24-08-2023, 09:34 AM
If he did leave it’s still the same players on contracts etc
McDermott could do worse
I’d like to see Ian Murray with Boozy in coaching set up
McDermott could do worse
Big season for Murray at Raith, if he can do well there then I wouldn't be against it. Marv needs more time and experience under his belt along with success.
Basildon Hibs
24-08-2023, 09:39 AM
Getting back on topic. LJ can GTF as soon as possible.
I've said it before, he's a clueless, slavering clown, who should never have been anywhere near Hibs.
I never wanted him at the club in the first place - certainly don't now.
I can't believe folk are still defending him !!🫣😒
Broxburn Greens
24-08-2023, 09:42 AM
To those of you still backing LJ....
How would you feel if LJ decides to accept a job offer from another club and leaves of his own accord?
Will any of you be upset / gutted to see him go?
Do any of you really, really like him as our manager and think he can take us to where we want to be?
Do you think he's the best man for the job?
What would be your number 1 reason for sticking with him?
I would be astounded if at this stage he was offered another job as that would generally mean a step up and I just don't see any other club bigger than Hibs offering him a job at present.
No, I wouldn't be disappointed if he left.
I really wanted and still want Hibs to have stability with their manager but I'm just not sure that Johnson is the man for the job. It's clear from this thread alone and what you hear around the ground on match days is that he has already lost a fair amount of the support who simply want him gone and that is going to be difficult for him to turn around now.
Every time we suffer a bad result the knives will come out now and that's just not going to be sustainable. Didn't actually think losing to Villa would generate such a reaction as I thought most supporters would shrug their shoulders with a bad defeat and accept that we were playing one of the top English clubs. The reality is that many posters are pointing out what they believe is wrong and the manner of how we lost last night, some I agree with, some I don't.
The Johnson out movement has traction and that's a major problem for him and losing to Livingston on Saturday could well be a disaster for his relationship with the fans currently on the fence or even still somewhat on his side.
The problem is, who replaces him? I'm not overly keen on Lennon making a comeback as there's just too much baggage there. Mcinnes of the names touted would (a little reluctantly) be my preferred option. The reason for that is that we seem to be going for managers a little from left field and it's ending badly. Mcinnes for me would at least bring stability, make us hard to beat and he knows the Scottish game inside out. I believe he will know how to set us up game to game against our usual opponents. He'll know how to break down sides like Livingston & Ross County whilst also knowing how to set us up to get results against Hearts & Aberdeen and occasional results against the OF. I think he could take us forward but at the same time I accept it's probably not going to be pretty at times grinding out results, but, if the outcome is 3rd place and a genuine crack at group stage European football that's a price worth paying.
FWIW I do not seeing us finishing 3rd under Johnson this season, although I hope I'm wrong.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 09:43 AM
McDermott could do worse
Do you honestly think Ian Murray is any better than what we have?
24-08-2023, 09:43 AM
+1 (albeit not sure I’d describe myself as “backing him”)
Ditto
24-08-2023, 09:44 AM
What were they saying about Dyches clothes??
They said he looked like a croupier or something.
Broxburn Greens
24-08-2023, 09:46 AM
I'm indifferent towards LJ and I was surprised we gave him a 4 year contract to begin with as that makes him much harder to sack. If he joins another team then they take his contract and maybe even give us a fee. If we sack him we're probably paying for 4 managers at once all of which will be of a similar level.
Don't think we're paying any managers currently other than LJ?
Maloney is now at Wigan so will have officially left the club and Jack Ross is (or was) at Newcastle Utd heading up their academy.
So we'd be paying Johnson (along with his backroom staff) and the new manager I think?
Could be wrong mind.
hibsforeurope
24-08-2023, 09:47 AM
Do you honestly think Ian Murray is any better than what we have?
He would get Hibs, that would be a start.
24-08-2023, 09:50 AM
If he does leave, do you think we might be able to find someone better who would come to the club? ( I'll take it as a given that we won't get Pep or Jurgen or the likes).
My own view is that we could easily do so and I'd be surprised if you don't.
Let's try it is all i'm getting at. You'll prob feel similarly in a few months anyways :greengrin
I don't know who we'll be able to attract and no-one can know if they'd be more successful. There are never any guarantees.
I also don't know how this squad will do with Johnson. He got us to 5th last season and we have definitely strengthened.
If we start winning, we won't need a change. If we keep losing, we will.
24-08-2023, 09:51 AM
He would get Hibs? What does that even mean? No offence to Ian Murray but other than ‘getting Hibs’ what other credentials would make you feel confident he’s be able to do a good job?
Don't think we're paying any managers currently other than LJ?
Maloney is now at Wigan so will have officially left the club and Jack Ross is (or was) at Newcastle Utd heading up their academy.
So we'd be paying Johnson (along with his backroom staff) and the new manager I think?
Could be wrong mind.
We sacked them both so will have given them compensation that is the equivalent of still paying for them now as if they were under contract. Ross' contract ran to the end of this season and Maloney's would be the season after.
Not sure if they do it as a lump sum or if they just continue paying as they were until end of contract.
Either way, it's excessive and gives me no reason to think that whoever replaced Johnson would do any better than 5th and the occasional exciting, high scoring game.
24-08-2023, 09:55 AM
We sacked them both so will have given them compensation that is the equivalent of still paying for them now as if they were under contract. Ross' contract ran to the end of this season and Maloney's would be the season after.
To be fair nobody knows the detail of their contracts other than Hibs and them. Certainly it will have cost us a proper wedge to get rid though.
24-08-2023, 09:55 AM
What does that mean?
Did Alan Stubbs "get Hibs"?
24-08-2023, 09:57 AM
What does that mean?
Sometimes I’m no even sure I get Hibs.
24-08-2023, 09:59 AM
What does that mean?
Stubbs got us then got Rotherham, it’s just the way it happens :greengrin
24-08-2023, 10:01 AM
Not sure if they do it as a lump sum or if they just continue paying as they were until end of contract.
Either way, it's excessive and gives me no reason to think that whoever replaced Johnson would do any better than 5th and the occasional exciting, high scoring game.
Someone correctly pointed out that compensation packages are written into contracts these days and would not cover the entire period.
We offered the job to someone (name evades me) before Heckingbottom got it, but he didn't take it because the severance clause wasn't generous enough. Rumoured to be 3 months, iirc.
hibsforeurope
24-08-2023, 10:01 AM
He would get Hibs? What does that even mean? No offence to Ian Murray but other than ‘getting Hibs’ what other credentials would make you feel confident he’s be able to do a good job?
No, i didn't think he would be good for Hibs (at them moment) but i also don't think LJ is good for Hibs.
There's a massive disconnect between the club and the fans we need someone to help bring both closer together.
24-08-2023, 10:03 AM
You're only making it worse for yourself!
24-08-2023, 10:04 AM
I was disappointed with our defending last night but watching the goals back, wow. The crosses were fantastic and the headers on point. Just a step up in class i'm afraid. They don't need second balls. Cross, goal, goodnight. Absolutely pinpoint. The are a level or three up from even Celtic.
That was actually the thing that impressed me most.
We often talk about our flawed wide players and full backs who might manage to get into reasonable positions and then fluff their lines with their deliveries... their standard of final ball, those crosses - were absolutely magnificent. Even as simple as the corners, how often have wee seen our players put in pish crosses from dead balls?
Yes, there was fault on our part at the goals. But the sheer quality to get into position, then the quality of delivery, made it almost impossible to miss. It must be a dream to be a CF playing in a team like that.
We can point fingers and dish out blame but one of the main points I'd be making from last night would be to Youan - "that's what top drawer wide players do". He has a lot of the raw materials to be getting into decent positions but he should be spending hours every week practicing getting the best possible cross in when travelling at pace with both feet rather than being tempted to beat the same man time and time again before providing f all for his CF.
24-08-2023, 10:07 AM
They said he looked like a croupier or something.
It was pretty distasteful and there's been a controversy about it.
He was wearing a black armband for the guy who died building their new stadium and they were laughing at him about it, saying he looked like a croupier.
There have been apologies etc.
Someone correctly pointed out that compensation packages are written into contracts these days and would not cover the entire period.
We offered the job to someone (name evades me) before Heckingbottom got it, but he didn't take it because the severance clause wasn't generous enough. Rumoured to be 3 months, iirc.
Ah, really. Thank **** for that then. Still reckon it's chucking money away but relieved it's nowhere near as bad as I thought and gives Johnson a shorter string.
Appleton was the other guy we were after when Hecky came in.
hibsforeurope
24-08-2023, 10:11 AM
What does that mean?
Someone with a real passion for Hibs, who really cares. I just don't get the impression that anyone at the club really has that passion and desire at the moment.
We often talk about our flawed wide players and full backs who might manage to get into reasonable positions and then fluff their lines with their deliveries... their standard of final ball, those crosses - were absolutely magnificent. Even as simple as the corners, how often have wee seen our players put in pish crosses from dead balls?
Yes, there was fault on our part at the goals. But the sheer quality to get into position, then the quality of delivery, made it almost impossible to miss. It must be a dream to be a CF playing in a team like that.
We can point fingers and dish out blame but one of the main points I'd be making from last night would be to Youan - "that's what top drawer wide players do". He has a lot of the raw materials to be getting into decent positions but he should be spending hours every week practicing getting the best possible cross in when travelling at pace with both feet rather than being tempted to beat the same man time and time again before providing f all for his CF.
This was my take.
They get the ball to these players in space so much quicker than we're used to seeing and then they have the perfect cross for the striker with brilliant movement and finishing. It was deadly.
Plus, we've already tried to stop this a few times and are gassed.
They might never be able to fully emulate as often but they should be working on getting closer to that and having it come off more often than it does.
24-08-2023, 10:13 AM
Ah, really. Thank **** for that then. Still reckon it's chucking money away but relieved it's nowhere near as bad as I thought and gives Johnson a shorter string.
Appleton was the other guy we were after when Hecky came in.
That's right, Michael Appleton. Thanks.
24-08-2023, 10:13 AM
Heard from an inside source that basically all the players hate Johnson
One player is going through some serious personal issues with his partner and Johnson in the middle of a seemingly heartfelt conversation about that suddenly turns around and goes "you still ****ging her??" and the player's face just drops. Have some goddamn respect for someone going through a difficult time in their life jesus christ
Another player who recently had a kid was talking about how wonderful it is, and then Johnson again turns around and says "so how's your sex life X months later". Player in question was absolutely raging
I didn't mind him as a manager despite him being a fanny but since speaking to this source it seems he is very unliked within the squad. Unfortunately we're going to need to cut our losses pretty soon with this gimp
24-08-2023, 10:14 AM
Someone with a real passion for Hibs, who really cares. I just don't get the impression that anyone at the club really has that passion and desire at the moment.
Stubbs?
Mowbray?
McLeish?
24-08-2023, 10:17 AM
One player is going through some serious personal issues with his partner and Johnson in the middle of a seemingly heartfelt conversation about that suddenly turns around and goes "you still ****ging her??" and the player's face just drops. Have some goddamn respect for someone going through a difficult time in their life jesus christ
Another player who recently had a kid was talking about how wonderful it is, and then Johnson again turns around and says "so how's your sex life X months later". Player in question was absolutely raging
I didn't mind him as a manager despite him being a fanny but since speaking to this source it seems he is very unliked within the squad. Unfortunately we're going to need to cut our losses pretty soon with this gimp
Really?
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 10:17 AM
No, i didn't think he would be good for Hibs (at them moment) but i also don't think LJ is good for Hibs.
There's a massive disconnect between the club and the fans we need someone to help bring both closer together.
If you don't think Ian Murray would be good for Hibs then why on earth would you want him then ?:confused:
Key West
24-08-2023, 10:21 AM
To those of you still backing LJ....
How would you feel if LJ decides to accept a job offer from another club and leaves of his own accord?
Will any of you be upset / gutted to see him go?
Do any of you really, really like him as our manager and think he can take us to where we want to be?
Do you think he's the best man for the job?
What would be your number 1 reason for sticking with him?
If Johnson left of his own accord or took another job I would accept his departure.I would be disappointed in the sense that this would see yet another period of transition.I think he is currently the best man for the job and should be given time to take us forward, we did finish in the top 5 and qualified for Europe,he took us as far as he could in this competition losing to a team that is worth £400,000,000
The number one reason is that we need stability.
24-08-2023, 10:22 AM
Love these in the know posters with these amazing connections to hear these private conversations that only come out when things are going badly.
Hibee Daft
24-08-2023, 10:23 AM
Livingston, Aston Villa and then Aberdeen.
Livingston is a massive game for him because if we lose these next 3 games i think he will be away.
hibsforeurope
24-08-2023, 10:23 AM
Stubbs?
Mowbray?
McLeish?
what about them? after 15 months they had shown far more than LJ has.
my point about passionate people stretched beyond the manager's role and is probably part of the reason these results (not including last night) are being allowed.
24-08-2023, 10:24 AM
Get rid he just doesn't fit Hibs and never has. Salesman all talk no action. Looks clear that what saved him last season is gone. He is an imposter who is just stealing a wage. I'm not surprised to hear the players don't like him I don't know many out of my friends who do. Actually none do. He's is just holding on for a payout. After this he'll be some kind of over paid parasite in a jobs for the boys role. Get him out the door and fast. Ben Kinsel should be right behind him. If he spoke at interview how he speaks in press conferences I fail to see how he even got in the door.
hibsforeurope
24-08-2023, 10:25 AM
If you don't think Ian Murray would be good for Hibs then why on earth would you want him then ?:confused:
it was a hypothetical choice between him and LJ.
24-08-2023, 10:27 AM
If Johnson left of his own accord or took another job I would accept his departure.I would be disappointed in the sense that this would see yet another period of transition.I think he is currently the best man for the job and should be given time to take us forward, we did finish in the top 5 and qualified for Europe,he took us as far as he could in this competition losing to a team that is worth £400,000,000
The number one reason is that we need stability.
Do you look at our team and see stability though? There is no way of playing, there are constant changes before and during matches. There are key areas that haven’t been addressed (again). With or without Johnson it looks like transition. Getting someone who might transition us well rather than the way he is going would be a better option than keeping him and allowing him to make things worse.
24-08-2023, 10:28 AM
Just watching the goals back and my impression is the same. Goal one No pressure on pass to wide man, no pressure on crosser and no pressure on the scorer despite there being men there who could have applied that pressure. Goal two another example often repeated. Man makes run to front post completely unmarked and gets jump on us and then we switch off at back post. Goal 3 See goal 1. but no pressure for about 3 passes before cross. Goal 4 at least there was some movement from Villa in this one but the same as goals 1 and 3. No pressure, easy passes, defence not acting as a unit. Goal 5 a better player embarrassing Lewis who has no support and no cover, like the rest of the match. Goals 1 to 4 are goals that are scored every week at our level. There was no special movement or exceptional quality. Players can play accurate passes when there is space for the passer and the recipient. Our shortcomings and game plan were far more evident in the goals conceded than Villa's quality. They never pulled us out of shape as our shape was far too rigid and allowed space all over the park and almost invited crosses into the box, it happens every week not just against EPL teams
24-08-2023, 10:30 AM
This was my take.
They get the ball to these players in space so much quicker than we're used to seeing and then they have the perfect cross for the striker with brilliant movement and finishing. It was deadly.
Plus, we've already tried to stop this a few times and are gassed.
They might never be able to fully emulate as often but they should be working on getting closer to that and having it come off more often than it does.
See Hibs v Liverpool 1975
https://youtu.be/LjAHIgiZpIM?si=dixwAtKfoPr9IDOs
Cabbage-Patch
24-08-2023, 10:30 AM
Haven't posted on here for a while but felt compelled to after last night. In my personal opinion (for what it's worth) there have been too many embarrassing results under Johnson's Tenure. Too many to list individually.
All this money invested and defence is absolutely shocking. No point having dangerous guys up top if all the opposition have to do is whip a simple ball to the back post for a free header 8 out of 10 times. Hanlon and Stevenson are club legends but they are no more than squad players at this stage and should not regularly be starting games. Johnson has had 3 windows and it's not been sorted out.
In my opinion we should be approaching McInnes asap before someone else does. Asides from last season with Killie when he still had a championship squad and his final few months with Aberdeen he has had success throughout. Some moan his brand is football isn't pretty but his teams are consistent and solid at the back not shipping many goals. Something we are crying out for right now.
If we lose on Saturday Johnson needs to go(should have been binned last season after the back to back 3 nil defeats to the Jambos IMO)
Heard enough of his bizarre interviews and excuses at this point. Absolutely Charlatan who has stole a wage at every club he's been at. Did we really pass over Jon Dahl Tomasson for this clown.
24-08-2023, 10:34 AM
what about them? after 15 months they hade shown far more than LJ has.
my point about passionate people stretched beyond the manager's role and is probably part of the reason these results (not including last night) are being allowed.
You said bring Murray in because he "gets Hibs". That's what I'm discussing.
It's a daft criteria to require from a manager.
None of the managers I listened could have been said to "get Hibs" when they were appointed but we did well with them.
Yogi, Mixu, Sauzee, Blackleg, Stanton, Auld and Ormond all "got Hibs" but were all failures.
I'd like it if Murray became successful and proved his ability with his current club. Same applies to Marvin, but it would be their ability that would attract them to the club, not their Hibs connection.
24-08-2023, 10:34 AM
what about them? after 15 months they had shown far more than LJ has.
Can you say that about Stubbs? After 15 months?
Basildon Hibs
24-08-2023, 10:41 AM
Get rid he just doesn't fit Hibs and never has. Salesman all talk no action. Looks clear that what saved him last season is gone. He is an imposter who is just stealing a wage. I'm not surprised to hear the players don't like him I don't know many out of my friends who do. Actually none do. He's is just holding on for a payout. After this he'll be some kind of over paid parasite in a jobs for the boys role. Get him out the door and fast. Ben Kinsel should be right behind him. If he spoke at interview how he speaks in press conferences I fail to see how he even got in the door.
👍👍
24-08-2023, 10:43 AM
Do you honestly think Ian Murray is any better than what we have? Impossible to tell. I watched his teams a few times over the last couple of years. They like to play decent football, have a structure and look pretty organised. None of that applies to us at the moment at least not consistently. We have the 5th biggest budget in the best league in Scotland and for most of teh games we play it is very hard to know what the plan is barring giving the ball to Youan or Boyle when we have it. My biggest criticism of LJ is he is not what he says on the tin. We are a passive team who look one of the least fit in the league and who rarely look like a cohesive unit. The opposite of his mantra.
I also worry that when perma injured players depart they all seem to be fit and available for selection for other managers and that for me may come down to desire to play for a manager rather than injuries. The last point may well be putting two and two together and coming up with 5 though but I think there was something in McGeady's last press conference that hinted towards it albeit it would mean he was unprofessional. I'll make a punt Magennis is an ever present for Killie this year on a hard astro pitch and McGeady is available every week.
24-08-2023, 10:45 AM
Love these in the know posters with these amazing connections to hear these private conversations that only come out when things are going badly.
Basildon Hibs
24-08-2023, 10:45 AM
Haven't posted on here for a while but felt compelled to after last night. In my personal opinion (for what it's worth) there have been too many embarrassing results under Johnson's Tenure. Too many to list individually.
All this money invested and defence is absolutely shocking. No point having dangerous guys up if all the opposition have to do is whip a simple ball to the back post for a free header 8 out of 10 times. Hanlon and Stevenson are club legends but they are no more than squad players at this stage and should not regularly be starting games. Johnson has had 3 windows and it's not been sorted out.
In my opinion we should be approaching McInnes asap before someone else does. Asides from last season with Killie when he still had a championship squad and his final few months with Aberdeen he has had success throughout. Some moan his brand is football isn't pretty but his teams are consistent and solid at the back not shipping many goals. Something we are crying out for right now.
If we lose on Saturday Johnson needs to go(should have been binned last season after the back to back 3 nil defeats to the Jambos IMO)
Heard enough of his bizarre interviews and excuses at this point. Absolutely Charlatan who has stole a wage at every club he's been at. Did we really pass over Jon Dahl Tomasson for this clown.
🫵👍👍
Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2023, 10:55 AM
Do you look at our team and see stability though? There is no way of playing, there are constant changes before and during matches. There are key areas that haven’t been addressed (again). With or without Johnson it looks like transition. Getting someone who might transition us well rather than the way he is going would be a better option than keeping him and allowing him to make things worse.
I do find the claims for stability funny.
It doesn’t seem to matter that the results are crap, performances are crap and because of that there’s little stability anyway, it simply means we must just keep the underperforming manager.
hibsforeurope
24-08-2023, 10:59 AM
Can you say that about Stubbs? After 15 months?
He finished 2nd in his 1st season, it might have been the championship but with 2 other teams were told time and time again have bigger budgets to us.
But like Stubbs LJ should be in Hibs' past.
Pretty Green
24-08-2023, 10:59 AM
We could have at Pep at the helm and the result would not have been any different, Villa earned £156.8 million pounds from the TV deal alone. Money buys you quality
24-08-2023, 11:02 AM
We could have at Pep at the helm and the result would not have been any different, Villa earned £156.8 million pounds from the TV deal alone. Money buys you quality
I don’t think anybody is suggesting LJ gets sacked because of last night in isolation.
hibsforeurope
24-08-2023, 11:03 AM
is a bigger budget always the defining factor? fairly sure we have significantly bigger budgets to 3 of the teams who've beaten us over 90 minutes already this season.
24-08-2023, 11:09 AM
is a bigger budget always the defining factor? fairly sure we have significantly bigger budgets to 3 of the teams who've beaten us over 90 minutes already this season.
Hardly the same is it?
Hibee Daft
24-08-2023, 11:10 AM
Main concern with Johnson is that things wont improve under him. He comes across like someone who lacks authority.
I cant imagine he puts the players in there place when they do something wrong. Elie Youan is a great example the way he plays sometimes its like he doesnt stick to the game plan.
24-08-2023, 11:11 AM
I’ve no idea if those stories are true, but chat about the players not liking him isn’t anything new. All I would say is even at the end of his time with us, and since he’s left, I don’t remember anything coming out about Jack Ross.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 11:13 AM
You forgot to mention that before he left every club he was at he had them in a better position than when he first took over them too :wink:
See Hibs v Liverpool 1975
https://youtu.be/LjAHIgiZpIM?si=dixwAtKfoPr9IDOs
That's a class video, hadn't seen it before.
Sadly the gap between the two leagues is ridiculous now and only getting bigger. Bring on their implosion.
Even the refs are better, what was he doing for that centre retake :greengrin
All this money invested and defence is absolutely shocking. No point having dangerous guys up top if all the opposition have to do is whip a simple ball to the back post for a free header 8 out of 10 times. Hanlon and Stevenson are club legends but they are no more than squad players at this stage and should not regularly be starting games. Johnson has had 3 windows and it's not been sorted out.
I assume JDT turned us down for a better gig, like Blackburn.
Fans would be on McInnes' back in no time for playing boring football. I'd rather win 4-3 than 1-0, and I'd like to see us attacking at 1-1 to get a winner. Ultimately I'd rather win more than lose though so he may improve us overall but he'll never have all fans on side just like at Aberdeen.
What he has done well that we haven't this season is bring in 3 good, Scottish centre backs that would've improved us too.
24-08-2023, 11:28 AM
Nah come on. A footballer being pure raging at their manager making a “sex life” gag sounds spot-on. No wonder we got hammered off villa.. Get him oot.
Just watching the goals back and my impression is the same. Goal one No pressure on pass to wide man, no pressure on crosser and no pressure on the scorer despite there being men there who could have applied that pressure. Goal two another example often repeated. Man makes run to front post completely unmarked and gets jump on us and then we switch off at back post. Goal 3 See goal 1. but no pressure for about 3 passes before cross. Goal 4 at least there was some movement from Villa in this one but the same as goals 1 and 3. No pressure, easy passes, defence not acting as a unit. Goal 5 a better player embarrassing Lewis who has no support and no cover, like the rest of the match. Goals 1 to 4 are goals that are scored every week at our level. There was no special movement or exceptional quality. Players can play accurate passes when there is space for the passer and the recipient. Our shortcomings and game plan were far more evident in the goals conceded than Villa's quality. They never pulled us out of shape as our shape was far too rigid and allowed space all over the park and almost invited crosses into the box, it happens every week not just against EPL teams
Yeah, you see goals like that each week but not in the same game. It's normally far slower, or the cross is pish, or the striker doesn't find the space or jump as well or just has a crap header. To do it again and again in the same match very rarely happens. Plus they haven't had you chasing your tail the whole game so you're knackered. Yes we could've been better for those chances but they had so many ways to get in.
Would be interested to see the running stats from the game.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 11:31 AM
Here's Johnson's managerial record to date. Far from awful and with Oldham, Barnsley and Bristol City he was taking over relegation-threatened clubs but turned each of their fortunes around. You can see why Hibs saw him as a pretty solid appointment.
Personally I'd give him a bit more time to see if he can click with us. I'm certainly far from convinced that most of the (realistic) names being touted to replace him would transform us.
Team
From
To
Record
Ref.
P
W
D
L
Win %
Oldham Athletic (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oldham_Athletic_A.F.C.)
18 March 2013
25 February 2015
[56] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Johnson_(footballer)#cite_note-soccerbase-60)
Barnsley (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barnsley_F.C.)
25 February 2015
6 February 2016
[33] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Johnson_(footballer)#cite_note-bristolcity-33)[56] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Johnson_(footballer)#cite_note-soccerbase-60)[57] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Johnson_(footballer)#cite_note-61)
Bristol City (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bristol_City_F.C.)
6 February 2016
4 July 2020
[33] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Johnson_(footballer)#cite_note-bristolcity-33)[56] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Johnson_(footballer)#cite_note-soccerbase-60)
Sunderland (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunderland_A.F.C.)
5 December 2020
30 January 2022
[56] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Johnson_(footballer)#cite_note-soccerbase-60)
Hibernian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.)
19 May 2022
Total
Oldham , Barnsley and Bristol city were all in relegation trouble when he took over btw . He managed to guide all 3 to safety and improved there league position's too .
tonyrougier123
24-08-2023, 11:32 AM
Generally it feels vast majority feel exactly the same way about Lee Johnson’s hibs tenure. The same narrative across the whole support.
We should be Swift and resolute in getting rid. Dragging it out good for no one.
24-08-2023, 11:33 AM
In Stubb’s first interview when he was appointed Hibs boss he spoke passionately about playing at ER, enjoying the atmosphere and the reception he received following his illness.
He showed more enthusiasm for Hibs in that one interview than LJ ever has.
Lennon talked about being in a great place with Hibs and that we were a great match. I accept it went wrong in the end, no need to remind me.
Point being they both got Hibs. As did McLeish. He knew exactly what we needed and delivered on it.
No comparison between these three and LJ. Not even close.
He's here!
24-08-2023, 11:33 AM
You forgot to mention that before he left every club he was at he had them in a better position than when he first took over them too :wink:
Indeed. Take a look at his 500-game managerial record here:
Lee Johnson (footballer) - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Johnson_(footballer)#Bristol_City)
Far from shabby and, as you say, with Oldham, Barnsley and Bristol City in particular he took over relegation-threatened clubs and turned them around, while he won a trophy at Sunderland. You can see why Hibs saw him as a pretty solid appointment.
He's had just over a year with us. Based on his overall record I think he's got something to offer that hasn't really come through yet. Whether it does obviously remains to be seen but I'd be inclined to give him more time to click.
Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2023, 11:34 AM
I don’t think anybody is suggesting LJ gets sacked because of last night in isolation.
It’s quite incredible that after so many bad results recently people still need to have this made clear to them.
24-08-2023, 11:34 AM
Oldham , Barnsley and Bristol city were all in relegation trouble when he took over btw . He managed to guide all 3 to safety and improved there league position's too .
That’s what he said.
24-08-2023, 11:39 AM
In Stubb’s first interview when he was appointed Hibs boss he spoke passionately about playing at ER, enjoying the atmosphere and the reception he received following his illness.
Lennon talked about being in a great place with Hibs and that we were a great match. I accept it went wrong in the end, no need to remind me.
Point being they both got Hibs. As did McLeish. He knew exactly what we needed and delivered on it.
Not sure the mythical "got Hibs", whatever it even means, is part of a criteria on which a manager's tenure should be measured.
nairn hibee
24-08-2023, 11:40 AM
Good grief how would they get on working in a building site
Key West
24-08-2023, 11:42 AM
Firstly we can't legislate for injuries to key players, Boyle was out with a serious injury and is currently playing his way back to form, that will also be the case for Levitt, Vente has just arrived at the club, new players like Obita need time to bed in and Miller represents a youngster getting his chance to shine, there's a lot of reshuffling in games due to the amount of substitutions, the team will pick itself once the season really gets underway. That is only my opinion.
He's here!
24-08-2023, 11:43 AM
You said bring Murray in because he "gets Hibs". That's what I'm discussing.
It's a daft criteria to require from a manager.
None of the managers I listened could have been said to "get Hibs" when they were appointed but we did well with them.
Yogi, Mixu, Sauzee, Blackley, Stanton, Auld and Ormond all "got Hibs" but were all failures.
I'd like it if Murray became successful and proved his ability with his current club. Same applies to Marvin, but it would be their ability that would attract them to the club, not their Hibs connection.
What are you basing that on? Stanton and Blackley were operating on a shoestring and actually did well to keep us in the top flight, while also bringing through some cracking young players. Willie Ormond was manager for only a few months before retiring through ill health, but he had us well on the way to winning the First Division. Bertie Auld tied up the title and then consolidated us back in the top flight (albeit with a pretty stuffy style of play).
Yogi, you could argue, took us to Europe, Mixu didn't excel but neither was he a 'failure' while Sauzee was simply an ill-judged, hasty and largely romantic appointment.
24-08-2023, 12:09 PM
Firstly we can't legislate for injuries to key players, Boyle was out with a serious injury and is currently playing his way back to form, that will also be the case for Levitt, Vente has just arrived at the club, new players like Obita need time to bed in and Miller represents a youngster getting his chance to shine, there's a lot of reshuffling in games due to the amount of substitutions, the team will pick itself once the season really gets underway. That is only my opinion.
Team is changing in games because he keeps getting it wrong from the start. 25 minutes in against St Mirren, 45 against Motherwell.
24-08-2023, 12:11 PM
Team is changing in games because he keeps getting it wrong from the start. 25 minutes in against St Mirren, 45 against Motherwell.
And 45 minutes v Raith ?
24-08-2023, 12:12 PM
And 45 minutes v Raith ?
Oh aye, and over in Andorra as well.
NC1875
24-08-2023, 12:15 PM
Surely no one has any justification for keeping the clown ?
Broxburn Greens
24-08-2023, 12:22 PM
Good grief how would they get on working in a building site
Pretty sure that if their manager on a building site made such comments he’d be in serious trouble with their mutual employer.
I know I’d be looking at the sack for such chat if the person in question made a complaint about it & I work as a manager for a large main contractor
24-08-2023, 12:23 PM
Yeah, you see goals like that each week but not in the same game. It's normally far slower, or the cross is pish, or the striker doesn't find the space or jump as well or just has a crap header. To do it again and again in the same match very rarely happens. Plus they haven't had you chasing your tail the whole game so you're knackered. Yes we could've been better for those chances but they had so many ways to get in.
Would be interested to see the running stats from the game. Running stats mean very little in this context imo. It is where they are running to that matters.
I'd argue we often see more than a single goal like that against us in a game. I'd also argue that we don't see many more as usually we are not as passive as we were last night. The thing that irks me most is at no point did I feel we had set up to do anything but lose the game by 3 or 4. I wouldn't disagree that a top player will cross the ball more accurately than a lesser player but the only way to get the percentage down is to add pressure and contact. We set up to be subservient and gave them the easiest game they could have got. Villa's running stats would be interesting because I bet they ran less than us and at a slower average speed because they had a plan and a shape and knew their jobs. I can see lots are gushing about their performance but barring their athleticism and a couple of good bits of skill I didn't think they were that great. They certainly could be a very good side but they never needed to come close to that last night and had a huge amount left in the tank. Not often players trip over the ball, get up and still have time to play a pass without the opposition getting close, I counted 5 times last night Villa players did that because we were set up to watch not compete.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 12:25 PM
The team has struggled in our first two league games also due to us playing in Europe midweek. Rather than having training session we have been having recovery days which must also be taken into consideration by us fans too!
24-08-2023, 12:29 PM
Talking of budgets he couldn’t get Sunderland out of league one
24-08-2023, 12:30 PM
Stubbs couldn't get us out of the championship
24-08-2023, 12:32 PM
The team has struggled in our first two league games also due to us playing in Europe midweek. Rather than having training session we have been having recovery days which must also be taken into consideration by us fans too!
We had a training session against the Andorran side on the Thursday before the St Mirren game. There wasn’t any kind of intensity in that game that impacted our performance against St Mirren. We were just set up so badly we had to change it all after 25 minutes.
We’ll continue to struggle as well, without the playing in midweek excuse.
hibsforeurope
24-08-2023, 12:33 PM
Stubbs couldn't get us out of the championship
He was up against at least 1 team each year with a bigger budget than we had in each of those seasons.
But budgets only seem to be an issue when we get beat off of bigger clubs.
24-08-2023, 12:38 PM
That's a class video, hadn't seen it before.
Sadly the gap between the two leagues is ridiculous now and only getting bigger. Bring on their implosion.
Villa has spent well over a £billion on transfer fees since 1975. I doubt we'll have spent £25m.
In truth , we really shouldn't be in the same competition as them because we have exactly zero chance of beating them. Of course it was good to see SJM again and we'll have made a pile of cash, but it was a total mismatch.
Bring back the Texaco Cup, and I'm only half joking. Ok, maybe three quarters joking. 😃
24-08-2023, 12:40 PM
What he has done well that we haven't this season is bring in 3 good, Scottish centre backs that would've improved us too.
Why Scottish?
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 12:41 PM
We had a training session against the Andorran side on the Thursday before the St Mirren game. There wasn’t any kind of intensity in that game that impacted our performance against St Mirren. We were just set up so badly we had to change it all after 25 minutes.
We’ll continue to struggle as well, without the playing in midweek excuse.
The playing in midweek excuse as you call it came from Joe Newell who said they hadn't been doing much training as there were more recovery days though what's he know right?
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 12:46 PM
Seeing as he was appointed on the 5th of December 2020 and left on March he hardly got the chance to get them out of league 1 tbh .
24-08-2023, 12:48 PM
I assume JDT turned us down for a better gig, like Blackburn.
Fans would be on McInnes' back in no time for playing boring football. I'd rather win 4-3 than 1-0, and I'd like to see us attacking at 1-1 to get a winner. Ultimately I'd rather win more than lose though so he may improve us overall but he'll never have all fans on side just like at Aberdeen.
I think that is a myth. McInnes's team scored more goals in the premiership(74) than Lennon's team scored in the Championship(59). Lennon got the better of him in terms of goals the season after but also finished below Aberdeen. In the 8 seasons(taken to the split in his last season, so a few games after he left) McInnes managed Aberdeen they scored 435 goals while Hibs scored 422 with three seasons in the Championship. Up until the last 2 years of his tenure McInnes teams scored over 50 goals every season with the lowest total 53 and the highest 74. Stubbs got 70 first year of the Championship and we only got into the 60s once when Lennon finished 4th. McInnes stayed a year or two too long at the Dons, other than that he had a great career there and will be similar at a slightly lower level with Killie.
All in all if goals are a measure of attacking play McInnes wins hands down against any of our managers in the last decade and I would wager much further back than that. Goals win games, goals are by far the biggest point of excitement and enjoyment in football coupled with winning. Why we never went for him when we could is an absolute mystery and it is probably too late now as he is not only an excellent manager but loyal too.
The playing in midweek excuse as you call it came from Joe Newell who said they hadn't been doing much training as there were more recovery days though what's he know right?
What about Paul Hanlon saying he’d rather play games?
Did Newell use it as an excuse or just mention that’s what they’d been doing?
Any player wants to play and playing the Thursdays don’t in any way justify the performances in the first two league games
There's enough real things to criticise Johnson with. No need to invent more.
Johnson has spoken regularly about loving the club, it's history and he makes a point of praising the fans.
McLeish's "getting of Hibs" disappeared as soon as the hun showed an interest.
Maloney was honoured to be here etc etc etc. All managers say the right things at first. What they achieve is the important thing.
hibsforeurope
Seeing as he was appointed on the 5th of December 2020 and left on March he hardly got the chance to get them out of league 1 tbh .
Probably because Sunderland seen through him a lot quicker than our Board seem to be, we seem to have lapped up his BS.
Why did he leave?
He left in January 2022 btw
24-08-2023, 12:52 PM
Shouldn’t that then mean less training and recovery days would lessen the impact of midweek games ?
Why did he leave?
The 40-year-old, who arrived at the Stadium of Light in December 2020, has left the club with immediate effect alongside Assistant Head Coach Jamie McAllister.
Johnson guided SAFC to 41 wins in 75 games, including the club’s first victory at Wembley Stadium since 1973, and he was named League One Manager of the Month on two occasions.
Kyril Louis-Dreyfus said: “I would like to thank Lee for his commitment and endeavour over the past 14 months. We regret that we have had to take this decision, but felt immediate change was needed. We firmly believe that this is in the best interests of Sunderland AFC as we strive to earn promotion this season. Lee and Jamie will always be welcome at the Stadium of Light and they depart with our best wishes.”
The process to appoint a new Head Coach will commence immediately and a further update regarding the club’s interim coaching set-up will be communicated shortly.
Taken from their website.
24-08-2023, 12:54 PM
He got sacked 29th January 2022
24-08-2023, 12:56 PM
What are you basing that on? Stanton and Blackley were operating on a shoestring and actually did well to keep us in the top flight, while also bringing through some cracking young players. Willie Ormond was manager for only a few months before retiring through ill health, but he had us well on the way to winning the First Division. Bertie Auld tied up the title and then consolidated us back in the top flight (albeit with a pretty stuffy style of play).
Yogi, you could argue, took us to Europe, Mixu didn't excel but neither was he a 'failure' while Sauzee was simply an ill-judged, hasty and largely romantic appointment.
LJ got us to Europe and through 2 rounds. He's not supposed to "get Hibs".
Ability gives us success. Not "getting Hibs".
That's all.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 01:02 PM
Shouldn’t that then mean less training and recovery days would lessen the impact of midweek games ?
Only going by what Newell said that it's been tough which it probably has tbh . We still should have done better in both our two league games TBH though folk are seriously going away OTT about the Villa .
https://youtu.be/CVqU6TXJj00?si=-J-O-9srNDv-JSMT
24-08-2023, 01:02 PM
Probably because Sunderland seen through him a lot quicker than our Board seem to be, we seem to have lapped up his BS.
41 wins out of 75 games is excellent form
24-08-2023, 01:03 PM
I kept reading the last few days how no one was going to judge LJ on the Villa games :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 01:04 PM
Sunderland board went thru a fair few managers and were a complete basket case of a club which is something I hope we don't become!
24-08-2023, 01:05 PM
Only going by what Newell said that it's been tough which it probably has tbh . We still should have done better in both our two league games TBH though folk are seriously going away OTT about the Villa .
https://youtu.be/CVqU6TXJj00?si=-J-O-9srNDv-JSMT
After the Luzern games maybe there is an argument, not after home tie against the Andorran side though.
24-08-2023, 01:06 PM
He was up against at least 1 team each year with a bigger budget than we had in each of those seasons.
But budgets only seem to be an issue when we get beat off of bigger clubs.
He came 3rd in a 2 horse race.
24-08-2023, 01:07 PM
Yes, but does it totally negate it?
Every manager knows that players perform better with adequate rest followed by training. Pep regularly rests players and good teams often struggle domestically after European games.
We can ignore that on order not to give LJ any mitigation, but we know it's a fact.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 01:09 PM
Why did he leave?
A few bad results and a 6-0 defeat If I remember right though when he took over they were 7th and at the time he was sacked they were 3rd and only 2 points of the top which imo was harsh.
Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2023, 01:14 PM
That’s not true :confused:
24-08-2023, 01:17 PM
A few bad results and a 6-0 defeat If I remember right though when he took over they were 7th and at the time he was sacked they were 3rd and only 2 points of the top which imo was harsh.
You’re taking your info off Wiki which is wrong. He was with them from December 2020 until January 2022
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 01:18 PM
Yeah. I've already been corrected on that one 😁
24-08-2023, 01:18 PM
Is he talking about Sunderland? was he not there for 2 years or so
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 01:19 PM
You’re taking your info off Wiki which is wrong. He was with them from December 2020 until January 2022
Fair enough
24-08-2023, 01:39 PM
Not sure the mythical "got Hibs", whatever it even means, is part of a criteria on which a manager's tenure should be measured.
But we lap it up when our manager or ex-players etc speak highly of us. We see it on here all the time.
SJM last night as a recent example. People here gushing over him being respectful about our club. That’s “getting Hibs”.
It’s not mythical at all. Think of some of your favourite players from the past.
You think Stanton didn’t get us? We’re lucky to have had hundreds of players that did.
Anyways, I’m sure people really know what is meant by “get Hibs”. It’s just being awkward saying that you don’t.
24-08-2023, 01:48 PM
But we lap it up when our manager or ex-players etc speak highly of us. We see it on here all the time.
SJM last night as a recent example. People here gushing over him being respectful about our club. That’s “getting Hibs”.
It’s not mythical at all. Think of some of your favourite players from the past.
You think Stanton didn’t get us? We’re lucky to have had hundreds of players that did.
Anyways, I’m sure people really know what is meant by “get Hibs”. It’s just being awkward saying that you don’t.
I think everyone understands what it means. It's just not an essential attribute for a manager. Nice if they have it, but otherwise valueless.
24-08-2023, 01:48 PM
I think the "getting Hibs" stuff is absolute drivel.
Some managers understand the remit about what it takes to be successful with us than others.
Tony Mowbray couldn't give 2 hoots about Hibs now, he never "got Hibs" but he looked at the players, looked at the league and understood exactly what it was going to take to get the best from them and to get adequate results for earn him the sorts of results that would allow him to toddle off and never look back.
I think some managers underestimate the need for Hibs to control possession at home against sides with less resource than us and that's why pragmatic managers, negative managers, hoofball managers or managers who think that any old English league one rubbish will piss it here will come a cropper.
Fawning over our support and saying the right things will get a manager absolutely nowhere if the results on the pitch aren't good enough. If the football is good enough, the manager can (for example) appear on the tv talking about their beloved Celtic as much as they like and will only draw criticism from a niche part of our support. As soon as the football is poor, that will start to be thrown at them more widely.
I think some of us need to get over ourselves and realise how insignificant we are in wider footballing terms. That doesn't mean we can't be successful or having some really good times with people along the way (see Stubbs, Mowbray, Lennon, McLeish etc), it's the best we can hope for in the modern era.
24-08-2023, 02:08 PM
We go and "have a go" I'm assuming that means press high from the start
We would've been a goal down within 5 minutes
Johnson out started immediately for being naive
You seen how they sliced through is when we did press high
Aslong as villa turned up anyway into the game and we were in big bother
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
I posted this on another thread. Folk behind me screaming for us to press. Against a team of that calibre we’d have been ripped apart even more. I don’t get why people don’t understand that.
24-08-2023, 02:10 PM
I posted this on another thread. Folk behind me screaming for us to press. Against a team of that calibre we’d have been ripped apart even more. I don’t get why people don’t understand that.
Don't think they've even played fives. Absolutely cringe when you hear it.
24-08-2023, 02:15 PM
I've just seen his post match interview where he said last week's result was one of our best ever in Europe.
Maybe better brush up on your Hibs history Lee.
dunfyhibby
24-08-2023, 02:23 PM
I've just seen his post match interview where he said last week's result was one of our best ever in Europe.
That pissed me off too! Is he having a laugh!!
24-08-2023, 02:27 PM
Some managers understand the remit about what it takes to be successful with us than others.
Tony Mowbray couldn't give 2 hoots about Hibs now, he never "got Hibs" but he looked at the players, looked at the league and understood exactly what it was going to take to get the best from them and to get adequate results for earn him the sorts of results that would allow him to toddle off and never look back.
I think some managers underestimate the need for Hibs to control possession at home against sides with less resource than us and that's why pragmatic managers, negative managers, hoofball managers or managers who think that any old English league one rubbish will piss it here will come a cropper.
Fawning over our support and saying the right things will get a manager absolutely nowhere if the results on the pitch aren't good enough. If the football is good enough, the manager can (for example) appear on the tv talking about their beloved Celtic as much as they like and will only draw criticism from a niche part of our support. As soon as the football is poor, that will start to be thrown at them more widely.
I think some of us need to get over ourselves and realise how insignificant we are in wider footballing terms. That doesn't mean we can't be successful or having some really good times with people along the way (see Stubbs, Mowbray, Lennon, McLeish etc), it's the best we can hope for in the modern era.
I don’t disagree.
But I bet Mowbray cared a damn sight more when he was our boss than LJ ever will.
Calderwood and Heckingbottom are two other examples of mangers that didn’t give a toss about us whilst in post.
24-08-2023, 02:28 PM
I broadly agree with what you say but surely a pragmatic manager is exactly what we need?
'Pragmatic - dealing with things sensibly and realistically in a way that is based on practical rather than theoretical considerations.'
That to me suggests a pragmatic manager would very much get that Hibs need to dominate possession at home and take the game to teams who will sit in, utilising what we have to make the whole better than or at least equal to the sum of it's parts yet accept there were times when we just have to get the job done. I think a lack of pragmatism was a huge issue for someone like Maloney as he tried to get players to do things they clearly weren't capable of. I can't say if Johnson is pragmatic or not because I don't really have any idea what he is trying to do.
Dare I say it but a bit like a Mr McInnes at Aberdeen. His teams regularly won by 2 or 3 goals at home but could equally go away from home, score early then control a game and see it out. We witnessed it often enough. You could even argue Guardiola was pragmatic when he went out and added a big lump of a striker as the final piece of the jigsaw in a near perfect football team.
24-08-2023, 02:56 PM
I broadly agree with what you say but surely a pragmatic manager is exactly what we need?
'Pragmatic - dealing with things sensibly and realistically in a way that is based on practical rather than theoretical considerations.'
That to me suggests a pragmatic manager would very much get that Hibs need to dominate possession at home and take the game to teams who will sit in, utilising what we have to make the whole better than or at least equal to the sum of it's parts yet accept there were times when we just have to get the job done. I think a lack of pragmatism was a huge issue for someone like Maloney as he tried to get players to do things they clearly weren't capable of. I can't say if Johnson is pragmatic or not because I don't really have any idea what he is trying to do.
Dare I say it but a bit like a Mr McInnes at Aberdeen. His teams regularly won by 2 or 3 goals at home but could equally go away from home, score early then control a game and see it out. We witnessed it often enough. You could even argue Guardiola was pragmatic when he went out and added a big lump of a striker as the final piece of the jigsaw in a near perfect football team.
I think you're spot on here tbh, that's exactly what we need.
I guess my meaning of "pragmatic" was probably closer to "negative" - the nip a goal and defend a one goal lead types. I don't think that keeps our home support in particular onside.
24-08-2023, 03:09 PM
It is one of our best though.
Maybe not the best, but it's up there.
Discount friendlies and ties we lost on aggregate and it's even better.
Why Scottish?
Always good to have Scottish talent in the team that could become internationals, Findlay already is one. Significantly less adapting required and slightly more likely to stick around for longer.
I think that is a myth. McInnes's team scored more goals in the premiership(74) than Lennon's team scored in the Championship(59). Lennon got the better of him in terms of goals the season after but also finished below Aberdeen. In the 8 seasons(taken to the split in his last season, so a few games after he left) McInnes managed Aberdeen they scored 435 goals while Hibs scored 422 with three seasons in the Championship. Up until the last 2 years of his tenure McInnes teams scored over 50 goals every season with the lowest total 53 and the highest 74. Stubbs got 70 first year of the Championship and we only got into the 60s once when Lennon finished 4th. McInnes stayed a year or two too long at the Dons, other than that he had a great career there and will be similar at a slightly lower level with Killie.
All in all if goals are a measure of attacking play McInnes wins hands down against any of our managers in the last decade and I would wager much further back than that. Goals win games, goals are by far the biggest point of excitement and enjoyment in football coupled with winning. Why we never went for him when we could is an absolute mystery and it is probably too late now as he is not only an excellent manager but loyal too.
Fair play if that's the numbers :aok:
Think you're still being a bit overly critical of the goals conceded though. They had better teamwork, tactics and understanding, Emery is top class. They didn't have to be sprinting as they had the speed of thought and ability to move the ball quickly. But I think if we'd just got all 11 behind the ball they'd still have found ways. Okay, maybe it wouldn't have been 5 but they were going to skelp us 99/100 times. They were at it. We did try to keep players forward which led to the space on the wings, the 4th goal in particular was murder for this as it open for so long.
I don't want to sound like a Johnson fanboy because I'm far from it but I think the reaction is way OTT especially with Lennon or Collins (who was thinking we should've done more passing from the back against a pressing Villa team) as a suggestion to replace. McInnes, even more so after what you've pointed out, should be a good bet to improve us, but everyone else is a gamble that I don't see the need for at the moment. Maybe in a few weeks.
GreenGray
24-08-2023, 04:12 PM
Always good to have Scottish talent in the team that could become internationals, Findlay already is one. Significantly less adapting required and slightly more likely to stick around for longer.
On a loosely related point McInnes was brilliant at developing Scottish talent when at Aberdeen, just look at some of the players who made there Scottish debut and went on to have decent careers partly due to him.
24-08-2023, 04:26 PM
How come every circumstance which enables you to put a positive spin on things is valid, but folk with counter points all have agenda's against LJ?
I don't know the man from Adam, and have absolutely no axe to grind with him, other than he is and always has failed my team. I neither know nor care whether some of the stuff posted about him is right or wrong.
What I do see is a team that I have no idea how they are going to play game to game, couldn't guess the formation or personnel to be deployed, a team that repeats the same mistakes game after game.
I see a manager who seems incapable of learning, hasn't improved one player on the books, permits the signing of players whom he quickly decides cant dislodge the players they were signed to replace and whose big game plan seems to be hunt it forward rapid and hope Boyle or Youan can conjur something up out of nothing.
I see a manager who continuously asks players to do jobs they are incapable of, but wont change either the players or the systems to accommodate them.
Watching Hibs right now is like watching Groundhog Day on an endless loop, you could write the match report days in advance and fill the score in depending on how **** or otherwise the opposition were.
There is not one shred of optimism to point to better days around the corner. How long do we persist with the insanity of watching the same things happen and expect different results.
As for the we cant keep sacking managers stuff, why to hell not, eventually we will luck out on someone remotely capable.
24-08-2023, 04:30 PM
How many times have we heard this nonsense about players hating LJ and its subsequently been found to be fiction. I have no idea what drives people to post such pish - or be so gullible to fall for it in the first place.
24-08-2023, 04:32 PM
Definitely was one of our best.
Daily Hibs
24-08-2023, 04:38 PM
Definitely was one of our best.
Not even close to being one of our best.
24-08-2023, 04:39 PM
Wasn't one of our worst though! Top 50%.
hibeerealist
24-08-2023, 04:41 PM
How come every circumstance which enables you to put a positive spin on things is valid, but folk with counter points all have agenda's against LJ?
I don't know the man from Adam, and have absolutely no axe to grind with him, other than he is and always has failed my team. I neither know nor care whether some of the stuff posted about him is right or wrong.
What I do see is a team that I have no idea how they are going to play game to game, couldn't guess the formation or personnel to be deployed, a team that repeats the same mistakes game after game.
I see a manager who seems incapable of learning, hasn't improved one player on the books, permits the signing of players whom he quickly decides cant dislodge the players they were signed to replace and whose big game plan seems to be hunt it forward rapid and hope Boyle or Youan can conjur something up out of nothing.
I see a manager who continuously asks players to do jobs they are incapable of, but wont change either the players or the systems to accommodate them.
Watching Hibs right now is like watching Groundhog Day on an endless loop, you could write the match report days in advance and fill the score in depending on how **** or otherwise the opposition were.
There is not one shred of optimism to point to better days around the corner. How long do we persist with the insanity of watching the same things happen and expect different results.
As for the we cant keep sacking managers stuff, why to hell not, eventually we will luck out on someone remotely capable.
Very good and accurate post IMHO, :agree:
Daily Hibs
24-08-2023, 04:42 PM
Wasn't one of our worst though! Top 50%.
Ha! an LJ response :spammy::tee hee:
24-08-2023, 04:48 PM
Very good and accurate post IMHO, :agree:
Yup, also agree.
Daily Hibs
24-08-2023, 04:52 PM
And when we do, we need to keep them for at least 3 years. It's time we had a long term manager who also builds a club. The whole club needs to be seamless from Board Room to Director of Football to First Team to Youth team. All on the same page and hopefully allow us to produce better young players because everyone at the club is interested.
24-08-2023, 05:06 PM
Which ties were better?
List a few.
24-08-2023, 05:11 PM
Which ties were better?
List a few.
I’ll start with Asteras.
24-08-2023, 05:26 PM
I’ll start with Asteras.
I was at both of those games and it was a great tie. Better than Luzern? I don't know how to decide that.
Sporting Lisbon was a proper cracker though, but that was before Johnson was born.
He didn't say it was our best result, did he? I thought he said one of our best. He's definitely right about that.
24-08-2023, 05:29 PM
I kept reading the last few days how no one was going to judge LJ on the Villa games :greengrin
Funny eh? It's not just that game though.
I think his form since the start of the season is
L 2-1
W 6-1
L 2-3
W 3-1
L 2-1
D 2-2
W 2-1
L 0-5
I am not sure that's grounds for dismissal.
24-08-2023, 05:46 PM
L 2-1
W 6-1
L 2-3
W 3-1
L 2-1
D 2-2
W 2-1
L 0-5
Not sure I agree with that, but it is certainly not grounds for optimism, that is for absolutely certain!
He's here!
24-08-2023, 05:53 PM
He's modified that from pre-match. On Tuesday he said it was probably our best result in Europe for 20-30 years, which it was. I imagine he was hurting last night and was trying to put a positive spin on things which is understandable.
24-08-2023, 06:19 PM
Not sure I agree with that, but it is certainly not grounds for optimism, that is for absolutely certain!
I think that depends on what side of bed you get out of.
From what I've seen of our team shaping up so far, I think that when things settle down and he gets his first XI out more often than not, our results against the teams in our league should be much better than the 2 league results we've obtained so far.
There's certainly been some dross and I can understand why some folk prefer to think that we're going to see more dross going forward but that's not what I expect. It'll continue to be inconsistent, it will always be hot and cold but I expect more hot than cold, especially if we make an appropriate transfer or two.
I wouldn't say I'm necessarily a doom and gloomer or a happy clapper but I'm expecting an improvement and a decent season still, and I think you can find reason for that optimism if you go looking for it.
24-08-2023, 06:28 PM
From what I've seen of our team shaping up so far, I think that when things settle down and he gets his first XI out more often than not, our results against the teams in our league should be much better than the 2 league results we've obtained so far.
There's certainly been some dross and I can understand why some folk prefer to think that we're going to see more dross going forward but that's not what I expect. It'll continue to be inconsistent, it will always be hot and cold but I expect more hot than cold, especially if we make an appropriate transfer or two.
I wouldn't say I'm necessarily a doom and gloomer or a happy clapper but I'm expecting an improvement and a decent season still, and I think you can find reason for that optimism if you go looking for it.
You are to be commended for having that positive an outlook.
I don’t think he would know his first 11 if it slapped him on the coupon.
24-08-2023, 06:31 PM
Nobody does. Look at the team for Livi thread. Different players, different formations from everyone. That’s reflected every week when you’re waiting on the team being announced as well.
Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2023, 06:36 PM
More defeats than wins, the exact same as last seasons crap. And the wins have come against a part time team, a lower league team and a pretty decent Swiss team.
It’s pish.
24-08-2023, 06:36 PM
next six games
H- Livingston
A- Aberdeen
A- Killie
H- st johnstone
H- st mirren(cup)
H- Dundee
if we can't win all three home games in the league then best he goes :agree:
Fuzzywuzzy
24-08-2023, 06:40 PM
Campbell has been poor so far and feel that there's more chance of JDH getting a red than a goal.
Harbottle needs to get his chance at the back so we can see what he can do.
24-08-2023, 06:42 PM
I think he's been rotating his squad to cope with the European games, and we'll see that change when the games aren't coming thick and fast.
His selections were fairly consistent during the second half of last season.
I think he wants to play 433. He's shown faith in Marshall so that jersey is his to lose. Back 4 I think he wants to play Miller, Fish, Hanlon and Stevenson although he may rotate Obita with Stevenson fairly regularly. Midfield Newell is a first pick, he seems to like Campbell and Levitt appeared to be a first pick when fit. Up front picks itself, Boyle, Vente and Youan.
There will be variations on that tactically and fitness / form wise but I think that's what he sees as his best team and I think it will be good enough to get a very decent haul of points, albeit I think we need more in midfield, more depth for the wide forwards and there is still a slight question mark over RB. And I suspect Harbottle may be a better option than Fish.
24-08-2023, 06:47 PM
Nobody does. Look at the team for Livi thread. Different players, different formations from everyone. That’s reflected every week when you’re waiting on the team being announced as well.
If the manager doesn’t know his first 11 we are more ****ed than I think.
If I were to guess I would guess the only one presently not available to him is Levitt.
We don’t see them in training every day and have the wealth of statistical data available to the manager so with respect the teams you and I or anyone on this forum pick are irrelevant.
24-08-2023, 07:17 PM
More defeats than wins, the exact same as last seasons crap. And the wins have come against a part time team, a lower league team and a pretty decent Swiss team.
It’s pish.
And the defeat that tipped the balance to more than the wins was against Aston Villa, if we're doing that.
Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2023, 07:20 PM
And the defeat that tipped the balance to more than the wins was against Aston Villa, if we're doing that.
Ok, so we’re 3 defeats to 1 win if we exclude them.
Even worse.
Good post, I pretty much agree with all of that. I just posted the facts for a different perspective - you'd think we'd not won a game since the season started the way some folk are going on, and even though folk weren't counting the game against Villa, it's now an important stat to tip Johnson into the 'more defeats than wins'. Makes you think.
Ok, so we’re 3 defeats to 1 win if we exclude them.
Even worse.
Eh?
I think he's been rotating his squad to cope with the European games, and we'll see that change when the games aren't coming thick and fast.
His selections were fairly consistent during the second half of last season.
I think he wants to play 433. He's shown faith in Marshall so that jersey is his to lose. Back 4 I think he wants to play Miller, Fish, Hanlon and Stevenson although he may rotate Obita with Stevenson fairly regularly. Midfield Newell is a first pick, he seems to like Campbell and Levitt appeared to be a first pick when fit. Up front picks itself, Boyle, Vente and Youan.
There will be variations on that tactically and fitness / form wise but I think that's what he sees as his best team and I think it will be good enough to get a very decent haul of points, albeit I think we need more in midfield, more depth for the wide forwards and there is still a slight question mark over RB. And I suspect Harbottle may be a better option than Fish.
I agree with all that. However I think after bushiri replacing hanlon last night then we could see more of bushiri.
It is still too early to make a decision. I think we will pick up league points now and Johnson will ease the pressure, albeit if we do lose the next two league games then a decision is required.
Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2023, 07:23 PM
Eh?
Eh?
24-08-2023, 07:24 PM
Eh?
Eh?
Fully expect Scouse Hibee to pitch in with a "calm down, calm down" now.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 07:31 PM
Don't think I said I was right or my post was valid . Did say as fans we must take into consideration its probably not been easy playing a European game midweek and then a league game a few days later . Don't see were your coming from on that tbh.
If we are repeating the same mistakes game after game what happened in the 2nd game against inter and the two games against a very good side in Luzern then ? .
Campbell improved last season as did Youan .
The shred of optimism is we improved last year , our football was better and we had some good results in Europe. Speaking about Europe , a lot said the Villa game wasn't the game to judge the manager in which was sensible tbh as we were up against an opponent on a totally different level everyway possible to us though that is exactly what has happened.
As for your why the hell can't we keep sacking managers because eventually we will get lucky comment . It cost the club a lot of money as our financial figures showed after Ross and Maloney went . If we keep hiring and firing manager's too it will make it harder to entice any manager to us as they will think we are a complete basket case of a club .
As to some folks counter points about poor performances or maybe tactics they thinks wrong , fair enough though the rumours of the manager throwing players under the bus , losing the dressing room, players hate him , drinking and partying like a mad man before a derby , causing a fight at tiny and picking on a really nice person like Steven Naismith etc etc and now another one today . Which there's been not one shred of evidence to suggest any of these are in anyway true . This certainly gives me the impression that some certainly have an AGENDA against our manager.
24-08-2023, 07:31 PM
L 2-1
W 6-1
L 2-3
W 3-1
L 2-1
D 2-2
W 2-1
L 0-5
Add the teams names to results and for effect a ridiculous high pitch stuck up accent and then you'll find you are sure. If not watch the office to see how that works ends
Don't think I said I was right or my post was valid . Did say as fans we must take into consideration its probably not been easy playing a European game midweek and then a league game a few days later . Don't see were your coming from on that tbh.
If we are repeating the same mistakes game after game what happened in the 2nd game against inter and the two games against a very good side in Luzern then ? .
The shred of optimism is we improved last year , our football was better and we had some good results in Europe. Speaking about Europe , a lot said the Villa game wasn't the game to judge the manager in which was sensible tbh as we were up against an opponent on a totally different level everyway possible to us though that is exactly what has happened.
As for your why the hell can't we keep sacking managers because eventually we will get lucky comment . It cost the club a lot of money as our financial figures showed after Ross and Maloney went . If we keep hiring and firing manager's too it will make it harder to entice any manager to us as they will think we are a complete basket case of a club .
As to some folks counter points about poor performances or maybe tactics they thinks wrong , fair enough though the rumours of the manager throwing players under the bus , losing the dressing room, players hate him , drinking and partying like a mad man before a derby , causing a fight at tiny and picking on a really nice person like Steven Naismith etc etc and now another one today . Which there's been not one shred of evidence to suggest any of these are in anyway true . This certainly gives me the impression that some certainly have an AGENDA against our manager.
You’ve just ignored what BSEJVT has posted and just rehashed what you’ve been posting about playing well and Europe etc
What’s your thoughts about what he’s posted regarding style of play/performances outwith the 5/6 games we played half decent in?
We were woeful for sections of last season with zero tactics, poor formations etc etc.
24-08-2023, 08:02 PM
Which ties were better?
List a few.
In our history?
Sporting, Barca, Napoli off the top of my head.
24-08-2023, 08:05 PM
Starting to feel a wee bit bad about my criticism of Johnson as I think he posts on here.
Exuberance1875
24-08-2023, 08:14 PM
Manager has to go considering we arguably don’t have a stronger squad than we finished with last year. Tactics are near enough none existent, constantly coming out with absolute tripe in the media about GPS etc.
There is zero signs of any youth players making a breakthrough. He’s been on the verge of a sacking for about 6 months which should be causing alarm bells.
We are likely paying people like Jeggo, Campbell and JDH all good money, none of which are good enough to dominate a game. We’ve left it so late in the window again to make decision despite the writing being on the wall for months last year.
Kensell needs to go to, this is all his doing as well.
24-08-2023, 08:16 PM
Starting to feel a wee bit bad about my criticism of Johnson as I think he posts on here.
You suggesting he commutes to East Mains from the Emerald Isle?:greengrin
24-08-2023, 08:18 PM
24-08-2023, 08:19 PM
It’s a totally wasted effort debating with you as you just try and confuse the issue if you can’t refute it. I don’t know what you can’t see as I can’t find a way to make it clearer you dismiss what you don’t like but embrace any excuse you can like a drowning man with a life belt
You are like the witch finder general with everyone who doesn’t support LJ having an agenda, some may do but I can’t speak for them. There are plenty others who don’t just but are sick of the bloody mess we are in and the hoof balll we are forced to witness
If we can discount Villa we can discount the Andorran mob for exactly the same reason
We lost the same pishy goals against Lucerne as we do every week, but it was a decent win against an equivalent side to us.
Campbell’s goals masked a really poor footballer and them apart I see no sign of his improvement so we will need to agree to disagree on that. Youan still looks like he makes the same mistakes as always but even so 2 out of 30 isn’t a ringing endorsement
It will cost the club more to keep a misfiring manager who gets us pumped out of cups pronto and who if allowed to continue will turn more and more folk away.
Tell me what agenda do you think folk have and why?
Other than his mild hearts past I can’t think of a reason ?
Personally I think he is a poor tactically inept manager who loves the sound of his own voice and has no qualms about blaming everything and anybody for his shortcomings whilst blustering inanely trying to sound buzz word bingo clever
24-08-2023, 08:31 PM
Your last paragraph is just daft. There is evidence for most of them. Interviews of him chucking players under the bus, video of him starting the stramash at Tynecastle, he was actually out drinking before the hearts game. So that’s all true. It appears you are now the one with the agenda. It’s all getting pretty odd.
It’s a totally wasted effort debating with you as you just try and confuse the issue if you can’t refute it. I don’t know what you can’t see as I can’t find a way to make it clearer you dismiss what you don’t like but embrace any excuse you can like a drowning man with a life belt
You are like the witch finder general with everyone who doesn’t support LJ having an agenda, some may do but I can’t speak for them. There are plenty others who don’t just but are sick of the bloody mess we are in and the hoof balll we are forced to witness
If we can discount Villa we can discount the Andorran mob for exactly the same reason
We lost the same pishy goals against Lucerne as we do every week, but it was a decent win against an equivalent side to us.
Campbell’s goals masked a really poor footballer and them apart I see no sign of his improvement so we will need to agree to disagree on that. Youan still looks like he makes the same mistakes as always but even so 2 out of 30 isn’t a ringing endorsement
It will cost the club more to keep a misfiring manager who gets us pumped out of cups pronto and who if allowed to continue will turn more and more folk away.
Tell me what agenda do you think folk have and why?
Other than his mild hearts past I can’t think of a reason ?
Personally I think he is a poor tactically inept manager who loves the sound of his own voice and has no qualms about blaming everything and anybody for his shortcomings whilst blustering inanely trying to sound buzz word bingo clever
[emoji3516]
Well put
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 08:42 PM
You’ve just ignored what BSEJVT has posted and just rehashed what you’ve been posting about playing well and Europe etc
What’s your thoughts about what he’s posted regarding style of play/performances outwith the 5/6 games we played half decent in?
We were woeful for sections of last season with zero tactics, poor formations etc etc.
Didn't ignore him at at all think I answered most of it . What are the 5/6 games we played half decent I btw ? Last season we still finished 5th and qualified for Europe which is an improvement on the year before when we finished 8th and were in the bottom 6 .
24-08-2023, 08:46 PM
Your last paragraph is just daft. There is evidence for most of them. Interviews of him chucking players under the bus, video of him starting the stramash at Tynecastle, he was actually out drinking before the hearts game. So that’s all true. It appears you are now the one with the agenda. It’s all getting pretty odd.
Family meal at mad dogs 😂
24-08-2023, 08:47 PM
Didn't ignore him at at all think I answered most of it . What are the 5/6 games we played half decent I btw ? Last season we still finished 5th and qualified for Europe which is an improvement on the year before when we finished 8th and were in the bottom 6 .
If Johnson was to leave tomorrow what foundations do you think he would pass to the next manager that he didn’t inherit from Ross/Maloney?
A defined style of play? Youngsters blooded? Balanced squad? Spine of a team?
I’m quoting you from earlier about the games we played well in as you went on about it.
Yes we finished 5th but what folk are saying is can’t you see we have zero tactics, poor formations etc which is a continuation from last season. Woeful against St Mirren and Motherwell with similar type goals conceded. Hoof ball constantly.
And he criticised players and says he has earned the right to criticise them in public. A Google search will show you this.
Willis1875
24-08-2023, 08:49 PM
🤣🤣
24-08-2023, 08:53 PM
In our history?
Sporting, Barca, Napoli off the top of my head.
I agree.
Luzern is one of our best. Not the best, one of.
24-08-2023, 08:56 PM
I agree.
Luzern is one of our best. Not the best, one of.
I’m moving the goalposts but Anderlecht was better too imo, though we obviously didn’t progress.
And Videoton better too. ‘Cos I was there :greengrin
24-08-2023, 09:00 PM
Performances just havent been very good(not just last night) and he needs to do something to turn it around or he will be out a job. A good win on saturday would certainly help
Performances just havent been very good(not just last night) and he needs to do something to turn it around or he will be out a job. A good win tomorrow would certainly help
More chance of winning tomorrow than on Saturday with this imbecile in charge.
24-08-2023, 09:09 PM
More chance of winning tomorrow than on Saturday with this imbecile in charge.
Ha, meant Saturday!!
24-08-2023, 09:13 PM
I’m moving the goalposts but Anderlecht was better too imo, though we obviously didn’t progress.
And Videoton better too. ‘Cos I was there :greengrin
So was I. 😃
Broxburn Greens
24-08-2023, 09:14 PM
This is where I’m heading. Top post.
Johnson has two huge league games coming up 0/6 and he’s in deep trouble.
4+ points and another stay of execution will have been granted…. Until the next time…
24-08-2023, 09:14 PM
It is one of our best though.
Maybe not the best, but it's up there.
Discount friendlies and ties we lost on aggregate and it's even better.
Friendlies no problem
Anything else?
Games where no one called Dave played?
Teams not wearing yellow?
One side of the debate seems to want to set its own preconditions for what can and cannot be considered to boost its arguments
Off the top of my head
Sporting
Videoton
Leeds x2
Liverpool
Juventus
Barcelona
Napoli
Anderlecht
FC Besa
Strasbourg
Rosenburg
Daily Hibs
24-08-2023, 09:17 PM
Friendlies no problem
Anything else?
One side of the debate seems to want to set its own preconditions for what can and cannot be considered to boost its arguments
Off the top of my head
Sporting
Videoton
Leeds x2
Liverpool
Juventus
Barcelona
Napoli
Anderlecht
FC Besa
Strasbourg
Rosenburg
Exactly.
24-08-2023, 09:17 PM
So was I.
Did you stay in the hotel at Lake Balaton where they left cold meat out for our arrival and the beer they were selling was out of date by a few months ? That was some trip. When one of the guys on our bus took the gun off the border guard and started waving it about as we all ducked under our seats
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 09:27 PM
Where is this evidence ? Where is these interviews of him chucking players under the bus ? Had a meal and a couple of drinks and was home at 9:45 which was hardly a crime though some did try and make out it was at the time though. Video shows him reacting though did Naismith say something like he did to Nisbet? Probably never know though doesn't prove he started it though if you'd rather back the maroon corner of Naismith . Fair enough. Only agenda I have is wanting to see the Hibs manager get a fair chance . We are only two games into the new season which is a bit soon to be wanting anyone sacked .
24-08-2023, 09:31 PM
Where is this evidence ? Where is these interviews of him chucking players under the bus ? Had a meal and a couple of drinks and was home at 9:45 which was hardly a crime though some did try and make out it was at the time though. Video shows him reacting though did Naismith say something like he did to Nisbet? Probably never know though doesn't prove he started it though if you'd rather back the maroon corner of Naismith . Fair enough. Only agenda I have is wanting to see the Hibs manager get a fair chance . We are only two games into the new season which is a bit soon to be wanting anyone sacked .
Can you not accept that people aren’t judging him on a couple of games this season though? They’ve been unimpressed across 51 of them (with the odd exception).
24-08-2023, 09:33 PM
We’ve had 9 competitive games and the team is playing like a tribute act to Terry Butcher. He’s not the long term answer.
Helensburghhibs
24-08-2023, 09:45 PM
I honestly think above all the thing that annoys me the most is him not playing the young lads who are showing promise. Its also a win win for him as if the support see promise and intent to develop he will get much more leeway. Im also talking about actual youngsters and not guys like campbell who arent really yound in football terms and found his level when he wasnt a standout at edinburgh city on loan
24-08-2023, 09:53 PM
I honestly think above all the thing that annoys me the most is him not playing the young lads who are showing promise. It's ore so also a win win for him as if the support see promise and intent to develop he will get much more leeway. Im also talking about actual youngsters and not guys like campbell who arent really yound in football terms and found his level when he wasnt a standout at edinburgh city on loan
More so when he sold us the line at the start of the January window that he was clearing the decks to create opportunities for the young players. They featured on the bench for something like two games then he reverted to type and ignored them.
I honestly think above all the thing that annoys me the most is him not playing the young lads who are showing promise. Its also a win win for him as if the support see promise and intent to develop he will get much more leeway. Im also talking about actual youngsters and not guys like campbell who arent really yound in football terms and found his level when he wasnt a standout at edinburgh city on loan
I don’t think the fans have the patience to allow young players to develop in the first team.
GreenGray
24-08-2023, 09:58 PM
We aren’t only two games in btw.
It seems like LJ is immune to criticism, you say you want to give Hibs managers a fair chance but I can’t seem to remember you being that way about Maloney, whether he deserved it or not.
paddy1875
24-08-2023, 09:58 PM
You’re certainly a glass half full kind of guy. It’s a great way to be.
It’s match day -2 and you’ve still not been sacked
[emoji6][emoji1303]
24-08-2023, 10:01 PM
You’re certainly a glass half full kind of guy. It’s a great way to be.
It’s match day -2 and you’ve still not been sacked
[emoji6][emoji1303]
I know you're not the first person to jump on Donegal, but I think it's a bit harsh to start with the 'you're Lee Johnson' stuff just because he's voiced and stuck to a different opinion and backed the manager. It's quickly becoming a pile-on and from what I can see, Donegal is just standing by his viewpoint.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 10:03 PM
We’ve had 9 competitive games and the team is playing like a tribute act to Terry Butcher. He’s not the long term answer.
The team as played badly in 3 games and one of those was for 70 minutes and after that we looked like we were going to win it . We were good against Inter at home and two excellent performance which we got our tactics right against Luzern in and I don't think we were anything like a butcher team in them to be quite honest.
For me it's too early to be thinking about changing the manager so early in the season . A good few folk on here think he's not the long term answer either . Some even see Ian Murray , Mackay , Lennon etc etc as the right candidate to move us forward too .
paddy1875
24-08-2023, 10:04 PM
I know you're not the first person to jump on Donegal, but I think it's a bit harsh to start with the 'you're Lee Johnson' stuff just because he's voiced and stuck to a different opinion and backed the manager. It's quickly becoming a pile-on and from what I can see, Donegal is just standing by his viewpoint.
I’m not jumping on him, his opinion is his own.
Though it differs massively from mines. I hope he takes it as light hearted banter.
paddy1875
24-08-2023, 10:06 PM
I’m not jumping on him, his opinion is his own.
Though it differs massively from mines. I hope he takes it as light hearted banter.
Unless he really is Lee Johnson
24-08-2023, 10:10 PM
:faf: :thumbsup:
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 10:13 PM
We aren’t only two games in btw.
It seems like LJ is immune to criticism, you say you want to give Hibs managers a fair chance but I can’t seem to remember you being that way about Maloney, whether he deserved it or not.
We are only two league games into the season which in my book is early days yet . LJ shouldn't be immune to criticism if it's deserved though the criticism he's got after the Villa game isn't imo . The Hibs board got rid of him because they said they seen no evidence of any improvement in the team or players which I agree with tbh.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2023, 10:14 PM
🤫😂😂
GreenGray
24-08-2023, 10:18 PM
We are only two league games into the season which in my book is early days yet . LJ shouldn't be immune to criticism if it's deserved though the criticism he's got after the Villa game isn't imo . The Hibs board got rid of him because they said they seen no evidence of any improvement in the team or players which I agree with tbh.
I just seem to remember the whole of last season excuses we’re getting made for him and it seems that is still going on. When will it be fair to judge him, when it’s too late and we’re already way behind our rivals for 3rd? It is so crucial to finish 3rd this season we can’t afford to be giving them a head start.
I didn’t criticise after Villa game but he has deserved it after St Mirren, Motherwell and countless games last season.
I can only judge with my own eyes and whilst we have the occasional brilliant performance in us the problem is it is occasionally and no where near consistent enough.
24-08-2023, 10:25 PM
The team as played badly in 3 games and one of those was for 70 minutes and after that we looked like we were going to win it . We were good against Inter at home and two excellent performance which we got our tactics right against Luzern in and I don't think we were anything like a butcher team in them to be quite honest.
For me it's too early to be thinking about changing the manager so early in the season . A good few folk on here think he's not the long term answer either . Some even see Ian Murray , Mackay , Lennon etc etc as the right candidate to move us forward too .
The tactics in Motherwell and St Mirren game were exactly like Butcher. Play to a big striker or into corners and try to turn the opposition defence to face their goal.
I only pointed out we have played 9 competitive games as opposed to 2. You have an interesting perspective. We’ve had one good result that was above expectations, the rest has been at or below expectations.
24-08-2023, 10:37 PM
Fair play if that's the numbers :aok:
Think you're still being a bit overly critical of the goals conceded though. They had better teamwork, tactics and understanding, Emery is top class. They didn't have to be sprinting as they had the speed of thought and ability to move the ball quickly. But I think if we'd just got all 11 behind the ball they'd still have found ways. Okay, maybe it wouldn't have been 5 but they were going to skelp us 99/100 times. They were at it. We did try to keep players forward which led to the space on the wings, the 4th goal in particular was murder for this as it open for so long.
I don't want to sound like a Johnson fanboy because I'm far from it but I think the reaction is way OTT especially with Lennon or Collins (who was thinking we should've done more passing from the back against a pressing Villa team) as a suggestion to replace. McInnes, even more so after what you've pointed out, should be a good bet to improve us, but everyone else is a gamble that I don't see the need for at the moment. Maybe in a few weeks.
You may well be right about them ripping us to bits if we were more open and their teamwork etc but my view is I don't know how good they were because at no time did they face any pressure. Your view is that was because they were so good we couldn't lay a glove on them and my view is we never tried to knock them off their game, get in their faces and get some contact. I saw no evidence that we tried to lay a glove on them until the tie was over. We may both be partially right but I hope we can agree that the performance last night, as it has been a good few times already this year, was dismal, lacked energy, movement off the ball when we had it and tracking runners when we didn't. Villa punished us more than SPFL teams might but we will get beaten most weeks in the league if that is our level of performance.
Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 01:56 AM
I'd rather Lee Johnson commuting to East Mains from the Emerald Isle in charge rather than the other Johnson you had that's done so well 😜
Crunchie
25-08-2023, 05:53 AM
You're at it right here, any real Hibs fan would never use words like this.
I'd say he was being sarcastic.
25-08-2023, 06:11 AM
I'd say he was being sarcastic.
100%
25-08-2023, 06:13 AM
What happened to the mantra pre Wednesday, we are not going to judge him against Villa. That lasted long :greengrin
Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2023, 06:19 AM
What happened to the mantra pre Wednesday, we are not going to judge him against Villa. That lasted long :greengrin
I can’t speak for anyone else but I had said I wouldn’t judge him on Wednesday short of it being a Malmo-esque massacre.
Unfortunately, it was a Malmo-esque massacre.
25-08-2023, 06:22 AM
I can’t speak for anyone else but I had said I wouldn’t judge him on Wednesday short of it being a Malmo-esque massacre.
Ok unfortunately just showed the chasm reflecting the huge gulf in resources and spend each team has. Every chance it was going to be that sort of result and personally would have been much more defensive than we were.
25-08-2023, 06:23 AM
Nobody is judging him on the Villa game. He got us to that game so quite rightly was given the chance.
It’s been a season and a bit and he’s not got a clue.
Lose tomorrow and it’s curtains.
25-08-2023, 06:35 AM
In what other line of business would you keep a guy clearly bad at his job simply because you sacked guys in the past who were bad at their job. You might give them a bit of time but a year down the road with no improvement or impact, you'd be sacked for not sacking them. Big business takes big decisions but for me this isn't even a big decision. Should have been punted end of last season yet we go and give him another transfer window and for what, hoof ball crap in the hope that Youan or Boyle get on the end of it.
Trinity Hibee
25-08-2023, 06:47 AM
Macinnes in
25-08-2023, 06:53 AM
2 games?????? People are aware he has been here for over a year, yeah?.
25-08-2023, 06:56 AM
Macinnes in
Do you think McInnes would be interested in the job? Hibs would be high risk to him compared to his comfy job at Killie where the expectations are far lower.
Add in the fact that he's not known for playing attractive football and that he is an ex-hun, and you can't see the fan base giving him much slack if results didn't improve.
Having said that, I think he is probably as good a Manager we could hope to come in.
Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2023, 06:56 AM
2 games?????? People are aware he has been here for over a year, yeah?.
They are, but pretending you’re oblivious to that fact is something that they think gives their point more weight.
Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2023, 06:57 AM
Do you think McInnes would be interested in the job? Hibs would be high risk to him compared to his comfy job at Killie where the expectations are far lower.
Add in the fact that he's not known for playing attractive football and that he is an ex-hun, and you can't see the fan base giving him much slack if results didn't improve.
Having said that, I think he is probably as good a Manager we could hope to come in.
McInnes’ Aberdeen side scored a barrel load of goals with loads of good attacking players.
Trinity Hibee
25-08-2023, 06:58 AM
Think macinnes would jump at the Hibs job. Much bigger club with bigger resources. If you get it right you could be in Europe and win a cup.
Like you, I think he is the best we could get right now and he’s who I wanted in a year ago when Johnson was appointed
25-08-2023, 07:03 AM
It really wasn't, it was annoying to lose the goals but villa are a million miles above us, was nothing like the malmo game
Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2023, 07:05 AM
It really wasn't, it was annoying to lose the goals but villa are a million miles above us, was nothing like the malmo game
In terms of us getting nowhere near them, gifting goals and the fact it could have conceivably been more, it was.
25-08-2023, 07:07 AM
I don't think McInnes would take the job. Let's say he got it last time and he'd been in the job for the exact amount of time Johnson has, had the exact same results and performances, had the exact same budget and money to spend and talked some amount of Will Fish. He would have been out the door by now. The minute it goes wrong he will be hit with all the hun stuff and he knows it. No chance he gives up the Killie job for us.
Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2023, 07:08 AM
I don't think McInnes would take the job. Let's say he got it last time and he'd been in the job for the exact amount of time Johnson has, had the exact same results and performances, had the exact same budget and money to spend and talked some amount of Will Fish. He would have been out the door by now. The minute it goes wrong he will be hit with all the hun stuff and he knows it. No chance he gives up the Killie job for us.
He wouldn’t have had all that though. Of course if he came in and was a carbon copy of LJ he’d get criticism for all the same reasons LJ is getting it.
McInnes would almost certainly have done a better job though.
Trinity Hibee
25-08-2023, 07:09 AM
There is no where to go with Killie other than surviving, maybe making top 6.
He’d jump at chance to come here.
25-08-2023, 07:13 AM
I'm not so sure. Just need to look back to him knocking back rangers when he was at Aberdeen. Would have become a hun legend and been rolling in it if he got it right.
25-08-2023, 07:14 AM
Not convinced he would. Even less convinced we’d go for him. Wasn’t what we wanted the last two times, though he’s who I’d have gone for. Couldn’t care less about any Hun leanings, he turned them down after all, and the little I’ve seen of Killie I don’t think the football is terrible.
25-08-2023, 07:38 AM
Nobody is judging him on the Villa game. He got us to that game so quite rightly was given the chance.
It’s been a season and a bit and he’s not got a clue.
Lose tomorrow and it’s curtains.
Not quite nobody - a post above is someone literally saying they're judging him on it.
25-08-2023, 07:40 AM
I'd agree with this.
The Malmo game was like losing 7-0 at home to Aberdeen.
Whereas with Villa, it's not beyond the realms that Rangers fall into Europa League next week, finish 3rd to drop into Conference league...and if they drew Villa later this season I could see Villa sticking 5 past them at Ibrox too. I really could.
25-08-2023, 07:59 AM
In terms of us getting nowhere near them, gifting goals and the fact it could have conceivably been more, it was.
We didn't gift them goals. They are just miles better, faster, stronger. You could have picked 11 fans from the stand to play Hibs and you'd get the same. Its the same gulf in class. The English Prem is miles miles better than where Hibs are at. We'd be a mid table League 1 side in a good season. People do need to be realistic.
I don't care about the result against villa. I want Johnson out as I find his football schizophrenic. He treats his players like children. He's slow to take any criticism. And after over a year in charge we still have no identity or style of football. (Despite that being his mantra when he joined). Oh and anyone who spends 7hrs on a Powerpoint isn't for trusting. :greengrin
25-08-2023, 08:11 AM
I don't think mcinnes would come. Even if he would consider it I don't think he's someone who would work woth a director of football. But that could be me being unfair
Johnson has split the support more than most managers recently. Lennon lost the fans near the end with weird team selections and his rants, Ross didn't split the fans but his horrendous losing streak was enough to see him go and Maloney wanted tiki taka football but didn't have the players and couldn't adapt to what we had. LJ has been very well backed in 3 windows and the standard of football is as bad as anything served recently, where's the press? where's the creativity? The team lurches from good to bad at the drop of a hat, we never know what one will turn up.
He's here!
25-08-2023, 08:19 AM
In his two seasons with Killie Steve Clarke took them from bottom spot to fifth, then finished third and qualified for Europe. They also won the League Cup not so many years ago beating Celtic in the final IIRC. Having also just knocked Celtic out the League Cup you can see there's plenty of potential there. I wouldn't be all that surprised if they finish above us.
Trinity Hibee
25-08-2023, 08:20 AM
In his two seasons with Killie Steve Clarke took them from bottom spot to fifth, then finished third and qualified for Europe. They also won the League Cup not so many years ago beating Celtic in the final IIRC. Having also just knocked Celtic out the League Cup you can see there's plenty of potential there. I wouldn't be all that surprised if they finish above us.
Hearts and Aberdeen stronger now than they were at time Killie finished 3rd.
Don’t disagree Killie could finish above but that’s more down to us underachieving
25-08-2023, 08:27 AM
The clip of him trying to start on Emery and getting ignored is embarrassing. One guy coaching his team, our guy worried about the technical area.
Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2023, 08:29 AM
The clip of him trying to start on Emery and getting ignored is embarrassing. One guy coaching his team, our guy worried about the technical area.
Got a link? If for nothing more than a laugh really :greengrin
25-08-2023, 08:29 AM
I don't think he would take the Hibs job either, looks like he's enjoying his time there, why come to us when even before the first ball is kicked he will receive flak from some quarters.
25-08-2023, 08:48 AM
Got a link? If for nothing more than a laugh really :greengrin
https://twitter.com/TyBracey/status/1694746823737372875?t=S4kLb2TUwlChz4-FUAxI5w&s=19
Trinity Hibee
25-08-2023, 08:50 AM
https://twitter.com/TyBracey/status/1694746823737372875?t=S4kLb2TUwlChz4-FUAxI5w&s=19
To be fair I noticed that at the game. Emery was basically blocking millers path to take the long throw. Was outside the technical area line
25-08-2023, 08:57 AM
To be fair I noticed that at the game. Emery was basically blocking millers path to take the long throw. Was outside the technical area line
Stop trying to get in the way of a run-of-the-mill sideline video, where absolutely nothing happens, being used to bash our manager.
Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 09:03 AM
I did too . I didn't think LJ was trying to start anything with Emery . He was only pointing out the fact to the fourth official that Emery was in the way . Nothing embarrassing about it . Another stick though.
25-08-2023, 09:05 AM
I did too . I didn't think LJ was trying to start anything with Emery . He was only pointing out the fact to the fourth official that Emery was in the way . Nothing embarrassing about it . Another stick though.
Tbh when I first saw the video I thought it was a bit embarrassing for LJ and was a bit cringe.
I didn’t realise that was the context behind it though so I was wrong.
25-08-2023, 09:18 AM
https://twitter.com/TyBracey/status/1694746823737372875?t=S4kLb2TUwlChz4-FUAxI5w&s=19Wow!
So so embarrassing right enough!
[emoji848]
He's here!
25-08-2023, 09:18 AM
Hearts and Aberdeen stronger now than they were at time Killie finished 3rd.
Don’t disagree Killie could finish above but that’s more down to us underachieving
Yes I agree we're the club with greater potential but at present I'm just not sure McInnes would jump at the chance to join us.
Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 09:20 AM
Tbh when I first saw the video I thought it was a bit embarrassing for LJ and was a bit cringe.
I didn’t realise that was the context behind it though so I was wrong.
At the time watching it I wasn't happy that Miller's path was being blocked . Didn't think LJ was trying to start anything with the villa manager though he did point it out to the fourth official which he was quite right to do . I can see how you missed it which is fair enough tbh . 👍
25-08-2023, 09:28 AM
Friendlies no problem
Anything else?
Off the top of my head
Sporting
Videoton
Leeds x2
Liverpool
Juventus
Barcelona
Napoli
Anderlecht
FC Besa
Strasbourg
Rosenburg
Do you really think all the ties where we got knocked out were better than qualifying against Luzern? We didn't even beat some of those teams.
FC Besa and Rosenburg were minnows in those days too, but you're obviously determined not to give any credit to Johnson, and by extension, the players.
In my opinion, knocking Luzern out is definitely one of the best results we've achieved and I was at most of the games on your list.
25-08-2023, 09:30 AM
Did you stay in the hotel at Lake Balaton where they left cold meat out for our arrival and the beer they were selling was out of date by a few months ? That was some trip. When one of the guys on our bus took the gun off the border guard and started waving it about as we all ducked under our seats ��
I can't remember the hotel, but I flew with the team's charter flight and I think the hotel was part of the package.
That's the first time I've heard about the gun. :shocked:
25-08-2023, 09:50 AM
Wow!
So so embarrassing right enough!
[emoji848]
Exactly, of all the things to slate the guy about this is possibly the worst attempt I've seen yet
25-08-2023, 09:59 AM
I can't remember the hotel, but I flew with the team's charter flight and I think the hotel was part of the package.
That's the first time I've heard about the gun. :shocked:
Big Crawf he was called. Took the gun out the guards holster and starting waving it about. The guard was laughing ‘til he realised Crawf was trying to fire it and had to wrestle it off him 😂
25-08-2023, 10:30 AM
Big Crawf he was called. Took the gun out the guards holster and starting waving it about. The guard was laughing ‘til he realised Crawf was trying to fire it and had to wrestle it off him 😂
Ffs! :hilarious
He's lucky that he didn't end up in jail, even if he didn't fire the gun. Imagine if he'd tried that in the USA! He'd probably have been shot!
25-08-2023, 11:23 AM
Do you really think all the ties where we got knocked out were better than qualifying against Luzern? We didn't even beat some of those teams.
FC Besa and Rosenburg were minnows in those days too, but you're obviously determined not to give any credit to Johnson, and by extension, the players.
In my opinion, knocking Luzern out is definitely one of the best results we've achieved and I was at most of the games on your list.
I think it's fair to only judge against 2 leg games we won, since we're talking "best results".
So Barca, Napoli, Sporting all better. We've also beaten Porto btw, didn't realise that.
They're the clear ones. Then we've also knocked out a few teams from better leagues than Switzerland over the years, even if those teams are defunct or non-household names now: Sochaux, Rot Weiss Essen, Lokomitiv Leipzig.
Then you're into greyer areas, but Asteras and Videoton were arguably from stronger leagues at the time than Luzern or at least as strong.
So it might be at the lower end of the top 10.
However, all that interesting discussion aside, what bothers me about the remarks is that I would bet a hefty amount that LJ has absolutely no idea who we've played in European competition in the past and was just spouting off to big himself up as usual. I freely admit this may be an unfair assumption on my part (but I bet it's not).
25-08-2023, 11:34 AM
imagine Johnson and McDermott going to Reading at some stage
25-08-2023, 11:35 AM
On holiday? 😁
25-08-2023, 11:39 AM
Is the book festival still on?
25-08-2023, 11:41 AM
I think it's fair to only judge against 2 leg games we won, since we're talking "best results".
So Barca, Napoli, Sporting all better. We've also beaten Porto btw, didn't realise that.
They're the clear ones. Then we've also knocked out a few teams from better leagues than Switzerland over the years, even if those teams are defunct or non-household names now: Sochaux, Rot Weiss Essen, Lokomitiv Leipzig.
Then you're into greyer areas, but Asteras and Videoton were arguably from stronger leagues at the time than Luzern or at least as strong.
So it might be at the lower end of the top 10.
However, all that interesting discussion aside, what bothers me about the remarks is that I would bet a hefty amount that LJ has absolutely no idea who we've played in European competition in the past and was just spouting off to big himself up as usual. I freely admit this may be an unfair assumption on my part (but I bet it's not).
It's just opinions, isn't it.
I don't know how far up the rankings the Luzern tie goes, although it undoubtedly was a fine victory, but I'm prepared to allow the manager to get excited and talk up what we've achieved.
But, if people don't like him, then he's judged on different standards than someone they look up to.
25-08-2023, 11:43 AM
Is the book festival still on?
lol still suffering from last night beer
25-08-2023, 12:14 PM
Clearly I do or I wouldn’t have posted!
Besa was a lot more hostile environment of a different age where the disparities between say EPL trams and the rest wasn’t as marked
Lucerne was a fine result but no better than Asteras
Lucerne though aren’t all that and neither is Swiss football
Listening to some folk you would have thought we had beaten an all star select
The debate is just too polarised m, I am done with Johnson and think he is as a disaster so objectively find it hard to get orgasmic about his meeting what I consider minimum standards overall
But your side of the debate seem determined to over praise his very modest achievements and show neither self awareness or restraint in trumpeting them
As usual there’s a fair bit hyperbole on both sides but the thing I can’t for me understand is why your side of the debate can’t understand that people have legitimate and deeply held concerns over him and all we hear is Agenda blah blah blah
It is for the most part utter pish and hugely disrespectful to the posters involved.
25-08-2023, 12:20 PM
McDermot has been there before. Would be interesting to see how Johnson would cope in another test on his journey, in what is a big journey.
25-08-2023, 12:28 PM
Clearly I do or I wouldn’t have posted!
Besa was a lot more hostile environment of a different age where the disparities between say EPL trams and the rest wasn’t as marked
Lucerne was a fine result but no better than Asteras
Lucerne though aren’t all that and neither is Swiss football
Listening to some folk you would have thought we had beaten an all star select
The debate is just too polarised m, I am done with Johnson and think he is as a disaster so objectively find it hard to get orgasmic about his meeting what I consider minimum standards overall
But your side of the debate seem determined to over praise his very modest achievements and show neither self awareness or restraint in trumpeting them
As usual there’s a fair bit hyperbole on both sides but the thing I can’t for me understand is why your side of the debate can’t understand that people have legitimate and deeply held concerns over him and all we hear is Agenda blah blah blah
It is for the most part utter pish and hugely disrespectful to the posters involved.
I'm not on any side and of course I understand why people have concerns. I just think there's enough to be concerned about without piling on every time he says something or exaggerating his perceived faults. I defend him when I think he's getting criticised unfairly and that's the extent of it.
I'm at the stage now that I think it's inevitable that he'll be sacked, and I won't shed any tears when he is, but it's nothing to do with his thoughts about whether knocking Luzern out was better than losing 3-2 against Liverpool or drawing with and losing to Leeds etc.
Although no-one will admit it publicly, I'm certain that there are people will be disappointed if we win against Livingston and then Aberdeen because they're so desperate for him to be sacked.
And that disapponts me.
25-08-2023, 12:34 PM
I’d like us to win these 2 games and still replace LJ.
It’s abundantly clear that he’ll get sacked, as you say, so why wait?
The Baldmans Comb
25-08-2023, 12:35 PM
The bams have really taken over the asylum if they think beating a team like Lucerene from the Swiss league and a team who have only ever been in Europe 4 times and have never been past the qualifying stages is some sort of breathtaking achievement.
It should be recognised as a good one off result but it won't stop the clock as he is finished. Tick Tock Tick Tock.
25-08-2023, 12:40 PM
I'm not on any side and of course I understand why people have concerns. I just think there's enough to be concerned about without piling on every time he says something or exaggerating his perceived faults. I defend him when I think he's getting criticised unfairly and that's the extent of it.
I'm at the stage now that I think it's inevitable that he'll be sacked, and I won't shed any tears when he is, but it's nothing to do with his thoughts about whether knocking Luzern out was better than losing 3-2 against Liverpool or drawing with and losing to Leeds etc.
Although no-one will admit it publicly, I'm certain that there are people will be disappointed if we win against Livingston and then Aberdeen because they're so desperate for him to be sacked.
And that disapponts me.
Stop being so disrespectful and just let the open-season continue, Brian.