 10:15 AM
True, good shout 👍

The 'we have no budget' line did seem to a be a lot closer to the truth than in previous windows though, imagine to have the window we want/need some will have to move on, otherwise just be a repeat of last January and just a few loan signings to see us through until the summer

08-01-2020, 10:19 AM
Dont think we need half a team like some are suggesting but id like to think a ball winner will be added to the midfield. Suppose it all depends who is available

08-01-2020, 10:22 AM
Does it matter that much?

Not really but to blame auto correct?

I think he was at the wind up, that's all.

08-01-2020, 10:28 AM
I can tell you don't play cards.

I usually announce that I'm holding a very strong hand when I play poker. I just think it's not very sporting of the other players to fold after that.

hibbie02
08-01-2020, 10:28 AM
I'm not disappointed in this, hope he kicks on somewhere else.

I suspect he will be a success if he finds a club with a defence that stop any shots aimed at his goal. He was okay at crosses and ball distribution, but singularly useless at stopping shots going in his net.

08-01-2020, 10:33 AM
My concern is who is identifying and signing the players? Is it ‘the football dept’ or JR?

I heard from a source very close to Hecky that the summer recruits were not his and those of the George Craig etc. Clearly he would have agreed but not necessary his choices.

Who was your source? It clearly doesn't matter if you name them because if they're very close to Heckingbottom, they won't be around anymore.

FWIW, those signings seemed very much like Heckingbottom targets to me.

hibbie02
08-01-2020, 10:38 AM
Hmm na not having that. Newell & Jackson previously played for Hecky. In fact there was talk not long after newell signed that Hecky was advised by the recruitment team against signing him

I think out of all our signings Naismith & Hallberg look like the ones who were recruitment teams signings

I agree. Just about everyone brought in either played for Hecky or was known to Hecky. Naismith and Hallberg were clearly recruited from the recruitment team files to cover injuries and failing to find a DM. Hecky thought he knew how to build a team to play in Scotland with absolutely no clue what playing in Scotland was like. He blew the budget on duds and journeymen and any remaining money in the sweetie tin was used to pay him off. A total disaster of a manager.

Gaffer1875
08-01-2020, 10:45 AM
Who was your source? It clearly doesn't matter if you name them because if they're very close to Heckingbottom, they won't be around anymore.

His best man, who I indirectly work with. He lives in Leeds.

08-01-2020, 10:48 AM

Gaffer1875
08-01-2020, 10:50 AM

Just sharing what he told me...

08-01-2020, 11:00 AM
Either way, Heckingbottom/the recruitment team had a collective shocker in the summer. Will take two transfer windows or more to sort it out.

hibbie02
08-01-2020, 11:09 AM
Either way, Heckingbottom/the recruitment team had a collective shocker in the summer. Will take two transfer windows or more to sort it out.

I'm glad you realise that now, because when I pointed this out in the summer, you were on my case about it....:greengrin

08-01-2020, 11:18 AM
Not really but to blame auto correct?

I think he was at the wind up, that's all.

I agree.

See below.

Dont think we need half a team like some are suggesting but id like to think a ball winner will be added to the midfield. Suppose it all depends who is available

A few quality signings could make this team a decent outfit.

Floating along mid table and getting knocked out of the cup early on will result in a serious decline in season ticket sales for next season. I hope the board fully understand that.

Case in point. My group has reduced from 4 ST to 2 this season. Both me and my pal have missed a fair number of games so far. It’s fair to say that the football on display didn’t make attending games earlier in the season all that compelling.

I’m a bit of a floating fan. I’ve had spells of barely attending ER, sometimes due to my own football commitments or those of my eldest son. Other times it has been the dross football on display. I guess after nearly 50 years of going to games, I feel like I’ve paid my dues. It’s not a duty for me and I know that neither of us will renew our seasons if the season peters out like I fear it will.

New owner needs to dig deeper and show intent. East Mains development etc, will go down like a lead ballon if the fans feel infrastructure is coming before the team on the park.

08-01-2020, 11:19 AM

There is no danger Hecky wanted to keep Bartley and Milligan and was told to off load them for Vela et al...

08-01-2020, 11:26 AM
I'm glad you realise that now, because when I pointed this out in the summer, you were on my case about it....:greengrin

I don’t remember directly discussing it with you but I do remember 100% backing the summer recruitment at the time, purely because I hadn’t seen any of them play. Think my opinions quickly changed after Ibrox or around that time.

Anyway, congrats on being right :greengrin

hibbie02
08-01-2020, 11:30 AM
I don’t remember directly discussing it with you but I do remember 100% backing the summer recruitment at the time, purely because I hadn’t seen any of them play. Think my opinions quickly changed after Ibrox or around that time.

Anyway, congrats on being right :greengrin

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

08-01-2020, 11:39 AM
https://twitter.com/reluctantnicko/status/1214887554073473025?s=21

Adam Jackson linked with Bolton. Poster is well informed journalist.

Greenworld
08-01-2020, 11:47 AM

Adam Jackson linked with Bolton. Poster is well informed journalist.Hopefully true 3 or 4 out will let us get 1 or 2 in

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

granty6_2
08-01-2020, 11:55 AM
My concern is who is identifying and signing the players? Is it ‘the football dept’ or JR?

I heard from a source very close to Hecky that the summer recruits were not his and those of the George Craig etc. Clearly he would have agreed but not necessary his choices.

Why the surprise? we have a sporting director and a head coach.

This is the way it works

08-01-2020, 11:57 AM
Took our manager back!

We'd sacked him by then and was no longer an employee of the club.

08-01-2020, 12:04 PM
Rumour is that, after securing McGeough, Aberdeen are snapping up Stephen O'Donnell (killie & Scotland RB) on a pre-contract, and Dykes from Livi.

Those three are players I would have liked to see in a Hibs jersey.

Looks like a good strategy this window from the Dons

08-01-2020, 12:07 PM
Rumour is that, after securing McGeough, Aberdeen are snapping up Stephen O'Donnell (killie & Scotland RB) on a pre-contract, and Dykes from Livi.

I wouldn’t touch Dykes with a *****y stick but O’Donnell should be made an offer. I’d even offer something to Killie for early release - James or cash? Or both?

08-01-2020, 12:09 PM

I read that from a Jambo yesterday and he was gettijg slated for it.
Nof sure is thats where the rumours started

HendoDelivered
08-01-2020, 12:09 PM

Yep, business we should be making a move on.

08-01-2020, 12:10 PM
I wouldn’t touch Dykes with a *****y stick but O’Donnell should be made an offer. I’d even offer something to Killie for early release - James or cash? Or both?

I agree about O’Donnell. He’d be our first choice right back for years to come. Aberdeen know Shay Logan is pretty much finished and are planning for the future with a proven player at this level. He’ll be a great signing if they get him. Same as they did when they got Shinnie.

08-01-2020, 12:13 PM

He's talking bullzhit. PH was advised not to sign some of these players. Advice he ignored

08-01-2020, 12:18 PM
He's talking bullzhit. PH was advised not to sign some of these players. Advice he ignored

Which is why questions surely need asked of the whole recruitment setup and process? If he’s been advised against signing players but done so anyway that just defeats the entire purpose of the whole thing.

Gaffer1875
08-01-2020, 12:19 PM

He maybe is I’m just passing on what he shared.

08-01-2020, 12:37 PM
AFAIK the only recruitment team signing was Hallberg? Unsurprisingly, he's by far the best signing we made in the summer IMO outwith Scott Allan, who was signed before Heck arrived.

08-01-2020, 12:49 PM
Jack Ross isn't expecting to make wholesale changes to his Hibs squad this month, despite revealing the extent of Stevie Mallan’s knee injury might influence any transfer business.
“I don’t think we’re in a position where we can do a huge amount at the moment,” he said.
“That might change as the window goes on if we can trim the squad in any way.
But it’s not like I was told: ‘Here you go, you can go and sign X amount of players with X amount of money.’ That’s never been the case.

It’s more about getting the best from what I have got at the moment."

MikeyS
08-01-2020, 01:03 PM

Adam Jackson linked with Bolton. Poster is well informed journalist.

Not in the slightest bit bothered about him leaving but IMO he would be the only 1 I would keep out of the whole sorry bunch Heckingbottom brought in.

Paloschi
08-01-2020, 01:04 PM
We need two ball winning midfielders. Nobody on the park can really do that for us right now. I'm happy with Hallberg and can't have seen him and Dylan in the same team. We need balance in Midfield. Mallan is a shocking midfielder but a great goalscorer. I'd like him to tip the diamond with Allan deeper, Hallberg holding and a real ball winner alongside them. Against the likes of the old firm, we need both ball winners.

I'd like a striker too, Eoin Doyle has been recalled by Bradford and despite being 31 could be an option. He has scored 23 goals already this season, albeit in League Two. He knows the club and might be tempted. A fee shouldn't be large. McNulty is another one discussed and I'd be ok with that too. Obviously if we could get Leigh or another good striker on loan I'd prioritise that.

If Jackson goes then Efe Ambrose in absolute must. Jack Ross might be saying he'll work with what he has got, but that won't be his intention. I hope the club give the green light on 2 or 3 bodies or this season will end with us barely making the top 6 without the balance the team needs. Hecky left a right mess of a squad.

08-01-2020, 01:30 PM
Man buys club ✔
Man clears debt to former owner ✔
Man says there is money in bank for anything club needs ✔
Club is skint 💩

08-01-2020, 01:33 PM
The 'we have no budget' line did seem to a be a lot closer to the truth than in previous windows though, imagine to have the window we want/need some will have to move on, otherwise just be a repeat of last January and just a few loan signings to see us through until the summer

Yeah, it’s Groundhog Day. Summer is very important.

Weegreenman
08-01-2020, 01:50 PM
Man buys club ✔
Club is skint 💩

Club needs to show us some ambition before supporters start to drift away again.

Gypsy King
08-01-2020, 01:55 PM
Club needs to show us some ambition before supporters start to drift away again.

Totally agree - Ill be there as I have sine I was 5 but we wont keep the fair-weathers with this squad. Get yer hand in your pocket hibs

08-01-2020, 02:09 PM

Said it before and I'll say it again - spend money now, or lose the equivalent value and more in reduced ST sales next season. On previous evidence, we don't stick around for very long.

Steven79
08-01-2020, 02:12 PM
Said it before and I'll say it again - spend money now, or lose the equivalent value and more in reduced ST sales next season. On previous evidence, we don't stick around for very long.

It's already happened as I doubt the South Stand will be used for home fans again this season.

Gordy M
08-01-2020, 02:18 PM
Alan Nixon on Twitter saying Bolton are interested in Adam Jackson.

08-01-2020, 04:12 PM
Man buys club ✔
Club is skint 💩

Yep, it doesn’t add up.

Percy Vere
08-01-2020, 04:26 PM
We'd sacked him by then and was no longer an employee of the club.

You think !
Anyway sure they’ll get over it.

08-01-2020, 04:28 PM
Yep, it doesn’t add up.

It appears that our budget since Ron took over is very rigid. Previously we always seemed to make a signing if something a bit special was made available to us. Money was found for this within reason. I get the feeling that once the budget’s gone there is no flexibility now and even if an exceptional player was made available at a reasonable cost we wouldn’t spend above the budget to make it happen.

JR has basically said he’s going to work with the squad he has unless people move out and free up money or an injury makes it necessary to bring a player in over budget. I may be wrong but that’s the message I’m getting. I don’t buy into the bluffing theory as was said about Hecky’s updates on no budget.

Spudster
08-01-2020, 04:32 PM
Football fans excel in remembering/exaggerating money in and forgetting/underestimating money out.

Why don’t we have much money? Well we tried to build a long term squad to back a long term manager by giving out long term contracts at a level above what we’d done in recent times and it failed by November.

We were also bought out and debt cleared for the price of Kevin De Bryne’s Shoelace. We’re not that big a deal.

Aye but ST sales, McGinn money etc 🤦🏻

It's incredible how far people think the 'McGinn money' should stretch.

08-01-2020, 04:35 PM
WTF are you all on about? How do you know that Ron is grippy or that the club is skint? Wait until the end of the window before pissing your pants.

08-01-2020, 04:44 PM
Club have always struggled to balance the books while spending money to make money. I’ve got no problem with them siding on the side of caution, if they are. However, my annoyance is with the summer recruitment, which has been awful for a few years now. Hibs fans are becoming more expectant during January window due to our routinely poor summer windows. Since we were fortunate to have McGinn, McGeouch and Allan in our midfield we’ve been going backwards at an alarming rate. Not in terms of quality but in terms of balance and team cohesion, we now have one of the worst midfields in the league. Not in terms of names on a piece of paper but in terms of team building. Same goes for our defence in terms of solid defence now ageing and supposed replacements brought in this summer are rubbish.

This January window or, more importantly, our end to the season will decide if I continue to sacrifice things in life for a ST and HSL, etc. Sadly due to our poor squad (balance) I think the end to our season and this transfer window will again be intrinsically linked. Saving our season in January is starting to become a trend.

08-01-2020, 04:53 PM
WTF are you all on about? How do you know that Ron is grippy or that the club is skint? Wait until the end of the window before pissing your pants.

I'd suggest that urinating on yourself is never a good idea, regardless of the time of year, Mr Locke.

08-01-2020, 05:05 PM
Club have always struggled to balance the books while spending money to make money. I’ve got no problem with them siding on the side of caution, if they are. However, my annoyance is with the summer recruitment, which has been awful for a few years now. Hibs fans are becoming more expectant during January window due to our routinely poor summer windows. Since we were fortunate to have McGinn, McGeouch and Allan in our midfield we’ve been going backwards at an alarming rate. Not in terms of quality but in terms of balance and team cohesion, we now have one of the worst midfields in the league. Not in terms of names on a piece of paper but in terms of team building. Same goes for our defence in terms of solid defence now ageing and supposed replacements brought in this summer are rubbish.

This January window or, more importantly, our end to the season will decide if I continue to sacrifice things in life for a ST and HSL, etc. Sadly due to our poor squad (balance) I think the end to our season and this transfer window will again be intrinsically linked. Saving our season in January is starting to become a trend.

It's arguably one of the most successful periods in our modern history (last 5 years) on and off the pitch which itself breeds that kind of mentality. The SC win, capacity crowds, reaching finals and semi finals, good football, the development of SJM, Cummings, Dylan, and Boyle, the positive media (and club media), matching and exceeding derby expectations home and away..........we have had a great period and it is something that can be difficult to maintain. But you need a solid spine and a coherent and consistent leadership - which we have in Leeann, Mathie and the backroom team (and hopefully the new management team). Personally I would love us to exploit the youth market more and cherry pick from other sides - as many of the youth players at Hibs are not good enough (in my opinion) and won't ever make the step up to first team. If we do, you the need your Grant Holt's, Darren's, Bartley's, Liam Fontaine's, and Fyvie's of this world to add experience, character and guidance. Players who have top level experience and have things to offer on and off the pitch.

I saw a thread about Glenn Whelan earlier - you know what - for 6 months, why not. He's something to prove now and will want to play football. Doesn't need the money either. Him and say someone like Omeonga (for industry) as a defensive unit. Could easily work and provide midfield balance. Would never rule out Efe too.

08-01-2020, 05:31 PM
It's arguably one of the most successful periods in our modern history (last 5 years) on and off the pitch which itself breeds that kind of mentality. The SC win, capacity crowds, reaching finals and semi finals, good football, the development of SJM, Cummings, Dylan, and Boyle, the positive media (and club media), matching and exceeding derby expectations home and away..........we have had a great period and it is something that can be difficult to maintain. But you need a solid spine and a coherent and consistent leadership - which we have in Leeann, Mathie and the backroom team (and hopefully the new management team). Personally I would love us to exploit the youth market more and cherry pick from other sides - as many of the youth players at Hibs are not good enough (in my opinion) and won't ever make the step up to first team. If we do, you the need your Grant Holt's, Darren's, Bartley's, Liam Fontaine's, and Fyvie's of this world to add experience, character and guidance. Players who have top level experience and have things to offer on and off the pitch.

I saw a thread about Glenn Whelan earlier - you know what - for 6 months, why not. He's something to prove now and will want to play football. Doesn't need the money either. Him and say someone like Omeonga (for industry) as a defensive unit. Could easily work and provide midfield balance. Would never rule out Efe too.

Last 5 years finishes

2015 - 14th
2016 - 15th
2017 - 13th
2018 - 4th
2019 - 5th

Fair enough there is an amazing Scottish cup win in there but St. Johnstone managed that as well.
Last 5 years are not a tale of success.
Last two have been better though.

08-01-2020, 05:34 PM
Man buys club ✔
Club is skint 💩

The third point never happened though did it?

Man said that the football budget was very competitive already and he didn’t see any need to change the plan. It’s a budget that will far outstretch that of the team currently sitting third in the league. Unfortunately it was wasted by a manager who was in place before Ron Gordon arrived

08-01-2020, 05:44 PM
Last 5 years finishes

2015 - 14th
2016 - 15th
2017 - 13th
2018 - 4th
2019 - 5th

Fair enough there is an amazing Scottish cup win in there but St. Johnstone managed that as well.

How can you count 2015 - 2017 as 14th, 15th & 13th as a way of measuring our success haha?

By that logic finishing 13th is more successful than finishing 11th or 12th 🥴

08-01-2020, 05:46 PM
The third point never happened though did it?

Man said that the football budget was very competitive already and he didn’t see any need to change the plan. It’s a budget that will far outstretch that of the team currently sitting third in the league. Unfortunately it was wasted by a manager who was in place before Ron Gordon arrived

There seems no flexibility in the budget though. We really do need to bring players in this window to get a good cup run, progress in the league and promote a good platform for season ticket sales. You don’t come from over the Atlantic to buy a Scottish football club to take them backwards. He surely must know if we exit the cup early and or end up sixth or worse in the league that the now noticeably dwindling fans will not be buying into his new regime and flocking for season tickets. He needs to show ambition now and release funds to allow us to move forward and show he’s committed to improving us. Otherwise it’s just same old mediocre Hibs going back to being also ran’s.

We are still waiting to hear a plan, any plan! All we’re hearing is that we need to move players on before we can sign anyone.

08-01-2020, 05:50 PM
Last 5 years finishes

2015 - 14th
2016 - 15th
2017 - 13th
2018 - 4th
2019 - 5th

The success has not just been league position - sell out crowds, record season ticket sales, positivity around the club, highs and lows of Hampden, repeated (great) derby wins, good football, European games where we actually competed - if you don't see that as success as a Hibs supporter you are being unnecessarily obtuse Ozy. From where we were under Fenlon, Calderwood and Mixu it's been a great time for the club.

08-01-2020, 05:53 PM

Think about Whelan though, that is a massive risk for the club. Taking the waste from Hearts while fans are already questioning the club’s recruitment process and current footballing performance. If that kind of signing fails...no surer way to encourage fans cease ST renewals. Signings are always a risk but to sign a Hearts reject while we are not performing well is a massive risk. No exaggeration but I think our ST sales will take a serious hit this coming season unless we have a great end to the season. We just seem to be going back to the mid table yo-yo club that from season to season may be fighting relegation or may get Europe.

Club took eye off football as far as I’m concerned and it’s clear in world football that if you do not strengthen when strong then you’ll regret it sooner than you think. Losing McGeouch, Henderson, McGinn and players of that ilk and bringing in the players we have...I mean Omeonga to Vela says it all.

08-01-2020, 06:04 PM
Think about Whelan though, that is a massive risk for the club. Taking the waste from Hearts while fans are already questioning the club’s recruitment process and current footballing performance. If that kind of signing fails...no surer way to encourage fans cease ST sales. Signings are always a risk but to sign a Hearts reject while we are not performing well is a massive risk. No exaggeration but I think our ST sales will take a serious hit this season unless we are a great end to the season. We just seem to be going back to the mid table yo-yo club that from season to season may be fighting relegation or may get Europe.

Club took eye off football as far as I’m concerned and it’s clear in world football that if you do not strengthen when strong then you’ll regret it sooner than you think. Losing McGeouch, Henderson, McGinn and players of that ilk and bringing in the players we have...I mean Omeonga to Vela says it all.

I don't disagree that signings are a risk - and from a rival of course they'd be a greater risk (if they fail).

But take Grant Holt as an example - played at the highest level, we signed him from Rochdale, and he was great on and off the pitch and brought on the likes of Jason Cummings. Whelan has the same pedigree. And there is nothing better than ramming it up a manager who thinks you've not got it. For a 6 month punt I'd be tempted to go for it. As long as we have targets who are more mid-long term coming in to play and work alongside. Like you mention, we were spoiled with SJM. LH and DM......but they were players who developed at Hibs and we became the victim of that successful development as they wanted futures (and bigger contracts) elsewhere - that is where we and other Scottish clubs are due to the football economy and climate. It's what I don't like seeing Lewis Morgan, Mickey Johnston, Greg Docherty, etc. languishing at clubs being paid but not playing football - let's exploit that kind of market and if these players are smart and want a full career, they'll join to play rather then become money mercenaries.

I do agree with you that the last signing windows have been below mediocre (at best).

08-01-2020, 06:13 PM
[QUOTE=Real Emerald;6039187]There seems no flexibility in the budget though. We really do need to bring players in this window to get a good cup run, progress in the league and promote a good platform for season ticket sales. You don’t come from over the Atlantic to buy a Scottish football club to take them backwards. He surely must know if we exit the cup early and or end up sixth or worse in the league that the now noticeably dwindling fans will not be buying into his new regime and flocking for season tickets. He needs to show ambition now and release funds to allow us to move forward and show he’s committed to improving us. Otherwise it’s just same old mediocre Hibs going back to being also ran’s.

We are still waiting to hear a plan, any plan! All we’re hearing is that we need to move players on before we can sign anyone.[/

Regarding the lack of flexibility... it looks that way currently but we won’t know until the window is shut.

If we are stuck needing to move players on, then that will go right down to the deadline. I think we’ll use the loan market, another thing that Hecky seemed to make a total mess of.

08-01-2020, 06:22 PM
[QUOTE=Real Emerald;6039187]There seems no flexibility in the budget though. We really do need to bring players in this window to get a good cup run, progress in the league and promote a good platform for season ticket sales. You don’t come from over the Atlantic to buy a Scottish football club to take them backwards. He surely must know if we exit the cup early and or end up sixth or worse in the league that the now noticeably dwindling fans will not be buying into his new regime and flocking for season tickets. He needs to show ambition now and release funds to allow us to move forward and show he’s committed to improving us. Otherwise it’s just same old mediocre Hibs going back to being also ran’s.

We are still waiting to hear a plan, any plan! All we’re hearing is that we need to move players on before we can sign anyone.[/

Regarding the lack of flexibility... it looks that way currently but we won’t know until the window is shut.

If we are stuck needing to move players on, then that will go right down to the deadline. I think we’ll use the loan market, another thing that Hecky seemed to make a total mess of.

I’m agreeing with you here but what I don’t want to see is us losing investment from low ST sales and falling further behind Aberdeen on finances. I’m just struggling to think why Ron bought us all the way from the USA and watches us stuck with no funds to buy or finance greatly needed new signings.

As I said, it’s a very important window because when the next one opens our season tickets will have been on sale for months and may not look very appealing to many fans given the lack of ambition shown in this window. It’s crucial we see some commitment from our new owner that we mean business in this window in my opinion for the sake of ST sales.

Scotty Leither
08-01-2020, 06:36 PM
Proper, recognizable Hibs players - guys that look like they know their way round a football park, and actually get you off your seats (players like, dare I say Ambrose and McGeough), will take proper, recognizable investment from our new owner, who so far has (occasionally) talked a good game but hasn't matched it in terms of worthwhile transfer activity.

He's had 6 - 7 months to have a look and take counsel from those at the club as to the expectation levels of the fans, and it's time he was "ponying up" in my book.

For sure, it's not his fault that Heckingbottom signed so much dross, redolent of Calderwood's time, but the harsh reality is it that is the owner's problem to fix in the shape of sufficient funds being released to allow the manager to compete in the market and to galvanise the squad and the support for the second part of the season.

Over to you, Ron.

#2 Double Tap
08-01-2020, 07:36 PM
It's incredible how far people think the 'McGinn money' should stretch.

Incredible, really.......we havent even spent a penny of the mcginn money on transfers.

since 17/18 season, we have sold cummings, simon murray and mcginn......totaling around 3m.

In the same period we have shelled out around 900k in transfer fees; doidge 280k, mallan 200k, kamberi 130k, marciano 175k and slivka 100k.

Everyone else we have signed has been on loan or for free. I know people will say wages and signing on fees, but the biggest majority of that money should be budgeted out of ticket sales and merchandise surely.

08-01-2020, 07:51 PM
Incredible, really.......we havent even spent a penny of the mcginn money on transfers.

since 17/18 season, we have sold cummings, simon murray and mcginn......totaling around 3m.

In the same period we have shelled out around 900k in transfer fees; doidge 280k, mallan 200k, kamberi 130k, marciano 175k and slivka 100k.

Everyone else we have signed has been on loan or for free. I know people will say wages and signing on fees, but the biggest majority of that money should be budgeted out of ticket sales and merchandise surely.

Signing on fees and wages are exactly the point.

Sign a decent player for free, let’s say he’s on £3k a week, so for a year, that’s £156,000 plus tax that the club will have to budget for, plus signing on fee, bonuses and so on.

We’ve signed plenty players in the last couple windows, even the ones on loan wouldn’t have been free.

Our income is likely down, less whatever Marathon were paying us being the biggest change.

This idea that unless transfer money received is spent on transfer fees out means there’s some secret stash of money the club is hoarding and refusing to spend because reasons is just daft.

08-01-2020, 07:59 PM

Sign a decent player for free, let’s say he’s on £3k a week, so for a year, that’s £156,000 plus tax that the club will have to budget for, plus signing on fee, bonuses and so on.

We’ve signed plenty players in the last couple windows, even the ones on loan wouldn’t have been free.

Our income is likely down, less whatever Marathon were paying us being the biggest change.

This idea that unless transfer money received is spent on transfer fees out means there’s some secret stash of money the club is hoarding and refusing to spend because reasons is just daft.

Here you, we don't need any good sense and logic on .net........

1875Sean
08-01-2020, 08:26 PM
Alan Nixon on Twitter saying Bolton are interested in Adam Jackson.
I’d let him go, got a feeling we won’t get any in until we shift a few

mcfly
08-01-2020, 08:34 PM
As had been said before.

No signings we struggle for top 6

We have a very difficult Scottish cup tie and we need a stronger midfield.

Has to be a concern for the board that poor signings or no signings and fans will drift away and the board can only have itself to blame

Now is the time to back jack Ross

08-01-2020, 08:37 PM
If we sign nobody in this window I fully expect us to challenge for 4th and have a good cup run.

We have obvious problems in midfield but we’ll still be 5th at worst. Jack Ross will be looking to improve the players we have and there’s plenty of scope to do that.

08-01-2020, 08:54 PM
If we sign nobody in this window I fully expect us to challenge for 4th and have a good cup run.

We have obvious problems in midfield but we’ll still be 5th at worst. Jack Ross will be looking to improve the players we have and there’s plenty of scope to do that.

That’s optimistic for me...no signings and I’d say 5th -6th is as good as we would get....

08-01-2020, 08:54 PM

If we don’t sign anybody, we’ll be miles behind fourth.

08-01-2020, 08:55 PM
Herman Hallberg looks decent, wonder what his contract situation is and if he fancies playing alongside his older brother.

08-01-2020, 08:59 PM

Exactly, you can’t bring in a new manager to fix a mess and tell him he can’t have funds to sign anyone. He needs backing and the fans need to see the board/owner giving him that backing.

08-01-2020, 09:02 PM

If we sign nobody we’ll be absolutely nowhere near 4th.

Aberdeen have underperformed pretty badly during the first half of the season and they’re dealing with it by signing players like Dylan McGeouch. They’re only going to improve.

If Hibs play silly beggars with Ross regarding the glaring improvements that need to be made, we’ll finish around 7th - 9th and next season Hibs will get the number of season ticket holders befitting of a club of this size backing its manager in that way.

08-01-2020, 09:03 PM
Scott Sinclair sings for PNE on a 2.5 year deal

08-01-2020, 09:05 PM

Aberdeen have underperformed pretty badly during the first half of the season and they’re dealing with it by signing players like Dylan McGeouch. They’re only going to improve.

If Hibs play silly beggars with Ross regarding the glaring improvements that need to be made, we’ll finish around 7th - 9th and next season Hibs will get the number of season ticket holders befitting of a club of this size backing its manager in that way.

Said this earlier in the thread. If we fail to sign anyone of any real quality we’ll have to start looking over our shoulder as oppose to forward.

Absolutely cannot be allowed to happen. ST holders will be questioning what the point is if it’s a bottom 6 finish as we’d obviously be going back the way

Stokesy's on fire
08-01-2020, 09:06 PM

Signed to keep Bryson company

mcfly
08-01-2020, 09:07 PM

No we won’t

08-01-2020, 09:07 PM
Aberdeen: "We've spent all the budget, but are having a poor season by our standards so here's a good chunk more money Derek. Pay us back by securing Europe again, cheers!"

Hearts: "We've spent all the budget, but are having a bad season so here's a bit more money Daniel. It's not an awful lot but should get us over the line."

Hibernian: "We've spent all the budget. Tough."

08-01-2020, 09:09 PM
Aberdeen: "We've spent all the budget, but are having a poor season by our standards so here's a good chunk more money Derek. Pay us back by securing Europe again, cheers!"

Hearts: "We've spent all the budget, but are having a bad season so here's a bit more money Daniel. It's not an awful lot but should get us over the line."

Have Hearts bought anyone?

08-01-2020, 09:10 PM
Hearts fans reckon Emil Hansson is joining from Hanover, think it's aloan deal

#2 Double Tap
08-01-2020, 09:15 PM

apart from the lack of sponsorship this year, how can or should our other income be down?
In that same period, we have had excellent ticket sales, had decent cup runs, finished higher in the league than we have for years. That all means more money.......what about gordons 1m investment?

I aint saying that there should be an endless or massive secret stash of cash, but if they have *****ed all the money generated by the club in the last few years, the people in positions of power have been doing an extremely poor job imo.

Here you, we don't need any good sense and logic on .net........

good logic? appears as happy clapping and delusion to me! :greengrin

08-01-2020, 09:16 PM
We're lucky if we finish 6th if we make no signings.

08-01-2020, 09:19 PM
We will make some signings.

Whether or not theyll be good enough is an entirely different question and depends on our recruitement team not repeating past mistakes.

08-01-2020, 09:21 PM
This and the 2 McGeouch threads are a ****ing joke. 8 days into the window and because we didn't attempt to sign an ex player 80% of the people on here are almost ready to cut their bloody writs. GET a grip people and just wait and see who we move on and who we bring in, if by the end of the window we haven't added anyone then you can all moan but jeezo people take a few chill pills til then.

08-01-2020, 09:26 PM
This and the 2 McGeouch threads are a ****ing joke. 8 days into the window and because we didn't attempt to sign an ex player 80% of the people on here are almost ready to cut their bloody writs. GET a grip people and just wait and see who we move on and who we bring in, if by the end of the window we haven't added anyone then you can all moan but jeezo people take a few chill pills til then.

I don’t disagree with you and I do think we’ll sign players - then we can criticise if need be.

There’s no way in the world I’m going to pretend that the current squad is acceptable though and I’d be surprised (and bitterly disappointed) if anyone at Hibs thought it was. Now Heckingbottom’s gone, anyway.

#2 Double Tap
08-01-2020, 09:27 PM

8 days in, we should have had 2 CM's lined up and ready to sign on day 1! People are rightly annoyed/worried, did you watch us at livingston......we are desperately needing freshened up.

08-01-2020, 09:28 PM

Totally agree and we will be looking over our shoulder. Anyone who thinks we’re safe with this current squad are kidding themselves.

We also want to do well in the cup and should be targeting players for this. Always remember being put out by hearts in 2018 then signing Maclaren/Kamberi after that game

MikeyS
08-01-2020, 09:29 PM
apart from the lack of sponsorship this year, how can or should our other income be down?
In that same period, we have had excellent ticket sales, had decent cup runs, finished higher in the league than we have for years. That all means more money.......what about gordons 1m investment?

I aint saying that there should be an endless or massive secret stash of cash, but if they have *****ed all the money generated by the club in the last few years, the people in positions of power have been doing an extremely poor job imo.

Has it ever been confirmed that there was £1m investment from Ron? Not calling you out but I genuinely cant remember that.

What I will say though is that we will have significantly raised the wage bill this season. Allan, Doidge, Vela, Jackson & Newall wont have come here for buttons. Add in new long deals for Daz & Gray, loan fees for Middleton,Maxwell
& Naismith plus paying off 2 managers and their staff and it soon adds up.

Really poor recruitment has done us here, not Ron Gordon.

08-01-2020, 09:29 PM

8 days, the two weeks, then still a week left, then the best players become available at the end of the window chat. Two McGeough threads because the majority of our support probably think it’s a massive mistake we didn’t get him back instead we are sitting waiting told to chill - when the **** has that ever worked out for the best? (No offence to you personally) how about our recruitment team, if they’ve bumped McGeough have players who are to come in right away to join us in Spain? How is that so far fetched at all?

08-01-2020, 09:30 PM
Thankfully Jack Ross knows the Scottish game far better than our previous manager and the type of player required. It'll take more than this window to ger rid and upgrade some of this squad.

08-01-2020, 09:30 PM
Has it ever been confirmed that there was £1m investment from Ron? Not calling you out but I genuinely cant remember that.

What I will say though is that we will have significantly raised the wage bill this season. Allan, Doidge, Vela, Jackson & Newall wont have come here for buttons. Add in new long deals for Daz & Gray, loan fees for Middleton,Maxwell

The investment was meant to be going into an indoor facility, decided by the club not RG. Has work started on this yet?

08-01-2020, 09:31 PM

I don’t get that tone at all. Isn’t that what this message board is for? people have just been debating the pros and cons of it - pretty natural after all. Most seem to be hoping that we get some quality in to improve the squad. Some are more confident of this than others.....seems quite equal about those who wanted Dylan or not

your post seems more uptight than most tbh....

MikeyS
08-01-2020, 09:32 PM
I don’t disagree with you and I do think we’ll sign players - then we can criticise if need be.

There’s no way in the world I’m going to pretend that the current squad is acceptable though and I’d be surprised (and bitterly disappointed) if anyone at Hibs thought it was. Now Heckingbottom’s gone, anyway.

The squad is ridiculously unbalanced

3 goalies

4 right backs

1 left back

4 centre half

7 midfielders

2 wingers

3 strikers

Jack Ross has done well to get us where we are

08-01-2020, 09:33 PM

Stendel has been told to get players out before bringing any in. Hence the fun and games with Berra and Whelan.

08-01-2020, 09:33 PM
8 days in, we should have had 2 CM's lined up and ready to sign on day 1! People are rightly annoyed/worried, did you watch us at livingston......we are desperately needing freshened up.

It is concerning, and the manager saying he has no plans to sign anyone unless something changes certainly doesn’t fill me with hope. I’m sure JR would agree we need signings too but the budget is obviously not there and inflexible.

08-01-2020, 09:34 PM

3 goalies

4 right backs

1 left back

4 centre half

7 midfielders

2 wingers

3 strikers

He’s done extremely well and has earned a bit of proper backing to fix the many problems we have that are not of his making.

MikeyS
08-01-2020, 09:35 PM
The investment was meant to be going into an indoor facility, decided by the club not RG. Has work started on this yet?

No idea mate, I'd be amazed if it has though. The club would have it plastered everywhere had we started any work.

I'd much rather that dough was diverted to playing staff. Coulsnt care less about a new astro at East Mains personally.

#2 Double Tap

I hear yah and agree, recruitment has been abysmal.........

the day gordon took over he stated in the interview he had put the money in, which was ear marked for infrastructure but would be made available to the manager for players if needed.....

Josh Campbell and Ben Stirling return from their loan deals.

random sub
08-01-2020, 09:42 PM
We have had the third biggest attendances in the spl and yet we have the 5th highest wages- significantly lower wages than Aberdeen and Hearts. I know there are other factors but it is disappointing we are out competed for players by our main rivals. And it is baffling how they keep signing.

08-01-2020, 09:45 PM
We have had the third biggest attendances in the spl and yet we have the 5th highest wages- significantly lower wages than Aberdeen and Hearts. I know there are other factors but it is disappointing we are out competed for players by our main rivals. And it is baffling how they keep signing.

Attendances don't matter a jot. Both their revenues are in excess of ours thanks to larger commercial income and benefactors throwing money at them.

08-01-2020, 09:47 PM
Attendances don't matter a jot. Both their revenues are in excess of ours thanks to larger commercial income and benefactors throwing money at them.

I’m relieved at that as it won’t matter a jot when our ST sales drop for next season seeing we have managed with no shirt sponsor this year. I was beginning to worry too 😂

08-01-2020, 09:49 PM
I think what people need to keep in mind is sometimes to get your first pick you get caught in a bit of a chain, for example Morgan from Celtic we want but they won’t let him go until they bring players in. You then give it a set amount of time before your hand is forced to look at other options which is very common practice in this window. Frustrating yes but we are only 8 days in and there’s a lot of clubs working on a lot of deals we just need a few to drop earlier the better for us.

08-01-2020, 09:51 PM
It's amazing what that Livi defeat did to the mindset. We've recently beaten the 3rd and 4th best teams and won an away derby. I actually don't think our squad needs major surgery. The Livi game was a horror show, but was always likely to happen as we've seen over the years. A DM is obviously required and maybe another option up front. I don't buy this "abysmal recruitment" chat. We started the season with a manager who unfortunately couldn't get them firing but looked good in spells. Aberdeen away springs to mind.

It’s the Hibs way we are only a defeat away from a meltdown in some quarters

08-01-2020, 09:51 PM
It's amazing what that Livi defeat did to the mindset. We've recently beaten the 3rd and 4th best teams and won an away derby. I actually don't think our squad needs major surgery. The Livi game was a horror show, but was always likely to happen as we've seen over the years. A DM is obviously required and maybe another option up front. I don't buy this "abysmal recruitment" chat. We started the season with a manager who unfortunately couldn't get them firing but looked good in spells. Aberdeen away springs to mind. I'm actually feeling quite positive for the rest of the season.

08-01-2020, 09:53 PM
I think what people need to keep in mind is sometimes to get your first pick you get caught in a bit of a chain, for example Morgan from Celtic we want but they won’t let him go until they bring players in. You then give it a set amount of time before your hand is forced to look at other options which is very common practice in this window. Frustrating yes but we are only 8 days in and there’s a lot of clubs working on a lot of deals we just need a few to drop earlier the better for us.

Absolutley and unfortunately football fans aren’t the most patient! Like you said it could be all agreed for us to get someone like Morgan in on the basis Celtic get a new winger. Celtic then fail to get in their target so we don’t get Morgan and it looks like we’re not bothered.

Do you know if we are actively pursuing Morgan or was it just an example? Would love to see us get him.

08-01-2020, 09:55 PM
It's amazing what that Livi defeat did to the mindset. We've recently beaten the 3rd and 4th best teams and won an away derby. I actually don't think our squad needs major surgery.

Extremely valid point made above.

I do feel that there are many Hibs supporters that oscillate between Hibs being fantastic to rubbish purely on the basis on us winning or not. The reality is that we are not fantastic and we're not rubbish. The same equally applies to our players.

08-01-2020, 09:56 PM
It's amazing what that Livi defeat did to the mindset. We've recently beaten the 3rd and 4th best teams and won an away derby. I actually don't think our squad needs major surgery. The Livi game was a horror show, but was always likely to happen as we've seen over the years. A DM is obviously required and maybe another option up front. I don't buy this "abysmal recruitment" chat. We started the season with a manager who unfortunately couldn't get them firing but looked good in spells. Aberdeen away springs to mind. I'm actually feeling quite positive for the rest of the season.

The squad does need a fair bit of surgery. Second worst defensive record in the league. Lacking in the middle of the park. And nowhere near enough goals from our strikers.

We have some players who are good on their day so we will win games here and there. But not consistently with this squad.

08-01-2020, 09:59 PM
Extremely valid point made above.

I do feel that there are many Hibs supporters that oscillate between Hibs being fantastic to rubbish purely on the basis on us winning or not. The reality is that we are not fantastic and we're not rubbish. The same equally applies to our players.

On the flip side of the Livingston result, the Hearts result had us thinking we were something we weren’t. In reality, we beat the worst side in the league, who pretty much get beaten by everyone.

You’re right that we’re somewhere in between good and bad. But that in itself, is bad.

08-01-2020, 10:00 PM
We need two ball winning midfielders. Nobody on the park can really do that for us right now. I'm happy with Hallberg and can't have seen him and Dylan in the same team. We need balance in Midfield. Mallan is a shocking midfielder but a great goalscorer. I'd like him to tip the diamond with Allan deeper, Hallberg holding and a real ball winner alongside them. Against the likes of the old firm, we need both ball winners.

I'd like a striker too, Eoin Doyle has been recalled by Bradford and despite being 31 could be an option. He has scored 23 goals already this season, albeit in League Two. He knows the club and might be tempted. A fee shouldn't be large. McNulty is another one discussed and I'd be ok with that too. Obviously if we could get Leigh or another good striker on loan I'd prioritise that.

If Jackson goes then Efe Ambrose in absolute must. Jack Ross might be saying he'll work with what he has got, but that won't be his intention. I hope the club give the green light on 2 or 3 bodies or this season will end with us barely making the top 6 without the balance the team needs. Hecky left a right mess of a squad.

Mallan is not a 'shocking midfielder'. He wouldn't be my preferred pick in midfield, but he's not shocking.

08-01-2020, 10:00 PM

Well said

08-01-2020, 10:01 PM
It’s all smoke and mirrors.We might or might not be interested in Morgan.Celtic might be interested in loaning him out or they may be using the threat to gee him up and start performing particularly now that Sinclair has gone.My motto is to believe nothing until it happens.The papers have nothing to write about and fans work themselves up into a state of hysteria.Ross is not going to shout about needing players he wants the current group to give him 100%.He won’t get that by telling the papers he needs to replace them.

08-01-2020, 10:01 PM
I’m relieved at that as it won’t matter a jot when our ST sales drop for next season seeing we have managed with no shirt sponsor this year. I was beginning to worry too 😂

I was replying to a post in which there was comparison between our gate size versus Hearts/Aberdeen and questioning how, with a larger average attendance, we can't compete with them on wages. My point was that total revenue determines player budget not ticket sales alone. I doubt Aberdeen fans are that bothered that we pull in a higher average gate when they're still able to beat us to every target.

08-01-2020, 10:03 PM

You could argue those 3 results masked the problems we still have. People ultimately dont trust this group of players. The performance levels and effort from some against livi and rangers were shocking. No one is expecting an overhaul in january but the players we bring in must be first team players. Not ones to join the squad. 2 or 3 that will make a notable difference. Then in the summer we can start to look at the bigger picture.

08-01-2020, 10:05 PM
On the flip side of the Livingston result, the Hearts result had us thinking we were something we weren’t. In reality, we beat the worst side in the league, who pretty much get beaten by everyone.

You’re right that we’re somewhere in between good and bad. But that in itself, is bad.

The league doesn't lie. The Rangers and Celtic are miles ahead of the rest. Aberdeen and Motherwell, whilst we've beaten both at ER, are the next best. We should be matching them, but we're not. Of the rest, there's not a lot between the teams, though the Hertz have become marooned at the bottom. You're right though, from a Hibs perspective not good enough.

08-01-2020, 10:08 PM
I was replying to a post in which there was comparison between our gate size versus Hearts/Aberdeen and questioning how, with a larger average attendance, we can't compete with them on wages. My point was that total revenue determines player budget not ticket sales alone. I doubt Aberdeen fans are that bothered that we pull in a higher average gate when they're still able to beat us to every target.
I knew what you meant hence the smiley face 😂. The problem for us is we don’t have the benefactors or owner chipping in large amounts so we do have to rely on attendances and sponsorship deals. Apologies if you thought I was having a go 👍

08-01-2020, 10:10 PM
You could argue those 3 results masked the problems we still have. People ultimately dont trust this group of players. The performance levels and effort from some against livi and rangers were shocking. No one is expecting an overhaul in january but the players we bring in must be first team players. Not ones to join the squad. 2 or 3 that will make a notable difference. Then in the summer we can start to look at the bigger picture.

One result against a backdrop of poor results maybe but genuinely don’t see how 3 results and 3 great results in an important period of the season can be seen as masking the issues. What it shows me is we are capable of beating anyone probably outside the old firm when we are at it, consistency and squad depth of quality in key area is another matter.

09-01-2020, 03:59 AM
Personally think Aberdeen/McInnes do a good job of their recruitment. As a whole they seem to go for players that know the league well and have performed to a good standard.

Shinnie, Hayes, Rooney, Mcgeouch, McLean, Greg Stewart, Mackay Steven, Christie, Devlin, McGinn, Robson and Flood have all been important signings for them and vital in them consistently winning games and finishing high in the league. Even guys who haven’t been brilliant for them like Main, Goodwillie, Quinn, Tansey, May, Alexander etc etc all still provide squad depth and weaken other teams

They’re linked with Kennedy, O’Donnell, Boyce and Dykes too, all again would be shrewd moves.

I also think when we do recruit this way it works very well for us as we’ve shown

Griffiths, Fyvie, McGinn, Allan, Boyle, McGregor, Stokes, Ambrose, Liam Miller, Mcgeouch, Henderson and now even Naismith. Again obviously there’s ones that counter the argument but I always feel young confident Scottish guys that know the league really excel for us or at least get us to a level that we expect.

I think we should be competing with Aberdeen to take from other teams with the aim to be best of the rest and the main place we should look is on our door step

Jason Kerr
Efe Ambrose
Kyle Magennis
Greg Docherty
Yusuf Mulumbu
Gary Dicker
Alan Campbell
Lewis Smith
James Scott
Matty Kennedy
Lewis Morgan
Liam Boyce
Lynden Dykes
Kevin Nisbet

Granted we need to look other places too but I think guys like this get the club and the league, albeit some under contact we may be priced out of.

I also see a lot of Noses being turned up at older players and whilst I agree it’s brilliant to have youth players coming through, we need guys for now.

Dicker, Ambrose and Mulumbu are all getting on but all fit guys who would make a real difference imo. All could probably play this level comfortably or enough to contribute for the next 18 months

I do think Ross will want players that know the league and can step in and do a job instantly, very excited to see who he recruits.

MacGruber
09-01-2020, 05:21 AM
Personally think Aberdeen/McInnes do a good job of their recruitment. As a whole they seem to go for players that know the league well and have performed to a good standard.

Shinnie, Hayes, Rooney, Mcgeouch, McLean, Greg Stewart, Mackay Steven, Christie, Devlin, McGinn, Robson and Flood have all been important signings for them and vital in them consistently winning games and finishing high in the league. Even guys who haven’t been brilliant for them like Main, Goodwillie, Quinn, Tansey, May, Alexander etc etc all still provide squad depth and weaken other teams

They’re linked with Kennedy, O’Donnell, Boyce and Dykes too, all again would be shrewd moves.

I also think when we do recruit this way it works very well for us as we’ve shown

Griffiths, Fyvie, McGinn, Allan, Boyle, McGregor, Stokes, Ambrose, Liam Miller, Mcgeouch, Henderson and now even Naismith. Again obviously there’s ones that counter the argument but I always feel young confident Scottish guys that know the league really excel for us or at least get us to a level that we expect.

I think we should be competing with Aberdeen to take from other teams with the aim to be best of the rest and the main place we should look is on our door step

Jason Kerr
Efe Ambrose
Kyle Magennis
Greg Docherty
Yusuf Mulumbu
Gary Dicker
Alan Campbell
Lewis Smith
James Scott
Matty Kennedy
Lewis Morgan
Liam Boyce
Lynden Dykes
Kevin Nisbet

Granted we need to look other places too but I think guys like this get the club and the league, albeit some under contact we may be priced out of.

I also see a lot of Noses being turned up at older players and whilst I agree it’s brilliant to have youth players coming through, we need guys for now.

Dicker, Ambrose and Mulumbu are all getting on but all fit guys who would make a real difference imo. All could probably play this level comfortably or enough to contribute for the next 18 months

I do think Ross will want players that know the league and can step in and do a job instantly, very excited to see who he recruits.

Completely agree with this.

There's always a place for foreigners, other British and lower league players as we have seen and it is important to cast the net as wide as possible. There is lots of good markets out there.

The proven Scottish guys should be the staple though and the bones of the recruitment. Very good example of Aberdeen and they have built their success around it.

We do it to an extent but should do it more. Vela or McGeough, come on. Even foreign players who know the league and are other Scottish teams good players like Kamara.

Anyway, very good post IMO

09-01-2020, 06:53 AM
Scott Sinclair moves from Celtic to Preston two and a half year deal

09-01-2020, 07:01 AM

Jason Kerr
Efe Ambrose
Kyle Magennis
Greg Docherty
Yusuf Mulumbu
Gary Dicker
Alan Campbell
Lewis Smith
James Scott
Matty Kennedy
Lewis Morgan
Liam Boyce
Lynden Dykes
Kevin Nisbet

Yep worked very well for us in the championship

Seemed to move away from this when Lennon came in Always usually works well for us

We need to find the next McGinn, McGeouch, Cummings, etc

09-01-2020, 07:10 AM

Mysterious benefactors and loans. Not a sustainable business model.

09-01-2020, 07:10 AM
That’s optimistic for me...no signings and I’d say 5th -6th is as good as we would get....

My post was optimistic but it’s a counter to the pessimism that without signings we’ll struggle for top 6.

Since Hecky was sacked we’ve matched Aberdeen for points in the last 10 games. Realistically we have simply given Aberdeen and Motherwell too big a start with our disastrous first quarter. It’s possible that we can catch one of them but looks very unlikely.

Most bookies have Hibs as short as 1/4 to make the top 6. If you view as being in a mini league now with Livi, Killie and St Johnstone, then maybe one of those teams will take more points than us. No more than one of them though so 6th will be as bad as it gets.

I agree with the sentiment that we need to boost morale and improve but it depends who is available. I could see a few loans coming in and that would make sense in the January market IMO.

09-01-2020, 07:18 AM
Mallan is not a 'shocking midfielder'. He wouldn't be my preferred pick in midfield, but he's not shocking.

He’s very good when played in his best position, he’s quite often shocking when he’s accommodated elsewhere.

09-01-2020, 07:22 AM
My post was optimistic but it’s a counter to the pessimism that without signings we’ll struggle for top 6.

Since Hecky was sacked we’ve matched Aberdeen for points in the last 10 games. Realistically we have simply given Aberdeen and Motherwell too big a start with our disastrous first quarter. It’s possible that we can catch one of them but looks very unlikely.

Most bookies have Hibs as short as 1/4 to make the top 6. If you view as being in a mini league now with Livi, Killie and St Johnstone, then maybe one of those teams will take more points than us. No more than one of them though so 6th will be as bad as it gets.

I agree with the sentiment that we need to boost morale and improve but it depends who is available. I could see a few loans coming in and that would make sense in the January market IMO.

The problem is that Aberdeen are clearly strengthening. I don’t buy the “Hecky bought a lot of dross” argument, I’m in a minority of one it seems but I quite like all the players he’s brought in. The problem is with the players he didn’t bring in and that has left us short.

We’re possibly only a “Craig Rocastle type” signing away from having a very good season, which none of us would have expected after the first round of fixtures.

09-01-2020, 07:24 AM

The same every window. You’d think they’d learn.

09-01-2020, 07:26 AM
He’s very good when played in his best position, he’s quite often shocking when he’s accommodated elsewhere.

I think we should start thinking of him as a Plan B player, you bring him on when the opposition is tiring with 20 mins left, he can ping in set pieces and there's less likelihood of him being bullied off the ball. Whether he'd be happy with that sort of supersub role is the issue. He's not a 90 minute, all season long midfielder for a team that wants to be challenging for Europe. And no he's not 'shocking'.

09-01-2020, 07:26 AM

My main issue is when people use the term shocking or brutal to describe a player.

He has his good days and he has is poor days. In fact during a game will oscillate between the good and the bad. IMO, he's not a shocking midfielder, which was the comment I picked up on.

09-01-2020, 07:45 AM
We're lucky if we finish 6th if we make no signings.

Despite the fact that since Ross has came in we've comfortably beaten the teams sitting in 3rd and 4th

Paloschi
09-01-2020, 07:45 AM
My main issue is when people use the term shocking or brutal to describe a player.

He has his good days and he has is poor days. In fact during a game will oscillate between the good and the bad. IMO, he's not a shocking midfielder, which was the comment I picked up on.

I get you are defending a Hibs player and Mallan has many qualities. He isn’t a shockingly bad player, he is actually very talented however he is not a central midfielder. He cannot mark, track runs, tackle or keep it simple. Hence my comment. I’d rather Hanlon or Stevenson at centre mid.

Mallan has given some really poor performances when not played to his strengths. Initially under Lennon he was great with a better midfield structure behind him. He should play off the front two or a even as a centre forward (in a 2). Hard to accommodate a free role for him with Allan in the team.

Paloschi
09-01-2020, 07:46 AM
Despite the fact that since Ross has came in we've comfortably beaten the teams sitting in 3rd and 4th

We suit that because of our counter attack. Against teams we should dominate we cannot compete with a plucky and committed midfield and crosses into our area.

09-01-2020, 08:06 AM

3 goalies

4 right backs

1 left back

4 centre half

7 midfielders

2 wingers

3 strikers

Its amazing how this seems to have gone right past some folk. :faf:

09-01-2020, 08:12 AM
We suit that because of our counter attack. Against teams we should dominate we cannot compete with a plucky and committed midfield and crosses into our area.

That was true for Sheep once we were ahead but we were 1 0 down against Well. The counter attacking was only later in the game.

09-01-2020, 08:44 AM
The problem is that Aberdeen are clearly strengthening. I don’t buy the “Hecky bought a lot of dross” argument, I’m in a minority of one it seems but I quite like all the players he’s brought in. The problem is with the players he didn’t bring in and that has left us short.

We’re possibly only a “Craig Rocastle type” signing away from having a very good season, which none of us would have expected after the first round of fixtures.

You like all the players he’s brought despite two of them barely ever getting a game?

James and Jackson have been a total waste apart from keeping the bench warm

Also brought in Maxwell who’s already heading back down the road

Newells been up and down

09-01-2020, 08:50 AM

Thing is how are we suppose to know the silence from Dempster and Gordon regarding finances is deafening and still no AGM

09-01-2020, 08:53 AM

We have a difficult and very losable cup tie in just over a weeks time. Weve k own since August or midfield is sadly lacking yet it appears nobody is lined up to come in??

That's why we are all annoyed and if we do go out the cup next Sunday serious questions will rightly be asked of this Board and the owner

09-01-2020, 08:56 AM
We have a difficult and very losable cup tie in just over a weeks time. Weve k own since August or midfield is sadly lacking yet it appears nobody is lined up to come in??

That's why we are all annoyed and if we do go out the cup next Sunday serious questions will rightly be asked of this Board and the owner

Our current squad should be more than good enough to beat Dundee United

09-01-2020, 08:56 AM

We've also quite comfortably lost to livingston and Ross County getting about 3 shots on target over the 2 games.

We're a good team on our day. Our day isn't often enough, or for long enough over 90 minutes anyway.

Steven79
09-01-2020, 08:57 AM
We've also quite comfortably lost to livingston and Ross County getting about 3 shots on target over the 2 games.

We're a good team on our day. Our day is often enough, or for long enough over 90 minutes anyway.

That's about the size of it.

One good half out of the last four is not good enough.

09-01-2020, 09:00 AM
Our current squad should be more than good enough to beat Dundee United

And as Livi and Ross Co away shows we are also very capable of losing up there to a team high on confidence and used to winning

09-01-2020, 09:02 AM

How serious will the questions be?

09-01-2020, 09:29 AM

Who says no one is lined up to come in, I must've missed that quote.

I think we have a manager who knows this league and I expect him to work well with recruitment to get the players needed.

09-01-2020, 09:50 AM
[QUOTE=J-C;6039584]Who says no one is lined up to come in, I must've missed that quote.

Jack Ross quote from EEN. Sound pretty convincing he hasn’t anyone lined up, yet!

“But it’s not like I was told: ‘Here you go, you can go and sign X amount of players with X amount of money.’ That’s never been the case.

“It’s more about getting the best from what I have got at the moment. That’s how I have approached the month to be fair, I haven’t thought about making wholesale changes because I don’t think we’re in a position to do that.”

09-01-2020, 09:54 AM
It’s all about signing the right type of player imho and January is usually difficult to get exactly what you want (unless you have unlimited funds).

JR will know what he’s after and it might be a waiting game to get the player he wants in. I’d rather we did that then just jump in at the first available player.

I’m as frustrated as the next person that there are no signings but patience is the key.

09-01-2020, 09:57 AM
It’s all about signing the right type of player imho and January is usually difficult to get exactly what you want (unless you have unlimited funds).

JR will know what he’s after and it might be a waiting game to get the player he wants in. I’d rather we did that then just jump in at the first available player.

I’m as frustrated as the next person that there are no signings but patience is the key.

Yes it’s a game of Patience but let’s hope he plays his cards right and picks an Ace lol

cmcd
09-01-2020, 10:31 AM
Here is an unusual idea .Why don't we wait until the window closes before we cry our eyes out

09-01-2020, 10:33 AM
Here is an unusual idea .Why don't we wait until the window closes before we cry our eyes out

I dont think its so bad, in fact i'm stunned more has not been made about our unbalanced squad, and how bad the recruitment had been in the last window.

mcfly
09-01-2020, 11:13 AM
Fact is heckingbottom left a mess.

Disaster of a manager and his signings most of which don’t play will need moved on.

Vela Maxwell James Jackson all can go. No improvement at all.

Getting rid of both Bartley and Milligan was a disaster

Hopefully jack Ross can bring in a defensive midfielder and we can look a bit more stable in midfield.

09-01-2020, 11:20 AM

Because there’s an important cup game before the end of the window, as well as other important league games that could go some way to defining our season?

09-01-2020, 11:32 AM
Because there’s an important cup game before the end of the window, as well as other important league games that could go some way to defining our season?

I've never negotiated a player transfer before but would assume the selling clubs and respective players play some kind of role in determining when we get them in?

Just a thought.

09-01-2020, 11:41 AM
I've never negotiated a player transfer before but would assume the selling clubs and respective players play some kind of role in determining when we get them in?

Just a thought.

Of course, but you don’t seriously think clubs/ agents don’t speak to each other until the 1st of January?

09-01-2020, 11:44 AM
If we are going to get a quality player on the last day of the window I'd rather that than bring in just anyone in the first week.

09-01-2020, 11:51 AM
We got most of our transfer business done early in the summer and that went well....

09-01-2020, 11:51 AM
Of course, but you don’t seriously think clubs/ agents don’t speak to each other until the 1st of January?

I assume discussions go on regularly. But agents don't hold the players contract. Clubs do.

My point is that there are potentially a number of reasons why transfers can take longer than some fans expect.

Clubs might want to (a) maximise the fee by holding out for the highest bidder, or (b) want to wait until they've brought in a replacement player.

Similarly players might want to weigh up their options over entire window rather than taking the first offer on the table.

Same principles with us seeing players leave.

People jumping up and down and throwing tantrums isn't going to change this.

Bronson
09-01-2020, 11:53 AM
Fact is heckingbottom left a mess.

Disaster of a manager and his signings most of which don’t play will need moved on.

Vela Maxwell James Jackson all can go. No improvement at all.

Getting rid of both Bartley and Milligan was a disaster

Hopefully jack Ross can bring in a defensive midfielder and we can look a bit more stable in midfield.

Getting rid of bartley and milligan was the correct decision, not bringing in an adequate replacement was the mistake.

sean04
09-01-2020, 11:59 AM
Linked with a move for Curtis Anderson, young English goalie

09-01-2020, 11:59 AM
Getting rid of bartley and milligan was the correct decision, not bringing in an adequate replacement was the mistake.

Let's be absolutely accurate here.

Getting rid might have been the right decision if he'd brought in a better replacement(s).

09-01-2020, 12:02 PM
I assume discussions go on regularly. But agents don't hold the players contract. Clubs do.

My point is that there are potentially a number of reasons why transfers can take longer than some fans expect.

Clubs might want to (a) maximise the fee by holding out for the highest bidder, or (b) want to wait until they've brought in a replacement player.

Similarly players might want to weigh up their options over entire window rather than taking the first offer on the table.

Same principles with us seeing players leave.

People jumping up and down and throwing tantrums isn't going to change this.

Sure, all valid points.

I would point out though that there are players out of contract and most are represented by agents ( Efe, Malumbo etc)

The tantrums are based on frustration and the general perception that we are looking at another season of very inconsistent league performance, with the possibility of being pumped out the cup in less than two weeks from now. A few decent signings could change everything ( I’m probably kidding myself, but we have to hope).

So..............c’mon Senor LittleBig Ron, hand in pockets and splash some cash, otherwise you’ll be looking at 9000 season tickets next season. Why did you buy Hibs anyway and don’t you dare squirrel away the McGinn dosh for some East Mains malarkey. Bad enough treating the pricks to some foreign training camp (wtf, I’d have had them down at Gullane), ps: can I have some chips and working turnstiles please.

09-01-2020, 12:10 PM

I’d heard last week we were looking at bringing in a young keeper from City as our 3rd choice keeper. Or formerly of City

09-01-2020, 12:18 PM
Sure, all valid points.

I would point out though that there are players out of contract and most are represented by agents ( Efe, Malumbo etc)

The tantrums are based on frustration and the general perception that we are looking at another season of very inconsistent league performance, with the possibility of being pumped out the cup in less than two weeks from now. A few decent signings could change everything ( I’m probably kidding myself, but we have to hope).

So..............c’mon Senor LittleBig Ron, hand in pockets and splash some cash, otherwise you’ll be looking at 9000 season tickets next season. Why did you buy Hibs anyway and don’t you dare squirrel away the McGinn dosh for some East Mains malarkey. Bad enough treating the pricks to some foreign training camp (wtf, I’d have had them down at Gullane), ps: can I have some chips and working turnstiles please.

Fair enough. I can only hope the standard of players we are looking at are of a calibre that means we are fighting off other interested clubs.

Time will tell I guess.

09-01-2020, 12:21 PM

Where you seeing this? Is it a loan or some permanent?

09-01-2020, 12:28 PM
We 100% need another goalkeeper.

sean04
09-01-2020, 12:31 PM
I’d heard last week we were looking at bringing in a young keeper from City as our 3rd choice keeper. Or formerly of City

That’s the lad, left city and went to America. Played in England youth teams

sean04
09-01-2020, 12:32 PM
Where you seeing this? Is it a loan or some permanent?

He’s doesn’t have a club so permanent deal. Assuming it will be in the delevopment squad

09-01-2020, 12:36 PM
We 100% need another goalkeeper.

On top of Rocky and Bogdan? We have younger keepers. Unless Rocky is going there is no need for another keeper.

Cracker
09-01-2020, 12:38 PM
He’s doesn’t have a club so permanent deal. Assuming it will be in the delevopment squad

On trial, aged 19 played last season in USA with Charlotte independence 👍🏻

09-01-2020, 12:53 PM
On top of Rocky and Bogdan? We have younger keepers. Unless Rocky is going there is no need for another keeper.

Sorry it was a poor attempt at sarcasm. Doesnt say much about our youth team goalies if they arent trusted to be 3rd choice.

09-01-2020, 01:06 PM
Sorry it was a poor attempt at sarcasm. Doesnt say much about our youth team goalies if they arent trusted to be 3rd choice.

Ah yeh. Exactly. Having 3 first team keepers is a waste of money. Rocky must be away.

09-01-2020, 01:08 PM
On trial, aged 19 played last season in USA with Charlotte independence 👍🏻

Where ex hibs player Steven Thicot plays now.

09-01-2020, 01:09 PM
I like how we’ve went from being liked with McLaughlin, McGeouch and McNulty.

To Mcgeouch signing for Aberdeen, Mcnultys old man ruling a move out right now and Ross saying McLaughlin isn’t happening with us taking a 19 year old keeper on trial.

Proves not many are in the know!

09-01-2020, 01:10 PM
On BBC site, Mulraney and Whighton at Hearts also training with the reserves and told they can leave.

Severe clear out happening over there.

09-01-2020, 01:17 PM
Mathie telling everyone to calm down we are doing our usual business in the background. 👍

09-01-2020, 01:20 PM
Yesterday Anderson posted on Instagram a video of him at Easter Road

09-01-2020, 01:20 PM
Mathie telling everyone to calm down we are doing our usual business in the background. 👍

Calm down and usual business in the same sentence? I hope it isn't the same usual business we done in the summer!

Devonhibs
09-01-2020, 01:21 PM
To be honest, I never thought otherwise.

09-01-2020, 01:22 PM

The only problem I have with that is the fact it was doing "our usual business" that's left is with such a poor, unbalanced squad in the first place!

09-01-2020, 01:22 PM
Mathie short interview on twitter saying we will be doing business -as expected really

09-01-2020, 01:23 PM
I like how we’ve went from being liked with McLaughlin, McGeouch and McNulty.

To Mcgeouch signing for Aberdeen, Mcnultys old man ruling a move out right now and Ross saying McLaughlin isn’t happening with us taking a 19 year old keeper on trial.

Proves not many are in the know!
I've never understood the in the know thing. I never could see how someone could remain in the know through various managerial and back room team changes. Maybe wee Lewis or Tam McCourt are the 5th men.......

09-01-2020, 01:23 PM
Yesterday Anderson posted on Instagram a video of him at Easter Road

Who’s Anderson?

09-01-2020, 01:27 PM
Calm down and usual business in the same sentence? I hope it isn't the same usual business we done in the summer!

For every silver lining ...

sean04
09-01-2020, 01:30 PM
Interview with graeme Mathie saying we’re looking to be active

09-01-2020, 01:31 PM
Who’s Anderson?

Curtis Anderson, young English goalkeeper currently playing in America, Ex Man City

09-01-2020, 01:32 PM
Curtis Anderson, young English goalkeeper currently playing in America, Ex Man City

Ah I see. Cheers

09-01-2020, 01:37 PM
https://twitter.com/Marc_Skinner1/status/1215012705343549441?s=08

Icelandic striker Alfreð Finnbogason being linked to us

09-01-2020, 01:39 PM

Is that the guy who grew up here and supported us?

JDHibs
09-01-2020, 01:39 PM
On BBC site, Mulraney and Whighton at Hearts also training with the reserves and told they can leave.

Severe clear out happening over there.

Been told by a jambo whos normally good with info that Uche, Damour, White & Lee have all been told they arent in Stendals plans. Add in Wighton, Mulraney, Berra & Whelan, they will be saving alot on wages

09-01-2020, 01:41 PM

Yeah, played for Hutchie Vale

09-01-2020, 01:42 PM

Who is the biy who tweeted that though? Looks like someone with about 60 followers?

09-01-2020, 01:42 PM
[QUOTE=JDHibs;6039773, they will be saving alot on wages[/QUOTE]

What they save on wages they will lose on pay-off fees, unless those named can find another club.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

09-01-2020, 01:44 PM
Yeah, played for Hutchie Vale

33 goals in 73 apps for Augsburg in the Bundesliga suggests he might be a bit above our reach.

Percy Vere
09-01-2020, 01:44 PM
Mysterious benefactors and loans. Not a sustainable business model.

Works for Hearts....
Erm ...and look where they are

09-01-2020, 01:46 PM
Been told by a jambo whos normally good with info that Uche, Damour, White & Lee have all been told they arent in Stendals plans. Add in Wighton, Mulraney, Berra & Whelan, they will be saving alot on wages
They will only be saving wages if they actually leave, if they don't leave they have unhappy players on their hands and no money to buy replacements......

Dmas
09-01-2020, 01:46 PM

Yes dad was/is a banker I believe played for hutchie vale, his goals kept Augsburg up last year and was being heavily linked to top end bundesliga clubs I doubt his stocks fell that much he's now coming to us

09-01-2020, 01:47 PM
33 goals in 73 apps for Augsburg in the Bundesliga suggests he might be a bit above our reach.

Just a bit! And no offence to the source, who's clearly a Hibs fan, but I wouldn't call it credible. Over £11m worth of transfer fees spent on him in the last 5 years...

09-01-2020, 01:50 PM

Under contract till 2022, very good goal scoring record at club and international level. Valued at 8.1 million on transfer market.

Think we can file this one under not happening

Just a bit! And no offence to the source, who's clearly a Hibs fan, but I wouldn't call it credible. Over £11m worth of transfer fees spent on him in the last 5 years...

He seems to have had some bad injuries this season but is back training. If we're clutching at straws then Iceland are in the Euro play offs so I guess they'll be pretty desperate for him to get some game time. Maybe a surprise loan?

But, yeah, most likely pish.

Percy Vere

Summer business wasn’t that bad.
Doidge, Hallberg, Newell and Nisbet all decent players.
Wouldn’t discount James either.
Only real let down has been Vela and mibbe Jackson in my opinion and the fact we didn’t sign another striker and defensive mid.

supermcginn
09-01-2020, 01:53 PM
Only real let down has been Vela and mibbe Jackson in my opinion and the fact we didn’t sign another striker and defensive mid.
If they all suddenly left I wouldn't lose any sleep. Halberg has some potential though.

sean04
09-01-2020, 01:53 PM

Sure I read somewhere that his parents had season tickets at Easter road

09-01-2020, 01:55 PM
Who is Nisbet-he’s really under my radar.

In my opinion none of the players you list would have got anywhere near the squad two seasons ago and given our excellent financial position that’s outrageous.

09-01-2020, 01:57 PM
Under contract till 2022, very good goal scoring record at club and international level. Valued at 8.1 million on transfer market.

Yep, very unlikely that we will loan a player worth 8 million who is a goal machine in a top European lean league. Imagine the wages the boy gets.

09-01-2020, 02:02 PM

Only player out of that is Hallberg and he's a Mathie signing, the rest all PH dud signings. Nisbet?

MikeyS
09-01-2020, 02:02 PM

Only 1 on that list I want to keep is Halberg. Who is Nisbet?

09-01-2020, 02:05 PM

Sounds encouraging.
Also, we look to be calling younger guys back and I think Jack Ross has a history of developing youngsters, does he not?

09-01-2020, 02:06 PM
Only player out of that is Hallberg and he's a Mathie signing, the rest all PH dud signings. Nisbet?

I think he meant Naismith not Nisbet:rolleyes:

09-01-2020, 02:07 PM
I think he meant Naismith not Nisbet:rolleyes:

Yea I got that 👍😁

09-01-2020, 02:11 PM
Lewis Morgan going to Inter Miami. Some move for him.

supermcginn
09-01-2020, 02:11 PM
Lewis Morgan joining inter Miami.

09-01-2020, 02:14 PM

Only if they sell all those players.

PH91
09-01-2020, 02:16 PM
Lewis Morgan going to Inter Miami. Some move for him.

I prefer AC Miami myself

09-01-2020, 02:16 PM
Yes dad was/is a banker I believe played for hutchie vale, his goals kept Augsburg up last year and was being heavily linked to top end bundesliga clubs I doubt his stocks fell that much he's now coming to us

Think one or both of his parents were lecturers at Edinburgh university.

09-01-2020, 02:20 PM

They can make them available to teams, but no danger they're just getting rid. They won't be paying up those contracts, I doubt they could afford to even if they wanted to! Doesn't that Damour boy have a 4 year deal?

Great rumour tho! Top man Stu!!

Doidge is a dud? He's got 9 goals this season and was slow in getting started.. how he can be described as a dud is beyond me.

09-01-2020, 02:21 PM
They can make them available to teams, but no danger they're just getting rid. They won't be paying up those contracts, I doubt they could afford to even if they wanted to! Doesn't that Damour boy have a 4 year deal?

Damour was being touted on here by some as an exceptional signing in the summer.

Lol.

09-01-2020, 02:22 PM
Damour was being touted on here by some as an exceptional signing in the summer.

Lol.

To be fair, he's exceptionally pish. :greengrin

Dmas
09-01-2020, 02:22 PM

Ah that sounds more right, I’d go with you on that one

09-01-2020, 02:23 PM

His Dad was studying for a masters at EU for 2 years.

http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2018/06/17/hutchison-vale-legend-tam-smith-recalls-coaching-iceland-hero-alfred-finnbogason-after-striker-notches-first-ever-world-cup-goal-against-argentina-lionel-messi/

09-01-2020, 02:23 PM

I'd mentioned on another thread i hadn't seen Dabrowski name mentioned for Cowdenbeath recently, i believe he had a good start there on loan. Is he injured at the moment.

supermcginn
09-01-2020, 02:24 PM
Doidge is a dud? He's got 9 goals this season and was slow in getting started.. how he can be described as a dud is beyond me.

If someone offered us what we paid for him we would snap their hand off. He's not great in the slightest.

09-01-2020, 02:27 PM

How many games till he scored? How many goals were sclaffs or miss hit shots, jeez one was so badly miss hit from 2yds out it was missing the target until it got deflected in. My opinion Calum.

09-01-2020, 02:29 PM

I wondered when he'd start getting linked to us. Probably still too good though.

09-01-2020, 02:31 PM

Didn’t Butcher tell various players they weren’t in his plans then he had to go back to them for vital games in our relegation run in?

Ruthless but risky strategy.

09-01-2020, 02:34 PM
Didn’t Butcher tell various players they weren’t in his plans then he had to go back to them for vital games in our relegation run in?

Yep, lined them up in January and told certain players they could leave now and many of the rest they'd be gone in the summer. Not the best way to motivate anyone.

09-01-2020, 02:36 PM
How many games till he scored? How many goals were sclaffs or miss hit shots, jeez one was so badly miss hit from 2yds out it was missing the target until it got deflected in. My opinion Calum.

I think he offers something different. Doesn't matter how they go in. For perspective, looking at his record it's very similar to Jason Cummings who some folk were creaming themselves over getting back recently.

#persevered
09-01-2020, 02:37 PM

Yeah think a lot of jambos are celebrating early. Just because stendal says he doesn't want them, doesn't mean they'll find new clubs, could easily end up with a few of them just running down their contracts. Damour has 3+ years left so there's no way he just goes without it costing them some proper money.

JDHibs
09-01-2020, 02:47 PM

Very risky. Especially the way Berra, who is still the club captain, has been dealt with. Alot of the younger lads look up to Berra, potential they stay loyal to him over Stendal, we all know how that ends...

09-01-2020, 02:51 PM
Yeah think a lot of jambos are celebrating early. Just because stendal says he doesn't want them, doesn't mean they'll find new clubs, could easily end up with a few of them just running down their contracts. Damour has 3+ years left so there's no way he just goes without it costing them some proper money.

Could just imagine Stendel sending out a WhatsApp...

Hi Christophe. Emm bit awkward but emm, I know I said you were ***** and made you train with Harry Cochrane but Halkett over indulged in Easter eggs and doesn't even fit in to Uches kit now, emm, any chance you can play for the last few games to try and secure a playoff spot?

Herr Stendel

09-01-2020, 03:02 PM

Lol.Think it was an understable predictive text gaff.

The boy is exceptional at singing. Anyone could make the same mistake.

09-01-2020, 03:05 PM
Think it was an understable predictive text gaff.

The boy is exceptional at singing. Anyone could make the same mistake.

I think there will be plenty of clubs willing to take a Chanson Damour......

09-01-2020, 03:06 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/we-are-actively-discussions-number-players-and-clubs-hibs-chief-gives-update-clubs-transfer-window-1360139

09-01-2020, 03:07 PM

Same guy tweeted in January last year that Lennon had been sacked and Mark Warburton had been given a 2 year contract by us :greengrin

09-01-2020, 03:08 PM
I think there will be plenty of clubs willing to take a Chanson Damour......[emoji23][emoji23]

09-01-2020, 03:08 PM
I think there will be plenty of clubs willing to take a Chanson Damour......

Transfer to Manhattan?

09-01-2020, 03:10 PM

Spoke to my Jambo mate and said it is all very butcheresque to which he said it had to be done. I then asked what does he do if he can't get in the players he wants or there is an injury crisis. His honest answer is then they are goosed and relegated. It maybe had to be done but it was after he had got a few of his own players in. A hugely high risk strategy but they are facing relegation so probably felt he had to do something. Amazing how their fans are backing a manager with one point out of a possible 15 and who they know nothing about.

09-01-2020, 03:12 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/we-are-actively-discussions-number-players-and-clubs-hibs-chief-gives-update-clubs-transfer-window-1360139

That’s exactly the update we need and keeps us hoping that good players could be added. It’s so much better than saying happy with what we have and won’t be looking to add unless we can shift players out. That is all that they needed to say. Well done eventually. 👍