View Full Version : Next Hibs Manager

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

10-05-2022, 08:53 PM
Ron better get a bigger chequebook! It’s going to be needed even more after this evening.

3 defenders
3 midfielders
1 winger
3 strikers

All better than what we have are required!

10-05-2022, 08:54 PM
Good luck to whoever it is.

The positive is they’ll see how garbage we are and so will the board so we’ll need to massively push the boat out for signings.

10-05-2022, 08:56 PM
I have absolutely no confidence in Gordon and co and await with dread the managerial announcement.
They have overseen an embarrassing collapse of the club this season and it is a monumental task for any manager to turn this round never mind someone in the marketplace we are dealing in.

shetlandhibee
10-05-2022, 09:06 PM
Disapionted Mcinnes seems to be out of the running, out of all the managers quoted recently i think he would get us the highest up the table and bring a bit of stability,

10-05-2022, 09:07 PM
If we appoint Lee Johnson I could see us being relegated next season.

10-05-2022, 09:08 PM
If we appoint Lee Johnson I could see us being relegated next season.Howcome? He doesnt seem to have had any disasters on his cv

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

10-05-2022, 09:08 PM

Why's that?

10-05-2022, 09:11 PM
Why's that?

I have zero confidence in this board/“transfer committee” overseeing an overhaul of the squad nor does the thought of Johnson excite me. I reckon he’ll come up here and completely underestimate the quality of the league.

It’s only my opinion but I have more confidence in it being a disaster than it working out.

BH Hibs
10-05-2022, 09:11 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/61402272

Down to four candidates. Johnson and Appleton two of them. Mackay, McInnes and Robinson not in the running.

Great more league 1 loser *****.

10-05-2022, 09:12 PM
Howcome? He doesnt seem to have had any disasters on his cv

Got beat 6-0 v Bolton

10-05-2022, 09:13 PM

Agreed. Out of interest is Johnson taller or smaller that Maloney?

10-05-2022, 09:13 PM

100% agree.

Said before he's just a more experienced Maloney.

He's not what we need and he simply isn't a good enough coach or has a strong enough personality.

Lester B
10-05-2022, 09:14 PM

You need to explain that. Makes no sense.

I have zero confidence in this board/“transfer committee” overseeing an overhaul of the squad nor does the thought of Johnson excite me. I reckon he’ll come up here and completely underestimate the quality of the league.

It’s only my opinion but I have more confidence in it being a disaster than it working out.

Johnson played in Scotland, which places him better than a lot of English managers in terms of knowing about the league.

I have if you’d look.

Ron better get a bigger chequebook! It’s going to be needed even more after this evening.

3 defenders
3 midfielders
1 winger
3 strikers

All better than what we have are required!

Yes. And I think we should also fill in the corners and get a retractable roof over the stadium.

Hibees1973
10-05-2022, 09:15 PM
Disapionted Mcinnes seems to be out of the running, out of all the managers quoted recently i think he would get us the highest up the table and bring a bit of stability,

100%.....we are crying out for someone with a proven track record of getting a team consistently in and around the top 4 in the league in Scotland. Aberdeen are currently miles off it, just like us.

I know this does not guarantee success but it's a logical choice.

If our owner cannot see this then he is deluded. If he goes for a lower tier English manager our slide is likely to continue.

Johnson played in Scotland, which places him better than a lot of English managers in terms of knowing about the league.

How long ago are we talking? As well as that I’m sure it’s a different kettle of fish playing up here than it is managing up here

Basically, we’re a bad appointment from getting relegated. Johnson is a bad appointment.

Frankly the quality of this league is at best poor

100% agree.

Said before he's just a more experienced Maloney.

He's not what we need and he simply isn't a good enough coach or has a strong enough personality.
How poor a coach is he? What kind of personality does he have?

CB Hibs 68

The so called committee are already culpable for appointing Maloney and the pile of sh””e we recruited in January.God help us

Lester B
10-05-2022, 09:16 PM
Got beat 6-0 v Bolton

While third in a competitive league. You can’t make value judgements from one game in isolation. Or rather; you shouldn’t

JamesHFC
10-05-2022, 09:16 PM
What’s with the agenda against Johnson? He’s never been relegated in his career with teams who probably should have been relegated.

10-05-2022, 09:17 PM
Frankly the quality of this league is at best poor

Still doesn’t mean it can’t be underestimated though. Fill the team with lower league english dross and we’re struggling.

JamesHFC
Got beat 6-0 v Bolton

Whilst 3rd in the league and 2 points off top.

How long ago are we talking? As well as that I’m sure it’s a different kettle of fish playing up here than it is managing up here

As recently as 2013 for Killie. Management is always a different kettle of fish, to be fair.

I don't have a strong opinion on Johnson, and share similar anxieties about our recruitment model, I just think underestimating Scottish football is probably one factor that doesn't apply to him.

10-05-2022, 09:18 PM
As recently as 2013 for Killie. Management is always a different kettle of fish, to be fair.

I don't have a strong opinion on Johnson, and share similar anxieties about our recruitment model, I just think underestimating Scottish football is probably one factor that doesn't apply to him.

Fair enough mate

10-05-2022, 09:18 PM
Still doesn’t mean it can’t be underestimated though. Fill the team with lower league english dross and we’re struggling.
And you know that's what he would do?

10-05-2022, 09:20 PM
And you know that's what he would do?

Na of course not no-one does. But if January is anything to go by it could be even worse than that.

Lester B
10-05-2022, 09:20 PM
I have if you’d look.

Indeed you have. You hadn’t when I started typing my reply. I disagree. Johnson has a reasonable record at the clubs he’s managed. A Sunderland fan of my acquaintance reckons getting rid of him set their season back markedly.

Thanks for the passive aggressive pomposity by the way.

10-05-2022, 09:21 PM
How poor a coach is he? What kind of personality does he have?

He's very basic with tactics and will get found out against better coaches.

He's too nice a guy - actually one of the nicest guys in coaching - but this means a strong group will walk all over him in my opinion.

I just don't think it's what this team / club needs right now and would be another risk which could quite easily go wrong.

10-05-2022, 09:21 PM
What’s with the agenda against Johnson? He’s never been relegated in his career with teams who probably should have been relegated.

He’s not a shouty pundit or a racist?

Personally I don’t have much of an opinion on these guys, and in retrospect, we’ve made plenty appointments that all had similar rationale yet either worked well or were disasters.

Same rationale got us Mowbray, Stubbs and Maloney; ex players with coaching experience starting out as managers. I’m sure at the time folk would have been asking ‘Tony who?’ and yet it worked. Obviously, Maloney did not.

Will Johnson or any of the guys mentioned be good? Maybe? It’s always a gamble for us, as it’s always either going to be a rookie, someone from a lower level or the occasional Lennon style damaged goods. A sure thing at this level, with our budget sounds unlikely.

10-05-2022, 09:24 PM
Na of course not no-one does. But if January is anything to go by it could be even worse than that.
I make a point of watch EFL on Quest on Saturday nights, I see some pretty decent players in league 1, in the championship the players are of a better quality than I watch in Scottish top league, where I see some dross to equal anything down south.

10-05-2022, 09:27 PM
Worrying about relegation next season already. The new manager still has to deal with these players on long contracts. Could take two or three seasons to sort this mess. Utter cluster****.

10-05-2022, 09:27 PM
He's very basic with tactics and will get found out against better coaches.

He's too nice a guy - actually one of the nicest guys in coaching - but this means a strong group will walk all over him in my opinion.

I just don't think it's what this team / club needs right now and would be another risk which could quite easily go wrong.

Luckily I don’t think tactics play a huge part in Scotland.

Compete, play with an intensity and attack and you’ve half a chance

Lester B
10-05-2022, 09:28 PM
Basically, we’re a bad appointment from getting relegated. Johnson is a bad appointment.

No. You need to explain why you think it’s a bad appointment

Dmas
10-05-2022, 09:28 PM
Whoever the new guy is doesn’t have a hope by the looks of it, Appleton Johnson cocu keane it doesn’t matter who there’s a group shouting it’s all wrong and a shambles, clubs an absolute state from boardroom to terraces

10-05-2022, 09:31 PM
Luckily I don’t think tactics play a huge part in Scotland.

Compete, play with an intensity and attack and you’ve half a chance

Spot on. Exactly where we went wrong with Hecky and Maloney. Trying to be too clever.

heid the baw
10-05-2022, 09:32 PM
100%.....we are crying out for someone with a proven track record of getting a team consistently in and around the top 4 in the league in Scotland. Aberdeen are currently miles off it, just like us.

I know this does not guarantee success but it's a logical choice.

If our owner cannot see this then he is deluded. If he goes for a lower tier English manager our slide is likely to continue.

This is exactly how I see it. We should have appointed him after Ross. Statistically he is more likely to get us into Europe than not. Proven track record in the league, not going to upset the fan base and has an eye for a player.
I don't have any faith in the names being suggested. The club needs stability and consolidation and the current leadership seem to have a blind spot in respect of this.
It's all well and good talking up ambition but the cold fact is tonight we witnessed a managerless team go through the motions in a meaningless game during the season ticket renewal period.

"Former Hearts player".

Next.

Worrying about relegation next season already. The new manager still has to deal with these players on long contracts. Could take two or three seasons to sort this mess. Utter cluster****.Why ? After tonight we could finish 10th but we were very close to 4th at the split in a season in which we also got to a cup final and a semi despite a terrible injury list that is unlikely to be repeated and 2 managerial changes . If we`d kept Maloney I`d have expected us to have improved by at least 10 points on this season so with a supposedly better manager next season we shouldn`t be anywhere near relegation .

#2 Double Tap
10-05-2022, 09:33 PM

ex jambo. 4 games only, but mud sticks.

10-05-2022, 09:34 PM
Can only hope the other two are something special as neither of those give me good vibes to be honest.

I hope the other two are Klopp and Guardiola as I don't feel any excitement about either of the first two.

Lester B
"Former Hearts player".

Next.

Very sad response that.

Whoever the new guy is doesn’t have a hope by the looks of it, Appleton Johnson cocu keane it doesn’t matter who there’s a group shouting it’s all wrong and a shambles, clubs an absolute state from boardroom to terraces

It has been though?

Dmas
10-05-2022, 09:37 PM
It has been though?

There’s no one appointed, a manager whoever it is is being labelled no good enough, tipped for relegation etc etc and he’s not even got his car parked yet

10-05-2022, 09:37 PM
Scott Burns reporting a final 3 of

1. Robinson
2. Appleton
3. Johnson

That would be my order of preference.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/lee-johnson-among-three-hibs-26930059

10-05-2022, 09:39 PM

1. Robinson
2. Appleton
3. Johnson

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/lee-johnson-among-three-hibs-26930059

Scunnered with that to be honest.

Paulie Walnuts
10-05-2022, 09:40 PM

1. Robinson
2. Appleton
3. Johnson

**** me.

1. Robinson
2. Appleton
3. Johnson

Was reading that and at first assumed it was an old report as though Karl Robinson had been rules out.

1. Robinson
2. Appleton
3. Johnson

Eeny meeny miny moe. Meh.

10-05-2022, 09:41 PM

Absolutely … how awful tbh

10-05-2022, 09:42 PM
Was reading that and at first assumed it was an old report as though Karl Robinson had been rules out.

Patrick McPartlin at the EEN said KR wasn’t on the list earlier today.

I’d go for Appleton out of the names linked now.

Thought Robinson had been ruled out?

I’ll go against the grain, I’m happy with those 3 options.

There’s no one appointed, a manager whoever it is is being labelled no good enough, tipped for relegation etc etc and he’s not even got his car parked yet

We’ve been looking for a manager since December and the best we’ve came up with is the 3 managers left in the running. They could’ve been identified in a night.

People are giving their opinion on us appointing Lee Johnson and looking at his record it’s no surprise people are very meh about him. But I guess that sums up the club just now, everythings a bit meh

Dmas
10-05-2022, 09:43 PM
**** me.

What’s wrong with them?

And how is Scott F’n Burns all of a sudden ITK guys been found out numerous times talkin rubbish about hibs no more of a clue than you or I

I'd happily take one of those 3 also

Any one of they 3 should fancy there chances against heavyweights like Robbie Neilson, Tam Coutts, Jim Goodwin, Malky McKay, David Martindale and Graeme Alexander

HFC93
10-05-2022, 09:44 PM
I just had a look at Lee Johnson's managerial history and it's decent. Are we just all deciding he's ***** because he played for Hearts?

10-05-2022, 09:44 PM
I'd happily take one of those 3 also

Yeah, me too.

10-05-2022, 09:45 PM

I’m not overly fussed with who gets it, always a bit of a lottery when it comes to managers. Someone with a bit of charisma would be good as Maloney just didn’t have that.

The more important thing is the calibre of who we recruit to the squad for next year, the signings have to be exciting.

Paulie Walnuts
What’s wrong with them?

And how is Scott F’n Burns all of a sudden ITK guys been found out numerous times talkin rubbish about hibs no more of a clue than you or I

They’re all massively uninspiring imo. The same sort of market we’ve taken numerous failures from.

Nothing at all about any of them to get excited about. That’s not to say they’d do a bad job but it would have been nice to have something to be excited about.

I had my tantrums about the list earlier on. Somebody made the point about Appleton and Johnson being banded together and it’s a fair point. From what I’ve read and heard about him, I think Appleton sounds like a decent candidate. I’d be quite happy if it was him to be fair.

I just don’t get it with Johnson. The one saving grace for him is that he’s not done a bad job anywhere so he probably would improve us from where we are now.

Robinson has been ruled out already according to the EEN and they would know to be fair so I trust them on that.

I just had a look at Lee Johnson's managerial history and it's decent. Are we just all deciding he's ***** because he played for Hearts?Near enough anyone appointed that no ex epl will be labelled as ***** by some on here

I don't know alot about Johnson but seems he's done a decent job everywhere he's been
I'd probbaly prefer Appleton though - don't know why just feel he will bring a more exciting style than Johnson

Although I remember seeing a few Bristol City games when he was in charge and they played decent stuff

Willis1875
10-05-2022, 09:46 PM
All 3 have a Micky Mellon vibe about them

10-05-2022, 09:47 PM
Would prefer Anne Robinson

10-05-2022, 09:48 PM
McInnes is a better manager than any of the names who have been linked recently.

Willis1875
10-05-2022, 09:48 PM
Would prefer Anne Robinson

She’d weed out the weakest links

10-05-2022, 09:50 PM
Of the 3 on the suppose shortlist then I’d lean towards Appleton. He’s had a bit longevity and tangible success at both Lincoln and Oxford.

Johnson is just a bit of a nothing candidate. I said earlier he’s the kind of guy who will end his managerial career with about 15 jobs on his CV. Never good enough to be really fondly remembered, never bad enough to prevent him getting another gig.

I think it’s about trajectory as well, Appleton seems to be steadily improving as a manager as time goes on, Johnson has gone from being headhunted 4 or 5 years ago to being sacked from his last 2 jobs.

Dmas
10-05-2022, 09:50 PM
We’ve been looking for a manager since December and the best we’ve came up with is the 3 managers left in the running. They could’ve been identified in a night.

People are giving their opinion on us appointing Lee Johnson and looking at his record it’s no surprise people are very meh about him. But I guess that sums up the club just now, everythings a bit meh

1 is in employment 1 was in employment until recently hardly as easy a task as ur making it out to be

Who exactly are/where you expecting us to go for?

Johnson’s record at Bristol City was better than mcinnes effort at the same club

HFC93
10-05-2022, 09:51 PM
McInnes is a better manager than any of the names who have been linked recently.

Lee Johnson succeeded at Bristol City where the mighty Derek McIness bombed.

10-05-2022, 09:52 PM
I had my tantrums about the list earlier on. Somebody made the point about Appleton and Johnson being banded together and it’s a fair point. From what I’ve read and heard about him, I think Appleton sounds like a decent candidate. I’d be quite happy if it was him to be fair.

I just don’t get it with Johnson. The one saving grace for him is that he’s not done a bad job anywhere so he probably would improve us from where we are now.

Robinson has been ruled out already according to the EEN and they would know to be fair so I trust them on that.

Out of the three Appleton would be my preference as well but right now I can't get excited about us employing a guy who just finished 17th in league one.

10-05-2022, 09:54 PM
Will this be Ben's saving grace? The names ain't stand out but all that matters is the right man.

10-05-2022, 09:54 PM

McInnes can point to success elsewhere though.

10-05-2022, 09:56 PM
Of the 3 on the suppose shortlist then I’d lean towards Appleton. He’s had a bit longevity and tangible success at both Lincoln and Oxford.

Johnson is just a bit of a nothing candidate. I said earlier he’s the kind of guy who will end his managerial career with about 15 jobs on his CV. Never good enough to be really fondly remembered, never bad enough to prevent him getting another gig.

I think it’s about trajectory as well, Appleton seems to be steadily improving as a manager as time goes on, Johnson has gone from being headhunted 4 or 5 years ago to being sacked from his last 2 jobs.

Would also lean towards Appleton but also feel he has a quite high opinion of himself so could easily see him walking if he doesn't get his way - which you could say is a good thing or it's a concern his head could be easily turned.

I think Appleton would be a stronger character also but my worry is he will be a Heckingbottom under estimating the league and not fully aware of what he's going to face at away games at Tynie etc.

Dmas
10-05-2022, 09:57 PM

He also has a very slightly higher win % over the mighty Jack Ross at Sunderland

JamesHFC
10-05-2022, 09:58 PM
I think we need to be realistic about the calibre of manager we can bring to this club with the wages etc being offered.

Decent League One/Lower Championship level managers are what we are likely to attract.

10-05-2022, 09:58 PM
Nigel Adkins was a name I was told they spoke to down south, fits the profile of top flight experience.

I wonder if he is on the list of 4.

10-05-2022, 09:59 PM
Nigel Adkins was a name I was told they spoke to down south, fits the profile of top flight experience.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNigel Howard Adkins (born 11 March 1965) is an English professional football manager and former player and physiotherapist.

The physio part might come in handy!

leith lynx

1. Robinson
2. Appleton
3. Johnson

If this is the case, then it would be Appleton for me, just get a bad feeling about Johnson and according to the BBC, Robinson has been ruled out. Also Johnson would bring in ex-jambo Mcallister as his no.2, short sighted view I know, but it just doesn't sit well with me. All in all, very underwhelming.Lee Johnson wouldn't give Hibs a second thought if he was still in the Sunderland job, don't do it Ron!

Mr. Wonderful
Would also lean towards Appleton but also feel he has a quite high opinion of himself so could easily see him walking if he doesn't get his way - which you could say is a good thing or it's a concern his head could be easily turned.

I think Appleton would be a stronger character also but my worry is he will be a Heckingbottom under estimating the league and not fully aware of what he's going to face at away games at Tynie etc.

You mean the same Hecky who won at Tynecastle?

10-05-2022, 10:00 PM
Nigel Howard Adkins (born 11 March 1965) is an English professional football manager and former player and physiotherapist.

One of the few times I’ve laughed tonight [emoji15]

10-05-2022, 10:01 PM

To save me scrolling too far. Could someone clarify - have we had it ‘confirmed’ there’s a shortlist of 4? Thanks

Not if you ask people based on his time in England, where our 3 candidates have had much more success than him.

I get your point, but maybe these 3 do better in Scotland like he did? Bigger budgets, more pull for players etc?

HendoDelivered
Appleton or Robinson out of the three for me.

10-05-2022, 10:02 PM
To save me scrolling too far. Could someone clarify - have we had it ‘confirmed’ there’s a shortlist of 4? Thanks

Where would it be confirmed about?

10-05-2022, 10:03 PM
Would also like Appleton out of the 3.

Seems to play really good football, attract good players due to being very well respected and has good contacts.

JamesHFC
10-05-2022, 10:03 PM
Appleton seemingly has options elsewhere which isn’t filling me with confidence it’s going to be him.

10-05-2022, 10:04 PM
Appleton seemingly has options elsewhere which isn’t filling me with confidence it’s going to be him.

He cannae bump us again surely 🙄

10-05-2022, 10:05 PM
Where would it be confirmed about?

Hence the inverted commas. Was just trying to establish where the ‘3’ or ‘4’ names line has come from.

Anyway, I’m asking the f*****g questions, no you 😁

10-05-2022, 10:05 PM
https://www.deepdaledigest.com/analysis/michael-appleton-is-ideal-replacement-for-alex-neil-but-theres-one-big-problem/

Seems to be a highly rated coach too

If that's the actual options. He would be my pick

10-05-2022, 10:06 PM
I don’t mind that list at all. Appleton probably my top choice but can see the merit in each of them.

10-05-2022, 10:07 PM

Not seen anything confirmed, I’m operating through blind hope we’ve managed to narrow it down in 3 weeks.

Was in EEN but could mean nothing [emoji2369]

You mean the same Hecky who won at Tynecastle?

Hecky - well Horgan did do well in that game at Tynie but also got beaten at Easter Road against Hearts.

My point was you have to be ready for the challenges of Scottish football - plenty examples of players and managers who just don't understand the intensity and how to adapt.

leith lynx

He would be more preferable than the "Scott Burns 3"

sunshinejim
10-05-2022, 10:08 PM
They’re all massively uninspiring imo. The same sort of market we’ve taken numerous failures from.

Nothing at all about any of them to get excited about. That’s not to say they’d do a bad job but it would have been nice to have something to be excited about.

It will of course be an exciting time to be a Hibee once the new manager is appointed. He will have a mammoth task on his hands clearing out most of the squad and bringing in new players to replace them. It will say a lot about our Ron when we find out what sort of budget the new man will have in order to transform the playing side of our club. Transition is on its way and we as supporters should accept the Board's choice and get behind the new manager by buying into his rebuild with buying season tickets.

#2 Double Tap
10-05-2022, 10:09 PM
Appleton or Robinson out of the three for me.

i go for the mystery 4th option.

10-05-2022, 10:10 PM

He’s been right under our nose since last year……

10-05-2022, 10:11 PM
Not seen anything confirmed, I’m operating through blind hope we’ve managed to narrow it down in 3 weeks.

Was in EEN but could mean nothing [emoji2369]

10-05-2022, 10:11 PM

Tam Courts?

Willis1875
10-05-2022, 10:12 PM

Kean Steve

James Scott player/manager (with Drey Wright as player/assistant 😂 )

Chorley Hibee
My worry with a lower league English manager is they will inevitably turn to lower league English players once in the job.

Very seldom has that market been a success.

Willis1875
10-05-2022, 10:14 PM
My worry with a lower league English manager is they will inevitably turn to lower league English players once in the job.

Very seldom has that market been a success..

Thornhills,Deegans and Matt Done’s…..does that not get the blood pumping?

#2 Double Tap
10-05-2022, 10:14 PM
https://www.deepdaledigest.com/analysis/michael-appleton-is-ideal-replacement-for-alex-neil-but-theres-one-big-problem/

Seems to be a highly rated coach too

If that's the actual options. He would be my pick

article makes yah think aye ok, throw the dice.

Mr. Wonderful
10-05-2022, 10:16 PM

Jack Ross

Silky
10-05-2022, 10:16 PM
He also has a very slightly higher win % over the mighty Jack Ross at Sunderland

And he knows the league having played up here. Whoever is appointed is a gamble, but as Hibs manager will have my backing,

10-05-2022, 10:17 PM
Jack Ross

At least this would end the never ending Jack Ross debates on here...or make it worse.

10-05-2022, 10:22 PM
At least this would end the never ending Jack Ross debates on here...or make it worse.

Worse. Those that wanted to give Maloney time would be on his back after the first poor result.

It’s not the issue tho is it it’s the right players regardless where from. Other clubs have had success from it Motherwell springs to mind there are plenty good players down there and in our lower leagues I’m just not confident we would identify them based on recent history.

Of the names listed, I'd lean to Appleton based on what I've read on here.

#2 Double Tap
10-05-2022, 10:25 PM
Worse. Those that wanted to give Maloney time would be on his back after the first poor result.

we really do have a lotta nutters.

heid the baw
10-05-2022, 10:27 PM
Not if you ask people based on his time in England, where our 3 candidates have had much more success than him.

I get your point, but maybe these 3 do better in Scotland like he did? Bigger budgets, more pull for players etc?

Aye but the gig is not in England. McInnes did a decent job at Saints and Aberdeen. Heckinbottom has done ok this season in England after making a pig's ear of the Hibs job. Maybe it's about sticking to the leagues you know .

#2 Double Tap
10-05-2022, 10:27 PM
It’s not the issue tho is it it’s the right players regardless where from. Other clubs have had success from it Motherwell springs to mind there are plenty good players down there and in our lower leagues I’m just not confident we would identify them based on recent history.

there aint no pressure at motherwell, its the mental ability to cope with the pressure of demanding fans.

same reason decent players for us fail at the old firm or st johnston players fail at us.

BegbieHSC
10-05-2022, 10:35 PM
If we’ve taken this long to produce THIS shortlist, Kensell needs to go. Absolutely appalling!

10-05-2022, 10:50 PM
For those interested, here’s a bit more insight into what Appleton and Johnson are like

Lee Johnson

Defeating Man Utd ‘masterclass episode’
https://youtu.be/s8nPIZmXIC0

Mic’d up as Barnsley coach
https://youtu.be/Zw04fIvfdQQ

Various training clips with ‘The coaches voice’

https://youtu.be/XVcGPv7T6AM

https://youtu.be/VAXEx07z0X8

https://youtu.be/mbdj1jEcZTU

Michael Appleton

Various training clips with ‘The coaches voice’

https://youtu.be/AMbPmaPvfDc

https://youtu.be/aHAMSuIMluQ

https://youtu.be/JbsNdEur3oU

https://youtu.be/-YPGqCj15NM

Keep in mind this is watered down as it’s not their actual teams they’re coaching

Chorley Hibee
10-05-2022, 11:04 PM
If we’ve taken this long to produce THIS shortlist, Kensell needs to go. Absolutely appalling!

I cannot believe, that out of the whole football world, these guys are the best we could hope to find.

So disillusioned right now.

ErinGoBraghHFC
10-05-2022, 11:07 PM
Reckon it’ll be Warburton tbh

HFC93
10-05-2022, 11:15 PM
I know we're all on a bit of a downer at the moment, but the collective hysteria on here about a list of potential candidates is unreal even for hibs.net standards.

10-05-2022, 11:16 PM
Reckon it’ll be Warburton tbh

I’m still singing the Warburton song regardless if it’s him.

tonyrougier123
10-05-2022, 11:18 PM
I know we're all on a bit of a downer at the moment, but the collective hysteria on here about a list of potential candidates is unreal even for hibs.net standards.

If collective hysteria gets the gig I won’t be renewing!🙄

10-05-2022, 11:20 PM
Have we actually been linked with Warburton anywhere?

I think he’d be a great appointment

ErinGoBraghHFC
10-05-2022, 11:26 PM
I’m still singing the Warburton song regardless if it’s him.

Agreed, soon as we lose with him as manager [emoji16]

ErinGoBraghHFC
10-05-2022, 11:26 PM
Have we actually been linked with Warburton anywhere?

I think he’d be a great appointment

I’m not sure tbh just a hunch. Would make sense with Marshall coming in as well

tonyrougier123
10-05-2022, 11:32 PM
At the end of the day,we want stability.
The two guys we should be looking at are mackay and mcinness.
All these lower league gaffers just as big a gamble as maloney was let’s face it.

The squad is an absolute shambles.

The Baldmans Comb
11-05-2022, 12:20 AM
Rapidly heading for a short list of lower level English managers who will know next to nothing about Scottish football who have that ingrained patronising attitude that they know best and that Scottish football is garbage.

Someone tell the CEO we already had the Yorkshire Pudding and that tasted abysmal.

11-05-2022, 12:26 AM
Aye but we cast the net far and wide this time for the manager search. To such far-flung destinations as Sunderland and Lincoln.

Dmas
11-05-2022, 04:36 AM

More nonsense.

every team in the league is signing players from EPL U23 downwards, it’s about getting the right players in to suit what the right manager is playing, hearts scooshed it to 3rd this year all there’s signings have came from lower English leagues or young epl teams, Ross county and malky McKay both getting a lot of praise this season and using lower league market, Charles cook who we’d all jump at signing this year came from gillingham.
Thread on how good a signing David Marshall is at the moment on here, guys played the majority of his career in lower league English football.

11-05-2022, 04:58 AM
Thornhills,Deegans and Matt Done’s…..does that not get the blood pumping?

We've signed plenty of quality players from the lower leagues down south in the last 10 years. Likes of Gray, Fontaine, Allan, Doidge, Bartley

11-05-2022, 05:35 AM

1. Robinson
2. Appleton
3. Johnson

Why does anyone put any faith in anything Burns make up? He has previous for this. And can you not link to that rag on here to stop giving them clicks?

11-05-2022, 05:50 AM
Why does anyone put any faith in anything Burns make up? He has previous for this. And can you not link to that rag on here to stop giving them clicks?

The EEN (Patrick McP) has already confirmed that Robinson is a no go.

Agreed. Don’t listen to clown 1 from the DR

NC1875
11-05-2022, 05:54 AM
I have a hunch it’ll be Warburton. But if not, I’m guessing Appleton.

11-05-2022, 05:58 AM
I’m still hoping for a left field appointment from Scandinavia! Seriously though, A manager from the English lower leagues doesn’t get me that confident that we will be much better in a year’s time. We tried that before and it didn’t end well. I hope I’m very wrong though

tonyrougier123
11-05-2022, 06:00 AM
We need a real football man not a yes man to sort this mess out!

11-05-2022, 06:12 AM
Nigel Howard Adkins (born 11 March 1965) is an English professional football manager and former player and physiotherapist.

Sounds the ideal candidate :greengrin

Mikey_1875
11-05-2022, 06:14 AM
Assuming the EEN guy is the most reliable then we are looking at a possibility of Johnson, Appleton and there are two other unknowns?

Have already said that I wouldn’t mind Appleton but I hope the other two managers being interviewed are of a different managerial background. The task that the new manager has to tackle is growing each game as we are in free fall on the park

11-05-2022, 06:18 AM
That's a worrying shortlist. We need a total overhaul and the manager must understand scottish football IMO.

Hecky and Maloney showed what happens when you bring in players who don't have the atributes for this league.

Also the article says we sacked Maloney in December....

11-05-2022, 06:18 AM
I don’t mind that list at all. Appleton probably my top choice but can see the merit in each of them.

Agree we do need to realise where we genuinely are in the pecking order. Want a hungry coach hoping to build their career. All three have pluses and minuses but all probably of same ilk as Jack Ross. Want to see a Hibs team play with confidence and a bit of aggression and intensity. It isn't really a lot to ask for in the grand scheme of things.

11-05-2022, 06:21 AM
Agree we do need to realise where we genuinely are in the pecking order. Want a hungry coach hoping to build their career. All three have pluses and minuses but all probably of same ilk as Jack Ross. Want to see a Hibs team play with confidence and a bit of aggression and intensity. It isn't really a lot to ask for in the grand scheme of things.

We won't get 'aggression and intensity' from anyone in that squad sadly.

11-05-2022, 06:24 AM
We won't get 'aggression and intensity' from anyone in that squad sadly.

Need a complete overhaul or at least a brand new spine. It is amazing how quickly it can turn round if you get 3 or 4 very good players in and a coach who knows what he is doing. There are certainly a few last night I would never play for Hibs again that is for sure.

11-05-2022, 06:24 AM
Assuming the EEN guy is the most reliable then we are looking at a possibility of Johnson, Appleton and there are two other unknowns?

Have already said that I wouldn’t mind Appleton but I hope the other two managers being interviewed are of a different managerial background. The task that the new manager has to tackle is growing each game as we are in free fall on the park

I’m not convinced there are another two, I think it’s down to Appleton and Johnson as it is so difficult to keep names quiet now it would have come out if there are others.

To take that one step further, I’m not even that convinced Appleton is a serious option as he is apparently wanted by championship clubs down south. I suspect we have spoken to Appleton but we know he will take a lot of convincing and the optics of being rejected again by him wouldn’t look good at a time we really don’t need that.

I think it’ll be Johnson.

11-05-2022, 06:27 AM
Need a complete overhaul or at least a brand new spine. It is amazing how quickly it can turn round if you get 3 or 4 very good players in and a coach who knows what he is doing. There are certainly a few last night I would never play for Hibs again that is for sure.

Spine of the team will be the main area. We’ve already brought in a better keeper if the move for Marshall is confirmed. Maloney/Kensell made a massive deal out of signing a top quality midfielder too so would assume everyone at the club knows that’s an area we need to look at. Porteous will go so we probably need two central defenders. Don’t think we even need to mention the striker issues.

Loads of work to be done by whoever comes in.

11-05-2022, 06:49 AM
The more I think about it the more I think Warburton would be a decent option. Knows Scottish football, has connections down south and he’s seen first hand how big and passionate the supporters here are 😂

11-05-2022, 06:59 AM
The more I think about it the more I think Warburton would be a decent option. Knows Scottish football, has connections down south and he’s seen first hand how big and passionate the supporters here are 😂

He'd be my pick over the final names mentioned.

11-05-2022, 07:03 AM

:singing: Warburtons a Hibby...he wears a Hibees hat :singing:

Paulie Walnuts
11-05-2022, 07:30 AM
He'd be my pick over the final names mentioned.

Same here. He’s by a distance the best candidate that still seems to potentially be in the frame imo.

11-05-2022, 07:38 AM
Same here. He’s by a distance the best candidate that still seems to potentially be in the frame imo.

Interesting I listened to a sacked in the morning podcast episode recently and he was very critical of his departure from Rangers. No meeting told via email that he had resigned which he hadnt done. Then said his mobile number had been put in public domain and in his 7 hour drive down south he was being abused via text about resigning. Absolutely bizarre episode and cant remember that ever being discussed in MSM at the time. Would be an interesting appointment I think but cant see it due to his past club up here.

Paulie Walnuts
11-05-2022, 07:41 AM
Interesting I listened to a sacked in the morning podcast episode recently and he was very critical of his departure from Rangers. No meeting told via email that he had resigned which he hadnt done. Then said his mobile number had been put in public domain and in his 7 hour drive down south he was being abused via text about resigning. Absolutely bizarre episode and cant remember that ever being discussed in MSM at the time. Would be an interesting appointment I think but cant see it due to his past club up here.

It was Warburton who got sacked and then it came out he hadn’t actually been sacked and then it turned out he had been sacked or something along those lines wasn’t it?

I vaguely remember being in the pub when it happened but I was probably too drunk to follow it :greengrin

11-05-2022, 07:54 AM
:singing: Warburtons a Hibby...he wears a Hibees hat :singing:Bound to be an attractive option for the current heirarchy as, crucially we wouldn't have to write a new song for him.

I just can't see him coming as will still be suffering from Post Hibee Attack Syndrome from that time the entire Sevco players and management where thrashed to within an inch of their lives by exuberant Hibbies.Too much risk of flashbacks.

11-05-2022, 08:01 AM
:singing: Warburtons a Hibby...he wears a Hibees hat :singing:

Ironic if he won us the Scottish cup.

11-05-2022, 08:05 AM
If it's Warburton I'm changing my brand of bread!

11-05-2022, 08:06 AM
If it's Warburton, his hat better be a magician's one.

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 08:20 AM
At the end of the day,we want stability.
The two guys we should be looking at are mackay and mcinness.
All these lower league gaffers just as big a gamble as maloney was let’s face it.

The squad is an absolute shambles.
I agree, would give the job to Ian Murray over any of these unemployed lower league failures, money saved would be used to strengthen the playing squad.

11-05-2022, 08:21 AM
I agree, would give the job to Ian Murray over any of these unemployed lower league failures, money saved would be used to strengthen the playing squad.Appleton or Johnstone are no where near the gamble Maloney was

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 08:23 AM
I think we need to be realistic about the calibre of manager we can bring to this club with the wages etc being offered.

Decent League One/Lower Championship level managers are what we are likely to attract.
Aye, decent, not proven failures!

11-05-2022, 08:26 AM
Ironic if he won us the Scottish cup.

We would definitely need to present him with a wand before our next home game if we won the cup under him.

11-05-2022, 08:28 AM

In what way is Appleton a proven failure?

Silky
11-05-2022, 08:33 AM
That's a worrying shortlist. We need a total overhaul and the manager must understand scottish football IMO.

Hecky and Maloney showed what happens when you bring in players who don't have the atributes for this league.

Johnson played in Scotland :confused:

11-05-2022, 08:34 AM

How did Murray do at St Mirren ?

11-05-2022, 08:35 AM
Johnson played in Scotland :confused:

His usual assistant spent even more time in Scotland. It's a bizarre take eh ?

11-05-2022, 08:43 AM
Warburton would be rubbish. Couldn’t win the SC with the Huns resources so god knows how he’d get in with ours.

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 08:51 AM
In what way is Appleton a proven failure?

He had his chance, knocked us back because compo terms were to him inadequate, what does that tell you? didn't do too well with Lincoln last season. Sorry, but we need a manager who really want's to commit to the job, not someone after a quick buck living in a nice hotel, biding time and waiting for a nice payout eventually!

11-05-2022, 08:52 AM
Lee Johnson assistant was Jamie McAllister who played 47 times for Hearts and also scored for Livi in the cup final against us.

11-05-2022, 08:52 AM

If only.

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 08:56 AM
Lee Johnson assistant was Jamie McAllister who played 47 times for Hearts and also scored for Livi in the cup final against us.

Aye, still gives me nightmares, like Gary Caldwell, should be nowhere near our club.

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 08:58 AM
How did Murray do at St Mirren ?

How is he doing at Airdrie?

sauzeelegod
11-05-2022, 09:01 AM
Bread man going to Birmingham seemingly.

11-05-2022, 09:05 AM
His usual assistant spent even more time in Scotland. It's a bizarre take eh ?

Jamie McAllister hasnt been employed in the Scottish game for over 16 years. That doesn't really equate to him having a deep rooted understanding of the current Scottish Football landscape.

supersauzee
11-05-2022, 09:05 AM
Second rate English managers are no good to hibs and Scottish football. If Johnson or Appleton come in we will be relegated next season guaranteed

Mcbizz1998
11-05-2022, 09:06 AM
Warburton would be rubbish. Couldn’t win the SC with the Huns resources so god knows how he’d get in with ours.

He won the league though, which was his remit. The cup was just that he lost a 1 off final, it happens.

11-05-2022, 09:07 AM
He had his chance, knocked us back because compo terms were to him inadequate, what does that tell you? didn't do too well with Lincoln last season. Sorry, but we need a manager who really want's to commit to the job, not someone after a quick buck living in a nice hotel, biding time and waiting for a nice payout eventually!

It doesn’t tell me anything about him being a proven failure which is what you said.

He’s spent 3 years with his two previous clubs and wasn’t sacked from either, leaving both on good terms. I’m not sure the ties in with your description of someone looking for a quick pay off.

11-05-2022, 09:09 AM
I mentioned before but there is also something of making competitors weaker.

If we took

McInnes
Mackay
Court (under rated)

You would hope all 3 would be then be weaker next season as will find it hard to find a similar level replacement and players from those clubs may leave as they have a good bond currently.

DM and Tam Court have both got the fans of these clubs back onside and you can see the club culture changing.

11-05-2022, 09:09 AM
Second rate English managers are no good to hibs and Scottish football. If Johnson or Appleton come in we will be relegated next season guaranteed

Gauranteed??

11-05-2022, 09:10 AM

Gies peace. How do people like you get to sleep at night?

11-05-2022, 09:11 AM
It doesn’t tell me anything about him being a proven failure which is what you said.

He’s spent 3 years with his two previous clubs and wasn’t sacked from either, leaving both on good terms. I’m not sure the ties in with your description of someone looking for a quick pay off.

Before that he also got Portsmouth relegated, and got sacked by Blackburn after a poor spell. He has one promotion on his CV with Oxford, other than that there is not much to get excited about.

11-05-2022, 09:11 AM
I mentioned before but there is also something of making competitors weaker.

If we took

McInnes
Mackay
Court (under rated)

You would hope all 3 would be then be weaker next season as will find it hard to find a similar level replacement and players from those clubs may leave as they have a good bond currently.

DM and Tam Court have both got the fans of these clubs back onside and you can see the club culture changing.

I work in Dundee and the United fans are not impressed with Courts at all. Putting their position down to the other teams being pony.

11-05-2022, 09:12 AM

What odds will you give me we wont?

I'll have a £100 wager on it with you.

11-05-2022, 09:13 AM
Jamie McAllister hasnt been employed in the Scottish game for over 16 years. That doesn't really equate to him having a deep rooted understanding of the current Scottish Football landscape.

Yup I'm sure he doesn't watch Scottish football or. Talk to folk in Scotland or know what is required in the Scottish game .

I'm not even arguing that someone has to have played in Scotland, managed in Scotland in putting across another side when talking about Johnson and all this nonsense about lower league English managers.

Whoever gets the gig will have a tough job and will have to win some fans around as well unfortunately

11-05-2022, 09:14 AM
I work in Dundee and the United fans are not impressed with Courts at all. Putting their position down to the other teams being pony.

Dundee Utd fans didn’t seem to have an issue when they filled the lower tier against us recently.

Seemed they were right behind him.

Built a team with youth and experience.

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 09:15 AM
Bread man going to Birmingham seemingly.

Good

11-05-2022, 09:16 AM
Before that he also got Portsmouth relegated, and got sacked by Blackburn after a poor spell. He has one promotion on his CV with Oxford, other than that there is not much to get excited about.

When was it Portsmouth entered administration? And were they docked points? Not sure if this was the Appleton era or not.

11-05-2022, 09:17 AM

I enjoyed a bigger tantrum than most about this yesterday but your post is pretty extreme.

I was pissed off yesterday but in hindsight there’s no question I over reacted. Looking at the jobs he’s done, he’s generally done well without being spectacular. He’s not actually got any real failures on his record so the dies he would come to us and automatically relegate us is a bit of a stretch.

I’ve tried to remain open minded so I’ve watched those videos somebody helpfully posted earlier and there’s a few things I like about him now…..

He seems like a likeable guy. Contrary to popular opinion, I think that is important. Especially if morale in the camp is low which I assume it will be.

I think he will return to basics and simplify everything which I think the players will be happy about.

He wants to play attacking football, he speaks about that and his record reflects that.

He’s got good experience in a few jobs now, he also will have picked up a lot from his dad being a manager which will no doubt help him.

He’ll have a good knowledge of players in the lower leagues down south which is a market we’re likely to want to go shopping in.

Him and his assistant understand the complexities of the game in Scotland.

As I said, he’s never been a disaster anywhere else so I don’t see why he would start now. I’m not going to lie and say he’s a name that excites me and he wouldn’t be my first choice, after sleeping on it and watching those videos of him earlier though I think I was being unfair yesterday. He could well be a good, sensible appointment, if not the most adventurous.

11-05-2022, 09:19 AM
Yup I'm sure he doesn't watch Scottish football or. Talk to folk in Scotland or know what is required in the Scottish game .

I'm not even arguing that someone has to have played in Scotland, managed in Scotland in putting across another side when talking about Johnson and all this nonsense about lower league English managers.

Whoever gets the gig will have a tough job and will have to win some fans around as well unfortunately

I'm not saying they neccessarily need to fully understand Scottish Football. It's not vital for me, so I'm with you on that.

I'm just pointing out that people claiming Johnson and McAllister somehow know the ins and outs of Scottish football as it stands are wide of the mark, given that neither person has worked in management/coaching here or been involved in the game as players for over a decade.

11-05-2022, 09:22 AM
I'm not saying they neccessarily need to fully understand Scottish Football. It's not vital for me, so I'm with you on that.

I'm just pointing out that people claiming Johnson and McAllister somehow know the ins and outs of Scottish football as it stands are wide of the mark, given that neither person has worked in management/coaching here or been involved in the game as players for over a decade.

I think it’s good they can understand the complexities of lining up one week against Dundee and Celtic away the next. They’re two very different fixtures and the disparity between the quality of the two teams is probably far bigger than you’d get in other leagues. Whoever manages us, will need to understand that.

11-05-2022, 09:22 AM

He didn’t “get Portsmouth relegated”. They went into administration and suffered a point deduction which dropped them down into the relegation places yet he still managed to avoid them finishing last.

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 09:25 AM
Exactly, do we really think that appointing the likes of Appleton/Johnson would make the swithering fans decide to go for a season ticket? Nahhh, me neither!

11-05-2022, 09:26 AM
Exactly, do we really think that appointing the likes of Appleton/Johnson would make the swithering fans decide to go for a season ticket? Nahhh, me neither!

What if we get a crap manager, but he's a big name so the season tickets sell? is that all that matter?

11-05-2022, 09:26 AM
Can we not just ask Roy Keane nicely?

11-05-2022, 09:27 AM

I think the club are right to remove that from their decision making process.

Would be good to get a quick boost but exciting new signings can do that, if they don’t then performances on the park will.

11-05-2022, 09:32 AM

Quite right to knock back a job if the offer doesn't suit. It's a job, a way to earn money, nothing else. Don't see a problem with it.

11-05-2022, 09:33 AM
He didn’t “get Portsmouth relegated”. They went into administration and suffered a point deduction which dropped them down into the relegation places yet he still managed to avoid them finishing last.

He did get them relegated. They got a 10 point deduction during the first half of the season so he knew what he had to do. They finished 8 points away from the next team, despite having guys like Benjani in the team.

Yes it was a tough time for the club but he certainly can't be described a success there.

11-05-2022, 09:33 AM
Exactly, do we really think that appointing the likes of Appleton/Johnson would make the swithering fans decide to go for a season ticket? Nahhh, me neither!So whos your magic suggestion?

11-05-2022, 09:36 AM
I think it’s good they can understand the complexities of lining up one week against Dundee and Celtic away the next. They’re two very different fixtures and the disparity between the quality of the two teams is probably far bigger than you’d get in other leagues. Whoever manages us, will need to understand that.

Yes true, but I think anyone can understand that through a quick conversation with someone and a look back at previous league tables :greengrin

11-05-2022, 09:37 AM
Can we not just ask Roy Keane nicely?

and if he says no, do the same with Lennon :duck:

11-05-2022, 09:38 AM
Quite right to knock back a job if the offer doesn't suit. It's a job, a way to earn money, nothing else. Don't see a problem with it.

This is where I'm at too, if a job offer didn't suit me or my family I'd be rejecting it as well.

11-05-2022, 09:41 AM

Yup, ideally I'd have replaced BK before looking for a manager.

He got us into this mess in the first place.

11-05-2022, 09:42 AM
Yes true, but I think anyone can understand that through a quick conversation with someone and a look back at previous league tables :greengrin

If you’ll excuse me, I’m trying to come to terms with an inevitable boring appointment.

Using your logic we could appoint the mental chain smoking South American I’ve always dreamed of.

11-05-2022, 09:43 AM
He did get them relegated. They got a 10 point deduction during the first half of the season so he knew what he had to do. They finished 8 points away from the next team, despite having guys like Benjani in the team.

Yes it was a tough time for the club but he certainly can't be described a success there.

Appleton was apppointed on 10th November 2021.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/15616925.stm

Administration and the 10 point deduction occurred on 17th February.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/16943651

The club were 17th when the points deduction occurred.

Benjani was 33 and had only scored 10 goals in the previous 3 years.

11-05-2022, 09:48 AM
If you’ll excuse me, I’m trying to come to terms with an inevitable boring appointment.

Using your logic we could appoint the mental chain smoking South American I’ve always dreamed of.

I'd be happy with that right now. Actually I'd probably be happy with Craig Levein just for the chaos :greengrin

11-05-2022, 09:53 AM
Appleton was apppointed on 10th November 2021.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/15616925.stm

Administration and the 10 point deduction occurred on 17th February.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/16943651

The club were 17th when the points deduction occurred.

Benjani was 33 and had only scored 10 goals in the previous 3 years.

So he had them in 17th place (not great) then following the deduction they were still above the relegation places, then he managed to leave them 8 points adrift of Barnsley and they got relegated.

Willis1875
11-05-2022, 10:16 AM
Forest Green manager that was linked via the betting sites is Watford bound

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 10:23 AM
So whos your magic suggestion?

I've not got any "magic" suggestions pal, just feel we would be in safer hands with somebody like Mcinness/Lennon/M. O'Neill, it's a sort of feeling you get after over 50 years watching/supporting the club, does that answer your sarcasm?

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 10:25 AM
Yup, ideally I'd have replaced BK before looking for a manager.

He got us into this mess in the first place.
Good point.

11-05-2022, 10:26 AM
I've not got any "magic" suggestions pal, just feel we would be in safer hands with somebody like Mcinness/Lennon/M. O'Neill, it's a sort of feeling you get after over 50 years watching/supporting the club, does that answer your sarcasm?

McInnes and O’Neill aye, but isn’t Lennons thing to go into a club, have short term success and then leave a massive catastro**** behind?

Appleton or O’Neill for me. We know they are good coaches and managers and largely are decent bets IMO.

11-05-2022, 10:28 AM
I've not got any "magic" suggestions pal, just feel we would be in safer hands with somebody like Mcinness/Lennon/M. O'Neill, it's a sort of feeling you get after over 50 years watching/supporting the club, does that answer your sarcasm?Lennon was on a worse run than Jack Ross in his previous stint here

Why Michael Oneill too?

Every manager you could pick holes in I guess but your being pretty dismissive of a few folk that actually have decent credentials

11-05-2022, 10:34 AM

Safer hands with Lennon? It might work it might not but nobody (except you) would call it safe.

11-05-2022, 10:36 AM

Ffs :greengrin

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 10:36 AM
Lennon was on a worse run than Jack Ross in his previous stint here

Why Michael Oneill too?

Every manager you could pick holes in I guess but your being pretty dismissive of a few folk that actually have decent credentials

Opinions eh! Who would be your man to get us out of this mess?

11-05-2022, 10:38 AM

So

11-05-2022, 10:41 AM
Hate being doom and gloom and pessimistic, but Ron Gordon is in cloud cuckoo land if he thinks any the names being thrown about are going to be selling many season tickets. Fs

11-05-2022, 10:42 AM
I'd be happy with that right now. Actually I'd probably be happy with Craig Levein just for the chaos :greengrin

Behave!!😁

11-05-2022, 10:43 AM
Hate being doom and gloom and pessimistic, but Ron Gordon is in cloud cuckoo land if he thinks any the names being thrown about are going to be selling many season tickets. Fs

The appointment shouldn’t be about selling season tickets. It should be about what’s best for the team.

If that means we have more pay at the gate customers instead of season ticket holders then so be it.

11-05-2022, 10:43 AM
Hate being doom and gloom and pessimistic, but Ron Gordon is in cloud cuckoo land if he thinks any the names being thrown about are going to be selling many season tickets. FsWe shouldn't need a managers name to sell season tickets - get a good team on the park and who the name of the manger is becomes irrelevant

11-05-2022, 10:45 AM
The appointment shouldn’t be about selling season tickets. It should be about what’s best for the team.

If that means we have more pay at the gate customers instead of season ticket holders then so be it.
Indeed.
This bizarre argument seems to get more traction every day.

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 10:45 AM

You're pessism is correct unfortunately, just let's hope we get lucky with the next appointment.

11-05-2022, 10:48 AM
Indeed.

As a club we do need a short term boost to lift the gloom a bit but that can come in different forms.

Could be the new manager saying the right things, the name of a new manager, new signings or it could be once we start playing.

The likes of Keane and Cocu being linked at the start of this was probably the worst thing that could have happened as it got folk like me carried away about stuff that’s not that important.

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 10:50 AM
We shouldn't need a managers name to sell season tickets - get a good team on the park and who the name of the manger is becomes irrelevant

Correct, it's not about a managers name, it's about a good one or a bad one, which is then reflected on which players are brought in to achieve some modicum of success. Aye?

11-05-2022, 10:55 AM

Indeed.

Why does it need to be one or the other?

Why can't we get a manager that excites the fan base AND plays good football?

We've done it before.

11-05-2022, 10:55 AM
As a club we do need a short term boost to lift the gloom a bit but that can come in different forms.

Could be the new manager saying the right things, the name of a new manager, new signings or it could be once we start playing.

The likes of Keane and Cocu being linked at the start of this was probably the worst thing that could have happened as it got folk like me carried away about stuff that’s not that important.

Maybe not to you, but to some of us......

11-05-2022, 10:56 AM
Why does it need to be one or the other?

Why can't we get a manager that excites the fan base AND plays good football?

We've done it before.

Different fans want different things tho so almost impossible to say what or who would excite the fans

11-05-2022, 10:59 AM
An interesting article by Lee Johnson - https://trainingground.guru/articles/lee-johnson-evolution-of-a-manager

11-05-2022, 11:01 AM

The appointment shouldn’t be to instantly sell season tickets, it should be over time to make us a better team and winning games. That will then get fans back.

If we appoint a name just based on that we might have a surge of people buying season tickets but we could be brutal and they don’t come back.

We need the right appointment to be the right person.

11-05-2022, 11:04 AM
Appleton's promotion at Oxford was the first time they'd been in League 1 for about 20 years, during which period they were a conference/league 2 yo-yo team.

Similarly with Lincoln, while he didn't oversee the promotion into league 1, he's managed to keep them there for 3 seasons, including being a goal away from winning promotion to the championship, when they were one of the clear favourites to go down his first season there. Lincoln are a tiny club who have spent most of their history in the conference. To get them established as a League 1 side is a big achievement when most other clubs in that league will be operating on at least 2/3x their budget.

Of all the names linked so far, he has the most proven track record of being able to improve a side and get them consistently punching above their weight and coming ahead of clubs on a far bigger budget. If he could oversee an improvement of similar scale at hibs then we would be consistently coming third and getting into the Europa groups.

leith lynx
11-05-2022, 11:07 AM
Safer hands with Lennon? It might work it might not but nobody (except you) would call it safe.

Regarding Lennon, for me he would be a lesser risk, granted he left us in a downward spiral, but his head was turned by the Glesca Hibs,it's not if he left us in a Butcheresque mess, people do learn lessons in life and move on, one thing is sure, it wouldn't be dull! Anyway it's no gonna happen.

11-05-2022, 11:12 AM
The appointment shouldn’t be to instantly sell season tickets, it should be over time to make us a better team and winning games. That will then get fans back.

If we appoint a name just based on that we might have a surge of people buying season tickets but we could be brutal and they don’t come back.

We need the right appointment to be the right person.

Are you sure?

Jack Ross won plenty of games but the crowds didn't go up.

11-05-2022, 11:17 AM
Different fans want different things tho so almost impossible to say what or who would excite the fans

Not really.

There will always be a couple on the edges, but in general, when Lennon was appointed, ER was buzzing.

When Keene was linked, although there were plenty of folk saying not to go anywhere near him, Hibs social media was buzzing.

You can get a general feeling, a vibe if you like.

You just need ot read this thread.

Johnstone or Appleton might be decent appointments, but neither of them is getting the juices flowing for the majority of folk.

It's like when we got Maloney. Nobody was delighted. There were loads of folk scrambling around trying to pretend it was a good move though.

Our fans generally call it spot on when it comes to managers. The club should listen to us.

11-05-2022, 11:17 AM
Selling more season tickets in the short term also boosts playing budget meaning theoretically we should be able to better improve the squad and stand a better chance of good results enticing even more fans back.

It's not quite as insignificant as some are making out. Of course the manager needs to be a good one as well.

McGruber
11-05-2022, 11:18 AM
We seem to have been at final talks for a good while now - surely an appointment is imminent.

11-05-2022, 11:20 AM
Appleton's promotion at Oxford was the first time they'd been in League 1 for about 20 years, during which period they were a conference/league 2 yo-yo team.

Similarly with Lincoln, while he didn't oversee the promotion into league 1, he's managed to keep them there for 3 seasons, including being a goal away from winning promotion to the championship, when they were one of the clear favourites to go down his first season there. Lincoln are a tiny club who have spent most of their history in the conference. To get them established as a League 1 side is a big achievement when most other clubs in that league will be operating on at least 2/3x their budget.

Of all the names linked so far, he has the most proven track record of being able to improve a side and get them consistently punching above their weight and coming ahead of clubs on a far bigger budget. If he could oversee an improvement of similar scale at hibs then we would be consistently coming third and getting into the Europa groups.

Pat Fenlon did well at a diddy club too.

Getting promoted from League 2 doesn't prepare you for the Europa league

These guys are nowhere near qualified enough to even be considered for one of the top, elite, jobs in Scottish football.

Have Hibs really fallen so far that this is what it's come to? If so, just stick with SDG and be content with being a bottom 6 club.

11-05-2022, 11:22 AM
An interesting article by Lee Johnson - https://trainingground.guru/articles/lee-johnson-evolution-of-a-manager

I really enjoyed that so thanks for posting. I have to say I’m really warming to him now.

I know talk is cheap but was quite a few things he said there that really resonated with me.

Feel a bit silly for my tantrums yesterday now.

If he doesn’t get the job watch me backtrack though.

the tornadoe
11-05-2022, 11:22 AM
McInnes was interviewed. Said no... due to signing policy. Source ex player

11-05-2022, 11:23 AM
Kevin Thomson set for Raith Rovers job as Kelty Hearts grant permission to speak to ex-Rangers and Hibs star

https://t.co/hsWA7OWDgw https://t.co/zY2csrS84T

11-05-2022, 11:24 AM
Not really.

There will always be a couple on the edges, but in general, when Lennon was appointed, ER was buzzing.

When Keene was linked, although there were plenty of folk saying not to go anywhere near him, Hibs social media was buzzing.

You can get a general feeling, a vibe if you like.

You just need ot read this thread.

Johnstone or Appleton might be decent appointments, but neither of them is getting the juices flowing for the majority of folk.

It's like when we got Maloney. Nobody was delighted. There were loads of folk scrambling around trying to pretend it was a good move though.

Our fans generally call it spot on when it comes to managers. The club should listen to us.

I want the team to be flowing.

My juices will take care of themselves.

11-05-2022, 11:24 AM

Amazed that the papers didn't pick up on this story that he was interviewed or the Killie fans .

Thanks for passing on the info.

11-05-2022, 11:25 AM

Not true.

the tornadoe
11-05-2022, 11:27 AM
Not true.

Fair enough... ex player is friendly with McInnes so took it as genuine...

Mr. Wonderful
11-05-2022, 11:28 AM
Selling more season tickets in the short term also boosts playing budget meaning theoretically we should be able to better improve the squad and stand a better chance of good results enticing even more fans back.

It's not quite as insignificant as some are making out. Of course the manager needs to be a good one as well.

True, but it won't be sustainable if we sign players like Nelom and Mavrias and he goes in the huff threatening to resign every other week.

11-05-2022, 11:28 AM

Of course he was. Of course he did.

Ex players are in and out the CEO's office all day long, with access to confidential information. FACT!

the tornadoe
11-05-2022, 11:34 AM

Ex players are in and out the CEO's office all day long, with access to confidential information. FACT!

Who said the ex player was in the CEO office smart arse !

11-05-2022, 11:35 AM

So we got permission from Kilmarnock to speak to him and absolutely no one outside the process found out except this random ex player.

11-05-2022, 11:35 AM
Fair enough... ex player is friendly with McInnes so took it as genuine...

We were told yesterday that McInnes's wife or someone close to him says he won't work for Ron Gordon.

Today we're told he presumably would work with Ron Gordon but doesn't like our recruitment system.

The papers have said McInnes wasn't approached, but he's blabbing to mysterious ex player mates that he was.

Why are people so determined to believe anything that puts the club in a bad light?

11-05-2022, 11:36 AM
Who said the ex player was in the CEO office smart arse !

On another matter, what's a tornadoe?

Some kind of deer, maybe? 🦌

the tornadoe
11-05-2022, 11:39 AM
Last time I post anything I've heard !

11-05-2022, 11:39 AM

There were multiple allegations on here of a very senior member of staff telling many people that if Maloney lost to Hearts in the semi then it would be his last game.

tonyrougier123
11-05-2022, 11:41 AM

This is nonsense.☝🏻😂

11-05-2022, 11:41 AM
Pat Fenlon did well at a diddy club too.

Getting promoted from League 2 doesn't prepare you for the Europa league

These guys are nowhere near qualified enough to even be considered for one of the top, elite, jobs in Scottish football.

Have Hibs really fallen so far that this is what it's come to? If so, just stick with SDG and be content with being a bottom 6 club.

You need a reality check if that's the way you're looking at it. Hibs have a great history but in the context of current UK/European football we are small fry. Most Championship and league 1 teams will have budgets that outstrip ours and be able to pay their manage higher wages than us.

We aren't going to be able to attract a big name who also has a successful managerial CV. Managers who have failed in the championship, or done well at League 1/League 2 is our level financially.

11-05-2022, 11:46 AM
There were multiple allegations on here of a very senior member of staff telling many people that if Maloney lost to Hearts in the semi then it would be his last game.

TBF, it was hardly a 50:50 call to work out at that point that Maloney's jaiket was hingin' on a shoogly peg.

OldEast
11-05-2022, 11:47 AM

Aw, hugs!

11-05-2022, 11:58 AM

Please don't stop posting we need a good laugh right now.