View Full Version : Johnson Out
27-07-2023, 04:53 PM
🤣 The usuals cant even wait until the end of our first competitive game!!
You seem oddly cheery.
27-07-2023, 04:55 PM
Bye bye Ted Lasso :agree:
To be fair to Ted Lasso, he turned things around after a trip to Amsterdam....so maybe a wee trip to the Dam' for Lee this weekend 🙂
Chorley Hibee
27-07-2023, 04:57 PM
The worst result in the club's history not enough for you?
27-07-2023, 05:01 PM
To be fair to Ted Lasso, he turned things around after a trip to Amsterdam....so maybe a wee trip to the Dam' for Lee this weekend
It'll take more than a trip to the Dam to save this clown. This has to be the worst defeat in our long history. How many more woeful performances does this idiot get to manage us for ?:panic:
27-07-2023, 05:03 PM
Ah, the usual suspects pish again.
He’s got next week to save his job
27-07-2023, 05:04 PM
I was optimistic going into this season somehow, but this wee welt has taken out right back out me. He was lucky to keep his job a few times last season. He shouldn't now. Get rid asap before he has the chance to do any more damage to us.
K-Zazu
27-07-2023, 05:05 PM
Should have been punted after the derby at Easter road
Billy McKirdy
27-07-2023, 05:06 PM
The worst result in the club's history not enough for you?
May I humbly suggest our 7-0 horsing at Easter Road v Malmo in 2013 as the worst result ever? and it was meant to be a tribute to Lawrie Reilly who passed away before the match.
Today was a sh17 result but not the worst by a long way.
27-07-2023, 05:06 PM
The back 4 looked weary all game, up front we were toothless, and the midfield created zilch all night.:rolleyes:
Then there is Marshall. :rolleyes:
27-07-2023, 05:07 PM
****ing hell lads
If we get punted out next week I'd get it but after 1 game, gies peace
Spl teams getting pumped from lower league left right and centre in the league cup - it can and.does happen
I'd we go out and win the game by 4 or 5 next week, so what?
Go out the tournament and it's a whole other conversation
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
27-07-2023, 05:07 PM
May I humbly suggest our 7-0 horsing at Easter Road v Malmo in 2013 as the worst result ever? and it was meant to be a tribute to Lawrie Reilly who passed away before the match.
Losing to a team of absolute nobodies instead of an established European side like Malmo is infinitely a worse result.
He needs to go.
duffers
27-07-2023, 05:08 PM
That was a minging watch and you can’t defend it at all, but surely it’s not even close to the worst result in the clubs history.
If we somehow don’t progress next week, then it will be up there but not at the moment.
27-07-2023, 05:08 PM
The back 4 looked weary all game, up front we were toothless, and the midfield created zilch all night.:rolleyes:
Then there is Marshall. :rolleyes:
Yup. There wasnt a single part of the team that you could look at tonight and go, well at least that worked.
27-07-2023, 05:09 PM
I was optimistic going into this season somehow, but this wee welt has taken out right back out me. He was lucky to keep his job a few times last season. He shouldn't now. Get rid asap before he has the chance to do any more damage to us.
Me as well. Only crumb of comfort for me is that the team will look a fair bit different once we actually get our new players on the pitch. Along with Boyle coming back.
27-07-2023, 05:10 PM
****ing hell lads
Spl teams getting pumped from lower league left right and centre in the league cup - it can and.does happen
If this was the first game of LJ's tenure and we were caught cold I could move on from it and play it down a bit. We actually did that last season in the league cup.
But this is the culmination of 12 months of us hearing how he needs 3 windows to really show us his style and what his teams could do. We're about 4 weeks away from Window 3 closing and I've just seen one of the worst performances I've ever seen us put in. If this is what we have to look forward to then we're humped.
27-07-2023, 05:10 PM
Me as well. Only crumb of comfort for me is that the team will look a fair bit different once we actually get our new players on the pitch. Along with Boyle coming back.
It concerns me that some at the club appear to think it's something of a coup to have him here.
It's not. He's got a few people from the City group in his phone and not a clue between his ears.
27-07-2023, 05:13 PM
Team goes into European tie second leg with one goal deficit shocker. This place is just crawling with hysterical dafties all trying to shout the loudest.
No chance. He needs to go at full time.
He won't. Besides, it's only half time. Still 90 minutes to go.
27-07-2023, 05:15 PM
Team goes into European tie second leg with one goal deficit shocker. This place is just crawling with hysterical dafties all trying to shout the loudest.
Have you actually checked Andorran teams European records? They are down at the foot, above San Marino and maybe the Faroes.
It's the worst European result in our history. How can that happen?
If we go out to an Andorran mob fair enough he's on a shoogly peg. But it's only HT in the tie.
27-07-2023, 05:16 PM
That would be ok if it weren’t for the fact that this isn’t his first season. Last season we went through the exact same, exiting the league cup before we got to august.
Can’t keep excusing this guy.
27-07-2023, 05:16 PM
He needs to go soon. Our record in cup / knockout games us shocking, and we need those extended runs.
27-07-2023, 05:17 PM
Johnson arrogantly telling the travelling fans to calm down at full time :rolleyes:
27-07-2023, 05:19 PM
I wish we'd not qualified for europe, i'd have much preferred us to play the likes of Morton and Fakirk, we could have racked up the goals against them for some confidence.
27-07-2023, 05:19 PM
Johnson arrogantly telling the travelling fans to calm down at full time :rolleyes:
I hope that’s not true.
27-07-2023, 05:20 PM
A dreadful outing, but one we should be able escape from after the late goal to cut deficit.
Won’t judge the team and management too much on that tonight on what was a small park and tricky conditions, but they will be put under more scrutiny next week in a match that we can’t even consider not getting the result we need to progress.
Paulie Walnuts
****ing hell lads
1 game?
He failed every metric set to him last season. As the icing in the cake, he took 2 of the heaviest defeats I’ve seen us have to Hearts in about 20 years.
He’s been allowed to keep his job despite all these failures and then delivers that. This isn’t a one game thing. He’s a failure.
Someone should remind him how much money they paid to go and watch that *****.
1st leg or not that performance was awful.
27-07-2023, 05:23 PM
He won't get sacked. But I'll never take to him.
Losing to a team of absolute nobodies instead of an established European side like Malmo is infinitely a worse result.
He needs to go.
:agree: A thrashing from a decent European side is easier to live with than that disgraceful embarrassment today.
hibIBZ
Usually a bit of a happy clapper and hated it when we were sacking managers at the drop of a hat...but next week is huge for LJ. Get knocked out and I just can't see him recovering, too many fans already don't like or have faith in him and I think many more will start thinking the same if we can't turn this around d
27-07-2023, 05:24 PM
Nope. I usually count as one of the happy clappers but there's no way of watching the worst loss in our European history
without venting or acknowledging just what a shocking result that was. Yes, wee teams win sometimes and are making a habit of winning against Scottish teams but there's nothing hysterical about being absolutely horrified by that result. And performance - Tranent would have beaten us playing like that.
We all hope that's the low point of the season but at the moment it's all we've got. It was reasonable to expect better.
HIBS NUTS
27-07-2023, 05:25 PM
We will win by quite a few goals next week.
However that was honking.
Nevi_SOL
CFR Cluj could on muster a draw there last year, we'll turn it around second leg. Is it embarrassing, yes
Is the tie over, definitely not.
Progression is all that matters in 2 legged ties
The fact Johnson only signed a back up for Marshall after last season should be reason enough to sack him.
27-07-2023, 05:26 PM
Should have stuck with Jack Ross, he was on a bad run but had just got us to a cup final, he also knew what it took to get us 3rd.
I'd have loved him to get the backing this clown has had.
The Captain....
27-07-2023, 05:28 PM
Hopefully someone lobs Johnson out the plane on the way back.
Shameful excuse for a manager.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
RossScott1991
27-07-2023, 05:29 PM
Telling fans they need to calm down at full time apparently
27-07-2023, 05:29 PM
And it’s a massive welcome back to the Johnson Out thread you have been missed
27-07-2023, 05:30 PM
The fact Johnson only signed a back up for Marshall after last season should be reason enough to sack him.
There’s no chance the boy is a backup. He’s just letting Marsh have an opportunity to keep the gloves which he’s just lost.
Chorley Hibee
27-07-2023, 05:31 PM
What I find incredible is that some people don't seem particularly concerned by the result.
Of course, they'll be the ones that think we're only a centre-forward away, and that Marshall, Stevenson, Hanlon, Miller, Rocky, JDH, Campbell, Melkersen, Doidge, ALF and more are going to be a squad capable of achieving something.
Deluded springs to mind.
27-07-2023, 05:34 PM
And it’s a massive welcome back to the Johnson Out thread you have been missed
Are you surprised in any way after that?
27-07-2023, 05:38 PM
Are you surprised in any way after that?
No, I can’t say I am.
27-07-2023, 05:40 PM
Should have stuck with Jack Ross, he was on a bad run but had just got us to a cup final, he also knew what it took to get us 3rd.
Absolutely.
27-07-2023, 05:40 PM
What is it with managers and our midfield, it’s like they want to make the job harder for themselves. What is the point of signing Levitt to play him deep to do a similar role to Newell & JDH. Other than the moments Campbell has where he scores, it’s shaping up for another season where we have a fantastic midfield individually and statistically, but in reality it’s one big nothing. One paced, no drive or athleticism and bereft of creativity and quality in the final 3rd (Campbell moments aside).
First competitive game of the season and we’re seeing the sobering midfield trio again, Newell, JDH & Campbell.
27-07-2023, 05:41 PM
No, I can’t say I am.
Neither you should be after one of the worst results in our history tbh
27-07-2023, 05:43 PM
Can see Marshall costing us a few goals this season. Not good enough.
27-07-2023, 05:45 PM
The club and manager were vastly unprepared for the start of the season and LJ was happy with his squad going into the first 3 or 4 games. That is very worrying if he actually believes that.
27-07-2023, 05:45 PM
What is it with managers and our midfield, it’s like they want to make the job harder for themselves. What is the point of signing Levitt to play him deep to do a similar role to Newell & JDH. Other than the moments Campbell has where he scores, it’s shaping up for another season where we have a fantastic midfield individually and statistically, but in reality it’s one big nothing. One paced, no drive or athleticism and bereft of creativity and quality in the final 3rd (Campbell moments aside).
First competitive game of the season and we’re seeing the sobering midfield trio again, Newell, JDH & Campbell.
Newell was best player on the pitch and he only played half the game.
27-07-2023, 05:47 PM
I only saw the first 30 minutes, but taking that to be true not sure how relevant it is to my wider point.
27-07-2023, 05:48 PM
He looked like he was a player from leagues above the Andorrans, unlike the rest of our team.
27-07-2023, 05:48 PM
Telling fans they need to calm down at full time apparentlyBased on this forum, like him or loathe him....he may just have a point
Particularly to the guy lobbing him out the plane
[emoji1787][emoji1787]
27-07-2023, 05:51 PM
Wasnae standing in a bush was he?
Joking aside, what’s wrong with that? If he’s got people shouting at him and the team, he’ll tell them to calm down, seems a reasonable response. If you say he went in windmilling with his keys between his fingers it’d maybe raise more of an eyebrow with me.
27-07-2023, 05:51 PM
Neither you should be after one of the worst results in our history tbh
Nowhere near it.
Whilst having serious doubts about where we are supposed to be going this season and far from being a Johnston fan he is correct. We need to calm down. If we don’t go through to the next round and don’t get a performance and result a week on Sunday he should be gone.
27-07-2023, 05:54 PM
You’re a good poster BH and I enjoy reading your take on things but do you need to say that after every game we lose?! He left ages ago, you and I disagree on the point you’ve made but how many times does it need to be discussed?!
27-07-2023, 05:55 PM
Suppose it depends on what was said. To be fair if I'd forked out £1k to watch that I don't think I'd be saying hard lines chaps.
27-07-2023, 05:56 PM
This continual treating competitive games as friendlies is bizarre.
27-07-2023, 05:57 PM
Having seen and heard what a group of Hibs fans were shouting at the players, I don’t blame LJ for his response one bit.
I’m no fan of the guy, but at some point it’s got to click that footballers are human beings.
cameronw-hfc
27-07-2023, 05:58 PM
If Lee goes this season think we should try for Luke Williams. Great young manager and his teams play cracking football. Very high line, high press and everything's on the deck
27-07-2023, 05:58 PM
😂😂😂 Jack Ross.
27-07-2023, 06:01 PM
You’re a good poster BH and I enjoy reading your take on things but do you need to say that after every game we lose?! He left ages ago, you and I disagree on the point you’ve made but how many times does it need to be discussed?!
Would he come back. 😂
27-07-2023, 06:04 PM
I'm as sick as everyone tonight, but i've seen it too many times now and we never learn from our mistakes.
Managers will have downturns in results, especially teams like us. We just dont give them time, especially ones who have delivered success, and he was successful.
Hampden every year, Europe through finishing 3rd, but as soon as we have a bad season, bare in mind he'd just got us to a final, those who want jam yesterday are screaming to get rid.
Then we have to get rid of everyone he ever signed and give the next loser more money than Ross ever could imagine.
I'm being serious, we should dump this clown and beg Ross to come back, and back him like his successer has been backed.
27-07-2023, 06:09 PM
https://twitter.com/fezstewart/status/1684618028137193472?t=1Yt0Kv4mdQOMqYp8puVcGg&s=07&fbclid=IwAR0jdEdsE6pWSNXNNLY9oEFArwCpTe2jNRqPJxYjm Rtx5CRGakCAU7qgM9k
Here's a clip.
Hibees1973
27-07-2023, 06:09 PM
Know he won't be sacked. Probably won't even be sacked if we get knocked out next week.
Every time I see and hear him I just don't listen. Some of the decisions he has made on signing certain players defy any logic.
Just can't take to him. Sooner he is gone the better for Hibs.
27-07-2023, 06:10 PM
One of his many cliches lately has been that ‘you have to have your money on the pitch’.
Well Lee, you paid money for a goalie, sat him on the bench and played Marshall. You paid money for a centre half, sat him on the bench and played Rocky.
27-07-2023, 06:11 PM
I'm as sick as everyone tonight, but i've seen it too many times now and we never learn from our mistakes.
Managers will have downturns in results, especially teams like us. We just dont give them time, especially ones who have delivered success, and he was successful.
Hampden every year, Europe through finishing 3rd, but as soon as we have a bad season, bare in mind he'd just got us to a final, those who want jam yesterday are screaming to get rid.
Then we have to get rid of everyone he ever signed and give the next loser more money than Ross ever could imagine.
I'm being serious, we should dump this clown and beg Ross to come back, and back him like his successer has been backed.
You are ignoring the fact that the whole premise of Ron Gordon’s plan was about getting bums on seats. We needed that to increase sponsorship and revenue throughout the club. Even when we were winning under Ross, people weren’t turning up, thats season ticket holders, let alone attracting new people to the ground.
Some people like you, only care about the end result, others care about the entertainment and how we get to the end result.
I’m not saying your opinion on Ross is wrong, it’s a perfectly valid school of thought, it’s just one I disagree with as I’m looking for different things from my trips to Easter road than you.
We were mind numbingly boring under Ross IMO, even when we were winning.
Hopefully one day, we can stop having this discussion but I’ll no hold my breath 😂
27-07-2023, 06:11 PM
https://twitter.com/fezstewart/status/1684618028137193472?t=1Yt0Kv4mdQOMqYp8puVcGg&s=07&fbclid=IwAR0jdEdsE6pWSNXNNLY9oEFArwCpTe2jNRqPJxYjm Rtx5CRGakCAU7qgM9k
Here's a clip.
I think he should go, but all he's done is try and calm the situation down, it would have been pointless going over to the fans so he got down the tunnel sharpish.
Hibees1973
27-07-2023, 06:12 PM
Here's a clip.
Quite right they got it tight.
Just glad I wasn't there and forked out over £500.
27-07-2023, 06:13 PM
Has he done an interview yet (ideally for another club).
Paloschi
27-07-2023, 06:14 PM
Absolutely embarrassing. Worse than the result. It’s one defeat. We will win the second leg.
27-07-2023, 06:16 PM
Wasn't keen initially, wanted him gone pronto in January, but I've slowly warmed to him since. One thing is for sure you can guarantee he'll be just as pissed off at that performance tonight as any one of us. There's absolutely no way he's wanted us to be as shy and timid as that.
Players need to step up at times and they absolutely did not tonight.
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 06:18 PM
I fear the drivel that will come out his mouth, he's going to say some embarrassing quote, up there with 'footballing IQ'.
We will win the tie next week, but this result is in the locker for the season ahead, that's a worry :(
*I've just seen he's blaming the altitude.
Please make this stop, I'm over all this waffle.
Chorley Hibee
27-07-2023, 06:20 PM
Wasn't keen initially, wanted him gone pronto in January, but I've slowly warmed to him since. One thing is for sure you can guarantee he'll be just as pissed off at that performance tonight as any one of us. There's absolutely no way he's wanted us to be as shy and timid as that.
Players need to step up at times and they absolutely did not tonight.
And how many ****ing times have the same players failed to step up, yet we persist with their ***** season after season.
Those in charge are responsible for the amount of sub-standard players at ER, and even more responsible for persisting with so many of them a year (or more) down the line.
27-07-2023, 06:20 PM
See the stuff on Facebook about a protest before the game on Wednesday night…
Time for calm heads, all this bursting blood vessel stuff will make someone ill.
We will pump them at home.
27-07-2023, 06:22 PM
Things will never really go anywhere with LJ here IMO.
We’ll still get through the tie. We’ll probably string a few results together in the league but the next disaster will never be far away.
I thought we were on the right track second half of last season but here we are, first game of the new season and the circus is starting again.
Trinity Hibee
27-07-2023, 06:22 PM
What managers are available or could we likely get at the moment?
27-07-2023, 06:23 PM
Having seen and heard what a group of Hibs fans were shouting at the players, I don’t blame LJ for his response one bit.
I’m no fan of the guy, but at some point it’s got to click that footballers are human beings.
What was said
27-07-2023, 06:24 PM
Time for calm heads, all this bursting blood vessel stuff will make someone ill.
They’ll be a day early then
27-07-2023, 06:24 PM
What was said
Calling the players “****ing r*tards”, amongst other pleasantries.
Lee Johnson got a hell of a lot wrong tonight, but telling those fans to calm down was not one of them.
27-07-2023, 06:25 PM
A goal down at half time without fish, obita,boyle,newell(not 100%) and still to sign a CF (and probably others). In July and the team not yet up to speed.
I'm not worried in the slightest! We will win this tie and I fully back LJ to have a decent season.
Keeper will be phased put, rocky put back on the bench and a better CF brought in. My only real complaint is leaving out the two young lads who showed up well in pre season to play too safe with the uninspiring JDH and Jeggo. The youngsters would have been more of a threat.
KTF
27-07-2023, 06:25 PM
Any manager who picks a midfield combination that includes JDH and Campbell deserves the sack, on the spot.
He's here!
27-07-2023, 06:32 PM
I fear the drivel that will come out his mouth, he's going to say some embarrassing quote, up there with 'footballing IQ'.
We will win the tie next week, but this result is in the locker for the season ahead, that's a worry :(
*I've just seen he's blaming the altitude.
Please make this stop, I'm over all this waffle.
He also said he thought we were "much better" in the second half. That's all I saw and it was abysmal so I hate to think what the first half must have been like.
Saint Hibee
27-07-2023, 06:32 PM
Jack Ross? You mean the same guy who was manager for what was literally the worst ever result for a Scottish club in Europe?
His interview on Hibs TV is worrying.
Should have said it was crap and not played it down.
27-07-2023, 06:35 PM
A protest on Wednesday will be fun
27-07-2023, 06:38 PM
He also said he thought we were "much better" in the second half. That's all I saw and it was abysmal so I hate to think what the first half must have been like.
You are both right we were dreadful second half but still better than the first half
27-07-2023, 06:39 PM
https://twitter.com/BBCSportScot/status/1684630621736390656?s=20
"I don't want to make excuses" then reels off a number of bull**** excuses.
Get him gone.
27-07-2023, 06:41 PM
A protest on Wednesday will be fun
Exactly, muppets.
They’ll be a day early then
That’s the point I’m making…
Get him gone.
Don't think he's said anything wrong there? I genuinely believe he's as shocked as us at that first half performance. Can do all the work in the world during training etc but if the players **** it there's only so many subs you can make.
Saint Hibee
27-07-2023, 06:42 PM
Get him gone.
I'm not defending him, but in fairness he does say "we don't deserve excuses, individuals just weren't good enough".
27-07-2023, 06:44 PM
Let's see what happens next week. If we get knocked out by that team, sack him on the spot.
He's here!
27-07-2023, 06:44 PM
Calling the players “****ing r*tards”, amongst other pleasantries.
Lee Johnson got a hell of a lot wrong tonight, but telling those fans to calm down was not one of them.
You can't surely blame anyone who travelled there, spending a fair whack of cash, for losing the head when rewarded by a performance as pitiful as that?
27-07-2023, 06:45 PM
Get him gone.
Good interview, said it how it was, he's admitted he's learned a lesson and it was sloppy - it's a two leg tie, we'll win at home easily. Interview was spot on for me.
27-07-2023, 06:47 PM
Get him gone.
Why did we play with two wide players on such a narrow pitch? Surely a 442 to start would have suited better. The players did somehow manage to individually and collectively be as poor as I’ve seen most of them but Johnson has to shoulder sone of the blame particularly for that first half **** show.
Trinity Hibee
I actually feel sorry for him hearing that interview but I’m afraid it’s virtually time up now
Another year of constant Crap time for a change
27-07-2023, 06:48 PM
He is clueless. Either get rid now and give us a full season to improve or keep him till Christmas and we’re in a struggle for survival. He should have had every player wound up to destroy that nondescript team today.
27-07-2023, 06:48 PM
You can't surely blame anyone who travelled there, spending a fair whack of cash, for losing the head when rewarded by a performance as pitiful as that?There's getting a bit annoyed and there's calling someone a ******
There's definitely a group in that clip that should be embarrassed and it's not the players
27-07-2023, 06:49 PM
Don't think he's said anything wrong there? I genuinely believe he's as shocked as us at that first half performance. Can do all the work in the world during training etc but if the players **** it there's only so many subs you can make.
Nah, comes across as “wisnae me”. The players can have all the info about the opposition that they want, the managers role is to make sure we’re organised and well drilled and prepared to win. We look as if we’d met for the first time today.
27-07-2023, 06:49 PM
Good interview, said it how it was, he's admitted he's learned a lesson and it was sloppy - it's a two leg tie, we'll win at home easily. Interview was spot on for me.
You'd think he would have learned his lesson about competitive games before the league season starts after last seasons shambolic exit from the league cup.
He's a slaver.
Donegal Hibby
27-07-2023, 06:51 PM
Get him gone.
Doesn't say anything wrong at all in that .
BigKev
There's getting a bit annoyed and there's calling someone a ******
There's definitely a group in that clip that should be embarrassed and it's not the players
100% correct. Some right gob*****s in our “support”
Nah, comes across as “wisnae me”. The players can have all the info about the opposition that they want, the managers role is to make sure we’re organised and well drilled and prepared to win. We look as if we’d met for the first time today.
He can’t do much when the likes of Stevenson shells the ball out the pitch on 10 occasions
Surely what you describe is on the players though nah? So so many stray passes today, what can LJ do about that?
Folk who hate LJ will always find his IVs a joke
Folk that don't mind him will find them OK
What lesson has he learned though? He could, and probably did, say something similar after the league cup debacle last year. Thankfully we have another 90 mins to turn this tie around but I honestly don't think he is good enough
27-07-2023, 06:53 PM
You can't surely blame anyone who travelled there, spending a fair whack of cash, for losing the head when rewarded by a performance as pitiful as that?
I’ll blame anyone who can’t control themselves from using slurs no matter the context.
Absolute fantasy that spending some money gives you the right to behave like that.
The Baldmans Comb
27-07-2023, 06:54 PM
An arrogant little man who looked down on Scottish football from the moment he arrived and learned nothing from last year's league cup debacle.
Today was no different with the experiment of the hopeless Melkerson somehow on the pitch but at least give him a chance and play in his rightful position and then compound that with Levitt playing so deep even though its never worked yet.
Give yourself the best chance to win games by playing your best team in familiar positions and then by all means experiment once games are won.
Common sense is lost on this imposter who has the absolute cheek and temerity to tell the supporters to "calm down" in the post match interview.
They paid £600 plus and took 3/4 days off work to watch that garbage and you don't even have the decency to live in Scotland on your £200,000 a year.
You will be gone very soon and then we can "calm down".
27-07-2023, 06:55 PM
Get him gone.
Tbh I don’t like Johnson and dont rate him but it’s hard to see where he went wrong in that interview.
27-07-2023, 06:55 PM
Here's a clip.
Deary me. That’s what you call support 🙄
Paul1642
27-07-2023, 06:56 PM
There's getting a bit annoyed and there's calling someone a ******
I just don’t understand how anyone can ever get so angry about football. Good on them for travelling all that way to support the team but the small group in that video are a disgrace, and as much as we should have been winning this game it’s pretty arrogant to get that worked up about a 2-1 away European defeat.
I’ve not been to any Hibs away euro games but plenty of Scotland away games, which have in generaly ended in defeat. Not once have I let the result ruin what is always a great trip and certainly never been angry like that. I would stop watching the sport before it gave me a heart attack if i were them.
You'd think he would have learned his lesson about competitive games before the league season starts after last seasons shambolic exit from the league cup.
He's a slaver.
He didn't say anything in that interview that was wrong though. Admitted the players were miles off it and it is is/was his first experience of European football competition, Players let him down today. If we get beat at home, fair play, then the criticism is absolutely justified - but it's a two leg tie and if we win, he's learned important lessons. As much as I critique him, Joe Newell came on and made a difference. He also knows Levitt struggles in a certain position. He'll also have other players to select next week. Wait until the end result before we all reach for the Tena pads.
An arrogant little man who looked down on Scottish football from the moment he arrived and learned nothing from last year's league cup debacle.
Today was no different with the experiment of the hopeless Melkerson somehow on the pitch but at least give him a chance and play in his rightful position and then compound that with Levitt playing so deep even though its never worked yet.
Give yourself the best chance to win games by playing your best team in familiar positions and then by all means experiment once games are won.
Common sense is lost on this imposter who has the absolute cheek and temerity to tell the supporters to "calm down" in the post match interview.
They paid £600 plus and took 3/4 days off work to watch that garbage and you don't even have the decency to live in Scotland on your £200,000 a year.
You will be gone very soon and then we can "calm down".He was spot on - should've actually had a square go with them
Embarrassing supporters, infact embarrassing humans based on the clips I seen
27-07-2023, 07:01 PM
Find it Bizarre does LJ travel like Jack Ross did ?
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 07:01 PM
Get him gone.
Levitt, he gives some chat on already seeing him perform poorly at altitude, his injury recovery from last season and his lack of game time YET he throws him out there today, what the actual F? The manager has to pick the best XI, ok if it was a friendly, but saying "I told the players it wasn't a given" yet he's putting Levitt out there as if it was a given.
Another thing, LJ's had his teeth whitened, honestly, if that man was chocolate.
27-07-2023, 07:02 PM
not nice seeing that kind of behaviour, yes they've spent a lot of hard-earned getting there and are entitled to feel so let down, but nah
i suspect copious amounts of alcohol maybe played a part
in the fans behaviour i mean not in the players performances, then again :greengrin
27-07-2023, 07:05 PM
He didn’t do any experimenting tonight. We were beyond pish and I’m no keen on LJ but we didn’t exactly have many other options than what he started with.
Your ‘looking down on Scottish football’ chat when ever we lose a game is garbage.
27-07-2023, 07:06 PM
Deary me. That’s what you call support 🙄
Well at least they turned up unlike the players. Id be pretty pissed off as them. Not sure shouting abuse will help
27-07-2023, 07:07 PM
Levitt, he gives some chat on already seeing him perform poorly at altitude, his injury recovery from last season and his lack of game time YET he throws him out there today, what the actual F? The manager has to pick the best XI, ok if it was a friendly, but saying "I told the players it wasn't a given" yet he's putting Levitt out there as if it was a given.
Another thing, LJ's had his teeth whitened, honestly, if that man was chocolate.
Beats having a bald pretend hard man with no coaching badges over the road and an triumvirate of ***** :agree:
27-07-2023, 07:07 PM
Another thing, LJ's had his teeth whitened, honestly, if that man was chocolate.I was backing him until this apparent teeth whitening incident
Firmly in the Johnson out camp now
27-07-2023, 07:08 PM
Another classic to add to your catalogue.
27-07-2023, 07:09 PM
Im not feeling very confident about this season with Johnson in charge tbh
GreenGray
27-07-2023, 07:09 PM
I know tie isn’t over but you can’t deny that is embarrassing.
You could tell after 15 minutes we would lose, devoid of any ideas, what exactly were the tactics?? Yes the players were poor but blame for selection and tactics like with the manager. He’s been backed this window and I’m not convinced he’s the man to take us forward.
27-07-2023, 07:11 PM
Another classic to add to your catalogue.
Not much wrong with his post tbh.
27-07-2023, 07:12 PM
Well at least they turned up unlike the players. Id be pretty pissed off as them. Not sure shouting abuse will help
The abuse was embarrassing imo. Be annoyed but no need for that behaviour.
27-07-2023, 07:13 PM
Not much wrong with his post tbh.
Lots of personal digs that were irrelevant to whatever point he was trying to make.
Bridge hibs
27-07-2023, 07:23 PM
Lots of personal digs that were irrelevant to whatever point he was trying to make.Plus the fact he is slavering about Johnson not having the decency to live in Scotland
From a Scotsman interview
A photo of him and daughter Izzy is a reminder of the recent family holiday but, unwilling to uproot her or disrupt her education, especially as management jobs offer no promise of longevity, she and his wife Nicola have remained down south while he is in Edinburgh on his own and football is all consuming.
Whether that is nicking some lines from Ted Lasso (“To be your mentor I’ve got to be your tormentor”) a programme he loves, or his desire to explore the history that is now on his doorstep, from house-hunting so he can accommodate the many people already expressing a desire to visit him in the Scottish capital, including his pal, comedian Mark Watson, to dealing with mental health, which he knows is no laughing matter, he is passionate about it all.
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 07:26 PM
[/B]
Beats having a bald pretend hard man with no coaching badges over the road and an triumvirate of ***** :agree:
He's hung Levitt out to dry a bit don't you think? What a start for the lad, what a start.
"Triumvirate" :) That's got to be a .net first?!
27-07-2023, 07:27 PM
5-0 next Thursday would repair some of the damage
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 07:28 PM
Melkerson needs moved on pronto, he was ***** before, ***** at his loan club, and he's returned *****.
27-07-2023, 07:29 PM
I was backing him until this apparent teeth whitening incident
Firmly in the Johnson out camp now
Glad you got there in the end :wink:
27-07-2023, 07:31 PM
Glad you got there in the end :wink:It's funny, the person I've met that had the most "totally loves himself" vibe is John Collins
Wonder if he ever whitened his teeth
[emoji1787]
27-07-2023, 07:31 PM
5-0 next Thursday would repair some of the damage
Not to Johnson's reputation, he's on borrowed time, with no credit in the bank for when things are going badly (even if we somehow get off to a good start to league season).
27-07-2023, 07:32 PM
I just don’t understand how anyone can ever get so angry about football. Good on them for travelling all that way to support the team but the small group in that video are a disgrace, and as much as we should have been winning this game it’s pretty arrogant to get that worked up about a 2-1 away European defeat.
I’ve not been to any Hibs away euro games but plenty of Scotland away games, which have in generaly ended in defeat. Not once have I let the result ruin what is always a great trip and certainly never been angry like that. I would stop watching the sport before it gave me a heart attack if i were them.
Good post.
Everyone is different and each to their own but I agree with you. I wouldn’t act in a group any differently to how I’d act face to face in a one on one situation. I doubt very much if some of those guys would have shouted at the players faces like that if they were face to face with none of their pals about.
27-07-2023, 07:32 PM
He's hung Levitt out to dry a bit don't you think? What a start for the lad, what a start.
"Triumvirate" :) That's got to be a .net first?!
He was asked by Fat Brian about DL and he gave a diplomatic answer and protected his player by offering a reason why we are not seeing the best of him just yet. Levitt is quality and that will be apparent throughout the season - marathon not a sprint as they say.
27-07-2023, 07:33 PM
Things will never really go anywhere with LJ here IMO.
We’ll still get through the tie. We’ll probably string a few results together in the league but the next disaster will never be far away.
I thought we were on the right track second half of last season but here we are, first game of the new season and the circus is starting again.
Exactly right. We'll bump along picking up one win in 3 or whatever, but he's never going to be a popular manager with the vast majority of the fan base. He just doesn't have what it takes.
He survived losing 9 on the bounce. He's going nowhere though so we just need to put up with it for another season. It really sucks. He's ruining our club from the inside and there's nothing we can do to stop it.
Whoever replaces him will have a massive job. Groundhog day indeed.
On a positive, I think this is him in his final year of this contract. Hopefully the club won't offer an extension to it. Might mean it's cheaper to pay him off now I suppose?
Trinity Hibee
27-07-2023, 07:35 PM
Exactly right. We'll bump along picking up one win in 3 or whatever, but he's never going to be a popular manager with the vast majority of the fan base. He just doesn't have what it takes.
He survived losing 9 on the bounce. He's going nowhere though so we just need to put up with it for another season. It really sucks. He's ruining our club from the inside and there's nothing we can do to stop it.
On a positive, I think this is him in his final year of this contract. Hopefully the club won't offer an extension to it. Might mean it's cheaper to pay him off now I suppose?
He signed a 4 year deal last summer. He’s got 3 more years 😂
27-07-2023, 07:37 PM
On a positive, I think this is him in his final year of this contract. Hopefully the club won't offer an extension to it. Might mean it's cheaper to pay him off now I suppose?What's he doing to ruin our club from the inside?
Sounds very Vlad and George Burleyesque [emoji1787]
27-07-2023, 07:42 PM
Get him gone.
At least he looks like he's under pressure.
He talks about it being a wake up call for the lads - it should be a huge one for him too.
27-07-2023, 07:44 PM
I was there today and I can honestly say it was shocking watching this both halves. Certain players didn’t look anywhere near ready for the season starting. Their number 8 ( I thought ) was man of the match and Hibs started to come more into the game when he went off.
This being said it’s not next week that bothers me as I believe we will win the tie. What really bothers me is we have a team that doesn’t look like it’s ready for the season starting against St Mirren and that’s on Kensall and Johnston’s watch.
We look like we have not learned from last seasons league cup shambles and I genuinely wonder if we will be ready for the
St Mirren game.
Would l give Johnston any more time? I can actually say I don’t know, I’d love him to turn this performance into a team that know this is not acceptable on any level, but he had that chance league cup last season and the same warning signs are showing again for me.
I love Hibs with my every breath but that was a hard bitter pill to swallow today.
27-07-2023, 07:46 PM
What's he doing to ruin our club from the inside?
Sounds very Vlad and George Burleyesque [emoji1787]
Is this a wind up?
He signs the players and puts the team on the pitch. It's mostly been crap since the day we walked through the door. We could be doing far far better with a different manager getting the same level of support from the board.
I know you don't like to read criticism of him or the club, but this is one huge mistake that needs fixed by changing manager. It's not getting any better with him in charge.
I don't know how you don't see it? What gives you the confidence that he can improve things?
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 07:47 PM
I was there today and I can honestly say it was shocking watching this both halves. Certain players didn’t look anywhere near ready for the season starting. Their number 8 ( I thought ) was man of the match and Hibs started to come more into the game when he went off.
This being said it’s not next week that bothers me as I believe we will win the tie. What really bothers me is we have a team that doesn’t look like it’s ready for the season starting against St Mirren and that’s on Kensall and Johnston’s watch.
We look like we have not learned from last seasons league cup shambles and I genuinely wonder if we will be ready for the
St Mirren game.
Would l give Johnston any more time? I can actually say I don’t know, I’d love him to turn this performance into a team that know this is not acceptable on any level, but he had that chance league cup last season and the same warning signs are showing again for me.
I love Hibs with my every breath but that was a hard bitter pill to swallow today.
Fair play Southern, unbelievable effort. Try and enjoy your night and safe travels.
27-07-2023, 07:48 PM
He signed a 4 year deal last summer. He’s got 3 more years 😂
Eh?
LJ??
No way???
You just took away the last bit of hope I had for us......
27-07-2023, 07:49 PM
How do you know he’s not popular with the “vast majority” of the fan base? Where are you getting that from? And he’s “ruining our club from the inside” - wtf? 😳
He's here!
I think there's a difference between an 'only here for the beer/camaraderie' type trip which, when Scotland were c**p for so many years, was probably the best way to approach away games, but when it comes to Hibs away European games against amateur teams we should surely not be losing to, a dreadful performance and result like today's is going to really sour the experience. I've been away with Hibs to games against both European minnows and teams with genuine clout and in the latter games you're hoping for a performance you can be proud of but not living or dying by the result. I don't know if there's more than one video circulating but the one I saw seemed to show little more than fans telling the players and management to ****** off. Not hard to echo those sentiments surely?
Trinity Hibee
Eh?
LJ??
No way???
You just took away the last bit of hope I had for us......
Yep. Sadly not a joke
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/lee-johnson-appointed-manager
27-07-2023, 07:51 PM
Forget this pish about Boyle chomping at the bit and being a cheerleader but not wanting to risk him. Start him on Thursday or we're out of Europe before the league starts.
27-07-2023, 07:51 PM
St Mirren game.
Well done you SH on making the trip. I know you were in Marbella as well
Hopefully better times ahead, and you’re a top Hibee
27-07-2023, 07:52 PM
Some classic Hibs.net bed wetting
27-07-2023, 07:53 PM
How do you know he’s not popular with the “vast majority” of the fan base? Where are you getting that from? And he’s “ruining our club from the inside” - wtf? 😳
Seems pretty clear to me. He's never been universally popular.
ER is mostly flat. Yo never hear songs chanting his name, or see banners about him in the ground. Nothing. We're mostly putting u with him, waiting for the change to be made.
See my response to Calum re your other question.
Let's keep things nice between us, I'm not having a dig at any fellow fans on here, just my thoughts on LJ :thumbsup:
Silky
27-07-2023, 07:53 PM
Is this a wind up?
He signs the players and puts the team on the pitch. It's mostly been crap since the day we walked through the door. We could be doing far far better with a different manager getting the same level of support from the board.
I know you don't like to read criticism of him or the club, but this is one huge mistake that needs fixed by changing manager. It's not getting any better with him in charge.
I don't know how you don't see it? What gives you the confidence that he can improve things?
Does he still sign players? I thought Brian McDermott was brought in for that. He's the DoF. Has he no role in this at all?
27-07-2023, 07:54 PM
Does he still sign players? I thought Brian McDermott was brought in for that. He's the DoF. Has he no role in this at all?
No idea, probably a committee or something :wink:
Silky
27-07-2023, 07:56 PM
The abuse was embarrassing imo. Be annoyed but no need for that behaviour.
Totally. No need whatsoever. Well OTT. It's funny, the same folk getting triggered by Johnson's interview and his "excuses" are the ones making their own excuses for the abuse being dished out. Standard on hypocrite.net
27-07-2023, 07:56 PM
Forget this pish about Boyle chomping at the bit and being a cheerleader but not wanting to risk him. Start him on Thursday or we're out of Europe before the league starts.
I thought that was incredibly patronising and if I had been there manager would have posted that on dressing room wall
Boyle ‘s situation is a strange one
I think he was close to being risked for last game of season v Hearts but hasn’t played a minute of preseason football yet
He is going to take a long time to get up to match speed
Silky
27-07-2023, 07:57 PM
No idea, probably a committee or something :wink:
🤣. Committee out, then!
Im not feeling very confident about this season with Johnson in charge tbh
Ditto; it was obvious a year ago that he was clueless - utterly staggering that he’s still here.
27-07-2023, 07:59 PM
Without peeshing the bed, yes that was a pretty poor result as results go, perhaps our worst ever in Europe, the game will be won at Easter Road, Johnston has the next 3 or 4 games and he needs to win them and win them well.
He is not the manager that Hibs need for longer term success even if we could achieve this, it will not be with him as manager.
Tonights game was a shambles, he should be well aware that he has let the club and the support down and he should be saying sorry not calm down.
27-07-2023, 08:00 PM
I know I’m in the minority but a result like that I find difficult to point the finger at the manager.
Regardless of team, formation etc the players we had on that park should have had more than enough quality and professionalism to deal with it and win.
Hanlon and Stevenson both on top of each other for the first goal, missing it and then leaving a massive gap in behind. Two players with masses of experience who should know better.
Second Stevenson is really poor defensively and then Marshall…I don’t know quite how he done that.
Then you had guys like Stevenson, Jeggo and many others playing brutal passes out of play under no pressure.
These are basics.
You can say it’s Johnson’s job to get them up for it etc etc, but the players play all season for Europe and always say that’s why they join. We’ll go out and play like it and stop taking teams like that for granted
Also blaming a small pitch?! These guys do possession drills in boxes that are tiny and you don’t get a second on the ball. Move the thing quicker, show a bit of composure and make runs to stretch it.
MikeyS
27-07-2023, 08:04 PM
Of course it's worse, this lot are lilo salesmen & waiters
Chorley Hibee
27-07-2023, 08:05 PM
Seems pretty clear to me. He's never been universally popular.
ER is mostly flat. Yo never hear songs chanting his name, or see banners about him in the ground. Nothing. We're mostly putting u with him, waiting for the change to be made.
See my response to Calum re your other question.
Let's keep things nice between us, I'm not having a dig at any fellow fans on here, just my thoughts on LJ :thumbsup:
Agree with your remarks about ER being flat and us "putting up with him".
It's not if he'll be sacked, but simply a matter of when.
We should be making the change now.
27-07-2023, 08:05 PM
Here's a clip.
IMO, fans acting like that is more embarrassing than the half time score. 'I want a refund' 😂. I don't think LJ was out of line at all by gesturing them to calm their jets. Surely you accept that wherever you go to watch your team or how much you pay, there is a possibility they could have an off day and lose?
27-07-2023, 08:08 PM
The thing about LJ for me is that he's never convinced me he is going to get us playing at the level we want and expect hibs to be playing at. From getting punted from the league cup last season, poor runs of results against so called poorer teams in the league and a couple of humpings at the hands of hearts hasn't done much to turn my impression of him
During the summer, again not much seems to have been done to address the glaring issues that the team had last season, the team went on a training camp to Spain and somehow still managed to perform tonight as if they had never met each other.
Again I'm just not convinced he's the guy to take us forward. He needs to prove me wrong but he's not helping himself with results like tonight, the club are very active in promoting the euro games and rightly so but it was so obvious we were not ready for the game today.
27-07-2023, 08:16 PM
Johnson will be judged more harshly this season than last. There’s a section of the support -I include myself in their midst- who gave him more or less a free pass as the club needed some kind of stability. But he has to improve this time around. That was a terrible start.
GreenGray
27-07-2023, 08:17 PM
Some classic Hibs.net bed wetting
Think there’s a difference between bed wetting about potentially going out (we won’t) and being annoyed at an unacceptable performance and result.
27-07-2023, 08:21 PM
At least he looks like he's under pressure.
He talks about it being a wake up call for the lads - it should be a huge one for him too.
A “wake up call”. How long has he been in charge now? If they’re not playing his style, to his standards and at his tempo by this stage when will they?
I suspect this is going to be last season all over again.
Crunchie
27-07-2023, 08:27 PM
IMO, fans acting like that is more embarrassing than the half time score. 'I want a refund' 😂. I don't think LJ was out of line at all by gesturing them to calm their jets. Surely you accept that wherever you go to watch your team or how much you pay, there is a possibility they could have an off day and lose?
:top marks I'd give the lot of them a refund and return their season tickets along with a lifetime ban, they're not the kind of supporters we need.
27-07-2023, 08:28 PM
Nah.
27-07-2023, 08:32 PM
Johnson will be judged more harshly this season than last. There’s a section of the support -I include myself in their midst- who gave him more or less a free pass as the club needed some kind of stability. But he has to improve this time around. That was a terrible start.
Jack Ross lost v Championship Hearts in essentially a closed doors semi, lost two games v St Johnstone when we could easily have won another SC, and had us in free fall in the league - but some want him back :greengrin
LJ has had one season - one !!!!
Give him time DBS.
27-07-2023, 08:35 PM
Jack Ross lost v Championship Hearts in essentially a closed doors semi, lost two games v St Johnstone when we could easily have won another SC, and had us in free fall in the league - but some want him back :greengrin
LJ has had one season - one !!!!
Give him time DBS.
I know, who wants the club to reach semi's and finals, they are overrated?
27-07-2023, 08:38 PM
I'd much rather win them, and a cup, than want a manager who lost them when they were there to win (easily) :aok:
27-07-2023, 08:39 PM
I know I’m in the minority but a result like that I find difficult to point the finger at the manager.
Regardless of team, formation etc the players we had on that park should have had more than enough quality and professionalism to deal with it and win.
Hanlon and Stevenson both on top of each other for the first goal, missing it and then leaving a massive gap in behind. Two players with masses of experience who should know better.
Second Stevenson is really poor defensively and then Marshall…I don’t know quite how he done that.
Then you had guys like Stevenson, Jeggo and many others playing brutal passes out of play under no pressure.
These are basics.
You can say it’s Johnson’s job to get them up for it etc etc, but the players play all season for Europe and always say that’s why they join. We’ll go out and play like it and stop taking teams like that for granted
Also blaming a small pitch?! These guys do possession drills in boxes that are tiny and you don’t get a second on the ball. Move the thing quicker, show a bit of composure and make runs to stretch it.
This x 100!!!
Whether you think Lee Johnson is a capable manager or an absolute fraud is irrelevant when players - many of them very seasoned veterans - can't do the absolute basics properly.
pollution
27-07-2023, 08:40 PM
I'm glad I am not on the return slow coach flight to Edinburgh, that has not even taken off yet.
The propellers will sound even louder than normal.
As Corporal Jones would say: DONT PANIC ! We will hammer them five or six nil at ER.
27-07-2023, 08:43 PM
One of the most backed hibs managers in history financial wise.
Very little done to warrant it
Should we get beat next week/go out and he keeps his job, the seasons ****ed before it even begins
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 09:08 PM
Of course it's worse, this lot are lilo salesmen & waiters
IMO we were naive to Malmo, they were Champions League regulars and we just assumed they were to be brushed aside. Malmo were class IMO.
Anyway, we've backed Lee financially more than any other, plus we've got our business done early so the support team cannot be criticized. The buck stops with one guy from here, his players, DoF there who seems to have done his job.
The peg is shoogly from here.
babahibs
27-07-2023, 09:10 PM
I’ll blame anyone who can’t control themselves from using slurs no matter the context.
Absolute fantasy that spending some money gives you the right to behave like that.
Very well said,
I'll never understand the "I spent some money so I'm entitled to behave like a moronic spoilt child" argument.
Adults should not be screaming abuse at anyone, doesn't matter where you are.
27-07-2023, 09:11 PM
I'd much rather win them, and a cup, than want a manager who lost them when they were there to win (easily) :aok:
We aren’t getting anywhere near a semi or final under Lee Johnson. He clearly doesn’t care about cups.
27-07-2023, 09:14 PM
Also, he said after the game that levitt wasn’t ready to start and struggles playing at altitude…yet picked him???
I really find it hard to understand him sometimes
27-07-2023, 09:24 PM
One of the most backed hibs managers in history financial wise.
Very little done to warrant it
Should we get beat next week/go out and he keeps his job, the seasons ****ed before it even beginsSurely getting employed should automatically mean being backed?
If they arnt going to back the manager what's the point?
27-07-2023, 09:25 PM
These are basics.
I'm the same FWIW.
Those players have played that formation before. They've played on small pitches before. They've played stuffy inferior teams playing like their lives depend on it before. They'v played at altitude and they've played in the wind before.
Johnson may need to take the blame for thinking that there were players there who were good enough who clearly weren't good enough for the roles they were asked to play today.
But I don't know what a manager can do when the players can't seem to do the absolute basics right? Were the tactics that obscure or mental?
I think we overestimate the impact of a team talk etc. There were too many players who were simply nowhere near the level they needed to be at tonight and that's on them imo.
If they like working under LJ and don't want "another manager fired" on their cv's then they need to dig him out and do him a favour next week.
GreenGray
27-07-2023, 09:26 PM
Surely getting employed should automatically mean being backed?
You know what he means though don’t you?
Paulie Walnuts
27-07-2023, 09:28 PM
Surely getting employed should automatically mean being backed?
Depends. If you’re making a pigs ear of it should you continue to be given the funds to throw away, meaning less money for a potential new manager and more players to get rid of?
Chorley Hibee
27-07-2023, 09:30 PM
Also, he said after the game that levitt wasn’t ready to start and struggles playing at altitude…yet picked him???
He talks *****, that's all anyone needs to understand.
Matchday minus one being the latest load of ***** from his catalogue of crap.
An imposter, and it's just a matter of when, not if, he'll finally be sacked.
27-07-2023, 09:32 PM
Depends. If you’re making a pigs ear of it should you continue to be given the funds to throw away, meaning less money for a potential new manager and more players to get rid of?But we are in Europe
If they didn't invest - lost youan etc wouldn't fans be up in arms?
They've changed the structure, employed a really experienced guy as DoF and are backing it
Can't have an issue with that for me
Chorley Hibee
27-07-2023, 09:34 PM
:top marks I'd give the lot of them a refund and return their season tickets along with a lifetime ban, they're not the kind of supporters we need.
No, what we need is more of the nodding dog variety that accepts this pish, and the continual excuses, year after year.
This lot better not sign for any teams abroad if they think that response tonight was rough.
MikeyS
27-07-2023, 09:34 PM
He talks *****, that's all anyone needs to understand.
Matchday minus one being the latest load of ***** from his catalogue of crap.
An imposter, and it's just a matter of when, not if, he'll finally be sacked.
In fairness to him, Jack Ross loved that matchday minus one pish too!
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 09:35 PM
I've raised that and took pelters! He's reeled off like 4 reasons he should not have been playing yet played him.
27-07-2023, 09:52 PM
I'm the same FWIW.
Those players have played that formation before. They've played on small pitches before. They've played stuffy inferior teams playing like their lives depend on it before. They'v played at altitude and they've played in the wind before.
Johnson may need to take the blame for thinking that there were players there who were good enough who clearly weren't good enough for the roles they were asked to play today.
But I don't know what a manager can do when the players can't seem to do the absolute basics right? Were the tactics that obscure or mental?
I think we overestimate the impact of a team talk etc. There were too many players who were simply nowhere near the level they needed to be at tonight and that's on them imo.
If they like working under LJ and don't want "another manager fired" on their cv's then they need to dig him out and do him a favour next week.
It’s all about mentality, attitude and application. If the manager isn’t having a positive impact in those areas then he’s not doing his job. We could pay any half-wit to turn up at post match press conferences and talk about wake up calls, this guy is paid to organise, train and direct his team to deliver the goods. If that’s not happening after all this time then he’s the problem.
27-07-2023, 10:07 PM
Melkerson needs moved on pronto, he was ***** before, ***** at his loan club, and he's returned *****.
We loaned him out with a "seven figure" right to buy clause.
I'm Spartacus
27-07-2023, 10:12 PM
We loaned him out with a "seven figure" right to buy clause.
I guess the right to buy clause was "Do you want to buy him?" "Hahaha aye right".
27-07-2023, 10:39 PM
I've raised that and took pelters! He's reeled off like 4 reasons he should not have been playing yet played him.
It doesn’t make any sense. If a players not ready don’t play him
27-07-2023, 10:40 PM
Obviously that depends if the signing is a success or not. LJ will get little to no credit from a few on here.
27-07-2023, 10:43 PM
Word is he said to the fans when leaving the pitch, calm down its "pre season". IF he has said that after losing to an amateur side in a European competition then he must go immediately if thats how seriously he is taking it. Treating the fans who have travelled with sheer contempt.
snedzuk
27-07-2023, 10:44 PM
What managers are available or could we likely get at the moment?
Derek McInnes
Word is he said to the fans when leaving the pitch, calm down its "pre season". IF he has said that after losing to an amateur side in a European competition then he must go immediately if thats how seriously he is taking it. Treating the fans who have travelled with sheer contempt.
Word is he never said it's pre-season. That's been made up.
27-07-2023, 10:47 PM
Word is he said to the fans when leaving the pitch, calm down its "pre season". IF he has said that after losing to an amateur side in a European competition then he must go immediately if thats how seriously he is taking it. Treating the fans who have travelled with sheer contempt.Dunno how anyone would have heard him over the rabid idiots sticking the vikkies up through the fence and shouting infantile nonsense
He did make a small calm down gesture though
27-07-2023, 10:47 PM
Those three results were unforgivable. We were unlucky against hertz but to repeat the same mistakes against St Johnstone in that final was unbelievable. His career hasn’t exactly been a roaring success since.
27-07-2023, 10:48 PM
Word is he never said it's pre-season. That's been made up.
Not by me. Its been posted on twitter by fans who are there.
27-07-2023, 10:54 PM
You love your scurrilous rumours. Pure sweetie wife stuff.
27-07-2023, 11:01 PM
You love your scurrilous rumours. Pure sweetie wife stuff.
Its on twitter, posted by a fan who is there.
27-07-2023, 11:03 PM
Reminiscent of how underprepared we were for the league cup games last season. Almost as if it’s being used as part of our pre season programme rather than being ready for being competitive and aggressive in these games. Unforgivable
27-07-2023, 11:07 PM
You got a link HC?
27-07-2023, 11:13 PM
Reminiscent of how underprepared we were for the league cup games last season. Almost as if it’s being used as part of our pre season programme rather than being ready for being competitive and aggressive in these games. Unforgivable
I thought he tried to pick what he saw as his strongest available team tonight so different to the League Cup last year. I know we could argue about Newell but he was just back from a hamstring injury and think that probably impacted on selection.
He’s made some poor decisions though. Signing a goalie and a centre half but continuing to play Marshall and Rocky, crazy. Why sign them. Talking about Levitt being completely unfit but playing him, crazy.
Fish, Newell, Boyle, Obita should make a big difference in replacing players that started tonight. Wollacott has to be an improvement on Marshall and I’d like to think we’ll have a striker in before long. That should make a big difference but I just feel like the next disaster will always be round the corner.
27-07-2023, 11:19 PM
You can hear him saying it in the tweet? Assuming its a video you’ve seen? Not sure how anybody could hear anybody clearly from the track amongst that rabble.
27-07-2023, 11:24 PM
We'll probably recover and win the second leg but **** me that was brutal.
It's been bizarre reading how many were happy with our transfer business over summer.
We have far, far too much deadwood. Guys like Melkersen, Doidge, Marshall, Rocky and dare I say Stevenson are not good enough. Even as squad players.
We were sitting at the final derby going mad about the lack of options to change the game and we have found ourselves in exactly that same position come the first game of the new season.
Whoever the **** sanctioned a decent 6 figure fee for Melkersen should be gone.
I've never taken to LJ but he won me over towards the end of last season. The last derby was a huge blow though.
I'm just so tired of this club constantly letting fans down and missing chance after chance to bring some good times to supporters.
On holiday at the moment and chose to spend my evening watching that garbage.
28-07-2023, 12:25 AM
No, what we need is more of the nodding dog variety that accepts this pish, and the continual excuses, year after year.
This lot better not sign for any teams abroad if they think that response tonight was rough.
Indeed ... I recall reading about an Italian team whose fans went down the training ground and took baseball bats and bricks to all the Mercs and BMWs in the car park after a poor result .... maybe these guys should take the bus to East Mains for the next few days :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
28-07-2023, 12:32 AM
If it's on twitter posted by a fan then it must be 100% true then 🤔
28-07-2023, 12:46 AM
The other part of this is that as a manager results aren't simply about results getting the club kudos for a good cup run or finishing high in the league. They are about money.
Given our recent history in cup competitions it's far from unreasonable to expect this club to get to semi finals. A semi against either of the Uglies is going to net the club something like half a million quid, meaning a run to Hampden is liable to net the club a tidy sum ... probably near on a million quid ... nearer 2 million if you make the final.
Go out in this round of Europe and all we will have to show for it is a home crowd of what 12,000 or so? paying £15 a pop to get in, we'll be lucky not to have lost money. Get through and our next tie could have a crowd of 17 thousand paying about £25 on average to get in ... which equates to £425,000
If we lose this tie it's not unreasonable to say that LJs cup failures could well have cost the club potential earnings of near on 3 million quid. That's a sobering thought for any owner or board of directors, and why if he did mention this game in the context of 'pre season' he should be in Kensell's room tomorrow morning having how important these games are financially explained to him, in no uncertain terms.
mcohibs
28-07-2023, 01:13 AM
Twitter. Must be true then… **** sake
LunasBoots
28-07-2023, 01:22 AM
Some of the reaction is just silly, still got the second leg at home, it's not like we're out yet.
28-07-2023, 01:40 AM
Some of the reaction is just silly, still got the second leg at home, it's not like we're out yet.
Correct. But this site over the last few days was full of folk talking about the next round as if this tie was a gimmie, we even had folk booking flights for Sweden .. so wrong on two counts A) that us getting through would be a formality, and B) that Luzern had no chance against the Swedes.
Both might still end up having been the case once the ties are finished ... but lets be in no doubt, this lot are going to park the bus at Easter Road hoping for at least penalties and one thing they do have is piles of physicality and lots of height in their team ... if they don't come out we are going to find it hard to break them down.
Greenio
28-07-2023, 05:14 AM
Sack the manager? Pfff. The players were awful. If that continues then yeah, the manager gets the blame and gets fired
But folk wanting to sack a manager after one bad result?
Just the kind of emotional, knee jerk reactionist we love about being a football fan
28-07-2023, 05:40 AM
Correct. But this site over the last few days was full of folk talking about the next round as if this tie was a gimmie, we even had folk booking flights for Sweden .. so wrong on two counts A) that us getting through would be a formality, and B) that Luzern had no chance against the Swedes.
Both might still end up having been the case once the ties are finished ... but lets be in no doubt, this lot are going to park the bus at Easter Road hoping for at least penalties and one thing they do have is piles of physicality and lots of height in their team ... if they don't come out we are going to find it hard to break them down.
Expectation that Hibs would beat a team from Andorra I can understand. No idea why people thought Djurgardens would beat Luzern. Id say generally speaking Swiss clubs and their league are stronger than their Swedish counterparts.
AL-Qaholik
28-07-2023, 06:40 AM
Sack the manager? Pfff. The players were awful. If that continues then yeah, the manager gets the blame and gets fired
Just the kind of emotional, knee jerk reactionist we love about being a football fan
One bad result? You sure about that?
Paulie Walnuts
28-07-2023, 06:50 AM
No matter how many times people say it, he’s had more than one bad result.
7Hero
28-07-2023, 06:52 AM
You have a short memory if you are thinking it is only one bad result..
28-07-2023, 06:57 AM
I don’t like him. Never have. But there is no way he is going to be sacked. He failed miserably last season and all we have done is invest records about of money in him and his new team. He’s going nowhere.
28-07-2023, 06:59 AM
Not sure its players fault. He's coach them for a year and they have no idea how to move the ball forward and score a goal. Was obvious Vs Bournemouth and Gronigen that were totally flat and rubbish.
Levitt honestly looks very poor. ALF is dreadful, offers nothing. Gonna be a long season.
Bridge hibs
28-07-2023, 07:00 AM
You have a short memory if you are thinking it is only one bad result..First competitive game of this season and folk want him sacked, think you knew what the poster was saying though
28-07-2023, 07:00 AM
I don’t like him. Never have. But there is no way he is going to be sacked. He failed miserably last season and all we have done is invest records about of money in him and his new team. He’s going nowhere.
Did we fail miserably last season?
Cups were ***** so on that front yes, but finishing in a European spot and within a couple of points of 4th after some dreadful runs isn’t miserable failure imo.
28-07-2023, 07:02 AM
Not sure its players fault. He's coach them for a year and they have no idea how to move the ball forward and score a goal. Was obvious Vs Bournemouth and Gronigen that were totally flat and rubbish.
Levitt honestly looks very poor. ALF is dreadful, offers nothing. Gonna be a long season.
Imo you can’t blame a manager for players doing things like over hitting crosses and passing the ball out the park.
I know the claim was the pitch was narrower etc, but I saw three or four crosses yesterday that were so over hit it’s ridiculous.
28-07-2023, 07:03 AM
Imo you can’t blame a manager for players doing things like over hitting crosses and passing the ball out the park.
I know the claim was the pitch was narrower etc, but I saw three or four crosses yesterday that were so over hit it’s ridiculous.
No. But you can blame a manager for not being able to coach the side to get themselves into consistently dangerous positions.
Fuzzywuzzy
28-07-2023, 07:03 AM
Stopped listening to the interview after he said "altitude"
Paulie Walnuts
28-07-2023, 07:04 AM
Cups were ***** so on that front yes, but finishing in a European spot and within a couple of points of 4th after some dreadful runs isn’t miserable failure imo.
Apparently Kensell has openly said our KPIs are top 4 and both cup semi finals.
We didn’t hit any of them and the two cups were disastrous, one of them the league cup debacle and the other an exit to our rivals in our worst home defeat to them in god knows how long.
I wouldn’t say last season was a miserable failure. It wasn’t good by any stretch but if that’s our KPIs then it’s hard to argue it wasn’t miserable failure when the KPIs are considered.
28-07-2023, 07:04 AM
The KPI is 4th and Cup Semis. Based on that he was lucky to keep his job. Ending 5th after a bad run doesn’t negate the fact that we went on a bad run. It just glossed over slightly what was a bad season. If he doesn’t hit the targets this season then Ben K should be moved on.
28-07-2023, 07:06 AM
He's finished if we fail to win next week. This is the worst result in Hibs history, it might not be the most painful but it's certainly the worst. The slagging that Hibs are taking from anyone just now is deserved. But some players showed last night they are not good enough or in Marshall's case that he's playing a season too many. This result has sucked the life out of us going into the new season.
28-07-2023, 07:06 AM
Yepp fair enough, I didn’t see that from Kensell.
28-07-2023, 07:08 AM
You have a short memory if you are thinking it is only one bad result..One bad result this season
We can't go wanting the manger sacked after every bad result
Did you want him sacked last week? If not, then wanting him sacked when we are a goal behind in a 2 legged European tie doesn't make sense to me, regardless the fact we shouldn't be losing to a team like that
Of course if we get pumped out next week then that certainly opens up a new conversation
28-07-2023, 07:09 AM
Stopped listening to the interview after he said "altitude"Piss altitude from quite a few most of the game and a rather disconnected altitude from the manager as well whilst somehow trying to square away the result and performance.
Change of altitude required, too much hot air.
28-07-2023, 07:10 AM
IMO next week if we go out at the first hurdle in the ECL then he can go.
28-07-2023, 07:11 AM
One bad result this season
We can't go wanting the manger sacked after every bad result
Did you want him sacked last week? If not, then wanting him sacked when we are a goal behind in a 2 legged European tie doesn't make sense to me, regardless the fact we shouldn't be losing to a team like that
Of course if we get pumped out next week then that certainly opens up a new conversation
Tbf Callum, it’s 1/1 in terms of competitive games and **** results.
28-07-2023, 07:13 AM
Tbf Callum, it’s 1/1 in terms of competitive games and **** results.Lots hope its 1/2 come Thursday
28-07-2023, 07:26 AM
Lots hope its 1/2 come Thursday
Doh, never mind.
Agree with this.
28-07-2023, 07:30 AM
I don’t think anyone wants that, I think folk are done with LJ and it’s not hard to see why.Wait, you hope it's 2/2 and we are knocked out of Europe?
Crikey
I'd rather it's 1/2 and we can look forward to a trip to Switzerland or Sweden myself
28-07-2023, 07:48 AM
Wait, you hope it's 2/2 and we are knocked out of Europe?
Crikey
I'd rather it's 1/2 and we can look forward to a trip to Switzerland or Sweden myself
Mis-read your post. :doh:
Agree with this, we're off to Switzerland
28-07-2023, 07:51 AM
IMHO, we will come through this tie next week and yesterday's shambles will be fairly inconsequential.
This thread, though, will be bumped after every defeat, whether it's deserved like yesterday or not.
The reactions are completely bi-polar on here, there's very little moderation in viewpoints and, imho, the site is worse for it.
FWIW, I don't think he should be sacked. It was his first experience of European football, as it was for the majority of the team that started. The main thing is that lessons are learned and the mistakes don't happen again.
If they do, then he should go.
The club have invested a lot in him, and I've no doubt sacking him will be expensive as well, so I don't think he's going anywhere soon even if we go out the competition.
I
28-07-2023, 07:54 AM
Expectation that Hibs would beat a team from Andorra I can understand. No idea why people thought Djurgardens would beat Luzern. Id say generally speaking Swiss clubs and their league are stronger than their Swedish counterparts.
Personally kind of thought the swedes Swiss one was too close to call which think it still is though obviously Lucern in strong position.
28-07-2023, 07:56 AM
IMHO, we will come through this tie next week and yesterday's shambles will be fairly inconsequential.
This thread, though, will be bumped after every defeat, whether it's deserved like yesterday or not.
The reactions are completely bi-polar on here, there's very little moderation in viewpoints and, imho, the site is worse for it.
FWIW, I don't think he should be sacked. It was his first experience of European football, as it was for the majority of the team that started. The main thing is that lessons are learned and the mistakes don't happen again.
If they do, then he should go.
The club have invested a lot in him, and I've no doubt sacking him will be expensive as well, so I don't think he's going anywhere soon even if we go out the competition.
I
Agree with this, its getting worse as well. There's no room for any nuance viewpoints, its either total doom and gloom or ecstatic optimism. It's getting more like reading through a Twitter thread every time something goes wrong.
28-07-2023, 08:02 AM
^^ Main thing is learning lessons...
We said that this time last year but clearly haven't. The transfer window and start to this season are identical to lasts!
Reading thought the posts on here, there's an awful lot of sense being spoken by long-term Hibs fans who know a decent side when they see it.
We're not all wrong.
We are weak in so many areas and LJ has been here long enough for it to be down to him.
How many games did the Andorran manager have in Europe before last night? Guessing it wasn't too many but he managed to get his side a result.
We offer up more excuses for LJ than any other manger we've had. I really don't see why he gets such an easy time from so many on here.
He needs to step up and deliver, or leave, if we want our club to progress.
6-2MAGIC
28-07-2023, 08:07 AM
It isn't "one bad result" though.
1-4 Rangers
3-0 Hearts
0-3 Hearts
0-4 Celtic
6-1 Celtic
4-1 Aberdeen
^^^^ Just to name a few, and that is only games we have lost by 3 or more. The players need to take responsibility aswell 100% but the recruitment has been shocking overall with the exception of maybe 1 or 2.
28-07-2023, 08:13 AM
I think our biggest single fundamental problem is the question of who is leading our club.
It has felt like we are being run by a complacent and rather self congratulatory group of people for some time now lacking in two key areas - a driven will to win with the necessary accompanying ruthlessness and a deep understanding of and commitment to the club as the institution that it is in the city.
I don’t get the sense that anyone in charge really ‘bleeds green’ nor do I get the sense that the manager and players have anyone at the club who they know will be brutally unaccepting of their ****. Actions just do not seem to have consequences at Easter Road.
Trinity Hibee
28-07-2023, 08:16 AM
I think our biggest single fundamental problem is the question of who is leading our club.
It has felt like we are being run by a complacent and rather self congratulatory group of people for some time now lacking in two key areas - a driven will to win with the necessary accompanying ruthlessness and a deep understanding of and commitment to the club as the institution that it is in the city.
I don’t get the sense that anyone in charge really ‘bleeds green’ nor do I get the sense that the manager and players have anyone at the club who they know will be brutally unaccepting of their ****. Actions just do not seem to have consequences at Easter Road.
That’s about it really. Mistakes are made and not learned from. Looking at the players yesterday I don’t think many of them really know what it means to play for a club like this.
Shades of the council or a public organisation here where no one is held accountable and the product is mediocre.
28-07-2023, 08:26 AM
A couple of folk made a good point about LJ and Levitt last night.
LJ listed the reasons that he wasn't ready to play, yet went on to play him.
That doesn't seem like the smartest move to make. To then sub him off and give the same reasons again is just madness.
It might be a little point, but it kinda shows that LJ isn't 100% sure in what he's doing, no?
28-07-2023, 08:30 AM
A couple of folk made a good point about LJ and Levitt last night.
LJ listed the reasons that he wasn't ready to play, yet went on to play him.
That doesn't seem like the smartest move to make. To then sub him off and give the same reasons again is just madness.
It might be a little point, but it kinda shows that LJ isn't 100% sure in what he's doing, no?
Or he thought the game would be easy and it was a chance to get Levitt minutes on the pitch
28-07-2023, 08:33 AM
Or he thought the game would be easy and it was a chance to get Levitt minutes on the pitchI suspect he thought Levitt could handle this easily enough and would get him some game time
Did Levitt signal to the bench just on HT btw?
28-07-2023, 08:37 AM
That’s about it really. Mistakes are made and not learned from. Looking at the players yesterday I don’t think many of them really know what it means to play for a club like this.
Shades of the council or a public organisation here where no one is held accountable and the product is mediocre.
Like you jokers have an inside track to how people inside the club are feeling.
28-07-2023, 08:38 AM
Or he thought the game would be easy and it was a chance to get Levitt minutes on the pitch
I suspect he thought Levitt could handle this easily enough and would get him some game time
Did Levitt signal to the bench just on HT btw?
He shouldn't be treating competitive games for things like this.
Give Levitt the full 90 minutes in the friendly on Saturday if he needs more game time.
28-07-2023, 08:38 AM
I’ve never been a fan of LJ and I don’t think he’ll ever make us particularly successful. We’ll stumble along, look like we’re on the right track at times, have a bit of hope, then it’ll go tits up again.
But last night is more in the players for me. They didn’t do the basic things you need to do to win a game of football. That team we put out should be winning that game easily against a bunch of part timers.
It’s just feels like it’ll be a continuous cycle of what we’ve seen in his time here for me and it’s infuriating given the way we are backing him.
Willis1875
28-07-2023, 08:39 AM
He did go onto to say in the interview after he listed the reasons as to why Levitt was subbed that he felt the game would suit him and give him freedom to operate given that we had a 3 man midfield against their 2
28-07-2023, 08:41 AM
Stopped listening to the interview after he said "altitude"
It's about 1000m ffs. His excuses are much thinner than the air.
Presumably the shelling long diagonals was his tactic. When it's quickly apparent something isn't working, good managers change things.