View Full Version : Next Hibs Manager

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

29-04-2022, 10:06 AM
Henning Berg did an excellent job at Omonia by winning them the League effectively two years in a row (first one a bit "tainted" by season ending early due to Covid) and would probably be an interesting candidate. The fans and players liked him. One caveat though..this season Omonia had an absolute meltdown and his team selections, recruitment and tactics were severely criticised. I must admit that following some of his post-match interviews I wondered whether we had been at the same match. Similar to his successor in some ways, but overall, perhaps worth a punt.

Thanks for that.

Were his team known for scoring a lot of goals and playing attacking football or was it more defensive?

29-04-2022, 10:17 AM
https://punditarena.com/football/andrewdempsey/roy-keane-snub-hibs-reports/

This report saying keane to turn down hibs

Has he actually even been interviewed? Or offered anything?

29-04-2022, 11:24 AM

A Manager turning down a job that he was never offered goes in the same bucket as the long list of players that we missed out on that we were never interested in buying.

29-04-2022, 11:38 AM

Good point. The interest came from him not other way round

29-04-2022, 11:45 AM
A Manager turning down a job that he was never offered goes in the same bucket as the long list of players that we missed out on that we were never interested in buying.

Scott Burns exclusive.

29-04-2022, 11:46 AM
https://punditarena.com/football/andrewdempsey/roy-keane-snub-hibs-reports/

This report saying keane to turn down hibs

Based on nothing more than speculation he's even been approached.

29-04-2022, 12:00 PM
Roy keane has no interest in a job that he hasn't been interviewed for yet but that he's shown an interest in. Great reporting that.

NicosiaHibby
29-04-2022, 12:03 PM
Thanks for that.

Were his team known for scoring a lot of goals and playing attacking football or was it more defensive?
The two seasons he won the league they were good to watch. This season has been a nightmare.

NicosiaHibby
29-04-2022, 12:09 PM
Thanks for that.

The two seasons that they won the league they were very good to watch. This season the wheels came off the bogey.

29-04-2022, 12:14 PM
The two seasons that they won the league they were very good to watch. This season the wheels came off the bogey.

Any particular reasons they did?

29-04-2022, 01:41 PM
Good point. The interest came from him not other way round

That's my thinking, too. We've only seen his alleged interest attributed to sources close to Keane, not any source at Hibs. I think it's more likely his "interest" in the job is a ploy to get his name back in the market for a manager's job in England.

Caversham Green
29-04-2022, 01:44 PM
I'm sure we have interviewed Ince before, possibly around the Calderwood time. Really hope he isn't interested again

So do I.

Ince is an arrogant, abrasive a****hole who took a 10 year break from a mediocre-at-best management career. Surely nobody wants someone like that to manage Hibs.

Paulie Walnuts
29-04-2022, 01:56 PM
So do I.

Ince is an arrogant, abrasive a****hole who took a 10 year break from a mediocre-at-best management career. Surely nobody wants someone like that to manage Hibs.

Ince also averages less than a season in charge from over the whole of his 6 permanent jobs.

No thank you.

29-04-2022, 01:56 PM
So do I.

29-04-2022, 02:32 PM
Joel Sked writing in the Scotsman saying they don't think Berg is in the running.

Juice-Terry
29-04-2022, 03:21 PM
So do I.

He lives in my town in Cheshire/The Wirral and I've run into him a few times at a local restaurant/pub. He's been nothing but very nice every time I've spoken to him. He's certainly never come across as arrogant or abrasive. But then again, maybe I've just caught him on a few of his good days...?

Purehibee_MYB
29-04-2022, 03:56 PM
One name I've not seen that has done quite well in most of his managerial roles is Chris Hughton. Out of a job since being sacked at Nottingham Forest but did quite well at Birmingham, Norwich and Brighton given their resources. Might be a little bit out of our reach but personally think he'd be great if he could be convinced

29-04-2022, 04:04 PM
Roy keane has no interest in a job that he hasn't been interviewed for yet but that he's shown an interest in. Great reporting that.

For a full house he needs to be asked if he is not going to the next Wimbledon v MK Dons game.

1875er
29-04-2022, 04:08 PM
My thoughts are that I think Stoke will give Michael O’Neill the elbow at the end of the season and bring in Sean Dyche. Stoke are owned by the Bet365 owners and O’Neill has not got them close to the playoffs let alone promotion.

O’Neills family still stay in Edinburgh.

Nothing to back it up, just a hunch.

leith lynx
29-04-2022, 04:23 PM
My thoughts are that I think Stoke will give Michael O’Neill the elbow at the end of the season and bring in Sean Dyche. Stoke are owned by the Bet365 owners and O’Neill has not got them close to the playoffs let alone promotion.

Agree.

29-04-2022, 05:00 PM

My guess also

29-04-2022, 05:04 PM

He's my number 1 pick

Bridge hibs
29-04-2022, 06:20 PM
He's my number 1 pickWouldnt say no to O’Neil, dont know why, would be good if so and he brought Fletcher with him

29-04-2022, 06:28 PM
Maybe we are waiting to see if Sunderland get promoted

29-04-2022, 07:41 PM
Maybe we are waiting to see if Sunderland get promotedOr to see if Scotland don`t qualify for WC . Or till Dunfermline finish playoffs ( looks like playoffs at this time ) .

29-04-2022, 07:42 PM
Tam McManus said he'd prefer Malky, for that reason alone I hope it isn't him.

29-04-2022, 07:46 PM
Tam McManus said he'd prefer Malky, for that reason alone I hope it isn't him.

I like Tam McManus as a pundit.

Watches Scottish football and talks it up. Obviously sees a lot of Hibs do perfectly entitled to his opinion, even if I disagree with it some times.

I'm Spartacus
29-04-2022, 09:14 PM

Watches Scottish football and talks it up. Obviously sees a lot of Hibs do perfectly entitled to his opinion, even if I disagree with it some times.

I USED to like him but he doesn't half talk some crap.

Michael O'Neill for me. Has to be.

29-04-2022, 09:20 PM

He’s a slaver

I'm Spartacus
29-04-2022, 09:40 PM
Can't see it posted anywhere (on page 1 anyway), but what SDG has done for our club has to be up there with one of the greatest contributions of our lifetime to Hibernian FC, he's yet again stood up to the plate to guide us through yet another managerial cock up.

He can't be that far from a testimonial?

HendoDelivered
29-04-2022, 10:56 PM
Cocu the leading candidate so far apparently.

29-04-2022, 11:15 PM
Cocu the leading candidate so far apparently.According to whom?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

29-04-2022, 11:35 PM
According to whom?

Boy in the pub 😂

McGruber
30-04-2022, 06:12 AM

Would be my 1st choice aswell. I can't see Hibs not making a decision well before the end of the season though - they are speaking to candidates now. Won't happen unfortunatley.

30-04-2022, 07:57 AM
Would be my 1st choice aswell. I can't see Hibs not making a decision well before the end of the season though - they are speaking to candidates now. Won't happen unfortunatley.

Maybe it is known he is leaving Stoke and also their last game of the season is next Saturday.

30-04-2022, 08:02 AM
Michael O’Neill would be a good sensible appointment who would tick a lot of boxes. Clearly a very capable manager and would be a hugely popular appointment at the club due to his success as a player here (I loved the guy).

My concern is that his success at Northern Ireland was based on being solid defensively and trying to nick a goal, I don’t know much about Stoke but that’s my perception of them too. I know we’ve probably overplayed the attacking football card but I do worry the way he sets his teams up and negative football (if that is the case) would mean he wouldn’t be the most popular?

Maybe not though, as I say, I haven’t seen any of his Stoke teams playing.

30-04-2022, 08:23 AM
Michael O’Neill would be a good sensible appointment who would tick a lot of boxes. Clearly a very capable manager and would be a hugely popular appointment at the club due to his success as a player here (I loved the guy).

My concern is that his success at Northern Ireland was based on being solid defensively and trying to nick a goal, I don’t know much about Stoke but that’s my perception of them too. I know we’ve probably overplayed the attacking football card but I do worry the way he sets his teams up and negative football (if that is the case) would mean he wouldn’t be the most popular?

Think that is a valid point re style of play however you do need to take into account Northern Ireland went into many games as huge underdogs also get the impression he is a very good man manager and gets the best out of players. Think he makes sense from a number of levels.

30-04-2022, 08:24 AM

What’s going on here? That doesn’t sound like you at all. What happened to the risk taker in you?!

I was hoping you’d come up with another name to get excited about.

30-04-2022, 08:26 AM
Like someone else said, O'Neil seems to be a defensive manager suited to teams that soak up pressure and try and nick a goal. Not sure how well that would go down here when we're expected to dominate teams.

30-04-2022, 08:29 AM
What’s going on here? That doesn’t sound like you at all. What happened to the risk taker in you?!

I was hoping you’d come up with another name to get excited about.

I wouldn’t ever want to say anything disrespectful about Michael O’Neill as I loved the guy as a player so I was trying to be tactful. It won’t last though.

Paulie Walnuts
30-04-2022, 08:32 AM

I’d have the same concerns with O’Neill.

I’m not sure he’d be a success here tbh.

30-04-2022, 08:32 AM
If we move onto another name quickly you’ll not need to post any more about him.

Get Googling and find us someone else to talk up / slate.

30-04-2022, 08:53 AM
Uwe Rosler.

30-04-2022, 08:53 AM
Paul Clement next name up. Cocu unlikely to get the job according to this.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/paul-clement-holds-hibs-next-26837949

Clements record is absolutely stinking. Hopefully avoid him.

30-04-2022, 08:55 AM

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/paul-clement-holds-hibs-next-26837949

He’s managed four teams and never completed a full season with either of them - always been sacked File under “car crash “

Tbh. It’s worrying he even gets an interview

30-04-2022, 08:58 AM
He’s managed four teams and never completed a full season with either of them - always been sacked File under “car crash “

Tbh. It’s worrying he even gets an interview

That record article is awful tbh. Double figure candidates?? Wtf.

30-04-2022, 08:58 AM

Underwhelmed if we appoint clement

Seems a bit calderwoodish to me

HendoDelivered
30-04-2022, 08:59 AM
According to whom?

“It was reported earlier this week that former PSV and Derby County boss Cocu is a leading candidate to replace Shaun Maloney.”

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/phillip-cocu-would-hibs-risk-23828470

JamesHFC
30-04-2022, 09:07 AM

It seems at the moment that the media are naming well known people who aren’t actually going to get the job. Agent work perhaps? Or just pure clickbait.

MKHIBEE
30-04-2022, 09:09 AM
Andreas Villas Boas is free

Mikey_1875
30-04-2022, 09:56 AM
Seems to be a new name each day getting progressively worse.

30-04-2022, 09:58 AM

Everyone out of work will put their name forward, gets them press as well

30-04-2022, 10:01 AM
That was always going to happen, the names being bandied about initially were kind of pie in the sky stuff, now getting into reality stuff and disappointment.

30-04-2022, 10:07 AM

He’s a strange one, clearly an excellent coach but just never worked for him as a manager. Keeps getting jobs though so obviously interviews well.

I do wonder if he’s maybe got a good manager somewhere within him, he just needs to find the right club at the right time. Whether that would be Hibs right now though I’d have my doubts.

30-04-2022, 10:25 AM
He’s a strange one, clearly an excellent coach but just never worked for him as a manager. Keeps getting jobs though so obviously interviews well.

I do wonder if he’s maybe got a good manager somewhere within him, he just needs to find the right club at the right time. Whether that would be Hibs right now though I’d have my doubts.

Too much of a risk imo. We need someone in who’s had a decent managerial record.

30-04-2022, 10:29 AM
Uwe Rosler.

Yes please!

Heard anything or just who you want?

30-04-2022, 10:31 AM
Be nice for Hibs to announce something soon so we can get this thread closed and they can start prep for next season.

30-04-2022, 10:35 AM
Massive no for Paul clement from me.

Been shocking everywhere he has been.

30-04-2022, 10:35 AM
Too much of a risk imo. We need someone in who’s had a decent managerial record.

I agree.

Style of football been criticised a lot too. He’s not the one for me.

30-04-2022, 10:44 AM
I agree.

Style of football been criticised a lot too. He’s not the one for me.

Hopefully just paper talk

Would be a clemental appointment

30-04-2022, 10:53 AM
Be nice for Hibs to announce something soon so we can get this thread closed and they can start prep for next season.

Been a great thread.

Hope you’re right about appointing a new manager though.

Mr. Wonderful
30-04-2022, 11:04 AM
Massive no for Paul clement from me.

Been shocking everywhere he has been.

Did well at Derby. Unfairly sacked.

The rest doesn't read great, but a couple of those clubs are basket cases and Brugge haven't been good for ages, he actually had them in a better position than they had been.

Montford
30-04-2022, 11:05 AM
O’Neills time at Hibs should’ve been 2011
Hibs have moved on as a club now
Lennons time should be the benchmark
Full houses and a real buzz about the place
Highest ever average attendances
The next appointment HAS to have a wow factor
We have European group football as a prize next season
Keane would obviously bring that
As would Cocu…
Real pedigree…
Cocu’s contacts must be off the scale. Sure we could
get some outstanding Dutch talent wanting to play for him,
and an EPL platform.
However, as we’ve been in this movie so many times reality suggests an English No2 or Lower League manager , and battling Motherwell and RC for another Top 6.

30-04-2022, 11:11 AM
How many old skool angry manager types (ala Keane) are successful these days ? I can’t think of any ….

Mcbizz1998
30-04-2022, 12:03 PM
Out of all the names linked, I think Cocu is probably the best.

Would like O’Neil as well but he hasn’t actually been linked other than on here.

Keane I would be buzzing about but more for the fun that could be had rather than the football side, would be a big risk.

30-04-2022, 12:16 PM
Looking at Michael O’Neills record at Stoke this season.

No heavy losses - close games and some decent wins.

Squad seems a mix of youth and experience.

Think he would be a really good fit but not sure if he would be interested or Hibs will go for him.

30-04-2022, 12:20 PM
As would Cocu…
Real pedigree…
and an EPL platform.
However, as we’ve been in this movie so many times reality suggests an English No2 or Lower League manager , and battling Motherwell and RC for another Top 6.

Why 2011 for MON ? He took the Northern Ireland job.

I agree post Lennon buzz. But we also never filled the midfield void which SJM left. Not easy but he was a massive player for Hibs.

30-04-2022, 12:20 PM
Looking at Michael O’Neills record at Stoke this season.

No heavy losses - close games and some decent wins.

Squad seems a mix of youth and experience.

Think he would be a really good fit but not sure if he would be interested or Hibs will go for him.

I think he’s still got a good reputation down south so will get another job down there easily enough. People are using the fact that he stays up here as a reason for him wanting the Hibs job but it may actually put him off if he thinks if it could ruin his home life if he is going through a bad spell or starts getting grief from Hearts fans.

I think it’s a non starter with O’Neill.

Montford
30-04-2022, 12:30 PM

I agree post Lennon buzz. But we also never filled the midfield void which SJM left. Not easy but he was a massive player for Hibs.

Was massively linked with the Hibs job but we went leftfield and appointed Fenlon
Joined NI couple of months later
We would’ve got that freshness and dynamics he had at the time.

30-04-2022, 12:32 PM
Been a wee while since I chucked out daft random foreigners who won’t get the job but keeps me entertained……

Hernan Pablo Losada

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hernan-losada/profil/trainer/59692

Recently sacked as manager of D.C United I’m America but prior to that he managed Beerschot in Belgium so presumably may be looking to get back to Europe now.

Don’t know if he is any good or not but with a name like that I’d appoint him on the spot.

30-04-2022, 12:59 PM
Was massively linked with the Hibs job but we went leftfield and appointed Fenlon
Joined NI couple of months later
We would’ve got that freshness and dynamics he had at the time.

When, M O'Neil was in the frame for the Hibs job, I am tempted to say someone at hertz (dont remember who, dont want to remember who.) put the boot in, if I remember right, saying stuff to Petrie about him, gossip type crap etc, etc. the usual mud, said enough times it may even appear true.

30-04-2022, 01:00 PM
As would Cocu…
Real pedigree…
and an EPL platform.

30-04-2022, 01:05 PM
Henning Berg allegedly interviewed for the job in London

30-04-2022, 01:15 PM
Henning Berg allegedly interviewed for the job in London

Apparently Joel Sked has said that there was nothing in that rumour. Not to say he’s going to know everything right enough but I do think Hibs use local journalists to put to bed any rumours which are pish.

Montford
30-04-2022, 01:17 PM
When, M O'Neil was in the frame for the Hibs job, I am tempted to say someone at hertz (dont remember who, dont want to remember who.) put the boot in, if I remember right, saying stuff to Petrie about him, gossip type crap etc, etc. the usual mud, said enough times it may even appear true.

Was gutted at the time as was the perfect candidate
Absolute scandal we didn’t appoint him
Think Hibs tracked him after Brechin too but went for Mixu?

angus hibby
30-04-2022, 01:34 PM
I think he’s still got a good reputation down south so will get another job down there easily enough. People are using the fact that he stays up here as a reason for him wanting the Hibs job but it may actually put him off if he thinks if it could ruin his home life if he is going through a bad spell or starts getting grief from Hearts fans.

I think it’s a non starter with O’Neill.

I was on a coaching course last year and a Stoke player was on same course. Spoke about Hibs and he said O’Neill wants to manage Hibs before he retires.

30-04-2022, 01:37 PM
Apparently Joel Sked has said that there was nothing in that rumour. Not to say he’s going to know everything right enough but I do think Hibs use local journalists to put to bed any rumours which are pish.

Is Joel Skidmarks a local journo? just thought he was another random jambo prwick.

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin

30-04-2022, 03:05 PM

It was Levein.

Mcbizz1998
30-04-2022, 03:08 PM
Can someone enlighten me as to who/what is Joel Sked?

Bridge hibs
30-04-2022, 03:11 PM
Callum Davidson should be available soon

30-04-2022, 03:14 PM
Keane spotted at Almondvale Shopping centre earlier. Giggs and Scholes playing golf at Archerfield 🤔

30-04-2022, 03:55 PM
Keane spotted at Almondvale Shopping centre earlier. Giggs and Scholes playing golf at Archerfield [emoji848]Hahah was he just popping into Krispy Kreme? [emoji23][emoji23]

30-04-2022, 03:58 PM
we should try get Martindale :aok: if only to try stop Livingston beating us

30-04-2022, 03:59 PM
Whoever it is needs assurances of us buying quality and hopefully to push the board to up their standards and not expect just signing youth players with potential.

Dazzjw1875
30-04-2022, 04:05 PM
Keane spotted at Almondvale Shopping centre earlier. Giggs and Scholes playing golf at Archerfield 🤔

🤣🤣🤣 wondered how long it would take today for a rumour of keane spotted in Livi.. where did you see that?

30-04-2022, 04:06 PM
Michael Appleton leaves Lincoln

30-04-2022, 04:08 PM

Had his chance, no ta.

Dazzjw1875
30-04-2022, 04:09 PM

Aye not surprised don't think he has done very well there.

30-04-2022, 04:17 PM
Roy Keane, now spotted in Livingston, Wagamama's with 2 other dodgy looking character's, one wi reddish hair and the other one with a baseball cap on.

AugustaHibs
30-04-2022, 04:18 PM
You’d have to be ****ing mental to take this job.

angus hibby
30-04-2022, 04:24 PM
Aye not surprised don't think he has done very well there.

Took them to League One play off final last season, therefore 90 minutes from the Championship. Not so good this season however.

30-04-2022, 04:30 PM
🤣🤣🤣 wondered how long it would take today for a rumour of keane spotted in Livi.. where did you see that?

I just made it up ya dafty 😂😂

Giggs and Scholes 100% were golfing at Archerfield though 👍🏻

SideBurns
30-04-2022, 04:53 PM
You’d have to be ****ing mental to take this job.

Roy Keane it is then! Ya dancer.

30-04-2022, 05:00 PM
I said Liam manning before but they look like they could go up which means I doubt he’d leave it it would be for a bigger club.

Ronny Deila? Wages

Uwe Rolser looks exciting to me due to his experience and type of football.

Henning Berg is another that interests me.

We just need someone in who will attack and bring a bit of intensity. A Hibs team should always look like scoring or creating.

There’s alot of pressure on the board to get this right because whoever it is needs to get everyone on side and give us a bit of excitement.

30-04-2022, 05:01 PM
Joking or not, folk need to stop mentioning Giggs. Let his legacy die, horrible domestic abusing POS. Cant imagine Keane even speaks to him anymore.

30-04-2022, 05:05 PM
Joking or not, folk need to stop mentioning Giggs. Let his legacy die, horrible domestic abusing POS. Cant imagine Keane even speaks to him anymore.

I agree. He's finished in football. Horrible *******.

30-04-2022, 05:15 PM
I believe that Roy Keane, has now left Wagamama's in Livingston last seen in a taxi with 2 others heading for George St in Edinburgh.

DIXIHIBS
30-04-2022, 05:22 PM
Really struggling to come up with anyone the way things are but we need a manager who somehow connects to the fans. Been watching hibs over 50 years and weve defo had worse teams but there is a big gulf between club and fans at the moment. Maybe its a post covid problem but ive never felt apathy towards my team as i do right now. Negative, boring too watch etc. I will renew next season but more out of duty/habit than actually looking forward to a new season. I hope the owners get it right this time as if they dont, i fear a continuing downward spiral. Cmon ron..get it right.

He's here!
30-04-2022, 05:27 PM
Really struggling to come up with anyone the way things are but we need a manager who somehow connects to the fans. Been watching hibs over 50 years and weve defo had worse teams but there is a big gulf between club and fans at the moment. Maybe its a post covid problem but ive never felt apathy towards my team as i do right now. Negative, boring too watch etc. I will renew next season but more out of duty/habit than actually looking forward to a new season. I hope the owners get it right this time as if they dont, i fear a continuing downward spiral. Cmon ron..get it right.

No manager will connect more to the fans than David Gray.

DIXIHIBS
30-04-2022, 05:34 PM

Thats true but i doubt very much he will get the job. Maybe in the future.

JamesHFC
30-04-2022, 05:38 PM

Is he a good coach/manager though?

30-04-2022, 05:41 PM
I’ve been pretty non plussed about who I’d like as manager up till now but I’m gonna jump on the Malky McKay train I think. Done a decent job most places he’s been and knows a decent player when he sees one. Git the experience we badly need right now.

30-04-2022, 05:44 PM
The next appointment is huge. Do think we need to make it soon though. The new man needs to have a chance to assess this current squad and I'd be surprised if at least half isn't deemed surplus to requirements.

New manager needs backed to the hilt as we're now chasing Hearts and to be fair Dundee Utd as well. Have to think Aberdeen will undoubtedly improve as well, especially if they reinvest the inevitable Ferguson money wisely.

Next season should be massive.

JamesHFC
30-04-2022, 05:45 PM
I’ve been pretty non plussed about who I’d like as manager up till now but I’m gonna jump on the Malky McKay train I think. Done a decent job most places he’s been and knows a decent player when he sees one. Git the experience we badly need right now.

I think Malky would have us challenging for Europe every season at the very least. He would need backed though and work very closely with the recruitment department, just like anyone who comes in.

30-04-2022, 05:49 PM

Has Giggs been convicted of domestic abuse?

30-04-2022, 05:55 PM
We need an announcement soon. Unless were waiting on Pepe.....
B

Bridge hibs
30-04-2022, 06:01 PM
Has Giggs been convicted of domestic abuse? Ryan Giggs will go on trial in August accused of beating girlfriend Kate Greville
Case was due to be heard this month but has been delayed due to Covid backlog
Giggs, 47, has denied allegations and formally pleaded not guilty to all charges

30-04-2022, 06:03 PM
Ryan Giggs will go on trial in August accused of beating girlfriend Kate Greville
Case was due to be heard this month but has been delayed due to Covid backlog
Giggs, 47, has denied allegations and formally pleaded not guilty to all charges

Thanks. I don't think posters should be calling him a pos domestic abuser if he's not been found guilty of anything as yet. If he is convicted then by all means pile in.

Bridge hibs
30-04-2022, 06:06 PM
Thanks. I don't think posters should be calling him a pos domestic abuser if he's not been found guilty of anything as yet. If he is convicted then by all means pile in.To be honest Giggs doesnt interest me in the slightest and he wont be anywhere near the hibs job anyway. I just googled it for interest

30-04-2022, 06:37 PM

He's now 5/4 favourite with Bet Victor. FFS :rolleyes:

https://www.bettingodds.com/thesackrace/teams/hibernian

JamesHFC
30-04-2022, 06:39 PM

Someone posted on here at some point that they heard that Lincoln fans were under the impression Appleton was leaving them to join us. I hope not tbh, bad vibes after what happened last time he was linked.

30-04-2022, 06:40 PM

**** that

30-04-2022, 06:42 PM
Someone posted on here at some point that they heard that Lincoln fans were under the impression Appleton was leaving them to join us. I hope not tbh, bad vibes after what happened last time he was linked.

Allegedly wanted a big pay off on his contract if he was sacked. Didn't get it so walked away. Just the type of character we need eh?

Ron is toast if he appoints this clown.

JamesHFC
30-04-2022, 06:49 PM
Allegedly wanted a big pay off on his contract if he was sacked. Didn't get it so walked away. Just the type of character we need eh?

Ron is toast if he appoints this clown.

Really not convinced by him at all. 17th in League One with a -8 goal difference. I’d rather Derek McInnes or Malky MacKay.

30-04-2022, 06:51 PM
**** that

If you forget for a second what happened last time we were interested in him, it looks to me like he’s a decent manager that’s done a good job at Oxford and Lincoln.

Going back to why negotiations broke down last time, none of us know what was said and why the deal fell through. We’ve all heard the rumours however they’re very one sided and I dare say he would give a different version of events with the truth being somewhere in the middle.

All that said, he’s not somebody I would fancy for the job. I just don’t think he’s as bad an option as a few posts have suggested.

30-04-2022, 06:52 PM
I'd be absolutely gutted if Appleton is our next manager. Never happening, surely?

30-04-2022, 07:00 PM

I had a look on their website. Most fans are gutted he is leaving them.

JamesHFC
30-04-2022, 07:03 PM
I had a look on their website. Most fans are gutted he is leaving them.

I noticed they were doing very well last season but they have obviously had a howler this year. I sense it would go very much like the Hecky appointment and people would start to get frustrated at the first sign of things not going so well. The fact he has apparently already turned us down doesn’t sit well. I’d prefer someone else but if it’s to be him then let’s go.

Hibby-G
30-04-2022, 07:08 PM

I’d presume that’s because he’s just left Lincoln and was previously linked with us. Could be wrong tho 🤷🏽*♂️

After the names that have been mentioned this past week, it’d be a massive disappointment to appoint Appleton imo.

Chorley Hibee
30-04-2022, 07:10 PM
I’d presume that’s because he’s just left Lincoln and was previously linked with us. Could be wrong tho 🤷🏽*♂️

After the names that have been mentioned this past week, it’d be a massive disappointment to appoint Appleton imo.

If Gordon and Co think that an appointment along the lines of Appleton is going to invigorate the support and sell season tickets, then they're in for a rude awakening.

30-04-2022, 07:15 PM
If Gordon and Co think that an appointment along the lines of Appleton is going to invigorate the support and sell season tickets, then they're in for a rude awakening.

Agreed. Had an ST 43 years. Not renewed yet, but unlikely that I won't. However, if it's this guy I'd seriously consider not renewing.

30-04-2022, 07:18 PM
Agreed. Had an ST 43 years. Not renewed yet, but unlikely that I won't. However, if it's this guy I'd seriously consider not renewing.

What if he’s brilliant though?

30-04-2022, 07:19 PM

He can buy a half season one at Christmas 😄

30-04-2022, 07:23 PM
He can buy a half season one at Christmas 😄

You saying Appleton will be sacked by then?

30-04-2022, 07:25 PM

Hibs need a lift. We need a big managerial appointment. Otherwise ST sales will be significantly lower than we have seen for a long time.

Appleton is a nobody. Who knows, given time he might be successful but how much time would he get with an unenthusiastic support and a trigger happy owner?

30-04-2022, 07:26 PM

He could turn out to be but after Maloney the fans are craving a statement of intent. Appleton after Ross, fair enough but after Maloney he needs to immediately get a lot of fans back on side.

30-04-2022, 07:28 PM
You saying Appleton will be sacked by then?

30-04-2022, 07:28 PM
Hibs need a lift. We need a big managerial appointment. Otherwise ST sales will be significantly lower than we have seen for a long time.

Appleton is a nobody. Who knows, given time he might be successful but how much time would he get with an unenthusiastic support and a trigger happy owner?
Thoughts of the Lincoln fans

https://forums.vitalfootball.co.uk/threads/appleton-leaving.124253/

30-04-2022, 07:39 PM

Football fans are fickle.

Even those that don’t want him would soon have their head turned by a few of the right sound bites, exciting signing or few good results or performances.

He wouldn’t be my first choice and I actually agree about wanting someone that’ll capture the imagination of the fans, it’s more important to get the right man though.

I’m open minded about most potential managers and happy to look for the positives, with Appleton there are a good few.

30-04-2022, 07:53 PM
Whoever gets the job has a huge rebuild and I hope the owners give them time...ha! I do think it needs to be a name though. An uninspiring appointment will not generate enough season ticket sales. Its last chance saloon for Ron Gordon imo, he just has to get this one right.

chippy
30-04-2022, 08:08 PM
Whoever gets the job has a huge rebuild and I hope the owners give them time...ha! I do think it needs to be a name though. An uninspiring appointment will not generate enough season ticket sales. Its last chance saloon for Ron Gordon imo, he just has to get this one right.

Neil Lennon would work I think with a decent budget. I’d take Mackay but might split fan base.

JamesHFC
30-04-2022, 08:11 PM
Neil Lennon would work I think with a decent budget. I’d take Mackay but might split fan base.

After Lennon’s comments about the Maloney sacking I can’t see that happening. If we were really keen about MacKay I think we would have approached Ross County by now, unless we have but they want him to focus on the rest of the season first.

I think we are going to hear more about Lee Johnson over the coming days/week.

sunshinejim
30-04-2022, 08:15 PM
Football fans are fickle.

Even those that don’t want him would soon have their head turned by a few of the right sound bites, exciting signing or few good results or performances.

He wouldn’t be my first choice and I actually agree about wanting someone that’ll capture the imagination of the fans, it’s more important to get the right man though.

I’m open minded about most potential managers and happy to look for the positives, with Appleton there are a good few.

Having read articles relating to Appleton's time at Lincoln City, I could fully understand the board seriously considering his credentials. He did very well initially with Lincoln City that included having to rebuild a squad (similar to what we need at Hibernian) but then lost key players due to his success which considerably impacted upon his subsequent time there. Lincoln fans and media have a great deal of respect for Appleton despite his resignation. Lots of positives indeed.

30-04-2022, 08:16 PM

Lennon seems to be enjoying life in Cyprus so cannot see him coming back tbh. MacKay hmmmm. I really think the board have to look beyond that. He's not going to inspire the fan base. He might be a decent manager but I think the club know this appointment has to be the right one and it has to be one that inspires the fans as well as being the right choice

mcfly
30-04-2022, 08:26 PM
Appleton?? Will this guy inspire and sell season tickets? Not my decision but if hibs are being run as a business then doesn’t inspire me.

30-04-2022, 08:34 PM
After Lennon’s comments about the Maloney sacking I can’t see that happening. If we were really keen about MacKay I think we would have approached Ross County by now, unless we have but they want him to focus on the rest of the season first.

I think we are going to hear more about Lee Johnson over the coming days/week.

Avoid Lee Johnson. He isn’t what Hibs need and would basically be Maloney part 2 but he’s got a little more experience.

Nice guy but not what we need right now.

30-04-2022, 08:35 PM
Would MM be a manager who stays for a few years and builds the club back up ? Possibly.

The challenge is his history and would the club go down that route.

JamesHFC
30-04-2022, 08:42 PM
Avoid Lee Johnson. He isn’t what Hibs need and would basically be Maloney part 2 but he’s got a little more experience.

Nice guy but not what we need right now.

I get where you are coming from with Johnson. He has a certain way he likes to play and it would probably come with time and the right signings to make it work. Not a terrible CV though, surprised Sunderland sacked him when he was 3rd only a point off automatic promotion.

30-04-2022, 08:44 PM

Rumour was Levein

30-04-2022, 08:56 PM
**** that

Also has Mowbray at 6 to 4 which seems a little odd

30-04-2022, 09:09 PM
Fan base is already well and truly split.

WestStandWillie
30-04-2022, 09:19 PM

Why would Lennon ditch the good thing he has in Cyprus to come back to the goldfish bowl of Scottish football.

30-04-2022, 09:21 PM
Why would Lennon ditch the good thing he has in Cyprus to come back to the goldfish bowl of Scottish football.

Why go for a manager who did nothing for us second time around?

30-04-2022, 10:03 PM

What a strange thing to say

30-04-2022, 10:04 PM
Malky Mackay has expressed an interest in the job

JamesHFC
30-04-2022, 10:09 PM

No doubt that he would take the job in a heartbeat. Should definitely be under consideration.

30-04-2022, 10:17 PM
Re Michael Appleton I wasn’t keen to begin with, mainly due to have pre conceived ideas and his win % not being good.

But the Lincoln fans forum has opened my eyes a bit and made me realise there’s more than the %. They’re chuffed he kept them in league 1 for 3 seasons and especially last season where he got them in the play offs. The vast majority are saying he’s got them playing the best football they’ve ever seen at their club and his links due to being a well thought of coach means they’ve brought in some brilliant players, albeit maybe on loan.

They’ve not done as well this year but still finished 17/24 which for them I imagine is not bad but probably the biggest factor is he was diagnosed with testicular cancer last year and had to get treatment. I think he’s in the clear now thankfully but maybe that has made him reassess his options and made him want a more secure job? There’s mention of a coaching role in an England youth team.

He seems to have loads of knowledge of England and players available, maybe at a bigger club with a bigger budget he would do well here?

Mr. Wonderful
30-04-2022, 10:21 PM
Re Michael Appleton I wasn’t keen to begin with, mainly due to have pre conceived ideas and his win % not being good.

But the Lincoln fans forum has opened my eyes a bit and made me realise there’s more than the %. They’re chuffed he kept them in league 1 for 3 seasons and especially last season where he got them in the play offs. The vast majority are saying he’s got them playing the best football they’ve ever seen at their club and his links due to being a well thought of coach means they’ve brought in some brilliant players, albeit maybe on loan.

They’ve not done as well this year but still finished 17/24 which for them I imagine is not bad but probably the biggest factor is he was diagnosed with testicular cancer last year and had to get treatment. I think he’s in the clear now thankfully but maybe that has made him reassess his options and made him want a more secure job? There’s mention of a coaching role in an England youth team.

He seems to have loads of knowledge of England and players available, maybe at a bigger club with a bigger budget he would do well here?

His win % is better than a few fancied managers. Malky being one.

Win % isn't the be all and end all either, folk get hung up on it, but 30% win rate at one club night be another clubs 60%. 60% win rate at Celtic might look good on wiki but it doesn't win titles or say anything about your recruitment, man management or style of play. Because even if you buy a duff player, more often than not, they'd walk into any other team in the league.

sunshinejim
30-04-2022, 10:22 PM

Left the club on good terms with lots of respect. Certainly left a mark on Lincoln City and its fans. Most of it good. Could be what we need at Easter Road. Has to be given a clear run though by the board to implement his own ideas and squad.

30-04-2022, 10:27 PM

Where did you see this?

30-04-2022, 10:29 PM
I wouldn't be against Appleton getting it

Not exactly a name to get you off your seat but it's the football that should do that anyway

LewysGot2
30-04-2022, 10:29 PM
Graham Spiers touting Warburton :rotflmao::rotflmao:

30-04-2022, 10:33 PM
Surley towards the end of next week we will have a fair idea of where we are leaning

Or are we waiting to see who's still in a job in England?

30-04-2022, 10:35 PM
Graham Spiers touting Warburton :rotflmao::rotflmao:

I’d 100% take him, very good manager and plays a style the fans would like.

There’s just one small issue I can think of though 😅

sunshinejim
30-04-2022, 10:39 PM
I’d 100% take him, very good manager and plays a style the fans would like.

There’s just one small issue I can think of though 😅

He's a fanny?

:partyhibb

30-04-2022, 11:12 PM
Where did you see this?

Got a message tonight about it

Mcbizz1998
30-04-2022, 11:14 PM
Appleton? Nah, didn’t he bump us before Hecky?

30-04-2022, 11:17 PM
He's a fanny?

:partyhibb

Ohhh Warburton's a Hibee, he wears a Hibees hat...

01-05-2022, 06:47 AM

Ross County gave him a chance to get back into management when a lot of other clubs were wary of him and he shows his loyalty by looking for another job after less than a year in charge? Not for me.

Lee Marvin
01-05-2022, 06:51 AM
Reckon Mackay would be about the worst appointment we could make, all things considered

01-05-2022, 06:56 AM
Appleton? Nah, didn’t he bump us before Hecky?Depends on your definition of bumped

Bumped is one way of looking at it

Failed to agree terms is another

Our last leadership team wernt all that bad at choosing managers either

Hes went on to do really well at Lincoln

Id take him here, for sure

01-05-2022, 06:56 AM
We need someone who would have a high approval rating among the fans, someone to galvanise us on and off the park. MM is not that guy. Down well with Ross county but is only a year in to the job, is likely to lose Charles Cook in the summer and had a shoddy start to the season there too. Granted he turned it around but he’s not the guy to take us forward. At least not at this point in time.

01-05-2022, 07:01 AM
We need someone who would have a high approval rating among the fans, someone to galvanise us on and off the park. MM is not that guy. Down well with Ross county but is only a year in to the job, is likely to lose Charles Cook in the summer and had a shoddy start to the season there too. Granted he turned it around but he’s not the guy to take us forward. At least not at this point in time.

Whilst someone like that may give us a short term lift - more importantly we need someone who will win us football games - ultimately that will get the fans back onside. Mowbray was largely one of the most underwhelming initial appointments, turned out to be great . Stubbs too …

I think Mackay would do that , so would t mind if it was him

01-05-2022, 07:04 AM
Reckon Mackay would be about the worst appointment we could make, all things considered

Why do you think that? Not having a go, just curious.

Everywhere he has been he’s been relatively successful, no real disasters at Wigan or Cardiff or the likes. He’s done exceptionally well with Ross County this season. I think he’s be a natural leader and won’t take any nonsense.

01-05-2022, 07:07 AM
Ross County gave him a chance to get back into management when a lot of other clubs were wary of him and he shows his loyalty by looking for another job after less than a year in charge? Not for me.

Is this another reason to boot the guy folk now care about it from a Ross County perspective if he was to leave after a year. Not sure if you know this but there is simply no loyalty in football and you don’t know if that was part of his deal there that they wouldn’t stand in his way of a bigger club opportunity came about.

01-05-2022, 07:20 AM

Everywhere he has been he’s been relatively successful, no real disasters at Wigan or Cardiff or the likes. He’s done exceptionally well with Ross County this season. I think he’s be a natural leader and won’t take any nonsense.

I am the same. Experienced manager, strong track record, a year in Scottish football so will have settled in, likely to take Ross County into European football.

It’s up to other to decide if morally it would be right, wide ranging views, I think he would be a great leader and well worth consideration.

01-05-2022, 07:22 AM

Worse than an assistant manager with no first team experience? Or a manager out of the game for many years or one with zero Scottish football experience or even one that can’t work in an existing structure?

01-05-2022, 07:28 AM
^^Yup, worse than all of these things.

He's this season's Callum Davidson. Ross Co will be fighting relegation next year.

01-05-2022, 07:29 AM

I think he'd be good but he doesn't really excite me. Sounds daft I know.

Bridge hibs
01-05-2022, 07:38 AM
Would be typical hibs, certainly the way things are going, to be in London or wherever the past week doing interviews and then to appoint Malky Mackay 🤣

Victor
01-05-2022, 07:47 AM

Exactly. Think Mackay will have a massive chip on his shoulder. Going by what he said that led to his sacking by Cardiff, I believe his has a deep seated problem and that his apologies were just a means to an end. If he got the job at Hibs I am sure he would be out the door as soon as a bigger club came calling. Of all the names being quoted for Manager, he is definitely the one I don’t want. I would rather have Warburton!

mcfly
01-05-2022, 07:59 AM
Hibs need to sell season tickets so it has to be a big name manager for me.

Warburton - no chance for obvious reasons
Appleton - turned us down before so no
Keane. - if he wants it would Instill pride, passion, desire so yes please

01-05-2022, 08:03 AM
^^Yup, worse than all of these things.

He's this season's Callum Davidson. Ross Co will be fighting relegation next year.

Do you have next Fridays Euro winning numbers also? Haha.

01-05-2022, 08:18 AM
Exactly. Think Mackay will have a massive chip on his shoulder. Going by what he said that led to his sacking by Cardiff, I believe his has a deep seated problem and that his apologies were just a means to an end. If he got the job at Hibs I am sure he would be out the door as soon as a bigger club came calling. Of all the names being quoted for Manager, he is definitely the one I don’t want. I would rather have Warburton!

That's what Ron said a few weeks back. They want a manager who can take Hibs to a new level with the ambition to move up to another level of club with higher ambitions. We are a stepping stone club now under Ron.

01-05-2022, 08:21 AM
That's what Ron said a few weeks back. They want a manager who can take Hibs to a new level with the ambition to move up to another level of club with higher ambitions. We are a stepping stone club now under Ron.

We’ve always been a stepping stone. Just like every other Scottish club is a stepping stone.

01-05-2022, 08:34 AM

I think we’ve always been a stepping stone club.

01-05-2022, 08:53 AM
I'm comfortable with us being a stepping stone. I want hungry players and managers at the club who want to do well and move on to bigger things. If they do it means they've done a good job for us.

01-05-2022, 08:55 AM
Other than Real Madrid, every club in world football is a stepping stone.

01-05-2022, 08:58 AM
Evening News saying Paul Clement isn’t a viable candidate for the job, thankfully.

01-05-2022, 08:58 AM

Was he not awful at Wigan ?

01-05-2022, 08:59 AM

Reported in the paper saying Keane has no interest in the Hibs job .

01-05-2022, 09:01 AM
Evening News saying Paul Clement isn’t a viable candidate for the job, thankfully.

Evening news/Scotsman have dismissed a few candidates recently.

I'm still surprised we haven't been linked with more US coaches. If were to go down that route Caleb Porter would be worth a look

mayo hibee
01-05-2022, 09:01 AM

Saying no to two managers with decent records but yes to a manager with consistent failure on his CV suggests it's probably just as well that the fans don't have any say in this.

01-05-2022, 09:03 AM
I am the same. Experienced manager, strong track record, a year in Scottish football so will have settled in, likely to take Ross County into European football.

It’s up to other to decide if morally it would be right, wide ranging views, I think he would be a great leader and well worth consideration.

MM has been in Scotland for about 5 years now as worked in Scottish FA.

His assistant currently at Ross County is Don Cowie !

01-05-2022, 09:07 AM
Evening news/Scotsman have dismissed a few candidates recently.

I'm still surprised we haven't been linked with more US coaches. If were to go down that route Caleb Porter would be worth a look

Porter is decent but feel we need someone who knows what Scottish football is about.

We can’t have a manager / coach who takes a few months to find his feet.

We need someone who can stop the rot - steady the ship and not be worried to make ruthless decisions with this squad.

MM could be that guy or he could be Butcher part 2.

01-05-2022, 09:11 AM

I think we need a manager that wins football matches, if folk dont come back because we appoint someone they dont agree with, then that is up to them. If he starts winning games and we shoot up the league, i wont care if we appoint him or Putin. Those who won't return if it is MM will be replaced if we do well, or they will sneak back in and eat their words.

mcfly
01-05-2022, 09:18 AM
Saying no to two managers with decent records but yes to a manager with consistent failure on his CV suggests it's probably just as well that the fans don't have any say in this.

Consistent failure? I suggest you read up on Roy keane before posting rubbish.

Sioux
01-05-2022, 09:28 AM
Consistent failure? I suggest you read up on Roy keane before posting rubbish.

If all you want is a big name, yer heid's up yer erse. Appoint the right manager, but no matter who it is, there's no guarantees that come with the contract.

01-05-2022, 09:31 AM
Reported in the paper saying Keane has no interest in the Hibs job .

One Irish paper. Nobody else has run with the story.

mcfly
01-05-2022, 09:34 AM
If all you want is a big name, yer heid's up yer erse. Appoint the right manager, but no matter who it is, there's no guarantees that come with the contract.

How eloquently put….🙄

Hibs need to sell season tickets, Ron is a businessman. They need
a big name to get the fans back on side.

01-05-2022, 09:44 AM

Has always been the case in reality. Rather they were leaving after two years after being good not poor.

LewysGot2
01-05-2022, 09:50 AM
Has always been the case in reality. Rather they were leaving after two years after being good not poor.

It's why there's constant churn though. And why any attempt to build a momentum will constantly falter.

01-05-2022, 09:55 AM
Hibs seemed to linked with everyone who is out of work or done well at a club smaller than us. MacKay has done well with County and could be a good choice. Keane is the big name and I’m sure it will give us coverage across the U.K. Hibs have went backwards at a rapid rate. I wouldn’t be surprised to see us fall further down the table next season and I think Gordon/Kensell are in for a shock when it comes to ST sales and attendances next season. The fun has long gone out of watching Hibs. We’ve been ***** before but it seems worse this time as it’s the club leadership that’s caused it.

WestStandMoaner
01-05-2022, 10:03 AM
I think we need a manager that wins football matches, if folk dont come back because we appoint someone they dont agree with, then that is up to them. If he starts winning games and we shoot up the league, i wont care if we appoint him or Putin. Those who won't return if it is MM will be replaced if we do well, or they will sneak back in and eat their words.

Totally agree all this nonsense around MM he made a mistake has apologised several times and it cost him the opportunity to manage in the English Premiership. Too many on here are snowflakes and if you don’t comeback good this is why we are in the position we are. Too many happy clappers bleeping on about why Ross should still be in charge and we let Maloney go too soon. I want winners at the club I’m not bothered about if they sent a dodgy text eight years ago none of us can say we have never said or done something in the past which would be acceptable now. I think MM would do a great job for us people who do not want him think their opinion should be final there are many who do want him but don’t want to say because on here you get shot down for having an alternative opinion

Dazzjw1875
01-05-2022, 10:07 AM
Think we need to be sensible not just appoint someone because they are a name only to have another ***n car crash season. Appleton for me has a decent record as does berg and have their teams playing decent football. If noone wants to renew due to that fine, once the team is winning again and playing decent they can get a half season book. Just think iys madness to just go for a name with only experience being 11yrs ago. It could work out but I would doubt it, and prob end messy..

Bridge hibs
01-05-2022, 10:38 AM
How eloquently put….🙄

Hibs need to sell season tickets, Ron is a businessman. They need
a big name to get the fans back on side.If for example its Keane in the big name bracket then going by the mixed reactions on here then Im not convinced he would be the box office bums off seats you would hope for. I cant speak for the wider hibs community who dont post on fans sites but I would probably guess opinion still may be divided

Either way, there are going to be a lot of happy or disappointed fans no matter what. I will just be glad for the final whistle to blow in our last game

JamesHFC
01-05-2022, 10:47 AM
I'm comfortable with us being a stepping stone. I want hungry players and managers at the club who want to do well and move on to bigger things. If they do it means they've done a good job for us.

Exactly. Any manager who is successful here will go on to ‘better’ things. I have no problem with that as long as we are going a couple of seasons achieving our expectations.

01-05-2022, 10:58 AM
John Terry at the Celtic game with a Hibs scarf on 👀👀

01-05-2022, 11:06 AM
Totally agree all this nonsense around MM he made a mistake has apologised several times and it cost him the opportunity to manage in the English Premiership. Too many on here are snowflakes and if you don’t comeback good this is why we are in the position we are. Too many happy clappers bleeping on about why Ross should still be in charge and we let Maloney go too soon. I want winners at the club I’m not bothered about if they sent a dodgy text eight years ago none of us can say we have never said or done something in the past which would be acceptable now. I think MM would do a great job for us people who do not want him think their opinion should be final there are many who do want him but don’t want to say because on here you get shot down for having an alternative opinionYou seem triggered

WestStandMoaner
01-05-2022, 11:16 AM
You seem triggered

Just fed up with what’s going at our club. I just want someone who understands the Scottish game and plays decent football. I honestly believe our support accept mediocre performances far too easily. I apologise for the snowflake comment but after 30 years of having a season ticket I’m seriously considering not renewing. I need to see something from the owner which is going to inspire me, right now there is nothing to fill me with confidence that he knows what he is doing

01-05-2022, 11:56 AM

You sure it is not a half n half scarf?

01-05-2022, 11:58 AM

Wonder if he knows Mrs Marciano is in Holland now?

cameronw-hfc
01-05-2022, 01:56 PM
Totally agree all this nonsense around MM he made a mistake has apologised several times and it cost him the opportunity to manage in the English Premiership. Too many on here are snowflakes and if you don’t comeback good this is why we are in the position we are. Too many happy clappers bleeping on about why Ross should still be in charge and we let Maloney go too soon. I want winners at the club I’m not bothered about if they sent a dodgy text eight years ago none of us can say we have never said or done something in the past which would be acceptable now. I think MM would do a great job for us people who do not want him think their opinion should be final there are many who do want him but don’t want to say because on here you get shot down for having an alternative opinion

Nonsense 😂 if making fun of Jews, Asians, Women and just saying generally racist things are nonsense then fair play

I know a lot want him, but to act like it's bemusing that most wouldn't want him here is beyond out of touch. It's not being a snowflake, it's about not having someone that represents those values as manager of Hibs. And before anyone says he apologised plenty, aye, but go read it, was an "aye but I sent loads of texts and only these were bad" kind of apology. Load of crap and folk have every right to not want a crappy person like that as manager of Hibs.

Johnny Clash
01-05-2022, 03:48 PM
I agree with that. Plus I would have thought David would command total respect in the dressing room and take no nonsense from anyone underperforming. Not easy when you’re just stepped up to cover the position temporarily but I would hope he starts booting some backsides. So I’d favour a strong manager with David Gray as their assistant.

01-05-2022, 04:02 PM
Bodo Glimt lost their last 2 games, Knutsen had his head turned 😁

greenflyer
01-05-2022, 04:59 PM
When asked if he is playing for his future at the club, Keane told Sky Sports: "I think they all are, I think you're always kind of playing for your future. Every time I see Marcus getting warmed-up, he's always smiling, I don't like players who smile too much."

LewysGot2
01-05-2022, 05:01 PM
When asked if he is playing for his future at the club, Keane told Sky Sports: "I think they all are, I think you're always kind of playing for your future. Every time I see Marcus getting warmed-up, he's always smiling, I don't like players who smile too much."

Kevin Nisbet will be fine, then 😂

JamesHFC
01-05-2022, 05:32 PM

Serial winner.

01-05-2022, 05:42 PM
Nonsense 😂 if making fun of Jews, Asians, Women and just saying generally racist things are nonsense then fair play

I know a lot want him, but to act like it's bemusing that most wouldn't want him here is beyond out of touch. It's not being a snowflake, it's about not having someone that represents those values as manager of Hibs. And before anyone says he apologised plenty, aye, but go read it, was an "aye but I sent loads of texts and only these were bad" kind of apology. Load of crap and folk have every right to not want a crappy person like that as manager of Hibs.

Definitely don't want Mackay for that reason

01-05-2022, 06:24 PM

I think it'll almost certainly be MacKay now. All the chat of the bigger names seems to have dried up.

01-05-2022, 06:31 PM
I think it'll almost certainly be MacKay now. All the chat of the bigger names seems to have dried up.

2+2 = 563? 🤷🏻*♂️

Why would it certainly be MacKay?

01-05-2022, 06:32 PM
2+2 = 563? 🤷🏻*♂️

Why would it certainly be MacKay?

Just what I think. He's apparently expressed interest and ticks all the boxes Ron mentioned when he did those interviews the other week.

Gordy M
01-05-2022, 06:32 PM

Surely if it was McKay , we would have had to get permission from Ross Co? I havent seen anything at all suggesting that?

01-05-2022, 06:34 PM
Surely if it was McKay , we would have had to get permission from Ross Co? I havent seen anything at all suggesting that?

Of course. Don't think it'll happen til the end of the season so no rush for asking for permission.

Just giving my opinion on who I think it'll be.

01-05-2022, 06:37 PM
Just what I think. He's apparently expressed interest and ticks all the boxes Ron mentioned when he did those interviews the other week.

I'm not trying to be a twat but I had no idea he had expressed an interest. Bigger club so not surprised.

01-05-2022, 06:40 PM
I'm not trying to be a twat but I had no idea he had expressed an interest. Bigger club so not surprised.

Of course! Don't think you are at all and to be fair I'm sure I read it somewhere on here that he'd expressed an interest, so could be complete bull.

01-05-2022, 06:42 PM
Of course! Don't think you are at all and to be fair I'm sure I read it somewhere on here that he'd expressed an interest, so could be complete bull.

He'd be daft not to be interested tbh.

01-05-2022, 06:48 PM
According to this website - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/malky-mackay/bilanz/trainer/8268

Malky Mackay longest time as a manager was 2.5 years at Cardiff.

He's been at Ross County for 11 months..

Played 40
Won 12
Draw 11
Lost 17

He's played Hearts x 4 and drawn 3 - lost 1

He's never beaten Rangers, Celtic, Hearts, Livi or Dundee Utd

LewysGot2
01-05-2022, 06:49 PM
English media yesterday very much suggesting Mowbray going to be surplus to requirement at Blackburn. Five Live suggesting Mowbray has not had anything said to him about renewing his contract which is up next month.

Fa-rke being linked with the job.

He seems to have done okay this season but they were saying he had done so by being conservative in style of play and people were needing a change.

* filter didn't allow his name 🤪

bringbackbenny
01-05-2022, 06:49 PM

I had to do a double take there on the racist angle, for a second I was worrying about a certain jug eared Hearts bass being lined up 😂

01-05-2022, 07:22 PM

Maybe he has a release clause in his contract...

Gordy M
01-05-2022, 07:32 PM
Maybe he has a release clause in his contract...

Not sure how release clauses work but would we not still have to contact Ross Co to say we are activating the clause?

Hibiza
01-05-2022, 07:38 PM
Think it's going to be Appleton.

HFC93
01-05-2022, 07:48 PM
Think it's going to be Appleton.

Why?

01-05-2022, 09:28 PM

Why? There are loads of people it could be. Huge risk by the club if that is the case imo.

01-05-2022, 10:10 PM
Why? There are loads of people it could be. Huge risk by the club if that is the case imo.

Yup.

If Mackay is appointed there will be a large number of fans who will only thole him for as long as we're doing well, but his previous remarks mean they'll be ready to turn against him as soon as results and performances dip.

01-05-2022, 10:17 PM
The number of season tickets sold is quite low apparently, I can't see the appointment of Malky MacKay changing that. For that reason alone I would be surprised if the board would appoint somebody like that, but then again...

01-05-2022, 11:50 PM

Just think it'll be MacKay. That's just my opinion.

Think we've been stung taking a punt on Maloney and won't make that mistake again.

MacKay won the championship with Cardiff and has managed them in the Premier league. Experience with the national team as well and has over performed with County this season. All those points seem to tie in to what Ron was saying in his interviews the other week. Add that to the fact he's apparently interested can't see it being anyone else.

Dr_Regal
02-05-2022, 01:23 AM
I’d be okay with MacKay or Appleton, but thrilled with Keane.

HFC93
02-05-2022, 01:34 AM
I'm shocked by how many people would be up for Malky Mackay. He's an ok manager but it would be a PR disaster for the club.

02-05-2022, 04:15 AM
I'm shocked by how many people would be up for Malky Mackay. He's an ok manager but it would be a PR disaster for the club.

I don’t think it’s been a disaster for Ross County?

I think a few people would stamp their feet at first but they’d soon forget if we were doing alright.

02-05-2022, 05:30 AM
Yup.

If Mackay is appointed there will be a large number of fans who will only thole him for as long as we're doing well, but his previous remarks mean they'll be ready to turn against him as soon as results and performances dip.

We turn on all our managers. It's what we do.

02-05-2022, 06:00 AM
Malky Mackay was in charge of a massive rebuild at Ross County in the summer. Sure they signed 10+ players. Could be a plus point in his favour looking at what we need to do this summer.

His record at the start of the season was abysmal though, if he did that here he’d be getting chased immediately.

02-05-2022, 06:32 AM
Nah McKay is not the answer. I’m talking purely on football terms.

Paulie Walnuts
02-05-2022, 06:40 AM
I don’t think it’s been a disaster for Ross County?

I think a few people would stamp their feet at first but they’d soon forget if we were doing alright.

That’s why Mackay would be madness.

Appointing a manager who would need to get off to an absolute flyer to get the fans on board is a massive gamble. I’ve seen people suggest if he comes in and wins his first 5 games that people will soon forget his comments. Whilst there may be an element of truth to that, there’s no chance of him winning his first 5 games.

I’m more than happy to admit that if he gets the job I’ll be desperate for him to get binned from the minute he’s in the door. From reading peoples comments on here, I very much doubt I’ll be the only one. Appointing Mackay would be absolute madness.

I'm Spartacus
02-05-2022, 07:21 AM
Paul schooles and Giggs out in Edinburgh last night 😂

Obviously scouting out the city for Keane.

Wasn't that the Tattu restaurant in Manchester?

02-05-2022, 07:25 AM
I think it’s safe to say that the board can’t appoint someone who everyone will like.

The only way everyone will get behind him is results and style of football, it will be purely down to the manager and players to win some fans over.

Even if we’re getting results and playing good football I’m sure something else will be highlighted that needs to be better as is the nature of football.

Let’s just back whoever gets the job regardless of pre conceived ideas.

I'm Spartacus
02-05-2022, 07:28 AM
That's who would go for to steady the ship, Not the best attacking football on the eye but was rarely out the top 4 in the 8 years he was with Aberdeen.

A style we have not played for a generation.

He's a great manager and can win games.

02-05-2022, 07:51 AM

Nah they were definitely up here. My mate posted pics with them on her Instagram.

02-05-2022, 07:53 AM

They were playing golf at Archerfield.

Paulie Walnuts
02-05-2022, 07:56 AM
I think it’s safe to say that the board can’t appoint someone who everyone will like.

The only way everyone will get behind him is results and style of football, it will be purely down to the manager and players to win some fans over.

Even if we’re getting results and playing good football I’m sure something else will be highlighted that needs to be better as is the nature of football.

Of course they can’t. They can appoint somebody that more than a small minority would be happy with though. The poll on here has Mackay at 34% being happy with him and nearly 50% of people not wanting him due to him being a racist, sexist, homophobic bigot, something which due to its very nature a lot of people won’t be for changing their mind on.

It’s a bit different to appointing say Roy Keane and some people not wanting him because they think he’s to old school or something along those lines, that kind of thing can be turned round with results.

If the rumours of only 2k - 3k season tickets sold so far are true then appointing Mackay would be suicidal from Hibs.

02-05-2022, 07:57 AM
McInnes might think twice about coming to us right now. He has achieved his target with Killie this season, and I would guess that next season, his target will be staying up. I could be wrong, but he doesn't seem to be the opportunist type who would jump ship.

Greenside
02-05-2022, 08:03 AM

Far too sensible

02-05-2022, 08:23 AM
McInnes might think twice about coming to us right now. He has achieved his target with Killie this season, and I would guess that next season, his target will be staying up. I could be wrong, but he doesn't seem to be the opportunist type who would jump ship.

He’s targeting top 6 next season.

Killie fans and the club are buzzing - you only had to watch the away support against Raith.

02-05-2022, 08:29 AM

Don't think he would come even if offered it probably thinks he could compete with us at Killie and think it suits his family life who are based in the West.

Scotty Leither
02-05-2022, 09:08 AM
McInnes (who was the obvious choice before Kensell thought he knew best and gave Maloney the gig), would want money to spend and doesn't strike me as being a "yes man", so that would rule him out on two counts.

Pity, as I venture he'd clear the deadwood from the playing staff in short order.

Montford
02-05-2022, 09:09 AM
If for example its Keane in the big name bracket then going by the mixed reactions on here then Im not convinced he would be the box office bums off seats you would hope for. I cant speak for the wider hibs community who dont post on fans sites but I would probably guess opinion still may be divided

Either way, there are going to be a lot of happy or disappointed fans no matter what. I will just be glad for the final whistle to blow in our last game
Guarantee there’s be 20,000 at his first home game if Keane is appointed

02-05-2022, 09:12 AM
McInnes is probably the safest appointment we could make from the names mentioned. With the budget we have he’d have us top 6 no problem, football wouldn’t be great but we’d be reasonably consistent and he’d gradually improve us. After a couple of years fans would probably start to get frustrated that we’re not playing attractive enough football and hound him out.

02-05-2022, 09:13 AM
Guarantee there’s be 20,000 at his first home game if Keane is appointed

League cup tie at home to East Fife?

Montford
02-05-2022, 09:14 AM
Just fed up with what’s going at our club. I just want someone who understands the Scottish game and plays decent football. I honestly believe our support accept mediocre performances far too easily. I apologise for the snowflake comment but after 30 years of having a season ticket I’m seriously considering not renewing. I need to see something from the owner which is going to inspire me, right now there is nothing to fill me with confidence that he knows what he is doing

Just need to look at some of he dross being touted on here to know your fears are well founded.
Club will never be successful until the mindset of acceptance is changed