View Full Version : Johnson Out

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

22-01-2023, 06:16 PM
Yet history shows it is almost impossible to achieve in Scotland.

And what?

Are you saying the fans expectations of the club are too much and that’s why we aren’t as good as we should be?

I’m completely failing to understand how this is in any way the fans’ fault

James Stephen
22-01-2023, 06:17 PM
We weren’t a team that was winning or did the basics well for a long time before JR was sacked.

Granted.

But instead of tweaking and evolving a winning formula, Hibs tore everything up, and started from scratch im search of that high press, jugen klopp fitba that the board and owner felt was what the fans wanted

22-01-2023, 06:17 PM
The fans want a side that plays attractive football and challenging for Europe more often than not. With our budget in comparison to other teams in the league it really isn’t that fanatical.

It’s the club that continues to let the fans down. It’s utterly bizarre that anyone would even partly attempt to blame the fans for this

I want a successful team and don’t care about the style of play.

22-01-2023, 06:21 PM
I want a successful team and don’t care about the style of play.

I’d absolutely take that right now

22-01-2023, 06:21 PM
We weren’t a team that was winning or did the basics well for a long time before JR was sacked.

I agree he was on a bad run but at the time it was accepted that he had been let down in the window with the failure to bring in a midfielder. He wanted the guy from St. Mirren and Mathie didn’t get the deal done. Mathie was sacked. There was no need to then sack Ross especially while he was still getting us to cup finals. He should have been allowed another window to get a midfielder in.

22-01-2023, 06:22 PM
Granted.

But instead of tweaking and evolving a winning formula, Hibs tore everything up, and started from scratch im search of that high press, jugen klopp fitba that the board and owner felt was what the fans wanted

It was what the fans wanted. Fans weren’t turning up to see Jack Ross’s team, even people who had bought season tickets.

Postman
22-01-2023, 06:29 PM
Seriously considering missing the Aberdeen game if he’s still in charge
He doesn’t inspire. Doesn’t know his best team or formation
What was even the point of bringing Henderson on with 1 minute to go and 3-0 down

That’s where I’m at. I can not stand the guy and for the first time in my life won’’t be going along to games whilst he’s in charge. ST holder so will be back as soon as that happens. Not a reaction to today, have felt like this for weeks. He’s never a leader and his team selections are all over the place.

Scotty Leither
22-01-2023, 06:34 PM
I can see how he got the job. Him, Kensell, and Gordon all in the one room - three bull****ters together.

22-01-2023, 06:39 PM
Get him out, we deserve better, Hibs deserve better.

22-01-2023, 06:40 PM
That’s where I’m at. I can not stand the guy and for the first time in my life won’’t be going along to games whilst he’s in charge. ST holder so will be back as soon as that happens. Not a reaction to today, have felt like this for weeks. He’s never a leader and his team selections are all over the place.

What was wrong with his team selection today?

James Stephen
22-01-2023, 06:43 PM
It was what the fans wanted. Fans weren’t turning up to see Jack Ross’s team, even people who had bought season tickets.

Which is exactly my point.

22-01-2023, 06:45 PM
I’ve said since early on that LJ is a slaver but after today I’m not convinced that getting rid of him is the correct decision. He picked pretty much what was our strongest team with the bodies available. For me today exposes how awful our recruitment has been over the last few years. No one on our bench was capable of turning things around and a few of the starters would struggle in the championship. We need not just quality but characters. Players with real leadership skills. I watched Snodgrass today and he bossed things for them. We could have had Steven Fletcher but instead invested in young European players with potential but very little experience. I hope we come up with a clear strategy for recruitment going forward and get the right people in to implement it. What we have just now clearly isn’t working.

22-01-2023, 06:48 PM
Theres a strong argument that Johnson picked the right team today, had them set up right, and we dominated play and possession for long spells.
The problem was, we never had the quality to put in the right final ball, and despite hitting the post twice, never really worked the keeper that often. Hearts had a fraction of our opportunities and took em. Thats about quality and recruitment.

22-01-2023, 06:55 PM
Hibs boardroom right now

https://youtu.be/oBocn14u7Do

Postman
22-01-2023, 06:55 PM

His selection was less erratic today but we still got pumped. If you want to find ways of defending him then good luck to you but my mind will not be changed on him. I have never felt this strongly about a manager needing removed.

22-01-2023, 06:56 PM
I agree he was on a bad run but at the time it was accepted that he had been let down in the window with the failure to bring in a midfielder. He wanted the guy from St. Mirren and Mathie didn’t get the deal done. Mathie was sacked. There was no need to then sack Ross especially while he was still getting us to cup finals. He should have been allowed another window to get a midfielder in.

Mathie was sacked so Ron could appoint his son to a senior role. Jack Ross was sacked so Ian and Ron could appoint their own person as manager. After the January transfer window in 2022, our CEO described it as one of the best ever!! The only thing that's saving Mr Johnson at the moment is that they don't want to seem to admit they have appointed another manager that hasn't worked out.

22-01-2023, 06:58 PM
Theres a strong argument that Johnson picked the right team today, had them set up right, and we dominated play and possession for long spells.
The problem was, we never had the quality to put in the right final ball, and despite hitting the post twice, never really worked the keeper that often. Hearts had a fraction of our opportunities and took em. Thats about quality and recruitment.

This is exactly my view. It wasn’t lack of effort today. We actually won lots of 50/50s and second balls. Lack of quality cost us. That’s down to the awful recruitment over Gordon’s tenure.

22-01-2023, 07:00 PM

His team was actually spot on for a change, for what we had available. It's one of his few games where he could probably curse his luck in the break of the ball etc. He saw thier weakness at left back and we constantly got on behind, and he pushed Campbell right up and Snodgrass was sweating.

However after the 70th minute, Hearts changed thier defence about and he didn't come up with an answer.

However, when you pile that on top of months of ineptitude, it's still the final straw. He has to go.

22-01-2023, 07:01 PM
His selection was less erratic today but we still got pumped. If you want to find ways of defending him then good luck to you but my mind will not be changed on him. I have never felt this strongly about a manager needing removed.

I totally agree with you. It's not just that I thought we were likely to struggle to get a result, it's that I thought it was a certainty we would concede at least once. That puts massive pressure on the team knowing you have to score at least once to get a draw (or take it to extra time). We may not have the players he wants, but Johnson MUST make us more secure defensively, something he is failing to do.

22-01-2023, 07:06 PM
This is exactly my view. It wasn’t lack of effort today. We actually won lots of 50/50s and second balls. Lack of quality cost us. That’s down to the awful recruitment over Gordon’s tenure.

I didn’t have an issue with the team today, didn’t think he could have done much more.

Disagree about the 50/50s and second balls though. Or more so the important ones. When a Hearts player really needed to get their body in the way or win a challenge, they invariably did. I honestly think they must have blocked 12-15 shots from us from good positions in and around the box. Compare that to Cabraja turning his back for the first goal or Rocky not getting out to Shankland for the second. It’s all small things but they do all the small, important things so much better in these games. Really similar to a few weeks back.

Broxburn Greens
22-01-2023, 07:16 PM
Dunno what highlights youre watching, but both games, literally were 0-3 defeats.

Hibs are a weak club - until such times as the whole club - and that includes the fans - start cherishing players and teams who do the basics of professional football in Scotland well, and are not constantly seduced by bull**** snake oil about hibs style, and attacking fitba, then Hibs will continue to be weak.

Keep doing what youve always done, you keep getting what you always get.

Everyone knew Hearts would win, they turned up, and did exactly that with a minimum of fuss.

Hibs - club and support - are addicted to the fuss, to the circus, as was demonstrated by support collectively chasing Ross out of the club for being 'boring'. Funnily enough, Hibs haven't come close to beating Hearts since.

Go figure.

This, great post.

Ross should never have been sacked.

Flair and all that is lovely and yes it’s a nice to have but first and foremost I want to see Hibs, winning games, challenging for cups and third place .

If that means sometimes it’s not going to be pretty then so be it.

Helensburghhibs
22-01-2023, 07:18 PM
I get our recruitment has been pish.... but..... he must see that Nisbet needs someone up top with him,, he must see that youan can't play wide midfield as he doesn't have the awareness or desire to defend,, he must see that constantly pumping the ball in to the the box isn't working. The amount of times we go wide and play it in to no one with no real quality is alarming,, look at hearts as a comparison,, simple 1,2s and counter attacks,, they aren't great but they have beat us 3.0 twice in a month and effectively left us playing for top 6 by the end of jan

22-01-2023, 07:19 PM
6-0 aggregate defeat against your closest rivals, on the run we're on. He'll be gone tomorrow IF Gordon accepts its been a bad appointment

Personally was willing to give him a chance but struggling to retain that view.

Feels a bit like the semi loss to hearts. Players putting in an effort for the club, not the manager but ultimately no good enough

McGruber
22-01-2023, 07:19 PM
I’ve said since early on that LJ is a slaver but after today I’m not convinced that getting rid of him is the correct decision. He picked pretty much what was our strongest team with the bodies available. For me today exposes how awful our recruitment has been over the last few years. No one on our bench was capable of turning things around and a few of the starters would struggle in the championship. We need not just quality but characters. Players with real leadership skills. I watched Snodgrass today and he bossed things for them. We could have had Steven Fletcher but instead invested in young European players with potential but very little experience. I hope we come up with a clear strategy for recruitment going forward and get the right people in to implement it. What we have just now clearly isn’t working.

He holds responsibility for 15 or 16 signings made under his watch. To say he has picked the best team with whats available isn't a positive for me - just highlights his role as part of the recruitment failure that left him picking from those bodies available

Greenworld
22-01-2023, 07:22 PM
I get our recruitment has been pish.... but..... he must see that Nisbet needs someone up top with him,, he must see that youan can't play wide midfield as he doesn't have the awareness or desire to defend,, he must see that constantly pumping the ball in to the the box isn't working. The amount of times we go wide and play it in to no one with no real quality is alarming,, look at hearts as a comparison,, simple 1,2s and counter attacks,, they aren't great but they have beat us 3.0 twice in a month and effectively left us playing for top 6 by the end of janWell.i watched the game in a pub full of jambos and they were all raving about youhan

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Helensburghhibs
22-01-2023, 07:27 PM
Well.i watched the game in a pub full of jambos and they were all raving about youhan

They want him ? He delayed everything too long today,, he needs to learn his pace is enough to beat players and not so much his fancy footwork,, he cost us the 2nd goal and was caught out of position numerous times, maybe you couldn't see that on TV (not his fault BTW.i think he would be effective if told to stay up top and give us an outlet beside nisbet)

22-01-2023, 07:30 PM
6-0 aggregate defeat against your closest rivals, on the run we're on. He'll be gone tomorrow IF Gordon accepts its been a bad appointment

Personally was willing to give him a chance but struggling to retain that view.

Feels a bit like the semi loss to hearts. Players putting in an effort for the club, not the manager but ultimately no good enough

Again you’ve nailed it - players can’t stand the manager, but today they showed every effort and endeavour - I honestly can’t fault them for effort today.

But none of them are playing for the manager that’s guaranteed.

jakeshibs
22-01-2023, 07:30 PM
I can see how he got the job. Him, Kensell, and Gordon all in the one room - three bull****ters together.

Another positive comment

22-01-2023, 07:34 PM
Hibs boardroom right now

https://youtu.be/oBocn14u7Do

Good one, personally I think this is more accurate

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bPMil2ZwSHc

22-01-2023, 07:41 PM
My guess is Johnson won't go before we get a DoF. He'll be kept on whilst we can still make the top 6 and if we don't, the DoF will be tasked with selecting the replacement.

22-01-2023, 07:49 PM
My guess is Johnson won't go before we get a DoF. He'll be kept on whilst we can still make the top 6 and if we don't, the DoF will be tasked with selecting the replacement.

I don’t think he’ll go either.

Even though there are a lot of mitigating circumstances it’s been a long time since I was so unenthused by a Hibs manager. He has been an absolute disaster.

22-01-2023, 07:50 PM
Because people were going to watch his team. Even when winning season ticket holders weren’t turning up.

When you add to that the terrible run of form we were on we had to do something.

His replacements since then were wrong but the decision to sack him was the right one.

Maybe ross could see the mess that was unfolding, and tried to get points the best way he could, rather than try and pass the ball about like Pep's Barcelona with the likes of Newell JDH and Campbell, and dont get me on about the defence he couldnt get proper cover in too when wanted.

Ron said he was too hasty in sacking him, i'm not surprised he struggled with the players he was saddled with, as was Maloney and again with LJ.

This mess started with the sale of the club to Ron, Ross managed to make a silk purse out of a cows ear, but once Ron had got his feet under the table, and sacking everyone who'd contributed in a 3rd place finish, cup finals and semi's common place at the club, the slide has been staggering.

I'd have Ross back tomorrow, but the clown who owns us would only **** it up for him anyway, and make it impossible for him to have any success.

22-01-2023, 07:51 PM
I don’t think he’ll go either.

Even though there are a lot of mitigating circumstances it’s been a long time since I was so unenthused by a Hibs manager. He has been an absolute disaster.

You were more enthused by Maloney ?

22-01-2023, 07:54 PM

Maloney’s results were better.

ErinGoBraghHFC
22-01-2023, 07:54 PM

There at least seemed to be a bit of fight in big games under Maloney

22-01-2023, 07:55 PM
Maybe ross could see the mess that was unfolding, and tried to get points the best way he could, rather than try and pass the ball about like Pep's Barcelona with the likes of Newell JDH and Campbell, and dont get me on about the defence he couldnt get proper cover in too when wanted.

Ron said he was too hasty in sacking him, i'm not surprised he struggled with the players he was saddled with, as was Maloney and again with LJ.

This mess started with the sale of the club to Ron, Ross managed to make a silk purse out of a cows ear, but once Ron had got his feet under the table, and sacking everyone who'd contributed in a 3rd place finish, cup finals and semi's common place at the club, the slide has been staggering.

I'd have Ross back tomorrow, but the clown who owns us would only **** it up for him anyway, and make it impossible for him to have any success.

The fact Jack Ross still gets on well with the Gordon's suggests this black and white image of what went down is wrong. If Jack Ross genuinely thought he was setup to fail and ultimately got sacked solely due to Ron Gordon then I doubt he'd still have good rapport with him.

Jack Ross handed out contract extensions to players that werent and still aren't good enough. Maybe he didn't sign off on them but using current day terminology that'd make him a "yes man". Something we don't want at the club. Lee Johnsons been accused of doing this in the summer with the dozen or so signings we made.

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 07:56 PM
When you bring your 36yo pal to the club and manage to even lose him, he needed to go then. Now is weeks too late.

Paulie Walnuts
22-01-2023, 07:56 PM
Maloney’s results were better.

And he was thrown under the bus so you could have more of a degree of sympathy for him.

LJ has been an absolute disaster from the atrocious league cup campaign to now. He literally had a 4 game winning run that has been the only thing resembling a success in his whole tenure.

22-01-2023, 07:57 PM

No. But I didn’t feel as unenthused as I do now. Johnson been even worse for me.

AugustaHibs
22-01-2023, 07:58 PM
When you bring your 36yo pal to the club and manage to even lose him, he needed to go then. Now is weeks too late.

Reckon he’s lost the dressing room and mcgeady?

ErinGoBraghHFC
22-01-2023, 07:59 PM

Not doubting you here, but could you elaborate? Falling out? Lost the dressing room? ****s going on?

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 08:02 PM
Not doubting you here, but could you elaborate? Falling out? Lost the dressing room? ****s going on?

Lost the dressing room weeks ago, arguments in training weekly with players and coaching staff, including his pal, McGeady.

Think back to the rumours of Lennons fall outs, similar ongoing without LJ going radge, half the squad don't talk to each other, horrible atmosphere at EM currently.

21sMay
22-01-2023, 08:03 PM
I'd bin him , he seems to lack any sort of passion. Also insists on playing certain players in positions they just aren't capable of playing

22-01-2023, 08:04 PM
He’s had far too many howlers

Hearts twice
Ross county at home
Celtic away
Celtic home
Aberdeen away
Out both cups in the first round
Beaten by 10/11 teams in the league and it’s only January

Plus the vast majority of games we’ve won have been against 10 men

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 08:05 PM
The McGeady one I heard is about LJ and Hibs accepting mediocrity and him calling it out in training and basically being told to shut it.

ErinGoBraghHFC
Lost the dressing room weeks ago, arguments in training weekly with players and coaching staff, including his pal, McGeady.

Ken what, it’s no surprise McGeadys fell out with him for me. Geads is a torn faced, greetin **** and he doesn’t come across as someone to sit on his hands and say nothing if the squad aren’t happy. It’s good to have players like that in the squad, someone with a bit about them to challenge the management when things aren’t being handled well. Cheers for that mate

Think back to the rumours of Lennons fall outs, similar ongoing without LJ going radge, half the squad don't talk to each other, horrible atmosphere at EM currently.

I highly doubt arguing with McGeady is unusual :greengrin

Willis1875
22-01-2023, 08:06 PM

Did you hear anything about McGeady questioning his tactical decisions/player positions in the derby at tynecastle.

It wouldn’t surprise me tbh the interview Mcgeady done with Nisbet the other week there whilst not horrendous didn’t exactly scream out that he thought too much of Johnson

AugustaHibs
22-01-2023, 08:07 PM

I was speaking to a current established first team player a couple months ago and says the atmosphere in the dressing room is rotten.

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 08:09 PM
Did you hear anything about McGeady questioning his tactical decisions/player positions in the derby at tynecastle.

It wouldn’t surprise me tbh the interview Mcgeady done with Nisbet the other week there whilst not horrendous didn’t exactly scream out that he thought too much of Johnson

The McGeady one I heard is about LJ and Hibs accepting mediocrity and him calling it out in training and basically being told to shut it.

See this post above.

I didn't believe it at the time as was told by a pal, got told by the same person who told me about the DoF weeks before it was announced and Jeggo a day before as well, along with others so I 100% believe it now due to the persons job at the club.

22-01-2023, 08:10 PM

All you need to watch is the demeanour of the players, even at half time, no coaches out there with the players warming up, subs laughing and joking, having a wee kick about.

Unprofessional I think he implied recently - well that personified it today.

The players can’t stand him.

There at least seemed to be a bit of fight in big games under Maloney

No there wasn’t. Remember the Muller / Drey Wright game at Tynie - woeful.

I honestly don't know what to make of that today. We were by a considerable distance the better team. We were better before they scored and after they scored.

I'm honestly not sure there's anything LJ could have done. Sent the best team out and were the better team. But then he can't argue if he's emptied on the back of two 3-0 defeats.

Helensburghhibs
22-01-2023, 08:11 PM
I get the feeling mcgeady is vocal about standards. Lj mentioned in his interview that the players had been telling each other some home truths. Hopefully players like mcgeady make it clear to some of the others it isn't good enough

AugustaHibs
22-01-2023, 08:11 PM
I was told that it was due to the random scattergun approach to signings, boys coming in who didn’t match the personality of boys already in the squad, very disjointed, didn’t feel like a team etc

22-01-2023, 08:13 PM
I was told that it was due to the random scattergun approach to signings, boys coming in who didn’t match the personality of boys already in the squad, very disjointed, didn’t feel like a team etc

Makes sense. It’s a complete mess of a squad in every sense. Players signed with no thought apart from how good they look on Wyscout.

22-01-2023, 08:15 PM
I honestly don't know what to make of that today. We were by a considerable distance the better team. We were better before they scored and after they scored.

I'm honestly not sure there's anything LJ could have done. Sent the best team out and were the better team. But then he can't argue if he's emptied on the back of two 3-0 defeats.

It’s simply another loss to our rivals.

3v0 again and not acceptable.

Till fans stop accepting us losing regularly this club will stay soft to the core.

We don’t need to play well in derbies but we need to win them.

HendoDelivered
22-01-2023, 08:16 PM

Can’t believe its gotten like this. Hibs doesn’t even feel like Hibs anymore.

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 08:17 PM
If you need to know how little some players care, Demi Mitchell has been on insta promoting his clothing brand tonight. Shades of Lescott putting a photo of his new car up after a 6-0 thrashing at Villa vs Liverpool. Joke, cant even make that squad and he's showing everyone how little he actually cares.

22-01-2023, 08:18 PM

Laddie was a mascot today so we were in the changing room meeting the players beforehand. It was really flat. They were all happy to do their bit with the kids but it was really quiet, no buzz about the place. You could tell it wasn’t a particularly happy group of players in there.

22-01-2023, 08:19 PM
If you need to know how little some players care, Demi Mitchell has been on insta promoting his clothing brand tonight. Shades of Lescott putting a photo of his new car up after a 6-0 thrashing at Villa vs Liverpool. Joke, cant even make that squad and he's showing everyone how little he actually cares.

Not subtle, is it? Hope we manage to shift him this month.

22-01-2023, 08:20 PM
It’s simply another loss to our rivals.

3v0 again and not acceptable.

Till fans stop accepting us losing regularly this club will stay soft to the core.

We don’t need to play well in derbies but we need to win them.

That makes zero sense though. 'fans stop accepting us losing' it's football, you're going to lose games. Real Madrid, Man City, PSG ad nauseam ... you'll lose.

I'd find it much harder to take losing a game where we've been **** and deserved it. But today we we're clearly the better team and that's against the Scottish Barcelona apparently.

GreenGray
22-01-2023, 08:20 PM

To be fair this is the least surprising thing ever. Maybe Johnson should get another motivational speaker in or something

HendoDelivered
22-01-2023, 08:21 PM
See this post above.

I didn't believe it at the time as was told by a pal, got told by the same person who told me about the DoF weeks before it was announced and Jeggo a day before as well, along with others so I 100% believe it now due to the persons job at the club.

So jeffers has been right all along? The players cant stand him? I’m surprised they put up a fight today considering that’s how they feel. Mind you, they are playing in front of home fans so they kinda need to. Truly sad stuff though!

22-01-2023, 08:21 PM

Not a dig at your post - but what he could do is set an example and look the part. Start by not telling players to not go out before a game (correctly) but be seen out himself in a bar ! Could also turn up to games smart, looking like a manager, and not dressed like he’s going for brunch with his wife at Black Ivy - in short, look the part, convey what you preach, lead by example and manage without contradiction.

That’s why he’s lost the players and the dressing room amongst other things.

22-01-2023, 08:22 PM
That makes zero sense though. 'fans stop accepting us losing' it's football, you're going to lose games. Real Madrid, Man City, PSG ad nauseam ... you'll lose.

I'd find it much harder to take losing a game where we've been **** and deserved it. But today we we're clearly the better team and that's against the Scottish Barcelona apparently.

How were we clearly the better team?

They managed to score 3 goals and we managed none. If they sneaked a 1-0 I would see your point but you can’t lose 3-0 and be the better team.

Just_Jimmy

I'd have Ross back tomorrow, but the clown who owns us would only **** it up for him anyway, and make it impossible for him to have any success.Hard to disagree with any of that.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

To be fair this is the least surprising thing ever. Maybe Johnson should get another motivational speaker in or something

He just have made his way through the sniper Yellow Pages already

What's it called? Crocked? Sick note?

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 08:24 PM
So jeffers has been right all along? The players cant stand him? I’m surprised they put up a fight today considering that’s how they feel. Mind you, they are playing in front of home fans so they kinda need to. Truly sad stuff though!

He had quite a lot of support before the Celtic game. Theres a feeling in the squad certain players have been thrown under the bus by him massively and despite him naming them as quality in the media, won't start them, when he does he hooks them early or gives them 5/10 mins here and there and then slaughter's them in training. Mckirdy and Tavares two that I've heard, but heard he's thrown plenty more under the bus. A lot at the club do not like how JDH is being pushed out against his will as well. It's a total shambles atm.

Certain players not even allowed to train with the first team half the time.

Should say Tavares and Mckirdy slightly diff scenarios. Tsvares has been bigger up, never given proper time and LJ lets him know what he thinks I'm training a bit too much for some senior pros liking considering his age.

Theres a general feeling Harry has been left out to dry by LJ, and he's not been shy of letting LJ know that himself, although probably didn't take a genius to figure that one out without being told.

22-01-2023, 08:25 PM

They managed to score 3 goals and we managed none. If they sneaked a 1-0 I would see your point but you can’t lose 3-0 and be the better team.

Do you honestly think we weren't the better team today? Score line aside, which I appreciate is a ridiculous statement, we were the much better team. Plenty examples of the better team losing a game of football.

22-01-2023, 08:25 PM
Well.i watched the game in a pub full of jambos and they were all raving about youhan

My daughter's partner said exactly the same.

He is still raw and makes some bad decisions but there's a player in there alright.

GreenGray
22-01-2023, 08:26 PM
He had quite a lot of support before the Celtic game. Theres a feeling in the squad certain players have been thrown under the bus by him massively and despite him naming them as quality in the media, won't start them, when he does he hooks them early or gives them 5/10 mins here and there and then slaughter's them in training. Mckirdy and Tavares two that I've heard, but heard he's thrown plenty more under the bus. A lot at the club do not like how JDH is being pushed out against his will as well. It's a total shambles atm.

Deary me if this is true there’s no way we will turn it around, too broke to fix it.

You often hear about managers creating a good team spirit, sounds like we have the opposite

22-01-2023, 08:26 PM
My daughter's partner said exactly the same.

He is still raw and makes some bad decisions but there's a player in there alright.

Apparently a Celtic scout was there today watching Youan. Agathe mark II

Willis1875
22-01-2023, 08:28 PM

A good coach probably turns his negatives into positives pretty quickly

Same with the 4-1 loss up in Aberdeen, or the 3-0 at Tynecastle, or the 3-0 today. We don’t half have an ability to snatch a heavy defeat from the jaws of games we’re the better team in.

HendoDelivered

What a ****ing mess. I have supported him but today was the final straw for me, he can go. Don’t think that only changing the manager will fix anything though. There has to be wholesale changes above, like the Gordons getting out of our club. Have heard they come across as quite ignorant and not that nice to be around in person. Chalk and cheese from how LD was the exact words used.

cameronw-hfc

Tons of ability, no decision making. A good coach will turn that around q decent amount quickly.

Johnson surely didn’t mean he didn’t know his team on Friday night ? If that’s true no wonder players aren’t happy. What are we actually working on in training.

Todays result adds to his shocking record this season..

Loss to part time Falkirk
Loss to part time Morton
Loss to St Mirren
Loss to Livi
Loss to Dundee Utd
Loss to Celtic - 6-0
Home loss to St J (full house and 1-0 up)
Home loss to Ross County
Loss to Aberdeen - 4-1
Loss to Killie
Home loss to Celtic 4-0
Home loss to Hearts 3-0
Away loss to Hearts 3-0

He also lost to Rangers 3-2

It’s not very good is it?!!

ErinGoBraghHFC
22-01-2023, 08:29 PM

Bojang?

HendoDelivered
22-01-2023, 08:30 PM
Johnson surely didn’t mean he didn’t know his team on Friday night ? If that’s true no wonder players aren’t happy. What are we actually working on in training.

Todays result adds to his shocking record this season..

Loss to part time Falkirk
Loss to part time Morton
Loss to St Mirren
Loss to Livi
Loss to Dundee Utd
Loss to Celtic - 6-0
Home loss to St J (full house and 1-0 up)
Home loss to Ross County
Loss to Aberdeen - 4-1
Loss to Killie
Home loss to Celtic 4-0
Home loss to Hearts 3-0
Away loss to Hearts 3-0

He also lost to Rangers 3-2

It’s not very good is it?!!

The turning point of the season for me was that 1-0 loss to St Johnstone at home. What a chance that was to build something and get the fans onboard. Still annoys me now how badly we bottled it that night.

22-01-2023, 08:30 PM

Absolutely agree.

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 08:33 PM
Bojang?

I mean yeah but not just him considering he's not here. Theres a group that train on their own most days instead of with the squad, don't know exactly who's in it though because if I'm honest, I really couldn't be bothered asking and hearing more bad news at this stage. Cba now.

loanheadhibby

Should say Tavares and Mckirdy slightly diff scenarios. Tsvares has been bigger up, never given proper time and LJ lets him know what he thinks I'm training a bit too much for some senior pros liking considering his age.

Theres a general feeling Harry has been left out to dry by LJ, and he's not been shy of letting LJ know that himself, although probably didn't take a genius to figure that one out without being told.

With respect, all hearsay nonsense that you get all the time when a team’s struggling.

Maybe the players should look in a mirror and get their fingers out? It’s not LJ that can’t defend or score. He can only work with the tools he has.

Do you honestly think we weren't the better team today? Score line aside, which I appreciate is a ridiculous statement, we were the much better team. Plenty examples of the better team losing a game of football.

Yes, I think Hearts were the better team as they found the balance between defending well and creating chances when they went forward.

We managed to keep the ball better than Hearts but that’s not the point in football, the point is to score goals.

I get you can lose a game 1-0 after playing well if their keeper has a worldie or something but we created very little, never scored and conceded three. The scoreline may be harsh but i couldn’t have an argument with a jambo and say we were the better team.

Mutu
22-01-2023, 08:35 PM
I was speaking to a current established first team player a couple months ago and says the atmosphere in the dressing room is rotten.

You can tell at full time. I made a point to stand and watch the body language after FT and it was shocking from the experienced players. Only Campbell, McKirdy, Henderson, Yuoan and Cabraja went to clap the support after the game. Johnson was nowhere. I'm not one of these fans that get annoyed by this usually, but given the hole we are in I would expect the senior players to be taking the lead here but instead it's head doon sulking all round. A squad of complete strangers.

That's on the manager - 100%. Not surprising given LJ has spent the past few months telling the media the squad isn't good enough.

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 08:35 PM
With respect, all hearsay nonsense that you get all the time when a team’s struggling.

Maybe the players should look in a mirror and get their fingers out? It’s not LJ that can’t defend or score. He can only work with the tools he has.

In fairness given who it's come from I tend to trust them. Last few bits of info I've posted from them the last 2/3 months have been spot on, so I'll trust this one until it's proven otherwise.

22-01-2023, 08:36 PM

Stop this better team chat.

We lost again.

It’s like saying better team at Tynie 2nd half and we lost the 2nd half 1-0 and the game 3-0.

They even scored at 2-0 with 10 players. That’s the better team who can score with less than 11 players v 10 players.

Fans want wins not just flair football with no end product.

NC1875
22-01-2023, 08:36 PM

🤣🤣🤣 boys done absolutely nothing to deserve playing for hibs. Celtic ? Dearie me. What a load of *****

22-01-2023, 08:38 PM
The turning point of the season for me was that 1-0 loss to St Johnstone at home. What a chance that was to build something and get the fans onboard. Still annoys me now how badly we bottled it that night.

I was seriously worried after the league cup group stages.

I oddly loved the 2 preseasons abroad - looked like a totally different team but it wasn’t against much opposition.

St J was a serious mess in front of a full house. No one to blame except ourselves (well the manager / club owners / CEO).

Hibees1973
22-01-2023, 08:38 PM
Laddie was a mascot today so we were in the changing room meeting the players beforehand. It was really flat. They were all happy to do their bit with the kids but it was really quiet, no buzz about the place. You could tell it wasn’t a particularly happy group of players in there.

That's very interesting.

Seems the much heralded pre Christmas jolly over to Dublin hasn't done the trick then. A few posters said at the time it was a fab opportunity for a bit of team bonding and come back all refreshed and ready to go.

Well, results since then have been dire.

Rotten to the core our club just now.

Needs change from the top sharpish.

Willis1875
22-01-2023, 08:40 PM

It’s not just todays game though,he’s shoe horning guys into unfamiliar positions mostly in positions that need a bit of stability and longevity.
Our defensive structure is awful particularly at set pieces,that’s on him and his coaching staff to rectify.
We are hemorrhaging goals at an alarming rate,particularly since the return from the world cup

loanheadhibby
22-01-2023, 08:41 PM
In fairness given who it's come from I tend to trust them. Last few bits of info I've posted from them the last 2/3 months have been spot on, so I'll trust this one until it's proven otherwise.

I’m certainly not disputing anything you have heard but it’s tedious that our players are weaselling out as per usual blaming everything & anyone else. Maybe they should focus on what they do on the park.

Most of these guys have let down Ross, Maloney and now Lee Johnson. Would not want a single one of them in the trenches with me.

Surely players will have went to Ben to share this dressing room lack of harmony?

Stop this better team chat.

We lost again.

It’s like saying better team at Tynie 2nd half and we lost the 2nd half 1-0 and the game 3-0.

They even scored at 2-0 with 10 players. That’s the better team who can score with less than 11 players v 10 players.

Fans want wins not just flair football with no end product.

We were winning under Jack Ross and fans wanted flair? It's all just pish!!

All fans want is an unrealistic ability to play sexy attacking football and never lose. It's never ever going to happen.

22-01-2023, 08:42 PM
Yes, I think Hearts were the better team as they found the balance between defending well and creating chances when they went forward.

We managed to keep the ball better than Hearts but that’s not the point in football, the point is to score goals.

I get you can lose a game 1-0 after playing well if their keeper has a worldie or something but we created very little, never scored and conceded three. The scoreline may be harsh but i couldn’t have an argument with a jambo and say we were the better team.

Hearts did the important things better.

Their defenders defended like their lives depended on it. Two of their attackers had a chance each and buried them while we wasted multiple opportunities.

Wasn’t really too dissimilar to the game at Tynecastle.

22-01-2023, 08:43 PM

I'm not convinced. He is old enough to have learned that crossing a ball when defenders are moving towards their own goal will make it far more difficult for them. He is surely old enough to know that if you feign to cross 3 or 4 times then attackers will never know when to make a run. Mind you McGeady is quite similar in some ways and his final product has arguably been worse than Youans. I would still be debating if he is worth keeping but there is enough ability there to hope that he learns that an early ball is usually far more valuable. I still can't work out if Youan has pace. He looks lightning some times but again today he had a run in on goal, early on, and the defender took yards off him and easily got back. Probably his ability to run rather than just raw pace and makes you realise how good Boyle is in those situations.

loanheadhibby
22-01-2023, 08:43 PM
🤣🤣🤣 boys done absolutely nothing to deserve playing for hibs. Celtic ? Dearie me. What a load of *****

To be fair, a lot of folk same said about Agathe. Sometimes it takes a punt on these players.

I agree tho, on face of it he’s not good enough for Celtic.

22-01-2023, 08:44 PM
We were winning under Jack Ross and fans wanted flair? It's all just pish!!

All fans want is an unrealistic ability to play sexy attacking football and never lose. It's never ever going to happen.

We weren’t beating a rusty Hearts in a semi or St J twice.

That’s just 3 reasons why Ross was sacked. Add in he also had a few shockers against teams with less resources.

Ross best game was the Boyle derby at Hampden and Boyle Derby at PBS.

I wouldn’t have cared how we played if we won the cup or beat Hearts in a semi.

Derbies and cup games are about getting through the tie.

22-01-2023, 08:46 PM
Hearts did the important things better.

Their defenders defended like their lives depended on it. Two of their attackers had a chance each and buried them while we wasted multiple opportunities.

Wasn’t really too dissimilar to the game at Tynecastle.

If the question was whether Hibs had more of the ball than Hearts I would say we did. If it’s a case of who played better though you can’t just ignore them scoring three and us scoring none.

Potty78
22-01-2023, 08:46 PM
To be fair, a lot of folk same said about Agathe. Sometimes it takes a punt on these players.

I agree tho, on face of it he’s not good enough for Celtic.

Still thinks he's decent, final ball not the best but he was our most creative player till Kingsley came on

loanheadhibby
22-01-2023, 08:47 PM
It’s not just todays game though,he’s shoe horning guys into unfamiliar positions mostly in positions that need a bit of stability and longevity.
Our defensive structure is awful particularly at set pieces,that’s on him and his coaching staff to rectify.
We are hemorrhaging goals at an alarming rate,particularly since the return from the world cup

I’m in total agreement with what you say. However, you can only p!ss with the equipment you are given.

I feel the club have hung LJ out to dry over this cup tie. The biggest game of season, a squad that is decimated and they get him 1 player in.

He deserved at least 3 new players but we’ve either no money or he’s not trusted by club and they are hedging bets on him not being here at end of January.

GreenGray
22-01-2023, 08:48 PM
Surely players will have went to Ben to share this dressing room lack of harmony?

Why would they? That would be considered a revolt and I’m not sure any those players have that in them.

You’d hope those above the manager are aware of the atmosphere though, does seem like we’re just waiting till we get a DOF in then he’ll be gone.

22-01-2023, 08:49 PM

Did Hanlon not do this the last manager?

22-01-2023, 08:50 PM
If the question was whether Hibs had more of the ball than Hearts I would say we did. If it’s a case of who played better though you can’t just ignore them scoring three and us scoring none.

Aye it’s a fairly significant point. We’ve had some doings this season and folk talking about us playing well on the back of them. The two derbies and Aberdeen jump out.

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 08:50 PM
Why would they? That would be considered a revolt and I’m not sure any those players have that in them.

You’d hope those above the manager are aware of the atmosphere though, does seem like we’re just waiting till we get a DOF in then he’ll be gone.

Ben knows. Dont think a John Collins situation has happened, yet, or if it will, but he defo knows.

Should say that's not itk info, just absolutely no chance he doesn't know. Its not like there one or two unhappy players, it's most of the squad. He 100% knows whats going on.

NC1875
22-01-2023, 08:52 PM
Ben knows. Dont think a John Collins situation has happened, yet, or if it will, but he defo knows.

Should say that's not itk info, just absolutely no chance he doesn't know. Its not like there one or two unhappy players, it's most of the squad. He 100% knows whats going on.

If only the players had done something to actually merit complaining about the manager. Bunch of huddies.

22-01-2023, 08:54 PM

That’s just 3 reasons why Ross was sacked. Add in he also had a few shockers against teams with less resources.

I don't think it's a coincidence that we came 3rd when there were no fans in.

22-01-2023, 08:54 PM
He still here

loanheadhibby
22-01-2023, 08:56 PM

Can the players also tell Ben & Ron that we’re not happy with them? Just in case they were not aware.

Ben must surely be on a shoogly peg? CEO carries the ultimate can.

GreenGray
22-01-2023, 08:56 PM
If only the players had done something to actually merit complaining about the manager. Bunch of huddies.

True, can we just totally start again? Squad of ****bags. Don’t care what the atmosphere in the squad is like you should still be up for that game today.

You’d have hoped certain players in that squad would have got the others up for it, don’t think that’s asking for too much.

RossScott1991
22-01-2023, 08:58 PM
I’m totally scunnered with Hibs atm.

Feels like a chore and has done for some time going along every week. Some will say a lot of football to be played left in league campaign but to me I felt today was the season over. Going to be even harder to continue dragging myself along to ER. If it wasn’t for using the time to catch up with pals etc I go with then I’d maybe find more excuses not to go.

Total reset required. And I include the manager in that along with a number of players.

22-01-2023, 08:59 PM

Hearts also weren’t in the league.

Aberdeen were awful that year too.

Would take 3rd in anyway just now but fans just think it was 3rd and simple.

22-01-2023, 09:03 PM
True, can we just totally start again? Squad of ****bags. Don’t care what the atmosphere in the squad is like you should still be up for that game today.

You’d have hoped certain players in that squad would have got the others up for it, don’t think that’s asking for too much.

The players were up for it today, not sure how anyone can have watched the game and didn’t think that. I keep making the same point if the players aren’t good enough it’s not their fault, they didn’t sign themself.

How?

What about George Craig retiring? He left Hibs at the end of 2019 and had said

"People say to me, ‘what do you do, George?’ And I say ‘it’ll probably be when I’m not here that you notice what I do.'"

Looks like he was bang on.

Unless he told Leeann to go, which isn't how it sounds, he's not exactly been able to walk in and just let everything carry on rolling. Changes have had to be made and he's made an arse of a lot of it and has admitted as much.

I didn't mind Ross and didn't want him sacked but plenty fans did, mind that night at Livingston? Since then his stock has only fallen further.

Johnson's got us a place higher with a poorer team than where Ross had us before his sacking.

22-01-2023, 09:06 PM
How?

Great place when we're doing well. Horrible place when the fans turn on the back of losing a goal or even when Campbell or Newell misplace that first pass. Don't have enough players that want to take and hold onto the ball in those situations.

22-01-2023, 09:09 PM

Name a team in the world who doesn't lose against a team with less resources? Livi are currently fourth in the league ffs!

I do absolutely agree though that ultimately the only thing that maters is the result. I just refuse to accept that the winner is always the better team on the day, that's pish.

GreenGray
22-01-2023, 09:20 PM
The players were up for it today, not sure how anyone can have watched the game and didn’t think that. I keep making the same point if the players aren’t good enough it’s not their fault, they didn’t sign themself.

My comment was referring to a previous post where someone said the dressing room was flat etc.

22-01-2023, 09:25 PM
Can the players also tell Ben & Ron that we’re not happy with them? Just in case they were not aware.

Ben must surely be on a shoogly peg? CEO carries the ultimate can.

Who tells who about how we’re not happy with Ben and Ron as well btw?

What a ****ing mess the club is

22-01-2023, 09:32 PM

I think you are definitely right about the players not having it in them to revolt. I dont really see any fight or oassion from them. I dunno if thats them or because LJ has t got them fired up cause they dont believe his bull*****

22-01-2023, 09:33 PM
Name a team in the world who doesn't lose against a team with less resources? Livi are currently fourth in the league ffs!

I do absolutely agree though that ultimately the only thing that maters is the result. I just refuse to accept that the winner is always the better team on the day, that's pish.

We have already lost x6 this season against teams with less resources with still plenty games to go.

Out both cups early (league cup mess was nearly sackable offence on own!) - so basically 2 out of 3 targets the manager is failing at.

loanheadhibby
22-01-2023, 09:39 PM
Who tells who about how we’re not happy with Ben and Ron as well btw?

What a ****ing mess the club is

Would not surprise me if Ben & Ron were viewing us as a work in progress and quite happy with our progression.

We’ll never know as we don’t hear Jack ***** from Ron unless he wants our money.

Where’s the Fan liaison officer as well? Missing in action.

22-01-2023, 10:06 PM

Well if it’s as bad as your source is saying L J needs to go now it’s as simple as that

22-01-2023, 10:18 PM
I’m in total agreement with what you say. However, you can only p!ss with the equipment you are given.

I feel the club have hung LJ out to dry over this cup tie. The biggest game of season, a squad that is decimated and they get him 1 player in.

He deserved at least 3 new players but we’ve either no money or he’s not trusted by club and they are hedging bets on him not being here at end of January.

😂😂😂😂

aberhibsfc
22-01-2023, 10:24 PM
Changing manager isn't always the answer, but neither is persevering with someone who doesn't appear to have the cognisance to see us through our current challenges.

The board are also very culpable regards our current circumstances. They have been prioritised developing our source of young players, in the round this has proved positive with real traction from the likes of young O'Connor and co.

Focus and investment has been spent on unearthing young potential gems from elsewhere, a progressive and valiant effort, however feel this has been to the detriment of our first team.

The board seem to have listened to Johnson's views regards quantity over quality, there is a ring of truth there as there have been some acquisitions which will not hit the mark. While I'm happy they are taking some action by moving some players out, I think in the rush, they have been to quick to let Melkerson leave. I think with good coaching, he is going to become a decent player. I believe Delferriere is another possibly on the move, I think I'd be persevering with him to. Tavares too, I think needs looked after, there are good players in there, but for me Melkerson is the gem. I'd also like to hold onto Youan post loan.

Apologies for digressing. I believe the board have to look inward at their operations and decision making. I'm one of those who remained quiet when Jack Ross left, yes, he was stuttering, but felt he deserved further support. I was stunned when they signed Maloney, but felt, ok, we're here now, lets give him a chance. The board were very decisive in moving both managers out, perhaps this is why they are holding onto Johnson, while I can understand their reticence given recent post holders, I don't see anything to make me believe Johnson is going to take us anywhere other than downwards. I hear all the Brent stuff about him which is OTT, but he does come across as someone who would be happy delivering powerpoint presentations. I feel bad for saying that but here we are.

I don't want the board to be running from one side of the room to another, there needs to be a plan. Trim the squad, but be careful doing it. We do need an experienced level headed DoF and I think we need to seriously be looking at a new manager.

I've been keeping my powder dry for a while, yes the derby result has annoyed me, but I've been harboring these feelings for a while. Just my opinion though, there are other brands available. Hopefully this hasn't proved an arduous soup to decipher and if you've read this far, I salute you.

Mon the Hibs!

22-01-2023, 10:24 PM
Would not surprise me if Ben & Ron were viewing us as a work in progress and quite happy with our progression.

We’ll never know as we don’t hear Jack ***** from Ron unless he wants our money.

It would appear that when Kieran’s role was changed by the club he’s became even less engaged with fans. Always used to see him interacting but barely not notice it anymore unless he’s trying to promote upcoming fixtures.

22-01-2023, 10:25 PM
Aye it’s a fairly significant point. We’ve had some doings this season and folk talking about us playing well on the back of them. The two derbies and Aberdeen jump out.

We did actually dominate posession and create some good chances today - we genuinely looked like we might score with our wingers often having the Hertz fullbacks on toast - hitting woodwork twice. Against that Hearts basically defended better than we seem capable of defending right now and were clinical with the few opportunities they created.
It's hard to be critical of Johnson on the back of this particular performance - he picked the right team from limited resourcs and got a good performance out of most of them. In certain crucial areas though - basically both goalmouths - it simply wasn't quite good enough.

aberhibsfc
22-01-2023, 10:27 PM

I'm not too impressed with Ben Kensell. Feels more like a fair weather politician than a football CEO.

22-01-2023, 10:36 PM
Hibs didn’t even bother tweeting the managers interview after today’s game. Shambles.

22-01-2023, 10:36 PM
Wait, do these daft muppets think they’re doing Moneyball with our club? Is that why we make so many weird signings?

22-01-2023, 10:40 PM
Hibs didn’t even bother tweeting the managers interview after today’s game. Shambles.

I think tweeting less after defeats more generally would be a better strategy for the Hibs social media team to be honest.

22-01-2023, 10:55 PM
I think tweeting less after defeats more generally would be a better strategy for the Hibs social media team to be honest.

I know it’s not ideal, club is a shambles, but! is he no away yet?!

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 10:57 PM
I know it’s not ideal, club is a shambles, but! is he no away yet?!

Usually a good sign a manager has been sacked when the socials go quiet. Not heard anything though and given the amount of leaks at Hibs, you would expect there to be some rumours doing the rounds and doesn't seem to be any.

buktapurple79
22-01-2023, 11:01 PM
Usually a good sign a manager has been sacked when the socials go quiet. Not heard anything though and given the amount of leaks at Hibs, you would expect there to be some rumours doing the rounds and doesn't seem to be any.

Aye, my Hibs club regular sage has heard nowt to his disappointment, he’s usually right 80% of the time!

22-01-2023, 11:30 PM
Get rid of LJ, get someone in who can organize and grind out some point, sign Leigh Griffiths and we MIGHT not get dragged into the relegation battle.

McGruber
23-01-2023, 02:15 AM
Okay, 3:10 in the a.m. and no LJ sacked announcement so calling it bedtime. Will see the announcement tomorrow

Silky
23-01-2023, 05:29 AM

Probably correct imo. The vast majority don't want to hear him speak due to being a "slaver" etc. Why would they put out content nobody wants?

loanheadhibby
23-01-2023, 05:31 AM
It would appear that when Kieran’s role was changed by the club he’s became even less engaged with fans. Always used to see him interacting but barely not notice it anymore unless he’s trying to promote upcoming fixtures.

How disappointing if true. Agree used to regularly see him interacting on social media and on here. I had wondered if he had maybe quit. Such a shame for an important role.

23-01-2023, 06:19 AM
I never expected anything to happen last night however I wonder if we’ll hear anything today regarding LJ’s future. Maybe even something from a club friendly paper like the EEN.

23-01-2023, 06:22 AM

:agree: The social media updates are far too frequent, i dont even bother checking the comments as they just attract the usual yams and WUMs throwing abuse around.

23-01-2023, 06:25 AM
Next tweet from the club will either be a sponsor or trying to punt tickets for Aberdeen. It’s a stick on. I just don’t see them punting him because it means they need to admit they’ve ****ed it again.

drumatic44
23-01-2023, 06:46 AM
Worth a shout ??

23-01-2023, 06:49 AM
I'd sack him now, his record is horrendous but I have no faith in those running the club to bring a suitable replacement in.

23-01-2023, 06:59 AM
I'd sack him now, his record is horrendous but I have no faith in those running the club to bring a suitable replacement in.

I think an experienced short term solution until the end of the season is the answer just now.

Longer term appointment when the DoF comes in.

Yorkshire HFC
23-01-2023, 07:04 AM
Really disappointing result yesterday, but I don't think any decisions should be made on the back of a(nother) defeat by Hearts.

I've been following Hibs for 50 years and Hibs have never really had the upper hand on Hearts in that time - the record is so bad if you explained it to someone they wouldn't believe it. But you can't blame it all on the current manager.

I think you've got to let him and the squad get themselves out of this hole. We'll see how good the new Australian signing is, but I don't see the long term strategy is signing another foreign player on a short term contract - he probably hadn't heard of Hibs a week ago - how is he going to be expected to dig in when times are hard - as they will be until the end of the season?

It may be too late for Porteous, but surely a team could have been build around him, Marshall, Nisbet (and Boyle) - we need an identity and the best way to get that is by bringing through young Scottish players - I'd have made Porteous captain but it seems that horse has bolted. I just don't see a "Hibs culture" at the moment - Livingston, Motherwell and Hearts seem to have one - it gives them an extra 5% - Hibs and Aberdeen don't. The club seems bloated with loans and players (and managers) who'll be here for a season and then disappear. I think it'll be a long season with few highs - they just need to make sure they stay up.

23-01-2023, 07:10 AM

Now. He should have been sacked before teatime yesterday!

McGruber
23-01-2023, 07:12 AM
Really disappointing result yesterday, but I don't think any decisions should be made on the back of a(nother) defeat by Hearts.

I've been following Hibs for 50 years and Hibs have never really had the upper hand on Hearts in that time - the record is so bad if you explained it to someone they wouldn't believe it. But you can't blame it all on the current manager.

I think you've got to let him and the squad get themselves out of this hole. We'll see how good the new Australian signing is, but I don't see the long term strategy is signing another foreign player on a short term contract - he probably hadn't heard of Hibs a week ago - how is he going to be expected to dig in when times are hard - as they will be until the end of the season?

It may be too late for Porteous, but surely a team could have been build around him, Marshall, Nisbet (and Boyle) - we need an identity and the best way to get that is by bringing through young Scottish players - I'd have made Porteous captain but it seems that horse has bolted. I just don't see a "Hibs culture" at the moment - Livingston, Motherwell and Hearts seem to have one - it gives them an extra 5% - Hibs and Aberdeen don't. The club seems bloated with loans and players (and managers) who'll be here for a season and then disappear. I think it'll be a long season with few highs - they just need to make sure they stay up.

He wouldn't be getting emptied as a result of losing heavily to Hearts again - it's 3 wins in 14 and he has lost the dressingroom. He's been a disaster and should have been emptied before now.

I'm Spartacus
23-01-2023, 07:13 AM
If LJ is getting sacked then it's only fair every other muppet goes with him as the responsibility for this mess lies wider than Lee Johnson.

23-01-2023, 07:16 AM
It sounds like he has created a toxic culture at the training ground with half the squad not speaking to each other, singling out individuals for criticism and hanging others out to dry. There’s no defence of his record as manager either.

I’ve slept on it and I want him out, along with his back room team.

23-01-2023, 07:20 AM
If LJ is getting sacked then it's only fair every other muppet goes with him as the responsibility for this mess lies wider than Lee Johnson.

Ben Kensell would have this on his record too.

Does he want another failed manager on his CV ?

Next job Ben applies for … tell me about recruitment of your managers…

Well…Maloney lasted 120 days…Johnson lasted 249 days (and counting) ..

23-01-2023, 07:21 AM
The huffing and puffing yesterday told me he hasn't lost the dressing room at least. We just aren't a very good team. Beaten 3-0 by a team that didn't have to try very hard.

23-01-2023, 07:24 AM
Hibs were in control for much of the match but couldn't capitalise.
I say stick with LJ. We don't need more disruption.

DinkyTwo
23-01-2023, 07:41 AM

Theres a general feeling Harry has been left out to dry by LJ, and he's not been shy of letting LJ know that himself, although probably didn't take a genius to figure that one out without being told.I've supported him until now and still would rather he was given an opportunity to turn things around, but if this is true, he needs to go.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

I'm Spartacus
23-01-2023, 07:43 AM
Ben Kensell would have this on his record too.

Does he want another failed manager on his CV ?

Next job Ben applies for … tell me about recruitment of your managers…

Well…Maloney lasted 120 days…Johnson lasted 249 days (and counting) ..

Amazing how the recruitment team cannot recruit a Manager, then when they do they cannot recruit high calibre players, and now they are in the market to recruit a Director of Football to help that poorly recruited Manager and poorly recruited players.

Shambles.

I wonder if the above timelines guarantee the next guy 500 days?!

cameronw-hfc
23-01-2023, 07:54 AM
The huffing and puffing yesterday told me he hasn't lost the dressing room at least. We just aren't a very good team. Beaten 3-0 by a team that didn't have to try very hard.

Just because they tried a little bit in a derby doesn't mean he's not lost them tbf. Trying hard should be the bare minimum in a derby, and effort is about all he's getting.

SickBoy32
23-01-2023, 08:00 AM
Just because they tried a little bit in a derby doesn't mean he's not lost them tbf. Trying hard should be the bare minimum in a derby, and effort is about all he's getting.

Times up for LJ - but moreso BK

Kensell has overseen the assembly of a truly terrible squad, and from our recent position of strength - that is inexcusable

GTF

23-01-2023, 08:08 AM

Yes, I never got the impression we were playing as a team at all yesterday. Plenty effort but there’s a reason we never scored and couldn’t stop them scoring. We didn’t have the numbers forward when attacking and we couldn’t defend as a unit when they came forward.

It was a mish mash of players trying their best but hoping an individual could create something rather any thing the team has worked on.

I’m certainly not about to go and watch the highlights again so it could be pish but I read a headline saying Hearts worked on their first goal in training. Do we do any set piece work in training any more? Either defensively or attacking?

23-01-2023, 08:17 AM
Times up for LJ - but moreso BK

Kensell has overseen the assembly of a truly terrible squad, and from our recent position of strength - that is inexcusable

GTF

Agree, they can both walk.

23-01-2023, 08:34 AM
Yes, I never got the impression we were playing as a team at all yesterday. Plenty effort but there’s a reason we never scored and couldn’t stop them scoring. We didn’t have the numbers forward when attacking and we couldn’t defend as a unit when they came forward.

It was a mish mash of players trying their best but hoping an individual could create something rather any thing the team has worked on.

I’m certainly not about to go and watch the highlights again so it could be pish but I read a headline saying Hearts worked on their first goal in training. Do we do any set piece work in training any more? Either defensively or attacking?

The front line looked disjointed. Individually there was no shortage of effort and there were plenty of individual moments of skill but they just didn't look like a team, working together to score goals.

Hearts looked like they did the simple stuff well - defending as a unit, the odd bit of cohesive play going forward. We had highlight reel players doing stepovers and repeatedly beating folk with no idea how to actually provide any sort of meaningful end product. Individually you can make a case that almost all our players played well. Collectively it was miles short of what it needed to be.

Whilst I thought Johnson picked the best team from what was available and on certain levels we played well - you could argue that we looked poorly coached. The various departments of the team look to be less than the sum of the parts. If so then that should be on Johnson.

23-01-2023, 08:36 AM
He wouldn't be getting emptied as a result of losing heavily to Hearts again - it's 3 wins in 14 and he has lost the dressingroom. He's been a disaster and should have been emptied before now.

Disaster is being kind. The run he is on would get managers sacked at most clubs. Out both cups at the first stage, once against lower league sides and once against Hearts. Lost the dressing room. He’s even injured a player at one point. He couldn’t really have done much worse.

Despite that, I expect him to be in the dugout on Saturday.

23-01-2023, 08:45 AM
He's got to go, but it makes sense that we appoint a DOF first. Massive pressure on that appointment but at the same time, he should have a pretty blank canvas to work from.

Empty Johnson, get a new manager in from maybe March/April. Clear out any loan players, don't take up any options on the likes of Youan, probably sell Nisbet in the summer and rebuild the squad pretty much from scratch. Simple.

23-01-2023, 08:47 AM
He's got to go, but it makes sense that we appoint a DOF first. Massive pressure on that appointment but at the same time, he should have a pretty blank canvas to work from.

Empty Johnson, get a new manager in from maybe March/April. Clear out any loan players, don't take up any options on the likes of Youan, probably sell Nisbet in the summer and rebuild the squad pretty much from scratch. Simple.

You have a problem with Youan don’t you? Peculiar, he’s one of the few bright spots at the moment.

23-01-2023, 08:49 AM
Simple.

Who knew?

Eaststand
23-01-2023, 08:57 AM
You have a problem with Youan don’t you? Peculiar, he’s one of the few bright spots at the moment.

I thought Youan played well yesterday, he maybe chose the wrong option a couple of times but he had the courage to hold onto the ball and run at the hearts defence.

He actually reminds me of a young Martin Boyle, so I'd say just like we did with Boyle, give him a wee bit of time and we'll see the benefits.

Souter96Mac
23-01-2023, 08:59 AM
The silence from the club's social media is deafening. Nothing since the full time tweet. This tends to suggest some sort of announcement will be getting punted out

23-01-2023, 08:59 AM
Another manager merry go round is not the answer. The summer recruitment was abysmal, I think this has been pretty much recognised by the club based on some of the comments coming out of Hibs. Unless we’re in total free fall heading for relegation spots I personally feel that LJ deserves another summer window and the first round of games next season at least.

23-01-2023, 09:01 AM
The silence from the club's social media is deafening. Nothing since the full time tweet. This tends to suggest some sort of announcement will be getting punted out

It suggests to me that they've got nothing to say. I think that's understandable.

23-01-2023, 09:01 AM

They always do it after a defeat. The next tweet from them will be something to do with a sponsor, some “great deal” for Hibs fans from another sponsor or ticket info for the Aberdeen game, you can bet on that.

Willis1875
23-01-2023, 09:02 AM
They always do it after a defeat. The next tweet from them will be something to do with a sponsor, some “great deal” for Hibs fans from another sponsor or ticket info for the Aberdeen game, you can bet on that.

Or the departure of Ryan Porteous

23-01-2023, 09:03 AM

I’ve been clinging onto this hope too. More than likely it’s just that they don’t want to deal with the abuse in the replies.

23-01-2023, 09:03 AM
I thought Youan played well yesterday, he maybe chose the wrong option a couple of times but he had the courage to hold onto the ball and run at the hearts defence.

He actually reminds me of a young Martin Boyle, so I'd say just like we did with Boyle, give him a wee bit of time and we'll see the benefits.

:agree: I would have liked him to turn Cockring inside out four times and cross it on Nisbets path instead of six times and then get the shot blocked. But thats also credit to the Hearts defenders who were all over the 6 yard box. He's young hes going to learn with the right coaching and we have him for another season. Id much rather he could do those things but maybe choose the wrong option than not have that ability at all, which is most players in our squad.

23-01-2023, 09:10 AM

We all have players that we can't take to or have an irrational dislike of. Personally for Youan, his part in the 2 derby defeats has infuriated me. He clearly has ability which makes him all the more frustrating. People will quote his assist numbers but that needs taken in context with his 1 goal and the huge number of opportunities missed. So 7 goal involvements this season when he's played virtually every game. Not good enough IMO and no way would I be spending money to buy him permanently.

I don't see us improving with him in the team longer term. We can do much better. Of course I appreciate others will disagree.

23-01-2023, 09:14 AM
We all have players that we can't take to or have an irrational dislike of. Personally for Youan, his part in the 2 derby defeats has infuriated me. He clearly has ability which makes him all the more frustrating. People will quote his assist numbers but that needs taken in context with his 1 goal aswell. So 7 goal involvements this season when he's played virtually every game. Not good enough IMO and no way would I be spending money to buy him permanently.

I don't see us improving with him in the team longer term. We can do much better. Of course I appreciate others will disagree.

Thats fine. Im not going to hammer the point and happy to leave it at agree to disagree. But i would just make that point that you said before you want a DOF in as priority followed by a new coach after that, these two people if they're chosen well can help Youan make the jump from the ability you admit he has, to achieving much more with it.

23-01-2023, 09:17 AM
Amazing how the recruitment team cannot recruit a Manager, then then when they do they cannot recruit high calibre players, and now they are in the market to recruit a Director of Football to help that poorly recruited Manager and poorly recruited players.

Shambles.

I wonder if the above timelines guarantee the next guy 500 days?!

Recruitment of a CEO took forever.
Recruitment of managers awful.
Recruitment of players - shambolic

No confidence in a DOF to improve anything.

Hibs and recruitment don’t go.

23-01-2023, 09:17 AM
Thats fine. Im not going to hammer the point and happy to leave it at agree to disagree. But i would just make that point that you said before you want a DOF in as priority followed by a new coach after that, these two people if they're chosen well can help Youan make the jump from the ability you admit he has, to achieving much more with it.

Maybe so. But he's 24 soon. He's had seasons with Nantes, then St Gallen and now Hibs. Plus been part of French U20 teams, surely with access to top level coaching there.

Do we risk a big chunk of our budget in the hope that it finally clicks with us? Not for me. As you say, let's agree to disagree.

nickwhibs
23-01-2023, 09:24 AM

The bit about playing as a team is a huge part of the problem. Yes, don’t have great quality in the team but the organisation, the way we defend as a team, attack as a team is virtually non-existent. LJ is not getting the best out of this team that he had a hand in putting together (of course BK and IG are culprits in that too). It’s the same every week - flashes of good things but not a sustained or organised team display.

sauzeelegod
23-01-2023, 09:27 AM
Maloney
P 24 W 8 D 7 L 9

Johnson
P 23 W 8 D 3 L 12

For me he has to go.
I could see what Maloney was trying to do.
Johnson I can’t see any plan.
We are a shambles

23-01-2023, 09:31 AM
Maloney
P 24 W 7 D 8 L 9

Johnson
P 23 W 8 D 3 L 12

For me he has to go.
We are a shambles

Probably also relevant that a lot of Johnson’s wins have been against 10 men as well.

23-01-2023, 09:34 AM
Maloney
P 24 W 7 D 8 L 9

Johnson
P 23 W 8 D 3 L 12

For me he has to go.
We are a shambles

That is indefensible.

McGruber
23-01-2023, 09:40 AM
Maloney
P 24 W 7 D 8 L 9

Johnson
P 23 W 8 D 3 L 12

For me he has to go.
We are a shambles

Says it all. If they were all league games that's more points for Maloney. Agree you could see what Maloney was trying to do and also Johnson's team/selection/formation/tactics are as scattergun as the signing policy. We play like we haven't been coached, as individuals.

It was decided Maloney had to go - the last straw being you couldn't survive 2 doings by Hearts in quick succession. Johnson lost both those games in worse fashion. I was very much in agreement Maloney had to go but Johnson's case is even stronger. How he's taken us backwards from where we were is quite something with the only thing he brings consistency too is the post match slavering.

23-01-2023, 09:46 AM

Which is main reason Owner and Board will not sack him.

Others are :

2. Owner & Board have proven themselves incapable of recruiting competent managers / players. Better to support the failure you have.
3. Questionable that ANY manager would be able to get tune out of this lot, player quality is so poor. Could take years to sort this mess.
4. Cost of change. Any new (competent) manager would be in a strong position to demand ££ and player budget to fix the mess of the club's own making.

Only once reality of ST sales will they be forced to face up to their failures. There will be no running from it then.

sauzeelegod
23-01-2023, 09:53 AM
Says it all. If they were all league games that's more points for Maloney. Agree you could see what Maloney was trying to do and also Johnson's team/selection/formation/tactics are as scattergun as the signing policy. We play like we haven't been coached, as individuals.

It was decided Maloney had to go - the last straw being you couldn't survive 2 doings by Hearts in quick succession. Johnson lost both those games in worse fashion. I was very much in agreement Maloney had to go but Johnson's case is even stronger. How he's taken us backwards from where we were is quite something with the only thing he brings consistency too is the post match slavering.

3 of Maloneys wins were in the Scottish cup.
The records don’t include the league cup so there would be another couple of losses for Johnson if they were included.

I didn’t post these as a defence of Maloney, just to show that if he had to be sacked then so does Johnson.

Potty78
23-01-2023, 09:55 AM
Think he'll be gone today!

23-01-2023, 09:56 AM

Do all our problems go with him?

sauzeelegod
23-01-2023, 09:56 AM

🙏🏼

Potty78
23-01-2023, 09:58 AM
Do all our problems go with him?

Probably not unfortunately

23-01-2023, 10:01 AM

Own opinion or heard something?

23-01-2023, 10:01 AM
The numbers themselves dont always tell you everything.

Between Dec and Jan 2001-2002 under Sauzee Hibs were in freefall, W0 D5 L6(8 including cups). 5 points out of a possible 33 in the league. So the board sacked him. I was outraged and vowed never to go back (then the emerging young team under Blobby changed my mind). Even though the numbers made sense, i still think there was a change going to come, I had confidence, partly just the man he was and his qualities and knowledge you knew he would turn it round. The very next game when Blobby walked in we beat bottom side 3-0, were 12 points clear and relegation was never an issue. Still fuming about it over twenty years later :greengrin

23-01-2023, 10:02 AM
Maloney
P 24 W 8 D 7 L 9

Johnson
P 23 W 8 D 3 L 12

For me he has to go.
We are a shambles

Both were clueless at times.

Think Cove Rangers at home..

Maloney struggled too.

Only positive was Maloney didn’t have..

League cup mess
X2 3v0 derby losses
6-0 Celtic
4-0 Aberdeen

Plus all the other loses which LJ has managed.

Just_Jimmy
23-01-2023, 10:05 AM
Do all our problems go with him?Not at all but that's not an argument to keep him.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

23-01-2023, 10:08 AM

Praying it's something Potty has heard. It's overdue.

Potty78
23-01-2023, 10:29 AM

Got a message earlier, normally decent so I guess we wait👍🏻

23-01-2023, 10:33 AM
I think an experienced short term solution until the end of the season is the answer just now.

Longer term appointment when the DoF comes in.

It’s the best solution right now.

ThisIsTheYear
23-01-2023, 10:35 AM
Can’t believe we are back to this mess and having to re-build all over again… it’s depressing….
LG does need to go on the back of those derby results but the problems we have are bigger than who the manager is

23-01-2023, 10:40 AM
Disaster is being kind. The run he is on would get managers sacked at most clubs. Out both cups at the first stage, once against lower league sides and once against Hearts. Lost the dressing room. He’s even injured a player at one point. He couldn’t really have done much worse.

Despite that, I expect him to be in the dugout on Saturday.

Not forgetting we were eventually put out the league cup for fielding Rocky who was ineligible to play in the cup.

Bill Leckie has called it right, “We are a basket case of a club”.

23-01-2023, 10:45 AM
Maloney
P 24 W 8 D 7 L 9

Johnson
P 23 W 8 D 3 L 12

For me he has to go.
We are a shambles

That should be emailed to rent a mouth Kensell, let’s see him blab that stat to anyone who will listen to him.

23-01-2023, 10:47 AM
Not forgetting we were eventually put out the league cup for fielding Rocky who was ineligible to play in the cup.

Eurgh. Toxic journalist writing for a toxic rag who doesnt deserve the time of day. About 30 posters on here have used that term so he's not telling us anything insightful.

loanheadhibby
23-01-2023, 10:50 AM

I honestly think it stems from Ron being an absent owner. Ron's mainly in the US of A so not really impacted by lack of sporting success and the fall out from it.

As others have pointed out, he'll sit up and notice when Season Tickets sales are slow for 23/24. He'll possibly think he has a bit of time to let things settle as the season tickets revenue has largely been paid for season 22/23.

Maloney went after 2 defeats in a week to Hearts. We also put on a decent performance in that semi so I don't think us putting in a reasonable performance yesterday will buy LJ any more time.

Last Minute
23-01-2023, 10:51 AM
Get Lennon in until end of season. he is doing nothing and will sort this mess out. :agree::nlgwa

23-01-2023, 10:54 AM
Get Lennon in until end of season. he is doing nothing and will sort this mess out. :agree::nlgwa

No he wouldn’t

23-01-2023, 10:55 AM

Just can't see it, done well in taking over good teams and then slowly turned them into crap, not the guy we need just now imo

23-01-2023, 10:56 AM
No he wouldn’t

I'd personally like Lennon back but I absolutely understand the points those who don't make.

Either way I just can't see Lennon coming anywhere near us and working under Gordon.

23-01-2023, 11:00 AM
I want him gone but who, realistically can we get, short fix or otherwise?
Stubbs? Lennon? A N Other?

23-01-2023, 11:14 AM
Still nothing from Hibs? It’s like there is no problem.

23-01-2023, 11:17 AM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkTop 6, win next week we are 5th 1-4 points off 4th

Wonder if thats what the club are seeing?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

RossScott1991
23-01-2023, 11:18 AM
Hopefully he’s gone today, then upstairs scrutiny the heat is turned up. But LJ should be gone, there isn’t an argument to keep him, rubbish squad of players but a decent coach would be able to het more out them. Some horrific defeats in his tenure soo far.

Just cut ties now, there’s no point delaying inevitable

Last Minute
23-01-2023, 11:22 AM
No he wouldn’t

Aye he would. Done it everywhere he has been . :nlgwa

23-01-2023, 11:24 AM
Someone posted here a couple of days ago that LJ's contract has a clause that says he gets no compensation if he doesn't make top 6. I'm not saying that will be his target, just an additional clause. It sounds quite plausible to me so I can imagine he will be kept on until that is out of reach. That's what happened with Maloney, he was sacked after missing out on top 6, though he was given the cup semi a week later.

If the target is to qualify for Europe then although LJ is failing, he hasn't yet actually failed in that and the board could be thinking they have to be able to show any future candidates they'll at least be given until the split.

Not saying I agree with it, just trying to work out how the board sees it.

Greenworld
23-01-2023, 11:24 AM
Get Lennon in until end of season. he is doing nothing and will sort this mess out. :agree::nlgwaIt's not Lenton we need its players ..centre half's x2
Midfield x2
Forward x1

GreenGray
23-01-2023, 11:26 AM
Aye he would. Done it everywhere he has been . :nlgwa

Sorts it out briefly then it turns into a mess fairly quickly again. Our next appointment should aim for long term stability, Lennon guarantees the opposite.

23-01-2023, 11:27 AM
Hopefully he’s gone today, then upstairs scrutiny the heat is turned up. But LJ should be gone, there isn’t an argument to keep him, rubbish squad of players but a decent coach would be able to het more out them. Some horrific defeats in his tenure soo far.

Just cut ties now, there’s no point delaying inevitable

x2 0-3 v Hearts. Never been ahead in the 3 games, only been drawing for 40 mins in total!

1-4 V Aberdeen

1-6 & 0-4 V Celtic

Out both cups at first attempt.

Only three league wins against 11 players this season.

Crazy team selections, defenders in midfield, midfielders in defence, subs made on 97 mins.

Players hate him.

Cant see how anyone can defend him TBH.

GreenGray
23-01-2023, 11:28 AM
Someone posted here a couple of days ago that LJ's contract has a clause that says he gets no compensation if he doesn't make top 6. I'm not saying that will be his target, just an additional clause. It sounds quite plausible to me so I can imagine he will be kept on until that is out of reach. That's what happened with Maloney, he was sacked after missing out on top 6, though he was given the cup semi a week later.

If the target is to qualify for Europe then although LJ is failing, he hasn't yet actually failed in that and the board could be thinking they have to be able to show any future candidates they'll at least be given until the split.

Not saying I agree with it, just trying to work out how the board sees it.

If that is true the board will need to weigh up what costs more, paying him off or missing top 6 and potentially Europe again.

Clarence
23-01-2023, 11:30 AM
It's not Lenton we need its players ..centre half's x2
Midfield x2
Forward x1

Lenton! Jesus Christ.

23-01-2023, 11:32 AM
If that is true the board will need to weigh up what costs more, paying him off or missing top 6 and potentially Europe again.

Maybe, but that could be what happened with Jack Ross, they weighed that up then we ended up paying him off and missing out on top 6. Then had to pay off Maloney too, if such a clause wasn't in place.

23-01-2023, 11:41 AM
[/B]

I honestly think it stems from Ron being an absent owner. Ron's mainly in the US of A so not really impacted by lack of sporting success and the fall out from it.

As others have pointed out, he'll sit up and notice when Season Tickets sales are slow for 23/24. He'll possibly think he has a bit of time to let things settle as the season tickets revenue has largely been paid for season 22/23.

Maloney went after 2 defeats in a week to Hearts. We also put on a decent performance in that semi so I don't think us putting in a reasonable performance yesterday will buy LJ any more time.

Have you seen the Sunderland documentaries? When it became apparent that we were going to have an absentee American owner, that was the problem situation that sprang to mind for me.

It might have been the start of the second series where the culture of the business was described - “we repeatedly make a mess of it and send the bill to the owner to bail us out”.

Having said that, Tom Farmer wasn’t exactly hands on but he put someone in who he knew he could trust. Petrie wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea but the Farmer / Petrie axis was a fairly strong one and Petrie knew he could weather a bit of flak without having the axe hanging over him. It strikes me that Hibs are just a crap institution to work for where the main motivation only ever seems to be fear.

23-01-2023, 11:43 AM
x2 0-3 v Hearts. Never been ahead in the 3 games, only been drawing for 40 mins in total!

0-4 V Aberdeen

1-6 & 0-4 V Celtic

Crazy team selections, defenders in midfield, midfielders in defence, subs made on 97 mins.

Players hate him.

Where are you getting the players hate him from?

23-01-2023, 12:01 PM

It’s common knowledge. Not just me who has heard it (and from two different sources) a number of others have too.

23-01-2023, 12:03 PM
Looks like he’s going nowhere

23-01-2023, 12:06 PM

The players can gtf too.
How many managers can they see off ?

23-01-2023, 12:06 PM
It’s common knowledge. Not just me who has heard it (and from two different sources) a number of others have too.

Any idea why?

And is it the players not playing that dislike him by any chance?

Don’t think they’re playing like they hate the manager.

23-01-2023, 12:12 PM

0-4 V Aberdeen

1-6 & 0-4 V Celtic

Players hate him.

Players seemingly liked Jack Ross but threw him under the bus with a number of horrendous performances so not sure what relevance liking, or disliking, a manager has. Sounds more like players passing the blame or finding excuses rather than reflecting on their performances. Marshall, Boyle, Nisbet aside I couldn’t give 2 hoots if any of the other never played for Hibs again.

loanheadhibby
23-01-2023, 12:13 PM
Have you seen the Sunderland documentaries? When it became apparent that we were going to have an absentee American owner, that was the problem situation that sprang to mind for me.

It might have been the start of the second series where the culture of the business was described - “we repeatedly make a mess of it and send the bill to the owner to bail us out”.

Having said that, Tom Farmer wasn’t exactly hands on but he put someone in who he knew he could trust. Petrie wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea but the Farmer / Petrie axis was a fairly strong one and Petrie knew he could weather a bit of flak without having the axe hanging over him. It strikes me that Hibs are just a crap institution to work for where the main motivation only ever seems to be fear.

Yes both series a brilliant watch. Agree it is sort of echoing our current issues. As others have said we seem to have lost our identity. With Ron we’re probably stuck with him unless we can find a consortium/rich business to buy him out.

Ron comes over as a shrewd guy as well. I suspect he’ll waffle his way out of this situation. He’ll say a nice few words in summer and tell us he’ll get it right.

Players seemingly liked Jack Ross but threw him under the bus with a number of horrendous performances so not sure what relevance liking, or disliking, a manager has. Sounds more like players passing the blame or finding excuses rather than reflecting on their performances. Marshall, Boyle, Nisbet aside I couldn’t give 2 hoots if any of the other never played for Hibs again.

Do you think the players deliberately played badly?

AL-Qaholik
Has he gone yet?!

23-01-2023, 12:15 PM

0-4 V Aberdeen

1-6 & 0-4 V Celtic

Players hate him.

When did Aberdeen beat us 4-0?

23-01-2023, 12:16 PM
Any idea why?

And is it the players not playing that dislike him by any chance?

Don’t think they’re playing like they hate the manager.

Yeah I’ve got some idea why. Though tbh you only need to listen to him to work some of that out.

The majority dislike him so no it’s not just the ones who aren’t playing.

We aren’t just talking about guys who signed in the summer who have zero affinity towards the club, we are talking about seasoned pros. Even when we were doing badly under Ross and Maloney there was no similar chat. I’m not sure what playing like they hate a manager would actually look like ?

NC1875
23-01-2023, 12:17 PM

They’re probably sitting patting themselves on the back that we didn’t get beat 5-0 like Aberdeen.

h1bs4life
23-01-2023, 12:22 PM
Yeah I’ve got some idea why. Though tbh you only need to listen to him to work some of that out.

We aren’t just talking about guys who signed in the summer who have zero affinity towards the club, we are talking about seasoned pros. Even when we were doing badly under Ross and Maloney there was no similar chat. I’m not sure what playing like they hate a manager would actually look like ?

Would that be the seasoned pros that have got at least 3 managers sacked with some in double figures.
I think it is time that Johnson goes but if he has upset a few of the seasoned pro’s who have failed for years then keep him.

Do you think the players deliberately played badly?

No, I don’t think players deliberately played bad. The suggestion by the other poster was that the players don’t like LJ and that this may be impacting on their performance, I gave an example where the player’s getting on with the manager doesn’t necessarily translate into better performances on the pitch.

If the players who continually let us down, some of them for years, don't like the manager and are moaning about him then i'm backing the manager to get them them out of our club pronto and get players in that are ready and willing to knuckle down and give everything for him.

Players having all the power, particularly ***** ones, does my head in.

23-01-2023, 12:26 PM
No, I don’t think players deliberately played bad. The suggestion by the other poster was that the players don’t like LJ and that this may be impacting on their performance, I gave an example where the player’s getting on with the manager doesn’t necessarily translate into better performances on the pitch.

You said the players hung Ross out to dry?

Surely they only did that if they intentionally played *****.

No player wants to play badly, if a team is consistently playing badly, it’s a result of poor coaching and/or management IMO.

Mikey_1875
23-01-2023, 12:26 PM
Another 4 months of Johnson could see a good number of fans turn away for a long time. If he can’t turn it around we are looking at asking fans to renew their STs under what message? That there might be more of the same next season?

I hope they are considering that as it’s a big gamble if they are thinking of keeping him till the end of the season.

23-01-2023, 12:27 PM
Would that be the seasoned pros that have got at least 3 managers sacked with some in double figures.
I think it is time that Johnson goes but if he has upset a few of the seasoned pro’s who have failed for years then keep him.

I keep reading posts like yours. Did these players get managers “sacked” ‘cos they weren’t trying or ‘cos they weren’t good enough yet were continually picked by those same managers ? Players neither sign nor pick themselves.

I'm Spartacus
23-01-2023, 12:29 PM
Maloney
P 24 W 8 D 7 L 9

Johnson
P 23 W 8 D 3 L 12

For me he has to go.
We are a shambles

Shaun 31 points
Lee 27 points

(I'm just picking 3 points for a win before folk get pedantic on cup games!)

We should have stuck with Shaun and saved the pay off cash.

23-01-2023, 12:43 PM

There was 100% talk that Ross and Maloney had lost the dressing room and were disliked, it goes around every time we are on a bad run

Playing like the hate the manager is again similar to “not playing for him” and “lost the dressing room” etc.

I’m just always sceptical when I hear stuff like this.

It always seems to be Hibs that players dislike the manager whether it’s Collins, Lennon, Ross, Maloney or now Johnson.

mcfly
23-01-2023, 12:45 PM
Another 4 months of Johnson could see a good number of fans turn away for a long time. If he can’t turn it around we are looking at asking fans to renew their STs under what message? That there might be more of the same next season?

I hope they are considering that as it’s a big gamble if they are thinking of keeping him till the end of the season.

He can’t stay much longer. If we lose to Aberdeen he will force even more fans away. Once fans get out the habit of going and being entertained then they’ll pick and choose games.

The board have got it badly wrong with Johnson. He talks a great game to media etc but he’s not a good manager. A good manager would have our defence into some sort of organisation and remedy the silly mistakes.

We’d have a settled team with a style of play.

He still diesnt know his best 11 players. Plays people out of position,

The whole club is a mess and needs radical change from a new positive director of football and manager especially improving the recruiting of players.

Finally I’d like to see a total change of attitude - it’s not acceptable to continually lose to hearts. That attitude has to change through your the whole club.

They expect to beat us, we just hope.

23-01-2023, 12:52 PM
There was 100% talk that Ross and Maloney had lost the dressing room and were disliked, it goes around every time we are on a bad run

Playing like the hate the manager is again similar to “not playing for him” and “lost the dressing room” etc.

I’m just always sceptical when I hear stuff like this.

It always seems to be Hibs that players dislike the manager whether it’s Collins, Lennon, Ross, Maloney or now Johnson.

No manager is going to be liked by every player, but I never heard anything like the chat regarding Maloney and Ross that I’ve heard about Johnson.

Playing like they hate the manager suggests to me something that would be obvious by their performances, again I’d ask what that actually looks like ?

By all means be sceptical. I know what I’ve heard and some of it is pretty damning.

Last Minute
23-01-2023, 12:55 PM
Sorts it out briefly then it turns into a mess fairly quickly again. Our next appointment should aim for long term stability, Lennon guarantees the opposite.

Read my post again ?

Hibs3-2
23-01-2023, 12:56 PM
Kenneh liking hearts tweets after beating us yesterday. Another one that can go.

23-01-2023, 12:57 PM
Kenneh liking hearts tweets after beating us yesterday. Another one that can go.

No way?

GreenGray
23-01-2023, 12:57 PM
Read my post again ?

I have, am I missing something?

23-01-2023, 01:00 PM
No way?

Just checked and he has.

He liked there tweet after the game and also the one with their starting 11.

What is he thinking liking that?! A post of them celebrating with ‘Heart of Midlothian: by the fans, for the fans’ as their tweet.

No way?

Aye he appears to have liked their tweet announcing the team then another one of them celebrating. Very strange.

LunasBoots
23-01-2023, 01:02 PM
What is he thinking liking that?! A post of them celebrating with ‘Heart of Midlothian: by the fans, for the fans’ as their tweet.

Out of spite after his rumoured fall out behind the scenes at Hibs.

He can go.

23-01-2023, 01:02 PM
Just checked and he has.

He liked there tweet after the game and also the one with their starting 11.

Gobsmacked.

23-01-2023, 01:04 PM
Aye he appears to have liked their tweet announcing the team then another one of them celebrating. Very strange.

Below average footballer Nohan Kenneh puts the Twit in Twitter

Chorley Hibee
23-01-2023, 01:05 PM

What an absolute joke we are.

Hope he ****s back off to the obscurity he came from.

Club is full of wasters from top to bottom.

23-01-2023, 01:05 PM

Gross misconduct, sackable offence, no compensation, get him out.