View Full Version : Johnson Out
Pages :
[
11]
NC1875
06-08-2023, 05:24 PM
Lewis and Paul were the least of our problems.
Here he goes. Open your eyes
Lewis and Paul were the least of our problems.
Lewis, in particular, is a huge part of the problem at the moment IMO.
We are shambolic defensively and they make up half of the defence.
The year is 2038 and folk will still be saying they are the least of our problems.
No press from LJ or his assistant is a weird one. Surely not still in the dressing room like.
Criticise him for gawd sake but what the hell does his clothes or him having breakfast at the Black Ivy whatever that is have to do with us losing today ?
All part of his attitude. Where was he today after that. Disappearing into the tunnel. If we had somehow won that he’d have been all over the pitch.
06-08-2023, 05:25 PM
Any amazing words of wisdom been posted by the great man since full time?
Well you can guess
"We showed great character to come back from 2 down. Im proud of the lads we've worked hard in training, i thought we applied ourselves very well, despite having to play two matches in the space of a few days against quality Andorran opposition. Looking forward to the challenge of Thursday against fellow European giants Luzern.
On a personal note i thought i looked very dapper and well groomed today."
06-08-2023, 05:25 PM
He’s been really poor. Can’t believe we look to have failed again to sign a proper left back. Right back isn’t any better.
06-08-2023, 05:26 PM
They were massively exposed 2nd half and still did great. It’s our general set up not the defence.
06-08-2023, 05:27 PM
They were massively exposed 2nd half and still did great. It’s our general set up not the defence.
Is that the excuse for JDH having yet another howler in midfield too?
Just heard his press conference after the game … get him out of the place … shambles
06-08-2023, 05:28 PM
Don’t have a go at someone that was clearly having a laugh
He's obviously had a humour bypass
06-08-2023, 05:28 PM
Just heard his press conference after the game … get him out of the place … shambles
What was said?
NC1875
06-08-2023, 05:29 PM
Where did you hear it ? Give us a laugh
What was said?
Something about not having the mental strength to go again bla bla bla
raeburnhibs
06-08-2023, 05:29 PM
which side did the cross for the winning goal come from? doing great would have been contributing to a win or at least a stirring fight back draw
06-08-2023, 05:30 PM
I didn’t have much of a problem with Hanlon or Stevenson today, whilst they were as poor as everyone else during the spells where we were struggling badly today.
It begins and ends with the midfield for me. It still needs a lot of work, and if we tackle that appropriately then we see more from the players we expect more from. Today they offered the defence little protection and the forwards anything like enough supply or support, other than a very brief spell.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-08-2023, 05:30 PM
Something about not having the mental strength to go again bla bla bla
What the **** does that even mean? Slavering wee prick
Where did you hear it ? Give us a laugh
Plzsoccer twitter account
06-08-2023, 05:31 PM
Na. Lewis in particular has been miles from great. Goals in Andorra were nothing to do with set up. Continually kicking the ball out the park is nothing to do with set up.
06-08-2023, 05:32 PM
Without resorting to personal insults Johnson is clearly doing plenty wrong. He talks about having two players for each position but doesn't seem to have even one full back he can rely on when players are being played out of position. He brings in players to sit on the bench and doesn't seem to have a proper game plan. We could be out of Europe and bottom of the league inside a couple of weeks. He has had money to spend and time to spend it but we still stick with the same old midfield.
NC1875
06-08-2023, 05:33 PM
Na. Lewis in particular has been miles from great. Goals in Andorra were nothing to do with set up. Continually kicking the ball out the park is nothing to do with set up.
Ignore him. Paul and Lewis are his world. Everyone can see they need replaced and he comes on here backing them after yet another shambles they’re involved in. Another of many.
06-08-2023, 05:34 PM
Can we just get a manager that plays players in their proper positions and sets us up in games where it actually looks like the players are being coached?
06-08-2023, 05:36 PM
I’m going to take that as a good sign he’s away.[emoji1696][emoji1696][emoji1696]
hoping there is riot in dressing room but more likely keeping the heads down hoping it blows over **** bag
06-08-2023, 05:37 PM
Going to a back three after subs was dreadful but they stuck at it to level tho another goal for buddies unlucky ? Or is it down to coaching team ?
06-08-2023, 05:37 PM
It honestly doesn't matter who the manager is, the team just isn't good enough. Not enough quality in that side and it's been the same problem for years.
I'm at the stage now where I have almost no confidence in the club improving any time soon.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
NC1875
06-08-2023, 05:38 PM
Just heard him talk some ***** about them doing a job on us.
Not his fault, players weren’t mentally ready bla bla bla.
Get this clown to ****, honestly. He is an absolute clown.
06-08-2023, 05:39 PM
Is that the excuse for JDH having yet another howler in midfield too?
3v4. It’s just basic football
06-08-2023, 05:41 PM
is it not his and backroom team job to ensure players are physically and mentally prepared for every game?
How long will this go on for before someone say thats enough lee
GreenGray
06-08-2023, 05:43 PM
If we’re not going to sack him because we’ve spent a fortune and he has a good relationship with the CEO (who should arguably be gone as well) we are in more trouble than I thought.
Those saying “we won’t sack him after just two bad games” are we forgetting last season?
tonyrougier123
06-08-2023, 05:44 PM
Can we just get a manager that plays players in their proper positions and sets us up in games where it actually looks like the players are being coached?
Here! Here! Brother.
06-08-2023, 05:47 PM
It would be a huge help
06-08-2023, 05:49 PM
https://twitter.com/plzsoccer/status/1688238763741253633?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg
I’ve really no idea what point he’s trying to make here, it’s just drivel.
Been clear for 3 years now that a midfield of jdh, Newell and Campbell is nowhere near good enough, yet he's not addressed it in 3 windows.
The boys a slavering clown whose belief in his own ability is unbelievable, especially considering he’s a **** manager who should have been emptied long ago.
And this.
06-08-2023, 05:53 PM
It would be a huge help
Shows 1) poor recruitment and 2) lack of faith in players who play that natural position
Feel very sorry for Delferriere as he’s a sitting defensive midfielder all day long - minute you ask any young players to step out their natural comfort zone it’s trouble in this league or any league.
Anyway, heard a left winger is incoming this week - but that’s the very least of our worries when you look at our defence.
Stokesy's on fire
06-08-2023, 05:54 PM
Like Derek Mccinnes? Not my first choice but thats the sort of manager you are describing.
snedzuk
06-08-2023, 05:54 PM
The year is 2038 and folk will still be saying they are the least of our problems.
If we stumble through this season with this defence, what's the chances of 'ponying up' like we just did this window to replace an entire back line next summer. Does anyone at ER actually think ahead.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-08-2023, 05:55 PM
Like Derek Mccinnes? Not my first choice but thats the sort of manager you are describing.
I don’t necessarily want McInnes, but he’s the best man for the job. I’d have had Strachan before he retired over McInnes purely for style of play, but we need sorted out and organised properly. That’s Del’s bread and butter.
06-08-2023, 05:56 PM
https://twitter.com/plzsoccer/status/1688238763741253633?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg
Did he say anything about starting a half fit winger and an out of position youth player on the right hand side? Because after we found ourselves 2-0 down after that piece of tactical genius and the players just about dug themselves out of that hole.
06-08-2023, 05:56 PM
Would take him 100%
Would’ve been happy enough when Ross left but might not have been my first choice. Would at least set us up properly in matches.
We won’t get him now regardless.
Stokesy's on fire
06-08-2023, 05:57 PM
If we stumble through this season with this defence, what's the chances of 'ponying up' like we just did this window to replace an entire back line next summer. Does anyone at ER actually think ahead.
They did actually Josh Doig was the replacement for lewis.. we sold him.
06-08-2023, 05:58 PM
He won’t get sacked with his mates behind the scenes
Stokesy's on fire
Would take him 100%
Would’ve been happy enough when Ross left but might not have been my first choice. Would at least set us up properly in matches.
We won’t get him now regardless.
I agree.
If we’re not going to sack him because we’ve spent a fortune and he has a good relationship with the CEO (who should arguably be gone as well) we are in more trouble than I thought.
Those saying “we won’t sack him after just two bad games” are we forgetting last season?
He'll be gone by October. This Hibs team is no better than last season when we clearly needed a "spine". None of those players have changed other than us losing a half decent striker in Nisbet.
Heads I win, tails you lose.
Completely incapable of taking responsibility for failure but very quick to take the spotlight when we win. Coward.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-08-2023, 06:01 PM
Heads I win, tails you lose.
Completely incapable of taking responsibility for failure but very quick to take the spotlight when we win. Coward.
Coward is the right word, his mrs must be driven round the bend. “How come you didn’t do the dishwasher Lee? I gave you one job!”
‘Aw it’s not my fault blah blah blah’
**** off
Willis1875
06-08-2023, 06:02 PM
We have a Doidge interview via Hibs twitter but nothing from the so called manager
Gruff
06-08-2023, 06:03 PM
Just watched his interview on the BBC, his body language says it all, he has no idea what to do, if he thinks just because we beat a team from Andorra that beating St Mirren would be just a case of putting out the same team, he deserves to go. Blames everyone but himself, maybe the players just play hoofball all week in training and he kids himself on that this is genius, total football ala Cruyff era Netherlands.
There is a team there, Johnson isn't the manager though to get a tune out of them though as Johnson himself doesn't know what to do
06-08-2023, 06:03 PM
I think Hibs fans have actually been pretty patient with LJ. A few didnt like him from the start but you'll get that with virtually every appointment. Hes bobbybullshyt and nearly all of us have seen through it.
Mikey_1875
06-08-2023, 06:04 PM
Recalling his early interviews in the job where he is saying he will implement a clear identity with fast, aggressive play and being world class in transition.
Laughable.
Keepthefaith
06-08-2023, 06:04 PM
Shows 1) poor recruitment and 2) lack of faith in players who play that natural position
Feel very sorry for Delferriere as he’s a sitting defensive midfielder all day long - minute you ask any young players to step out their natural comfort zone it’s trouble in this league or any league.
Anyway, heard a left winger is incoming this week - but that’s the very least of our worries when you look at our defence.
If there is a left winger coming then do we play youan up front? Would assume obita would be playing left back before Lewis, his crossing was pretty good second half.
I'd put him and miller in full back positions and take a chance with McAllister or molotnikov, they both have drive and look to play it forward. If you're good enough you're old enough!
06-08-2023, 06:07 PM
I think Hibs fans have actually been pretty patient with LJ. A few didnt like him from the start but you'll get that with virtually every appointment. Hes bobbybullshyt and nearly all of us have seen through it.
Agree with this. I think a lot of people were more than happy to give him time. But he has done very little to warrant it. With him remaining it’s going to be more of the same. And he will remain. Apathy and acceptance will set in soon.
06-08-2023, 06:07 PM
#getyourjohnsonout
He’s not got a clue. Unfortunately him and Kensell seem pretty tight. We are stuck with him.
06-08-2023, 06:08 PM
Streaky Lee can gtf
hibsforeurope
06-08-2023, 06:08 PM
He’s out his depth, 500+ games or not he’s not good enough. To have (reportedly) spent £1m+ on todays squad that’s a woeful result.
Get rid and get someone in who’s up to the task.
06-08-2023, 06:09 PM
Agree mate We got found out big style today
06-08-2023, 06:10 PM
He's just not very good at his job is he? He' has and will continue to be backed I reckon. But he's a poor manager.
06-08-2023, 06:11 PM
I only think he'll go if we're in the bottom two by the end of the month.
ionahibby
06-08-2023, 06:12 PM
Hanlon is an ok footballer but the fact Johnson says he made him captain to get his message across clearly isn’t working. No disrespect to hanlon as a human being but he isn’t captain material. Newell would be my choice.
Fuzzywuzzy
06-08-2023, 06:13 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/johnson-a-wasted-opportunity
JammyDoidger
06-08-2023, 06:15 PM
If we don't win Thursday and then again at Motherwell, he could see himself gone in the next couple of weeks as the fans won't put up with that. It's his squad now he's must have signed near 20 players since coming to the club, and we are still stuck with Hanlon and Stevenson. Brutal, actually worse than that.
bordergreen
06-08-2023, 06:15 PM
He's just not very good at his job is he? He' has and will continue to be backed I reckon. But he's a poor manager.
Sound familiar? Same excuses.
https://fb.watch/mfD8z0-hIL/
Cat Stanton
06-08-2023, 06:16 PM
He's full of ****. And the quality of football on show is worse than I can remember for quite a while. We have the cheek to slag hearts off for hoofball - what do we play?
Dire, desperate stuff today. Again.
06-08-2023, 06:16 PM
If we don't win Thursday and then again at Motherwell, he could see himself gone in the next couple of weeks as the fans won't put up with that. It's his squad now he's must have signed near 20 players since coming to the club, and we are still stuck with Hanlon and Stevenson. Brutal, actually worse than that.
I don't really rate the guy, but what part of that starting XI today was his squad? Marsh deal was already agreed. So maybe Fish and Youan?
Willis1875
06-08-2023, 06:17 PM
It’s not just Hanlon and Stevenson,7 of todays starting 11 played under Ross and that’s despite over 20 players being signed by Johnson
The Baldmans Comb
06-08-2023, 06:17 PM
Today was just typical arrogant Johnson doing what he always does which is looking down on Scottish football and not bothering to do any homework on the opposition and having to revise his tactics after 25 minutes as he hasn't a clue how Saints were going to line up until the game started.
Ohara in the St Mirren midfield and their No 20 were different gravy and their targeting of Delfiere utterly predictable.
A typical Johnson lazy approach to the game that is so often the case.
Willis1875
06-08-2023, 06:18 PM
I don't really rate the guy, but what part of that starting XI today was his squad? Marsh deal was already agreed. So maybe Fish and Youan?
That’s the point though,he’s signed so many players so why are we still stuck playing guys that aren’t his squad as you say it
06-08-2023, 06:19 PM
That’s only because he keeps signing players not good enough for the first team. His recruitment record is appalling.
Hanlon is an ok footballer but the fact Johnson says he made him captain to get his message across clearly isn’t working. No disrespect to hanlon as a human being but he isn’t captain material. Newell would be my choice.
Did he not strip him of captaincy last season too [emoji85][emoji85]
06-08-2023, 06:20 PM
That’s the point though,he’s signed so many players so why are we still stuck playing guys that aren’t his squad as you say it
That’s only because he keeps signing players not good enough for the first team. His recruitment record is appalling.
I get you now, sorry! Wasn't only a few days ago that folk were praising McDermott though?
Again, I'm not a big LJ man, less so after today.
The Captain....
06-08-2023, 06:21 PM
Get this clown to ****, honestly. He is an absolute clown.His consistent ability to take no responsibility whatsoever for poor performances but glory in the good, making sure he is front and centre, sickens me. He's an imposter.
Get him to ****.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
SickBoy32
06-08-2023, 06:21 PM
"I've told Christian he's not in my plans going forward, he's free to find a new club" - Aug 22'
LJ has since repeated this at the start of summer 23
The fact that big Doidge was our best player today, after LJ bringing in 20/30 new 'players' - speaks volumes, he quite simply has no plan or cohesion within the squad at all
Terrible appointment, as was Maloney - and as was the decision (not to mention the timing!) of the JR sacking
BK and LJ out now please
06-08-2023, 06:22 PM
Wonder how many of the 99 problems he identified when he first arrived that he’s fixed.
But he’s a nice guy, good family man apparently and a great coach. We are lucky to have him. Only needs another 3 or 4 window to get his own players and we’ll see that fast press and flowing football he promised us.
LewysGot2
06-08-2023, 06:24 PM
"I've told Christian he's not in my plans going forward, he's free to find a new club" - Aug 22'
LJ has since repeated this at the start of summer 23
The fact that big Doidge was our best player today, after LJ bringing in 20/30 new 'players' - speaks volumes, he quite simply has no plan or cohesion within the squad at all
Terrible appointment, as was Maloney - and as was the decision (not to mention the timing!) of the JR sacking
BK and LJ out now please
Apparently told press today Doidge is staying
gazzag70
06-08-2023, 06:30 PM
A new season and yet again Doyle Hayes and Newell in the middle, a combination that has never worked, yet here we are again. It feels like the club are taking the pish
cameronw-hfc
06-08-2023, 06:39 PM
Would take Luke Williams if and when Lj goes. Teams play good football and a good young coach albeit at a lower level
06-08-2023, 06:44 PM
“We didn’t have our usual personality at home”
HAHAHA away and **** off Johnson you slaver.
tonyrougier123
06-08-2023, 06:44 PM
Streaky Lee can gtf
Win one lose one hopes up hopes doon. Repeat. Time for a new management team.
Greenwich_Hibby
06-08-2023, 06:46 PM
Cathro with a personality, but no clue. Continually sends out the wrong team.
JammyDoidger
06-08-2023, 06:46 PM
Would take Luke Williams if and when Lj goes. Teams play good football and a good young coach albeit at a lower level
We don't need a young coach, we need a winner. Someone that knows the league and sets a team up properly. There's a couple of half decent candidates managing in the league atm.
NC1875
06-08-2023, 06:47 PM
Basically saying it’s not my fault
06-08-2023, 06:48 PM
Basically saying it’s not my fault
Shock. When is it ever his fault?
CB Hibs 68
06-08-2023, 06:52 PM
Will be honest wasnt on LJs case like others were..Look s increasingly like the naysayers were right .I cannot find one single thing to put up in his defence.He is a slavering skate and utterly incapable of accepting responsibility for what happens in front of his eyes.
cameronw-hfc
06-08-2023, 06:52 PM
We don't need a young coach, we need a winner. Someone that knows the league and sets a team up properly. There's a couple of half decent candidates managing in the league atm.
I'm not sure there's any manager in the league I'd currently take that we could realistically get.
06-08-2023, 06:54 PM
I’m convinced even a Sunday league manager would get more out of these players
06-08-2023, 06:58 PM
Hibs Manager Win % League Table Since The Turn Of The Century (More than 15 matches) (this was pre today)
Stubbs 58.00*
Ross 48.96
Mowbray 48.15
Lennon 47.97*
McLeish 47.24*
Collins 42.59
Johnson 39.53
Williamson 37.36
Fenlon 35.63
Yogi 35.19
Heckingbottom 34.38
Maloney 31.58
Mixu 30.65
Calderwood 24.49
Butcher 20.69
*Includes 1 or more seasons in the Championship
06-08-2023, 07:02 PM
Ive just played my Hibs Subutteo team v LJs. Won 12-0. Says it all. LJs team played in Aberdeen/Liverpool colours. I was the old faithful team 45. Pat Stanton scored 6. He had the throw in figures taking the corners and the corner figures taking the throw ins. His "Hibs" got booed off by the Seagulls.
06-08-2023, 07:10 PM
He talked about our “personality” today - another one of his buzzwords. However a year after his appointment I’m still none the wiser what our personality actually is.
06-08-2023, 07:17 PM
He talked about our “personality” today - another one of his buzzwords. However a year after his appointment I’m still none the wiser what our personality actually is.
Me and you got lambasted for this chat before. He’s so centred it’s unreal. Blind if you can’t see it. He’s still going nowhere but it will never be his fault.
7Hero
06-08-2023, 07:20 PM
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WeAreHibs
Poll on we are hibs feel free to vote
06-08-2023, 07:23 PM
Me and you got lambasted for this chat before. He’s so centred it’s unreal. Blind if you can’t see it. He’s still going nowhere but it will never be his fault.
:agree: It’s not as if I’ve never been wrong about managers before but it genuinely baffles me that anyone is taken in by this joker. It’s all about him. Quick to take credit when things go well, disappears like a rat down a drainpipe at the end of a game when it doesn’t. Then comes out with yet more pish in his post match interview.
06-08-2023, 07:30 PM
Hibs Manager Win % League Table Since The Turn Of The Century (More than 15 matches) (this was pre today)
Stubbs 58.00*
Ross 48.96
Mowbray 48.15
Lennon 47.97*
McLeish 47.24*
Collins 42.59
Johnson 39.53
Williamson 37.36
Fenlon 35.63
Yogi 35.19
Heckingbottom 34.38
Maloney 31.58
Mixu 30.65
Calderwood 24.49
Butcher 20.69
The madness of getting rid of Ross in one post.
06-08-2023, 07:32 PM
Hmm, we seem to have a personality disorder just now. Early days this season; let's see if Johnson can put it all together. He needs to improve quickly, though.
06-08-2023, 07:32 PM
:agree: It’s not as if I’ve never been wrong about managers before but it genuinely baffles me that anyone is taken in by this joker. It’s all about him. Quick to take credit when things go well, disappears like a rat down a drainpipe at the end of a game when it doesn’t. Then comes out with yet more pish in his post match interview.
Spoke to a few players after. Tbf all blaming themselves. Despite said players being decent. And I know it post game but I didn’t feel anything pro LJ. And I know people will just say that’s me but I went in with a clean slate and we were set up like we were playing a pub team again. I want him gone. But he won’t be.
Brightside so true. 👍🏻 I’ve never really been the sack the manager type but I’m finding it hard to see how he improves us as a Club. Couldn’t bring himself to say sorry for the performance in Andorra or say he got the selection wrong there and again today.
Can he also change the record on him being an experienced manager or his continual references about his dad. LJ its about Hibs not you and your family.
The Gordon’s have seriously backed this manager and he’s not giving them or us supporters a return on that investment.
06-08-2023, 07:43 PM
Always says we're ready and up for it before a game then lists the reason's we weren't afterwards.
He's a total and utter con.
Should never have have anywhere near ER and every day he's with us, he's doing us damage.
There is absolutely no way he turns things around. There's nothing at all to be gained by keeping him on.
Please Hibs, act now.
Forget the mistake of Ross, dump the ego, and admit this was a howler.
Paulie Walnuts
06-08-2023, 07:45 PM
Bit simplistic really.
Jack Ross was on a horror run. He could have lost the next 20 games in a row after his sacking and he’d still have had a better win % than LJ. Doesn’t mean he should have got it though as we’d have probably been relegated had we allowed that.
Ross wasn’t sacked for his overall record. He was sacked because we were utterly honking when he went, he showed no signs of sorting it, in fact things were continuously getting worse and we were languishing in the bottom 6.
06-08-2023, 07:50 PM
Bit simplistic really.
Jack Ross was on a horror run. He could have lost the next 20 games in a row after his sacking and he’d still have had a better win % than LJ. Doesn’t mean he should have got it though as we’d have probably been relegated had we allowed that.
Ross wasn’t sacked for his overall record. He was sacked because we were utterly honking when he went, he showed no signs of sorting it, in fact things were continuously getting worse and we were languishing in the bottom 6.
He had that honking record in his last season because in the absence of Magennis, his midfield was the one that started today.
It’s a midfield that has the potential to see off a few managers.
The Wireless
06-08-2023, 07:55 PM
For the life of me I just can’t get my head around the importance of the first 45 minutes at home of a new season and the performance and lack of urgency from an unmotivated team especially after a 6-1 midweek win. I just don’t see the desire, hunger or motivation this manager needs to inspire any outcome. He unfortunately has little edge which most successful managers require to get the best out of his team. What a disappointment.
06-08-2023, 08:01 PM
Bit simplistic really.
Are you sure we were languishing in bottom six? Poor run of form? Absolutely. I thought we were still fairly close to a European spot with games in hand? Might have been bottom six but I don’t think we were languishing in the slightest. Not to mention a cup final ahead of us too.
Hibee Daft
06-08-2023, 08:02 PM
He has had plenty time to get things right.
I think he made a mistake playing Marshall today even with Wollacott being injured.
Id prefer to watch a young keeper make those mistakes than marshall as we know atleast they have a chance to get better. Marshall is only going to get worse with age.
06-08-2023, 08:03 PM
He had that honking record in his last season because in the absence of Magennis, his midfield was the one that started today.
He built that midfield.
It was Ross who moved Newell from a winger/attacking midfielder to being a deep playmaker. It was Ross who signed JDH. It was Ross who gave Campbell his first start.
It was also Ross who signed Magennis for big money on a large contract knowing he was still recovering from a serious injury.
06-08-2023, 08:10 PM
He built that midfield.
It was Ross who moved Newell from a winger/attacking midfielder to being a deep playmaker. It was Ross who signed JDH. It was Ross who gave Campbell his first start.
It was also Ross who signed Magennis for big money on a large contract knowing he was still recovering from a serious injury.
Accept all that but it was also Ross who was stuffed by the club not getting in McGrath? From St. Mirren to help fix the midfield. He asked for him and Mathie didn’t get him. Mathie was emptied soon after. Ross not long after anyway. Ross new there was a problem at least. Since then we seem to think the midfield is fine. In fact two of them have had new deals since.
06-08-2023, 08:12 PM
He built that midfield.
And most have them have turned out great. Jack has just taken a job much higher than Hibs. Such is life.
06-08-2023, 08:13 PM
Nohan Kenneh apparently clear MOTM out on loan today. The evidence stacks up that Lee hasn’t a scooby what he’s doing.
06-08-2023, 08:14 PM
Accept all that but it was also Ross who was stuffed by the club not getting in McGrath? From St. Mirren to help fix the midfield. He asked for him and Mathie didn’t get him. Mathie was emptied soon after. Ross not long after anyway. Ross new there was a problem at least. Since then we seem to think the midfield is fine. In fact two of them have had new deals since.
Tbf there has been little to suggest McGrath would have been the answer.
06-08-2023, 08:14 PM
Not all this Lennon and Ross stuff again. Mon boys, it's over, over, over!
06-08-2023, 08:15 PM
Nohan Kenneh apparently clear MOTM out on loan today. The evidence stacks up that Lee hasn’t a scooby what he’s doing.
Honestly think Kenneh will have a good career at a higher level but never play again for us. All the attributes are there for a 20 year old.
06-08-2023, 08:16 PM
Said it before I’d have kept him. Young guy with scope to develop, yet we punt him on loan to sign Jeggo who Johnson already appears to have decided isn’t good enough.
06-08-2023, 08:18 PM
The fact he considered McGrath the solution isn’t reassuring.
06-08-2023, 08:23 PM
The fact he considered McGrath the solution isn’t reassuring.
Along with his other main target that window McCart.
06-08-2023, 08:25 PM
Your absolutely bang on mate
06-08-2023, 08:27 PM
You just have to look at the Doidge situation to see clearly that Lee Johnson is absolutely clueless..
06-08-2023, 08:29 PM
Not all this Lennon and Ross stuff again. Mon boys, it's over, over, over!
Said it before I’d have kept him. Young guy with scope to develop, yet we punt him on loan to sign Jeggo who Johnson already appears to have decided isn’t good enough.
The game yesterday involved two teams that languished in the bottom half of league 1 last season. Things are not great at Hibs, but lets not kid ourselves that keeping Kenneh would have solved anything.
06-08-2023, 08:30 PM
He won’t get sacked with his mates behind the scenes
A big worry. Seen them out after the derby win last season and very close
06-08-2023, 08:34 PM
What I'd take from it is that you cannot rely on bare stats to give you the full story. The same Jack Ross had a 14% win rate with Dundee United which would make him easily their worst permanent manager ever. The reality is that he's somewhere in the middle of those two contrasting stats.
06-08-2023, 08:38 PM
You just have to look at the Doidge situation to see clearly that Lee Johnson is absolutely clueless..
Whilst I think LJ is clueless, I don’t think Doidge’s situation is a good example.
I think a sizeable number of us thought Doidge was done. And he hardly went out and had a good time on loan last season either.
He seems to be doing his bit to prove a few folk wrong which is a good thing.
06-08-2023, 08:40 PM
Doidge in the last year has been treated like **** IMO. The best thing to do with the loan would have been to make it clear that we'd assess him once he returned to see if he was back to our best, but despite some quite frankly disrespectful chat (IMO) he's stayed loyal to the club, clearly loves it here, and deserves a chance to fight his way back into the team.
06-08-2023, 08:42 PM
I was massively concerned when he blamed the altitude after quick frankly a monumental embarrassment over in Andorra
That's soft as a baby's first **** and reflects somewhat on us as a club at the minute. A bit of fight in the Derby pre split and for a half each against the OF post split but in these games we've been powderpuff for the most part
I'm not saying we need a "shouty" manager but LJ throws around nonsense buzz words when he should have articulated how a result like that is not, nor is it ever acceptable to hibernian football club
I don't know where we go from here, but fear the current direction will have us lost
06-08-2023, 08:42 PM
Whilst I think LJ is clueless, I don’t think Doidge’s situation is a good example.
I think a sizeable number of us thought Doidge was done. And he hardly went out and had a good time on loan last season either.
He seems to be doing his bit to prove a few folk wrong which is a good thing.
Agree. I'm a Doidge fan and not massive on LJ. If anything it shows LJ doesn't hold a grudge and if you prove you're capable he'll keep you around.
06-08-2023, 08:46 PM
He's the definition of fur coat and no knickers IMO.
HendoDelivered
06-08-2023, 08:48 PM
Kenneh and LJ have a bust up and never recovered from it since?
06-08-2023, 08:51 PM
LJ is the reason LJ is failing
Lack of style, good plan b
I bet hibs hadn’t touched moving to 3-5-2 once this week, he’s to full of himself
06-08-2023, 08:52 PM
Kenneh and LJ have a bust up and never recovered from it since?
Don’t think it helped but the chat at the club is they don’t believe Kenneh is good enough on the ball. Which I’d get if they hadn’t then went out and signed Jeggo.
06-08-2023, 08:53 PM
Doidge in the last year has been treated like **** IMO. The best thing to do with the loan would have been to make it clear that we'd assess him once he returned to see if he was back to our best, but despite some quite frankly disrespectful chat (IMO) he's stayed loyal to the club, clearly loves it here, and deserves a chance to fight his way back into the team.
I don’t really think he’s been treated poorly to be honest. He wasn’t in the plans, got loaned out and didn’t do much but has now come back and worked his way back in to the team.
I do think the fact that his contract probably pays him more than he’ll get elsewhere helps with his loyalty. That’s not me questioning his commitment when he’s on the park because that never really been in question.
Mikey_1875
06-08-2023, 08:54 PM
Looking at a reasonable timeline, I think if we are in the bottom 6 when the Derby comes around in October after a favourable run of fixtures then a defeat would see him away.
Unless there is a really horrible run of results I can’t see much moving till then. While i’m not a fan of LJ, we aren’t in any sort of crisis. Yet.
Trinity Hibee
06-08-2023, 08:56 PM
Looking at a reasonable timeline, I think if we are in the bottom 6 when the Derby comes around in October after a favourable run of fixtures then a defeat would see him away.
Unless there is a really horrible run of results I can’t see much moving till then. While i’m not a fan of LJ, we aren’t in any sort of crisis. Yet.
Think you are right. Bottom 6 by that point after the favourable start we have wouldn’t bode well for rest of the season. We can’t afford a slow start.
LJ is the reason LJ is failing
Lack of style, good plan b
I bet hibs hadn’t touched moving to 3-5-2 once this week, he’s to full of himself
Funny you say that. Prior to the midweek game last season at Ibrox they’d practiced beforehand with no Porteous in the team. The first anyone knew about him playing in midfield was when the team was announced.
post match interview now up:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=_DtR3Oyq5a8&fbclid=IwAR1mQHGTEhsylK6kjGV_Ff6fXqPcw2jEbDKAPZAKU P1YFo0q5VQvvQG3nJU
06-08-2023, 09:01 PM
His tactics are identical to Butchers. Balls into the corners, get the defenders facing their own goal and high balls into a big striker. We all know how that ended.
Despite being a wordsmith the tactics are prehistoric.
06-08-2023, 09:03 PM
We won’t ever be in any sort of crisis with him IMO. It’ll just be more of the same. We’ll win games here and there, more than enough to not be in any trouble. But we’ll not threaten in any of the cups, we’ll see more performances like today.
It’s delaying the inevitable but, for me, we’ll delay it for a long time yet.
We have a support determined to get behind us but we’ll lose a lot of them.
06-08-2023, 09:04 PM
post match interview now up:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=_DtR3Oyq5a8&fbclid=IwAR1mQHGTEhsylK6kjGV_Ff6fXqPcw2jEbDKAPZAKU P1YFo0q5VQvvQG3nJU
'We've got to look at ourselves individually in terms of the lads' 😐
Buck passed again.
06-08-2023, 09:05 PM
Find the talk of Doidge being treated badly a bit bizarre. He wasn't doing the business, looked miles off it after injury and quite rightly got loaned out. Now fully fit and starting. Who knows what'll happen to him next. I'm no fan of Johnson but he's done nothing wrong here.
06-08-2023, 09:10 PM
Nohan Kenneh apparently clear MOTM out on loan today. The evidence stacks up that Lee hasn’t a scooby what he’s doing.I didn't need Kenneh having a good game to tell me that. I've got 2 eyes and 2 ears that both function reasonably well.
06-08-2023, 09:10 PM
Find the talk of Doidge being treated badly a bit bizarre. He wasn't doing the business, looked miles off it after injury and quite rightly got loaned out. Now fully fit and starting. Who knows what'll happen to him next. I'm no fan of Johnson but he's done nothing wrong here.
I thought he was finished, looked slower, more awkward and seemed to have lost agility.
He’s clearly been knocking his pan in but the biggest difference in Doidge is that he’s much fitter than he’s been for 2 years. Might have been the covid, might have been the (horrific) Achilles injury but either way it’s been a long recovery period for him.
I’m one of those who thinks Johnson deserves praise for the way he’s handled this. Managed to find someone to take him on loan when it was clear he wasn’t going to be featuring for us then being prepared to give him the 2nd chance that he’s taken.
We should move onto the many things that Johnson deserves to be criticised for…
06-08-2023, 09:12 PM
Don’t think it helped but the chat at the club is they don’t believe Kenneh is good enough on the ball. Which I’d get if they hadn’t then went out and signed Jeggo.
Not good on the ball vs Campbell!😂 His second touch is usually a tackle.
Paulie Walnuts
06-08-2023, 09:13 PM
Did think that.
I don’t rate Kenneh but if the issue is he’s not good enough on the ball then I’m stunned Campbell is anywhere near the team.
06-08-2023, 09:14 PM
Don’t disagree but they value Campbell in other ways.
CL0762
06-08-2023, 09:19 PM
One thing that struck me about today, had the wee man at truckfest for his birthday so missed going.
Watching on Hibs TV, every time and I mean every time the camera panned to Robinson he was at the edge of his area, coaching his players talking to them tactically constantly communicating.
Whenever it panned to Johnson he was either standing with his arms crossed or his hands firmly in his pocket.
I get not all managers are meant to be snarling at the edge of their technical area but in terms of in play management there seemed to ne absolutely none of it from LJ.
Granted I was only watching on tele but it’s quite telling that each time either of them were shown, that’s what they were both doing.
GreenGray
06-08-2023, 09:20 PM
Seems pretty unanimous now that fans want him gone? Whilst some think we won’t sack him it seems like almost everyone wants him sacked.
Paulie Walnuts
06-08-2023, 09:20 PM
Seems pretty unanimous now that fans want him gone? Whilst some think we won’t sack him it seems like almost everyone wants him gone.
I have no doubt we won’t sack him. That’s the depressing thing.
He’s miles out his depth.
Trinity Hibee
06-08-2023, 09:21 PM
Seems pretty unanimous now that fans want him gone? Whilst some think we won’t sack him it seems like almost everyone wants him gone.
That looks the case although as others have said we’d still be left with a large number of players who have seen off the previous 2-3 managers. There is no quick fix to this sadly.
06-08-2023, 09:23 PM
I have no doubt we won’t sack him. That’s the depressing thing.
He’s miles out his depth.
I think we will, eventually the fans will force the board to act. Don’t think it will be any time soon though.
06-08-2023, 09:26 PM
I think we will, eventually the fans will force the board to act. Don’t think it will be any time soon though.
I’m not sure about the fans doing anything to force the board to think as I think we’ll continue to show up and that’s, ultimately, what they’ll look at.
Think we’re in a dangerous place where apathy could set in as the majority of us just expect things to continue as is.
06-08-2023, 09:28 PM
I’m not sure about the fans doing anything to force the board to think as I think we’ll continue to show up and that’s, ultimately, what they’ll look at.
Think we’re in a dangerous place where apathy could set in as the majority of us just expect things to continue as is.
Hibs fans generally get their way when they want a manager gone
jakedance
06-08-2023, 09:31 PM
He’s utterly mediocre. Our midfield is a sackable offense. There just isn’t an excuse for starting your first game of the season, on a lovely day and a perfect pitch, like we did today.
I know deep down that constantly changing managers isn’t the answer, that our problems are bigger than that, but LJ isn’t a good manager and he’s getting sacked eventually so they might as well just get on with it.
06-08-2023, 09:32 PM
I think he’ll go on one of his runs and it will reach a point where the fans make it clear they want him gone. I know it’s not a reflection of the whole support but I don’t personally know one single person who likes him.
06-08-2023, 09:34 PM
I absolutely live the big guy . His level of commitment alone makes you want him to do well. Id have him in my squad , he provides something we need to utilise in certain games at certain times , that said was worrying how often we took the long ball option today. For me , Doidge hasn’t been treated or handled very well by the manager and I think that will ripple amongst the playing staff. He done something similar with Hanlon when he came in , to then end up playing him every week. One thing is for certain and for me means the end for Lee Johnson , he is still playing a midfield 3 of Newell , Doyle Hayes , Campbell after god knows how long and a good opportunity to sort out.
06-08-2023, 09:39 PM
I think he’ll go on one of his runs and it will reach a point where the fans make it clear they want him gone. I know it’s not a reflection of the whole support but I don’t personally know one single person who likes him.
Similarly, nobody I know has much time for him. I think most people were sick of the managerial upheaval and wanted to give him a chance. But it’s always been more based on that than anything we’ve actually seen from him.
06-08-2023, 09:45 PM
Similarly, nobody I know has much time for him. I think most people were sick of the managerial upheaval and wanted to give him a chance. But it’s always been more based on that than anything we’ve actually seen from him.
Tbh, though it maybe says something about me, I can’t remember us ever wanting to stick with a manager we ended up sacking. I’m always hopeful that we appoint someone better.
I'm Spartacus
06-08-2023, 09:53 PM
The fact we know this is something that actually exists says it all.
The Wireless
06-08-2023, 10:16 PM
Honestly think Kenneh will have a good career at a higher level but never play again for us. All the attributes are there for a 20 year old.
I am not of the same opinion. He is Shrewsbury level.
06-08-2023, 10:22 PM
I was firmly in the we cant keep sacking managers camp. But for 60 minutes today we were absolutely abysmal, ragdolled all over the park by a team who were organised and worked hard. This league is full of teams who are organised and work hard, because that is how you compete in the Scottish premiership on a limited budget.
To be a cut above that you have to make your tactics and the quality you have on the park make being organised and working hard not enough .... this manager simply struggles with that concept ... I can't think of a single reason not to sack him.
06-08-2023, 10:40 PM
Good level for a 20 year old. Half of our league is that level.
One thing that struck me about today, had the wee man at truckfest for his birthday so missed going.
Watching on Hibs TV, every time and I mean every time the camera panned to Robinson he was at the edge of his area, coaching his players talking to them tactically constantly communicating.
Whenever it panned to Johnson he was either standing with his arms crossed or his hands firmly in his pocket.
I get not all managers are meant to be snarling at the edge of their technical area but in terms of in play management there seemed to ne absolutely none of it from LJ.
Granted I was only watching on tele but it’s quite telling that each time either of them were shown, that’s what they were both doing.
That's exactly how it was, save that he also spent periods sitting down in the dugout with his chin in his hands- as if trying to disassociate himself from the shambles on the pitch. When ALF scored, his first reaction was to turn and give a GIRUY to some fans in the West Lower who had been giving it to him tight.
06-08-2023, 10:58 PM
I can't see how he sees out the season.
I'm sick and tired of watching performances like that, the team is a reflection of the manager and there's nothing about it.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-08-2023, 11:00 PM
That's exactly how it was, save that he also spent periods sitting down in the dugout with his chin in his hands- as if trying to disassociate himself from the shambles on the pitch. When ALF scored, his first reaction was to turn and give a GIRUY to some fans in the West Lower who had been giving it to him tight.
Should be punted for that alone, shan patter that
Stubbs 58.00*
Ross 48.96
Mowbray 48.15
Lennon 47.97*
McLeish 47.24*
Collins 42.59
Johnson 39.53
Williamson 37.36
Fenlon 35.63
Yogi 35.19
Heckingbottom 34.38
Maloney 31.58
Mixu 30.65
Calderwood 24.49
Butcher 20.69
McLeish's top flight percentage is 38.58% and Lennon's is 45.98%.
Of the 21 permanent managers in the top flight since Turnbull, Johnson has the 6th best percentage (after today's result), behind Ross, Mowbray, Lennon, Ormond and Collins. 😮
Silky
06-08-2023, 11:23 PM
Which is a fairly regular occurrence. We've been through so many in my lifetime that I'm genuinely surprised we don't employ managers on a 1 year contract.
07-08-2023, 04:19 AM
Nohan Kenneh Man of the Match for Shrewsbury Town yesterday
Makes you wonder if LJ knows what he is doing?
And what level is Shrewsbury? EFL1 and do you think Hibs are better than that level because if we played in their championship we'd be relegation candidates, EFL 1 is our level, that's the sad fact of the matter.
HarpOnHibee
07-08-2023, 05:16 AM
McLeish's top flight percentage is 38.58% and Lennon's is 45.98%.
Of the 21 permanent managers in the top flight since Turnbull, Johnson has the 6th best percentage (after today's result), behind Ross, Mowbray, Lennon, Ormond and Collins. 😮
Which would suggest that he's pretty bang average as far as Hibs managers go. But when you consider the horrors that were Butcher and Calderwood, being bang average isn't really saying much.
thebausburst
07-08-2023, 05:31 AM
Kenneh is gash, slower than a week in Saughton
Bridge hibs
07-08-2023, 05:47 AM
Fair enough and well done to him but how many MOM awards did he get for Ross County ? Genuine question Billy, Im not being arsey. I saw highlights of Nohan when he played at County and he looked distinctly average, certainly not a standout and moreso not any performances that would improve our brutally weak midfield
We need better in that engine room, much better
07-08-2023, 05:58 AM
What does Hanlon bring to the table as captain? Was disappointed when he got it and still think he's a player that needs replaced. You're not allowed to criticise Hanlon and Stevenson though. The two consistents in multiple manager sackings.
07-08-2023, 06:03 AM
Fair enough and well done to him but how many MOM awards did he get for Ross County ? Genuine question Billy, Im not being arsey. I saw highlights of Nohan when he played at County and he looked distinctly average, certainly not a standout and moreso not any performances that would improve our brutally weak midfield
We need better in that engine room, much better
He won MoM in a 3-0 home win over Kilmarnock for the Staggies 28/1/23
I take the OP’s point that he is slow and his passing for me is not of the quality we need
I do have an open mind he is only 20 and I did think there was improvement at Ross County
Will continue to follow his progress at Shrewsbury and not writing him off just yet
andyf5
07-08-2023, 06:15 AM
What does Hanlon bring to the table as captain? Was disappointed when he got it and still think he's a player that needs replaced. You're not allowed to criticise Hanlon and Stevenson though. The two consistents in multiple manager sackings.
Criticise performances but the fact that Stevenson has been first choice for 13 managers, who know a good player, is evidence enough for me. Who would you have as captain? Maybe I proved your point at not being allowed to criticise them. 🤔
07-08-2023, 06:16 AM
Yip, even when they are wrong.:rolleyes:
seanshow
07-08-2023, 06:26 AM
Yip, even when they are wrong.:rolleyes:
The fickle fan, it's all or nothing. :greengrin
the_ginger_hibee
07-08-2023, 06:46 AM
Criticise performances but the fact that Stevenson has been first choice for 13 managers, who know a good player, is evidence enough for me. Who would you have as captain? Maybe I proved your point at not being allowed to criticise them. 🤔
Out of those 13 managers that you trust so much, how many were sacked or mutually consented? Would indicate their judgement was flawed at least a little.
Also, we sold his replacement, who was already better than Lewis & first choice at 19. It's no indication of his quality that we've never signed or retained a competent replacement. More of a slight on our poor recruitment. Lewis is not good enough and is getting worse, it's just a fact you cannot play at the highest level forever even if you're the best around (which he never has been).
Bridge hibs
07-08-2023, 06:55 AM
I take the OP’s point that he is slow and his passing for me is not of the quality we need
I do have an open mind he is only 20 and I did think there was improvement at Ross County
Will continue to follow his progress at Shrewsbury and not writing him off just yetCheers Billy and I agree mate 👍
07-08-2023, 06:59 AM
Cheers Billy and I agree mate 👍
👍
07-08-2023, 07:07 AM
There’s no connection to him. I mind him trying to celebrate beating hearts on the pitch and it was genuinely a David brent moment. He then came up to the bar after the game trying to lap it up and folks were desperate for him to F off. He’s done nothing to endear himself to the fans, he’s a slaver, he can’t pick a football team and he certainly has no tactical plan. Get him as far away from my club as possible.
JammyDoidger
07-08-2023, 07:10 AM
Managers have tried to bring in better and failed, that's not because Stevensons been brilliant it's because the ones brought in have been garbage. The fact hes still playing under his 13th manager is due to poor recruitment, he's coming to the end he should not be starting for Hibs now. Don't get me wrong I've nothing against Stevenson, Infact the opposite I admire him, but he's not the answer now, everyone can see it. Plays with one foot, turns back at the halfway line most of the time and will not go past a man, if he does find himself in a crossing position 9/10 it's a poorly hit cross.
07-08-2023, 07:20 AM
Have never seen a manager have to change the team around early in a game so often as he has.
07-08-2023, 07:26 AM
Have never seen a manager have to change the team around early in a game so often as he has.
I know I’ll get pelters for this but having got the starting line up wrong, I thought he deserved credit for making the necessary changes when he did.
9/10 managers would be stubborn and stick with the team they picked at least until half time…
07-08-2023, 07:31 AM
He's probably got two games to save his job. A heavy defeat on Thursday followed by a loss at Motherwell will see him under massive pressure. We signed 9 players in the summer but he played only two who were on loan here last season in his starting 11. The midfield trio of JC, JDH and JN does not work. We all know that but he constantly picks it. Hibs have no plan other than a long ball up to Doidge or over the top. Our club looks like its went backwards after spending the most money, in recent times, on making the team worse.
07-08-2023, 07:32 AM
I know I’ll get pelters for this but having got the starting line up wrong, I thought he deserved credit for making the necessary changes when he did.
9/10 managers would be stubborn and stick with the team they picked at least until half time…
He would if it wasn't about the 6th or 7th time he has been forced to do this either before or during half time.
Key West
07-08-2023, 07:37 AM
Your posts have been realistic and constructive.
07-08-2023, 07:38 AM
We’d have lost by about 6 or 7 without them yesterday.
07-08-2023, 07:40 AM
We’d have lost by about 6 or 7 without them yesterday.
You do realise we could have brought other people in and not just played with 9 men?
07-08-2023, 07:40 AM
90 pages on this thread and he’s still here :faf:
07-08-2023, 07:41 AM
Aye I reckon the 5 subs rule allows managers to change quicker than before
07-08-2023, 07:51 AM
When the fixtures came out, I honestly thought we'd be knocking on the top of the league come the end of September. Now I just hope we're not struggling at the bottom when that horrendous run of fixtures hits us in October. I've no confidence in the man, or the team at present. We look like a team full of strangers who can't seem to do the basics properly, I get the feeling training is rubbish and the players don't enjoy it by the looks of them on a matchday.
07-08-2023, 07:52 AM
You do realise we could have brought other people in and not just played with 9 men?
But do you think they were poor yesterday. They both made loads of important tackles. Even when massively exposed for 60 mins.
JamesHFC
07-08-2023, 07:55 AM
When the fixtures came out, I honestly thought we'd be knocking on the top of the league come the end of September. Now I just hope we're not struggling at the bottom when that horrendous run of fixtures hits us in October. I've no confidence in the man, or the team at present. We look like a team full of strangers who can't seem to do the basics properly, I get the feeling training is rubbish and the players don't enjoy it by the looks of them on a matchday.
Same. Now looking at Motherwell & Aberdeen away in the coming weeks lacking optimism.
Livi & Raith at home are must wins this month.
07-08-2023, 07:55 AM
But do you think they were poor yesterday. They both made loads of important tackles. Even when massively exposed for 60 mins.
They were mediocre.
The problem is we never get round to replacing them because we are too busy fighting fires elsewhere in the team.
Nowadays they are nothing slower than a weekend in the jail.
07-08-2023, 07:56 AM
Tbf he’s playing at a similar level to where we signed Obita from and how bad was he yesterday
07-08-2023, 08:00 AM
And this is another example of why by and large none of us can take to him. He’s a compete and utter self absorbed fanny who takes zero responsibility for the shambles he’s setting us up as. He should have been away six months ago, get him to **** now
Bridge hibs
07-08-2023, 08:11 AM
Tbf he’s playing at a similar level to where we signed Obita from and how bad was he yesterday
Obita played in the English championship with Wycombe though so not really the same level, granted they got relegated but still has decent experience at a level higher than ours
Will continue to follow his progress at Shrewsbury and not writing him off just yet
So which is it? Should he be playing for Hibs or not?
Greenworld
07-08-2023, 08:19 AM
I wonder what Brian Mcdermott thinks of it all.
As Director of Football would the sacking of LJ not fall to him
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Mainstandman
07-08-2023, 08:26 AM
He's probably got two games to save his job. A heavy defeat on Thursday followed by a loss at Motherwell will see him under massive pressure. We signed 9 players in the summer but he played only two who were on loan here last season in his starting 11. The midfield trio of JC, JDH and JN does not work. We all know that but he constantly picks it. Hibs have no plan other than a long ball up to Doidge or over the top. Our club looks like its went backwards after spending the most money, in recent times, on making the team worse.
Fells like its been like that for the last few months. gets a result to keep him in the job then the next one is garbage
07-08-2023, 08:36 AM
They were mediocre.
The problem is we never get round to replacing them because we are too busy fighting fires elsewhere in the team.
Nowadays they are nothing slower than a weekend in the jail.
I honestly don't see this, even though I know the day is coming when they will be.
You'll occasionally see Youan roast players for pace because he's so quick, I'm expecting to see players roar past Hanlon and Stevenson because they're old and done but it doesn't happen.
There was one point when someone played a hopeless pass to Stevenson up by the byeline that was really a lost cause. It was one of the occasional where you get to see what he's got running full pelt and tbh I was very impressed. He didn't look like a 36 year old who is done to me.
I accept that the day will come and that their positions should be under as much scrutiny as everybody else's after a terrible performance and result but I just don't accept that they were the problem yesterday at all.
07-08-2023, 09:00 AM
We play Raith in 13 days. There's a good chance we lose the 3 games prior to this
I said pre season he could be gone if we lose the Raith game. Failure to beat Motherwell and a battering from Luzern will see LJ under monumental pressure ahead of RR game
Paulie Walnuts
07-08-2023, 09:04 AM
We play Raith in 13 days. There's a good chance we lose the 3 games prior to this
I said pre season he could be gone if we lose the Raith game. Failure to beat Motherwell and a battering from Luzern will see LJ under monumental pressure ahead of RR game
He shouldn’t get the Raith game if we lose to both Luzern and Motherwell.
07-08-2023, 09:05 AM
He shouldn’t get the Raith game if we lose to both Luzern and Motherwell.
I wholeheartedly agree, but don't think the board would actually as decisively. RR loss would be significant enough to punt surely
07-08-2023, 09:10 AM
I think if we go out to Luzern AND lose to Motherwell he’ll be away.
JamesHFC
07-08-2023, 09:14 AM
I think if we go out to Luzern AND lose to Motherwell he’ll be away.
Personally think he would get longer than that. Until at least the Hearts game in October.
07-08-2023, 09:22 AM
It wouldn't surprise me if he beat Motherwell and knocked out Luzern though.
07-08-2023, 09:27 AM
He must have been scratching his head at how poor we were in the first half. It's not as if he tells the players to go out and be ****. That starting line-up should have been good enough to beat St Mirren at home. He shouldn't have to be changing things so early. I'm honestly at a loss as to why we were so poor. You could argue we were looking the more likely team to win at 2-2 but we didn't. We lost. Two failures in one game after getting ourselves back into it from 0-2 down. I may have brushed it off as just one of those games but off the back of losing in Andorra it's concerning. The buck stops with the manager at the end of the day but the players aren't doing enough either.
Said it a couple of times but the money we've spent should result in less excuses for the manager. We need to be beating St Mirren at home. Even a drew would have been a poor result. That's the pressure he's under. It needs to change and it needs to change quickly.
Bushwoof
07-08-2023, 09:29 AM
I'm sure all those calling for LJ's head wouldn't be doing so if we'd won yesterday as we could well have done, despite the dreadful first half.
And those slating his midfield selection were probably among the cheerleaders when we signed Levitt, who seems to be just Euan Henderson without the CL goal to his name.
St Mirren were a decent side last year, and their no 20 was a class above anyone else on the park. We have no right to expect to win every match. Shouting for the manager to be sacked after 1 game is nonsense.
07-08-2023, 09:31 AM
I wonder what Brian Mcdermott thinks of it all.
As Director of Football would the sacking of LJ not fall to him
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
No they both report to CEO unfortunately
GreenGray
07-08-2023, 09:34 AM
I'm sure all those calling for LJ's head wouldn't be doing so if we'd won yesterday as we could well have done, despite the dreadful first half.
And those slating his midfield selection were probably among the cheerleaders when we signed Levitt, who seems to be just Euan Henderson without the CL goal to his name.
St Mirren were a decent side last year, and their no 20 was a class above anyone else on the park. We have no right to expect to win every match. Shouting for the manager to be sacked after 1 game is nonsense.
We didn't win though?
It is not just 1 game either it is after last season and how we have started so far.
Paulie Walnuts
07-08-2023, 09:35 AM
We didn’t win and we deservedly got beat, so I’m not sure arguing if we’d won then we wouldn’t be doing it makes any real sense.
As for sacked after 1 game, it was his 46th.
07-08-2023, 09:36 AM
We didn't win though?
It is not just 1 game either it is after last season and how we have started so far.
Last season we qualified for europe and so far this season we’ve got through our first European tie.
Not saying LJ is the man to take us forward but it’s easy to see how people view things differently.
Stokesy's on fire
07-08-2023, 09:38 AM
This. Its early days but so far Levitt looks very poor and that lame attempt to close down the saints player at yesterdays game gives me cause for concern at least he enjoyed a little jog though.
07-08-2023, 09:40 AM
Slagging Levitt after less than one game is a nonsense.
He’ll easily be seen as our best midfielder by the time we play hearts.
07-08-2023, 09:45 AM
He must have been scratching his head at how poor we were in the first half. It's not as if he tells the players to go out and be ****. That starting line-up should have been good enough to beat St Mirren at home. He shouldn't have to be changing things so early. I'm honestly at a loss as to why we were so poor. You could argue we were looking the more likely team to win at 2-2 but we didn't. We lost. Two failures in one game after getting ourselves back into it from 0-2 down. I may have brushed it off as just one of those games but off the back of losing in Andorra it's concerning. The buck stops with the manager at the end of the day but the players aren't doing enough either.
Said it a couple of times but the money we've spent should result in less excuses for the manager. We need to be beating St Mirren at home. Even a drew would have been a poor result. That's the pressure he's under. It needs to change and it needs to change quickly.
It’s not that the players aren’t doing enough, it’s that a number of them aren’t capable of doing any more be it individually or collectively.
How many times do we need to see that terrible midfield trio to know that it doesn’t work together. He hung a young guy out to dry at right back. The warning signs were there last Thursday even if he showed great enthusiasm. On the other side we have a 36 year old who’s best days are long gone. Similar between the sticks.
To have signed the number of players and spent the amount of money we did then largely field the type of team that cost Jack Ross his job in 2021 is an absolute disgrace.
We will win enough games to keep him safe IMO as over the course of the season we will get enough individual moments from the likes of Boyle and Youan and our centre forwards will score goals as well.
But the lack of structure behind them and apparent lack of any plan at outset stops squarely with the manager. You can be a bit emotional at or after the game but looking back on it this morning it is even more apparent to me that Johnson is not the guy to take us forward. I don’t see us ever being anything different to what we currently are with him in charge. He’s making a mess of an absolutely brilliant opportunity we have given the resources and backing from the stands we are currently getting.
#2 Double Tap
07-08-2023, 09:46 AM
it aint after one game. this is an on going issue. has been since the league cup last year.
Bushwoof
07-08-2023, 09:48 AM
I hope so. Haven't seen anything to suggest that might happen so far though. As I said, he doesn't seem to be any different to Henderson.
I'm not one for slagging players generally, but after all the hype on here about Levitt I was expecting to see something. Baccus looked a far better player - there was talk of us going after him, and I'm thinking we would have been better off if we had.
Last season we qualified for europe and so far this season we’ve got through our first European tie.
Not saying LJ is the man to take us forward but it’s easy to see how people view things differently.
Which I think is closer to how the board will assess it. Probably correct they do because if they looked upon such matters with the most negative slant we'd get through a few managers each season.
I reckon he'll get until the end of the 1st round of fixtures, unless we've picked up next to no points in the 1st half dozen or so league games.
07-08-2023, 09:53 AM
I hope so. Haven't seen anything to suggest that might happen so far though. As I said, he doesn't seem to be any different to Henderson.
I'm not one for slagging players generally, but after all the hype on here about Levitt I was expecting to see something. Baccus looked a far better player - there was talk of us going after him, and I'm thinking we would have been better off if we had.
He's a class above Henderson.
I think Henderson could still be a player unfortunately for him just not at Hibs
07-08-2023, 09:57 AM
We didn’t win and we deservedly got beat, so I’m not sure arguing if we’d won then we wouldn’t be doing it makes any real sense.
As for sacked after 1 game, it was his 46th.
Spot on. His team, his tactics, his signings, his style, his coaching, his leadership. He’s culpable not just because of performances like yesterday but also because there’s little to no discernible improvement and because the high-press high-tempo game he promised is - after all this time - still non-existent.
Edinburgh Green
07-08-2023, 09:58 AM
I hope so, however I thought he was borderline hiding. Wasn't looking to get on the ball or try and create.
07-08-2023, 10:03 AM
It’s not that the players aren’t doing enough, it’s that a number of them aren’t capable of doing any more be it individually or collectively.
How many times do we need to see that terrible midfield trio to know that it doesn’t work together. He hung a young guy out to dry at right back. The warning signs were there last Thursday even if he showed great enthusiasm. On the other side we have a 36 year old who’s best days are long gone. Similar between the sticks.
To have signed the number of players and spent the amount of money we did then largely field the type of team that cost Jack Ross his job in 2021 is an absolute disgrace.
We will win enough games to keep him safe IMO as over the course of the season we will get enough individual moments from the likes of Boyle and Youan and our centre forwards will score goals as well.
But the lack of structure behind them and apparent lack of any plan at outset stops squarely with the manager. You can be a bit emotional at or after the game but looking back on it this morning it is even more apparent to me that Johnson is not the guy to take us forward. I don’t see us ever being anything different to what we currently are with him in charge. He’s making a mess of an absolutely brilliant opportunity we have given the resources and backing from the stands we are currently getting.
This post should be pinned and resurrected at various points during the season ‘cos I’m sure in a few weeks/months we’ll be saying the same things.
I like both Lewis and Paul Hanlon, but time was was eventually going to catch up with them. While I don’t feel it’s got there yet with the latter sad to say it’s looking that way with the former. It’s crazy that he’s still our first choice left back again when two seasons ago we’d replaced him with Doig. Maybe the plan is to have Obita replace him, but I’m not convinced of his defensive qualities. And don’t get me started on the right back position. If Johnson doesn’t feel Miller is the answer then why the F didn’t he bring in a replacement. It’s maybe not sexy, but get your defence sorted first and build from there.
hhibs
07-08-2023, 10:05 AM
In my opinion too,your points IMO are well made and on the button .
07-08-2023, 10:12 AM
He will continue to tell us about this amazing way he wants us to play, but we have never seen so far in a whole year of his management.
high press lots of energy, doesn't describe any of our performances, even when we win and play well it's not playing that way.
It's his job to make sure the players are motivated, if it wasn't then we wouldn't have managers and just send the players out there to get on with it as they see fit. There are only so many times you can blame the players for not being ready/up for it before it looks more like a coaching staff/management problem than a player problem.
hhibs
07-08-2023, 10:14 AM
This post should be pinned and resurrected at various points during the season ‘cos I’m sure in a few weeks/months we’ll be saying the same things.
I like both Lewis and Paul Hanlon, but time was was eventually going to catch up with them. While I don’t feel it’s got there yet with the latter sad to say it’s looking that way with the former. It’s crazy that he’s still our first choice left back again when two seasons ago we’d replaced him with Doig. Maybe the plan is to have Obita replace him, but I’m not convinced of his defensive qualities. And don’t get me started on the right back position. If Johnson doesn’t feel Miller is the answer then why the F didn’t he bring in a replacement. It’s maybe not sexy, but get your defence sorted first and build from there.
On the Miller front, who knows,maybe carrying a knock or ,and this a shocking reflection on my view of LJ,he has had a fall out with Miller or even more likely it just his continuation of team selection and tactics bingo with no rationale.
07-08-2023, 10:17 AM
Only last week 25 people on the site said they were very happy with Johnson. I’ve yet to read a single post from anyone after yesterday saying they are still fully behind him. Has the tide changed is it case of not wanting to post for fear of being shouted down by those of us who have had enough of him ?
07-08-2023, 10:22 AM
I agree with your post. I've been an avid supporter of LJ during his time here but this isn't a transitional season now, it's his team and he needs to deliver. We had a great start to the season handed to us and we've lost. I was naively chuckling at Aberdeen's draw on Saturday as well. A huge opportunity missed to hit the ground running. Not good enough.
07-08-2023, 10:23 AM
We seem to be seeing all of the same issues that were flagged to us by Bristol City and Sunderland fans when he joined. His team selections are mental until he can get a settled side that wins a few in a row. Soon as we lose or perform poorly he’ll rip it up and go again then it’s rinse and repeat. There doesn’t seem to be any real thought put into building this squad, it’s still all over the shop.
07-08-2023, 10:26 AM
Only last week 25 people on the site said they were very happy with Johnson. I’ve yet to read a single post from anyone after yesterday saying they are still fully behind him. Has the tide changed is it case of not wanting to post for fear of being shouted down by those of us who have had enough of him ?
Not sure if this is relevant to your point or not but i wonder if we are better suited to playing against better teams so we can hit them on the counter attack.
The reason I’m mentioning this now is that despite us being as bad as we were yesterday, we might get a result because of this on Thursday, at which point the pitch forks will be away again.
07-08-2023, 10:40 AM
Not sure if this is relevant to your point or not but i wonder if we are better suited to playing against better teams so we can hit them on the counter attack.
The reason I’m mentioning this now is that despite us being as bad as we were yesterday, we might get a result because of this on Thursday, at which point the pitch forks will be away again.
Our pace up top should cause teams trouble, but our fullbacks worry me. Got to admit I know heehaw about Thursday’s opponents but if they have pacy wingers, especially someone who could target our right back position then we could be in trouble.
07-08-2023, 10:41 AM
I think people are really reactionary in light of a bad result. Rangers also had one. We're not immune.
The players sent out are capable of better. Johnson picks the team but he can't play the game for them. If he didn't start Boyle after the impact his return had then he'd have been crucified on here. Instead he is crucified because Boyle is still not fully recovered from injury.
We all want better but you have to play your way into the season. How can we judge this season's team when Nisbet's replacement hasn't got a work permit yet alone a few games to get up to speed?
If nobody wants a transitional season then don't change the manager. That is a vote for transition. Get Vente playing, get Boyle fit, get Levitt contributing to the level he promises, then see where we are.
07-08-2023, 10:44 AM
I think people are really reactionary in light of a bad result. Rangers also had one. We're not immune.
The players sent out are capable of better. Johnson picks the team but he can't play the game for them. If he didn't start Boyle after the impact his return had then he'd have been crucified on here. Instead he is crucified because Boyle is still not fully recovered from injury.
We all want better but you have to play your way into the season. How can we judge this season's team when Nisbet's replacement hasn't got a work permit yet alone a few games to get up to speed?
If nobody wants a transitional season then don't change the manager. That is a vote for transition. Get Vente playing, get Boyle fit, get Levitt contributing to the level he promises, then see where we are.
Playing our way into a season left us out the league cup last year and having to play catch up on Hearts which led to us falling short. Don’t think that’s a great template to keep following?
07-08-2023, 10:47 AM
The players sent out are capable of better
Seeing this a lot but are they really? Did we get anything different to what we expected from that midfield three? Had Delefierre shown much to suggest he was a right back or were the warning signs there the other night? Are we likely to get more from the likes of Stevenson at his age?
The attacking players, belatedly, got in to the game and did their bit. The rest of the team didn’t and it’s, predominantly, because we’re continuing with players who aren’t really that good, be it collectively or individually.
Paulie Walnuts
07-08-2023, 10:47 AM
I don’t think anyone’s cares whether it’s a transitional season or not. We want success, it’s that simple.
Aberdeen voted for a transitional season last season, they sacked their manager, instantly became better and got group stage European football.
07-08-2023, 10:48 AM
A lot of what you say is fair enough, but up front isn’t really the issue for me. It’s the defence and midfield the issues lie and I’m not convinced we’ve addressed that (though I have high hopes for Levitt.) It would be great if we get some decent money if Doig is sold allowing us to bring in a few more players and while many will disagree I’d sell Campbell if we get a decent offer.
07-08-2023, 10:49 AM
I’ve already said I would. Prior to the home euro Tue last week a minimum requirement was to progress in Europe and a performance if not result yesterday. We beat the part timers handsomely but failed to perform yesterday.,it’s just not good enough., Even had we nicked the winner yesterday instead of them we should be replacing the manager.,
He's the definition of fur coat and no knickers IMO.Without the fur coat.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
07-08-2023, 10:51 AM
A lot of what you say is fair enough, but up front isn’t really the issue for me. It’s the defence and midfield the issues lie and I’m not convinced we’ve addressed that (though I have high hopes for Levitt.) It would be great if we get some decent money if Doig is sold allowing us to bring in a few more players and while many will disagree I’d sell Campbell if we get a decent offer.
I’m not even sure the defence is a “huge” problem. Address that midfield balance, motivate properly and I think we will win far more than we lose.
McGruber
07-08-2023, 10:51 AM
I think a lot of frustration comes from 1st game in the league and after a summer to get ready and some £2million spent we felt under cooked.
Marshall in goals - got progressively worse as last season went on.
Stevenson left back - hummed and hawed before giving 1 year extension.
Delferriere right back - young centre mid from development side
Doidge upfont - openly being trying to punt him for over a year.
Midfield trio Newell, JDH & Campbell - same as it was 2 seasons ago.
Mitigating circumstances granted but still. 5 new signings on the bench but no new faces starting.
Then the coaching - we look like 11 individuals whereas St Mirren looked like a well drilled team. Exception for Doidge & ALF who linked up really well for 30 mins.
Last Minute
07-08-2023, 10:52 AM
If Ron bless his soul was with us LJ would be well gone. :agree:
07-08-2023, 10:55 AM
Why is it a vote for transition? Aberdeen changed manager after a couple of utter hidings and managed to turn struggling for top 6 into a 3rd place finish.
Cat Stanton
07-08-2023, 10:55 AM
This. Its early days but so far Levitt looks very poor and that lame attempt to close down the saints player at yesterdays game gives me cause for concern at least he enjoyed a little jog though.
Levitt wasn't brilliant, but in the manager's appalling hoofball tactics, he still stood out as someone who clearly wants to bring the ball down and play it on the ground.
07-08-2023, 10:57 AM
I’m not even sure the defence is a “huge” problem. Address that midfield balance, motivate properly and I think we will win far more than we lose.
The fullbacks worry me tbh, right back in particular.
07-08-2023, 10:59 AM
The fullbacks worry me tbh, right back in particular.
This is why our recruitment in the defence makes no sense to me. He clearly doesn’t trust Miller but we’ve not signed anyone else. Obita doesn’t seem to be an out and out left back so we’re left with Stevenson. Still no left sided competition signed for Hanlon.
07-08-2023, 11:00 AM
I see this a lot when results like yesterday happen but when you look at the goals it's rarely ever they two at fault for them. If anything Fish has been caught out for 2 of the 3 goals yesterday and the overall feeling of people would probably be to say they prefer Fish to Hanlon.
I agree that Lewis should be the back up left back (there isn't many better options to have still behind someone who is the clear starter imo) and Paul at 33/34 is starting to show some signs of pace decline. But the two are still very capable for my money at this level this season.
07-08-2023, 11:00 AM
Playing our way into a season left us out the league cup last year and having to play catch up on Hearts which led to us falling short. Don’t think that’s a great template to keep following?
When you sell players and sign new ones what other template is there? It would be nice to have arrived on day one but not realistic.
The other template we keep following is sack the boss and sign a new team. It also doesn't work.
If what we saw against St Mirren was all we got from Johnson's hibs then he'd have been long gone. Better performances than that got us 5th and in Europe last season. That buys time for me.
We're on the back foot after that result and the Raith game looks tricky for a team showing patchy form. That's the challenge. I'm keeping the faith and expecting us to dig a couple of results out.
07-08-2023, 11:02 AM
When you sell players and sign new ones what other template is there? It would be nice to have arrived on day one but not realistic.
The other template we keep following is sack the boss and sign a new team. It also doesn't work.
If what we saw against St Mirren was all we got from Johnson's hibs then he'd have been long gone. Better performances than that got us 5th and in Europe last season. That buys time for me.
We're on the back foot after that result and the Raith game looks tricky for a team showing patchy form. That's the challenge. I'm keeping the faith and expecting us to dig a couple of results out.
How many other teams did not have a single new face starting at the weekend?
Cat Stanton
07-08-2023, 11:04 AM
Reasonable points. But can I ask (and I'm not having a go) were you there yesterday? I find some people who defend the status quo haven't been at particular games. Yesterday was so, so dismal. The ineptitude of the formation (Delferriere etc), the midfield trio we all know doesn't work, the lacklustre, unmotivated, start (which extended into the whole first half) and - especially - the appalling hoofball tactics (wtf actually are the tactics - knock it about the back, then get Fish or Hanlon or Stevenson to punt it long?) - it was all so dire. But sadly not remotely surprising because we've seen it before. Because he's a manager who simply isn't good at his job.
07-08-2023, 11:04 AM
This is why our recruitment in the defence makes no sense to me. He clearly doesn’t trust Miller but we’ve not signed anyone else. Obita doesn’t seem to be an out and out left back so we’re left with Stevenson. Still no left sided competition signed for Hanlon.
:agree: Obviously we can’t replace everyone who needs replacing but we’ve clearly prioritised other positions. The chat I heard was Miller was supposed to be our starting right back this season with Megwa back up, yet we seemed to have chucked those plans out the window already.
07-08-2023, 11:09 AM
:agree: Obviously we can’t replace everyone who needs replacing but we’ve clearly prioritised other positions. The chat I heard was Miller was supposed to be our starting right back this season with Megwa back up, yet we seemed to have chucked those plans out the window already.
Was Miller not injured pre-season v Europa FC? My understanding is that he has missed a fair bit of training and that he's working his way up to match fitness?
Either way, full back yesterday (left and right) was a huge concern.
07-08-2023, 11:10 AM
You don't sack a manager after one game of the new season. Regardless of his levels of slaverism.
New manager seems appealing, because you think it's a silver bullet but it's a backwards step until the benefits outweigh the (significant) negatives.
His choice of trainers alone buys him until Oct!
You make a good point (trainers aside), but it's actually three games into the new season.
So far the opposition has been St Mirren, and two games against a part-time team from Andorra and we've managed to lose two out of three.
07-08-2023, 11:11 AM
Was Miller not injured pre-season v Europa FC? My understanding is that he has missed a fair bit of training and that he's working his way up to match fitness?
What was the excuse with Miller last season? He’s barely played in over a year and hasn’t looked very good when he does play?
07-08-2023, 11:12 AM
I don’t know tbh but he was on the bench yesterday and was sent to warm up suggesting he could come on.
07-08-2023, 11:13 AM
But the lack of structure behind them and apparent lack of any plan at outset stops squarely with the manager. You can be a bit emotional at or after the game but looking back on it this morning it is even more apparent to me that Johnson is not the guy to take us forward. I don’t see us ever being anything different to what we currently are with him in charge. He’s making a mess of an absolutely brilliant opportunity we have given the resources and backing from the stands we are currently getting.Right on the money[emoji106]
07-08-2023, 11:13 AM
How many other teams did not have a single new face starting at the weekend?
I probably won't count them all. Rangers, Aberdeen, and ourselves struggled with theirs. Hearts laboured against a St Johnstone team that have been dire in the league cup. A couple of examples, without looking too hard, of teams that haven't flown out of the traps.
We've got through one two-legged Euro tie without things really clicking and we need a reaction to a poor league start. That is the situation as I see it. Not quite time for a managerial change.
07-08-2023, 11:15 AM
You make a good point (trainers aside), but it's actually three games into the new season.
So far the opposition has been St Mirren, and two games against a part-time team from Andorra and we've managed to lose two out of three.
The knives aren’t out for Johnson based purely on the start to this season and I’m pretty sure even those who are still confident he’s the answer get that. It’s just a repeat of things we’ve seen from him since he was first appointed.
07-08-2023, 11:15 AM
I probably won't count them all. Rangers, Aberdeen, and ourselves struggled with theirs. Hearts laboured against a St Johnstone team that have been dire in the league cup. A couple of examples, without looking too hard, of teams that haven't flown out of the traps.
We've got through one two-legged Euro tie without things really clicking and we need a reaction to a poor league start. That is the situation as I see it. Not quite time for a managerial change.
But they all had new signings in the line up. We decided just to sign back up players this summer and yet we expect to improve?