View Full Version : Next Hibs Manager

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

13-05-2022, 10:10 AM
Boyle was a very important player for us but i think he's got better since he's left in the eyes of some. There were numerous games where he was posted missing including the game that got Jack Ross the sack at Livingston. Last season wasn't all down to Boyle.

Exactly, he did have poor games. Thats what the problem was, once teams worked out how to nullify him, we were ****ed and had no answer to that.

13-05-2022, 10:11 AM

If people didn’t think it was dreadful to watch then what do people think folk couldn’t take to Jack Ross for?

His win percentage was decent and he took us to third in the league last season. If it was also pretty good to watch, why is it that people think loads of fans wanted him sacked?

His midfield set up was poor - no goal threat (except McGennis), and his choice of captain and vice-captain meant that a lot of weeks our 10th and 11th best performers were undroppable, and we leaked the same goal to the same players (Shaun Rooney anyone) time and time and time and time again.

That was it for me and it boils down to a nearly full squad overhaul required this summer for his successor's successor.

13-05-2022, 10:12 AM
And absolutely guaranteed if we are finishing behind Hearts people will say they don't care about performance they just want results.

It is of course possible to want and get both.

13-05-2022, 10:13 AM
It is of course possible to want and get both.

Absolutely.

13-05-2022, 10:15 AM
This place is full of toxic krap, every thread has the same folk (I don't want to call them supporters) going on and on. Step away and give us peace ffs.

Mcbizz1998
13-05-2022, 10:20 AM
And you’re suggesting good football will get you 7th and your original post suggested we’d have to accept less points to get it.

If we did have to accept slightly less points for attractive football (which is a nonsense suggestion that seems to have brown arms and legs on here) then I’d take that.

We don’t though.

I’m suggesting that I would like to see football that wins, I don’t care how we do it. Playing good football doesn’t automatically mean good results as you seem to think. Well organised, disciplined, defensively strong teams do very well in this league. Look at Aberdeen when they were doing well - a negative bunch of thugs who kicked, dived and time wasted.

Anyway, you have confirmed what I thought. You prioritise exciting football over accumulating points (slightly, at least). That’s fine, we differ in opinion.

mcfly
13-05-2022, 10:20 AM
Not sure I'd quite say that as the relegation season was horrific but it's certainly the worst I've felt about Hibs since then.

Rarely have I felt so disengaged with Hibs as I do just now.

It's currently not the club that I associate myself with.

Have to give him a chance but the hearts connection isn’t a great start.

He has to clear out a lot of that squad or he will face the same fate as maloney and Ross.

Not the inspired choice that will form a queue at the ticket office to buy a season ticket.

13-05-2022, 10:21 AM

If people didn’t think it was dreadful to watch then what do people think folk couldn’t take to Jack Ross for?

His win percentage was decent and he took us to third in the league last season. If it was also pretty good to watch, why is it that people think loads of fans wanted him sacked?

There were quite a lot who didn't want Ross to start with and their minds were already made up. The cup semis/final just intensified things. He was a dead man walking after that and it only needed his first poor run for the owner to listen to them and pull the trigger.

I'm not necessarily having a pop at them because i wanted Maloney out very early and wasn't shy in saying so, so opinions are opinions. I just hope the vast majority can all get behind the new manager from the start.

Paloschi
13-05-2022, 10:22 AM
If it’s Johnson, Appleton or Robinson they will get my backing 100%. Remember the expectations/excitement when we hired Mowbray and Stubbs? They proved us wrong.

Butcher excited the fans and we were royally off the mark. Lennon too despite a good the start the ‘proven winner’ had us in 8th when he left.

Despite the fanfare JDT would generate, there is no guarantee he will be a success. Johnson has played here and managed similar sized clubs (Bristol City) and larger clubs (Sunderland). He isn’t a Maloney type gamble.

Fish
13-05-2022, 10:23 AM
Didn’t Jack Ross have a hearts connection?

Zambernardi1875
13-05-2022, 10:25 AM
Lack of knowledge of the scottish game isn't a barrier to success for a manager. Postecoglu & Gerrard have both shown that in recent years.

Neither is a wealth of experience. This year we've finished behind teams with a manager in his first season with a full-time professional club and another who has been a manager for less than two years.

Maloney's downfall was not learning and adapting in anyway while he managed us. He was determined to play his way and implement a style of football he had been used to seeing played by De Bruyne, Hazard and Lukaku with players like Drey Wright, Josh Campbell and James Scott rather than looking at how best to use the players available to him, and thier relative abilities, to win matches.

Someone willing to learn, adapt and change things that aren't working will do just fine in our league regardless of their background.

Both managers you’ve mentioned have Also spent about £30 mil.

13-05-2022, 10:26 AM
With all the noise about LJ i hope Appleton hasn't fallen through yet. Still my preferred candidate.

13-05-2022, 10:27 AM
If it’s Johnson, Appleton or Robinson they will get my backing 100%. Remember the expectations/excitement when we hired Mowbray and Stubbs? They proved us wrong.

Butcher excited the fans and we were royally off the mark. Lennon too despite a good the start the ‘proven winner’ had us in 8th when he left.

Despite the fanfare JDT would generate, there is no guarantee he will be a success. Johnson has played here and managed similar sized clubs (Bristol City) and larger clubs (Sunderland). He isn’t a Maloney type gamble.

Totally agree with this post.

Sioux
13-05-2022, 10:38 AM
All very fair but my issue is that Ron Gordon needs to achieve two things fast. One is getting a manager and a team on the park that will start to turn things around over the course of next season. Johnson or Appleton may be capable of that, so might JDT. Who knows?

The other is regenerating excitement, passion and enthusiasm among supporters in order to get season ticket sales moving. Without those sales the new manager/club is going to be shopping with a much smaller budget. Now if it is Johnson or Appleton we might or might not get longer term success but we definitely don't get any kind of 'marquee appointment' premium to bump up sales.

So we would then need to see that bump coming instead from player signings and those signings would have to come early enough to drive sales. That means Ron is going to have to be prepared to himself pony-up - and quickly - for the comprehensive squad overhaul we need while hoping that fans will then respond with season ticket sales. Our recent history of largely investing in prospects rather than established players, Ron's statement that fans need to pony-up, the pervading sense of a lack of hands-on leadership at every level at the club and the size of the task ahead in respect of the squad do not fill me with confidence that the scale and urgency of all this is being grasped.

Put it this way, we need people to put their hands in their pockets for season tickets in large numbers at just the time when economic circumstances are having brutal effects on household finances. That's a lot to ask. We'll need to give them a bloody good reason for doing so after the 5h!tty return they got for doing it in the current season.

So do you think the club should have has a poll among fans with those results used to appoint a manager? Behave.

13-05-2022, 10:38 AM
The big Oz had won league titles with 3 different teams in Australia and Japan
He’d won the Asian Cup
He’d managed his country at World Cups
Are you seriously comparing that to a lower league English manager with no success

The fact that even that wasn’t good enough for those in the Weeg, says it all about our fan base and our acceptance of, at best, dug 5h*t mediocrity..

It doesn’t say that at all. It’s just more evidence that fans, whether us, celtic, or anyone else, generally don’t actually know better than those appointing the manager. And, given time, managers that look “clueless” or “out of their depth” can turn out to be very good for a club, their style attractive, and their signings more than competent.

Celtic fans opinion of his appointment must be the most bizarre way to get the “accepting mediocrity” line in to date.

13-05-2022, 10:41 AM
Boyle was a very important player for us but i think he's got better since he's left in the eyes of some. There were numerous games where he was posted missing including the game that got Jack Ross the sack at Livingston. Last season wasn't all down to Boyle.

Exactly my point. If he wasn't at it we were generally awful.

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 10:44 AM
Exactly my point. If he wasn't at it we were generally awful.

Yup. If anything I’d suggest the fact Boyle didn’t turn up in our horror shows just backs up the idea he was carrying the team.

13-05-2022, 10:45 AM

Loads of fans is still a small minority. The majority of fans would have been happy for Jack Ross to stay in post. IMO. It doesn’t matter now so let’s move on. I want JDT as Next Hibs Manager. He’s the only one that’s been mentioned that I’m remotely excited about.

13-05-2022, 11:02 AM
I’m not sure why you find it so hard to fathom that people would want to actually enjoy watching the football we play?

We pretty much never get trophies to enjoy. The idea of being happy with about 17 boring wins in a season to get 3rd or 4th place and papped in a Euro qualifier by a team we know next to nothing about really doesn’t get the juices flowing.

100% would prefer winning games 1-0 and 2-1, beating the OF/Hearts and finishing 3rd/4th, than skooshing St Mirren and Ross County 4-0, invariably falling to bits in derbies and against the OF and finishing 6th.

Passing football doesn't win big games in Scotland.

May21/05/216
13-05-2022, 11:03 AM
This place is full of toxic krap, every thread has the same folk (I don't want to call them supporters) going on and on. Step away and give us peace ffs.Agree

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

13-05-2022, 11:04 AM
Didn’t Jack Ross have a hearts connection?

What’s happening to this plaice?

Turkish Green
13-05-2022, 11:15 AM
What’s happening to this place?

Don't you mean PLAICE?

13-05-2022, 11:25 AM
This place is full of toxic krap, every thread has the same folk (I don't want to call them supporters) going on and on. Step away and give us peace ffs.

Absolutely spot on.

Up until six months ago I never had anyone on my "ignore list," - I cant say the same now.

13-05-2022, 11:25 AM
Don't you mean PLAICE?

Edited

JXM73
13-05-2022, 11:26 AM
Don't you mean PLAICE?

Its all got a bit flat

13-05-2022, 11:31 AM
So do you think the club should have has a poll among fans with those results used to appoint a manager? Behave.

What I think is that you should probably read and understand what I actually posted before you reply.

I'm Spartacus
13-05-2022, 11:39 AM
Common sense / blind faith / wishful thinking :greengrin:greengrin

I'll have a tenner on all 3 each way

#2 Double Tap
13-05-2022, 11:53 AM
4 games for Hearts, small minded, brainless more like.

Call it whatever u want, no real Hibs fan wants ex jambos in managerial positions. Johnston and mcallister are tainted, we need united, thinking our fans are gonna instantly rally around an ex-jambo is brain dead thinking. The same fractions in the support are gonna exist, it would not be a fresh start.

13-05-2022, 11:56 AM
Call it whatever u want, no real Hibs fan wants ex jambos in managerial positions. Johnston and mcallister are tainted, we need united, thinking our fans are gonna instantly rally around an ex-jambo is brain dead thinking. The same fractions in the support are gonna exist, it would not be a fresh start.

I guess I’m no real Hibs fan. There are some Ex Jambos I wouldn’t want anywhere near our club but there are others who I’d welcome if they looked like they could do a job for us.

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 11:57 AM
Loads of fans is still a small minority. The majority of fans would have been happy for Jack Ross to stay in post. IMO. It doesn’t matter now so let’s move on. I want JDT as Next Hibs Manager. He’s the only one that’s been mentioned that I’m remotely excited about.

I’m the same - JDT is the standout for me. :aok:

Gordy M
13-05-2022, 11:57 AM

Was Jack Ross not a coach at Hearts??

13-05-2022, 11:59 AM

Jack Ross was a coach at Hearts, no?

And, as has been said, Willie McCartney wasn't bad :greengrin

Potty78
13-05-2022, 12:01 PM
We as a support need to back whoever it is. We can all have opinions of who we do and dont want but yer never gonna please everyone. Some of the chat of I'm no renewing if it's someone they dont want is mad. We are all hibs fans and want the best for the club. Just maybe if it is Lee Johnson he'll surprise and be a success🤞

13-05-2022, 12:01 PM

The only manager who has won the league with Hibs played for hearts for three seasons ie Hugh Shaw

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2022, 12:02 PM
100% would prefer winning games 1-0 and 2-1, beating the OF/Hearts and finishing 3rd/4th, than skooshing St Mirren and Ross County 4-0, invariably falling to bits in derbies and against the OF and finishing 6th.

Passing football doesn't win big games in Scotland.

Passing football has won us trophies, never mind big games.

We went 10 unbeaten against Hearts under Stubbs and Lennon playing passing football and regularly beat the Old Firm under Mowbray, Stubbs and Lennon playing passing football. We won a cup under John Collins and Alan Stubbs playing passing football and we had the best derby victory we’ve had in nearly 50 years playing passing football under McLeish. We beat Hearts in a cup quarter final whilst having 81% possession in one of the most one sided big games I’ve ever seen under Collins playing passing football. We had our most impressive go at European football in god knows how long under Lennon whilst playing passing football.

On the other side, we finished third last season under Jack Ross and we didn’t play attractive passing football. We had a negative record against every one of the teams that you’d class as a ‘big game’, so not playing passing football didn’t do us any good there.

Passing football wins you big games. It even wins you trophies. Looking at Hibs history, it’s probably easy enough to argue it’s the times when we win the most big games and the times we win trophies and finish highest up the league.

13-05-2022, 12:02 PM
Better sack SDG he played for Hearts

13-05-2022, 12:04 PM

Jack Ross was a coach at Hearts, no?

And, as has been said, Willie McCartney wasn't bad :greengrin

The only manager who has won the league with Hibs played for hearts for three seasons ie Hugh Shaw

Better sack SDG he played for Hearts

#2 Double Tap
13-05-2022, 12:07 PM
I guess I’m no real Hibs fan. There are some Ex Jambos I wouldn’t want anywhere near our club but there are others who I’d welcome if they looked like they could do a job for us.

Weak mentality buddy, you need more hate in your heart!
:))

#2 Double Tap
13-05-2022, 12:08 PM

Why do you think a huge chunk of the fans never took to him.
Tainted.

13-05-2022, 12:11 PM
I, for one, would be laughing my plunger off at how pathetic hearts fans were if they were ruling out a potentially ideal candidate for no other reason than he played a couple of games for Hibs about 20 years ago.

#2 Double Tap
13-05-2022, 12:11 PM

The jambo love in on this forum gives yah the dry boak. Times have changed so have football rivalries.

HFC93
13-05-2022, 12:16 PM
The jambo love in on this forum gives yah the dry boak. Times have changed so have football rivalries.

If he goes on to do well for us then no one will care that he once played for Hearts.

#2 Double Tap
13-05-2022, 12:16 PM
I, for one, would be laughing my plunger off at how pathetic hearts fans were if they were ruling out a potentially ideal candidate for no other reason than he played a couple of games for Hibs about 20 years ago.

Well just go read this thread, you think Johnston is an ideal candidate?
The level of disappointment surrounding his appointment compared to the sheer excitement of jdt name, should be clear evidence that Johnston is not “an ideal candidate” for most of our support.

ozwoody
13-05-2022, 12:17 PM

Willie Ormond managed both teams too

#2 Double Tap
13-05-2022, 12:18 PM
If he goes on to do well for us then no one will care that he once played for Hearts.

Agree, but we need united now, not in a years time. Season tickets sales must surely be slow, everything is feeling a bit doom n gloom, we need a lift, not a slow burn.

Anyway I’m gonna take my hearts hating frame of mind and go get back to work or I won’t be able to buy my season ticket and boo at full time!

all you jambo lovers should be ashamed.

Brown Hibs
13-05-2022, 12:26 PM

But is he the ideal candidate?

13-05-2022, 12:27 PM
the whole "underwhelmed by anything the club try to do" attitude so prevalent these days does my head in.

That's simply not the case here though.

If they appoint JDT they will receive pretty much universal praise and there will be very few people saying they are underwhelmed.

The club have got a fantastic opportunity here to get everyone back on side and looking forward to a new season with optimism. I'm not speaking for anyone else at all here, but the general feeling is that it will be an opportunity missed if we appoint Johnson.

That's not me being negative, or trolling. It's my honest viewpoint and one that i think is shared by many on here.

You'd prefer JDT too. How comes you don't see where we're coming from?

13-05-2022, 12:27 PM
Hibs linked with Wayne Rooney

There ya go, all other candidates now mean nothing

Joke if hibs don't get him.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Brown Hibs
13-05-2022, 12:29 PM
I think it is utter madness to chuck Ross then within a matter of months to appoint a guy with an almost identical CV aside from more sackings and less knowledge of the Scottish game.

13-05-2022, 12:30 PM
If Johnson was to turn us down for any reason, would anyone be bothered?

13-05-2022, 12:31 PM

Rooney, Lampard and Gerrard are good examples of players going into management for the first time.

They all had something about them. They'd all command instant respect the minute they walked into the dressing room.

I'd be all for someone of that calibre.

13-05-2022, 12:32 PM

Yes, only because I’d be concerned about why someone like Johnson is turning us down.

13-05-2022, 12:33 PM
I think it is utter madness to chuck Ross then within a matter of months to appoint a guy with an almost identical CV aside from more sackings and less knowledge of the Scottish game.In what way are they almost identical CVs?

LJ has managed 260 games more than JR had when he came to us - that's probably 5 - 6 seasons more experience

13-05-2022, 12:35 PM

Think Colleen would do better. #wagathachristie

13-05-2022, 12:35 PM
Rooney, Lampard and Gerrard are good examples of players going into management for the first time.

They all had something about them. They'd all command instant respect the minute they walked into the dressing room.

I'd be all for someone of that calibre.But let's be honest, what type of wages are folk of that 'caliber' wanting?

Its all very good plucking big names out the air but there's practical considerations to actually getting them in

For the most part, all the spl bar the OF have no chance

ozwoody
13-05-2022, 12:36 PM

I think it would bother me as, if reports are to believed, Keane and Mcinnes walked away due to the recruitment set up, to be knocked back by another candidate smacks of serious issues the club is telling these guys on who they can sign

13-05-2022, 12:37 PM

I'd be all for someone of that calibre.

Jose Mourinho, otoh, wouldn't. Or Jurgen Klopp. Or Arsene Wenger.

13-05-2022, 12:41 PM

The Jambo love in?

13-05-2022, 12:42 PM
Jose Mourinho, otoh, wouldn't. Or Jurgen Klopp. Or Arsene Wenger.

C'mon, you know i don't mean guys like that.

I'm talking about top level players that want to get into management. Money might not be an issue to them.

No one saw the Gerrard to Rangers thing coming for example.

Anyways, I'd prefer to dream a little whilst the search goes on. No harm in that is there?!

HFC93
I think it is utter madness to chuck Ross then within a matter of months to appoint a guy with an almost identical CV aside from more sackings and less knowledge of the Scottish game.

I'm pretty sure Johnson has less sackings on his CV than Ross but let's not let facts get in the way.

Yes, I would be.

13-05-2022, 12:43 PM
The Jambo love in?

Because we don't hate someone who played 4 games for them, we are all soft.

13-05-2022, 12:45 PM
Is a wee bit perspective needed though? It was a ***** season, it happens and we’ve replaced the manager(s) to rectify it.

Also in terms of it being a disastrous season, we still got to a cup final and semi final of the other.

It was pish though, I don’t want to pretend otherwise, I just think there’s a danger we are overplaying just how bad it was.

Exactly, and now we have got to the stage where we sack every manager we have if they have a bad run of results, even if they are still in striking distance of a European spot.

And even if they have given the club some serious success through league finishes.

Our manager whoever he is does not stand a chance with some of our support, some dont even want them before they are appointed, and they are under pressure before they even enter the bloody door.

13-05-2022, 12:46 PM
Because we don't hate someone who played 4 games for them, we are all soft.

I'll be sure to go to bed tonight bitter and hate-filled because of football then.

DIXIHIBS
13-05-2022, 12:50 PM

Im not a real fan either apparently. I get it that the likes of levein, jeffries etc shouldnt be anywhere near hibs but ex players who played a few games for hertz years ago i couldn't care less. Do a good job and i dont care where you come from.

ozwoody
13-05-2022, 12:51 PM

Rivalries have changed. When i started going to Easter road in the late 70s/early 80s, when we played the old firm or hearts we had to duck from sharpened coins, darts, golf balls glass bottles getting chucked at us, and an element of our support reciprocated.
Not forgetting the casual element during that time.
These games were toxic and running battles along London Road were the norm.
So yes, we still have rivalry, but it's nowhere neat as bad as those days

13-05-2022, 12:52 PM

I'm talking about top level players that want to get into management. Money might not be an issue to them.

Anyways, I'd prefer to dream a little whilst the search goes on. No harm in that is there?!

What was your reaction when Scott Brown was initially linked?

13-05-2022, 12:53 PM
Are people genuinley getting the hump because Johnson played for hearts a handfull of times almost 20 years ago? I really have no recollection of him there. It's like people are trying to find a reason to be outraged. Better not tell them that arguably our greatest ever player won the league with them.

13-05-2022, 01:02 PM
Exactly, and now we have got to the stage where we sack every manager we have if they have a bad run of results, even if they are still in striking distance of a European spot.

And even if they have given the club some serious success through league finishes.

Our manager whoever he is does not stand a chance with some of our support, some dont even want them before they are appointed, and they are under pressure before they even enter the bloody door.

If I was Lee Johnson I’d be doing my research just now and I wouldn’t touch this job. Maybe that’s what the folk on social media are wanting though.

13-05-2022, 01:02 PM
If as reported Johnson has a history of going on long losing streaks what chance does he have of being here a full season
The dilemma for Ron Gordon now is he has said we must be successful and two managers have been sacked this season on the back of long streaks without winning a game
So will Ron sack him the first time he doesn’twin in nine or 10 games ?as his track record indicates that’s likely to happen
We are in a difficult situation as Ron has raised the bar re expectations of success but this time he needs to deliver and it just talk about it

13-05-2022, 01:03 PM
Are people genuinley getting the hump because Johnson played for hearts a handfull of times almost 20 years ago? I really have no recollection of him there. It's like people are trying to find a reason to be outraged. Better not tell them that arguably our greatest ever player won the league with them.

Is it not just one poster? I’m not seeing many people saying it although I’m maybe just missing them.

13-05-2022, 01:03 PM

You just seem to want an appointment based on their playing career. When all the evidence shows it makes sod all difference. Some people are great at playing, some are great at managing. Whether you are the latter has **** all to do with the former.

13-05-2022, 01:04 PM
But is he the ideal candidate?

I really don't know. He's not my first choice either, but I'm no expert in management or recruitment, nor am I privy to who our actual realistic targets are.

My point is that there are a couple of posters giving the sole reason that he once represented Hearts as a genuine case for him not being appointed.

ozwoody
13-05-2022, 01:06 PM

Serious question mate,and I know we had heated chat other day, and I own my part in that.

But what can we offer them? A top quality ex player won't come here just for charity cause he doesn't need the money.

Ron has said he wants to be self sufficient, that was evident in January with Martin's transfer and the dross we got in. A recruitment committee that gives names to the manager on the back of an algorithm that they "should" be good and the squad we have under contract.

No elite player would accept that I would suggest

13-05-2022, 01:10 PM
The Jambo love in?

I wouldn't even bother, mate. He'll be off somewhere else to let-off steam shortly. Will be far too bored amongst all us weak minded, jambo-lovers to stick around.

13-05-2022, 01:12 PM
I wouldn't even bother, mate. He'll be off somewhere else to let-off steam shortly. Will be far too bored amongst all us weak minded, jambo-lovers to stick around.

Stop posting, you're putting me off trying to count my six fingers.

13-05-2022, 01:15 PM
Stop posting, you're putting me off trying to count my six fingers.

LTseveralYF

13-05-2022, 01:16 PM
5-1

13-05-2022, 01:17 PM
Is it not just one poster? I’m not seeing many people saying it although I’m maybe just missing them.

I hope so! Bizarre.

13-05-2022, 01:24 PM
What was your reaction when Scott Brown was initially linked?

Never really took it seriously.

Maybe in a few years when he’s cut his teeth and been a success, but wouldn’t be too keen now.

I know the point you’re making :wink::greengrin

13-05-2022, 01:26 PM
If people are scared he’s too similar to Jack Ross surely that’s a good thing as he apparently plays better football than him and won a cup at Sunderland which Ross failed to do?

If Ross done that I dare say he would still be in a job 😅

13-05-2022, 01:28 PM
Serious question mate,and I know we had heated chat other day, and I own my part in that.

But what can we offer them? A top quality ex player won't come here just for charity cause he doesn't need the money.

Ron has said he wants to be self sufficient, that was evident in January with Martin's transfer and the dross we got in. A recruitment committee that gives names to the manager on the back of an algorithm that they "should" be good and the squad we have under contract.

No elite player would accept that I would suggest

A realistic chance to win a cup.

Same goes for Europe. If someone comes in and takes us to the group stages in Europe, he can make a name for himself and move on with everyone’s best wishes.

Decent city to work in and apparently amazing training facilities.

Also, a truly amazing fan base that will get 100% behind him if he has us moving in the right direction.

We’re a hugely attractive proposition to plenty of out of work, or want a step up, managers.

I want us to act like a top level club, even if we aren’t one.

13-05-2022, 01:32 PM
You just seem to want an appointment based on their playing career. When all the evidence shows it makes sod all difference. Some people are great at playing, some are great at managing. Whether you are the latter has **** all to do with the former.

Nope, I’d take a crap ex-player who has won multiple titles as a manager though.

JDT and Cocu are 2 I’d have been delighted with.

I think they’ve both shown real pedigree as players and managers.

ozwoody
13-05-2022, 01:44 PM
A realistic chance to win a cup..... in my 52 years we have won 1 scottish cup and 3 league cups

Same goes for Europe. If someone comes in and takes us to the group stages in Europe, he can make a name for himself and move on with everyone’s best wishes....Since the premier league came in in 1975 , we have spent 40 years in that league, coming 4th or better 9 times

Decent city to work in and apparently amazing training facilities.....will absolutely give you that, beautiful city and training centre amazing

Also, a truly amazing fan base that will get 100% behind him if he has us moving in the right direction...again, I give you that, the potential of the fans can't be understated

We’re a hugely attractive proposition to plenty of out of work, or want a step up, managers....are we? A historical mid, lower division team that would be ok if someone was unemployed or first job

I want us to act like a top level club, even if we aren’t one..... agree, if we want to be a top 3/4 club, we need to have mindset of that top tier club

13-05-2022, 01:45 PM
Nope, I’d take a crap ex-player who has won multiple titles as a manager though.

I think they’ve both only done it at one club though and done badly elsewhere.

I genuinely dont know the circumstances behind any of their jobs, good or bad, however stabilising a sinking ship is a very different job than continuing the momentum of someone else’s good work. When I hear if managers that have only ever done a good job in one place, that’s my automatic concern. Are they actually good managers or did they happen to join the right club at the right time that already had a good group of established players? I don’t know the answer tk that however it’s the sort of thing I’d expect the club to drill deeper into than fans on a message board looking at their Wikipedia page.

13-05-2022, 01:47 PM

Tbh, I'd be delighted with them too, but just based on pedigree as managers. :wink: Shocked and stunned if we get either.

13-05-2022, 01:57 PM
5-1

It should have been 10...

Hibees1973
13-05-2022, 01:58 PM

Behave yourself.

13-05-2022, 02:21 PM
Honestly thought we would get an announcement today.

13-05-2022, 02:24 PM

Monday at the earliest, probably following our long list of people getting launched/not returning.

Don't want to taint the new manager with this seasons issues so makes sense to wait until it is officially over.

13-05-2022, 02:41 PM
Behave yourself.What? Isn't that how this works? [emoji57][emoji3]

13-05-2022, 02:48 PM
Unarguably:greengrin

Or that the manager that set things in motion for our greatest ever team had managed Hearts for 16 years prior to coming to Easter Road.

13-05-2022, 02:57 PM

Nonsense depends if they are good at their job. Not like it is Jeffries or Levein getting the job.

hughio
13-05-2022, 03:14 PM

Well said oldyin.

All this guff about ex Hertz guy.

Nothing about Jon Dahl Thomasson.

13-05-2022, 03:15 PM

Without having to read through all these pages, has Appleton been discarded by the club? Is it now a foregone conclusion that Johnston is the man or is it still just “paper talk”?

davhibby
13-05-2022, 03:20 PM

It doesn’t seem to me like we’ve interviewed all 4 options yet. I’m thinking it’ll more likely be mid/end of next week before we find out who it is

13-05-2022, 03:24 PM
Without having to read through all these pages, has Appleton been discarded by the club? Is it now a foregone conclusion that Johnston is the man or is it still just “paper talk”?

No one here appears to be "in the know" so its all guess work, same applies to the media.

Mcbizz1998
13-05-2022, 03:27 PM
If it was Johnson like the papers were claiming, surely we would know by now?

Sounds like we have more irons in the fire.

13-05-2022, 03:28 PM
Not even a spoof 😂

Steve Archibald throws hat into Hibs ring as former Easter Road striker makes late pitch for shock dugout return

https://t.co/zhyqN9HFz9 https://t.co/163Wk9xHpz

13-05-2022, 03:31 PM
Nonsense depends if they are good at their job. Not like it is Jeffries or Levein getting the job.

It's the same infallible logic that would prevent one of our greatest players , ever becoming the Hearts Manager........:rolleyes:

13-05-2022, 03:35 PM

In all seriousness, no. But it plays a part, albeit a small one.

I just don't fancy him as being Hibs manager. I think we can do way better. The Hearts connection is just bumping gums on my part mostly.

Doesn't really matter the reasons though does it?

There's a handful of people on here at most that actually want him. Another handful that appear to be 'meh' at best, and then the rest of us who really don't want him for one reason or another.

Put it another way, imagine we are on day 1 of our search for a new manager, how does his name even end up on the sheet of paper with the list? Not being funny, but how? Who actually suggested him, and why?

I don't see it. Pick any random 20 managers down south outwith the EPL , and the chat on here would be exactly the same. Some folk going wtf, and others looking for reasons to be happy.

Not a single post on here showed any kind of positive emotion when his name was first linked with us. Even today, there's a few saying they'll be happy but i've not seen anyone saying they'll be delighted?

You don't think that's important?

13-05-2022, 03:36 PM
Not even a spoof 😂

Steve Archibald throws hat into Hibs ring as former Easter Road striker makes late pitch for shock dugout return

He was on Sportsound recently taking a lot of sense. I like him.

13-05-2022, 03:38 PM

With all these fractions about it's no wonder we have a divided support! 😀 Apologies!

13-05-2022, 03:39 PM
He was on Sportsound recently taking a lot of sense. I like him.

I like him as well, there are lots of people I like who talk sense, not sure I'd like to see them in the ER dugout.

13-05-2022, 03:40 PM
In all seriousness, no. But it plays a part, albeit a small one.

I just don't fancy him as being Hibs manager. I think we can do way better. The Hearts connection is just bumping gums on my part mostly.

Doesn't really matter the reasons though does it?

There's a handful of people on here at most that actually want him. Another handful that appear to be 'meh' at best, and then the rest of us who really don't want him for one reason or another.

Put it another way, imagine we are on day 1 of our search for a new manager, how does his name even end up on the sheet of paper with the list? Not being funny, but how? Who actually suggested him, and why?

I don't see it. Pick any random 20 managers down south outwith the EPL , and the chat on here would be exactly the same. Some folk going wtf, and others looking for reasons to be happy.

Not a single post on here showed any kind of positive emotion when his name was first linked with us. Even today, there's a few saying they'll be happy but i've not seen anyone saying they'll be delighted?

You don't think that's important?

My preference was Keane. I'd have been buzzing. All went a bit flat for me after that until JDT's name was linked. Last night was great fun. Certainly wouldn't be buzzing about Johnson but the four games for Hearts argument is just bonkers to me. Said earlier I think Johnson will do well purely as the board need this to work badly. They'll back him.

13-05-2022, 03:45 PM
My preference was Keane. I'd have been buzzing. All went a bit flat for me after that until JDT's name was linked. Last night was great fun. Certainly wouldn't be buzzing about Johnson but the four games for Hearts argument is just bonkers to me. Said earlier I think Johnson will do well purely as the board need this to work badly. They'll back him.

I also think that for a change we've gone for a reasonable time to change manager. He's not going to have to come in during a crisis and pick a bunch of duffers up off the floor, or motivate folk who were loyal to the last guy, or try to introduce something totally different halfway through a season.

He'll be in on the first day of pre-season with the odd new signing (and more to come) with a clean slate for all the players including those coming back from being on loan.

13-05-2022, 03:47 PM
I also think that for a change we've gone for a reasonable time to change manager. He's not going to have to come in during a crisis and pick a bunch of duffers up off the floor, or motivate folk who were loyal to the last guy, or try to introduce something totally different halfway through a season.

He'll be in on the first day of pre-season with the odd new signing (and more to come) with a clean slate for all the players including those coming back from being on loan.

Yeah I agree.

13-05-2022, 03:51 PM
I can’t keep up with any of this nonsense… it’s been a fun read though 😅

13-05-2022, 03:53 PM
With all these fractions about it's no wonder we have a divided support! �� Apologies!

:top marksplus 1

Is Al Gebra being interviewed?

13-05-2022, 03:55 PM
Not even a spoof [emoji23]

https://t.co/zhyqN9HFz9 https://t.co/163Wk9xHpzBig name. Top player

Hibs connection

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23] Not on your Nelly

13-05-2022, 03:59 PM

So you got excited because they are big names?

13-05-2022, 04:12 PM
Not even a spoof ��

Think the press are just trolling us :greengrin

13-05-2022, 04:26 PM
:top marksplus 1

Is Al Gebra being interviewed?

If Al Gebra gets the job I’m not renewing my season ticket.

Just Cos.

13-05-2022, 04:27 PM
36 days and 8 games during this season we haven’t actually had a official manager leading the team.

13-05-2022, 04:28 PM
So you got excited because they are big names?

Yes

JamesHFC
13-05-2022, 04:28 PM

Tuesday at the latest is my guess. Get POTY awards out the way first.

13-05-2022, 04:29 PM
If Al Gebra gets the job I’m not renewing my season ticket.

Just Cos.

That would be a sin mate

13-05-2022, 04:34 PM
Yes

Surely you want a proven experienced manager over a period of time rather than just a big name ex player with little experience

13-05-2022, 04:34 PM
That would be a sin mate
We’ve approached Mackay with Al Gebra as his assistant but he can’t work with Tan.

13-05-2022, 04:35 PM
That would be a sin mate

Struggling to think of a pun for the last one… someone will !

13-05-2022, 04:39 PM
We’ve approached Mackay with Al Gebra as his assistant but he can’t work with Tan.

😂😂
All pie in the sky I’m afraid

13-05-2022, 04:44 PM
Do any bookies still have odds available?

13-05-2022, 04:57 PM
Struggling to think of a pun for the last one… someone will !

Och,am sure you will figure it all out and come up with a formula.

13-05-2022, 05:02 PM
Hopefully JDT can build a midfield around JDH.

13-05-2022, 05:14 PM
Do any bookies still have odds available?

Can't seem to find anything.

13-05-2022, 06:12 PM

You’re on top form with these the night NH. Not heard some of these terms since high school maths!

13-05-2022, 06:19 PM

Why was no one promoting Scott Brown and Steven Whittaker as a prospective combo at Hibs?

13-05-2022, 06:20 PM
Why was no one promoting Scott Brown and Steven Whittaker as a prospective combo at Hibs?

Because we are looking for an experienced manager and not rookies

leith lynx
13-05-2022, 06:21 PM

Five years too early...

13-05-2022, 06:23 PM

How would I know?

Needlessly argumentative post? Did I say something to offend? Sorry if I did.:confused:

13-05-2022, 06:31 PM
I really wonder how much of a negative effect social media could have on hibs attempts to recruit a new manager, anyone reading this or twitter would be wondering just what a toxic mess they might walk into.

13-05-2022, 06:35 PM
How would I know?

Needlessly argumentative post? Did I say something to offend? Sorry if I did.:confused:
Really, a few pages ago you were promoting the likes of Lampard, Rooney etc as players moving into management straight from a playing career as a way to go.

angus hibby
13-05-2022, 06:38 PM
I’d be happy enough with Appleton. Not sure I trust those in charge to make the right appointment so purely based on the fact that Leeann came close to appointing him means he must have impressed her and that’ll do for me.

13-05-2022, 07:06 PM
Really, a few pages ago you were promoting the likes of Lampard, Rooney etc as players moving into management straight from a playing career as a way to go.

ffs I was hardly promoting them. Just shooting the breeze.

Even if I was , why you picking a fight about it?

13-05-2022, 07:07 PM
Can't seem to find anything.

Pity, I was going to have a punt on Malky Mackay

13-05-2022, 07:15 PM
ffs I was hardly promoting them. Just shooting the breeze.

Even if I was , why you picking a fight about it?
I'm not, really a peaceful kind of guy, like you want the best for Hibs. ��
On reflection I probably was a bit picky so apologies.

13-05-2022, 07:44 PM
I really wonder how much of a negative effect social media could have on hibs attempts to recruit a new manager, anyone reading this or twitter would be wondering just what a toxic mess they might walk into.I see what you mean but presumably it`s the same at every club in the world . Hopefully those at ER who make important decisions about managers and other things don`t pay too much attention to what a few of us think . And it is a few . There were 4 or 5 here constantly criticising Maloney`s appointment , in some cases before he arrived and in some cases feeling the need to keep giving their opinion on SM as " disaster " etc even now he`s gone . Everyone will have their own opinion about who we ( don`t ) want as our next manager but we have to hope decisionmakers have done their work in identifying good candidates who won`t attract controversy for non football reasons : I say candidates in plural because any decent candidate will have offers from elsewhere so we have to have several options just like signing players .

13-05-2022, 07:55 PM
I see what you mean but presumably it`s the same at every club in the world . Hopefully those at ER who make important decisions about managers and other things don`t pay too much attention to what a few of us think . And it is a few . There were 4 or 5 here constantly criticising Maloney`s appointment , in some cases before he arrived and in some cases feeling the need to keep giving their opinion on SM as " disaster " etc even now he`s gone . Everyone will have their own opinion about who we ( don`t ) want as our next manager but we have to hope decisionmakers have done their work in identifying good candidates who won`t attract controversy for non football reasons : I say candidates in plural because any decent candidate will have offers from elsewhere so we have to have several options just like signing players .
Good post, I hope your right.

13-05-2022, 08:09 PM
I really wonder how much of a negative effect social media could have on hibs attempts to recruit a new manager, anyone reading this or twitter would be wondering just what a toxic mess they might walk into.

I think a manager has to have pretty thick skin if they are worried about a few online posts. If they can’t handle a few posts they probably have no chance in the dugout at some of the bigger stadiums.

Anyway..saw Michael Carrick applied for Lincoln job but didn’t get it. Hasn’t got loads of managerial experience but think he will become a good manager over time.

13-05-2022, 08:38 PM

I’m backing the candidate with the most followers on insta.

13-05-2022, 08:46 PM
I’m backing the candidate with the most followers on insta.

13-05-2022, 09:13 PM
I'm not, really a peaceful kind of guy, like you want the best for Hibs. ��
On reflection I probably was a bit picky so apologies.

Thanks.

I’ve no problem with us disagreeing but we don’t need to be disagreeable to each other :greengrin

13-05-2022, 09:16 PM
Thanks.

I’ve no problem with us disagreeing but we don’t need to be disagreeable to each other :greengrin
👍

Mr. Wonderful
13-05-2022, 09:19 PM

Definitely has swayed them in the past. Very recent past on 2 occasions both in hiring and firing

13-05-2022, 09:23 PM
Definitely has swayed them in the past. Very recent past on 2 occasions both in hiring and firing
I wasn't aware of that, when did it happen?

Mr. Wonderful
13-05-2022, 09:42 PM
I wasn't aware of that, when did it happen?

Jack Ross for one

cannastar
13-05-2022, 09:50 PM
if it hadnt been such a disaster with shaun maloney id genuinely be asking why not approach annans peter murphy. a young coach/manager who has came within a whisker of getting annan promoted and playing attractive football to boot albeit at the lowest division in scotland. gave a decent account against the rangers in last sixteen of the scottish cup also. i realise that ron will have to be seen to be appointing a name manager probably another failure from the lower leagues in england we seem to have a fascination with thinking they must be really good if they have managed down south. id rather see a chance being given to someone trying to make their mark in scotland and not seeing us as a stepping stone or raise in profile before scuttling off back down to england. martindale at livi and courts at united are two examples for appointing close to home both have taken their chance with limited budgets and managed to achieve results possibly above what was expected including against the old firm. i think the stumbling block for any young manager in the lower leages in scotland would be the insecurity that we would offer for long term employment as i imagine most will have jobs outside of football. i think too many managers are former players who never have been away from the game and in a lot of cases it doesnt work indeed there is maybe something to be said for having to have employment in the outside world maybe a different perspective is learned. off the top of my head the top scottish managers in my lifetime all had outside jobs fergusson ran a pub roxburgh and brown i think were schoolteachers brown also being a part time chanter with hammy and the hamsters. i know peter murphy is irish but is in his first managment position and has gained knowledge of the scottish leagues and if maybe not him then someone in a similar vein with fresh ideas would be most welcome. i know a collection on here have spoke for kevin thompson who again has done well this season. im not sure michael appleton or lee johnson who we seemed to be linked with are any better an option. they may at this moment have more experience but whether they have the ambition or the desire for hibernian is open to question.

Mr. Wonderful
13-05-2022, 09:54 PM
if it hadnt been such a disaster with shaun maloney id genuinely be asking why not approach annans peter murphy. a young coach/manager who has came within a whisker of getting annan promoted and playing attractive football to boot albeit at the lowest division in scotland. gave a decent account against the rangers in last sixteen of the scottish cup also. i realise that ron will have to be seen to be appointing a name manager probably another failure from the lower leagues in england we seem to have a fascination with thinking they must be really good if they have managed down south. id rather see a chance being given to someone trying to make their mark in scotland and not seeing us as a stepping stone or raise in profile before scuttling off back down to england. martindale at livi and courts at united are two examples for appointing close to home both have taken their chance with limited budgets and managed to achieve results possibly above what was expected including against the old firm. i think the stumbling block for any young manager in the lower leages in scotland would be the insecurity that we would offer for long term employment as i imagine most will have jobs outside of football. i think too many managers are former players who never have been away from the game and in a lot of cases it doesnt work indeed there is maybe something to be said for having to have employment in the outside world maybe a different perspective is learned. off the top of my head the top scottish managers in my lifetime all had outside jobs fergusson ran a pub roxburgh and brown i think were schoolteachers brown also being a part time chanter with hammy and the hamsters. i know peter murphy is irish but is in his first managment position and has gained knowledge of the scottish leagues and if maybe not him then someone in a similar vein with fresh ideas would be most welcome. i know a collection on here have spoke for kevin thompson who again has done well this season. im not sure michael appleton or lee johnson who we seemed to be linked with are any better an option. they may at this moment have more experience but whether they have the ambition or the desire for hibernian is open to question.

Admins, how come I can't type S***thorpe but this poster gets away with having no paragraphs?

13-05-2022, 09:56 PM

Interesting. Sounds like he has a lot more relevant experience than Maloney - the gap between member of coaching staff and manager is huge.

EVERYONE can make the right decisions and deliver the right team talk when it’s not them in the hot seat… when you are the leader it’s a very different situation.

#2 Double Tap
13-05-2022, 10:03 PM

13-05-2022, 10:14 PM
I like him as well, there are lots of people I like who talk sense, not sure I'd like to see them in the ER dugout.

Let’s look at it another way. Is there anyone you really dislike who you’d like to see in the ER dugout.

13-05-2022, 10:15 PM

Surely someone is doing a parklife gag here

#2 Double Tap
13-05-2022, 10:19 PM
Surely someone is doing a parklife gag here

it is a thing of pure beauty, anyone who actually read that is off their rocker.

13-05-2022, 10:23 PM
Admins, how come I can't type S***thorpe but this poster gets away with having no paragraphs?

Superb

13-05-2022, 10:25 PM
it is a thing of pure beauty, anyone who actually read that is off their rocker.

I got to about line eight and then decided I’d rather chew my own feet off than continue.

13-05-2022, 10:49 PM

What if we play Scunthorpe in a pre season friendly after we appoint Daniel ****e as manager?

Oooh it let my type Scunthorpe! 🤷🏻*♂️

13-05-2022, 11:10 PM
What if we play Scunthorpe in a pre season friendly after we appoint Daniel ****e as manager?

Oooh it let my type Scunthorpe! 🤷🏻*♂️

Scunthorpe only gets censored if the admins have added you to the watchlist.

Edit: Cheers Admins

14-05-2022, 01:05 AM
Gray, Fontaine, Malonga, Bartley, Boyle, Logan, Marciano, Jackson, Newell, Doidge to name a few - who were they playing for before they signed for Hibs?

Where a player comes from club wise or has played before is irrelevant.

As we’ve seen thousands of times, the high profile players can do as well or as bad as the low profile players.

If signing someone from Lincoln or Kidderminster means we get the next Gray/Bartley/Boyle then I’m all for it.

Word.

14-05-2022, 02:31 AM

You've got to wait until Tinie Tempah has visited the place before you can type S****horpe!

14-05-2022, 03:00 AM
Scunthorpe.

Look at that, it let me type the word. Whit dae ah have tae dae tae get blacklisted? ��

14-05-2022, 03:44 AM
Scunthorpe...

Nice, Nice.

14-05-2022, 05:50 AM
Quite a few posts on here since I last checked so thought there must be some news or rumors

Turns out it's just a whole lot of Scunthorpes!

[emoji44][emoji23]

Fuzzywuzzy
14-05-2022, 05:58 AM
Scunthorpe!

Yassssssss

14-05-2022, 06:05 AM
Scunthorpe is going to be the most typed word of the day.

14-05-2022, 06:07 AM
Anyone ever been to Scunthorpe? It’s a hovel.

Yass.

14-05-2022, 06:10 AM
Didn't we sign Rob Jones from Scunthorpe? Or did he go there after Hibs, to Scunthorpe?

14-05-2022, 06:10 AM
Scunthorpe

Get in!!

ClermistonGreen
14-05-2022, 06:12 AM
Scunthorpe is going to be the most typed word of the day.

I think you’ll find it’s the word “the”

not Scunthorpe :greengrin

14-05-2022, 06:26 AM
Nae way I’m making the cut.

Scunthorpe

…oh ya dancer 🕺

14-05-2022, 06:35 AM
You've got to wait until Tinie Tempah has visited the place before you can type S****horpe!

I had to rip the **** out of Scunthorpe to put the **** in. 😀

NC1875
14-05-2022, 06:49 AM
Scunthorpe

14-05-2022, 07:06 AM

If you look at this for long enough a dolphin appears. 🐬😉

I’d say from league two to us is a pretty big jump?

You also mention ambition and desire…Why would coming to Hibs show
any more or less of that depending on where you’ve been before? There’s
no guarantee and completely down to the individual. Who knows, a manager
from down south may come up and really connect, a manager from Scotland
might bolt at the first sign of another offer.

p.s. excuse the funky spacing that seems to have popped up 😅

14-05-2022, 07:18 AM
Didn't we sign Rob Jones from Scunthorpe? Or did he go there after Hibs, to Scunthorpe?

He signed for Scunthorpe. I think we got him from Grimsby Town.

JXM73
14-05-2022, 07:28 AM
Scunthorpe....

Impossible, though no one will see it as im on everyones blocked list, scunthorpes!

14-05-2022, 07:28 AM
Scunthorpe

Edit: Yaldy

JamesHFC
14-05-2022, 07:42 AM
Scunthorpe

Can’t believe this is going to take over this thread 😂

14-05-2022, 07:49 AM
Scunthorpe

Can’t believe this is going to take over this thread [emoji23]To change tact - is our new man still expected to be at ER tomorrow?

14-05-2022, 07:50 AM
To change tact - is our new man still expected to be at ER tomorrow?

No, he’s stuck in Scunthorpe.

14-05-2022, 07:52 AM
Scunthorpe.

Look at that, it let me type the word. Whit dae ah have tae dae tae get blacklisted? ��

Coming from New Elgin is enough for me. :greengrin

leith lynx
14-05-2022, 08:13 AM
No, he’s stuck in Scunthorpe.

So he's knocked us back for Scunthorpe?... Oh those dirty Scunthorpians

14-05-2022, 08:18 AM
Can everyone stop typing Scunthorpe and stick to new manager rumours only. Thank you. Scunthorpe.

14-05-2022, 08:21 AM
Apparently Scott burns reporting we have agreed terms with Lee Johnson and JDT

Board to decide over the weekend

He's a Scunthorpe though so who knows

14-05-2022, 08:22 AM

Grimsby.

CyberSauzee
14-05-2022, 08:23 AM
Is Keith Hill on the shortlist - the current Scunthorpe manager?

14-05-2022, 08:23 AM
Scott burns reporting we have agreed terms with Lee Johnson and JDT

Oh please JDT. Please.

Not that Johnson wouldn’t be a good appointment, I just think JDT is the kind of exciting appointment we need.

14-05-2022, 08:27 AM

Wow just assumed JDT rumour was nonsense

14-05-2022, 08:29 AM

Any ideas where he is reporting this about?

14-05-2022, 08:30 AM
Can everyone stop typing Scunthorpe and stick to new manager rumours only. Thank you. Scunthorpe.

Keith Hill looking like he’s missed out on the Hibs job and will be staying at Scunthorpe, despite them being relegated.

14-05-2022, 08:34 AM

They better no make a Scunthorpe of it .
Has to be JTD

14-05-2022, 08:40 AM

The fact that he's reporting that means its neither :greengrin

Mcbizz1998
14-05-2022, 08:43 AM
JDT has to be the choice if possible.

Also….. SCUNTHORPE!

14-05-2022, 08:51 AM
The Sun saying we held informal talks with around 20 candidates with Johnson emerging as the clear front runner.

Also saying SDG is to be kept on in a coaching role.

14-05-2022, 08:52 AM
Just tweeted Scott Burns “is there any truth in the JDT to Hibs rumours” and got a thumbs up

14-05-2022, 08:53 AM
Not seen the above about JDT and Johnson being the two and the board are deciding this week.

But…..someone just asked Scott Burns if there is truth in it and he replied with a thumbs up

14-05-2022, 08:54 AM
Is Keith Hill on the shortlist - the current Scunthorpe manager?

Relegated weeks ago and lost 7-0 on the last day of the season meaning Bristol Rovers got automatic promotion. Some CV.

14-05-2022, 09:09 AM
Does JDT have a good record? Is the clamour to get him based on his comment against rangers?

Willis1875
14-05-2022, 09:13 AM
Does JDT have a good record? Is the clamour to get him based on his comment against rangers?

He’s won league titles so that’s a good jumping off point

14-05-2022, 09:23 AM
Test - Scunthorpe.

It worked, so the admins must have me on ignore as well!

14-05-2022, 09:25 AM
It's Johnson.

JDT is waiting for the Scunthorpe job to become available.

McGruber
14-05-2022, 09:33 AM
If it's a choice between JDT and Johnson, it's not a choice.

HFC93
14-05-2022, 09:36 AM

Where did you see this? If true, we all need to lobby the board to appoint JDT.

14-05-2022, 09:45 AM
If it's a choice between JDT and Johnson, it's not a choice.

How come?

In terms of a popularity contest you’re right but what if there were red flags in JDT’s interview? What if Johnson came across much better?

14-05-2022, 09:50 AM
How come?

In terms of a popularity contest you’re right but what if there were red flags in JDT’s interview? What if Johnson came across much better?

If there were red flags surely we wouldn't have bothered agreeing terms like Scott Burns is suggesting we have?

Willis1875
14-05-2022, 09:51 AM
With all due respect why does it matter how they come across?Unless JDT was a bumbling idiot then it should come down to credentials of which JDT betters Lee Johnson IMO

14-05-2022, 09:56 AM
I hope it's JDT or they can get to Scunthorpe

14-05-2022, 09:56 AM
Where did you see this? If true, we all need to lobby the board to appoint JDT.

They just need to look at our poll!

14-05-2022, 09:58 AM
If they don’t appointment JDT they’re a bunch of Scunthorpe’s……sorry, had to join the party🤷🏼

LeithMike
14-05-2022, 10:00 AM
How come?

In terms of a popularity contest you’re right but what if there were red flags in JDT’s interview? What if Johnson came across much better?Football isnt played in a board room though. I'm prerty sure a number of candidates would have interviewed better than SAF back in the day but I know who I would have picked.

The great thing about picking a football manager is that there past performance is on public record. That should be a bigger factor than if you can talk the talk.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Mr. Wonderful
14-05-2022, 10:01 AM
Sorry to burst your bubble ladies and gents but there is no special admin list as I censored Scunthorpe myself. I wasn't trying to mislead, as it definitely wasn't allowed at one point or another..

14-05-2022, 10:12 AM
If the Board are genuinely undecided between LJ and JDT purely on coaching ability, then surely they will go for the latter as he's far more likely to sell tickets. If however they're only equal because of JDT's marketing attraction then it's a real tough choice.

14-05-2022, 10:18 AM
Announce Archibald

14-05-2022, 10:21 AM
Announce Archibald😂😂😂

14-05-2022, 10:22 AM
I just hope they make a decision based on who they think the best man for the job is and not just what the fans want based on limited information

14-05-2022, 10:22 AM
Announce Archibald

Announce liquidation to put us out our misery

14-05-2022, 10:28 AM
How come?

I’ve said above… if Johnson did better at interview then we are asking the wrong questions.

14-05-2022, 10:39 AM
God help us if the board have a guaranteed choice of either Tomasson or Johnson and choose the latter.

14-05-2022, 10:44 AM
I’ve said above… if Johnson did better at interview then we are asking the wrong questions.

If the board are genuinely on the same page as the fans then the questions are probably about their favourite soup.

Ideally they'll be about throwing biscuits and "dogs with human heids" and the like though, the important stuff.

14-05-2022, 10:51 AM
Any ideas where he is reporting this about?

In the "Courier Universal News Tribune Scunthorpe" local rag...

14-05-2022, 10:55 AM
No sure who we’ll get, but I hope it’s JDT.

Scunthorpe.

14-05-2022, 10:56 AM
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/d4/Church_Square%2C_Scunthorpe_-_geograph.org.uk_-_567230.jpg

14-05-2022, 11:00 AM
Sorry to burst your bubble ladies and gents but there is no special admin list as I censored Scunthorpe myself. I wasn't trying to mislead, as it definitely wasn't allowed at one point or another..

Sounds like something someone on an admin list would say.

BS44
14-05-2022, 11:10 AM

My Arsenal I will.

leith lynx
14-05-2022, 11:59 AM
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/d4/Church_Square%2C_Scunthorpe_-_geograph.org.uk_-_567230.jpg

That's clinched it, Scunthorpe for this year's summer hols...

14-05-2022, 12:07 PM
I just hope they make a decision based on who they think the best man for the job is and not just what the fans want based on limited information

Absolutely will support whoever it is

Potty78
14-05-2022, 12:08 PM
God help us if the board have a guaranteed choice of either Tomasson or Johnson and choose the latter.

I'd be happy with either, wasn't sure until I spoke with a Sunderland season ticket holder. He said Johnson was good, tactically spot on and would have got them promoted without play offs. One hammering nailed him🤔

14-05-2022, 12:29 PM
I'd be happy with either, wasn't sure until I spoke with a Sunderland season ticket holder. He said Johnson was good, tactically spot on and would have got them promoted without play offs. One hammering nailed him🤔

They took a few hammerings (amidst some other pretty decent patches of form).

Those hammerings are a wee bit of a concern in terms of how they might relate to him being a Hibs manager . Those Sunderland teams shouldn’t really have been losing by 4 at Portsmouth or by 6 at Bolton. I’ve never quite got my head around it, but I do accept that he should have been given more time there. His sacking was a bit knee jerk. He had his critics but he wasn’t universally unpopular.

tonyrougier123
14-05-2022, 12:31 PM
We should still be interviewing mackay,Tommason interesting if it’s him Johnson not for me,seems alright on his interviews,watched his master class against Utd on YT nearly fell asleep tbh.

Tommason could be good,maybe a foreign gaffer could really take us on a journey,but it would be an unknown for us.

It’s a conundrum still,don’t envy the board deciding that’s for sure.

14-05-2022, 12:36 PM
We should still be interviewing mackay,Tommason interesting if it’s him Johnson not for me,seems alright on his interviews,watched his master class against Utd on YT nearly fell asleep tbh.

Tommason could be good,maybe a foreign gaffer could really take us on a journey,but it would be an unknown for us.

It’s a conundrum still,don’t envy the board deciding that’s for sure.

If by foreign you mean not British I give you Dan McMichael, Mixu Paatalainen, Franck Sauzee and Pat Fenlon.

TelaStella
14-05-2022, 12:42 PM
Are people suggesting JDT has been interviewed?

tonyrougier123
14-05-2022, 12:43 PM
If by foreign you mean not British I give you Dan McMichael, Mixu Paatalainen, Franck Sauzee and Pat Fenlon.

Aye,I just meant foreign to us as well as the league as well as being a foreigner.
Tbf I was only thinking mixu out the ones you mentioned.😂.
Also I’ve never counted Ireland as foreign either 🤦*♂️

14-05-2022, 12:45 PM

Hope more than anything else. There has been virtually nothing to suggest this apart from some jambo wifey writing an article about us being interested.

14-05-2022, 12:53 PM

Not only that. Some also seem to be suggesting that he would 100% have interviewed better than Lee Jones and it’s only our board to blame if he’s not the best candidate.

Incredible really.

Potty78
14-05-2022, 12:54 PM
They took a few hammerings (amidst some other pretty decent patches of form).

Those hammerings are a wee bit of a concern in terms of how they might relate to him being a Hibs manager . Those Sunderland teams shouldn’t really have been losing by 4 at Portsmouth or by 6 at Bolton. I’ve never quite got my head around it, but I do accept that he should have been given more time there. His sacking was a bit knee jerk. He had his critics but he wasn’t universally unpopular.

True but just passing on a point of view from a sunderland fan👍

TelaStella
14-05-2022, 12:56 PM
Not only that. Some also seem to be suggesting that he would 100% have interviewed better than Lee Jones and it’s only our board to blame if he’s not the best candidate.

Incredible really.

Didn’t expect much from Jones tbf. Any idea how he’s done compared to Johnson?

Cardinal G
14-05-2022, 01:03 PM
I'm a Sunderland season ticket holder also and have to say it was way more than one result.
His focus on tactics instead of fitness, his constant clashing with officials on side line, his constant arranging days off to travel back to Bristol are what ultimately did him. Results wise losing 5 to 1 at Rotherham, 6 to nil at Bolton and 3 to nil at Sheff Wed didn't help either. I'm not so sure he would have got automatic promotion either, play offs at a push.

14-05-2022, 01:05 PM
Didn’t expect much from Jones tbf. Any idea how he’s done compared to Johnson?

No idea mate. I don’t even know who has or hasn’t been interviewed. I’m sure we will know something within a couple of days though.

14-05-2022, 01:07 PM
I'm a Sunderland season ticket holder also and have to say it was way more than one result.
His focus on tactics instead of fitness, his constant clashing with officials on side line, his constant arranging days off to travel back to Bristol are what ultimately did him. Results wise losing 5 to 1 at Rotherham, 6 to nil at Bolton and 3 to nil at Sheff Wed didn't help either. I'm not so sure he would have got automatic promotion either, play offs at a push.

That concerns me a bit. The over focus on tactics didn't do Hecky any good up here. Sometimes I think in Scotland it's about battling harder than the other team more than anything.

Potty78
14-05-2022, 01:10 PM

Cheers mate, thanks for input👍

Scotty Leither
14-05-2022, 01:12 PM

The bit you mention him travelling back to Bristol worries me, to be honest. We had that before with that clown Calderwood who couldn’t wait to get out of Easter Road on a Saturday after the game to catch the 6pm flight to London.

We need 100% commitment from whoever gets the gig and I hope the appointment bucks the trend of “experiments”, but I have to say the prospect of Johnson being appointed isn’t exactly getting the juices flowing...

14-05-2022, 01:14 PM
Dundee Utd owner says he will not hold back Tam Courts if lucrative offers come his way from the english championship

14-05-2022, 02:27 PM
Has Macar given us his opinion yet on Johnson?

14-05-2022, 02:44 PM
Has Macar given us his opinion yet on Johnson?

How is Macar doing these days?

14-05-2022, 03:11 PM
Hope more than anything else. There has been virtually nothing to suggest this apart from some jambo wifey writing an article about us being interested.
Still think it's just paper talk.

14-05-2022, 03:15 PM
How is Macar doing these days?

I dont know, but i'm sure the cameras panned through the crowd recently and i spotted him i think.

I dont think he's ready to hang up his slippers yet.

leith lynx
14-05-2022, 03:18 PM

Thanks for the insight, feel even more deflated now, hope Ron & co are reading!

14-05-2022, 03:20 PM
https://www.reddit.com/r/soccer/comments/rs3h4n/jon_dahl_tomasson_leaves_malm%C3%B6_ff_after_two/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=ios_app&utm_name=iossmf

Quite an interesting thread on JDT as a manager. Some positive, some not so much.

BristolAnn
14-05-2022, 03:21 PM
I really hope that Lee Johnston is not appointed. I understand his people management skills leave a lot to be desired and he was binned from both Bristol City and Sunderland with his teams losing consecutive games. He’s also comes across as extremely arrogant. No thanks!

14-05-2022, 03:22 PM
I’m amazed it’s taken this long for someone to make the obvious “spanking at Bolton” gag.

Mr. Wonderful
14-05-2022, 03:50 PM
I’m amazed it’s taken this long for someone to make the obvious “spanking at Bolton” gag.

It's a slippery slope

14-05-2022, 03:52 PM
I really hope that Lee Johnston is not appointed. I understand his people management skills leave a lot to be desired and he was binned from both Bristol City and Sunderland with his teams losing consecutive games. He’s also comes across as extremely arrogant. No thanks!

Come on eh ffs. Gutted your team got horsed by Rangers u12s :greengrin