View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2019-20 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

28-01-2020, 11:29 AM
If we only bring in McGinn between now and friday it’s an absolute shambles.

We won't.

28-01-2020, 11:32 AM
By midnight on Friday I'll predict:

IN
Paul McGinn (pre contract, small fee to join now)
Amos Youga (pre contract, small fee to join now)
Marc McNulty (loan, option to buy)

OUT
Jamie Gullan (Loan)
Jason Naismith (Loan Terminated)

That leaves us with no cover for DM if Youga is injured, but JR will probably field Hallberg, Omeonga or Slivka there. It also means we only have 3 forwards on the books. Assuming McGinn can play CB we won't provide any more cover.

Still concerned with the balance of the squad and unconvinced we cannot do better than McNulty. Kamberi or Slivka could also leave providing we have replacements lined up.

Gullan will be our fourth striker. Murray will go out on loan.

I can see those three in being the best case scenario, which really isn't good enough.

Gordy M
28-01-2020, 11:34 AM
As can be seen from the comments, it doesnt matter who we bring in.....it wont be enough for some.

CropleyisGod
28-01-2020, 11:37 AM
If you use the arrows to scroll along it has the entire Hibs squad :agree:

Have we swapped teams? Does that mean we are now second in the League?:cb

28-01-2020, 11:39 AM
One boy on twitter just the one mind reckons the boy from the French club is rubbish 🙄

https://twitter.com/__benjb/status/1222129609812127744?s=19

28-01-2020, 11:40 AM
One boy on twitter just the one mind reckons the boy from the French club is rubbish 🙄

Don’t need him to be technically gifted, just need him to win the ball back and kick people when they need kicked.

hhibs
28-01-2020, 11:42 AM
Why would I seek attention? I legitimately explain my concerns. Who the ****s Joe Cool? Daddy’s son obviously.

Clearly its generational ,Joe Cool around lot longer than Boney M

Begbie79
28-01-2020, 11:43 AM

Looks decent of Football Manager........

https://fmdataba.com/20/p/157391/amos-youga/

28-01-2020, 11:46 AM
Looks decent of Football Manager........

https://fmdataba.com/20/p/157391/amos-youga/

He does , Another boy on twitter done his stats v's Bartley and he seems an upgrade on Bartley, if you go by FM20 right enough.

I'm hoping our interest is genuine and we may see him in this window

28-01-2020, 11:47 AM
How would we react, if our 'defensive cover' turns out to be Christophe Berra?

28-01-2020, 11:48 AM

Would be a mistake for Berra, and a mistake for Hibs

Just imo

28-01-2020, 11:48 AM
Clearly its generational ,Joe Cool around lot longer than Boney M

I'm not sure about that, although the Boney M bit is correct.

Daddy Cool goes back to 1957. It was a song by The Rays. It was also covered by Darts in 1977.

Joe Cool is early 70's, I think.

28-01-2020, 11:51 AM
Why would you want to discuss Celtic and “The Rangers” on a Hibs transfer thread. Away over to The Rangers or Celtic forums and do it there.

Jean Kevin Augustin signs for Leeds. I've watched him play for red bull, great talent, he could be their missing piece in the jigsaw.

28-01-2020, 11:51 AM

I'd be fine with that. You know anything?

28-01-2020, 11:52 AM

Ability-wise, I'd probably shrug at a 'until the end of the season' deal. Given he thinks he's Mr Hearts though, he can **** right off.

28-01-2020, 11:54 AM

I'd be surprised very surprised but i'm not fussed who we sign as we could do with some numbers in the squad and i trust Jack Ross

I don't see it happening btw

No chance it's Berra.

Also, can Gullan be loaned if he has olayed for Hibs / Raith this year?

A hibs transfer thread and some people are discussing the rangers and Celtic transfers.

No one cares

Unreal

Well, it matters if those clubs are either interested in our players or need to trim their squads to accommodate a new signing, no?

28-01-2020, 11:55 AM
We won't.

🤝

28-01-2020, 11:57 AM
Berra signing for Salford

28-01-2020, 11:58 AM
Berra is off to Dundee AFAIK

28-01-2020, 11:59 AM

Yep. Wonder if the board are prepared for the backlash they will get if that happens.

hhibs
28-01-2020, 12:00 PM
I'm not sure about that, although the Boney M bit is correct.

Daddy Cool goes back to 1957. It was a song by The Rays. It was also covered by Darts in 1977.

Joe Cool is early 70's, I think.

Interesting Hibbyradge,forgot about the Rays and Darts.

Joe Cool comes out of the Zoot suit generation in the 1940's rhere is a more recent refereence in the Charlie Brown cartoons but I believe the original was on e of the Zoot suit personnas of the 40's

As for transfers I thnk Mcginn will be a more than adequate sighning but please God we need more,not least the ever elusive DM !!!

28-01-2020, 12:02 PM
According to The Cat on twitter, deals are on for McNulty in and Boyle and Kamberi out.

Barman Stanton

Jack said in his interview yesterday he is hopeful for 2 more plus McGinn. What makes you think we will only sign McGinn?

The last few days on this thread is just post after post from the same 3 or 4 people absolutely panicking about the lack of signing. I dont get the hysteria. Would rather we took our time to get the players in we want.

hhibs
Yep. Wonder if the board are prepared for the backlash they will get if that happens.

Not sure they are that self aware IMO.

28-01-2020, 12:03 PM
Jack said in his interview yesterday he is hopeful for 2 more plus McGinn. What makes you think we will only sign McGinn?

The last few days on this thread is just post after post from the same 3 or 4 people absolutely panicking about the lack of signing. I dont get the hysteria. Would rather we took our time to get the players in we want.

What about if we don't get the players we want, because we took our time?

Steven79
28-01-2020, 12:05 PM
According to The Cat on twitter, deals are on for McNulty in and Boyle and Kamberi out.

Massive meltdown...

28-01-2020, 12:07 PM

If we are prepared to let Boyle go I hate to think what kind of football we are planning to play. Outside of him we have next to zero pace.

28-01-2020, 12:08 PM
Our starting 11 is short never mind having any kind of depth. What is going on?

EAZY-ME
28-01-2020, 12:09 PM

Just doesn't seem likely....and I don't get the hype over McNulty. He was alright in his last spell but hes hardly prolific... we should have made a move for Boyce before hearts got him.

Wow. Talk about left field. :wink:

Massive meltdown...

To be honest, id be pretty pissed off if we sold Kamberi and Boyle and only brought McNulty in. I highly doubt he is right though.

Gordy M
28-01-2020, 12:10 PM
Massive meltdown...

It doesnt need to actually happen for a meltdown....some folk have a meltdown if someone mentions a half arsed rumour.

28-01-2020, 12:11 PM

Hhahahha good old cat.

28-01-2020, 12:12 PM
Wow. Talk about left field. :wink:

Barman Stanton
28-01-2020, 12:13 PM
What about if we don't get the players we want, because we took our time?

Well to be honest if we dont get them then I would prefer we just left it, rather than get lesser replacements. Use the money in the summer instead.

28-01-2020, 12:14 PM
Did that Cat poster not leave because he got something epically wrong?

28-01-2020, 12:15 PM
Did that Cat poster not leave because he got something epically wrong?

Here we go again, strap in folks...

28-01-2020, 12:16 PM
Freddie is a good guy, about 98 percent of stuff he said about transfers were correct. Not his fault a player changed his mind at the last minute.

28-01-2020, 12:16 PM
Well to be honest if we dont get them then I would prefer we just left it, rather than get lesser replacements. Use the money in the summer instead.
That appears to be the view of the club. Our bench tonight will speak volumes about our squad.

28-01-2020, 12:17 PM

Isn’t he well known for talking nonsense/pretending to be ITK?

If we got a decent bid in for Kamberi I wouldn’t be against him going. Some days he looks brilliant, but for his position his return is awful. 3 goals this season in the league? I also think our shape is a bit off trying to fit him in.

Boyle we simply cannot afford to lose.

McNulty and Nisbet in
2 million for Kamberi.
Boyle stays
McGinn in
Youga in
One more midfielder in

And I would be happy enough :greengrin

28-01-2020, 12:18 PM
It doesnt need to actually happen for a meltdown....some folk have a meltdown if someone mentions a half arsed rumour.

Cheeky!

28-01-2020, 12:19 PM
Freddie is a good guy, about 98 percent of stuff he said about transfers were correct. Not his fault a player changed his mind at the last minute.

Yes, which is why I am concerned at his info.

Losing Flo and Squirrel would be catastrophic.

28-01-2020, 12:22 PM
McGinn tomorrow prob. Murray out tomorrow - loan. 2 others in before friday. Fingers crossed.

28-01-2020, 12:24 PM

What is he on Twitter ? Miss his ITK on here

Wee Scottie Dug
28-01-2020, 12:27 PM

Some on here would counter with 'he got 98% wrong' so I wouldn't be overly concerned with his educated guesswork at this junction :greengrin

28-01-2020, 12:28 PM
What is he on Twitter ? Miss his ITK on here

https://twitter.com/Freddiewhite23

28-01-2020, 12:28 PM
'The Cat on twitter' said this 4 days ago and certainly doesn't have a 98% accuracy rate. He's also since said he expects Boyle to stay.

I've no issue with people passing on ITK info even if it ends up being wrong, that's what rumours are all about, but there's nothing new or concerning here.

28-01-2020, 12:31 PM
We won’t let Boyle or Kamberi go now. I’m almost 100% sure of it

NC1875
28-01-2020, 12:33 PM
Wouldn’t be too fussed if Kamberi went if we sign a striker who’ll play most weeks. But Boyle must stay, we have to be persuading him to sign a new contract rather than leave.

28-01-2020, 12:33 PM

I think the Cat is playing with the Mouse.

28-01-2020, 12:34 PM
Hhahahha good old cat.

The boy is a slavour. He's pals with Kenny Miller and got most of his future moves wrong.

28-01-2020, 12:34 PM

You’re bad at maths

hibbie02
28-01-2020, 12:38 PM
The boy is a slavour. He's pals with Kenny Miller and got most of his future moves wrong.

Is that a French Slavver?

28-01-2020, 12:41 PM
Wouldn’t be too fussed if Kamberi went if we sign a striker who’ll play most weeks. But Boyle must stay, we have to be persuading him to sign a new contract rather than leave.

100% this.

28-01-2020, 12:45 PM
Is that a French Slavver?

Good gag.

Shame about the extra V.

Ya slaver! :wink:

hibbie02
28-01-2020, 12:47 PM
Good gag.

Shame about the extra V.

Ya slaver! :wink:

Without the extra v it would be implying the chap traded in human beings..... :wink:

28-01-2020, 12:51 PM

The Cat was great, miss him

28-01-2020, 12:54 PM
Without the extra v it would be implying the chap traded in human beings..... :wink:

He might.

But he's definitely not a slavver.

He's a slaver.

28-01-2020, 12:55 PM
'The Cat on twitter' said this 4 days ago and certainly doesn't have a 98% accuracy rate. He's also since said he expects Boyle to stay.

I've no issue with people passing on ITK info even if it ends up being wrong, that's what rumours are all about, but there's nothing new or concerning here.

Freddie was just another guy on here who used the word "seen" in sentences when it should have been "saw" :wink:. Weegification grammer car crash. I think like many on here including myself, Freddie makes educated guesses most of the time based on what he might reasonably expect to happen.

28-01-2020, 12:58 PM
Yes, which is why I am concerned at his info.

Losing Flo and Squirrel would be catastrophic.

Letting Boyle go before the Copa America is madness. I reckon a good tournament there and he's worth a fortune.

28-01-2020, 12:59 PM
The Cat was great, miss him

I understand that Hibs.net are preparing a deadline day swoop for The Cat. All depends on whether he sees his long term future with Twitter.

His return would be welcomed by some but would no doubt ruffle a few feathers too.

28-01-2020, 12:59 PM
He talked pish in my opinion and took the right hump any time anyone called him out on it.

Kenny Miller was just waiting on the phone to ring for about 5 years if I remember correctly.

28-01-2020, 01:01 PM
Think Kamberi is a possibility. Doesn't look particularly happy as far as I'm concerned. If we can get some money I would sell. He has had a terrible season anyway.

Barman Stanton
28-01-2020, 01:06 PM
Think Kamberi is a possibility. Doesn't look particularly happy as far as I'm concerned. If we can get some money I would sell. He has had a terrible season anyway.

I would be tempted as well. As long as we had a replacement lined up.

Have a feeling we are after Nisbet from Dunfermline. His scoring record over the last couple of seasons is similar to Shanklands yet has gone under the radar a bit.

28-01-2020, 01:07 PM
Freddie was just another guy on here who used the word "seen" in sentences when it should have been "saw" :wink:. Weegification grammer car crash. I think like many on here including myself, Freddie makes educated guesses most of the time based on what he might reasonably expect to happen.
Exactly what I said to him when he was still here and he took the huff with me....

28-01-2020, 01:08 PM

Kamberi to Sunderland and McNulty to Hibs? Know they were after him when we all hated Jack Ross 😉 In all seriousness though if we do sell Flo or Boyle I'd like us to buy Nisbet. Nisbet permanent and McNulty on loan wouldn't be bad.

28-01-2020, 01:09 PM

Ross needs 3 strikers in case one gets injured.
With Shaw away we only have two at the moment so little chance of Kamberi going anywhere unless 2 certainty's coming in.
Given getting one in looks like going to the wire can't see it unless daft money offered which is doubtful given Kamberi's erratic form.

McNulty still favourite to be striker No.3 with Nisbet as an outside bet.
McGinn is in the bag but is a functional easy signing the type of which are easily available of a January window.

28-01-2020, 01:11 PM
Kamberi to Sunderland and McNulty to Hibs? Know they were after him when we all hated Jack Ross 😉 In all seriousness though if we do sell Flo or Boyle I'd like us to buy Nisbet. Nisbet permanent and McNulty on loan wouldn't be bad.

I'm in the Nisbet camp as well. May be wrong but I think how much McNulty would cost doesn't necessarily add up to his standard of play. He is good but his price/wage would outweigh his impact. Just opinions though.

Dolce7
28-01-2020, 01:12 PM
[QUOTE=madhatter;6060844]Think Kamberi is a possibility. Doesn't look particularly happy as far as I'm concerned. If we can get some money I would sell. He has had a terrible season anyway.

28-01-2020, 01:20 PM
I'm in the Nisbet camp as well. May be wrong but I think how much McNulty would cost doesn't necessarily add up to his standard of play. He is good but his price/wage would outweigh his impact. Just opinions though.

I wouldn’t be paying over the odds for McNulty but I think he’d pretty much guarantee double figures in terms of goals over the course of a season, playing regularly. Doidge will finish this season with a decent number of goals, we need someone else up there who contributes regularly and I think he would.

TheHibernator
28-01-2020, 01:39 PM

Since we're having an English lesson, that should be spelt 'grammar' :na na:

hibbie02
28-01-2020, 01:42 PM
He might.

But he's definitely not a slavver.

He's a slaver.

Potato, Tomato..... still like the sound of Slavour!

28-01-2020, 01:44 PM
Potato, Tomato..... still like the sound of Slavour!

I do too.

It's like a really tasty slaver :hilarious

28-01-2020, 01:44 PM
I would be tempted as well. As long as we had a replacement lined up.

Have a feeling we are after Nisbet from Dunfermline. His scoring record over the last couple of seasons is similar to Shanklands yet has gone under the radar a bit.
That would be some signing - is your feeling based on something concrete or just wishful thinking?

28-01-2020, 01:45 PM

The same Cat that used to post on here ?
Can’t be right We would be far worse off than we are at present

28-01-2020, 01:48 PM

If we got a decent bid in for Kamberi I wouldn’t be against him going. Some days he looks brilliant, but for his position his return is awful. 3 goals this season in the league? I also think our shape is a bit off trying to fit him in.

McNulty and Nisbet in
2 million for Kamberi.
Boyle stays
McGinn in
Youga in
One more midfielder in

Is this wishful thinking , A prophecy. Or Very Very I T K

28-01-2020, 01:51 PM
Kamberi ONLY if we replace him with two strikers (i.e. McNulty and Nisbet).

Barman Stanton
28-01-2020, 01:53 PM
That would be some signing - is your feeling based on something concrete or just wishful thinking?

Nah, Im just calculating 2+2 to equal 10 :greengrin.

Not that I have seen much of him, but his stats are excellent.

Percy Vere
28-01-2020, 02:37 PM
They're our opponents. Why would you not want to discuss what our opponents are up to?

It's a forum to discuss all things football.

Why would you want to criticise what people want to discuss on a Hibs forum? Away to mums.net and do it there.

Point is this is a transfer thread. Start a new thread on the old firm and have your chat there.

28-01-2020, 02:50 PM

McNulty and Nisbet in
2 million for Kamberi.
Boyle stays
McGinn in
Youga in
One more midfielder in

That would be an extremely satisfying end to the window

hibeerealist
28-01-2020, 02:53 PM
That would be an extremely satisfying end to the window

Do you still believe in Santa UW?

28-01-2020, 02:54 PM
Point is this is a transfer thread. Start a new thread on the old firm and have your chat there.

Ahh yes, speaking of which, have you heard any rumours?

28-01-2020, 02:55 PM

Where does he say he expects Boyle to stay?

I recall the guy as having a very decent accuracy rate so I'd be concerned if he thinks Boyle might go.

If Hibs were to sell him in this window I'd be stunned. It would effectively say to fans that mid-table plod along mediocrity is the height of our ambition.

28-01-2020, 02:55 PM
Do you still believe in Santa UW?

If he were to deliver the above then absolutely

28-01-2020, 03:00 PM

Dempster has pulled the plug on those deals.

28-01-2020, 03:00 PM

28-01-2020, 03:14 PM

Apparently McNulty, Kamberi and Boyle are fuming.

28-01-2020, 03:15 PM
Where does he say he expects Boyle to stay?

I recall the guy as having a very decent accuracy rate so I'd be concerned if he thinks Boyle might go.

If Hibs were to sell him in this window I'd be stunned. It would effectively say to fans that mid-table plod along mediocrity is the height of our ambition.

Three days ago on Twitter.

I'd maybe adjust your recall, but I'll leave it at that.

28-01-2020, 03:16 PM
Apparently McNulty, Kamberi and Boyle are fuming.

She'll never learn.

28-01-2020, 03:18 PM
Liam Cullen Swansea. Welsh u21 striker. English Championship clubs and us mentioned in rumours.

28-01-2020, 03:21 PM
Liam Cullen Swansea. Welsh u21 striker. English Championship clubs and us mentioned in rumours.

Yassssss. Said nobody, ever.

28-01-2020, 03:22 PM
Educated guesswork as per usual with The Cat.

Who’s the cat? Why’s the person being ripped to bits?

28-01-2020, 03:23 PM
Felix-itations

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200128/0dc3ded3093360ea02ad9e391f618fde.jpg

28-01-2020, 03:24 PM

Ditch an U21 International striker that scores goals and bring in one that doesn't. Makes perfect sense.

28-01-2020, 03:25 PM
I didn’t mind the Cat.

Some rumours he got right, others he got wrong.

Gaffer1875
28-01-2020, 03:26 PM
I follow Freddie on Twitter, don’t personally know the guy but had a few exchanges. His info for me is pretty accurate. Not sure if he is ITK but does no harm to me [emoji1303]

28-01-2020, 03:27 PM
I miss him

28-01-2020, 03:27 PM

Good record in the u23s, surely we can go out and get someone with a bit of first team experience instead of loaning this guy?

Permanent move maybe a shout actually as he’s in the last 6 months of his deal according to the article ive just read.

28-01-2020, 03:31 PM
:hyper

BlackSheep
28-01-2020, 03:33 PM

And there it is....

Paloschi
28-01-2020, 03:34 PM
Is Leigh coming home?

tonyrougier123
28-01-2020, 03:37 PM

What's this all about then?😮

28-01-2020, 03:40 PM

Wassup?

GillyHibee
28-01-2020, 03:49 PM

Love that emoji - it can mean so much

28-01-2020, 03:52 PM
Let me get this straight

Boyce - Gone to Hearts
Mcnulty - looking unlikely
Nisbet - Looking unlimely
Shaw - Sold to Ross County

So were going for a 6 month loan for a 20 year old striker yet to make a first team appearance.

If this is what happens serious questions need asked, absolute joke.

tonyrougier123
28-01-2020, 03:55 PM

This ☝😎

Torto7
28-01-2020, 03:58 PM
This ☝😎

The Swansea guy or something bigger?

28-01-2020, 03:58 PM
Let me get this straight

Boyce - Gone to Hearts

So were going for a 6 month loan for a 20 year old striker yet to make a first team appearance.

Your answer is in the last comment, chill man it’s not over yet worry when it’s time to worry ie after the window closes.

28-01-2020, 04:06 PM
Let me get this straight

Boyce - Gone to Hearts

Aye we’ll see.

Hopefully not.

Cat Stanton
28-01-2020, 04:14 PM
Let me get this straight

Boyce - Gone to Hearts

What does "looking unlimey" mean? Does he have a Mediterranean sun-kissed look? Is he wearing the national costume of France?

Aaaaaaaanyway, any transfer news (ie rather than idle speculation, arguing and Haymaker's usual (albeit very funny) contribution..)?

28-01-2020, 04:15 PM

That won't happen because it would be really ****ing stupid.

28-01-2020, 04:16 PM
This transfer window is mental! If we lose tonight this thread(board?) will self destruct.

28-01-2020, 04:17 PM
This transfer window is mental! If we lose tonight this thread(board?) will self destruct.

Isn’t every transfer window involving Hibs mental?

28-01-2020, 04:21 PM

And this board self destructs any time we lose.

28-01-2020, 04:21 PM

I believe “go into meltdown” is the cool way to say it just now.

28-01-2020, 04:23 PM
I didn’t mind the Cat.

Some rumours he got right, others he got wrong.

I miss him

ditto:blushie:

28-01-2020, 04:26 PM

Isnt everything about Hibs mental melodramatic for some

28-01-2020, 04:27 PM
Let me get this straight

Boyce - Gone to Hearts

I quite like the idea of going for the likes of Cullen, must be loads of young strikers down south with next to no chance of breaking into the first team.

Only as a permanent deal though, 6 month loan for a player like that would be pretty pointless, time it takes him to get up to the speed of first team football the season will be finishing.

28-01-2020, 04:32 PM
Bring back Jake sinclair

28-01-2020, 04:33 PM
What does "looking unlimey" mean? Does he have a Mediterranean sun-kissed look? Is he wearing the national costume of France?

Aaaaaaaanyway, any transfer news (ie rather than idle speculation, arguing and Haymaker's usual (albeit very funny) contribution..)?
Maybe "unlimey" means he has scurvy?

28-01-2020, 04:39 PM

And this board self destructs any time we lose.

I believe “go into meltdown” is the cool way to say it just now.

Aye it is but deadline day is the business when signings actually happen. The nature of January is that the majority of moves rely on another move happening and then the domino effect kicks in. It is also the case that the closer deadline day gets then teams will accept lesser offers in order to move players on as they are more time sensitive. A team such as ours that is stuck in mid table isn't going to break the bank to rush through moves such as a team adrift at the bottom of the league will. It's unlikely we will either get the Euro spots or end up near the bottom of the league so while it is boring there is no panic for us.

I think JR will sign targets if he thinks they are long term answers but the major rebuild, if he thinks we need one, will be carried out in the summer. We will get a couple in but I suspect we will coast through the rest of this season to 5th or 6th finish and as has been said this place will "go into meltdown".

28-01-2020, 04:45 PM
A boy from Swansea under 23s probably the most uninspiring rumour.

Would rather we just went with gullan.

sean04
28-01-2020, 04:47 PM
Cullen scored 4 against Everton during the week

28-01-2020, 04:49 PM

No thanks.

Moan somewhere else. You're getting in the way of football chat.

28-01-2020, 05:00 PM
A boy from Swansea under 23s probably the most uninspiring rumour.

Would rather we just went with gullan.

Why? He might be brilliant?

Many a good youngster down south will struggle to break into first teams.

28-01-2020, 05:02 PM
Let me get this straight

Boyce - Gone to Hearts

Appreciate the cautionary notes saying "wait til 1 Feb before you assess the window".

Ok fair doos but if this is what comes of having a money bags owner, I'm more of a Sir Tom Farmer guy.

28-01-2020, 05:08 PM
Your answer is in the last comment, chill man it’s not over yet worry when it’s time to worry ie after the window closes.

Big game tonight though. All good and well preaching patience but if we're out of the cup after tonight (yes that's a big if) then we've lost out on a a potential source of income and one of the biggest targets left this season will be done.

28-01-2020, 05:17 PM
Tonight’s cup result will determine how far we push the boat out.

If we lose I wouldnt expect any other movement in other than Paul McGinn.

28-01-2020, 05:19 PM
Appreciate the cautionary notes saying "wait til 1 Feb before you assess the window".

Ok fair doos but if this is what comes of having a money bags owner, I'm more of a Sir Tom Farmer guy.

👍

28-01-2020, 05:23 PM

That’s my thinking too

28-01-2020, 05:24 PM

That's a good point although we are only 8 points behind Aberdeen so the movers and shakers at the club might think we can catch them.

mcfly
28-01-2020, 05:29 PM

If that occurs and the club only sign another right back

Watch the abuse the board gets on sat and season tickets sales will collapse

Fans are fed up being taken for granted and paying for poor quality signings

Walter
28-01-2020, 05:31 PM

If thya is the case then this club no longer has any pride from the top down. If we go out of the cup the fans still turn up wanting a win on a Saturday and an exciting performance that gives hope and ambition. The board obviously don't get that

28-01-2020, 05:31 PM
That's a good point although we are only 8 points behind Aberdeen so the movers and shakers at the club might think we can catch them.

A lot of shaking and not a lot of moving :greengrin

28-01-2020, 05:33 PM

If we lose tonight and all we sign is Paul McGinn, I can assure the club that a number of fans won't push the boat out when it comes to ST renewals.

Such a depressing state at the moment - an unknown future, a tiny squad that evidently on every other day isn't good enough, HSL news, and likely to finish mid table again. Supporting Hibs is starting to get boring again - I'll be along tonight as usual but its tipping into "my duty" level of enthusiasm.

28-01-2020, 05:38 PM
If we lose tonight and all we sign is Paul McGinn, I can assure the club that a number of fans won't push the boat out when it comes to ST renewals.

Such a depressing state at the moment - an unknown future, a tiny squad that evidently on every other day isn't good enough, HSL news, and likely to finish mid table again. Supporting Hibs is starting to get boring again - I'll be along tonight as usual but its tipping into "my duty" level of enthusiasm.

Depressing is pushing it a bit.

We could also win tonight and make a decent signing or two before the window closes. Plus, since the new manager came in we’re also the fourth best team in the league.

It’s no brilliant and I’m not totally optimistic but I’m no getting depressed until there is something to really be depressed about.

28-01-2020, 05:40 PM
If thya is the case then this club no longer has any pride from the top down. If we go out of the cup the fans still turn up wanting a win on a Saturday and an exciting performance that gives hope and ambition. The board obviously don't get that

My take on it is that this isn’t jack ross’s team. He feels that way too, hence shipping out Maxwell, Middleton and Vela and wanting to put his stamp on the side.

They’re thinking pragmatically that if we go out the cup we will be fine in the league, and this squad should get us a top 6 place. That means that there will be more money in the pot for the summer.

28-01-2020, 05:44 PM

To be clear I am only guessing based on the one in one out and messages coming from last two managers. We have zero evidence the club is doing anything other than tightening belts.

28-01-2020, 05:46 PM
To be clear I am only guessing based on the one in one out and messages coming from last two managers. We have zero evidence the club is doing anything other than tightening belts.

They can expect a massive drop off of season ticket holders next year then. And Gordon wants us to pony up more 😂😂😂

28-01-2020, 05:46 PM

We could also win tonight and make a decent signing or two before the window closes. Plus, since the new manager came in we’re also the fourth best team in the league.

It’s no brilliant and I’m not totally optimistic but I’m no getting depressed until there is something to really be depressed about.

Leave me and my hyperbole alone.

mcfly
28-01-2020, 05:47 PM
My take on it is that this isn’t jack ross’s team. He feels that way too, hence shipping out Maxwell, Middleton and Vela and wanting to put his stamp on the side.

They’re thinking pragmatically that if we go out the cup we will be fine in the league, and this squad should get us a top 6 place. That means that there will be more money in the pot for the summer.

I hope your right 🤞

We know that approx 8-9k will renew season tickets regardless.

However that other 5-6k may not if they feel the club lacks ambition and the football is rubbish.

Mid table mediocrity is no longer acceptable when you have 14k season ticket holders

28-01-2020, 05:47 PM

Agreed but the club are gambling a bit. Tonight's game is massive imo. Squad should be good enough but going out tonight will put a real dampener on the season and lose us a decent bit of cash.

28-01-2020, 05:48 PM

Will finishing 6th with a boring end to the season bring in enough revenue to cushion the blow of losing STs? I doubt it, the money for our league finish won't be massive but this is possibly something that has been discussed at board level.

Rumble de Thump
28-01-2020, 05:51 PM

Apart from them actively trying to sign players.

28-01-2020, 05:53 PM
I miss him

Pretty sure he’s still here and loving the attention....

28-01-2020, 05:57 PM
Agreed but the club are gambling a bit. Tonight's game is massive imo. Squad should be good enough but going out tonight will put a real dampener on the season and lose us a decent bit of cash.

Don’t disagree with that. Lose tonight, season is done IMO.

I just don’t see the point in being depressed until these things have actually happened. The depression, in the main, has been caused by the numpty we had in charge for the first few months of the season. There have been some signs of recovery but it’s going to take a bit.

I think it’s forgotten what a mess we were in when he left. The fact Hearts were in an even bigger mess has deflected things a bit.

28-01-2020, 05:58 PM
I hope your right 🤞

We know that approx 8-9k will renew season tickets regardless.

However that other 5-6k may not if they feel the club lacks ambition and the football is rubbish.

Mid table mediocrity is no longer acceptable when you have 14k season ticket holders

Re you’re point about the 8/9 renewals, I can’t help but think the club takes these guys and gals for granted. If this is part of some sort of 5 year plan it doesn’t fill me with heaps of confidence.

Hibs are going to have to get their fingers out with regards to releasing some information as to what future plans are in place if they don’t want ST sales to drop considerably.

28-01-2020, 06:00 PM
Will finishing 6th with a boring end to the season bring in enough revenue to cushion the blow of losing STs? I doubt it, the money for our league finish won't be massive but this is possibly something that has been discussed at board level.

I don’t think it will, unless there promises to be some pretty drastic changes to both our marketing and match day experience that will retain ST numbers.

28-01-2020, 06:04 PM
That’s my thinking too

Then if that goes happen I for one wont be renewing again I can guarantee u that

28-01-2020, 06:16 PM
Then if that goes happen I for one wont be renewing again I can guarantee u that

So if we only sign McGinn and end up finishing 6th and make good signings in the summer...you’ll not get a ST cos of a wee January strop. Well done you.

Stonewall
28-01-2020, 06:18 PM
I see the drama queens and bed setters are out early tonight.

28-01-2020, 06:18 PM
If we lose tonight what's the point in making January signings, really? We should have enough to tie up top 6. Sure, if we can improve the squad long term then great but apart from that a signing like McGinn or another bit of cover for the squad to get us through is fine IMO.

I really don't see the point spending a few grand a week on someone that must be struggling elsewhere to get us to the end of the season and maybe finish 5th instead of 6th.

That's typically what January signings are.

As other's have said, this is not Jack Ross' team. He can be judged on signings and that's tougher in January, let's see what he does with the current batch and then how we go next season.

That said I'd take Leigh Griffiths :D

28-01-2020, 06:31 PM

If we lose tonight and the club dont sign anyone else after mcginn then that would be an admission that the seasons done from the club. If they think its done why should fans bother their ***** turning up for the rest of the season if the club arent arsed putting a decent product on the park? Thankfully i dont think hibs would be that stupid if worst case scenario prevails tonight.

28-01-2020, 06:37 PM
If we lose tonight and the club dont sign anyone else after mcginn then that would be an admission that the seasons done from the club. If they think its done why should fans bother their ***** turning up for the rest of the season if the club arent arsed putting a decent product on the park? Thankfully i dont think hibs would be that stupid if worst case scenario prevails tonight.

I don't get this? Why is it saying it's done? Who do you realistically think the club can sign to make us push for third?

I think it's down to Jack Ross doing what he can with the squad we have, I'd rather he had the extra few k a week from this season to spend on someone for next. Why piss more money against the wall.

28-01-2020, 06:39 PM
I see the drama queens and bed setters are out early tonight.

And rightly so. Recruitment has been woeful, results have been inconsistent, and silence from the board. Every right to moan. But of course others will be along to tell us that mediocrity is acceptable.

28-01-2020, 07:35 PM
Re you’re point about the 8/9 renewals, I can’t help but think the club takes these guys and gals for granted. If this is part of some sort of 5 year plan it doesn’t fill me with heaps of confidence.

Hibs are going to have to get their fingers out with regards to releasing some information as to what future plans are in place if they don’t want ST sales to drop considerably.

That’s the most annoying thing, the lack of information.
I know they can’t reveal everything, but something, anything would be good!

28-01-2020, 07:42 PM
It wasn’t that long ago that we were relegated and didn’t come up until the third attempt. And still folk are acting like hysterical tweens because we’re sitting 6th, a gazillion points above Hearts. Things aren’t great but they’re not even close to the worst of the last 10 years.

sean04
28-01-2020, 07:47 PM
There’s got to be questions marks over the recruitment team when Shankland was available on a free in the summer. I know everybody else in the premier league didn’t go for him either but thats a massive opportunity missed

28-01-2020, 07:52 PM
There’s got to be questions marks over the recruitment team when Shankland was available on a free in the summer. I know everybody else in the premier league didn’t go for him either but thats a massive opportunity missed

I think we should be bidding for Nisbet as I think he’s in the Shankland mould

28-01-2020, 07:54 PM
McGeady in the stand tonight. Been told to leave Sunderland.

33 year old... past his best.

sean04
28-01-2020, 07:55 PM
I think we should be bidding for Nisbet as I think he’s in the Shankland mould

I’ve never seen the lad Nesbit but if he can take chances I think we have to go for him aswell

sean04
28-01-2020, 07:55 PM

Sure he was Sunderland’s player of the year last year

28-01-2020, 07:56 PM

What are you basing that statement on? Or are you just trying to get a reaction?

28-01-2020, 07:59 PM
I’ve never seen the lad Nesbit but if he can take chances I think we have to go for him aswell

17 goals and 3 assists this season. I’d take a chance

28-01-2020, 07:59 PM
What are you basing that statement on? Or are you just trying to get a reaction?

To be fair, it's a statement of fact. It's not to say he's not good enough for us.

At his best, he was an English Premier League regular. He's now unable to get a game in League One. Very obviously past his best, but could maybe still do us a turn.

28-01-2020, 08:00 PM
Sure he was Sunderland’s player of the year last year

He was

https://www.myfootballfacts.com/premier-league/premier-league-clubs-2/sunderland_player_of_the_year/

28-01-2020, 08:00 PM

I've a couple mates who are Sunderland ST holders who said those very words.

28-01-2020, 08:01 PM
To be fair, it's a statement of fact. It's not to say he's not good enough for us.

At his best, he was an English Premier League regular. He's now unable to get a game in League One. Very obviously past his best.
Nothing obvious at all to be honest.

I cant make up my mind on him but i don't think its his ability keeping him out the team

28-01-2020, 08:01 PM

At his best, he was an English Premier League regular. He's now unable to get a game in League One. Very obviously past his best, but could maybe still do us a turn.
He went from being their player of the year last year to being rubbish in 6 months?

28-01-2020, 08:03 PM
He went from being their player of the year last year to being rubbish in 6 months?

Nobody said he was rubbish, I said he was past his best and he is.

28-01-2020, 08:04 PM

I don’t think it’s a case of us taking a chance. It’s more a case of not being able to compete with some of our competitors. I think Nesbit will move this week but not to us.

28-01-2020, 08:07 PM
Nothing obvious at all to be honest.

I cant make up my mind on him but i don't think its his ability keeping him out the team

See Dazzling Doidge's response. He didn't say he was rubbish, simply a statement of fact that at 33, playing in League One, he's past his best. At his best, he was an EPL regular. That's not really debatable - whether or not he'd be a good signing for us absolutely is, though.

28-01-2020, 08:23 PM
I don’t think it’s a case of us taking a chance. It’s more a case of not being able to compete with some of our competitors. I think Nesbit will move this week but not to us.

You may well be right Jim!

28-01-2020, 08:49 PM

😀

Greenworld
28-01-2020, 08:51 PM
Nightmare Doidge is now subject to a 2 million bid and that clown James along with Newell cheers Hecky lol

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

28-01-2020, 08:57 PM
And rightly so. Recruitment has been woeful, results have been inconsistent, and silence from the board. Every right to moan. But of course others will be along to tell us that mediocrity is acceptable.

But had the recruitment been woeful? Brilliant to see James, Jackson, Newall, Whittaker and Doidge all playing a massive pet in getting us to the next round and all have played their part recently despite a slow start. When the squad is stretched as it is would be easy for these guys to fold and prove everyone right who said they were *****, they havnt the have actually done well and stood up when required.

Well done to them all, can we get better aye probably but they arnt as bad as some make out.

28-01-2020, 09:03 PM
But had the recruitment been woeful? Brilliant to see James, Jackson, Newall, Whittaker and Doidge all playing a massive pet in getting us to the next round and all have played their part recently despite a slow start. When the squad is stretched as it is would be easy for these guys to fold and prove everyone right who said they were *****, they havnt the have actually done well and stood up when required.

Well done to them all, can we get better aye probably but they arnt as bad as some make out.

Doidge has worked out well, Newell coming onto a game too. Quite happy to eat my words on that front.

28-01-2020, 09:08 PM
Doidge has worked out well, Newell coming onto a game too. Quite happy to eat my words on that front.

Thought Newell was excellent tonight.

I’m not beating myself up too much for writing him off earlier in the season though as he was a hopeless winger, god knows why Heckingbottom bought him and then put him out there.

angus hibby
28-01-2020, 09:12 PM

I imagine a few PL clubs did enquire (possibly even Hibs) but no one thought he was worth paying 5k a week.

28-01-2020, 09:13 PM
Thought Newell was excellent tonight.

I’m not beating myself up too much for writing him off earlier in the season though as he was a hopeless winger, god knows why Heckingbottom bought him and then put him out there.

said all along, he simply wasn’t given time by hibs fans. Could see there was a player there.

There were calls for him to leave the club after about 4 games, people calling him an imposter etc. it was pathetic. Glad to see him turn things around with the support.

28-01-2020, 09:18 PM
said all along, he simply wasn’t given time by hibs fans. Could see there was a player there.

There were calls for him to leave the club after about 4 games, people calling him an imposter etc. it was pathetic. Glad to see him turn things around with the support.

I don’t think it’s anything to do with not being given time, it was to do with getting played in the wrong position by our previous manager.

28-01-2020, 09:22 PM
I honestly think we are a couple of good signings away from being a very good side. Some of the players signed in the summer have turned out to be better than we all first thought. The difficulty is getting those players in. A real dominant centre half and a real dominant strong tackling midfielder.

Percy Vere
28-01-2020, 09:32 PM

Hahaha you happier now?

28-01-2020, 09:33 PM
Sun reporting that Craig Gordon has asked to leave Celtic with a move to Hearts likely.

28-01-2020, 09:34 PM
Sun reporting that Craig Gordon has asked to leave Celtic with a move to Hearts likely.

He’d be their best keeper by a distance. Hopefully doesn’t happen.

28-01-2020, 09:35 PM

Plus five in the League Cup

28-01-2020, 09:35 PM
I don’t think it’s anything to do with not being given time, it was to do with getting played in the wrong position by our previous manager.

i think both tbh. yes, he was played out of position but i felt too many were waiting to jump on his back. he was getting slated after games he didn’t play in! far too many hated that we were signing english lower league players.

from the little i saw of him in the friendlies and cup games, you could see he was decent but needed to be played in position and a run of games.

just glad we are seeing how good he is now, one of the first names on the team sheet for me.

28-01-2020, 09:37 PM
i think both tbh. yes, he was played out of position but i felt too many were waiting to jump on his back. he was getting slated after games he didn’t play in! far too many hated that we were signing english lower league players.

from the little i saw of him in the friendlies and cup games, you could see he was decent but needed to be played in position and a run of games.

just glad we are seeing how good he is now, one of the first names on the team sheet for me.

Fair enough, I thought he was absolutely hopeless on the wing and saw nothing to suggest he would come good, I thought he lacked pace and urgency.

As it turns out he was probably just completely lost standing out on the wing.

Hibs4185
28-01-2020, 09:38 PM

Craig Gordon to them is an absolute stick on. Good keeper but he’ll spend most of his time on the treatment table next to the heriot watt hockey team

28-01-2020, 09:39 PM

Looks a good signing for them if they get him. Hopefully not though.

Hibs4185
28-01-2020, 09:50 PM

Craig Gordon to them is an absolute stick on. Good keeper but he’ll spend most of his time on the treatment table next to the heriot watt hockey team

28-01-2020, 09:52 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/jack-ross-breaks-silence-aiden-21381818

McGeady not signing and neither is that French boy.

Booooooo

28-01-2020, 09:55 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/jack-ross-breaks-silence-aiden-21381818

Booooooo

Jack Ross must be good at poker 😂

28-01-2020, 09:56 PM

Booooooo

I read that as McGeady has already signed, as is the French boy and we will get one of the Sparkeys and a McGinn... 😁

HendoDelivered
28-01-2020, 09:56 PM

Booooooo

McGeady is an ageing winger who ain’t getting any younger so can’t say I’m bothered about that one. The French lad Youga would of been a decent acquisition though.

28-01-2020, 09:57 PM
McGeady is an ageing winger who ain’t getting any younger so can’t say I’m bothered about that one. The French lad Youga would of been a decent acquisition though.

Based on a 2m YouTube video 😂

28-01-2020, 09:57 PM

Booooooo

Still expecting it to be a busy few days. Hope we have McGinn in tomorrow then see what Thursday and Friday throws at us.

28-01-2020, 10:00 PM

You reckon 1 or both may be signing?

He hasn't dismissed McNulty but was fairly quick to dismiss these 2. Was getting my hopes up about a defensive midfielder.

I read that as McGeady has already signed, as is the French boy and we will get one of the Sparkeys and a McGinn... 😁

Read?
How sure are you?

Booooooo

I’ not sure Jack Ross does rule out McGeady signing:

McGeady, who played under Ross at Sunderland, was in attendance and is expected to leave the Stadium of Light before Friday’s transfer deadline.

But the Hibs boss confirmed that he has no plans to reunite with the 33-year-old in Edinburgh.

“I didn’t know he was here,” said Ross. “He never asked me for a ticket so he must have other contacts!

‘We’ll try to prioritise other positions but he’s a player who was very productive for me. It was nice of him to come along. Nice of him to drop me a message, as well!”

28-01-2020, 10:01 PM

I can’t see McGeady just sitting at home today and then take a random notion to watch Hibs v Dundee Utd in the freezing cold on a Tuesday night either!

GreenPJ
28-01-2020, 10:03 PM

Mcgeady would be significant improvement on Horgan or Kamberi in that position

28-01-2020, 10:04 PM
I can’t see McGeady just sitting at home today and then take a random notion to watch Hibs v Dundee Utd in the freezing cold on a Tuesday night either!

Yep I imagine there is something going on. Deadline Day on Friday for him to find a new club and he's spending his time in Leith on a tuesday night. We shall see!

supermcginn
28-01-2020, 10:05 PM
Mcgeady would be significant improvement on Horgan or Kamberi in that position

Yep, hugely

28-01-2020, 10:07 PM
You reckon 1 or both may be signing?

He hasn't dismissed McNulty but was fairly quick to dismiss these 2. Was getting my hopes up about a defensive midfielder.

I don’t know all I’d say is I wouldn’t rule out there being some business done with either. McGeady is just a nice lad to be fair messages his old gaffer to wish him good luck, comes to the game but the gaffer doesn’t know about it 😂

Think it may depend on him securing his release form Sunderland

HendoDelivered
28-01-2020, 10:10 PM
I’ not sure Jack Ross does rule out McGeady signing:

McGeady, who played under Ross at Sunderland, was in attendance and is expected to leave the Stadium of Light before Friday’s transfer deadline.

But the Hibs boss confirmed that he has no plans to reunite with the 33-year-old in Edinburgh.

“I didn’t know he was here,” said Ross. “He never asked me for a ticket so he must have other contacts!

‘We’ll try to prioritise other positions but he’s a player who was very productive for me. It was nice of him to come along. Nice of him to drop me a message, as well!”

Didn’t know he was coming, but dropped him a text. :greengrin

28-01-2020, 10:11 PM
Based on what he said after its clear that Murray will be away on loan simply to get more game time. McGinn almost done. and we will try and sign a striker and one more. Id still want an out and out DM but Ross doesnt give those signals that he sees it as an issue. Everyone else I know sees it as an issue. :confused:

28-01-2020, 10:14 PM
Based on what he said after its clear that Murray will be away on loan simply to get more game time. McGinn almost done. and we will try and sign a striker and one more. Id still want an out and out DM but Ross doesnt give those signals that he sees it as an issue. Everyone else I know sees it as an issue. :confused:

I thought Murray looked pretty nimble when he went on.

He needs to be playing more than he is and could be a cracking signing for someone.

28-01-2020, 10:15 PM

I agree, he wasn't there by chance or for the good of his health..
Let's see what happens with this one.
Tonight's important game is over and the market for Hibs will start hotting up from tomorrow.
Game on.

28-01-2020, 10:16 PM
I thought Murray looked pretty nimble when he went on.

He needs to be playing more than he is and could be a cracking signing for someone.

Yep - 6 months at Dundee will do him great.

28-01-2020, 10:19 PM
ANyone heard anymore about Le God coming back for an actual role at the club??

28-01-2020, 10:19 PM
Can someone point out the battling defensive midfielder we had during the period where we had the best midfield in the last 10 years of McGinn/McGeough/Allan. Not sure I understand the hysteria.

28-01-2020, 10:20 PM

No but please tell me more

28-01-2020, 10:21 PM
I took the “nice of him to drop me a text” as tongue in cheek that he never.

Would be delighted with Mcgeady. Won’t be as good as he once was but he will have brilliant quality. Whitt’s showed it tonight and guys like Naismith and Burke have shown isn’t a big factor if you have the quality.

Maybe with the resurgence of Newell and Whittikar in midfield he sees us alright there now with Omeonga and Hallberg able to play there too.

Personally I hope he doesn’t and he wants a quality centre mid to go straight into the first 11.

Centre back
Centre mid
Winger
Striker

It all depends on the shape he wants to play as we only have 2 natural wingers in Horgan and Boyle, so if he wants a 442/433 I’d imagine he would look to bring another in.

I think having players like Allan and Kamberi can complicate it at times, for as much quality as they both have you need to pick a formation to suit both.

28-01-2020, 10:22 PM
Do we actually need to sign a DM now that we have Omeonga?
I’m not so sure we do.

28-01-2020, 10:26 PM
Can someone point out the battling defensive midfielder we had during the period where we had the best midfield in the last 10 years of McGinn/McGeough/Allan. Not sure I understand the hysteria.

McGinn always chased back and tackled hard. Wasn’t defensive midfielder but did more than an adequate job at defending. In games that we were struggling to hold a lead in, we tended to call upon Bartley. There is definitely a need for it, people are rightly happy at the result tonight but we were poor for a fair bit of the match and had Dundee United played better (thought they were poor) we may have struggled. After all, we gifted them 2 goals...they didn’t have to work hard to get them.

28-01-2020, 10:28 PM

Tam McManus on Twitter saying it's happening

HendoDelivered
28-01-2020, 10:29 PM

Tam McManus teasing something like this on Twitter.

28-01-2020, 10:29 PM
Do we actually need to sign a DM now that we have Omeonga?
I’m not so sure we do.

With Whittaker being played there a couple times by Ross it might suggest that he now feels we have enough cover until the summer. The manager and DOF probably recognise we need one but I doubt they would punt money towards someone for the sake of it, we need to make sure that we identify the right player that we are confident will succeed.

28-01-2020, 10:34 PM
Tam McManus on Twitter saying it's happening

Not a role at the club tho

28-01-2020, 10:35 PM

ambassador for hanlon and stevenson’s charity i thought?

HibeeJude
Chris Burke is 36 and has been one of the best wingers in this league for the last 2 seasons.
McGeady is 33 and twice the player that Burke has ever been. Would definitely still do well in this league

Yeh he is coming back for the Paul and Lewie thing but a few people have hinted on it being more than that. :aok:

28-01-2020, 10:36 PM
Yeh he is coming back for the Paul and Lewie thing but a few people have hinted on it being more than that. :aok:

He’s maybe coming over to read out the eagerly awaited Ron Gordon masterplan.

28-01-2020, 10:38 PM
He’s maybe coming over to read out the eagerly awaited Ron Gordon masterplan.

He better pony up for his own plane ticket then.

28-01-2020, 10:47 PM
McGinn always chased back and tackled hard. Wasn’t defensive midfielder but did more than an adequate job at defending. In games that we were struggling to hold a lead in, we tended to call upon Bartley. There is definitely a need for it, people are rightly happy at the result tonight but we were poor for a fair bit of the match and had Dundee United played better (thought they were poor) we may have struggled. After all, we gifted them 2 goals...they didn’t have to work hard to get them.

Perfect reply. I do think Omeonga will bring a lot of energy into midfield, which will help, but we still look light.

28-01-2020, 10:50 PM

Apologies .
I just got a bit excited :greengrin:

28-01-2020, 11:04 PM
ambassador for hanlon and stevenson’s charity i thought?

Yeah but that’s not a club position is what I was meaning

28-01-2020, 11:07 PM
No Slivka on bench tonight ... injured ? Dropped ? On the move?

MartinfaePorty
28-01-2020, 11:08 PM
Injured

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

28-01-2020, 11:08 PM
No Slivka on bench tonight ... injured ? Dropped ? On the move?

Injured again.

28-01-2020, 11:13 PM
Slivka should be binned completely. He’s everything we’re trying to get away from. Whittaker showed more on that 65 minutes than Slivka has all season. Drive, determination and can play. Thanks Vicky for his efforts but we can do a lot better.

29-01-2020, 12:20 AM
Stoke weighing up £7m move for Cosgrove at Aberdeen according to this:shocked:

https://www.footballinsider247.com/exclusive-stoke-city-set-sights-on-last-gasp-striker-swoop-7m-will-seal-deal/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

percy veer
29-01-2020, 12:52 AM

https://www.footballinsider247.com/exclusive-stoke-city-set-sights-on-last-gasp-striker-swoop-7m-will-seal-deal/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

the world has gone mad

29-01-2020, 01:18 AM
the world has gone mad

If that huddie Oly McBurnie is worth 20M then 7M for Cosgrove sounds about right. Agree with you though.....

Greenworld
29-01-2020, 05:21 AM

https://www.footballinsider247.com/exclusive-stoke-city-set-sights-on-last-gasp-striker-swoop-7m-will-seal-deal/amp/?__twitter_impression=trueThey are tempted to change tact and move for 5 million rated Doidge

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

29-01-2020, 05:34 AM

Why are Aberdeen players getting these ludicrous valuations? Coscrgove 7 million and that McKenna 10 million? Maybe I'm missing something and just don't understand the game

29-01-2020, 05:44 AM
Apparently we have enquired about Ross Stewart from Ross County.

29-01-2020, 05:49 AM

I like him. Wouldn't be adverse to that

29-01-2020, 05:50 AM

Would require a big six figure fee according to this. Scott Burns is usually very reliable.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/ross-stewart-hibs-aberdeen-transfer-21380751

29-01-2020, 05:52 AM
Aberdeen also interested which was a bit disappointing to read.

If we’ve made a move already though and they’re waiting to see what happens with Cosgrove then hopefully we can steal a march on them.

What kind of striker is he? Big and good in the air, quick, a poacher, a number 10 or a bit of them all?

29-01-2020, 05:53 AM

11 goals in 22 starts for the season so far.....

29-01-2020, 05:55 AM
Aberdeen also interested which was a bit disappointing to read.

If we’ve made a move already though and they’re waiting to see what happens with Cosgrove then hopefully we can steal a march on them.

What kind of striker is he? Big and good in the air, quick, a poacher, a number 10 or a bit of them all?

Big and good in the air not seen a lot of him but seems to score a few headers but can also finish.

29-01-2020, 06:12 AM
Read?
How sure are you?

Zero percent 😊

Dr Jimmy
29-01-2020, 06:28 AM

If we are after him it seems odd that we didn’t use the Oli Shaw deal to get him. Unless we maybe can’t get our original target.....🤷*♂️

29-01-2020, 06:31 AM
Would be happy with Ross Stewart, big strong lad and had a good goal scoring record in this league. Only 23 so heaps of potential to develop more still.

Sort of player along with the likes of Nisbet we should be going for imo however I think he will command a large fee. Hopefully a couple of hundred and decent sell on % would do it.

K-Zazu
29-01-2020, 06:40 AM
Would be happy with Ross Stewart, big strong lad and had a good goal scoring record in this league. Only 23 so heaps of potential to develop more still.

Sort of player along with the likes of Nisbet we should be going for imo however I think he will command a large fee. Hopefully a couple of hundred and decent sell on % would do it.

I would like Stewart as well but if Aberdeen are interested then he will go there

29-01-2020, 06:46 AM

Quick check of Wikipedia would suggest he and Ross would have been at St Mirren together?

Might also give us an edge over Aberdeen if we’re interested in him.