View Full Version : Johnson Out
Pages :
[
16]
14-08-2023, 06:23 PM
Because he's under contract. Is he doing badly enough to end that already, was it a 4 year deal?
Aren't we still paying off Maloney and even Jack?
It's not a crowd pleaser but it is a reason.
If we are still paying Maloney and Ross someone needs taken out and publicly flogged. They’re both in full time employment within football.
14-08-2023, 06:26 PM
If we are still paying Maloney and Ross someone needs taken out and publicly flogged. They’re both in full time employment within football.
Ignore him. Just another poster trying to paint Hibs in the worst possible light.
14-08-2023, 06:26 PM
I don't think Hecky or anyone else should be blamed for the signing of Vela. He was very highly regarded down here at the time and the one game I saw him play he was by far the best player on the pitch - streets ahead of Newell, who I'd seen a few times and thought was a very good signing for Hibs.
I've no idea why he has failed so badly but the blame lies squarely at the door of Josh Vela IMHO.
I wasn’t blaming him for Vela, the poster I replied to couldn’t remember his name was all.
14-08-2023, 07:17 PM
Not saying I'm ITK but just saw Ten Hag taking notes with one of those 3 coloured pens.
Heard that Ben Kensell met him at Tebay services last night.
14-08-2023, 07:19 PM
Stubbs to Rotherham
Was he pushed or did he jump? :hmmm:
14-08-2023, 07:23 PM
Not saying I'm ITK but just saw Ten Hag taking notes with one of those 3 coloured pens.
Probably saying “you know Erik, signing managers is like making love to a beautiful woman…..”
He’s a Swiss Toni that lad !
Paulie Walnuts
14-08-2023, 07:24 PM
Was he pushed or did he jump? :hmmm:
Well I suppose that’s up for debate. On the face of it though he’s the last one to leave after doing well.
Hibees1973
14-08-2023, 07:29 PM
I think the guys running Hibs have little hesitation about sacking people or wasting money.
If we get knocked out on Thursday and remain at the bottom of the league by the end of the month they would have no other option than to sack Johnson.
Our owners and those in charge have found money to waste on the likes of Henderson, Melkersen & Tavares.
They would find/loan money from somewhere to pay off Johnson.
14-08-2023, 08:39 PM
Not just highly regarded IIRC, was a coach at Aberdeen for SAF was he not? Or am I mistaken?
Yes he was think he was assistant
14-08-2023, 09:55 PM
How is it the OF get results week in week out with midweek games as well, ? I know they sign a better quality of player but that doesn’t explain how they are up for most games , I suspect they know that performances like our bad days will just never be tolerated
They are levels above every other team in the league which definitely helps. Even still they often find it tough going after Euro ties. Pretty sure Hibs have had some good results vs the OF over the years just after they've played in Europe.
Crunchie
15-08-2023, 06:51 AM
Reading about some of the drivel being posted about Stubbsy on another thread got me to thinking, if there are Hibs fans out there with that kind of attitude to a man that took over a basket case of a club and achieved what he did then no manager who comes here will be good enough for them full stop.
Fuzzywuzzy
15-08-2023, 07:03 AM
Did they have the steak pie, chips and gravy?
Caversham Green
15-08-2023, 07:19 AM
I wasn’t blaming him for Vela, the poster I replied to couldn’t remember his name was all.It wasn't really directed at you, just a general observation that Vela is often held up as an example of bad recruitment but in his case I could see exactly why we signed him but it just didn't work out. There are plenty others that do just look like bad recruitment though.
15-08-2023, 11:52 AM
Aren't we still paying off Maloney and even Jack? No.
15-08-2023, 12:00 PM
Poster on here put a tweet out saying hibs had a meeting with 3 managers yesterday about the role,saying one was lennon
Edit - don't think he does post here
15-08-2023, 12:04 PM
Poster on here put a tweet out saying hibs had a meeting with 3 managers yesterday about the role,saying one was lennon
File under "things that didn't happen."
Silky
15-08-2023, 12:07 PM
Ahh, twitter. Must be true then. The Sun of Social Media.
15-08-2023, 12:12 PM
Ahh, twitter. Must be true then. The Sun of Social Media.
I didn't say it was true
15-08-2023, 12:15 PM
Poster on here put a tweet out saying hibs had a meeting with 3 managers yesterday about the role,saying one was lennonI saw that an hour ago, I think I've just about stopped laughing.
Basildon Hibs
15-08-2023, 01:08 PM
I saw that an hour ago, I think I've just about stopped laughing.
Would be great if true though, eh ..?
😉🙂
15-08-2023, 01:11 PM
Was he pushed or did he jump? :hmmm:He pumped
15-08-2023, 01:25 PM
He pumped
Ha ha very good.
Key West
15-08-2023, 03:59 PM
Reading about some of the drivel being posted about Stubbsy on another thread got me to thinking, if there are Hibs fans out there with that kind of attitude to a man that took over a basket case of a club and achieved what he did then no manager who comes here will be good enough for them full stop.
Sums it all up for me.
15-08-2023, 03:59 PM
Poster on here put a tweet out saying hibs had a meeting with 3 managers yesterday about the role,saying one was lennonEdit - don't think he does post hereLets hope one of the other ones was Jack Ross.
Silky
15-08-2023, 04:28 PM
I didn't say it was true
True, but to be fair, I also didn't say it was false!! If it was believed not to be true then, imo, there doesn't seem to be any merit in sharing it here.
Edit - don't think he does post here
Someone fishing for views and likes.
For the second Thursday on the trot, LJ has done the unthinkable for most.. wasn’t pretty, still too many mistakes but he’s got us to the tie we all wanted..
Looking forward to his cliches
Let’s hope we get Sundays ‘bread and butter’ right for once
17-08-2023, 09:23 PM
Johnson ehhhhhhh, we'll see.
17-08-2023, 09:24 PM
The guy keeps getting results when he really needs them. Some boy.
17-08-2023, 09:24 PM
Conference league/Scottish cup/league cup treble and relegated. You heard it here first.
17-08-2023, 09:25 PM
Lump on Raith?
17-08-2023, 09:27 PM
Say what you like about him but he has a habit of producing results in the biggest games. Really thought we'd be beaten tonight.
17-08-2023, 09:28 PM
Say what you like about him but he has a habit of producing results in the biggest games. Really thought we'd be beaten tonight.
Can we get Ross in for the mundane games then just wheel Johnson out for the big ones. We'd win the lot.
17-08-2023, 09:37 PM
Can we get Ross in for the mundane games then just wheel Johnson out for the big ones. We'd win the lot.
17-08-2023, 09:40 PM
Can we get Ross in for the mundane games then just wheel Johnson out for the big ones. We'd win the lot.You're asking for Jack Johnson, which actually sounds like quite a cool name. Whereas Less Ross just sounds a bit pish.
Good result but remember the high after last Thursday then the low on Sunday? Johnson can still gtf
Davy Mac
By all accounts, we could rake in a cool million for the AV double header, so please, please sign a new left back, and ideally a new centre back captano material. Just saying
17-08-2023, 09:41 PM
You laugh, but Hearts have 2 managers, so why not us?
17-08-2023, 09:43 PM
Good result but remember the high after last Thursday then the low on Sunday? Johnson can still gtf
Uncompromising post, this one.
17-08-2023, 09:49 PM
Good result but remember the high after last Thursday then the low on Sunday? Johnson can still gtfChill out mate
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Keepthefaith
17-08-2023, 09:52 PM
For the second Thursday on the trot, LJ has done the unthinkable for most.. wasn’t pretty, still too many mistakes but he’s got us to the tie we all wanted..
Looking forward to his cliches
Let’s hope we get Sundays ‘bread and butter’ right for once
In some ways having the game brought forward might do us a favour. He'll be forced to play some of the younger lads whose freshness and energy might see us put on a better performance.
Cat Stanton
17-08-2023, 09:54 PM
You're asking for Jack Johnson, which actually sounds like quite a cool name. Whereas Less Ross just sounds a bit pish.he's a good singer - quite like him
17-08-2023, 09:55 PM
You laugh, but Hearts have 2 managers, so why not us?It'd be a sad day if we ever started copying what those bams are doing.
Cat Stanton
17-08-2023, 09:56 PM
another good interview tonight - Luzern apparently had a lot of "really good ball manipulators"
17-08-2023, 09:57 PM
Oh well. Here was me enjoying that one tonight as well….
17-08-2023, 10:00 PM
another good interview tonight - Luzern apparently had a lot of "really good ball manipulators"They do
Max Meyer (ex EPL) and Ardon Jashari in particular
Aye ok.
https://i.ibb.co/2dpPNLx/1618195657281.jpg (https://ibb.co/vkMmYrp)
I hope last night result put a stop to the calls for Johnson’s removal. However I suspect they are only on hold until the next bad result.
We really need to get behind the team and manager now.
Trinity Hibee
18-08-2023, 05:59 AM
I hope last night result put a stop to the calls for Johnson’s removal. However I suspect they are only on hold until the next bad result.
I think that result may buy him a bit more time in some folks eyes.
If we were to lose to raith and livi though people will be calling for this again I imagine.
18-08-2023, 06:02 AM
I think that result may buy him a bit more time in some folks eyes.
If we were to lose to raith and livi though people will be calling for this again I imagine.
I'm not even sure what kind of team we put out against Raith tbh he's going to rest a load of bodies for the Villa game on Wednesday.
seanshow
18-08-2023, 06:55 AM
"We say the managers in, the managers out
In out in out, team is up the spout
the hibee hokey cokey as we turn it around
Today.... he's in not out
Woah johnson hokey cokey
Woah ho hibee hokey cokey
Woah johnson hokey cokey
That's what it's all about"
:crazy:
18-08-2023, 06:59 AM
We have to find consistency. We need to stop leaking Sunday league goals too.
It should be the aim to be in European football more often than not, and if we don’t start performing in our bread and butter games then we won’t be experiencing it again next season.
Fair play on last night, but he’s not out of the woods yet. We have to start picking up good points in the league, fast.
bordergreen
18-08-2023, 07:04 AM
Thoroughly enjoyed last nights game and result. Still hasn’t changed my mind on Johnson. He will continue to put out baffling teams and lose games we should really be winning on a regular basis. Watch this space…
Donegal Hibby
18-08-2023, 07:08 AM
Excellent result . Team and manager deserve credit . We now have a really great tie against Aston villa . Enjoy the result 👍
18-08-2023, 07:13 AM
Excellent result . Team and manager deserve credit . We now have a really great tie against Aston villa . Enjoy the result 👍
We didn’t play well DH. LJ was very fortunate last night. But yes let’s enjoy the result. It’s a rollercoaster
18-08-2023, 07:16 AM
Thoroughly enjoyed last nights game and result. Still hasn’t changed my mind on Johnson. He will continue to put out baffling teams and lose games we should really be winning on a regular basis. Watch this space…
That's the story of every manager in Hibs history. Next one will be the same.
Crunchie
18-08-2023, 07:27 AM
That's the story of every manager in Hibs history. Next one will be the same.
Some people will never grasp that fact. We could have Pep in charge it would be no different
18-08-2023, 07:27 AM
We didn’t play well DH. LJ was very fortunate last night. But yes let’s enjoy the result. It’s a rollercoaster
Makes up a tiny bit for all the games where LJ has been incredibly unlucky with ***** VAR calls etc. Terrific achievement last night.
Hibs were away in Europe at a difficult venue, got the job done and scored twice.
How was it fortunate. All the players dug deep and were excellent.
Donegal Hibby
18-08-2023, 08:01 AM
Thought we done well against a good side away from home in Europe and have got thru to what is a truly glamorous game against Aston villa which should have the fans happy and excited. Enjoying a excellent result what it's all about for me rather than trying to put a negative spin on it like a few posters are !
18-08-2023, 08:17 AM
We didn't lose either game
Not sure how that's seen as fortunate?
We were actually incredibly unfortunate to play the game against 11 players last night
18-08-2023, 08:22 AM
I’d argue that Johnson had a good performance over the 2 legs.
Last night we were more open and attacking than we might have expected but with a squad and philosophy that seems to be stronger in attack than defence it’s hard to argue that that wasn’t the right way to go. Had we parked the bus we might well have been pumped and instead of being tempted to do that we played to our strengths.
Quite what we do against Villa…
18-08-2023, 08:29 AM
Tbh I am kind of bored by the LJ chat now
If he is to blame when we lose then he must get some credit when we win
He will be here a while so it’s time to strap in and enjoy the ride
For all the really bad results there have been the odd really good one
There is nothing to stop us playing this way against other teams but we need players in midfield comfortable at retaining and passing the ball and defenders capable of not ****ing it up totally every game.
How much of those are LJ’s fault? debatable
Maybe Kensell’s reported 6 or 7 transfer windows is what it will take
There will certainly be plenty ups and downs
18-08-2023, 08:35 AM
I thought we played well, we knew they would come out swinging at us at their place to get a result and we weathered storms well while also carrying a threat when we needed to. I am a big critic of LJ and still don't particularly like him and think he's the man long term. But last night was as much his night as the players and fans. Well played everyone involved.
18-08-2023, 08:48 AM
Tbh I am kind of bored by the LJ chat now
He will be here a while so it’s time to strap in and enjoy the ride
For all the really bad results there have been the odd really good one
There is nothing to stop us playing this way against other teams but we need players in midfield comfortable at retaining and passing the ball and defenders capable of not ****ing it up totally every game.
Maybe Kensell’s reported 6 or 7 transfer windows is what it will take
There will certainly be plenty ups and downs
Na, no credit when he gets a result, it’s just fortunate
18-08-2023, 08:50 AM
You're asking for Jack Johnson, which actually sounds like quite a cool name. Whereas Less Ross just sounds a bit pish.
What about More Ross instead?
18-08-2023, 08:50 AM
Credit put in the bank
Was concerned we went to a 5 4 1
Played it well
Few league wins now and we’re back on track
18-08-2023, 08:55 AM
Don't think he was fortunate. We scored two good goals and lost one criminally poor one. They definitely should have had a player sent off and we should have been playing 10 for an hour. Actually didn't mind the subs and didn't think we were in huge danger until Hanlon doesn't defend properly. Definitely deserved to go through over two legs.
18-08-2023, 08:55 AM
So can you if you cannot give credit where it's due.
18-08-2023, 08:58 AM
Getting a result like last night doesn’t come as a huge surprise, the trouble is a loss on Sunday or against Livi wouldn’t be either. He’s proved he can get good results and performances, but until he manages to address the absolute woeful ones and stops making bizarre selections and hard to fathom tactics he will never convince those of us who doubt him.
18-08-2023, 09:02 AM
It wasn't pretty, but I think we did well and the game plan worked.
Teams still play well when they set out to defend and hit on the break and that's exactly what we did. The problem is that when you give the opposition 67% possession, there are going to be occasions when they get the better of us in front of goal.
That's what happened for their 2nd goal which made Hanlon look terrible, but otherwise he was excellent.
We were dreadfully unlucky to lose the first goal after a terrific initial save by Marshall, who also had a good game overall.
It was a terrific performance.
HendoDelivered
18-08-2023, 09:04 AM
I’m no LJ fan at all but fair play for getting a result last night. Will hold back the LJ out posts til out next defeat :greengrin
18-08-2023, 10:34 AM
So can you if you cannot give credit where it's due.
Not to LJ but only to the players. Ill give LJ credit when we start have better consistency in the league.sorry if that goes against your narrative.
18-08-2023, 10:51 AM
another good interview tonight - Luzern apparently had a lot of "really good ball manipulators" That’s just the waiters ;) (c) Billy Connolly.
18-08-2023, 10:53 AM
Not to LJ but only to the players. Ill give LJ credit when we start have better consistency in the league.sorry if that goes against your narrative.
But you criticise LJ rather than the players when we play badly. Seems balanced.
18-08-2023, 10:58 AM
Not to LJ but only to the players. Ill give LJ credit when we start have better consistency in the league.sorry if that goes against your narrative.So why does LJ get the blame for players individual errors?
18-08-2023, 11:53 AM
So why does LJ get the blame for players individual errors?
Pretty much every goal scored is the result of an error by a player. The buck always stops with the manager, whether that’s fair or not is another matter. If you want to turn it round should we give him credit because of two individual bits of class last night from Youan ?
Johnson rightly got stick for the Motherwell defeat, but I didn’t see anyone actually blaming him for the individual errors that cost us the goals.
18-08-2023, 12:07 PM
You're asking for Jack Johnson, which actually sounds like quite a cool name. Whereas Less Ross just sounds a bit pish.
I’ve been Sitting, Waiting, Wishing for Hibs to win a league game
18-08-2023, 12:09 PM
I just pray we can go on a bit of a consistent run where he actually builds up credit rather than this purgatory of being 1 or 2 games away from the sack at all times.
I'm Spartacus
18-08-2023, 12:13 PM
Not an LJ fan at all but there's much needed credit in the bank, and nobody can argue otherwise.Play like that in the league and we will be fine.
ChilliEater
18-08-2023, 12:25 PM
So you're saying that when we win he gets the credit, but when we lose it's the players fault?
[/QUOTE] For all the really bad results there have been the odd really good one [/QUOTE]
and that's the issue - if for all the really good results there was the odd really bad one, then we'd all be pretty happy and wonder if the bad ones were bad luck.
Anyway, if you want to polarise it as much as a "Johnson out" v "Johnson in", then you have to realise that the "Outs" want to be wrong, and everyone is delighted with the result last night - but it's not really that polarised, it's, mostly, a legitimate and natural discussion on a message board of the strengths, weaknesses and overall suitability of someone at the club we support. A bit like the Joe Newell and Lewis Stevenson discussions that go on.
Personally, I'd not be surprised if we lose to Raith, beat Villa, win the Scottish Cup and get relegated - and I'm still not sure if that would be a good season or a bad one.
18-08-2023, 12:27 PM
So why does LJ get the blame for players individual errors?
If errors keep consistently happening, then you can come to a couple conclusions, ultimately, either the players aren’t following or understanding his instructions, which is his fault, or he’s failed to come up with systems, patterns etc that the players are able to to, which is his fault too.
Under it all, maybe the players just aren’t good enough, but then you have to adapt and adjust to what you’ve got, that we keep getting caught out by player errors in defensive situations suggests something isn’t right and ultimately it’s on LJ’s head to adapt how we play to try and minimise or prevent them.
18-08-2023, 01:38 PM
Nae need to apologise - just shut the **** up with your negative pish and give us all a break.
18-08-2023, 01:43 PM
Nae need to apologise - just shut the **** up with your negative pish and give us all a break.
😂😂😂😂😂
18-08-2023, 01:47 PM
This is going to be a very tedious place if when we win one group tells the other to **** off and vice versa.
It’s possible to appreciate we’ve done well to reach the playoff, but also have concern about results elsewhere.
The truth about LJ is that whether you like him or not, he’s given plenty of reasons for you to have the opinion you do.
Would be nice for this place to be a bit more civil. All round.
18-08-2023, 02:16 PM
So you're saying that when we win he gets the credit, but when we lose it's the players fault?
For all the really bad results there have been the odd really good one [/QUOTE]
and that's the issue - if for all the really good results there was the odd really bad one, then we'd all be pretty happy and wonder if the bad ones were bad luck.
Anyway, if you want to polarise it as much as a "Johnson out" v "Johnson in", then you have to realise that the "Outs" want to be wrong, and everyone is delighted with the result last night - but it's not really that polarised, it's, mostly, a legitimate and natural discussion on a message board of the strengths, weaknesses and overall suitability of someone at the club we support. A bit like the Joe Newell and Lewis Stevenson discussions that go on.
Personally, I'd not be surprised if we lose to Raith, beat Villa, win the Scottish Cup and get relegated - and I'm still not sure if that would be a good season or a bad one.[/QUOTE]
I said no such thing and am staggered you can read that from it.
Any team wins and loses together
But he can’t be blamed for losses and get no credit for wins
A team like Hibs will always have players that have flaws in them, they wouldn’t be at Hibs otherwise.
18-08-2023, 02:18 PM
Baffled by anyone that thought we were terrific or words to that effect. Our passing was awful.
We competed doggedly and made some good defensive blocks. Along side some shocking defending which is becoming far too common. Luzern seem like the Swiss equivalent of Hibs really - some good points but can't defend.
18-08-2023, 02:43 PM
I do think some folk are underestimating our result over 2 legs to be honest
How does our squad value compare to Luzern?
There one midfielder is up there with our whole squad [emoji23]
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/fc-luzern/kader/verein/434
18-08-2023, 02:51 PM
We were poor last night. (As I say on my way to Basel after multiple cancellations 😂). But we hung on and got what was required. For me the subs made us worse and brought on pressure. He is head for the long run now. If he’d lost that he was on a loose peg according to staff. But he got what was required and that will give him to Xmas no matter what.
18-08-2023, 03:40 PM
This is getting boring tbh not just on here but across social media as a whole - as a fanbase we need to stop this nonsense calling for a managers head after every single defeat - its becoming tedious. Now I'm not a massive LJ fan at all but he is not getting sacked after taking us through last night and will now get well into the autumn- he needs to turn it around in league but he will imo when we don't have the distraction of Europe- which we probably won't in 2 weeks time. Let's just get on with it and stop this endless calling for the managers head all the time
This is getting boring tbh not just on here but across social media as a whole - as a fanbase we need to stop this nonsense calling for a managers head after every single defeat - its becoming tedious. Now I'm not a massive LJ fan at all but he is not getting sacked after taking us through last night and will now get well into the autumn- he needs to turn it around in league but he will imo when we don't have the distraction of Europe- which we probably won't in 2 weeks time. Let's just get on with it and stop this endless calling for the managers head all the time👍
This is getting boring tbh not just on here but across social media as a whole - as a fanbase we need to stop this nonsense calling for a managers head after every single defeat - its becoming tedious. Now I'm not a massive LJ fan at all but he is not getting sacked after taking us through last night and will now get well into the autumn- he needs to turn it around in league but he will imo when we don't have the distraction of Europe- which we probably won't in 2 weeks time. Let's just get on with it and stop this endless calling for the managers head all the time
This is a great post and one all the Johnson out crew should really think long and hard about.
18-08-2023, 04:33 PM
This is a great post and one all the Johnson out crew should really think long and hard about.I’ve thought long and hard about it. What now ?
18-08-2023, 04:51 PM
I’ve thought long and hard about it. What now ?
You will never change your mind about him though based on a second or third hand story you were told
18-08-2023, 04:55 PM
You will never change your mind about him though based on a second or third hand story you were toldAye that’s all it is. Absolutely nothing to do with what I saw on the pitch in the first two league games of this season. Games that have us second bottom of the league only ahead of St Johnstone on goal difference.
18-08-2023, 04:58 PM
Aye that’s all it is. Absolutely nothing to do with what I saw on the pitch in the first two league games of this season. Games that have us second bottom of the league only ahead of St Johnstone on goal difference.
You were the same for pretty much all last season so no its not that, very clear its not that
18-08-2023, 05:00 PM
You were the same for pretty much all last season so no its not that, very clear its not thatLooking forward to your mind reading show in the Fringe. Tickets still available I hope.
18-08-2023, 05:01 PM
Looking forward to your mind reading show in the Fringe. Tickets still available I hope.
Good one
18-08-2023, 05:01 PM
Good oneAbout as good as your post I replied to.
18-08-2023, 05:02 PM
About as good as your post I replied to.
So you weren't against him pretty much all of last season?
18-08-2023, 05:08 PM
So you weren't against him pretty much all of last season?Absolutely I was. Not simply because of some second or third hand story I heard about him though as you are stating. What I heard was a very small contributory factor, performances, team selection, tactics and the stuff he came out with and still does formed my opinion far more than anything else.
18-08-2023, 05:09 PM
Absolutely I was. Not simply because of some second or third hand story I heard about him though as you are stating. What I heard was a very small contributory factor, performances, team selection, tactics and the stuff he came out with and still does formed my opinion far more than anything else.
So not just based on 2 league games like you suggested, ta.
18-08-2023, 05:12 PM
So not just based on 2 league games like you suggested, ta.No. I never said it was just based on 2 league games though. Suggest you read my post again.
18-08-2023, 05:14 PM
Absolutely this! The feelgood between players and fans is really building and the comradere among the players looks to be the best since 2016. Time to stick together and delete this ugly thread.
18-08-2023, 05:14 PM
No. I never said it was just based on 2 league games though. Suggest you read my post again.
Your post mentioned the first 2 games of the season and being second bottom of the league, nothing else in your post
18-08-2023, 05:16 PM
Absolutely this! The feelgood between players and fans is really building and the comradere among the players looks to be the best since 2016. Time to stick together and delete this ugly thread.
Nah LJ is the anti christ and should be hounded at all times on here, don't you know every player hates him and he talks permanent rubbish(most of us do every day)
18-08-2023, 05:21 PM
Your post mentioned the first 2 games of the season and being second bottom of the league, nothing else in your postYeah it did. It didn’t say those were the only factors though, but you already knew that since you’ve clearly been reading my posts over the past season.
We need to get behind the manager and team.
Calling for Johnson to go after every poor result is not helpful.
18-08-2023, 05:33 PM
Calling for Johnson to go after every poor result is not helpful.
Folk don’t call for him to go on the basis of any individual result though. There’s a build up to it based on many poor results.
I walked out of Motherwell on Sunday convinced, for the first time really, that his time was up. Last night was a great night but, in reality, it’s not any kind of huge achievement (thats not me trying to downplay it because I was there and I loved it).
Villa is going to be a distraction over the next couple of weeks but we desperately need to find some form domestically in our next couple of weeks.
If he can get to the point where there is more positive results than negative, the calls for him to go will lessen, simple as that IMO.
18-08-2023, 05:33 PM
Just so we know when are we allowed to say we’d rather Lee Johnson wasn’t the manager? If we lose to raith is it ok then?
18-08-2023, 05:34 PM
Just so we know when are we allowed to say we’d rather Lee Johnson wasn’t the manager? If we lose to raith is it ok then?Yawn.
JamesHFC
18-08-2023, 05:36 PM
Lee Johnson's Green and White army.
18-08-2023, 05:43 PM
This is a great post and one all the Johnson out crew should really think long and hard about.
Nah, there's no crew on here.
I've got my own thoughts. It just so happens that loads of others on feel feel similarly to me.
None of us are telling you or those in favour of LJ staying to shut up or stop posting.
That was a ridiculous post you quoted. We should all feel free to post what we think on here without a backlash from other fans.
It always goes one way. If we dare to suggest LJ isn't the right man for the job there are folk ready to pounce immediately as if we're slagging their mums.
It never used to be like this with any of our previous managers.
18-08-2023, 05:43 PM
Yawn.
Like what’s the point of that. Have the actual discussion.
18-08-2023, 05:46 PM
Folk don’t call for him to go on the basis of any individual result though. There’s a build up to it based on many poor results.I walked out of Motherwell on Sunday convinced, for the first time really, that his time was up. Last night was a great night but, in reality, it’s not any kind of huge achievement (thats not me trying to downplay it because I was there and I loved it).Villa is going to be a distraction over the next couple of weeks but we desperately need to find some form domestically in our next couple of weeks. If he can get to the point where there is more positive results than negative, the calls for him to go will lessen, simple as that IMO.It amazes me that folk who continually defend him can’t see that.He’s been here over a year. I go into every game wondering what version of his Hibs team will pitch up. We’ve played 6 competitive games so far this season, we are currently 2nd bottom of the league. We’ve had three good performances and three horror shows. If some people want to claim last night was one of our greatest ever achievements in Europe, then for balance our away leg in Andorra was arguably our worst or at least one of our worst. Until he settles on a formation and tactics, where possible, and we start to produce some kind of consistency under him the criticism will continue.
ChicoM1875
18-08-2023, 05:58 PM
Just so we know when are we allowed to say we’d rather Lee Johnson wasn’t the manager? If we lose to raith is it ok then?
You asking if you're "allowed" to voice an opinion on a public forum? Haha. I think you know the answer to your own question! However everyone who has a counter opinion to yours is also "allowed". You don't need permission.
18-08-2023, 06:08 PM
You asking if you're "allowed" to voice an opinion on a public forum? Haha. I think you know the answer to your own question! However everyone who has a counter opinion to yours is also "allowed". You don't need permission.
Bang on. 👍
Just so we know when are we allowed to say we’d rather Lee Johnson wasn’t the manager? If we lose to raith is it ok then?I think you and jeffers are one and the same person🤔
18-08-2023, 06:17 PM
Like what’s the point of that. Have the actual discussion.I wouldn't discuss a subject that couldn't be resolved 8475638689 times in real life so why would I do it here? You keep on banging your drum though if it make you feel like you've accomplished something.
18-08-2023, 07:12 PM
Folk don’t call for him to go on the basis of any individual result though. There’s a build up to it based on many poor results.
I walked out of Motherwell on Sunday convinced, for the first time really, that his time was up. Last night was a great night but, in reality, it’s not any kind of huge achievement (thats not me trying to downplay it because I was there and I loved it).
Villa is going to be a distraction over the next couple of weeks but we desperately need to find some form domestically in our next couple of weeks.
If he can get to the point where there is more positive results than negative, the calls for him to go will lessen, simple as that IMO.
Beg to differ. Knocking out Luzern is one of our better European exploits in recent decades. We defeated a side with a bigger budget, they were technically superior but we countered them effectively....in the end.
That said, Johnson’s peg must remain shoogly. After the league start, defeat v Raith would surely have him back on the brink?
18-08-2023, 07:47 PM
Beg to differ. Knocking out Luzern is one of our better European exploits in recent decades. We defeated a side with a bigger budget, they were technically superior but we countered them effectively....in the end.
That said, Johnson’s peg must remain shoogly. After the league start, defeat v Raith would surely have him back on the brink?
I’m not saying last night wasn’t a good result. It was a really good result.
We don’t have much to compare against in our recent history but over the two games I thought we were better than them. They passed the ball about nicely but were pretty limited at either end of the park where it really matters. It’s a tie I would have been disappointed not to have won having seen them. This was the furthest they’d ever been in Europe as well.
You with your Johnson out yet again. 🤔
18-08-2023, 08:29 PM
The only way the Johnson out posts are going to stop after each defeat is if he strings some good results and performances together.
At which point, the folk telling people off for telling people to stop posting Johnson out posts, will start telling people to stop going on about being right all along.
As things stand, I think folk are rightly annoyed at paying good money to watch dire football - and that’s exactly what we’ve had in our first two league games, and if we keep getting that served up then the complaints are - with a good deal of justification - only going to get louder.
18-08-2023, 08:35 PM
So a day after a brilliant European win the like of which we haven't seen in over 20 years we are discussing sacking the manager. Utterly mental. Give the guy a ***** break
K-Zazu
18-08-2023, 08:46 PM
So a day after a brilliant European win the like of which we haven't seen in over 20 years we are discussing sacking the manager. Utterly mental. Give the guy a ***** break
Fantastic result. Well done Lee Johnson.
stuart-farquhar
18-08-2023, 08:51 PM
I genuinely don't know. How does a small town team in Switzerland have a bigger budget?
K-Zazu
18-08-2023, 09:10 PM
I genuinely don't know. How does a small town team in Switzerland have a bigger budget?
Bigger tv deals probably
Donegal Hibby
18-08-2023, 09:17 PM
The only way the Johnson out posts are going to stop after each defeat is if he strings some good results and performances together.
At which point, the folk telling people off for telling people to stop posting Johnson out posts, will start telling people to stop going on about being right all along.
As things stand, I think folk are rightly annoyed at paying good money to watch dire football - and that’s exactly what we’ve had in our first two league games, and if we keep getting that served up then the complaints are - with a good deal of justification - only going to get louder.
Don't think it will matter with some folk Matty even if Johnson strings a few wins and good performance's together as he will always be a defeat away from them posting on the " Johnson out thread " . I think some just hate the guy and others have said there minds up anyhow.
Don't think it will matter with some folk Matty even if Johnson strings a few wins and good performance's together as he will always be a defeat away from them posting on the " Johnson out thread " . I think some just hate the guy and others have said there minds up anyhow.That's it in a nutshell.
18-08-2023, 09:44 PM
We didn’t play well DH. LJ was very fortunate last night. But yes let’s enjoy the result. It’s a rollercoasterYip LJ was fortunate Hanlon only cocked up for one goal.
18-08-2023, 09:57 PM
Don't think it will matter with some folk Matty even if Johnson strings a few wins and good performance's together as he will always be a defeat away from them posting on the " Johnson out thread " . I think some just hate the guy and others have said there minds up anyhow.That`s the same for every manager we`ve had and will have . Presumably the same at other clubs . There are always fans who don`t want a certain manager for whatever reason - on threads about Lennon here this week there were comments from people who didn`t want him to manage us who said the same before he took over in 2016 and kept quiet for a few months during our most entertaining games in nearly 40 years in 2018 . That`s only 1 example . For LJ , fans will want to see consistent results and performances with entertaining football which he promised . LJ has had 2 pre seasons plus a full season while many of his predecessors have joined us when club was struggling mid season and LJ has also been backed financially more than previous managers .
18-08-2023, 10:01 PM
Don't think it will matter with some folk Matty even if Johnson strings a few wins and good performance's together as he will always be a defeat away from them posting on the " Johnson out thread " . I think some just hate the guy and others have said there minds up anyhow.
There are much more Johnson In posts on this thread tbh.
18-08-2023, 10:03 PM
Yip LJ was fortunate Hanlon only cocked up for one goal.
Correct and about 20 great interceptions
18-08-2023, 10:04 PM
There are much more Johnson In posts on this thread tbh.
I've been on both sides and will probably continue to be.
Classic fickle football fan and get caught up in the emotion of a win or loss.
19-08-2023, 08:58 AM
So stay out the thread then.
You know what it's about yet you're all over it every day taking pops at us.
19-08-2023, 09:06 AM
100% this - and a lot are the lennon obsession brigade too who look back on his time thru green coloured glasses. Other than a thrilling 2nd half to season 17/18 - his time was also inconsistent and turgid at times.
19-08-2023, 09:10 AM
So stay out the thread then.
You know what it's about yet you're all over it every day taking pops at us.
Did he take a pop at you?
I just read him making an observation. You're getting very sensitive on your old age, WTC!
GreenGray
19-08-2023, 09:19 AM
You keep pushing the point when myself and others have said countless times it’s not personal with Johnson we just don’t think he is good enough.
He deserves credit for getting us through Luzern just like he deserves criticism if we continue to lose to teams like Motherwell and St Mirren at home.
19-08-2023, 09:25 AM
You keep pushing the point when myself and others have said countless times it’s not personal with Johnson we just don’t think he is good enough.
He deserves credit for getting us through Luzern just like he deserves criticism if we continue to lose to teams like Motherwell and St Mirren at home.
It’s clearly very personal for DH.
19-08-2023, 09:39 AM
Did he take a pop at you?
I just read him making an observation. You're getting very sensitive on your old age, WTC!
I'd say mellow, not sensitive!
It wasn't directed at me personally, but at all of us who aren't 100% convinced by LJ.
4000+ posts on here since LJ was appointed, but not a peep beforehand? Constant talk about fans having an agenda, not supporting the club properly etc etc.
It's a total pain in the ass. We should be able to comment on our manager as we want, as we always did before he appeared on the forum.
Besides, I'm 100% behind LJ for now as we've finally got something to be excited about. But if we're sitting 10th in the league at the end of September then damn right I'll be calling for him to be sacked again.
GreenGray
19-08-2023, 09:39 AM
It’s clearly very personal for DH.
Thing is I understand if people back the manager because they think he’s good enough, that’s their opinion. I have just sat through enough of his turgid football to believe he isn’t good enough.
I also don’t actually mind him personally as well as his “Johnsonisms” I find him quite funny in a weird way. But when you’re losing regularly it starts to wear thin.
Just have an issue with fans putting words in other fans mouths, think there’s one poster who has said they won’t like Johnson no matter what, the others just want a good football team to watch.
The fans making these claims can sometimes be the ones to say “why can’t we just have a United positive fan base after we win”
Whilst they sit there ignoring fans valid criticisms and putting words in said fans mouths.
I am not 100% convinced by Johnson but he has enough credit in the bank to be supported 100% without a clamour for him to go after every bad result.
If we bin him it’s quite possible his replacement could be worse.
19-08-2023, 10:07 AM
I am not 100% convinced by Johnson but he has enough credit in the bank to be supported 100% without a clamour for him to go after every bad result.
It’s also quite possible his replacement could be better.
19-08-2023, 10:08 AM
They could be worse, they could be better. Think Johnson bought himself time with Thursdays progression, but he needs to follow it up with consistent performances in the short term as not sure he has a whole lot of net credit in the bank overall.
Expectations are higher than last season, and rightly so, given we’ve spent around £2m this window. A continuation of last seasons inconsistency and streaks isn’t good enough, IMO, given the investment and it being his team now. He needs to find a recognisable style of play and get consistent performances. He also has to address the balance of the squad, signing Obita is fine in itself, but not when he appears to have little intention of playing him LB and a 35 year old Stevenson is our only LB. I’m also concerned that nothing has changed in regards to him looking to bring through our U19s. A good few of the more promising ones are out on loan, but why is Macintyre, for example, nowhere to be seen? Is he any less first team ready than the 16 year old Motherwell started in midfield against us and who played the full game?
They could be worse, they could be better. Think Johnson bought himself time with Thursdays progression, but he needs to follow it up with consistent performances in the short term as not sure he has a whole lot of net credit in the bank overall.
Expectations are higher than last season, and rightly so, given we’ve spent around £2m this window. A continuation of last seasons inconsistency and streaks isn’t good enough, IMO, given the investment and it being his team now. He needs to find a recognisable style of play and get consistent performances. He also has to address the balance of the squad, signing Obita is fine in itself, but not when he appears to have little intention of playing him LB and a 35 year old Stevenson is our only LB. I’m also concerned that nothing has changed in regards to him looking to bring through our U19s. A good few of the more promising ones are out on loan, but why is Macintyre, for example, nowhere to be seen? Is he any less first team ready than the 16 year old Motherwell started in midfield against us and who played the full game?
I agree but let’s support him in that. Not call for his head at every setback.
19-08-2023, 10:45 AM
Thing is I understand if people back the manager because they think he’s good enough, that’s their opinion. I have just sat through enough of his turgid football to believe he isn’t good enough.
I also don’t actually mind him personally as well as his “Johnsonisms” I find him quite funny in a weird way. But when you’re losing regularly it starts to wear thin.
Just have an issue with fans putting words in other fans mouths, think there’s one poster who has said they won’t like Johnson no matter what, the others just want a good football team to watch.
The fans making these claims can sometimes be the ones to say “why can’t we just have a United positive fan base after we win”
Whilst they sit there ignoring fans valid criticisms and putting words in said fans mouths.
The football is not turgid.
I agree but let’s support him in that. Not call for his head at every setback.
It's not just about the losses, it's the manner in how we lose those games, we seem to lurch from good/decent to abysmal, there's no in between.
GreenGray
19-08-2023, 10:47 AM
Cool, If you don’t think the football against Motherwell and St Mirren this season was turgid as well as countless games last season that’s your opinion.
We have the occasional brilliant and electrifying performance in us for sure I just wish that was the rule rather than the exception.
19-08-2023, 10:49 AM
Cool, If you don’t think the football against Motherwell and St Mirren this season was turgid as well as countless games last season that’s your opinion.
We have the occasional brilliant and electrifying performance in us for sure I just wish that was the rule rather than the exception.
It was definitely not turgid.
19-08-2023, 10:50 AM
Think we need a sticky for this, so that you don't have to repeat yourself every time someone uses that word (insert big grin smiley, and probably a soap-box one too).
And, yeah, I agree.......
19-08-2023, 10:50 AM
Motherwell was as bad a game I’ve seen from Hibs in many years. It’s not always like that. Toss a coin and see what performance we get.
19-08-2023, 10:51 AM
Motherwell was as bad a game I’ve seen from Hibs in many years. It’s not always like that. Toss a coin and see what performance we get.
Yes, it was a terrible performance.
19-08-2023, 10:51 AM
Think we need a sticky for this, so that you don't have to repeat yourself every time someone uses that word (insert big grin smiley, and probably a soap-box one too).
And, yeah, I agree.......
It's my life's work.
GreenGray
19-08-2023, 10:52 AM
Okay mate.
19-08-2023, 10:54 AM
Okay mate.
Finally.
The football is significantly better than under Maloney.
19-08-2023, 11:03 AM
I think you’re overlooking the fact that people don’t want him out because of one bad result. It’s multiple bad results over a year and a bit. People don’t simply change their mind based on individual games. What might change some minds is a reasonable period of decent form with no disasters (which always seem to be just round the corner with him).
GreenGray
19-08-2023, 11:04 AM
The football is significantly better than under Maloney.
That isn’t difficult or exactly a compliment.
ChilliEater
19-08-2023, 11:06 AM
Indeed. The Motherwell performance made me many things, but turgid definitely wasn't one of them 🤔😁
19-08-2023, 11:07 AM
Indeed. The Motherwell performance made me many things, but turgid definitely wasn't one of them 🤔😁
Thank you. 👍
19-08-2023, 11:18 AM
Finally.😂 I think you need to accept the word has a totally different meaning on Hibs.net Dave. There’s the real meaning and the one on here.
19-08-2023, 11:21 AM
The football is significantly better than under Maloney.This keeps going round and round in circles and I know I’m just continuing it but…. Maloney had heehaw to work with. I’m not convinced Johnson would have done any better with the same resources….The better question imo would be is it significantly better than under Ross….
Donegal Hibby
19-08-2023, 11:28 AM
I never said everyone that was wanting Johnson out was making it personal. Most of you all have different reasons wither it be you don't think he's good enough to others wanting there favourite manager like Lennon back . Some of you want to steady the ship with a McInnes, Martindale or a Mackay or try a new guy like Brown or Murray. Though let's be honest here too in that there's also a few that just hates him and will beat him with a stick at every opportunity which as been blatantly obvious aswell !.
He absolutely deserves criticism which he's had in spades though after a brilliant away result in Europe against a very good side which imo the manager got the tactics spot on in there's still the Johnson can GTF going on . Which is to me is unfair tbh .
We made steady if slow progress last year under LJ with some bad results on the way though there was also some really exciting and memorable ones too like Aberdeen 6-0 , 2-2 Huns , beating Celtic, hertz etc etc .
Its not been a great start to the new season with two defeats in our first two games though I still think we will as I keep saying finish either 3rd , 4th or 5th at the end of the season.
Calls for sacking the manager two games into the season is very premature imo though I did think last season the relentless calls for him to go were as well . If he does badly this season yes he will have to go but not without giving him a chance is were I'm at . I'd be like this with any other manager we had as well tbh and it's not personal for me either even though it's been suggested it is !
Ffs. After one of our better results in Europe we want the manager out. Ok league results not good so far but that’s not unusual for teams in Europe. Some of our support have unrealistic expectations.
19-08-2023, 11:42 AM
Ffs. After one of our better results in Europe we want the manager out. Ok league results not good so far but that’s not unusual for teams in Europe. Some of our support have unrealistic expectations.
Johnson has lost more games than he’s won. Is it really that unrealistic to expect a bit better than that?
19-08-2023, 11:48 AM
I've enjoyed watching Hibs under Johnson more than I have anyone else for years. We can be absolutely scintillating on our day and sloppy on poor days but very rarely if ever would I say we're turgid under him. He tries to play attacking football and that leads to us being vulnerable at times and I don't necessarily think we have the quality in defence to deal with that. That's a big reason for the games we lose. St Mirrens winner was a prime example.
19-08-2023, 11:49 AM
😂 I think you need to accept the word has a totally different meaning on Hibs.net Dave. There’s the real meaning and the one on here.
Never!
19-08-2023, 11:50 AM
I've enjoyed watching Hibs under Johnson more than I have anyone else for years. We can be absolutely scintillating on our day and sloppy on poor days but very rarely if ever would I say we're turgid under him. He tries to play attacking football and that leads to us being vulnerable at times and I don't necessarily think we have the quality in defence to deal with that. That's a big reason for the games we lose. St Mirrens winner was a prime example.
It's never been turgid.
19-08-2023, 11:53 AM
It's not turgid. More than there's the annoyingly frequent random performance which is totally s**** and devoid of anything resembling a decent football team.
Johnson has lost more games than he’s won. Is it really that unrealistic to expect a bit better than that?
I am sure someone posted a comparison table on here a few days back and Johnson’s record was better than most order managers. Is it perfect? No but is it as bad as we have had in the last 50 years. No.
I just think to be talking now about getting Johnson out is crazy. It’s almost like you want us to lose or scrape by faith so you can sharpen the knives again.
Absolute madness.
19-08-2023, 11:56 AM
It's not turgid. More than there's the annoyingly frequent random performance which is totally s**** and devoid of anything resembling a decent football team.
This thread is turgid though.
19-08-2023, 12:01 PM
I am sure someone posted a comparison table on here a few days back and Johnson’s record was better than most order managers. Is it perfect? No but is it as bad as we have had in the last 50 years. No. I just think to be talking now about getting Johnson out is crazy. It’s almost like you want us to lose or scrape by faith so you can sharpen the knives again. Absolute madness.As has been pointed out multiple times anyone wanting him gone hasn’t come to that conclusion based on a couple of games. He’s been our manager over a year, results and performances keep flipping between good and awful with nothing in between. When is a good time to form an opinion on him ?
His record is not so bad that you should have come to that conclusion.
I agree it’s not perfect but it’s not anywhere near sackable.
19-08-2023, 12:07 PM
I am sure someone posted a comparison table on here a few days back and Johnson’s record was better than most order managers. Is it perfect? No but is it as bad as we have had in the last 50 years. No.
I just think to be talking now about getting Johnson out is crazy. It’s almost like you want us to lose or scrape by faith so you can sharpen the knives again.
Absolute madness.
People like me?
I travelled to Switzerland, like I travel wherever we are playing week in, week out, hoping we’d play well and win. Like I do every week.
Observations that ‘people like me’ want us to sharpen the knives are just stupid. Come up with a constructive argument to counter people like me rather than posting ***** like this.
19-08-2023, 12:08 PM
His record is not so bad that you should have come to that conclusion. I agree it’s not perfect but it’s not anywhere near sackable.It’s not simply results. What’s our identity under him ? Our style of play ? After a year is it unreasonable to expect to see that ? Can you honestly say you go into games confident what version of his Hibs team will turn up ?
19-08-2023, 12:10 PM
I disagree about his record.
15 wins and 17 defeats in 40 league games is not good
Out of 2 domestic competitions at the first stage.
Beating Luzern was a positive. Needs to follow that up in the League Cup and League. Then maybe people like me will be a bit happier.
Groathillgrump
19-08-2023, 12:14 PM
What a self-important thing to say.
Who are you to decide when the right time is for people to come to a particular conclusion?
I'll be sure to check with you before I next post a personal opinion so you can confirm that it meets your timescale.
Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2023, 12:16 PM
As has been pointed out multiple times anyone wanting him gone hasn’t come to that conclusion based on a couple of games. He’s been our manager over a year, results and performances keep flipping between good and awful with nothing in between. When is a good time to form an opinion on him ?
Completely ignoring peoples reasons for wanting him gone and just repeating that ‘people want him gone after one bad result’ despite the fact it’s not based on one bad result, as explained numerous times.
It’s amazing how some people are still convinced that’s what is happening, although to be fair, I question whether they actually do believe that or whether being wilfully ignorant of the actual reasons just helps back up their point in their eyes.
19-08-2023, 12:16 PM
Beating Luzern was a positive. Needs to follow that up in the League Cup and League. Then maybe people like me will be a bit happier.
An almost 40% win rate is not bad compared to a lot of our managers in the last 30 years, you must be constantly unhappy watching hibs(we probably all are to he fair!!) Not saying he has been great by any manner of means but we need to have a reality check sometimes, we aren't a club who win a lot despite what we would all like
19-08-2023, 12:25 PM
An almost 40% win rate is not bad compared to a lot of our managers in the last 30 years, you must be constantly unhappy watching hibs(we probably all are to he fair!!) Not saying he has been great by any manner of means but we need to have a reality check sometimes, we aren't a club who win a lot despite what we would all like
I’m realistic enough to know Hibs won’t win all the time. We’ll always lose games, but I think under Johnson we lose too many and when we do lose we have a tendency to absolutely woeful (like the two league games so far this season). I really liked the season we finished fourth under Lennon, for example, and he didn’t win that many more games than we did last. What he did do was lose a heck of a lot less often.
Again, I don’t think it’s unrealistic to expect to win more than we lose.
19-08-2023, 12:28 PM
Absolute madness.
What about the context of Johnson possibly having the biggest transfer budget in our history at his disposal over the other managers of the last 50 years? £2m this window, would any other manager have spent that in a transfer window allowing for inflation? Maybe McLeish at the height of the Sky money? Even then I’m not sure.
I’m still not sure what foundations he is laying into his 3rd transfer window. Potentially Vente, but yet to be proven, same with Levitt. Certainly Youan. Maybe Miller.
19-08-2023, 12:30 PM
I’m realistic enough to know Hibs won’t win all the time. We’ll always lose games, but I think under Johnson we lose too many and when we do lose we have a tendency to absolutely woeful (like the two league games so far this season). I really liked the season we finished fourth under Lennon, for example, and he didn’t win that many more games than we did last. What he did do was lose a heck of a lot less often. Again, I don’t think it’s unrealistic to expect to win more than we lose.Given our increased spending both in wages and transfer fees expectations are now higher. It’s not unrealistic to expect us to win more than we lose now given the gap between ourselves and 6 other teams in our league.
19-08-2023, 12:35 PM
I’m realistic enough to know Hibs won’t win all the time. We’ll always lose games, but I think under Johnson we lose too many and when we do lose we have a tendency to absolutely woeful (like the two league games so far this season). I really liked the season we finished fourth under Lennon, for example, and he didn’t win that many more games than we did last. What he did do was lose a heck of a lot less often.
Again, I don’t think it’s unrealistic to expect to win more than we lose.
100% we need to tighten up and stop losing daft games, fingers crossed that happens soon and we start getting a bit of consistency
19-08-2023, 12:42 PM
Given our increased spending both in wages and transfer fees expectations are now higher. It’s not unrealistic to expect us to win more than we lose now given the gap between ourselves and 6 other teams in our league.
Agree. I was actually pretty positive over the second half of last season and over the course of the summer (which is surprising given I’d prefer us to be poor apparently). I just think the nature of the early performances are a concern.
Luzern over the two games was good. And I’ll actually think we’ll do all right against Villa on Wednesday because these big games take care of themselves. In between it all I wouldn’t be surprised at all but to see us struggle against Raith and Livingston though.
Completely ignoring peoples reasons for wanting him gone and just repeating that ‘people want him gone after one bad result’ despite the fact it’s not based on one bad result, as explained numerous times.
It’s amazing how some people are still convinced that’s what is happening, although to be fair, I question whether they actually do believe that or whether being wilfully ignorant of the actual reasons just helps back up their point in their eyes.
But if we beat raith and livvy and do ok against villa or even lose horribly. Next bad result the calls for Johnson to go start.
19-08-2023, 01:27 PM
100% we need to tighten up and stop losing daft games, fingers crossed that happens soon and we start getting a bit of consistency
I think it’s more than just tightening up. The swings in performance level are too much. When we play well and win we can be really good but when we lose it’s generally terrible and the latter are still too frequent IMO. We’ve got players who are worth paying to see, need to try and do something in the next week and a bit to properly support them.
Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2023, 01:56 PM
But if we beat raith and livvy and do ok against villa or even lose horribly. Next bad result the calls for Johnson to go start.
But that’s not off the back of one result. It’s off the back of his tenures worth of bad results, the next one included.
If we get to game 4 of the league season having won 1 and lost 3 of course there’ll be calls for him to go. That’s relegation form to go along with the numerous bad results and performances he had last season.
And I know some folk will disagree but beating lower league raith rovers at home in the cup shouldn’t really hold much weight when it comes to deciding whether he’s the man for the job or not. And by much the same token, neither should getting beat by Aston Villa.
sauzeelegod
19-08-2023, 02:25 PM
Absolute madness.
P 45
W 17
D 8
L 20
If you’re happy with that record then fair enough mate 👍🏼
19-08-2023, 02:29 PM
What about the context of Johnson possibly having the biggest transfer budget in our history at his disposal over the other managers of the last 50 years? £2m this window, would any other manager have spent that in a transfer window allowing for inflation? Maybe McLeish at the height of the Sky money? Even then I’m not sure.
I’m still not sure what foundations he is laying into his 3rd transfer window. Potentially Vente, but yet to be proven, same with Levitt. Certainly Youan. Maybe Miller.
There is really nothing Johnson will be able to do to shut up guys like you other than to go on an immense winning streak beating everything and everything in our path making and you look like complete idiots (we live in hope!) - and even then I wonder. You'd probably just dream up some other bullsheight like you don't like the way he ties his shoelaces or something.
Donegal Hibby
19-08-2023, 02:33 PM
The other candidate that most folk wanted JDT at one point at Blackburn had played I think 30 games with a win 15 , drew 0 and lost 15 record . Would we have been wanting him out for that record too ? .
Out of the 2 cups at the first stage comes up alot and tbh the league cup one was a disaster though drawing hertz was always going to be a 50/50 game . Our league position improved from the previous year which was encouraging though.
Only game that matters just now is the raith game which hopefully we will win after a hard game in Europe .
19-08-2023, 02:34 PM
There is really nothing Johnson will be able to do to shut up guys like you other than to go on an immense winning streak beating everything and everything in our path making and you look like complete idiots (we live in hope!) - and even then I wonder. You'd probably just dream up some other bullsheight like you don't like the way he ties his shoelaces or something.
This is getting way out of order now.
Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2023, 02:38 PM
Speaking of bullsheight…
Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2023, 02:40 PM
The other candidate that most folk wanted JDT at one point at Blackburn had played I think 30 games with a win 15 , drew 0 and lost 15 record . Would we have been wanting him out for that record too ? .
Out of the 2 cups at the first stage comes up alot and tbh the league cup one was a disaster though drawing hertz was always going to be a 50/50 game . Our league position improved from the previous year which was encouraging though.
Only game that matters just now is the raith game which hopefully we will win after a hard game in Europe .
If we’d had a 50% win record and 50% loss record last season we’d have got third. I’m not sure JDTs record is the stick to beat him with that you appear to think it is. He also had Blackburns best league finish in a decade since they dropped out the EPL.
19-08-2023, 02:44 PM
Regardless of which side of the debate you are on, it’s a sad day that folk cannot express honestly held views built up over a relatively long period of time without being chastised for having an agenda.
Folk are perfectly entitled to think that LJ is either hopeless or brilliant or somewhere in the middle
That doesn’t make the holders of these views right or wrong
This type of thing is becoming increasingly common on Hibs Net in a variety of threads and it is a much poorer place for it and one that is becoming increasingly less enjoyable to visit as a result
Donegal Hibby
19-08-2023, 02:44 PM
P 45
W 17
D 8
L 20
If you’re happy with that record then fair enough mate 👍🏼
Nobody I don't think is saying they are happy with that record though some fans feel that the team , recruitment wasn't good enough which cost the previous 2 managers there jobs and we are making slow but steady progress under the current manager which was evident in our performance's towards the end of the season and our final league position too.
19-08-2023, 02:49 PM
If you can’t debate in a constructive manner, I’m out.
19-08-2023, 02:50 PM
Couldn’t really care less what record JDT has with another team in another league. Any Hibs manager with Johnson’s record at Hibs, coupled with some of the really bad defeats, performances and runs along the way would be under pressure. Doesn’t mean people can’t acknowledge the good things along the way (which most do despite being told they don’t IMO).
Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2023, 02:51 PM
Regardless of which side of the debate you are on, it’s a sad day that folk cannot express honestly held views built up over a relatively long period of time without being chastised for having an agenda.
Folk are perfectly entitled to think that LJ is either hopeless or brilliant or somewhere in the middle
That doesn’t make the holders of these views right or wrong
This type of thing is becoming increasingly common on Hibs Net in a variety of threads and it is a much poorer place for it and one that is becoming increasingly less enjoyable to visit as a result
19-08-2023, 02:59 PM
It’s not simply results. What’s our identity under him ? Our style of play ? After a year is it unreasonable to expect to see that ? Can you honestly say you go into games confident what version of his Hibs team will turn up ?
Aw please don't be quoting the Mikey Stewart line no identity - what does that even mean..?
19-08-2023, 03:11 PM
Aw please don't be quoting the Mikey Stewart line no identity - what does that even mean..?
Playing in a certain style. LJ was quite open about his style of football. If we were playing that way you wouldn’t get some of these comments. Mikey Stewart is bang on about that. We’ve no idea what Hibs is going to turn up most weeks.
Donegal Hibby
19-08-2023, 03:14 PM
If we’d had a 50% win record and 50% loss record last season we’d have got third. I’m not sure JDTs record is the stick to beat him with that you appear to think it is. He also had Blackburns best league finish in a decade since they dropped out the EPL.
Yeah we probably would have finished third which the current manager narrowly missed out on by 5 points which we should have easily had considering Marshall barged into the goals , denied a stonewall penalty at Ibrox and some other crazy decisions that went against us over the course of last season too .
There's a big difference in the circumstances of the two clubs JDT took over to what LJ did imo . Mowbray took over and got them promoted to the championship , they finished 15th the following year and 11th after that . They also took Newcastle United to a replay in the FA cup that they lost in extra time. Mowbray wasn't sacked either . Looked to be very much a club on the up to me before JDT took over in fairness while we were in decline and had dismissed our two previous manager's !
Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2023, 03:24 PM
Yeah we probably would have finished third which the current manager narrowly missed out on by 5 points which we should have easily had considering Marshall barged into the goals , denied a stonewall penalty at Ibrox and some other crazy decisions that went against us over the course of last season too .
There's a big difference in the circumstances of the two clubs JDT took over to what LJ did imo . Mowbray took over and got them promoted to the championship , they finished 15th the following year and 11th after that . They also took Newcastle United to a replay in the FA cup that they lost in extra time. Mowbray wasn't sacked either . Looked to be very much a club on the up to me before JDT took over in fairness while we were in decline and had dismissed our two previous manager's !
Is 5 points narrowly missing out? Especially when we were never third at any point ourselves? :confused:
We never particularly threatened to finish 3rd last season imo. I’m not sure that can constitute narrowly missing out.
Donegal Hibby
19-08-2023, 03:27 PM
Couldn’t really care less what record JDT has with another team in another league. Any Hibs manager with Johnson’s record at Hibs, coupled with some of the really bad defeats, performances and runs along the way would be under pressure. Doesn’t mean people can’t acknowledge the good things along the way (which most do despite being told they don’t IMO).
Fair enough mate . I just wondered if we were losing as many games as we were winning or JDT had LJ record would folk still be calling for him to go ! . Our 2-2 against Luzern was a excellent result and tactical he got it right though there was still a GTF Johnson so there's obviously some going to have a dig at him even when he gets a good result sadly !
19-08-2023, 03:39 PM
Playing in a certain style. LJ was quite open about his style of football. If we were playing that way you wouldn’t get some of these comments. Mikey Stewart is bang on about that. We’ve no idea what Hibs is going to turn up most weeks.
Thank you, saves me the bother. Even the folk that are fully behind him must wonder what version of his side will turn up each game.
Bridge hibs
19-08-2023, 03:46 PM
Thank you, saves me the bother. Even the folk that are fully behind him must wonder what version of his side will turn up each game.Makes it more exciting though doesnt it ? Imagine watching the likes of celtc every week knowing that 99 times out of 100 they are gonna win 😃
19-08-2023, 03:47 PM
Makes it more exciting though doesnt it ? Imagine watching the likes of celtc every week knowing that 99 times out of 100 they are gonna win 😃
I would suffer it for a season or two 😊
19-08-2023, 03:47 PM
Can we not all just agree that Lee Johnson is great and we can all move on 😉
19-08-2023, 03:49 PM
And losing at home today. JDT out. Slavering imposter. Doesn't understand English football.
Cat Stanton
19-08-2023, 03:51 PM
I would suffer it for a season or two 😊
It's the quality of the football/hoofball i can't suffer.
19-08-2023, 03:54 PM
Thank you, saves me the bother. Even the folk that are fully behind him must wonder what version of his side will turn up each game.
I’m fully behind him.
It’s the one of those though, where even with me being fully behind him I’m not inclined to passionately fight his corner against those who hold a different opinion. I’ve sat through the utter mince upon which they’ve based their opinions and if they feel that outweighs the positives then fair enough.
I’ve just enjoyed the highs he’s provided enough to give him the benefit of the doubt. I also felt that for long periods during the second half of last season he was getting about as much as it was possible to get out of an imperfect squad and you can’t ask for much more than that.
If he ends up falling short of the club’s expectations and they relieve him of his duties at the appropriate time then so be it. I guess I’ve got a fairly high threshold for poor football than means I’m still able to brush off a few bad early season performances without feeling like major, sweeping changes like axing a manager is necessary.
Donegal Hibby
19-08-2023, 03:59 PM
And losing at home today. JDT out. Slavering imposter. Doesn't understand English football.
Wonder will he throw his players under the bus after this ? 😂
19-08-2023, 04:01 PM
Wonder will he throw his players under the bus after this ? 😂
Wonder what Blackburn.net are saying?
19-08-2023, 04:01 PM
I’m fully behind him.
It’s the one of those though, where even with me being fully behind him I’m not inclined to passionately fight his corner against those who hold a different opinion. I’ve sat through the utter mince upon which they’ve based their opinions and if they feel that outweighs the positives then fair enough.
I’ve just enjoyed the highs he’s provided enough to give him the benefit of the doubt. I also felt that for long periods during the second half of last season he was getting about as much as it was possible to get out of an imperfect squad and you can’t ask for much more than that.
If he ends up falling short of the club’s expectations and they relieve him of his duties at the appropriate time then so be it. I guess I’ve got a fairly high threshold for poor football than means I’m still able to brush off a few bad early season performances without feeling like major, sweeping changes like axing a manager is necessary.
A good, well thought out post. Though I’m not following you when you say “you’ve sat through the utter mince upon which they’ve based their opinions.”
19-08-2023, 04:04 PM
A good, well thought out post. Though I’m not following you when you say “you’ve sat through the utter mince upon which they’ve based their opinions.”
You have said that you want rid of him because of poor performances. Those games are the mince he refers to.
19-08-2023, 04:05 PM
You have said that you want rid of him because of poor performances. Those games are the mince he refers to.
Aaah right. Makes sense now.
Donegal Hibby
19-08-2023, 04:11 PM
Is 5 points narrowly missing out? Especially when we were never third at any point ourselves? :confused:
We never particularly threatened to finish 3rd last season imo. I’m not sure that can constitute narrowly missing out.
5 points behind the 3rd place team isn't a lot imo and is certainly a improvement from being 16 behind 3rd place the previous year TBH :wink:
Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2023, 04:11 PM
5 points behind the 3rd place team isn't a lot imo and is certainly a improvement from being 16 behind 3rd place the previous year TBH :wink:
So would it be fair to say we even more narrowly avoided bottom 6 and a repeat of the previous season?
Bridge hibs
19-08-2023, 04:19 PM
Wonder will he throw his players under the bus after this ? 😂JDT post match comments
“Hull played in small tidy triangles and diagonals with the occasional direct long ball, we played bigger triangles, square and sometimes a bit running in circles, but at the end of the day its not about shapes, its about implementing them and making them work, we need to work on our shape”
19-08-2023, 04:22 PM
What is the point of him turning it around in the league if he cannot deal with the ''distraction'' of Europe?
Why not just finish 6th every year?
Donegal Hibby
19-08-2023, 04:30 PM
Wonder what Blackburn.net are saying?
I think they have started a " TOMASSON OUT " thread and some are wanting him gone ! . It's only the start of the season FFS . I think they should give him a chance .
We never particularly threatened to finish 3rd last season imo. I’m not sure that can constitute narrowly missing out.About half the dodgy VAR decisions against us last season stopped us being 3rd.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
19-08-2023, 05:08 PM
We would have finished 3rd last season if VAR had been used correctly at Dingwall and Tannadice amongst others. It's done now anyway, need to make sure we get 3rd this season.
19-08-2023, 05:11 PM
We would have finished 3rd last season if VAR had been used correctly at Dingwall and Tannadice amongst others. It's done now anyway, need to make sure we get 3rd this season.
And Ibrox too 👍 penalty when 2-1 up (I think).
Donegal Hibby
19-08-2023, 05:26 PM
So would it be fair to say we even more narrowly avoided bottom 6 and a repeat of the previous season?
Yeah you could if you want . I suppose my 5 points of 3rd or your " we narrowly avoided bottom 6 is like the" are you a glass half full or half empty situation . At the end of the day though we didn't finish bottom 6 , we finished and cut the points gap on the 3rd place team from the previous year by 11 points ! . Mighten be a lot to some though others might think we've improved a bit from the previous year though :wink:
19-08-2023, 05:50 PM
I never said everyone that was wanting Johnson out was making it personal. Most of you all have different reasons wither it be you don't think he's good enough to others wanting there favourite manager like Lennon back . Some of you want to steady the ship with a McInnes, Martindale or a Mackay or try a new guy like Brown or Murray. Though let's be honest here too in that there's also a few that just hates him and will beat him with a stick at every opportunity which as been blatantly obvious aswell !.
He absolutely deserves criticism which he's had in spades though after a brilliant away result in Europe against a very good side which imo the manager got the tactics spot on in there's still the Johnson can GTF going on . Which is to me is unfair tbh .
We made steady if slow progress last year under LJ with some bad results on the way though there was also some really exciting and memorable ones too like Aberdeen 6-0 , 2-2 Huns , beating Celtic, hertz etc etc .
Its not been a great start to the new season with two defeats in our first two games though I still think we will as I keep saying finish either 3rd , 4th or 5th at the end of the season.
Calls for sacking the manager two games into the season is very premature imo though I did think last season the relentless calls for him to go were as well . If he does badly this season yes he will have to go but not without giving him a chance is were I'm at . I'd be like this with any other manager we had as well tbh and it's not personal for me either even though it's been suggested it is !
We’ve rolled the dice on managers so many times this century so far and let’s be honest, results have been… mixed.
We’ve landed on LJ and it could be worse… we know it can. Bad results will come but hopefully enough good ones to outweigh them. It’s early in the season, let’s see where it goes.
19-08-2023, 05:54 PM
😂 I think you need to accept the word has a totally different meaning on Hibs.net Dave. There’s the real meaning and the one on here.
It has multiple meanings, one of which could absolutely be used to describe the last two league performances.
19-08-2023, 06:00 PM
It has multiple meanings, one of which could absolutely be used to describe the last two league performances.
Torpid is what people really mean.
19-08-2023, 06:03 PM
Torpid is what people really mean.
https://is.gd/CmhUrD
19-08-2023, 06:05 PM
https://is.gd/CmhUrD
I wish we'd looked too serious about our playing style!
https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/torpid
19-08-2023, 06:08 PM
Too serious, boring etc.
You can climb down, it’s ok.
19-08-2023, 06:10 PM
https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/torpid
At the risk of yet again seeing a thread going massively off topic for no good reason, are you suggesting that because you think a different word better describes the performance, any other deceptions aren’t valid?
Torpid would have been another way to describe the two games, as would “pish”.
19-08-2023, 06:11 PM
Too serious, boring etc.
You can climb down, it’s ok.
No chance!
I'm right and I'll argue till the cows come home to prove it. (That's what we do on here, right?)
Shall we start a turgid v torpid thread?
19-08-2023, 06:14 PM
No chance!
I'm right and I'll argue till the cows come home to prove it. (That's what we do on here, right?)
Shall we start a turgid v torpid thread?
I think that would be too dull, boring, serious and lethargic for anyone to be bothered reading.
19-08-2023, 06:15 PM
At the risk of yet again seeing a thread going massively off topic for no good reason, are you suggesting that because you think a different word better describes the performance, any other deceptions aren’t valid?
Torpid would have been another way to describe the two games, as would “pish”.
Jeez Louise. Describe it anyway you like.
It's hardly an issue. It's light-hearted.
19-08-2023, 06:27 PM
Jeez Louise. Describe it anyway you like.
It's hardly an issue. It's light-hearted.
I know :greengrin
hibeesjoe
19-08-2023, 06:42 PM
We would have finished third if we weren't so inconsistent and got beat when we shouldn't have.
Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk
JDT post match comments
“Hull played in small tidy triangles and diagonals with the occasional direct long ball, we played bigger triangles, square and sometimes a bit running in circles, but at the end of the day its not about shapes, its about implementing them and making them work, we need to work on our shape”
And they say L. J. talks like David Brent :confused:
Bridge hibs
19-08-2023, 07:01 PM
And they say L. J. talks like David Brent :confused:
I wasnt being serious 😃
19-08-2023, 07:18 PM
Bang out of order.
Is this all you can come up? Insulting fellow fans? There's a decent discussion going on, yet you jump in with this sort of crap again.
Has there never been a Hibs manager you weren't keen on and wanted replaced? Think back to then. There's folk feel similar about LJ now, that's all.
Donegal Hibby
19-08-2023, 07:32 PM
I wasnt being serious 😃
Ah that's a pity ! It sounded so tactical 😂😂😂
19-08-2023, 07:37 PM
Bang out of order.
Is this all you can come up? Insulting fellow fans? There's a decent discussion going on, yet you jump in with this sort of crap again.
Has there never been a Hibs manager you weren't keen on and wanted replaced? Think back to then. There's folk feel similar about LJ now, that's all.
The posters coming out with pish about David Brent, teeth whitener, he's a snake etc are hardly contributing to a "decent discussion". Now after a cracking away performance in Europe we have the same trumpets trying to stir up ill feeling - these folk deserve pelters and if they can't take it they shouldn't dish it out.
19-08-2023, 07:39 PM
The posters coming out with pish about David Brent, teeth whitener, he's a snake etc are hardly contributing to a "decent discussion". Now after a cracking away performance in Europe we have the same trumpets trying to stir up ill feeling - these folk deserve pelters and if they can't take it they shouldn't dish it out.
There you go calling people trumpets now. 😂. This thread would have been half way down the page if it wasn’t for the Johnson Love Children. 😂
19-08-2023, 07:50 PM
There you go calling people trumpets now. 😂. This thread would have been half way down the page if it wasn’t for the Johnson Love Children. 😂
There are usually only three or four trumpets in an orchestra out of maybe 100 musicians - and yet the sound they make is often very prominent and jarring. As such I think the similie is very appropriate.
That sounds like something Johnson would say, btw trombones are fairly loud too.
1875godsgift
19-08-2023, 10:06 PM
That sounds like something Johnson would say, btw trombones are fairly loud too.
Bassoons - drainpipes wi shiny bits.
19-08-2023, 10:19 PM
I think LJ will always have a love hate relationship with fans the results and performances are inconsistent hopefully we can turn corner another centre half left back and midfielder we should be ok
19-08-2023, 10:25 PM
Aye we know who the trumpet is that’s for sure.
19-08-2023, 10:29 PM
If we saw this thread on Yakback we'd be laughing at them. Admins need to close this sorry mess.
19-08-2023, 10:39 PM
Na, there is folk constructively trying to put a point across. Then you get posts like this. How many folk have been talking about teeth or The Office since Thursday?