View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2019-20 transfer thread
29-01-2020, 06:46 AM
Good to see the club looking at players who are doing it week in week out in our league, some will find it uninspiring mind and maybe not the same excitement of an unknown quantity
29-01-2020, 06:47 AM
Good to see the club looking at players who are doing it week in week out in our league, some will find it uninspiring mind and maybe not the same excitement of an unknown quantity
I think it’s different with a young up and coming player.
Imo most people would be pretty happy with someone like him signing
29-01-2020, 06:48 AM
Quick check of Wikipedia would suggest he and Ross would have been at St Mirren together?
Might also give us an edge over Aberdeen if we’re interested in him.
In a parallel dimension Ross Jack is trying to sign Stewart Ross.
Paloschi
29-01-2020, 06:49 AM
Ross Stewart and McNulty in and Kamberi out? 🤔
sean04
29-01-2020, 07:08 AM
[QUOTE=SMAXXA;6062422]Good to see the club looking at players who are doing it week in week out in our league, some will find it uninspiring mind and maybe not the same excitement of an unknown quantity[/QUO
Stick these players into a better team and they will only get better
29-01-2020, 07:10 AM
Zero percent 😊
29-01-2020, 07:14 AM
Aberdeen also interested which was a bit disappointing to read.
If we’ve made a move already though and they’re waiting to see what happens with Cosgrove then hopefully we can steal a march on them.
What kind of striker is he? Big and good in the air, quick, a poacher, a number 10 or a bit of them all?
Of course they are
If cosgrove goes I fully expect him to join Aberdeen but it would be nice for hibs to surprise us
29-01-2020, 07:17 AM
I wouldn’t be overly disappointed with that. Flo needs to do more for us.
29-01-2020, 07:18 AM
I wouldn’t be overly disappointed with that. Flo needs to do more for us.
Would take that
29-01-2020, 07:23 AM
Seems strange that Ross Stewart wasnt part of the Shaw deal unless certain things have changed recently.
Also does anyone know how much longer he's going to be out for? Last played 29th December.
sean04
29-01-2020, 07:26 AM
Depends what kind of money we would get
29-01-2020, 07:31 AM
Would require a big six figure fee according to this. Scott Burns is usually very reliable.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/ross-stewart-hibs-aberdeen-transfer-21380751
Aberdeen also interested. Next!
29-01-2020, 07:32 AM
Aberdeen also interested. Next!
Only if Cosgrove is sold though? And we are the only ones to have made contact so far.
K-Zazu
29-01-2020, 07:38 AM
Spend some money hibs!
29-01-2020, 07:39 AM
Yeah but that’s not a club position is what I was meaning
ah sorry, i get you. whatever the role, will be good having him back.
29-01-2020, 07:41 AM
Why are Aberdeen players getting these ludicrous valuations? Coscrgove 7 million and that McKenna 10 million? Maybe I'm missing something and just don't understand the game
Usually people moan that players in Scotland are massively undervalued by English leagues, but when English leagues prepare to spend bigger amounts we question it?
29-01-2020, 07:44 AM
Usually people moan that players in Scotland are massively undervalued by English leagues, but when English leagues prepare to spend bigger amounts we question it?
Because McKenna is ****ing rancid.
sean04
29-01-2020, 07:52 AM
McKenna is so overrated it’s ridiculous
29-01-2020, 07:59 AM
McKenna is so overrated it’s ridiculous
Which is why he has not been sold yet. It’s the same with Morelos. Neither player worth the silly price tags put on them by their clubs.
K-Zazu
29-01-2020, 08:00 AM
Which is why he has not been sold yet. It’s the same with Morelos. Neither player worth the silly price tags put on them by their clubs.
Morelos is a goal machine
29-01-2020, 08:08 AM
Quality player but not worth what Rangers tout him as worth. Add in the disciplinary factor and you see why he is still there.
29-01-2020, 08:10 AM
BBC reporting Hearts are in talks to sign Craig Gordon.
Be a good signing.
29-01-2020, 08:13 AM
Noticed the Daily Record piece said Stoke had offered Aberdeen £2m plus add-ons for Cosgrove.
That seemed to me about right - he's certainly not a £7m player
Then again, I'm one of those who thinks it's amazing that Year 2000 was 20 years ago because it seems to me like 1980 was only 20 years ago
29-01-2020, 08:27 AM
Thinking about it, how much could County realistically ask for?
We gave them Shaw who is younger and scored more goals in the top league?
JimboHibs
29-01-2020, 08:38 AM
Doidge is a goal machine 💚
29-01-2020, 09:00 AM
We won’t let Boyle or Kamberi go now. I’m almost 100% sure of it
Neither are going this window, especially as the cup is still on.
Souter96Mac
29-01-2020, 09:03 AM
BBC reporting Hearts are in talks to sign Craig Gordon.
Be a good signing.
They must have some wage bill, even currently. Gordon won't be cheap.
29-01-2020, 09:09 AM
Neither are going this window, especially as the cup is still on.
Maybe kamberi if we’re looking at Stewart & McNulty
I wouldn’t lose much sleep over kamberi moving on. Another poor performance last night
Inconsistency personified
29-01-2020, 09:12 AM
Aberdeen are also interested in R S and, if it boils down to money, we might struggle to compete. I’d like to think we stand a chance with M McN. I’m in the minority but I would prefer to hold on to F K, unless a new striker coming in really depended on cash from selling him. Rotating Doidge, McNulty and Kamberi is not too shabby.
29-01-2020, 09:19 AM
Kamberi is a better player than McNulty.
29-01-2020, 09:20 AM
McGeady in the stand tonight. Been told to leave Sunderland.
33 year old... past his best.
Not coming
29-01-2020, 09:24 AM
Aberdeen are also interested in R S and, if it boils down to money, we might struggle to compete. I’d like to think we stand a chance with M McN. I’m in the minority but I would prefer to hold on to F K, unless a new striker coming in really depended on cash from selling him. Rotating Doidge, McNulty and Kamberi is not too shabby.
I wouldn't be dissapointed if he chose Aberdeen over us.
29-01-2020, 09:24 AM
I can’t see McGeady just sitting at home today and then take a random notion to watch Hibs v Dundee Utd in the freezing cold on a Tuesday night either!
Ever consider he may be a DUFC target?
Greenworld
29-01-2020, 09:25 AM
Aberdeen also interested. Next!They already have 100k plus they paid for shaw.
So we use that topped up with 150k and buy him now .
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
29-01-2020, 09:27 AM
He better pony up for his own plane ticket then.
That ticket and accommodation has already been "ponied up" by a benifactor.
Greenworld
29-01-2020, 09:27 AM
Neither are going this window, especially as the cup is still on.Wouldn't be so sure only a gut feeling but still think Boyle might be away . He is the one player that can fund us getting a few more in with quality
Maybe kamberi if we’re looking at Stewart & McNulty
I wouldn’t lose much sleep over kamberi moving on. Another poor performance last night
Inconsistency personified
Really! He played about 20 minutes!
29-01-2020, 09:36 AM
Unless Boyle is hankering for a move, I don’t think JR will even consider getting rid of him.
29-01-2020, 09:40 AM
He was poor when he was on, his touch let him down as did his decision making. I like him, he's just stuck in a rut just now I think.
GreenPJ
29-01-2020, 09:45 AM
Unless they have already factored in Shankland's sale they can't afford anyone like that based on their wages to turnover ratio.
29-01-2020, 09:51 AM
They’d be mental to take on McGeady on presumably big wages when the league is in the bag and they’re out all the cups now.
mentalhibee
29-01-2020, 10:18 AM
I’d take Mcgeady reckon he’d still be class at this level.
29-01-2020, 10:18 AM
Correct and for they 20 minutes he was *****?
Ball never stuck to him done nothing but give it away
He’s the most inconsistent player we have
29-01-2020, 10:21 AM
They are tempted to change tact and move for 5 million rated Doidge
Start by offering £15m and we can discuss add-ons.
29-01-2020, 10:25 AM
In a parallel dimension Ross Jack is trying to sign Stewart Ross.
From Ross County.
29-01-2020, 10:30 AM
Correct. He came on at the 70 minute mark so he actually played 24 minutes.
Maybe with more time he would have got more into the game, but he didn't contribute positively in the quarter game he was given, imo.
29-01-2020, 10:31 AM
He was poor when he was on, his touch let him down as did his decision making. I like him, he's just stuck in a rut just now I think.
Nothing was coming off for him but there was no shortage of effort and I thought we played better as a team when he was on.
29-01-2020, 11:17 AM
True, but let English teams pay 7million for rank players, hopefully that could lead to bigger bids on better players in the future.
Players in Scotland have been undervalued by the English leagues for far too long IMO.
Gypsy King
29-01-2020, 11:26 AM
Got a mate that works in hospitality at Hibs and they say Kamberi is an arrogant erse.
He's a billy big baws wae a daft wee piece to back it up .
green with envy
29-01-2020, 11:35 AM
Got a mate that works in hospitality at Hibs and they say Kamberi is an arrogant erse.
WTF!:confused:
29-01-2020, 11:36 AM
'Piece' in this context meaning a)sandwich b)gun c) his burd?:confused:
29-01-2020, 11:39 AM
A guy I work with bumps into Kamberi in Morrisons on the regular and says he couldn't be a nicer guy. Always happy to stand and chat etc.
Funny that.
29-01-2020, 11:40 AM
A guy I work with bumps into Kamberi in Morrisons on the regular and says he couldn't be a nicer guy. Always happy to stand and chat etc.
Funny that.
I've a friend that knows him and says the same.
29-01-2020, 11:43 AM
Funny that.
He will soon get pissed off if your mate keeps bumping into him.
29-01-2020, 11:44 AM
Well that’s us all comprehensively genned up on Kamberi’s nether regions. :greengrin I’ve heard the rumours about his self importance but I’m not too worried about players having a wee bit swagger and arrogance.
29-01-2020, 11:44 AM
He will soon get pissed off if your mate keeps bumping into him.
I dunno, I wouldn't call him my mate, he's a Jambo :greengrin
29-01-2020, 11:53 AM
If it's a cheese and tomato piece I'd agree. No need for that nonsense. Ham and cheese is acceptable though
Gypsy King
29-01-2020, 11:54 AM
Talks the talk - doesn't walk the walk, more flicks and tricks than actual goals and assists.
Gypsy King
29-01-2020, 11:56 AM
Well that’s us all comprehensively genned up on Kamberi’s nether regions. :greengrin I’ve heard the rumours about his self importance but I’m not too worried about players having a wee bit swagger and arrogance.
I want the guy to do well. That type of character though. We all know one. Turn up to fives bells and whistles fancy touches and wee flicks trying to rainbow flick someone and score a belter. His team get beat every week.
29-01-2020, 11:57 AM
Dunno if it’s covered earlier but just noticed the boy Hogan at Villa is away to Birmingham on loan.
29-01-2020, 11:59 AM
Dunno if it’s covered earlier but just noticed the boy Hogan at Villa is away to Birmingham on loan.
Wonder how Birmingham fans feel about that.
29-01-2020, 12:14 PM
:hilarious:hilarious
29-01-2020, 12:14 PM
Met Kamberi once up town with my son. He was very nice and spent a few minutes talking to him about Football.
I think some people never got over Lennon leaving and kamberi's "involvement" in it. Nothing wrong with criticising his performances and inconsistency which are frustrating because hes clearly talented but the personal slants at it ever since last January has been stinking and not a coincidence.
29-01-2020, 12:24 PM
Correct. He came on at the 70 minute mark so he actually played 24 minutes.
Maybe with more time he would have got more into the game, but he didn't contribute positively in the quarter game he was given, imo.
Wee bit more positive than negative for me and we won the tie in those 24 mins....
29-01-2020, 12:25 PM
Wonder how Birmingham fans feel about that.
Usually results in a burning effigy of some sort.
29-01-2020, 12:25 PM
Knob.
Not you. The piece.
29-01-2020, 12:26 PM
I want the guy to do well. That type of character though. We all know one. Turn up to fives bells and whistles fancy touches and wee flicks trying to rainbow flick someone and score a belter. His team get beat every week.
Is this still .net?
Orchard_Hibs
29-01-2020, 12:26 PM
Just to add some balance to the hospitality worker statement, one of my waitress work’s in the hospitality at ER from time to time and she said that there is very little interaction with players at all. the ones that are their like motm post game are really nice and friendly towards both staff and guests.
29-01-2020, 12:27 PM
Gary Gardener went on loan from Villa to Birmingham last season
29-01-2020, 12:30 PM
Wee bit more positive than negative for me and we won the tie in those 24 mins....
That's true.
Maybe a reflection on Scott Allan's contribution more than Flo's.
It was a very good game and an excellent result. I'm delighted I made the journey. It does seem that we're making progress under Ross.
Nothing was coming off for him but there was no shortage of effort and I thought we played better as a team when he was on.
Thanks, I'm not supporting him, I have reservations about his attitude but as long as he put in the effort i dont see how a 21 minute cameo can be described as 'another poor performance'.
29-01-2020, 12:33 PM
Knob.
Not you. The piece.
I'm amazed the size of his manhood is apparent to patrons of hospitality. I certainly never knew this was on the menu when I was there recently :confused:
29-01-2020, 12:34 PM
That's true.
It was a very good game and an excellent result. I'm delighted I made the journey. It does seem that we're making progress under Ross.
Train home?
29-01-2020, 12:35 PM
I'm amazed the size of his manhood is apparent to patrons of hospitality. I certainly never knew this was on the menu when I was there recently :confused:
It was right there next to "spotted '.
superbam
29-01-2020, 01:03 PM
Met Kamberi once up town with my son. He was very nice and spent a few minutes talking to him about Football.
I think some people never got over Lennon leaving and kamberi's "involvement" in it. Nothing wrong with criticising his performances and inconsistency which are frustrating because hes clearly talented but the personal slants at it ever since last January has been stinking and not a coincidence.
100% this. Only explanation I can think of for the otherwise baffling and often hysterical hostility towards him from some.
29-01-2020, 01:05 PM
Train home?
On it now. Arrives at 2.38.
29-01-2020, 01:09 PM
100% this. Only explanation I can think of for the otherwise baffling and often hysterical hostility towards him from some.
I haven't read any hysterical hostility towards him. There's certainly none from me.
I just don't think his contribution to the team is good enough and that his decision making is baffling at times.
Other opinions are available.
Percy Vere
29-01-2020, 01:11 PM
Thinking about it, how much could County realistically ask for?
We gave them Shaw who is younger and scored more goals in the top league?
£150k with add ons?
Walter
29-01-2020, 01:12 PM
I mind a time when players got described as gallus.
they weren't on it all the time but when they were they were terrific.
Nowadays nobody accepts that
Percy Vere
29-01-2020, 01:15 PM
I agree, he puts himself about and that creates space for the likes of Boyle, Newell, Alan to set up the Doidge. So even when he’s not scoring he’s contributing.
29-01-2020, 01:17 PM
Heard from a speculative source (Tom Boyd) that Mcgeady deal is on
29-01-2020, 01:22 PM
On it now. Arrives at 2.38.
Magic. Or as wised to say, ‘Ya Cow”...:greengrin
29-01-2020, 01:27 PM
Heard from a speculative source (Tom Boyd) that Mcgeady deal is on
Not according to Jack Ross.
supermcginn
29-01-2020, 01:37 PM
He's hardly going to spill the beans, If you think mcgeady was at easter road last night watching 2 teams in the freezing cold he has no connection with, in a city he doesn't live in, just for the love of football then you are wrong.
BlackSheep
29-01-2020, 01:37 PM
So we should take everything said by a manager in an interview to be gospel truth now?
Let's be a little open minded and see what happens?
Greenworld
29-01-2020, 01:46 PM
Heard from a speculative source (Tom Boyd) that Mcgeady deal is onI think the only way that might happen. Is if Boyle is going
Steven79
29-01-2020, 01:47 PM
I think the only way that might happen. Is if Boyle is going
That's a piss poor swap if it does happen...
29-01-2020, 01:48 PM
He's hardly going to spill the beans, If you think mcgeady was at easter road last night watching 2 teams in the freezing cold he has no connection with, in a city he doesn't live in, just for the love of football then you are wrong.
So we should take everything said by a manager in an interview to be gospel truth now?
Let's be a little open minded and see what happens?
I take your point but if they were trying to maintain a bit of secrecy about any transaction, I doubt whether McGeady would be casually sitting in the stand. I wouldn’t mind being proved wrong but I’ve a feeling there might be another reason he was there last night.
Souter96Mac
29-01-2020, 01:51 PM
I think the only way that might happen. Is if Boyle is going
Obviously not like for like, but I'd imagine it would be Kamberi leaving instead. McGeady and at least another forward in.
29-01-2020, 01:51 PM
Ross sounded genuinely surprised McGeady was there
HibeeMassive
29-01-2020, 01:53 PM
That's a piss poor swap if it does happen...
Agree, but on the flip side if Boyle has said he's wanting to go - then to get someone of McGeady's pedigree would be a good stop gap until the end of the season rather than taking a punt on a young guy from down south on loan.
Would much, much, rather keep Boyler though :worried:
29-01-2020, 01:59 PM
Magic. Or as wised to say, ‘Ya Cow”...:greengrin
Santa la Doodah! :greengrin
29-01-2020, 02:04 PM
Ross sounded genuinely surprised McGeady was there
If you look at what he says I don’t think he denies we are signing him, just that he didn’t know he was at the game.
Sounds like there’s other priorities but we’re trying to get it done.
29-01-2020, 03:24 PM
Santa la Doodah! :greengrin
29-01-2020, 03:35 PM
Gordon to Hearts - rejected by Celtic.
Stewart to Hibs - game on.
Ross or Greg Stewart Speedway?
29-01-2020, 03:39 PM
Ross
Ross
Cheers Andy. Thought it might be him but wasn’t sure!
29-01-2020, 03:41 PM
Ross to sign Ross, Aldo.
I'm assuming that means we can't break McNulty out of Reading or Nisbet out of the Pars.
Ross to sign Ross, Aldo.
I'm assuming that means we can't break McNulty out of Reading or Nisbet out of the Pars.
Ha.
Cheers. Yeah looks that way however maybe Uncle Ron will get the chequebook out?? (Inset me laughing)
I would expect another CF as well as Stewart tbh.
29-01-2020, 03:44 PM
It’s a funny one with the Stewart lad?
I haven’t really heard and don’t know if he’s any good, got to trust the team to get it right.
Anyone know anything about him?
I know Nisbet has been mentioned a lot but I wonder if a we’ve never been keen or we are just priced out amidst other interest.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
29-01-2020, 03:50 PM
County fans seem to rate Stewart, his scoring record doesn’t seem up to much this season aside though. Been linked with some championship clubs after he scored a few this season, think he’s on 11 goals. He’s currently out injured and won’t be back till mid February.
hibs#1
29-01-2020, 03:51 PM
I haven’t really heard and don’t know if he’s any good, got to trust the team to get it right.
I know Nisbet has been mentioned a lot but I wonder if a we’ve never been keen or we are just priced out amidst other interest.
I think Jack Ross signed him for St Mirren.
29-01-2020, 03:51 PM
He scored against in Dingwall at the game late last year. Know he plays up front, but not sure if he’s a central striker or not
Is he not out injured just now?
29-01-2020, 03:52 PM
I remember him mostly for this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bMTe_26Je8
29-01-2020, 03:52 PM
Ha.
Cheers. Yeah looks that way however maybe Uncle Ron will get the chequebook out?? (Inset me laughing)
I would expect another CF as well as Stewart tbh.
I don't think it has anything to do with Ron's chequebook, tbh. At the moment, McNulty is still wanted by Sunderland and Nesbitt has other suitors.
As far as I'm led to believe, anyway.
29-01-2020, 03:53 PM
County fans seem to rate Stewart, his scoring record doesn’t seem up to much this season aside though. Been linked with some championship clubs after he scored a few goals this season, think he’s on 11 goals. He’s currently out injured and won’t be back till mid February.
Hmm no really keen to be buying an injured player to be honest.
It must be the case that Nisbet is a no go which is hugely unfortunate. Looked like the exact type of striker we needed.
29-01-2020, 03:53 PM
County fans seem to rate Stewart, his scoring record doesn’t seem up to much this season aside though. Been linked with some championship clubs after he scored a few goals this season, think he’s on 11 goals. He’s currently out injured and won’t be back till mid February.
Aberdeen are also keeping tabs on him
29-01-2020, 03:54 PM
Ross to sign Ross, Aldo.
Cant wait for his interview. Sounds like the Rev I Am Jolly :greengrin:
I don't think it has anything to do with Ron's chequebook, tbh. At the moment, McNulty is still wanted by Sunderland and Nesbitt has other suitors.
Things can change so hopefully some movement on one or both fronts!
29-01-2020, 03:55 PM
County fans seem to rate Stewart, his scoring record doesn’t seem up to much this season aside though. Been linked with some championship clubs after he scored a few this season, think he’s on 11 goals. He’s currently out injured and won’t be back till mid February.
How long has he been out? It’s mid Feb soon.
29-01-2020, 03:56 PM
Interesting stats from last month
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18106546.ross-countys-ross-stewart-quickly-becoming-one-premierships-best-strikers/
29-01-2020, 03:57 PM
How long has he been out? It’s mid Feb soon.
He got injured last game before winter shutdown, with a hamstring injury
Says 2 months on this
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/ross-county/1949726/countys-cowie-back-in-training-after-nine-months-out/amp/
londonhibby
29-01-2020, 04:02 PM
Sports editor at (one of) my works (Highland News and Media) rates Stewart highly and says we're the only ones to have made a formal approach. Doesn't think Stoke will take it further but doesn't know for sure about Aberdeen (but thinks that's unlikely too).
29-01-2020, 04:03 PM
Sports editor at (one of) my works (Highland News and Media) rates Stewart highly and says we're the only ones to make a formal approach so far. Doesn't think Stoke will come in for him and that Aberdeen are only 'interested'.
I thought it was Shankland that Stoke we’re looking at. Where does it all stop?
29-01-2020, 04:05 PM
I suppose you do have to question where the chequebook is though. We need players and it would be great to get Nesbit in.
We have an extremely rich owner and there *seems* to be a lack of budget
hibbydad
29-01-2020, 04:05 PM
I have seen him on tv playing for county and was impressed with him
Percy Vere
29-01-2020, 04:07 PM
That's true.
Given Flo came on at 72 mins for Scott Allan it might have more to do with Flos contribution.
K-Zazu
29-01-2020, 04:13 PM
Stewart would be a cracking signing,
29-01-2020, 04:13 PM
He doesn’t seem much of an improvement on Oli Shaw whom we have just sold to Ross Co.:confused::confused:
29-01-2020, 04:16 PM
Interesting stats from last month
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18106546.ross-countys-ross-stewart-quickly-becoming-one-premierships-best-strikers/
Nice article
Percy Vere
29-01-2020, 04:19 PM
Scored two headers against us.
29-01-2020, 04:25 PM
He doesn’t seem much of an improvement on Oli Shaw whom we have just sold to Ross Co.:confused::confused:
Apart from the fact he’s been playing regular first team football and scoring this season
29-01-2020, 04:25 PM
You seen enough of him to make that statement aye?
londonhibby
29-01-2020, 04:27 PM
Sports editor at work reckons he'll cost us at least twice what Shaw cost County.
29-01-2020, 04:27 PM
Seems a huge upgrade on Shaw to me
29-01-2020, 04:29 PM
Sports editor at work reckons he'll cost us at least twice what Shaw cost County.
200k should be manageable if we’re serious about it. Could be a sound investment
29-01-2020, 04:31 PM
200k should be manageable if we’re serious about it. Could be a sound investment
Has it been stated anywhere by a credible source that County paid 100k? I for one don't believe it for a minute.....
29-01-2020, 04:31 PM
No him again that damned Sports Editor At Work guy. Seek of him.
29-01-2020, 04:33 PM
https://www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/swansea-city-preston-championship-transfer-17645996
Liam Cullen from Swansea?
29-01-2020, 04:33 PM
No him again that damned Sports Editor At Work guy. Seek of him.
Better than the Jannys sisters husbands uncle as being the source
29-01-2020, 04:36 PM
Better than the Jannys sisters husbands uncle as being the source
He’s as bad but at least he gets some action.
supermcginn
29-01-2020, 04:37 PM
He's scored 11 goals since shaw scored 1!
29-01-2020, 04:38 PM
https://www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/swansea-city-preston-championship-transfer-17645996
Seems like more of a player we’ll end up with as oppose to Stewart/Nisbet etc
Percy Vere
29-01-2020, 04:40 PM
Scored two headers against us.
HendoDelivered
29-01-2020, 04:45 PM
Just seen this on Twitter:
Marc McNulty is wanted by Hibernian and a deal is likely to happen for him to link up again with Jack Ross for the remainder of season.
[@jonathanl50] #readingfc
29-01-2020, 04:51 PM
I think we will see Kamberi go and sign mcnulty and another striker
29-01-2020, 04:51 PM
Was mentioned yesterday.
Had a look on the Swansea forum and they seem to think the account that made the link yesterday is reliable and good for Swansea info.
They also seem to really rate the guy, out of contract in the summer so they’ll either be giving him a new contract and loaning him out straight away or we’ll be signing him on a permanent deal. Seemed to be uncertainty as to whether we’d be due them anything with it being a cross border transfer.
Torto7
29-01-2020, 04:56 PM
Looking at that Walesonline article it says that Barry McKay could go out this window. I wonder if we're interested? He fits the profile of players we've signed before.
Lee Marvin
29-01-2020, 05:01 PM
I think we will see Kamberi go and sign mcnulty and another striker
Would be happy with this if get reasonable money for Kamberi. Infact, I'd be delighted
29-01-2020, 05:07 PM
Would be happy with this if get reasonable money for Kamberi. Infact, I'd be delighted
To be reinvested or what?
29-01-2020, 05:11 PM
Looking at that Walesonline article it says that Barry McKay could go out this window. I wonder if we're interested? He fits the profile of players we've signed before.
Cup-final-hero-for-knocking-a-long-diagonal-out-of-play-in-injury-time Barry McKay? He probably saved me from a heart attack, so yeah, why not? :agree::greengrin
29-01-2020, 05:18 PM
I have a feeling Mr McGeady will be announced shortly.
Roxyhibee
29-01-2020, 05:19 PM
Cup-final-hero-for-knocking-a-long-diagonal-out-of-play-in-injury-time Barry McKay? He probably saved me from a heart attack, so yeah, why not? :agree::greengrin
Frequently in my mind, I still see that ball sailing behind our defence...
Got to be one of our favourite opposition passes ever
29-01-2020, 05:23 PM
Best momentary relief I've had since I was a virgin and discovered something for the first time. Thanks Barry.
29-01-2020, 05:23 PM
Me tae
Why would he randomly be at Easter rd on a Tuesday night watching the game
29-01-2020, 05:24 PM
Is that based on Barries (hibs announcer) tweet?
29-01-2020, 05:24 PM
Course it is.
29-01-2020, 05:25 PM
Sure he also scored the winner for them against Celtic in the Semi?
Had we played Celtic there would have been no Stokes or Henderson.
29-01-2020, 05:25 PM
Indeed mate.
James Stephen
29-01-2020, 05:26 PM
Best momentary relief I've had since I was a virgin and discovered something for the first time. Thanks Barry.
Your first time was with someone called Barry?
29-01-2020, 05:28 PM
Indeed mate.
Whats making you think it’s in relation to mcgeady?
29-01-2020, 05:28 PM
Was more "solo clapping on the plaza" than an actual person
sean04
29-01-2020, 05:29 PM
It’s McNulty not mcgeady
29-01-2020, 05:30 PM
It’s McNulty not mcgeady
McNulty is on the bench for Sunderland tonight so there’s been no deal concluded as of yet...
29-01-2020, 05:31 PM
Whats making you think it’s in relation to mcgeady?
Just a feeling. Could be wrong of course.
James Stephen
29-01-2020, 05:32 PM
Was more "solo clapping on the plaza" than an actual person
😀
HendoDelivered
29-01-2020, 05:34 PM
I reckon it’ might be McNulty as well. Just spoken to his Dad but nothing done yet. Would probably take McGeady as well though tbf.
29-01-2020, 05:35 PM
McNulty is on the bench for Sunderland tonight so there’s been no deal concluded as of yet...
They haven't announced their team yet..
29-01-2020, 05:40 PM
Liam Cullen sign contract extention with Swansea.
sean04
29-01-2020, 05:40 PM
Find out in 5mins
29-01-2020, 05:41 PM
That’s why you create books :wink:
29-01-2020, 05:41 PM
To be reinvested or what?
To allow Ron to buy a Pony sanctuary in Peru perhaps?
sean04
29-01-2020, 05:42 PM
McNultys dad tweeted good luck to Sunderland and his son 2 hours ago
29-01-2020, 05:44 PM
He's on the bench.
HendoDelivered
29-01-2020, 05:50 PM
He’s pushing for a move to Hibs and wants to play for us. Just needs to gaffer to let him go.
supermcginn
29-01-2020, 05:56 PM
Hopefully it's mcgeady, far superior player to McNulty.
29-01-2020, 05:57 PM
What's the tweet being referenced?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
29-01-2020, 05:59 PM
Loan to Hibs?
29-01-2020, 06:03 PM
Barrie will be getting a new mic or something
29-01-2020, 06:07 PM
Loan to Hibs?
Absolutley nae idea
29-01-2020, 06:09 PM
I'm on my way to HTC....i'll see if anyone is in the shed.
29-01-2020, 06:21 PM
What tweet
29-01-2020, 06:21 PM
This just in from my Swansea academy mate re: Cullen.
Its always a gamble with academy players but hes highly rated here and we want him blooded ready for next season. Just signed a 2.5 year contract after scoring 4 against Everton under 23s.
Small not very quick technically tidy and knows where the back of the net is.
29-01-2020, 06:22 PM
What tweet
Can you be more specific
EAZY-ME
29-01-2020, 06:23 PM
Jack said things will be done Friday
NC1875
29-01-2020, 06:26 PM
What’s Barrie’s tweet saying for those of us not on twitter ?
29-01-2020, 06:27 PM
Jack said things will be done Friday
He’s gonna do hings?
We need BB back, he’s done hings.
29-01-2020, 06:32 PM
https://twitter.com/Barriestweeting/status/1222574043477561346?s=20
Could just mean a new tannoy!
29-01-2020, 06:34 PM
What’s Barrie’s tweet saying for those of us not on twitter ?
👀👀👀👀👏👏👏👏 Is exactly what he tweeted, very cryptic, done similar when Kamberi and Maclaren resigned
HendoDelivered
29-01-2020, 06:36 PM
Will go on loan
29-01-2020, 06:36 PM
My first time was Barry.
I mean, it was anything but Barry for her but it was Barry for me.
29-01-2020, 06:46 PM
Alan Nixon saying Sunderland want 10k paid in wages for McGeady
29-01-2020, 06:46 PM
I was well aware of that, Dazzling Doidge!
29-01-2020, 06:48 PM
For a loan? Well we’re not in for him if that’s true, what would be the point?
29-01-2020, 06:50 PM
For a loan? Well we’re not in for him if that’s true, what would be the point?
Replacement for Boyle?
How many weeks until the end of the season?
29-01-2020, 06:51 PM
Replacement for Boyle?
How many weeks until the end of the season?
That would go down well 🤥
29-01-2020, 06:53 PM
👀👀👀👀👏👏👏👏 Is exactly what he tweeted, very cryptic, done similar when Kamberi and Maclaren resigned
So we are resigning the PA System? Not amused if correct. It 's not got another season in it at this level.
29-01-2020, 06:54 PM
So we are resigning the PA System? Not amused if correct. It 's not got another season in it at this level.
I thought the PA system was injured 😳
29-01-2020, 06:57 PM
I thought the PA system was injured 😳
Yep. Two weeks
29-01-2020, 06:57 PM
Nobody in the barn. Some people in the conference room and it’s locked.
:hyper:
29-01-2020, 06:58 PM
I’ll call the police
29-01-2020, 06:59 PM
That’s very Die Hard. Should I call John McClane?
sean04
29-01-2020, 07:00 PM
Hibs are looking into it, hopefully nobody wants him and we can get him cheaper. Think Sunderland just want him away
29-01-2020, 07:00 PM
I’ve seen that before at a barn dance!!!
Get in the bushes and wait and see who comes out!
29-01-2020, 07:02 PM
Underscore lurking around the corridors of east mains trying every door to see if a new signing is hiding behind it
29-01-2020, 07:06 PM
That’s very Die Hard. Should I call John McClane?
No his vests are in the washing basket
EI255
29-01-2020, 07:11 PM
Hibs are looking into it, hopefully nobody wants him and we can get him cheaper. Think Sunderland just want him awayTake him in a heart beat.
The guy oozes class and ability.
He needs a new direction. A Hibernian direction.
Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
NC1875
29-01-2020, 07:11 PM
Cheers, could be anything really. Hopefully player news, and hopefully a permanent deal for someone. Time to look beyond 6 month loans.
sean04
29-01-2020, 07:17 PM
Tam McManus thinking it could happen
29-01-2020, 07:19 PM
Where's he saying that? Is there not a hint of sarcasm?
sean04
29-01-2020, 07:20 PM
Where's he saying that? Is there not a hint of sarcasm?
It’s in reply to Alan Nixon’s tweet, says Ron Gordon has that in his ashtray, deal happening soon
29-01-2020, 07:23 PM
It’s in reply to Alan Nixon’s tweet, says Ron Gordon has that in his ashtray, deal happening soon
Which deal, McGeady?
HendoDelivered
29-01-2020, 07:27 PM
He’s hoping.
29-01-2020, 07:29 PM
Im sure it's tongue in cheek. Tam knows Hibs aren't paying 10k per week
sean04
29-01-2020, 07:31 PM
10k a week is extreme for hibs but is it the start of Ron gordan showing his plans and commitment? I’d only
29-01-2020, 07:34 PM
He’s just having a laugh.
No club is going to pay 10k a week for him.
Sunderland say they want £10k a week but that’s surely just how negotiations work.
They know we won’t pay that but there’ll be a middle ground to work towards.
29-01-2020, 07:36 PM
Sunderland say they want £10k a week but that’s surely just how negotiations work.
They know we won’t pay that but there’ll be a middle ground to work towards.
By Friday night it won’t even be middle ground, they’ll want to save what they can. If he signs for us, it’ll be last minute IMO.
sean04
29-01-2020, 07:37 PM
No club is going to pay 10k a week for him.
No much for a championship team to pay
29-01-2020, 07:38 PM
By Friday night it won’t even be middle ground, they’ll want to save what they can. If he signs for us, it’ll be last minute IMO.
Agreed
sean04
29-01-2020, 07:38 PM
Can’t see McNulty and mcgeady. Wage budget would explode
Robbo6-2
29-01-2020, 07:43 PM
Can’t see McNulty and mcgeady. Wage budget would explode
More importantly both not worth it
sean04
29-01-2020, 07:48 PM
Think mcgeady would make an impact, has a lot more quality than Horgan,. Think he would score goals, takes a good free kick. Talking about a player that commanded huge wages and big transfer fees during his career
JimboHibs
29-01-2020, 07:54 PM
Are you privy to how much they will be earning to make the assumption they are not worth it.
29-01-2020, 07:56 PM
Think mcgeady would make an impact, has a lot more quality than Horgan,. Think he would score goals, takes a good free kick. Talking about a player that commanded huge wages and big transfer fees during his career
He would defo be an upgrade on Horgan it would surely mean Murray goes on loan
29-01-2020, 07:57 PM
Imagine if we did pay 10k a week for him yet we wouldn’t go to 5k for Shankland?!
29-01-2020, 08:02 PM
Imagine if we did pay 10k a week for him yet we wouldn’t go to 5k for Shankland?!
[emoji476]
Greenworld
29-01-2020, 08:04 PM
They know we won’t pay that but there’ll be a middle ground to work towards.That's not happening christ he was not that great before he left us there is better out there for a lot less
29-01-2020, 08:06 PM
Me tae
Why would he randomly be at Easter rd on a Tuesday night watching the game
Signing for Dundee United?
Robbo6-2
29-01-2020, 08:06 PM
Are you privy to how much they will be earning to make the assumption they are not worth it.
Read the post before, silly sausage.
No assumption made the previous poster said it would blow our wage budget
The Captain....
29-01-2020, 08:07 PM
Really surprised if we are interested in McGeady..budget needed elsewhere. I'd question whether the hunger is still there with him..even allowing for age and his wages he should be playing at a higher level than League 1 with the ability he had. I dont see the sense in this at all.
Concentrate on the spine of the team..a centre half and defensive midfielder still the priority as I see it.
Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
29-01-2020, 08:08 PM
That's not happening christ he was not that great before he left us there is better out there for a lot less
You thinking of McNulty?
29-01-2020, 08:09 PM
Signing for Dundee United?
No danger
Silky
29-01-2020, 08:12 PM
I've seen Shankland in two games and wouldn't go £5k either.
Gordy M
29-01-2020, 08:13 PM
Really surprised if we are interested in McGeady..budget needed elsewhere. I'd question whether the hunger is still there with him..even allowing for age and his wages he should be playing at a higher level than League 1 with the ability he had. I dont see the sense in this at all.
Concentrate on the spine of the team..a centre half and defensive midfielder still the priority as I see it.
Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
Did he not win League 1 player of the year under J R? If he did and can be had within our budget , i can see exactly why we are going for him.
29-01-2020, 08:20 PM
I think we’ll sign Mcgeady, I don’t think he would have been there last night without a realistic chance of it happening.
I’m also sure we won’t be paying him £10k a week, looking at the reaction on here and on Twitter I really hope people don’t put too much weight on that tweet from Nixon.
29-01-2020, 08:20 PM
Quite unusually there is a lot of lights on at ER tonight. Loads of the west stand lit up.
Greenworld
29-01-2020, 08:23 PM
You thinking of McNulty?Yes that's who I'm talking about I would not be busting the bank for him! The guys from Ross county and dunfermline would make more sense
29-01-2020, 08:26 PM
Yes that's who I'm talking about I would not be busting the bank for him! The guys from Ross county and dunfermline would make more sense
It’s Mcgeady that’s being discussed.
29-01-2020, 08:28 PM
Adam Forshaw I reckon.
29-01-2020, 08:28 PM
Mcgeady and McNulty would both be excellent signings imo.
You've got to remember last season that McNulty never had Boyle and Allan supplying him, with those 2 and his intelligent runs he would score a barrel load imo.
McGeady is just pure quality, if he gets a chance he will take it.
29-01-2020, 08:33 PM
Yes that's who I'm talking about I would not be busting the bank for him! The guys from Ross county and dunfermline would make more sense
McNulty looks overweight and been sitting on the bench at Sunderland. Take hi weeks to get up to speed. Rather go with what we have.
29-01-2020, 08:35 PM
What’s an absolute certainty that if Mcgeady does sign it will be a fact that he’s on 10k a week whether true or not and used against him as soon as he has a bad touch :greengrin
29-01-2020, 08:37 PM
What’s an absolute certainty that if Mcgeady does sign it will be a fact that he’s on 10k a week whether true or not and used against him as soon as he has a bad touch :greengrin
There’s no way on Earth that Hibs would pay £10k a week though.
29-01-2020, 08:38 PM
That’s my point!
29-01-2020, 08:38 PM
Reports saying Sunderland have released McGeady.
Now if true ,we have a good chance of getting him .
Sparky M would do well with him and Boyle down the wings as would the Doigemaster .
29-01-2020, 08:39 PM
Do you think that’ll matter if people are wanting to use it as a stick to beat him with though?
29-01-2020, 08:41 PM
Do you think that’ll matter if people are wanting to use it as a stick to beat him with though?
That’s so hypocritical I don’t know where to start but I’m not disagreeing 😂👍
29-01-2020, 08:41 PM
Stewart wasn't playing for Ross County tonight.
sean04
29-01-2020, 08:42 PM
He’s injured mate
29-01-2020, 08:42 PM
Aye cos he’s injured until
Mid feb as per earlier posts
29-01-2020, 08:43 PM
Reports saying Sunderland have released McGeady.
Now if true ,we have a good chance of getting him .
Sparky M would do well with him and Boyle down the wings as would the Doigemaster .
Where are the reports ?
29-01-2020, 08:50 PM
If we do sign Mcgeady and McNulty/Stewart we will look very good going forward.
Which makes it all the more important we get a defensive midfielder in along with a defender! I really hope we get a defensive mid or I fear for us
29-01-2020, 08:51 PM
10k a week is extreme for hibs but is it the start of Ron gordan showing his plans and commitment? I’d only
If he is willing to lay 10k a week out in wages please can we have 2 players on either 5 k each or any other make up of using the 10k rather than spend it on mcgeady ..
29-01-2020, 09:00 PM
Which makes it all the more important we get a defensive midfielder in along with a defender! I really hope we get a defensive mid or I fear for us
I think Omeonga gives us that urgency and bite in midfield.
Seems to be quite a recent thing that you have to have a defensive midfielder and they have to be a certain stature.
That role has been played by the likes of Makelele and ****e no problem with different attribute to your Bartley types.
29-01-2020, 09:01 PM
I kinda feel like that’s not going to happen now. Well we’ll sign McGinn but not the midfielder. We can score goals and, as obvious as it sounds, we just need to try and out score teams for the rest of the season. Rebuild the defensive side of the team in the summer.