View Full Version : Johnson Out
Pages :
[
13]
Interesting idea - so which group are the slavering fools and which one is talking sense? Do the groups remain the same but switch titles as the team's form changes, so both sides are both sensible and slavering at some point? Are we creating Schroedingers message board 😵. In the mean time, both sides would believe that they were the sensible ones.
I love it - we should do this right now :greengrin
The sides will be called "Dead Cat" and "Alive Cat" and everyone will naturally gravitate to one or other side and believe they're on the sensible side.
Anyway, it's been nice chatting but unfortunately it'll be the last time as from here on we'll be on opposite sides. 😀
ChilliEater
10-08-2023, 12:12 AM
The sides will be called "Dead Cat" and "Alive Cat" and everyone will naturally gravitate to one or other side and believe they're on the sensible side.
Anyway, it's been nice chatting but unfortunately it'll be the last time as from here on we'll be on opposite sides. 😀
You're welcome on our side just as soon as you stop slavering 😁
Donegal Hibby
10-08-2023, 12:25 AM
You're welcome on our side just as soon as you stop slavering 😁
Only side that matters or will ever matter is HIBERNIAN FOOTBALL CLUB . Big game today .
WE ARE ALL HIBS .
GGTTH .
:flag::hibees
10-08-2023, 06:22 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/lee-johnson-reveals-damning-hibs-30666945
I’ve changed my mind. I love him. Give him a 4 year contract. 😂😂.
10-08-2023, 06:22 AM
No way?
That has echoes of the time an old friend of mine, Sergey, remember him?, posted a photo of a large piece of meat and said that he'd just taken "this little beauty" out of his smoker.
Someone checked and found that it was, in fact, a stock photo from a butchers or something like that.
Highly embarrassing, but in Sergey's defence, he was just telling a porkie to impress people. He wasn't falsifying quotes because he didn't want to concede a point or lose an extremely minor argument on a social media site.
As long as it entertains Radge. 😂
10-08-2023, 06:25 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/lee-johnson-reveals-damning-hibs-30666945
We are truly in the presence of greatness with LJ
A visionary decades ahead of his time.
Will go down in the anal’s of history that man.
10-08-2023, 06:36 AM
I’ve changed my mind. I love him. Give him a 4 year contract. .
Some of the stuff he comes out with does my my head in but I love this.
10-08-2023, 06:46 AM
Have you forgotten about butcher and how many Hibs fans wanted him?!
I don't think anyone who was there at the time will forget about Butcher. Or Calderwood. Or Duffy. I already said there were exceptions.
But back to the question I put to 007, what do we as a club do if LJ decides to leave?
I'm guessing we'll have some sort of strategy for replacing him and it won't be the end of us. All I'm saying is, let's do it now and not waste a quarter of the season waiting to see if he can turn things around.
I really don't see what's so bad with the view I'm taking here?
10-08-2023, 06:49 AM
I don't think anyone who was there at the time will forget about Butcher. Or Calderwood. Or Duffy. I already said there were exceptions.
But back to the question I put to 007, what do we as a club do if LJ decides to leave?
I'm guessing we'll have some sort of strategy for replacing him and it won't be the end of us. All I'm saying is, let's do it now and not waste a quarter of the season waiting to see if he can turn things around.
Your view is perfectly valid and not without merit.
I think we all just need to realise there are a range of differing views on the manager and get on with supporting the team regardless.
Ffs talking about being chased by lions now, the slavering is getting worse. Why not just say the players just didn't do enough, forget all the analogies and coach them into better players.
babahibs
10-08-2023, 06:52 AM
We can't just constantly change the manager though, it takes time to build a good team, if we never give the manager time then we'll never get to where we want to be.
I personally think we're moving in the right direction with LJ, granted he makes mistakes sometimes but every person on the planet does, he's human.
10-08-2023, 06:53 AM
He’s never going to win those over who have made their mind up on him.
He could walk away from Hibs with a Scottish cup and a third place finish but all he’ll be remembered for is being a “slavering arse” or whatever it is.
10-08-2023, 06:55 AM
He could walk away from Hibs with a Scottish cup and a third place finish but all he’ll be remembered for is being a “slavering arse” or whatever it is.
He's changed my mind. He's here for a long time so I'm just going to enjoy it all and look back in fondness.
10-08-2023, 07:00 AM
He's changed my mind. He's here for a long time so I'm just going to enjoy it all and look back in fondness.
Think a lot of the punters who accuse him of being a slavering erse could do with taking a wee look at their posting history on here.
Pots and kettles spring to mind.
10-08-2023, 07:02 AM
Think a lot of the punters who accuse him of being a slavering erse could do with taking a wee look at their posting history on here.
Tend to agree almost snakelike shedding a skin :greengrin
Bridge hibs
10-08-2023, 07:05 AM
Tend to agree almost snakelike shedding a skin :greengrin
Grown men (I think) getting all worked up on a fans forum and calling LJ names is actually quite funny to read, the reactions not the name calling 🤣
10-08-2023, 07:05 AM
Indeed.
10-08-2023, 07:12 AM
No idea what you are talking about flash :greengrin
10-08-2023, 07:12 AM
So if it goes tits up we can say Adam owens got the coaching wrong on this one and he put his hands up to it.
It’s becoming rather tedious now
Will fish didn’t run back quick enough
Can he not admit playing a 70% fully fit Boyle in a wing back position wasnt the best move for him or the club.
Absolute fool
LJ out I can’t stick him, stick to selling Citroen saxos
10-08-2023, 07:22 AM
Grown men (I think) getting all worked up on a fans forum and calling LJ names is actually quite funny to read, the reactions not the name calling 🤣
It's hilarious, reduces the forum to a complete farce whilst giving us all a great laugh.
10-08-2023, 08:11 AM
Ffs talking about being chased by lions now, the slavering is getting worse. Why not just say the players just didn't do enough, forget all the analogies and coach them into better players.
Someone's come out with stuff like this before. Might have been Clough, might have been Pep, might have been John Lambie. Other managers will have said similar but not in front of the press. It's light hearted and a good analogy.
10-08-2023, 08:55 AM
Lions and horses and Fish, oh my.
10-08-2023, 08:59 AM
He lost me pretty early last season. If he won the Scottish Cup or finished 3rd I'd be close to being his number 1 fan.
10-08-2023, 09:02 AM
We are truly in the presence of greatness with LJ
A visionary decades ahead of his time.
Will go down in the anal’s of history that man.
What did he say that annoys you so much?
10-08-2023, 09:03 AM
Why? What's wrong with analogies?
He makes his points very well in that interview.
10-08-2023, 09:09 AM
Being intelligent goes against him IMO.
So if it goes tits up we can say Adam owens got the coaching wrong on this one and he put his hands up to it.
Can he not admit playing a 70% fully fit Boyle in a wing back position wasnt the best move for him or the club.
Absolute fool
When did he say he sold Citroen Saxos?
10-08-2023, 09:22 AM
Absolute fool
:applause:
That's really good work there.
We've got someone on our coaching staff who might have more inside knowledge about our opponents than LJ so we're using him to try to get an advantage and you've managed to use it to kick the manager.
That's awesome. Not only have you turned a positive into a negative, by saying "if it goes tits up" you're kicking him for something he hasn't even done. Brilliant stuff.
You're right about one thing though. It's very tedious.
10-08-2023, 09:23 AM
I don't think I could ever really dislike Johnson tbh. Some of the stuff he comes out with is amazing.
10-08-2023, 09:30 AM
I don't think I could ever really dislike Johnson tbh. Some of the stuff he comes out with is amazing.
I’m not a fan of him but tbf that’s a perfect analogy.
10-08-2023, 09:39 AM
:applause:
That's really good work there.
We've got someone on our coaching staff who might have more inside knowledge about our opponents than LJ so we're using him to try to get an advantage and you've managed to use it to kick the manager.
That's awesome. Not only have you turned a positive into a negative, by saying "if it goes tits up" you're kicking him for something he hasn't even done. Brilliant stuff.
You're right about one thing though. It's very tedious.
Not sure I’d be letting a guy who was last working in Swiss football 6 years ago do the full setup for tonight’s game, by all means draw on his experience though, would be foolish not to. It is something Johnson does though, he’s previously had SDG set us up for other games. It’s a good thing that he has trust in his coaching team so I’m not going to give him a hard time over that. And if someone can get a lion in with them tonight we can be confident of Will Fish’s tracking back 😜
10-08-2023, 09:42 AM
What did he say that annoys you so much?
He doesn't annoy me so much, I am more disappointed that folk cant see through him and his blame deflection tactics.
Anything good = LJ anything bad = the players.
What about if he had said
" Yes losing that goal was a sore one.
But we felt we had all the momentum and the players were chasing the game on my instructions and we got caught having committed too may players upfield chasing the winner
At this stage of the season the boys didn't have the legs to get back (optional)"
If I had read that I would have thought, great we have a manager prepared to chase games and players willing to do so.
Instead if I believe the narrative on here about how social media effects people and perceptions I am now thinking
" that Fish is a lazy ******* who couldn't be bothered putting in sufficient effort to get back and cover" That's his card now marked forever.
Words matter you need to be careful how you use them as they often have unintended consequences
It is his CYA behaviour that really turned me off him, it is never his fault. The first leadership lesson I ever learned is if it happens on your watch it is your responsibility, own it ,learn from it, never throw your people under the bus, because if you do when you need them they wont be there and will throw you under the bus.
In the interests of balance, I quite enjoyed his pre match interview, thought he spoke pretty well and sensibly other than the usual buzz words which are obviously just his way and I need to see past although I find them grating.
No-one wants Johnson to fail, sacking managers is a huge risk with brutal consequences even done correctly and re-appointing well, but he needs to show he is learning and I just don't see it.
10-08-2023, 09:43 AM
If we aren't running out to Roar by Katy Perry or Eye of the Tiger by Survivor tonight, Barrie should be for the chop. :greengrin
10-08-2023, 09:48 AM
He doesn't annoy me so much, I am more disappointed that folk cant see through him and his blame deflection tactics.
Anything good = LJ anything bad = the players.
What about if he had said
" Yes losing that goal was a sore one.
But we felt we had all the momentum and the players were chasing the game on my instructions and we got caught having committed too may players upfield chasing the winner
At this stage of the season the boys didn't have the legs to get back (optional)"
If I had read that I would have thought, great we have a manager prepared to chase games and players willing to do so.
Instead if I believe the narrative on here about how social media effects people and perceptions I am now thinking
" that Fish is a lazy ******* who couldn't be bothered putting in sufficient effort to get back and cover" That's his card now marked forever.
Words matter you need to be careful how you use them as they often have unintended consequences
It is his CYA behaviour that really turned me off him, it is never his fault. The first leadership lesson I ever learned is if it happens on your watch it is your responsibility, own it ,learn from it, never throw your people under the bus, because if you do when you need them they wont be there and will throw you under the bus.
In the interests of balance, I quite enjoyed his pre match interview, thought he spoke pretty well and sensibly other than the usual buzz words which are obviously just his way and I need to see past although I find them grating.
No-one wants Johnson to fail, sacking managers is a huge risk with brutal consequences even done correctly and re-appointing well, but he needs to show he is learning and I just don't see it.
People keep saying he never takes the blame. He admitted making mistakes on Sunday.
It seems to me that if he said "The grass is green, water is wet, fire is burny and 2 + 2 = 4", people would object. What's he telling us that for? We all know that, it's obvious. I can't stand him etc etc.
There is absolutely nothing wrong in what he said in that interview.
Wh not just say a few players are miles off it and it's our jobs as coaches to make sure we're better prepared. We all need to work harder, sounds like he's blaming Fish
GreenGray
10-08-2023, 09:55 AM
Just not true. My issue with Johnson is I don’t think he’s good enough. If he wins a cup or turns it around I’ll be more than happy.
Keepthefaith
10-08-2023, 10:00 AM
Absolute fool
Only thing I'd agree with is playing Boyle wingback. IMO he shouldnt have started Boyle and instead brought him on for last 20/30.
The rest of his quotes...he's just saying what every manager says but in a more descriptive way? If he'd said " I want to see my players busting a gut/ we should have got back quicker/ should have defended it better would that have made it more palatable?
IMO he's challenging fish to consider why he didn't bust a gut to get back in the closing moments of a game. Let's be honest us fans are always pointing this out, whether it's the teams(midfield especially) getting forward quickly enough or tracking back well enough and showing heart.
By all means criticise him re selection and tactics but I'm not sure his quotes are as bizarre as folk make out. Feels more like an opportunity to have a dig at him personally.
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 10:05 AM
Just not true. My issue with Johnson is I don’t think he’s good enough. If he wins a cup or turns it around I’ll be more than happy.
The idea he could become one of our best managers of all time and folk wouldn’t change their mind on him is nonsense.
Hibees1973
10-08-2023, 10:09 AM
It was mentioned earlier in the thread he's like a parody of someone who works in Financial Services who uses buzzwords, analogies, phrases or other any kind soundbite.
He can't help himself. But this is what he is and does. Clearly it bothers some people on hibs.net, some others are not too fussed.
It's all down to results. After a shocking result in Andorra and a really poor result on Sunday it only adds to the irritation people have for him already when he spouts his usual stuff.
I just cannot take to him, that's just me. I reckon he is all talk and very little substance.
However, if he drops players who should not be playing for Hibs, gets us organised and difficult to beat and is able to adapt the team when we are struggling then I would overlook what he says. I just would continue to avoid his interviews as much as possible.
10-08-2023, 10:13 AM
Wh not just say a few players are miles off it and it's our jobs as coaches to make sure we're better prepared. We all need to work harder, sounds like he's blaming Fish
It's not up to us to put words in his mouth. If he just came out with the usual bland, noncommittal clichés he'd be getting criticised for that.
I still don't know what's wrong with that analogy. I thought it made the point, to Will, very well.
10-08-2023, 10:13 AM
Only thing I'd agree with is playing Boyle wingback. IMO he shouldnt have started Boyle and instead brought him on for last 20/30.
The rest of his quotes...he's just saying what every manager says but in a more descriptive way? If he'd said " I want to see my players busting a gut/ we should have got back quicker/ should have defended it better would that have made it more palatable?
IMO he's challenging fish to consider why he didn't bust a gut to get back in the closing moments of a game. Let's be honest us fans are always pointing this out, whether it's the teams(midfield especially) getting forward quickly enough or tracking back well enough and showing heart.
By all means criticise him re selection and tactics but I'm not sure his quotes are as bizarre as folk make out. Feels more like an opportunity to have a dig at him personally.
I suppose you’d need to know the players and if they respond to being criticised in public or not. He could and probably should have made the comments to Fish, just not convinced it helps doing so in public. If you like him you’ll think it’s good, if you don’t you’ll see him again deflecting or trying to put the blame on the players. We’ve played 3 competitive games so far, in that time he’s already come out and had a go at Fish, Miller and Youan. Good management or deflection ? Take your pick.
10-08-2023, 10:14 AM
People keep saying he never takes the blame. He admitted making mistakes on Sunday.
It seems to me that if he said "The grass is green, water is wet, fire is burny and 2 + 2 = 4", people would object. What's he telling us that for? We all know that, it's obvious. I can't stand him etc etc.
There is absolutely nothing wrong in what he said in that interview.
In your opinion
Your anology is nonsense those are indisputable facts you have quoted
There is though an element of truth in the point you were belabouring
Once folks minds are made up it’s hard for them to change, I alluded to that fact in my response that I don’t enjoy his vernacular and need to see past that and view his comments fairly
My opinion is different, to use one of his words I felt his comments were cowardly and unnecessary and left Fish’s character or commitment out there.
You don’t enjoy LJ being castigated I find it reprehensible he does that to the players
Some folk will think your opinion is correct, others mine.
Will there ever be a meeting of minds? Unlikely?
Time to move on before this becomes another boring tit for tat
Sorry to hear you haven’t been well Dave
Hope you are feeling better
10-08-2023, 10:20 AM
That’s what I think.
What matters is what Fish thinks - and he’s chosen to come back from Manchester United to spend more time on loan with us. Even as a very young player I’d expect him to tell a slavering erse from someone who knows their stuff. And I don’t think you reach the level of being signed by them if you’ve been guided by morons throughout your life.
If I had a criticism of Johnson here, I think it’s that he’s almost being too open with the press and us, as if he feels like he needs to justify himself.
Making an analogy to back up a point to a young player about not giving more when he had more to give is absolutely fair game.
I’d play for the guy. Not sure how I’d feel if he was spitting and swearing in my face with rage about how ***** I am, an approach I’m sure many here would endorse.
Fish isn't going to worry about a lion, he should have said a seal. 😀
10-08-2023, 10:23 AM
Fish isn't going to worry about a lion, he should have said a seal. 😀
Cats like fish!
10-08-2023, 10:32 AM
That’s what I think.
What matters is what Fish thinks - and he’s chosen to come back from Manchester United to spend more time on loan with us. Even as a very young player I’d expect him to tell a slavering erse from someone who knows their stuff. And I don’t think you reach the level of being signed by them if you’ve been guided by morons throughout your life.
If I had a criticism of Johnson here, I think it’s that he’s almost being too open with the press and us, as if he feels like he needs to justify himself.
Making an analogy to back up a point to a young player about not giving more when he had more to give is absolutely fair game.
I’d play for the guy. Not sure how I’d feel if he was spitting and swearing in my face with rage about how ***** I am, an approach I’m sure many here would endorse.
Why make the comments public ? What does that achieve that keeping them within the squad doesn’t ? If you want to follow HR’s train of thought that negative comments affect people’s perceptions then what’s to say for some fans now their view of Will Fish will be he’s a lazy bassa and a bit of a coward ?
10-08-2023, 10:32 AM
I've joined in with the LJ out crowd, i do think he's a slaver at times, but i'm just as bad.
What i dont like about his management is his results, or some of his team selections.
If he turned those things around, and we won a lot of games and had us set up properly in my opinion, i'd not give a toss what he says, to be honest all managers talk pish even Jack Ross said a couple of things i disagreed with.
10-08-2023, 10:34 AM
Why make the comments public ? What does that achieve that keeping them within the squad doesn’t ? If you want to follow HR’s train of thought that negative comments affect people’s perceptions then what’s to say for some fans now their view of Will Fish will be he’s a lazy bassa and a bit of a coward ?
I don't think running away from a lion makes you a coward.
10-08-2023, 10:36 AM
I don't think running away from a lion makes you a coward.
10-08-2023, 10:43 AM
The idea he could become one of our best managers of all time and folk wouldn’t change their mind on him is nonsense.
:top marksAgain you'll notice it's always digs against us who don't rate LJ.
None os us are suggesting there's a bunch of happy clappers on here who would still support LJ if we got relegated twice in a row and ended up going part time cause we're skint.
Seems to be that if you like LJ you're fine and knowledgeable. Those of us who don't are keyboard warriors and haters who ken nowt about fitba'!!
10-08-2023, 10:56 AM
None os us are suggesting there's a bunch of happy clappers on here who would still support LJ if we got relegated twice in a row and ended up going part time cause we're skint.
Seems to be that if you like LJ you're fine and knowledgeable. Those of us who don't are keyboard warriors and haters who ken nowt about fitba'!!
If he does well and, for example wins us a cup, then I will come on here praise him and admit I was wrong about him. I will never like him though and I’ll admit to that. That feeling though wasn’t immediate, it has developed over the year he’s been our manager due to the things he does, the things he says and the performances on the pitch. Which I’d wager is the same for the majority who don’t rate him.
10-08-2023, 11:00 AM
When we are good under Johnson we are a joy to watch. When we are bad under Johnson we are really bad. There is no inbetween. Can't ever remember coming away from Easter Road under him thinking we were alright.
10-08-2023, 11:01 AM
I've heard LJ is a great guy, the players by and large really like him. He might present sometimes as a bit quirky, but he knows the game and they respect the knowledge of a manager who has huge experience as a player and coach.
Most of the longer established players are aware of the damage poor decision-making has inflicted on the club these past couple of years and are desperate for LJ to push the club forward.
That's from a close family member who is friends with someone who is friendly (close to) a current player at the club.
10-08-2023, 11:02 AM
That's certainly not my position.
As far as "rating" LJ is concerned, I'm not sure how good or bad he is. We did better last season than the year before and we finished strongly so I'm hoping that improvement continues, but we'll see.
What I object to is people looking for things to criticise him for every time he does or says anything. There's no objectivity at all, and while people will say they don't want him to fail, it looks very much like they do.
The name calling and childish insults about someone in our club are bad enough, but when folk are inventing scenarios that might possibly happen in order to stoke their rage, then it really does seem like he's the enemy instead of someone trying their best for us.
10-08-2023, 11:07 AM
No, you're just making things up.
10-08-2023, 11:10 AM
Tbf to Lee, he’s put the comments in context in that DR interview and explained his opinion on Will Fish.
He’s dug out players in public before and got a reaction. From the outside looking in, can only hope it happens again this time. No hiding place for any player, that’s what the fans want no?
10-08-2023, 11:12 AM
Tbf to Lee, he’s put the comments in context in that DR interview and explained his opinion on Will Fish.
He’s dug out players in public before and got a reaction. From the outside looking in, can only hope it happens again this time. No hiding place for any player, that’s what the fans want no?
The same people who are having a go at LJ for digging out players in public are calling for that fruitcake Lennon to come back. Mad. Johnson just won't be accepted by some no matter what he does.
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 11:15 AM
The same people who are having a go at LJ for digging out players in public are calling for that fruitcake Lennon to come back. Mad. Johnson just won't be accepted by some no matter what he does.
Again, your last point is absolute nonsense.
If we finish third, play attractive football and win the Scottish Cup for example, you think he won’t be accepted?
He’s not being accepted because he’s hardly improved us from Shaun Maloney.
10-08-2023, 11:18 AM
If we finish third, play attractive football and win the Scottish Cup for example, you think he won’t be accepted?
We've won the Scottish Cup once in 121 years.
That's all he needs to do to be accepted.
Simples. :greengrin
10-08-2023, 11:19 AM
Not true. If the manager gets his players to delivers on the pitch then he can spout as much ***** as he wants off it.
10-08-2023, 11:20 AM
You think he's hardly improved us from Maloney?
Paulie Walnuts
We've won the Scottish Cup once in 121 years.
That's all he needs to do to be accepted.
Simples. :greengrin
I never said he had to do that, it’s just an example of a situation that would see him accepted.
The idea ‘he’ll never be accepted’ is absolute rubbish. If he performs he’ll be accepted. There’s not some sinister plot to ensure he gets emptied regardless of performance.
Paulie Walnuts
You think he's hardly improved us from Maloney?
Look at his record. He hasn’t. The improvement has been by the slimmest of margins despite him having massive backing in comparison and being given a hell of a lot longer.
10-08-2023, 11:21 AM
To an extent yes players shouldn’t have any hiding place and we criticise them on here all the time, but ultimately he’s questioned Will Fish’s desire, while at the same time saying he doesn’t know why he failed to track back. Then you add in the criticism of Miller and Youan for not following instructions, which comes across as “well I told them what to do, it’s not my fault they didn’t.” I fail to see how making that public helps the players.
10-08-2023, 11:22 AM
Look at his record. He hasn’t. The improvement has been by the slimmest of margins despite him having massive backing in comparison and being given a hell of a lot longer.
I don't need to look at his record to know he's improved us since Maloney. I can tell with my eyes.
babahibs
10-08-2023, 11:23 AM
Why do you keep making things up?
Weird.
10-08-2023, 11:23 AM
Think clearly we have a better squad now. Up to him to get the best out of them
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 11:25 AM
I don't need to look at his record to know he's improved us since Maloney. I can tell with my eyes.
I can tell with mine we haven’t improved much at all.
We have no obvious style of play, we pick up crap results, got thumped by Hearts with two of our worst results against them in over a decade, deservedly knocked out the league cup by a bunch of lower league teams and his team selections/substitutions are all over the shop.
That’s despite the fact he’s been given a squad Maloney could only have dreamt of.
It’s not a surprise though that you don’t want to look at his record as it’s pretty damming.
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 11:26 AM
Think clearly we have a better squad now. Up to him to get the best out of them
We absolutely have a better squad now. Maloney and Jack Ross could only dream of having some of the players he’s had made available to him.
10-08-2023, 11:31 AM
It’s not by a lot. Maloney was the wrong appointment no arguments, but look at the advantages Johnson has had over him:
He’d watched us before taking over
He had a preseason to get his ideas across
He had a better squad to work with, including some decent forwards
10-08-2023, 11:37 AM
I never said he had to do that, it’s just an example of a situation that would see him accepted.
I know, hence the smiley.
However, I don't think he will ever be accepted by some fans because they'll set the bar higher for him and we won't reach it.
You can see that happening already. In response to someone pointing out that we finished the season strongly, one poster said something like "Yeah but why did it we have to wait till the end of the season?"
There is a definite reluctance to give him any credit.
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 11:39 AM
I know, hence the smiley.
However, I don't think he will ever be accepted by some fans because they'll set the bar higher for him and we won't reach it.
You can see that happening already. In response to someone pointing out that we finished the season strongly, one poster said something like "Yeah but why did it we have to wait till the end of the season?"
There is a definite reluctance to give him any credit.
To be fair I think the finishing the season strongly thing is being completely overplayed. We won 2 from 6 and blew golden opportunities at Pittodrie and Tynecastle.
We finished the season alright but the way it’s being presented you’d think we were the form team in the league.
10-08-2023, 11:41 AM
It’s not by a lot. Maloney was the wrong appointment no arguments, but look at the advantages Johnson has had over him:
He’d watched us before taking over
He had a preseason to get his ideas across
He had a better squad to work with, including some decent forwards
He lost Martin Boyle for 2 thirds of the season. That was a huge blow, but we still got 5th.
Would Maloney have achieved that? :dunno:
10-08-2023, 11:42 AM
To be fair I think the finishing the season strongly thing is being completely overplayed. We won 2 from 6 and blew golden opportunities at Pittodrie and Tynecastle.
We finished the season alright but the way it’s being presented you’d think we were the form team in the league.
You've proved my point.
Donegal Hibby
10-08-2023, 11:43 AM
Your right mate we have improved :agree:.We have improved since Maloney , we actually look like a team that can score goals now. Last 6 games proves that hertz twice , Aberdeen, Celtic, Huns , St mirren . 3 wins , 2 draws , 1 defeat . 5th place finish and qualifying for Europe compared to 8th and playing in the bottom 6. Individual players like Campbell have improved greatly under LJ compared to how he was when Maloney was manager!
10-08-2023, 11:44 AM
He lost Martin Boyle for 2 thirds of the season. That was a huge blow, but we still got 5th.
Crucially we've been scoring goals and playing well in the absence of Boyle. Under Maloney and Ross the moment Boyle wasn't in the team we were turgid.
10-08-2023, 11:46 AM
Crucially we've been scoring goals and playing well in the absence of Boyle. Under Maloney and Ross the moment Boyle wasn't in the team we were turgid.
Torpid.
10-08-2023, 11:48 AM
Your right mate we have improved :agree:.We have improved since Maloney , we actually look like a team that can score goals now. Last 6 games proves that hertz twice , Aberdeen, Celtic, Huns , St mirren . 3 wins , 2 draws , 1 defeat . 5th place finish and qualifying for Europe compared to 8th and playing in the bottom 6. Individual players like Campbell have improved greatly under LJ compared to how he was when Maloney was manager!
It was 3 wins, 3 draws and 1 loss in 7. 6 of which were teams in the top half of the table.
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 11:50 AM
You've proved my point.
Depends what your point is. If you think 2 wins from 6 and blowing 2 golden opportunities to finish higher up the league is ‘finishing strong’ then yes, it proves your point.
I don’t think that’s finishing all that strong though.
10-08-2023, 11:51 AM
If you think we haven't improved since Maloney then you haven't been watching the side, I don't really care about points per game stats, especially when the sample sizes are so skewed as to be incomparable, when I watch football, I prefer to focus on what I'm seeing and the football last season was better than "hardly improved" from Maloney.
10-08-2023, 11:53 AM
Depends what your point is. If you think 2 wins from 6 and blowing 2 golden opportunities to finish higher up the league is ‘finishing strong’ then yes, it proves your point.
Perhaps you could apply your statistical genius to our historic post -split performances and compare how LJ has done compared to others?
paddy1875
Really?
We will never know Dave, but that third is a third more than Maloney ever had plus Johnson had Nisbet and Youan. What did Maloney have to work with and I’m not defending Maloney ? I could equally ask would Johnson have done any better with the squad Maloney had to work with.
The other point, and I get why the comparison has been made since Johnson followed Maloney, but maybe a better comparison would be has Johnson improved us over Ross.
10-08-2023, 11:54 AM
See he’s been doing a bit more slavering to the DR
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 11:56 AM
He had Nisbet or Boyle available for 32 out of 43 games (74%), the vast majority. He also had Youan.
Maloney had Boyle and/or Nisbet for 12 of his 19 (63%) and was then left with James Scott as our only real option at striker for a significant period.
I fancy Johnson would have faired even worse than Maloney did with the team Maloney was given considering he’s only fairer marginally better with a lot more at his disposal.
10-08-2023, 12:00 PM
What's said in the dressing room should stay in the dressing room. First step in turning the players against the manager. Covering his own back.
10-08-2023, 12:06 PM
That's certainly not my position.
As far as "rating" LJ is concerned, I'm not sure how good or bad he is. We did better last season than the year before and we finished strongly so I'm hoping that improvement continues, but we'll see.
What I object to is people looking for things to criticise him for every time he does or says anything. There's no objectivity at all, and while people will say they don't want him to fail, it looks very much like they do.
The name calling and childish insults about someone in our club are bad enough, but when folk are inventing scenarios that might possibly happen in order to stoke their rage, then it really does seem like he's the enemy instead of someone trying their best for us.
All fair points.
I've maybe been guilty of name calling, but if I was to check, it was probably during or immediately after a game which I think is a bit more acceptable than doing so in the cold light of day.
I won't ever apologise for showing emotion during a game. Take that away, and I've no interest in the game at all.
10-08-2023, 12:08 PM
[/B]
No, you're just making things up.
No, I has just having a wee bit fun. Lighten up!
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 12:08 PM
Perhaps you could apply your statistical genius to our historic post -split performances and compare how LJ has done compared to others?
I’m sure you’re more than capable of doing it yourself if you want to know the answers.
10-08-2023, 12:17 PM
The point is that people won't give credit when it's due to him.
3 wins out of the last 7 against top 6 sides, including beating Hearts and Celtic with only 1 loss to The Rangers is laudable. It was as better run in than most yet you'd prefer to look at the negative aspects of the run.
Fair enough, that's your choice, but it's a good example of why I think LJ will struggle to be accepted by a lot of fans and probably never will be.
Trinity Hibee
10-08-2023, 12:18 PM
Out of interest what would 5 games prove? Especially when many of these games don’t have anything riding on them due to league positions already being confirmed by the time the split comes round.
I can’t see much difference between the win percentages of Johnson and Maloney and I think it’s fair to say maloney was dealt the worse hand. Funny old game isn’t it.
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 12:21 PM
The point is that people won't give credit when it's due to him.
3 wins out of the last 7 against top 6 sides, including beating Hearts and Celtic with only 1 loss to The Rangers is laudable. It was as better run in than most yet you'd prefer to look at the negative aspects of the run.
Fair enough, that's your choice, but it's a good example of why I think LJ will struggle to be accepted by a lot of fans and probably never will be.
Yeah but the problem with your point is you’re basing it on the fact you think he deserves credit and not considering the fact others might not.
As I said, 2 wins from the last 6 games and blowing 2 golden opportunities to have a more successful season isn’t something that deserves all that much credit.
10-08-2023, 12:21 PM
All fair points.
I've maybe been guilty of name calling, but if I was to check, it was probably during or immediately after a game which I think is a bit more acceptable than doing so in the cold light of day.
I won't ever apologise for showing emotion during a game. Take that away, and I've no interest in the game at all.
I can't imagine anyone being criticised for showing emotion during a game.
Not unless your name was Lee Johnson, of course. :wink:
10-08-2023, 12:22 PM
Yeah but the problem with your point is you’re basing it on the fact you think he deserves credit and not considering the fact others might not.
As I said, 2 wins from the last 6 games and blowing 2 golden opportunities to have a more successful season isn’t something that deserves all that much credit.
Why are you ignoring the victory over Hearts?
Forget it.
10-08-2023, 12:29 PM
I’m not sure the draw away to Aberdeen can be described as LJ blowing it, what would you have done differently? Our tactics were spot on and we performed really well, hitting the woodwork multiple times and missing a penalty - poor finishing is to blame if anything. The Hearts game was absolutely a blown opportunity, the 2nd half tactics didn’t allow us to capitalise on our man advantage.
Donegal Hibby
10-08-2023, 12:29 PM
It was 3 wins, 3 draws and 1 loss in 7. 6 of which were teams in the top half of the table.
Good record . There was some good performances from the team towards the end of the season and signs we were improving tbh .
10-08-2023, 12:41 PM
I’m not sure the draw away to Aberdeen can be described as LJ blowing it, what would you have done differently? Our tactics were spot on and we performed really well, hitting the woodwork multiple times and missing a penalty - poor finishing is to blame if anything. The Hearts game was absolutely a blown opportunity, the 2nd half tactics didn’t allow us to capitalise on our man advantage.
Surely the missed penalty was LJs fault?
10-08-2023, 12:45 PM
I don’t think LJ is digging Fish out in that interview. Context is important, he’s just given an example and highlighted how we’d look to improve it. He’s actually kind to Fish in the interview rather than blaming him.
And asking how he’d run if a lion was chasing him is just a light hearted way to make the point about choosing how much effort you put in. There’s nothing wrong with that either.
HarpOnHibee
10-08-2023, 12:46 PM
It's not just an issue of tactics. Our team is horribly unbalanced. That game at Tynecastle probably highlighted this issue more than any other. We have too many individuals with their own separate playing styles who are too incompatible with one another to click together as an effective unit. I fear this hasn't been adequately addressed in the transfer window.
10-08-2023, 12:48 PM
Surely the missed penalty was LJs fault?
Yes LJ bottled it by making us hit the woodwork multiple times and making Nisbet miss a penalty. We ragdolled the pride of the Scottish media that day. Was that before or after we battered the champions 4-2? Before people say it was a dead rubber they smashed Aberdeen 5-0 on the final day.
10-08-2023, 12:56 PM
I don’t think LJ is digging Fish out in that interview. Context is important, he’s just given an example and highlighted how we’d look to improve it. He’s actually kind to Fish in the interview rather than blaming him.
And asking how he’d run if a lion was chasing him is just a light hearted way to make the point about choosing how much effort you put in. There’s nothing wrong with that either.
I agree with what he says but think it would have been better if he had said that the big lads were let down with Newell’s terrible ball in.
10-08-2023, 12:56 PM
Yes LJ bottled it by making us hit the woodwork multiple times and making Nisbet miss a penalty. We ragdolled the pride of the Scottish media that day. Was that before or after we battered the champions 4-2? Before people say it was a dead rubber they smashed Aberdeen 5-0 on the final day.
We were good (but blew our chances) against Aberdeen but "ragdolled"? :confused: "Battered the champions" :greengrin Aye, maybe their reserves ... with more than a little help from their goalie.
Our run in was decent but ultimately not good enough.
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 12:58 PM
Why are you ignoring the victory over Hearts?
Forget it.
Because 6 games was the amount of games originally mentioned. I never set the amount of games, the posters who kept referencing the 6 games did. It’s also the commonly used amount of games for ‘form’ in football.
However, if you want to ask why I’m ignoring the hearts game then why are you ignoring the 4 games before the Hearts game?
10-08-2023, 01:25 PM
https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/manchester-united-will-fish-loanee-27491801
Top quality man management there.
10-08-2023, 01:26 PM
Because 6 games was the amount of games originally mentioned. I never set the amount of games, the posters who kept referencing the 6 games did. It’s also the commonly used amount of games for ‘form’ in football.
However, if you want to ask why I’m ignoring the hearts game then why are you ignoring the 4 games before the Hearts game?
Because I said he had a strong end to the season. That strong run started with us beating hearts.
HarpOnHibee
10-08-2023, 01:32 PM
https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/manchester-united-will-fish-loanee-27491801
Top quality man management there.
Needs to take them to the zoo for the next training session. A couple of hours caged up in a lions den should get them up to speed.
heid the baw
10-08-2023, 01:43 PM
Fish should have asked, if losing a game as manager meant you got fed to lions, who would you pick as starting right back?
10-08-2023, 01:52 PM
Fish should have asked, if losing a game as manager meant you got fed to lions, who would you pick as starting right back?
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 01:57 PM
Because I said he had a strong end to the season. That strong run started with us beating hearts.
Depends what sort of picture you want to paint really.
I could say we had a crap end to the season by adding the 4 games that went before the Hearts game you’ve decided to use all of which were defeats.
10-08-2023, 02:32 PM
Depends what sort of picture you want to paint really.
I could say we had a crap end to the season by adding the 4 games that went before the Hearts game you’ve decided to use all of which were defeats.
Then we wouldn't be talking about the end of the season, we'd be talking about over a quarter of it.
Why stop there? We might as well add in the 5 games before that when we were unbeaten. It's stupid and a real shame that you dislike the guy so much that you'll do anything not to give him any credit.
Only you could argue that he didn't end the season well when he demonstrably did.
No wonder people say that he'll never be accepted by some.
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 03:06 PM
Then we wouldn't be talking about the end of the season, we'd be talking about over a quarter of it.
Why stop there? We might as well add in the 5 games before that when we were unbeaten. It's stupid and a real shame that you dislike the guy so much that you'll do anything not to give him any credit.
Only you could argue that he didn't end the season well when he demonstrably did.
No wonder people say that he'll never be accepted by some.
Who says it’s not the end of the season? You? 7 games is never used in football as a metric for anything. Form is almost always represented over a 6 game period (occasionally 5) seasons are often referenced in terms of second half/last quarter etc. Never 7 games though. You’re only determined to make it 7 games because it best suits your argument.
I don’t think we did end the season very well, we demonstrably didn’t, unless of course we use 7 games and only 7 games as the metric for ‘end of the season’.
There’s no basis in football for using 7 game periods for anything yet it’s conveniently the specific number that we must use in this scenario as using 6, the general length of time that’s considered ‘form’ in football doesn’t suit your argument and using more than 7 also doesn’t suit your argument.
10-08-2023, 03:14 PM
The answer might have been "Will Fish"
10-08-2023, 03:14 PM
Who says it’s not the end of the season? You? 7 games is never used in football as a metric for anything. Form is always represented over a 6 game period, seasons are often referenced in terms of second half/last quarter etc. Never 7 games though. You’re only determined to make it 7 games because it best suits your argument.
I don’t think we did end the season very well, we demonstrably didn’t, unless of course we use 7 games and only 7 games as the metric for ‘end of the season’.
There’s no basis in football for using 7 game periods for anything yet it’s conveniently the specific number that we must use in this scenario as using 6, the general length of time that’s considered ‘form’ in football doesn’t suit your argument and using more than 7 also doesn’t suit your argument.
You're determined not to allow him any credit!
Ok. If I say LJ had a demonstrably good last 7 games of the season, would you agree?
10-08-2023, 03:18 PM
Ok. If I say LJ had a demonstrably good last 7 games of the season, would you agree?
It was 0-0 at half time in that Hearts game so no, I would say 6 and a half
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 03:20 PM
I’ll give him credit if I feel he deserves credit. With a record marginally better than Shaun Maloneys, 2 cup humiliations, the 2 heaviest derby defeats for either team in the last decade and 2 huge opportunities missed at the business end of the season I don’t think that’s deserving of much credit.
He had a good last 7 games. He didn’t have anything better than a decent last 6 games and he had a crap last 11.
10-08-2023, 03:22 PM
I
He had a good last 7 games.
Grudged or not, we have a breakthrough.
At last.
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 03:24 PM
Grudged or not, we have a breakthrough.
At last.
Nobody is grudging anything. As I said I’ll give him credit if he deserves credit. Lee Johnson has done little to deserve any credit for the reasons I listed above.
Key West
10-08-2023, 03:27 PM
LJ seems to have joined a long list of managers not considered good enough,Heckingbottom, Ross and Maloney who are now not doing too shabbily elsewhere in terms of employment,can we not just get behind the current one and give the guy a decent amount of time.
10-08-2023, 03:31 PM
From memory the bigger problem was the defeats to Dundee Utd and Motherwell just before the break? We were always chasing our tail after these results.
If we’d won them, it would have been Hearts chasing us!
10-08-2023, 03:32 PM
Nobody is grudging anything.
Excellent. Very generous of you in that case. :thumbsup:
10-08-2023, 03:33 PM
LJ seems to have joined a long list of managers not considered good enough,Heckingbottom, Ross and Maloney who are now not doing too shabbily elsewhere in terms of employment,can we not just get behind the current one and give the guy a decent amount of time.
ER was packed with a decent atmosphere at the weekend. The team and LJ are getting plenty backing from the fans.
10-08-2023, 03:39 PM
I sometimes think that apart from a very few elite individuals, success as a football manager relies on a lot more than a modicum of luck.
Obviously recruitment has to be good, but even that can't be guaranteed, and there has to be an understanding of tactics, but sometimes clubs don't get better regardless of who's at the helm. Look at Dundee United for example. They change managers but still get relegated.
I'm not explaining myself very well, but sometimes the stars just won't align.
10-08-2023, 03:39 PM
People are really over the top with all this eh. 😂
10-08-2023, 03:40 PM
Johnson just isnt a very good football manager, it really is that simple. He doesn’t help his own case with the amount of ***** he talks , comes across as an absolute weapon. I dont think a lot of the players are mad keen on him.
10-08-2023, 03:40 PM
People are really over the top with all this eh. 😂
Coming from you, that's astounding! :hilarious
10-08-2023, 03:41 PM
Johnson just isnt a very good football manager, it really is that simple. He doesn’t help his own case with the amount of ***** he talks , comes across as an absolute weapon. I dont think a lot of the players are mad keen on him.
Good to see someone bringing some new ideas to the discussion.
Key West
10-08-2023, 03:46 PM
ER was packed with a decent atmosphere at the weekend. The team and LJ are getting plenty backing from the fans.
I was referring to the severist of critics on this board who are not interested in logic but just batter away at managers until they are sacked.
10-08-2023, 03:47 PM
Coming from you, that's astounding! :hilarious
You either like him or don’t like him. Such is life. I’m very chilled over the whole thing. He’s not going anywhere.
10-08-2023, 03:49 PM
The backing they’ve had since LJ came in has been superb considering we’ve watched more defeats than wins.
Away from home we’re taking the biggest numbers, regularly, that I can remember.
We’ve had opportunities with big crowds inside ER, St Johnstone last season and even Sunday spring to mind, where we’ve had a chance to get people inside and blown it.
It’s the team that need to do more.
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 03:50 PM
The backing they’ve had since LJ came in has been superb considering we’ve watched more defeats than wins.
Away from home we’re taking the biggest numbers, regularly, that I can remember.
We’ve had opportunities with big crowds inside ER, St Johnstone last season and even Sunday spring to mind, where we’ve had a chance to get people inside and blown it.
It’s the team that need to do more.
10-08-2023, 03:51 PM
Good to see someone bringing some new ideas to the discussion.
They may not be new , iam however allowed to post my own opinion. If it coincides with previous posts then maybe that in itself tells a story..
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 03:53 PM
They may not be new , iam however allowed to post my own opinion. If it coincides with previous posts then maybe that in itself tells a story..
You’re replying to a poster who has just spent 2 pages or so reiterating the idea that LJ had a good end to the season, an idea that was brought up by other posters before them. I’d take no notice and continue to post your thoughts whether they echo what others are saying or not.
Based on what?
Youan was happy to come here permanently, Fish wanted to come back. He asked Doidge to leave but he didn't want to go so he must be a big LJ fan. 😀 Henderson, JDH and Tavares can't get enough of him too as they wont leave either. The players love him. 👍
10-08-2023, 03:57 PM
Two hours before a vital match and this is at the top of the forum.
Which is nice.
10-08-2023, 04:02 PM
^You just bumped it to the top!
D’oh, so have I :greengrin
10-08-2023, 04:05 PM
:top marks:faf:
10-08-2023, 04:22 PM
The myths on this forum are mental.
babahibs
10-08-2023, 05:39 PM
More made up nonsense, this thread stinks
Paul1642
10-08-2023, 08:21 PM
Johnson back in!
10-08-2023, 08:21 PM
The myths on this forum are mental.
The usual small band of sad sacks repeating the same garbage and trying to be louder than everyone else.
10-08-2023, 08:25 PM
Have to say, I didn’t think Johnson and his team had that second half performance in them. Credit to them
10-08-2023, 08:25 PM
Big credit to LJ, got that spot on for every decision today.
10-08-2023, 08:26 PM
Renew his contract.
In all seriousness, I really didn’t think he could get a performance out of us like he did that second half. Huge credit to LJ for the tactical shift and astute substitutions.
10-08-2023, 08:27 PM
Another big game win. Brave line up.
JamesHFC
10-08-2023, 08:28 PM
He's the best manager we've had in years. Back him.
Donegal Hibby
10-08-2023, 08:30 PM
Clueless manager ? Yeah right 😂😂😂
Lee Johnson masterclass :not worth
bordergreen
10-08-2023, 08:36 PM
Clueless manager ? Yeah right 😂😂😂
Lee Johnson masterclass :not worth
Got it spot on tonight. If he continues getting it right. I will be right behind him. Let’s see.
10-08-2023, 08:41 PM
Full credit to LJ tonight
Brave selection, some big calls
Spoke very well after the game
Well done
Basildon Hibs
10-08-2023, 08:41 PM
Let's hope they can maintain this against Motherwell..
JamesHFC
10-08-2023, 08:43 PM
Let's hope they can maintain this against Motherwell..
Enjoy the win mate. Worry about Sunday when it comes.
Tonight shoews why it would be daft to get rid of Johnson. Is he guardiola? No.
However he isn’t a calderwood/butcher either. We hounded out Ross and don’t need to be hounding another one out. We could end up with another maloney.
Well done to LJ tonight, he deserves credit after that, I thought it was a very bold selection but it worked a treat, 424 and then staying attacking in the 2nd with a 343 shape. We have a lot of attacking options and he decided to play to our strengths.
Basildon Hibs
10-08-2023, 08:50 PM
Tonight shoews why it would be daft to get rid of Johnson. Is he guardiola? No.
However he isn’t a calderwood/butcher either. We hounded out Ross and don’t need to be hounding another one out. We could end up with another maloney.
One Swallow doesn't a Summer make - and all that..😉
Basildon Hibs
10-08-2023, 08:51 PM
Enjoy the win mate. Worry about Sunday when it comes.
👍
10-08-2023, 08:52 PM
I’m absolutely delighted for him tonight.
Clearly he splits opinion but I’m one of those who like him and find his (occasionally daft) chat endearing.
He’s not scared to make a big call with a team selection or tactical approach, which he did tonight.
Johnson’s a good lad, it may or may not work out for him with us longer term but he’ll have my backing through a few downs as well as ups.
I’m thrilled for him to get that result as I’m sure he’ll be aware that he’s under a bit of pressure.
Paulie Walnuts
10-08-2023, 08:55 PM
Big credit to LJ, got that spot on for every decision today.
Yup.
Thought we rode our luck a bit at times in first half but second half we were excellent.
10-08-2023, 08:55 PM
He finally got the selection right.
Got to build on it though. No use now going to Fir Park and/or Switzerland and getting pumped 3-0.
jakeshibs
10-08-2023, 08:59 PM
This thread seems silly now, after one loss in the league, these people calling for his head when we finished 5th in the league last season, not our worse finish by a long shot, in europe, playing attacking football. her is not the best manager in the world but nor is he the worse and its our job to back the team and the club.
lets enjoy the result against a good side
babahibs
10-08-2023, 09:07 PM
But i didnae like what he wiz wearing
10-08-2023, 09:09 PM
Let’s hope he can find a bit of consistency now
Like another poster has said, no point winning 3-1 tonight and getting pumped 3-0 on Sunday
He got it spot on tonight, well done LJ and hibs
10-08-2023, 09:10 PM
Aye but his teeth are too white
Just_Jimmy
10-08-2023, 09:11 PM
This thread seems silly now, after one loss in the league, these people calling for his head when we finished 5th in the league last season, not our worse finish by a long shot, in europe, playing attacking football. her is not the best manager in the world but nor is he the worse and its our job to back the team and the club.
lets enjoy the result against a good sideAs plenty have said in the past, it wasn't based on one loss in the league.
Anyways, tonight is a great result and he deserves credit.
It's a huge opportunity yo build on.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
richard_pitts
10-08-2023, 09:20 PM
my beef with Sunday was we didn't look like we had a game plan and nobody seemed to know what they were doing before we were 2-0 down. Today was night and day: formation suited our players and we had a game plan and a work-rate. He gets the credit. More of the same please.
10-08-2023, 09:26 PM
Johnson in.
10-08-2023, 09:30 PM
That suit was criminal, made his teeth look far too white.
10-08-2023, 09:34 PM
Football is fickle as f.
10-08-2023, 09:35 PM
Delighted for him.
Risky selection tonight but I like that about him, he knows he’ll get stick if it doesn’t come off but goes with what he thinks.
Even subbing Youan, had we lost that and offered little threat second half he would have got abuse.
Very well done tonight Lee, ANOTHER big win since joining.
Enjoy the moment
10-08-2023, 11:29 PM
lets enjoy the result against a good side
It is silly, but if we lose on Sunday the same folk ranting and raving after last Sunday's shambles will have quickly forgotten tonight and will be demanding change again. And it'll happen after every defeat, even if that defeat is on the back of a good run.
10-08-2023, 11:31 PM
It is silly, but if we lose on Sunday the same folk ranting and raving after last Sunday's shambles will have quickly forgotten tonight and will be demanding change again. And it'll happen after every defeat, even if that defeat is on the back of a good run.
I can handle a defeat at the weekend but a performance has to be there. That is a must., That’s on Johnson. His job to get it from the team. His job to build that confidence and winning mentality. He has the players by and large. Over to him. The other side is a poor performance but a win.
10-08-2023, 11:34 PM
I can handle a defeat at the weekend but a performance has to be there. That is a must., That’s on Johnson. His job to get it from the team. His job to build that confidence and winning mentality. He has the players by and large. Over to him.
Maybe I'm misunderstanding you but are you seriously suggesting that any if any player(s) are under performing then it means that LJ is to blame? Every team/player ever has bad days.
10-08-2023, 11:39 PM
Maybe I'm misunderstanding you but are you seriously suggesting that any if any player(s) are under performing then it means that LJ is to blame? Every team/player ever has bad days.
Of course players underperform. Not a whole team though. The have to be sent out knowing what they’re doing and motivated to do it. Too many times I’ve seen a Lee Johnson side be absolute knickers for it to be wholly on the players
His team selection and tactics etc are often head scratching. They simply have to be spot on this weekend to keep that momentum going.
10-08-2023, 11:42 PM
I suspect we'll lose on Sunday because of tonight's exertions. It's the European dilemma. But we need to have the strength in depth and a non-slavering manager to carry off dire early season results. When we get emptied by Villa we need to show we've improved from last year.
10-08-2023, 11:44 PM
He was brave tonight with that team. But it was also incredibly simple what he did. I think he overthinks things at times. Just make it simple for the players, play them in their positions and it’s so much better.
10-08-2023, 11:46 PM
Of course players underperform. Not a whole team though. The have to be sent out knowing what they’re doing and motivated to do it. Too many times I’ve seen a Lee Johnson side be absolute knickers for it to be wholly on the players
His team selection and tactics etc are often head scratching. They simply have to be spot on this weekend to keep that momentum going.
It only takes two or three players under performing and the whole team goes to hell - it happens and there's nothing that LJ or any manager can do to stop it happening on occasion.
10-08-2023, 11:51 PM
Get him out, Sharon. Get him out! It's either him or me.
10-08-2023, 11:52 PM
He was brave tonight with that team. But it was also incredibly simple what he did. I think he overthinks things at times. Just make it simple for the players, play them in their positions and it’s so much better.
Admittedly he won’t get away with that selection every game, but tonight he played arguably our best players in their preferred positions and we got an excellent result and a great performance. Keep doing that the rest of the season where possible and even I will get off his back.
10-08-2023, 11:52 PM
It only takes two or three players under performing and the whole team goes to hell - it happens and there's nothing that LJ or any manager can do to stop it happening on occasion.
If it happens on Sunday that will be three out of five games. That’s not occasionally.
ChuckNor
10-08-2023, 11:58 PM
Got it spot on tonight. I still have some doubts but tonight was a cracker.
11-08-2023, 05:41 AM
11/12 goals in 3 games. People wanted entertainment.
Silky
11-08-2023, 05:50 AM
And one defeat doesn't mean the arse has fallen out the season!
Alvin
11-08-2023, 05:58 AM
Say what you like about Johnson but that was one ballsy selection
11-08-2023, 06:14 AM
I’m absolutely delighted for him tonight.
Clearly he splits opinion but I’m one of those who like him and find his (occasionally daft) chat endearing.
He’s not scared to make a big call with a team selection or tactical approach, which he did tonight.
Johnson’s a good lad, it may or may not work out for him with us longer term but he’ll have my backing through a few downs as well as ups.
I’m thrilled for him to get that result as I’m sure he’ll be aware that he’s under a bit of pressure.
Agree let's get behind him and the team tonight shows how good we can be. Let's see where we are at Christmas.
11-08-2023, 06:34 AM
Admittedly he won’t get away with that selection every game, but tonight he played arguably our best players in their preferred positions and we got an excellent result and a great performance. Keep doing that the rest of the season where possible and even I will get off his back.
I think he was fortunate to get away with the 4-2-4 but the half time substitution made all the difference. It gave us a far better shape and scoring that cracker right after the interval lifted the crowd. Best atmosphere at a ER for long time.
11-08-2023, 06:34 AM
Hardly improved us since Maloney though...
11-08-2023, 06:50 AM
Halmyre Hibee
11-08-2023, 06:57 AM
Let’s just back the team and let the owners decide at the end of the season if progress has been made. It’s Hibs we support and we should all be used to the ups and downs. Hopefully more ups to follow.
Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 07:11 AM
I think he was fortunate to get away with the 4-2-4 but the half time substitution made all the difference. It gave us a far better shape and scoring that cracker right after the interval lifted the crowd. Best atmosphere at a ER for long time.
The sub at half time certainly made the difference for me. Not that we were poor first half but I think we would have struggled to win the game had we not made the changes. It really made the difference :agree:
11-08-2023, 07:14 AM
I suspect we'll lose on Sunday because of tonight's exertions. It's the European dilemma. But we need to have the strength in depth and a non-slavering manager to carry off dire early season results. When we get emptied by Villa we need to show we've improved from last year.
Just change the team. We have plenty now. A fee must be rested for next week.
Crunchie
11-08-2023, 07:27 AM
Let’s just back the team and let the owners decide at the end of the season if progress has been made. It’s Hibs we support and we should all be used to the ups and downs. Hopefully more ups to follow.
100% . A superb result last night and shows that he has what it takes. He cannot be blamed when we lose games down to individual players. Let’s back the guy and give him time.
11-08-2023, 07:33 AM
Not surprisingly some of the posters who have backed Johnson have come on with an almost “told you so” attitude after last night (though they were nowhere to be seen after Sundays game.)
I really enjoyed last night, the football at times was great to watch, the players were up for it, the new signings made a difference and while it looked a bit of a gamble the homework had obviously been done so that we knew we could get away with the two guys in the middle of the park (who were both excellent.) We also picked our best players in their preferred positions.
Johnson does deserve credit for last night. I’m not going to say we haven’t seen excellent performances out of his team in other games. However we’ve also seen spells (and games) where there appears to be no plan and the players have looked like they just met each other 5 minutes before KO, formations have been baffling and players played out of position.
It’s 4 games in - we’ve had two good/great performances and 2 **** shows. If we continue to have more of the former and Johnson sticks with a settled team (where possible) then those who have been convinced he’s the man will have been proved right. If we go on other poor runs or have awful performances where tactics and selections are baffling then those of us who aren’t convinced will continue to feel that way.
11-08-2023, 07:43 AM
Everyone was a lion. Long live the genius of LJ.
11-08-2023, 08:19 AM
Good summary. Let's hope it's a corner turned. Great win to enjoy at least.
11-08-2023, 08:30 AM
If we get past this side and put a half decent performance in against Villa a lot of people might get their wish. Impressing against an English team will win him a lot of suitors down south. It would be our loss. Big IF though.
Trinity Hibee
11-08-2023, 08:31 AM
If we get past this side and put a half decent performance in against Villa a lot of people might get their wish. Impressing against an English team will win him a lot of suitors down south. It would be our loss.
Give it a rest eh? Just enjoy the fact we played well and won. Many who aren’t fans of Johnson have given him credit for last night which he rightly deserves. You are just trying to antagonise folk now
11-08-2023, 08:36 AM
Say what you like about Johnson but that was one ballsy selection
It was the team selection of a manager who feels safe and secure in post - rightly so, he knows he’s got the backing of the owners and board. You listen to Joe Newall after the game, if his comments reflect the wider squad then he has the backing of the players (despite the utter crap on here to the contrary), that leaves the fans - he clearly is backed by the vast majority, it really is time for the noisy minority to get behind the manager and offer their fullest support.
I believe we will be stronger together as one. We know there will be wins and losses this season, ups and downs, but the atmosphere last night was brilliant when we were all on the same team. GGTTH
11-08-2023, 08:36 AM
Give it a rest eh? Just enjoy the fact we played well and won. Many who aren’t fans of Johnson have given him credit for last night which he rightly deserves. You are just trying to antagonise folk now
How on earth did you jump to that conclusion from that post?
Trinity Hibee
11-08-2023, 08:37 AM
How on earth did you jump to that conclusion from that post?
Not just that one but all of your others on this thread
11-08-2023, 08:39 AM
Not just that one but all of your others on this thread
Did you tell posters who were posting absolute drivel about our manager prior to last night to give it a rest? I'll post what i like. Thanks.
BegbieHSC
11-08-2023, 09:27 AM
I can’t remember ever being so undecided about a manager as I am about Lee Johnson. Normally I have a consistent in or out position on a gaffer.
Half of last season, I wanted him out. This season, after the Inter Game I wanted him out. I was thrilled with the comeback against them, furious about the St Mirren game, and now given how excellent last night was, if the club announced he’s been given a new contract, I doubt I’d be upset.
Johnson seems to be a manager who is capable of giving us epic highs and crushing lows at a couple of days notice. Absolute chaos, and right now, I’m here for it
Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 09:29 AM
If we get past this side and put a half decent performance in against Villa a lot of people might get their wish. Impressing against an English team will win him a lot of suitors down south. It would be our loss. Big IF though.
You’re trying far too hard.
11-08-2023, 09:34 AM
Not surprisingly some of the posters who have backed Johnson have come on with an almost “told you so” attitude after last night (though they were nowhere to be seen after Sundays game.)
I really enjoyed last night, the football at times was great to watch, the players were up for it, the new signings made a difference and while it looked a bit of a gamble the homework had obviously been done so that we knew we could get away with the two guys in the middle of the park (who were both excellent.) We also picked our best players in their preferred positions.
Johnson does deserve credit for last night. I’m not going to say we haven’t seen excellent performances out of his team in other games. However we’ve also seen spells (and games) where there appears to be no plan and the players have looked like they just met each other 5 minutes before KO, formations have been baffling and players played out of position.
It’s 4 games in - we’ve had two good/great performances and 2 **** shows. If we continue to have more of the former and Johnson sticks with a settled team (where possible) then those who have been convinced he’s the man will have been proved right. If we go on other poor runs or have awful performances where tactics and selections are baffling then those of us who aren’t convinced will continue to feel that way.
I don’t see one post between the above and your previous post that even comes close to resembling a ‘told you so’ attitude?
11-08-2023, 09:36 AM
I can’t remember ever being so undecided about a manager as I am about Lee Johnson. Normally I have a consistent in or out position on a gaffer.
Half of last season, I wanted him out. This season, after the Inter Game I wanted him out. I was thrilled with the comeback against them, furious about the St Mirren game, and now given how excellent last night was, if the club announced he’s been given a new contract, I doubt I’d be upset.
Johnson seems to be a manager who is capable of giving us epic highs and crushing lows at a couple of days notice. Absolute chaos, and right now, I’m here for it
He seems a guy who is capable of getting a performance and a result form his team when he really needs it. I'm thinking the 4-0 v Livi to end a run of 4 defeats, the 6-0 v Aberdeen, the 1-0 v Hearts to end another run of 4 defeats and of course the game last Thursday.
I said before the game that he had went for broke with his team selection and I still think I'm right. I said if it went wrong it would be horribly so but if it went well then we would score a few, thankfully it was the latter.
I'm still not particularly keen on him and I'm still not convinced he's the right man going forward but it would be totally churlish not to give him huge credit for his bravery last night and he deserves the plaudits he is rightly getting.
Brummie_Hibs
11-08-2023, 09:42 AM
Great entertainment, fantastic result, LJ tactics worked, big plaudits.
But Jesus Christ, our defence is still a bomb-scare. That needs sorted - we got away with it last night.
11-08-2023, 09:44 AM
But Jesus Christ, our defence is still a bomb-scare. That needs sorted - we got away with it last night.
Expand please.
11-08-2023, 10:04 AM
100% . A superb result last night and shows that he has what it takes. He cannot be blamed when we lose games down to individual players. Let’s back the guy and give him time.
100% this.
We're just at the beginning of LJ being able to field what can be called LJ's team. There will be knock-backs but let's judge him at the end of the season. Nowadays there's a tendency to want instant gratification, Hibs can't afford that and any good times will be through a process of evolution, you can't achieve that by constantly sacking managers.
Donegal Hibby
11-08-2023, 10:06 AM
11-08-2023, 10:08 AM
Defence were fine last night. Luzern were always going to have opportunities with the way we set up.
11-08-2023, 10:31 AM
Yup, not content with the result and performance, they need to come on here to remind us how right they were! Fair enough, it doesn’t happen too often for them!
Personally I’m delighted with last night.
If LJ has us playing like that every week then practically all of us will be delighted, and no one will be calling for him to be placed. Same as every manager we’ve ever had really.
11-08-2023, 10:33 AM
Yup, not content with the result and performance, they need to come on here to remind us how right they were! Fair enough, it doesn’t happen too often for them!
Has that even been happening?
11-08-2023, 10:39 AM
Lmao like this place isn't full of "A TOLD YIZ [manager/player] WAS PISH MONTHS AGO AND NO ONE BELIEVED ME AND LOOK NOW AM RIGHT AM SO RIGHT TELL ME AM RIGHT" after every defeat.
Must have been watching a different game. Defensively, against a technically superior team who had most of the ball yesterday, we were solid last night. I can only recall Marsh making one save of note.
Much, much better than in Andorra & on Sunday.
11-08-2023, 10:48 AM
Go back a page for a couple of examples or other threads for more!
No biggy, I couldn’t care less.
When we win like we did last night even the grumpiest of us on here are delighted.
11-08-2023, 10:50 AM
You're making things up. Where in my post did it say that?
I used a bit of hyperbole but you're just talking nonsense.
11-08-2023, 10:51 AM
Lmao like this place isn't full of "A TOLD YIZ [manager/player] WAS PISH MONTHS AGO AND NO ONE BELIEVED ME AND LOOK NOW AM RIGHT AM SO RIGHT TELL ME AM RIGHT" after every defeat.
Exactly this.
11-08-2023, 11:11 AM
No. But people still need attention when we have a good performance too.
babahibs
11-08-2023, 11:13 AM
I see the "I'm going to go on hibs.net and make things up" team are back.
Relentless bulls##t
11-08-2023, 11:13 AM
Must have been watching a different game. Defensively, against a technically superior team who had most of the ball yesterday, we were solid last night. I can only recall Marsh making one save of note.
Much, much better than in Andorra & on Sunday.
I thought the goal was quite poor but apart from that I agree. Very good all over the park.
I think they’ll prove to be pretty handy at home and that late goal could be crucial.
11-08-2023, 11:14 AM
You're making things up. Where in my post did it say that?
I used a bit of hyperbole but you're just talking nonsense.
Sorry, I don’t know.
I didn’t know I was referring to you at all. If I was, I apologise and retract everything I said.
11-08-2023, 11:16 AM
Deserves credit for last night, got every decision spot on. Hope he can find a settled team now and build on it.
Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 11:21 AM
Deserves credit for last night, got every decision spot on. Hope he can find a settled team now and build on it.
The big challenge now is to kick on. Great result last night but we’ve had a few false dawns under LJ. If he can keep us going somewhere closer to last nights level than Sundays level then he’ll do just fine.
Key West
11-08-2023, 01:09 PM
The big challenge now is to kick on. Great result last night but we’ve had a few false dawns under LJ. If he can keep us going somewhere closer to last nights level than Sundays level then he’ll do just fine.
I'm sure you'll let us know if his standards are slipping.😃
There's a fine line between genius and insanity.
Lee Johnson has erased this line.
Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 03:46 PM
I'm sure you'll let us know if his standards are slipping.😃
I will indeed, it’s the purpose of the forum to discuss stuff like that.
11-08-2023, 04:03 PM
For me last night and last Sunday sum LJs tenure at the club. We never know what we are going to get. Full of hope one minute, depths of hell the next.
Still lots and lots of issues on the park to be addressed. No need to list them.
Lee was very bold last night and Im chuffed it came off. There were plenty of reservations about the team picked and formation before the game and one swallow doesnt make a summer or in LJs case a swallow every now and again.
Im sure in the coming days we'll debate team sekection and formation for Motherwell from every angle.
Last night was fab. With 442 a theory was we'd get overrun in the centre of midfield. We didnt but play that week in week out in the SPL and we will.
11-08-2023, 04:25 PM
This. Delighted with the result but we've had a few cracking games under his spell, only for us then to struggle and lose a couple of easy games with toothless performances.
We won't win every game, but he needs to get a balanced formation, team and ultimately some consistency.
That will stop doubters like me from moaning. But as it stands, imo we are just as likely to follow up Thursday with an inspid loss against Motherwell.
Personally I’m delighted with last night.
If LJ has us playing like that every week then practically all of us will be delighted, and no one will be calling for him to be placed. Same as every manager we’ve ever had really.
Haven't seen any of those posts, I've no doubt you'll all be back with sack L. J. in the not too distant future.
JammyDoidger
11-08-2023, 04:54 PM
For all the energy they put in last night it would be some feat to repeat the levels on Sunday. If we get the points fantastic but if not I'll understand why, this is the one and only time I'll let it slide mind you. I expect us to rotate a bit, let's see how good the squad is, that was some shift last night.
Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 05:03 PM
For all the energy they put in last night it would be some feat to repeat the levels on Sunday. If we get the points fantastic but if not I'll understand why, this is the one and only time I'll let it slide mind you. I expect us to rotate a bit, let's see how good the squad is, that was some shift last night.
You’d have to presume Youan, Doidge, Jeggo and Campbell would be certs to start. Maybe Obita as well.
Donegal Hibby
11-08-2023, 05:04 PM
Haven't seen any of those posts, I've no doubt you'll all be back with sack L. J. in the not too distant future.
Unfortunately this is probably true in we are only one defeat away from having them all out against the manager again !.
11-08-2023, 05:11 PM
It would be really, really nice if we could get away from all this… constant moaning about other Hibs fans and their supposed faults is tedious.
11-08-2023, 05:13 PM
It’s August. The players have just had a month off. I expect everyone without an injury to be fit and raring to go.
11-08-2023, 05:14 PM
It’s August. The players have just had a month off. I expect everyone without an injury to be fit and raring to go.
What you expect and reality may vary.
Crunchie
11-08-2023, 09:05 PM
Expand please.
Simples, Hanlon and Stevenson should not be anywhere near a Hibs 11 in the year 2023.
11-08-2023, 09:34 PM
Simples, Hanlon and Stevenson should not be anywhere near a Hibs 11 in the year 2023.
Well they are so let's get behind them rather than moaning about them constantly
Wouldn't say I'm a huge backer of LJ but I do think the rage at him after bad results is OTT.
Aye, you can say they shouldn't be important players in the squad but that is hyperbolic pish and lacking in class and respect to two legends of the club.
Crunchie
11-08-2023, 10:06 PM
Aye, you can say they shouldn't be important players in the squad but that is hyperbolic pish and lacking in class and respect to two legends of the club.
But I didn't say that now, did I. Hyperbole pish indeed.
11-08-2023, 11:36 PM
Depends on how the results go really.
If we keep playing like we did on Thursday night and win more games than last season, I'll be perfectly happy with LJ staying on.
If we go on a run of 10 or 11 games without a win then yeah, I'll be calling for him to be replaced.
NC1875
13-08-2023, 03:32 PM
👋🏽 streaky Lee. Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.
13-08-2023, 03:34 PM
The thing is, those who were wanting to try and use Thursday to make those who don't think LJ is the answer look silly have one performance to make their case.
Those who don't rate LJ have dozens.
13-08-2023, 03:35 PM
Today is normal.
13-08-2023, 03:35 PM
👋🏽 streaky Lee. Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.
I get the logic for wanting him out but throwing the streaky Lee comment in there doesn’t work in this occasion when we won on Thursday?
13-08-2023, 03:36 PM
Today is normal.
Yep.
We’ll continue to delay the inevitable by sticking with Brent, and our league position and morale will suffer for it. This is painful.
Rumble de Thump
13-08-2023, 03:37 PM
Is it actually adults who call our manager childish names?
13-08-2023, 03:38 PM
Picking Hanlon and Stevenson will get him sacked like everyone else. They'd be the first two shown the door personally.
13-08-2023, 03:39 PM
Is it actually adults who call our manager childish names?
I’m sure he’ll get over it.
13-08-2023, 03:39 PM
Obviously he is going to get Thursday and next Sunday unfortunately.