View Full Version : Next Hibs Manager

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

12-05-2022, 08:30 PM
Two titles in a row in top league in Sweden, group stages of champions league and a 57% win ratio in last 24 months as a manager. Also a champions league winner with AC Milan’s and capped over 100 times.

Uefa Cup winner with Feyenoord too.

Paulie Walnuts
12-05-2022, 08:31 PM
Anyone really know what JDT style is?

Wonder who would be on his team too

Still think it's unlikley

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

His Malmo team scored 102 and conceded 60 in the league in the two seasons he was manager.

His two seasons were actually not a kick in the arse league wise off being identical - 59 and 60 points and +32 and +28 goal differences. Each season is 30 games.

Other than that the only thing I know about him is that his Malmö side looked levels above rangers when they beat them at Ibrox despite having ten men for a lot of the game.

12-05-2022, 08:31 PM
Are folk saying it's unlikely for any specific reason or is it more of a 'it's too good to be true' kinda thing?Big name, young family, no connection to us or Scotland

Just seems alot of obsticles to overcome

You never know though

Gordy M
12-05-2022, 08:33 PM
Big name, young family, no connection to us or Scotland

You never know though

Maybe he still has a house in Newcastle:greengrin

12-05-2022, 08:42 PM
Are folk saying it's unlikely for any specific reason or is it more of a 'it's too good to be true' kinda thing?
The 2nd for me.

Stonewall
12-05-2022, 08:48 PM
If JDT gets the job I for one will not be renewing my ST.

andrew70
12-05-2022, 08:53 PM
If JDT gets the job I for one will not be renewing my ST.

😂😂😂😂 someone had to. 👏🏼

CL0762
12-05-2022, 08:58 PM
It wouldn’t surprise me if the club have leaked that info to the Scotsman and then had a look at places like here/Twitter to see how it lands.

12-05-2022, 08:59 PM
The 2nd for me.

At least you're honest :wink: :greengrin

12-05-2022, 09:00 PM
I'd love it. Any manager who is willing to serve huge doses of sh**housery on the Scottish football press is good by me......

12-05-2022, 09:00 PM
It wouldn’t surprise me if the club have leaked that info to the Scotsman and then had a look at places like here/Twitter to see how it lands.

They will leak another name tomorrow to make the 4 shortlist and then announce it over the weekend.

12-05-2022, 09:02 PM

No chance IMO.

This news coming out is a disaster for the club in that if we don’t appoint him now the club will get even more grief from the fans.

If Johnson or Appleton interviewed better than JDT the clubs in a nightmare position now.

Silky
12-05-2022, 09:02 PM
Big name, young family, no connection to us or Scotland

You never know though

Aye. No danger he'll move his young family up here to be papped out after 6 months for failing to beat Hearts.

12-05-2022, 09:07 PM
Is he the bookies favourite yet

Paulie Walnuts
12-05-2022, 09:07 PM
No chance IMO.

This news coming out is a disaster for the club in that if we don’t appoint him now the club will get even more grief from the fans.

If Johnson or Appleton interviewed better than JDT the clubs in a nightmare position now.

Suppose that depends who’s been interviewed and how they went.

If Johnson has been interviewed and he didn’t do great then he can already be ruled out. Maybe JDT has had initial discussions and came across much better than the others? I don’t think it’s that unrealistic to think Hibs could put the feelers out to see how a managerial appointment would go down after so many appointments that have been miles from universally popular recently.

12-05-2022, 09:08 PM
No chance IMO.

Moira playing a blinder 😁

12-05-2022, 09:10 PM
Let's hope this rumour grows and arms legs until it's a reality.

Really hoping the Record or Sun don't piss on our chips in the morning.

Mr. Wonderful
12-05-2022, 09:11 PM
His record isn't great though..

12-05-2022, 09:15 PM
His record isn't great though..Taken over the past 2 years it's fantastic [emoji23]

12-05-2022, 09:15 PM
His record isn't great though..

He sings as well? 👀😁

Mr. Wonderful
12-05-2022, 09:18 PM
Taken over the past 2 years it's fantastic [emoji23]

Just find it funny that nobody is pouring over his stats purely because he's a hunskelper.

12-05-2022, 09:19 PM
At least you're honest :wink: :greengrin
Touché

12-05-2022, 09:21 PM
Just praying Patrick McPartlin doesn't come along and ruin the buzz and confirms it.

“Sorry guys, bit of confusion here - it’s not Jon Dahl Tomasson, it’s Kevin Tomasson who is the preferred candidate”

12-05-2022, 09:24 PM
Just find it funny that nobody is pouring over his stats purely because he's a hunskelper.I did point out he isn't that experienced

And what happened to the 'knows Scottish fitbaw' requirement? [emoji23]

How does job dahl tommasson know the delicate differences between Tynecastle on a Tuesday and Gayfield on a Saturday [emoji23]

Hibees1973
12-05-2022, 09:27 PM
With the clowns we have in charge Ron Gordon, his wee laddie and Kensall, I have little confidence in any of them attracting someone who will turn the current debacle, of their making, around. Is anyone who is not damaged goods, i.e sacked recently, going to come to Hibs with these novices in charge. It must be a concern of any prospective manager Hibs are interested in.

I've not been through the whole of this thread, but in my opinion I can only hope that our owner choses someone experienced and with a good recent track record at a decent level.

It has probably been mentioned already on this thread, and he is available now, but is Tony Mowbray in the frame. I have read in the press that he wants to focus more time with his family and getting a better work/life balance, but if he really wants to remain as a manager after leaving Blackburn is this really feasible.

Much as appointing a manager never comes with a guarantee of success, I really hope that whoever gets the job it has some logic and makes sense. This is why I think Mowbray would be a logical choice just now. He nurtured and got the best out of Brown, Thomson, Whittaker and other young players during his last time as Hibs and at the moment we have the best development team in Scotland. Could Mowbray get the best out of the likes of Ethan Laidlaw, Josh O'Connor and Connor Young because surely they should all be knocking on the door of the first team soon.

Much as Gordon has splashed a bit of money, most of it wasted, spending money is not sustainable for a club like Hibs. Buying players at a high cost and big wages would only put us in trouble again.

Now is the time to focus on the young players we have and a manager like Mowbray may get the best out of them. My gut feeling however, is that someone as sensible as Mowbray would not touch us with a barge pole due to the people we have in charge now. But if by some miracle he became manager this would give me, for one, some hope that Hibs would improve and be a better watch next season.

A hearts supporting pal text me saying that their fans are saying JDT is in Edinburgh.

Could be them going along with it but if he is here you’d think there’s a good chance…

No chance IMO.

Which gives me hope that he is very much in the running. Given it’s comes from the Scotsman you have to think it’s got some substance.

I'm Spartacus
12-05-2022, 09:30 PM
Calm doon folks!

JDT as a player, WOW WOW WOW

JDT as a manager, 93 games in the Swedish league and everyone's waters are breaking.

12-05-2022, 09:32 PM
I did point out he isn't that experienced

And what happened to the 'knows Scottish fitbaw' requirement? [emoji23]

How does job dahl tommasson know the delicate differences between Tynecastle on a Tuesday and Gayfield on a Saturday [emoji23]

The experience he has had is of a decent quality though. 135 or so club games, I think Jack Ross had managed about 170-180 club games before Hibs, 2 titles with Malmö, Manager of the year with Malmö and Champions League football, 4 years as assistant with the Danish National team.

Don't think he will be the next manager of Hibs but he's someone I can see the fans getting behind and getting excited about.

Calm doon folks!

JDT as a manager, 93 games in the Swedish league and everyone's waters are breaking.Your forgetting 4 years as a cone boy at the Danish national team

https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/lee-johnson-hibs-talks-finalise-26949491

Back to reality

A hearts supporting pal text me saying that their fans are saying JDT is in Edinburgh.

Could be them going along with it but if he is here you’d think there’s a good chance…

Unless Saul confirms this, he isn't in Edinburgh, over to Saul

12-05-2022, 09:33 PM
With the clowns we have in charge Ron Gordon, his wee laddie and Kensall, I have little confidence in any of them attracting someone who will turn the current debacle, of their making, around. Is anyone who is not damaged goods, i.e sacked recently, going to come to Hibs with these novices in charge. It must be a concern of any prospective manager Hibs are interested in.

I've not been through the whole of this thread, but in my opinion I can only hope that our owner choses someone experienced and with a good recent track record at a decent level.

It has probably been mentioned already on this thread, and he is available now, but is Tony Mowbray in the frame. I have read in the press that he wants to focus more time with his family and getting a better work/life balance, but if he really wants to remain as a manager after leaving Blackburn is this really feasible.

Much as appointing a manager never comes with a guarantee of success, I really hope that whoever gets the job it has some logic and makes sense. This is why I think Mowbray would be a logical choice just now. He nurtured and got the best out of Brown, Thomson, Whittaker and other young players during his last time as Hibs and at the moment we have the best development team in Scotland. Could Mowbray get the best out of the likes of Ethan Laidlaw, Josh O'Connor and Connor Young because surely they should all be knocking on the door of the first team soon.

Much as Gordon has splashed a bit of money, most of it wasted, spending money is not sustainable for a club like Hibs. Buying players at a high cost and big wages would only put us in trouble again.

Now is the time to focus on the young players we have and a manager like Mowbray may get the best out of them. My gut feeling however, is that someone as sensible as Mowbray would not touch us with a barge pole due to the people we have in charge now. But if by some miracle he became manager this would give me, for one, some hope that Hibs would improve and be a better watch next season.Not happening

BegbieHSC
https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/lee-johnson-hibs-talks-finalise-26949491

Back to reality

Ffs

Back to reality

Boooo

12-05-2022, 09:34 PM
Calm doon folks!

JDT as a manager, 93 games in the Swedish league and everyone's waters are breaking.

Can JDT no just do a Larry Kingston and take 15 years off his age and play

12-05-2022, 09:34 PM

Back to reality
He was always my first choice anyway 😁

12-05-2022, 09:35 PM

Back to realityHibs 2nd leak to gauge the fans reaction after Jake Dahl Tomasson

JamesHFC
12-05-2022, 09:35 PM

Back to reality

As I said earlier, the JDT rumour was just going to cause more annoyance with the Johnson appointment.

Lee will be at the game Sunday as far as I’m aware, basically done.

12-05-2022, 09:38 PM
Hibs: world class at disappointment

12-05-2022, 09:38 PM
Moira with a blinder!

12-05-2022, 09:40 PM
As I said earlier, the JDT rumour was just going to cause more annoyance with the Johnson appointment.

Good sensible appointment

12-05-2022, 09:42 PM

Enjoy your winnings.

GreenGray
12-05-2022, 09:43 PM

Back to reality

From Scott Burns, best ignored

Brown Hibs
12-05-2022, 09:44 PM

Hopefully you don't have a clue what you're talking about.

NC1875
12-05-2022, 09:44 PM

You’ve clearly been in the know about this all along .

12-05-2022, 09:45 PM
It's been a fun and exciting couple of hours but I still reckon that Johnson could be a decent appointment.

12-05-2022, 09:46 PM

Lee will be at the game Sunday as far as I’m aware, basically done.Are you actually Lee Johnson?

Insider trading alert!

12-05-2022, 09:48 PM
Hibs leak JDT rumour to help aid with contract negotiations with Johnson perhaps. Anyway, I take little interest in English lower leagues so know nothing about this guy other than his stats from Wikipedia which aren’t earth shattering. I’ll of course support him, like any new manager, but it’s just all a bit meh🤷🏼 So bored with Hibs just now.

12-05-2022, 09:49 PM
It's been a fun and exciting couple of hours but I still reckon that Johnson could be a decent appointment.I feel this might get lost in the pending disaster posts.....

Might be good, might be bad but seems a semi sensible appointment if it's him

12-05-2022, 09:50 PM
No chance IMO.

im with you Bingo. Someone’s at it and trying to make a fool of the owner when someone else is announced.

12-05-2022, 09:50 PM

Sounds like a yam wind up

12-05-2022, 09:53 PM
It won’t be Johnson. No matter what. Fact.

NC1875
12-05-2022, 09:54 PM

A hunch ? Or you know something?

im with you Bingo. Someone’s at it and trying to make a fool of the owner when someone else is announced.

The leak and timing to deliberately undermine the club imo. Some people really dont like our club

It won’t be Johnson. No matter what. Fact.Howcome?

12-05-2022, 09:56 PM
We’ll get the official club line from Patrick at the EEN tomorrow :greengrin

12-05-2022, 09:57 PM
Howcome?

Common sense / blind faith / wishful thinking :greengrin:greengrin

badabing67
12-05-2022, 10:01 PM

How can you be so sure

12-05-2022, 10:01 PM

Just making it up then

12-05-2022, 10:03 PM
OMG it’s happening

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/jon-dahl-tomasson-targeted-by-hibs-as-next-manager-as-slayer-of-rangers-enters-frame-3692285

No chance. :hilarious

12-05-2022, 10:03 PM
We’ll get the official club line from Patrick at the EEN tomorrow :greengrin

The Cat will reveal all on twitter.

Dmas
12-05-2022, 10:06 PM
The leak and timing to deliberately undermine the club imo. Some people really dont like our club

Hibs have played this close to their chest from the start, the media have been scrambling for info and came up with nothing and everything we have read and seen has been guess work and agents at play.

All they know is hibs hope to have an announcement by next week the rest their making up, there’s a chance the club are feeding mcpartland info on who it’s not as he has rubbished a couple of stories and I think he’s maybe got a nod Johnson is in the running for his help

12-05-2022, 10:07 PM

I think you have your heart set on a shiny object over something that might be useful?

12-05-2022, 10:07 PM
He sings as well? [emoji102][emoji16]

Yep will be on the pitch at half time replacing yon opera person

AdidasHibernian
12-05-2022, 10:08 PM
What a comedown from a few pages ago..got too love a new managers thread on here!

😂👍👏💚

Mrimbetween
12-05-2022, 10:09 PM
Showing amazing ambition if yer Man sings, fingers xxxx

12-05-2022, 10:09 PM
Yep will be on the pitch at half time replacing yon opera person

That’s a hell of a gamble replacing the one bit of entertainment on the pitch this season.

Montford
12-05-2022, 10:11 PM
Lee Johnson won’t move the club forward
Just another typical Hibernian FC appointment along the lines of Calderwood, Fenlon, Ross, Heckingbottom etc
Cheap and available. No previous success. Absolutely uninspiring.
Mid table football and mediocre lower league English footballers awash incoming
Back to crowds of 7500-9000.
Basically a capital city Motherwell

12-05-2022, 10:14 PM
That Moira Gordon piece is one of a) incredibly bad expectations management by the club, b) deliberately malign interference by a third party or c) the best news we have had in years.

If the club has allowed this to be floated without the serious intent or possibility of signing him then we are in even ropier hands than we have thought this far.

If a Hearts supporting third party or journalist is deliberately pissing in the water with this then they are doing a lot of damage and the club should not leave it unchallenged.

If it's true then we will have stepped up several gears and would be displaying a level of serious intent I could not have imagined.

Lee Johnson would in my view leave the season ticket sales at a trickle and it would take some serious player signings to then change that. JDT would boost season tickets significantly before we even get to any of his prospective signings.

Lee Johnson may be the right appointment in the long run, who knows? But he certainly wouldn't be a 'marquee' appointment with an immediate premium for the club just by virtue of his announcement.

Silky
12-05-2022, 10:14 PM
Just another typical Hibernian FC appointment along the lines of Calderwood, Fenlon, Ross, Heckingbottom etc

Did someone not post that Motherwell have been in Europe in 8 out of the last 11 seasons? I'd take that!

K-Zazu
12-05-2022, 10:16 PM
Heckingbottom 2

Clarence
12-05-2022, 10:17 PM

Sad thing is that Motherwell have a better record than us in recent years. We’d love to be Motherwell.

12-05-2022, 10:17 PM
That’s a hell of a gamble replacing the one bit of entertainment on the pitch this season.

I have to confess I missed that game But not keen on Opera full stop

AdidasHibernian
12-05-2022, 10:18 PM
JDT or Karl Robinson would have been my choice, in said order..however Johnson is like most have noted on here, underwhelming to say the least.

Will of course back him all the same and hope he can get us playing some decent football with a few decent additions, as by god we need it.

Silky
12-05-2022, 10:23 PM
That Moira Gordon piece is one of a) incredibly bad expectations management by the club, b) deliberately malign interference by a third party or c) the best news we have had in years.

If the club has allowed this to be floated without the serious intent or possibility of signing him then we are in even ropier hands than we have thought this far.

If a Hearts supporting third party or journalist is deliberately pissing in the water with this then they are doing a lot of damage and the club should not leave it unchallenged.

If it's true then we will have stepped up several gears and would be displaying a level of serious intent I could not have imagined.

Lee Johnson would in my view leave the season ticket sales at a trickle and it would take some serious player signings to then change that. JDT would boost season tickets significantly before we even get to any of his prospective signings.

[B]Lee Johnson may be the right appointment in the long run, who knows? But he certainly wouldn't be a 'marquee' appointment with an immediate premium for the club just by virtue of his announcement.

That's the thing, though. What are we aiming for? Is it the long run, or the "immediate" marquee? There is nothing to suggest that JDT may not end up like Lennon; the immediate was good then it completely unravelled. Johnson may not have that immediate impact but may kick on further down the line. We don't know what's going to happen.

12-05-2022, 10:23 PM

Lee Johnson may be the right appointment in the long run, who knows? But he certainly wouldn't be a 'marquee' appointment with an immediate premium for the club just by virtue of his announcement.

Everything about this screams b) to me.

12-05-2022, 10:24 PM
Just making it up then

Geezo.

I thought by putting the word ‘Fact’ in the post made it obvious I was joking.

Chill the **** out.

12-05-2022, 10:36 PM
Aye that was exciting for a bit. The exact kind of managerial appointment I was hoping we’d make. One that would make people buy a ST tomorrow.

Lee Johnson isn’t exciting me one bit. A meh appointment who’s not been a massive disappointment but hasn’t achieved great things any where else.

It’s going to take a hell of a transfer window to get bums back on seats

leithsansiro
12-05-2022, 10:38 PM
Obviously the board have got their own managerial targets, but I was bored and armed with a laptop with internet access so I had a look for which exotic names might be available to us (before we get lumbered with Steve Kean…)

Age Hareide - former Rosenborg manager, left at the end of 2021. Before that, he was Denmark manager up until qualifying for the postponed Euro 20. Win percentage throughout his career of 48.5%. 68 year old but maybe a man who’s in a position to control things properly
Lars Bohinen - former Sarpsborg manager in Norway, left in Dec 21, former player with Nottingham Forest in the 90s. Only managed in Norway’s top flight but knows the British culture and style well. Win percentage rate of 52%
Jon Dahl Tomasson - former Malmo manager in Sweden, left in Dec 21. Has only got a couple of manager jobs under his belt, but notably won the Swedish top flight in 2020 with Malmo and then took them into the group stages of the Champions league. Win rate of about 48%
Gennaro Gattuso - former Napoli manager, left in June 21, former player with The Rangers so knows the Scottish culture. Was briefly due to be the Fiorentina manager but that fell through last summer and has been out of work since.

Probably all pie in the sky stuff, but you never know…

Just gonna bump my own post from a couple of weeks ago :agree: Not that I've got an inside line to Big Ron...

12-05-2022, 10:44 PM
No wonder I find following Hibs such a chore as I can rarely make away games😏

Away record over the last 10 completed seasons in the top division;

21/22 - 17 pts
20/21 - 36 pts
18/19 - 27 pts
17/18 - 30 pts
13/14 - 16 pts (18 away games played)
12/13 - 23 pts
11/12 - 20 pts
10/11 - 16 pts
09/10 - 23 pts
08/09 - 22 pts

So this season is our 3rd worst season away from home out of the last 10 completed seasons we've had in the top flight.

12-05-2022, 10:46 PM
Moira Gordon making a right arse of herself tonight if that was just bull****.

12-05-2022, 10:49 PM
That's the thing, though. What are we aiming for? Is it the long run, or the "immediate" marquee? There is nothing to suggest that JDT may not end up like Lennon; the immediate was good then it completely unravelled. Johnson may not have that immediate impact but may kick on further down the line. We don't know what's going to happen.

Immediate. Our season ticket sales are going to be woeful unless we sign either a manager who brings some stardust or make a barrowload of early decent signings - or both.

The club has run out of road in terms of 'here's another underwhelming managerial announcement and here are a few speculative but unpersuasive signings'. You can't get away with that following serial previous disappointments, a very ****ty season and just as we are walking into very severe economic circumstances. Or rather you can, but the price you pay will be dwindling attendances and mid to lower half league placings for the next few years.

#2 Double Tap
12-05-2022, 10:58 PM
if we appoint an ex jambo as manager and another as his assistant, then its game over for Ron Gordon imo.

doing so would show a total lack of respect to the fans or any understanding of how we feel.

12-05-2022, 11:01 PM
if we appoint an ex jambo as manager and another as his assistant, then its game over for Ron Gordon imo.

doing so would show a total lack of respect to the fans or any understanding of how we feel.

Lot of pish relax man that would have and should have no relevance on any appointment unless your small minded

12-05-2022, 11:04 PM

What's new about that?

Has she ever posted a genuine piece of information?

#2 Double Tap
12-05-2022, 11:10 PM
Lot of pish relax man that would have and should have no relevance on any appointment unless your small minded

its a major issue. it may be small minded but feelings run deep for too many people.

the next manager needs to get the fans united, having a past affiliation with the jambos is not gonna help that.

Percy Vere
12-05-2022, 11:23 PM
its a major issue. it may be small minded but feelings run deep for too many people.

the next manager needs to get the fans united, having a past affiliation with the jambos is not gonna help that.

It’s definitely not relevant. His record as a manager is what counts.
I’d rather see Tomasson but not because Lee Johnson once played for Hearts.
We need inspiration badly, so whoever it is has a job ahead of them.
Let’s hope the board will back them and the fans get on board too.

12-05-2022, 11:23 PM

Well of course other than we have an ex-jambo currently in charge and whom we typically address as Sir. Aff tae yer bed wi ye knuckleheid......

McGruber
12-05-2022, 11:29 PM
Please not Lee Johnson. Comes across as a smarmy used car salesman. A football managing David Brent just missing the fake tan. The kind that probably does interview well because of a full of himself gift of gab. Looks the type to be on only way is essex. Mowbray and Stubbs came up from England and done well. They both carried themselves well, had a presence, a standing in the game, proper gents with a bit of class, leaders. Johnson talks like he would be suited to leading red coats at butlins. Nothing against lower league English managers, would be happy with Appleton or Robinson - Johnson preening about with cashmere scarf and bright gold rolex talking in inspirational quotes and banging on about his new found appreciation for life having worked a day in the soup kitchen. I don't see men falling in line behind this guy, on the managerial ladder thanks to daddy's reputation. Give it 6 months at best before we are looking again and wondering what were we thinking when it was so obvious this boy is a chancing slaver.

I know the above is full of unqualified pish but that's the gut instinct kicking in. Feel free to ignore - probably best.

p.s. If Johnson does comes in and wins 3 points on day 1 I'll be a big fan! Fickle that way

12-05-2022, 11:32 PM
The height of our ambition it appears.

Hasn’t achieved anything of great note, might do ok might be *****, won’t shift season tickets and doesn’t know the Scottish game. We should expect lots of signing from Lincoln city or kidderminster or the likes.

Gordon said he wanted more experience, he even indicated with it saying it he wanted a winner. Maybe Ian told him Johnson talks a good game and should get us top 6 with a fair wind? Or Ben is scratching his head given he got us those big tv screens👀

12-05-2022, 11:33 PM
Please not Lee Johnson. Comes across as a smarmy used car salesman. A football managing David Brent just missing the fake tan. The kind that probably does interview well because of a full of himself gift of gab. Looks the type to be on only way is essex. Mowbray and Stubbs came up from England and done well. They both carried themselves well, had a presence, a standing in the game, proper gents with a bit of class, leaders. Johnson talks like he would be suited to leading red coats at butlins. Nothing against lower league English managers, would be happy with Appleton or Robinson - Johnson preening about with cashmere scarf and bright gold rolex talking in inspirational quotes and banging on about his new found appreciation for life having worked a day in the soup kitchen. I don't see men falling in line behind this guy, on the managerial ladder thanks to daddy's reputation. Give it 6 months at best before we are looking again and wondering what were we thinking when it was so obvious this boy is a chancing slaver.

I know the above is full of unqualified pish but that's the gut instinct kicking in. Feel free to ignore - probably best.

p.s. If Johnson does comes in and wins 3 points on day 1 I'll be a big fan! Fickle that wayIt's definately unqualified pish but everyone's allowed an opinion [emoji23]

The shortest time as manager at any club he's been at is 1 year, when he was poached by Bristol City

After that is 421 days, 708 days and 1609 days

You don't have that sort of longevity by 'being a slaver'

Down with the cashmere scarves!

CL0762
12-05-2022, 11:49 PM

Hasn’t achieved anything of great note, might do ok might be *****, won’t shift season tickets and doesn’t know the Scottish game. We should expect lots of signing from Lincoln city or kidderminster or the likes.

Gordon said he wanted more experience, he even indicated with it saying it he wanted a winner. Maybe Ian told him Johnson talks a good game and should get us top 6 with a fair wind? Or Ben is scratching his head given he got us those big tv screens👀

Gray, Fontaine, Malonga, Bartley, Boyle, Logan, Marciano, Jackson, Newell, Doidge to name a few - who were they playing for before they signed for Hibs?

Where a player comes from club wise or has played before is irrelevant.

As we’ve seen thousands of times, the high profile players can do as well or as bad as the low profile players.

If signing someone from Lincoln or Kidderminster means we get the next Gray/Bartley/Boyle then I’m all for it.

13-05-2022, 12:03 AM

Gordon said he wanted more experience, he even indicated with it saying it he wanted a winner. Maybe Ian told him Johnson talks a good game and should get us top 6 with a fair wind? Or Ben is scratching his head given he got us those big tv screens[emoji102]Did the big ozzy celtic poached from the J league know much about the Scottish game?

Its such an odd thing to moan about a manager for

I doubt L1 in England is much of a different game from Scotland, however, surley David Gray can point out some stuff to the new management team anyway?

On the signings - it shouldn't matter - Ian Gordon's doing all that... Doubt he's even heard of Kidderminster

13-05-2022, 12:15 AM
Did the big ozzy celtic poached from the J league know much about the Scottish game?

I doubt L1 in England is much of a different game from Scotland, however, surley David Gray can point out some stuff to the new management team anyway?

On the signings - it shouldn't matter - Ian Gordon's doing all that... Doubt he's even heard of Kidderminster

History indicates strongly that relatively inexperienced managers who don’t know the Scottish game struggle in this league.

We have a transfer committee who have underperformed big time. We look like we are getting an average manager with no experience in this league. We have a total transformation needed on the park. What could possibly go wrong?

And the Celtic manager spend a lot of money. Something we don’t have. He recruited brilliantly but clearly knows what he is doing.

13-05-2022, 12:23 AM
History indicates strongly that relatively inexperienced managers who don’t know the Scottish game struggle in this league.

We have a transfer committee who have underperformed big time. We look like we are getting an average manager with no experience in this league. We have a total transformation needed on the park. What could possibly go wrong?

And the Celtic manager spend a lot of money. Something we don’t have. He recruited brilliantly but clearly knows what he is doing.450 games as a manager over 9 years surely isn't 'relatively Inexperienced.'

13-05-2022, 12:46 AM
It's definately unqualified pish but everyone's allowed an opinion [emoji23]

The shortest time as manager at any club he's been at is 1 year, when he was poached by Bristol City

After that is 421 days, 708 days and 1609 days

You don't have that sort of longevity by 'being a slaver'

Down with the cashmere scarves!

I watched his coaching in Marbella video and it gave me the ick…. If he comes I hope he is brilliant but I have concerns.

Tony Bobulinski
13-05-2022, 01:46 AM
Streaky Lee would be my first choice of the bunch. He can captivate opinion, but I reckon he’d immediately have the dressing room on his side. He would have us scoring freely (and likely conceding a fair few as well). A motivator first, and an decent tactician on top of that. He will set us up to unapologetically have a go at every opponent. Not sure I can ask for more at this moment.

13-05-2022, 02:42 AM
That’s just nonsense. It’s not how any local paper acts with one of their local teams.

All about opinions mate.

Other than Patrick McPartlin the ENN sports journos are forever stirring the **** about Hibs.

We will wait and see and I hope I’m wrong.

13-05-2022, 03:48 AM
Got a feeling we’ll be here again at some point this season with everyone saying “we told them so”

Reeks of the cheapest option.

CLASS OF 72 -73
13-05-2022, 04:42 AM

Throwing in JDT so late in the day as a candidate when its all over the red tops its Johnson smells of jambo journalism

13-05-2022, 05:12 AM
Don't trust Moira Gordon. She's a slaver so trying not to get hopes up.

13-05-2022, 05:14 AM
Scott Burns is a huge slaver and wind up merchant. An absolute imposter of a journalist. Nobody give him the clicks.

LustForLeith
13-05-2022, 05:17 AM
Called it waaaaay back then

Dmas
13-05-2022, 05:33 AM
I fear this new guy whoever he may be won’t get a fair crack at it just because he’s not one of the more extravagant names that have been touted around by Journo’s who normally wouldn’t get time of day round here (moira gordon & Scott burns)
Appleton and Johnson have been pretty successful down south, Johnson out performed JR at Sunderland and McInnes at Bristol City, Appleton had Lincoln bloody City in the play off final, has also had a crack at big jobs with Blackburn Leicester WBA he’s got a varied amount of experience with id imagine some pretty decent contacts built up.

The whole English lower league thing is a nonsense every club in the league is signing players from down there Celtic just bought a guy from MK Dons, Connor Goldson couldn’t get a game at Brighton tavernier from Wigan, aribo from charlton, there’s plenty other teams doing the same Motherwell just qualified for Europe of 8/11 seasons, Ross county have the leagues top scorer came from gillingham, I totally get the recruitment has been rotten but for me it changes the second you get a manager in who knows the market we’re shopping in well and both the (seemingly) concrete candidates fall into that category, stubbs used it well jack Ross stuck a bit more to the Scottish leagues just like he did at Sunderland was linked with many of our targets whilst there, Maloney wet behind the ears maybe gave too much trust to the team so early in his career.

Just cause the guys name isn’t glittering doesn’t mean he’ll be a failure, the big names linked keane cocu JDT there all out of work with no one banging the door down just as much of a gamble than Johnson or Appleton

13-05-2022, 05:52 AM
I fear this new guy whoever he may be won’t get a fair crack at it just because he’s not one of the more extravagant names that have been touted around by Journo’s who normally wouldn’t get time of day round here (moira gordon & Scott burns)
Appleton and Johnson have been pretty successful down south, Johnson out performed JR at Sunderland and McInnes at Bristol City, Appleton had Lincoln bloody City in the play off final, has also had a crack at big jobs with Blackburn Leicester WBA he’s got a varied amount of experience with id imagine some pretty decent contacts built up.

The whole English lower league thing is a nonsense every club in the league is signing players from down there Celtic just bought a guy from MK Dons, Connor Goldson couldn’t get a game at Brighton tavernier from Wigan, aribo from charlton, there’s plenty other teams doing the same Motherwell just qualified for Europe of 8/11 seasons, Ross county have the leagues top scorer came from gillingham, I totally get the recruitment has been rotten but for me it changes the second you get a manager in who knows the market we’re shopping in well and both the (seemingly) concrete candidates fall into that category, stubbs used it well jack Ross stuck a bit more to the Scottish leagues just like he did at Sunderland was linked with many of our targets whilst there, Maloney wet behind the ears maybe gave too much trust to the team so early in his career.

Just cause the guys name isn’t glittering doesn’t mean he’ll be a failure, the big names linked keane cocu JDT there all out of work with no one banging the door down just as much of a gamble than Johnson or Appleton

That's way too sane and sensible for this thread.

13-05-2022, 05:57 AM

Absolutely spot on.

McGruber
13-05-2022, 05:58 AM

I think that is fair enough. I would be happy with Appleton or Robinson. It's not about English lower leagues for me it is about the individual. The thought of Lee Johnson being our manager though is spiking my apathy for Hibs - was a big believer that Maloney had to go, we were going backwards at a rate of knots and could have been relegated. Even so I'd rather Maloney than Johnson. Keeping faith at the minute that it'll be someone else and can get a bit of enthusiasm back for the coming season

13-05-2022, 05:59 AM
Throwing in JDT so late in the day as a candidate when its all over the red tops its Johnson smells of jambo journalism

Yep probably got the scoop off fat jambo Brian. No doubt peeing themselves laughing while looking forward to their team get hopefully horsed in next weeks final. Pretty much sums up the quality of journalism in this country. Gordon would have been better concentrating her mind on some of her younger female peers who had the backbone to walk out of the unacceptable awards ceremony last week while she probably laughed along thinking how great it was.

JDT is too similar to JDH anyway

Great post agree with every word.

NC1875

Exactly, let’s get behind Johnson if it is him. I wonder what Sunderland fans would say, Jack Ross or Lee Johnson. Because a lot of people on here would take Jack Ross back and I’d argue Johnson had a better record at Sunderland and played more attacking football

13-05-2022, 06:01 AM
Yep probably got the scoop off fat jambo Brian. No doubt peeing themselves laughing while looking forward to their team get hopefully horsed in next weeks final. Pretty much sums up the quality of journalism in this country. Gordon would have been better concentrating her mind on some of her younger female peers who had the backbone to walk out of the unacceptable awards ceremony last week while she probably laughed along thinking how great it was.
Seems a lot of conjecture here mate. Why we trusting Scott Burns over Moira Gordon?

Pretty sure Scott Burns is a jambo, if not, he’s a known Hibs hater that’s for sure.

tonyrougier123
13-05-2022, 06:04 AM
Reading the articles online,papers saying JDT is in the running,then just 2hours later saying Johnson has all but been confirmed.
Anyone in the know ken what to make of this?

NC1875
13-05-2022, 06:05 AM
At Sunderland

Jack Ross - p75 w38 d27 l10 %50.67
Lee Johnson - p78 w40 d20 l18 %51.3

Sioux
13-05-2022, 06:07 AM
Reading the articles online,papers saying JDT is in the running,then just 2hours later saying Johnson has all but been confirmed.
Anyone in the know ken what to make of this?

Yip. Journalists making it up as they go along. As usual.

13-05-2022, 06:08 AM
At Sunderland

Good and interesting comparison

13-05-2022, 06:08 AM
At Sunderland

So Jack Ross got more points than Johnson despite managing them for less games.

McGruber
13-05-2022, 06:09 AM
At Sunderland

Very similar stats - Ross slightly better but nothing much in it. Just hoping it's not Johnson, wouldn't be 1st time papers calling it wrong

DunblaneHibby
13-05-2022, 06:10 AM

Couldn't agree more

13-05-2022, 06:11 AM
Seems a lot of conjecture here mate. Why we trusting Scott Burns over Moira Gordon?

Pretty sure Scott Burns is a jambo, if not, he’s a known Hibs hater that’s for sure.

Probably is a lot of conecture just very cynical of that story coming out and the timing of it. Hopefully she is right however personally leaning towards deliberate stirring.

13-05-2022, 06:16 AM
I think that is fair enough. I would be happy with Appleton or Robinson. It's not about English lower leagues for me it is about the individual. The thought of Lee Johnson being our manager though is spiking my apathy for Hibs - was a big believer that Maloney had to go, we were going backwards at a rate of knots and could have been relegated. Even so I'd rather Maloney than Johnson. Keeping faith at the minute that it'll be someone else and can get a bit of enthusiasm back for the coming seasonWhat makes you want to keep a manager that was failing badly over a new guy who's done fairly well wherever he's went?

13-05-2022, 06:18 AM
So Jack Ross got more points than Johnson despite managing them for less games.Yeah but Jack Ross got too many draws (as I've read on here)

Maybe Lee Johnson went for the win more instead of cautiously settling for a point?

13-05-2022, 06:19 AM

👍👍👍👍

13-05-2022, 06:21 AM

Just cause the guys name isn’t glittering doesn’t mean he’ll be a failure, the big names linked keane cocu JDT there all out of work with no one banging the door down just as much of a gamble than Johnson or AppletonWhat a sensible post - spot on across the board

[emoji106]

13-05-2022, 06:22 AM
I think that is fair enough. I would be happy with Appleton or Robinson. It's not about English lower leagues for me it is about the individual. The thought of Lee Johnson being our manager though is spiking my apathy for Hibs - was a big believer that Maloney had to go, we were going backwards at a rate of knots and could have been relegated. Even so I'd rather Maloney than Johnson. Keeping faith at the minute that it'll be someone else and can get a bit of enthusiasm back for the coming season

You would rather still have Maloney than get Johnson in?

Even in the current climate of utter hysteria that is a pretty "interesting" viewpoint.

13-05-2022, 06:28 AM

Throw in a fictional name so the actual appointment is a disappointment?

13-05-2022, 06:35 AM

The new boss has to win derbies

Anything else is a footnote

Johnson needs to win derbies, if its him

13-05-2022, 06:39 AM

:top marksIt's depressing that so many Hibs fans can't grasp this.

They'll be the ones pointing fingers at us for being negative. They're probably the same ones that wanted us to stick with Maloney too.

They think we need to be 100% behind the club no matter what they do. I think that's BS.

McGruber
13-05-2022, 06:40 AM
What makes you want to keep a manager that was failing badly over a new guy who's done fairly well wherever he's went?

In simple terms I thought Maloney was bad though think Johnson would be worse again. I don't think Johnson has done fairly well either. Failing to get Sunderland promoted from that league can't be deemed doing fairly well, they are a massive club.

Dmas
13-05-2022, 06:42 AM
At Sunderland

Lee Johnson won the 2021 EFL trophy also

13-05-2022, 06:46 AM

They'll be the ones pointing fingers at us for being negative. They're probably the same ones that wanted us to stick with Maloney too.

They think we need to be 100% behind the club no matter what they do. I think that's BS.

Nobody could accuse you of that to be fair.

13-05-2022, 06:46 AM

You're doing your fellow Hibs fans a disservice if you think it's only down to getting a big name. It's not about that. You need to pay more attention to why why we don't want Appleby or Johnson.

Signing player from lower English leagues is fine if they're decent. Ross Co sign the league's top scorer, we sign nobodies that came in and had zero impact.

We've no idea if our recruitment will be better with the new manager. It's been crap under Maloney and Ross so you're guessing it will improve?

Maloney was never a manager in 1000 years.

So, in short, I disagree with every word. Not a top post at all :wink: :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Dmas
13-05-2022, 06:48 AM

He played 4 times, Demetri Mitchell was applauded as a good signing been shouts of desperation to get him back fit again and he had 2 spells with them it comes across that this hearts link only counts cause he’s not a huge name that will ‘sell ST’s’ never bought a ticket off the back of who the manager is in my puff

13-05-2022, 06:49 AM
Nobody could accuse you of that to be fair.

Better to be like you and just agree with everything yeah? That approach has been great for us.

Give Maloney another few years until he wins a game?

You really don't like Hibs fans do you? All your posts recently are just having digs at folk you disagree with.

13-05-2022, 06:50 AM
So Jack Ross got more points than Johnson despite managing them for less games.

More wins and losses but less draws for Johnson. Indicates he is more attacking minded. Is that not what we want.

13-05-2022, 06:54 AM
Better to be like you and just agree with everything yeah? That approach has been great for us.

Give Maloney another few years until he wins a game?

You really don't like Hibs fans do you? All your posts recently are just having digs at folk you disagree with.
I don't particularly like a section of our fanbase no.

People whose support depends on who is manager or whether the team are doing well.

I missed about 10 games in 25 years through the 80s and 90s so I can't really be ersed with people who spit the dummy whenever things aren't going well.

Anyway before you accuse me of having a go at my fellow fans try reading your post that I replied to again.

13-05-2022, 07:04 AM

People whose support depends on who is manager or whether the team are doing well.

I missed about 10 games in 25 years through the 80s and 90s so I can't really be ersed with people who spit the dummy whenever things aren't going well.

Anyway before you accuse me of having a go at my fellow fans try reading your post that I replied to again.

I have, and i think it's a reasonable point to make.

When Butcher got us relegated, the fan base as a whole made our feelings known and LD acted accordingly.

It was the right move by us.

If we'd been silent or 'supported' Butcher, we might have been stuck with him.

Generally our fan vase call these things correctly.

The reaction here over the last 24 hrs was natural excitement. The rumour was embraced enthusiastically and some of us are crying out for some excitement from our team.

We then get posts coming on slating people like me for daring to get excited.

I won't be pissed off if we miss out on JDT. I'll be majorly pissed off if appoint a nobody like Johnson though. They are not connected points.

We're not all like you. I prob only went to about 10 games a year in the 80s.

So try being more tolerant of others. You may not feel the same as me, but my view on what is happening at OUR club is just as valid as yours.

You'll notice that nobody is having a dig at those of you that would be happy with Johnson or whoever. Our gripe is with the club.

13-05-2022, 07:10 AM

When Butcher got us relegated, the fan base as a whole made our feelings known and LD acted accordingly.

The reaction here over the last 24 hrs was natural excitement. The rumour was embraced enthusiastically and some of us are crying out for some excitement from our team.

I won't be pissed off if we miss out on JDT. I'll be majorly pissed off if appoint a nobody like Johnson though. They are not connected points.

So try being more tolerant of others. You may not feel the same as me, but my view on what is happening at OUR club is just as valid as yours.

You'll notice that nobody is having a dig at those of you that would be happy with Johnson or whoever. Our gripe is with the club.What is so bad about Johnson though?

He seems like a pretty solid candidate to me (same with Appleton)

13-05-2022, 07:13 AM

You'll notice that nobody is having a dig at those of you that would be happy with Johnson or whoever. Our gripe is with the club.

I would prefer Tomasson too. That's not my point.

Johnson might be appointed and turn out just fine. Tomasson could easily be a disaster.

I don't go to away games these days because life came along and put the kibosh on that.

Maybe you are right and I do have a go at other people too often but the whole "underwhelmed by anything the club try to do" attitude so prevalent these days does my head in.

I apologise if I have had a go at you unfairly.

Neily1982
13-05-2022, 07:14 AM
Honestly it looks like Johnson and I swear am not one of these people who flaps and moans about Hibs decisions to be honest I am usually mostly positive however I honestly believe this is a massive mistake and is really making me feel like we have taken massive steps back under RonGordon, the whole situation at Hibs is really beginning to look like a shambles.

13-05-2022, 07:18 AM
Honestly it looks like Johnson and I swear am not one of these people who flaps and moans about Hibs decisions to be honest I am usually mostly positive however I honestly believe this is a massive mistake and is really making me feel like we have taken massive steps back under RonGordon, the whole situation at Hibs is really beginning to look like a shambles.

Why do you think it's a massive mistake?

He's experienced for someone still young (9 years, 450 games) , imo done pretty well wherever he's been, managed in the Championship so at a decent level

What about this candidate screams shambles?

13-05-2022, 07:19 AM
You're doing your fellow Hibs fans a disservice if you think it's only down to getting a big name. It's not about that. You need to pay more attention to why why we don't want Appleby or Johnson.

Signing player from lower English leagues is fine if they're decent. Ross Co sign the league's top scorer, we sign nobodies that came in and had zero impact.

We've no idea if our recruitment will be better with the new manager. It's been crap under Maloney and Ross so you're guessing it will improve?

Maloney was never a manager in 1000 years.

So, in short, I disagree with every word. Not a top post at all :wink: :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Of course its about a big name just now, a few posters on here creaming themselves at roy keane despite being a bang average manager who hasnt qctually managed in years, now throw in JDT who has managed less than 100 games in sweden and not actually managed in almost 2 years and again folk getting all excited

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 07:21 AM
You would rather still have Maloney than get Johnson in?

Even in the current climate of utter hysteria that is a pretty "interesting" viewpoint.

I think it’s became pretty clear since Maloney left that the squad is horrific. Maloney didn’t do well, but I wouldn’t be all that surprised to see him turn out a good manager. He was on a hiding to nothing the minute he lost Boyle and was left with what we have now.

That’s not me saying I’d rather have him than Johnson btw.

Neily1982
13-05-2022, 07:21 AM
Got a feeling we’ll be here again at some point this season with everyone saying “we told them so”

Reeks of the cheapest option.

100% this, I have looked at lots of forums n his previous teams and it’s painful reading to be honest, I honestly believe he has got job because he interviewed well, sometimes you need to look beyond how you interview it’s not just about saying the correct things.

Zambernardi1875
13-05-2022, 07:26 AM

He's experienced for someone still young (9 years, 450 games) , imo done pretty well wherever he's been, managed in the Championship so at a decent level

Win rate 40 odd % in thr championship seems pretty poor, comes across as abit of an oddball, fans of the clubs wanting him out, going through long winless steaks, and just got a feeling like most English managers they will totally underestimate the Scottish league and bring up random rubbish players. His strange signings at Bristol city and Sunderland

Key West
13-05-2022, 07:27 AM
Johnson would be appear as a decent appointment for Hibs after looking at his record on Wikipedia, it’s the backing that he needs from those in charge which will be the vital factor.

Greenio
13-05-2022, 07:31 AM

I dont think you can say that a fan base makes a call, not collectively anyway.

Some of our fan base wanted Ross out, some didn't. Some wanted SM sacked, some didn't

I hope we done ever agree enough to 'make a call' - where;'s the fun in that!

13-05-2022, 07:32 AM
Johnson would be appear as a decent appointment for Hibs after looking at his record on Wikipedia, it’s the backing that he needs from those in charge which will be the vital factor.

Which he will get no doubt

Neily1982
13-05-2022, 07:33 AM

Honestly I hope am wrong, but for the last few days I have been reading Sunderland and Bristol Fans forums and there are mainly negative reviews of him and some of them very concerning, listen he might come in and do well and I will 100% be behind him like I have been every Hibs manager, but my gut feeling here is this is a disaster waiting to happen. All am saying is just do a wee bit of research on what his ex teams fans think of him and see if you still confident, honestly makes for some scary reading.

13-05-2022, 07:34 AM
100% this, I have looked at lots of forums n his previous teams and it’s painful reading to be honest, I honestly believe he has got job because he interviewed well, sometimes you need to look beyond how you interview it’s not just about saying the correct things.

He’s not got the job. Not to say he won’t ultimately, but at the moment he hasn’t.

The decision on any manager will be ultimately made by how well they do at the interview stage, otherwise why bother even conducting them. The hard part for those doing them is to appoint someone who can do more than just talk a good game.

13-05-2022, 07:34 AM
I think Johnson looks good on paper with the only negative being his sides tend to go on a bad run now and again.

I dare say if he has a foreign sounding name folk might be more excited about him.

He done a similar job at Sunderland as Jack Ross whilst playing better football and winning a cup, I dare say if that’s the case with us he’ll be a big success.

My only thing about him and this is down to me more than him as I find him a bit cringey at times and doesn’t strike me as your typical ‘leader’. However based on the clubs he’s managed and his relative success it certainly seems that’s not the case.

You don’t manage the clubs he has and for the time he has being a walkover etc.

I wish him all the best if it is him.

Also if the board think he’s the man for the job then I’m happy with that, they’re the ones interviewing them and getting an actual feel for them and they’ll look at them in a lot more depth as us fans

13-05-2022, 07:45 AM
I think Johnson looks good on paper with the only negative being his sides tend to go on a bad run now and again.

I dare say if he has a foreign sounding name folk might be more excited about him.

He done a similar job at Sunderland as Jack Ross whilst playing better football and winning a cup, I dare say if that’s the case with us he’ll be a big success.

My only thing about him and this is down to me more than him as I find him a bit cringey at times and doesn’t strike me as your typical ‘leader’. However based on the clubs he’s managed and his relative success it certainly seems that’s not the case.

Also if the board think he’s the man for the job then I’m happy with that, they’re the ones interviewing them and getting an actual feel for them and they’ll look at them in a lot more depth as us fans

If he quickly changed his name to Lee Stig Johnsonson that could work? 😁

13-05-2022, 07:49 AM

The last point is so important but not really given any consideration on these boards.

We all have our favourites and the person we’d want, I’m sure the club would want to appoint someone that’d make everybody happy, they’ll know of all the good candidates that people were wanting. They’ve got to do their due diligence on each candidate though. What happens if they interviewed JDT for example and thought he came across as an ******** or not fully committed to the job? Should we just appoint him as his Wikipedia page is good and his name excites people?

Same is true in reverse, there’ll be people that interview well bit maybe don’t have the glittering CV, the board have got to drill down further to see why their employment history doesn’t match how well they’ve interviewed. As fans on a message board we can’t necessarily do that as well.

Of course we will all still have opinions on people, that’s the point of this place. I just find it disappointing people writing him off or not considering they might be wrong. My gut reaction when I heard him being mentioned was to throw a wobbly but when the dust settled there’s plenty to be positive about with him.

13-05-2022, 07:50 AM
Jack Ross & Lee Johnson were both flops at Sunderland, their brief was to get out of League 1, both failed, both were sacked. Making comparisons of who was slightly less of a flop isn’t useful. It’s like two bald blokes arguing about who is slightly less bald.

McGruber
13-05-2022, 07:51 AM
Honestly I hope am wrong, but for the last few days I have been reading Sunderland and Bristol Fans forums and there are mainly negative reviews of him and some of them very concerning, listen he might come in and do well and I will 100% be behind him like I have been every Hibs manager, but my gut feeling here is this is a disaster waiting to happen. All am saying is just do a wee bit of research on what his ex teams fans think of him and see if you still confident, honestly makes for some scary reading.

Agree with you. The Sunderland fans were nothing but happy to see him emptied, fuelled by it being on the back of what most of them describe as their worst result in their history, 6-0 in the 3rd tier. Hammerings had been coming common place. Watched the training Marbella video and it is absolute cringe. The fans of his old clubs aren't very flattering of him at all. Appleton by contrast seems held in high regard by former clubs and less prone to 6 good months followed by extended periods of rubbish. He wouldn't survive one of those periods at Hibs in our current climate.

Ultimately nobody knows how anyone will get on at a new club. Folk with good records can be murder & folk with less impressive CVs can be a success - every appointment a risk.

I really hope it's not Johnson. If it is though I'll support him from when the ink is dry and hope for the best

13-05-2022, 07:52 AM
More wins and losses but less draws for Johnson. Indicates he is more attacking minded. Is that not what we want.

Surely we want someone who gets the most points available so we finish as high as we possibly can?

13-05-2022, 07:53 AM
Of course its about a big name just now, a few posters on here creaming themselves at roy keane despite being a bang average manager who hasnt qctually managed in years, now throw in JDT who has managed less than 100 games in sweden and not actually managed in almost 2 years and again folk getting all excitedJDT left Malmö at the very end of 2021

Mcbizz1998
13-05-2022, 07:54 AM
Surely we want someone who gets the most points available so we finish as high as we possibly can?

You would think so. But seems the hibs fans flair fetish means we would actually accept less points if it meant “having a go”.

13-05-2022, 07:54 AM

The Sunderland fans were/ are split on Johnson just as they were with Jack Ross.

Not long after Johnson left they were seriously questioning the decision as they went into a tailspin shortly after. He still had them in contention with everything to play for, albeit there were very obvious warning signs that everything wasn't quite right.

13-05-2022, 07:59 AM
Johnson might do okay. For me though we're at an important moment if numbers are are stay up or if we're returning to pre-scottish cup days and can feel the slow slipping of the connection between club and fans that has been strong over that time.

Results will ofcourse dictate the mood around the club but it just feels an appointment who has has immediate authority and with a bit of excitement over the summer would be an important boost right now.

Percy Vere
13-05-2022, 07:59 AM
Can you believe that fully grown adults in charge of Hibs have the audacity to interview a man who played for Hearts in 2006.
They must be deluded and not have the best interests of the club at heart. Why he played a whole FOUR games, a right dyed in the wool Jambo type!
Thankfully RG and Kensell are not allowing this sort of wrong thinking to get in the way of managerial candidates or player signings (most recently Dmitri Mitchell).
I want the best person for the job that Hibs can attract.
Simple as that.

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 08:00 AM
You would think so. But seems the hibs fans flair fetish means we would actually accept less points if it meant “having a go”.

I’m not sure why you find it so hard to fathom that people would want to actually enjoy watching the football we play?

We pretty much never get trophies to enjoy. The idea of being happy with about 17 boring wins in a season to get 3rd or 4th place and papped in a Euro qualifier by a team we know next to nothing about really doesn’t get the juices flowing.

13-05-2022, 08:01 AM
JDT is an exciting name. I'd be delighted with that. Would also have been delighted with Roy Keane but im thinking as a fan who wears his heart on his sleeve. I want the big name and the razzmatazz that goes with it. I want a buzz around Easter Road again. However, the main thing is getting a manager who is the right fit. If it's Johnson he'll get my full support from the word go.

13-05-2022, 08:02 AM
I’m not sure why you find it so hard to fathom that people would want to actually enjoy watching the football we play?

And absolutely guaranteed if we are finishing behind Hearts people will say they don't care about performance they just want results.

Souter96Mac
13-05-2022, 08:04 AM
Probably like most on here, I'll back whoever gets it. But for the hour or so last night when JDT's name was being touted, my interest in Hibs was probably the highest it's been since the start of the season.
Johnson would be underwhelming, but if it's him, then we need to back him. That's not just the fans, that's the whole club. Whoever gets the gig has a fairly significant job to do, and it's probably not going to be done overnight unfortunately.

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 08:04 AM
And absolutely guaranteed if we are finishing behind Hearts people will say they don't care about performance they just want results.

I’m sure they will because people like McBizz don’t care about the performances.

Different fans want different things. I’m surprised some people can’t seem to grasp that.

13-05-2022, 08:06 AM
I’m sure they will because people like McBizz don’t care about the performances.

Different fans want different things. I’m surprised some people can’t seem to grasp that.

Most Hibs fans want Hibs to finish above Hearts. I'd be fairly confident if you asked the support would you prefer exciting football but continually finishing lower than then or a more pragmatic style and finishing above them the majority would choos the latter.

13-05-2022, 08:06 AM

We pretty much never get trophies to enjoy. The idea of being happy with about 17 boring wins to get 3rd or 4th place and papped in a Euro qualifier really doesn’t get the juices flowing.

I'd be delighted with 17 boring wins and going right in to the the European group stages and earning the millions that come with it like Hearts. Thats the name of the game. Happy with mid table "flair" football and and entertaining 3-3 draw with Ross County? Losers mentality imo.

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 08:08 AM
I'd be delighted with 17 boring wins and going right in to the the European group stages and earning the millions that come with it like Hearts. Thats the name of the game. Happy with mid table flair football and and entertaining 3-3 draw with Ross County? Losers mentality imo.

Who mentioned mid table? Why is it when people mention good football that folk instantly start equating that to mid table when in reality the teams that play good football almost never finish there?

When was the last time we had a team that played good football that finished mid table?

Near enough every Hibs team that has played exciting football has done well.

Also, does millions in the bank make the football more enjoyable or something? :confused:

Percy Vere
13-05-2022, 08:08 AM

We pretty much never get trophies to enjoy. The idea of being happy with about 17 boring wins in a season to get 3rd or 4th place and papped in a Euro qualifier really doesn’t get the juices flowing.

Also it’s crazy to believe that a flair attacking team COULD get more points than a dull moderate team. It’s also beyond the realms that a manager could adapt playing styles depending on the opposition. 😜

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 08:09 AM
Also it’s crazy to believe that a flair attacking team COULD get more points than a dull moderate team. It’s also beyond the realms that a manager could adapt playing styles depending on the opposition. 😜

A team that plays exciting attacking football is the vast majority of the time a very good team. Our history would suggest that, the vast majority of teams that we’ve had that play good football have ended up in very good league positions.

People love to come out and scoff at the idea and declare that people would be happy with bottom 6 as long as we played exciting football. The reality is that if we play exciting football then we’d almost definitely finish in a good position, not bottom six.

13-05-2022, 08:11 AM
Was hoping they would find someone to galvanise the club and unite the fans. Few pages ago that even started to happen.

Even with the JDT leak / nonsense (Moira Gordon can’t be trusted if it’s not true). You could feel the change already.

Fans are allowed an opinion and my opinion is nothing to do with where Johnson is from or what league he coached. It’s more based on having seen the guy coach at games and watched numerous press conferences pre and post match and watched his teams play live and on the TV.

I’m just not fully convinced it’s what we need right now to galvanise the support and make tough decisions in the dressing room. He’s simply too nice and while at times he played some good football - other times it was really really poor football and results.

I’ve watched games when he was at Bristol and Sunderland and while he got a few fantastic results, he also had some complete shockers which some managers just wouldn’t suffer. When at Sunderland - he lost to Bolton 6-0, Rotherham 5-1 , getting knocked out the cup by league 2 side Bradford City, knocked out FA Cup by lower league Mansfield Town. He has a habit of a few ok results but then goes on really bad runs. We need stability and consistency.

I just hope the board know what they are doing and have researched each candidate properly. I hope I’m wrong too but especially after the Maloney mess we need a strong personality to unite the fans and get respect from players. I just hope if it’s him he comes in and makes the tough decisions we need to improve us.

13-05-2022, 08:12 AM
Catching up on this thread now and could feel the buzz around JDT.

13-05-2022, 08:14 AM
Who mentioned mid table?

When was the last time we had a team that played good football that finished mid table?

Also, does millions in the bank make the football more enjoyable or something? :confused:

You'd think that millions in the bank would allow them to buy a higher standard of player resulting in a better qualiy of football.

Percy Vere
Most Hibs fans want Hibs to finish above Hearts. I'd be fairly confident if you asked the support would you prefer exciting football but continually finishing lower than then or a more pragmatic style and finishing above them the majority would choos the latter.

Why is it one or the other ?
Pragmatic 🟰 higher league place
Flair 🟰 lower league place
Erm … Man City, Liverpool
Hibs fans want flair it’s always been. And I believe we can have flair and pragmatism depending on who is in front of us. One should not exclude the other.

I'd be delighted with 17 boring wins and going right in to the the European group stages and earning the millions that come with it like Hearts. Thats the name of the game. Happy with mid table "flair" football and and entertaining 3-3 draw with Ross County? Losers mentality imo.

It's not necessarily a losers mentality, its just someone who watches football for a different reason than you.

Personally, i'd rather win than be "entertained", but we done a lot of that last season and there was a very vocal section of our support against the manager basically the whole time.

Whoever we appoint I think is going to be under pressure immediately from sections of our support.

On this forum we just go around in a constant circle of negativity, some would rather win, some would rather be entertained, some will support hibs even if they played at a public park in front of 50 people.

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 08:17 AM
You'd think that millions in the bank would allow them to buy a higher standard of player resulting in a better qualiy of football.

So I’m presuming you also want good football then :confused:

13-05-2022, 08:17 AM
Johnson sounds good. He's familiar with the Scottish scene too.
Get him in now!

Brummie_Hibs
13-05-2022, 08:18 AM
The Jon Dahl Tomasson speculation has certainly spiced this place up.

He seems to curry favour with a lot on here!

Montford
13-05-2022, 08:19 AM
Sad thing is that Motherwell have a better record than us in recent years. We’d love to be Motherwell.

This is exactly the point
Look at our level of ambition
In the gutter

Greenio
13-05-2022, 08:21 AM
Jack Ross & Lee Johnson were both flops at Sunderland, their brief was to get out of League 1, both failed, both were sacked. Making comparisons of who was slightly less of a flop isn’t useful. It’s like two bald blokes arguing about who is slightly less bald.

Outside maybe 4 or 5 top top managers, they've all been sacked for 'failing'.

Montford
13-05-2022, 08:22 AM
Did someone not post that Motherwell have been in Europe in 8 out of the last 11 seasons? I'd take that!

Yeah for one round in the conference league qualifier against Red Imps or equivalent before a humiliating exit..
dire state of affairs
Absolute minimum for this club has to be Euro League football each season
And if all the fans had that mindset we’d be in a lot better position

13-05-2022, 08:29 AM

4 games for Hearts, small minded, brainless more like.

13-05-2022, 08:31 AM

What a sensible post 👌

Montford
13-05-2022, 08:32 AM
Gray, Fontaine, Malonga, Bartley, Boyle, Logan, Marciano, Jackson, Newell, Doidge to name a few - who were they playing for before they signed for Hibs?

Where a player comes from club wise or has played before is irrelevant.

As we’ve seen thousands of times, the high profile players can do as well or as bad as the low profile players.

If signing someone from Lincoln or Kidderminster means we get the next Gray/Bartley/Boyle then I’m all for it.

You’ve made their point
With the exception of Boyle not one of them would get near a Top 3 SPL team
Marciano maybe a reserve.
It’s all about standards

13-05-2022, 08:32 AM
Agree with you. The Sunderland fans were nothing but happy to see him emptied, fuelled by it being on the back of what most of them describe as their worst result in their history, 6-0 in the 3rd tier. Hammerings had been coming common place. Watched the training Marbella video and it is absolute cringe. The fans of his old clubs aren't very flattering of him at all. Appleton by contrast seems held in high regard by former clubs and less prone to 6 good months followed by extended periods of rubbish. He wouldn't survive one of those periods at Hibs in our current climate.

Ultimately nobody knows how anyone will get on at a new club. Folk with good records can be murder & folk with less impressive CVs can be a success - every appointment a risk.

I really hope it's not Johnson. If it is though I'll support him from when the ink is dry and hope for the best

I think the current climate is one manager was prematurely sacked, the successor was vastly under qualified and was sacked as a result. I don't think thats a particularly bad climate. The fact is that we have had what, 4 managers in 20 years that have lasted more than 18 months. If anything the "current climate" is actually just the climate we have always been in, with the occasional manager that bucks the trend.

13-05-2022, 08:33 AM
Why is it one or the other ?
Pragmatic 🟰 higher league place
Flair 🟰 lower league place
Erm … Man City, Liverpool
Hibs fans want flair it’s always been. And I believe we can have flair and pragmatism depending on who is in front of us. One should not exclude the other.

I want to be entertained but to me that doesn’t necessarily mean flair or silly passing football.

If we play a direct style with a really high intensity and are playing in their final third a lot I’ll enjoy that.

Last few managers have had us playing a slow, passive game with no fire in the belly.

Montford
13-05-2022, 08:37 AM
Did the big ozzy celtic poached from the J league know much about the Scottish game?

The big Oz had won league titles with 3 different teams in Australia and Japan
He’d won the Asian Cup
He’d managed his country at World Cups
Are you seriously comparing that to a lower league English manager with no success

The fact that even that wasn’t good enough for those in the Weeg, says it all about our fan base and our acceptance of, at best, dug 5h*t mediocrity..

13-05-2022, 08:38 AM

13-05-2022, 08:40 AM
Can you believe that fully grown adults in charge of Hibs have the audacity to interview a man who played for Hearts in 2006.
They must be deluded and not have the best interests of the club at heart. Why he played a whole FOUR games, a right dyed in the wool Jambo type!
Thankfully RG and Kensell are not allowing this sort of wrong thinking to get in the way of managerial candidates or player signings (most recently Dmitri Mitchell).
I want the best person for the job that Hibs can attract.
Simple as that.

Correct

13-05-2022, 08:42 AM

Especially if he brought in Brian Rice as his no2.

Sioux
13-05-2022, 08:42 AM
Who mentioned mid table? Why is it when people mention good football that folk instantly start equating that to mid table when in reality the teams that play good football almost never finish there?

Like three or four in the last 50 years?

Sioux
13-05-2022, 08:45 AM
Was hoping they would find someone to galvanise the club and unite the fans. Few pages ago that even started to happen.

Even with the JDT leak / nonsense (Moira Gordon can’t be trusted if it’s not true). You could feel the change already.

Fans are allowed an opinion and my opinion is nothing to do with where Johnson is from or what league he coached. It’s more based on having seen the guy coach at games and watched numerous press conferences pre and post match and watched his teams play live and on the TV.

I’m just not fully convinced it’s what we need right now to galvanise the support and make tough decisions in the dressing room. He’s simply too nice and while at times he played some good football - other times it was really really poor football and results.

I’ve watched games when he was at Bristol and Sunderland and while he got a few fantastic results, he also had some complete shockers which some managers just wouldn’t suffer. When at Sunderland - he lost to Bolton 6-0, Rotherham 5-1 , getting knocked out the cup by league 2 side Bradford City, knocked out FA Cup by lower league Mansfield Town. He has a habit of a few ok results but then goes on really bad runs. We need stability and consistency.

I just hope the board know what they are doing and have researched each candidate properly. I hope I’m wrong too but especially after the Maloney mess we need a strong personality to unite the fans and get respect from players. I just hope if it’s him he comes in and makes the tough decisions we need to improve us.

But why? Is it because he had a dig at the huns and beat them?

13-05-2022, 08:53 AM
Yeah for one round in the conference league qualifier against Red Imps or equivalent before a humiliating exit..
dire state of affairs
Absolute minimum for this club has to be Euro League football each season
And if all the fans had that mindset we’d be in a lot better position

Chat like this is embarrassing, as if all hibs fans don't want the club to be successful.

The state of mind of the average fan has absolutely no bearing on decisions made in the board room and by the manager, nonsense comment.

JXM73
13-05-2022, 08:56 AM

As long as its no his nan...

13-05-2022, 08:56 AM
I would prefer Tomasson too. That's not my point.

Johnson might be appointed and turn out just fine. Tomasson could easily be a disaster.

I don't go to away games these days because life came along and put the kibosh on that.

Maybe you are right and I do have a go at other people too often but the whole "underwhelmed by anything the club try to do" attitude so prevalent these days does my head in.

I apologise if I have had a go at you unfairly.

You didn’t… the quoted poster has been pushing a, in my (and most’s) opinion, daft and irrelevant point for days to the stage where he’s not even replying to what people are saying… just repeating himself. To then have a go at your for picking up on it with a wee joke, is laughable.

If it’s not trolling it’s certainly strange and tiring!

13-05-2022, 09:02 AM
But why? Is it because he had a dig at the huns and beat them?

I think it was just the fresh outlook he would bring to coaching sessions, media interviews and his tactical knowledge through his experiences.

Not the usual media cliches and buzz words we will get from guys who have coached a few UK teams here.

If it's between Johnson and Appleton I would go Appleton.

Appleton also beat Johnson recently pretty convincingly 3v1 using better tactics.

13-05-2022, 09:06 AM

If enough of us say you were correct/cool/great to lay-in to Maloney before he started, will you give it a rest?

13-05-2022, 09:10 AM
He’d won the Asian Cup
Are you seriously comparing that to a lower league English manager with no success

The fact that even that wasn’t good enough for those in the Weeg, says it all about our fan base and our acceptance of, at best, dug 5h*t mediocrity..

Did he know anything about the Scottish game?

13-05-2022, 09:12 AM

I think we should be 100% behind players, the manager, the owner, the club everyone - until they give us reason not to be. And even then, the criticism should be fair, proportionate and reasonable.

In my opinion it will not be reasonable to get on a new manager's back for the crime of not being someone else, albeit criticism can reasonably be directed elsewhere for any particular disappointment with the appointment.

13-05-2022, 09:13 AM
The JDT speculation has certainly died on it arse today.

CL0762
13-05-2022, 09:14 AM
You’ve made their point
With the exception of Boyle not one of them would get near a Top 3 SPL team
Marciano maybe a reserve.
It’s all about standards

So Gray, Newell, Doidge weren’t part of a team that finished 3rd last season nah?

And you’ve ignored my point, no one knew who Marciano or Boyle were when we signed them yet look at how good they turned out for us.

Gordy M
13-05-2022, 09:15 AM
I d hate to be responsible to trying to choose a new manager. Sometimes managers just work at a particular club and other times it just doesnt happen. The prime example being Heckingbottom, started off ok here then it went downhill and ultimately sacked. Im sure the Sheff Utd fans wouldnt swap him now, but as 'uninspired' or 'underwhelmed' appointments go, then im sure there was a few comments from the Blades fans when it happened? It just shows that its not easy and going for the 'exciting' name isnt always the best option. Its a difficult thing to get right.

13-05-2022, 09:18 AM
Did he know anything about the Scottish game?

He very quickly grasped the basics - in that at Celtic you are required to win every week and play an attacking style that takes games to teams.

My gripe with the English league one types (grotesque generalisation incoming) is that there can be a level of complacency regarding the relative levels of football. Scottish football is underestimated by many and nothing is given to you easily up here. That, and the relative values of certain results. At Hibs I think we expect to be attacking smaller teams than us, especially at home and have fairly high expectations regarding results in games against teams with much smaller budgets. I think managers at that level often accept draws a bit more easily.

We cannot and should not ignore the enormous contributions made to our club from all manner of individuals who have come from the English lower leagues. It's a brilliant place to get players from - as long as they have certain skills, don't have certain weaknesses and they have the right attitude.

Surely the same goes for managers.

13-05-2022, 09:19 AM
I think we should be 100% behind players, the manager, the owner, the club everyone - until they give us reason not to be. And even then, the criticism should be fair, proportionate and reasonable.

In my opinion it will not be reasonable to get on a new manager's back for the crime of not being someone else, albeit criticism can reasonably be directed elsewhere for any particular disappointment with the appointment.

But the players, the owner, the club etc have gave us a reason not to be 100% behind them because of the disaster of a season we’ve had. In fact we need a large % of these players moved on.

zitelli62
13-05-2022, 09:21 AM
I don't think this will end well well hope I'm wrong and the guys a great success but think we're two defeats away from people calling for his head unfortunately.

13-05-2022, 09:24 AM
But the players, the owner, the club etc have gave us a reason not to be 100% behind them because of the disaster of a season we’ve had. In fact we need a large % of these players moved on.

Is a wee bit perspective needed though? It was a ***** season, it happens and we’ve replaced the manager(s) to rectify it.

Also in terms of it being a disastrous season, we still got to a cup final and semi final of the other.

It was pish though, I don’t want to pretend otherwise, I just think there’s a danger we are overplaying just how bad it was.

13-05-2022, 09:25 AM
I don't think this will end well well hope I'm wrong and the guys a great success but think we're two defeats away from people calling for his head unfortunately.

You can basically guarantee that upon our first loss the match day thread will be full of "same old dross" "nothing ever changes" "another failure" "he hasn't got a clue" etc etc

13-05-2022, 09:26 AM

Wouldn't disagree.

But any new manager coming in shouldn't have to shoulder baggage from this season or resentment that he isn't Roy Keane or JDT.

And the players who remain and are being entrusted to deliver for us once more should receive criticism proportionate to their role in our recent disappointments. Hanlon, Stevenson and Cummings managed to bounce back from being relegated to be part of the cup winning team, the current players should get reasonable criticism but an opportunity to redeem themselves if the new manager decides that they should.

leith lynx
13-05-2022, 09:28 AM

I'm afraid it's all idle chaat...

13-05-2022, 09:34 AM

As long as it's not his Nan

13-05-2022, 09:34 AM
He very quickly grasped the basics - in that at Celtic you are required to win every week and play an attacking style that takes games to teams.

My gripe with the English league one types (grotesque generalisation incoming) is that there can be a level of complacency regarding the relative levels of football. Scottish football is underestimated by many and nothing is given to you easily up here. That, and the relative values of certain results. At Hibs I think we expect to be attacking smaller teams than us, especially at home and have fairly high expectations regarding results in games against teams with much smaller budgets. I think managers at that level often accept draws a bit more easily.

We cannot and should not ignore the enormous contributions made to our club from all manner of individuals who have come from the English lower leagues. It's a brilliant place to get players from - as long as they have certain skills, don't have certain weaknesses and they have the right attitude.

Surely the same goes for managers.

Lack of knowledge of the scottish game isn't a barrier to success for a manager. Postecoglu & Gerrard have both shown that in recent years.

Neither is a wealth of experience needed. This year we've finished behind teams with a manager in his first season with a full-time professional club and another who has been a manager for less than two years.

Maloney's downfall was not learning and adapting in anyway while he managed us. He was determined to play his way and implement a style of football he had been used to seeing played by De Bruyne, Hazard and Lukaku with players like Drey Wright, Josh Campbell and James Scott rather than looking at how best to use the players available to him, and thier relative abilities, to win matches.

Someone willing to learn, adapt and change things that aren't working will do just fine in our league regardless of their background.

147lothian
13-05-2022, 09:36 AM
I d hate to be responsible to trying to choose a new manager. Sometimes managers just work at a particular club and other times it just doesnt happen. The prime example being Heckingbottom, started off ok here then it went downhill and ultimately sacked. Im sure the Sheff Utd fans wouldnt swap him now, but as 'uninspired' or 'underwhelmed' appointments go, then im sure there was a few comments from the Blades fans when it happened? It just shows that its not easy and going for the 'exciting' name isnt always the best option. Its a difficult thing to get right.

Good post, I just hope whoever we appoint is given time to implement his plans, I don't like seeing managers appointed then not being backed by the board after a few bad results. If the board appoint a manager after due consideration, the manager should at least be given the time to see out his contract, if sacking the manager happens on a regular basis then questions have to asked about those responsible for appointing the manager IMO

13-05-2022, 09:36 AM
You didn’t… the quoted poster has been pushing a, in my (and most’s) opinion, daft and irrelevant point for days to the stage where he’s not even replying to what people are saying… just repeating himself. To then have a go at your for picking up on it with a wee joke, is laughable.

If it’s not trolling it’s certainly strange and tiring!

If i've been repeating myself, it's because i'm replying to others.

I got excited at the recent rumour. Bite me.

13-05-2022, 09:37 AM
Is a wee bit perspective needed though? It was a ***** season, it happens and we’ve replaced the manager(s) to rectify it.

Also in terms of it being a disastrous season, we still got to a cup final and semi final of the other.

It was pish though, I don’t want to pretend otherwise, I just think there’s a danger we are overplaying just how bad it was.

I don’t think we are overplaying it. To go from 3rd last season best of the rest to finish 8th or worse this season is a disaster, especially when you’ve got an owner who harped on about being the 3rd force when he came in the door.

We need more than a managerial change to rectify it. No manager is achieving anything with the squad we’ve currently got.

Zambernardi1875
13-05-2022, 09:37 AM
Lack of knowledge of the scottish game isn't a barrier to success for a manager. Postecoglu & Gerrard have both shown that in recent years.

Neither is a wealth of experience. This year we've finished behind teams with a manager in his first season with a full-time professional club and another who has been a manager for less than two years.

Maloney's downfall was not learning and adapting in anyway while he managed us. He was determined to play his way and implement a style of football he had been used to seeing played by De Bruyne, Hazard and Lukaku with players like Drey Wright, Josh Campbell and James Scott rather than looking at how best to use the players available to him, and thier relative abilities, to win matches.

Someone willing to learn, adapt and change things that aren't working will do just fine in our league regardless of their background.

Both managers you’ve mentioned have Also spent about £30 mil.

Mcbizz1998
13-05-2022, 09:38 AM

We pretty much never get trophies to enjoy. The idea of being happy with about 17 boring wins in a season to get 3rd or 4th place and papped in a Euro qualifier by a team we know next to nothing about really doesn’t get the juices flowing.

As opposed to what? Trying to play really good football and finishing 7th?

I’d rather get into Europe. I honestly don’t care how we do it, just win.

13-05-2022, 09:39 AM
Wouldn't disagree.

But any new manager coming in shouldn't have to shoulder baggage from this season or resentment that he isn't Roy Keane or JDT.

And the players who remain and are being entrusted to deliver for us once more should receive criticism proportionate to their role in our recent disappointments. Hanlon, Stevenson and Cummings managed to bounce back from being relegated to be part of the cup winning team, the current players should get reasonable criticism but an opportunity to redeem themselves if the new manager decides that they should.

I agree the new manager should be devoid of criticism and given a chance.

Do you believe this current group of players have it in them to redeem themselves? I don’t unfortunately. I don’t think we’ve got enough quality in the squad.

Any incoming manager needs to bin the deadwood and make some tough decisions.

13-05-2022, 09:39 AM
If enough of us say you were correct/cool/great to lay-in to Maloney before he started, will you give it a rest?

Whats up with you this morning? I seem to have fair rattled your cage.

Would it be better if I toe the line in future?

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 09:42 AM

I don’t think we’re overplaying how poor it’s been at all.

We’re 9th in the league going into the final game of the season. We’ve had 1 result all season (rangers at Hampden) that gave everyone the kind of high you want as a football fan. We’ve had numerous lows, we’ve lost our best player and only genuine quality player.

Throw in the fact the football has been absolutely abysmal and we’ve got a squad that the fans have absolutely no connection to then I don’t think people are overplaying how bad it’s been at all. It’s been an absolute horror show from September onwards.

Turkish Green
13-05-2022, 09:42 AM
He’d won the Asian Cup

Myopic football supporters who know little outside of their own little stratosphere. Let's be honest, Hibernian will not attract a Manager from the top shelf but someone with pedigree yes.

13-05-2022, 09:43 AM
I don’t think we are overplaying it. To go from 3rd last season best of the rest to finish 8th or worse this season is a disaster, especially when you’ve got an owner who harped on about being the 3rd force when he came in the door.

We need more than a managerial change to rectify it. No manager is achieving anything with the squad we’ve currently got.

yet 14 of the players currently in our squad were the same ones that achieved that third place finish. (17 if you account for the fact that three of them spent the first half of the season with us before moving on in January)

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 09:44 AM
As opposed to what? Trying to play really good football and finishing 7th?

I’d rather get into Europe. I honestly don’t care how we do it, just win.

When did playing really good football last get us 7th?

It’s an absolute straw man argument. If Hibs play really good attacking football then we’re not finishing 7th, it’s as simple as that and history backs that up.

Hibs teams that play good football finish high up the league. Good teams play really good football, not mid to bottom end of the table teams.

In my lifetime I’d say McLeish, Mowbray, Stubbs, Collins and Lennon played good football.

McLeish got us third, Mowbray got us third, Collins won us the League Cup, Stubbs won us the holy grail and Lennon got us our record points total (and funnily enough when the football went to **** under Collins and Lennon and became terrible so did the results).

13-05-2022, 09:45 AM
The JDT speculation has certainly died on it arse today.

Grim innit. The whole tone on here has gone way back down.

13-05-2022, 09:46 AM
The last time we played good football we got our record points total in the top division.

It's not a choice between points or style of football.

We can have both if we do things properly.

BegbieHSC
13-05-2022, 09:47 AM
Honestly think I’m more disillusioned now with the club than when we got relegated.

Johnson is such an uninspiring appointment, and he’ll inevitably get sacked within the season, so may as well start saving that severance package.

13-05-2022, 09:48 AM
The last time we played good football we got our record points total in the top division.

It's not a choice between points or style of football.

We can have both if we do things properly.

Generally the teams who play the best football are the ones who win things

Mcbizz1998
13-05-2022, 09:50 AM
When did playing really good football last get us 7th?

It’s an absolute straw man argument. If Hibs play really good attacking football then we’re not finishing 7th, it’s as simple as that and history backs that up.

Hibs teams that play good football finish high up the league. Good teams play really good football, not mid to bottom end of the table teams.

You replied to me saying that the idea of 17 boring wins to get 3rd or 4th doesn’t get your juices flowing. If you are making the point that you want 17 really good exciting wins to get 3rd then, great! I think we can all agree we would rather see exciting football that wins games.

My problem is with the section of the Hibs support who seem to prioritise style of play over winning. Look at Jack Ross last season, he got us 3rd for the first time in almost 20 years and was pilloried on here by some for how he did it.

I don’t care how we win, whatever works to get us up the league and into positions to win trophies.

13-05-2022, 09:51 AM
Honestly think I’m more disillusioned now with the club than when we got relegated.

Johnson is such an uninspiring appointment, and he’ll inevitably get sacked within the season, so may as well start saving that severance package.

Not sure I'd quite say that as the relegation season was horrific but it's certainly the worst I've felt about Hibs since then.

Rarely have I felt so disengaged with Hibs as I do just now.

It's currently not the club that I associate myself with.

13-05-2022, 09:52 AM
I agree the new manager should be devoid of criticism and given a chance.

Do you believe this current group of players have it in them to redeem themselves? I don’t unfortunately. I don’t think we’ve got enough quality in the squad.

Any incoming manager needs to bin the deadwood and make some tough decisions.

Collectively, absolutely not.

And I agree about deadwood and tough decisions. The reason I think the decisions will be tough is because so many of our players are samey - they all offer something, enough that you wouldn't necessarily want to lose the positive attributes or the potential, but overall they just don't offer enough.

We can't bin all of them - so anyone coming in is going to have to spot the weaknesses he can work around to build a unit that is greater than the sum of its parts. Worth remembering that McGinn, Doig, Stevenson, Hanlon, Porteous, Newell, Nisbet and Doidge were all part of a moderately successful team very recently.

It's a bit like how Stubbs managed to get a tune out of Robertson, Craig and Handling as supporting cast for Scott Allan for a bit before moving them on for better as time went by.

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 09:53 AM
You replied to me saying that the idea of 17 boring wins to get 3rd or 4th doesn’t get your juices flowing. If you are making the point that you want 17 really good exciting wins to get 3rd then, great! I think we can all agree we would rather see exciting football that wins games.

My problem is with the section of the Hibs support who seem to prioritise style of play over winning. Look at Jack Ross last season, he got us 3rd for the first time in almost 20 years and was pilloried on here by some for how he did it.

I don’t care how we win, whatever works to get us up the league and into positions to win trophies.

But we’re not prioritising good football over winning.

If you play good football, you’ll win. History shows that. Jack Ross was slaughtered on here because it was ****ing dreadful to watch. People made out like it’s the only way you can do well in this league which is nonsense.

13-05-2022, 09:53 AM

It's been a ****ty slog of a season it really has. By the time the freindlies start i'm pretty sure the buzz and excitement for the new season will kick in. I actually think Johnson will do OK if it's him. I'm basing this on the fact that the club (board) can't afford to get this one wrong. He'll get backed in the summer.

13-05-2022, 09:55 AM

If you play good football, you’ll win. History shows that. Jack Ross was slaughtered on here because it was ****ing dreadful to watch. People made out like it’s the only way you can do well in this league which is nonsense.

It wasn’t dreadful to watch. That’s been massively over played by a small minority.

13-05-2022, 09:55 AM
No chance IMO.

If Lee Johnson interviews better than JDT then what questions are we asking??!

13-05-2022, 09:56 AM
Collectively, absolutely not.

And I agree about deadwood and tough decisions. The reason I think the decisions will be tough is because so many of our players are samey - they all offer something, enough that you wouldn't necessarily want to lose the positive attributes or the potential, but overall they just don't offer enough.

We can't bin all of them - so anyone coming in is going to have to spot the weaknesses he can work around to build a unit that is greater than the sum of its parts. Worth remembering that McGinn, Doig, Stevenson, Hanlon, Porteous, Newell, Nisbet and Doidge were all part of a moderately successful team very recently.

It's a bit like how Stubbs managed to get a tune out of Robertson, Craig and Handling as supporting cast for Scott Allan for a bit before moving them on for better as time went by.

I agree we’ve still got players in the squad that can do a job. Like another posters said a large bulk of the squad finished 3rd last season but when you look at the starting 11 we had out the other night it’s really telling how much quality we lack.

If we can add 5 or 6 quality players who’re ready to hit the ground running that could be enough to transform us. We can’t be buying players in the summer for their potential, we need some finished articles in the team

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 09:57 AM
It wasn’t dreadful to watch. That’s been massively over played by a small minority.

It’s a completely subjective thing. A lot of people thought it was dreadful to watch.

13-05-2022, 09:57 AM

A lot of the time it was, especially at home. I wasn’t one that was bothered by it as long as he was getting results.

13-05-2022, 09:59 AM

Take Boyle out and it was.

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 09:59 AM
A lot of the time it was, especially at home. I wasn’t one that was bothered by it as long as he was getting results.

If people didn’t think it was dreadful to watch then what do people think folk couldn’t take to Jack Ross for?

His win percentage was decent and he took us to third in the league last season. If it was also pretty good to watch, why is it that people think loads of fans wanted him sacked?

13-05-2022, 10:01 AM

Apart from a few brief spells, we were in the main pretty poor to watch under Jack Ross.

I was not in favour of sacking him - I think it was a catastrophic decision, frankly - but I backed him due to results and potential, not the entertainment served up. Just think of all those woeful first 45 mins, where we would struggle to half-time having created almost nothing?

Things looked brightest at the beginning of this season, when Magennis was back in the team and before Doidge got covid. Back in September I really thought we might be going somewhere…

Mcbizz1998
13-05-2022, 10:01 AM

You said in your original reply that you can’t understand why I find it difficult to fathom why people want to enjoy the football they watch. You then went on to say that winning 17 games in a boring manner and getting into Europe doesn’t get your juices flowing.

That reads to me that you would rather watch an exciting team that maybe isn’t as successful than watch a boring team who get us into Europe.

If all you are saying is that you want a team to play really good football and also be successful then I’m not sure what point you are making - as literally every single person on this forum agrees with you. Your original reply read like winning in a boring manner is not for you and you would rather be less successful but play nice football.

13-05-2022, 10:02 AM

All very fair but my issue is that Ron Gordon needs to achieve two things fast. One is getting a manager and a team on the park that will start to turn things around over the course of next season. Johnson or Appleton may be capable of that, so might JDT. Who knows?

The other is regenerating excitement, passion and enthusiasm among supporters in order to get season ticket sales moving. Without those sales the new manager/club is going to be shopping with a much smaller budget. Now if it is Johnson or Appleton we might or might not get longer term success but we definitely don't get any kind of 'marquee appointment' premium to bump up sales.

So we would then need to see that bump coming instead from player signings and those signings would have to come early enough to drive sales. That means Ron is going to have to be prepared to himself pony-up - and quickly - for the comprehensive squad overhaul we need while hoping that fans will then respond with season ticket sales. Our recent history of largely investing in prospects rather than established players, Ron's statement that fans need to pony-up, the pervading sense of a lack of hands-on leadership at every level at the club and the size of the task ahead in respect of the squad do not fill me with confidence that the scale and urgency of all this is being grasped.

Put it this way, we need people to put their hands in their pockets for season tickets in large numbers at just the time when economic circumstances are having brutal effects on household finances. That's a lot to ask. We'll need to give them a bloody good reason for doing so after the 5h!tty return they got for doing it in the current season.

13-05-2022, 10:04 AM
It’s a completely subjective thing. A lot of people thought it was dreadful to watch.

And that was reflected in the crowds this season.

I can quite believe Brighhtside enjoyed it, I’m sure many people did, as you say whether something is entertaining or not isn’t something that can be argued either way, you either enjoyed it or you didn’t and no amount of stats or arguments will tell me I enjoyed watching Jack Ross’s Hibs team.

FWIW outside of people on Hibs.net i don’t know anybody who enjoyed watching that Hibs team. All my mates thought we were gash, even the season we finished 3rd and had to watch the games on tele.

13-05-2022, 10:05 AM
Both managers you’ve mentioned have Also spent about £30 mil.

It's all relative.

We will have spent a lot more than Ross County, Motherwell Dundee United & Livingston this season. Doesn't guarantee success.

13-05-2022, 10:09 AM
This place is full of toxic krap, every thread has the same folk (I don't want to call them supporters) going on and on. Step away and give us peace ffs.

Paulie Walnuts
You said in your original reply that you can’t understand why I find it difficult to fathom why people want to enjoy the football they watch. You then went on to say that winning 17 games in a boring manner and getting into Europe doesn’t get your juices flowing.

That reads to me that you would rather watch an exciting team that maybe isn’t as successful than watch a boring team who get us into Europe.

If all you are saying is that you want a team to play really good football and also be successful then I’m not sure what point you are making - as literally every single person on this forum agrees with you. Your original reply read like winning in a boring manner is not for you and you would rather be less successful but play nice football.

And you’re suggesting good football will get you 7th and your original post suggested we’d have to accept less points to get it.

If we did have to accept slightly less points for attractive football (which is a nonsense suggestion that seems to have brown arms and legs on here) then I’d take that.

We don’t though.

I can’t speak for the poster you’ve quoted but I think there’s a balance to be had.

We want to be entertained whilst also getting good results, we are probably realistic to know that won’t happens every week but the intent has to be there to play attacking football. That doesn’t mean that we object to grinding out the odd scrappy win but it has to be balanced with enjoyable football to watch at other times. Under recent managers, the balance has been wrong and too heavily weighted in just doing enough to win games and no emphasis on how we can do it.

It’s too simplistic to say do you want good football and lose or boring football and be successful. There’s a huge area in between that and I think most of us just want the balance to be right, it’s not been recently.

Take Boyle out and it was.

Boyle was a very important player for us but i think he's got better since he's left in the eyes of some. There were numerous games where he was posted missing including the game that got Jack Ross the sack at Livingston. Last season wasn't all down to Boyle.

13-05-2022, 10:10 AM
This place is full of toxic krap, every thread has the same folk (I don't want to call them supporters) going on and on. Step away and give us peace ffs.

You're usually on the ball or ITK, heard anything?