View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2019-20 transfer thread
15-01-2020, 12:27 PM
Thats omeonga away to seri b club on loan!!👎👎
Our recruitment couldn't run a piss up in a brewery.
Exactly what we could've done with.
Is Omenonga interested in coming to Hibs?
If he was could we afford him?
You don't know do you?
15-01-2020, 12:28 PM
Bun will be another English player who undoubtedly thinks playing in Scotland will be a piece of cake.
Here for the wrong raisins?
15-01-2020, 12:31 PM
U
Ross County just signed a DM from Exeter. These players are out there and obviously County’s management think he is capable of being competitive in the Scottish Prem!
We need ones capable of getting us to 4th in the prem.
15-01-2020, 12:32 PM
I think Omeonga is exactly what we need as well.
I think we need a defensive midfielder but there’s also place for Omeonga and his energy and enthusiasm would be ideal for our midfield just now.
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 12:32 PM
He isn’t though is he?
He was a box-to-box player which is Halbergs preferred role, we need a defensive mid.
I liked Omeonga but ffs get it over it.
Hallberg could play alongside an omeonga type easily.
As for getting over it,I think I will leave that til I see who we actually get inn ffs!!
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 12:36 PM
Is Omenonga interested in coming to Hibs?
If he was could we afford him?
You don't know do you?
He interacts and keeps tabs on wats happening at hibs,as apposed to not getting a game in belgium and stating he would weigh up his options about leaving genoa.
I'm pretty sure he would come back aye!
15-01-2020, 12:38 PM
I think we need a defensive midfielder but there’s also place for Omeonga and his energy and enthusiasm would be ideal for our midfield just now.
But we couldn’t afford him him in the summer so we certainly won’t be able to afford him now
With Vela and Newell carrying injuries it’s unlikely they will be moved on this window ,and to date no one has moved
I think we will bring in a couple of players But if no one moves on this window might not be as influential as the last few January windows have been
Ross will know what he has to do in the summer and am already prepared to contemplate that that’s going to be the window to transform the team and this one is just going to be tinkering that at best keeps us in top six
If am proved wrong great
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 12:42 PM
Maybe a bit harsh.
At least wait till after Sunday.
If we go out the cup then I think fans frustrations to the board and lack of investment/ambition etc will be evident.
I’m sure they have their targets but it does seem to take a long time.
We have to be taking these opportunities mcfly.
Its happening regularly now where we are passing up on players who could kick us on.
You said it yourself "ambition"
Ours seems at a pishy all time low in some departments.
15-01-2020, 12:42 PM
He interacts and keeps tabs on wats happening at hibs,as apposed to not getting a game in belgium and stating he would weigh up his options about leaving genoa.
I'm pretty sure he would come back aye!
How much would he cost in wages?
Can we afford him?
Is Jack Ross even interested in him?
Are you going to continue to criticise"recruitment" even though you don't know the ins and outs?
mcfly
15-01-2020, 12:46 PM
But we couldn’t afford him him in the summer so we certainly won’t be able to afford him now
With Vela and Newell carrying injuries it’s unlikely they will be moved on this window ,and to date no one has moved
I think we will bring in a couple of players But if no one moves on this window might not be as influential as the last few January windows have been
Ross will know what he has to do in the summer and am already prepared to contemplate that that’s going to be the window to transform the team and this one is just going to be tinkering that at best keeps us in top six
If am proved wrong great
I get your point but how many summers and how much tinkering are they expecting fans to accept.
We need consistency of performance not mass clear outs - last transfer window was awful.
Has to be a concern crowds will drop off
15-01-2020, 12:46 PM
Can we afford him?
Are you going to continue to criticise"recruitment" even though you don't know the ins and outs?
There hasn’t been any ‘ins and outs’, that’s why people are frustrated.
Barman Stanton
15-01-2020, 12:47 PM
U
Ross County just signed a DM from Exeter. These players are out there and obviously County’s management think he is capable of being competitive in the Scottish Prem!
As we have seen, getting players from the lower leagues in England is very much hit and miss. I'm hopeful that we may be looking a bit further afield this time.
Here for the wrong raisins?
He likes to get it in the mixer.
15-01-2020, 12:48 PM
Can we afford him?
I think you can have an opinion on the recruitment at the club without knowing the ins and outs of specific deals?
15-01-2020, 12:49 PM
Can we afford him?
Despite being pish and having an average attendance of 3 men and a dog, Cercle Brugge are owned by a Russian who also owns AS Monaco. They are not short of cash and will be paying a good bit more than us.
15-01-2020, 12:50 PM
There hasn’t been any ‘ins and outs’, that’s why people are frustrated.
We all get frustrated. People criticising the club when they don't have a clue what they're on about doesn't solve anything.
[QUOTE=tonyrougier123;6043835]Thats omeonga away to seri b club on loan!!👎👎
Exactly what we could've done with.[/QUOTE
Our recruitment team brought him here in the 1st place. If they hadn't I doubt anyone on this board would be clamouring for us to sign him!
15-01-2020, 12:51 PM
I get your point but how many summers and how much tinkering are they expecting fans to accept.
We need consistency of performance not mass clear outs - last transfer window was awful.
Has to be a concern crowds will drop off
Once we get a plan from Ron and hopefully some reassurances about what ambitions the Club have ,then fans will continue to back the Club ,and give Ross a chance in the Summer to really make his mark .
We have to accept The Board k now they ****ed up in appointing Hecky and that in the Summer we will have a clear out and invest properly in team
15-01-2020, 12:54 PM
I think you can have an opinion on the recruitment at the club without knowing the ins and outs of specific deals?
So because Omeonga has gone from one Italian club to another that means that "our recruitment couldn't run a piss up in a brewery"?
OK then - crack on!
Barman Stanton
15-01-2020, 12:54 PM
[QUOTE=tonyrougier123;6043835]Thats omeonga away to seri b club on loan!!👎👎
Exactly what we could've done with.[/QUOTE
Our recruitment team brought him here in the 1st place. If they hadn't I doubt anyone on this board would be clamouring for us to sign him!
Yup, if you want to criticize the recruitment team for not signing him, you need to at least give them credit for signing him in the first place. No one on here would have even heard of the guy before.
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 01:00 PM
Can we afford him?
Is it all about wages?
Is omeonga only thinking about the cash when he's not playing at this stage in his career?
Does jack ross want to add quality?
Is hibs recruitment successfully building a squad fit to compete for european places?
Are you thinking recruitment is doing hibs as a club any justice for the money going in to the coffers?
15-01-2020, 01:00 PM
So because Omeonga has gone from one Italian club to another that means that "our recruitment couldn't run a piss up in a brewery"?
OK then - crack on!
No, it’s because the recruitment at the club has been pish that means our recruitment couldn’t run a piss up in a brewery. (Not my words)
The summer recruitment really annoyed me as it was so obvious what was missing throughout. It was obvious at the start of the season and it has been obvious throughout the first half of the season. The fact we couldn’t identify and bring in players for the start of the window so ready to go for Sunday doesn’t reflect well on the recruitment department imo.
Same posters greetin and moanin about lack of signings, we allowed Hecky to get his duds in early and that went well eh? Hopefully we take our time and get the right players in.
No, it’s because the recruitment at the club has been pish that means our recruitment couldn’t run a piss up in a brewery. (Not my words)
The summer recruitment really annoyed me as it was so obvious what was missing throughout. It was obvious at the start of the season and it has been obvious throughout the first half of the season. The fact we couldn’t identify and bring in players for the start of the window so ready to go for Sunday doesn’t reflect well on the recruitment department imo.
But most were happy when we got the players in early, Vela etc all came with decent CV's. It was only after a few weeks we realised they and Hecky were pis h.
15-01-2020, 01:07 PM
Can we afford him?
I’m gathering you do know all the ins and outs of our recruitment policy this window as you keep asking questions and imply that everyone hasn’t got a clue?
15-01-2020, 01:07 PM
The poster was on about Omeonga's move. I think he's talking pish. You don't.
Fair enough.
15-01-2020, 01:09 PM
Who drops out in his place if he comes in?
Don’t get me wrong, I like him, but if we are as skint as is being made out we don’t have the option to bring in another midfielder.
Now if he was to come in and Vela was to leave that’s a whole different story.
I’m gathering you do know all the ins and outs of our recruitment policy this window as you keep asking questions and imply that everyone hasn’t got a clue?
Unless you work for Hibs recruitment no one on this board has a clue, I think that's the implication.
15-01-2020, 01:10 PM
As for getting over it,I think I will leave that til I see who we actually get inn ffs!!
I don’t agree, but that’s football.
15-01-2020, 01:11 PM
No, not at all.
That's why I don't make unfounded accusations.
15-01-2020, 01:12 PM
Same posters greetin and moanin about lack of signings, we allowed Hecky to get his duds in early and that went well eh? Hopefully we take our time and get the right players in.
No point taking our time in January, assuming deals will be till the end of the season.
Lose on Sunday then we’re as well keeping our money and playing youngsters until the end of the season.
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 01:12 PM
I don’t agree, but that’s football.
Fair enough.👍
15-01-2020, 01:13 PM
Who drops out in his place if he comes in?
Don’t get me wrong, I like him, but if we are as skint as is being made out we don’t have the option to bring in another midfielder.
Now if he was to come in and Vela was to leave that’s a whole different story.
Other than Allan I’m not really bothered, think the whole midfield needs completely overhauled.
No point taking our time in January, assuming deals will be till the end of the season.
Lose on Sunday then we’re as well keeping our money and playing youngsters until the end of the season.
Or we could sign someone just keep a few moaning fans happy even though they aren't better than we have, not a great signing policy.
15-01-2020, 01:16 PM
Other than Allan I’m not really bothered, think the whole midfield needs completely overhauled.
We’ve gotten into a habit in the last couple of years of signing midfielders, of whom a very small number are actually remembered. I agree that we need to start again in the middle of the park but we have the bones of a good set up in there, the only main missing component is a Matty Jack type.
Gypsy King
15-01-2020, 01:18 PM
OK then - crack on!
To be fair, they haven't exactly excelled recently! People have every right to question what there £400 a season is buying.
Decent players like Dylan and Omeonga don't coming swimming in our proverbial little ponds often but when they do its time to put a decent fly on the line and reel them in or other recruitment teams will.
whatever way you dress it up - "were we interested?" "did Jack Ross want him?"
We missed out on 2 players that would have undoubtedly improved our squad for not too much cash.
15-01-2020, 01:19 PM
Going by JR's recent interview, there's often no choice in the January window but to leave it late as things change all the time.
An unexpected more for any given player 2-3 days before the end of the window can set off a chain reaction.
15-01-2020, 01:20 PM
Or we could sign someone just keep a few moaning fans happy even though they aren't better than we have, not a great signing policy.
Or we could sign a defensive midfielder that is better than what we have and need so much?
Nothing to do with signing players to keep moaning fans happy, fans are moaning because we’re pretty pish this season and it’s been clear to everyone what was needed for months.
Imo there was an urgency to act quickly In January, the club haven’t, hopefully the club end up being right and I’m wrong.
15-01-2020, 01:20 PM
To be fair, they haven't exactly excelled recently! People have every right to question what there £400 a season is buying.
Decent players like Dylan and Omeonga don't coming swimming in our proverbial little ponds often but when they do its time to put a decent fly on the line and reel them in or other recruitment teams will.
whatever way you dress it up - "were we interested?" "did Jack Ross want him?"
We missed out on 2 players that would have undoubtedly have improved our squad for not too much cash.
How do you know?
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 01:21 PM
No, not at all.
That's why I don't make unfounded accusations.
Have we got a recruitment team??aye!
Do we obviously need players?? Aye!
Have we recruited anybody??naw!!
Is that pish??aye!!
Nowt false about any that peevemor.
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 01:22 PM
How do you know?
Is that you graeme mathie??
Doubtful
Is that pish??aye!!
Is the transfer window still open? Aye!
Not false either is it?
Or we could sign a defensive midfielder that is better than what we have and need so much?
Nothing to do with signing players to keep moaning fans happy, fans are moaning because we’re pretty pish this season and it’s been clear to everyone what was needed for months.
Imo there was an urgency to act quickly In January, the club haven’t, hopefully the club end up being right and I’m wrong.
Or maybe the DM's available right now are not good enough and the better ones cost more money or take more persuading to come here, no one on here knows the ins and outs of transfers.
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 01:31 PM
Not false either is it?
I'm no edging to fall out with any posters,we are all hibbys.
But the recruitment at the club keeps sending us in crap cycles,and until its addressed I will keep the opinion that it's pish.
Why sign a player on loan for six months who brings obvious qualities to the side only to reach the summer and ***** the entire budget on 3-4 year deals that bring zero to the team.
Is that no pish?? Cause thats what we do these days.
If your happy with that fair enough,but dinny attack my opinion when there's grounds for avid disapproval!
Percy Vere
15-01-2020, 01:32 PM
You don’t even know if we were after Omeonga.
There’s an obsession on here to bring players back that played for us previously. There’s plenty more fish in the sea including players who have never played in the green and white.
Gypsy King
15-01-2020, 01:33 PM
How do you know?
You are clutching at straws boy.
How do you know they weren't?
Percy Vere
15-01-2020, 01:34 PM
Can we afford him?
Exactly
It’s frustrating but probably better we don’t know.
Gypsy King
15-01-2020, 01:36 PM
I'm no edging to fall out with any posters,we are all hibbys.
But the recruitment at the club keeps sending us in crap cycles,and until its addressed I will keep the opinion that it's pish.
Why sign a player on loan for six months who brings obvious qualities to the side only to reach the summer and ***** the entire budget on 3-4 year deals that bring zero to the team.
Is that no pish?? Cause thats what we do these days.
If your happy with that fair enough,but dinny attack my opinion when there's grounds for avid disapproval!
Your spot on mate.
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 01:37 PM
Correct bingo! 👏
15-01-2020, 01:38 PM
You are clutching at straws boy.
How do you know they weren't?
Boy? WTF?
And it was you that stated they wouldn't have cost too much.
What wage is Dylan on? Can we pay more than Aberdeen?
How much is Omeonga being paid? How much would he have cost on loan?
I don't know the answers, therefore I don't pollute the MB with duff facts.
15-01-2020, 01:47 PM
I think the onus is on the recruitment dept to prove they are not pish after recent windows.
15-01-2020, 01:49 PM
Not false either is it?
We are halfway through the window with a soft squad that we knew needed addressed as far back as September. One day we will hit the ground running I suppose.
15-01-2020, 01:50 PM
Thats omeonga away to seri b club on loan!!👎👎
Exactly what we could've done with.
Genuinely lost for words.
15-01-2020, 01:51 PM
I think the onus is on the recruitment dept to prove they are not pish after recent windows.
Is it not the manager that has the final say?
You speak about recent windows (plural). Was last January a bad window for us?
Gypsy King
15-01-2020, 01:51 PM
[QUOTE=Peevemor;6043934]Boy? WTF?
I don't know the answers, therefore I don't pollute the MB with duff facts.[/QUOTE
When you accept that guys like this are outwith our financial reach Is to as good as accept mediocrity itself.
R.E "duff facts"
No you just pollute It with your incessant whining's asking people to prove their highly plausible theories with documented evidence as if it were a court of law. Its a football fans forum- think you need to peev less son
15-01-2020, 01:53 PM
Last January was a tidy up job, as was the January previously.
15-01-2020, 01:56 PM
We are halfway through the window with a soft squad that we knew needed addressed as far back as September. One day we will hit the ground running I suppose.
We "hit the ground running" in the summer but apparently nobody's happy with the business that was done.
Today is the 15th of January.
Last year Omeonga signed on the 21st and McNulty 10 days later.
They didn't do too badly did they?
15-01-2020, 01:57 PM
[QUOTE=Peevemor;6043934]Boy? WTF?
I don't know the answers, therefore I don't pollute the MB with duff facts.[/QUOTE
When you accept that guys like this are outwith our financial reach Is to as good as accept mediocrity itself.
R.E "duff facts"
No you just pollute It with your incessant whining's asking people to prove their highly plausible theories with documented evidence as if it were a court of law. Its a football fans forum- think you need to peev less son
This doesn't make sense. So, what's supposed to happen?
Hibs: Stephane, want to come to us for £1.5K a week?
Stephane: Naw, you're alright, I'm getting £6K a week here in Belgium
Hibs: No, we don't accept that, sign anyway!
Stephane: Ok, when you put it like that ...
15-01-2020, 02:00 PM
R.E "duff facts"
Firstly, I didn't start the "whining" - far from it.
Secondly, I don't know if you think the "son" stuff makes you look clever, but this isn't the place for it.
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 02:01 PM
[QUOTE=Loyal Hibs;6043949]
Is that you graeme mathie?
15-01-2020, 02:01 PM
Last January was a tidy up job, as was the January previously.
So was it a bad window or not?
15-01-2020, 02:02 PM
We "hit the ground running" in the summer but apparently nobody's happy with the business that was done.
Today is the 15th of January.
Last years Omeonga signed on the 21st and McNulty 10 days later.
They didn't do too badly did they?
It was a cover up job with a couple of loan players. Just like the January before.
I don’t know many who got convinced about any summer signings last year let alone hitting the ground running. Adam Jackson, Joe Newell or Tom James was hardly a signal of intent considering we lost the two loan players we brought in last January.
Today is the 15th, we have a massively important game in context of the whole season on Sunday and no players have came in at all. We’re still kicking about with a depleted thin squad with holes in all areas of the pitch. The same weakness’ are still there since last pre-season, why can our recruitment team not work to rectify this well before January let alone the middle of the month? We lose Sunday the season is almost over. Fans are getting restless, two underperforming seasons in a row regardless of being the third best supported club in the country.
15-01-2020, 02:03 PM
So was it a bad window or not?
It was meh. A lot better than last summer but nothing great.
15-01-2020, 02:04 PM
It was a cover up job with a couple of loan players. Just like the January before.
I don’t know many who got convinced about any summer signings last year let alone hitting the ground running. Adam Jackson, Joe Newell or Tom James was hardly a signal of intent considering we lost the two loan players we brought in last January.
The business that the manager wanted to do was done early.
You can criticise the recruitment people if you want, I prefer to wait and see what happens after a couple of windows with JR in charge.
15-01-2020, 02:04 PM
Last year we failed to qualify for Europe which is the stated aim of the board. This season is going the same way unless we do something about it.
15-01-2020, 02:05 PM
[QUOTE=JeMeSouviens;6043955]
Is that you graeme mathie?
Again, doubtful
15-01-2020, 02:05 PM
[QUOTE=tonyrougier123;6043961]
Again, doubtful
It's you isn't it? :greengrin
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 02:06 PM
[QUOTE=tonyrougier123;6043961]
Again, doubtful
😂😂😂😂😂😂.it's you graeme 👏
Percy Vere
15-01-2020, 02:06 PM
Amazing attitude toward your team.
The midfield is decent, needs tinkering with the addition of a def midfielder.
We’re not in a position to overhaul half the team just like that. So we work with what we’ve got. And what we’ve got is on the whole pretty good.
15-01-2020, 02:09 PM
The business that the manager wanted to do was done early.
You can criticise the recruitment people if you want, I prefer to wait and see what happens after a couple of windows with JR in charge.
We have underperformed in the market the past two years. I’m not sure how you can argue otherwise. Check the nick of our squad in comparison to two years ago. Now it looks as though we are kicking about waiting for a couple of loans again, unless you know otherwise? We are sitting miles off Europe and need to hit the ground running from Sunday. Instead how many changes is there going to be from the Livingston pumping?
Last summer we allowed the manager to bring in nearly all the players he wanted, recruitment bailed him out a bit by getting Hallberg and Naismith. Like the season before they're mopping up the mess of allowing the manager to choose most of the signings.
15-01-2020, 02:11 PM
We’re not in a position to overhaul half the team just like that. So we work with what we’ve got. And what we’ve got is on the whole pretty good.
The midfield hasn't been working.
There's a bit of me agrees with you , that we just need to add a bit of steel to complement what we already have, but there's another part of me that totally agrees that Allan apart we need to carry out some pretty radical work.
Lennon took the tough decision to punt Stokes and Murray when they'd been ok, and it led to the best half season I've seen from Hibs. Replacing the forward line was a big call, like restructuring an entire midfield but if it needs done it needs done.
If something isn't working you need to identify it quickly and fix it.
15-01-2020, 02:12 PM
Of the last 4 windows, the 2 January ones have been fine. Summer 18 saw a significant net loss of quality as we lost McGinn/McGeouch/Allan for reasons we couldn't control but we at least kept Kamberi/Mclaren who then fell out with the manager and got injured respectively. And we signed Horgan, Mallan, Milligan, Hyndman, Bogdan. A bit of a mixed bag I guess. Summer 19 is by far the outlier with a load of dross signed but seemingly at the behest of Heckers. I don't think the recruitment team has done badly over a sustained period given the resources they get to work with.
Disagree.
I think we’re pish this season.
When I said the midfield needs an overhaul I was just trying to be polite as I’m such a good fan.
Last summer we allowed the manager to bring in nearly all the players he wanted, recruitment bailed him out a bit by getting Hallberg and Naismith. Like the season before they're mopping up the mess of allowing the manager to choose most of the signings.
There seems to be some confusion as to who brings in the players, either the recruitment team or the manager. Surely this should be structured and clarified to end all arguments. It’s unclear.
Unless it’s been stated who brought in who last summer then how do people know this yet have no idea the recruits we are possibly looking at just now?
15-01-2020, 02:14 PM
We are all Graeme Mathie! :wink:
15-01-2020, 02:16 PM
The midfield hasn't been working.
There's a bit of me agrees with you , that we just need to add a bit of steel to complement what we already have, but there's another part of me that totally agrees that Allan apart we need to carry out some pretty radical work.
Lennon took the tough decision to punt Stokes and Murray when they'd been ok, and it led to the best half season I've seen from Hibs. Replacing the forward line was a big call, like restructuring and ensure midfield but if it needs done it needs done.
If something isn't working you need to identify it quickly and fix it.
Your last line is the most spot on in a post I completely agree with. We knew it wasn’t working early on this season when overran in midfield and couldn’t hold onto a lead being soft as *****. The same soft as **** that’s seen us pumped a good few time’s in our last few games. Yet it’s not been addressed yet and it’s the middle of the window. Do we just now hope a few players become available and take them instead of identifying and negotiating ages ago players that could fill the voids in the team?
tonyrougier123
15-01-2020, 02:17 PM
Can I get a joab then?you supply the football manager I will find the players! Deal or no deal.😉💚
15-01-2020, 02:17 PM
Disagree.
I think we’re pish this season.
When I said the midfield needs an overhaul I was just trying to be polite as I’m such a good fan.
Was the recent dominating performance at home to Aberdeen pish, aye?
Definitely some gaps in the squad but writing it off completely overall is nonsense. A couple of smart additions and we'll be fine.
15-01-2020, 02:18 PM
Definitely some gaps in the squad but writing it off completely overall is nonsense. A couple of smart additions and we'll be fine.
No, the getting pumped off Livingston pish 👍
There seems to be some confusion as to who brings in the players, either the recruitment team or the manager. Surely this should be structured and clarified to end all arguments. It’s unclear.
Unless it’s been stated who brought in who last summer then how do people know this yet have no idea the recruits we are possibly looking at just now?
Been done to death, recruitment will give a list of players to the manager and he'll have his own list which recruitment will look at, manager always has final say on signings. Some managers have a better eye for a player like Stubbs, lennon used his contacts and agents he knows, Heckingbottom brought in mostly all players he knew from lower leagues. It's a bit of a mixture of recommendations bug ultimately the manager decides.
Gypsy King
15-01-2020, 02:20 PM
[QUOTE=Loyal Hibs;6043949]
Why cant we pay 6K a week?
davhibby
15-01-2020, 02:21 PM
The big thing for me now is that hopefully we’re back to the Stubbs days where we have a manager that properly buys in to the structure. I have much more faith that we’ll get what we need by the end of the window and it will be good quality. Sadly Heckingbottom and to a lesser extent Lennon have messed up the last few windows by not being invested in the structure of the club which shouldn’t really have been allowed to happen
15-01-2020, 02:21 PM
Been done to death, recruitment will give a list of players to the manager and he'll have his own list which recruitment will look at, manager always has final say on signings. Some managers have a better eye for a player like Stubbs, lennon used his contacts and agents he knows, Heckingbottom brought in mostly all players he knew from lower leagues. It's a bit of a mixture of recommendations bug ultimately the manager decides.
‘Makes sense how to people know Naismith was recruitment then when he was in the same league as a few of Heckys signings last season? Just guesswork because he used to play for Raith or what? See Middleton is away to St Mirren too.
[QUOTE=JeMeSouviens;6043955]
Why cant we pay 6K a week?
Because it'll mean half the squad will want that and if we go down that route we'll end up bankrupt like Hearts, unless you have an owner happy to bankroll it.
15-01-2020, 02:24 PM
Because it'll mean half the squad will want that and if we go down that route we'll end up bankrupt like Hearts, unless you have an owner happy to bankroll it.
saved me typing. :aok:
‘Makes sense how to people know Naismith was recruitment then when he was in the same league as a few of Heckys signings last season? Just guesswork because he used to play for Raith or what? See Middleton is away to St Mirren too.
Naismith would be well known to our recruitment due to playing up here.
davhibby
Even if you do have someone happy to bankroll it you’re finished when they decide they don’t care anymore.
[QUOTE=Loyal Hibs;6043991]
If half the squad want it tell them to bolt, the reason we would need a highly paid player at the moment is because the squad right now, as a whole, have underperformed.
mcfly
15-01-2020, 02:25 PM
Pretty good??
Pretty inconsistent I’d say.
We don’t keep enough clean sheets and we don’t score enough goals.
We are def worse than we were 2 yrs ago so plenty room for improvement.
The fans have backed the board and the team. It’s time the board back the fans. Or crowds will go down. It’s that’s simple.
15-01-2020, 02:26 PM
Naismith would be well known to our recruitment due to playing up here.
Of course he would to the RT - he would have been well known to Hecky too though. That’s where it all becomes unclear as to who signs who and who gets the blame. Easy enough to blame Hecky now he’s punted and that’s coming from someone who didn’t rate any of the players brought in over the summer and blamed him at the time.
Paloschi
15-01-2020, 02:27 PM
Charlie Mulgrew has returned to Blackburn from Wigan, loan cut short. I'd take him on loan. He can sit and protect the defence in holding midfield and his set piece delivery would really improve us. We lack quality in our set piece play.
15-01-2020, 02:28 PM
Pretty good??
Pretty inconsistent I’d say.
We don’t keep enough clean sheets and we don’t score enough goals.
We are def worse than we were 2 yrs ago so plenty room for improvement.
The fans have backed the board and the team. It’s time the board back the fans. Or crowds will go down. It’s that’s simple.
Yep. And when crowds go down it will be said we don’t need they fans anyway, lose revenue and have even less to spend behind teams we get higher crowds than just now.
Perhaps the clubs main priority at the moment is finding a main sponsor next season? You would hope it would be up there.
15-01-2020, 02:29 PM
Charlie Mulgrew has returned to Blackburn from Wigan, loan cut short. I'd take him on loan. He can sit and protect the defence in holding midfield and his set piece delivery would really improve us. We lack quality in our set piece play.
If he wants up the road then definitely.
15-01-2020, 02:32 PM
Be happy with that.
ElginHibbie
15-01-2020, 02:37 PM
If half the squad want it tell them to bolt, the reason we would need a highly paid player at the moment is because the squad right now, as a whole, have underperformed.
So we sign someone on high wage, start talking to Boyle about a new contract, tell him to bolt when he asks for more than he would have otherwise, then when we need to replace him players we talk to start doing the same thing
Slippery slope if you ask me
15-01-2020, 02:37 PM
No, I think we played well that day.
Still think we’re pish this season though.
coco mc
15-01-2020, 02:38 PM
Bogdan extended
TimeForHeroes16
15-01-2020, 02:40 PM
Bogdan extended
Until when?
15-01-2020, 02:42 PM
Has he not played centre half for a few years now? Not sure he'd have the legs at nearly 34 to be a mobile defensive midfielder.
I'd play him at centre half though.
15-01-2020, 02:43 PM
Bogdan extended
Where you seeing this?
15-01-2020, 02:47 PM
Bogdan extended
Maxwell away?
15-01-2020, 02:51 PM
So we sign someone on high wage, start talking to Boyle about a new contract, tell him to bolt when he asks for more than he would have otherwise, then when we need to replace him players we talk to start doing the same thing
Slippery slope if you ask me
We sign someone on a high wage that’s a class that Boyles in then give Boyle the same, he’s the outstanding performer along since return. It gives the rest the incentive to reach that level. I can’t see many more banging on the managers door and in fact I can’t see many more Boyle aside who we would be pushing out to get a new deal at the moment - that alone shows how the squad is just now.
Is that pish??aye!!
I would rather we took our time to get the best we can than rush it and end up with a duffer. The time to worry is when the window closes
Is that pish??aye!!
For Gods sake give it a break .Wetting you're pants before the window closes is madness
15-01-2020, 03:02 PM
We sign someone on a high wage that’s a class that Boyles in then give Boyle the same, he’s the outstanding performer along since return. It gives the rest the incentive to reach that level. I can’t see many more banging on the managers door and in fact I can’t see many more Boyle aside who we would be pushing out to get a new deal at the moment - that alone shows how the squad is just now.
Someone mentioned £6k per week.
If we take that as a hypothetical net weekly wage, that'll cost the club about £450k per year.
Imagine we're paying that to Boyle on a new deal and someone else that we sign this month - we're up to £900k per year.
That probably represents about 20-25% of our ST income (exl. VAT). That's for 2 players - not even 10% of the 1st team squad, let alone all the other stuff that has to be paid for.
Not easy is it?
ElginHibbie
15-01-2020, 03:14 PM
It gives them an incentive sure, and let's say 2 other players start performing and ask for it, then we need to replace others who don't and the players we talk to ask for that sort of money, we can't afford it so isn't sustainable
coco mc
15-01-2020, 03:17 PM
Until when?
Summer
Last Minute
15-01-2020, 03:22 PM
the board need to take some of the blame for the state we are in. Poor appointments in management getting cut short with large payoff's blowing most of our budget and agreeing to poor signings. No wonder Fans get angry, new owner in 6 months ago heard from him twice i think? with the promise of a cash injection?Where? maybe spent on paying Lennon , Parker, Stockdale, Hecky and others off with blame laying at poor Management decisions. Fans always getting asked to back the club which we always do with the 3rd biggest support in Scotland and what do we get back ?. Why did Ron Gordon buy our club if he's not going to put out decent money on player we need on the park. They are always telling us their ambition is European football every year. I don't think so with the poor thin squad we have. If we go out on Sunday they have nobody to blame but themselves. Thayhave known for sometime before the window opened we needed player in and now its halfway through the month and nothing. Already loosing out on mcgeouch and omeonga and don't tell me Jack Ross would have not wanted these 2 in his Squad . No Money for these decent players buy plenty to pay off poor management decisions. oh and money when they want new CCTV. its about time we fans got something back to sing about. Rant over
15-01-2020, 03:26 PM
For Gods sake give it a break .Wetting you're pants before the window closes is madness
I’m worried that our season will be over come 5pm on Sunday, leading to a malaise for the last 4 months of the season which in turns sees a fall in income for next season via less ST sales.
Valid concern or bed wetting?
15-01-2020, 03:30 PM
I’m worried that our season will be over come 5pm on Sunday, leading to a malaise for the last 4 months of the season which in turns sees a fall in income for next season via less ST sales.
Bed wetting . Were going to draw on sunday , get the Robbie Nielson money spinning replay and go out and sign a world class midfielder with the profits .
ElginHibbie
15-01-2020, 03:35 PM
There's 17 league games left this season, after the next round of games we could be 8 points behind 4th. There's still plenty to play for even if we lose on Sunday
15-01-2020, 03:36 PM
No, I think we played well that day.
Still think we’re pish this season though.
Over the season as a whole fair enough, but I think it's quite clear to see how much our play has improved since Ross came in.
The livi and Ross county results were admittedly poor, but they were both tricky away ties to teams that were in form at the time. Even the current Celtic side struggled big time away at livi this year.
15-01-2020, 03:42 PM
Not until he posts a video with the starting line of hi it’s your Graeme here. :wink:
monarch
15-01-2020, 03:49 PM
the board need to take some of the blame for the state we are in. Poor appointments in management getting cut short with large payoff's blowing most of our budget and agreeing to poor signings. No wonder Fans get angry, new owner in 6 months ago heard from him twice i think? with the promise of a cash injection?Where? maybe spent on paying Lennon , Parker, Stockdale, Hecky and others off with blame laying at poor Management decisions. Fans always getting asked to back the club which we always do with the 3rd biggest support in Scotland and what do we get back ?. Why did Ron Gordon buy our club if he's not going to put out decent money on player we need on the park. They are always telling us their ambition is European football every year. I don't think so with the poor thin squad we have. If we go out on Sunday they have nobody to blame but themselves. Thayhave known for sometime before the window opened we needed player in and now its halfway through the month and nothing. Already loosing out on mcgeouch and omeonga and don't tell me Jack Ross would have not wanted these 2 in his Squad . No Money for these decent players buy plenty to pay off poor management decisions. oh and money when they want new CCTV. its about time we fans got something back to sing about. Rant over
I doubt we’d pay money to get McGeoch back considering he left us for nothing when his contract ran out.
15-01-2020, 03:51 PM
The only reason I’m still relatively calm albeit frustrated is that we tend to get really good players in January based on previous seasons
17/18
Scott Bain - Good addition albeit shortest deal known to football
Scott Allan - Brilliant addition
Kamberi - Brilliant addition
Maclaren - Brilliant addition
18/18
Ryan Gauld - Looked good but never got going
Darnell Johnson - Again looked good but suffered with red card and injuries
Bigirimana - Deserved more of a chance
McNulty - Brilliant addition
Omeonga - Brilliant addition
We need to do it again this one and take it forward into the summer. In fairness summer 2018 wasn’t too bad on paper when you consider
Hyndman
Mallan
Milligan
Kamberi
MacLaren
Horgan
Bogdan
Aygepong
All came in, we were unlucky a bit with injuries and failing to get good balance in the team.
Unfortunately the lack of balance wasn’t addressed this summer and the standard of player seems to have gone backwards.
Hopefully Ross resolves this but it certainly shows we are capable of getting good players in, whether known or unknown.
15-01-2020, 03:52 PM
Can’t happen he’s already played for 2 clubs this season
15-01-2020, 04:00 PM
Over the season as a whole fair enough, but I think it's quite clear to see how much our play has improved since Ross came in.
The livi and Ross county results were admittedly poor, but they were both tricky away ties to teams that were in form at the time. Even the current Celtic side struggled big time away at livi this year.
Ross county weren't in form when they beat us think they were on a losing run. Livi is a very difficult place to get something especially when we give away an appalling first goal from a corner.
15-01-2020, 04:16 PM
I doubt we’d pay money to get McGeoch back considering he left us for nothing when his contract ran out.
Didn't we do that with Riordan?
15-01-2020, 04:19 PM
Blackpool are interested in Chris Maxwell according to Alan Nixon.
Tynie01011973
15-01-2020, 04:42 PM
Can’t happen he’s already played for 2 clubs this season
Does that still apply for cross-border loans?
davhibby
15-01-2020, 04:46 PM
Does that still apply for cross-border loans?
It’s nothing to do with loans
green with envy
15-01-2020, 05:09 PM
Ross county weren't in form when they beat us think they were on a losing run. Livi is a very difficult place to get something especially when we give away an appalling first goal from a corner.
Yep, lost their last 4 games before we played them.
BegbieHSC
15-01-2020, 06:08 PM
Are we really 71 pages in, and not even a tabloid whisper of a player incoming? Eeeeek!
15-01-2020, 06:38 PM
Hecky said our business was done before Hallberg and Naismith came in. I think the injury to SDG forced our hand, but still... either Hecky was being disingenuous or others were responsible for bringing these guys in.
15-01-2020, 06:41 PM
Hecky said our business was done before Hallberg and Naismith came in. I think the injury to SDG forced our hand, but still... either Hecky was being disingenuous or others were responsible for bringing these guys in.
Aye well our MD said she was delighted with the transfer window, our owner has big plans just don’t as when or what and we are delighted to not have a sponsor and it was all deliberate. In conclusion it’s went to **** in the past couple of years and the support who have came back in droves need some sort of lift.
15-01-2020, 06:54 PM
Aye well our MD said she was delighted with the transfer window, our owner has big plans just don’t as when or what and we are delighted to not have a sponsor and it was all deliberate. In conclusion it’s went to **** in the past couple of years and the support who have came back in droves need some sort of lift.
I agree with most of what you say and worry that all the good work and increased support could be lost if the board/owner is not careful. The fans have responded in droves as you said but in order to keep that ball rolling we need to see some form of commitment from Hibs to show they’re serious about the stated ambition or folk will just think it’s the same old mediocre Hibs going nowhere.
15-01-2020, 06:57 PM
I’m more worried about our lack of midfield additions, we have arguably our biggest game of the season so far on Sunday and currently it looks like we’re going into it with the same powderpuff midfield.
Jonny1875
15-01-2020, 06:58 PM
Hearing Hibs are looking at loaning Caolan Boyd-Munce from Birmingham till the end of the season.
I'll pass on another lower league 19 year old who hasn't really played 1st team football yet at Birmingham.
15-01-2020, 07:13 PM
Can't say that one would have me excited
Robbo6-2
15-01-2020, 07:16 PM
If we bring in a 19 year old from Birmingham,Fraser Murray might as well look for a new club asap
15-01-2020, 07:20 PM
By hearing I take it you mean reading on Twitter?
https://twitter.com/thegoldenharp/st...975042050?s=21
15-01-2020, 07:21 PM
If we bring in a 19 year old from Birmingham,Fraser Murray might as well look for a new club asap
What if he is a better player than Murray? I have to say that in the games I've seen him he looks ok and nothing more. A squad filler who might get some sub appearances or start occasionally if we have injuries and suspensions. He will not be one to improve us much and if we want to be too 4 he isn't the answer
Edit. I have never heard of the Birmingham kid so have no idea if he is better or not
15-01-2020, 07:31 PM
Think the rule of thumb when folk are making it up is that good signings are the recruitment team, bad ones are Hecky.
Unless folk are trying to show the recruitment team in a bad light in which case the bad signings are the fault of the recruitment team.
mcfly
15-01-2020, 07:41 PM
With Mallan out for 2 months hibs have to spend to get in some quality.
We need experience to keep us where we are in the league and to push on.
I’d really have expected someone in before Sunday’s game.
Accept things only seem to move in last few days of January but it’s still Disappointing that no central midfielder signed.
15-01-2020, 07:45 PM
Aye well our MD said she was delighted with the transfer window, our owner has big plans just don’t as when or what and we are delighted to not have a sponsor and it was all deliberate. In conclusion it’s went to **** in the past couple of years and the support who have came back in droves need some sort of lift.Especially you going by your posts.
Scotty Leither
15-01-2020, 07:46 PM
With Mallan out for 2 months hibs have to spend to get in some quality.
We need experience to keep us where we are in the league and to push on.
I’d really have expected someone in before Sunday’s game.
Accept things only seem to move in last few days of January but it’s still Disappointing that no central midfielder signed.
Yup...Dundee United managed to sign the boy Dillon Powers, no fuss, and straight into their first team.
We're being linked with 19-year olds and we heralded the arrival of Middleton like he was going to save our season. We need a seasoned hard-ass in the midfield but I suspect we'll scramble around again at the end of the window.
Not good enough Mathie/Dempster/Gordon.
15-01-2020, 07:46 PM
Especially you going by your posts.
👍😅
15-01-2020, 07:52 PM
Yup...Dundee United managed to sign the boy Dillon Powers, no fuss, and straight into their first team.
We're being linked with 19-year olds and we heralded the arrival of Middleton like he was going to save our season. We need a seasoned hard-ass in the midfield but I suspect we'll scramble around again at the end of the window.
What’s Dundee Utd signing some guy I’ve never heard of got to do with us signing someone?
15-01-2020, 07:52 PM
Fraser Murray should look for a new club.
15-01-2020, 07:57 PM
Christ that name isn’t going to get too many people excited, especially as a 6 month loan?!
19 year old midfielder that has played two first team games, one for Birmingham and one for Glentoran.
Mallan has a lot of critics, I’m not one of them. Technically he’s outstanding for this level with his control, technique, range or passing and shooting. He’s now out injured for 2 months.
Add that to our already weak midfield that is desperate for a leader or two.
This guy may be brilliant, but it’s asking a hell of a lot from him. Would he really be much better than Ben Stirling or Innes Murray?
Edit: A quick search of him he looks a left footed Mallan. Lots of long distance goals and free kicks
15-01-2020, 07:59 PM
Fraser Murray should look for a new club.
To be fair, this other boy could be a completely different kind of player to Fraser Murray.
15-01-2020, 08:01 PM
Especially you going by your posts.
Hilarious. I’m sure you’re one of the season ticket holders though 👍
15-01-2020, 08:05 PM
Christ that name isn’t going to get too many people excited, especially as a 6 month loan?!
19 year old midfielder that has played two first team games, one for Birmingham and one for Glentoran.
Mallan has a lot of critics, I’m not one of them. Technically he’s outstanding for this level with his control, technique, range or passing and shooting. He’s now out injured for 2 months.
Add that to our already weak midfield that is desperate for a leader or two.
This guy may be brilliant, but it’s asking a hell of a lot from him. Would he really be much better than Ben Stirling or Innes Murray?
Edit: A quick search of him he looks a left footed Mallan. Lots of long distance goals and free kicks
Nobody beats Hibs at underwhelming !
mcfly
15-01-2020, 08:05 PM
Exactly Be interested to hear how many half season tickets purchased?
my worry is crowds will drop in future years as fans realise the board lack ambition to kick on from the cup win and make us a regular top 4 team.
It’s sad the boards ambition doesn’t match the fans.
But you never know 🤞🤞
15-01-2020, 08:20 PM
Why could we not use a CB in midfield, it works for other teams like last night when Spurs had Dier in midfield. It worked a treat for us in the past when we played a failed CB in there, remember Matty Jack ?
15-01-2020, 08:26 PM
Why could we not use a CB in midfield, it works for other teams like last night when Spurs had Dier in midfield. It worked a treat for us in the past when we played a failed CB in there, remember Matty Jack ?
Im not sure if Dier isn't a defensive midfield player who has played CB? I could be wrong.
15-01-2020, 08:27 PM
Aberdeen have also been doing it for years to good effect
Shinnie - left back
Vyner - Right back
Greg Leigh - Left back
Dominic Ball - Centre/right back
15-01-2020, 08:33 PM
Aberdeen announce Kennedy on pre contract
15-01-2020, 08:34 PM
Exactly Be interested to hear how many half season tickets purchased?
my worry is crowds will drop in future years as fans realise the board lack ambition to kick on from the cup win and make us a regular top 4 team.
It’s sad the boards ambition doesn’t match the fans.
But you never know
To be fair we are a regular top 5 team so not far to go to be regular top 4.
The board have to live in the real world rather than the fantasist world inhabited by many fans.
The fans had their chance to be the board with HSL and they either didn't have the cash or chose not to give it to the club.
In effect most Hibs fans couldn't or wouldn't put up the cash to support their ambitions for the club and ambitions without the cash is fantasy.
Hecky knocked us back big time but Ross is the right guy and will continue to improve us but unless our stadium doubles in size and we fill it we won't ever have the cash to effectively challenge the top 2 teams so the fantasists will only ever be fleetingly happy.
15-01-2020, 08:34 PM
Shaping up to be a decent outfit next season
15-01-2020, 08:35 PM
Just seen that, another Hearts target signs for anither club
15-01-2020, 08:36 PM
Good business for them between him and McGeough. Players at a good age and that might actually want to play football as well.
15-01-2020, 08:37 PM
Been the worst window in living memory
A penniless owner who claims to have dosh....
vercol36
15-01-2020, 08:42 PM
Who did you hear it from?
15-01-2020, 08:44 PM
Aberdeen signing Mcgeouch and Kennedy is very good business imo, would imagine A deal will be struck for Kennedy to join before the end of the month.
They’ve strengthen two weak positions with quality.
We’re now weaker than we were at the start of the month with Mallan being injured.
Luckily we will sign 4 quality players in the next 2 weeks...
15-01-2020, 08:46 PM
I'm generally a pretty chilled character so not really that concerned about the lack of transfer activity.
However, I'm very surprised that we don't appear to have any trialists away with us to Spain. I'm pretty sure we tend to do this in previous trips.
Also, by now, I'm pretty sure we've made some signings and they were ready to play in the SC game, being the first game back after the break.
It's all beginning to add up to my view that we're not actively looking to strengthen the team. I was a bit surprised that we didn't add a couple more players in August and I think the same will happen again. No major changes unless someone gets transferred out or injured.
Okay, I'm beginning to get a bit concerned. Aberdeen have now added Kennedy (pre-contract) to McGeoch. Both good signings.
C'mon Hibs, let's get someone signed. We've got all of Ron's money, yet we seem to be very slow to splash the cash.
15-01-2020, 08:50 PM
Both Dylan and Kennedy would both currently make our first eleven imo. Aberdeen getting stronger again.
15-01-2020, 08:50 PM
Think the rule of thumb when folk are making it up is that good signings are the recruitment team, bad ones are Hecky.
Unless folk are trying to show the recruitment team in a bad light in which case the bad signings are the fault of the recruitment team.
Exactly, it’s mental. I think the recruitment has been poor but they deserve credit when they do make a good signing as well as criticism when they get it wrong.
15-01-2020, 09:09 PM
A penniless owner who claims to have dosh....Dearie me!
Just seen that, another Hearts target signs for anither club
Another one bites the dust, hey hey, another one bites the dust....
15-01-2020, 09:25 PM
Source for the second bit?
15-01-2020, 09:45 PM
I’ve always thought Stevenson would make an excellent DM, the problem is we don’t have cover at left back. He’s excellent at winning the ball and he can play the short pass to a fellow midfielder.
15-01-2020, 09:47 PM
Rory McAllister finally leaves Peterhead for Cove Rangers. Very decent team they’re building.
15-01-2020, 09:54 PM
Don’t get the hype with Kennedy I wouldn’t be in a hurry to see him at Hibs. Seems for some cause we haven’t signed anyone yet everyone else are good signings we should have tried for. There’s no shortage of players out there so I won’t lose sleep over this one
HFC93
15-01-2020, 09:55 PM
In living memory, no less! That's quite a statement.
15-01-2020, 09:59 PM
Matty Kennedy...honestly don’t see the fuss. Average player. If he’d gone to Hearts I’d no have been bothered at all.
I expect him to have a similar impact at Aberdeen as Curtis Main, another average player who did well for a wee while in the SPL, has had.
15-01-2020, 10:01 PM
Don’t get the hype with Kennedy I wouldn’t be in a hurry to see him at Hibs. Seems for some cause we haven’t signed anyone yet everyone else are good signings we should have tried for. There’s no shortage of players out there so I won’t lose sleep over this one
Exactly
If by the end of the window we’ve brought in nobody then I’ll be very disappointed, but I’d rather we took our time to get the right players in than just signed anyone cos they’re available quick.
Roxyhibee
15-01-2020, 10:11 PM
Despite being lively enough, Matt Kennedy was tucked safely down Jason Naismiths sock in our recent 4-1 victory at Perth.
Dylan is a good footballer (although only under the right manager I feel), but is always going to be a significant gamble with his injury history.
I’ve no apprehension of Aberdeen with these signings.
15-01-2020, 10:13 PM
They’re certainly out there. The problem is they’re not in here.
I wasn’t looking for Hibs To sign Kennedy, not what we need at this time, but I do think he could be a good signing for the sheep. He’s done well in a poor side and I think he could improve.
We need improved and I’m disappointed, not surprised, that we haven’t made any moves yet.
Percy Vere
15-01-2020, 10:14 PM
Seems like most windows to me.
Maybe you’ve not supported Hibs for long?
Got to be a couple soon dinnae worry
15-01-2020, 10:14 PM
Kennedy is a decent signing for Aberdeen but wouldn’t have been for us. We are good for wingers.
Souter96Mac
15-01-2020, 10:23 PM
Rory McAllister finally leaves Peterhead for Cove Rangers. Very decent team they’re building.
3 and a half year deal for him. Could be another Gretna at this rate
15-01-2020, 11:49 PM
3 and a half year deal for him. Could be another Gretna at this rate
Will be 33 in 4 months so they are going to have to pay him till he is 36, madness. At least a year too long.
On the upside, he'll do the business for them this season and ensure their promotion if he stays fit.
15-01-2020, 11:59 PM
Despite being lively enough, Matt Kennedy was tucked safely down Jason Naismiths sock in our recent 4-1 victory at Perth.
Dylan is a good footballer (although only under the right manager I feel), but is always going to be a significant gamble with his injury history.
I’ve no apprehension of Aberdeen with these signings.
I'm with all the guys on here that don't think Kennedy is all that.
Like most wingers he will blow hot and cold but can't deny he is another relatively cheap tool into the Aberdeen box, so low risk.
As you say Dylan McG as a deal hinges solely on his ability to stay fit.
They are currently stuck with Main, Wilson and Gleeson which is a fair bit of expensive deadwood.
P.S. I like Connor McLennan the young striker at Aberdeen, 20 year old and a real prospect.
16-01-2020, 01:51 AM
Well since the last one anyway lol.......
hibs#1
16-01-2020, 02:35 AM
Daniel Harvie young left back at Ayr highly rated and out of contract at the end of the season. Could be someone we're interested in?
As a disclaimer I'm not itk or not seen him play much.
Fuzzywuzzy
16-01-2020, 05:00 AM
Would always have been interesting to see what he could have done if he wanted to go full time
Thought Kennedy was a shoe in for the yams..... or so I was told by a yam associate!
16-01-2020, 06:21 AM
Well since the last one anyway lol.......
Maybe.
But for those of us who went to Livi & watched a poor looking team who were very easily brushed aside by Livi, and who have been imbalanced all season, with a tricky away tie in the cup looming, I wont make any apology for questioning where is the money?
16-01-2020, 06:38 AM
Maybe.
But for those of us who went to Livi & watched a poor looking team who were very easily brushed aside by Livi, and who have been imbalanced all season, with a tricky away tie in the cup looming, I wont make any apology for questioning where is the money?
When & where did Ron say he was loaded?
Has he not already cleared the debt?
How much of his own money do you as a supporter demand that he puts into the club?
Maybe.
I’m happy we spend wisely. I’d even take not winning a derby final not to go into administration.
16-01-2020, 07:25 AM
Maybe.
Celtic spent 9 million on a striker and went to livi, looked poor and got brushed aside. We won't win every game regardless of who we sign, sometimes in football your going to lose. It happens
Fuzzywuzzy
16-01-2020, 07:25 AM
Jeezus it's simple
Hickey to Man City done deal
Uche mis going for a 6 figure sum
Mulraney going to the US for £200k
Rolling in it.
Hickeys Milan bound now. Keep up
16-01-2020, 07:31 AM
Hickeys Milan bound now. Keep up
Can't possibly, i have been assured by more than one Jambo that city is a done deal they just aren't sure why it's not been announced yet 🙄
16-01-2020, 07:34 AM
How much of his own money do you as a supporter demand that he puts into the club?
Has he not already given us a seven figure sum in the summer to do what we please with as well as clearing the debt? He can’t take the blame for the failing of our football department in the summer.
16-01-2020, 07:38 AM
Matty Kennedy...honestly don’t see the fuss. Average player. If he’d gone to Hearts I’d no have been bothered at all.
I expect him to have a similar impact at Aberdeen as Curtis Main, another average player who did well for a wee while in the SPL, has had.
16-01-2020, 07:39 AM
😂😂😂
16-01-2020, 07:54 AM
I demand he grows a moustache, I demand he changes his surname to Pertie and then I demand he leaves our club for months of financial underinvestment and mismanagement! The charlatan!
PETRIE!!!! :wink:
16-01-2020, 08:02 AM
Id have been gutted if we signed Kennedy. Bang average player.
Paloschi
16-01-2020, 08:39 AM
Kayal has returned to Brighton from Charlton. I'd like to bring him in, we need experience in the middle of the park and he is one that would do very well. I wonder if he knows Ofir. He has struggled with injuries this season but at 31 we could ask for a 12 month or 18 month loan.
16-01-2020, 09:17 AM
Id have been gutted if we signed Kennedy. Bang average player.
Good to see Hearts miss out on him though. The more targets they miss the likelier it is your Daniel will have to go back to the players he's trashed. :wink:
16-01-2020, 09:19 AM
Good to see Hearts miss out on him though. The more targets they miss the likelier it is your Daniel will have to go back to the players he's trashed. :wink:
I can see Daniel waving goodbye...
JimboHibs
16-01-2020, 10:27 AM
Take this nonsense away for at least a month.
How about 2 months ?
Where we at 74 pages with Bogdan on a month loan , this will go into overdrive if we make any more signings.
Souter96Mac
16-01-2020, 10:29 AM
Kayal has returned to Brighton from Charlton. I'd like to bring him in, we need experience in the middle of the park and he is one that would do very well. I wonder if he knows Ofir. He has struggled with injuries this season but at 31 we could ask for a 12 month or 18 month loan.
I'd take him. I don't know much about his recent injuries mind, but always remember him being decent for Celtic and Brighton
16-01-2020, 10:36 AM
No you can't, the must be the clouds in your eyes.....
EVENTUALLY
16-01-2020, 10:44 AM
No Thanks.
I've watched a fair bit of Charlton on tv highlights this season and speak regularly with family who are Addicks season ticket holders, and would say that the overwhelming view of fans attending at The Valley is that Kayal has been brutal. Lacks energy and desire to get around the park, basically a passenger.
16-01-2020, 10:49 AM
No Thanks.
I've watched a fair bit of Charlton on tv highlights this season and speak regularly with family who are Addicks season ticket holders, and would say that the overwhelming view of fans attending at The Valley is that Kayal has been brutal. Lacks energy and desire to get around the park, basically a passenger.
Sounds like Vela you are describing, based on what I've seen so far this season.
Hibiza
16-01-2020, 11:11 AM
Would have a tear in my eye.
16-01-2020, 11:29 AM
Joe Ledley?
16-01-2020, 11:30 AM
Aberdeen agree fee for that Gallagher from County also
Barman Stanton
16-01-2020, 11:33 AM
They dont mess about in getting in their transfer targets. It really is frustrating how a team with a lesser average attendance has such an advantage over us. I guess thats the benefit of being the only show in town.
greenflyer
16-01-2020, 11:33 AM
"Been the worst window in living memory"
You must be very young. :rolleyes:
16-01-2020, 11:35 AM
Joe Ledley?
Only signed for Charlton in December
16-01-2020, 11:35 AM
He says its the best place he has ever seen. :dunno:
16-01-2020, 11:36 AM
Worse than the January we signed Claros, Kujabi, O'Donovan, Soares and Doherty?
16-01-2020, 11:47 AM
They dont mess about in getting in their transfer targets. It really is frustrating how a team with a lesser average attendance has such an advantage over us. I guess thats the benefit of being the only show in town.
But they have a greater corporate income and new owners with Oil money and and a tie up to some club in America I think
They clearly had been working on this for a while and the takeover has led quickly to things being put in place
Our new owner still seems to be finding his feet and as yet as no other backing
They have continuity of same manager and back room staff who they are happy to back so plans in place are being acted on
You can argue they are showing more ambition than us to finish third and it’s hard to argue with that
We will make signings I have no doubt but Aberdeen will now stretch further ahead of us They wouldn’t of liked the 3 0 defeat by us and our draw at Pittodrie and they want to improve and are backing Manager
Barman Stanton
16-01-2020, 11:50 AM
Worse than the January we signed Claros, Kujabi, O'Donovan, Soares and Doherty?
Indeed. A ridiculous statement considering its only the 16th Jan.
I would rather we took the time to get the right quality in than rush with signings to appease some restless fans.
16-01-2020, 11:52 AM
He says its the best place he has ever seen. :dunno:
He should know. He's been there enough.
Barman Stanton
16-01-2020, 11:52 AM
But they have a greater corporate income and new owners with Oil money and and a tie up to some club in America I think
They clearly had been working on this for a while and the takeover has led quickly to things being put in place
They have continuity of same manager and back room staff who they are happy to back so plans in place are being acted on
You can argue they are showing more ambition than us to finish third and it’s hard to argue with that
We will make signings I have no doubt but Aberdeen will now stretch further ahead of us They wouldn’t of liked the 3 0 defeat by us and our draw at Pittodrie and they want to improve and are backing Manager
Totally. I wasnt moaning about it. They have a bigger budget for various reasons and it is what it is. Its up to our board to start decreasing that budget gap.
16-01-2020, 11:53 AM
Totally. I wasnt moaning about it. They have a bigger budget for various reasons and it is what it is. Its up to our board to start decreasing that budget gap.
A shirt sponsor wouldn’t go wrong!
16-01-2020, 11:56 AM
Only signed for Charlton in December
He's left them
16-01-2020, 11:58 AM
Aberdeen must believe they are the Scottish Man City, splashing millions... Millions, 😂😂😂😂
Barman Stanton
16-01-2020, 12:00 PM
A shirt sponsor wouldn’t go wrong!
Yeah that was a ridiculous situation to be in to be honest. I can only imagine the eye was taken off the ball a bit with all the takeover chat between Farmer and Gordon. Or perhaps the idea was that Gordon will source us a better sponsor next year. All guess work though.
16-01-2020, 12:05 PM
Yeah that was a ridiculous situation to be in to be honest. I can only imagine the eye was taken off the ball a bit with all the takeover chat between Farmer and Gordon. Or perhaps the idea was that Gordon will source us a better sponsor next year. All guess work though.
We still don't know what happened there.
My guess is that there was someone lined up and it went tits up at that last minute. Either the potential sponsor wihdrew their offer or tried to reduce it, or possibly Ron didn't like who it was (bookies, bevvy?) and preferred to do without.
ps. I'm convinced Ron will have had a say on budgets/financial matters even though he wasn't officially owner at the time.
16-01-2020, 12:05 PM
Celtic have offered £1m for Boyle.
That's mental!!
According to my ITK mate.
16-01-2020, 12:07 PM
That's mental!!
Have they not leaned from their McGinn Bid failure
16-01-2020, 12:10 PM
We still don' know what happened there.
My guess is that there was someone lined up and it went tits up at that last minute. Either the potential sponsor wihdrew their offer or tried to reduce it, or possibly Ron didn't like who it was (bookies, bevvy?) and preferred to do without.
ps. I'm convinced Ron will have had a say on budgets/financial matters even though he wasn't officially owner at the time.
I agree that there we’re probably good reason for it but when you see Aberdeen stretching away from us financially and making signings we would like, it sticks in the throat. We are told we need to move players on before we can sign anyone, we are told Aberdeen are commercially better than us but we are probably one of the only clubs in the UK that isn’t pulling money in from a shirt sponsor. It makes no sense.
Being forced into transfer market because of Mallan's injury according to the Scottish Sun.
16-01-2020, 12:10 PM
That's mental!!
Embarrassing
16-01-2020, 12:11 PM
That's mental!!
Good luck to them with that bid.
16-01-2020, 12:12 PM
The elephant in the room at Aberdeen is the need to build a new ground or develop Pittodrie so at some point the playing side will have to be neglected. Flash Dave Cormack is window dressing the team at the moment but the stadium issue isn't going away.
That's mental!!
1M plus griffiths permanent plus pay off to griffiths to make up some of his lost wages and maybe we should think about it.
16-01-2020, 12:13 PM
There is defo something in this Boyle to Celtic thing.
16-01-2020, 12:14 PM
"Been the worst window in living memory"
You must be very young. :rolleyes:
To repeat, anyone who was at Livi would say that side we put out looked anything but top 6, and would be vulnerable to tumbling out the cup this weekend, and needed improvement in defence & in midfield and in attack, if you were being honest. And Livi was far from a one-off this season.
I ask you in all honesty, are you happy with this window so far, where we have lost Mallan, recalled a few youngsters, but signed no-one?
If you are, then great.
If you think this post is too early in the window then fair doos, let's talk again on 1 Feb
If yhou think the Cup is not our most important game of the season, then we can agree to disagree (I think it's the no1 tournament each year, but I appreciate others will have a different view)
But do you know what I'm not getting? Any sense of urgency. And after Livi, after all the games we've been vulnerable through this season, I'm not anywhere near happy with that. That's where I am coming from.
If you think that's ridiculous, then that's up to yourself, and good luck to you.
16-01-2020, 12:14 PM
Being forced into transfer market because of Mallan's injury according to the Scottish Sun.
Hardly forced. JR said last week that the result of Mallan's tests/injury would have a bearing on the business we do this month.
16-01-2020, 12:15 PM
There is defo something in this Boyle to Celtic thing.
Yes there is. Lennon also wants Porteous though.
There's a tweet been shown on JKB transfer thread showing us, Hearts and Sunderland interested in Zach Clough.
Same 3 clubs after nearly every player!
No idea if there's any truth in it but he was highly rated at one point, probably is a replacement type for Mallan?
Barman Stanton
16-01-2020, 12:25 PM
Yes there is. Lennon also wants Porteous though.
Would be amazed if both Celtic and Rangers have not been monitoring Porteous. Rough but huge potential there.
16-01-2020, 12:28 PM
That's mental!!
He can sign a pre contract in 12 months. Ws will probably only get about 1.5m for him tops
16-01-2020, 12:30 PM
If we got offered a million quid for Boyle, I think we’d take it.
16-01-2020, 12:31 PM
Who is Gallagher from Ross County?
16-01-2020, 12:33 PM
He can sign a pre contract in 12 months. Ws will probably only get about 1.5m for him tops
If we sell Boyle without a suitable replacement, get an improved midfield and strikers, we can shut 2 stands at Easter Road. Think of the savings that would bring!!!
16-01-2020, 12:37 PM
If we got offered a million quid for Boyle, I think we’d take it.
He’s worth more than that imo. Right now him and Allan are our two most important players, losing either of them would leave us massively weakened and as we know we rarely manage to replace a good player with another of a similar standard.
16-01-2020, 12:38 PM
Anyone who thinks we are getting much more than a million for Boyler needs a reality check. We'd be forced sellers next season if he's still here and we want to make any money out of him. I don't see the big English clubs being interested. We'd maybe get a bit more if Rangers wanted to enter a bidding war for him. I'd be delighted if we got Super Leigh back in return though.
16-01-2020, 12:38 PM
I’d say Boyle is worth more to us than 1 million.
His pace, ability to take us up the pitch and beat a man is massive. His end product has also massively improved. He’s hardly played this season and is on 5, a couple off our top scorer
Few players that can do what he can for the price we’d be willing to spend on replacing him.
16-01-2020, 12:39 PM
Boyle is definitely worth more than 1 million. Fully capped international for a nation ranked higher than us. Electric pace, direct and scores goals.
If true would tell Celtic to bolt.
16-01-2020, 12:41 PM
Don't see us selling Boyle unless its daft money. The fans would be absolutely raging.
16-01-2020, 12:41 PM
He’s worth more than that imo. Right now him and Allan are our two most important players, losing either of them would leave us massively weakened and as we know we rarely manage to replace a good player with another of a similar standard.
The reason I think we’d cash in if we get a chance is that I don’t think he’ll be in any rush to sign a new deal. He’s 27 in a couple of months so if he has any hopes of getting a move at any point, it’ll probably have to happen relatively soon for him.
Agree on everything else from a football perspective and I don’t think he’ll go this month because I don’t think anybody will offer a seven figure sum for him.
16-01-2020, 12:43 PM
I’d say Boyle is worth more to us than 1 million.
His pace, ability to take us up the pitch and beat a man is massive.
Few players that can do what he can for the price we’d be willing to spend on replacing him.
He is indispensable to this team at present . one of the reasons I go is to see an on form Boyle
Selling him now makes no sense
Giving him longer deal with condition he can go further down the line when Hibs valuation met would be best option
If he was sold I would worry our season would be settling to not get drawn into relegation battle
hibeerealist
16-01-2020, 12:47 PM
To repeat, anyone who was at Livi would say that side we put out looked anything but top 6, and would be vulnerable to tumbling out the cup this weekend, and needed improvement in defence & in midfield and in attack, if you were being honest. And Livi was far from a one-off this season.
I ask you in all honesty, are you happy with this window so far, where we have lost Mallan, recalled a few youngsters, but signed no-one?
If you are, then great.
If you think this post is too early in the window then fair doos, let's talk again on 1 Feb
If yhou think the Cup is not our most important game of the season, then we can agree to disagree (I think it's the no1 tournament each year, but I appreciate others will have a different view)
But do you know what I'm not getting? Any sense of urgency. And after Livi, after all the games we've been vulnerable through this season, I'm not anywhere near happy with that. That's where I am coming from.
If you think that's ridiculous, then that's up to yourself, and good luck to you.
I think you have quite quite a number of us agreeing with you Springbank.
16-01-2020, 12:47 PM
Maybe not a popular opinion but I'd say his return from injury has had as much to do with our upturn in form as the change of management. While i don't see us getting more than a million, I'd be gutted to see him go and would prefer to just see him run down his contract unless it coincided with getting Leigh in return.
16-01-2020, 12:48 PM
Players with electric pace come with a premium. Especially international, player of the month ones.
3.5 million plus Griffith's should suffice
16-01-2020, 12:48 PM
He is indispensable to this team at present . one of the reasons I go is to see an on form Boyle
Selling him now makes no sense
Giving him longer deal with condition he can go further down the line when Hibs valuation met would be best option
If he was sold I would worry our season would be settling to not get drawn into relegation battle
I fear we would be drawn into a relegation battle if we sold Boyle.
16-01-2020, 12:49 PM
Imagine if we sold Boyle and only brought in players like the 19 year old from Birmingham with no appearances to fix our midfield problem.
Dempster and Gordon can imagine that too, along with the 3 to 4 thousand ST holders we'll lose next season. It won't happen.
16-01-2020, 12:50 PM
He's got 2 years left of his prime, when he'll start to slow down. 1 million plus Morgan is fair, but I dont know if his US deal is finalised.
16-01-2020, 12:51 PM
Are people thinking we’d get more than a £1m for Boyle? I’d rip their hands off tbh.
16-01-2020, 12:52 PM
Boyle is the difference between top 6 and bottom 6 this season